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Wolf plan passes

Wolf management compromise moves through House,
despite sharp criticism, and awaits action by the Senate and

governor.

By Jon Fure

ince 1974, the gray wolf, or timber wolf, has been protected under the
federal Endangered Species Act. The House passed a bill April 11 that
would remove some of those protections. The vote was 78-53.

The increasing number of wolves in the
state, especially in northern Minnesota, has
caused state and federal officials to consider
removing the wolf from the list of Endangered
and Threatened Wildlife and Plants.

Under the bill (HF1415), a state plan for
managing the wolf population would be es-
tablished, which is required before the wolf
can be removed from that list.
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The wolf management plan passed by the House would allow the killing of wolves that threaten live-

Wisconsin, and Michigan in the lower 48
states. The species also inhabits Canadian
provinces and parts of Alaska.

Under the bill produced by a House-Senate
conference committee, a person could shoot
a wolf in defense of a human life. Guard ani-
mals could be used to repel or destroy wolves
to protect livestock, domestic animals, or pets.

People could “harass”a wolf that they actu-

stock or human life. Shown here is one of the wolves at that International Wolf Center in Ely on the
prowl.The center promotes public education about the wolf and the predator’s behavior.

Rep. Tim Finseth (R-Angus), sponsor of the
bill, said the plan reflects a compromise of
many different groups and that no group is
completely happy with the bill.

Farmers who have had livestock killed by
wolves would favor more leniency in hunting
or trapping wolves, whereas some other
groups say those proposals under the bill are
too lenient.

The gray wolf lives primarily in Minnesota,

ally see within 500 yards of people, buildings,
livestock, or domestic animals to discourage
wolves from getting too close to homes or
farms.

But the bill would make it illegal to lure,
track, or search for a wolf with the intent of
injuring or harassing the animal.

Any incident where a wolf is killed would
have to be reported within 48 hours to the
Department of Natural Resources (DNR) or

a University of Minnesota extension agent.

The bill would also modify current law that
allows the state Department of Agriculture to
compensate a livestock owner for an animal
that is destroyed by a wolf, if the claim is vali-
dated by a conservation officer or extension
agent. Under the bill, the current maximum
of $750 per animal would be removed, and
the compensation amount would be based on
“fair market value.”

No hunting season for wolves would be al-
lowed for five years after the wolf is removed
from the list. But the bill would allow the com-
missioner of the DNR to prescribe open seasons
after five years and restrictions for taking wolves
after receiving comments from the public.

The bill would prohibit a person from re-
leasing a wolf-dog hybrid. A person would
need a permit from the DNR to release a cap-
tive gray wolf.

Those provisions would apply to the entire
state.

For other provisions, the bill would divide
the state into two zones.

Zone A would be the northeast corner of
the state, which would start from the north-
ern part of Pine County and would include
parts of several counties up to the Canadian
border. Zone A also would include much of
the northern part of the state, including parts
of counties near the state’s western border
(Roseau, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake, and
Polk counties).

In Zone B, which would cover all of the re-
maining parts of the state, including the Twin
Cities area, all of the southern and western parts
of the state, and parts of central Minnesota, the
commissioner of the DNR could establish an
area where a person who is certified as a preda-
tor controller could trap and kill wolves.

Trapping would not be allowed in Zone A,
which would provide the wolf with more pro-
tection in forest areas, its primary habitat area.

The area for trapping would be limited to a
one-mile radius of a site where a wolf attack
has been verified in Zone B. The controller
could trap wolves in that area for only 60 days.

Violating the laws related to killing wolves
would be a gross misdemeanor, under the bill.

Rep. Alice Hausman (DFL-St. Paul), who sat
on the House and Senate conference commit-
tee that adopted the compromise, said she has
received complaints about the different re-
quirements for Zone B.

Other parts of the bill state that a person
may shoot a gray wolf “when the gray wolf is
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A map of the two proposed
wolf management zones.
Zone A is shaded darker.

posing an immediate threat” to people or live-
stock, for example. But that specific phrase is
not used in provisions related to Zone B.

Rep. Phyllis Kahn (DFL-Mpls) said that the
bill should include the “immediate threat” lan-
guage for Zone B, otherwise the bill would al-
low someone to go into a den and kill wolf pups.

But Finseth disagreed, saying that Kahn’s
example would still be against the law.

“You can’t just go out and arbitrarily take a
wolf,” Finseth said. “If you go into a den and
club the pups, you would be breaking the law
and you would be prosecuted.”

Finseth also said that the federal government’s
plan for the recovery of the wolf population
states that Zone B is “not suitable for wolves and
should be eliminated by any legal means.” The
bill would provide more protection for wolves
than that federal plan, he said.

“Only 10 percent of the wolf population is
in this zone, and according to the federal plan,
those wolves shouldn’t be there,” he said.

Rep. Mark Holsten (R-Stillwater) said that
the practices that led to the near-extinction
of wolves were poisoning, shooting wolves
from small airplanes, and destroying dens with
dynamite — all of which would still be illegal
under the bill.

In 1997, the state’s Legislative Commission
on Minnesota Resources (LCMR), funded a
project for a citizen’s roundtable to develop
recommendations for a wolf management
plan. The roundtable included people with
various interests, such as livestock producers,
residents from different parts of the state, and
representatives of conservation groups like the
Sierra Club and the Isaak Walton League.

The original version of the bill was intro-
duced in the 1999 Legislative Session. The Sen-
ate sponsor is Sen. Gary Laidig (R-Stillwater).

Each chamber amended the bill, and it was
approved by the House in 1999, but it was not
passed by the full Senate until earlier this year.

A House and Senate conference committee
further modified the bill. The bill now goes to
the Senate, where it could be passed or re-
turned to the conference committee. &,
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Famous family

The Lindberghs left their mark in Minnesota and elsewhere

In April 1922, Charles Lindbergh took his
first airplane ride. Just five years later, he
would make the first trans-Atlantic solo
flight from New York to Paris and become
Minnesota’s aviation hero.

News accounts of the famous flight por-
trayed Lindbergh as a bit of a naive farmboy
from the Midwest.

But the 25-year-old from Little Falls was
not the first Lindbergh to make a mark in
the world. In fact, he descended from a long
line of political activists, among them a U.S.
congressman.

Lindbergh’s father, Charles A. Lindbergh,
Sr., was elected to Congress in 1906. Young
Charles spent many winters in Washington,
D.C., and would return home for the mild,
pleasant summers of central Minnesota.

Nevertheless, those days out East prepared
him for the limelight, while his Minnesota
home and the political roots of his Swedish-
American ancestors kept him grounded, de-
spite his high-flying aspirations.

Lindbergh’s grandfather Ola Mansson,
who took the name August Lindbergh
when he immigrated to the United States,
was elected to one of the houses of Swed-
ish parliament in 1847. He represented the
farmers in his district for 11 years.

Historical accounts say Mansson was
rather progressive for the times, advocat-
ing government investment in transporta-
tion infrastructure, fewer trade restrictions,
and increased rights in Sweden for Jews and
women.

Accounts also tout his gift for public
speaking, quick wit, and ability to think on
his feet.

The family came to Minnesota by ship,
rail, and then steamboat in 1860. They
settled near Melrose and farmed.

August Lindbergh would again serve in
public office as clerk of the Melrose school
district for 21 years, town clerk for Melrose
for 18 years, a justice of the peace for 16
years, and postmaster for 10 years.

It was in that environment that Charles
Augustus Lindbergh, the aviator’s father,
was raised. Though interest in his studies
was questionable in his younger years,
“C.A.” attended law school at the
University of Michigan.

He obtained his law degree in 1883. C.A.
Lindbergh returned to Minnesota and set up
his law practice in Little Falls, then a growing
community of about 5,000 people.

He married a local woman, Mary
LaFond, who died two years after their
marriage. C.A. Lindbergh remarried
Evangeline Land, who had also attended the
University of Michigan, receiving a degree
in chemistry. Such an achievement was rare
for women of the times.

Young Charles was born in 1902 and
grew up on the farm just outside of town.
While the boy laid in the cornfields day-
dreaming of flight, his father was making a
name for himself politically.

C.A. Lindbergh associated himself with
the emerging progressive wing of the Re-
publican Party, which at the time was push-
ing for more government regulation of
banking and business.

He served five terms in Congress, from
1907 to 1917. During that time, he also
wrote three books on the banking indus-
try and the economy.

He was probably best known for his op-
position to U.S. involvement in World War L.
He disagreed with allowing financial inter-
ests to drive U.S. war policy. And his political
success would falter because of these views.

In 1918, C.A. Lindbergh ran for the Re-
publican Party nomination for governor
against incumbent J.A.A. Burnquist. He
was endorsed by the Nonpartisan League,
a group comprised primarily of farmers
pushing for certain reforms. The group
supported candidates for office regardless
of party affiliation.

During the primary campaign,
Burnquist and others used Lindbergh’s pro-
gressive and anti-war stances against him,
calling him a German sympathizer and
socialist.

As a result, rallies often turned violent,
including one in Martin County in south-
central Minnesota, where Lindbergh was
actually thrown in jail.

He was defeated in the primary. He un-
successfully ran for U.S. Senate in 1923 and
was in the midst of another gubernatorial
bid in 1924 when he died — three years
before his son’s historic flight.

(M. KiBIGER)
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- AGRICULTURE

Feedlot rules revisited

The House passed an amended version of a
bill April 13 that would ease a set of new feed-
lot rules developed by the Minnesota Pollu-
tion Control Agency (PCA). The vote was
72-58.

The measure (HF3692*/SF3443) takes into
account public testimony opposing new rules
for permitting animal feedlots. It would give
specific instructions to the agency on how the
rules should be amended before their final
adoption.

The bill also would prohibit the PCA from
imposing additional conditions as part of a
feedlot permit after the proposed rules are fi-
nally adopted. The measure is sponsored by
Rep. William Kuisle (R-Rochester).

State livestock operations would be allowed
to grow, and regulation by the agency would
be limited, under the bill.

Agency officials want farmers to prevent the
flow of animal waste from lots into rivers and
streams. The agency is also concerned about
air pollution caused by feedlots.

Currently, the PCA’s new plan would put
limits on hydrogen sulfide gas found in ma-
nure and require that manure spills on roads
be treated as serious problems. Sloppy han-
dling of manure could result in fines if revised
agency rules, as they stand now, go into effect.

The commissioner of the Department of
Agriculture would be required under the bill
to work with the University of Minnesota to
develop educational and training programs
addressing manure applicator concerns, in-
cluding water quality protection and the de-
velopment of manure management plans.

If violations are found, the bill would re-
quire that they be brought up to par in a timely
manner.

A feedlot operator with less than 300 ani-
mal units, however, would not be required by
the bill to spend more than $3,000 to upgrade
alot unless cost-share money totaling at least
75 percent of the cost is available.

Livestock production facilities would be
exempt by the bill from state ambient air qual-
ity standards while manure is being removed
from the site, and up to seven days following
the transfer.

The bill also would require the PCA to re-
move several provisions from its proposed
rules and allow the agency to submit a report

to the commissioner of the Department of
Finance if it is unable to accomplish timely
response to feedlot permit applications.

The bill now goes to the Senate.

- BUsINEss

Sales of funeral services

The House passed a bill April 6 that would
regulate solicitation and sale of funeral goods.
The vote was 130-0.

The bill (HF2713/SF2686*), sponsored by
Rep. Ann H. Rest (DFL-New Hope), would
prohibit solicitation at a hospital, gravesite,
nursing home, or wake without the solicitor
having been specifically requested to do so.

It also would prohibit an individual from
peddling goods and services to any person
whose death is impending, or to a individual
responsible for funeral arrangements of a de-
ceased person within 10 days of that
individual’s death. Again, however, such acts
would be permitted, under the bill, if either
the deceased or a relative had made arrange-
ments to discuss funeral and burial plans be-
fore the death.

In cases when the deceased handled his or
her own arrangements in advance, the bill
would require that the funeral provider

Aprir 6 - 13, 2000

produce a copy of agreement documents and
give the copy to the person who is in charge
of the remains. A copy of the arrangements
would be required to change hands no later
than 24 hours after first contact between the
provider and the individual controlling the
remains.

Provisions that would establish require-
ments for such funeral arrangements and al-
low someone making advance burial
arrangements to cancel those plans are also
contained in the bill.

Rest’s bill now goes to a House-Senate con-
ference committee.

Language pertaining to a potential finan-
cial impact of the measure was incorporated
into the omnibus state government spending
bill (HF2699) in March. The provision would
appropriate $90,000 in fiscal year 2001 for the
purpose of responding to public complaints
about funeral goods and services solicitation.

Economic loss doctrine replaced

The state’s existing economic loss doctrine
will be repealed and replaced by a new provi-
sion, under a law signed April 11 by Gov. Jesse
Ventura.

The law will limit commerecial parties to le-
gal solutions under the Uniform Commercial
Code. The code provides a shorter statute of
limitations.

A TEST OF WILLS

House conferees Reps. Bob Ness, left,and Tony Kielkucki debate with Senate conferees, Sens.
Larry Pogemiller and Linda Sheid, over differences in Profile of Learning measures during
the April 10 conference committee discussions of the omnibus education bill.
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“This bill clarifies the law on who can sue
and when they can sue,” said Majority Leader
Tim Pawlenty (R-Eagan), who sponsored the
legislation in the House.

The law will apply to claims where a buyer
is dissatisfied with a seller’s product, usually
when the product is damaged, but no injuries
have occurred, Pawlenty said. If an injury oc-
curred, a person could sue under tort laws,
Pawlenty said.

The law is the result of an agreement be-
tween several interest groups that met during
the past year to hammer out the compromise.
The provision is seen as an improvement to
the previous law, which passed during a spe-
cial session in 1998. That legislation was
prompted by concerns over a case involving
Marvin Windows, a Warroad-based company.

The bill is not retroactive, and would have
no effect on pending litigation. The law takes
effect Aug. 1, 2000.

Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley) sponsored
the measure in the Senate.

HF1267/SF1126*/CH358

- CONSUMERS

Auto glass rebate limit

Auto glass rebates will be limited to $35 and
insurance companies will no longer be re-
quired to pay “any reasonable cost” for glass
replacement, under a law signed April 6 by
Gov. Jesse Ventura.

The law will require insurance companies
to pay an average cost for windshield
replacement.

“Windshield costs are out of control in this
state,” said House sponsor Rep. Ken Wolf
(R-Burnsville) during earlier debate on the
House floor. “Hopefully, this will bring prices
back to a reasonable range.”

The average cost will be determined by an
annual study, funded voluntarily through in-
surance and glass companies. If the compa-
nies don’t voluntarily contribute, they will
have violated the law and the Legislature will
revisit the issue next year, Wolf said.

The Department of Commerce will coor-
dinate the study. The study is likely to cost
$35,000 a year, he said. There is expected to
be no cost to the state.

The law has support from glass and insur-
ance companies and the Department of Com-
merce, Wolf said.

According to an insurance company study
last year, Minnesota’s auto glass replacement
costs are 69 percent higher than the national
average and are the highest in the nation.
Many Minnesota auto glass dealers offer boxes
of steaks, rebates of $200 to customers, or
other costly incentives to lure customers.
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Jason Bosley, driver for Chief’s Towing, leans against his truck during a demonstration held
April 13 by towing companies who oppose a bill that would have allowed people to re-
trieve personal property from their car after it was towed. The bill aimed to clarify existing
law which states that a lien can be obtained against vehicles (not the property inside) whose
owners have not paid fees for towing and storage. It was vetoed April 13 by the governor.

Wolf said the most important part of the
law is it will no longer require insurance com-
panies to pay “all reasonable costs” for win-
dow replacement. The state Court of Appeals
ruled earlier this year that “reasonable costs”
included any freebies or incentives offered by
glass companies.

Wolf acknowledged that not all problems
related to auto glass costs are solved with this
legislation. He still has concerns about insur-
ance companies steering consumers to certain
glassmakers, even though consumers can le-
gally obtain glass from any firm. Wolf said he
hopes the new law will allow commerce offi-
cials more time to focus on steering issues.

Sen. Dallas Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored
the Senate version.

The $35 maximum rebate provision took
effect April 7, while the average-cost provi-
sions and mandated study will take effect
Aug. 1,2000.

HF2656*/SF3441/CH342

- CRie

Felony DWI advances

A Dill that would increase penalties for re-
peated drinking and driving offenses passed
the House on April 12. The vote was 115-17.

The bill (HF2995/SF2677*) would make it
a felony for a person to accumulate four drink-
ing and driving convictions in a 10-year span.

Violators would face up to seven years in
prison and a $14,000 fine. The minimum pen-
alty would be 180 days in jail.

The felony DWI measure was attached to
an otherwise noncontroversial bill created to
clarify and reorganize existing DWTI statutes.
The bill is sponsored by Rep. Doug Fuller (R-
Bemidji).

Backed by Rep. Rich Stanek (R-Maple
Grove), the felony DWI measures were already
passed by the House as part of a massive om-
nibus government spending bill now tied up
in a House-Senate conference committee.

Concerned about constitutional challenges,
legislators are pulling policy provisions out of
that omnibus bill (HF2699) and attaching
them to other legislative vehicles.

Stanek said his DWI plan is necessary be-
cause the current law — a gross misdemeanor
for repeat offenders, whether they have com-
mitted two or 12 offenses — does not deter
chronic drunken drivers.

“Drunken driving ruins lives and tears fami-
lies apart,” Stanek said.

Last year, 273 Minnesotans died in alcohol-
related vehicle accidents, he added.

Several legislators spoke against the felony
DWI amendment, saying there is no funding
mechanism in place to pay for potentially
higher prison and jail costs.

“I'm opposed to this amendment for the
simple reason we don’t pay for it,” said Rep.
Rob Leighton (DFL-Austin).

“Be honest and be up-front on what the
costs are,” said Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-
Bovey).

Rep. Tim Mahoney (DFL-St. Paul) noted
that one report said the bill would add 1,100
people to Minnesota jails and prisons, based



on the number of drunken driving offenders
with four or more offenses last year. Mahoney
said the state may have to build another prison
to house only DWT offenders.

Stanek said there is some funding for the
measure in the omnibus state government
appropriations bill, where the felony DWI
measures had been approved earlier.

Under Stanek’s plan, once a person is found
guilty of a felony DWI offense, that person
would always be classified as a felon on fur-
ther DWI charges, regardless of the time
passed between offenses, Stanek said.

A felony DWI charge would be dubbed a
first-degree offense, under the bill. The bill
classifies second-, third-, and fourth-degree
drunken driving charges based on aggravated
factors involved in the offense. A second-de-
gree offense would have two factors; a third-
degree DWI would have one additional factor.

The factors would include prior impaired-
driving offenses in the past 15 years, an alco-
hol concentration higher than 0.20 at the time
of the offense, and driving impaired with chil-
dren under age 16 in the vehicle.

The bill now returns to the Senate.

Penalties for false IDs

A bill that would increase penalties for mi-
nors who attempt to use false identification
cards to purchase alcohol passed the House
on April 10. The vote was 84-48.

The bill, sponsored by Rep. Peggy Leppik
(R-Golden Valley), would increase the penalty
on a second offense for fraudulently attempt-
ing to purchase alcohol from a misdemeanor
to a gross misdemeanor.

The bill (HF2655/SF2845*) also would al-
low the alcohol distributor — from a liquor
store clerk to a bouncer at a nightclub — to
confiscate identification cards that appear to
be false.

“The intent is to create a meaningful deter-
rent to using false IDs,” Leppik said. “To many
people, it is worth the risk because the conse-
quences are few.”

Leppik’s plan would require the confiscated
license to be turned over to the police or to the
card owner within 48 hours. The Senate bill
would require confiscated identification to be
given directly to the police within 24 hours.

The Senate bill also includes a provision on
truancy that is not in the House version.

Rep. Steve Dehler (R-St. Joseph) said the bill
is necessary because of the increased access to
false identification cards available on the
Internet.

Dehler offered a successful amendment that
would reduce the penalty for clerks who sell
tobacco to minors if the clerk accidentally
misreads the identification presented. The

penalty, currently a gross misdemeanor, would
become a petty misdemeanor on the first two
offenses.

Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-Virginia) then
offered an amendment that would lower the
penalty for clerks who sell alcohol to under-
age people when the clerk similarly misreads
an identification card. The penalty would be
reduced from a gross misdemeanor to a mis-
demeanor. That amendment passed 68-64.

A gross misdemeanor conviction carries a
maximum penalty of one year imprisonment
and a $3,000 fine. A misdemeanor conviction
carries a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail
and a $700 fine.

The bill now heads to a House-Senate con-
ference committee.

Fleeing the police

A person who fails to halt a car when sig-
naled by police to stop could be charged with
fleeing an officer, under a bill the House passed
on April 10. The vote was 128-1.

The definition of a law enforcement offi-
cial also would include an agent at a federally
recognized American Indian reservation, un-
der the bill.

Rep. Steve Smith (R-Mound) is sponsoring
the bill (HF3825/SF3338*), which would add
language to the definition of fleeing an officer
in a vehicle. Refusal to stop a car would be
added to the definition of fleeing, which al-
ready states that a person is fleeing if the driver
increases speed or extinguishes the headlights.

Under the bill, tribal police forces would not
be forced to carry unlimited annual liability
insurance. Currently, cities in Minnesota have
unlimited annual insurance through the
League of Minnesota Cities, Smith said. The
force must have insurance with an annual cap
of three times the amount of a single occur-
rence, which is $3 million, Smith said.

The bill comes from a court case where the
judge dismissed a drunken driving case be-
cause the tribal force that arrested the driver
did not have the unlimited annual liability
insurance required by statute, Smith said.

“Let them arrest drunk drivers and not let
(the drivers) get off because the officers don’t
have enough insurance,” Smith said during
floor debate.

The bill now heads to the governor’s desk.

Protecting kids from pimps
Penalties would expand laws targeting
people who solicit teens to become prostitutes,
under a bill the House passed April 12. The
vote was 131-0.
Sponsored by Rep. Karen Clark (DFL-
Mpls), the bill (HF2830) aims to curb

solicitors, commonly called pimps, from en-
ticing young children, both boys and girls, into
prostitution.

Current law makes it a felony to solicit a per-
son under age 16 to become a prostitute. The
maximum penalty is 20 years in prison. The bill
would raise the age portion, making it a 20-year
felony to solicit anyone under age 18.

“It didn’t make sense to have pimps have
more severe sentences for soliciting teens un-
der age 15 than when they are under age 18,”
Clark said.

Clark explained that the bill stems from see-
ing the rise in teenage prostitution in her
neighborhood. She noted that the average age
a child enters prostitution is 14.

“Pimps are there, soliciting particularly
young girls,” Clark said.

Increasing the age from 16 to 18 means
more pimps will go to prison, Clark said. Cur-
rently, a pimp who solicits a 16- or 17-year-
old person into prostitution only receives
presumptive probation, she said.

“They don’t even go to jail now,” Clark said.

Many prostitutes do not testify against the
pimps now because they are fearful that per-
son will be back on the street quickly.

“They are scared to report it,” Clark said.

The bill now heads to the Senate.

Falsely reporting stolen checks

Falsely claiming that blank checks or debit
cards have been stolen will be a misdemeanor
under a law Gov. Jesse Ventura signed April 10.

The law, sponsored in the House by Rep.
Rich Stanek (R-Maple Grove), will create a
misdemeanor when someone falsely tells his
or her financial institution the items are miss-
ing or stolen.

“This is not going after people who mistak-
enly overdraft their accounts,” Stanek said re-
cently. “This is for people who intentionally
and criminally defraud banks and businesses
by writing out a number of bad checks.”

There is no cost to the bill, he added.

The law would cover scenarios where indi-
viduals write several bad checks and then re-
port to the bank that those checks were stolen.

Sen. Dave Johnson (DFL-Bloomington)
sponsored the legislation in the Senate. The
law takes effect Aug. 1, 2000.

HF2751/SF3455*/CH354

Treating sex offenders
Predatory sex offenders may wind up back
in correctional facilities instead of staying in
treatment programs, under a law signed
April 11 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.
The measure, sponsored in the House by
Rep. Mary Liz Holberg (R-Lakeville), will send
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offenders back to prison if they refuse to par-
ticipate in treatment.

“The taxpayers assume that when they go
to a treatment facility, they are trying to get
better,” Holberg said. “That’s not necessarily
the case”

The law creates an incentive for offenders
to participate, she said, because they will oth-
erwise head to a less attractive prison setting.

The sex offender will no longer be able to
plead his or her case to a special review board,
under the law.

The cost of keeping an offender in treatment
is three times the cost of correctional facili-
ties, Holberg said.

“If they can’t make progress, why should we,
as taxpayers, continue to support their treat-
ment costs?” Holberg said.

Predatory sex offenders have committed
aggravated and repeated offenses, as well as
sex offenses while committing such crimes as
murder, manslaughter, or robbery.

About 15 predatory offenders are commit-
ted each year in the state, and none have ever
been released, Holberg said. The law requires
a study examining sex offender policy and
management.

Sen. Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
Senate version.

The law is effective April 12, 2000.

HF3457/SF2858*/CH359

- ENVIRONMENT

Permission for mosquito spraying

A new law signed April 6 by Gov. Jesse
Ventura will require the Metropolitan Mos-
quito Control District to get the approval of
the commissioner of the Department of Natu-
ral Resources before spraying state lands.

State law already allowed a landowner to
refuse to allow Mosquito Control to spray his
or her land with insecticides. Effective April
7,2000, the new law gives the DNR that same
right with regard to state parks, wildlife man-
agement areas, or other publicly owned lands.

Rep. Dennis Ozment (R-Rosemount), chair
of the House Environment and Natural Re-
sources Policy Committee, sponsored the
measure because Mosquito Control sprayed
chemicals at Fort Snelling State Park in July
1999 despite objections from the department.

Ozment said the DNR should have juris-
diction over the decision to spray chemicals
in wildlife management areas because the de-
partment has the expertise in the chemicals’
effects on vegetation, water quality, wildlife
habitat, and related issues.

He also said that current law gives the De-
partment of Health authority over the DNR
or land owners to authorize spraying for
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ment and state parks.

John Schooners, legislative coordinator for Minnesota Outdoors Heritage
Shakopee, videotapes an April 12 rally in the Capitol rotunda as House Speaker Steve Sviggum
addresses the group. The event was organized to gather support for a proposed constitu-
tional amendment to dedicate part of the state sales tax to increase funding for the environ-

h.

Alliance from

mosquitoes that are known to carry diseases.
The Senate sponsor of the measure was Sen.

Bob Lessard (DFL-Int’] Falls).
HF3134*/SF2857/CH339

Underwater lumber recovery

Logs that have been submerged on lake and
river bottoms can be salvaged under a new law
that was signed April 6 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.

Effective April 7, 2000, the new law will al-
low a person or company wanting to salvage
logs from underwater to apply for a lease
through the state Department of Natural Re-
sources.

The fee for a lease will be $500 for Minne-
sota residents and $2,500 for those who live
outside the state. Terms of a lease are
negotiable.

Logs can be salvaged only if they are sub-
merged at depths of 20 feet or more. A lease
will require that precautions be taken to avoid
disturbing the bottom of the lake or river.

Also, the person or company with a lease
will have to notify the Minnesota Historical
Society if they find a historical artifact, such
as a sled that was used to carry logs across a
frozen lake.

The state also will receive 25 percent of the
money from the sale of the logs, based on the
weighted average selling price.

Some of the proceeds from the leases will
go to the state’s general fund, and some will
go to the game and fish fund. If the lake or
river is on school trust fund lands, the money

will go into the permanent school fund.

The measure was sponsored by Rep. Larry
Howes (R-Hackensack) and Sen. Dan Stevens
(R-Mora).

HF2559/SF2546*/CH337

- (GAMBLING

Card counting devices prohibited

Gamblers are prohibited from using devices
that can count cards or analyze strategy un-
der a law signed April 6 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.
Usage of such devices is now considered a
felony.

Sponsored in the House by Rep. Mike
Osskopp (R-Lake City), the law, effective April
7,2000, establishes several new felonies.

Attempting to open or enter a device to re-
move money, chips, or tokens will bring a
felony charge.

Similarly, someone who intentionally uses
counterfeit chips or tokens also could be
charged with a felony, and an employee of the
gambling licensee who cheats, as defined by
the law, could be charged with a felony.

“There are professional cheats that travel
across the state using these devices,” Osskopp
said.

The law was needed because a card club will
open this month at Canterbury Park in
Shakopee, Osskopp said.

“There is nothing in law to regulate it,” he
said.

Indian casinos are exempt from this law



because the state does not have jurisdiction
to enforce the measure. The law is modeled
after gambling laws in Nevada and New Jer-
sey, Osskopp added.

The law also makes it a felony to manufac-
ture, sell, or distribute cards, tokens, or dice
used to violate these gambling provisions.
Another portion of the law makes it a felony
to instruct someone else to violate the law.

The law also expands the list of places where
charitable gambling halls can legally make
contributions. The amendment would allow
gambling facilities to contribute to commu-
nity arts organizations.

Currently, contributions can be made to
public and private educational institutions,
scholarships, churches, natural resources
projects, such as trail upgrades or recreational
and community facilities.

Sen. Charles Wiger (DFL-North St. Paul)
sponsored the Senate version.

HF3571/SF2828*/CH336

- Game & Fisu

Lifetime licenses

Lifetime licenses for hunting and fishing
will be available under a new law signed
April 6.

Under the measure, sponsored by Rep. Mark
Holsten (R-Stillwater) and Sen. Bob Lessard
(DFL-Int’1 Falls), people who want to hunt and
fish will have the option to buy either a life-
time license or the traditional annual license.

The licenses are scheduled to be available
March 1, 2001, for Minnesota residents and
March 1, 2002, for non-residents.

Fees for lifetime licenses are based on four
groups: ages 3 and under, ages 4 to 15, ages 16
to 50, and ages 51 and older.

Lifetime fishing licenses for Minnesota resi-
dents in those age groups will cost $227, $300,
$383, and $203 respectively. People who pur-
chase that license will still need to purchase
annual stamps if they want to fish for salmon
or trout. Lifetime fishing licenses will also be
available for non-residents at higher prices.

Lifetime small-game hunting licenses for
residents will cost $217, $290, $363, and $213
for the same age groups. Those will also be
available to non-residents at a higher price.

Lifetime deer hunting licenses for residents
will cost $337, $450, $573, and $383 respectively.

The law also will allow lifetime sporting li-
censes for residents that would cover fishing
and small-game hunting. Such licenses will
cost $357, $480, $613, and $413 respectively.

Lifetime deer hunting or sporting licenses
will not be available for non-residents.

Revenue from the licenses will establish a

lifetime fish and wildlife trust fund. Money in
that fund will be invested by the state Board
of Investment, and it will pay for projects that
currently are funded by revenue from annual
hunting and fishing licenses.

Other provisions of the bill make perma-
nent a law that was set to be repealed this year.

That law allows people in five Minnesota
counties to obtain two deer hunting licenses
— one license to use a firearm and one to use
abow and arrow — and to take one deer with
each license. The five counties are Kittson,
Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington, and
Roseau.

The law took effect April 7, 2000.

HF3510%/SF3378/CH341

Angling for a fee hike

Hunting and fishing license fees would see
across-the-board increases, under a bill the
House passed April 13. The vote was 87-44.

Revenue from licenses and from fines that
are generated by enforcement of state laws
goes into the state’s game and fish fund. That
fund also contains money from the federal
government, which is allotted according to the
size of the state and the number of people who
buy hunting and fishing licenses.

License fee increases would vary, but the
primary increase is $3 per license.

Fiscal analysts project that the game and fish
fund will face a deficit in fiscal year 2003 be-
cause revenues are not increasing at the same
rate as expenses.

The bill (HF3046), sponsored by Rep. Mark
Holsten (R-Stillwater), would help resolve that
problem.

The bill would require the license fee in-
creases to be effective only with a matching
appropriation from the state’s general fund.
Holsten said that only makes sense because the
game and fish fund pays for projects that pro-
vide a general benefit to all state residents, not
just to those who hunt and fish.

Those projects include improving water
quality in lakes, rivers, and streams; stocking
fish and enhancing aquatic vegetation; and
increasing public water access.

The game and fish fund pays for some of
the Department of Natural Resources’ admin-
istrative costs. The bill would effectively re-
place part of the game and fish fund’s
allocation to the administrative costs with the
general fund appropriation.

Under Holsten’s proposal, $2 of revenue
from the fee increase would be matched by $1
from the general fund. The fee increases are
projected to raise about $3.1 million in rev-
enue for the 2002-03 biennium, and the gen-
eral fund match would be slightly more than
$1.5 million.

The bill would also prohibit the DNR from
using the extra money to increase its perma-
nent staff levels in the divisions of fish and
enforcement beyond their 1994 levels.

Also under the bill, $500,000 from the gen-
eral fund would go toward the DNR’s walleye
stocking program.

The bill now goes to the Senate.

- (GOVERNMENT

Bleacher safety changes

A bill that would modify safety require-
ments for bleachers, such as those at sports
facilities or local parks, is on its way to the
governor’s desk.

The House passed the bill (HF2846/
SF3272*) April 11. The vote was 93-39.

New safety requirements for bleachers were
signed into law last year, but Gov. Jesse Ventura
line-item vetoed $100,000 that would have
helped communities and school districts pay
the costs of complying with the new standards.

Rep. Fran Bradley (R-Rochester), sponsor
of the bill, said he is concerned about bleacher
safety but that the 1999 law will force schools
and other organizations to pay for costly up-
grades. This bill, he said, would ease the fi-
nancial burden of those who have to comply
with the 1999 law.

That law requires bleachers to have gaps
between seats, floorboards, and guardrails that
do not exceed 4 inches. The previous standard
was 9 inches. Bleachers that do not meet the
4-inch requirement and are taller than 30
inches need to be replaced or safety nets must
be installed by Jan. 1, 2001, under the law.

Bradley’s bill would make those require-
ments apply only to bleachers that are at least
55 inches tall, which he said would exempt
common bleachers that are only about five
tiers high. The bill also would extend the time
of compliance to Jan. 1, 2002.

The bill had earlier been modified by the
House so that the requirements would apply
to bleachers taller than 30 inches. But a House-
Senate conference committee removed that
provision.

Rep. Steve Smith (R-Mound), sponsor of
the 1999 law, said the House should send the
bill back to the conference committee in hopes
of upholding the 30-inch standard. But the
House voted to accept the conference com-
mittee report.

Smith had sponsored the 1999 measure in
response to a fatal accident. Six-year-old Toby
Lee of Mound died in January 1999 after fall-
ing from a set of bleachers while attending a
hockey game at a Hutchinson arena. Smith
said Toby fell through a 13-inch gap in those
bleachers.
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Bradley said his version of the bill still would
require the worst sets of bleachers to be fixed.
He also said that no accidents have been re-
ported where someone has fallen through
a 9-inch gap.

Alternative bidding process

The state would be able to purchase some
items through a “reverse auction” process un-
der a bill that is on its way to the governor’s
desk.

The House passed the bill (HF3495/
SF2972*) April 12. The vote was 129-2.

Rep. Bruce Anderson (R-Buffalo Township),
sponsor of the bill, said vendors would com-
pete to sell office supplies or other such items
that the state currently buys through a bid-
ding process.

The term “reverse auction” refers to a pro-
cess where sellers compete to offer the lowest
price, instead of a normal auction where buy-
ers compete to offer the highest price.

Under the bill, the state would request pro-
posals for a purchase, and each vendor would
submit an open proposal via the Internet. Ven-
dors could then adjust their proposals to com-
pete with each other to offer the lowest price.

The process would not be used for construc-
tion projects or other types of purchases that
are regulated by other laws.

Typically, the state uses the traditional bid-
ding process, which involves receiving closed
bids from a number of vendors and picking
the lowest one.

When the bill was heard in the House

Governmental Operations and Veterans Af-
fairs Policy Committee, Anderson said the
open process has been used successfully in
other states to purchase large quantities of salt
for roads, aluminum for license plates, or other
types of purchases.

- Heai

Training for care providers

Foster and respite care providers will have
to meet training standards to care for children
dependent on certain medical devices to live,
under a law signed April 6 by Gov. Jesse
Ventura.

The law is an attempt to decrease the chance
that a child left in the company of a foster care
provider could suffer harm due to a provider’s
inexperience or lack of training with special
equipment critical to the life and care of the
child.

Care providers will be required to have
training or experience with a child’s medical
equipment before being allowed to care for the
child.

Agencies that place children in homes, even
if it’s only on a temporary basis, will be re-
quired to ensure that the care provider has the
necessary training before being entrusted with
the child’s care.

The legislation was brought forward with
the help of Sharon Morrissey and husband
Don Baierl of St. Paul, whose infant daughter
died in 1997 because a care provider didn’t
know precisely how to operate the child’s
health equipment.

BONDING TESTIMONY

JoAnn Frost, right, listens as her daughter Kim, who has cerebral palsy, testifies before the
conference committee considering the House and Senate bonding provisions in favor of
bonding for the Specialty Care Unit at Gillette Children’s Hospital in St. Paul.Kim is a cheer-
leader at Roosevelt Middle School in Blaine and waved her pom-pom as she told committee
members that she would try out and hopes to be a cheerleader at Blaine High School.
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The Department of Human Services will be
required to develop the training form. Offi-
cials expect little, if any, fiscal impact to the
department.

Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St. Paul) and Sen.
Sandra Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored the
measure, which is effective Aug. 1, 2000.

HF3342/SF3025*/CH338

Prompt payment of claims

Health insurance companies will be re-
quired to promptly pay clean claims by health
care providers and facilities under a law signed
April 10 by Gov. Jesse Ventura.

Third-party administrators also will be sub-
ject to payment requirements, but the new law
will not pertain to services provided by
pharmacists.

A “clean claim” is defined as a claim that
has no defect or impropriety, including any
lack of required documentation or any cir-
cumstance that prevents timely payment.

Health plan companies and third-party ad-
ministrators will be required to pay or deny a
clean claim within 30 days of receiving the
claim. Claims not paid in that time will be
subject to an interest payment of 1.5 percent
of the claim per month.

The company providing the health plan or
the third-party administrator would be re-
sponsible for paying the interest — not the
insured party.

Late claim payments will not be subject to an
interest payment if the payment is delayed so
that the company can review potentially fraudu-
lent or abusive billing practices, however.

Furthermore, the commissioner of the De-
partment of Health will be prohibited from as-
sessing a financial administrative penalty against
a health plan company that violates the law.

The new law takes effect Jan. 1, 2001.

Rep. Darlene Luther (DFL-Brooklyn Park)
and Sen. Don Samuelson (DFL-Brainerd)
sponsored the legislation.

HF2643/SF2767*/CH349

- Human Services

Protection for newborns

A bill that would provide a “safe place” for
desperate mothers to leave unwanted new-
borns now awaits Gov. Jesse Ventura’s
consideration.

The bill, returned from conference commit-
tee and passed by the House April 12, would
allow a mother (or a person of her consent)
to leave an unharmed newborn at a hospital
emergency room up to 72 hours following the
child’s birth without facing prosecution.

The hospital would be required to accept



the child and notify a local welfare agency
within 24 hours of the departure of the per-
son delivering the baby.

Rep. Barb Sykora (R-Excelsior), sponsor of
the bill (HF2945/SF2615%), said allowing a
person to leave a child at a place where it will
not be harmed without the fear of being pros-
ecuted has the potential to save lives.

Under current Minnesota law, a mother
who willfully neglects a newborn when con-
sidered to be reasonably able to care for the
infant can be charged with a gross
misdemeanor.

This measure would allow the individual
delivering the unwanted newborn to exit the
building without providing identification. The
hospital would be allowed to ask questions
about the medical history of the mother or
newborn, but the person leaving the baby
would not be required to provide any infor-
mation.

A newborn left behind would be considered
an abandoned child. According to the bill, the
child must not have any obvious injuries or
illness in order for the hospital to accept it.

A hospital or employee of the hospital re-
ceiving the child would be considered immune
from any civil liability that could potentially
result, under the bill, if the act of receiving the
newborn is done in good faith.

Furthermore, a social service agency taking
custody of the child would not be required to
later reunite the child with its parents or search
for relatives of the child as a placement
option.

Paying for audiology services

A law amending state medical assistance re-
imbursement requirements for audiology and
related services was signed April 10 by Gov.
Jesse Ventura.

The law will requires that the state reim-
burse speech-language pathology and audiol-
ogy services provided by a person issued a
temporary registration at the same rate as ser-
vices performed by a registered pathologist or
audiologist.

To receive the same reimbursement rate,
temporarily licensed professionals will have to
undergo the appropriate supervision and
monitoring requirements provided in exist-
ing state law.

A speech-language pathologist is a profes-
sional who is licensed by the state, and quali-
fied by training and experience, to diagnose
and treat speech and language problems.

Audiologists are trained professionals who
specialize in working with individuals with
hearing problems. Audiologists identify, treat,
and help prevent hearing loss for people of all
ages.

The new law will take effect Aug. 1, 2000.

Rep. Richard Mulder (R-Ivanhoe) and Sen.
Dallas Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored the
legislation.

HF2477/SF2499*/CH347

Law

No public defenders for youths

Public defenders will not be appointed to
child protection cases if the juvenile is younger
than 10, under a law Gov. Jesse Ventura signed
April 10.

Rep. Dave Bishop (R-Rochester) was House
sponsor of the measure, which creates a uni-
form system statewide that dictates when a
public defender should be brought in to rep-
resent a child. A juvenile age 10 or older can
obtain a public defender, but not a child un-
der age 10.

“Infants don’t need separate legal council,
and it’s a waste of money,” Bishop said. “Some
attorneys are being hired to represent a 2-year-
old. That doesn’t need to be done.”

The law originates from the state Board of
Public Defenders. In a recent letter, State Pub-
lic Defender John Stuart explained that the law
pertains only to child protection or services
cases, not to juvenile delinquency cases.

Stuart said some courts never appoint at-
torneys unless the child is at least 12 years old,
while other courts always appoint a lawyer for
young children.

“The age of 10 was chosen as the cutoff be-
cause children under the age of 10 cannot be
charged with juvenile delinquency, but may
be dealt with in a children in need of protec-
tion or services proceeding,” Stuart wrote.

Sen. Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
Senate version. The law takes effect Aug. 1,
2000.

HF3119/SF2725*/CH357

O

Legal actions against brewers

The House approved a bill April 10 that
would clarify existing law regarding legal ac-
tions between beer brewers and wholesalers.

The bill (HF1947/SF1618*) would allow
wholesalers to sue a brewer who is violating
the state laws regarding that industry in ei-
ther state or federal court.

The measure passed on a 128-0 vote.

The bill would give wholesalers the right to
a trial by jury against brewers, and it would
provide that the right to bring action may not
be waived except at the time the suit is filed.

The state’s beer brewers and wholesalers
laws include provisions prohibiting brewers
from inducing or coercing wholesalers into
accepting delivery of any alcoholic beverage

or any other commodity which wasn’t ordered
by the wholesaler.

The laws also establish the right of free as-
sociation between all brewers and wholesal-
ers. Brewers cannot collaborate to fix
somehow artificially elevate prices.

The measure, sponsored by Rep. Loren
Jennings (DFL-Harris), now goes to the
governor.

- SareTy

Paintball gun measure fails

The House defeated a bill that would have
prohibited a person from selling or renting a
paintball gun to a person under the age of 18
without written consent from a parent or le-
gal guardian. The bill failed on a 72-57 vote.

Rep. Peggy Leppik (R-Golden Valley), spon-
sor of the bill (HF3041/SF2417%*), described
it as a “parent’s right to know” measure.

“Parents have the right to know when their
children are going out to buy or rent one of
these paintball guns,” she said.

Leppik cited a study by ophthalmologists
showing that the guns are the leading cause
of eye injuries to boys under the age of 18.

The bill also would have prohibited the dis-
charge or possession of a paintball gun on or

Rep. Peggy Leppik holds a paintball gun during
April 11 floor debate about a bill that would have
regulated sales of such guns to minors.The bill was
defeated.
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in public school grounds and buildings.

Rep. Chris Gerlach (R-Apple Valley) called
the measure a “note from mom bill.” Gerlach
said that the bill was unnecessary because the
paintball gun industry is already beginning to
regulate itself by requiring users to wear fa-
cial protection and to sign consent forms.

Rep. Steve Dehler (R-St. Joseph) said that
many children’s activities, from playing sports
to playing on playground equipment, can be
dangerous, too, and safety should remain a
matter of parental concern, not a legislative
responsibility.

Rep. Dan Larson (DFL-Bloomington) said
the bill offered a reasonable solution to a prob-
lem. He said that despite wearing facial pro-
tection he had been injured on the top of the
head while participating in a paintball gun
game.

Leppik said the bill would clarify the state’s
current laws regarding whether retailers can
sell the paintball guns to minors without pa-
rental consent. She said the bill would have
established a law for paintball guns similar to
current laws regulating BB guns.

The measure had already passed the Senate.

Protection from bloodborne diseases

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a law April 10
aimed at reducing occupational exposures to
bloodborne diseases through sharps injuries.

The law will require employers to comply
with federal Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA) regulations on
bloodborne pathogens.

It will also require that employers review
written exposure control plans annually and
document in the plan consideration of appro-
priate engineering controls that are designed
to eliminate or minimize exposure.

Sharps are needles and other medical de-
vices used in testing. They are often used to
draw blood and therefore carry the most risk
for exposure to diseases carried through the
blood.

The new law will require that a company
establish a safety committee to make recom-
mendations for using the best methods to
limit injury. The law also requires that a per-
son representing employees most likely to use
or encounter a device creating exposure to
bloodborne pathogens will be appointed to
the committee.

Finally, an employer will be required to es-
tablish internal procedures to document the
route of exposure and circumstances under
which an exposure incident took place. The
law spells out how information must be docu-
mented, as well. It should include the proce-
dure being performed when the incident took
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place and the protective equipment or cloth-
ing used at the time of the exposure incident.
Rep. Dennis Ozment (R-Rosemount) and
Sen. Linda Higgins (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the
legislation. The law takes effect June 10, 2000.
HF2639/SF2397*/CH351

Help in identifying bicycles

Identifying stolen bicycles would be made
easier under a measure the House passed April
10. The vote was 68-64.

The proposal (HF2489), sponsored by Rep.
Wes Skoglund (DFL-Mpls), would allow mu-
nicipalities selling impounded bicycles to re-
quire purchasers to register the bikes with the
state Department of Public Safety or with a
deputy registrar appointed by the department.

Currently, owners can voluntarily register
their bicycles with the state to help prevent
theft and increase chances of recovery when a
bike is stolen. The registration also assists in
accident victim identification.

The cost to register a bicycle is $9 for a three-
year period with a $1 filing fee.

According to the department, over $1.5
million dollars worth of bicycles are stolen
each year in the state.

The bill awaits action on the Senate floor.

- TRANSPORTATION

Left-lane bill passed

Drivers in the left lane would be asked to
move to the right when possible but would
not be required to change lanes, under a con-
ference committee bill that won final passage
April 13 in the House. The vote was 95-33.

The bill (HF3091/SF2484%) now heads to
the governor’s desk.

Sponsored by Rep. David Tomassoni (DFL-
Chisholm), the bill would require the place-
ment of signs every 50 miles along freeways
reminding drivers to move to the right lane
after passing.

“This bill is aimed at people who park in
the left-hand lane and never move over,”
Tomassoni said. “We’re just trying to get
people to be more courteous.”

Tomassoni said the revised language —
which asks drivers to move to the right “to the
extent it is practical” rather than requiring a
move — eliminates legislators’ concerns about
making the action a crime.

Originally, the bill included a petty misde-
meanor penalty for people who would not
move to the right lane. In addition, the earlier
version of the bill also made a violation of the
law a primary offense, meaning law
enforcement could stop a driver for not
moving to the right lane.

Tomassoni has said throughout the session
that his goal was to obtain signs asking people
to move out of the left lane and that he was
not pushing for the petty misdemeanor
language.

The signs would state, “Move to the right
after passing.” The signs would not state, “It’s
the law,” which was called for in previous ver-
sions of the bill.

Senate Minority Leader Dick Day
(R-Owatonna) is sponsoring the Senate
version.

SNOW DAY

A brief but heavy snowfall with temperatures
in the 30s shattered visions of spring April 12,
but one day later the snow had disappeared
and temperatures approached 60 degrees.
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Mandatory minimums

State laws set minimum penalties for a list of crimes, some of
them strange and seemingly outdated

By CHRIs VETTER

f a company wants to manufacture soda pop in Minnesota, it better
obtain a license from the state. If it gets caught manufacturing soft drinks
without the permit, the owners face a minimum sentence of a $25 fine or

30 days in jail.

Or, if you perform chiropractics without a
license, beware the consequences. Don’t even
use terms or letters that describe yourself as a
doctor of chiropractics. The minimum pen-
alty for this gross misdemeanor is $1,000 or
30 days in jail.

Minnesota has a wide range of mandatory
minimum sentences in its statutes, for offenses
from drinking and driving to illegal drug
possession.

Minnesotans may know about minimum
sentences for gun crimes, criminal sexual con-
duct offenses, or other violent crimes, but few

Judge R.Joseph Quinn presides over a hearing in Anoka County District Court.

may realize the history of mandatory penal-
ties stretches across the 20th century.

Many of the mandatory penalties predate the
1963 criminal code that implemented maximum
penalties, according to a report from the non-
partisan House Research Department.

State law books contain a variety of man-
datory minimum penalties, some of them now
appearing strange and outdated.

For instance, one law says that no attorney
or anyone working for the attorney can solicit
a person to hire the attorney. The mandatory
minimum penalty is $50. The law took effect
in 1929 and was only altered once to make lan-
guage gender neutral.

The law is meant to deter attorneys from
catching people at vulnerable moments, ac-
cording to annotated Minnesota statutes.

“The practice of ‘ambulance chasing’ is a
violation of ethics of legal profession, brand-
ing those who indulge in it with professional
infamy,” the document states.

Until 1995,
Minnesota had a
law that prohib-
ited working on
the Sabbath. The
minimum fine
was $1.

A law, passed in
1923 regarding
traveling carni-
vals, states that
the event must
not contain lewd
or obscene mate-
rial or feature any
gambling conces-
sions. The man-
datory penaltyisa
minimum of $50
or 30 days in the workhouse.

That law has not been altered since its pas-
sage 77 years ago.

Some of the state’s mandatory sentences
pertain to food handling. One law says a fine
of $50 or 60 days in jail will be imposed on a
person selling veal from calves that were less
than four weeks old.

A person violating the state’s wildflower

conservation laws faces a minimum penalty
of a $10 fine or 10 days in jail.

State law forbids secret societies, and a vio-
lation carries a mandatory $2 fine.

One mandatory penalty involving banking
not only sets up the minimum fine of $700 or
a year in jail — it explicitly requires the jail
time to be served in the Stillwater prison.

In more recent times, the Minnesota Legis-
lature has passed laws with mandatory mini-
mum sentences for a variety of criminal
offenses.

If a person is convicted of certain drug or gun
crimes, the judge must impose the minimum
sentence, whether it is 60 days in jail or five years
in prison. The judge has no leeway in determin-
ing the minimum jail time in these cases.

Minnesota began to push for more manda-
tory minimum penalties for violent crime
about 1980, when the Legislature approved
minimum sentences for persons who commit
crimes with guns, according to the House Re-
search report.

Nationally, drug offenders are the hardest hit
under mandatory minimum laws, according to
alegislative report. A mid-1990s study shows that
90 percent of the defendants sentenced under
statutes with mandatory minimum provisions
were convicted for drug offenses.

Critics of mandatory sentences say such
provisions lock up too many low-level offend-
ers and do not catch major drug traffickers.
Another concern is “sentencing cliffs,” which
occur when a small dispute in the facts of a
case leads to a large difference in sentences.

For instance, a drug offender who had the
minimum amount of drugs in possession to
reach a felony-level crime faces the mandatory
minimum penalty. If that person had slightly less
of a substance in his or her possession, there
would be no mandatory sentence.

Other experts say that mandatory mini-
mum penalties do not deter crime.

“The weight of the evidence clearly shows that
enactment of mandatory penalties has either no
demonstrable marginal deterrent effects or
short-term effects that rapidly waste away,” wrote
University of Minnesota law professor Michael
Tonry in a criminal justice journal.

Proponents of the mandatory minimums
say it is better to have certain people, such as
repeat sex offenders, sent to prison for a long

time. @,
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Gunfight at the Capitol

Firearms laws have become a frequent subject of legislative

debate in recent years

By BRenDA VAN Dyck

t wasn’t until the last 25 years that Minnesota began

creating laws to control guns. Most laws that govern gun

possession and use are federal laws.

Up until 1975, the only laws regulating firearms in Minne-
sota were those dealing with the safe use of firearms for hunt-
ing; other regulations existed in local ordinance.

But in 1975, the Minnesota Legislature took
its first major stab at gun control. The Leg-
islature passed a bill that regulated the pos-
session of handguns and required people to
obtain a permit to carry a handgun in a pub-
lic place.

The law prohibited certain people from
possessing handguns, including: people under
18, except if they have had firearms training
or are supervised while using a gun; people
convicted of a violent crime, unless 10 years
have passed since the expiration of sentence;
and people who have drug, alcohol, or mental
problems.

To carry a handgun, eligible people have to
apply for a permit with their local chief of
police or county sheriff, who must then check
for criminal records, histories, or warrant in-
formation. Applicants must prove they have a
personal safety or occupational hazard in or-
der to carry a handgun. Carrying a handgun
without this permit is a gross misdemeanor.

Under the law, handguns can be transported
in a motor vehicle, snowmobile, or boat only
if they are unloaded and stored in a closed and
fastened case.

The 1975 law also outlawed the sale and
manufacture of Saturday night specials, cheap
guns made of material having a melting point
of less than 1,000 degrees Fahrenheit. The
melting point is an indication of the “flimsi-
ness” of the gun — the lower the melting
point, the cheaper the gun.

he Legislature acted again in 1977 when it
passed a law that imposed a seven-day wait-
ing period on the purchase of handguns from
federally licensed dealers. During that seven-
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day period, law enforcement officials check the
applicant’s background for any conditions that
prohibit a person from possessing a handgun
under the 1975 law.

The background check is good for one year,
so people can buy more than one gun after
the initial application has been approved. The
law excludes unlicensed dealers and antique
gun collectors. More importantly, it excludes
“private transfers,” that is, sales by people who
don’t trade in guns for a living.

The Legislature also passed a law prohibiting
the possession, ownership, and operation of
short-barreled shotguns (i.e., “sawed-off” shot-
guns), except by the military, law enforcement,
or prison officials. The law also excludes those
possessing these shotguns as collectors’ items.

In 1985, the Legislature passed the Uniform
Handgun Control Law, which took away local
governments’ authority to regulate ownership
and possession of firearms and ammunition
more strictly than state laws.

Earlier in the decade, both the Minneapolis
and St. Paul city councils had passed ordi-
nances that required people to obtain permits
to carry loaded, concealed weapons in those
cities. Local ordinances also regulated the
transportation of firearms and required liabil-
ity insurance.

Those in favor of the law complained that
strict local ordinances meant they could be
breaking the law when they came to Minne-
apolis or St. Paul, but were in compliance with
state law when they left the city limits.

Legislative gun debate in 1988 centered on a
proposed “right to bear arms” stste consti-
tutional amendment.

Handguns that were seized by law enforcement agencies a

Firearms Lab.

The amendment, backed by the National
Rifle Association, among others, would have
asked voters to amend the constitution by add-
ing these words: “The right of a citizen to keep
and bear arms for the defense and security of
the person, family or home, or for lawful hunt-
ing, recreation or marksmanship training shall
not be abridged.”

At the time, 42 states, through their consti-
tutions, guaranteed their citizens’ right to bear
arms. The gun lobby said the amendment was
necessary to prevent the Legislature from ban-
ning gun ownership in the future.

The proposed amendment was narrowly
defeated in the Senate Judiciary and the House
Rules committees. Legislators expressed con-
cern about the amendment’s effect on the
state’s existing gun laws.

Opponents of the amendment said the pro-
posal was not necessary because no one was
proposing to ban gun ownership. They warned
that it could be used in court to challenge the
state’s existing restrictions on the purchase and
carrying of guns.

In 1989, legislators tried, and failed, to ban
military-style assault weapons. Bills were in-
troduced in the House and Senate that would
have prohibited the sale and ownership, pos-
session or operation of semi-automatic mili-
tary assault weapons. Law enforcement
officials and antique collectors would have
been exempt. The law also would have
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re displayed at the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension on a w

required existing owners of assault weapons
to register.

The legislation was prompted by the Janu-
ary 1989 murder of five children in Stockton,
Calif., who were shot by a man who had pur-
chased an AK-47 assault rifle in Oregon. Simi-
lar legislation had been introduced in U.S.
Congress at the time, as well.

for handgun purchases.
This provision was enacted
instead of a provision to
ban military-style assault
weapons. The final bill also
included a ban on conver-
sion kits that would make
semi-automatic weapons
fire like machine guns.

The law made it a crime
to carry a rifle or shotgun
in a public place. It is also
a crime to keep a loaded
weapon in a place where
children would have access
to it.

The Legislature made it a
felony to bring a gun to
school or on a school bus.
Students bringing guns to
school will lose their
driver’s license privileges
until age 18.

In addition, teachers and
school officials were given
immunity from civil and
criminal liability if they
intervene with armed stu-
dents to protect others
from harm.

St. Paul and Minneapolis sought to reverse
the 1985 uniform gun control law and gain
back the authority to enact gun control ordi-
nances tougher than state laws.

One bill introduced in 1993 would have al-
lowed cities in the seven-county metropoli-
tan area to control assault weapons, large
ammunition clips, the possession of guns by

iy,

all in the

Until 1975, the only laws regulating firearms in
Minnesota were those dealing with the safe use
of firearms for hunting; other regulations ex-
isted in local ordinance.

The Minnesota Senate Judiciary Commit-
tee passed the Senate’s version of the bill, but
the House Judiciary Committee voted to study
the issue rather than pass the House’s version
of the bill, thereby killing it for the remainder
of the year.

he Legislature took up gun control issues

again in 1993. Numerous provisions were
considered, and many of those provisions be-
came law.

Under the 1993 measure, people wanting to
buy military-style assault weapons have to
undergo background checks and a seven-day
waiting period, the same as what’s required

minors, and the possession of loaded weap-
ons in public places.

Gun advocates were against this effort be-
cause they said it would make gun control laws
in the state too complicated with individual
cities having different ordinances from state
law. They pushed for uniformity in gun con-
trol laws. Instead of enacting this provision,
the Legislature gave cities the authority to
regulate the location of gun shops through
zoning.

Legislators tried again to ban assault weap
ons in 1994. Targeting trouble with guns in
urban areas, Sen. Allan Spear (DFL-Mpls)

sponsored a bill that would have banned the
guns in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.
Spear’s bill also required metropolitan gun
dealers, under federal jurisdiction, to be li-
censed by the state.

During a Senate debate, Spear removed the
ban on assault weapons in order to win ap-
proval for state licensing of Twin Cities gun
dealers. But he removed the bill from consid-
eration after a “right to bear arms” amend-
ment was added to it.

The 1994 Legislature did approve a num-
ber of provisions aimed at federally licensed
gun dealers and at private sales of guns, which
had been exempt from background check
requirements.

Under the law, felony penalties are doubled
for those supplying guns to minors or to any-
one whom the gun dealers know will use the
gun to commit a crime. It became a gross mis-
demeanor to provide a handgun or assault
weapon to anyone the supplier knows is ineli-
gible to receive one.

Gun suppliers can be held criminally and
civilly liable for gun crimes committed by
those ineligible to own firearms. And for pri-
vate, unlicensed dealers, it is a gross misde-
meanor for the seller if an ineligible buyer uses
the firearm in a crime within a year of obtain-
ing it from the dealer.

n 1996, the Legislature passed a law that

would require stalkers and those violating
protection orders to surrender their handguns
for three years. In addition, if such offenders
use a gun while violating a protection order
or stalking, they can be barred from owning a
gun for the rest of their lives. (The same pro-
hibition applies to those convicted of domes-
tic abuse under a law enacted in 1992.)

The 1996 Legislature also toughened pen-
alties for gun law violations, including penal-
ties for felons illegally possessing firearms.
Under those regulations, an adult who negli-
gently stores a loaded firearm that winds up
in the hands of someone under 18 is guilty of
a gross misdemeanor.

A provision to make it easier for Minneso-
tans to obtain a permit to carry a concealed
weapon was dropped in conference commit-
tee that year. Similar measures have been in-
troduced in subsequent years, but have never
made it into law.

Brenda van Dyck is the editor/publications
manager for the nonpartisan House Research
Department.
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Head of the class

14-year public education supporter leaves House for a more
private life, but will remain active in local school and

community issues

By Mike DE LArRcO

nown by her House colleagues as a passionate supporter of public
education, Rep. Alice Johnson (DFL-Spring Lake Park) has carried out
duties as a legislator with an ear for public well-being and an eye for

what is fair and sensible.

Soon, however, Johnson will embark on a
new chapter in her life. Having chosen not to
run for re-election in the fall, she will bid the
House farewell at the end of session following
14 years of attending to the needs and con-
cerns of her constituents.

Johnson said re-
cently that she’ll
miss the excite-
ment “Capitol life”
provides, but
quickly affirmed
that her decision to
step down is met
with no regrets.

“Tjust feel it’s the
right time for me to
leave; it’s a time to
embark on a new
stretch of my life,”
she said.

Aside from her
work on education,
Johnson will be re-
membered for her
successful push to
exempt newer-
model vehicles
from state emis-
sions testing in
1995. The idea for
the bill, Johnson
said, surfaced out
of discussion with a
few constituents who disputed the need for
the testing on new cars.

In 1999, the Legislature took Johnson’s mea-
sure a step further and voted to do away with
the emissions program altogether, citing prob-
lems of cost effectiveness.
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Johnson’s hard work in pushing for changes
in emissions testing, say her colleagues, per-
haps best exemplifies the thorough approach
she’s taken to issues before her.

“I think the Legislature will definitely miss
her,” said Rep. David Tomassoni (DFL-
Chisholm). “Alice,
time and again, has
been able to bring
the common sense
aspect of law-mak-
ing into focus.”

Johnson, 59, first
took office in 1987,
and it didn’t take
long for her to settle
in. She had served as
both a legislative as-
sistant for 13 years
and a member of
the Spring Lake
Park City Council
before her election
to the House.

“I probably was the
| most informed
.| freshman elected
| that year,” Johnson
said with a grin.

The knowledge she
brought to the posi-
tion became quite
valuable to others
new to the Legisla-
ture, most notably former Rep. Richard
Jefferson. Johnson and Jefferson became fast
friends and eventually married last year.

“Richard had been my best friend during
our time together in the Legislature and

shortly after his wife passed away we started
to look at each other in a new light,” Johnson
said.

Johnson’s work at the Legislature always
kept her busy, leaving some to marvel how she
had any free time for herself. She served as
chair of the Sales and Income Tax Division of
the House Taxes Committee in 1997 and 1998
and was chair of the House K-12 Education
Finance Division in 1995 and 1996.

In addition, Johnson studied at Harvard
University when not in session to pursue a
master’s degree from the John F. Kennedy
School of Government. After years of study,
she obtained her degree in 1996.

Johnson’s strong push in the House to bet-
ter public education left some believing early
on that Johnson, at one point, had to have been
a classroom teacher. Not so, Johnson says.

“I do, however, believe that education is
where the state’s future lies,” she said.

Tomassoni said it was a pleasure to serve
with Johnson on the education finance panel.

“Her sense of humor will also be missed,”
he said.

Between them, Jefferson and Johnson have
nine children. Johnson said community and
family activities keep them very busy. She
plans to take a year off before taking on any
new job.

In addition, she won’t quit going to local
school board meetings and other community
activities in Spring Lake Park, which she has
actively attended for many years.

Johnson offered this advice to future legis-
lators: “Don’t be afraid to ask questions and
raise issues. Chances are that someone else
shares your concern.” &,

STEPPING DOWN

Rep. Alice Johnson

DFL

District 48B - Spring Lake Park
Terms: 7

Career notes: A leader on education
issues, Johnson served as chair of the
K-12 Finance Division in 1995 and
1996.She later spent two years as
chair of the Sales and Income Tax
Division.
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Taking the next step

After five terms, Orfield leaves House to run for Senate seat

By JoN Fure

ep. Myron Orfield (DFL-Mpls) may be leaving the House this session
after serving 10 years, but he’s not leaving the political arena.
Orfield will be running for the Senate seat that is held by Sen. Allan

Spear (DFL-Mpls), who is retiring.

Though he’s moving on, Orfield, 38, said it
has been a privilege to serve in the House, and
running for the Senate would be a new chal-
lenge.

“The House is a very open and democratic
institution,” he said. “Everyone gets to speak,
and you learn about different people in the
state. It teaches you
about the basic ele-
ments of human na-
ture with a lot of |
adrenaline. You geta |
lot of experience
about life in a big
hurry.”

Orfield is an ad-
junct professor at
the University of
Minnesota  Law
School, where he
teaches students
about criminal pro-
cedure and legisla-
tive process. He also
works with the Met-
ropolitan Area Re-
search Corporation.

Before he was
elected to the House
in 1990, Orfield had
worked for one of
his mentors, former
Minneapolis Mayor
Don Fraser.

Orfield said he
was also influenced by members of his own
family. When he was growing up, his older
brothers and sisters were active in the civil
rights movement, and many family discus-
sions revolved around those kinds of issues.

“We talked more about public issues than
politics around the dinner table,” he said.

Orfield has lived in southwest Minneapolis
most of his life, and many of his siblings, par-
ents, and other extended family members still
live in that area. He said he is the fourth gen-
eration of his family to live in the district, and
his son is the fifth.

The only times
he has lived outside
of Minneapolis were
when he earned his
law degree from the
University of Chi-
cago and when he
studied American
history at Princeton
University.

Orfield said his
biggest accomplish-
ments in the House
have been related to
regional govern-
ment issues, such as
affordable housing
and land-use plan-
ning. He and other
lawmakers from the
Minneapolis and St.
Paul and inner-ring
suburbs formed a
coalition, which he
said improved the
school-equity for-
mula and helped
pass many bills regarding affordable housing
and tax sharing.

His book, Metropolitics, published in 1997,
advocates widespread use of such coalitions,
saying it’s the only way to properly conduct

regional and urban planning. The book sug-
gests such coalitions help make the region
more prosperous and stable.

The book, which is just one of many re-
gional planning concepts Orfield advocates,
led to an appearance on the television pro-
gram “Nightline” that same year.

Orfield sponsored the Metropolitan Reor-
ganization Act of 1994, which brought the
Metropolitan Transit Commission, the Re-
gional Transit Board, and the Metropolitan
Waste Control Commission under the juris-
diction of the Metropolitan Council. He also
helped develop the Livable Communities Act
of 1995, which is designed to avoid having
poverty and crime concentrated in certain
areas.

“It’s a question of fairness between cities
and older suburbs versus newer suburbs,” he
said. “And most cities agree — really only the
most affluent suburbs are opposed to afford-
able housing and tax sharing.

“An argument can be made that it’s in
everyone’s best interest, but I haven’t per-
suaded everyone yet,” he said.

Also in 1997, Orfield sponsored a bill that
would have made Met Council board mem-
bers elected instead of appointed, but it was
vetoed by Gov. Arne Carlson. 8,

STEPPING DOWN

Rep. Myron Orfield

DFL

District 60B — Minneapolis

Terms:5

Career notes: Orfield’s chief accomplish-
ments in the House have been related
to regional government issues, such as
affordable housing and land-use
planning.

Session Weekly 17



ESOURCES

ooo

2000 Minnesota House Membership by Seniority

14th term

Anderson, Irv (DFL)*
Carlson, Lyndon R. (DFL)
Kahn, Phyllis (DFL)
Wenzel, Stephen G. (DFL)

13th term
Kalis, Henry J. (DFL)
Osthoff, Tom (DFL)

12th term

Jaros, Mike (DFL)*
Murphy, Mary (DFL)
Skoglund, Wes (DFL)*

11th term
Greenfield, Lee (DFL)
Sviggum, Steve (R)

10th term
Clark, Karen (DFL)

9th term

Bishop, Dave (R)
Solberg, Loren A.(DFL)
Tunheim, Jim (DFL)

8th term

Jennings, Loren Geo (DFL)
Lieder, Bernie L. (DFL)
Ozment, Dennis (R)

Rest, Ann H. (DFL)

7th term

Carruthers, Phil (DFL)
Dawkins, Andy (DFL)
Dorn, John (DFL)
Johnson, Alice M. (DFL)
Milbert, Bob (DFL)
Pelowski Jr., Gene (DFL)
Rukavina, Tom (DFL)
Trimble, Steve (DFL)
Wagenius, Jean (DFL)
Winter, Ted (DFL)

6th term

Abrams, Ron (R)
Hasskamp, Kris (DFL)
Hausman, Alice (DFL)
McGuire, Mary Jo (DFL)
Pugh, Thomas W. (DFL)

5th term
Davids, Gregory M. (R)
Erhardt, Ron (R)
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Goodno, Kevin (R)
Krinkie, Philip (R)
Leppik, Peggy (R)
Mariani, Carlos (DFL)
Orfield, Myron (DFL)
Peterson, Doug (DFL)
Smith, Steve (R)
Wejcman, Linda (DFL)

4th term

Dehler, Steve (R)
Dempsey, Jerry (R)
Finseth, Tim (R)

Greiling, Mindy (DFL)
Holsten, Mark William (R)
Huntley, Thomas (DFL)
Lindner, Arlon (R)

Luther, Darlene (DFL)
McCollum, Betty (DFL)
Molnau, Carol L. (R)

Ness, Robert“Bob” (R)
Olson, Mark (R)

Opatz, Joe (DFL)
Pawlenty, Tim (R)
Rhodes, Jim (R)

Seagren, Alice (R)
Tomassoni, David J. (DFL)
Van Dellen, Henry Todd (R)
Wolf, Ken (R)
Workman, Tom (R)

3rd term
Anderson, Bruce (R)
Bakk, Thomas (Tom) (DFL)
Boudreau, Lynda (R)
Bradley, Fran (R)
Broecker, Sherry (R)
Daggett, Roxann (R)
Entenza, Matt (DFL)
Gunther, Bob (R)
Haas, Bill (R)

Harder, Elaine (R)
Knoblach, Jim (R)
Larsen, Peg (R)
Leighton, Rob (DFL)
Mares, Harry (R)
Marko, Sharon (DFL)
McElroy, Dan (R)
Mulder, Richard (R)
Osskopp, Mike (R)
Paulsen, Erik (R)
Rostberg, Jim (R)
Schumacher, Leslie J. (DFL)

Stanek, Rich (R)
Swenson, Howard (R)
Sykora, Barb (R)
Tuma, John (R)

2nd term

Biernat, Len (DFL)
Chaudhary, Satveer (DFL)
Clark, JamesT.(R)
Erickson, Sondra (R)
Folliard, Betty (DFL)
Hackbarth, Tom (R)*
Hilty, Bill (DFL)

Juhnke, Al (DFL)
Kielkucki, Tony (R)
Koskinen, Luanne (DFL)
Kubly, Gary W. (DFL)
Kuisle, William (R)
Mullery, Joe (DFL)
Nornes, Bud (R)
Otremba, Mary Ellen (DFL)
Paymar, Michael (DFL)
Reuter, Doug (Ind.)
Rifenberg, Michelle (R)
Seifert, Marty (R)

Stang, Doug (R)
Tingelstad, Kathy (R)
Vandeveer, Ray (R)
Westfall, Robert L. (Bob) (R)
Westrom, Torrey (R)

T1st term

Abeler, Jim (R)
Buesgens, Mark (R)
Cassell, George (R)
Dorman, Dan (R)
Fuller, Doug (R)
Gerlach, Chris (R)
Gleason, Mark S. (DFL)
Gray, Gregory (DFL)
Haake, Barb (R)
Holberg, Mary Liz (R)
Howes, Larry (R)
Kelliher, Margaret Anderson (DFL)
Larson, Dan (DFL)
Lenczewski, Ann (DFL)
Mahoney, Tim (DFL)
Seifert,Jim (R)

Skoe, Rod (DFL)
Storm, Julie (R)
Swapinski, Dale (DFL)
Westerberg, Andrew (R)
Wilkin, Tim (R)

* non-consecutive terms
House members serve two-year terms.
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Congress

Minnesota’s Representation in Washington, D.C.

U.S.Senators
Senator

Rod Grams (R)

257 Dirksen Senate
Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
(202) 224-3244

Fax: (202) 228-0956

2013 Second Ave. N.
Anoka, MN 55303
(763) 427-5921

Fax: (763) 427-8872

E-mail: mail_grams@grams.
senate.gov

Web site: http://
www.senate.gov/~grams

Senator

Paul Wellstone (DFL)

136 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510

(202) 224-5641

Fax: (202) 224-8438

Suite 100 North

2550 University Ave. W.
St. Paul, MN 55114
(651) 645-0323

Fax: (651) 645-0704

417 W. Litchfield Ave.
Willmar, MN 56201
(320) 231-0001

Fax: (320) 231-0006

P.O. Box 281

105 S. Second Ave.
Virginia, MN 55792
(218) 741-1074
Fax: (218) 741-8544

E-mail:
senator@wellstone.senate.gov
Web site: http://www.senate.gov/
~wellstone

U.S.Representatives
First District
Gil Gutknecht (R)

425 Cannon House
Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
(202) 225-2472

Fax: (202) 225-3246

Suite 108

1530 Greenview Drive S.W.
Rochester, MN 55902
(507) 252-9841
1-800-862-8632

Fax: (507) 252-9915

E-mail: gil@mail. house.gov
Web site: http://www.house.gov/
gutknecht/

Second District
David Minge (DFL)
1415 Longworth House
Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
(202) 225-2331

Fax: (202) 226-0836

542 First St. S.
Montevideo, MN 56265
(320) 269-9311

Fax: (320) 269-8651

205 E. Fourth St.
Chaska, MN 55318
(952) 448-6567
1-800-453-9392
Fax: (952) 448-6930

938 Fourth Ave.
P.O. Box 367
Windom, MN 56101
(507) 831-0115

Fax: (507) 831-0118

Web e-mail: www.house.gov
writerep/

Web site: http://www.house.gov/
minge/

Third District

Jim Ramstad (R)

103 Cannon House
Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
(202) 225-2871

Fax: (202) 225-6351

8120 Penn Ave. S.

Suite 152

Bloomington, MN 55431
(952) 881-4600

Fax: (952) 881-1943

E-mail:mn03@mail. house.gov
Web site: http://www.house.gov/
ramstad/

Fourth District

Bruce F.Vento (DFL)

2413 Rayburn House

Office Building

Washington, D.C. 20515-2304
(202) 225-6631

Fax: (202) 225-1968

111 E. Kellogg Boulevard
Suite 215

St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 224-4503

Fax: (651) 224-0575

E-mail:vento@mail.house.gov
Web site: http://www.house.gov/
vento/

Fifth District

Martin Olav Sabo (DFL)
2336 Rayburn House

Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
(202) 225-4755

Fax: (202) 225-4886

286 Commerce at the Crossings
250 Second Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55401

(612) 664-8000

Fax: (612) 664-8004

E-mail:
martin.sabo@mail.house.gov

Web site: http://www.house.gov/
sabo/

Sixth District
William P. Luther (DFL)

117 Cannon House
Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
(202) 225-2271

Fax: (202) 225-3368

Suite 150

1811 Weir Drive
Woodbury, MN 55125
(651) 730-4949

Fax: (651) 730-0507

E-mail:
bill.luther@mail.house.gov

Web site: http://www.house.gov/
luther/

Seventh District

Collin Peterson (DFL)
2159 Rayburn House
Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
(202) 225-2165

Fax: (202) 225-1593

Minn. Wheat Growers Bldg.
2603 Wheat Drive

Red Lake Falls, MN 56750
(218) 253-4356

Fax: (218) 253-4373

Suite 107

714 Lake Ave.

Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
(218) 847-5056

Fax: (218) 847-5109

110 Second St. S.

Suite 112

Waite Park, MN 56387
(320) 259-0559

Fax: (320) 259-0413

E-mail:
tocollin.peterson@mail.house.gov
Web site: http://www.house.gov/
collinpeterson/

Eighth District

James L.Oberstar (DFL)
2365 Rayburn House

Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515
(202) 225-6211

Fax: (202) 225-0699

231 Federal Building
Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 727-7474

Fax: (218) 727-8270

Chisholm City Hall
316 Lake St.
Chisholm, MN 55719
(218) 254-5761

Fax: (218) 254-5132

Brainerd City Hall
501 Laurel St.
Brainerd, MN 56401
(218) 828-4400

Fax: (218) 828-1412

13065 Orono Parkway
Elk River, MN 55330
(763) 241-0188

Fax: (763) 241-0233

E-mail:

Access to e-mail through Web site.
Web site: http://
www.house.gov/oberstar/
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(3OVERNOR' DESK

Aeprit 7 - 13

CHAPTERS 345 - 389

Tracking new laws, vetoes

Once abill has passed both the House and
Senate in identical form, it’s ready to be sent
to the governor for consideration. The gov-
ernor, who has several options when con-
sidering a bill, can:

« sign the bill and it will become law;

+ veto the bill;

+ line-item veto individual items within an
appropriations bill;

+ or do nothing, which can have two differ-
ent effects. The timing of these actions is as
important as the actions themselves.

In the second year of the biennium (even-
numbered years), a bill passed by the Legis-
lature and presented to the governor before
the final three days of the session will be-
come law unless the governor vetoes it by
returning it to the Legislature within three
days. The governor normally signs the bills
and files them with the secretary of state, but
his signature is not required.

But if a bill is passed during the last three
days of session, the governor has a longer
time to act on it. He or she must sign and
deposit it with the secretary of state within
14 days after the Legislature adjourns “sine
die” (Latin for adjournment “withouta date
certain”). If the governor does not sign a bill
within this time frame, it will not become
law, an action known as a “pocket veto.”
The governor is not required to provide a
reason for the veto.

Only on appropriations bills can the gov-
ernor exercise the line-item veto authority.
This option allows the governor to elimi-
nate the appropriation items to which he or
she objects. As with all vetoes (save pocket
vetoes) the governor must include a state-
mentlisting the reasons for the veto with the
returned bill. Here, too, the timetable is
either 14 days after adjournment for bills

passed during the final three days of the
session, or within three days after the gover-
nor receives the bill at any other time.

A two-thirds vote of the members in each
house is needed to override a veto. But be-
cause only the governor can call a special
session of the Legislature, anything vetoed
after the Legislature adjourns s history—at
least until the next year.

The governor’s veto authority is outlined
in the Minnesota Constitution (Article IV,
Section 23).

This information is also available on the
governor’s Web site (www.governor.state.mn.us).
Select the “It’s a New Day” link, then click on “The
Legislative Log.”

Key:
CH=Chapter; HF=House File; SF=Senate File

CH HF SF Description Signed Vetoed
345 2803* 3119 Court reporters allowed to organize under the Public Employment Labor Relations Act. 4/10/00
346 2969 2803* Certified public accountant licensing requirements modified. 4/10/00
347 3477 2499% Speech language pathology and audiology services medical assistance clarified. 4/10/00
348 2761 3379* Omnibus tax-forfeited land bill. 4/10/00
349 2643 2767* Health plan companies and third party administrators clean health or home care services claims. 4/10/00
350 2974 3203% Insurance uniform accounting principles codification. 4/10/00
351 2639 2397* Employees bloodborne pathogens exposure reduction procedures. 4/10/00
352 3584 3354* Manufactured homes limited dealer license requirements clarified. 4/10/00
353 3052 2850% Itasca County medical assistance prepayment demonstration project participation extended. 4/10/00
354 2751 3455% Stolen or fraudulent checks provisions modifications. 4/10/00
355 3347 2989* Administrative law and workers’ compensation judges conduct regulated. 4/10/00
356 3795 3478% Rochester firefighter probationary period rules modified. 4/10/00
357 3119 2725% Public defenders and court-appointed counsel minors juvenile court representation restriction. 4/10/00
358 1267 1126* Civil actions economic loss doctrine clarification. 4/11/00
359 3457 2858* Civilly committed sexual psychopaths or sexually dangerous persons transfer procedure. 4/11/00
360 3202 2789* Coroner compensation provisions clarified. 4/11/00
361 947 1038* Occupational therapist and assistant licensing requirements established. 4/11/00
362 3208 2723% Trust and probate provisions modified. 4/11/00
363 3626 3428* Psychologist supervisory and disciplinary requirements modified. 4/11/00
364 3537 3198* Nursing facilities closure plans and savings reallocation process established. 4/11/00
365 3952 3533% Claims against the state payments provided. 4/11/00
366 3303 3566* Criminal penalty for failure to remit motor vehicle sales taxes. 4/13/00
367 3756 3423* Holocaust Victims Insurance Relief Act established. 4/13/00
368 3331* 2980 Prevention of domestic violence and sexual assault interagency task force created. 4/13/00

20 April 14, 2000

*The legislative bill marked with an asterisk denotes the file submitted to the governor.



CH HF SF Description Signed Vetoed
369 1326* 1130 Community social services limited liability provided. 4/13/00
370 3576* 3361 Solid waste and wastewater treatment facilities reporting requirements modified. 4/13/00
37N 3109* 3699 Uniform electronic transactions act adopted. 4/13/00
3N 3517 2742* Expedited child support hearing notice to remove filing period modified 4/13/00
373 3613 3307% Recreational vehicles personal injury claims. 4/13/00
374 2807 2514* Yellow perch limit rulemaking authority restricted. 4/13/00
375 2613 2949% Big Woods heritage forest established. 4/13/00
376 3520 3290* Environmental response and liability agreement grants provided. 4/13/00
377 3950 3154% Criminal and juvenile justice database access authorized for criminal defense purposes. 4/13/00
378 2707 3348* Organization sponsored potluck event requirements modified. 4/13/00
379 3903 2987* Cooperative income financing and distribution provisions modified. 4/13/00
380 2822 2547* Capitol area site selected for installation of Minnesota firefighters memorial. 4/13/00
381 2888* 2573 (Canoe and hoating route marking authorized on a portion of the Chippewa River. 4/13/00
382 1493 83* Wetland regulation simplified and consolidated. 4/13/00
383 262 76* DWI motor vehicle forfeiture proceedings requirements modified. 4/13/00
384 3195 3701% State designer selection board membership modified. 4/13/00
385 3174 3195* Dairy product adulteration penalties modified. 4/13/00
386 3082 3150% Higher education facilities bonding authority increased. 4/13/00
387 2981 2848* Public Employment Labor Relations Act supervisory or confidential employees list expanded. 4/13/00
388 3566 3291* Towed motor vehicles lien provisions clarified. 4/13/00
389 562 619* Collection agencies regulated. 4/13/00

The continuing decline in voter turnout
nationwide has caused some state officials
to look at ways to make voting more conve-
nient. With the proliferation of the Internet
into our everyday culture, the day of online
voting may be just around the corner.

Indeed with a presidential election loom-
ing in the fall, several states — including,
Alaska, Arizona, California, and Washington
— have taken the first election-related steps
down the super information highway.

Last month, Arizona Democrats were al-
lowed to cast their ballots via the Internet.
Voters were given the choice of voting
online for a four-day period prior to the
state’s primary. Voters could also cast their
ballots via mail or in the traditional polling
place.

Digital ballots

States tinker with voting on the Internet

Close to 40,000 of the total 87,000 bal-
lots cast were done via the Internet. Voter
participation for the primary was up from
12,844 in the 1996 primary.

In January, Alaskan voters could cast their
ballots online in the state’s non-binding
presidential straw poll.Only 35 out of a to-
tal of 4,000 votes cast came over the
Internet.

The use of digital signatures and other
technological identification measures are
helping ease concerns over the security of
online voting.

In order to vote online, Arizona voters
had to pre-register. All registered voters
were then mailed a certificate by the secre-
tary of state with a personal identification
number.

Upon going to aWeb site to cast their bal-
lots voters were prompted for that identifi-
cation number along other personal au-
thentication information which compared
the voter information with the secretary of
state’s records.

Non-security related issues might be
more troublesome to address. The Voting
Integrity Project, based out of Arlington,
Virginia, filed a lawsuit prior to the Arizona
primary seeking to stop the use of Internet
voting arguing that it discriminated against
low income and minority voters with less
access to the Internet than more affluent
voters. A judge failed to stop the election
but the case is still before the court.

(D. Maepa)
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ILL INTRODUCTIONS

ooo

Tuesday, April 11

Wednesday, April 12

HF4147—Sviggum (R)

Rules & Legislative Administration
Unicamerallegislature provided, and
constitutional amendment proposed.

HF4148—Lenczewski (DFL)
Environment &

Natural Resources Policy

Lower Minnesota River Basin Water-
shed protection and improvement
studied, and money appropriated.

HF4149—Gleason (DFL)

Rules & Legisltive Administration
Equality of rights for men and women
provided, and constitutional amend-
ment proposed.

Thursday, April 13

HF4150—Seifert, M. (R)
Environment &

Natural Resources Policy

Beverage container deposit program

HF4151—Dempsey (R)

Taxes

Utility generation personal property
taxrefund, new utility personal prop-
erty tax exemption, and local optional
fees authorized; and rate adjustments
required.

HF4152—Peterson (DFL)
Commerce

Energy independence task force cre-
ated, alternative and renewable en-
ergy sources developed to reach
specified goals, and annual reports
required.

7 - 132000

HOUSE FILES 4147 - 4153

ArritL

HF4153—Abeler (R)

Taxes

County fair sales tax retention by
county agricultural societies autho-
rized for facilities improvements.

studied.

Unintended consequences

Fuel additive used to reduce air pollution poses threat to water resources

This year the Minnesota Legislature be-
came one of many to consider banning the
use of the oxygenating additive methyl ter-
tiary butyl ether (MTBE) in gasoline.

MTBE, which is an oxygenate added to
fuel in many states, is intended to help the
environment by lowering pollution emis-
sions into the air. But research shows the
additive is responsible for several ground
and water contaminations, including mu-
nicipal wells as nearby as Alvord and Ida
Grove, lowa.

Minnesota’s legislators are not alone in
their concern over the effects of MTBE us-
age in gasoline. Recent developments in
other states are driving a national reconsid-
eration of using MTBE as an oxygenate in
fuel.

California Gov. Gray Davis issued an
executive order in March 1999 to phase out

MTBE from the California gasoline supply
by December 31, 2002. His decision was
supported by a state-funded research
project by the University of California that
indicated that the air pollution benefits of
using MTBE could be obtained in other
ways.

Twenty-three states have established
regulatory guidelines or standards for
MTBE contamination in groundwater or
drinking water.

Experts say eight ounces of the additive
can contaminate five million gallons of
drinking water.Spillage from a car accident
could threaten an entire aquifer.

More than 40 percent of the U.S. popu-
lation lives in areas where MTBE is used. At
current growth rates of MTBE use, this
figure could be as high as 80 percent
within a few years.

About 10 billion pounds of MTBE are pro-
duced annually, making MTBE one of the
largest volume chemicals produced in the
United States.MTBE is produced from isobu-
tylene, a byproduct in the gasoline refining
process,and methanol,a byproduct of natu-
ral gas refining.

Water contaminated by MTBE has a bit-
ter taste and detectable odor.Research has
shown it causes tumors in rats.

Minnesota requires all gasoline sold in
the state to contain an oxygenate. Ethanol
is the oxygenate used here,and MTBE is not
in gasoline sold in the state.

Many want to pass a law to keep it that
way. A bill (HF3292/SF2946*) now being dis-
cussed by a House-Senate conference com-
mittee would ban the additive in
Minnesota.

(M. DE Larco)
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OMMITTEE SCHEDULE

ooo

MONDAY, April 17

9a.m.
The House meets in session.
1p.m.

***TENTATIVE***

Conference Committee

HF4127/SF2657

Omnibus tax bill

15 State Capitol

Chrs. Rep. Ron Abrams, Sen. Doug Johnson

2 p.m.

apRiL 17 - 21,2000

fund, collection agencies, and notarial act
provisions modified.
500N State Office Building

WEDNESDAY, April 19 -
FRIDAY, April 21

Chrs. Rep. Greg Davids, Sen. Edward Oliver .
No meetings have been announced.

TUESDAY, April 18

2 p.m.

COMMERCE

Basement Hearing Room

State Office Building

Chr. Rep. Greg Davids

Agenda: HF3492 (Entenza) Telecommunications
consumer privacy act adopted.

Other bills to be announced.

Conference Committee

HF3505/SF3092

Commerce Department Enforcement Bill;
managing general agents, securities broker-
dealers, investmentadvisors, contractor recovery

April 14 marks the night 135 years ago,
when Lincoln was shot while enjoying a
play in the Washington, D.C., Ford’s The-
ater. He died the next morning, April 15,
1865, at 7:22 a.m.

But Minnesota’s many connections to
Abraham Lincoln likely are unknown by
many of the state’s residents.

One of the last individuals to have a
personal conversation with him was his
secretarial assistant, Edward D. Neill, the
founder of Macalester College, St. Paul’s
public schools, and a founding member
of the Minnesota Historical Society.

On the morning of April 14, Mrs. Lin-
coln asked Neill if complimentary tickets
had been received from the theater. They
had not, so he sent a messenger to get box
seats for that evening’s performance. Later,
Neill spoke to the president about some
routine military officer’s commission.

Earlier, Neill observed the president
meeting with Gen. Ulysses S. Grant and
the cabinet to hear Grant’s description of
Gen. Robert E. Lee’s surrender at
Appomattox, five days sooner.

Almost to the hour of Lincoln’s death
four years before, on April 15, 1861,
Minnesota’s Aaron Greenwald and six oth-
ers from Anoka were the first in the na-
tion to volunteer for the Union Army.
They were part of the 1,000 men offered
by Gov. Alexander Ramsey to Lincoln for
the fight against the southern states.

When Lincoln made his Gettysburg

Reflections

Address at the dedication of the cemetery
in November 1863, he spoke for the thou-
sands who died there — including 232 of
262 members of the First Minnesota Vol-
unteer Regiment — “that these dead shall
not have died in vain.”

The regiment’s entire color guard was
lost. The U.S. flag they carried now hangs
in the Capitol rotunda, tattered and torn.
Next to it is the original broken staff, at-
tached by a leather strap to a broken pole
that carried the Confederate flag.

During Lincoln’s time in public office
in Illinois and Washington, he had many
contacts with Minnesota. Among them
was John W. North, who helped to orga-
nize the state’s Republican Party. North
also constructed the American House in
Northfield — Carlton College’s first build-
ing. Lincoln also knew Minnesota’s ninth
governor, L. J. Hubbard, and others.

The Italian nobleman, Frances Vivaldi,

was appointed as the U.S. consul in Ar-
gentina and Brazil. Vivaldi lived in Long
Prairie, became a priest, got married, de-
serted his wife, and became a priest again.

Another Minnesotan, Gen. James
Shields was a U.S. senator. Originally from
Illinois, he once challenged Lincoln to a
duel for some little-known reason. Their
plan to fight with battle sabers was
aborted. Shields’ statue as a Civil War hero
now stands in the Capitol.

Other connections are the Golden
Horses above the Capitol entrance,
sculpted by Daniel Chester French. French
also created the Lincoln Memorial in
Washington. And Lincoln’s portrait by St.
Paul artist, Edward V. Brewer hangs in the
House chamber.

Lincoln County in southwestern Min-
nesota and Lincoln townships across the
state are just some of Minnesota’s honors
to the fallen president. The state was the
first to make his birthday a legal holiday
in 1895.

Edward Neill aptly noted that Abraham
Lincoln “was a patriot who had the wel-
fare of his country close to his heart.”

With malice toward none, with charity
toward all.

—LECLAIR GRIER LAMBERT

Photograph from the Library of Congress Prints and
Photographs Division Washington, D.C. 20540 USA
Copyright by M.P. Rice, Washington., D.C.

Original photograph by Alexander Gardner.
Photograph taken Nov. 8, 1863
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MINNESOTA

On the road

Miles of street and roadway in Minnesota, 1998 130,613
Number of vehicle miles traveled, 1998, in billions 46.9
Number of registered vehicles, in millions 3.77
Number of licensed drivers, in millions 3.49
Percentage of Minnesotans surveyed in 1999 who were very satisfied or
somewhat satisfied with the time it takes to travel places 81
Percentage of Minnesotans who drive alone to work 85
Car/van pool to work, as percent 7
Take the bus to work, as percent 3
Percentage of Minnesotans who travel up to 10 miles to work, one-way ............... 56.3
Between 0 and 1 mile to work, one-way 11.2
Between 30 and 120 miles to work, one-way 12
Percentage of Minnesotans who travel 10 minutes to work, one-way ..................... 14.1
15 minutes 133
20 minutes 13.2
30 minutes or more 24
Miles of congested roadway in the Twin Cities metropolitan area freeway
system, morning rush-hour, 1998 123
Percentage of roadway in the Twin Cities 25
Afternoon rush-hour congestion, in miles 115
Morning congestion, 1993, in miles 91
Afternoon congestion, 1993, in miles 88
Speed traffic must be moving below to be considered congested,
in miles per hour 45
Number of congested miles on Interstate 35W (north and south),
morning rush-hour (most of any freeway), 1998 24.5

In 1997

1

Congested miles on Interstate 494 (north and south), 1998, morning rush hour ....23

In 1997

In 1997

afternoon rush hour

12.5
Number of congested miles on Interstate 94 (east and west), 1998,
afternoon rush-hour (most of any freeway) 22.5
14
Congested miles on Interstate 494 (north and south), 1998,
19.5
14

In 1997

Sources: 1999 Minnesota State Survey: Results and Technical Report, Minnesota Center for Survey
Research, University of Minnesota, January 2000; Metropolitan Freeway System Congestion
Summary Report, Minnesota Department of Transportation, September 1999; and General

Transportation Facts, Minnesota Department of Transportation, November 1998.

For MoORE INFORMATION

For general information, call:
House Information Office
(651) 296-2146 or
1-800-657-3550

To obtain a copy of a bill, call:
Chief Clerk’s Office
(651) 296-2314

To find out about bill introductions or
the status of a specific bill, call:
House Index Office

(651) 296-6646

For an up-to-date recorded message
giving committee meeting times and
agendas, call:

Committee Hotline

(651) 296-9283

The House of Representatives can be
reached on the World Wide Web at:
http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us

Teletypewriter for the hearing impaired.
To ask questions or leave messages,
call:

TTY Line (651) 296-9896 or
1-800-657-3550

Check your local listings to watch
House committee and floor sessions
onTV.

Senate Information Office
(651) 296-0504 or
1-888-234-1112

This document can be made available
in alternative formats.




