Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Weatherization Assistance Program Working Group

Active dates:2021-2022
Minnesota Department of Commerce

An informal Weatherization Working Group, including legislators, low-income advocates, utilities, service providers, and other partners was formed to assess barriers to service and establish recommendations for the Minnesota Legislature and for State WAP leaders. Within the Weatherization Working Group, sub-groups formed to look at barriers related to funding and deferral issues, programmatic equity barriers, and workforce and supply chain issues. 


The Minnesota Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP) is a predominantly federally funded, statewide, residential assistance program for income-eligible households run by the Minnesota Department of Commerce. In 2021, legislation written, but not enacted, set forth a goal of establishing a Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP) Working Group. Informally established by the Minnesota Department of Commerce, the weatherization working group was developed with a goal to explore ways to leverage existing and identify new funding sources to increase the number of income-eligible Minnesota households served or the scope of services provided by the Weatherization Assistance Program.

The Working Group met a total of seven times between October 29, 2021 and February 4, 2022 as a large group, with additional meetings and email exchanges by the three separate sub-groups.

Subordinate to:

Chairs: Representative Jamie Long, Chair, House Climate and Energy Finance and Policy Committee and Senator David Senjem, Chair, Senate Energy and Utilities Finance and Policy Committee.

  • Anjali Bains, Fresh Energy
  • Colin Beere, Sheetmetal Workers Union,  Local 10 Representative  
  • Rep. Robert Bierman, House Climate and Energy Finance and Policy Committee  
  • John-Michael Cross, Environment and Energy Study Institute
  • Jon Fabre*, Otter Tail Power Company
  • Angela Fulgham, Minnesota Power
  • Bill Grant, MinnCAP
  • Joel Haskard, University of Minnesota
  • Bob Jagusch, MN Municipal Utilities  Association
  • Liz Kuoppala*, MAHUBE-OTWA Community Action Partnership
  • Alice Madden*, Community  Power
  • Nick Mark, Xcel Energy
  • Jake McAlpine, Energy Conservatory
  • Jed Norgaarden, Sustainable  Resources Center
  • Mari Ojeda*, Fresh Energy
  • Becky Olson*, Center for Energy and Environment
  • Commissioner Joe Sullivan*, Vice-Chair, Public Utilities Commission
  • Katherine Teiken*, Minnesota Housing
  • Ethan Warner, CenterPoint Energy
  • Ansha Zaman, Center for Earth, Energy and Democracy 
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 02/18/2022

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image