Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Corrections Ombudsman Working Group

Active dates:2007-2008

By August 1, 2007, the commissioner of human rights shall convene a working group to study how the state addresses inmate complaints, assaults, and deaths in county jails, workhouses, and prisons.


In 2007 the legislature established a Corrections Ombudsman Working Group to be chaired by the Commissioner of Human Rights (see HF829 (2007) and 2007 Minn. Laws Chap. 54 Art 1 Sec. 13). A report detailing the group's findings and recommendations was required by January 15, 2008.

The working group met seven times between August 2007 and January 2008 and held a hearing for public comment on January 17, 2008. Their final report indicated that they were "asked to determine the need for reinstatement of the Office of the Ombudsman for Corrections. While the group was unable to reach consensus on this specific recommendation, members strongly supported the need for a 'bridge' between the corrections systems and the public. The need for a single entity to provide the service was not clear; the functions of a bridge could be provided by existing resources in any number of configurations. Rather than the specific organization of such a function, the group focused on a set of characteristics and values that must be present."


Project Staff Team:
Velma Korbel, Commissioner, Mn Department of Human Rights; convener
Jessica Jackson, President, Cirlutions, LLC; consultant
Christine Peters, Mn Department of Human Rights; intern
Michelle Wylam, Mn Department of Human Rights; intern
Jill Englund, HECUA; intern

Working Group Participants:
Dianne Binns, NAACP St. Paul
Greg Carlson, Minnesota Department of Corrections
Bonnie Case, Scott County
Dan Ceynowa, Anoka County
Lester Collins, Minnesota Council on Black Minnesotans
Lynn Dingle, Minnesota Department of Corrections
Suzanne Elwell, Minnesota Crime Victims Justice Unit
Ryan Erdmann, Association of Community Corrections Act Counties
Jim Franklin, Minnesota Sheriff’s Association
Annamarie Hill, Minnesota Council on Indian Affairs
Scott Mattison, Swift County
Ken Merz, Minnesota Department of Corrections
Douglas Moe, Appleton Minnesota Police Department
Rich Neumeister
Ryan O'Neill, Ramsey County
Roberta Opheim, Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health
Caroline Palmer, Minnesota State Bar Association
Barb Seidl, Prairie Correctional Facility
Alice Seuffert, Minnesota Senate
Erik Skon, Minnesota Department of Corrections
Rosa Tock, Minnesota Chicano-Latino Affairs Council Representative
Neva Walker, Minnesota House of Representatives
Rebecca Woitte, Swift County

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 03/06/2019

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image