Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Administration Department

Also known as:
Admin Department
Active dates:1939-

Central management agency of Minnesota state government. The Department of Administration provides a broad range of business management, administrative and professional services and a variety of resources to state agencies, local governments and to the public. Among its responsibilities, the department manages the state's procurement process, manages more than 400 construction projects and 700 property leases, maintains 22 state-owned buildings, including the State Capitol, leases vehicles, sells surplus property, coordinates the state's Enterprise Lean business process improvement program and more.

Preceded by:
Administration and Finance Commission

The Minnesota Department of Administration was established in 1939 by Governor Harold Stassen as part of an effort to reform state government's administrative functions.

The department is a successor to the Commission of Administration and Finance (Laws of Minnesota 1925, chapter 426, article 3). The department formerly had responsibility for assisting agencies in preparation of biennial budget requests, approving the allotment and encumbrance of state funds, and managing the state accounting system. These are now functions of Minnesota Management & Budget (formerly the Department of Finance).

For a history of the predecessor agency to the Department of Administration see, The Minnesota Commission of Administration and Finance, 1925-1939: An Administrative History, by Lloyd M. Short and Carl W. Tiller.

Agency heads:

Commissioners (term: 4 years or pleasure of governor):

Leslie M. Gravlin, June 1939 -September 1942
Theodore G. Driscoll, September 1, 1943 - 1947
Earl L. Berg, June 28, 1947 - 1954
Arthur Naftalin, 1954-1961
William E. Stevenson, 1961-1965
Stephen T. Quigley, 1965-1967
Rolland F. Hatfield, 1967-1971
Richard L. Brubacher, 1971-1978
James J. Hiniker, 1979-198?
Sandra Hale, 1983-199?
Dana B. Badgerow, June 1991 - 1993
Debra Rae Anderson, August 1993 - December 16, 1994
Elaine Hansen, January 17, 1995-?
David E. Fisher, March 1999-?
Brian Lamb, January 6, 2003 - August, 2004
Kent Allin (Acting Director), September 16, 2004 - October 25, 2004
Dana B. Badgerow, October 25, 2004 - May 11, 2009
Sheila Reger, May 11, 2009 - 2011
Spencer Cronk, February 8, 2011 - August 2014
Matt Massman, August 2014 - 2018
Alice Roberts-Davis, January 7, 2019 - June 2023
Stacie Christensen (temporary commissioner), June 2023 - October 8, 2023
Tamar Gronvall, October 9, 2023 -

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Governor Walz selects Tamar Gronvall to serve as Commissioner of Administration. Office of Governor Tim Walz & Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, 9/18/2023.
News clippings and documents: Commissioner of Administration. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1959-2015.
News clippings and documents: Department of Administration. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1971-2019.
Record last updated: 05/24/2024

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image