What Percentage of Incumbent Minnesota Legislators Are Returned to Office After Each General Election?

(What percentage of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Election Date: November 4, 2008 **Legislative Chamber**: House

Number of incumbents who ran: 119

134 Total number of legislators in the chamber

Minus 15 Number of incumbents who did not run

Equals 119 Number of incumbents who ran

Number of incumbents who were defeated: 8

Number of new legislators after election

Minus 15 Number of incumbents who did not run

Equals 8 Number of incumbents who were defeated

Number of incumbents who won: 111

119 Number of incumbents who ran

Minus 8 Number of incumbents who were defeated

Equals 111 Number of incumbents who won

Percent of incumbents re-elected: 93.3 %

111 Number of incumbents who won

Divided by 119 Number of incumbents who ran

Equals $.9328 \times 100 = 93.28$ Percent of incumbents re-elected

2008 Legislative Election Statistics (Nov. 4, 2008)

House (134)

Representatives who did not seek re-election to the House (15):

John Berns
Chris DeLaForest
Brad Finstad
Bud Heidgerken
Mike Jaros
Scott Kranz
Frank Moe
Mark Olson
Dennis Ozment
Erik Paulsen
Aaron Peterson
Connie Ruth
Dean Simpson
Kathy Tingelstad
Neva Walker

Representatives who lost in primary election (2):

Willie Dominguez Neil Peterson

Representatives who lost general re-election bid (6):

Ron Erhardt
*Sondra Erickson
Shelley Madore
Ken Tschumper
Lynn Wardlow
Sandy Wollschlager

^{*} Possible recount

New Representatives (23):

Paul H. Anderson Bobby Joe Champion Gregory Davids Connie Doepke Keith Downey Andrew Falk Jeff Hayden *Gail Kulick Jackson Kory Kath Tim Kelly Mary Kiffmeyer Jenifer Look Tara Mack Mark Murdock Jerry Newton Mike Obermueller John Persell Roger Reinert Paul Rosenthal Tim Sanders Peggy Scott Phillip Sterner Paul Torkelson

Full House:

Members who did not seek re-election: 15

Members who lost election: 8 (Includes 2 who lost in primary election)

New members: 23

^{*} Possible recount