Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Community Supervision Funding Working Group

Also known as:
Attributes and Requirements of an Effective Supervision System Working Group
Delivery System Standards and Funding Policy Working Group
Active dates:2021 -

The commissioner of corrections shall convene a working group to study and report to the legislature on the attributes and requirements of an effective supervision system. The report shall describe how the state and counties can achieve an effective supervision system together, balancing local control with state support and collaboration. The report shall include: a proposal for sustainable funding of the state's community supervision delivery systems; a plan for the potential of future Tribal government supervision of probationers and supervised releasees; a definition of core or base-level supervision standards in accordance with the state's obligation to fund or provide supervision services that are geographically equitable and reflect the principles of modern correctional practice; a recommended funding model and the associated costs as compared to the state's current investment in those services; alternative funding and delivery models and the alternative models' associated costs when compared with the state's current investment in those services; and mechanisms to ensure balanced application of increases in the cost of community supervision services. The report shall be submitted to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives Public Safety Committee and the senate Judiciary and Finance Committees no later than December 15, 2021.


The working group partnered with the Governor’s Council on Justice Reinvestment and the CSG Justice Center, which conducted much of the data collection and analysis, to produce the Justice Reinvestment in Minnesota report.


The working group shall at a minimum include the following members:

  • the commissioner of corrections or the commissioner's designee and four other representatives from the Department of Corrections; 
  • five directors of the Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties;
  • five directors of the Minnesota Association of County Probation Offices; 
  • three county commissioner representatives from the Association of Minnesota Counties with one from each delivery system;
  • three representatives of the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Tribal government members; 
  • and two district court judge representatives designated by the State Court Administrator.

The working group may include other members and the use of a third-party organization to provide process facilitation, statewide stakeholder engagement, data analysis, programming and supervision assessments, and technical assistance through implementation of the adopted report recommendations.

The following individuals served on the working group:

  • Sue Abderholden, Executive Director, NAMI
  • Clinton Alexander, Director of Behavioral Health, White Earth Reservation
  • Jason Anderson, Director, Itasca County Probation
  • Ron Antony, Yellow Medicine County Commissioner
  • Dayna Burmeister, Manager Southern Region, DOC
  • Midge Christianson, Community Corrections Director, Region 6W
  • Chris Dodge, Chief Financial Officer, DOC
  • Terry Fawcett, Director, Pine County Probation
  • Al Godfrey, Field Services Director, DOC
  • Bobbi Holtberg, Executive Director, Minnesota Alliance on Crime
  • Catherine Johnson, Community Corrections and Rehabilitation Department Director, Hennepin County
  • Nicole Kern, Director, Morrison County Community Corrections
  • Safia Khan, Director, Government and External Relations, DOC
  • Stephen King, Director, Mower County Probation
  • Tami Jo Lieberg, Director, Kandiyohi County Community Corrections
  • Jeff Lunde, Hennepin County Commissioner
  • Mike MacMillian, Director, Wright County Probation
  • Janet Marshall, Inter-Governmental Liaison, State Court Administrator’s Office
  • Nicole Matthews, Minnesota Indian Women’s Sexual Assault Coalition
  • Kurt Mortenson, Otter Tail County Commissioner
  • Jim Schneider, Director, Cass County Probation
  • Paul Schnell, Commissioner, DOC
  • Les Schultz, Director, Brown County Probation
  • Curtis Shanklin, Deputy Commissioner, DOC
  • Jeff Shorba, State Court Administrator
  • Carli Stark, Public Safety Policy Analyst, AMC; Executive Director, MACCAC 
  • Jack Swanson, Roseau County Commissioner; Public Safety Chair, Association of Minnesota Counties
  • Kristen Trebil, Director, Court Services, State Court Administrator’s Office
  • Dylan Warkentin, Director, Anoka County Community Corrections
  • Kenneth Washington, Chief, Leech Lake Tribal Police
  • Barb Weckman, Brekke Scott County Commissioner
  • Kate Weeks, Executive Director, Office of Justice Programs
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 02/08/2022

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image