Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Legislative Task Force on Child Protection (2021- )

Active dates:2021 -

A legislative task force is created to: review the efforts being made to implement the recommendations of the Governor's Task Force on the Protection of Children; expand the efforts into related areas of the child welfare system; work with the commissioner of human services and community partners to establish and evaluate child protection grants to address disparities in child welfare pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 256E.28; review and recommend alternatives to law enforcement responding to a maltreatment report by removing the child and evaluate situations in which it may be appropriate for a social worker or other child protection worker to remove the child from the home; evaluate current statutes governing mandatory reporters, consider the modification of mandatory reporting requirements for private or public youth recreation programs, and, if necessary, introduce legislation by February 15, 2022, to implement appropriate modifications; evaluate and consider the intersection of educational neglect and the child protection system; and identify additional areas within the child welfare system that need to be addressed by the legislature. 

The task force, in cooperation with the commissioner of human services, shall issue a report to the legislature and governor by February 1, 2024. The report must contain information on the progress toward implementation of changes to the child protection system, recommendations for additional legislative changes and procedures affecting child protection and child welfare, and funding needs to implement recommended changes


The task force must meet at least quarterly. The task force is set to expire on December 31, 2024.

A group by the same name, the Legislative Task Force on Child Protection, was created in 2015 and expired in 2020.


Members of the legislative task force shall include: six members from the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house, including three from the majority party and three from the minority party; and six members from the senate, including three members appointed by the senate majority leader and three members appointed by the senate minority leader. 

Members of the task force shall serve a term that expires on December 31 of the even-numbered year following the year they are appointed. The speaker of the house and the majority leader of the senate shall each appoint a chair and vice-chair from the membership of the task force. The chair shall rotate after each meeting. Initial appointments to the task force shall be made by July 15, 2021. The chair shall convene the first meeting of the task force by August 15, 2021.

2021-2022 Membership: Sen. Mark Johnson (co-chair), Sen. Karin Housley (co-vice chair), Sen. Andrew Mathews, Sen. John Hoffman, Sen. Lindsey Port, and Sen. Bobby Joe Champion; and Rep. Dave Pinto (co-chair), Rep. Rena Moran (co-vice chair), Rep. Lisa Demuth, Rep. Hodan Hassan, Rep. Ron Kresha, and Rep. Patricia Mueller.

Record last updated: 05/09/2022

Additional print information on this group may be available in the Library's collection of agency notebooks. Please contact a librarian for assistance. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image