Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Elections Emergency Planning Task Force

Active dates:August 1, 2015 - January 1, 2016

The task force must research the following issues:
(1) potential emergency scenarios that could impact elections;
(2) current capacity and authority to address emergency situations;
(3) potential direct and indirect costs of an emergency that disrupts elections;
(4) maintaining ballot security in event of an emergency;
(5) continuity of operations procedures; and
(6) communications plans and key emergency contacts


The Secretary of State, or the Secretary's designee, must convene the initial meeting of the task force by August 1, 2015. The members of the task force must elect a chair and vice-chair from the members of the task force at the first meeting.

The task force must submit a report by January 1, 2016, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the committees in the Senate and House of Representatives with primary jurisdiction over elections, summarizing its findings and listing recommendations for the development of elections emergency plans statewide. The report shall include draft legislation to implement the recommendationsof the task force.

The task force shall sunset the day following the submission of the report, or January 1, 2016, whichever is earlier.


The task force consists of 14 members: Secretary Steve Simon, Chair, Office of the Secretary of State; Debby Erickson, Vice chair, Minnesota Association of County Officers; Major Taylor Cox, Minnesota Adjutant General; Rep. Kelly Fenton, Speaker of the House; Margot Imdieke Cross, Minnesota State Council on Disability; Joe Kelly, Department of Public Safety; Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer, Senate Minority Leader; Barret Lane, Association of Minnesota Emergency Managers; Lucinda Messman, Minnesota Association of Townships; Rep. Mike Nelson, House Minority Leader; Gary Poser, Office of the Secretary of State; Barb Proulx, Minnesota School Boards Association; Sen. Katie Sieben, Senate Majority Leader; Grace Wachlarowicz, League of Minnesota Cities

Entries for this agency in the Annual Compilation and Statistical Report of Multi-Member Agencies Report: 2015.

Note: This report provides membership details as well as meeting information and a summary of the group's activities.

Agency heads:

Chair: Secretary Steve Simon, Office of the Secretary of State

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2015.
Record last updated: 06/01/2023

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image