What Percentage of Incumbent Minnesota Legislators Are Returned to Office After Each General Election?

(What percent of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Election Date: 1972 **Legislative Chamber**: Senate

Number of incumbents who ran:

Total number of legislators in the chamber

Minus 18 Number of incumbents who did not run

Equals 49 Number of incumbents who ran

Number of incumbents who were defeated:

Number of new legislators after election

Minus 18 Number of incumbents who did not run

Equals 8 Number of incumbents who were defeated

Number of incumbents who won:

49 Number of incumbents who ran

Minus 8 Number of incumbents who were defeated

Equals 41 Number of incumbents who won

Percent of incumbents re-elected: 83.7 %

41 Number of incumbents who won

Divided by 49 Number of incumbents who ran

Equals 83.7% Percent of incumbents re-elected

What Percentage of Incumbent Minnesota Legislators Are Returned to Office After Each General Election?

(What percent of Minnesota legislators who run for re-election win?)

Election Date: 1972 **Legislative Chamber**: House

Number of incumbents who ran: 99

135* Total number of legislators in the chamber

Minus 36 Number of incumbents who did not run

Equals 99 Number of incumbents who ran

Number of incumbents who were defeated: 18

Number of new legislators after election

Minus 36 Number of incumbents who did not run

Equals 17** Number of incumbents who were defeated

Number of incumbents who won: 81

99 Number of incumbents who ran

Minus 18 Number of incumbents who were defeated

Equals 81 Number of incumbents who won

Percent of incumbents re-elected: 81.8 %

81 Number of incumbents who won

Divided by 99 Number of incumbents who ran

Equals 81.8% Percent of incumbents re-elected

^{*} The 1972 reapportionment plan reduced the number of House seats from 135 to 134.

^{**}There were actually 18 incumbents defeated; change from 135 to 134 members accounts for discrepancy

SENATE - Newly Elected Members after the 1972 Elections TOTAL=26

Otto Bang, 39. Charles Berg, 15. John Bernhagen, 22. Robert Dunn, 18. Richard Fitzsimons, 1. Roger Hanson, 10. Hubert H. Humphrey III, 44. John Keefe, 40. Stephen Keefe, 59. Jack Kleinbaum, 17. Howard Knutson, 53. Al Kowalczyk, 45. B. Robert Lewis, 41. James Lord, 36. John Milton, 49. R. Nelson, 43. Robert North, 62. Wayne Olhoft, 11. John Patton, 30. David Schaaf, 46. Douglas Sillers, 9. Sam Solon, 7. Allan Spear, 57. J. Robert Stassen, 52. Eugene Stokowski, 55. Arnulf Ueland, Jr., 29.

Incumbent Senators who did not run in the 1972 Elections TOTAL=18

Ernest Anderson, 10, retired. C.J. Benson, 24, retired. Alf Bergerud, 29, retired. W.B. Dosland, 56, retired. Kelton Gage, 11, retired. Rollin Glewwe, 12, retired. Earl Gustafson, 60, retired. Stanley Holmquist, 16, retired. Keith Hughes, 51, retired. Harold Kalina, 40, retired. Glenn McCarty, 36, retired. John Metcalf, 14, retired. Dean Nyquist, 32, retired. Richard Palmer, 59, retired. Richard Parish, 31, ran for state House of Representatives. Wayne Popham, 35, retired. Donald Sinclair, 67, retired. Kenneth Wolfe, 30, retired.

Incumbent Senators who were defeated in the 1972 Elections
TOTAL=8

Defeated in a primary:

Norman Hanson, 52. Gene Mammenga, 64.

Defeated in the general election:

John Tracy Anderson, 48. Roy Holsten, 41. Vernon Jensen, 22. Victor Jude, 13. Paul Overgaard, 9. Clifford Ukkelberg, 55.

HOUSE- Newly Elected Members after the 1972 Elections TOTAL=53

Glen Anderson, 15B. Lynn Becklin, 18A. Jerome Belisle, 50A. Linda Berglin, 59A. Arthur Braun, 1A. Lyndon Carlson, 44A. JAmes Casserly, 56A. Dave Cleary, 38A. J.B. Clifford, 44B. David Cummiskey, 29A. Harold Dahl, 22B. Neil Dieterich, 62A. Gilbert Esau, 28A. Robert Ferderer, 64A. David Fjoslien, 11B. Mary Forsythe, 39A. Joan Growe, 40A. Joel Jacobs, 47A. Mike Jaros, 7B. Tad Jude, 42A. Phyllis Kahn, 57A. Ray Kempe, 53A. Walter Klaus, 25A. Gerald Knickerbocker, 40B. Gary Laidig, 51A. John Lindstrom, 21A. Vincent Lombardi, 49A. Ernee McArthur, 45B. Paul McCarron, 46A. Bob McEachern, 18B. Robert McFarlin, 41B. Darrel Miller, 32B. Melvin Miller, 12A. Ken Nelson, 59B. Michas Ohnstad, 19A. Richard Parish, 43B. Al Patton, 17A. James Pehler, 17B. Bradley Pieper, 53B. Ray Pleasant, 39B. Thomas Resner, 33A. Douglas St. Onge, 4A. John Sarna, 55B. William Schreiber, 45A. Glen Sherwood, 4B. Michael Sieben, 51B. John Spanish, 5B. Russell Stanton, 20B. John Tomlinson, 67B. Robert Vanasek, 24A. Gordon Voss, 47B.

Stephen Wenzel, 12B. Neil Wohlwend, 9A.

Incumbent Representatives who did not run in the 1972 Elections TOTAL=36

Howard Albertson, 8, retired. Otto Bang, 29A, ran for state Senate. Robert Becklin, 21B, retired. John Bernhagen, 15A, ran for state Senate. Edward Brandt, 41, retired. Warren Chamberlain, 7A, retired. Patrick Daugherty, 40, retired. Robert Dunn, 25B, ran for state Senate. Robert Falk, 64A, retired. JAck Fena, 63, retired. Richard Fitzsimons, 67A, ran for state Senate. Donald Forseth, 31A, ran for state Senate. Jon Haaven, 54A, ran for Congress. Roger Hanson, 55, ran for state Senate. John Keefe, 29B, ran for state Senate. Jack Kleinbaum, 51A, ran for state Senate. Howard Knutson, 12B, ran for state Senate. L.J. Lee, 65B, retired. Sidney Mason, 61B, retired. Rolf Nelson, 31B, ran for state Senate. Richard Nolan, 53A, ran for Congress. Robert North, 48A, ran for state Senate. Richard O'Dea, 8, retired. Vernon Plaisance, 57B, retired. Joseph Prifrel, 45A, retired. Roger Scherer, 32A, retired. Lyall Schwarzkopf, 35, retired. W.D. Shores, 23A, retired. Douglas Sillers, 56A, ran for state Senate. John Skeate, 41, retired. Spencer Sokolowski, 32B, retired. Sam Solon, 60, ran for state Senate. Vernon Sommerdorf, 43B, retired. Thomas Ticen, 27A, retired. William Walker, 58A, ran for Public Service Commissioner. F. Gordon Wright, 36, retired.

Incumbent Representatives who were defeated in the 1972 Elections TOTAL=18

Defeated in a primary:

Sam Barr, 24B.

Defeated in the general election:

Harol Anderson, 37. John Bares, 51B. W. Casper Fischer, 20B. Bertram Fuller, 3B. Paul Gerhardt, 10B. Wallace Gustafson, 23B. George Humphrey, 38. C.A. Johnson, 11A. Francis Judge, 19A. Paul (Pete) Petrafeso, 30B. Harvey Sathre, 5B. Alfred Schumann, 4. Thomas Simmons, 16A. Eugene Smith, 22A. Dwight Swanstrom, 59A. Steven Szarke, 13B. John Wingard, 13A.