Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature
Skip Navigation Links > >

Minnesota Agencies

Information on Minnesota State Agencies, Boards, Task Forces, and Commissions

Compiled by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library

Minnesota State

Also known as:
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU)
Active dates:1995 -

The statewide system of state universities, community colleges, and technical colleges is known as Minnesota State (formerly Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, aka MnSCU). These institutions provide programs of study that meet the needs of students for occupational, general, baccalaureate, and graduate education leading to certificates, diplomas, and degrees at the associate, baccalaureate, master's, and applied doctorate levels. The system benefits students by offering streamlined services, including some through the system office, that reduce expenditures and make more efficient use of state resources. The system also works to accomplish its academic mission by offering a broad array of flexible academic programs with in-class and online delivery options, by improving transfer among institutions and programs, and by coordinating other student services.


The system became operational on July 1, 1995, bringing together three formerly separate systems of community colleges, technical colleges, and state universities. The merger of three systems resulted from legislation passed by the 1991 Minnesota Legislature. The 1991 law mandating the merger of the public colleges and state universities also created the Higher Education Board to guide the process.

On April 19, 2016, the MnSCU board of trustees agreed a new name and logo for the umbrella organization could help establish the reputation of its seven state universities and 24 community and technical colleges as the most affordable, quality post-secondary option for Minnesota residents. Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) changed its name to "Minnesota State" and moved to a new logo in summer 2016.

As of 2017, the statewide system is composed of seven state universities and 30 colleges, with 54 campuses across the state. These institutions serve more than 375,000 students annually. Minnesota State offers more than 3,700 academic programs and employs more than 16,000 faculty and staff.

Agency heads:

In 1993, the Minnesota Higher Education Board (now called the MnSCU Board of Trustees) appointed Dr. Jay Noren as interim chancellor to guide the transition to the 1995 merger. He succeeded Dr. Mary Rieder, who was appointed as acting interim chancellor in 1991 (1991-1992). Eric Radke was acting chancellor, December, 1992 - January, 1993.

Post Merger: Dr. Judith Eaton (August 15, 1995 - 1997); Morris Anderson (interim chancellor May 1997 - November 1998; chancellor November 1998 - 2001); James H. McCormick (2001 - 2011); Steven J. Rosenstone (Aug. 1, 2011 - August 1, 2017); Devinder Malhotra (interim chancellor August 1, 2017 - )

Note: The Legislative Reference Library may have additional reports on or by this group available through our catalog.
News clippings and documents. Agencies Notebook Collection, 2011-2019.
Record last updated: 08/08/2023

All information on this group from the Library’s collection of agency notebooks has been digitized. These materials are incorporated into the “documents/articles” section of the record. Please contact a librarian with any questions. The Minnesota Agencies database is a work in progress.

Agencies image