Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Metropolitan Airports Commission

Also known as:
Minneapolis-St. Paul Metropolitan Airports Commission
Active dates:1943 -

Promotes air transportation locally, nationally, and internationally by developing the Minnesota's Twin Cities as an aviation center. Oversees 7 airports in the Twin Cities Metropolitan Area: Twin Cities International Airport, Bloomington; Flying Cloud Airport, Eden Prairie; Crystal Airport, Crystal; Anoka County Airport, Blaine; Air Lake Airport, Prior Lake; Holman Field, St. Paul; Lake Elmo Airport, Lake Elmo.


Created in 1943 by Minnesota state law, the Metropolitan Airports Commission is a public corporation providing coordinated aviation services throughout the Twin Cities metropolitan area. The MAC was the first metropolitan agency created by the Legislature.

The Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC) owns and operates the Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (MSP) and six smaller general aviation airports (Anoka County Airport, Airlake Airport, Crystal Airport, Lake Elmo Airport, Flying Cloud Airport, St. Paul Downtown Airport) within the metro area.

To address airline passenger growth that occurred in the 1970s and 1980s, the Minnesota Legislature passed the Metropolitan Airport Planning Act in 1989, establishing the Dual Track Airport Planning Process. Conducted by the Metropolitan Airports Commission and the Metropolitan Council, the seven-year planning process explored options for providing needed air service capacity and facilities for the region.



15 members (13 appointees plus the mayors of Minneapolis and St. Paul, ex officio); appointed by governor; per diem; members file with Ethical Practices Board.; Formerly: 11 members (9 appointed by governor).

Entries for this agency in the Annual Compilation and Statistical Report of Multi-Member Agencies Report: 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1991, 1990, 1989, 1988, 1987, 1986, 1985, 1984, 1983, 1982, 1981, 1980, 1979, 1978.

Note: This report provides membership details as well as meeting information and a summary of the group's activities.

Agency heads:

Dan Boivin, Chairman, as of February, 2011.

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents: Metropolitan Airports Commission Commissioner. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1995-2016.
News clippings and documents: Metropolitan Airports Commission Department. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1953-2011.
News clippings and documents: Metropolitan Airports Commission Staff. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1971-1993.
Record last updated: 07/25/2023

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image