Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Interagency Climate Adaptation Team

Also known as:
Active dates:2009-
Function: An Interagency Climate Adaptation Team will explore the potential effects of climate change in Minnesota and develop an adaptation plan for the state. Climate adaptation is defined as developing and implementing strategies, initiatives and measures to help human and natural systems cope with climate change impacts.
History: Since July 2009, Minnesota state agencies have been collaborating on climate adaptation efforts through an Interagency Climate Adaptation Team (ICAT). ICAT currently includes representatives from the following Minnesota state departments and agencies: Agriculture, Commerce (Division of Energy Resources), Health, Natural Resources, Pollution Control, Public Safety (Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management), and Transportation, as well as the Board of Water and Soil Resources and the Metropolitan Council. (Source: 2013 ICAT report, see below)

In August 2010, the Team released a report, "Adapting to Climate Change in Minnesota". The report documents current and proposed state agency adaptation actions for key sectors, including agriculture, energy, health, natural resources, water, and transportation. In addition, the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) formed its own Climate Change Adaptation Workgroup, which developed a strategic plan that outlines public health strategies for coping with climate change.

In November 2013, the Team released an update to their 2010 report (see below).
Membership: The Team is composed of representatives from the Pollution Control Agency and the Departments of Natural Resources, Commerce, Public Safety, Health, Agriculture, and Transportation. ICAT operates in conjunction with the state CCAWG, led by the University of Minnesota's Water Resources Center. Members of the CCAWG include representatives from the state Departments of Natural Resources, Health, and Transportation and the Pollution Control Agency, Metropolitan Mosquito Control District, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Geological Survey, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, cities and counties, the University of Minnesota, nonprofits, and the private sector.
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 11/13/2013

Additional print information on this group may be available in the Library's collection of agency notebooks. Please contact a librarian for assistance. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image