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One hundred years ago in April, the Minnesota Legislature passed bills similar to ones
the 201 lawmakers are working on today. In 1899, 182 House and Senate members
completed their duties after heated debates, then compromising on some bills that
included agriculture, transportation, public safety, education, jobs,  and health. This
Legislature of the19th century ended on April 18, with funds and policies to share with
farmers, railroad workers, homesteaders and urban dwellers alike.

Today’s 201 legislators have three weeks to go before session ends on May 17. Eleven
major omnibus bills encompassing all funding requests are completed, and appointed
members from the House and Senate are now meeting in conference to compromise and
form identical bills for agreement upon by both legislative bodies before they are signed
into law or vetoed by the governor.

Over 100 years, a few changes in legislative and public policy issues have been made, thus
it is worthwhile to highlight some similarities that made major historical impacts.

In 1899, for example, Gov. John Lind was elected as the first successful candidate to win
with a fusion of state political parties.

At the end of the 19th century, women won the right to vote for school board and library
board members, then 20 years later, in 1919, they were the first in the country to be able
to vote for a U.S. president.

Minnesotans were not among the first reservists called to support NATO efforts in
Kosovo during the week of April 26, 1999, but 99 years ago, in the same week, on April 29,
1898, Minnesota soldiers were the first Americans to be mustered into service for the
Spanish American War.  On the exact same day, April 29, Minnesota’s 1st Regiment also
was the first to volunteer for the Union Army at the start of the U.S. Civil War, in 1861.

Unlike 100 years ago, war was not as prevalent an issue as it is today. And whether or not
war is violence, justified as a means to end “man’s inhumanity to man,” or even if
nonviolence can be legislated, are unanswered questions. But violence is prevalent today
and more work or compromise must transpire so that violence is no longer a major issue
in society, in Minnesota, or elsewhere.

This week of April 26, the idea of arbitrarily annihilating peers, as in the tragic school
incident in Littleton, Colorado, or creating false bomb threats in schools in Minnesota is
violence.

These and other 1999 issues are being discussed, but maybe there is a simple solution
for survival into the year 2099. One suggestion is, everyone — all people worldwide —
should be diligent in exercising compassion and tolerance for issues we disagree with.

“Imagine all the people living life in peace . . . .Imagine all the people, sharing all the
world.”

— LeClair Grier Lambert
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By Sandy Donovan

Funding for schools would be increased
and spread more evenly among
Minnesota’s school districts, under a $7.8

billion K-12 spending bill passed on the House
floor April 20. The vote was 90-40.

The bill represents a $911 million hike in
overall spending, which is about $100 million
less than proposed in the omnibus bill ad-
vancing in the Senate but $90 million more
than recommended by Gov. Jesse Ventura.

The House measure would boost the gen-
eral formula — through which districts re-
ceive the bulk of their funding — by 3.6 percent
for the 1999-2000 school year. Other initia-
tives include reducing class sizes, helping char-
ter schools, and closing the funding gap
between the state’s wealthiest districts and
poorest ones.

The Senate is expected to vote on its version
of the bill soon and a House-Senate confer-
ence committee will likely meet next week to
iron out differences between the two propos-
als. Here’s a look at highlights from the bill
(HF2333), sponsored by Rep. Alice Seagren
(R-Bloomington).

Formula boost
School districts would get an extra $127 per

pupil unit next year, under the plan. That 3.6-
percent increase would be followed with a 3-
percent formula boost for the 2000-01 school
year, bringing the annual per-pupil funding
from $3,530 this year to $3,875 in 2001. [That
increase also includes a shift of $43 per pupil
that used to be in a separate component called
graduation standards funding].

General formula funding is figured on
weighted per-pupil units, with secondary stu-
dents receiving more revenue than elemen-
tary students. The proposed hike would cost
the state $204 million, which would be part of
the $6 billion sent to districts in general for-
mula funding during the biennium.

A failed amendment proposed by Rep. Len
Biernat (DFL-Mpls) would have raised the
formula by another $200 per pupil for the
1999-2000 school year. And Rep. Alice Johnson
(DFL-Spring Lake Park) offered another
amendment, also unsuccessful, that would
have increased the formula by $100 per pupil
for the next school year. Johnson said many
districts will still have to cut staff under the

K-12 finance bill  .  .  .

House moves to increase funding, cut class sizes

House proposal, with factors such as declin-
ing enrollment negating the effects of the pro-
posed $127 per pupil increase.

Class-size reduction
The measure would also spend about $107

million over the next two years for class-size
reduction initiatives. That’s about $43 million
less than the governor proposed.

But the House plan closely resembles
Ventura’s plan in other details. The funds
would be targeted to kindergarten through
third grade, with the goal of reducing class
sizes, primarily in reading and math, to 17
children per one teacher.

Districts would have to submit a plan to the
commissioner of the Department of Children,
Families and Learning, and upon approval
they would receive $125 per kindergartner
and $250 per first- through third-grader. Dis-
tricts that have already met that 17-to-1 goal
in those grades could use the funding for
reducing class sizes in higher grades, provid-
ing all-day kindergarten, increasing staff, or
improving technology and other programs.

School breakfasts
The bill would also establish a grant pro-

gram aimed at ensuring that all children eat
breakfast each school day. Almost $6 million
over two years would go to districts that have

high percentages of students receiving free or
reduced-price lunches.

The grants would expand the current Fast
Break to Learning program, which provides
money for in-school breakfast to 41 districts.
Ventura also recommended expanding the
program with the same amount of funding,
but Seagren said the House proposal allows
the districts more flexibility.

Under both plans, districts would have to
match every $3 of state money with $1 of local
funding. But while Ventura’s proposal would
require schools to make the local match by
charging non-eligible students for breakfast,
the House plan would also allow districts to
solicit money from non-public sources.

“Some of the pilot schools have had local
business support, and if they already have a
sponsor who picks up that tab, that’s okay,”
Seagren said.

A successful amendment sponsored by Rep.
Tony Kielkucki (R-Lester Prairie) would redi-
rect a portion of the funding originally tar-
geted to the breakfast program to a hot lunch
program. Kielkucki said the number of lunches
served statewide is rising, federal requirements
are increasing the price per meal, and 80 per-
cent of the state’s hot lunch programs are
operating at a deficit.

An omnibus K-12 spending bill passed by the House would target more school funding to rural and
suburban districts, as well as provide extra money for reducing class sizes in all schools.
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Safety at school
Two amendments dealing with school safety

were discussed during the House floor debate
on the omnibus bill.

One plan, offered by Rep. George Cassell
(R-Alexander) and accepted by lawmakers on
the floor, would make it easier for teachers to
remove disruptive students from classrooms.
It would lower the current standard for stu-
dent behavior that constitutes grounds for
expulsion, suspension, or removal from the
classroom.

The provision is identical to a bill, spon-
sored by House Majority Leader Tim Pawlenty
(R-Eagan), that the House passed April 21.
Cassell said he wanted to ensure that the mea-
sure didn’t get lost in the shuffle by incorpo-
rating it into the omnibus bill.

But an amendment that would have provided
money for districts to implement safety plans
was rejected by lawmakers. Rep. Betty Folliard
(DFL-Hopkins), who offered the amendment,
said that the recent tragedy in a Colorado high
school emphasized the need for schools to have
effective safety plans in place. And although
most districts have already initiated some sort of
safety plan, Folliard said that lack of money is
holding most districts back from fully imple-
menting those plans.

Folliard’s proposal would have taken $100
million slated for projects in individual districts
under the omnibus bill and used the money
instead to provide school safety grants. Districts
would have been able to use the grants to provide
hallway monitors, police department liaisons, or
to initiate other safety programs.

Blocking pornography
The omnibus measure would also require

all computers at public school libraries to be
equipped with content-screening software to
prevent minors from seeing “obscene and
harmful” material on the Internet. A success-
ful amendment by Rep. Peggy Leppik (R-
Golden Valley) limits the provision to apply
only to public school libraries, while an un-
successful amendment by Rep. Joe Opatz
(DFL-St. Cloud) would have extended the
requirement to all libraries.

Opatz argued that the blocking software
should be required especially at state college
libraries because so many high school stu-
dents attend those schools under the state’s
post-secondary enrollment options.

But Leppik disagreed.
“We cannot be guardians for our children

throughout their lives,” she said. “I think the
cord is cut when they make that decision,
along with their parents, to go to a post-
secondary institution.”

The first Superintendent of
Public Instruction, in his
original report to the Terri-
torial Legislature in 1852,
focused on familiar themes
in education — including
adequate facilities, teacher

salaries, and graduation standards.
But he never once used the term “pupil

unit,” a loathsome bit of government-speak
that is now commonplace.

The Rev. Dr. Edward Duffield Neill had
been appointed superin-
tendent by the Territorial
Legislature in 1851. He
later served as the chan-
cellor of the University of
Minnesota and founded
Macalester College in St.
Paul.

In his book, The His-
tory of Minnesota, Neill in-
cludes an excerpt of his
speech to the Legislature
because, as he wrote, “a
portion of it may be in-
teresting to future educa-
tors of the state.”

Under the school code established by the
Territorial Legislature in 1849, school dis-
tricts could be organized in townships con-
sisting of five or more families. And
townships with ten or more families could
organize more than one district.

Districts were funded mainly by an an-
nual property tax and were governed by a
board of three trustees, elected for one-year
terms by the taxpayers of the district.

In the 1852 report, Neill noted that there
were 12 districts organized in the Minne-
sota Territory at the time — four in Wash-
ington County and eight in Ramsey County.
And the territory had only five school build-
ings. The largest building — 24 feet by 34
feet — was built in St. Anthony at a cost of
$600. The smallest building was 16 feet by
18 feet.

Like many education officials today, Neill
advocated improvements in school facili-
ties. But where the current debate focuses
on issues like replacing outdated comput-
ers with new computers, Neill argued that
log cabin schools should be replaced with
actual school buildings.

“The buildings that have been erected for
school purposes are far in advance of the log
huts that were formerly erected by pioneer
settlers . . .  which even the cows of the

Foresight of early leader shaped schools
farmer might blush to own as their resting
place,” he said.

But he said these facilities did need im-
provements because well-maintained
schools were “so necessary to cultivate neat
and modest habits in youth.”

“Unless some care is shown, it will not
be long before the schoolhouses will look
as dilapidated as the drunkard’s dwelling,”
he said.

And he called for schools to be centered
in the land set aside within each township

to provide enough space
for students to play. This,
he believed, would pro-
mote the new territory to
visitors and newcomers.

“Nothing raises a popu-
lation so much in the es-
timation of a traveler or
emigrant, as to see a
crowd of boys issuing
from a pleasant school-
house, to play during the
recess upon a capacious
lawn,” he said.

Neill also led an early
fight to provide decent

pay for the “noble” profession of teachers.
At that time, good pay meant wages higher
than a servant’s pay.

Neill reported that Minnesota was al-
ready a leader in paying teachers.

“Immediately after the organization of
our school districts, the ground was taken
by the friends of education, that so valu-
able a member of society as the faithful
teacher should receive at least the wages of
an ordinary day laborer,” he said.

Long before the Profile of Learning de-
bate, Neill tackled the subject of gradua-
tion standards.

He disagreed that local districts should
establish these standards and suggested
that the local standards would “burlesque”
the state’s education system. And he ar-
gued that those provisions in the territo-
rial school code giving local trustees the
power to grant degrees should be repealed.

In Neill’s view, that power should be-
long solely to the regents of the University
of Minnesota.

“To grant such high powers to the trust-
ees of a common school district, who are
elected annually, not by those who feel a
lively interest in education, but [by the
taxpayers of the district] is to degrade edu-
cation,” he said.

The Rev. Dr. Edward Duffield Neill

Continued on page 18
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Week in Review .  .  .  April 22 - 29, 1999

Financial relief for farmers

A proposal to spend $70 million to
help Minnesota’s farmers became
law April 23 without Gov. Jesse
Ventura’s signature. The new law
took effect April 24.

In a letter filed with the new law,
Ventura said he knows “there is hurt” among
the state’s farmers.

“However, I also know that there are many
farms, especially large corporate farms, that
are posting profits,” Ventura wrote. “My ob-
jections to this farm relief package remain
threefold: There is no means-testing to ensure
that relief is targeted; the money is spent in
one lump sum, leaving no funds for future
problems; and the farm package was split away
from the original rebate when it was entirely
unnecessary to do so.”

The governor also suggested that some-
thing ought to be done to address the condi-
tions that created the current farm crisis.

“The economics of the agricultural indus-
try are such that no reasonable person believes
that next year will be dramatically better,”
Ventura wrote. “A long-term commitment to
market and innovative product development
will do more than any cash relief.”

The new law will provide payments to farm-
ers under one of two plans.

Crop farmers will receive a payment equal
to $4 per acre with a $5,600 maximum per
farm. Livestock producers on operations less
than 160 acres will receive a payment equal to
the first half of their 1999 property taxes.

Payments will be made to farmers who rent
farmland, as well as owner-operators. Pay-
ments will be prorated among partners —
according to the percentage of risk — when
multiple parties are involved in the operation
of the farm.

Most farmers will receive between $2,000
and $3,000 in aid. The money should be in the
hands of farmers by June or July.

Under the plan, the Department of Rev-
enue will send forms and instructions to the
county Farm Service Administrations offices,
which will be charged with contacting farmers.

Rep. Ron Abrams (R-Minnetonka) and Sen.
Doug Johnson (DFL-Tower) sponsored the
measure.

HF1*/SF106/CH112

AGRICULTURE

BUSINESS

Signed
by the

governor

Feedlot exemption approved

The House passed a bill April 28 that would
give farmers more leeway in handling feedlot
waste. The vote was100-29.

Rep. Howard Swenson (R-Nicollet), the
bill’s sponsor, said it is a common-sense mea-
sure that would assure farmers won’t be pun-
ished for actions they cannot avoid. The bill
would exempt operators from standards for
ambient hydrogen sulfide emission levels on
days manure is being removed from barns or
storage facilities and handled for application
on land or other disposal.

Although the manure-containing basins
found at most feedlots are covered with a thick
odor-reducing crust most of the time, that
crust occasionally must be removed so the
manure solids can be extracted. The byproduct
is often spread on nearby land as a natural
fertilizer.

The air can get rather pungent during those
times, and hydrogen sulfide levels can rise
above what is allowed by regulators.

The bill (HF1235) would exempt operators
from the hydrogen sulfide restrictions for up
to 14 days per year. Operators would have to
notify those living within 5,000 feet of the
facility about expected high levels of the pol-
lutant within five days of the stirring process,
which usually takes place twice a year.

In floor action, Rep. Ted Winter (DFL-
Fulda) offered a successful amendment that
would also mandate notification to the Pollu-
tion Control Agency or the appropriate county
agency.

Swenson argued the amendment would sim-
ply add another burden to already over-
burdened farmers.

Rep. John Tuma (R-Northfield) sided with
Winter.

“One more phone call is not going to cause
this farmer to go broke,” Tuma said.

Rep. Jean Wagenius (DFL-Mpls) questioned
whether the bill would be constitutional since
it would allow essentially a “taking” of a neigh-
bors property, albeit only for a short time,
without just compensation.

An unsuccessful amendment proposed
when the bill was before the House Agricul-
ture Policy Committee would have required
feedlot operators to pay for lodging and meals
for neighbors during the semi-annual stirring
process.

The bill now goes to the Senate.

Crops as collateral

A new law signed by the governor
April 27 changes the way the state
regards security interests in agri-
cultural crops.

Under existing law, when a crop is
used as security for a loan, the legal

description of the field where the crop is grown
has to be included in the filing statement.

The new law, effective Aug. 1, will remove that
provision and make other small changes in how
crops used for security interest are handled.

Historically, the security derived from an
agricultural crop was linked to the field so a
creditor could determine the location of the
crop in which the creditor had an interest.
Critics of that practice argued that the crop
must be in the bin before it can be sold and that
the value of the crop is what matters, not the
value of the parcel of land.

Rep. Carol Molnau (R-Chaska) and Sen.
Jim Vickerman (DFL-Tracy) sponsored the
measure.

HF1052/SF451*/CH105

New warehouse regulations

A new law signed April 27 updates
Minnesota statutes dealing with
warehouses, which were written
originally in 1915.

Effective Aug. 1, warehouse op-
erators will no longer be required

to provide paper receipts for items in storage.
Many warehouses deal with multi-national
companies and conduct business electroni-
cally, making it impossible to fulfill the letter
of the old law.

Warehouse operators will also be able to
choose which accounting practices they wish
to use in running their business, rather than
having them mandated by the state.

Also, the new law separates household goods
warehouse owners, who usually deal with the
public, from general operators, who usually
deal only with companies and corporations.
That provision also changes bonding practice,
making it less onerous for certain warehouse
operators.

Rep. Dan Dorman (R-Albert Lea) and Sen.
Paula Hanson (DFL-Ham Lake) sponsored
the measure.

HF893/SF1041*/CH110

Signed
by the

governor

Filed
without

signature
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Signed
by the

governor

Stock sale changes

A new law signed April 27 makes it
easier for companies to issue and
sell small stocks to investors.

The law, effective April 28, makes
technical changes in state law re-
garding stock holdings of smaller

companies. Of those changes, the required
value for such stocks is lowered from $5 to $1
per share.

Another change requires the commissioner
of commerce to approve the sale of stock no
more than 20 days after the securities registra-
tion form is filed. Under the old law, there was
no such deadline.

Rep. Bill Haas (R-Champlin) and Sen. Don
Betzold (DFL-Fridley) sponsored the
legislation.

HF661/SF832*/CH103

EDUCATIONSCHOOL

ENVIRONMENT

ELECTIONS

CRIME

Signed
by the

governor

Signed
by the

governor

Drug law loophole closed

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a new
law April 27 that will close a loop-
hole for people guilty of multiple
drug crimes.

Current law allows courts to de-
fer judgement for certain first-time

drug offenders as long as the offender agrees
to participate in diversion programs.

But if the same person commits another
drug crime, the stay of adjudication doesn’t
apply as a prior conviction for the purposes of
enhanced penalties for repeat offenders. As a
result, the offender is only sentenced as if he or
she has no prior convictions.

The new law, effective Aug. 1, will make
such stays of adjudication the same as a prior
drug conviction when courts consider if the
enhanced penalty can apply.

House Majority Leader Tim Pawlenty (R-
Eagan) and Sen. David Knutson (R-Burnsville)
sponsored the measure.

HF142*/SF1634/CH98

Offenders banned from boards

A new law signed April 26 prohib-
its registered sex offenders from
becoming school board members.

Any person who has been con-
victed of a sexual offense and is a
registered predatory offender will

be ineligible to run for election to a local
school board, under the measure.

The law, effective Aug. 1, follows a New
Ulm school board election that included a
candidate who had served 41 months in prison
for sexual abuse. The man’s history was re-
vealed shortly before the election, and he was
not elected.

Sen. Dennis Frederickson (R-New Ulm),
who sponsored the legislation in the Senate,
said that incident prompted him to introduce
the measure this year.

He said sex offenders should not have ac-
cess to positions of authority over children,
especially those that would allow them en-
trance to school facilities.

Rep. Marty Seifert (R-Marshall) sponsored
the bill in the House.

HF1845/SF1527*/CH101

Preventing errors at polls

The House passed a bill April 28 that would
change state law imposing penalties for voting
in the wrong precinct. The vote was 124-8.

Voting in the wrong precinct is a felony in
Minnesota, under current law. But prosecu-
tion under that law is rare.

Under the bill (HF1168/SF1144*), a person
who votes in the wrong precinct would receive
a letter from the Office of the Secretary of State
citing the mistake and informing the person of
the correct polling place.

The person would then have to provide
proof of residency before voting in the next
election. If the same person votes in the wrong
precinct a second time it would be considered
a misdemeanor, and a third instance would be
considered a felony.

Rep. Chris Gerlach (R-Apple Valley), spon-
sor of the bill, said so many instances of voting
in the wrong place are reported that county
attorneys do not prosecute them as felonies.
Gerlach said the instances are most often mis-
understandings, and the bill would make it
easier to discover instances of repeated
violations.

Gerlach argued that current law makes it
hard to distinguish between mistakes and de-
liberate instances of fraud, so the crime goes
unpunished. But if a smaller number of people
could be identified as repeat offenders, he said
it would be more feasible for offenders to be
prosecuted.

Another provision in the bill would drop
the requirement that a person can only be a
witness to vouch for another person to regis-
ter to vote if both people live in the same
county.

The bill now goes to the governor.

Funding for environment

The House passed an $1.1 billion omnibus
spending bill for agriculture, environment,
and natural resources April 27. The vote was
86-43.

On the House floor, lawmakers from dis-
tricts near the Minneapolis-St. Paul Interna-
tional Airport added a provision to help some
residents deal with airport noise, which they
said is a serious environmental issue.

Rep. Ann Lenczewski (DFL-Bloomington)
proposed requiring the Metropolitan Airports
Commission (MAC) to determine the costs of
mitigating the noise in those homes and build-
ings and to report the information to the
House and Senate environment and natural
resources committees.

Lenczewski said the airport commission
studied whether the airport should expand at
its current location or if it should move. And
the decision to remain in Bloomington came
with a promise to pay for insulating those
homes, churches, and other public buildings
that would be affected by the expansion. Now,
she said, the Legislature needs to hold the
commission to that promise.

“The burden doesn’t belong on state tax-
payers, and it certainly doesn’t belong on those
communities,” she said. “This provision puts
that burden where it belongs, on the MAC.”

Lawmakers also voted to scrap proposed fee
increases for fishing and hunting licenses,
which would have raised $4.5 million in new
revenue.

Rep. Mark Holsten (R-Stillwater), chair of
the House Environment and Natural Re-
sources Committee and sponsor of the bill
(HF2388), said the committee’s priorities were
to spend money to physically improve the
environment, as opposed to expanding ad-
ministrative services or studies. He also said
the committee tried to work toward imple-
menting solutions suggested by past studies
and making the best use of programs that
bring in federal grants.

The proposed increases in license fees re-
flected those priorities, Holsten said. Revenue
from those licenses would go into the game
and fish fund, which is used for a variety of
projects that benefit game and non-game
wildlife.

Hunting and fishing groups support the fee
increase, Holsten said, because the additional
money would go toward improving the sports
in the state. Hunting license fees have not
increased since 1991, he added.

But Rep. Mary Liz Holberg (R-Lakeville)
proposed keeping the fees at current rates.
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“I was sent here to represent the people in
my district, and I haven’t heard any of them
say they want higher fees,” she said.

Most House members agreed with her and
voted 99-33 to eliminate the proposed fee
increase.

Rep. Tim Finseth (R-Angus) later proposed
a successful amendment that would direct the
Office of Strategic and Long-Range Planning
to study removing the fish and wildlife divi-
sion from the Department of Natural Re-
sources. Finseth said without the revenue from
fee increases, the state will need to look at ways
to reorganize the DNR in hopes of allocating
more money to maintain the quality of fishing
and hunting in the state.

House members also debated senior citizen
discounts on hunting and fishing licenses.
Rep. Kris Hasskamp (DFL-Crosby) proposed
offering senior citizens a rebate so they can get
their licenses for free. Her amendment failed.

Holsten said he opposes such a rebate be-
cause seniors already receive discounts on li-
censes. A $15 fishing license, for example,
costs only $5.50 for people age 65 and older.
And as more baby boomers approach that age,
a huge decrease in revenue would coincide
with an increase in the number of retired
people who could spend more time fishing
and hunting.

Rep. Dennis Ozment (R-Rosemount), chair
of the House Environment and Natural Re-
sources Policy Committee, agreed, saying
Hasskamp’s proposal “may make short-term
politics sound good, but it’s lousy for long-
term policy.”

Personal watercraft fees
The bill would increase license fees for per-

sonal watercraft, but it would also remove a
$50 surcharge on those licenses. The proposed
license would cost $25.

Rep. Bill Haas (R-Champlin) proposed
keeping the license at its current fee of $12, but
the House voted against his amendment.

Rep. Tom Osthoff (DFL-St. Paul) spoke
against Haas’ proposal, because money from
those licenses is spent on enforcement of laws
regulating use of personal watercraft.

Minneapolis vs. Kondirator
The bill would require the city of Minne-

apolis and other state and local authorities to
issue permits to allow a metal shredding facil-
ity to be located along the Mississippi River.

Rep. Gregory Gray (DFL-Mpls) proposed
eliminating the sections of the bill referring to
the facility, called a Kondirator, because it
would circumvent a court case between the
city of Minneapolis and American Iron &
Supply Co., the firm that has proposed build-
ing the facility.

“People are actively working in good faith
toward resolution of this issue,” he said.

Ozment spoke against Gray’s proposal, be-
cause the company already received a permit
from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

“I think it’s important to raise the bar for
good environmental reasons,” Ozment said.
“But when a company makes it over the bar we
set, enough is enough.”

Lawmakers voted 76-54 against Gray’s
amendment.

Farm initiatives
A proposal designed to benefit family farms

that operate feedlots was defeated by a margin
of only one vote.

The amendment, proposed by Rep. Mary
Ellen Otremba (DFL-Long Prairie), would
have required the Pollution Control Agency
to consider imposing less stringent rules for
feedlot operators who live at the site of the
feedlot.

Owners living on-site would have to live
with the smell of manure and would get their
drinking water from the site, Otremba said.
And that, she said, would create “self-moti-
vated regulation.” She said that could lead to
less demand for employees at the Pollution
Control Agency.

“A lot of us want to start trusting people
more and relying on government less,”
Otremba said.

Disaster relief, marketing initiatives, and a
proposed $74.7 million appropriation for etha-
nol producer payments are among the agri-
culture provisions of the bill. The ethanol
funding would bring several processing plants
to full capacity. It would also add $3 million to
a proposed ethanol plant in St. Paul. And
marketing initiatives would be developed
through the Agriculture Utilization and Re-
search Institute and the commissioner of
agriculture.

The bill now moves to a House-Senate con-
ference committee.

GOVERNMENT

Signed
by the
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Signed
by the

governor

New effort to halt milfoil

The governor signed a measure
April 23 that modifies the state’s
policy for controlling the spread of
Eurasian water milfoil and other
exotic species.

The Minnesota Department of
Natural Resources (DNR) developed the Ex-
otic Species Program after Eurasian water
milfoil was found in Lake Minnetonka in 1987
and zebra mussels were found in Duluth har-
bor. The program includes inspection of boats
and trailers at launching sites of lakes that are
known to be infested.

The new law, effective April 25, extends
those inspections to lakes that are not infested,
and it allows more time for those inspections.
Under previous law, the DNR inspected boats
from May 1 to Oct. 15 each year, but that
period will now be extended to the entire open
water season.

Previous law also prohibited people from
harvesting bait from infested waters. The new
law allows the DNR to grant permits for that
purpose to people who have had training in
handling exotic species.

Rep. Larry Howes (R-Hackensack) and Sen.
Leonard Price (DFL-Woodbury) sponsored
the measure.

HF1248/SF1528*/CH92.

Paul Bunyan trail route

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a law
April 23 that alters the route of the
Paul Bunyan State Trail.

Starting in the city of Baxter —
near Paul Bunyan Land amusement
park — the trail runs along an aban-

doned stretch of railroad right-of-way land
and is used by walkers, bikers, and
snowmobilers in Minnesota’s popular resort
areas.

The trail is nearly one-half completed, and
when finished, the path will stretch 100 miles
north to Bemidji.

The law changes the starting and ending
points of the trail to state parks instead of
cities. The Baxter starting point will be changed
to Crow Wing State Park, and the Bemidji end
point will be moved to Lake Bemidji State
Park.

The measure also permits the use of motor-
ized wheelchairs or carts used by those with
physical disabilities on trails that otherwise
restrict the use of motorized vehicles.

Rep. Steve Wenzel (DFL-Little Falls) and
Sen. Don Samuelson (DFL-Brainerd) spon-
sored the legislation. The new law is effective
Aug. 1.

HF1944/SF1470*/CH95

State agency funding passed

The House voted April 22 to pass an omni-
bus state government finance bill that would
place a cap on the overall growth of state
worker salaries and would cut spending on
some state agencies. The vote was 70-59.

The $639.6 million in the bill (HF2386/
SF2223*) is about $100 million less than Gov.
Jesse Ventura’s recommendation, and some
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lawmakers questioned whether the cuts would
be reasonable.

Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St. Paul) said the
decision to cut funding for the Office of Citi-
zenship and Volunteer Services is “really bad
public policy.”

“Minnesota has the highest rate of
volunteerism in the United States, and that
doesn’t just happen by accident,” he said.

Other House members took exception to
the provision that would limit salaries for state
employees in all executive branch agencies
and in the Legislature.

Under the bill, the amount spent on salaries
for fiscal year 2000 could not exceed 101 per-
cent of the amount spent in fiscal year 1999.
And in the year 2001, the amount could not
exceed 103 percent of the amount spent for
fiscal year 2000.

Rep. Lyndon Carlson (DFL-Crystal) called
the proposal an across-the-board cut that
doesn’t take into account functions of state
agencies. If enrollment increases in the Min-
nesota State Colleges and Universities system,
for example, new employees in those colleges
could only be hired at the expense of other
state agencies. And employees in some agen-
cies bring in revenue to the state, Carlson said,
so cuts in those areas would have other nega-
tive impacts.

House Majority Leader Tim Pawlenty (R-
Eagan) commended Rep. Phil Krinkie (R-
Shoreview), chairman of the House State
Government Finance Committee and spon-
sor of the bill, for his work on the omnibus
legislation. He said many people have talked
about streamlining government, but Krinkie
has backed up his talk.

“The people we have in our systems are
good; it’s the systems that from time to time
need a little updating,” Pawlenty said. “We’ve
got to force these systems to take a look at
themselves, to re-evaluate priorities, to em-
brace the future, to think about efficiency and
innovation, and not just be guardians of the
status quo.”

Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-Virginia) dis-
agreed with Pawlenty’s rosy assessment of the
bill.

“This is a bill people love to hate, but why
did you have to make it so easy for us to hate?”
Rukavina asked.

Krinkie said the bill should be taken in
context with all of the needs of state govern-
ment. The House has supported other bills
that would increase state spending on health
and human services and on education.

Those increases mean less money is avail-
able for state agencies, Krinkie said. He ac-
knowledged that he has reservations about
some provisions of the bill, but he said that it

reflects the priorities of the House leadership.
Krinkie also said there are many positive pro-

visions in the bill, such as continued funding for
bonuses to Persian Gulf War veterans, one-time
spending to support a federal World War II
veterans’ memorial, funding to the State Board
for the Arts at the same level as the previous
biennium, and $20 million in revolving funds
for local governments in case vital computer
systems fail to because of the Y2K bug.

The House voted to delete a provision that
would require the commissioner of adminis-
tration to develop a request for bids to operate
the Rush City correctional facility, which
would have allowed private vendors and the
State Department of Corrections to submit
proposals for how the facility would be man-
aged and how much it would cost.

The bill now moves to a House-Senate con-
ference committee to reconcile differences in
the two versions of the bill.

Signed
by the

governor

Hmong women rally for support for welfare and education issues on the Capitol steps April 23.

Capitol rally

Zoo funding to conference

A bill that would pay $17 million to state
agencies and departments with budget short-
falls in the current fiscal year is headed for a
House-Senate conference committee.

The House voted not to accept the Senate
version of the bill April 27. There was opposi-
tion to the Senate plan mainly because it does
not contain a provision that would require the
Minnesota Zoo to develop a plan to become a
private nonprofit organization instead of a
state agency.

The zoo would receive $600,000 under the
House version of the bill, compared to

$1 million under the Senate version. Rep.
Dave Bishop (R-Rochester) is sponsoring the
House bill (HF878/SF2234*).

Rep. Tom Osthoff (DFL-St. Paul) said the
House provisions are especially important,
because a separate agriculture, environment,
and natural resources omnibus bill contains
additional funding to cover projected budget
shortfalls at the zoo over the next biennium.

Among the other proposed payments in
Bishop’s bill are $3.5 million to the Depart-
ment of Children, Families and Learning to
pay legal costs of two major lawsuits — one in
Minneapolis and one in St. Paul. Both involve
claims that school districts are providing con-
stitutionally inadequate education.

The Department of Public Safety would
receive $629,000 to pay for license plates for
new automobiles, due to higher than expected
automobile sales and other factors. That money
would be paid back as the license plates are
sold. The department would also receive
$200,000 to pay for additional security for
Gov. Jesse Ventura.

Other areas that would receive funds are the
Campaign Finance and Disclosure Board,
Department of Human Services, and State
Services for the Blind.

Commission membership cut

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed into law
April 26 a measure that will shrink
the size of the Legislative Audit
Commission and change some of
its duties.

As of Jan. 1, 2000, the commis-
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sion will only be made up of 16 members.
Twenty legislators now serve on the commis-
sion, which works with the legislative auditor
to choose which organizations and programs
will be subject to financial evaluations.

The commission’s membership was in-
creased to 20 members in 1997 to increase
bipartisanship, but Rep. Dan McElroy
(R-Burnsville) said that is no longer a con-
cern. McElroy is the current chair of the
Legislative Audit Commission.

Under the law, four members from each of
the House and Senate caucuses will serve on
the commission.

The law also strikes a past requirement that
the chairs of the House and Senate tax com-
mittees must be commission members.

In an effort to reduce paperwork, the new
law eliminates some reports previously re-
quired of the auditor or various state agencies.
The measure also requires the deputy legisla-
tive auditor to hold an active certified public
accountant’s license and clarifies data privacy
guidelines for audit data.

Except for the membership provisions, the
law is effective April 27.

Sen. Deanna Wiener (DFL-Eagan), the
commission’s vice chair, sponsored the legis-
lation in the Senate.

HF1003*/SF840/CH99

Too young to serve

Nursing home administrators must
be at least 21 years of age, under the
terms of a new law effective
April 27.

The new law also enacts other
housekeeping changes requested by

the Board of Examiners for Nursing Home
Administrators.

The minimum age for nursing home ad-
ministrators was lowered to 18 during the
Vietnam War era, when the prevailing feeling
was that anyone old enough for military ser-
vice was old enough to serve in most public
positions.

Over the years, board rules and state law on
the age issue had come into conflict. The new
law brings them into uniformity and sets the
minimum age at 21.

The law also allows a permit process for
acting administrators who in the past had to
obtain a full-fledged license to serve as admin-
istrator on a temporary basis.

The law further makes board members (and
others investigating violations of laws and rules
administered by the board) immune from
civil liability and criminal prosecution when

performing their duties, as long as they act in
good faith.

Rep. Fran Bradley (R-Rochester) and Sen.
Dallas Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored the
measure.

HF1309/SF1273*/CH102

HOUSING

Signed
by the

governor

Signed
by the

governor

Signed
by the

governor

Signed
by the

governor

Chiropractic care contracts

A new law signed April 23 clarifies
the way managed care networks
deal with chiropractors in the state.

Effective Aug. 1, networks will be
prohibited from requiring chiro-
practors to provide care under cat-

egories of coverage other than those specified
in their contract, unless the chiropractor
consents.

Chiropractors have complained that health
maintenance organizations and preferred pro-
vider organizations may have used their gen-
eral health contracts as “bait” to later dump
the chiropractors into a network of providers
of noncertified workers’ compensation or auto
personal injury lines of coverage without prior
notification.

If the chiropractor doesn’t agree to the other
lines of coverage, he or she can lose the con-
tract entirely.

The new law will prevent the health insurers
from terminating a contract for this reason,
provide time for chiropractors to review their
options, and add a mechanism under which
chiropractors can recover damages if a health
insurer violates the law.

Rep. Doug Reuter (R-Owatonna) and Sen.
Edward Oliver (R-Deephaven) sponsored the
measure.

HF566/SF673*/CH94

Guaranteed coverage

A new law that brings Minnesota’s
law into conformation with federal
laws regarding Medicare supple-
ment insurance took effect
April 24.

Federal law enacted in 1997 re-
quires state laws to mandate guaranteed issue,
with no preexisting condition limitations, for
Medicare supplement insurance in certain situ-
ations. (Guaranteed issue means an applica-
tion for coverage cannot be turned down.)

Minnesota’s previous law contained in-
stances in which coverage wasn’t assured.

The new law took effect in time to meet the
April 29 deadline imposed by the federal gov-
ernment for enacting the changes.

Rep. Greg Davids (R-Preston) and Sen.
Edward Oliver (R-Deephaven) sponsored the
measure.

HF1968*/SF1827/CH90

Regulations on psychologists

A new law signed April 27 clarifies
fee-splitting practices for psycholo-
gists and stiffens penalties for vio-
lating the Psychology Practice Act,
among other provisions.

Effective Aug. 1, the new law
makes it explicit that what is prohibited is
“kickbacks,” not legitimate divisions of rev-
enue in a business made in proportion to the
psychological services provided.

Violating the Psychology Practice Act will
become a gross misdemeanor instead of a
misdemeanor, making it the same penalty for
violating practice acts used by other profes-
sions, including medicine, nursing, and social
work.

Rep. Richard Mulder (R-Ivanhoe) and Sen.
Steve Kelley (DFL-Hopkins) sponsored the
measure.

HF984/SF983*/CH109

New regulations for deposits

The governor signed a new law
April 26 that will specify how pre-
lease deposit agreements can be made
between landlords and tenants.

A pre-lease deposit is money put
down on an apartment by a pro-

spective tenant to help secure the apartment.
The pre-lease deposit doesn’t include money
provided to the landlord for credit or criminal
background checks.

The new measure, effective Aug. 1, will re-
quire that tenants and landlords must have
the terms of the pre-lease deposit in writing,
including how the deposit would be returned
if the tenant isn’t accepted by the landlord.
The law also requires the deposit to be re-
turned within seven days as specified in the
agreement.

If a landlord accepts the tenant, the law will
require the pre-lease deposit to go toward
either the damage deposit or the rent. And the
new law provides legal remedies if the terms
for pre-lease deposits are violated.

Proponents argue that the law regulating
such deposits is necessary because the state is
seeing a shortage of affordable housing and
the practice of requiring pre-lease deposits is
becoming more common. They say the new
law will provide protection for both landlords
and tenants who make these agreements.

Rep. Dan McElroy (R-Burnsville) and Sen.
Steven Novak (DFL-New Brighton) sponsored
the measure.

HF1178*/SF1253/CH97
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Czech senators

Rep. John Tuma introduces Czech senators Petr Pithart, left, and Frankisek Meziborak, center, to
the House of Representatives on April 27. The two were in town as part of Czech President Vaclav
Havel’s delegation visiting the Twin Cities this week.

INSURANCE
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Seeking health coverage options

The House passed a bill April 28 that is
designed to increase competition in the state’s
health care insurance arena. The vote was
116-14.

Bill sponsor Rep. Bill Haas (R-Champlin)
said the measure would provide options for
less expensive and less comprehensive em-
ployee health policies for small businesses,
many of them in rural areas.

Haas’ bill (HF870/SF841*) would permit
insurance companies that do not already have
a major presence in the state to offer alterna-
tives to the minimum state-mandated policies.

Under existing state law, insurers and health
maintenance organizations may offer only one
of two policies for small employers.

The bill would permit policies with differ-
ent copayments and deductibles, as well as
those that would pay on a basis other than
medical expenses incurred, such as a flat dol-
lar amount per day in the hospital or a flat
dollar amount upon a diagnosis of cancer.

The policies would have to be sold only to
companies that have 50 or fewer employees.

Haas’ bill was amended on the House floor
to include five specific areas of coverage that
would have to be part of the alternative health
plans the bill would allow.

Those amendments would mandate cover-

age for breast cancer screening, cleft palate
treatment, minimum maternity hospital stays,
outpatient mental health treatment services,
and immediate coverage for newborns.

Haas warned that each mandate added
would drive the cost of the minimum policy
up and eventually defeat the purpose of the
bill.

And Rep. Fran Bradley (R-Rochester) said
the amendments were making a “Christmas
tree” out of the bill and reminded his House
colleagues that the mandates would impact
only a small portion of Minnesotans, because
the bill would not affect the many people who
are covered by large employers’ self-insurance
programs.

The House rejected an amendment that
would have required the newly developed
minimum health plans to be “test-driven” on
House members.

Rep. Wes Skoglund (DFL-Mpls) said it was
only fair that Legislators should be willing to
take part in something they would be asking
employees of small companies to accept.

Prior to the vote on the bill, Skoglund said
the health insurance policies that could result
from the bill would be “little better than noth-
ing.”

The bill moves to the Senate.

Covering funeral costs

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a mea-
sure April 26 that will update the
law regarding insurance for funeral
or burial expenses.

The law, effective Aug. 1, allows
funeral home owners, directors,

and employees to receive commissions from
the sale of insurance contracts totaling $20,000
or less. However, the commissions only apply
to “pre-need” contracts, or those purchased
before the services are needed.

In addition, the law clarifies the definition
of who can make decisions regarding a person’s
funeral arrangements. Current law allows such
decisions to be made only by family, next of
kin, or another representative. The new law
will simply state that such decisions can be
made by one who has the legal authority to act
on behalf of the deceased.

Rep. Greg Davids (R-Preston) and Sen.
Arlene Lesewski (R-Marshall) sponsored the
measure.

HF1150/SF1182*/CH100

LAW

If you have Internet access, visit the
Legislature’s web page at:

http://www.leg.state.mn.us

Seat belt bill vetoed

Gov. Jesse Ventura vetoed a bill
April 27 that would have changed
the so-called seat belt gag rule to
allow defective seat belt claims to
move forward in court.

In his veto message, Ventura wrote that the
Legislature overstepped its bounds by desig-
nating what evidence the courts can consider.

“It is not the place of the Legislature or the
executive branch to determine what evidence is,
or is not, admissible in a court of law,” he wrote.

The current gag rule law states that the fact
that a person is wearing or not wearing a seat
belt cannot be considered by the courts when
deciding personal injury or property damage
claims resulting from a car crash.

In a 1997 case, the Minnesota Supreme
Court ruled that the gag rule law, as it is
written, also applies to cases in which the
claim is filed against the auto manufacturer
for a defective seat belt.

If plaintiffs can’t establish that they were
actually wearing the seat belt, they can’t prove
that the seat belt caused or failed to prevent the
injury. And the cases cannot move forward.

The bill would have simply exempted claims
of defective or malfunctioning seat belts from
the gag rule law.

Ventura argued that the bill didn’t go far
enough and that the entire gag rule should be
repealed.

Vetoed
by the

governor
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“Only a full repeal will ensure citizens the
right to introduce evidence at trial that is
germane to their cases and allow the other
party to refute that evidence on the same
terms,” Ventura wrote.

The governor also expressed concern that
the bill would have affected cases currently
before the courts and that the bill favors one
party over another in these cases.

“By partially repealing the seat belt gag rule
an unfair advantage will be given to one party
in the courtroom,” Ventura wrote. “Juries
should hear all of the arguments and facts in a
case before rendering a decision.”

The Senate voted to override the veto April
28. The House hasn’t yet acted on the
governor’s message. A two-thirds vote of the
House will be needed to complete the override
of Ventura’s veto.

Rep. Mary Jo McGuire (DFL-Falcon
Heights) and Sen. Leo Foley (DFL-Coon
Rapids) sponsored the measure.

HF462/SF303*/CH106

Cover for 911 dispatchers

The governor signed a new law
April 27 that will allow emergency
dispatchers to give over-the-phone
medical instructions to callers with-
out fear of legal troubles.

The measure, effective April 28,
exempts dispatchers from civil liability when
in the course of an emergency call they pro-
vide medical information before emergency
responders arrive on the scene.

Some municipalities had advised dispatch-
ers not to give medical information over the
phone because the local unit of government
could possibly be held liable in a lawsuit.

Rep. Rich Stanek (R-Maple Grove), House
sponsor of the new measure, said the law will
give emergency dispatchers the ability to do
their job “without fear of superfluous
litigation.”

Sen. Leo Foley (R-Coon Rapids) sponsored
the measure in the Senate.

HF541/SF436*/CH108

Signed
by the
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Amortization prohibition

A new law prohibits cities and coun-
ties from setting a deadline for
property owners to cease opera-
tions that do not conform to zon-
ing ordinances — a maneuver
sometimes used to force out unde-

sirable businesses or halt unpopular practices.
The practice is known as amortization and

the law, effective April 24, prohibits it except
in cases where it is used to close strip clubs and
other adults businesses.

Cities and counties can change zoning ordi-
nances to reflect changing land uses, such as a
growing business or industrial district. But if
an existing section of property becomes a non-
conforming use due to a change in zoning,
state law allows the owner of that property to
continue that use if it is not expanded.

The city or county can also condemn the
nonconforming property, but the property
owner must be paid fair market value.

Opponents of amortization call it a loop-
hole in the law, because it effectively makes the
property worthless since setting a deadline
would force an existing property to conform
to a new zoning ordinance or move. A poten-
tial buyer would have no incentive to buy the
property until after the deadline.

Rep. Peg Larsen (R-Lakeland) sponsored
the measure in the House and Sen. Keith
Langseth (DFL-Glyndon) was the Senate
sponsor.

HF896/SF854*/CH96

MILITARY

TRANSPORTATION
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Public purchasing bill vetoed

A bill that sought to raise the dol-
lar level above which cities are
required to solicit sealed bids for
purchases was vetoed April 22 by
Gov. Jesse Ventura.

Current law requires cities to solicit sealed
bids for purchases if the cost is more than
$25,000. The bill would have raised the thresh-
old to $50,000.

For purchases between $10,000 and $50,000,
the bill would have allowed cities to seek price
quotes from at least two vendors or to adver-
tise for bids.

Proponents of the bill said it would give
cities more flexibility in purchasing items in
that price range.

The bill also would have allowed cities to
purchase supplies, materials, or equipment
through a national municipal association or a
cooperative.

In a letter accompanying the veto message,
Ventura wrote that the proposal could have
increased unethical conduct in purchasing
decisions.

“The municipal contracting statute was en-
acted, in part, to ensure that municipal con-
tracts are awarded on the basis of the best
value at the best price, rather than being
awarded on the basis of favoritism,” Ventura
wrote.

“I believe that contracts should be awarded
on the basis of what you know, not who you
know. Competitive bidding is essential to

ensure that this type of favoritism does not
negatively affect a community’s interest to the
benefit of a contractor who happens to be in
favor with the city manager, mayor, or city
council.”

Rep. Bill Kuisle (R-Rochester) sponsored
the measure in the House, and Sen. Steve
Kelley (DFL-Hopkins) was the Senate
sponsor.

HF1097/SF1188*/CH82

Armory board eligibility

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a law
April 15 that will broaden eligibil-
ity for National Guard members to
serve on armory boards. The new
law takes effect Aug. 1.

Current law limits eligibility for
such positions to officers. The new law will
extend it to enlisted personnel and warrant
officers, who already perform duties of man-
agers of armories.

The measure also will allow retired Na-
tional Guard members to serve as recruiters
and to handle other temporary duties. It is
designed to give the Department of Military
Affairs more flexibility in hiring qualified
people for those temporary duties.

Rep. Bruce Anderson (R-Buffalo Township)
and Sen. Deanna Wiener (DFL-Eagan) spon-
sored the legislation.

HF1565*/SF1677/CH46

Penalties for trucking violations

A new law effective April 1, 2000,
will increase penalties for drivers
who use trucks that have been or-
dered out of service. Gov. Jesse
Ventura signed the measure
April 23.

An out-of-service order means that a truck
is damaged or defective and cannot be driven
until repairs are made. Under current law,
penalties for driving such a vehicle involve
fines for drivers and their employers.

The impetus for the new law was a potential
loss of some federal highway dollars if the state
did not step up its penalties.

Under the law, drivers will be disqualified
from driving commercial motor vehicles for
90 days after the first offense. A second offense
in five years will disqualify drivers for one to
five years, and a third offense within five years

Signed
by the

governor

Signed
by the

governor
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will result in three to five years’ disqualifica-
tion.

In addition, the Minnesota Department of
Transportation will be required to impose
fines of at least $1,000 for drivers and up to
$10,000 for employers who knowingly violate
out-of-service orders.

Rep. Tom Workman (R-Chanhassen) and
Sen. Charles Wiger (DFL-North St. Paul) spon-
sored the legislation.

HF1046/SF1324*/CH93
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Steel storage tanks

Gov. Jesse Ventura signed a law
April 23 that will change fuel stor-
age tank specifications for the
Minnesota Department of
Transportation.

Effective Aug. 1, the measure re-
quires the department’s specifications to al-
low for steel storage tanks, in addition to the
fiberglass tanks already used by the agency, to
store fuel underground.

Rep. Torrey Westrom (R-Elbow Lake) spon-
sored the bill on behalf of some steel tank
manufacturers who said the department’s
specifications were shutting them out of the
bidding process.

Under the new law, the steel tanks would
have to meet standards set by the Minnesota
Pollution Control Agency and the U.S.

Trucking regulations ditched

A new law signed April 20 elimi-
nates a registration requirement for
two types of vehicles.

Effective Aug. 1, drivers of trucks
whose taxes are based on their
weight listed on license applica-

tions and trucks traveling through the state
that need one-way permits will no longer have
to apply in writing to the Minnesota Depart-
ment of Public Safety.

Alice Gonzalo, assistant director of the
department’s Driver and Vehicle Services Divi-
sion, said the two categories are the only ones left
that require written applications. She said the
requirements will be lifted to make it easier for
the department to implement electronic regis-
tration, such as by fax or the Internet.

Rep. Rod Skoe (DFL-Clearbrook) and Sen. Carol
Flynn (DFL-Mpls) sponsored the measure.

HF1507/SF1600*/CH70

House pages take a little time from their
regular duties to enjoy a perfect spring day
April 28. They are, left to right, Sam Haswell,
Michelle Dickenson, Luke Backman, and Mike
Braboy.

It’s a beautiful day

Environmental Protection Agency before the
department could use them.

Sen. Steve Murphy (DFL-Red Wing) spon-
sored the legislation in the Senate.

HF528*/SF1529/CH88

1999 House Membership Statistics
71 Republican members

63 DFL members
99 men

35 women
20 DFL women

15 Republican women
21 newly elected members*

1 newly elected member previously served in the House
14 newly elected Republican members

7 newly elected DFL members
15.7 percent of House members did not serve last session

16 newly elected members are men
5 newly elected members are women

23.8 percent of newly elected members are women
26.1 percent of all House members are women

94.9 percent of incumbents were re-elected
0 Republican incumbents lost

6 DFL incumbents lost
15 seats were open

6 uncontested House races
0 uncontested races in DFL-held districts

* Count includes Rep. Tom Hackbarth (R-Cedar) who was elected in 1994 to one term in the House.
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where bills await action by the full body. Bills that
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By Paul Wahl

A $1.3 billion sales tax rebate
and more than $3 billion in
income tax cuts over the com-
ing biennium are the pillars of
an omnibus tax bill approved
by the House on April 29. The
vote was 95-35.

“Today is the day,” said Rep. Ron Abrams
(R-Minnetonka), chair of the House Taxes
Committee and sponsor of the omnibus bill
(HF2420). “Today is the day in which we give
Minnesotans — all Minnesotans — a tax cut,
which they richly deserve.”

The bill contains a variety of additional
income, sales, and miscellaneous tax changes.

Under the plan, more Minnesotans making
contributions to charitable organizations would
be rewarded with a deduction and Holocaust
survivors who receive financial settlements would
not have to pay state income tax.

The state’s medical services provider tax —
often called the “sick tax” — would not be
immediately eliminated under the bill; how-
ever, a phase-out is proposed over three years
or two, if sufficient state revenue is available.

Among the proposed sales tax changes are

Omnibus tax bill  .  .  .

Plan would cut income taxes, scrap ‘sick tax’

exemptions for companies filming television
commercials in the state, counties purchasing
equipment and supplies for road maintenance,
vehicles given as gifts by individuals, and prizes
for games of skill or chance at carnivals and
fairs.

The full House has already endorsed both
the rebate plan and the income tax cuts, as

provisions of a separate bill (HF878) passed
on the House floor April 13.

Here are other highlights of the omnibus
tax package.

Reverse referendum
A section of the bill would require cities and

counties of more than 2,500 people to allow
citizens to vote on a property tax levy that is
higher than the previous year’s levy.

To trigger the reverse referendum, 10 percent
of the registered voters in the jurisdiction would
have to sign a petition within 14 days after the
public hearing and adoption of the levy.

The original measure was offered by Rep.
Bob Milbert (DFL-South St. Paul), who said
he sees it as a method of protecting taxpayers.

The bill also would exempt cities and coun-
ties with populations of more than 500 from
holding a truth-in-taxation hearing if their
proposed property tax levy has not increased
over the previous year’s levy.

Also included is a provision that would
extend levy limits for cities and counties for at
least two more years.

Officials from both cities and counties had
argued that levy limits would eliminate the

need for truth-in-taxation hearings.

Tiff over TIF
Spending tax-increment finance (TIF) dol-

lars to construct or renovate facilities for so-
cial, recreational, or conference facilities or
for public parks would be prohibited under
the omnibus bill. Cities and counties would

no longer be permitted to build ice rinks,
community centers, or other similar facilities
with TIF money.

Further, the bill would prohibit TIF funds
from being spent on improvements, equip-
ment, and other items whose primary purpose
is decorative or aesthetic.

Entities that violate state law regarding TIF
could lose their right to form tax-increment
financing districts for up to five years.

Many communities have come to rely on
TIF districts to create economic development.
Using TIF, a local government can create a
specific district in which property tax values
are frozen.

As a developer proceeds with a project, the
taxes generated by the increase in property
value over the frozen amount, known as the
increment, are captured to finance economic
development, usually improvements directly
beneficial to the project.

Limited market value
The bill would continue the state’s commit-

ment to limited market value, a method of
controlling increases in taxable valuation that
drive up property taxes.

A provision in the bill would limit the in-
crease in market value to 7 percent of the
preceding year’s assessment or 15 percent of
the difference between the current assessment
and the preceding assessment. In prior years,
the increase was at 10 percent of the preceding
year’s assessment or 25 percent of the differ-
ence.

The limit would continue to apply to the
same classes as in previous years — agricul-
tural homestead and non-homestead, resi-
dential and non-homestead, and seasonal
recreational residential property.

Early consideration was given to a plan to
freeze assessments at their existing level while
property tax reform was ongoing.

Lights out on light rail
Political subdivisions would be prohibited

from levying a property tax to finance light-
rail initiatives, under the omnibus bill.

Under the ban, no property tax money could
be used for planning or designing a system,
acquiring property, constructing or equip-
ping a system, relocating persons or property,
or operating and maintaining the system.

Further, the entity wouldn’t be able to trans-
fer funds from other tax revenue accounts to
cover light-rail expenses.

House page Paul Koll places signs on lawmakers’ desks in the House chamber prior to the April 29 floor
debate on the omnibus tax bill.

Continued on page 14
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Cities and counties would still be able to
receive and use federal and state dollars for
light rail.

The provision follows on the heels of a
decision not to include $60 million in light-
rail funding in the omnibus transportation
finance bill (HF2387).

Multi-state businesses
Changes in how Minnesota’s large multi-

state corporations pay their taxes are included
in the omnibus tax bill.

Under existing law, most corporations are
required to use a three-factor formula, based
on property, payroll, and sales. The tax is
weighted most heavily on sales, which means
companies that are based in other states but
have significant sales here pay the most tax.

Companies that own and operate plants
here pay less in corporate taxes.

The new law adds additional weight to the
“sales” category and lowers the amounts paid
based on property and payroll. The net effect
is intended to attract more manufacturing
businesses and high-paying jobs to the state.

The change will result in $44.8 million less
in tax revenue flowing into state coffers over
the coming biennium.

This old house
Several changes to a section of the state’s tax

code that allows property tax breaks for refur-
bishing older homes would be made under the
omnibus bill.

It would increase the age at which a house is
eligible from 35 years to 45 years old and
increase the minimum value of the improve-
ment that must be made in order to qualify
from $1,000 to $5,000.  It would also eliminate
the limitation that only three improvements
can qualify for the exclusion.

The reforms were offered to assure that only
truly aged homes would qualify under the
program. The new language offers the tax
break only to homes built prior to World War
II and excludes homes built in the boom that
followed the war.

Ag studies
The omnibus bill contains requirements

that two property tax studies related to agri-
cultural land be completed in the coming year.

The first would establish an 11-member
task force to study how the classification sys-
tem, the agricultural property tax law, the
open space law, and the agricultural preserves
law impact what landowners pay in taxes.

A second study would consider the “feasi-
bility and desirability” of basing agriculture
property taxes on production value. Land that
would support crops that have a higher value
would be taxed at a higher rate.

Both studies would be due in 2000.

Met Council limited
The Metropolitan Council would have its

levy limits trimmed under several provisions
in the omnibus bill.

The provisions were included because the
council has not needed to tax to the maximum
in many of its accounts.

Several lawmakers argued that the limits
reinforce the idea that taxing entities should
levy to the maximum or risk having their
levying ability slashed.

Proponents of the move argued that if the
council didn’t need to levy, it shouldn’t have
the authority to do so.

Bug farm
The Gordon Vadis farm near Ham Lake will

be deemed agricultural property for property
tax purposes under a section of the omnibus
bill.

Vadis appeared before the Property Tax
Division of the House Taxes Committee in
February to complain that the Anoka County
assessor said he didn’t qualify for the agricul-
tural classification. Vadis raises crickets for
animal consumption, and he was denied agri-
cultural classification because he wasn’t rais-
ing food for human consumption.

The provision adds “insects primarily bred
to be used as food for animals” to the defini-
tion of agricultural property.

Long-term care insurance
Folks who purchase any long-term care in-

surance policy will be allowed to take a credit,
under provisions in the omnibus bill.

Under current law, the policy must include
inflation protection in order for premiums to
qualify for the credit.

The proposed change allows the credit if the
policyholder has been offered the option of
purchasing inflation protection.

The original measure was sponsored by Rep.
Roxann Daggett (R-Frazee), who said any costs
to the state now would be far outweighed by
future nursing home expenses, should a sig-
nificant number of uninsured people require
service in coming years.

Offers-in-compromise
The omnibus bill proposes specific guide-

lines when farmers and others seek arrange-
ments to settle their tax liability.

Under a measure offered originally by Rep.
Bill Kuisle (R-Rochester), the commissioner
of revenue would have to establish guidelines
to determine whether an offer-in-compro-
mise or an offer to make installment payments
is adequate and should be accepted.

The guidelines would have to include a

stipulation that the department will not reject
an offer-in-compromise from a low-income
taxpayer solely on the basis of the amount of
the offer.

The bill would also provide an appeal pro-
cess, should the taxpayer not agree with the
department’s determination.

Kuisle told the taxes panel that without
guidelines, offers-in-compromise are consid-
ered on a case-by-case basis, which leads to
frustrations and misunderstandings.

Taconite tales
Two proposals dealing with taconite pro-

duction tax rates and the taconite economic
development fund, offered by House Speaker
Steve Sviggum (R-Kenyon), were incorpo-
rated into the omnibus bill.

The measure would freeze the taconite tax
at the 1998 level of $2.141 per gross ton for the
coming year. The tax had been scheduled to
increase by a specific percentage each year in
perpetuity.

Proceeds from the taconite tax flowing to
the taconite economic development fund
would rise from 15.4 cents per ton to 25.4
cents with increases planned over the next
nine years.

The Northeast Minnesota Economic Pro-
tection Trust Fund and the Environmental
Protection Fund would receive lower
distributions.

The taconite economic development fund
is administered by the Iron Range Resources
and Rehabilitation Board.

Tax up in smoke
Minnesota residents who smoke are taxed

when they purchase tobacco and then are
taxed again when they purchase devices to
help them quit.

Recognizing that incongruity, the omnibus
bill would exempt federally approved smok-
ing cessation devices from sales taxes.

The original measure was offered by Rep.
Richard Mulder (R-Ivanhoe), a physician.

Taxing by ZIP
Consumers who have items delivered to

their homes may find themselves paying more
sales tax than is legal. Many companies use
ZIP codes to determine whether a sale is sub-
ject to local sales tax, rather than city
boundaries.

Under a provision in the omnibus bill, that
practice would be prohibited unless the ZIP
code is entirely contained in the political sub-
division that imposes the local tax.

Rep. Ron Erhardt (R-Edina) sponsored the
original measure. Erhardt said he had a con-
stituent who found himself paying extra taxes
because of the ZIP code based determinations.
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By Grant Martin

This year’s National Crime
Victim Rights Week — April
26 through May 1 — opened

with a somber reminder of the tur-
moil suffered by crime
victims and their families.

The previous week, District
Court officials in Dakota County
had announced that the trial of the
alleged killer of Two Harbors teen-
ager Paul Antonich would be de-
layed for the fourth time. The delay
will allow judges to rule on appeals
submitted by prosecutors and de-
fense attorneys.

The trial for John Steven Martin
is now scheduled to begin May 10
— almost three years after the
crime was committed.

Paul Antonich, who was 17 at
the time of his death, was car-jacked
in Duluth coming home from
church on Aug. 28, 1996. He was
taken to another site, beaten, and
shot to death. Martin allegedly pulled the trig-
ger. Antonich’s body was found in the trunk of
his car in a ditch on the Fond du Lac
Reservation.

Of the five men charged for the Antonich
murder, one pleaded guilty to second-degree
murder, two were found guilty of aiding and
abetting first-degree murder, and two —
Martin and another — still await separate trials.

Antonich’s parents had planned to attend the
opening day of the trial scheduled for
April 26. They spoke instead at the opening press
conference for Crime Victim Rights Week.

There they expressed their frustration with
the delays.

“We’re very disappointed,” said Mary
Antonich. “We’re very upset.”

Larry Antonich said the delays simply add to
the ongoing grief he feels over his son’s murder.
“Grief is a 24-hour job and it’s the toughest job
I’ve ever had to face,” he said. “To deal with the
court system on top of that is almost too much.”

Marie Bibus, executive director with the
Minnesota Center for Crime Victim Services,
said emotions felt by the Antoniches are typi-
cal of crime victims.

She said the criminal justice process is mov-
ing particularly slow in the Antonich case
because some of the offenders requested sepa-
rate trials and all of the defendants requested
that the case be moved from Duluth because
of the publicity surrounding the crime.

Rights for victims  .  .  .

System sometimes makes victims out of survivors

“That really makes a lengthy grieving
process for the family,” she said.

Bibus added that while the defendants have
a constitutional right to make such requests,
the victims and their families don’t have a
mechanism to ensure that their interests are
considered.

“I think we just need to balance (defendants’
rights) with the rights of victims,” she said, “or at
least offer a little consideration for their lives.”

For example, Bibus said the courts don’t
consider crime victims when they schedule
and re-schedule trials. The Antoniches have to
take time off from work and find lodging in
the area. A two-week delay can be a real ordeal
for the victims, she said.

“Somehow we need to get some consideration
for the victims in the scheduling,” she said.

Minnesota has made a good deal of progress
in crime victim issues since 1974, when the
first laws were enacted for victims’ rights.

Current law requires prosecutors to notify
the victim of the terms of any plea agreement
made with the offender. Prosecutors must
seek input from victims if the offender is re-
ferred to a diversion program. And the courts
must provide separate waiting facilities for the
victims and their families during the trial.

Also under current law, crime victims have
a right to make a victim statement to be read
at the offender’s sentencing. And victims have
a right to be notified if an offender seeks to
have his or her sentence modified and to be

notified when an offender is
released from prison.

The state also provides services
to crime victims. In 1998, the state
consolidated several victim services
into the Minnesota Center for
Crime Victims Services.

The center administers the crime
victim reparations program. Cre-
ated in 1974, the program pro-
vides financial assistance to victims
of crime. The program receives
funding from restitution paid by
offenders and state and federal in-
mate wage deductions.

The center also funds 160 differ-
ent crime victims advocacy agen-
cies, and it does research, training,
and advocacy for victims.

The state’s Ombudsman for
Crime Victims also handles crime
victim issues. The ombudsman in-
vestigates complaints of unfair treat-
ment of crime victims and witnesses
by criminal justice agencies and re-

views the state’s victim assistance programs.
This year lawmakers are considering several

funding initiatives to assist victims of crime.
These provisions are included in the different
versions of the omnibus judiciary finance bill
(HF2404/SF2221*), currently being consid-
ered by a conference committee made up of
both House and Senate members.

One such provision in the Senate version
would provide $100,000 to an existing emer-
gency fund. People such as the Antoniches
could request reimbursements from this fund
to pay the additional lodging and travel ex-
penses caused by the trial’s delay. The House
version of the bill would provide about
$1.3 million for new crime victim initiatives.

Crime victims have also become active in
the legislative process. Last year, the
Antoniches successfully lobbied the Legisla-
ture to include the Paul Antonich Amend-
ment in the 1998 omnibus crime law.

That amendment classifies that murder
committed in the course of a kidnapping is a
“heinous crime.” A person convicted of such
a crime can be sentenced to life without pa-
role, Minnesota’s toughest sentence.

After their son’s death, the Antoniches be-
came members of an informal club of crime
victims and their families, Larry Antonich
said, and it is a club they didn’t choose to join.

“To have your son or daughter murdered is
the highest due you can possibly pay,” he said.

Mary and Larry Antonich of Two Harbors have been waiting for the trial of
their son’s alleged killer for two and half years. Their son, Paul, was kidnapped
and murdered outside of Duluth after a minor car accident in August 1996.

Photo illustration by Tom Olmscheid
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Say you wanted to know just why the Legis-
lature banned “trafficking in skunks” in 1982.
Whom should you ask?

Although there might be a few lawmakers
who would still recall that debate of 17 years
ago, their memories may be a bit sketchy. The
best way is to spend a little time at the library
and the Minnesota History Center.

Most official state archives are stored at the
History Center, as are legislative floor and stand-
ing committee minutes and many older audio
tape recordings. Audio recordings from the past
decade are available through the Legislative
Reference Library in the State Office Building.

Below is a list of resources and tips on how
best to put together legislative histories and
how to track the path of that enigmatic anti-
skunk law.

1. Identify the section in Minnesota
Statutes you want to research.

A trip to any local library will get your
legislative research underway. The process is
largely a backwards journey.

Start by finding the most recent 15-volume
set of Minnesota Statutes — the codified laws
of the state, the final product of the legislative
process. Minnesota Statutes is issued every
two years, with “pocket parts” to cover odd-
numbered years.

Use the subject index to locate chapters in
the statutes you want to research.

Skunk trafficking control is located in Chap-
ter 145, which deals with topics of “Public
Health.” Section 365 makes it a misdemeanor
to “acquire, sell, barter, exchange, give, or
purchase any live skunks” or to import or
export the little critters.

Even better, if you have access to the Internet,
the most recent Minnesota Statutes along with
a handy search engine are available
(www.leg.state.mn.us/leg/statutes.htm).

2. Look for the History notation after
each statute section for references to
Laws of Minnesota.

Every section in Minnesota Statutes cross-
references chapters and sections for every year
in which changes occurred. These reference
numbers refer to bills in Laws of Minnesota.

In the italicized History note following the
anti-skunk statute, “1982 c 591 s 1” appears.
That means that the law was passed in 1982
and can be found in its bill form under Chap-
ter 591, Section 1 of that year’s Laws. Because
no other citations appear, the statute has not
been amended since.

Researching legislative history  .  .  .

Step-by-step study uncovers the stories behind laws

3. Read through the relevant chapters in
Laws of Minnesota to determine which
ones affected or created the statute you
are interested in.

Laws of Minnesota compiles the official text
of all bills passed by the Legislature chrono-
logically. Laws of Minnesota will also show
appropriations provisions, if any; generally,
Minnesota Statutes will not.

The Laws of Minnesota from 1994 to present
are also available on the Internet at the site
mentioned above. But, because the skunk law
was enacted in 1982 , you’ll actually have to
refer to the bound version of the 1982 Laws of
Minnesota.

Reading the text of legislation can answer
some tricky questions. Chapter 145 of the
statutes contains a subsection that appears to
have been repealed. But reading the Laws of
Minnesota shows that the bill had a self-
repealing clause — it exempted skunk trading
businesses from the export and commerce
bans until 1985. That clause was subsequently
deleted for the sake of clarity.

4. Note the House and/or Senate File
numbers, located in the chapter
headings of Laws of Minnesota.

The scent of the anti-skunk bill remains fresh.
It was passed as Senate File 1443. So the best place
to look next is the official record of the state
Senate for 1982: the Journal of the Senate.

Senate Journals from 1996 to present are
available online at www.senate.leg.state.mn.us/
journals/index.htm. And House Journals from
1994 to present can be found at
www.house.leg.state.mn.us/cco/journals/

journl.htm.
Again, in your skunk quest, you’ll have to

refer to the bound editions of the journals.

5. Go to the Numerical Index in the index
volume of the Senate Journal or Journal
of the House for the appropriate year.
Locate your bill number and the first
page reference.

Senate File 1443 was introduced on the
floor of the Senate on page 2840 and referred
to the Agriculture and Natural Resources Com-
mittee.

6. Go through the other Journal page
references.

A bill might be re-referred, tabled, vetoed,
etc. during its serpentine path through the
Legislature, so make sure you check all page
references in the journals so you understand
what happened, when it happened, and who,
exactly, was responsible.

The Senate Agriculture Committee recom-
mended that the state crack down on the
skunk trade and referred the bill to the Senate
floor on Feb. 15, 1982.

Committee reports are printed in full in the
journals. For the skunk bill, the Senate com-
mittee actually inserted the word “live” before
the word “skunk” during its deliberations.
Presumably, the original legislation could have
applied to dead skunks as well.

The last page citation shows that
Gov. Al Quie signed the bill into law on
March 23, 1982.

Salima Khakoo, public policy coordinator for YWCA Minneapolis, researches the history of a law in the
Legislative Research Library on the sixth floor of the State Office Building. The public can research
legislative history for all laws at the library, and, for newer legislation, on the Internet.
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7. Check for a companion bill in the
Legislature’s other chamber by looking
in the Companion Bill index in the  index
volume of either the House or Senate
journals.

Senate File 1443’s companion was House
File 1509. It turns out that the House version
was amended to apply to raccoons as well
(though that language was stricken by a con-
ference committee). Raccoons? Those friendly,
masked substitutes for teddy bears? Why dis-
criminate against them, too? Audio record-
ings are really the only way to find out.

8. Ask a library aide to help you find
committee minutes and audio
recordings of committee hearings and
floor sessions.

Committee work is at the heart of the legis-
lative process. Often, legislative committees
are where the real “action” takes place and
where bills take their final form.

Senate “committee books” (which are col-
lections of minutes) go back to 1911, while the
House books date from 1919. The exceptions
are the two Judiciary committees, which have
minutes as far back as 1883.

Minutes will tell you the date of a commit-
tee hearing, and you can use that information

to find committee audio recordings. In addi-
tion, “committee books” have the texts of
amendments offered during hearings.

Tapes of House committee hearings are
available back to 1973; Senate committee re-
cordings date to 1973, though there are a few
from as early as the mid-1960s. Floor session
recordings began in 1973 for both chambers.
Any recordings made prior to 1987 for the
House and prior to 1989 for the Senate may be
found at the History Center. More recent re-
cordings are held by the Legislative Reference
Library in the State Office Building.

In the case of the skunk trafficking bill, a lot
of the fireworks occurred on the floor of the
House. Former Rep. John Brandl got an
amendment passed to outlaw the raccoon trade
along with skunk commerce. “They’re decep-
tive animals,” Brandl explained, “They may
appear to be gentle, but they can turn vicious.”
An original co-author was so mad the bill was
amended, he voted against the legislation,
claiming (in a rising voice) that Brandl was
letting his emotions “interfere with our legis-
lative responsibilities.”

The recording of March 10 floor debate also
(finally) gets to the heart of the great skunk
debate. Former Rep. Robert Reif, the chief
author of the bill in the House, said that,

• First, the Legislature is not always effi-
cient. The process can be very confus-
ing. It may make our democratic system
more deliberative, but it also makes
historical inquiry unavoidably
circuitous.

• Be prepared for an onslaught of “le-
galese.” Laws and statutes generally
aren’t written by writers. Patience and
perseverance are your best resources.

• Start with the Internet if you can. If the
action you are researching happened in
the last few years, you may be able to do
the bulk of the research on the Web. If
not, at least you will have a better idea
what you are in for before you leave the
comfort of your home.

• The more recently the state took legisla-
tive action, the more material you are
likely to find. It is rare for any commit-
tee records to exist prior to 1919, while
after 1972, tape recordings of commit-
tee hearings and floor debates are nearly
complete.

• Beware that the History citations in
Minnesota Statutes may not trace the

With the tapes you’ll hear all the nu-
ances of lawmakers’ public discussions:
everything from sneezes, to snickers, to
screams. However, there may be times
during your research when it seems like
Rosemary Woods might have been the
State Archivist: many of the tapes are of
poor quality, and a few hearings were
inadvertently not recorded.

• Use human resources. If you have any
questions, ask the librarians. They are
an amazing source of information and
are extremely helpful.

The research facilities of the Minnesota History
Center are located at 345 Kellogg Blvd. W. in St. Paul,
south of the Capitol. It’s open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Monday-Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday, and from
9 a.m. to 9 p.m. on Thursday. Call (651) 296-2143 or
check out the Web site at www.mnhs.org/library/
about/index.html for more information.

The Legislative Reference Library and tape room
is in the State Office Building, just west of the Capitol.
The library is open Monday-Friday from 9 a.m. to 6
p.m. when the Legislature is in session, and the tape
room — with committee books and audio tapes — is
open Monday-Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. You can
call (651) 296-3398 or go to www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/
lrl.htm for more information.

despite jocular newspaper articles to the con-
trary, the issue was “not a laughing matter.”
Reif claimed that 80 percent of all Minnesota
rabies cases were attributable to skunks. The
House agreed with Reif’s diagnosis of rabies-
infested skunks as “a potential time bomb,”
and passed the bill by a vote of 76-35.

The trafficking in skunks law is relatively
easy to track. In some cases, official committee
and floor records will not have the breadth of
information you are looking for. Other av-
enues of inquiry available at the History
Center’s Weyerhaeuser Reading Room in-
clude:
• Minnesota Rules. This reference has the text

of administrative rules that have been
adopted to implement the law. Rules offer
more detail on how a statute is actually being
administered. The most recent compilation
of administrative rules can also be found
online at www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/arule/.

• Official records of state agencies, political
parties, and other groups concerned with
legislation.

• Newspaper articles or editorials referring to
the subject.

• Personal and/or public papers of lawmakers
involved in the issue.

law to its year of origin. For example,
the first historical reference for juror
compensation (Chapter 593, Section
48) refers to a 1977 law. However, that
1977 law merely recodified previously
enacted laws relating to juries. That
means laws from several different sec-
tions were reassembled under one chap-
ter and renumbered. The first jury
compensation law was actually passed
in the 19th century.

• Write down dates of legislative action.
Dates are your best source for finding
minutes or audio recordings with in-
formation on a particular bill.

• Committee minutes are usually not very
informative. Although they chronicle
formal actions, names, and dates of
those who testified, and a list of com-
mittee members, they do not really
record the substance of the discussions
that took place.

• Archival recordings are fascinating and
can bring you closer than any other
source to the issue you’re looking at.

Research tips to remember
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Likewise, she said, a student is not man-
dated to be at a public library, and parents
should be responsible for their children at
such facilities.

Charter schools
Fledgling charter schools would see more

state money under the House plan. Funding
for building lease costs would jump to $1,500
per pupil unit from the current level of about
$465 per student.

Grants for start-up costs would also be in-
creased, to a minimum of $50,000 per school
to a maximum of $250,000, depending on the
number of students. And established schools
that opened without the benefit of start-up aid
would be eligible for some extra money for
health and safety initiatives.

Other provisions are aimed at making it
easier to create new charter schools. Cities,
towns, and educational cooperative boards
would be added to the list of entities that can
sponsor charter schools, and districts would
be required to convert existing schools to char-
ter schools if the majority of full-time teachers
at a school petition for the change. Under
current law, 90 percent of those teachers must
petition to necessitate the conversion.

Also, a nine-member charter school appeals
board would be created to approve charter
school applications. Currently, those applica-
tions are handled by the State Board of Educa-
tion, which will be abolished at the end of this
year under a 1998 law that transfers most of
the board’s duties to the commissioner of
Children, Families and Learning.

“We felt some board or group of people
needed to be there to review charter schools,”
said Seagren, who sponsored most of the char-
ter school provisions.

The omnibus bill would also require school
districts that are considering sponsoring a char-
ter school to make the decision in 90 days or
less. And, if the district rejects the proposal,
the measure would provide for an automatic
appeal to the State Board of Education or the
new appeals board.

New teachers
The omnibus measure also includes initia-

tives aimed at improving teacher training and
preparing for the expected statewide decline
in teachers.

One proposal, sponsored by Cassell, would
encourage collaborations between school dis-
tricts and colleges, universities, or other teacher
training institutions. Collaborations could in-
clude placing teaching students in K-12 class-
rooms, under the supervision of licensed
teachers, or having licensed teachers assist in
education courses at the college or graduate

level. Up to five grants of $20,000 each for
start–up costs would be made for the 1999-
2000 school year.

Another plan would allow school districts
to provide salary credits for prior experience
to new teachers from non-traditional back-
grounds. Currently, the Minneapolis School
District uses such a plan, under which entry-
level teachers with other work backgrounds
can earn higher than starting salaries.

Also, under a provision originally spon-
sored by Rep. Mark Buesgens (R-Jordan), edu-
cation students who have completed their
student teaching and are in good standing at
the school would be eligible for temporary
substitute teacher licenses. Buesgens said many
districts have been suffering under a shortage
of substitute teachers.

And districts would be required to reserve
25 percent of their staff development funding
for mentoring first-year teachers, under a pro-
vision originally sponsored by Rep. Gene
Pelowski (DFL-Winona).

Funding disparities
The bill also includes provisions to address

statewide funding disparities between districts.
Currently, about 32 percent of school dis-
tricts’ budgets come from local levies, and
districts that, for whatever reason, have trouble
getting voter approval for levy hikes face re-
curring funding crunches.

The House proposal would direct almost
$28 million over the upcoming biennium to a
new funding component called equity rev-
enue. Equity revenue would provide addi-
tional money, on a sliding scale, to districts
that have less than the state’s average per-
pupil funding based on combined state and
local revenue.

The plan would also increase the level at
which the state “equalizes” local referendum
funding. Currently, additional state funds are
provided for districts’ first $315 in per-pupil
funding from local levies, based on the dis-
tricts’ property tax base. The House plan would
raise that level to $350 for fiscal year 2000 and
to $415 the following year.

“We wanted to attempt to close the gap
between the high-spending and low-spending
districts and we think this is fair,” Seagren
said. She said districts including Big Lake,
Renville, Montevideo, and Pine City would
benefit from the measure.

Also, the bill would create an equity compo-
nent for the current spending, called compen-
satory funding, that is directed to districts
with high concentrations of poor and non-
English speaking students. The measure would
continue existing compensatory funding, and
it would add about $12 million over two years
in funding for districts that don’t have high

enough concentrations of poor students to
qualify under the current formula. Seagren
said certain suburban districts, like Osseo and
Anoka, would benefit from the new funding.

Technology funding
The bill also addresses schools’ continuing

technology needs.
One provision would continue funding tele-

communications access grants for two more
years. The grant program, set to expire this
year, provides money for districts to upgrade
technology and to secure Internet access for
students and staff. Ventura did not recom-
mend funding the program in his budget pro-
posal.

“This will enable schools — especially rural
districts — to finish up their tasks of provid-
ing access to the Internet,” Seagren said. Un-
der her bill, the program would receive $20
million in one time funding in fiscal year 2000.

The measure would also provide individual
technology grants, ranging from $50,000 to
$200,000, to nine school districts across the
state. Seagren said the grants are intended to
compensate districts that suffered losses when
the prevailing wage law was passed, requiring
districts to pay prevailing wage for construc-
tion contract work.

Some districts that had already bonded for
certain projects had to re-bid and often cut
technology plans out of their proposals. Sev-
eral districts received similar technology grants
last year, and Seagren said the nine grants this
year would help the remaining districts with
technology initiatives.

Contract deadline
A proposed deadline of Jan. 15 for settling

teachers’ salary contracts with school districts
was not included in the omnibus measure.

The provision, which was originally added
to the bill just before it was approved by the
House K-12 Education Finance Committee,
was removed by lawmakers in the House Ways
and Means Committee. Rep. Matt Entenza
(DFL-St. Paul) offered an unsuccessful amend-
ment to reinstate the provision on the House
floor. His proposal would have imposed a $25
per pupil unit fine on districts that haven’t
settled contracts by Jan. 15.

“For many years, there was a Jan. 15 dead-
line, and 97 percent of districts were settled by
then,” Entenza said. “Then, two years ago we
decided to experiment with not having dead-
lines, and today a vast majority of contracts
are not settled.”

A 1989 law imposed the original Jan. 15
deadline, and a 1997 law removed it. And
although no one disputes that many more
contracts were settled earlier under the

Continued from page 4

Continued on page 19
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By Paul Wahl

School children visiting the Capitol these
days aren’t much interested in when it was
built or where the marble for the floors came
from.

They’re mostly interested in Gov. Jesse
Ventura.

“Where’s Jesse?” they often ask.
“Can we meet him?”
Ask any of the 18 part-time Capitol tour

guides and they’ll tell you — Ventura is a hit
with kids.

“I think you could have Hubert H. Humphrey
back from the dead here and they’d still want to
see Jesse,” quipped one guide.

Spring is a popular time of year for school
groups to make their pilgrimage, according to
Carolyn Kompelien, manager of the Capitol
Historic Site for the Minnesota Historical
Society.

“May is completely booked up already and
then some,” said Kompelien from her office
amid the pipes and wiring of the Capitol base-
ment. “Some school groups have had their
reservation in since last fall.”

Kompelien’s army of guides conducted
2,900 tours during fiscal year 1998. Each tour
lasts 45 minutes, with between 35 and 40 being
conducted each day.

For school groups, the content is tailored to
the interests and age of the students. In the
summer, many preschoolers visit. During the
school year, a tour guide may entertain stu-
dents ranging from first-graders through high
school seniors.

Many guides inquire whether the group is
studying politics or architecture or Minnesota
history at the onset of a tour.

“Sometimes they’re just here to see what

Capitol tours  .  .  .

Spring brings stream of curious kids to Capitol

there is to see,” Kompelien said.
The challenge for guides always is to keep

the interest of the children and provide them
with a learning experience.

Sometimes that’s easier than at other times,
although most of the guides say the students are
mostly well-behaved and extremely curious.
Youngsters are always reminded to be respectful
of the people who work in the Capitol.

Guides say the most knowledgeable visitors
are sixth graders, because often those students
have been studying Minnesota history and
have all of the details fresh in their minds.

Most tours begin on the front steps where

the first challenge is to get the group together
and get their attention. From there, the groups
move into the rotunda where the significance
of the star pattern in the floor is related.

Then, the tour may go in any of a number
of directions, depending upon what’s hap-
pening. If the Senate is in session, the group
will usually be taken to see the House cham-
ber. This late in the session, there are often
times when both houses are in session.

But that’s not a disadvantage, says
Kompelien, who has been in her position
since 1988.

“The level of activity is a learning experi-
ence in itself,” she said.

The quadriga, the golden horse-drawn
chariot perched above the main entrance of
the Capitol, is also a popular attraction for
students. When conditions permit, they are
given the opportunity to see the statuary up
close by venturing onto the Capitol roof.

Throughout the tour, guides are bom-
barded with questions about how big things
are, how much they weigh, and how much
they cost. They’re asked how many people
work in the Capitol and are often quizzed on
the details of the life of Cass Gilbert, the archi-
tect of the Capitol.

Each guide is required to undergo a
month-long training session. Many of them
work part time year-round, although business
picks up when the Legislature is in session.

“They have to enjoy being with people,”
Kompelien said. “It does show if they don’t
enjoy it.”

Enjoyment doesn’t appear to be a major
problem. Many of the guides have been around
for years and they range from graduate stu-
dents to grandmothers.   

deadline, opponents of the policy say settling
contracts later is not necessarily harmful for
students or teachers.

“Why have a gun to the school board’s head
because they know the unions can just hold
out until Jan. 15 and then the school district
gets fined,” said Rep. Bill Haas (R-Champlin).
“So now we’re taking money away from schools
because (teachers) didn’t want to settle.”

Summer school
The bill would also provide almost $2.3

million over the next biennium to fund basic
skills summer school programs, under a pro-
vision backed by Rep. Bob Ness (R-Dassel).

Continued from page 18 Districts could receive the funding for stu-
dents who do not pass a basic skills test in
reading, writing, or mathematics. The
governor’s proposal did not include funding
for that provision.

All-day kindergarten
The House plan would not continue to fund

all-day kindergarten pilot programs around
the state. The first-grade preparedness pro-
gram was initiated in 1996, with $5 million in
spending, and it was given a $1.5 million fund-
ing boost in the 1998 omnibus education law.
Proponents of the program say that attending
all-day kindergarten dramatically increases
children’s academic and social skills.

Entenza offered an unsuccessful amend-
ment on the House floor that would have
continued funding all-day kindergarten, but
opponents said districts could choose to fund
that program or other initiatives if they re-
ceive extra money, as proposed, from the gen-
eral formula.

Help with English
And the omnibus bill would increase fund-

ing for students who speak little or no English.
Money for limited English proficiency pro-
grams would be raised from the current $190
per pupil unit to $365 per pupil unit. Seagren
said those funds would mostly benefit the
Minneapolis and St. Paul school districts.   

Hundreds of school children from all over
Minnesota come to visit the Capitol nearly every
day during the school year, but spring is the busiest
time for tours.
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Visiting the Minnesota State Capitol complex can be a rewarding and
educational experience for everyone. There are buildings to explore and
tours to take almost any time you choose to visit.  And when the Legislature
is in session during the first part of every year, there are floor sessions to
observe, committee meetings to attend, and legislators to meet. Remember
that this is your state Capitol, and you are always welcome.

How to get here
Location

The Capitol complex is north of I-94, just
minutes from downtown St. Paul. It is acces-
sible from the east and west on I-94, and from
the north and south on I-35E.

I-94 eastbound: Exit at Marion Street. Turn
left. Go to Aurora Avenue and turn right. Go
one block, cross Rice Street, and enter Parking
Lot D.

I-94 westbound: Exit at Marion Street. Turn
right. Go to Aurora Avenue and turn right. Go
one block, cross Rice Street, and enter Parking
Lot D.

I-35E northbound: Exit at Kellogg Boule-
vard. Turn left. Go to John Ireland Boulevard
and turn right. Metered parking spaces line
both sides of the boulevard.

I-35E southbound: Exit at University Av-
enue. Turn right. Go to Rice Street and turn
left. Go one block and turn left to enter Parking
Lot D.

Parking
Public metered parking is available in

Lot Q, north of the Capitol at Cedar Street and
Sherburne Avenue; Lot D, next to the State
Office Building off Rice Street on Aurora Av-
enue; Lot F, directly behind the Transporta-
tion Building; Lot K, across from the Armory
on Cedar Street (enter from 12th Street); and
on the orange level of the Centennial Office
Building Ramp at Cedar Street and Constitu-
tion Avenue. All-day metered parking is avail-
able in Lot Q. Capitol Security personnel will
issue tickets for expired meters.

All-day parking permits may be purchased
for $3.50 from Plant Management on the third
floor of the Ford Building. Cash or checks are
accepted and correct change is appreciated.
For more information, call (651) 297-3993.

Outdoor handicapped parking is available
in Lot O, which is on the northeast side of the
Capitol, and in Lot F.

Indoor handicapped parking is available on
the lower level of the State Office Building
Ramp (use the call box at the ramp entrance to
gain entry); on the blue level of the Centennial

Office Building Ramp; and on the entry level of
the Administration Building Ramp (two stalls).

There are two handicapped entrances to the
Capitol. One is on the northeast side of the
building, just off Lot O; the other is a drop-off
entrance under the south main steps at the
front of the building.

Since parking is limited during legislative
sessions, busing may be easier. Freeway ex-
press bus service is available. Bus number 94B
takes you to the Capitol and the State Office
Building. Call the Transit Information Center
at (651) 349-7000 for schedule and route in-
formation.
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What to do
Tours

Tours of the Capitol are offered through the
Capitol Historic Site Program of the
Minnesota Historical Society.

Tour guides lead the 45-minute tours on the
hour Mondays through Fridays between 9 a.m.
and 5 p.m. (last tour leaves at 4 p.m.); Satur-
days between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. (last tour
leaves at 3 p.m.); and Sundays between 1 p.m.
and 4 p.m. (last tour leaves at 3 p.m.). The tours
are free of charge and begin at the Capitol’s
information desk at the end of the corridor to
the right of the main entrance. Brochures in
about 20 foreign languages also are available
there.

Tour participants may request customized
tours that emphasize either the building or
state government.

Historical society officials ask that groups of
10 or more call at least two weeks in advance to
reserve a tour time.

The society offers “Voice of the People: Your
Role in Minnesota Government,” a half-day
session for students in grades 9-12.

Also, special tour events are scheduled
monthly throughout the year. Some of these
events entail admission fees; others are free. A
special events guide is available upon request.

For a recorded message regarding tours and
events, call (651) 297-3521.

For more information about the tours or to
reserve a time, call the Capitol Historic Site
Program, (651) 296-2881.
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Legislative sessions
Members of the House of Representatives

and the Senate debate bills when the Legisla-
ture is in session.

At the beginning of a legislative session, the
pace of floor sessions is generally slow as new
bills are assigned to committees and non-con-
troversial items are discussed. At about the
session’s midpoint, however, the legislative pace
quickens.

The House usually meets at 2:30 p.m. Mon-
days and Thursdays, and the Senate meets at
11:30 a.m. Mondays and at 9 a.m. Thursdays
during the first few weeks. House floor sessions
are scheduled for the afternoon because com-
mittees meet in the morning and early after-
noon. As the session nears the end, however,
both bodies may meet several times a day,
often into the night.

All House and Senate floor sessions are open
to the public. Visitors interested in observing
these sessions may call the House Chief Clerk’s
Office, (651) 296-2314, or Senate Information,
(651) 296-0504, with questions. Spectators may
sit in the galleries of either chamber.

Committee meetings
Visitors wanting to attend a committee meet-

ing may call the committee hotlines for prere-
corded messages with the meeting times and
agendas for each day: House, (651) 296-9283;
Senate, (651) 296-8088. Printed agendas for
the week also appear in each issue of the Session
Weekly and the Senate Briefly.

Committee meetings are open to the public.
When a public hearing is scheduled, the com-
mittee may listen to comments from the audi-
ence (when time permits) in addition to the
scheduled speakers. Committees have differ-
ent policies on hearing testimony depending
upon their size and workload. Informational
handouts that committee members receive dur-
ing meetings or hearings are considered public
information and are available to the audience
on a first-come, first-served basis.

Major proposals often have several public
hearings so committee members may listen to
all arguments for and against a bill.

Each committee has a chair, vice chair,
administrator, and legislative assistant. A list of
committees and members is available in the
House Public Information Office in Room
175, State Office Building, or the Senate Infor-
mation Office in Room 231, State Capitol.

Groups and individuals wishing to testify
before a committee should call the appropriate
committee’s legislative assistant well in ad-
vance of the meeting and ask to be placed on
the agenda. Committees prefer requests one
week in advance but will accept later notifica-
tion when unexpected issues appear on the
committee schedule. A brochure containing
tips on testifying at legislative committee hear-

ings is available from the House Public
Information Office.

Dining
Most buildings in the Capitol complex have

their own cafeterias. The small State Office
Building cafeteria is usually open only when
the Legislature is in session, but it will remain
open year-round during the restoration of the
Capitol cafeteria, due to be completed in 2000.
A large, year-round cafeteria is available in the
Transportation Building.

Also, there are many restaurants within walk-
ing distance. On Rice Street, there is Benjamin’s
Restaurant and Lounge located inside the Kelly
Inn, Cafe Capitol, the Lagoon Vietnamese Res-
taurant, White Castle, and El Bravo Mexican
Restaurant. On University Avenue, there is
McDonald’s, Burger King, Mai Village, and
other restaurants. There also are dozens of
restaurants only minutes away in downtown
St. Paul. Bus rides downtown cost 25 cents. Bus
stops are located on Constitution Avenue.

Group visits
Sometimes groups plan a “legislative day” at

the Capitol in order to express a particular
viewpoint to legislators.

Rooms for special conferences or speakers
can be reserved by calling the State Office
Building room scheduler at (651) 296-5408 or
the Capitol room scheduler at (651) 296-0866.

If group members want to meet with their
individual legislators or testify before a com-
mittee (see “Committee meetings”), arrange-
ments should be made at least a week in
advance.

Often such groups have members wear a
distinctive name tag or badge to indicate their
concern about a particular issue.

Groups planning a trip to the Capitol should
remember that seating is fairly limited in some
committee rooms — particularly when the
topic is controversial.

Where to find
information

House Public Information Office
175 State Office Building
(651) 296-2146 or 1-800-657-3550

The House Public Information Office is a
nonpartisan office that provides committee
meeting schedules; legislator information;
and publications, including the Session Weekly
newsmagazine, educational brochures for all
ages, and member directories. All informa-
tion is available at no charge.

Most of what this office publishes can be
viewed on the Legislature’s World Wide Web
page. To connect, point your web browser at:
http://www.leg.state.mn.us

House Television Services
216C State Capitol (651) 297-1338

House Television Services is responsible
for live coverage of House floor sessions and
some committee hearings. Such coverage is
aired in the Twin Cities area on KTCI-TV,
Channel 17. The House also broadcasts via
satellite statewide. Outstate residents should
check with local cable operators for time and
channel information or the office’s Web site
at: http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/htv/
htv.ssi

All televised floor sessions and committee
hearings are close-captioned for people with
hearing impairments.

Chief Clerk’s Office
211 State Capitol (651) 296-2314

The Chief Clerk’s Office provides copies of
bills at no charge, all agendas for House ses-
sions, and the Journal of the House.

House Index Department
211 State Capitol (651) 296-6646

The House Index Department, a part of
the Chief Clerk’s Office, has a computerized
index available for public use. House Index
lists bills by committee, topic, author, file
number, and other categories. The office can
also give you the current status of legislation.

Senate Information Office
231 State Capitol (651) 296-0504

The Senate Information Office is respon-
sible for all information about the Senate,
including the committee schedule, bill sta-
tus, legislator information, and the distribu-
tion of bill copies.

Senate Media Services
B-44 State Capitol (651) 296-0264

Senate Media Services, a bipartisan office,
produces television programs, multi-media
productions, scriptwriting, photography and
graphics. It offers live coverage of the Senate
floor sessions and some committee hearings.

E-mail schedules
Anyone with e-mail can receive both
House and Senate committee schedules.
To receive the House schedule, send a
message to:
listserv@hsched.house.leg.state.mn.us
Leave the subject line blank, and in the
body of the message, enter:
subscribe h-schedules
To receive the Senate schedule, send a
message to:
listserv@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Leave the subject line blank, and in the
body of the message, enter:
subscribe sen-schedules
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HF VetoedSignedDescriptionCH SF

Bills await governor’s action

Once a bill has passed both the House and
the Senate in identical form, it’s ready to be
sent to the governor for consideration. The
governor has several options when consid-
ering a bill. The governor can:
• sign the bill and it will become law;
• veto the bill;
• line-item veto individual items within an

appropriations bill; or
• do nothing, which results in the bill becom-

ing law in the first year of the biennium.
The timing of these actions is as signifi-

cant as the actions themselves.
In the first year of the biennium, the

important thing to remember is that the

governor has three days from the time of
“presentment” to veto a bill. If the governor
doesn’t sign the bill within this time frame, it
will become law with or without his signa-
ture. (Sundays are not counted in the three-
day time limit, but holidays are.)

Only on appropriations bills can the gov-
ernor exercise the line-item veto authority.
This option allows the governor to eliminate
the appropriation items to which he objects.
As with all vetoes, the governor must include
a statement listing the reasons for the veto
with the returned bill. Here, too, the time-
table is within three days after the governor
receives the bill.

A two-thirds vote of the members in each
house is needed to override a veto. But

because only the governor can call a special
session of the Legislature, anything vetoed
after the Legislature adjourns is history — at
least until the next year.

The governor’s veto authority is outlined
in the Minnesota Constitution (Article IV,
Section 23).

Internet access to this information is avail-
able at:
http://www.mainserver.state.mn.us/
governor/

(Select “It’s a New Day” and then click on
“Legislative Logs”)

Key:
CH=Chapter; HF=House File; SF=Senate File

*The legislative bill marked with an asterisk denotes the file submitted to the governor.

87 872* 682 Construction contracts environmental liability modifications. 4/23/99

88 528* 1259 Undreground fuel storage tanks specifications requirements. 4/23/99

89 627* 616 Washington County Housing and Redevelopment Authority commissioners term modification. 4/23/99

90 1968* 1827 Medicare supplemental insurance regulation provisions modifications. 4/23/99

91 1975 1920* State archaeologist position appointment process modification. 4/23/99

92 1248 1528* Harmful exotic species provisions modifications. 4/23/99

93 1046 1324* Commercial motor vehicle disqualification and violations modifications. 4/23/99

94 566 673* Health plans network shadow contracting restriction. 4/23/99

95 1944 1470* Paul Bunyan state trail route modification. 4/23/99

96 896 854* Counties, cities, or towns lawful land uses termination prohibition. 4/23/99

97 1178* 1253 Landlords’ prelease deposits acceptance regulation. 4/26/99

98 142* 1634 Subsequent controlled substance conviction definition expanded. 4/26/99

99 1003* 840 Legislative Audit Commission modifications. 4/26/99

100 1150 1182* Funeral or burial insurance sales restrictions eliminated. 4/26/99

101 101 1527* Convicted sexual offenders prohibited from school board candidacy. 4/26/99

102 1309 1273* Nursing home administrators licensing and examiners board modifications. 4/26/99

103 661 832* Small company securities offering registration modifications. 4/27/99

104 1035 1017* Marriage dissolution summonses alternative dispute resolution requirements. 4/27/99

105 1052 451* Uniform Commercial Code agricultural crops financing modifications. 4/27/99

106 462 303* Seat belt use evidence admissibility clarification. 4/27/99

107 877 1218* Re-employment insurance housekeeping changes. 4/27/99

108 451 436* Emergency telephone service (911) dispatchers liability immunity. 4/27/99

109 984 983* Psychologists licensing and regulation provisions. 4/27/99

110 893 1041* Warehouse operators regulations modified. 4/27/99

111 1125* 1087 Local correctional fees imposition responsibility transferred. 4/27/99

112 1* 106 Agricultural assistance and tax relief. filed without signature
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Monday, April 26

HF2418—Otremba (DFL)
Jobs & Economic Development
Policy
Eagle Bend wastewater funding pro-
vided, bonds issued, and money
appropriated.

HF2419—Anderson, I. (DFL)
Environment & Natural Resources
Policy
Consolidated conservation land titles
held by the state conveyed to
counties.

HF2420—Abrams (R)
Ways & Means
Omnibus tax bill and money
appropriated.

HF2421—Jennings (DFL)
Governmental Operations &
Veterans Affairs Policy
Cemetery law clarified and reorganized.

HF2422—Seifert, M. (R)
Education Policy
Student state grant stipend minimum
reduced.

HF2423—Tunheim (DFL)
Civil Law
Motor vehicle forfeiture laws studied
and task force created.

Tuesday, April 27

HF2424—Rukavina (DFL)
Environment & Natural Resources
Policy
BWCA and Superior National Forest;
state and federal landholdings con-
solidated through land exchange,
Children’s state forest established, and
state officers and employees duties
and powers specified.

HF2425—Smith (R)
Civil Law
Landlord and tenant law recodified.

HF2426—Seifert, M. (R)
Education Policy
Post-secondary enrollment options
program eligibility modified requir-
ing students to pass basic skills tests.

Thursday, April 29

HF2427—Ozment (R)
Environment & Natural Resources
Policy
Propane education and research act
adopted and council created.

HF2428—Kahn (DFL)
Crime Prevention
DNA; postconviction process created
for obtaining forensic evidence dem-
onstrating innocence.

MONDAY, May 3

8 a.m.

CIVIL LAW
500S State Office Building
Chr. Rep. Steve Smith
Agenda: HF2425 (Smith) Recodifying
the landlord and tenant law.

Conference Committee
Omnibus transportation bill
HF2387
316 State Capitol
Chrs. Rep. Carol Molnau,
Sen. Janet Johnson.

TUESDAY, May 4

9 a.m.

The House meets in session.

15 minutes
following the House or Senate

session (whichever adjourns later)

Conference Committee
Higher education omnibus bill
HF2380
118 State Capitol
Chrs. Rep. Peggy Leppik,
Sen. LeRoy A. Stumpf.

30 minutes
following the House or Senate

session (whichever adjourns later)

Conference Committee
Judiciary Finance omnibus bill
HF2404/SF2221
5 State Office Building
Chrs. Rep. Sherry Broecker,
Sen. Randy Kelly.

WEDNESDAY, May 5

9 a.m.

The House meets in session.

Coming Up Next Week  .  .  .  May 3 - 7, 1999
Schedule is subject to change.
For information updates,
call House Calls at
(651) 296-9283.
All meetings are open to the
public.
Sign language interpreter
services:
(651) 224-6548 v/tty
To have the daily and weekly
schedules delivered to your
e-mail address, send a mes-
sage to:
listserv@hsched.house.
leg.state.mn.us

In the body of the message
type:

subscribe h-schedules

HF2429—Howes (R)
Environment & Natural Resources
Policy
Surface water management task force
established and study required.

HF2430—Davids (R)
Commerce
Home bank protection; banking in-
stitution main office relocation re-
quirements modified.

HF2431—Anderson, I. (DFL)
Governmental Operations &
Veterans Affairs Policy
Minnesota Historical Society
voyageurs’ interpretive center con-
structed, bonds issued, and money
appropriated.

HF2432—Biernat (DFL)
Education Policy
Minneapolis School Board member-
ship modified providing five elected
and two mayor-appointed members.

30 minutes
following the House or Senate

session (whichever adjourns later)

Conference Committee
Judiciary Finance omnibus bill
HF2404/SF2221
5 State Office Building
Chrs. Rep. Sherry Broecker,
Sen. Randy Kelly.

THURSDAY, May 6

30 minutes
following the Senate session

Conference Committee
Judiciary Finance omnibus bill
HF2404/SF2221
5 State Office Building
Chrs. Rep. Sherry Broecker,
Sen. Randy Kelly.

FRIDAY, May 7

9 a.m.

The House meets in session.

30 minutes
following the House or Senate

session (whichever adjourns later)

Conference Committee
Judiciary Finance omnibus bill
HF2404/SF2221
5 State Office Building
Chrs. Rep. Sherry Broecker,
Sen. Randy Kelly.

In the Hopper .  .  .  April 23 - 29, 1999

HF2418-HF2432

9 a.m.

Conference Committee
Family and early childhood
education omnibus bill
HF1467/SF2222
112 State Capitol
Chrs. Rep. Barb Sykora,
Sen. Pat Piper.

9:45 a.m.

RULES & LEGISLATIVE
ADMINISTRATION
118 State Capitol
Chr. Rep. Tim Pawlenty
Agenda: Calendar for May 3rd.

10 a.m.

The House meets in session.

30 minutes
following the House or Senate

session (whichever adjourns later)

Conference Committee
Judiciary Finance omnibus bill
HF2404/SF2221
5 State Office Building
Chrs. Rep. Sherry Broecker,
Sen. Randy Kelly.
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Minnesota courts

Cases in which a petition for Minnesota Supreme Court review was denied, 1998 ........ 610
Total number of cases in which the Supreme Court issued an opinion, 1998 ........... 164
Decisions reversed in opinions issued by the Supreme Court, 1998 ............................ 44

Reversed and remanded to lower court ....................................................................... 10
Decisions that were affirmed in opinions issued by the Supreme Court, 1998 ........... 60

Affirmed in part, reversed in part ................................................................................ 10
Affirmed in part, remanded in part ............................................................................... 2
Affirmed in part, reversed in part and remanded......................................................... 4

Court of Appeals filings in 1998 that were criminal cases, as percent ....................... 25.3
Civil cases .................................................................................................................... 33.9
Family cases ................................................................................................................ 17.1

Increase in number of trials in Minnesota courts from 1986 to 1996, as percent ....... 41
Increase in the number of judges in Minnesota courts from 1986 to 1996,
as percent ....................................................................................................................... 12

New District Court judgeships requested from the 1999 Legislature ........................... 18
Portion of judicial workload in 1997 that involved criminal cases, as percent ......... 34.8

Civil cases .................................................................................................................... 30.0
Family cases ................................................................................................................ 17.4
Juvenile cases .............................................................................................................. 11.7
Probate cases ................................................................................................................. 6.2

State judicial branch operating budget for 1997, in millions ................................. $171.2
State funding for judicial branch, in millions ........................................................ $94.5
County funding for judicial branch (estimated), in millions ............................... $76.7

1997 operating budget for Minnesota Supreme Court, in millions ........................... $3.9
Court of Appeals ........................................................................................................ $5.9
Trial courts ............................................................................................................... $68.4
Civil legal services ...................................................................................................... $5.9
State Law Library ........................................................................................................ $1.8
State court administration ......................................................................................... $8.4

Annual salary of Supreme Court associate justice .............................................. $104, 626
Court of Appeals associate judge ........................................................................ $98,585
District Court judge ............................................................................................. $92,544

Appellate filing fee (Supreme Court and Court of Appeals) ..................................... $200
Fee for accelerated Supreme Court review .............................................................. $100

Court fee for marriage dissolution (each party) ......................................................... $122
For marriage license .................................................................................................... $70

Sources: Minnesota State Courts, Annual Report 1997, State Court Administration Office; Minnesota
State Courts, Annual Report 1998, State Court Administration Office; and The Minnesota Judiciary:
A Guide for Legislators, November 1998, House Research Department.


