Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Legislative Coordinating Commission

Also known as:
Active dates:1973 -

The Legislative Coordinating Commission was created to coordinate the joint legislative activities of the Minnesota Senate and House of Representatives. 

The Commission serves as the umbrella organization for legislative commissions, joint agencies, and other boards. The President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House alternate annually as chair. The Legislative Coordinating Commission (LCC) establishes the complement and the compensation of employees for joint agencies and commissions. All joint agency budgets are reviewed and approved by the commission. The commission coordinates certain activities of the House and Senate including the setting of insurance benefits.

The Legislative Coordinating Commission is mandated to develop and maintain a user-friendly, public-oriented Web site that informs, educates, and demonstrates to the public how the constitutionally dedicated funds in the arts and cultural heritage fund, outdoor heritage fund, clean water fund, parks and trails fund, and environment and natural resources trust fund are being expended to meet the requirements established for each fund in the state constitution.

Preceded by:
Joint Coordinating Committee

Formally established in 1973 as the Joint Coordinating Committee (House Concurrent Resolution No. 4, 1973; Laws of Minnesota 1973, Chap. 598). Newspaper articles, however, indicate that formation of the committee had been agreed to in December 1972.

The Committee's name changed to Legislative Coordinating Commission as of July 1, 1975 (Laws of Minnesota 1975, Chap. 271).


The Commission consists of twelve members of the legislature, six senators and six representatives, as follows: the majority leader of the senate, the president of the senate, two senators appointed by the majority leader, the minority leader of the senate, and one senator appointed by the minority leader; and the majority leader of the house of representatives, the speaker of the house, two representatives appointed by the speaker, the minority leader of the house of representatives, and one representative appointed by the minority leader.

Agency heads:

Director: Greg Hubinger

News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1972-2018.
Record last updated: 07/05/2019

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image