Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Legislative Commission on Small Business Procurements

Also known as:
Small Business Procurements Commission
Active dates:1989-1990

A small business procurements commission is created to study the small business procurement programs in Minnesota Statutes, sections 16B.189; 16B.19, subdivisions 2, 4, 5, and 6; 16B.21, subdivision 2; 16B.22; 116J.68, subdivision 1; 136.27; 136.72; 137.31, subdivision 3; 161.321, subdivisions 2, 3, and 6; 241.27, subdivision 2; 471.345, subdivision 8; 473.142; 473.406, subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6; and 645.445, subdivision 5, in order to propose amendments that will conform the programs to recent United States Supreme Court decisions.

The commission shall take steps to at least:
    (1) assure that minority and women's businesses and organizations know of its existence and purpose;
    (2) determine the existence and extent of discrimination in Minnesota business, trade, and industry;
    (3) recommend appropriate statutory or regulatory changes; and
    (4) recommend programs targeted to small businesses in need of assistance.

The commission shall report its findings and recommendations for legislative action to the governor and the legislature by January 31, 1990, and shall cease to function after that date.


The Commission held public hearings in St. Cloud, Bemidji, Duluth, Minneapolis, and St. Paul at which it took testimony from minority and female business owners and from representatives of such groups as business development organizations, trade associations, and civil rights agencies. It also gathered additional evidence through affidavits and other documentation of discrimination.


The Commission is to consist of 11 members and a designee of the Attorney General. Membership as of January 1990:

Sen. Betty Adkins, Co-Chair
Sen. Cal Larson
Sen. John Marty
Fermin L. Aragon
Georgene Bergstrom
Donald A. Crowther
Rep. Richard Jefferson, Co-Chair
Rep. Sidney Pauly
Rep. Ted Winter
Diane M. Morey
Gae Veit
Deputy Atty. Gen. Linda F. Close

Entries for this agency in the Annual Compilation and Statistical Report of Multi-Member Agencies Report: 1990, 1989.

Note: This report provides membership details as well as meeting information and a summary of the group's activities.


State Register: "Commission expired after submitting a report to the legislature in January of 1990."

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 1989.
Record last updated: 08/05/2020

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image