Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Hemp Cannabinoid Workgroup

Active dates:2019-2020
Established by Department of Agriculture

The Legislature mandated that the Minnesota Department of Agriculture, in consultation with the Departments of Health and Public Safety, develop a framework for regulating the possession and use of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) resulting from processing of hemp, and submit their findings by February 15, 2020. The Department of Agriculture convened the workgroup to help prepare that framework.


The workgroup, composed of members of the Minnesota Departments of Agriculture, Health, and Public Safety, held four meetings in 2019 to discuss issues surrounding the extraction of cannabinoids from hemp and the potential for concentrated THC to be regulated in a manner that prevents the diversion and misuse of a controlled substance.

The goal of the workgroup was to develop a framework that would create a consistent process for tracking processed hemp materials above the legal limit and records for their transportation, remediation and disposal. The members of the workgroup, listed below, helped to provide the suggestive actions and considerations outlined in the framework report, published in January 2020.


The workgroup was comprised of the following representatives from the Minnesota Departments of Agriculture, Public Safety and Health and county and municipal law enforcement:

  • Anthony Cortilet, Supervisor, Noxious Weed and Industrial Hemp Programs - Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Margaret Wiatrowski, Industrial Hemp Program Coordinator – Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Kathryn Mutschler, Industrial Hemp Regulatory Specialist – Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Denise Thiede, Section Manager, Seed, Weed, Hemp and Biotech Section, Plant Protection Division – Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Douglas Spanier, Department Legal Counsel – Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Chris McNulty, Data Practices Attorney – Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Brian Marquart, Statewide Gang and Drug Coordinator – Minnesota Department of Public Safety
  • Carla Cincotta, Director, Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement – Minnesota Department of Public Safety
  • Captain Jon Olsen, State Patrol Commercial Vehicle Commander - Minnesota Department of Public Safety
  • Jesse Grabau, Narcotics Investigator - Fillmore County Sheriff’s Office and Statewide Drug Task Force
  • Clayton Barg, Patrol Officer – City of Baxter Police Department
  • Chris Tholkes, Acting Director, Office of Medical Cannabis – Minnesota Department of Health
  • Megan Thompson, Planning Program Supervisor – Office of Medical Cannabis – Minnesota Department of Health
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 04/19/2021

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image