Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission

Also known as:
Sports Facilities Commission
Active dates:1977-2012

Responsible for the location, design, construction, and operation of the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The commission also owns, but does not operate, the Metropolitan Sports Center in Bloomington, Minnesota.


The Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission was established under Chapter 89 of Minnesota Laws of 1977 and operates under Minnesota Statutes Chapter 473, as amended. "The Legislature finds that the population in the metropolitan area has a need for sports facilties and that this need cannot be met adequately by the activities of individual municipalities, by agreements among municipalities, or by the private efforts of the people in the metropolitan area. It is therefore necessary for the public health, safety and general welfare to establish a procedure for the acquisition and betterment of sports facilities and to create a Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission.

The MSFC was responsible for the construction of the Metrodome. The very existence of the MSFC attest to the desire of various interests -- urban and suburban and statewide, business, labor and the general public to find common ground and work together on issues related to stadium infrastructure in Minnesota. (information in these two paragraphs was taken from MSFC's website on 11/20/09).

The Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission is to be phased out over the summer months (2012) and replaced with the Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority.


The MSFC consists of seven members. Six members are appointed by the Minneapolis City Council, and the chair is appointed by the Governor and must reside outside of Minneapolis. MSFC members have always represented a broad cross-section of the community. 4-year terms; per diem and expenses; members file with Ethical Practices Board.

Entries for this agency in the Annual Compilation and Statistical Report of Multi-Member Agencies Report: 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1991, 1990, 1989, 1988, 1987, 1986, 1985, 1984, 1982, 1981, 1980, 1979, 1978.

Note: This report provides membership details as well as meeting information and a summary of the group's activities.

Agency heads:

Past MSFC chairs: Dan Brutger (1977-1983); Ron Gornick (1983-1991); Bill Hunter (1991-1993); Henry J. Savelkoul (1993-1999); Kathryn Roberts (1999-2002); Roy Terwilliger (2003-2010); Ted Mondale (January 2011-2012).

Commissioners are appointed for four years, and their terms may be renewed. Commissioners are not paid a salary or retainer but receive a per diem of $50 per day when attending official meetings or doing other Commission business.

News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1971-2012.
Record last updated: 03/13/2020

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image