Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Work Zone Speed Management Task Force

Active dates:2021-2022
Established by Commissioners of Transportation and Public Safety

The task force was created by the Commissioners of Transportation and Public Safety to help respond to the request from the Legislature that they perform a work zone speed management study. The study must: evaluate existing legal authority for strategies, practices, and methods to reduce vehicle speeds and enhance worker safety in work zones, which may include but is not limited to use of traffic control devices, use of barriers, traffic control design modifications, and speed enforcement actions; propose a process for contractors operating in a work zone that allows contractors to request modifications to a project's traffic control plan, in order to reduce vehicle speeds or improve worker safety in a work zone; make recommendations on changes to current policies and procedures related to work zone safety; and make recommendations on changes to state law to improve work zone safety. By February 1, 2022, the commissioners must complete the study and submit it to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over transportation policy and finance.


HDR Engineering, Inc. was contracted to conduct research, facilitate the evaluations of potential improvements, summarize recommendations proposed by the task force, and prepare the study.


The task force is composed of representatives from MnDOT, DPS, road building contractors, traffic control contractors, Minnesota State Patrol, Minnesota Safety Council, Minnesota County Engineers Association, League of Minnesota Cities, and the Associated General Contractors.

The following individuals served on the task force:

  • Paul Aasen, MN Safety Council
  • Rashmi Brewer, MnDOT State Aid
  • Brent Carron, Valley Paving
  • Nancy Daubenberger, MnDOT Chief Engineer
  • Ericca Erhard, MnDOT Chief Counsel’s Office
  • Major Chris Erickson, State Patrol
  • JP Gillach, MnDOT Communications
  • Joe Gustafson, Washington County
  • Mike Hanson, DPS Traffic Safety
  • Ken Johnson, MnDOT Traffic
  • Kevin Kosobud, MnDOT Construction
  • Greg Laine, MnDOT Maintenance
  • Reed Leidle, Safety Signs
  • Tim Lewis, Warning Lites of MN
  • Mike Martinez, HDR Engineering
  • Michelle Moser, MnDOT Traffic
  • Ron Rauchle, MnDOT Metro Traffic
  • Tom Ravn, MnDOT Construction
  • Reid Romer, Egan Company
  • Paul Sandy, City of Brainerd
  • Matt Semerad, AGC
  • Brian Sorenson, MnDOT Traffic
  • Ted Ulven, MnDOT Construction
  • Bob Vasek, MnDOT Maintenance
  • Tracey Von Bargen, Grant County
  • Brent Wilber, Mathy Construction & Rochester Sand and Gravel
  • Jennifer Witt, MnDOT Government Affairs
  • Andrew Witter, Sherburne County
  • Laura Ziegler, AGC
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 02/09/2022

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image