MINUTES OF THE SENATE RULES AND ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE MEETING

January 31, 1985 10:00 A.M. Room 112, State Capitol

Members present:	Moe, R.D., Chairman Belanger Bernhagen Berglin Hughes Johnson, D.J. Lessard Luther Merriam Moe, D.M.	Nelson Pehler Renneke Schmitz Solon Spear Taylor Vega Willet
Members absent:	Chmielewski Dieterich Frederick	Peterson, C.C. Purfeerst Sieloff

Knutson

The meeting was called to order at 10:05 A.M. by the chairman.

Senator Luther moved the attached subcommittee reports from the Bill Referral Subcommittee. The motion carried. Senator Luther then moved adoption of the subcommittee reports. The motion carried.

Janine Mattson explained the amendment to the Senate roster. (see attached) Senator Renneke moved the amendment. The motion carried.

Senator Hughes moved the mileage resolution. (see attached) The motion carried.

The chairman asked the members for their opinions regarding per diem expenses. It was agreed to go along with the same as last session, which was up to \$36 for each calendar day and up to \$200 per month for housing. Senator Willet so moved. The motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:20 A.M.

These Senate Rules Committee minutes show committee actions on a resolution related to legislator compensation. Additional details are provided at https://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/histleg/salary

273

" On CONT

ð

10.00

Mr. Purfeerst moved that the foregoing report be now adopted. The motion prevailed.

Mr. Purfeerst moved that in accordance with the report from the Committee on Transportation, reported February 24, 1983, the Senate, having given its advice, do now consent to and confirm the appointment of:

METROPOLITAN TRANSIT COMMISSION CHAIRMAN

Peter Stumpf, 1444 North Grotto, St. Paul, Ramsey County, effective January 3, 1983, for a term expiring the first Monday in January, 1987.

The motion prevailed. So the appointment was confirmed.

RECESS

Mr. Moe. R.D. moved that the Senate do now recess subject to the call of the President. The motion prevailed.

After a brief recess, the President called the Senate to order.

APPOINTMENTS

Mr. Moe, R.D. from the Subcommittee on Committees recommends that the following Senators be and they hereby are appointed as a Conference Committee on:

S.F. No. 15: Messrs. Schmitz. Luther and Kroening.

Mr. Moe, R.D. moved that the foregoing appointments be approved. The motion prevailed.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS - CONTINUED

Mr. Moe. R.D. introduced-

Senate Resolution No. 23: A Senate resolution relating to mileage and living expenses.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

Each member of the Senate who has moved from his usual place of lodging during a substantial part of the sessions of the 73rd Legislature shall receive mileage for necessary travel in going to and returning from the place of meeting to his place of residence in the amount of 26 cents per mile, or any greater amount authorized by the commissioner of employee relations for state employees, for each trip during the 73rd Legislature.

Each member of the Senate shall be paid per diem living expenses in an amount up to \$36 for each calendar day during the sessions of the 73rd Legislature.

Each member of the Senate shall be reimbursed up to \$200 per month for his actual lodging expenses during the sessions of the 73rd Legislature.

Each member of the Senate shall certify in writing to the Secretary of the Senate for the actual travel and lodging for which he seeks reimbursement.

The Secretary of the Senate shall prepare and issue warrants from the Senate legislative expense fund in payment of mileage and living expenses to each member of the Senate.

The question was taken on the adoption of the resolution.

The roll was called, and there were yeas 34 and nays 33, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were:

Belanger Berglin Brataas Chmielewski Dahl Dicklich Dicklich Diessner	Dieterich Frank Freeman Hughes Johnson, D.J. Kroening Lantry	Lessard Luther Merriam Moe, D. M. Moe, R. D. Nelson Novak	Peterson.D.C. Peterson.R.W. Pogemiller Purfeerst Reichgott Schmitz Sieloif	Solon Spear Ulland Vega Waldorf Willet
---	--	---	--	---

Those who voted in the negative were:

6

Adkins Anderson Benson Berg Bernhagen Bertram Davis	DeCramer Frederick Frederickson Isackson Johnson, D.E. Jude Kamrath	Knaak Knutson Kronebusch Laidig Langseth McQuaid Mehrkens	Olson Pehler Peterson,C.C. Peterson,D.L. Petty Ramstad Renneke	Samuelson Storm Stumpf Taylor Wegscheid
---	---	---	--	---

The motion prevailed. So the resolution was adopted.