Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Board of Legal Certification

Active dates:1986 -

The Minnesota State Board of Legal Certification oversees the process by which lawyers in Minnesota are certified as specialists. The certification process gives the public information about certain attorneys who have earned the right to call themselves specialists in certain fields of law.


The Minnesota Board of Legal Certification has been accrediting the agencies that certify Minnesota lawyers as specialists in certain fields of law since 1986 (2011 Annual Report). Attorneys certified as specialists in particular areas of law may advertise their specialties. Minnesota attorneys who are certified as specialists must provide evidence of substantial involvement in the specialty area, pass a written examination in the specialty area, and complete at least 20 hours of continuring legal education courses in the specialty area every three years.


The Minnesota Supreme Court appoints the twelve members of the Board. There are nine (9) lawyer members and three (3) public members.

Record last updated: 02/07/2019

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image