Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Legislative Procedures Commission

Also known as:
Interim Commission on Legislative Procedures
Commission to Study Legislative Procedures
Commission on Legislative Procedures (used on letterhead)
Active dates:1957-1959

Study legislative procedure, the committee system, exclusive legislative use of the state capitol building, and printing of bills; and compare legislative organization in Minnesota with other states.

The commission shall make a report to the legislature on or before January 15, 1959, setting forth its findings and recommendations for legislation.


The Commission was organized on June 27, 1957, held several meetings, heard expert testimony in the fields of legislative procedure in government and sent representatives to conferences in Oklahoma City and to Washington, D.C.

The committee considered the methods and operations presently existing in the Minnesota legislature; it studied the procedures and operations of legislative bodies in other states, and it inquired into the procedures of the United States Congress.

The Commission's final report covers the organization of the Minnesota legislature; meeting times for daily sessions of the house and senate; enrolled and engrossed bills; Revisor of Statutes staffing; records of the legislature; and interim committees, commissions, and reports.


Membership shall include: five members of the senate, to be appointed by the committee on committees, and five members of the house of representatives, to be appointed by the speaker. The Lieutenant Governor and the Commissioner of Administration shall be members of the commission in addition to the above appointees to serve in an advisory capacity without vote.

12 Members; C. Elmer Johnson (senator); Henry M. Harren (senator, succeeded Archie H. Miller); Gordon Rosenmeier (senator); Magnus Wefald (senator); Donald O. Wright (senator); Fred A. Cina (representative); Aubrey W. Dirlam (representative); Lloyd L. Duxbury (representative); Vladimir Shipka (representative); Edward J. Volstad (representative); Arthur Naftalin; Karl Rolvaag.

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1957.
Record last updated: 08/12/2020

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image