Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Frontline Worker Pay Working Group

Active dates:2021-

The working group must make a recommendation for the disbursement of $250,000,000 in direct financial support to frontline workers, including but not limited to long-term care workers. In developing its recommendation, the working group must consider factors including a frontline worker's increased financial burden and increased risk of virus exposure due to the nature of their work.

The working group must submit proposed legislative language implementing its recommendations to the governor, speaker of the house, and senate majority leader by September 6, 2021. For the working group to adopt a recommendation, seven of nine members must vote to approve it. If seven of nine members do not approve a single recommendation, then the working group may present not more than three drafts of legislation implementing potential options.


The speaker of the house must designate one member to convene the first meeting. Meetings of the working group must be open to the public. The Legislative Coordinating Commission must provide physical or electronic meeting space and other administrative support as requested by the working group. The working group expires upon submission of the proposed legislation required by subdivision 5.


The working group consists of nine members:

  • two members of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;
  • one member of the house of representatives appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives;
  • two members of the senate appointed by the senate majority leader;
  • one member of the senate appointed by the minority leader of the senate; and
  • three members representing the executive branch appointed by the governor.

All appointments under this subdivision must be made by July 15, 2021. The working group must elect a chair and vice-chair from among its members.

The following individuals will serve on the working group: Rep. Ryan Winkler (chair), Rep. Cedrick Frazier, Rep. Anne Neu Brindley, Sen. Karin Housley (vice chair), Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer, Sen. Erin Murphy, Department of Employment and Economic Development Commissioner Steve Grove, Department of Labor and Industry Commissioner Roslyn Robertson, and Department of Revenue Commissioner Robert Doty.

Record last updated: 03/15/2022

Additional print information on this group may be available in the Library's collection of agency notebooks. Please contact a librarian for assistance. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image