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BY DAVID MAEDA

It took 118 out of the 120 legislative
days allowed, but the 2000 Legislature
has finally completed its work.

Officially the longest session since
the Legislature began meeting annu-
ally in the early 1970s, many of this
year’s major bills were passed during
a marathon 20-hour session that be-
gan 11 a.m. May 9 and ended at
7 a.m. May 10.

Down to the wire
Legislators end grueling session with long nights, veto
overrides, and heartfelt goodbyes to departing colleagues

Among the measures passed dur-
ing the marathon session were bills
providing tax cuts and rebates, fur-
ther transportation and education
spending, and a bonding bill that
spends $639.5 million for repairs to
state facilities and new construction
projects.
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For a time, it appeared that the 2000 ses-
sion would be known only as the year the
state’s butterfly was officially designated in law
(the monarch butterfly) and also the year a
law was passed loosening the state’s regula-
tions on community potluck dinners.

In addition, the 2000 Legislature:
• Approved a measure allowing desperate

mothers to drop off unwanted newborn
babies at any hospital in the state;

• Provided higher compensation to injured
workers while reducing premiums to
employers;

• Approved a study to look at the establish-
ment of a felony DWI penalty in the state;

• Toughened penalties for minors caught
using false identification to purchase
alcohol and tobacco;

• Provided approximately $50 million to the
Minnesota Housing Finance Agency for
building and financing affordable housing
units;

• Approved an increase in game and fish
licenses to help bolster natural resources;
and

• Passed a wolf management plan for the state.
The roadblock to the major spending and

tax cut legislation was a disagreement between
the House and Senate over the amount of
money available that would be sustainable in
the future. The impasse was finally broken
with a unique arrangement allowing each leg-
islative body and the governor to decide how
to use a third of the $525 million surplus.

The House used most of its third to pro-
vide permanent income tax cuts. Along with
rate reductions in all three income tax brack-
ets and a reduction in vehicle registration fees,
there will be a $635 million rebate to taxpay-
ers. The Department of Revenue has indicated
those checks, which will average $377 for mar-
ried couples and $187 for single filers, will be
mailed out in August.

Major capital improvement projects include
$58 million for a new Bureau of Criminal Ap-
prehension building, $44 million for transit
in the metropolitan area, $35 million for a Mo-
lecular Cellular Biology building at the Uni-
versity of Minnesota, $33.2 million for
programs to reduce water pollution and im-
prove wastewater systems, $20 million for con-
servation easements along the Minnesota
River, $20 million for Rural Finance Author-
ity Loans, and $18.5 million for a new Art
Building at the U of M.

The $600 million transportation bill spends
$405 million in cash for road improvements,
with $177 million used to eliminate bottle-
necks in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.
Another $39 million will be spent on roads
and bridges throughout the state.

The $184 million education bill increases

House Speaker Steve Sviggum and Majority Leader Tim Pawlenty share a light mo-
ment as the House worked into the night May 17.

spending for
hig h-spee d
Internet ac-
cess for
schools and
t e a c h e r
training.

With most
of its major
work out of
the way, the
Leg is la ture
sent 32 bills
to Governor
Jesse Ventura
on May 11.
Apprehensive
over a repeat
of last year,
when the
governor caught members by surprise with a
number of vetoes after they had adjourned,
time was left to act upon any vetoes this
session.

The governor ended up line-item vetoing
only a handful of appropriations. And on
Wednesday, May 17, both the House and Sen-
ate once again held all-night marathon floor
sessions to consider veto overrides and debate
the Profile of Learning bill.

Four of the governor’s vetoes were overrid-
den. They were $1 million for a Lanesboro arts
center, $3 million for a new Guthrie Theater,
$135,000 for an organ donor mobile unit, and
$1.5 million for multicultural library grants
in St. James and Pelican Rapids.

The House voted on 10 other attempted
overrides, but those measures fell short of the
necessary two-thirds majority.

The four veto overrides were historic —
never before has a governor had so many of
his vetoes overridden.

Last year, the Legislature overrode Ventura’s
veto of a bill allowing court evidence about
allegedly defective seat belts in product liabil-
ity lawsuits. Earlier this session the Legislature
overrode another Ventura veto, of a bill aimed
to prevent closure of a state-run nursing fa-
cility in Walker.

Prior to the Ventura administration there
had only been a combined total of four veto
overrides since 1939.

Having completed the overrides, the Legis-
lature turned its attention to one final piece
of work. In the waning hours of the session,
the House and Senate struggled to find a com-
promise on the Profile of Learning bill.

Following weeks of talks between House
and Senate leadership over what to do about
the Profile, the Legislature passed a measure
that would allow schools to ease requirements
under the show-what-you-know initiative.

Legislators also agreed to discard a second
proposal that would have allowed school
boards the choice between the Profile and a
back-to-basics alternative proposed earlier in
the session called the North Star Standard.

Thus came a unique end to a long and at
times difficult session. With much focus
throughout the session devoted to the unicam-
eral debate, rarely has there been as much at-
tention on the lawmaking process itself.

(Bills calling for a constitutional amend-
ment allowing voters to decide on whether or
not the state should adopt a one-house legis-
lature stalled in committee in both the House
and Senate.)

Twelve members of the House took their last
votes early May 18. Some of them are leaving
to pursue higher office, while others are re-
turning to a more private life.

The departing members are Reps. Sherry
Broecker (R-Little Canada), Phil Carruthers
(DFL-Brooklyn Center), Lee Greenfield (DFL-
Mpls), Alice Johnson (DFL-Spring Lake Park),
Peg Larsen (R-Lakeland), Betty McCollum
(DFL-North St. Paul), Myron Orfield (DFL-
Mpls), Ann H. Rest (DFL-New Hope), Doug
Reuter (Ind.-Owatonna), Jim Rostberg (R-
Isanti), Steve Trimble (DFL-St. Paul), and
Linda Wejcman (DFL-Mpls).

Now as the new laws take effect, more and
more attention may be directed toward their
long-term effects and impact on everyday life
across the state.

Therefore, it seems appropriate that when
House Majority Leader Tim Pawlenty
(R-Eagan) moved that the House adjourn its
81st session “sine die,” many Minnesotans
were just beginning to wake up for another
workday.    

(Writer Jon Fure contributed to this report.)
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Feedlot rules relaxed
A new law will relax new feedlot rules pro-

posed by the Minnesota Pollution Control
Agency (MPCA).

Effective April 25, 2000, the law gives spe-
cific instructions to the agency on how the
rules should be amended before their final
adoption.

The law also prohibits the agency from im-
posing additional conditions as part of a feed-
lot permit after the proposed rules are finally
adopted.

Under the law, state livestock operations will
be allowed to grow, and regulation by the
agency will be restricted.

Agency officials want farmers to prevent the
flow of animal waste from lots into rivers,
streams, and ground water. The agency is also
concerned about air pollution caused by
feedlots.

The MPCA’s new plan would put limits on
hydrogen sulfide gas found in manure and
require that manure spills on roads be treated
as serious problems. Sloppy handling of ma-
nure could result in fines if the revised agency
rules were to go into effect.

The commissioner of the Department of
Agriculture will be required by the law to work
with the University of Minnesota to develop
educational and training programs address-
ing manure applicator concerns, including
water quality protection and the development
of manure management plans.

If violations are found, the law requires that
they be remedied in a timely manner.

A feedlot operator with less than 300 ani-
mal units, however, could not be required to
spend more than $3,000 to upgrade a lot un-
less assistance totaling at least 75 percent of
the cost is available, under the law.

The law exempts livestock production fa-
cilities from state standards governing air
quality in the area surrounding feedlots while
manure is being removed from the site and
up to seven days following the transfer.

The measure also requires the MPCA to re-
move several provisions from its proposed

rules and allow the agency to submit a report
to the commissioner of the Department of
Finance if it is unable to accomplish timely
response to feedlot permit applications.

Rep. William Kuisle (R-Rochester) and Sen.
Dallas Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored the leg-
islation.

HF3692*/SF3443/CH435

Requirements for contracts
A law that will establish minimum stan-

dards of both readability and content for con-
tracts between agricultural producers and
contractors was signed May 15 by Gov. Jesse
Ventura.

Under the new law, any potential agricul-
tural contract will be required to contain a
clear statement of the risks the producer faces
by entering into the contract, and producers
will be allowed to review the contract for up
to three days before signing it.

The measure will also require that the con-
tract be legible, clearly laid out, and contain a
cover sheet with an index to the contents of
the contract and a warning to producers to
“read your contract carefully.”

A producer will be allowed under the law
to ask the commissioner of the Department
of Agriculture to review a contract and certify
that language in the proposed contract com-
plies with requirements contained in the
measure.

The law also will allow a court to change
the terms of a contract if it found a lack of
clarity or readability had confused the pro-
ducer and resulted in financial harm.

Finally, the law specifies certain kinds of
agricultural contracts that will not be subject
to minimum standards, and establishes limits
on the extent to which producers and contrac-
tors can use the format of a contract to claim
damages against one another.

Rep. Elaine Harder (R-Jackson) and Sen.
Dennis Frederickson (R-New Ulm) sponsored
the legislation. The law takes effect Jan. 1, 2001.

HF3534*/SF3070/CH470

Ag policy changes
A new law that will bring uniformity to the

state’s meat inspection program and update
state references to federal food law regulations
was signed May 15 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.

The law will bring poultry up to par with
other meats and meat products for purposes
of inspection. Inspections of poultry, however,
will not be required during the slaughter of
one’s own animals or at a custom processing
plant.

Poultry products will also be allowed to
carry the “Minnesota Approved” label.

The measure will add several new activities
to those that would qualify for a Department
of Agriculture grant of up to $50,000 for the
development of new farm products, as well as

★
AGRICULTURE

A new law eases rules proposed by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency on animal feedlots. The
rules will govern manure storage pools, like the one pictured here, and the air pollution often associ-
ated with them.

Editor’s note: This section includes summaries
of many key laws passed during the 2000
Legislative Session. For a full listing of all bills
passed this year, see the Governor’s Desk
section, beginning on page 35.
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business and marketing plans for the
products.

Corporate farm law changes included as
part of the new law will allow nonprofit groups
such as scout troops, churches, and sports
clubs to retain ownership of agricultural land
rented to a neighboring farmer. Limited liabil-
ity companies will be able to own farmland
and engage in farming, as well.

Certain corporations will be permitted to
own up to 40 acres of farmland so long as they
earn no more than $150 per acre per year from
the land.

In addition, an entity that previously did not
qualify could now apply for a “commissioner’s
exemption” (renewable annually) for permis-
sion to retain title to farmland, under the new
law.

Furthermore, the commissioner of the De-
partment of Agriculture will be required to
team with the University of Minnesota, the
Department of Trade and Economic Devel-
opment, and the Board of Animal Health to
develop a pilot program for verifying claims
made by agricultural producers and
businesses.

Finally, the law will make relatively minor
changes to fertilizer and grain warehouse pro-
visions in existing law.

Rep. Tim Finseth (R-Angus) and Sen. Dal-
las Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored the legisla-
tion. The law is effective Aug. 1, 2000.

HF3312*/SF3223/CH477

★
BONDING

★
BUSINESS

Capital projects bill signed
A $639.5 million capital projects law will

fund repairs to state facilities and new con-
struction projects. Gov. Jesse Ventura signed
the measure May 15.

The House and Senate had reached a com-
promise after original proposals of $532 mil-
lion from the House and $762 million from
the Senate.

Ventura had line-item vetoed eight projects
from the bill, but the Legislature successfully
overrode four of those vetoes May 17. The
vetoes that were not overridden amount to a
reduction of $750,000.

That final amount includes $470.2 million
in general obligation bonding, and $98 mil-
lion in direct spending from the state’s gen-
eral fund. Nearly $30 million will be saved by
canceling funds for capital projects approved
in previous years.

Major funding areas include $131 million
for the Minnesota State Colleges and Univer-
sities (MnSCU) system, $100.2 million for the
University of Minnesota, $80.7 million for

K-12 schools, $73.2
million for improve-
ments to parks and
other environmental
projects, $58 million
for a new Bureau of
Criminal Apprehen-
sion building, and
$44 million for
transit in the metro-
politan area.

The $44 million for
transit was backed by
Ventura as part of an
end-of-session agree-
ment that would
allow the governor,
House, and Senate to
each decide how to spend a portion of the pro-
jected ongoing budget surplus. Ventura’s por-
tion includes reductions in license tab fees for
motor vehicles and the transit spending.

The transit money will mainly pay for de-
signing and building an exclusive bus
transitway, including the costs of acquiring
land and right-of-way. The law does not stipu-
late where such a transitway would be built,
but the speculation is that it would run be-
tween downtown St. Paul and the Minneapo-
lis-St. Paul International Airport.

The law prohibits that money from being
spent on light-rail transit or commuter rail.

A previous law that gives the governor lee-
way in issuing bonds was repealed. That law
allowed a governor to refuse to sell bonds,
thereby causing a project to languish.

The new law gives that authority instead to
the commissioner of the state Department of
Finance. The commissioner is required to sell
bonds based on funding needs of capital
projects.

The decision on when to sell the bonds only
can be based on specific factors: taking advan-
tage of favorable interest rates, managing cash
flow requirements for making debt payments,
and other financial or legal factors.

Rep. Jim Knoblach (R-St. Cloud) and Sen.
Linda Berglin (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
capital projects legislation.

HF4078*/SF3811/CH492

Sales of funeral goods
A new law will regulate the solicitation and

sale of funeral goods and services.
The law, effective Aug. 1, 2000, will prohibit

solicitation at a hospital, gravesite, nursing
home, or wake, without a specific request from
the family of the deceased to do so.

The new law also will prohibit an individual

from offering goods and services to a person
whose death is impending, or to an individual
responsible for funeral arrangements of a de-
ceased person within 10 days of  that
individual’s death. Such acts, however, will be
allowed if the deceased or a relative had made
arrangements to discuss plans for the funeral
or burial before death occurred.

The measure will not apply to communica-
tion between an individual and a funeral pro-
vider related by blood, adoption, or marriage.

In cases when the deceased handled his or
her own arrangements in advance, the law will
require that the funeral provider produce a
copy of the agreement and give the copy to
the person controlling the disposition of the
remains. A copy of the arrangements will be
required to change hands no later than 24
hours after first contact between the provider
and the individual in charge of the remains.

The law also contains new requirements for
pre-death arrangements and a provision al-
lowing a person who makes an advance burial
arrangement to cancel plans.

Furthermore, the law will require that all
funeral establishments and providers clearly
state who owns the establishment in all busi-
ness literature, contracts, and correspondence.
That provision takes effect Jan. 1, 2001.

Rep. Ann H. Rest (DFL-New Hope) and Sen.
Claire A. Robling (R-Prior Lake) sponsored
the legislation.

SF2686*/HF2713/CH438

The new bonding law includes Gov. Jesse Ventura’s $58 million request for a
new St. Paul facility for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Original plans
in the House would not have provided full funding for the project.

Electronic pawn records
A law effective March 24, 2000, requires

pawnbrokers who use computerized tracking
of items to use a uniform electronic format.

Several Minnesota communities already
track items by computer. The law ensures all
pawnbrokers use the same computerized sys-
tem. It also enables police to access the uni-
form system to check on possible stolen goods.

Most pawnshops keep track of records with
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paper receipts, though more and more of them
are moving to electronic tracking systems. The
law will not require the shops to use electronic
tracking, but it does require that all the sys-
tems in use be compatible.

Rep. Wes Skoglund (DFL-Mpls), sponsor of
the measure in the House, said with thousands
of transactions each year, law enforcement is
not able to track all of them. A uniform sys-
tem for those shops that are computerized
would help if law enforcement had access to
those records, he said.

While only a handful of cities require com-
puterized tracking of  pawn items now,
Skoglund said he thinks more cities will fol-
low, as they realize it is a better way to catch
thieves and return stolen property to rightful
owners.

Sen. Jane Ranum (DFL-Mpls) sponsored
the law in the Senate.

HF3766*/SF3673/CH274

Liquor license law
A new law that takes effect Aug. 1, 2000, will

change the requirements for fraternal and
charitable clubs attempting to obtain liquor
licenses.

The omnibus liquor law will only require
clubs to have 30 members to obtain a license.
In addition, the law will allow specific liquor
contracts for special events in several towns,
including Anoka, Duluth, Eveleth, and Spring-
field.

Those items in reference to special events
take effect upon action by local communities.

The law reduces the number of club mem-
bers needed to obtain a liquor license from 50
to 30. The provision addresses the dropping
population in some rural areas, said Rep. Erik
Paulsen (R-Eden Prairie), House sponsor.

The law also will allow a commercial estab-
lishment to make wine on the premises for
personal or family use only. Individuals un-
der age 21 will be forbidden from helping
make wine.

Liquor stores will be able to offer wine-tast-
ing events on their premises, under the law. A
wine-tasting event will be defined as an activ-
ity that does not last beyond four hours, and
patrons would not pay for each individual
glass of wine.

The state agriculture society also will be al-
lowed to sell alcohol at state fairgrounds events
that are not held during the normal 12-day
run of the fair.

Sen. Sam Solon (DFL-Duluth) sponsored
the Senate version.

HF3974/SF3581*/CH440

Economic loss doctrine replaced
A new law will repeal the state’s existing eco-

nomic loss doctrine and replace it with a new
provision.

Effective Aug. 1, 2000, the law will confine
commercial legal disputes to those prescribed
by the Uniform Commercial Code. The code
provides a shorter statute of limitations.

House sponsor, Majority Leader Tim
Pawlenty (R-Eagan), said the law will clarify
who can sue and when they can sue regarding
commercial transactions.

The law will apply to claims where a buyer
is dissatisfied with a seller’s product, usually
when the product is damaged, but no injuries
have occurred, Pawlenty said. If an injury oc-
curred, a person could sue under tort laws,
Pawlenty said.

The law is the result of an agreement be-
tween several interest groups that met during
the past year to hammer out the compromise.
The provision is seen as an improvement to
the previous law, which passed during a spe-
cial session in 1998. That legislation was
prompted by concerns over a case involving
Marvin Windows, a Warroad-based company.

The bill is not retroactive, and would have
no effect on pending litigation.

Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley) sponsored
the measure in the Senate.

HF1267/SF1126*/CH358

LONGTIME LEADER

Former House Speaker Phil Carruthers has
accepted a position with the Ramsey
County Attorney’s Office. He is leaving af-
ter 14 years in the House.

★
CONSUMERS

Limits on dealership owners
A new law bars auto manufacturers from

buying car dealerships in Minnesota.
The law, effective April 15, 2000, forbids

manufacturers from buying a dealership and
competing with other dealerships in the area.

Rep. Greg Davids (R-Preston), who spon-
sored the law in the House, said his primary
concern is that without this law, manufactur-
ers could own dealerships and would have
unfair advantage in competition within the
local market.

The law was introduced after General Mo-
tors announced last fall it planned to purchase
several car dealerships across the United States,
Davids said.

Eleven states already have laws barring
manufacturers from owning local dealerships,
and more states pursued the issue this year,
he added.

The law also specifically lists certain unfair
market practices that are prohibited, such as
refusing to offer all models manufactured in
a line to a franchised dealership.

The law does grandfather in one Rochester
Saturn dealership, which is already owned by
the manufacturer.

Sen. Steven Novak (DFL-New Brighton)
sponsored the Senate measure.

HF2731*/SF2753/CH409

Auto glass rebate limit
A new law effective April 7, 2000, limits re-

bates from auto glass companies to $35. It also
establishes a new standard for determining
reasonable costs for glass replacement.

The law will require insurance companies to
pay an average cost for windshield replacement
based on a study of auto glass replacement costs
from regions around the state. (That study pro-
vision takes effect Aug. 1, 2000.)

The study will be funded voluntarily
through insurance and glass companies. If the
companies don’t voluntarily contribute, they
will have violated the law and the Legislature
will revisit the issue next year.

The Department of Commerce will coor-
dinate the study. Cost of the study is estimated
at $35,000 a year. There is expected to be no
cost to the state.

According to an insurance company study
last year, Minnesota’s auto glass replacement
costs are 69 percent higher than the national
average and are the highest in the nation.
Many Minnesota auto glass dealers previously
offered boxes of steaks, rebates of $200 to cus-
tomers, or other costly incentives to lure cus-
tomers.
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Rep. Ken Wolf (R-Burnsville) and Sen.
Dallas Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored the law.

HF2656*/SF3441/CH342
★

CRIME

Penalties for unscrupulous contractors
A new law that takes effect Aug. 1, 2000, will

subject contractors, who fail to complete work
on house projects, to new criminal and civil
penalties.

A tornado that hit St. Peter in spring 1998
devastated much of that area. Rep. Julie Storm
(R-St. Peter) sponsored the legislation after the
disaster because of evidence that an unscru-
pulous contractor hired to fix damaged homes
did not follow through on commitments.

The contractor collected money from
homeowners, then did not pay subcontractors.
The subcontractors then placed liens on the
homes, whose owners thought they had fin-
ished paying for the repairs. The contractor
eventually went bankrupt, but the liens were
already placed on the homes.

That contractor was later ordered to serve
two months in jail and repay the homeowners.

A builder, material supplier, or subcontrac-
tor can place a lien on a property if they are
not paid for work done on the property. Con-
tractors should receive a lien-waiver from a
subcontractor once that subcontractor has
been paid, Storm said.

A felony penalty for theft will also be estab-
lished under the law. The maximum penalty
for theft in state statute is 20 years in prison
and a $100,000 fine.

Under the previous law, the maximum theft
charge available for such situations was a gross
misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of
one year in jail and a $3,000 fine.

The law also will allow homeowners to seek
civil penalties against contractors, which were
not previously available.

Shareholders, officers, and directors of the
contracting company who are aware of the
theft could also face criminal and civil penal-
ties, under the law.

The law will require that money for a con-
struction project be kept in a trust fund. Pro-
ceeds can be kept separate within the trust.
Contractors would then pay subcontractors
from the trust.

Sen. John Hottinger (DFL-Mankato) spon-
sored the Senate version.

HF2563*/SF2381/CH430

If you have Internet access, visit the
Legislature’s Web page at:

http://www.leg.state.mn.us

A new law that increases restrictions and registra-
tion requirements for sex offenders was passed
this session. The law was due in part to the lobby-
ing efforts of Pam and Steve Poirier, pictured
above, whose daughter Katie was kidnapped and
presumed murdered last year. A six-time convicted
sex offender is charged with the crime.

Katie’s Law on books
A new law, most of which is effective Aug.

1, 2000, will stiffen laws regulating sex offend-
ers and will provide start-up money for new
criminal justice information systems.

The law will provide $12 million to imple-
ment a statewide criminal justice information
system, which officials estimate could cost as
much as $100 million before completion.

One goal of the information system is bet-
ter tracking of registered sex offenders in the
state. It also would integrate probation and
arrest information from local law enforcement
agencies, so law enforcement officers around
the state have access to the most up-to-date
information about offenders.

The law will also spend $5 million to in-
crease the number of probation officers han-
dling sex offender cases. The intent is to reduce
the number of cases each officer must handle
so they can keep better track of their sex of-
fenders. Appropriations in the bill take effect
July 1, 2000.

Further provisions change who is required
to register, adding certain penalties to that list.
In addition, it extends the period of registra-
tion for many offenses, including a require-
ment that some offenders register for life.

The law will also authorize the Bureau of
Criminal Apprehension to establish a Web site
where it will post all the names of level 3 reg-
istered sex offenders in the state.

Rep. Sherry Broecker (R-Little Canada) and
Sen. Randy Kelly (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored the
legislation. Many of its provisions were in-
cluded as a result of the lobbying efforts of
Pam Poirier.

Poirier’s 19-year-old daughter Katie was
abducted from a Moose Lake convenience
store last May and was apparently murdered.

Donald Blom, a six-time convicted sex of-
fender, is charged with the crime.

In his statement upon signing the law,
Ventura said the measure takes a step to im-
prove public safety in Minnesota.

HF2688*/SF2769/CH311

Domestic violence prevention
A new law will establish a new state office

to prevent domestic violence and sexual
assault.

Effective July 1, 2000, the law will create the
office of domestic violence and sexual assault
prevention, establish a director position, and
establish an interagency task force on domes-
tic abuse and sexual assault prevention.

The office will be placed within the Depart-
ment of Public Safety.

The law will create guidelines for putting
together the task force, including representa-
tives from the departments of Corrections,
Health, Human Services, Economic Security,
and Children, Families and Learning. The task
force also must have a county attorney, city
attorney, and a judge.

The director of the new domestic violence
office would serve as chair of the task force.

The law outlines the director’s duties, which
include advocating victims’ rights, increasing
education and awareness, supporting litiga-
tion, initiating policy changes, and building
partnerships with law enforcement and the
courts.

The task force will evaluate the progress of
the director and the office. In addition, the task
force will establish a strategic plan for the
director.

Rep. Larry Howes (R-Hackensack) and Sen.
Ember Reichgott Junge (DFL-New Hope) spon-
sored the measure. HF3331*/SF2980/CH368

Penalties for assaulting officers
A person who physically assaults an officer

during an arrest will be subject to gross mis-
demeanor charges even if the attack does not
cause any “demonstrable bodily harm,” under
a law effective April 25, 2000.

The law also provides for a felony charge if
someone escapes from police custody for a
felony-related action, even if that person has
not yet been charged or convicted of a crime.
The violator could face a maximum penalty
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of five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Previous law allowed for a felony only if the

person fled after being charged or convicted
of a felony.

The new law will establish that officials no
longer have to prove demonstrable harm in a
situation involving an assault against an of-
ficer. They merely need to prove that an as-
sault took place.

Previously, there was no additional penalty
if an assault did not result in visible harm.

That provision stems from a case in which
an officer was struck in the groin by someone
who was resisting arrest. The action did not
result in demonstrable bodily harm, so no
additional penalties could be brought against
the assailant.

Rep. Tim Mahoney (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen.
Charles Wiger (DFL-North St. Paul) spon-
sored the legislation.

HF2958/SF2830*/CH441

TAX POLICY EXPERT

Rep. Ann H. Rest says goodbye to her friends in the House on May 17. Rest, a former chair of
the House Taxes Committee, decided to leave the House to make a run for the state Senate.
She is seeking the seat currently held by Sen. Ember Reichgott Junge, who will not seek re-
election.

Statute of limitations extended
Domestic abuse victims will have more time

to consider filing civil charges against the per-
petrator, under a law signed May 15 by Gov.
Jesse Ventura.

The bill will extend the statute of limitations
in domestic abuse cases from two years to six
years. A victim could sue another person for
assault, battery, false imprisonment, or per-
sonal injury, as defined by the statutes gov-
erning domestic abuse.

Rep. Dave Bishop (R-Rochester), who spon-
sored the legislation, explained that the stat-
ute of limitations will begin at the point of
the last incident.

The law also will allow Ramsey County to
establish a pilot project domestic abuse unit.
Once created, the unit will prosecute cases,
recognize interests of children in abuse cases,
and reduce the exposure of domestic abuse for
victims.

If Ramsey County chooses to create the pro-
gram, the county will be required to report its
results to the Legislature next year.

Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley) sponsored
the Senate version. The law takes effect
Aug. 1, 2000.

HF47/SF11*/CH471

Felony DWI study
Legislators have agreed to study possible

felony penalties for repeat drunken driving
offenders, but no felony penalties will be
implemented this session.

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a law May 15 that
creates a “driving while impaired working
group.” The working group becomes effective
May 16.

Previously, legislators had sought to make
it a felony for a person to accumulate four
drunken driving convictions in a 10-year span.
Currently, 35 other states have some form of
felony DWI laws.

However, legislators eventually agreed to
examine the issue further this year. Many leg-
islators were concerned about the corrections
costs that would be created down the line.

The working group will include legislators
from both houses, the commissioners of cor-
rections, public safety, and finance, county
attorneys, and public defenders.

The law will require the working group to
study and recommend by Dec. 1, 2000, how
to implement felony penalties. The group will
determine the most cost-effective manner, the
number of offenses needed to reach a felony-
level, the length of incarceration, and whether
a penalty should have mandatory prison time.

 “It assumes there will be a felony DWI, and
this is how to best implement it,” said Rep. Phil
Carruthers (DFL-Brooklyn Center), who
served on the conference committee.

It is still unclear what the total cost would
be to incarcerate repeat drinking and driving
offenders, although one report estimated it
would add 1,100 people to the corrections
 system.

Rep. Doug Fuller (R-Bemidji) and Sen. Dave
Johnson (DFL-Bloomington) were the spon-
sors of the legislation.

HF2995/SF2677*/CH478

Fake ID measure signed
Penalties will increase for people under age

21 who attempt to purchase alcohol, under a
law signed May 15 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.

The law also will allow alcohol providers —
from liquor store clerks to licensed retailers
— to confiscate what they believe to be false
identifications.

The law will make it a gross misdemeanor
on a second offense for a person under age 21
to attempt to buy alcohol. Minors who attempt
to purchase tobacco with false identification
also could have their driver’s license sus-
pended, under the law.

The person confiscating the identification
would be required to turn it over to the police
within 24 hours.

Rep. Peggy Leppik (R-Golden Valley), who
sponsored the measure in the House, said the
measure is necessary to enforce state laws on
selling alcohol to minors.

“The intent is to create a meaningful deter-
rent to using false IDs,” Leppik said. “To many
people, it is worth the risk because the conse-
quences are few.”

The House rejected the measure last month,
sending the bill back to conference commit-
tee, although it had passed the Senate with-
out a dissenting vote. The legislation returned
from conference committee took further steps
to de-criminalize clerks who mistakenly sell
tobacco to minors.

Previously, state law called for a gross mis-
demeanor charge against a clerk who sells
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tobacco to minors for a first offense. The new
law provides for a gross misdemeanor only if
the clerk is caught selling tobacco to minors
twice in a five-year period.

The new law will allow the commissioner of
public safety to suspend a minor’s driver’s license
for up to 90 days if the minor attempted to pur-
chase alcohol with false identification.

Sen. David Knutson (R-Burnsville) spon-
sored the Senate version. The law takes effect
Aug. 1, 2000.

HF2655/SF2845*/CH472

Cracking down on pimps
A new law that takes effect Aug. 1, 2000, will

expand penalties for people who lure teens
into prostitution.

Sponsored in the House by Rep. Karen Clark
(DFL-Mpls), the law aims to curb solicitors,
or pimps, from pushing young children, both
boys and girls, into prostitution.

The law will make it a felony for a person to
solicit a juvenile under age 18 into prostitu-
tion. The maximum penalty is 20 years in
prison and a $40,000 fine.

Under previous law, a juvenile had to be
under age 16 for a felony charge.

The hike in age from 16 to 18 means more
pimps will go to prison, rather than facing jail
time or probation, Clark said.

A task force report submitted to the House
Crime Prevention Committee earlier this ses-
sion estimated that 1,000 Minnesota teens are
currently involved in prostitution.

The law also will require the commissioner
of public safety to study and make recommen-
dations on training officers to combat prosti-
tution. The study will include information on
ways to increase penalties and prosecution of
solicitors. The study provision takes effect July
1, 2000.

State law already says that luring adults into
prostitution is a gross misdemeanor.

Sen. Randy Kelly (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored
the measure in the Senate.

HF2830*/SF2771/CH431

Falsely reporting stolen checks
Falsely claiming that blank checks or debit

cards have been stolen will bring misdemeanor
charges, under a law effective Aug. 1, 2000.

The law will make it a misdemeanor crime
for someone to falsely tell his or her financial
institution the items are missing or stolen.

The law would cover scenarios where indi-
viduals write several bad checks and then re-
port to the bank that those checks were stolen.

Rep. Rich Stanek (R-Maple Grove) and Sen.
Dave Johnson (DFL-Bloomington) sponsored
the legislation.

HF2751/SF3455*/CH354

Drug change delayed
A new law will delay the classification of the

prescription painkiller Carisoprodol as a con-
trolled substance for at least one more year.

The law, effective Aug. 1, 2000, represents
the third consecutive year the Legislature has
delayed the effective date for classifying the
painkiller and muscle relaxant. It was origi-
nally set to be scheduled in August 1998.

Under the law, Carisoprodol will become a
schedule IV controlled substance on Aug. 1,
2001. The previous law would have made the
drug a controlled substance on Aug. 1 of this
year.

Officials say they needed to delay the action
another year while the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration examines the painkiller to
determine its effects.

Under Minnesota law, a schedule IV con-
trolled substance is a drug that has a low po-
tential for abuse and it is currently accepted
for medical treatment in the United States.
However, abuse may lead to physical or psy-
chological dependence.

Doctors can prescribe drugs in schedule II
to schedule V, but cannot prescribe drugs in
schedule I. Classifying a drug like Carisopro-
dol as a controlled substance would make it
more difficult for doctors to prescribe.

Scheduling is done on the state level, which
is usually consistent with federal drug regula-
tions. Carisoprodol is not a controlled sub-
stance on the federal level.

Rep. Sherry Broecker (R-Little Canada) and
Sen. Charles Wiger (DFL-North St. Paul)
sponsored the legislation.

HF2774/SF2485*/CH262

Fugitive apprehension unit
A new law, effective Aug. 1, 2000, will cre-

ate a formal fugitive apprehension unit in the
Department of Corrections.

The unit will have limited police powers to
investigate and arrest Department of Correc-
tions escapees and parole violators.

There is currently an apprehension unit
with 13 employees. However, that unit does
not have police powers, and the workers can-
not carry firearms. Under the law, those em-
ployees will be trained by law enforcement to
become officers.

House sponsor Rep. Rich Stanek (R-Maple
Grove) said there were three things he wanted
to accomplish with this law. First, he wanted
to give the workers the adequate tools to do
their job, which includes the right to carry fire-
arms. The law will also allow the unit to at-
tend deadly force training.

Second, the law establishes the flow of in-
formation between corrections officials work-
ing inside a prison and police officers working

the street. The information exchange is nec-
essary because some inmates still have ties to
illegal gang and drug activity, Stanek said.

Finally, the police powers were limited to
hunting the fugitives and parole violators, so
the unit could concentrate on its task.

Under the law, the unit will be required to
inform a city’s police force when they enter a
town to conduct surveillance or to make
arrests.

The law will also give the fugitive apprehen-
sion unit initial processing power of the fugi-
tive — such as taking the person’s fingerprints
and photos — unless directed differently by
the law enforcement agency with primary ju-
risdiction.

Sen. Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
measure in the Senate.

HF3003/SF3097*/CH291

Attorney-client phone calls
Officials at state prisons are exempt from

civil and criminal penalties for restricting in-
mate telephone access with attorneys, under
a law effective Aug. 1, 2000.

State law allows persons detained by law
enforcement the ability to speak with a law-
yer free of charge at any reasonable time.

Previously, if corrections personnel at a state
prison or local detention facility refused to
allow a person telephone access to an attor-
ney, state law provided for fine of $100 and a
misdemeanor charge against the official.

The new measure keeps the civil and crimi-
nal penalties in place at local correctional fa-
cilities, such as county jails and workhouses,
but eliminates the penalties at state prisons.

The law will pertain to all detained people
at local facilities, regardless of whether they
have been convicted or charged of a crime. The
only exceptions where local corrections offi-
cials can restrict telephone access without fac-
ing criminal or civil penalties is when officials
believe the detained person may attempt to
escape or cause injury.

Neither the detained person nor the attor-
ney will be responsible for the cost of a phone
call, according to the law. A detained person
can speak with an attorney or a person he or
she “may desire to consult with” about an up-
coming proceeding involving pending
charges.

Rep. Bruce Anderson (R-Buffalo Township)
and Sen. Arlene Lesewski (R-Marshall) spon-
sored the law.

HF3512/SF3108*/CH408
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THE LONE INDEPENDENT

Rep. Doug Reuter says goodbye to House colleagues this week with plans to move to Texas.
Reuter was elected to the House in 1996 as a Republican, but declared himself an inde-
pendent at the close of the 1999 session.

Serving court orders
A new law will allow law enforcement of-

ficers to serve any court order.
The law, most of which takes effect Aug. 1,

2000, will create a shortened notification pro-
cess that officers can use to serve court docu-
ments to people at any time.

The idea behind the law is that many defen-
dants and parties to a court case are hard to find,
and this measure will allow them to be formally
served if an officer encounters them in a routine
traffic stop or other police action.

For instance, if an officer pulls over a car
for speeding, and the officer learns that a court
is trying to contact that person to serve court
orders, such as a subpoena or protection or-
der, the officer will be able to give a notifica-
tion form to that person, under the law.

An officer could serve paperwork at any
time, including Sundays or legal holidays, the
law states.

The notification form will include the
names of the parties involved, the county that
served the order, the name of the judge, and
the date of a hearing.

The short order form will direct the recipi-
ent to report to the sheriff ’s office or court-
house where the proceeding is set to take place
to pick up the full copy of service.

The officer could also detain the person as
long as necessary in order to fill out and serve
the person with the short form, under the law.

According to the law, a scheduled hearing
can take place if the papers were served at least
12 hours before the hearing, and the person
receiving the papers must appear. However,
the person who received the papers may re-
quest a continuance of up to five days.

Previously, the hearing could not begin until
five days had passed after the court papers
were served. That new provision is effective
April 25, 2000.

The law also will allow an officer to arrest a
person who violates a pretrial no-contact or-
der, even if the officer wasn’t present at the
time of the violation. The orders, often issued
in domestic abuse cases, require that the de-
fendant have no contact with whoever is
named in the order, typically the victim and
their family.

The law also will create a felony for a per-
son who causes malicious punishment of a
child. The law says the violator may be charged
with a felony if the child is under age 4 and
has sustained bodily harm to the head, eyes,
or neck, or has suffered multiple bruises. The
maximum penalty for the felony would be five
years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Rep. Doug Fuller (R-Bemidji) and Sen.
Ember Reichgott Junge (DFL-New Hope)
sponsored the legislation.

HF1067/SF551*/CH437

★
EDUCATION

Treating sex offenders
A new law effective April 12, 2000, will send

sex offenders back to prison instead of treat-
ment programs if they refuse to participate in
treatment.

The sex offender will also no longer be able
to plead his or her case to a special review
board, under the law.

The cost of keeping an offender in treatment
is three times the cost of correctional facili-
ties, said Mary Liz Holberg (R-Lakeville),
House sponsor.

She said the law gives offenders incentive
to choose treatment given the alternative of
prison.

To be a predatory sex offender, someone has
committed aggravated and repeated offenses,
as well as sex offenses while committing such
crimes as murder, manslaughter, or robbery.

About 15 predatory offenders are commit-
ted each year in the state, and none have ever
been released, Holberg said. The law will re-
quire a study examining sex offender policy
and management.

Sen. Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
law in the Senate.

HF3457/SF2858*/CH359

Spending bill becomes law
Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a $184 million

education spending package May 15 that in-
cludes one-time spending and permanent
funding for several K-12 efforts including spe-
cial education, teacher training, and high-
speed Internet access.

The new law will provide money to school
districts for vocational education and build-
ing improvements and will fix a funding

problem for charter schools that will allow
them to lease buildings more easily.

The measure is larger than the two previ-
ous non-budget year funding measures. How-
ever, both the law in 1998, spending $124
million, and the measure from 1996, allocat-
ing $31.7 million, dealt only with K-12 edu-
cation. This year’s package also includes higher
education and early childhood and family
education items.

The special education money districts will
receive under the law along with money for
training and experience, should especially help
districts that are facing budget cuts.

Under the law, the state’s special education
funding cap will be increased by $83 million.
A boost in cross-subsidy special education aid
will allow districts to free up money to spend
elsewhere, perhaps restoring some cuts made
in past years.

Some of those cuts came in the form of
teacher layoffs.

The growing problem of teacher shortages
and the decline — especially in rural areas —
of experienced instructors in classrooms is
addressed in the measure by a provision that
makes it easier for districts to bring in teach-
ers from other states.

Minnesota’s Board of Teaching will be re-
quired under the law to issue a temporary
teaching license to a person holding both a
bachelor’s degree and an out-of-state teach-
ing license requiring such a person to have
completed a teacher preparation program,
which included field-specific teaching meth-
ods and student teaching.

The law also will provide $30.8 million to
districts for teacher training and experience
replacement. The provision is designed to fill
the vacancies left by a great number of teacher
retirements and other factors with high qual-
ity classroom leaders.
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In addition, the spending package will pro-
vide $31 million to soften the phase-out of a
program that gave money to districts having
large numbers of teachers with extensive ex-
perience or advanced degrees.

Approximately $11.6 million will be avail-
able under the law to the Minnesota State
Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) system to
address unexpected increases in enrollment.

The money — $5.8 million in the current
fiscal year and $5.8 million in fiscal year 2001
— will come from the state’s general fund.

The law also will spend $9.8 million in fed-
eral Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF) funds in 2001, with future TANF
spending of $23.7 million in 2002-03, for pro-
grams such as male responsibility and father-
hood grants, child care services, transitional
housing and citizenship grants.

Approximately $12 million for secondary
vocational aid is part of the measure. The ad-
ditional aid for high school programs will be
spread out over a two-year period.

The new law will also protect students from
Internet material considered obscene or harm-
ful to minors.

All public school and public library com-
puters with access to the Internet available for
use by children under the age of 17 will need
to be equipped with up-to-date software fil-
tering technology or other methods to restrict
student viewing of inappropriate material.

A public library will not be required to pur-
chase filtering technology if the library would
incur more than incidental expense in mak-
ing the purchase, however.

If behavioral problems arise in a classroom,
the measure will allow teachers and certain
other school employees to use “reasonable”
force to discipline a student. The provision
includes language pertaining to the legal de-
fenses teachers and district agents have against
prosecution for using force to discipline stu-
dents.

Reasonable force will be permitted to cor-
rect or restrain a student or to prevent bodily
harm to another.

Furthermore, districts will be required to
indicate, in school discipline policy, the cir-
cumstances under which teachers, school em-
ployees, and school bus drivers may use force
to discipline students.

One-time deferred maintenance aid — to
the tune of $23 million dollars — will be avail-
able to school districts under the new law. This
aid must be applied toward making accessi-
bility improvements, or to make fire, safety,
or health repairs.

Approximately $16 million will be available
to districts for reimbursement of certain tele-
communications costs. School districts will
need to submit ongoing or recurring telecom-

munications costs — subject to examination
by officials from the Department of Children,
Families and Learning — before schools can
be reimbursed for the costs.

Furthermore, school districts also will be
required to inform parents and staff about any
use of pesticides.

Rep. Alice Seagren (R-Bloomington) and
Sen. Lawrence Pogemiller (DFL-Mpls) spon-
sored the legislation.

Many sections of the law are effective
May 16, 2000. Other portions become effec-
tive July 1, 2000, or after the beginning of the
2000-2001 school year.

HF3800*/SF3559/CH489

★
ENERGY★
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The $184 million omnibus education bill increases spending for high-speed Internet access for K-12
schools, and provides funds for teacher training.

Workers’ compensation law
A new law will reduce workers’ compensa-

tion rates while increasing benefits for injured
workers.

The law, most of which takes effect Aug. 1,
2000, represents recommendations from the
Workers’ Compensation Advisory Council.
The council is composed of representatives
from the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce,
the state’s AFL-CIO, and the Legislature.

The law provides an increase in the maxi-
mum weekly compensation an injured worker
can receive for wage loss benefits. Under pre-
vious law, that amount was capped at $615 per
week, but the new law will increase that ben-
efit to $750. The minimum amount per week
will go from $104 to $130.

In the case of a worker who is killed in a
work-related accident, the minimum amount

of compensation for the dependents will be
$60,000.

Under the law, there will be a transfer of
$325 million in surplus funds from the Min-
nesota Workers’ Compensation Assigned Risk
Plan to the compensation fund’s second in-
jury and supplemental benefits program.

The assigned risk plan aids in the operation
of the workers’ compensation system by pro-
viding a source of insurance for employers
unable to obtain such coverage from the pri-
vate insurance market.

Rep. Bud Nornes (R-Fergus Falls) and Sen.
Steven Novak (DFL-New Brighton) sponsored
the measure.

HF3960/SF3644*/CH447

Powered by poultry litter
A new law changes the definition of biom-

ass energy to include poultry litter and plants
grown specifically for fuel.

The law, effective April 25, 2000, could lead
the way to construction of an electricity gen-
erating facility that uses turkey litter as fuel.

Legislation in 1994 relating to the Prairie
Island nuclear power facility required public
utilities that operate nuclear power plants in
the state to develop 125 megawatts of electric
energy generated by biomass.

The new law allows 50 of the 125 megawatts
to be provided by a facility that uses poultry
litter as its primary fuel source.

Fiberwatt, a company based in Great Britain,
is proposing to build the poultry litter plant in
Minnesota. The company owns and operates
three similar power plants in Great Britain.
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Those facilities produce energy by burning
the litter at 1,500 degrees Fahrenheit, produc-
ing steam that drives a turbine. Officials from
the company testified that they are interested
in building the plant in Minnesota because the
state is the second largest turkey producing
state in the nation.

Rep. Loren Jennings (DFL-Harris) and Sen.
Steven Novak (DFL-New Brighton) were the
sponsors.

HF2757*/SF2614/CH443

Gasoline additives banned
A new law limits and ultimately bans gaso-

line additives that have caused severe water
pollution in some states.

Effective July 1, 2000, gasoline in the state
can contain only trace amounts of methyl ter-
tiary butyl ether (MTBE) and ethyl tertiary
butyl ether (ETBE). Both compounds are al-
ternative fuel additives to ethanol.

Currently, those additives are not used in
Minnesota’s gasoline supply. But Rep. Dan
Dorman (R-Albert Lea), House sponsor of the
measure, said that as other states ban the
chemicals, gasoline with those additives could
be sent to Minnesota unless it is banned here.

After July 1, 2000, gasoline cannot contain
more than one-third of 1 percent of the chemi-
cals. But after July 1, 2005, no traces of the
chemicals will be allowed in gasoline, under
the new law.

Gasoline is moved through common pipelines
throughout the country, so traces of those
chemicals can be found in almost all gasoline.

Research shows the additive is responsible

A new law will restrict the use of the gasoline additive methyl tertiary butyl ether (MTBE) in Minnesota and
eventually ban it. The additive has contaminated groundwater in states such as Iowa and California.

for several incidents of soil and water contami-
nation, including municipal wells as nearby
as Alvord and Ida Grove, Iowa.

Minnesota’s legislators are not alone in their
concern over the effects of MTBE usage in
gasoline. Recent developments in other states
are driving a national reconsideration of us-
ing MTBE as an oxygenate in fuel.

California Gov. Gray Davis issued an execu-
tive order — supported by a University of
California study — in March 1999 to phase
out MTBE from the California gasoline sup-
ply by December 31, 2002.

Twenty-three states have established regu-
latory guidelines or standards for MTBE con-
tamination in groundwater or drinking water.

Experts say eight ounces of the additive can
contaminate five million gallons of drinking
water. Spillage from a car accident could
threaten an entire aquifer.

Water contaminated by MTBE has a bitter
taste and detectable odor. Research has shown
it causes tumors in rats.

Sen. Jim Vickerman (DFL-Tracy) was the
Senate sponsor of the measure.

HF3292/SF2946*/CH434

Underwater lumber recovery
A new law will allow a person or company

to salvage logs that have been submerged on
lake and river bottoms.

Effective June 1, 2000, the new law will al-
low a person or company to apply for a lease
through the state Department of Natural Re-
sources to salvage the logs. Applications for
leases will be published in the State Register,
and the DNR will approve or deny the appli-
cation within 60 days, after allowing 30 days
for public comments.

The fee for a lease will be $500 for Minne-
sota residents and $2,500 for those who live
outside the state. Terms of a lease are nego-
tiable.

Logs can be salvaged only if they are sub-
merged at depths of 20 feet or more. A lease
will require that precautions be taken to avoid
disturbing the bottom of the lake or river, pro-
tect public rights in boating or recreation ar-
eas, and comply with federal laws.

The person or company with a lease will
have to notify the Minnesota Historical Soci-
ety if they find a historical artifact, such as a
sled that was used to carry logs across a fro-
zen lake. Also, if a log is found that contains
an American Indian brand or marking, the
nearest tribal government must be notified.

The state will receive 25 percent of the
money from the sale of the logs, based on the
weighted average selling price.

The application fees from the leases will go
to the state’s general fund. Money from the
sale of lumber that is recovered will go to the
game and fish fund, except that if the lake or
river is on school trust fund lands, the money
will go into the permanent school fund.

A person or business cannot hold more than
three leases at a time.

Permission for mosquito spraying
The Metropolitan Mosquito Control Dis-

trict will need the approval of the commis-
sioner of the Department of  Natural
Resources before spraying state lands, under
a law effective April 7, 2000.

Previously, state law allowed a landowner
to refuse to allow Mosquito Control to spray
his or her land with insecticides. The new law
gives the DNR that same right with regard to
state parks, wildlife management areas, or
other publicly owned lands.

Rep. Dennis Ozment (R-Rosemount) spon-
sored the measure because Mosquito Control
sprayed chemicals at Fort Snelling State Park
in July 1999 despite objections from the
department.

Ozment said the DNR should have juris-
diction over the decision to spray chemicals
in wildlife management areas because the de-
partment has the expertise in the chemicals’
effects on vegetation, water quality, wildlife
habitat, and related issues.

He also said that current law gives the De-
partment of Health authority over the DNR
or landowners to authorize spraying for mos-
quitoes that are known to carry diseases.

The Senate sponsor of the measure was Sen.
Bob Lessard (DFL-Int’l Falls).

HF3134*/SF2857/CH339
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Parenting plans become law
A new law will allow parents who are get-

ting a divorce to create a parenting plan
agreement.

The law, most of which is effective Aug. 1,
2000, will allow divorced couples to make
agreements on splitting parenting time. Plans
could specify anything from where a child lives
during the day to which parent can teach reli-
gious philosophy. Child support issues are not
included in the law.

If both parents agree to a parenting plan, the
court must accede unless the court determines
the plan is not in the best interest of the child.

If neither parent agrees to a parenting plan,
the court may create one on its own, under
the law.

Sponsored in the House by Rep. Andy
Dawkins (DFL-St. Paul), the law is similar to
a proposal that came from a task force that
studied the issue during the interim.

The court cannot require a parenting plan
if one adult has been accused of domestic as-
sault or sexual abuse, under the law. In addi-
tion, judges must ask individuals if they agreed
to the parenting plan voluntarily.

The law also replaces the word “visitation”
in statute with the phrase “parenting time.”
Dawkins said non-custodial parents find the
word “visitation” to be offensive.

Sen. Sheila Kiscaden (R-Rochester) spon-
sored the Senate version. Nearly all provisions
of the new law are effective Jan. 1, 2001.

HF3311/SF3169*/CH444

HEALTH CARE LEADER

Rep. Lee Greenfield has been a House member since 1978 and is stepping down this year. He is
known for his work in reforming the state’s health care system, most notably the creation of
MinnesotaCare, the state’s health insurance program for low-income residents.

Involuntary commitment
A new law will give parents more control in

admitting mentally ill children to hospitals.
The law, which takes effect Aug. 1, 2000, will

add mental illness to previous law governing
involuntary admission and treatment. The law
currently allows parents to admit a child age
16 or 17 to a hospital only if the child is men-
tally retarded or chemically dependent.

The previous law allowed parents to admit
children to hospitals for a mental illness up to
age 16. The law will now extend that provi-
sion to age 18. Even if the 16- or 17-year-old
child refuses treatment, the parents will be able
to admit the child to a hospital.

The law also will require hospital officials
to inform the patient that a family member
has made an inquiry about the patient’s health.
The patient would then have to authorize the
release of any information.

Rep. Mindy Greiling (DFL-Roseville) and
Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley) sponsored
the legislation.

HF3107/SF2634*/CH316

Investigating child abuse cases
A new law, effective April 15, 2000, will re-

peal a 1999 domestic abuse law defining ne-
glect and will replace it with language
redefining counties’ responsibilities in domes-
tic violence cases affecting children.

The law eliminates language that required
counties to investigate cases where there is any
child abuse, including verbal or other non-
physical abuse. The repealed law also required
an investigation if a child was within sight or
sound of any attempted abuse.

Several groups, representing those advocat-
ing for domestic violence victims and county
social service administrators, joined together
asking legislators to repeal the law because of
its costs. County administrators estimated the
old law would cost $30 million statewide if
fully implemented.

The $30 million projection is based on the
additional workers needed to investigate all the
new mandated cases.

The new language requires county investi-
gation only when the parent “endangers the
child’s mental or physical health,” the parent
engages in “repeated domestic assault,” or the
child “witnessed repeated incidents” of do-
mestic violence. Specific guidelines for inves-
tigations do not take effect until July 1, 2001.

The new law also states that the local wel-
fare agency shall consider the safety of the
child and the victim when determining action.

Under the repealed law, a victim might have
chosen to not report an abusive situation out
of fear that he or she would be found in

neglect if that person kept living with or
moved back in with the abuser.

The new law also requires homeless shelter
employees to attempt to contact the parents
of a runaway within 72 hours. The employee
must tell the parents or guardian the runaway’s
location and status, unless there are compel-
ling reasons to withhold that information.

Rep. Lynda Boudreau (R-Faribault) and
Sen. Linda Berglin (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
law.

HF3176/SF3410*/CH401

Designating custodians for children
A new law effective April 15, 2000, allows

parents the authority to designate a tempo-
rary custodian for their children.

The law repeals the previous designated
caregiver statute and replaces it with the tem-
porary and standby custodian language. The
new law makes it clearer what should happen
to children in cases where the parent suddenly
is not available or is incapable of caring for
them, said House sponsor Rep. Darlene Luther
(DFL-Brooklyn Park).

“It gives parents an opportunity to file with
the court a guardian of the child if there was a
tragic accident or if they are going out of the
country for an extended period,” Luther said.
“It helps families plan ahead and reduce an
unnecessary burden on governmental child
protection or foster care resources.”

The law provides more options than the
repealed statute, such as outlining standby,
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temporary, and co-custodian guidelines.
 Standby custodians would assume perma-

nent custody in the event of a parent’s inabil-
ity to care for the child. A temporary custodian
would have the child or children for two years,
up from one year in previous law. A co-custo-
dian shares parenting duties with a parent
when that parent has extended illnesses.

The new law also gives a non-custodial par-
ent more rights to decide what happens to the
child if the custodial parent becomes ill or dies,
Luther said. Under the law, the non-custodial
parent would automatically gain custody un-
less that parent lost parental rights.

The law allows both natural parents to be
involved in the decision and requires a hear-
ing if the fitness of a non-custodial parent is
called into question, Luther said.

The custodial parent can designate a tem-
porary custodian with the consent of the other
parent, under the new law.

The repealed designated caregiver statute
said the agreement expired four years after it
was signed. The new language designates a
person as temporary custodian indefinitely.

Sen. Jane Ranum (DFL-Mpls) sponsored
the Senate version.

HF3318/SF3018*/CH404

★
GAMBLING

★
GAME & FISH

Paying delinquent child support
The Department of Human Services will be

able to seize bank accounts of parents who are
delinquent in child support payments, under
a law signed May 11 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.

“It will be a significant new way to reach
people we haven’t caught before,” said Rep.
Matt Entenza (DFL-St. Paul), who sponsored
the legislation in the House. “(The state) will
have the capacity to take it straight out of their
bank account without their permission.”

The law will include all financial institutions
within the state, from larger banks in the Twin
Cities to smaller facilities in rural areas. The
law was necessary to comply with federal
requirements.

The law also will allow the department to
send letters to banks, telling them to freeze the
amount of money a delinquent parent owes.
The department is then responsible for noti-
fying the parent the money has been seized.

A bank cannot be held liable for damages
for seizing funds from accounts, under the law.

An appeals process for the parent to con-
test the seizure is also outlined in the bill.

Entenza said the state Department of Rev-
enue and federal Internal Revenue Service al-
ready could seize money from bank accounts,
but this measure extends that ability to the
state Department of Human Services.

Sen. David Knutson (R-Burnsville)

sponsored the Senate version. The law takes
effect Aug. 1, 2000.

HF3345/SF3016*/CH458

Gambling fraud penalties
Tampering with gambling devices or claim-

ing a gambling prize through fraud or use of
counterfeited equipment will now be a felony,
under a law effective Aug. 1, 2000.

The law will establish felonies if the dollar
amount involved in the gambling fraud ex-
ceeds $2,500. The maximum penalty for a
felony offense will be three years in prison and
a $6,000 fine.

A person could be charged with a misde-
meanor when the dollar amount involved is
$500 or less, or a gross misdemeanor when the
value is between $500 and $2,500.

The law will make it illegal to knowingly
claim a gambling prize using altered or coun-
terfeited equipment. It also will make it ille-
gal to claim a prize through fraud, deceit, or
misrepresentation.

Tampering with gambling equipment in an
attempt to influence the outcome of the game
also will be illegal, under the law.

Gambling officials say the law is necessary
to curb the growth of cheating and fraud.

Rep. Sherry Broecker (R-Little Canada) and
Sen. Deanna Wiener (DFL-Eagan) sponsored
the measure.

HF3023/SF2701*/CH318

Card counting devices prohibited
Gamblers are prohibited from using devices

that can count cards or analyze strategy, un-
der a law effective April 7, 2000. Use of such
devices is now considered a felony.

The law establishes several new felonies.
For example, attempting to open or enter a

device to remove money, chips, or tokens will
now bring a felony charge.

Similarly, anyone who intentionally uses
counterfeit chips or tokens also could be
charged with a felony, as could an employee
of the gambling licensee who cheats.

 “There are professional cheats that travel
across the state using these devices,” said Rep.
Mike Osskopp (R-Lake City), House sponsor
of the measure.

The law was needed because a card club
opened this spring at Canterbury Park in
Shakopee, Osskopp said.

“There is nothing in law to regulate it,” he
said.

Indian-owned casinos are exempt from this
law because the state does not have

jurisdiction to enforce the measure. The law
is modeled after gambling laws in Nevada and
New Jersey, Osskopp said.

The law also makes it a felony to manufac-
ture, sell, or distribute cards, tokens, or dice
used to violate these gambling provisions.
Another portion of the law makes it a felony
to instruct someone else to violate the law.

The law also expands the list of places where
charitable gambling halls can legally make
contributions to include community arts or-
ganizations. Previously, contributions could
be made only to public and private educa-
tional institutions, scholarships, churches,
natural resources projects.

Sen. Charles Wiger (DFL-North St. Paul)
sponsored the legislation in the Senate.

HF3571/SF2828*/CH336

Major changes in store
Hunting and fishing licenses will see across-

the-board increases, under a new law signed
May 15 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.

The law also allocates a portion of revenue
from lottery ticket sales to pay for natural re-
sources projects and establishes a state plan
for managing the wolf population.

The measure had once contained only the
license fee increases, but as action for the ses-
sion wound down, the other natural resource
issues were attached.

License fee increases first passed the House
April 13, and the Senate added the provisions
related to the wolf management plan and lot-
tery ticket revenue.

Effective March 1, 2001, the fee increases
will send more money to the game and fish
fund, which pays for projects that improve
water quality, stock fish and enhance aquatic
vegetation, increase public water access, and
other such projects.

Money from the license fee increases will
be matched with revenue from the state’s gen-
eral fund.

Every $2 of revenue from the fee increase
will be matched by $1 from the general fund.
The fee increases are projected to raise about
$3.1 million in revenue for the 2002-03 bien-
nium, and the general fund match will be
slightly more than $1.5 million.

The bill also includes a $500,000 general
fund appropriation to pay for walleye stock-
ing in fiscal year 2001.

The lottery ticket revenue provision will
further increase funding for game and fish
projects, as well as projects for state parks, rec-
reational trails, and zoos.

Those projects will receive 97 percent of the
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money that the state collects as a payment in
lieu of sales tax on lottery tickets. Of the pro-
ceeds from lottery tickets, 16 cents per dollar
goes to the state’s general fund, which includes
6.5 cents per dollar that is considered a pay-
ment in lieu of sales tax.

The wolf management plan that is part of
the law is nearly identical to a plan that was
approved April 11 by the House (in the form
of a separate bill).

The Senate had clarified part of the mea-
sure that allows a person to shoot a wolf that
is attacking livestock or domestic animals. The
new law specifies that the person can shoot a
wolf in that situation only on the person’s
property.

A certified predator controller can be hired
to trap wolves in an area where a wolf has de-
stroyed livestock or domestic animals. The
trapping can be done on the farmer’s prop-
erty and in a one-mile radius of the site of the
attack for 60 days.

A person can shoot a wolf in defense of a
human life, and guard animals can be used to
repel or destroy wolves, under the law.

People will also be allowed to “harass” a wolf
that they actually see within 500 yards of
people, buildings, livestock, or domestic ani-
mals to discourage wolves from getting too
close to homes or farms.

Any incident where a wolf is killed must be
reported within 48 hours to the Department
of Natural Resources or a University of Min-
nesota extension agent.

And effective July 1, 2001, compensation for
a livestock owner who has an animal that is
killed by a wolf will be based on fair market
value instead of the current maximum of $750
per animal.

No hunting season for wolves will be allowed
for five years after the wolf is removed from the
federal list of endangered species. But the law
allows the commissioner of the DNR to prescribe

A new law increases fees across the board for hunting and fishing licenses. Such
fees are the primary source of revenue for game and fish funds in the state.

open seasons
and restrictions
for taking wolves
after the five
years and after
receiving com-
ments from the
public.

And effective
March 1, 2001,
violating the
laws related to
killing wolves is
a gross misde-
meanor.

Unless other-
wise noted, the
provisions de-
scribed above

are effective Aug. 1, 2000.
Rep. Mark Holsten (R-Stillwater) and Sen.

Jane Krentz (DFL-May Township) sponsored
the legislation.

HF3046*/SF2950/CH463

Fishing contests, hunting laws
Limits on the number of fishing contests in

the state were established under a new law
signed May 15. The law makes several other
changes to hunting and fishing laws.

Effective Aug. 1, 2000, people who want to
have fishing contests will need a permit un-
less several criteria are met: the number of
participants is fewer than 30 for open water
and fewer than 150 for ice fishing; the entry
fee is $25 per person or less; the total prize
value is $25,000 or less; the contest is not lim-
ited to trout species only; the contest is not
limited to specifically named waters; and all
the contest participants are age 18 years or
under.

If those criteria are not met, the person can
apply for a permit from the Department of
Natural Resources.

The limits on fishing contests are based on
the size of the lake, the number of participants,
and the number of days that the contest would
take place. And on all bodies of water 55,000
acres or less, the DNR commissioner can set
aside at least two weekends per month with
no permitted fishing contests.

A contest for a species on its opening day
will not be allowed.

The commissioner can specify other restric-
tions as part of the permit to prevent undue
loss of fish or to accommodate other concerns
regarding large fishing contests.

Another provision in the law will improve
some people’s chances of getting a license to
hunt moose. Minnesotans who have applied
for and failed to get a license at least 10 times

can apply in a separate selection process.
The separate process will make 20 percent

of all moose-hunting licenses available to
those applicants who have repeatedly failed to
win a license.

The state issues a limited number of such
licenses every other year, through a lottery
system that includes all applicants in one pool.
In 1999, 189 licenses were issued to hunt in
northeastern Minnesota. There will not be a
moose hunt in 2000.

A new deer license will be established un-
der the bill, which will allow the holder to take
one antlered buck throughout the state, rather
than from a particular area. The license will
cost $66. Deer licenses currently cost $22, and
a separate law will increase that to $25 in 2001.

Another provision in the law allows a per-
son with mental retardation or a related con-
dition to receive a provisional firearms safety
certificate and hunting license.

The person will need to complete the class-
room portion of the firearms safety course,
and he or she could then hunt only while ac-
companied by a parent, guardian, or other
adult who possesses a firearms safety certifi-
cate. The law does not apply if the person is
otherwise prohibited from possessing a fire-
arm under state or federal law.

The law also takes a step toward resolving
questions about state lands within the Bound-
ary Waters Canoe Area.

The state owns about 100,000 acres of land,
known as school trust land, in that area. Most
of the land was donated from the federal gov-
ernment when Minnesota became a state.

The state-owned land is located on various
parcels and is surrounded by federal land.
Revenue from the land, through leases and the
sale of logging rights, goes to the state’s per-
manent school fund.

The University of Minnesota, Duluth will
conduct an inventory and appraisal of the state
lands to determine exactly how many acres of
land belong to the state and provide other
detailed information about the land.

That information will allow the state to ne-
gotiate a land exchange with the federal gov-
ernment, so that the state-owned parcels
would be separate from the federal land.

Rep. Mark Holsten (R-Stillwater) and Sen.
Bob Lessard (DFL-Int’l Falls) sponsored the
legislation.

The law also includes a minor change in a
law that allows lighted fishing lures to be used
in the state, which is effective May 16, 2000.

Other provisions of the law are effective
Aug. 1, 2000.

HF866/SF1288*/CH473
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Lifetime licenses
A new law will make lifetime hunting and

fishing licenses available to Minnesotans and
residents of other states.

Under the measure, people who want to
hunt and fish will have the option to buy ei-
ther a lifetime license or the traditional an-
nual license.

The licenses are scheduled to be available
March 1, 2001, for Minnesota residents and
March 1, 2002, for nonresidents.

Fees for lifetime licenses are based on four
groups: ages 3 and under, ages 4 to 15, ages 16
to 50, and ages 51 and older.

Lifetime fishing licenses for Minnesota resi-
dents in those age groups will cost $227, $300,
$383, and $203 respectively. People who pur-
chase that license will still need to purchase
annual stamps if they want to fish for salmon
or trout.

Lifetime fishing licenses will also be avail-
able for nonresidents at higher prices.

Lifetime small-game hunting licenses for
residents will cost $217, $290, $363, and $213
for the same age groups. Those will also be
available to nonresidents at a higher price.

Lifetime deer hunting licenses for residents
will cost $337, $450, $573, and $383
respectively.

The law also will allow lifetime sporting li-
censes for residents that would cover fishing
and small-game hunting. Such licenses will
cost $357, $480, $613, and $413 respectively.

Lifetime deer hunting or sporting licenses
will not be available for nonresidents.

Revenue from the licenses will establish a
lifetime fish and wildlife trust fund. Money in
that fund will be invested by the state Board
of Investment, and it will pay for projects that
currently are funded by revenue from annual
hunting and fishing licenses.

The law was sponsored by Rep. Mark
Holsten (R-Stillwater) and Sen. Bob Lessard
(DFL-Int’l Falls).

HF3510*/SF3378/CH341

Law allows lighted lures
A new law, effective Aug. 1, 2000, will allow

anglers to use lighted fishing lures.
While the lures are used in neighboring

states, current state law allows the manufac-
ture and sale of lighted lures but does not al-
low anglers to use them in Minnesota waters.

Rep. Chris Gerlach (R-Apple Valley) spon-
sored the measure in the House on behalf of a
constituent who manufactures those lures,
which contain a small battery.

The new law also contains a provision man-
dating that batteries used in lighted fishing
lures cannot contain mercury. That provision
of the law was added due to concerns that the

★
GOVERNMENT

Anglers in Minnesota will now be able to use
lighted fishing lures due to a law passed in the
2000 Legislative Session.

batteries could be swallowed by fish or lost in
the water. Mercury pollution has caused the
Department of Natural Resources to issue
warnings against eating fish in some lakes in
the state.

A separate bill was signed into law that fur-
ther clarified that spotlights or other power-
ful light sources still are prohibited while
fishing.

Sen. Pat Pariseau (R-Farmington) spon-
sored the legislation in the Senate.

HF3352/SF3586*/CH308

Permits for disabled hunters
A special hunting permit will be available

to people who have a permanent disability,
under a new law effective Jan. 1, 2001.

The permit will allow people with certain
medical conditions to use a snowmobile or all-
terrain vehicle while hunting in the state’s
wildlife management areas.

The law will allow the commissioner of
natural resources to issue such permits to
people who cannot step from a vehicle with-
out the aid of a wheelchair, crutches, braces,
or other means of support.

Permits will also be available to people who
have heart or lung conditions and require
breathing assistance.

A person who fraudulently applies for a
permit, or a physician or chiropractor who
fraudulently certifies that a person is disabled,
will be guilty of a misdemeanor, under the law.

Rep. Tom Hackbarth (R-Cedar) and Sen.
Jane Krentz (DFL-May Township) sponsored
the legislation.

HF2603/SF2346*/CH265

Longer ice fishing season
The 2000 ice fishing season was extended

by nine days, under a law effective
Feb. 17, 2000.

The measure was sponsored in the House
by Rep. Bill Haas (R-Champlin), who said it

would help small businesses and resorts in
areas where ice fishing is popular. Those busi-
nesses lost potential income due to unusually
warm weather in the early winter and a lack
of snow.

Under previous state law, the ice fishing sea-
son was to last until the third Sunday in Feb-
ruary, which this year would have been
Feb. 20.

The new law extended the season through
Feb. 29. The extension also included the spear-
ing season.

The Senate sponsor was Sen. Pat Pariseau
(R-Farmington).

HF2980/SF2763*/CH251

Wide-ranging state funding law
Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a $185 million

state government appropriations measure,
which contains new funding for courts, natu-
ral resources, and jobs and housing programs.
He did line-item veto two minor provisions.

The omnibus law will spend $79.9 million
from the general fund and another $105 mil-
lion from other accounts, including $100 mil-
lion in federal Temporary Assistance to Needy
Families (TANF) funds.

Gov. Jesse Ventura line-item vetoed $1.78
million from the measure. He singled out two
provisions — $1.75 million for construction
grants at adult regional jail facilities and
$30,000 for purchasing drug detection dogs.

The largest portion of the spending law
deals with health and human services pro-
grams, where it will spend a total of $138 mil-
lion — $26 million from the general fund, $12
million in forecast changes, and $100 million
in TANF dollars.

Proposals to increase sanctions for people
who fail to meet work requirements of the
Minnesota Family Investment Program
(MFIP) were dropped in conference
committee.

The law will pump $26 million into improv-
ing salary for health care providers in nursing
homes, group homes and those who serve
people with disabilities. The law creates a 3
percent cost-of-living increase. There also was
a cost-of-living increase last year.

Beginning later this year, the income limits
for seniors would be increased to allow more
people to receive aid under the state’s prescrip-
tion drug program. In 2002, the program will
be expanded further to include people with
permanent disabilities who meet the same in-
come limits.

MFIP programs will receive $20 million in
TANF money for county-level intervention to
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provide family employment grants. Money
will be used to help hard-to-employ individu-
als, who face barriers such as transportation
problems, chemical dependency, lack of edu-
cation, or the inability to speak English.

The law will provide $6.6 million toward
economic development programs. Among the
highlights are $1 million in grants to expand
Internet services in rural towns. Another pro-
vision will provide $1 million to boost tour-
ism in northern Minnesota.

And the law will appropriate $50 million to
the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency. Ap-
proximately $30 million will go toward build-
ing and financing affordable housing units.
The remaining $20 million is an interest-free
loan to Habitat for Humanity.

The law features $6.5 million in new spend-
ing for the Department of Public Safety,

Monarch becomes state butterfly
A new law, effective Aug. 1, 2000, makes the

monarch the state butterfly.
It is the 13th state symbol, joining the state

flag and state seal, state tree (red or Norway
pine), state song (“Hail! Minnesota”), state
bird (loon), state fish (walleye), state mush-
room (morel), state drink (milk), state grain
(wild rice), state muffin (blueberry), state
flower (lady slipper), and state gemstone (Lake
Superior agate).

The idea for the butterfly law came from a
group of fourth-grade students at OH Ander-
son Elementary School in Mahtomedi. They
were studying how a bill becomes a law and a
special unit on butterflies. Then the students
decided to combine the two and bring the idea
to Rep. Harry Mares (R-White Bear Lake), who
sponsored the law.

The last state symbol to be established was
the blueberry muffin in 1988, which was pro-
posed by third-grade students from Carlton,
a small town near Duluth. The students felt
that the choice was appropriate because blue-
berries are plentiful in northern Minnesota,
and farmers throughout the state produce
other ingredients needed to make the muffins.

Sen. Charles Wiger (DFL-North St. Paul)
sponsored the measure in the Senate.

HF2588/SF2326*/CH306

Paying costs of lawsuits
A new law will potentially require state

agencies that instigate unsuccessful lawsuits to
pay higher costs to defendants.

Currently, agencies are required to pay the
attorneys’ fees and other expenses of a defen-
dant when the agency brings a civil action and
loses, under certain conditions. Effective Aug.
1, 2000, the new law will expand the types of
expenses that can be recovered by the prevail-
ing party, and it clarifies the procedure for re-
ceiving those awards from a court or
administrative law judge.

The new law will allow the prevailing party
to recover reasonable costs of any study, analy-
sis, engineering report, test, or project that the
party has done in response to the state’s ac-
tion. Those costs are added to those that al-
ready can be recovered under current law,
including various court fees, mileage, postage,
and delivery costs.

Also, previous law limited the amount of
attorney fees that can be recovered to $100 per
hour. The new law will raise that limit to $125
per hour.

The new law also modifies the definition of
who is eligible for recovering those types of
expenses. Groups that are eligible under ex-
isting law include organizations with up to 50
employees and annual revenues that do not
exceed $4 million. The new law will expand
the eligibility by increasing the number of
employees to 500 and the annual revenues to
$7 million.

The law applies only if the state agency fails
to justify its position when it instigates a civil
suit or contested case other than a tort action.

Rep. John Tuma (R-Northfield) and Sen.
Ember Reichgott Junge (DFL-New Hope)
sponsored the law.

HF3497*/SF3539/CH439

Eligibility for the state’s prescription drug discount
program will be expanded to include disabled resi-
dents under a provision in the omnibus state
appropriations law.

$3 million for courts, and $1.2 million for the
Center for Crime Victims Services.

District courts will receive $2.7 million to
reduce judge vacancies across the state. Some
salaries for judges could be paid through this
appropriation.

The Department of Corrections will receive
$2.25 million, which includes $500,000 for
designing a joint headquarters for the depart-
ments of Corrections and Public Safety.

The Department of Natural Resources will
obtain $5.4 million. Approximately $4 million
would go toward settling legal costs incurred
from litigation involving several Indian tribes.

The other $1.4 million will be used as grants
for northern counties that have wildfire con-
cerns this year. Grants can go toward purchas-
ing emergency communications and response
equipment or for training to prepare for wild-
fires.

Rep. Kevin Goodno (R-Moorhead) and Sen.
Don Samuelson (DFL-Brainerd) sponsored
the law.

Many of the individual provisions are ef-
fective May 16, 2000.

HF2699*/SF3798/CH488

Turning over state property
The state turned over ownership of a former

correctional facility to the city of Sauk Centre
under a law effective April 5, 2000.

The facility was established in 1911 as a fa-
cility for delinquent girls and became coedu-
cational in 1967.

Rep. George Cassell (R-Alexandria), House
sponsor of the measure, said the Minnesota
Correctional Facility-Sauk Centre was closed
in July 1999 and has been vacant since then.

Local officials can now use the property for
economic development or for city or county
government purposes, which Cassell said will
be a vehicle to create jobs. The city must study
land-use options to determine the best use of
the property and submit a report to the state
Department of Administration.

If the state had not turned the land over to
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the city, the state Department of Administra-
tion estimated that it would have spent
$200,000 per year in minimal maintenance to
the vacant facility.

Under state law, when an agency vacates a
piece of property, the state Department of
Administration offers the property to other
state agencies or departments that might want
to use the property. But in this case, no other
agency expressed interest.

Cassell said that the land originally was pur-
chased by the city and given to the state in the
early 1900s to be used as a correctional facil-
ity. The city also extended water and sewer
lines to the buildings and has continued to
maintain that system.

Sen. Cal Larson (R-Fergus Falls) was the
Senate sponsor of the measure.

HF2819/SF2444*/CH326

★
HEALTH

Regulating alternative care
A law that will allow the Department of

Health to oversee complementary and alter-
native health care practices was signed by Gov.
Jesse Ventura.

The law will establish an office, housed at
the Department of Health, for unlicensed
complementary and alternative health care.

The office will investigate complaints
against alternative health care practitioners,
will discipline practitioners in some cases, and
will serve as a clearinghouse for information
on such practices.

Language in the law enabling the depart-
ment to oversee complementary and alterna-
tive heath care practices was added to the
measure by a conference committee before it
was presented to the governor for his
signature.

The proposal drew some criticism from
House members during debate on the confer-
ence committee report earlier this month.

Rep. Richard Mulder (R-Ivanhoe), a physi-
cian, said some fear exists in the medical com-
munity that patients may opt for one or more
unproven alternative treatments instead of
conventional medicine for life-threatening
illnesses.

Mulder said that by approving the measure,
legislators were recognizing procedures that
have not been based on scientific fact.

But Rep. Kevin Goodno (R-Moorhead),
sponsor of the legislation, said the new law will
provide for consumer protection and does not
encourage the use of procedures unproven in
the medical community.

The law also will make changes to the

regulation of both speech-language patholo-
gists and audiologists, unlicensed mental
health practitioners, and alcohol and drug
counselors.

Furthermore, the law will alter the Admin-
istrative Simplification Act by requiring a uni-
form report for offering medical and benefits
advice, as well as a uniform document explain-
ing benefits for patients and providers.

Sen. Sheila Kiscaden (R-Rochester) spon-
sored the measure in the Senate.

Most sections of the new law take effect Aug.
1, 2000. Sections about governing procedures
for alternative health care and recommenda-
tions for making employee health insurance
affordable are effective May 12, 2000.

HF3839*/SF2474/CH460

Training for care providers
Foster and respite care providers will have

to meet training standards to care for children
dependent on certain medical devices to live,
under a law effective Aug. 1, 2000.

The law is an attempt to decrease the chance
that a child left in the company of a foster care
provider could suffer harm due to a provider’s
inexperience or lack of training with special
equipment critical to the life and care of the
child.

Care providers will be required to have
training or experience with a child’s medical
equipment before being allowed to care for the
child.

Agencies that place children in homes, even
if it’s only on a temporary basis, will be re-
quired to ensure that the care provider has the
necessary training before being entrusted with
the child’s care.

The legislation was brought forward with
the help of Sharon Morrissey and husband,
Don Baierl, of St. Paul, whose infant daughter
died in 1997 because a care provider didn’t
know precisely how to operate the child’s
health equipment.

The Department of Human Services will be
required to develop the training form. Offi-
cials expect little, if any, fiscal impact to the
department.

Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen.
Sandra Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored the
measure.

HF3342/SF3025*/CH338

Prescription drug cards
People will be prohibited from selling, mar-

keting, promoting, and distributing any card
offering discounts for prescription drugs that
fails to meet certain requirements, under a law.

Effective Aug. 1, 2000, the measure will al-
low an individual or the state attorney

general to sue to stop any such act and obtain
damages any deception may have caused.

The measure will protect consumers from
promised discounts that are either confusing
or not backed by insurance policies.

Discounts that are deceptive or that are not
authorized by contract with the pharmacies
listed on the card, will be in violation of the
new law, and people issuing or distributing the
cards will be subject to prosecution.

Also, discount cards will have to promi-
nently state that discounts offered are not be-
ing offered through any insurance policy.

The new law will not apply, however, to vi-
sion care, glasses, or contact lenses provided
by an optometrist or ophthalmologist.

Discounts promised under contract with
the state of Minnesota, or a consumer discount
card issued by a store for use at that particu-
lar store will also be allowed.

Furthermore, a card administered by a
health insurer, nonprofit health service plan
corporation, or health maintenance organiza-
tion will be exempt from complying with card
requirements put forth by the law.

Rep. Larry Howes (R-Hackensack) and Sen.
John Hottinger (DFL-Mankato) sponsored
the legislation.

HF2883/SF2579*/CH303

Exposure to bloodborne diseases
A law will establish procedures regarding

occupational exposure to bloodborne diseases
for emergency medical services (EMS) person-
nel, corrections employees, and secure treat-
ment facility workers.

The law addresses proper procedure for ob-
taining consent for testing, obtaining and test-
ing blood samples for bloodborne diseases,
and for informing individuals of blood test
results, in certain situations.

The situations the new law will apply to in-
clude cases when people holding these occu-
pations are exposed to a bloodborne disease
in the course of carrying out their jobs.

The measure also will expand the state’s
HIV and Hepatitis B prevention program for
health professionals to cover Hepatitis C. HIV
is the virus that causes AIDS.

Also, the law modifies notification require-
ments that apply when emergency medical
personnel are exposed to a person with active
tuberculosis.

Rep. Kevin Goodno (R-Moorhead) and Sen.
Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the legis-
lation. The new law takes effect Aug. 1, 2000.

HF1631/SF1202*/CH422
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SEEKING SENATE SEAT

Rep. Myron Orfield bids the House adieu as members pack up and ad-
journ for the year. Orfield served as a House legislator for five terms, and
he is running for a spot in the state Senate.

★
HIGHER EDUCATIONDealing with ‘sharps’

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a law aimed at re-
ducing occupational exposures to bloodborne
diseases through “sharps” injuries.

Effective June 10, 2000, the law will require
employers to comply with federal Occupa-
tional Safety and Health Administration
(OSHA) regulations on bloodborne
pathogens.

It also will require that employers review
written exposure control plans annually and
document in the plan consideration of appro-
priate engineering controls that are designed
to eliminate or minimize exposure.

Sharps are needles and other medical de-
vices used in testing. They are often used to
draw blood and therefore carry the most risk
for exposure to diseases carried through the
blood.

The new law will require that a company
establish a safety committee to make recom-
mendations for using the best methods to
limit injury. The law also will require that a
person representing employees most likely to
use or encounter a device creating exposure
to bloodborne pathogens will be appointed to
the committee.

Finally, the employer will be required to es-
tablish internal procedures to document the
route of exposure and circumstances under
which an exposure incident took place. The
law spells out how information must be docu-
mented, as well. It should include the proce-
dure being performed when the incident took
place and the protective equipment or cloth-
ing used at the time of the exposure incident.

Rep. Dennis Ozment (R-Rosemount) and
Sen. Linda Higgins (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
legislation.

HF2639/SF2397*/CH351

Jury duty for nursing mothers
A judicial task force will suggest possible

changes to jury rules for nursing mothers,
under a law effective Aug. 1, 2000.

The Supreme Court Jury Reform Task Force
has been instructed to study the issue and sug-
gest recommendations to accommodate the
needs of nursing mothers who are selected for
jury duty.

During the 2000 session, the House even-
tually accepted the Senate language calling for
a study. However, an earlier version of the
House bill would have exempted all nursing
mothers from jury duty.

Rep. Tim Pawlenty (R-Eagan) and Sen. Ellen
Anderson (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored the
legislation.

HF1865*/SF2094/CH269

Designing campus buildings
Representatives of colleges, universities, and

state agencies will be allowed to vote on the
design of state buildings, under a new law ef-
fective Aug. 1, 2000.

Contracts for designing state buildings are
awarded through the state Designer Selection
Board.

Under current law, the agency or school that
will be using a new building appoints a non-
voting member to the board, which consists
of five voting members. The board looks at
design plans from competing firms and de-
cides which firm will receive the contract.

Under the new law, the board will consist
of seven voting members, including one who
will represent the school or agency that will
be using the proposed building.

Other board members will represent the
American Institute of Architects, the Associ-
ated General Contractors, the Consulting
Engineers Council of Minnesota (with input
from other professional engineering societies
in the state), the Minnesota State Arts Board,
and two citizen members who will be ap-
pointed by the state commissioner of the
Department of Administration.

If, for example, a building is being designed
for the University of Minnesota, the univer-
sity will have a vote on the final design of the

building.
Rep. Peggy Leppik (R-Golden Valley) and Sen.

Deanna Wiener (DFL-Eagan) sponsored the
measure.

HF3195/SF3701*/CH384

★
HOUSING

Interest on security deposits
A new law effective Aug. 1, 2000, will delay

a scheduled increase in the interest rate paid
by property owners on tenant security
deposits.

Current law sets the rate at 3 percent until
2001, and after that time the rate was to be
increased to 4 percent. The new law will
change the date of the increase to 4 percent
from May 1, 2001, to May 1, 2004.

State law related to the interest rate on se-
curity deposits has been adjusted several times
in recent years. The 1992 Legislature changed
the rate from 5.5 percent to 4 percent until
May 1, 1997, but the rate was to return to 5.5
percent thereafter. In 1996, the rate was cut to
3 percent until May 1, 1999, with an increase
to 4 percent thereafter.

The 1998 Legislature extended the 3 percent
rate until 2001, and the new law will give it
three more years.

Rep. Julie Storm (R-St. Peter) and Sen.
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James Metzen (DFL-South St. Paul) sponsored
the legislation.

HF3132*/SF2890/CH282

Newborn drop-off law
A law effective April 19, 2000, allows a

mother — or a person of her consent — to
leave an unharmed newborn at a hospital
emergency room up to 72 hours following the
child’s birth without fear of prosecution.

A hospital is required to accept the child and
to notify a local welfare agency within 24 hours
of the departure of the person bringing the
baby to the hospital.

Under Minnesota law, a mother who will-
fully neglects a newborn when she is reason-
ably able to care for the infant can be charged
with a gross misdemeanor. The new law pro-
vides a small exception.

This law allows the individual delivering the
unwanted newborn to exit the building with-
out providing identification. The hospital is
allowed to ask questions about the medical
history of the mother or newborn, but the per-
son leaving the baby is not required to pro-
vide any information.

A newborn that is left behind will be con-
sidered an abandoned child. The baby, accord-
ing to the new law, must not have any obvious
injuries or illness in order for the hospital to
accept it.

A hospital or employee of the hospital re-
ceiving the child is considered immune from
any civil liability that could potentially result,
if the act of receiving the newborn is done in
good faith.

Furthermore, a social service agency taking
custody of the child is not required to later
reunite the child with its parents or search for
relatives of the child as a placement option.

Officials are uncertain how many babies
hospitals could realistically expect to be
dropped off as a result of the new law.

Rep. Barb Sykora (R-Excelsior) and Sen.
 Leo Foley (DFL-Coon Rapids) sponsored the
legislation.

HF2945/SF2615*/CH421

Nursing center to stay open
The Legislature voted to override Gov. Jesse

Ventura’s veto of a bill aimed at assuring the
continued operation of the Ah-Gwah-Ching
center, a nursing facility in Walker.

The Ah-Gwah-Ching center serves residents
whose aggressive or difficult to manage behav-
ioral needs cannot be met in their home
community.

In his veto message, Ventura said that the
bill was “unnecessary” because law currently
exists prohibiting the commissioner of the
Department of Human Services to close the
facility without the Legislature’s approval.

Ventura vetoed the bill April 3 and the
House voted to override the veto the follow-
ing day. The Senate override came later in
April, and the measure will become law effec-
tive Aug. 1, 2000.

In addition to language in the measure call-
ing for the center to remain open, the law will
clarify the admissions criteria of the facility
and require that the center promote emer-
gency admittance and geriatric rapid assess-
ment stabilization programs.

Rep. Larry Howes (R-Hackensack) and Sen.
Tony Kinkel (DFL-Park Rapids) sponsored the
legislation.

HF2809*/SF2631/CH310

Responsibility for care
The commissioner of the Department of

Human Services is now required to consult
with stakeholders and develop recommenda-
tions for transferring guardianship responsi-
bilities for adults with mental retardation from
the department to another entity.

Under a new law effective April 21, 2000,
stakeholders include family members, advo-
cacy organizations, counties, service provid-
ers, and the office of the ombudsman for
mental health and mental retardation.

The law requires those taking over guard-
ianship responsibilities to be either a multi-
purpose agency providing a broad range of
social services or a new or existing office
within state government that does not cur-
rently have duties related to mentally retarded
people.

The law also states that an entity must pro-
vide assurance that it will act in the best inter-
ests of each person left in its care.

Officials must provide recommendations
for transferring guardianship responsibilities,
including cost estimates, to the chair of the
House Health and Human Services Policy
Committee and the chair of the Senate Health
and Family Security Committee by Decem-
ber 15, 2000, under the law.

Rep. Fran Bradley (R-Rochester) and Sen.
John Hottinger (DFL-Mankato) sponsored
the legislation.

HF2671*/SF2567/CH429

Paying for audiology services
A law amending state medical assistance

reimbursement requirements for audiology
and related services was signed by Gov. Jesse
Ventura.

Effective Aug. 1, 2000, the law will require
that the state reimburse speech-language pa-
thology and audiology services provided by a
person issued a temporary registration at the
same rate as services performed by a registered
pathologist or audiologist.

To receive the same reimbursement rate,
temporarily licensed professionals will have to
undergo the appropriate supervision and
monitoring requirements provided in exist-
ing state law.

A speech-language pathologist is a profes-
sional who is licensed by the state, and quali-
fied by training and experience, to diagnose
and treat speech and language problems.

Audiologists are trained professionals who
specialize in working with individuals with
hearing problems. Audiologists identify, treat,
and help prevent hearing loss for people of all
ages.

Rep. Richard Mulder (R-Ivanhoe) and Sen.
Dallas Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored the
legislation.

HF2477/SF2499*/CH347

Caring for disabled people
A law that makes modifications to Depart-

ment of Human Services policy regarding con-
tinuing care services for people with
disabilities was signed May 15 by Gov. Jesse
Ventura.

The new law will require that people with
disabilities be provided with a telephone num-
ber to call for the purpose of filing a complaint
with the office of the ombudsman for mental
health and mental retardation.

The measure also eliminates a previous re-
quirement that stated requests for home care
services for persons residing in a foster care
setting include the foster care placement
agreement and a determination of the level of
an enrollee’s difficulty of care.

Shared personal care assistant and private
duty nursing services will be allowed to take
place outside an enrollee’s home or foster
home when normal life activities take a care
recipient outside his or her typical care set-
ting, under the new law.

Several other technical changes to depart-
ment language regarding care for disabled
persons are included as part of the law. A few
of those provisions pertain to requirements
for rate and pay adjustments for facilities that
care for the disabled.

Rep. Fran Bradley (R-Rochester) and Sen.
Sheila Kiscaden (R-Rochester) sponsored the
legislation.

Most provisions included in the new law
take effect Aug. 1, 2000. A provision allowing
a guardian of an adult who is not the respon-
sible party to obtain a hardship waiver in
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order to be reimbursed for providing personal
care assistance services took effect May 16,
2000.

HF3409*/SF2841/CH474

Recourse for vulnerable adults
Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a law May 15 that

will create a panel to review decisions made
by lead agencies regarding cases of potential
maltreatment of vulnerable adults.

The law will provide a vulnerable adult or
individual acting on behalf of such a person
the opportunity to challenge an agency’s de-
cision before an impartial body.

Under current law, a vulnerable adult or
person acting on his or her behalf has no other
place to appeal but to the agency that pro-
duced the decision.

The board created by the new law will con-
sist of representatives from the Department
of Human Services and the Department of
Health, the ombudsman for older Minneso-
tans, and the ombudsman for mental health
and mental retardation.

A request for a review, the law states, will
be taken up at the panel’s next quarterly
meeting.

Rep. Lee Greenfield (DFL-Mpls), sponsor
of the legislation, referred to the measure as a
“quality assurance approach” to reviewing
decisions in cases of potential maltreatment.

The law will require that within 30 days of
the panel’s review, it must notify the lead
agency and the person who requested the re-
view of its decision. The panel may decide
whether it agrees with the agency’s decision
or require the agency to reconsider its ruling.

If the panel were to decide that the agency
must reconsider its disposition, the measure
will require the agency reconsider and report
back to the panel with its determination
within 30 days.

Furthermore, the panel will be required to
report to the Legislature each January the
number of requests for review it received, the
number of cases where the panel required the
lead agency to reconsider its decision, the
number of times when the final disposition
was changed, and any recommendations to
improve the review or investigative process.

Finally, the commissioner of the Depart-
ment of Human Services will be required to
offer medically necessary psychiatric and den-
tal services to developmentally disabled clients
in the Faribault service area, which would ex-
tend 100 miles around the city, under the new
law.

Sen. Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
Senate version. The law takes effect
Aug. 1, 2000.

HF3250/SF3028*/CH465

★
INSURANCE

★
LAW

Help for Holocaust survivors
A new law signed by Gov. Jesse Ventura will

assist Holocaust survivors in settling and col-
lecting insurance claims.

Aimed at insurance companies and their af-
filiates that do business in Minnesota and is-
sued policies in Europe prior to 1946, the law
allows the commissioner of the Department
of Commerce to provide special assistance to
Minnesota residents who have claims to settle.

The law allows the department to establish
a registry of records of Holocaust-related in-
surance policies and claims. The registry will
contain information such as a list of policies
sold with the names of the insured and their
beneficiaries, and whether the proceeds have
been paid.

Companies that fail to provide the data to
assist victims and their beneficiaries could be
fined or have their authority to do business in
the state suspended.

Rep. Ron Abrams (R-Minnetonka), House
sponsor of the legislation, said that often life
insurance claims require a death certificate,
which for a Holocaust victim is not available.

He said there are about 200 Holocaust sur-
vivors living in the state.

Sen. Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls) was the Sen-
ate sponsor. The law is effective April 14, 2000.

HF3756/SF3423*/CH367

Prompt payment of claims
Health insurance companies will be re-

quired to promptly pay clean claims by health
care providers and facilities, under a law
effective Jan. 1, 2001.

Third-party administrators also will be sub-
ject to payment requirements, but the new law
will not pertain to services provided by phar-
macists.

A “clean claim” is defined as a claim that
has no defect or impropriety, including any
lack of required documentation or any cir-
cumstance that prevents timely payment.

Health plan companies and third-party ad-
ministrators will be required to pay or deny a
clean claim within 30 days of receiving the
claim. Claims not paid in that time will be
subject to an interest payment of 1.5 percent
of the claim per month.

The company providing the health plan or
the third-party administrator would be re-
sponsible for paying the interest — not the
insured party.

Late claim payments will not be subject to an
interest payment if the payment is delayed so
that the company can review potentially fraudu-
lent or abusive billing practices, however.

Furthermore, the commissioner of the
Department of Health will be prohibited from
assessing a financial administrative penalty
against a health plan company that violates the
law.

Rep. Darlene Luther (DFL-Brooklyn Park)
and Sen. Don Samuelson (DFL-Brainerd)
sponsored the legislation.

HF2643/SF2767*/CH349

Liability for providing alcohol
A new law will make people who supply al-

cohol to those under age 21 subject to civil
suits.

Effective Aug. 1, 2000, the law is an attempt
to curtail parties where adults serve liquor to
juveniles. House sponsor Rep. Phil Carruthers
(DFL-Brooklyn Center) said the law will po-
tentially make such adults liable for the ac-
tions of a juvenile after he or she leaves the
premises.

The law will pertain to people who do not
possess liquor licenses, thereby covering events
like house parties.

The law will make an adult liable for actions
of the minor if the adult supplied alcohol and
had control over the premises, was in a rea-
sonable position to stop the juvenile from
drinking, or knowingly and recklessly permit-
ted the underage consumption of alcohol.

The intoxicated teen who caused any injury
or other harm would not be able to sue the
person providing the alcohol.

The law includes a provision that says
homeowners cannot purchase liability cover-
age under their homeowner’s insurance to
cover liability for an intoxicated juvenile’s ac-
tions, unless it is specifically stated in the
policy that it is meant to cover such situations.
However, that provision will expire Dec. 31,
2001.

The law stems from cases such as a 1997
New Year’s Eve crash that killed St. Paul teen-
ager Kevin Brockway, who was leaving a party
where alcohol was provided by another teen’s
parent.

Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley) sponsored
the Senate version.

HF2555/SF1733*/CH423

Hearing harassment cases
Judges will have discretionary power in

hearing harassment cases, under a law signed
May 15 by Gov. Jesse Ventura. The law takes
effect July 1, 2000.

Rep. Steve Smith (R-Mound) was the House
sponsor of the measure, which also redefines
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harassment to include a “single incident” that
has a “substantial adverse effect.” Previously,
law required there be repeated incidents for
an act to be considered harassment.

Smith said a key provision in the law is that
it will not require a hearing to take place on
every harassment complaint.

“It gives the court the flexibility they wanted
after 10 years of looking at this statute,” Smith
said.

A judge can throw out frivolous harassment
complaints, such as those involving name-call-
ing, Smith said. The judges would then have
more time to hear serious harassment mat-
ters, he added.

The state began tracking restraining order
filings in 1992, when 4,800 were filed. Last year,
8,800 retaining orders were filed.

A victim must allege a clear and present
danger of harassment before the court may
issue a temporary restraining order, under the
law.

The new law does not eliminate the court’s
option of waiving a fee for restraining orders
in cases of financial hardship.

Sen. Randy Kelly (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored
the Senate version.

HF2516*/SF3580/CH476

Rep. Alice Johnson hugs Rep. David Tomassoni during the final day of the session. Johnson,
a former chair of the House K-12 Education Finance Division, is stepping down after 14
years in the Legislature.

FOCUS ON EDUCATION

No public defenders for youths
Public defenders will not be appointed to

child protection cases if the juvenile is younger
than 10, under a new law.

The law will create a uniform statewide sys-
tem that dictates when a public defender
should be brought in to represent a child. A
juvenile age 10 or older could obtain a public
defender, but a child under age 10 could not.

“Infants don’t need separate legal council,
and it’s a waste of money,” said Rep. Dave
Bishop (R-Rochester), who was House spon-
sor of the measure. “Some attorneys are being
hired to represent a 2-year-old. That doesn’t
need to be done.”

The law originates from the state Board of
Public Defenders. In a recent letter, State Pub-
lic Defender John Stuart explained that the law
pertains only to child protection or services
cases, not to juvenile delinquency cases.

Stuart said some courts never appoint at-
torneys unless the child is at least 12 years old,
while other courts always appoint a lawyer for
young children.

“The age of 10 was chosen as the cutoff be-
cause children under the age of 10 cannot be
charged with juvenile delinquency, but may
be dealt with in a children in need of

protection or services proceeding,” Stuart
wrote.

Sen. Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
Senate version. The law takes effect
Aug. 1, 2000.

HF3119/SF2725*/CH357

Legal action for beer wholesalers
A new law effective April 18, 2000, clarifies

existing laws regarding legal actions between
beer brewers and wholesalers.

The law allows wholesalers to sue a brewer
in either state or federal court for violations
to state laws regarding the Minnesota beer
brewers and wholesalers act.

The new law also gives wholesalers the right
to a jury trial against brewers, and it provides
that the right to bring action may not be
waived except at the time the suit is filed.

The state’s beer brewers and wholesalers
laws include provisions prohibiting brewers
from inducing or coercing wholesalers into
accepting delivery of any alcoholic beverage
or any other commodity which wasn’t ordered
by the wholesaler.

The laws also establish the right of free as-
sociation between all brewers and wholesal-
ers. Brewers cannot collaborate to fix or
artificially elevate prices.

Rep. Loren Jennings (DFL-Harris) and Sen.
Sam Solon (DFL-Duluth) sponsored the
measure.

HF1947/SF1618*/CH415

Access to information
Public defenders will be given access to law

enforcement databases, under a law effective
Aug. 1, 2000.

The new law will allow state and district
public defenders, along with any attorney who
is working for a public defense corporation,
limited access to various criminal and juve-
nile databases.

“The defense felt they should have access
to information on the people they are defend-
ing,” said Rep. Sherry Broecker (R-Little
Canada), House sponsor of the measure. “We
felt it was a fairness issue.”

Public defenders will be given access to data
regarding the attorney’s client only and will
not be able to examine data on other people.
The defender also will not have access to ac-
tive and ongoing investigative data, under the
law.

The proposal came from the State Public
Defender’s Office, Broecker said.

Sen. Jane Ranum (DFL-Mpls) sponsored
the Senate version of the legislation.

HF3950/SF3154*/CH377
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Information on sexual predators
Attorneys will have more access to court and

health records of possible predatory sex of-
fenders, under a law signed May 15 by Gov.
Jesse Ventura.

The law makes alterations to the Sexually
Dangerous Persons Act, which allows the state
to civilly commit repeated predatory offend-
ers to treatment.

The law allows county attorneys or the at-
torney general access to health and court
records before a petition is filed in court. Prior
to this law, attorneys obtained those records
after a petition is filed.

“What they want to do is look at the health
records,” said Rep. Wes Skoglund (DFL-Mpls),
House sponsor of the measure.

There are about 160 predatory offenders in
state hospitals. The offenders have completed
their prison sentence and have been sent to a
state hospital for treatment rather than being
released into the general populace.

While a predatory offender could complete
treatment and be released from a state hospi-
tal, that has yet to happen in the six-year his-
tory of the civil commitment law.

Because attorneys will have access to records
before a petition is filed, they might determine
that civil commitment is not necessary and not
pursue a petition, Skoglund said.

The law will require that the individual be
notified that attorneys are seeking his or her
records. However, that notice can be waived if
it could result in harm or harassment of po-
tential witnesses.

The health and court records are not con-
sidered public information.

The Legislature approved the Sexually Dan-
gerous Persons Act during a special session in
1994. The law stemmed from a case involving
Dennis Linehan, who had a history of raping
teen-agers in the 1960s and murdered one
person. Linehan was set to be freed after a
court struck down his commitment, saying
Linehan could control his personal behavior.

Sen. Randy Kelly (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored
the Senate version. The law takes effect
Aug. 1, 2000.

HF2880/SF2854*/CH480

★
RECREATION

Township name change
A new state law allows the residents of the

township of Lake Edwards in Crow Wing
County to drop the “s” from the town’s name.

There has been confusion about whether
the legal name of the township had the “s” at
the end, and the confusion has led to delays
when the town has had to file documents with
state and federal governments.

Township officials discovered that to legally
change the name to the township of Lake Ed-
ward would ordinarily require a petition
signed by at least 55 percent of the number of
residents who voted in the last general
election.

For Lake Edwards, a rural township located
in the central part of the state with a popula-
tion of approximately 1,500 people, the costs
associated with that process seemed too high.

The new law allows the county board to
change the name of the township upon receiv-
ing a resolution from the town board request-
ing the change.

Rep. Kris Hasskamp (DFL-Crosby) and Sen.
Don Samuelson (DFL-Brainerd) sponsored
the measure. The law is effective upon local
action.

HF2521/SF2320*/CH253

Resolving boundary adjustments
A law will clarify the process for resolving

disputes over municipal boundary adjust-
ments.

Those adjustments, such as consolidations
or annexations of towns or cities, used to be
resolved by the Minnesota Municipal Board.

The board was abolished in 1999. The Leg-
islature had set Dec. 31, 1999, as the date for
the board to expire, but all of the board
members resigned by June 1999, which left
some of the adjustments unresolved.

At that time, the board’s duties were set to
be transferred to Minnesota Planning, a state
agency that acts as a long-range planning arm
of the governor’s administration.

The new law, effective April 27, 2000, clari-
fies the dispute resolution process that may
be used, and it authorizes the director of Min-
nesota Planning to delegate such disputes to
the Office of Administrative Hearings. The
parties involved in the dispute will share the
associated costs of the resolution process.

Some provisions of the new law are retro-
active to June 1, 1999, to address the disputes
that were unresolved by the municipal board.

The law also requires Minnesota Planning
to send a report to the House and Senate com-
mittees on local government and metropoli-
tan affairs during the 2001 Legislative Session,
regarding the effects of the transfer of duties.

Rep. Peg Larsen (R-Lakeland) and Sen. Jim
Vickerman (DFL-Tracy) sponsored the
measure.

HF3586/SF2951*/CH446

New plan for park permits
Annual permits for state parks will be valid

for a full year after the date of purchase, un-
der a new law effective Aug. 1, 2000.

Currently, annual park permits are valid
only for the calendar year.

Proponents of the new law said it likely will
increase the number of annual permits that
are sold and encourage more visits to state
parks year-round.

Earlier this year, an official from the Parks
and Recreation Division of the Department
of Natural Resources said survey results show
the state could sell about 5,000 more permits
per year.

The change could make enforcement more
difficult than the current system, where an
annual permit is distinctive and easy for park
employees to see. But the official told lawmak-
ers the change will be manageable because the
sticker will be designed to clearly show the
month and year it expires.

Rep. Peggy Leppik (R-Golden Valley) and
Sen. Martha Robertson (R-Minnetonka)
sponsored the legislation.

HF2505*/SF2289/CH278

Law sets fine for studs
The governor signed a measure that adds a

civil penalty for using metal traction devices,
or studs, on snowmobiles.

The new law was necessary because a civil
penalty was inadvertently left out of a 1999 law
that requires people to purchase a sticker for their
snowmobiles if they intend to use studs.

The 1999 measure contains criminal pen-
alties for people who drive a snowmobile with
studs on a paved state trail.

The new law, effective April 5, 2000, estab-
lishes civil penalties for people who use snow-
mobile studs but do not purchase a sticker.

For the first offense, the penalty is capped
at $50. The fine for a second offense is up to
$300, and for third and subsequent offenses
the fine is up to $600.

A new law imposes civil fines and penalties for
unauthorized use of snowmobile studs. Criminal
penalties were enacted during the 1999
Legislative Session.
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Rep. Andrew Westerberg (R-Blaine) and
Sen. Linda Runbeck (R-Circle Pines) spon-
sored the legislation.

HF3555/SF3283*/CH324

Legislators made changes to the bleacher safety requirements passed into law during 1999. Height
requirements were raised for bleachers required to have gaps no more than four inches and exemp-
tions were expanded. Implementation of the requirements was also delayed.

★
TAXES

★
SAFETY

Bleacher safety changes
Safety requirements for bleachers, such as

those at sports facilities or local parks, will be
modified under a new law that takes effect
Jan. 1, 2002.

New safety requirements for bleachers were
signed into law last year, but Gov. Jesse Ventura
line-item vetoed $100,000 that would have
helped communities and school districts pay
the costs of complying with the new standards.

The 1999 law required bleachers that are
taller than 30 inches to have gaps between
seats, floorboards, and guardrails that do not
exceed 4 inches. Otherwise, safety nets must
be installed under bleachers that have gaps
wider than 4 inches. The previous standard
for gaps was 9 inches.

The new law will make the 4-inch require-
ment apply to bleachers that are at least 55
inches (nearly 5 feet) tall.

Retractable bleachers that are in place by
Jan. 1, 2001, and that meet the previous 9-inch
requirement for gaps, will be exempted from
the 4-inch requirement. The responsible
school district or organization will have to
submit a safety management plan and amor-
tization schedule for complying with the 4-
inch standard.

A separate bill (HF4078) extended that ex-
emption to bleachers at public and private

colleges and universities in the state that meet
the 9-inch standard.

Rep. Fran Bradley (R-Rochester), House
sponsor of the new measure, said it will ease
the financial burden for schools, county fairs,
and local parks departments without compro-
mising safety standards.

The original legislation was brought for-
ward after 6-year-old Toby Lee of Mound fell
through a set of bleachers at a hockey game in
Hutchinson and died in January 1999. The boy
fell through a 13-inch gap in those bleachers.

The requirements are applicable to all new
construction and installation as of Jan. 1, 2001.

Sen. Deanna Wiener (DFL-Eagan) was the
Senate sponsor of the measure.

HF2846/SF3272*/CH417

Tax cut and rebate plan signed
State taxpayers will receive more than $1 bil-

lion in tax reductions and rebates, under a new
law signed May 15 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.

Included in the new law is a rate reduction
in all three income brackets, a one-time sales
tax rebate, a cap on automobile license tab fees,
and an agricultural rebate totaling
$18 million.

The new law reduces the income tax rates
by 0.15 percent in the upper and lower tax
brackets. The middle bracket rate is reduced
by 0.20 percent. Taxpayers will receive about
a $142 million income tax cut for tax year
2000. The state will collect around $317 mil-
lion less over the next biennium.

The new law also caps license registration

tab fees. The fee is now set at $189 in the sec-
ond year of a car’s life and $99 in the third
through 10th years. The fee in the first year
remains unchanged, as does the minimum $35
tax that applies to all cars older than 10 years.

Lower income families benefit from an in-
crease in the percentage of earnings used in
calculating the state’s working family credit.
The credit is similar to the federal earned in-
come credit that provides a wage supplement
equal to a percentage of the earnings of low-
income individuals.

The new law increases the percentage of
earnings used in calculating the working fam-
ily credit so that for all claimants, the credit
equals at least 25 percent of the federal earned
income tax credit.

A one-time $635 million sales tax rebate
based on 1998 receipts is provided for in the
law.

Rebates for married couples and heads of
households will be at least $168 and as high
as $2,400. For other filers, the minimum will
be $95 with the maximum set at $1,200.

Taxpayers can expect a check of about 40
percent to 45 percent of what they received
last year and the rebate checks will be mailed
in August.

People eligible for the automatic rebate are
those who had income tax liability in 1998,
those who filed a claim for the 1998 property
tax rebate, and those who had social security
income in 1998.

Social Security recipients who were Minne-
sota residents in 1998 but did not claim a 1998
property tax rebate or have 1998 income tax
liability will receive a rebate of $95.

And unlike last year’s rebate, dependents
will be eligible for a rebate equal to 35 percent
of the amount a nondependent would receive.

The law also provides agricultural assistance
for farms located in 31 counties that were de-
clared disaster counties in 1999 by President
Clinton or were contiguous to a disaster
county. Farmers in those counties will receive
a payment equal to $4 for each acre covered
under crop insurance in 2000.

Farmers also will benefit from an $11.5 mil-
lion increase in the education agricultural
credit. The rate of the credit is increased from
54 percent to 70 percent for agriculture home-
stead land and buildings up to $600,000 in
market value. The rate for nonhomestead ag-
riculture property is increased from 50 per-
cent to 63 percent.

The new law allows employers in the state
to receive a transit pass tax credit equal to 30
percent of the cost of transit passes provided
to employees.

Also the law provides a $5 million appro-
priation to the Department of Trade and Eco-
nomic Development to make a redevelopment
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grant to the city of Richfield. The grant will
be used to acquire houses and apartment
buildings in a two-block area adjacent to the
new north-south runway at the airport.

Rep. Ron Abrams (R-Minnetonka) and Sen.
Douglas Johnson (DFL-Tower) sponsored the
legislation. Most of the new law’s provisions
are effective May 16, 2000.

HF4127*/SF2657/CH490

SAYING GOODBYE

Rep. Jim Rostberg who served for three terms, is stepping down to start up a family business
with his wife.

★
TRANSPORTATION

Evading sales tax payments
People who collect motor vehicle sales tax

and then fail to send the tax to the state could
be charged with a felony, under a new law ef-
fective April 14, 2000.

The law creates a felony for not submitting
vehicle sales tax to the state, regardless of how
much money is involved, but it states that the
person collecting the tax must “willfully” fail
to send in the tax.

House sponsor Rep. Matt Entenza (DFL-St.
Paul) said the law stems from a February state
Supreme Court decision related to a case
where a Mankato businessman was convicted
of collecting $12,000 in vehicle sales tax and
failing to send the money to the state. As a re-
sult of the court ruling, it was no longer a
felony to not send in sales tax.

Officials estimate the state will collect about
$526 million in vehicle sales tax in 2001.

Sen. Leo Foley (DFL-Coon Rapids) spon-
sored the Senate version.

HF3303/SF3566*/CH366

Wadena County exemption
A new law will provide a one-time exemp-

tion to Wadena County from a truth-in-
taxation publishing requirement.

Due to an oversight, the required public
notice of the public hearing was not published,
House sponsor Rep. Roxann Daggett (R-
Frazee) said during a February hearing on the
bill.

She said the county’s auditor was new to the
position. At the same time as preparing for the
truth-in-taxation process, the auditor was also
involved in administering a special election.

The county did meet its requirement of
mailing notices to all taxpayers.

The state Department of Revenue ruled that
the county did not substantially comply with
state truth-in-taxation laws because of the fail-
ure to advertise the public hearing. The rul-
ing would have required the county to use its
previous year’s levy.

Under the law, the county will be able to
use its payable 2000 levy that was adopted at
the public hearing.

During a House Taxes Committee hearing
of the bill, department officials expressed con-

cern about setting precedence by exempting
the county from meeting its requirements.

Assistant Commissioner Jenny Engh said
that the department supplies a checklist that
clearly lays out each requirement of the truth-
in-taxation process.

Daggett said that the mistake was not de-
liberate, and since the county had met its other
notification requirements, the county’s tax-
payers were sufficiently made aware of the
public hearing.

Sen. Dallas Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored
the measure in the Senate.

The law is effective upon local approval.
SF2554*/HF3039/CH258

Transportation spending law
A $602 million transportation funding

package was signed into law May 15 by Gov.
Jesse Ventura.

The law preserves light-rail funding and
appropriates cash for nearly all transportation
items.

Ventura line-item vetoed a $750,000 appro-
priation to the Department of Trade and Eco-
nomic Development, but left the rest of the
law intact.

However, the governor said in a letter that
accompanied the bill that he is not happy with
the bill and he feels legislators have squan-
dered permanent funding in favor of the one-
time appropriations.

“At best, this will accelerate a few already-

planned highway projects, and it largely ig-
nores needed new investment in transit,”
Ventura wrote.

Ventura also objected to a measure in the
law that moves nonhighway spending from the
trunk highway fund to the general fund. The
state attorney general and Department of Fi-
nance will examine the constitutionality of
using trunk highway fund money for
nonhighway projects.

“It is difficult to understand how appropria-
tions made by the Legislature for many
biennia could now be considered unconstitu-
tional,” Ventura wrote.

Money used for Office of Tourism kiosks
and tort claims has been improperly spent
from the trunk highway fund, when it should
have come from the general fund, legislators
said.

Ventura also said in his letter that legisla-
tors did not look at the long-term impact of
shifting these funds to the general fund. He
said the Department of Finance’s numbers will
reflect those costs.

The law features $405 million in cash spend-
ing for road improvements. House leaders
have said it’s important to take advantage of
the $1.8 billion projected surplus for the bi-
ennium and fund areas that have been
underfunded in recent history.

The Department of Transportation will
spend $177 million for eliminating bottle-
necks on Twin Cities highways and another
$177 million on rural interregional corridors,
which are major roadways that connect urban
and rural areas.

Another $100 million for transportation
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will come from trunk highway bonds.
In addition, the final agreement leaves about

$92 million in previously allocated bonds for
light-rail transit intact.

While the law does not strip funding for
light rail, one provision will not allow the
Department of Transportation to seek federal
funds for the Hiawatha line unless the money
is available to the state only because of light
rail. In other words, if the money could be used
for roads or bridges in Minnesota, the depart-
ment could not seek the money for light rail.
That section is effective May 16, 2000.

The law also will allow the Metropolitan
Council to sell or lease naming rights to the
14 transit stations that are planned along the
11-mile Hiawatha line.

The Transportation Department cannot
spend state funds on commuter rail projects
unless the money has been specifically appro-
priated for that purpose, under the law. This
provision is effective May 16, 2000.

The law will also call for $39 million in cash
for bridge improvements or replacements.

Four of the state’s large highway department
facilities will be upgraded or replaced at a cost
of $25.7 million. Renovations at the Transpor-
tation Department headquarters in St. Cloud
will run $10.3 million and upgrades to the
Detroit Lakes headquarters will cost $8.7 mil-
lion. Like the bridge funding, the buildings will
be funded through cash rather than with
bonds.

The law also will spend money for a new
Regional Transportation Management Center
in Roseville. The law will require the depart-
ment to sell its current center within three

A new law that includes funding for transportation improvements includes $177 million to relieve high-
way bottlenecks in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

years of completion of the new center.
The law also includes $15 million for a re-

volving loan fund, which can be used for state
highway projects. The governor vetoed $10
million for the fund last year.

A study of the ramp meter system in the
Twin Cities highlights the policy portions of
the law. The Transportation Department will
perform the study at no cost to the state.

Meters will be turned off for a period of
time determined by the department to evalu-
ate the effectiveness of the ramps. Department
officials could not further specify when the
study would be done and how many days the
lights would be inactive.

The law establishes a commission dealing
with major transportation projects. The com-
mission will hear project proposals that ex-
ceed $5 million and have a significant role in
the overall transportation system. The com-
mission also requires environmental impact
surveys be completed to help evaluate the
project.

The commission will only review and com-
ment on projects — it will not be given final
approval authority. This provision takes effect
July 1, 2000.

Most spending provisions are effective
July 1, 2000.

Sen. Dean Johnson (DFL-Willmar) spon-
sored the Senate version.

HF2891*/SF2678/CH479

Right-of-way accident liability
The state will have limited immunity from

civil lawsuits involving recreational motor ve-
hicle accidents that occur in a highway right-
of-way, under a law effective Aug. 1, 2000.

The law will establish the state is not liable
when accidents or injuries occur involving
snowmobiles or other off-road recreational
vehicles.

“There has to be a level of responsibility in
the hands of recreational vehicle users,” said
Rep. Mary Liz Holberg (R-Lakeville), who
sponsored the measure in the House. “Some-
one who uses a recreational vehicle in a pru-
dent and responsible manner will be fine.”

Recreational vehicles are supposed to drive
only on the outside, or “backslope” of the
ditch, not at the bottom or the side closest to
the highway. The law will not affect where
motor vehicles can be driven.

Statute already gives the state limited liabil-
ity for accidents that occur on ice-covered
roads or in state parks.

Sen. Jane Ranum (DFL-Mpls) sponsored
the Senate measure.

HF3613/SF3307*/CH373

One plate for collector cars
Cars manufactured prior to 1972 and clas-

sic or model cars will only be required to have
one license plate, under a law.

Effective Aug. 1, 2000, the measure will al-
low cars with a pioneer, classic car, collector,
or street rod license to only display one plate.

If the car owner chooses to display just one
plate, that plate must be located on the rear of
the car, the law states.

Previously, the law allowed only certain cars
manufactured prior to 1968 to display just one
plate.

“This covers muscle cars made in 1971 or
1972,” said Rep. Bill Haas (R-Champlin) said,
who sponsored the measure in the House.

The reason for the change came from con-
stituents who believed that two plates on their
street rods were not necessary, Haas said.

The new law also states that only one plate
is needed for cars built prior to 1972 that are
used for general transportation purposes.

“Some people do use them for driving
around,” Haas said. “You don’t see many of
these cars in the winter.”

Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley) sponsored
the Senate bill.

HF2824*/SF2578/CH280
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Exceptions to weight restrictions
Some heavier vehicles such as public utility

or recycling trucks are exempt from spring-
time road weight restrictions, under a law ef-
fective April 25, 2000.

The law allows a few specified vehicles to
travel on roads that usually have weight re-
strictions for eight weeks in the spring.

“No one is for wrecking roads. I’m certainly
not,” said Rep. Tom Workman (R-
Chanhassen), House sponsor of the measure.

Public utility vehicles need to be able to
travel on side roads when emergencies occur,
Workman said.

“For them to come onto your street and re-
store your power, they are technically break-
ing the law,” Workman said during a House
Transportation Policy Committee meeting in
February. “That’s ridiculous.”

Exempted vehicles under the new law must
not exceed 20,000 pounds per axle.

The law will be repealed in three years, so
legislators will have to take further action to
continue the law if it works well, Workman
said.

The eight-week weight restrictions are en-
forced when the ice thaws and roads become
particularly soft. Road restrictions are gener-
ally placed on state and county highways or
city streets. By starting the weight restrictions
on time, the department estimates it saves
$10 million annually in road replacement
costs.

Sen. Steve Murphy (DFL-Red Wing) spon-
sored the Senate measure.

HF3274/SF2785*/CH433

C. Elmer Anderson highway
A Minnesota road will be named in honor

of a former governor, under a new law.
The portion of Highway 371 from Baxter

to Barrows in Crow Wing County, which is
known as the Brainerd bypass, will be named
the C. Elmer Anderson Memorial Highway.

Anderson, who died in January 1998, served
as Minnesota governor from 1951 to 1955. He
also served as lieutenant governor for 11 non-
consecutive years. When he was first elected
lieutenant governor in 1938, Anderson was
only 26 years old.

Anderson, a Republican and a native of
Brainerd, became governor in 1951 when Gov.
Luther Youngdahl resigned to accept an ap-
pointment to the federal bench. Anderson
defeated Orville Freeman in 1952 but lost to
the same man in 1954. (Governors served only
two-year terms at the time.)

After leaving the statehouse, Anderson re-
turned to Brainerd, where he was a business-
man and, for 10 years, served as the town’s
mayor.

Rep. Kris Hasskamp (DFL-Crosby) was

quoted at Anderson’s funeral as saying he was
always proud of Brainerd and stayed active in
the issues important to the area.

Signs designating the road must be funded
from nonpublic money, according to the law,
which is effective Aug. 1, 2000.

Rep. Steve Wenzel (DFL-Little Falls) and
Sen. Don Samuelson (DFL-Brainerd) spon-
sored the measure.

HF2502*/SF3207/CH279

Red Bull highway
A portion of Interstate 35 will be renamed

to honor a military unit, under a law effective
Aug. 1, 2000.

The stretch of freeway will be renamed the
34th Infantry (Red Bull) Division Highway.
Private money must be used to purchase and
place signs. The designation will extend from
the Iowa border to the Twin Cities.

The Red Bull Division, comprised of Na-
tional Guard members from Minnesota, Iowa,
and South Dakota, was the first division de-
ployed overseas during World War II, accord-
ing to the Minnesota National Guard. The
division was stationed in North Africa and
Italy during the war.

Rep. Tom Workman (R-Chanhassen) and
Sen. Steve Murphy (DFL-Red Wing) spon-
sored the measure.

HF3156*/SF2709/CH281

Highway named after contractor
A southern Minnesota highway will be

named after a noted contractor and transpor-
tation advocate, under a new law effective
Aug.1, 2000.

The stretch of Highway 4 from Sleepy Eye
to St. James will be named the Richard J.
Mathiowetz Memorial Highway. Mathiowetz,
a Sleepy Eye native, was dubbed a “legendary
contractor” in the December issue of Con-
struction Bulletin. He died Oct. 31, 1999, at
age 64.

Rep. Howard Swenson (R-Nicollet) spon-
sored the measure in the House. Swenson said
that Mathiowetz regularly traveled to the
Capitol seeking funding for roads and
highways.

“He had been an energetic advocate for
good roads and highways,” Swenson said.

Mathiowetz began working at his father’s
construction company when he turned 18, and
he was involved in contracting throughout his
life. Swenson said Mathiowetz deserves to have
a highway named after him due to his long-
standing reputation as a contractor in the area.

Funds for the purchase and placement of
signs marking the highway must come
through nonpublic sources.

Sen. Dennis Frederickson (R-New Ulm)
sponsored the legislation in the Senate.

HF3142*/SF2844/CH288

Exempting rebate income
Sales tax refunds or rebates will not be con-

sidered income for residents of veterans’
homes, under a new law.

The new law will clarify current law that
requires residents of veterans’ homes to pay
for their care based on their ability to pay.

Cost of care is based on the average costs of
operating veterans’ homes.

The law relates to any future sales tax re-
funds and rebates, and to those paid after June
30, 1999. That money will not be considered
income for residents of veterans’ homes, un-
der the law.

The law also will allow the governing board
of the veterans’ home in Hastings to use fed-
eral grant money to purchase a home to be
used as transitional housing for homeless or
disabled veterans.

Rep. Joe Mullery (DFL-Mpls) and Sen.
James Metzen (DFL-South St. Paul) sponsored
the measure.

HF2968/SF3139*/CH442

CONGRESS BOUND?

Rep. Betty McCollum has served four terms in
the House and is leaving to pursue a seat in
Congress. She won the DFL endorsement for
the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Bruce
Vento.
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Four bonding vetoes overridden
The House voted to override four line-item

vetoes from the $640.3 million bonding law,
which will pay for repairs to state facilities and
new construction projects. Four other line-
item vetoes were allowed to stand.

The Legislature had passed several major
bills May 9 and recessed until the vetoes could
be re-considered May 17.

The Senate also voted to override the same
provisions, which means they will become law.

Gov. Jesse Ventura has had six full or line-
item vetoes overridden in his first two years
as governor. That is more than any other gov-
ernor, according to records that date back only
to 1939. An override requires 90 votes in the
House and 45 votes in the Senate.

One override was a veto of a $3 million ap-
propriation from the state’s general fund to be-
gin construction on a new Guthrie Theater in
Minneapolis. The law will allow that $3 million
to be spent only if an equal amount of non-state
money is contributed to the project.

In his veto message, Gov. Jesse Ventura
wrote, “Projects of this nature should, at mini-
mum, be able to demonstrate significant lo-
cal and philanthropic financial commitments
prior to a request for state funding.”

Ventura added that additional policy dis-
cussions should take place before the state
commits money for capital requests from arts
organizations.

One attempt to override the veto failed on
an 84-42 vote. It was later reconsidered and
was passed on a 92-36 vote.

A similar line-item veto was overridden that
will send $1 million to the city of Lanesboro
for a new arts center. Lanesboro is located just
north of the Iowa border in southeastern Min-
nesota.

Another veto override was for $135,000 to
the Department of Health to fund a vehicle to
promote organ donation.

“There are a variety of health-related causes
that are worthy of public education but it is
not the state’s role to single out one cause or
outreach mechanism,” Ventura wrote in his
veto message.

But the House voted 112-16 to override the

veto. Rep. Darlene Luther (DFL-Brooklyn
Park) proposed the override, saying that the
$135,000 will be matched with an equal
amount of nonstate money, and it will help
address a serious health concern.

A fourth line-item veto that was overrid-
den will spend $1.5 million to pay for
multicultural learning centers in St. James and
Pelican Rapids. The vote was 100-26.

Rep. Bob Westfall (R-Rothsay) said the
money mainly will pay for English as a sec-
ond language classes and other services for
recent immigrants. The center in Pelican Rap-
ids originally was designed to provide those
types of services for about 1,800 people, but
the immigrant population has grown to more
than 2,600 in that area, he said.

Rep. Gregory Gray (DFL-Mpls) added that
the centers help build a sense of community
and that the governor was “dead wrong in ve-
toing both of these provisions.”

Line-item vetoes that were not overridden
were $500,000 for a Center for Agricultural
Innovation in Olivia, $100,000 for the Hous-
ing and Redevelopment Authority in Landfall
to repair retaining walls, and $150,000 for the
St. Croix Valley Heritage Center.

“I believe that local or private funding is the
most appropriate financing source for each of
these projects,” Ventura wrote.

Finally, a line-item veto cancelled
$2.7 million to build a cold weather testing

Veto kills towing bill
The governor vetoed a bill that would have

allowed people to claim any valuables from
inside a car that has been towed and im-
pounded.

Rep. Andy Dawkins (DFL-St. Paul), who
sponsored the bill in the House, was not
pleased by the veto.

“The towing truck companies always knew
they were stretching the law on keeping per-
sonal items,” Dawkins said. “I’m surprised they
were able to convince the governor their live-
lihood depended on their need to keep base-
ball mitts and briefcases.”

Gov. Jesse Ventura expressed concern that
Dawkins’ bill would have hurt the towing

center in International Falls, which would have
tested products to determine how they re-
spond to cold temperatures. That money
would have required an equal amount of
nonstate matching funds.

An attempt to override the veto failed on a
59-68 vote.

Ventura also wrote that for all the projects
that were vetoed, more pressing state needs
could have been funded in the bonding bill.

HF4078*/SF3811/CH492

F E B R U A R Y  1  -  M A Y  1 8, 2 0 0 0VETOES
★  ★  ★

Editor’s note: This section includes summaries
of all proposals that were vetoed in full or line-
item vetoed this year.

Gov. Jesse Ventura vetoed two bills involving towing companies this session — one that would have
clarified liens against towed vehicles and another that would have allowed banks to claim money first
when a vehicle was sold after it had been towed following a drunken driving arrest.
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industry. He said impound lots would have
been required to absorb the costs of towing
and storing abandoned vehicles.

“Owners of the vehicles would bear no re-
sponsibility for the towing, storage, or disposal
costs of the vehicle, but would be permitted
to obtain their possessions from the vehicle,”
Ventura wrote in his veto message. “Those
possessions may be worth more than the ve-
hicle itself.”

State law says the impound lot owners have
a lien on a car it has in its possession but says
nothing about personal items in the car,
Dawkins said. He added that he would like to
see a court rule on that statute, because he
believes the court would rule against impound
lot owners and towing companies.

Sen. Sandra Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) spon-
sored the bill in the Senate.

HF3566/SF3291*/CH388

★
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Vehicle forfeiture bill
Gov. Jesse Ventura vetoed a bill that would

have given banks more rights to funds gener-
ated from forfeited vehicles.

Rep. Matt Entenza (DFL-St. Paul) was the
House sponsor of the bill, which would have
allowed banks to acquire forfeited vehicles if
there is an outstanding loan or lease on the
car.

“Right now, sales are done at impound lots,”
Entenza explained. “This bill (would have al-
lowed) the banks to remove the vehicle from
the impound lot, clean it up, and sell it at a
higher value.”

Under the bill, banks would have first ap-
plied proceeds to the debt they are owed by
the vehicle owner. The bank then would have
been required to reimburse impound lots for
holding the car. Any remaining cash from the
sale of forfeited vehicles would have gone into
a special fund for law enforcement.

However, Ventura rejected the measure,
claiming it had fiscal implications he could not
accept.

“This bill does not require a financial insti-
tution to reimburse law enforcement agencies
for their cost when the sale of the forfeited
vehicle does not equal or exceed the loan bal-
ance,” Ventura wrote in his veto message.

“Current law provides an incentive for the
lien holder to get the maximum value for the
forfeited vehicle because they must pay the
costs incurred by law enforcement before sat-
isfying their lien. This bill eliminates the in-
centive and would result in increased costs to
the taxpayers.”

Entenza said he was surprised by the veto.
“It was a disappointment that the Depart-

ment of Public Safety, which watched this bill
for two years, waited until after it passed to
register their objections,” Entenza said.

Under state law, drivers are required to for-
feit their vehicle only after a third drunken
driving conviction.

Sen. Leo Foley (DFL-Coon Rapids) spon-
sored the Senate version.

HF262/SF76*/CH383

No marriage license discount
Gov. Jesse Ventura vetoed a bill that would

have reduced the marriage license fees for
couples who received at least 12 hours of pre-
marital education.

And a failed attempt to override the veto
kept the bill from becoming law. The Senate
voted May 17 to override the veto, but the at-
tempt failed to get a two-thirds majority in
the House.

The bill would have raised the cost of a regu-
lar marriage license from $70 to $75. But for
those couples who received premarital edu-
cation, the marriage license fee would have
been only $25.

The bill specified that the education topics
would include teaching about the seriousness
of marriage, conflict management skills, and
the desirability of obtaining counseling if the
marriage falls into difficulty later on.

Couples would have had to obtain educa-
tion from a clergy member, a person autho-
rized by law to perform marriages, or a
marriage and family therapist.

Ventura said he doesn’t believe the govern-
ment should have a role in marriage
counseling.

“This bill is overly intrusive and increases
costs for those who choose not to receive pre-
marital counseling,” Ventura wrote in his veto
message. “I understand the authors’ intent and
share their concerns about our high divorce
rate, however, I do not believe that govern-
ment should intervene in a couple’s marital
decisions.”

Rep. Elaine Harder (R-Jackson) and Sen.
Steve Dille (R-Dassel) sponsored the
legislation.

HF2229/SF884*/CH397
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No time limit on confirmation
The first bill Gov. Jesse Ventura vetoed dur-

ing the 2000 Legislative Session would have
limited the term of an acting or temporary
commissioner of a state department.

Under state law, commissioners are

appointed by the governor, subject to the
Senate’s confirmation of the appointment.
The bill would have limited the term of an
acting or temporary commissioner to 18
months.

In his veto message, Ventura said the bill
would have punished a commissioner for the
Senate’s failure to “fulfill its obligation to act”
within the time limit.

“The confirmation of commissioners is an
important role for the Senate,” the governor
wrote. “It is imperative to maintain a certain
level of accountability and a clear expectation
for all parties involved.”

Ventura, who watched the Senate reject one
of his appointees this year, acknowledged that
there is a need for change.

“I look forward to working with the Legis-
lature to create a comprehensive piece of leg-
islation that addresses the concerns of both
the legislative and executive branches of gov-
ernment on this matter,” he wrote.

Rep. Sondra Erickson (R-Princeton) and
Sen. Dan Stevens (R-Mora) sponsored the bill.

HF118*/SF160/CH277

Regional jails, drug dogs cut
Gov. Jesse Ventura line-item vetoed $1.78

million from the omnibus state government
appropriations bill, which includes $185 mil-
lion in total spending.

Ventura singled out two provisions — $1.75
million for construction grants at adult re-
gional jail facilities and $30,000 for purchas-
ing drug detection dogs.

In his veto message, Ventura said both items
should come from local funds, not state
money.

The Department of Corrections would have
been responsible for distributing the grants to
counties for regional jails. The money would
have comprised up to 30 percent of overall
construction costs.

The money for dog purchases would have
been distributed through the Department of
Public Safety. Agencies would have been al-
lowed to seek funding for only one drug-sniff-
ing dog.

The remainder of the funding bill was left
intact.

Rep. Kevin Goodno (R-Moorhead) and Sen.
Don Samuelson (DFL-Brainerd) sponsored
the omnibus legislation.

HF2699*/SF3798/CH488
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Waiting period plan scuttled
Wanting to avoid what he called “govern-

ment intrusion” into an individual’s private
life, Gov. Jesse Ventura vetoed the contentious
“right-to-know” abortion bill.

The bill would have required a woman con-
sidering an abortion to wait at least 24 hours
before undergoing the procedure. It also would
have required that the woman be given infor-
mation about risks and alternatives at least 24
hours before the procedure is scheduled.

 “I have decided that it is wrong for govern-
ment to assume a role in something that I al-
ways believed was between a woman, her family,
her doctor and, if she chooses, her clergy,”
Ventura said when he announced the veto.

Ventura said that he thought long and hard
about the bill, and talked with family, friends,
advisors, and the people of Minnesota before
coming to his decision.

Had the governor signed the bill, a woman
would have been required to receive by mail,
phone, Internet, or in person information about
prenatal care, child support, adoption, and other
material about pregnancy and community sup-
port services prior to having an abortion.

The bill would have waived a 24-hour wait-
ing period for cases when a woman’s life or health
may be put in danger by delaying the procedure.

The decision by the governor to veto the
measure drew criticism from pro-life organi-
zations and House Republican leaders.

In a news release issued after the governor
announced his veto, House Speaker Steve
Sviggum called Ventura’s decision “very
upsetting.”

He noted that Ventura’s staff had appeared
to have worked out a compromise with House
Republican leadership over the bill, prior to
the announcement of the veto.

“Ironically, Gov. Ventura talks about not
being your typical politician. This action looks
too much like the worst of a politician: Go
back on your campaign promises, don’t honor
your word through a negotiated agreement,
and bend to powerful special interest group
pressure,” Sviggum said.

Rep. Kevin Goodno (R-Moorhead) and Sen.
Don Samuelson (DFL-Brainerd) sponsored
the bill.

HF3652/SF3387*/CH412

★
TRANSPORTATION

★
HEALTH

★
HUMAN SERVICES

Salary for hospital officials
The governor vetoed a bill that would have

exempted certain public hospital employees
from state law that sets compensation limits
on individuals employed by a city, town,
county, or other local government agency.

The law says that a person employed by a
political subdivision, excluding a school dis-

Nursing center veto override
The Legislature has voted to override the

veto of a bill aimed at assuring the continued
operation of the Ah-Gwah-Ching center, a
nursing facility in Walker.

Gov. Jesse Ventura vetoed the bill in early
April, and the House voted to override the veto
the following day. The Senate override came
later, and now the measure is effective
Aug. 1, 2000.

The Ah-Gwah-Ching center serves residents
whose aggressive or difficult to manage behav-
ioral needs cannot be met in their home com-
munity.

In his veto message, Ventura said that the
bill was “unnecessary” because law currently
exists prohibiting the commissioner of the
Department of Human Services to close the
facility without the Legislature’s approval.

In addition to language in the measure call-
ing for the center to remain open, the law will
clarify the admissions criteria of the facility
and require that the center promote emer-
gency admittance and geriatric rapid assess-
ment stabilization programs.

Rep. Larry Howes (R-Hackensack) and Sen.
Tony Kinkel (DFL-Park Rapids) sponsored the
legislation.

HF2809*/SF2631/CH310

Right lane measure vetoed
Gov. Jesse Ventura vetoed a bill that sought

to have the state post signs urging drivers on
the freeway to travel in the right lane when-
ever possible.

But a later agreement with the Department
of Transportation satisfied one of the main
goals of the bill’s supporters.

The final bill that emerged from conference
committee was stripped of language that would
have made it a crime not to stay to the right, as
had been discussed. And the final bill would not
have allowed law enforcement to pull over driv-
ers for failing to follow the provision.

Drivers would have been asked, but not re-
quired, to move to the right lane after pass-
ing, under the final proposal. And the bill
would have required the placement of a sign
every 50 miles along freeways reminding driv-
ers to move to the right lane after passing.

“I don’t see any reason why he would veto
it,” said Rep. David Tomassoni (DFL-
Chisholm), who sponsored the bill in the
House. “I thought this would be the type of
bill he would sign.”

Tomassoni said throughout the session that
his goal was to obtain signs asking people to
move out of the left lane, and he was not push-
ing for language that would have made it a
petty misdemeanor to clog the left lane.

Ventura said he vetoed the bill, in part, be-
cause of concerns about Twin Cities freeways
with left exits and similar problems. Later, the
administration agreed to have the Transpor-
tation Department post signs asking drivers
to stay right on portions of interstate outside
the metro area.

Sen. Dick Day (R-Owatonna) sponsored the
Senate version of the vetoed bill.

HF3091/SF2484*/CH425

trict, may not exceed 95 percent of the salary
of the governor.

The bill would have provided an exemption
for public hospital administrators, pharma-
cists, and psychologists to exclude them from
having to comply with limitations on compen-
sation.

In his veto message, Gov. Jesse Ventura said
the exemption is not necessary because there is
already an existing process for public employers
to request exemptions on a case-by-case basis.

He continued by saying the Department of
Employee Relations and the Legislative Coor-
dinating Commission’s Subcommittee on
Employee Relations have responded positively
to exemption requests that demonstrate that
an employer is competing in a national or re-
gional market and would have problems at-
tracting or retaining employees if forced to
follow statutory salary limits.

 “The current exemption process works and
should not be circumvented with broad ex-
clusions in statute,” Ventura wrote.

Rep. Mark Olson (R-Big Lake) and Sen. Mark
Ourada (R-Buffalo) sponsored the vetoed bill.

HF3629/SF2385*/CH448

Tourism centers vetoed
Gov. Jesse Ventura line-item vetoed a

$750,000 appropriation for the Department
of Trade and Economic Development within
the omnibus transportation finance bill.

The money, a grant to the Upper Minnesota
Valley Regional Development Commission for
the Minnesota River Tourism Initiative, would
have been used to plan and design travel infor-
mation centers in west and central Minnesota.

“We do not believe it is cost-effective to place
three new travel information centers in such
close proximity, and feel that any new tourism-
related appropriations would be better spent
improving actual tourism destinations like trails
or parks,” Ventura wrote in his veto message.

That was the only item vetoed from the
$602 million transportation funding package.

HF2891*/SF2678/CH479
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ReflectionsThe end of a legislative session always
gives rise to a wellspring of mixed emotions
for members and staff alike. The build up
to and the final hours before closing are not
unlike a high school or college graduation.
Long-time compatriots may never be seen
again, even though heartfelt promises are
made to the contrary.

When new staff, like pages, arrive at the
Capitol, they are nervous, unsuspecting,
and don’t know anyone. But the common-
ality of their work and long hours bind
them together as good friends and acquain-
tances that make for great billiards tourna-
ments and Karaoke competitions after
work.

New lawmakers begin their service in a
freshman class and develop lasting friend-
ships as committee members, by sharing
living quarters, and as House chamber
seatmates for many terms. The closeness
and camaraderie among them or staff
members is unparalleled.

Near the end, session becomes a state of
mind. It’s like being in a hospital waiting
room, agonizing and guessing what the
outcome will be for a loved one undergo-
ing serious surgery. Legislators may ask
themselves, “Is the governor going to veto

my bill?” “Will I have time enough after the
last hour of session to get to California for
my wedding?” “Am I too burned out to face
another election campaign?”

For lawmakers and staff alike, session re-
minds one of Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture.
It begins very slowly and quietly. In the
middle, things build up to a loud crescendo.
And at the end, carillon bells ring and can-
nons roar every few seconds to close out
the impressive piece.

What may start out slow and calm, ends
with intense 16- to 24-hour workdays for
revisors, researchers, or legislative reference
librarians who spend a lot of time probing
the archives for obscure information re-
quested by writers and fact finders.

As lawmakers make tough decisions, staff
members support them with a wide range
of tasks. Many duties include financial re-
visions by fiscal analysts, fielding phone
calls from constituents, printing thousands
of documents, and minute-to-minute
strategizing by caucus staff. All of it is
intense — down to the last minute before
adjournment.

This 81st Legislative Session adjourned

unlike any other. Even though opposing
party leaders in the House and Senate ex-
pressed strong emotions early in the cham-
bers, they came to a unique decision of
sensitivity, while still holding those strong
feelings. Their ultimate goal was to get some
crucial laws passed for the well-being of the
state. The lawmakers set a plan to move bills
across the governor’s desk without veto.

Just in case, they also saved themselves
three days in the 120-day legislative period
to try and override any vetoes.

After the handshakes, hugs, and the “so
long for now” and “goodbyes” are said,
those who remain may still experience emo-
tional feelings.

For some, they can be as simple as lov-
ing the quiet hallways and empty elevators.
A few miss noisy meetings, while others feel
guilty for working only 40 hours in a week.
Many long to be as far away from the capi-
tal city as possible — like Abu Dhabi, for
example.

Such is the emotional roller coaster ride
of being involved in a process that “gets in
your blood.” Somehow, the agony and
exhaustion of it all always leads to a pro-
found respect for the institution.

— LECLAIR GRIER LAMBERT

BY MIKE DE LARCO

Following weeks of talks between House
and Senate leadership over what to do about
the controversial Profile of Learning, the Leg-
islature passed a measure May 17 that would
allow local officials to ease requirements
under the show-what-you-know initiative.

The House passed the bill on an 82-44 vote.
The Senate vote was 46-17.

Legislators also discarded a second proposal
that would have allowed school boards the
choice between the Profile and a back-to-
basics alternative proposed earlier in the ses-
sion called the North Star Standard.

The move to drop the North Star Standard

An elusive compromise
A modest Profile of Learning bill finally won passage as the
2000 session came to a close

as an option for districts was merely the latest
twist in the Profile saga this spring. Last week,
talks about fine-tuning the Profile delayed
House votes on four important spending bills
until wee hours of the morning May 10.

A year ago, legislators failed to reach an
agreement on how to improve the Profile, a
companion to the state’s other graduation
requirement — the basic skills tests.

The Profile has been criticized by teachers
and school districts for excessive paperwork
and problems with implementation.

It was created to shift learning away from
textbooks and lectures and move it in the di-
rection of experiments, teamwork, research,

and independent projects.
Under the Profile, students are required to

perform various tasks in core learning areas
that have practical applications for life beyond
the classroom.

The “fix-it” bill passed by the House would
allow teachers and school boards to vote on a
site-by-site basis on the number of Profile
tasks required for graduation. If a district
could not agree on a number, the state’s re-
quirement of 24 standards would apply.

This year’s ninth- and tenth-graders would
be excused from Profile requirements, under
the bill. Educators have said this session they
were worried that some students would be
denied diplomas because implementation
problems put completion of the Profile’s con-
tent standards out of reach for some.

Sen. Lawrence Pogemiller (DFL-Mpls) and
Rep. Bob Ness (R-Dassel) are sponsors of the bill.

The Profile bill (HF3618/SF3286*) now
heads to the governor’s desk.   

LATE ACTION
★  ★  ★
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BY CHRIS VETTER

Rep. Peg Larsen (R-Lakeland) can’t believe
time has gone by so fast. When she entered
public life and ran for a Lakeland City Coun-
cil seat, her youngest daughter was 2 years old.
Now, that daughter, Jenna, is 16.

Larsen has decided to not seek re-election
to her House seat, which she has held since
1994, to spend more time with her family.
Prior to winning her legislative seat, she served
eight years on the city council, including four
years as the city’s first female mayor.

“I really did some soul-searching,” Larsen
said. “I think it’s time to put some normalcy
in my life.”

When Larsen announced
her decision to leave May 17,
many legislators were sur-
prised, even though Larsen has
been contemplating the move
for more than a year. Larsen
noted that her district en-
dorsed her last month.

Larsen and her husband,
Thomas, have four children, be-
tween the ages of 16 and 23. Two
have left home; Larsen hopes to
spend more time with the two
still living at home.

“Fourteen years — in my
mind, that’s my own term
limit,” she said.

But it will not be easy to
leave, she said.

“I have loved doing this,” Larsen said. “I told
my family I would stay as long as this is what I
did, and did not become who I am.”

Larsen said she never expected to become in-
volved in state politics. Then, in 1994 legislators
from her district approached her about running
against incumbent DFLer Rep. Pamela Neary.

“I didn’t know how anyone knew I was a
Republican,” Larsen said, noting that her city
council is nonpartisan.

After two months of discussing the idea of
running, Larsen decided to give it a shot.

“Win or lose, I decided it would be a posi-
tive experience,” she said.

The end of the road
Local government issues and family call Rep. Peg Larsen
back home after three terms in the House

Among Larsen’s top priorities was to scale
back the powers of the Metropolitan Council.
She sponsored several bills to abolish or
rearrange the organization, which she con-
tends has too much power for a nonelected
body.

While her bills failed, Larsen argues that she
won her case.

“The bill was to point out the Met Council
is not accountable,” she said. “I worked to
make that well-known.”

Rep. Sharon Marko (DFL-Cottage Grove),
who represents a nearby district, co-sponsored
legislation to abolish the Met Council. Marko
agrees that the goal of curbing its powers has

been successful.
“They should be partners,

not facilitators,” Marko said.
When Republicans won

control of the House in the
November 1998 election,
Larsen was named the chair
of the House Local Govern-
ment and Metropolitan Af-
fairs Committee, which she
said was a big honor.

Legislators point to Larsen’s
efforts for bipartisan support as
one of her key attributes.

“She worked very hard to
develop friendships on both
sides of the aisle,” Marko said.
“She’s a true lady with a heart
of gold and she’s a hard

worker.”
Rep. Loren Jennings (DFL-Harris) worked

with Larsen on the Local Government and Met-
ropolitan Affairs Committee.

 “She doesn’t look at party labels,” Jennings
said. “She’s the kind of legislator you don’t
want to see go. It’s difficult to replace some-
one of that caliber.”

Rep. James Clark (R-Springfield) said
Larsen was an outstanding committee chair.

“Her door is always open. She goes out of
her way to address the concerns of members
of the committee,” Clark said.

A significant measure Larsen sponsored was

a ban on amortization passed in 1999. The law
prohibits cities and counties from setting a
deadline for property owners to cease opera-
tions that do not conform to zoning ordi-
nances. The measure included an exception
for when municipalities try to close strip clubs
or other “adult” businesses.

Larsen and other critics said some local gov-
ernments were exploiting the amortization
process to force out businesses without hav-
ing to pay fair market value for their land. If
the local government set a deadline for a busi-
ness owner to conform to a new zoning ordi-
nance or move, potential buyers would have
no incentive to purchase a property until af-
ter the deadline had passed, when the seller
would have no negotiating power and the
property value would plummet.

Larsen said one of the most exciting mo-
ments in her tenure was the first time one of
her bills became law.

“When I found out, and I got the letter from
the governor, that was exciting,” Larsen said.

While Larsen is unsure what her future holds,
it likely will involve managing urban growth. She
helped found the Middle St. Croix Valley Plan-
ning Advisory Board, which discusses the im-
pact growth in one area has on other areas.

Larsen, who earned a sociology degree from
the University of Slippery Rock in Pennsylva-
nia, has also worked as a special needs educa-
tional assistant.

She said she is happy with her accomplish-
ments as she leaves the Legislature.

“I feel like I want to do something new and
exciting,” Larsen said. “At this time, I’m not
sure what that will be.”   

STEPPING DOWN

Rep. Peg Larsen
Republican
District 56B – Lakeland
Terms: 3
Career notes: After getting her start
on the Lakeland City Council, Larsen
worked heavily on local and regional
issues at the Capitol. For the past two
years, she has served as chair of the
House Local Government and
Metropolitan Affairs Committee.

PEOPLE
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BY CHRIS VETTER

Rep. Sherry Broecker (R-Little Canada) did
not plan to get involved with politics, but a hor-
rible accident drew her interest to local issues.

Broecker had witnessed a severe car acci-
dent near her former home in Vadnais
Heights, where one car broadsided the vehicle
in front of her own. Broecker helped remove
children from the wrecked car.

That prompted her to think the intersec-
tion needed a stoplight.

“I knew I had to be proactive,” she said.
She ran for the Vadnais Heights City Coun-

cil. She won and served eight years beginning
in 1986. Signals were soon
added at the intersection.

Her work on the council led
to a fight for a legislative seat.
Broecker ran for the Legisla-
ture in 1994, defeating incum-
bent DFLer Rep. Marc Asch in
a close and nasty fight. Legal
battles came after the election.

Now, after six years in the
Legislature, Broecker, a sup-
porter of term limits who once
promised to stay no more than
six years in the House, has de-
cided to step aside.

“It’s been a huge honor to
serve in the House,” she said.
“I’ve learned a lot. For my
family and I, it’s been a long 14 years (includ-
ing service on the city council) of late-night
meetings and rescheduled family events.”

Broecker has enjoyed working at the Legis-
lature, but she misses the hands-on experience
of city council work.

“Down here, you lose a little bit of that close-
connectiveness,” she said. “It’s a little more broad,
and you are dealing with the whole state.”

When other legislators talk about Broecker,
they mention her friendship and her humor.
Rep. Steve Smith (R-Mound) said Broecker
knows how to break up a tense moment with
a good joke.

Self-imposed term limits
A leader on crime and public safety, Rep. Sherry Broecker is
leaving the House after three terms to return to her interest
in local issues

STEPPING DOWN

Rep. Sherry Broecker
Republican
District 53B – Little Canada
Terms: 3
Career notes: Currently the chair of the
House Judiciary Finance Committee,
Broecker was the sponsor of “Katie’s Law,”
a 2000 measure crafted in the wake of the
abduction of Katie Poirier from a Moose
Lake convenience store. The law pre-
scribes a variety of changes to protect the
public from sex offenders.

“Always at the right moment, she knows
how to make you laugh,” Smith said. “I like
her. I consider her a friend. She’s an excellent
chairwoman and a hard worker.”

Broecker doesn’t mind being thought of as a
prankster. She laughs about the practical jokes
she and other members have pulled on legisla-
tors. She mentioned a time when she purchased
a frozen turkey and placed it on a legislator’s desk
during floor discussion on turkey stamps.

“If you can’t have a little fun, there’s no sense
of being here,” Broecker said.

Rep. Wes Skoglund (DFL-Mpls) also has
served alongside Broecker on judiciary and

crime-related committees.
“She is a very good person

to be around,” Skoglund said.
“She was always inclusive in
her decisions.”

Early on, Broecker was as-
signed to the Judiciary Finance
Committee — an area that she
admits she knew relatively little
about in the beginning. She
wanted to broaden her areas of
focus, and that new focus be-
came crime issues.

When the Republicans won
control of the House in the
1998 election, Broecker was
awarded the chair of that com-
mittee. She said she has tried to

include all members of her committee in the de-
cision-making process.

“You can sell what you are doing better
when you have people with you that can help
sell the idea,” she said.

And she doesn’t hesitate when she says her
favorite legislation is “Katie’s Law,” which
passed earlier this year. The law toughens pen-
alties for repeat sex offenders and begins fund-
ing for a law enforcement information system.

“It was almost like it was back at the local
level,” Broecker said. “It was a sincere, heart-
felt law.”

Rep. Rich Stanek (R-Maple Grove), chair of
the House Crime Prevention Committee, said
he and Broecker have developed a valued
friendship while working on crime-related
issues.

“She has been dedicated to serving the
criminal justice community and puts her heart
into helping others,” said Stanek. “On  behalf
of police officers, firefighters, crime victims,
and public safety advocates, I thank her.”

Broecker sponsored disaster relief for north-
ern suburbs hit by a tornado and a domestic
abuse reduction project in Ramsey County dur-
ing her tenure. She also co-sponsored failed leg-
islation in 1997 that would have allowed tax
credits for people who donated to state colleges.

She has also supported permanent tax cuts
in the past two years.

After six years in the Legislature, Broecker
looks forward to new opportunities.

“I just felt it was time to prioritize my life,”
she said. “For me, that’s my family.”

Broecker’s mother died a few months ago.
She helped care for her mom during her last
few years.

In addition to her desire to focus on her
family, including three sons age 19 to 25,
Broecker is a believer in term limits.

“I said six years ago in my campaign bro-
chures that I would only serve three terms, and
I stand by that,” she said.

Broecker is not sure what will come next.
She said a lobbying position is not high on
her list. She looks forward to building a new
home on Forest Lake with her husband, Jerry.

“I don’t know what’s in store,” she said. “I’ll
put it in the good Lord’s hands and whatever
will be, will be.”   

PEOPLE
★  ★  ★
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CHAPTERS 251 - 500

Exactly 3,256 bills were introduced dur-
ing the 2000 Legislative Session — 1,706 by
the House and 1,550 by the Senate. Of those,
250 bills (and one resolution) were passed
by both bodies during the session and sent
to the governor.

So what happened to the other 3,006
bills? Some were duplicates, some were
folded into other bills, but most are dead,
gone from the legislative process unless
they are reintroduced next year. The bien-
nium has ended, and bills do not carry over
from one biennium to the next.

And what happened to the 250 bills that
have been sent to the governor? Most were
signed into law, some are awaiting the
governor’s action, and some were vetoed.

Here’s a quick review of the governor’s
veto authority during the second year of
the biennium.

Once a bill has passed both the House
and the Senate in identical form, it’s ready
to be sent to the governor for consider-
ation. The governor has several options
when considering a bill. The governor can:

F E B R U A R Y  1  - M A Y  1 7, 2 0 0 0GOVERNOR’S DESK
★  ★  ★

Tracking new laws, vetoes
• sign the bill and it will become law;
• veto the bill;
• line-item veto individual items within an
appropriations bill; or
• do nothing, which at the end of the bien-
nium, results in a pocket veto.

The timing of these actions is as impor-
tant as the actions themselves.

If a bill was passed by the Legislature and
presented to the governor before the final
three days of the session, the bill will be-
come law unless the governor vetoes it by
returning it to the Legislature within three
days. The governor normally signs the bills
and files them with the secretary of state,
but his signature is not required.

If a bill is passed during the last three
days of the session, the governor has a
longer time to act on it. He or she must
sign and deposit it with the secretary of
state within 14 days of adjournment or the
bill will not become law. Inaction by the
governor results in a “pocket veto,” and the
governor is not required to provide a rea-
son for the veto.

Only on appropriations bills can the gov-
ernor exercise the line-item veto author-
ity. This option allows the governor to
eliminate the spending items to which he
or she objects. As with all vetoes, the gov-
ernor must include a statement listing the
reasons for the veto with the returned bill.
Here, too, the timetable is either 14 days
after adjournment for bills passed during
the final three days of the session, or within
three days after the governor receives the
bill at any other time.

A two-thirds vote of the members in
each house is needed to override a veto. But
because only the governor can call a spe-
cial session of the Legislature, anything
vetoed after the Legislature adjourns is his-
tory — unless it is re-introduced next year.

After each session, a comprehensive sum-
mary of all bills that were signed into law or
vetoed is published. You can obtain a copy
of New Laws 2000 by calling or writing the
House Public Information Office, 175 State
Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155-1298;
(651) 296-2146 or 1-800-657-3550.

Editor’s note: The following chart includes
the 250 bills (and one resolution) that
passed both the House and the Senate and
have been sent on to the governor for con-
sideration. Final action is as yet incomplete
on 8 of the bills. The bills are, for the most
part, sorted according to the committee of
origin.

Here are definitions of some of the terms
used in the chart.

Governor’s options
• enactment
The date the governor signed the bill into
law.
• line-item veto (liv)
The power or action of the governor to re-
ject individual items within an appropria-
tions bill while approving the rest of the bill.
• Veto

The governor did not approve the bill.
• *An asterisk marks the version of the bill
the House and Senate approved and sent
on to the governor.

Effective dates
Each act takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on the
day it becomes effective, unless the act
specifies a different time. Examples:
• Aug. 1, 2000
Each act the governor signs into law, except
those that make appropriations, take effect
on Aug. 1 following its final enactment,
unless the act specifies a different date.
• July 1, 2000
An appropriations act, or an act spending
money, takes effect at the beginning of the
first day of July following its final enact-
ment, unless the act specifies a different
date.

• Day after enactment
The act becomes effective on the day after
the governor signs it.
• Upon local approval
A special law requiring approval from the
local government unit it affects becomes ef-
fective the day after the local government
unit’s governing body files a certificate with
the secretary of state, unless the act speci-
fies a later date.
• Various
Different parts of the act have different ef-
fective dates.
• with exceptions (we)
Act includes other effective dates.
• with qualifications (wq)
Act adds conditions to the effective date.
• retroactive (retro.)
Act goes into effect as of a specified date in
the past.
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Agriculture Policy
3332* Swenson 3120 Hanson Dairy research and promotion council alternative term expiration dates authorized. 285 3/27 8/1
3868 Daggett 3260* Stevens Aquatic farm licensing requirements modified. 331 4/4 8/1
3174 Swenson 3195* Scheevel Dairy product adulteration penalties modified. 385 4/13 8/1
3692* Kuisle 3443 Sams Feedlot permit provisions modified. 435 4/24 4/25
3534* Harder 3070 Frederickson Agricultural contract requirements and enforcement procedures modified. 470 5/15 1/1/01
3312* Finseth 3223 Sams Agricultural policy provisions modified. 477 5/15 5/16 (Secs. 22, 67-74); 8/1
2797 Tunheim 2575* Stumpf Dislocated worker program eligibility expanded to include specified working farmers. 481 5/15 8/1

Capital Investment
4078* Knoblach 3811 Berglin Omnibus bonding bill. 492 5/15 liv♦ 5/16 (Art. 1); 7/1 (Art. 2)

Civil Law
2749* Holberg 2464 Betzold Revisor’s bill. 260 3/14 various dates
3232 Goodno 2692* Hottinger Business corporations and limited liability companies shareholder rights modified. 264 3/20 8/1
1865* Pawlenty 2094 Anderson Nursing mothers needs study by the Supreme Court Jury Reform Task Force required. 269 3/23 8/1
3107 Greiling 2634* Betzold Civil commitment relative notification provided. 316 4/3 8/1
3220 Smith 2510* Knutson Real property recording and common interest ownership provisions modified. 320 4/4 various dates
2803* Smith 3119 Cohen Court reporters allowed to organize under the Public Employment Labor Relations Act. 345 4/10 8/1
3347 Gleason 2989* Runbeck Administrative law and workers’ compensation judges conduct regulated. 355 4/10 12/31
3119 Bishop 2725* Spear Public defenders minors juvenile court representation restricted. 357 4/10 8/1
1267 Pawlenty 1126* Betzold Civil actions economic loss doctrine clarification. 358 4/11 8/1
3208 Dawkins 2723* Betzold Trust and probate provisions modified. 362 4/11 8/1
3517 Biernat 2742* Foley Expedited child support hearing notice to remove filing period modified. 372 4/13 8/1
3566 Dawkins 3291* Pappas Towed motor vehicles lien provisions clarified. 388 4/13
3424 Pawlenty 3346* Kelley, S.P. Electronic filing of real estate documents task force established. 391 4/14 8/1
2229 Harder 884* Dille Reduced marriage license fee provided for couples who obtain premarital counseling. 397 4/14
3519 Biernat 2794* Foley Expedited child support process provisions modified. 403 4/14 8/1
3318 Luther 3018* Ranum Standby and alternate custodians of children designation provided. 404 4/14 4/15
3577 Holberg 3116* Knutson Creditors’ garnishments, executions, and levies regulated. 405 4/14 8/1
2555 Carruthers 1733* Betzold Civil third-party liability imposed for damages caused by intoxicated persons under age 21. 423 4/18 8/1
2563* Storm 2381 Hottinger Mechanics’ lien civil cause of action created. 430 4/20 8/1
3311 Dawkins 3169* Kiscaden Parenting plans provided, parenting time procedure clarified, and terminology modified. 444 4/27 various dates
3047* Kuisle 2944 Scheid Title insurance mortgage release certificate language modified. 450 5/1 8/1
3997 McGuire 3300* Cohen Second judicial district streamlined dissolution procedure pilot project extended. 452 5/5 5/6
3345 Entenza 3016* Knutson Child support enforcement provisions modified. 458 5/11 8/1
47 Bishop 11* Betzold Domestic abuse victim civil cause of action provided. 471 5/15 8/1
2880 Skoglund 2854* Kelly, R.C. County attorney access to private data authorized for commitment proceeding determinations. 480 5/15 8/1

Commerce
2687 Wolf 2652* Novak Electric power generating plant siting act exemptions expanded. 289 3/28 3/29
3421* Bakk 2779 Johnson, D.J. Electric cooperatives’ election to be regulated petition and balloting provisions modified. 292 3/28 3/29
1333 Daggett 2193* Sams Wood sales contracts regulated. 301 3/31 8/1
2675 Haas 2569* Scheid Vicarious liability insurance coverage for punitive and exemplary damages authorized. 304 3/31 4/1
2719* Lieder 2436 Scheid Rental automobile insurance coverage regulated. 309 4/3 8/1
2656* Wolf 3441 Sams Auto glass repair and replacement regulated, and rebates and incentives limited. 342 4/6 4/7 (Secs. 2, 3); 8/1 (Sec. 1)
2974 Davids 3203* Oliver Insurance uniform accounting principles codification. 350 4/10 various dates
3756 Abrams 3423* Spear Holocaust victims insurance relief act established. 367 4/13 4/14
3109* Entenza 3699 Wiener Uniform electronic transactions act adopted. 371 4/13 8/1
3903 Westrom 2987* Vickerman Cooperative income financing and distribution provisions modified. 379 4/13 7/1/99 retro. (Sec. 1); 8/1 (Secs. 2,3)
562 Paulsen 619* Kleis Collection agencies regulated. 389 4/13 8/1
3066 Seifert, J. 2783* Knutson Secretary of State fees and annual corporate registrations regulated. 395 4/14 various dates
3964 Wilkin 3626* Wiener Comprehensive Health Association eligibility and coverage modified. 398 4/14 4/15
1394 Pawlenty 1495* Hottinger Uniform Commercial Code secured transactions provisions adopted. 399 4/14 8/1
2731* Davids 2753 Novak Motor vehicle manufacturers and distributors unfair practices regulated. 409 4/14 4/15
1947 Jennings 1618* Solon Brewer and wholesaler judicial remedies modified. 415 4/17 4/18
2846 Bradley 3272* Wiener Bleacher safety building code requirements modified. 417 4/17 8/1
2973 Davids 2870* Metzen Financial institution loan charges and payments regulated. 427 4/20 various dates
2451* Davids 2271 Novak Legislative Electric Energy Task Force expiration date extended. 436 4/24 4/25
3974 Paulsen 3581* Solon Omnibus liquor bill. 440 4/24 upon local approval
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2757* Jennings 2614 Novak Biomass power mandate regulated. 443 4/24 4/25
1748 Haas 1870* Hottinger Motor vehicle fuel franchises and marketing agreements regulated. 456 5/5 5/6 wq
3505* Davids 3092 Oliver Commerce Department regulations provided. 483 5/15 various dates
988 Jennings 1048* Johnson, D.H. Public utility commissioners ex parte communication regulated. 487 5/15 8/1

Crime Prevention
2067* Westerberg 2071 Ranum Juvenile offenders modifications. 255 3/7 8/1
2774 Broecker 2485* Wiger Carisoprodol schedule IV controlled substance listing effective date delayed. 262 3/20 8/1
2815* Carruthers 2386 Johnson, D.H. Hennepin County District Court fine proceeds distribution modified. 270 3/23 7/1
3766* Skoglund 3676 Ranum Pawnbrokers computerized records transmission format specified. 274 3/23 3/24
3003 Stanek 3097* Spear Department of Corrections fugitive apprehension unit created. 291 3/28 8/1
3370 Westerberg 3330* Neuville Department of Corrections housekeeping bill. 299 3/28 7/1
3023 Broecker 2701* Wiener Lawful gambling fraud defined and criminal penalties imposed. 318 4/3 8/1
1590* Mahoney 1952 Berg Warrant authority of alcohol and gambling agents clarified. 325 4/4 8/1
3571 Osskopp 2828* Wiger Gambling regulated, specified activities prohibited, and shipment of devices regulated. 336 4/6 4/7
465 Ozment 624* Murphy Firefighter training and education board created. 344 4/6 8/1
2751 Stanek 3455* Johnson, D. H. Stolen or fraudulent checks provisions modifications. 354 4/10 8/1
3457 Holberg 2858* Spear Civilly committed sexual psychopaths or sexually dangerous persons transfer procedure. 359 4/11 4/12
3303 Entenza 3566* Foley Criminal penalty for failure to remit motor vehicle sales taxes. 366 4/13 4/14
3331* Howes 2980 Junge Prevention of domestic violence and sexual assault interagency task force created. 368 4/13 7/1
3950 Broecker 3154* Ranum Criminal and juvenile justice database access authorized for criminal defense purposes. 377 4/13 8/1
262 Entenza 76* Foley DWI motor vehicle forfeiture proceedings requirements modified. 383 4/13
3075 Paulsen 2655* Scheid Insurance tax laws recodified. 394 4/14 various dates
3512 Anderson, B. 3108* Lesewski Local and state correctional facility inmate telephone access regulated. 408 4/14 8/1
3825 Smith 3338* Johnson, D.H. Tribal police departments annual insurance cap established. 411 4/14 4/15 (Secs. 3-7); 8/1 (Secs. 1,2)
2830* Clark, K. 2771 Kelly, R.C. Pimps and patrons of juvenile prostitution provided enhanced criminal penalties. 431 4/20 7/1 (Sec. 1); 8/1 (Sec. 2)
1067 Fuller 551* Junge Domestic abuse crime sentences and provisions modified. 437 4/24 4/25 (Sec. 1); 8/1 (Secs. 2-19)
2958 Mahoney 2830* Wiger Crime of escape from custody expanded. 441 4/24 7/1 (Sec. 1); 8/1 (Sec. 2)
3550 Hilty 3178* Metzen Commissioner of public safety rule authority continued. 445 4/26 7/1 (Sec. 2); 8/1 (Secs. 1, 3-29)
2833* McGuire 2891 Kelly, R.C. Specified student behavioral data disclosed to the juvenile justice system. 451 5/5 8/1
2655 Leppik 2845* Knutson Underage persons alcohol or tobacco purchase with false I.D. provided increased penalties. 472 5/15 8/1
2516* Smith 3580 Kelly, R.C. Harassment definition and provisions modified relating to restraining orders. 476 5/15 7/1
2995 Fuller 2677* Johnson, D.H. Driving while impaired crimes and provisions recodified and simplified. 478 5/15 various dates

Education Policy
76 Seagren 86* Pogemiller K-12 education technical changes provided. 254 3/7 various dates
3618 Ness 3286* Pogemiller Profile of Learning modified. 500 x

Environment & Natural Resources Finance
3046* Holsten 2950 Krentz Wolf management provided and hunting and fishing fees modified. 463 5/15 various dates

Environment & Natural Resources Policy
4178 Bakk 3835* Johnson, D.J. Resolution to expedite the BWCAW U.S. Forest Service EIS. Res. 5 x
2980 Haas 2763* Pariseau Fishing season modified. 251 2/16 2/17
2603 Hackbarth 2346* Krentz Permanently disabled hunters permit privileges modified. 265 3/20 1/1/01
2505* Leppik 2289 Robertson Annual state park permits effective for a 12-month period. 278 3/24 8/1
3352 Gerlach 3586* Pariseau Lighted fishing lures authorized. 308 4/3 8/1
3596 Ozment 3369* Ring Special environmental purpose districts pilot projects. 321 4/4 4/5
3555 Westerberg 3283* Runbeck Snowmobile metal traction device sticker requirement civil enforcement provided. 324 4/4 4/5
2819 Cassell 2444* Larson Stearns County land conveyance authorized. 326 4/4 4/5
2940* Workman 2735 Price Dry cleaner environmental response and reimbursement law modified. 333 4/4 4/5
2559 Howes 2546* Stevens Inland water sunken logs recovery and historical artifacts ownership provided. 337 4/6 4/7
3134* Ozment 2857 Lessard Metro Mosquito Control Commission authority to enter specified state lands limited. 339 4/6 4/7
3510* Holsten 3378 Lessard Lifetime resident angling, small game hunting, firearms deer, and sporting licenses issued. 341 4/6 4/7
2761 Rostberg 3379* Ring Omnibus tax-forfeited land bill. 348 4/10 4/11 (Sec. 1-15, 17); 8/1 (Sec. 16)
3576* Osskopp 3361 Higgins Solid waste and wastewater treatment facilities reporting requirements modified. 370 4/13 4/14 (Sec. 2); 8/1 (Secs. 1, 3-5)
2807 Howes 2514* Stevens Yellow perch limit rulemaking authority restricted. 374 4/13 12/1 (for one year)
2613 Boudreau 2949* Hottinger Big Woods heritage forest established. 375 4/13 8/1
3520 Osthoff 3290* Kelly, R.C. Environmental response and liability agreement grants provided. 376 4/13 4/14
2888* Peterson 2573 Berg Canoe and boating route marking authorized on a portion of the Chippewa River. 381 4/13 8/1
1493 Ozment 83* Stevens Wetland regulation simplified and consolidated. 382 4/13 various dates
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3328 Hackbarth 2877* Janezich Iron Range off-highway vehicle recreation area addition in St. Louis County provided. 393 4/14 8/1
304 Tunheim 173* Moe Possession of wild animals taken on the Red Lake Indian Reservation authorized. 406 4/14 8/1
2889 Hackbarth 2683* Samuelson Bowfishing archery bows exempted from casing requirement. 428 4/20 4/21
3292 Dorman 2946* Vickerman Gasoline blended with the oxygenate methyl tertiary butyl ether sale prohibited. 434 4/24 8/1
2962 Haas 3036* Johnson, D.H. Seizure and administrative forfeiture of firearms and abandoned property provided. 466 5/15 5/16
866 Holsten 1288* Lessard Game and fish provisions modified. 473 5/15 various dates
3213* Ozment 3878 Lessard Department of Natural Resources forestry bill. 485 5/15 various dates
2991 Swenson 3002* Frederickson State park additions and deletions provided. 486 5/15 8/1
3516* McCollum 3071 Ring Natural resources provisions modified. 495 x

Governmental Operations & Veterans Affairs Policy
4060 McCollum 2348* Wiger Resolution for release of Americans held in North Korea, China, Russia and Vietnam. Res. 4 4/3 n/a
2680 Jaros 2465* Solon Political party treasurers authorized to sign political contribution refund receipt forms. 263 3/20 8/1
3762 Jaros 3355* Solon Port authority electronic funds disbursement authorized. 272 3/23 3/24
118* Erickson 160 Stevens State agency commissioners acting service time limited. 277 3/24
2836* Rostberg 2982 Johnson, D.E. National Guard and organized militia membership eligibility clarified. 283 3/27 8/1
3281 Boudreau 2691* Wiener State building energy code authority transferred to commissioner of administration. 297 3/28 7/1
3219 Osskopp 2903* Vickerman Omnibus gambling bill. 300 3/31 4/1
2785 Rest 2821* Hottinger Charitable organization annual report filing requirements modified. 302 3/31 4/1
2588 Mares 2326* Wiger Monarch designated as the state butterfly. 306 3/31 8/1
4076 Haake 2653* Novak Internet state agency grant information required and uniform application developed. 332 4/4 8/1
2822 Rhodes 2547* Metzen Capitol area site selected for installation of  Minnesota firefighters memorial. 380 4/13 8/1
3195 Leppik 3701* Wiener State designer selection board membership modified. 384 4/13 8/1
2981 Rostberg 2848* Kelley, S.P. PELRA supervisory or confidential employees list expanded. 387 4/13 8/1
3554 Anderson, B. 3138* Wiger Veterans Affairs commissioner duties technical changes provided. 390 4/14 4/15 (Sec. 15); 8/1 (Secs. 1-14, 16)
3597 Mares 2795* Metzen State investments modified. 392 4/14 4/15
2570 Bradley 3259* Limmer Energy code rules to remain in effect for specified residential buildings. 407 4/13 4/14
3633* Rhodes 3550 Terwilliger Mighty Eighth Air Force Week designated. 414 4/14 8/1
1834 Osskopp 1699* Price Electronic funds transfers and credit card payments to state agencies authorized. 419 4/18 8/1
3495 Anderson, B. 2972* Knutson State purchases open bidding authorized. 420 4/18 8/1
3497* Tuma 3539 Junge State of Minnesota attorney fees recovery regulated. 439 4/24 8/1
2968 Mullery 3139* Metzen Veterans homes support test not to include sales tax rebates. 442 4/24 8/1
3445 Stang 3257* Hottinger Legislative employment provisions modified. 457 5/5 8/1
2999 Mares 2796* Pogemiller Public pension plan provisions modified. 461 5/15 various dates
3557* Krinkie 2836 Price State govt., human services, and pre-K-12 education code provisions corrected. 464 5/15 various dates
2826* Seifert, M. 2673 Larson Minnesota election law procedures clarified. 467 5/15 8/1
3000 Seifert, M. 3234* Hottinger Legislative committees authorized to formally object to rules. 469 5/15 various dates
3110* Mares 2679 Krentz Minnesota Amateur Sports Commission exhibition participation provision repealed. 498 x

Health & Human Services Finance
3064 Jaros 2776* Solon St. Louis County nursing home renovation approval deadline extended. 271 3/23 8/1
3652 Goodno 3387* Samuelson Abortion informed consent requirements modified. 412 4/14
2699* Goodno 3798 Samuelson Omnibus state departments supplemental appropriations bill. 488 5/15 liv various dates

Health & Human Services Policy
3236* Mulder 3236 Kiscaden Vital record certified copy issuance provisions modified. 267 3/23 8/1
3113* Goodno 3089 Sams Pharmacies permitted an additional certified technician. 276 3/24 8/1
3222* Rhodes 3117 Hottinger Health-related licensing boards reporting requirements modified. 284 3/27 various dates
3196* Osskopp 2978 Murphy Nursing facility employee pension benefit costs  treated as PERA contributions. 294 3/28 7/1 wq
3375 Mulder 3161* Kiscaden Health care purchasing alliances modified. 295 3/28 8/1
3188 Tingelstad 3253* Sams Special transportation services medical assistance reimbursement study required. 296 3/28 8/1
2909 Abeler 2365* Sams Physician assistant supervisory requirement modified. 298 3/28 8/1
2883 Howes 2579* Hottinger Prescription drug discounts regulated. 303 3/31 8/1
3209* Seifert, J. 2699 Samuelson Health care cost containment major commitment expenditure report requirements modified. 307 4/3 8/1
2809* Howes 2631 Kinkel Ah-Gwah-Ching nursing center admissions criteria clarified. 310 4/3 ♦ 8/1
3226 Nornes 2896* Stevens Nursing home resident assistants authorized and survey process procedure developed. 312 4/3 4/4 (Secs. 1,2); 8/1
2994 Fuller 2748* Lourey Ambulance service and EMT requirements modified. 313 4/3 4/4
3212 Tingelstad 2734* Berglin Home care and personal care provider transportation expense reimbursement studied. 314 4/3 8/1
3048 Nornes 2868* Stevens New medical assistance case-mix system timelines implemented. 315 4/3 8/1
3306 Wilkin 3549* Terwilliger Residential hospice program requirements modified. 317 4/3 8/1 (Sec. 1)
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3365 Abeler 2941* Kiscaden Vulnerable adult neglect and medical error provisions modified. 319 4/3 8/1
3310 Abeler 3055* Kiscaden Health plan contract stacking regulated and remedy provided. 322 4/4 8/2
3103 Sykora 3005* Ranum Human services licensing provisions modified. 327 4/4 4/5
2670* Bradley 2566 Hottinger Mental retardation community-based waivered services modified. 330 4/4 4/5
3342 Mariani 3025* Pappas Foster care providers medical equipment operation competency required. 338 4/6 8/1
3122* Abeler 2901 Berglin MA, GA, MinnesotaCare, and health care program provisions modified. 340 4/6 various dates
3477 Mulder 2499* Sams Speech language pathology and audiology services medical assistance clarified. 347 4/10 8/1
2643 Luther 2767* Samuelson Health plan companies and third party administrators clean health or home care services claims. 349 4/10 1/1/01
2639 Ozment 2397* Higgins Employees bloodborne pathogens exposure reduction procedures. 351 4/10 6/10
3052 Solberg 2850* Lessard Itasca County medical assistance prepayment demonstration project extended. 353 4/10 8/1
947 Howes 1038* Solon Occupational therapist and assistant licensing requirements established. 361 4/11 4/12
3626 Mulder 3428* Kelley, S.P. Psychologist supervisory and disciplinary requirements modified. 363 4/11 8/1
3537 Bradley 3198* Berglin Nursing facilities closure plans and savings reallocation process established. 364 4/11 4/12 (Sec. 1); 8/1 (Secs. 2-4)
1326* Abeler 1130 Berglin Community social services limited liability provided. 369 4/13 8/1
2707 Juhnke 3348* Johnson, D.E. Organization sponsored potluck event requirements modified. 378 4/13 8/1
1662 Boudreau 1896* Kiscaden Medical assistance programs and liens modified. 400 4/14 8/1
3176 Boudreau 3410* Berglin Neglect definition modified. 401 4/14 various dates
2935 Larsen, P. 2363* Sams Dental benefit plans regulated. 410 4/14 8/1; 8/1/01 (Sec. 3, subd. 2)
1383 Wilkin 1231* Hottinger Optometrist licensing provisions modified. 413 4/14 8/1
2945 Sykora 2615* Foley Persons leaving unharmed newborns at hospital emergency rooms not prosecuted. 421 4/18 4/19
1631 Goodno 1202* Spear Protocol established for occupational exposure to bloodborne pathogens. 422 4/18 8/1
2671* Bradley 2567 Hottinger Temp. census employee income excluded from public assistance eligibility determinations. 429 4/20 4/21
2713 Rest 2686* Robling Funeral acts and services regulated. 438 4/24 8/1
3629 Olson 2385* Ourada Public hospital employees compensation limit exemption provided. 448 5/1
3020* Bradley 3199 Fischbach Long-term care provisions modified. 449 5/1 7/1 (most sections)
3839* Goodno 2474 Kiscaden Unlicensed complementary and alternative health care practitioners regulated. 460 5/11 various dates
3250 Greenfield 3028* Spear Vulnerable adult maltreatment review panel established. 465 5/15 8/1
3409* Bradley 2841 Kiscaden Persons with disabilities continuing care services provisions modified. 474 5/15 5/16 (Sec. 6); 8/1
3642* Huntley 2847 Kiscaden Medical education program funds application and distribution provisions modified. 494 x

Higher Education Finance
2969 Tuma 2803* Hottinger Certified public accountant licensing requirements modified. 346 4/10 8/1
3082 Tuma 3150* Larson Higher education facilities authority bonding authority increased. 386 4/13 8/1
3726 Bishop 3386* Stumpf Minnesota State Colleges and Universities chancellor separate salary subdivision created. 453 5/5 8/1

Jobs & Economic Development Policy
2642* Rhodes 2552 Kelley, S.P. Search firms surety bonding requirements modified. 261 3/14 8/1
979* Lindner 2059 Belanger Landlords authorized to apportion utility payments among units. 268 3/23 8/1 we
3132* Storm 2890 Metzen Security deposit interest rates provided. 282 3/24 8/1
3290 Dorman 2894* Higgins Occupational safety and health discrimination complaint communications classified. 323 4/4 8/1
3806 Wolf 3554* Scheevel Nonprofit organization re-employment compensation provisions modified. 343 4/6 4/7
3584 Lindner 3354* Novak Manufactured homes limited dealer license requirements clarified. 352 4/10 4/11
3901* Storm 3769 Lesewski Housing finance agency community rehabilitation grants and loans authorized. 424 4/20 8/1
3960 Nornes 3644* Novak Workers’ compensation benefits increased. 447 4/27 various dates
3501* Holberg 2811 Betzold Omnibus data classification, access, and privacy bill. 468 5/15 various dates
3057 McElroy 2893* Hottinger Business subsidy provisions clarified. 482 5/15 various dates

Judiciary Finance
2688* Broecker 2769 Ranum Omnibus crime prevention and judiciary finance bill. 311 4/3 various dates

K-12 Education Finance
3800* Seagren 3559 Junge Omnibus K-12 policy and supplemental appropriations bill. 489 5/15 various dates

Local Government & Metropolitan Affairs
2634 Anderson, I. 2411* Lessard Northern Itasca hospital board membership requirements modified. 252 3/1 8/1
2521 Hasskamp 2320* Samuelson Lake Edwards township name change. 253 3/1 upon local approval
2722* Tunheim 2502 Stumpf Kittson County town dissolution authority. 256 3/7 upon local compliance
2535* Sykora 2291 Oliver Shorewood authorized to elect city council members by wards. 257 3/13 upon local compliance
3338* Holberg 2907 Robling Scott County officials duties reorganized. 259 3/14 3/15
2723* Ness 2528 Dille McLeod County office authority extended. 266 3/23 8/1
2927* Tuma 2685 Robling Metropolitan Inter-County Association group insurance protection authorized. 273 3/23 3/24
2873* Hackbarth 2516 Novak Anoka County department head time requirements clarified. 275 3/23 upon local compliance
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3433* Osthoff 3292 Kelly, R.C. St. Paul Port Authority recreational facilities and purposes authority modified. 286 3/27 upon local compliance
3016 Stang 2756* Fischbach Hospital districts annexation authority expanded. 290 3/28 8/1
3399 Sykora 3145* Oliver Minnetonka qualified newspaper designation priority variance. 305 3/31 4/1
3152 Kuisle 2905* Kelley, S.P. Local government units purchase provisions modified. 328 4/4 8/1
3169* Gerlach 3167 Pariseau Dakota County personnel board of appeals provisions modified. 329 4/4 upon local compliance
3327 Broecker 2676* Wiger Local government authorization to petition to amend or repeal rules sunset modified. 335 4/6 8/1
3795 Kuisle 3478* Kiscaden Rochester firefighter probationary period rules modified. 356 4/10 upon local approval
3202 Wilkin 2789* Belanger Coroner compensation provisions clarified. 360 4/11 4/12
3260 Olson 2968* Ourada Lake improvement district provisions modified. 396 4/14 various dates
3263 Swapinski 3082* Solon Duluth Human Rights Commission additional powers authorized. 402 4/14 upon local approval
2791 Abrams 2471* Higgins Hennepin County Human Resources Board and department provisions modified. 416 4/17 8/1
3786 Anderson, B. 2456* Ourada Wright County ditch conveyance to St. Michael and Albertville authorized. 432 4/24 upon local approval
3586 Larsen, P. 2951* Vickerman Alternative dispute resolution process use clarified. 446 4/26 8/1
3378 Tomassoni 2570* Janezich St. Louis County unclassified service position authorized number increased. 454 5/5 8/1
2673 Rest 2521* Vickerman Political subdivision corporation creation standards established. 455 5/5 upon local compliance
2489* Skoglund 3093 Higgins Political subdivisions authorized to require registration of impounded bicycles upon sale. 462 5/15 8/1
3229* Abrams 2986 Higgins Hennepin County obligations payment by electronic transfer or credit card provided. 475 5/15 5/16
2591* Anderson, I. 2415 Lessard Minnesota-Ontario legislative commission established. 484 5/15 various dates wq
849* Haake 751 Novak Minor use metro airports expansion and upgrade authority modified. 491 5/15 8/1

Rules & Legislative Administration
4143 Seifert, J. 3819* Knutson Revisor’s bill. 499 x

Taxes
3039 Daggett 2554* Sams Wadena County truth in taxation process advertisement requirement penalty exemption. 258 3/13 upon local approval
3234 Abrams 3091* Murphy Sales and use tax law recodified. 418 4/18 various dates
4090 Abrams 3730* Pogemiller Public finance provisions modified. 493 x
3024 Abrams 2693* Belanger Tax and revenue recapture provisions corrected. 496 x

Transportation Policy
2502* Wenzel 3207 Samuelson C. Elmer Anderson Memorial Highway designated. 279 3/24 8/1
2824* Haas 2578 Betzold Collector motor vehicles license plate option. 280 3/24 8/1
3156* Workman 2709 Murphy I-35 designation as 34th Infantry (Red Bull) Division Highway. 281 3/24 8/1
3475 Anderson, B. 2813* Betzold State vehicle identification requirements modified. 287 3/27 8/1
3142* Swenson 2844 Frederickson Trunk Highway No. 4 designated as Richard J. Mathiowetz Memorial Highway. 288 3/28 8/1
3053* Workman 2508 Murphy Collector vehicles authorized to display a blue light as part of rear brakes. 293 3/28 3/29
2936 Workman 2511* Vickerman Public and private property entry authorized for examinations and surveys. 334 4/4 8/1
3613 Holberg 3307* Ranum Recreational vehicles personal injury claims. 373 4/13 8/1
3091 Tomassoni 2484* Day Motor vehicles required to be driven in the right-hand lane clarified. 425 4/20
2953 Workman 3023* Kleis Vehicle registration and titling provisions modified. 426 4/20 various dates
3274 Workman 2785* Murphy Utility-owned vehicles exempted from specified weight restrictions. 433 4/24 4/25 (repealed 6/1/03)
3688 Molnau 2956* Kiscaden Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Compact adopted. 459 5/11 8/1
2891* Molnau 2678 Johnson, D.E. Omnibus transportation finance bill. 479 5/15 liv 7/1
672 Kuisle 702* Vickerman Real property plats county review and approval clarified. 497 x

Ways & Means
3952 Ozment 3533* Kelly, R.C. Claims against the state payments provided. 365 4/11 4/12
4127* Abrams 2657 Johnson, D.J. Omnibus tax bill. 490 5/15 various dates
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Wednesday, May 17

HF4178—Bakk (DFL)
Environment & Natural Resources Policy
BWCAW; President and the President’s Council
on Environmental Quality memorialized to expe-
dite the reduction of fuel loading within the Bound-
ary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness.

HF4179—Olson (R)
Education Policy
Local control of public education provided and
constitutional amendment proposed.

HF4180—Reuter (Ind.)
Education Policy
State test of the basic requirement for written com-
position destroyed, student responses exempted
from mandatory reporting requirements, and fu-
ture test prompts limited.

HF4181—Kahn (DFL)
Health & Human Services Policy
Minnesota prescription drug fair pricing act
adopted, fair drug pricing board established, crimi-
nal penalties imposed, and money appropriated.
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Gov. Jesse Ventura recently vetoed a measure that promised couples a
discount on their marriage license for obtaining pre-marital counseling, and a
bill creating covenant marriages has stalled in committee.

In general, it’s not been easy going for bills that aim to reduce divorces and
shore up the institution of marriage.

But our neighbors to the east in Wisconsin now have a state marriage
counselor with funds allocated in 1999.

One paragraph in the 750-page budget bill passed by the Wisconsin Legisla-
ture authorizes one full-time position as part of the “Community Marriage Policy
Project.”

The state marriage counselor will coordinate and assist communities in
developing standards for marriages solemnized in Wisconsin by members of the
clergy. The state official will team with local clergy members to develop those
standards.

The state also appropriated $105,000 for the project through 2001, and
$60,000 per year afterward. It is set to be repealed in October 2003.

The measure, which received the support of a national group called Marriage
Savers, was sponsored by Rep. Scott Jensen, speaker of the Wisconsin State
Assembly.

Marriage Savers advocates that couples receive a certain amount of pre-
marital counseling and suggests that couples wait at least four to six months
after engagement before being married. The group also suggests that a mentor
relationship be established between couples married for many years and those
just starting out.

Overall, the group claims that divorce rates continue to climb at alarming
rates and says communities need to take an active role in preventing divorce
because of the societal and economical costs associated with it.

(Divorce rates in Wisconsin have, in fact, dropped over the past 10 years,
according to that state’s Department of Health. The divorce rate in 1998 was 3.3
per 1,000 people, compared to 3.5 nationally. It peaked at 3.7 in 1992, the same
year the U.S. divorce rate was 4.8.)

Critics of the program say it comes too close to the line separating church and
state.

The Marriage Savers Web site says that 119 cities in 37 states and Canada
have adopted community marriage policies as of January 2000.

(M.KIBIGER)

State marriage counselor
Wisconsin takes unusual approach to reducing divorce rate



42 May 19, 2000

RESOURCES
★  ★  ★

Authors
Each bill must have a legisla-
tor to sponsor and introduce
it in the Legislature. That
legislator is the chief author

whose name appears on the
bill along with the bill’s file
number to identify it as it moves
through the legislative process.
There may be up to 34 co-authors
from the House and four from the
Senate. Their names also appear on
the bill.

How a Bill Becomes 
Idea

A bill is an idea for a new
law or an idea to change an
old law. Anyone can suggest
an idea for a bill — an
individual, consumer group,

professional association, govern-
ment agency, or the governor.
Most often, however, ideas come
from legislators, the only ones
who can begin to move an idea
through the process. There are 134
House members and 67 senators.

Legal form
The Office of the Revisor of
Statutes and staff from
other legislative offices
work with legislators in
putting the idea for a new

law into proper legal form. The
revisor’s office is responsible for
assuring that the proposal’s form
complies with the rules of both
bodies before the bill can be
introduced into the Minnesota
House of Representatives and the
Minnesota Senate.

General Register
In the House, the General
Register serves as a parking

lot where bills await action
by the full body. Bills chosen

to appear on the Calendar for
the Day or the Fiscal Calendar are
drawn from the General Register.

In the Senate, a different proce-
dure is used. Bills are listed on the
General Orders agenda. Senate
members, acting as the “commit-
tee of the whole,” have a chance
to debate the issue and offer
amendments on the bill. After-
wards, they vote to recommend:
passage of the bill, progress
(delay action), or further commit-
tee action. And sometimes they
recommend that a bill not pass.
From here, the bill is placed on
the Calendar.

Calendar for the Day

21 3

7
In the Senate, bills approved by
the "committee of the whole" are
placed on the Calendar. At this
point, the bill has its third reading,
after which time the bill cannot be
amended unless the entire body
agrees to it. Toward the end of the
session, the Senate Committee on
Rules and Administration
designates bills from the General
Orders calendar to receive priority
consideration. These Special
Orders bills are debated,
amended, and passed in one day.

A bill needs 68 votes to pass the
House and 34 votes to pass the
Senate. If the House and Senate
each pass the same version of the
bill, it goes to the governor for a
signature.

In the House, the Calendar
for the Day is a list of bills
the House Rules and Legis-
lative Administration
Committee has designated

for the full House to vote on.
Members can vote to amend the
bill, and after amendments are
dispensed with, the bill is given
its third reading before the vote of
the full body is taken. The House
also has a Fiscal Calendar, on
which the chair of the House
Ways and Means Committee or
House Taxes Committee can call
up for consideration any tax or
finance bill that has had a second
reading. The bills are debated,
amended, and passed in one day.

8
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Introduction
The chief House author of
the bill introduces it in the

House; the chief Senate
author introduces it in the

Senate. Identical bills
introduced in each body are
called companion bills. The bill
introduction is called the first
reading. The presiding officer of
the House then refers it to an
appropriate House committee for
discussion; the same thing hap-
pens in the Senate.

Committee
The bill is discussed in one
or more committees de-
pending upon the subject
matter. After discussion,

committee members recom-
mend action — approval or
disapproval — to the full House
and full Senate. The House
committee then sends a report to
the House about its action on the
bill; the Senate committee does
likewise in the Senate.

Conference
If the House and Senate
versions of the bill are
different, they go to a
conference committee. In
the House, the speaker

appoints three or five representa-
tives, and in the Senate, the
Subcommittee on Committees of
the Committee on Rules and
Administration selects the same
number of senators to form the
committee. The committee meets
to work out differences in the two
bills and to reach a compromise.

Governor
Once the governor has
the bill, he or she may:
sign it, and the bill
becomes law; veto it
within three days; or

allow it to become law by not
signing it.   During session, the
House and Senate can override a
governor’s veto. This requires a
two-thirds vote in the House
(90 votes) and Senate (45 votes).
The governor also may “line-item
veto” parts of a money bill, or
“pocket veto ” a bill passed
during the last three days of the
session by not signing it within 14
days after final adjournment.

Floor
The conference commit-
tee’s compromise bill
then goes back to the
House and the Senate
for another vote. If both

bodies pass the bill in this form, it
is sent to the governor for his or
her approval or disapproval. (If
one or both bodies reject the
report, it goes back to the confer-
ence committee for further
consideration.)

4 5

9 1110

Floor
After the full House or Senate

accepts the committee
report, the bill has its second
reading and is placed on the

House agenda called the
General Register or the Senate
agenda called General Orders.
(A committee can recommend
that non-controversial bills bypass
the General Register or General
Orders and go onto the Consent
Calendar, where bills usually pass
without debate.) After this point,
House and Senate procedures
differ slightly.

6
a Law in Minnesota
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House Information Office
(651) 296-2146 or
1-800-657-3550

To obtain a copy of a bill, call:
Chief Clerk’s Office
(651) 296-2314

To find out about bill introductions or
the status of a specific bill, call:
House Index Office
(651) 296-6646

For an up-to-date recorded message
giving committee meeting times and
agendas, call:
Committee Hotline
(651) 296-9283

The House of Representatives can be
reached on the World Wide Web at:
http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us

Teletypewriter for the hearing impaired.
To ask questions or leave messages,
call:
TTY Line (651) 296-9896 or
1-800-657-3550

Check your local listings to watch
House committee and floor sessions
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I N N E S O T AM I N D E X

2000 Legislative Session

House files introduced during the 2000 session..............................................................1,706
Total for biennium ...................................................................................................................4,181

Senate files introduced during the 2000 session ............................................................1,550
Total for biennium ...................................................................................................................3,835

Total number of bills introduced, 1999-2000 ....................................................................8,016
In 1997-98 ...................................................................................................................................7,309

Two-year sessions in which more bills have been introduced ........................................... 0
Bills sent to the governor in 2000 .............................................................................................250

In 1998 ............................................................................................................................................ 157
Two-year total of bills sent to the governor, 1999-2000 .................................................. 500

In 1997-98 ...................................................................................................................................... 408
Bills that became law, 1999-2000 (as of May 18) ................................................................. 480

Number filed without the governor’s signature .................................................................. 4
Number still pending governor’s action ..................................................................................... 8
Bills that became law, 1997-98 ................................................................................................... 439
Resolutions adopted by the 2000 Legislature .......................................................................... 2
Number of full vetoes of bills by Gov. Jesse Ventura in 2000 (as of May 18) ................. 8

Total full vetoes for the biennium ...........................................................................................14
Number of additional bills with line-item vetoes in 2000 (as of May 18) ....................... 3

Total bills with line-item vetoes for the biennium ............................................................15
Vetoes — line-item and full — overridden by the Legislature in 2000 ........................... 5

Number of veto overrides in the biennium ........................................................................... 6
Total number of veto overrides, 1939 to 1998 ...................................................................... 4

Number of pages in the 2000 omnibus tax bill ................................................................... 247
In 1999 ............................................................................................................................................ 435
In 1998 ............................................................................................................................................ 334

Maximum number of legislative days the lawmakers can meet in regular
session during a biennium...................................................................................................... 120
Number used in 1999-2000 .................................................................................................... 118
Number used in 1997-98 .........................................................................................................109
Number used in 1995-96 .........................................................................................................113

Legislative days used in 2000 ........................................................................................................51
In 1999 ...............................................................................................................................................67
In 1998 ...............................................................................................................................................46
In 1997 ...............................................................................................................................................63

Time Legislature will convene Jan. 3, 2001 ...................................................................12 noon

Sources: Chief Clerk’s Office; House Public Information Office; Senate Information Office;
Legislative Reference Library.

Information, Senate
231 Capitol ............................... 296-0504
Index, Senate
110 Capitol ............................... 296-2887


