Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Higher Education Board

Also known as:
Active dates:1991-1995

To supervise the merger of three higher education systems and their boards.


The Higher Education Board, commonly referred to as the "superboard", was created to merge the seven state universities, the 21-campus college system and the 34-campus technical college system into one. The University of Minnesota is not part of the merger. The merger is to be phased in by July 1, 1995. (Information is from a newspaper article dated 10/26/91, see agency notebook entry)

Membership of the higher education board originally consisted of 13 members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. At least one member of the board must be a resident of each congressional district. One member must be a student or have graduated from an institution governed by the board within one year of the date of appointment. The remaining members must be appointed to represent the state at large.


12 (6 appointed by governor, 2 each from State Board of Technical Colleges, State Board for Community Colleges, and State University Board). Student member to be added when systems merger completed.

Agency heads:

Rod Searle was elected chairman of the board on September 11, 1991. Rep. Searle is a former speaker of the state House of Representatives.

News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1991-2011.
Record last updated: 05/27/2020

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image