Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > > >

Legislative Time Capsule - 55th Legislature (1947-1948)

Session Dates (All Sessions)

  Convened Adjourned Calendar Days Legislative Days - House Legislative Days - Senate
1/7/1947 4/24/1947 108 76 76

Legislation (All Sessions)

  House - Bills Introduced Senate - Bills Introduced Laws Resolutions
1947 1587 1422 642   Search 24

Vetoes (All Sessions)

  Full Bills Vetoed
(including pockets)
Pocket Vetoes Bills with Line Item Vetoes [# of lines vetoed] TOTAL
Full Bills Vetoed + Lines Vetoed
Full Bills Vetoed + Bills with Lines Vetoed
1947 9 2 0   [0] 9 9


Speaker of the House Lawrence M. Hall, Sr.  (Nonpartisan Election-Conservative Caucus)
House Majority Leader Roy Emery Dunn  (Nonpartisan Election-Conservative Caucus)
House Minority Leader Joseph L. Prifrel, Jr.  (Nonpartisan Election-Liberal Caucus)
President of the Senate This position was handled multiple ways historically - See full list
Senate Majority Leader Charles Noah Orr  (Nonpartisan Election-Conservative Caucus)
Senate Minority Leader Unknown - See full list


Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives George H. Leahy
House Sergeant-at-Arms Michael J. Mullen
Secretary of the Senate Herbert Y. Torrey
Senate Sergeant-at-Arms Bert M. Lennon

Number of Seats

  • House: 131
  • Senate: 67

Election Results

- Selected election results are available at this page.

House Committees


Senate Committees