Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

State College Board

Active dates:1957-1975
Function: The state college board shall have the educational management, supervision, and control of the state colleges and of all property appertaining thereto. It shall appoint all presidents, teachers, and other necessary employees therein and fix their salaries. It shall prescribe courses of study, conditions of admission, prepare and confer diplomas, report graduates of the state college department, and adopt suitable rules and regulations for the colleges. It shall, as a whole or by committee, visit and thoroughly inspect the grounds, buildings, modes of instruction, discipline, and management of each college at least once in each year. It shall report to the governor, on or before December 1 in each even-numbered year, the condition, wants, and prospects of each college with recommendations for its improvement. -Minn Stat 136.14 1957
Preceded by:
Normal School Board
State Teachers College Board
Succeeded by:
History: The Minnesota State Colleges were established by legislative action in 1858 creating the Normal School System of the State of Minnesota. Over the years the original missions and the names of the institutions have changed to meet changing and increasing demands of the citizens of Minnesota for additional educational opportunities beyond the high school (Biennial Report of the Minnesota State College System, 1968).

The State College Board was established in 1905 as the Normal School board (RL s 1439). Became the State Teachers College Board in 1921 (1921 Minn. Laws Chap. 260 Sec. 2). Became the State College Board in 1957 (1957 Minn. Laws Chap. 576 Sec. 1,2). Was Succeeded by the State University Board in 1975.
Membership: The board consists of 8 directors and the commissioner of education. The directors are appointed by the Governor and must be confirmed by the Senate. The directors serve a terms of four years. There shall be one director resident in each county in which a state college is located, and no two shall be residents of the same county.
Agency heads: Bevington Reed ( -1968); Dr. G. Theodore Mitau (July 15, 1968-September 1, 1976)
Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1963-1975.
Record last updated: 07/07/2014

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image