Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Child Support Task Force

Active dates:2016-2019

There is established the Child Support Task Force for the Department of Human Services. The purpose of the task force is to advise the commissioner of human services on matters relevant to maintaining effective and efficient child support guidelines that will best serve the children of Minnesota and take into account the changing dynamics of families.

The chair of the task force must consult with the Cultural and Ethnic Communities Leadership Council at least annually on the issues under consideration by the task force.

Beginning February 15, 2018, and biennially thereafter, if the task force is extended by the legislature, the commissioner shall prepare and submit to the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of the house of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over child support matters a report that summarizes the activities of the task force, issues identified by the task force, methods taken to address the issues, and recommendations for legislative action, if needed.


In 2015, the Legislature created the Child Support Work Group (see Laws of Minnesota 2015, chapter 71, section 121), to address the parenting expense adjustment in Minn. Stat., section 518A.36 and make recommendations on the composition of a permanent Child Support Task Force. Under the direction of the department, the work group met six times in 2015.

In January 2016, the work group issued the Child Support Work Group Final Report. The work group made recommendations regarding the composition and role of the task force, and included additional recommendations regarding issues which should be prioritized by the task force. In response to the report of the work group, the legislature passed Minn. Stat., section 518.79, establishing the current task force. The task force is subject to the open meeting law. The task force will expire on June 30, 2019, unless extended by the legislature. The task force held its final meeting on June 26, 2019.

Subordinate to:

The task force must consist of:
(1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house and one appointed by the minority leader;
(2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed by the minority leader;
(3) one representative from the Minnesota County Attorneys Association;
(4) one staff member from the Department of Human Services Child Support Division;
(5) one representative from a tribe with an approved IV-D program appointed by resolution of the Minnesota Indian Affairs Council;
(6) one representative from the Minnesota Family Support Recovery Council;
(7) one child support magistrate, family court referee, or one district court judge or retired judge with experience in child support matters, appointed by the chief justice of the Supreme Court;
(8) four parents, at least two of whom represent diverse cultural and social communities, appointed by the commissioner with equal representation between custodial and noncustodial parents;
(9) one representative from the Minnesota Legal Services Coalition; and
(10) one representative from the Family Law Section of the Minnesota Bar Association.

Task Force membership as of the 2018 report:

  • Four members representing parents: Rahya Iliff effective October 25, 2017 (replacing former member Tammie Campbell); Jimmy Loyd; Jason Smith; Mia Wilson effective October 25, 2017 (replacing former member Laura Vang)
  • One member representing the Minnesota Department of Human Services: Jeff Jorgenson, director Child Support Division; Julie Erickson, supervisor Child Support Division - alternate
  • Two members representing the Minnesota County Attorney's Association: Melissa Rossow, assistant Ramsey County attorney; Kathleen Heaney, Sherburne County attorney - alternate
  • One member representing the Minnesota Family Support Recovery Council: Lisa Kontz, assistant Dakota County attorney
  • One member representing Minnesota Court Administration: Jodie Metcalf, child support magistrate
  • One member representing the Minnesota Legal Services Coalition: Melinda Hugdahl; Anna Andow, attorney, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid - alternate
  • One member representing Minnesota Native American Tribal Child Support Programs: Rachel Sablan, director Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe Child Support Program
  • One member representing the Minnesota State Bar Association, Family Law Section: Pamela Waggoner, attorney; Karen Kugler, attorney - alternate
  • Two members from the Minnesota House of Representatives: Representative Peggy Scott; Representative Laurie Pryor
  • Two members from the Minnesota Senate: Senator Mary Kiffmeyer; Senator Melissa Wiklund

Entries for this agency in the Annual Compilation and Statistical Report of Multi-Member Agencies Report: 2018, 2017, 2016.

Note: This report provides membership details as well as meeting information and a summary of the group's activities.

Internet resource:
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2016-2017.
Record last updated: 12/27/2019

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image