Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

State-Aid Advisory Committee

Also known as:
State Aid Rules Advisory Committee
Active dates:1959 - 2013; 2014 -
Function: To advise the commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Transportation concerning rules that govern the municipal and county state-aid highway system.
Preceded by:
Municipal State-Aid Street System Advisory Committee
County State-Aid Highway Advisory Committee
History: The advisory committee was established in 2014 to combine and replace two separate committees that had been in place since 1959, the County State-Aid Highway Advisory Committee, and the Municipal State-Aid Street System Advisory Committee.

The committees were reviewed by the Legislative Commission on Planning and Fiscal Policy (LCPFP) in 2013 as part of their biennial duty required by Minn. Stat. 3.885 Subd. 11. The LCPFP's 2013 Recommendations called for the committees to be repealed and 2014 Minn. Laws Chap. 286 Art. 4 Sec. 2 contained the repeal. The new committee was established by the same legislation, 2014 Minn. Laws Chap. 286 Art. 4 Sec. 1.

The advisory committee does not expire.
Membership: 21 members; nine members selected by the county boards acting through the officers of the statewide association of county commissioners. The committee members shall be selected so that each member is from a different state highway construction district. Not more than five of the nine members may be county commissioners, and the remaining members are county highway engineers.12 members are selected by the governing bodies of cities, acting through the officers of the statewide association of municipal officials. The committee members are selected so that there is one member from each state highway construction district and one member from each city of the first class. Not more than six of the 12 members may be elected officials of the cities, and the remaining members are city engineers.
Agency heads: Commissioner of the Department of Transportation
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2014.
Record last updated: 01/14/2015

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image