Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Interim Commission on Highway Taxes Distribution

Active dates:1955-1956

To study the formulation of a fair, equitable and definite formula for use in determining the distribution among the several counties and several cities, villages and boroughs of the state of the proceeds of any gasoline tax or motor vehicle license tax.

The statute creating the Commission provided that a report be made to the Legislature not later than September 1, 1956.


During the biennium period a total of sixteen meetings were held. A majority of these meetings were arranged to provide time in which interested persons and organizations could present their opinions and information relative to the study.


10 Members. Senators: Norman J. Larson; Archie H. Miller; C. C. Mitchell; B. G. Novak (Vice Chairman); Herbert Rogers

Representatives: E. J. Chilgren; Aubrey W. Dirlam (Secretary); Charles L. Halsted (Chairman); William L. Shovell; Edward J. Tomczyk

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 03/05/2021

Additional print information on this group may be available in the Library's collection of agency notebooks. Please contact a librarian for assistance. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image