Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs

Also known as:
Veterans Affairs Department
Active dates:1943-

The Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs is committed to ensuring that Minnesota's veterans, their dependents and survivors receive the full measure of benefits and services to which they are entitled. The Department provides emergency funding for food and shelter; higher education counseling and financial assistance; referral for counseling services; employment services; assistance with the filing and processing of federal claims and pension; and the support of non-profit, independent programs designed to serve veterans.


The Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs (MDVA) was created by the 1943 state legislature at the height of World War II to consolidate the services provided to the increasing number of returning soldiers. The Minnesota Veterans Homes came under the jurisdiction of MDVA in 2007 when Governor Pawlenty merged the Minnesota Veterans Homes Board with the agency.

Agency heads:

Commissioner term, 4 years or pleasure of governor. 


  • William Revier, July 1943 to March 1957
  • Lyle Kinvig, April 1957 to May 1959
  • Wilbur Lindholm, July 1959 to April 1961
  • Robert G. Hansen, July 1961 to September 1964
  • Alcuin Loehr, February 1965 to April 1969
  • Herbert Anderson, December 1969 to February 1971
  • Elmer Childress, April 1971 to January 1975
  • George Winter, February 1975
  • Russell Green, March 1975 to January 1979
  • Donald M. Miller, January 1979 to October, 1980
  • Charles Pinkham, January 1981 to February 1982
  • James Main, March 1982 to July 1983
  • William Gregg, July 1983 to January 1991
  • Bernard R. Melter, January 1991 to January 2001
  • Jeffery L. Olson, January 2001 to December 2004
  • Michael Pugliese (acting commissioner), December 2004 to March 2005
  • Clark Dyrud, March 2005 to April 2010
  • Michael Pugliese, April 2010 to January 2011
  • Larry Shellito, January 2011 to January 2019
  • Larry Herke, January 2019 to September 22, 2023
  • Brad Lindsay (temporary commissioner, September 23, 2023-December 20, 2023), September 23, 2023 -
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
Governor Walz selects Brad Lindsay to serve as Commissioner of Veterans Affairs. Office of Governor Tim Walz & Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, 12/20/2023.
Minnesota Veterans Affairs commissioner stepping down. Star Tribune, 9/13/2023.
MN Veterans Affairs commissioner Herke to retire. St. Paul Pioneer Press, 9/13/2023.
Governor Walz thanks retiring Commissioner Herke, opens selection process for cabinet vacancy. Office of Governor Tim Walz & Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, 9/12/2023.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1957-2013.
Record last updated: 04/22/2024

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image