Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

District Courts

Also known as:
Trial Courts
Active dates:1858-

The district court has original jurisdiction in all civil and criminal cases and shall have appellate jurisdiction as prescribed by law.

Minnesota's district courts are located throughout the 87 counties in the state and are organized into 10 Judicial Districts.


There shall be two or more district judges in each district. Each judge of the district court in any district shall be a resident of that district at the time of his selection and during his continuance in office. The judges of the district court resident in each of the judicial districts shall meet and elect from among their number a single chief judge and an assistant chief judge


See Judicial Appointments Notebooks, Volumes 1, 2 & 3, Legislative Library Reference collection, KFM5925.5.A6 J83, for information, news articles, and appointments relating to the Minnesota District Courts.

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2014.
Record last updated: 01/31/2019

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image