Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > > >

Minnesota Secretaries of State, 1849-present

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Compiled from Minnesota legislative manuals and other sources, including previous library compilations and several histories of Minnesota.

While efforts have been made to verify this information in more than one source, the library cannot guarantee the accuracy of sources; errors are possible. Please report any errors to the library staff.

2015 January 5 Simon, Steve Saint Louis Park
2007 January 2 Ritchie, Mark Minneapolis
1999 January 4 Kiffmeyer, Mary Big Lake
1975 January 6 Growe, Joan Anderson (Joan Ruth Anderson) Minneapolis
1971 January 4 Erdahl, Arlen I. (Arlen Ingolf) Blue Earth
1955 January 3 Donovan, Joseph L. Duluth
1952 September 16 Holm, Mrs. Mike (Virginia Paul) St. Paul
1952 July 7 Chesterman, H. H. St. Paul
1921 January 4 Holm, Mike Roseau
On Holm's death in July 1952, Governor C. Elmer Anderson first appointed H. H. Chesterman (who had been assistant secretary of state). The public, however, felt that Mrs. Mike Holm would have been a better choice, and the governor then appointed her to serve until the November 1952 election. In the election, Mrs. Holm was elected to serve out the remainder of the term ending in January 1953 as well as the two-year term ending in January 1955. Mrs. Holm was defeated in the election of 1954 by Joseph Donovan.
1907 January 7 Schmahl, Julius A. (Julius August) Redwood Falls
1901 January 7 Hanson, Peter E. Litchfield
1895 January 7 Berg, Albert Center City
1891 January 5 Brown, Frederick P. Blue Earth
1887 January 4 Mattson, Hans Minneapolis
1880 January 10 Von Baumbach, Frederick Alexandria
1876 January 7 Irgens, John S. Austin (or Lyle?)
1872 January 5 Jennison, Samuel P. Red Wing
1870 January 7 Mattson, Hans Minneapolis
1868 January 8 Rogers, Henry C. St. Paul
1862 November 17 Blakely, David St. Paul
1860 January 2 Baker, James H. Mankato
1858 May 24 Baasen, Francis New Ulm
1857 April 23 Chase, Charles L. Concord
1853 May 15 Rosser, Joseph T. (Joseph Travis)
1851 October 23 Wilkin, Alexander
1849 June 1 Smith, Charles K.