Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Career and Technical Educator Licensing Advisory Task Force

Active dates:2016-2017

The task force must review the current status of career and technical educator licenses and provide recommendations on changes, if any are deemed necessary, to the licensure requirements and methods to increase access for school districts to licensed career and technical educators. The task force must report its findings and recommendations, with draft legislation if needed to implement the recommendations, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over kindergarten through grade 12 education and higher education by January 15, 2017.


The commissioner of education or the commissioner's designee must convene the first meeting of the task force by September 1, 2016.

The task force expires January 16, 2017, or upon submission of the report required in subdivision 2, whichever is earlier.

Advisory to:

The Career and Technical Educator Licensing Advisory Task Force consists of the following members, appointed by the commissioner of education, unless otherwise specified:
(1) one person who is a member of the Board of Teaching;
(2) one person representing colleges and universities offering a board-approved teacher preparation program;
(3) one person representing science, technology, engineering, and math programs, such as Project Lead the Way;
(4) one person designated by the Board of the Minnesota Association for Career and Technical Administrators;
(5) one person designated by the Board of the Minnesota Association for Career and Technical Education;
(6) three people who are secondary school administrators, including superintendents, principals, and assistant principals; and
(7) two people who are members of other interested groups, as determined by the commissioner of education.

The commissioner and designating authorities must make their initial appointments and designations by July 1, 2016.

Task Force members: Loy Woelber, Representing: Board of Teaching; Jeralyn Jargo, Representing: Postsecondary Offering Board Approved Teacher Prep; Jim Davnie, Representing: Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM); Jessica Lipa, Representing: Minnesota Association for Career and Technical Administrators (MACTA); Callon Siebenahler, Representing: Minnesota Association for Career and Technical Education (MnACTE); Steve Jones, Representing: Secondary Administrators; Tonya Sconiers, Representing: Secondary Administrators; Natalie Rasmussen, Representing: Secondary Administrators; Troy Haugen, Representing: Perkins Consortium Leader; Brad Greiman, Representing: University of Minnesota - Agriculture Education.

Agency heads:

Commissioner of Education

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2017.
Record last updated: 05/31/2023

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image