MINUTES

COMMITTEE ON RULES & LEGSILATIVE ADMINISTRATION

The second meeting of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration was called to order by the Chairman at 4:30 pm on Wednesday, February 2, 1983 in Room 95 of the State Office Building. Members present were:

Anderson Brandl Carlson Heinitz Mann Minne

Munger Sieben Vanasek Wynia Eken, Chairman

Rep. Jennings was excused. A quorum was present.

Rep. Munger moved to approve the minutes of the previous meeting as submitted by the Clerk. The motion prevailed.

The first matter under consideration was a Report from the Subcommittee on Permanent Rules as well as other proposed amendments to the Permanent Rules relating to deadlines. Discussion. Rep. Munger moved to adopt the report of the Subcommittee and to approve the recommended deadline dates. The motion prevailed.

Personnel Report - Discussion. Rep. Sieben moved to amend the report to reflect the termination of Wanda Schumacher on February 1, 1983 but that the position would be held open. The motion prevailed. Rep. Sieben moved adoption of the report. The motion prevailed.

Resolution on Per Diem - Discussion. Rep. Eken moved adoption. Rep. Carlson moved to amend the resolution (see attached) to raise the amount to the statutory mercan. A division was called for on the voice vote. There being a ayes and 6 mays, the motion did not prevail. The question required on the Eken motion to adopt the Resolution and the motion prevailed.

Leadership Compensation - Rep. Munger moved adoption. The motion prevailed.

Meeting adjourned.

Rep. Willis R. Eken, Chairman

Joan Sweeney, Clerk

These House Rules Committee minutes show committee actions on a resolution related to legislator compensation. The pertinent resolution follows the minutes. Additional details are provided at https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary

COMMITTEE ON RULES AND LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION

RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 3.099, Subdivision 3, the following leadership positions are hereby designated to receive compensation as described below, effective the start of the 1983 Legislative Session:

The Speaker of the House, the Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Legislative Administration, and the House Minority Leader are each designated to receive up to 140 percent of the compensation of other members.

ADOPTED: February 2, 1983

Rep. Willis R. Eken, Chairman