Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
The Library's website will be unavailable on Saturday, January 16th from 5 a.m. until noon.
Skip Navigation Links > > >

Minnesota Territorial and State Treasurers, 1849-2003

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Compiled from Minnesota legislative manuals and other sources, including previous library compilations and several histories of Minnesota.

While efforts have been made to verify this information in more than one source, the library cannot guarantee the accuracy of sources; errors are possible. Please report any errors to the library staff.

Note: A 1998 constitutional amendment abolished the Office of the State Treasurer effective January 6, 2003. See Minnesota Session Law 1998, Chapter 387.

1999 January 4 Johnson, Carol C. Inver Grove Heights
1987 January 5 McGrath, Michael A. (incumbent, 1998) Bloomington
1983 January 3 Mattson, Robert W., Jr. Britt
1975 January 6
Lord, Jim Chanhassen
1957 January 7 Bjornson, Val (Kristjan Valdimar) Minneapolis
1955 January 3 Hansen, Arthur Ulen
1951 January 2 Bjornson, Val (Kristjan Valdimar) Minneapolis
1939 January 2 Schmahl, Julius A. (Julius August) Redwood Falls
1937 January 5 Halverson, C. A.
Name spelled Halvorson in House journal 1947, p. 1422.
1927 January 4 Schmahl, Julius A. (Julius August) Redwood Falls
1925 July 1 Stark, Edward W. Center City
1917 January 2 Rines, Henry Mora
1916 February 14 Gooding, A. C. (Arthur C.) Rochester
1911 January 3 Smith, Walter J. Eveleth
1910 June 8 Pettijohn, E. S. (Elias Steele) St. Peter
1907 January 7 Dinehart, Clarence C. Slayton
1901 January 7 Block, Julius H. St. Peter
1895 January 7 Koerner, August T. Litchfield
1887 January 5 Bobleter, Joseph New Ulm
1880 January 10 Kittelson, Charles St. Paul
1876 January 7 Pfaender, William New Ulm
1873 February 7 Dyke, Edwin W. Faribault
1872 January 5 Seeger, William St. Peter
1868 January 10 Munch, Emil D. Pine City (Chengwatana per Toensing)
1860 January 1 Scheffer, Charles St. Paul
1858 May 24 Armstrong, George W. St. Paul
1857 May 7 Armstrong, George W. Minneapolis
1854 February 24 Leonard, Charles E. St. Anthony
1853 July 2 Prescott, George W. St. Paul
1849 November 3 Tuttle, Calvin A. St. Anthony