Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > > >

Legislative Time Capsule - 58th Legislature (1953-1954)

Session Dates (All Sessions)

  Convened Adjourned Calendar Days Legislative Days - House Legislative Days - Senate
1/6/1953 4/22/1953 107 77 79

Legislation (All Sessions)

  House - Bills Introduced Senate - Bills Introduced Laws Resolutions
1953 1940 1739 762   Search 2

Other Information

Vetoes (All Sessions)

  Full Bills Vetoed
(including pockets)
Pocket Vetoes Bills with Line Item Vetoes [# of lines vetoed] TOTAL
Full Bills Vetoed + Lines Vetoed
Full Bills Vetoed + Bills with Lines Vetoed
1953 7 6 0   [0] 7 7


All House Senate


Speaker of the House John A. Hartle  (Nonpartisan Election-Conservative Caucus)
House Majority Leader Roy Emery Dunn  (Nonpartisan Election-Conservative Caucus)
House Minority Leader Frederick Anthony Cina  (Nonpartisan Election-Liberal Caucus)
President of the Senate This position was handled multiple ways historically - See full list
Senate Majority Leader Archie H. Miller  (Nonpartisan Election-Conservative Caucus)
Senate Minority Leader Boleslaw G. Novak  (Nonpartisan Election-Liberal Caucus)


Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives George H. Leahy
House Sergeant-at-Arms C. R. Bjornson
Secretary of the Senate Herbert Y. Torrey
Senate Sergeant-at-Arms Bert M. Lennon

Election Results

- Selected election results are available at this page.

Party Control of the House of Representatives (All Sessions)

Date Event Note Total Seats C/R/IR L/DFL Other Margin
1/6/1953 Convenes [Total seats possible = 131] 131 85 46 0 39
C=Conservative  R=Republican  IR=Independent Republican  L=Liberal  DFL=Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Party Control of the Senate (All Sessions)

Date Event Note Total Seats C/R/IR L/DFL Other Margin
1/6/1953 Convenes [Total seats possible = 67] 67 52 15 0 37
C=Conservative  R=Republican  IR=Independent Republican  L=Liberal  DFL=Democratic-Farmer-Labor

House Committees


Senate Committees


Governor (Full List)

C. Elmer Anderson (Republican)