Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Efficiency in Government Commission

Also known as:
Minnesota Efficiency in Government Commission
Active dates:1949-1951
Function: Efficiency in Government Commission of Minnesota was created in 1949 (Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 5) to study the problems of state government administration and to make recommendations for increased efficiency and economy.
History: The commission, known as "Little Hoover Commission," was modeled after the Hoover Commission of 1949, which investigated federal government administration, organization, and management. Minnesota was one of many states that set up commissions based on the findings of the Hoover Commission.

A legislative appropriation (Laws 1949 c740 s2 item 5) covered commission expenses through 1950 that included employment of a director, Leroy F. Harlow, and clerical staff; payment for office supplies and for the services of various consulting firms; and expenses of commissioners and committee members while serving on the commission.

Twelve committees, composed of persons familiar with various areas of state government, were appointed by the commissioners to investigate the activities of state executive agencies and of all private and semi-state agencies receiving legislative appropriations, and to make recommendations for necessary improvements. Areas of concern were general administration, agriculture, commerce and utilities, conservation, education, health, highways and aeronautics, labor and industrial relations, law enforcement, licensing and examining boards, social security, and taxation.

The commission studied the previous state government reorganization experiences of Minnesota and other states, and principles of public and private administration and management. A number of consulting firms were hired to report on the activities of certain areas of state government, and the commission was assisted by the state's Legislative Research Committee.

A final report was submitted to the governor and legislature in December, 1950. Generally, it recommended consolidation and coordination of the activities of the agencies in each of the areas investigated in order to make state government administration more efficient and economical. The recommendations were incorporated in a number of bills introduced in the 1951 legislative session. The commission disbanded early in 1951 and all of its records, reports, supplies, and equipment were transferred to the Legislative Research Committee (House Concurrent Resolution No. 10).
Membership: Commissioner members: Bradshaw Mintener (chair), Nicholas A. Welle (vice chair), Helen M. Horr (secretary), J. L. Shiely, Lloyd M. Short, Guy Alexander, John Carlander, Warren B. Clay, John C. Crever, Herman Dammann, Donald M. Dickey, E. W. Hammell, J. Clarence Long, B. M. Heinzen, W. S. Moscrip, Harry R. Reed, Walter Rogesheske, H. E. Swenson, A. Donald Weck. Heinzen and Rogesheske resigned and were replaced by Alan C. McIntosh and Harold Schoelkopf.
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 09/26/2014

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image