Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Governor's Council on Biofuels

Active dates:2019-2020

The Governor's Council on Biofuels is created to advise the Governor, and the Commissioners of the Department of Agriculture, the Department of Transportation, the Department of Commerce, and the Pollution Control Agency on the role of biofuels in reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and recommend policy and budget proposals to foster growth in the production and use of biofuels. The Department of Agriculture must submit a report to the Governor, based upon the Council's recommendations, by November 1, 2020.


The Council released a report on November 2, 2020 with their findings, conclusions, and recommendations that resulted from a nine-month-long consensus-building process. Topics of discussion included E15 (gasoline blended with 15 percent ethanol) and mid-level blends, biodiesel, and biofuels infrastructure; low-c arbon fuel standard (LCFS); biofuels use in the state fleet; public understanding and marketing; vehicles and biofuels; advanced biofuels; and benzene/BTEX.


The Council must consist of 15 members appointed by the Governor representing agriculture, the biofuels industry, transportation, environmental and conservation interests, and other relevant stakeholders.

Council Members:

  • Gary Anderson – Eagan, MN
  • Michael Bull – Northfield Township, MN
  • John Christianson – Lake Lillian, MN
  • Elizabeth Crow – Minneapolis, MN
  • Tim Gross – Duluth, MN
  • Chris Hanson – Fountain, MN
  • Rick Horton – Grand Rapids, MN
  • Kevin Lee – Minneapolis, MN
  • Lance Klatt – Little Canada, MN
  • Jeanne McCaherty – Prior Lake, MN
  • Mick Miller – Morris, MN
  • Kevin Paap – Lake Crystal, MN
  • Brian Thalmann – Plato, MN
  • Gary Wertish – Renville, MN
  • Bob Worth – Lake Benton, MN
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Record last updated: 12/08/2020

Additional print information on this group may be available in the Library's collection of agency notebooks. Please contact a librarian for assistance. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image