Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Conservation Legacy Council

Also known as:
Active dates:October 2006 - April 2007

The Council's responsibilities include providing advice and recommendations to the Governor on how the state can better govern and fund the protection and enhancement of its natural resources.


Governor Tim Pawlenty created the Conservation Legacy Council (Council) to provide him "advice and recommendations ... [for a] sustainable governance and funding model which will create a lasting legacy for the conservation, protection and enhancement of the state's natural resources and which will establish Minnesota as the nation's leading conservation state."

The Council held ten meetings between November 30, 2006 and April 26, 2007, during which time it met with the Governor, state agency leaders, and a wide array of conservation and natural resource stakeholder groups and coalitions.
(from the Executive Summary of the Council's 2007 report - see below for full report)

The 2007 report recommends a way to develop and reach a conservation compact, including a new model for governing, funding, and delivering conservation outcomes. Additionally, it offers a practical and actionable guide for making Minnesota the nation's leading conservation state.


The Council will be comprised of up to 15 members appointed as follows:
a). The Governor will appoint up to 11 public members.
i). Public members must be residents of Minnesota who are outdoor enthusiasts and who represent a wide range of Minnesota's outdoor interests including, but not limited to, hunting, fishing, conservation and recreation.
ii). Public members will include residents from geographically diverse areas of the State.

b). The Legislature may, at its discretion, appoint four legislators to serve as members of the Council:
i). The Majority Leader of the Senate may appoint two Senators, one from the minority and one from the majority caucus.
ii). The Speaker of the House of Representatives may appoint two Representatives, one from the minority and one from the majority caucus.

c). The Governor will designate a public member to serve as the chair.

d). The Governor will fill any vacancies in the positions for public members. The Majority Leader will fill vacancies for the legislative members from the Senate and the Speaker will fill vacancies of members from the House of Representatives.

e). Council members will serve a two-year term. Council members will serve on a voluntary basis and are not eligible for per-diem or payment of expenses. The Senate or House of Representatives may allow for per diem or other payment of expenses to legislative members from legislative funds.

Council members included: Chair, Michael Kilgore, Senator Gen Olson, Senator Tom Saxhaug, Representative Tom Hackbarth, Representative Aaron Peterson, LeAnn Buck, Joe Duggan, Bruce Hawkinson, Dawn Hegland, Jane Kingston, Kirk Schnitker, Carrie Mellesmoen, Lawrence Sukalski, Ron Schara, and David Zentner.

Entries for this agency in the Annual Compilation and Statistical Report of Multi-Member Agencies Report: 2007.

Note: This report provides membership details as well as meeting information and a summary of the group's activities.

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2006.
Record last updated: 10/13/2023

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image