Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

South Dakota-Minnesota Boundary Waters Commission

Also known as:
Minnesota-South Dakota Boundary Waters Commission
Active dates:[1939]-1976, 1990-

Investigates and determines the most desirable levels of artificially controlled waters; prescribes a plan for controlling and regulating such levels; and prescribes and promulgates rules and procedures for the conduct of its investigations, surveys, and hearings. 


The South Dakota-Minnesota Boundary Waters Commission was established after the drought of the 1930's to address water disputes between the states.

The Commission appears to have been abolished for a time and then reinstated in 1990.


5 members (1 appointed by governor); 4-year terms (or term of office). The members of the commission shall be the secretaries of the department of water and natural resources and the department of game, fish and parks of South Dakota and the commissioners of natural resources and the pollution control agency of Minnesota. The fifth member shall be a qualified engineer appointed for a four year term by the mutual consent of the governors of Minnesota and South Dakota.

Record last updated: 04/22/2020

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image