Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Joint Efficiency and Economy Commission

Active dates:1915-1916
Function: The Joint Efficiency and Economy Commission was created by the legislature with an appropriation for a commission to investigate increased spending and waste in state government, and to consider reorganization of the civil administration of state government.
History: The Commission was the result of a joint resolution of the house and senate, initially proposed by Senator J. A. Carley (Journal of the Senate, April 15, 1915), which would continue and expand on the work of the preceding Governor's Efficiency and Economy Commission (1914-1915).

A statistician was hired, and the governor's secretary recorded commission proceedings and maintained its records. The commission discussed strategies for reorganization of state government; gathered reports of other states that had attempted similar reorganization plans; and solicited suggestions and advice from state government departments, bureaus, commissions, and numerous other agencies; members of the preceding commission; and businessmen, lawyers, and others familiar with state government. The commission met through 1916 and a reorganization plan was drawn up.

The final report was sent to the governor, and included recommendations to redistribute and consolidate the responsibilities of various state agencies by eliminating or altering agencies, programs, and positions that were ineffective or unnecessary; and to provide for the systematic revision of civil administration. Several bills that incorporated the commission's recommendations were drafted but none was submitted to the legislature. The commission ceased meeting in 1916 after the final report was submitted.
Membership: The commission consisted of four members from the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house, four members from the senate appointed by the lieutenant governor, and three members appointed by the governor who were familiar with the civil administration of state government.

List of commissioners (July, 1915): A. J. Rockne (chair), Fred Bessette, Gunnar Bjornson, Charles P. Craig, J. A. Carley, F. A. Duxbury, Thomas H. Girling, J. A. Jackson, Thomas J. McGrath, Lewis S. Spooner, C. H. Warner. E. P. Peterson was appointed in September, 1915 when Charles C. Craig resigned from the commission.
Record last updated: 09/22/2014

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image