Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Legislative Budget Office Transition Planning Task Force

Active dates:2017-2019

The task force must develop a plan for the orderly transition of fiscal note and local impact note responsibilities from Minnesota Management and Budget to the Legislative Budget Office (LBO). At a minimum, the plan must consider the office's responsibilities for fiscal notes and local impact notes, the duties of state agencies and departments and local governments in facilitating the office's work, and any other issues relevant to the transition of duties to the office, as determined by the task force. The plan may include recommendations for additional legislation as necessary to implement the task force's transition plan, or to further clarify or structure the office's responsibilities.


Membership appointments must be made no later than July 15, 2017. The task force expires upon submission of its final report to the legislature.

The task force must submit a preliminary report no later than January 15, 2018, and a final report no later than December 1, 2018, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives Ways and Means Committee and the senate Finance Committee. The final report must describe the task force's work, including recommendations for a transition plan and any recommendations for legislation.

When its work commences in 2019, the LBO will be overseen by the Legislative Budget Office Oversight Committee.


The 11 member task force consists of two members of the House of Representatives, two members of the Senate, the Legislative Auditor, the Commissioner of Management and Budget and the State Budget Director. The chief nonpartisan fiscal analyst of the House of Representatives, the lead nonpartisan fiscal analyst of the Senate, and two members from executive branch agencies, appointed by the Commissioner of Management and Budget, serve as ex-officio, nonvoting members of the task force. The chair of the Legislative Coordinating Commission shall designate one member of the task force to serve as its chair. 

The following individuals serve on the task force: 

Representative Bob Vogel, Chair
Representative Lyndon Carlson
Myron Frans, Commissioner of Minnesota Management and Budget
Margaret Kelly, State Budget Director
Jim Nobles, Legislative Auditor
Senator Mary Kiffmeyer
Senator Richard Cohen
Bill Marx, Chief Fiscal Analyst, House Fiscal Analysis Department (ex-officio member)
Eric Nauman, Lead Fiscal Analyst, Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis (ex-officio member)
Emily Piper, Commissioner of the Department of Human Services (ex-officio member)
Larry Pogemiller, Commissioner of the Office of Higher Education (ex-officio member)

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2018.
Record last updated: 01/09/2024

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image