Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Legislative Working Group on Mille Lacs Lake

Active dates:2015
Governor Mark Dayton
Function: Governor Mark Dayton has appointed a Minnesota legislative working group to look into the walleye problem on Mille Lacs Lake.
History: Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Commissioner Tom Landwehr and Governor Mark Dayton announced Monday, August 3, 2015 that it would be the last day anglers could fish for walleye on Mille Lacs Lake. DNR is closing the lake to walleye fishing at 10 p.m. Monday because the annual limit has been surpassed by 2,000 pounds. The closure will remain in effect through Monday, Nov. 30, 2015. Fishing for other species remains open. For background on the current Mille Lacs situation and walleye management of the lake, please see this MN Department of Natural Resources News Release from August 2, 2015.

The first meeting of the Working Group was held on Tuesday, Aug. 4 at 3 p.m. The meeting was open to members of the legislature and the public was invited to attend. The group met three times in total: August 4, 5, and 13, 2015. Please see the MN House of Representatives television link in the Internet Resources section.

On Thursday, August 13, 2015 the working group decided to stop meeting. Rep. Tom Hackbarth said a fix for assisting businesses hurt by the lake's declining walleye population will have to wait for the 2016 regular session.
Membership: The working group will be co-chaired by Representative Tom Hackbarth and Senator David Tomassoni.

As of Monday, August 3, 2015, these are the appointments to the Legislative Working Group on Mille Lacs Lake:
Representative Tom Hackbarth (Co-Chair)
Representative Denny McNamara
Representative Dale Lueck
Representative Sondra Erickson
Representative Rick Hansen
Representative John Persell
Senator David Tomassoni (Co-Chair)
Senator John Marty
Senator Rod Skoe
Senator Tom Saxhaug
Senator David Brown
Senator Carrie Ruud
Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive of the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe
Karen McQuoid, member of Mille Lacs Area Tourism Council

Governor Dayton appointed the following officials:
Commissioner Cynthia Bauerly, Revenue
Commissioner Myron Frans, Management & Budget
Commissioner Katie Clark Sieben, Employment & Economic Development
Commissioner Tom Landwehr, Natural Resources
John Edman, Director of Explore Minnesota
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2015.
Record last updated: 04/27/2016

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image