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Watered down flood relief

Gov. Arne Carlson May 10 signed into law
a bill designed to help Minnesota’s farmers
recover from last spring’s floods, but not
before cutting its funding provisions in half.

The flood relief measure will now provide
only $9 million in aid — down from $18
million — as a result of several line-item
vetoes by the governor.

The largest of those was a $5 million inter-
est buy-down program that would have
helped secure loans for farmers and small
businesses hit hardest by the floods. Under
the program, the state would have paid a
portion of the interest on a loan for a qualify-
ing farmer or small business.

The governornoted that many farmers and
small businesses already have secured oper-
ating loans. He also noted that the federal
government already has picked up much of
the tab for damages causes by last spring’s
floods.

Carlson also vetoed another $2 million
that would have gone to the Department of
Economic Security (formerly the Department
of Jobs and Training) for emergency job
training and creation programs; as well as a
few other smaller appropriations.

The House and Senate passed their com-
promise flood relief bill May 6. The House
passed it 118 to 12 and the Senate passed it
56 to 2. '

The $9 million new law bears little resem-
blance to the original $54 million House bill
that would have, among other provisions,
offered farmers $15 million in local property
tax relief and $30 million to buy down inter-
est on loans for them.

Under the bill signed into law, $2.9 mil-
lion will be given to the state’s counties that
were hit hardest by the floods. Those funds
are necessary to “match” $49 million in fed-
eral emergency managementassistance funds
that have already been spent. The state must
pay a total of $3.9 million to match the
federal contribution, or it may be forced to
pay back the aid. »

But because there was no federal time
restriction on the match, the new law says
the remaining $1 million will be paid back
next year.

Other relief measures in the new law,

A new law provides $9 million in flood relief to
help farmers recover from last year’s devastating
floods. (HF2249/SF2168%/CH642)

sponsored in the House by Rep. Steve Wen-

zel (DFL-Little Falls) and in the Senate by

Sen. Joe Bertram (DFL- Paynesville), include:

° $1.5 million toward a revolving fund ac-
count that provides loans to encourage
private developers to construct ethanol
production plants. The account is man-
aged by the state’s Rural Finance Author-
ity; ‘

» $1.5 million to pay for a provision that
grants a sales tax exemption on used farm
equipment; ~

* $1 million to. establish a loan program
under the Rural Finance Authority that
will loan farmers money to buy stock in a
facility that processes raw agricultural
crops. The provision is designed to help
farmers invest in a proposed corn-syrup
plant in Moorhead, Minn. Shareholders
will be allowed to sell their corn to the
facility;

e $900,000 for a small business disaster

revolving loan program at the Department

of Trade and Economic Development. The

state’s contribution would match about
$8.5 million in federal aid;

° $477,000 toward University of Minnesota
research on grain diseases;

* $100,000 for advocacy programs for farm-
ers; and

» $55,000 to help the Minnesota Milk Pro-
ducers Association with litigation against
the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Upper

Midwest dairy farmers contend that fed-

eral price supports unfairly favor dairy

farmers in southern states such as Texas
and Florida.

Last spring’s floods caused an estimated
$1.6 billion in damages to Minnesota’s farms
and businesses. According to Wenzel, the
state will have received about $1 billion in
federal disaster relief by the time all is said
and done.

HF2249/SF2168*/CH642

Preserving the family farm

Large corporations may be threatening to
overthrow the family farming industry, but
Minnesota lawmakers have given farmers the
tools they need to stay in the fields.

More farmers will be able to pool their
resources to raise hogs, chickens, and other
livestock — with the exception of dairy cattle
— under a bill the governor signed into law
May 10.

bytheLe
prehensive summ ollow
 We welcome any suggestions to clarify,or -
- ‘co'rtéttlany of the items contained in this
 issue. There is a lot to summarize in a
shortdays.

— The editors
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Proposed in the House by Rep. Ted Winter
(DFL-Fulda) and in the Senate by Sen. Charles
Berg (DFL-Chokio), the measure expands
current corporate farming laws to allow an
unlimited number of investors to participate
in certain cooperative farms, as long as Min-
nesota farmers control at least 75 percent of
any one farm.

Under current law, such joint farms, called
Authorized Farm Corporations, can have no
more than five shareholders, and farmers
must hold 51 percent of the stock. The re-
maining shares can be held by outside inves-
tors.

Earlier this session, farmers testifying be-
fore the House Agriculture Committee asked
lawmakers to make changes to help them
compete against large corporations they say
are threatening the family farm industry.

The new law allows more Minnesota farm-
ersto “teamup” to take advantage of the latest
technologies and farm practices, which many
small farmers can’t afford to do on their own.

Even though Minnesota has some of the
toughest anti-corporate farm laws in the coun-
try, Rep. Katy Olson (DFL-Sherburn) said
the state’s remaining farmers will go under if
they can't take advantage of the latest tech-
nologies. She said the law gives farmers “the
tools necessary” to compete.

“We can all agree we want to keep the big
[corporate farms] out,” said Olson, who is a
member of the House Agriculture Commit-
tee. “That’s what this legislation does.”

Olson had proposed a similar bill earlier
this session. (See March 31, 1994, Session
Weekly, page 4 and April 22, 1994, Session
Weekly, page 4.)

In addition to requiring that 75 percent of
shareholders are farmers, the law also man-
dates that 51 percent of those farmers must
raise livestock on their own farm — aside
from the joint venture. The remaining 49
percent can include farmers who raise corn
or other crops, but no livestock.

The law also specifies that such authorized
farm corporations can’t have title to more
than 1,500 acres of land.

~ HF2885/SF1948*/CH622

Brave new tomato

It will be easier to conduct farm field tests
on plants that have been genetically engi-
neered — and the vegetables from some of
those plants could be sold to the public,

under a bill signed into law by Gov. Arne
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grown in laboratories to farmers to grow
experimentally in their fields. Farmers, for
instance, could soon buy newly developed
insect-resistant corn and potato varieties to
plant. The plants would resist pests that so far
have been difficult for farmers to fight.

The law also contains provisions to allow
some engineered products to be sold to the
public in grocery stores and farmers’ mar-
kets. The state would develop regulations
first. For instance, tomatoes with a longer
shelflife could be developed as well as squash
that is virus-resistant.

The law allows laboratories — when there
is adequate federal oversight — to conduct
the farm field tests without going through a
complicated state environmental assessment
and permitting process.

“The changes we've made in the state’s
genetic engineering laws will help to elimi-
nate duplication between state and federal
regulations, while maintaining state over-
sight where needed,” Carlson said.

Cheryl Fox, a biotechnologist in the De-
partment of Agriculture, explained at a com-
mittee hearing that the law specifies six ge-
netically engineered plants — corn, cotton,
potato, soybean, tobacco and tomato—which
will be eligible for farm field tests under the
easier notification procedure.

A company will notify the Department of
Agriculture 30 days before releasing the ge-
netically engineered material. But before re-
lease, the plant must meet certain agriculture
department standards and the company must
agree to provide specificinformation required
by the law.

If there is substantial evidence that the
release won't have an adverse effect on hu-

mans or the environment, the field test will
be allowed, she said.

Sen. Steve Dille (IR-Dassel) sponsored the
billin the Senate and Rep. Phyllis Kahn (DFL-
Mpls) sponsored it in the House.
HF2212%/SF2023/CH454

Hormone-free milk

Milk producers who don’t treat their cows
with an artificial growth hormone can label
their products that way, under a new law
signed by Gov. Arne Carlson May 10.

The law allows milk producers who don't
treat their cows with recombinant Bovine
Growth Hormone (tBGH) to label their dairy
products with the phrase: “Milk in this prod-
uct is from cows not treated with rBGH.”

The growth hormone, also known as Bo-
vine Somatotropin (BST), increases milk pro-
duction in cows. It is a natural protein that is
produced in the pituitary gland of all cattle.

The biotechnology industry has worked
for several years to produce a synthetic ver-
sion of the hormone to increase milk produc-
tion in cows. In February, the genetically
engineered version won approval from the
U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Proponents of the labeling said there isn’t
enough information on the long-term effects
of the genetically engineered hormone to be
sure it is safe. They said they want to choose
milk products from cows not treated with the
hormone.

Those who opposed the bill said the FDA
has deemed the product safe, adding that the
“rBGH-free” label will create a stigma for milk
products from cows that are treated with the
protein.

Aknekw law allows milk producers that don’t treat their cows with recombinant Bovine Growth Hormone

label their products as such. (HF3215/5F2913*/CH632)




The law also appropriates $75,000 from the
state’s general fund to the Department of Agri-
culture to manage the labeling program. The
program will require a certification process to
make sure producers who are labeling their
products are indeed not using the hormone.

The labeling provision was originally pro-
posed in a bill sponsored in the House by
Rep. Steve Trimble (DFL-St. Paul), and in-
corporated into the environment and natural
resources section of the 1994 state supple-
mental budget bill.

According to Trimble, Minnesota is only
the second state in the nation to pass a law
allowing labeling of BGH-free products.
(Art. 2, Secs. 5 and 14)

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

Tough manure

A farmer who follows all governmental
rules for two years can’t be sued by neighbors
who dislike the smell of manure, under anew
law signed by Gov. Arne Carlson May 10.

The measure, sponsored in the House by
Rep. Jerry Bauerly (DFL-Sauk Rapids), pro-
tects farmsthat have met all state, federal, and
local standards for two years from lawsuits
accusing them of creating a “public or private
nuisance,” effective Aug. 1, 1994.

Current law requires a farm to operate
successfully for six years before it’s eligible
for the same protection.

Such conflicts, usually related to the dust
and smell from farming, sometimes arise in
newer housing developments that are builtin
the country near established farms.

Although some smells and other aspects of
farming may bother new neighbors, Bauerly
said a farm should be protected if it’s meeting
all the governmental guidelines. And even
though farmers can usually win nuisance
lawsuits, he said the legal costs can be devas-
tating. If a farm violates zoning codes or other
rules, the protection does not apply.

Ifafarm operation isexpanded by more than
25 percent, such as going from 100 to 126
hogs, the two-year period will be reinstated
from the start-up date of the bigger operation.
The two years also will start over if a farm
owner significantly alters the operation such as
changing from crops to livestock, or from one
kind of livestock to another.

Nearly 40 other states have similar laws,
commonly called “right to farm” laws. (See
March 18, 1994, Session Weekly, page 4, and
April 8, 1994, Session Weekly, page 6.). .

Sen. Dallas C. Sams (DFL-Staples) spon-
sored the Senate version of this bill.

The 1994 bonding bill, which Gov. Arne Carlson is still considering, contains a request for $650,000
to repair and regild the Quadriga — the golden horses and carriage atop the Capitol. (HF218*/SF182/
CH643)

BONDING

£

Pending governor's
signature

Building and borrowing

Minnesota would build more college class-
rooms and add more prison beds under a
$621 million bonding bill approved by the
House and Senate May 6. It now awaits
consideration from Gov. Arne Carlson.

The state would sell bonds to pay for the
projects,

If signed into law, the 1994 bonding bill
would be the largest in state history, surpass-
ing the $470 million worth of projects fi-
nanced by bonds in 1987.

The House originally passed a $469 mil-
lion bonding bill; the Senate proposed $592
million. The $621 million compromise came
after select House and Senate members met
to iron out an agreement.

The compromise bill spends slightly more

than the governor’s $614 million recommen- -

dation for bonding projects.
Below are some of the highlights of the
1994 bonding bill (HF218*/SF182/CH643):

Crime and prisons ,

The Department of Corrections would re-
ceive $73 million to expand existing prisons
and build new facilities for both juvenilesand
adults. This appropriation would lead to the
ultimate creation of 1,645 new adult prison
beds. Included in this section is $2 million for
the beginning stages of an 800-bed prison in
or near the Twin Cities.

About $16 million would pay counties to
constructsecure juvenile detention and treat-
ment facilities. Deputy Commissioner Jim
Bruton could not say exactly how many beds
would be available under this program.

Bruton said that $2.7 million would build
a new 30-bed secure facility in Red Wing for
violent juvenile offenders until they can re-
turn to an open campus environment. An-
other $3.4 million would go to the North-
western Juvenile Training Center in Beltrami
County to build another juvenile detention
and treatment center.

Other corrections projects in the bonding
bill include:

* $19 million to complete the conversion of
the Moose Lake Regional Treatment Cen-
terinto a 620-bed medium security prison;

- $10.4 million to add 485 adult prison beds

by remodeling one building and construct-
ing two new ones at Lino Lakes prison;

° $10 million to add 300 medium-security
beds and improve security at the Faribault
state prison; and

* $6.2 million to create an education com-
plex and library, and to renovate ware-
house, farm and foundry buildings at Still-
water prison.

Higher education v

The lion’s share of the bonding bill —
$208 million — would go to technical and
community colleges, state universities, and
the University of Minnesota.

Technical colleges would receive $45.5
million, which includes $20 million for a
new Brainerd technical college, and $8.8
million to fix up older technical college cam-
pus buildings around the state where repairs

May 13, 1994 / SESSION WEEKLY 5




More college classrooms and prison beds would be added under the 1944 bonding bill awaiting the
governor’s consideration. (HF218%/SF182/CH643)

have been put off.

A new Duluth technical college would be
integrated into the existing community col-
lege with $10.8 million. And, the technical
college campuses at Hibbing, Hutchinson,
St. Cloud, Northeast Metro, Rochester and
Dakota County would receive a total of $4.6
million for renovations.

Community colleges would receive $37
million. Major community college projects
include:

* $10.5 million for classroom and office
expansion at Normandale community col-
lege;

» $8 million for classrooms, laboratories, a
learning resource center and TV studio at
Cambridge Community College;

o $6 million for classrooms, labs, and a
learning resource center at North Henne-
pin Community College;

* $3 million for a regional cultural center at
Northland Community College; and

* $2.4 million for improvements at Vermil-
ion, Rainy River, Mesabi, Minneapolis,
Anoka Ramsey, Inver Hills and Lakewood
community colleges.

State universities would receive $57 mil-
lion, which includes a new $20 million li-
brary and air conditioning plant at Winona
State University.

Other state university projects include:

* $8.3 million for Bemidji State to remodel
and expand its library and begin planning
other renovations;

* $12.3 million for Metropolitan State to
remodel two buildings and rehabilitate a

. power plant; and
* $6.5 million for St. Cloud State to acquire

- anew boiler, construct an air conditioning

__ system; buy additional land, and prepare

~ drawings for a new library.

~ The University of Minnesota would re-

- ceive $69 million, which includes $15 mil-

lion for general building maintenance

projects.
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University of Minnesota projects include:

° $25 million for a new Carlson School of
Management, contingent upon the univer-
sity raising at least $20 million from pri-
vate donations;

* $13 million for reconstruction of the Insti-
tute of Technology building, contingent
upon raising $6.7 million from private
donations;

° $9 million to repair Johnston Hall,
Williamson Hall, and the Civil and Mineral
Engineering Building;

¢ $2.7 million for a Twin Cities campus
archival research facility to house univer-
sity manuscripts, special collections, and
Immigration History Research Center docu-
ments; and

* $4 million to the Duluth medical school for
building additional laboratories and of-
fices.

K-12 education

Schools would receive over $40 million for
a variety of construction projects.

The biggest item is $20 million to build
two magnet schools in the Twin Cities area.
The schools hope to promote desegregation
and attract students from across the seven-
county metropolitan area with specialized
programs, such as an advanced math and
science curriculum or an arts curriculum.
Two or more school districts would jointly
apply for each $10 million grant.

A combined Atwater, Cosmos and Grove
City high school would receive $6 million in
state bonding money. This grant would en-
courage the schools to consolidate and pro-
vide up to 75 percent of construction costs.
Local bonds would pay for the balance.

The Nett Lake School District would re-
ceive $3 million to complete construction of
an elementary school started with a $5 mil-
lion grant from the Legislature in 1993. Nett
Lake would be obliged to pay back a portion

of the funds, according to the terms of this
“maximum effort school loan.”
Anadditional $4 million ineducation bond-
ing money would be used to remove physical
barriers for students who are disabled; $1
million would go to remodeling public li-
braries to make them handicapped-acces-

sible.

State government

The 1994 bonding bill sets aside money for
a number of projects that were part of the
governor’s long-range plan to consolidate
state offices around the Capitol.

Included in this category is $13.4 million
to continue remodeling the Transportation
Building and another $1 million to relocate
some Department of Transportation offices.
Bonds would not have to be sold for these two
projects because money from a state highway
fund would pay for them.

Bonds would be sold, however, to repair
the Capitol roof and exterior, and restore and
regild the Quadriga — the golden horses
atop the Capitol. This project should cost
about $5 million. Another $1 million would
pay for new electrical wiring in the Capitol
complex, security lighting, and surveillance
equipment.

Pre-design work on a new building and
parking ramp for the Department of Health
would receive $400,000; and for planning a
new Department of Military Affairs, $100,000.

The maintenance account for repairing
state buildings, eliminating health hazards
like asbestos insulation, and for unantici-
pated emergencies would receive $10 mil-
lion. Removing barriers for persons with
disabilities would receive $11.5 million in
bonds.

Human services

The Department of Human Services would
receive $48 million for a variety of construc-
tion projects. The bulk of this appropriation,
$37 million, goes to the Anoka Metro Re-
gional Treatment Center, which would re-
structure its campus and create 150 new
psychiatric hospital beds and offices.

A major renovation of five buildings at the
Minneapolis Veterans Home would receive
$10.6 million.

And $8.8 million would build 43 four-bed
homes and improve existing homes for de-
velopmentally disabled adults. Bonds for this
project would be repaid by client service fees.

The Minnesota Housing Finance Agency
would receive $2.5 million, which includes
$1.5million to create transitional housing for
homeless youths. Five shelters for battered
women would be built with $1 million.

Head Start early education programs for




E
|

disadvantaged pre-school children would be
expanded with a $2 million grant to the
Department of Economic Security (formerly
the Department of Jobs and Training).

Rail, roads, bridges

The Department of Transportation would
receive $45 million for roads, bridges, and
other construction bonding projects.

A $10 million appropriation for a light rail
transit (LRT) system in the Twin Cities would
match a federal grant for preliminary engi-
neering work and completion of a final de-
sign.

Other transportation bonding projects in-
clude:

° $12.4 million for local bridge replacement;

* $7.6 million to complete construction of
the Bloomington Ferry Bridge;

e $10 million to the Metropolitan Transit

Commission (MTC) to acquire land and

improve its buildings and other facilities;

Zoo, museums, historic sites

The Minnesota Zoo would receive $20
million for a new marine education center,
which would include new dolphin and shark
exhibit areas. Bonds for this project would be
repaid from zoo receipts.

A freshwater aquarium and research cen-

ter in Duluth would receive $4 million, con-
tingent upon the Lake Superior Center Au-
thority raising $8 million from federal and
private sources. ’
- The Minnesota Historical Society would
receive $7 million for a number of historic
preservation projects, including the creation
of a museum for American Indian history,
fences for ancient American Indian burial
mounds, a Northwest Company Fur Post
interpretive center in Deer River, Minn., and
repairs of the historic Sibley house in
Mendota, the James J. Hill house in St. Paul,
and other historical site markers.

The Minnesota Children’s Museum and

. the Science Museum of Minnesota, both lo-

cated in St. Paul, would receive $1.25 million
and $1 million, respectively, to build new
facilities in different locations.

The science museum wants to construct a
new facility on the south bank of the Missis-
sippi River between the Wabasha Street and
Robert Street bridges. The children’s mu-
seum would also like to move to downtown
St. Paul. It currently sits near the state fair-
grounds.

Environment
Wildlife areas and state parks would be

enhanced by $59 million in projects admin-

istered by the Department of Natural Re-

sources (DNR). Some $5 million would pay

for maintenance projects, removal of under-

ground fuel storage tanks, and the repair and

new construction of state park buildings.
Other DNR projects include:

* $11.5 million to expand nine environmen-
tal learning centers statewide. These cen-
ters typically offer three- and five-day live-
in programs to expose school children to
ecological issues. Most of these grants are
contingent upon matching funds from non-
state sources;

* $6.1 million to acquire land, upgrade and
repair hiking and biking trails around the
state;

» $10 million to improve metropolitan re-
gional parks;

° $4.1 million for emergency repair, recon-
struction or removal of publicly owned
dams around the state;

* $2.2 million to build a public boat landing
at Silver Bay, or, at another site, on Lake
Superior. This appropriation requires fed-
eral matching funds;,

° $2.6 million for grants to local govern-
ments to prevent oralleviate flood damage;

* $6 million to acquire new land and make
improvements in Reinvest in Minnesota
(RIM) wildlife management areas, scien-
tific research areas, and prairie protection
projects;

e $2 million for acquire land for state parks
from willing sellers; and

° $750,000 to expand the facility for live wolf
viewing and other construction needed at
the International Wolf Center in Ely.

Pollution control

The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
(MPCA) would receive $23 million, with $20
million of this total going to finish the sepa-
ration of storm and sanitary sewers in Minne-
apolis, St. Paul, and South St. Paul. Another
$3 million would go to grants for cities,
counties and solid waste management dis-
tricts to construct waste processing and recy-
cling plants.

The Board of Water and Soil Resources
would receive $9 million to acquire access to
marginal lands to protect soil and water qual-
ity, and support fish and wildlife habitat.
Other land would be acquired for planting in
order to prevent soil erosion.

HF218%/SF182/CH643

BUDGET

Supplemental budget bill

Gov. Ame Carlson, while signing into law
much of a supplemental state budget bill,
line-time vetoed about $5 million worth of
projects, leaving total spending at about $30.7
million.

The bill incorporates three legislative
supplemental budget measures in the areas
of state government finance, environment
and natural resources, and economic devel-
opment, infrastructure, and transportation.

The House and Senate passed a $35.7
million compromise supplemental budget
bill May 5. The House voted 117 to 16 and
the Senate voted 49 to 14.

The law as signed by Carlson, May 10,
spends about $40 million less than the origi-
nal House-approved proposal.

The bill was sponsored by Sen. Gene Mer-
riam (DFL-Coon Rapids) in the Senate and
Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-Bovey) in the House.

(Because the bill is 168 pages long and
spans such diverse topic areas, brief stories
about the various programs that are funded
are listed under their respective topic head-
ings in this issue of the Session Weekly.)

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

BUSINESS

Limited liability partnerships

Any partnership, including groups of pro-
fessionals such as doctors and lawyers, can
create a limited liability partnership begin-
ning July 1, 1994, underanewlaw Gov. Arne
Carlson signed April 29.

Under the new law, partners will not be
personally liable for debts incurred by other
partners or employees if the partnership has
registered with the Office of the Secretary of
State as a “limited liability partnership.”

But those involved in partnerships that do
not meet the criteria for limited liability part-
nerships still can be held personally liable for
any debts the partnership incurs.

The new law, sponsored by Rep. Ann Rest
(DFL-New Hope) and Sen. Ember Reichgott
Junge (DFL-New Hope), follows 1992 legis-
lation that allows businesses to form limited
liability companies. That standing affords
businesses the tax advantages of partnerships
and the limitation on liability for the owners.

“Partnerships are friendlier and easier to
use,” said Rest earlier in explaining the bill.
“This allows Minnesota businesses to choose
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the form of business entity they want to form.”

Officials expect about 150 limited liability
partnerships among doctors, lawyers and
other professionals to register each year un-
der the new law, according to the Office of the
Secretary of State.

Although any group can form such a part-
nership, it is expected that doctors, lawyers,
and other professionals will use the new
classification the most.

HF1985*/SF1786/CH539
CONSUMERS

1-900 law

Telephone customers won't have to pay for
calls to often costly 1-900 services if the calls
were made by minors without permission,
under legislation signed April 15 by Gov.
Arme Carlson.

Since the 1980s, 1-900 phone services and
other pay-by-the-minute lines for sports in-
formation, weather information, horoscopes,
and sex talk have.cropped up across the
country. Some 1-800 numbers also cost
morney, and the new law applies to those as
well. (See March 31, 1994, Session Weekly,
page 5 and April 8, 1994, Session Weekly,
page 6.)

The law also specifies that phone custom-
ers are not liable for calls made to phone
services by “vulnerable adults.” The defini-
tion of “vulnerable adults” in Minnesota stat-
utes includes adults who are mentally ill or
mentally retarded.

But telephone companies will be provided
with some protection. Under the law, a tele-
phone company could block a customer’s
access to these phone services without per-
mission if the customer fails to pay these bills
two months in a row or runs up a $500 or
more tab in a single month.

When the law takes effect Aug. 1, 1994,
phone bills must also contain a notice that
customers “are not legally responsible for
information service charges incurred by oth-
ers without your consent except for calls
made by your spouse.”

The bill was sponsored in the House by
Rep. Brad Stanius (IR-White Bear Lake) and
in the Senate by Sen. Janet Johnson (DFL-
North Branch).

HF564/5F819*/CH449
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Potty parity

Women tired of standing in long lines to
use the bathroom while their male friends
breeze in and out can take heart from-a new
law.

Now, stadiums, concert halls, theaters,
and all other arenas that can hold more than
200 people must provide three female bath-
room stalls for every two stalls or urinalsin a
men’s bathroom.,

The law applies only to newly built arenas
or to those remodeling and adding more than
50 percent of the current space.

The bill was first introduced in the House
by Rep. Geri Evans (DFL-New Brighton) as
HF2973. 1t was eventually folded into that
committee’s portion of the 1994 supplemen-
tal budget bill. The provision comes with no
state appropriation. (HF3215/SF2913%*/
CH632, Art. 3, Sec. 33)

Sen. Dallas Sams (DFL-Staples) sponsored
the measure in the Senate.

The new law also gives the commissioner
of the Department of Administration the au-
thority to decide whether to raise the ratio of
men to women’s bathrooms higher than two
to three for some arenas.

The law is effective July 1, 1995.

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

Crime and prevention

CRIME

More judges will be hired, prisons will be
expanded, and many offenders will face stiffer
sentences under the 1994 criminal justice
and crime prevention bill signed into law by
Gov. Arne Carlson.

The $34 million proposal increases penal-
ties for a host of existing crimes, and devotes
several million dollars to crime prevention

‘efforts as well. As passed by the Legislature,

the proposal appropriated $36.7 million, but
$2.7 million was line-item vetoed by the
governor May 10. (See Vetoed section.)

Over 40 percent of the money, or $14.5
million, will fund the expansion of beds at the
Lino Lakes and Faribault correctional facili-
ties. AtLino Lakes, 230 beds will be added for
chemically dependent residents.

(An additional $73 million in state-autho-
rized bonds contained in HF218, the state
bonding bill, would also expand the state’s
prisons. The governor has yet to sign that
bill.)

An additional $2.5 million will fund 116
more jobs at the Oak Park Heights, St. Cloud,
and Stillwater prisons.

Eight new district judges willalso be added,

with Hennepin County receiving three to
combat overflowing caseloads. A $3.5 mil-
lion appropriation will fund four of those
judgeships, and pay for more court reporters
as well.

Another $1.5 million will help ease the
caseloads of probation officers statewide.

The proposal was sponsored by Rep. Wes
Skoglund (DFL-Mpls).

Other provisionsin the new law (HF2351%/
SFnone/CH636) include:

Juvenile data

The new law will make it easier for school
officials to obtain the juvenile court records
of students. Probation officers would provide
the school principal with a copy of the
juvenile’s record. Currently, the Minnesota
Data Practices Act prohibits most data shar-
ing with school officials. (Art. 4, Sec. 10)

Law enforcementagencies, if they have prob-
able cause, can notify a school principal if one
of their studentsis believed to have committed
a crime. They don’t have to if the notification
would jeopardize an ongoing investigation.
Any written data must be destroyed when the
student graduates. (Art. 4, Sec. 12)

Under the bill, schools — both public and
private — that obtain the records of ajuvenile
may use and share the data within the school
district, or with another school to which the
student is transferring, as “necessary to pro-
tect persons and property or to address the
educational and other needs of students.”
(HF2351*/SFnone/CH636, Art. 4, Sec. 1)

Helping abducted kids, fast

Several provisions in the new law aim to
concentrate law enforcement efforts on the
first two hours following a child abduction,
and the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension
(BCA) willbecome a key player in those efforts.

All law enforcement agencies, after identi-
fying a child as either missing or endangered,
must contact the BCA, “in recognition of the
fact that the first two hours are critical.” The
BCA may then assist in any way necessary,
and can now use state helicopters in their
efforts. (Art. 4, Secs. 24-27)

By July 1, 1994, the BCA will distribute a
training and procedures manual on child ab-
duction investigations to every law enforce-
ment agency in the state. (Art. 4, Sec. 32)

By Aug. 1, 1995, each agency must have a
written policy governing missing children
investigations, with specific actions to be
taken during the first two hours of the inves-
tigation. (Art. 4, Sec. 32)

The Department of Public Safety will also
receive $275,000 to develop a computer
criminal alert network, designed, in part, to
quickly disseminate information on missing




The new criminal justice and crime prevention law calls for stiffer penalties, bigger prisons and more
judges. (HF2351%*/SFnone/CH636)

children. State officials will consider fax trans-
missions, the INTERNET international com-
puter network, and existing state computer
networks as possible vehicles for the net-
work. A report on the plan is due to the
Legislature by Jan. 1, 1995. (HF2351%/
SFnone/CH636, Art. 4, Sec. 37).

Victims’ rights

Should someone convicted of first-degree
murder become eligible for parole, the victim's
next of kin will be notified in advance of the
parole hearing. The family of the victim may
also give an oral or written statement at the
parole hearing, detailing their suffering and
recommending whether the offender should
be paroled. The commissioner of the Depart-
ment of Corrections “must consider the
victim’s statement when making the parole
decision.” (Art. 6, Sec. 8)

Other offenders who are sentenced to life,
but become eligible for a supervised release
program, could also face their victim's family
at such a hearing.

The Department of Corrections will also
compile a community investigation report to
gauge the sentiment of the community where
the offender is scheduled to be released. The
report also will include the opinions of the
sentencing judge, the prosecutor, and any
other law enforcement officials involved in
the prisoner’s case. (HF2351%/SFnone/
CH636, Art. 6, Sec. 13)

HIV testing

Current law allows for victims to request
that a convicted sex offender submit to an
HIV test. That law is expanded to require
those convicted of a violent crime — a legal
definition which includes nearly three dozen
offenses ranging from assault to murder —to

submit to the test.

Juveniles adjudicated for criminal sexual
conduct also will be required to submit to
testing.

The tests may only be conducted if the
victim was exposed to or had contact with the
offender’s semen or blood during the crime
“in a manner which has been demonstrated
epidemiologically to transmit the HIV virus.”
(HF2351*/SFnone/CH636, Art. 7, Sec. 6)

No guns for some

Someone found incompetent to stand trial.

will be prohibited from possessing a pistol or
assault weapon. The same ban will apply to
someone found not guilty due to mental
illness. (Art. 3, Sec. 27)

Anyone convicted of assaulting a family
household member and uses a firearm in any
way during the assault could be prohibited
from possessing any type of firearm for life.
The ban could range from three years to life,
at the discretion of the sentencing judge.
Violation. of the provision will be a gross
misdemeanor. (Art. 3, Sec. 10)

Previously, if the family member did not
re-offend for three years after the assault, the
gun would be returned. (HF2351*/SFnone/
CH636)

Guns and ammo

Law enforcement agencies will be prohib-
ited fromreselling guns and ammunition that
they collect while making arrests. Currently,
such contraband, collected under the state’s
forfeiture laws, can be sold at a forfeiture sale.

The law requires cops to either destroy the
weapons and ammunition or use them in
their law enforcement duties. An exception
allows them to save a weapon if the “agency
determines that there is good reason not to

destroya particularitem.” (HF2351*/SFnone/
CH636, Art. 3, Secs. 12-14)

Countywide curfews

Each county board in Minnesota will have
the authority to establish a countywide cur-
few for juveniles under age 17. (HF2351%/
SFnone/CH636, Art. 9, Sec. 10)

Cars and kids

Law enforcement agencies must make a
reasonable effort to use vehicles confiscated
during drug busts in the Drug Abuse Resis-
tance Education (DARE) program. Sponsors
of this provision said that it would impress
school children if the police officers in the
DARE program were to be seen driving the
flashy cars formerly driven by drug dealers.
(HF2351*/SFnone/CH636, Art. 4, Sec. 29)

Kids and tobacco

The law makes it a petty misdemeanor for
a minor to possess tobacco. Previously, only
minors who smoke or chew tobacco, or who
purchase or attempt to purchase tobacco, are
guilty of a petty misdemeanor. The maxi-
mum fine for a petty misdemeanor is $200.
(HF2351*/SFnone/CH636, Art. 2, Sec. 44)

Plea bargaining

Each county attorney in the state will have
until the beginning of next year to adopt
formal guidelines governing how the county’s
attorneys arrange plea bargains. The guide-
lines, which will be available to the public,
will have to include the extent to which the
wishes of victims and law enforcement offic-
ers will be considered when negotiating a
pleabargain. (HF2351*/SFnone/CH636, Art.
2, Sec. 9)

Court interpreters

The state court administrator will receive
$100,000 to establish a statewide judicial
interpreter certification and training program.

Interpreters, translators, non-English
speaking people, and those for whom En-
glish is a second language must have an
opportunity to assist in developing the certi-
fication criteria.

There is a growing concern over the accu-
racy of court interpreters. Bill sponsor Rep.
Wes Skoglund (DFL-Mpls) related a story on
the House floor where an interpreter was
found to not be relaying the exact words of a
witness, and was in fact omitting phrases and
paraphrasing others. The interpreter was
tripped. up by a Spanish-speaking judge.
(HF2351*/SFnone/CH636, Art. 1, Sec. 14)
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Juvenile crime crackdown

Sixteen-and 17-year-old juvenileswhoare
charged with first-degree murder would au-
tomatically stand trial in adult court, undera
new state law.

The provision is contained in the omnibus
juvenile justice proposal that will spend an
additional $9.9 million during fiscal year
1995.

As passed by the Legislature, the proposal
allocated $13.9 million, but Gov. Arne Carl-
son line-item vetoed $4 million in spending.
Deleted were funds for additional judges,
public defenders, and probation officers. (See
Vetoed Bills section.)

The law incorporates many of the recom-
mendations of the Minnesota Supreme Court
Advisory Task Force on the Juvenile Justice
System.

The measure also includes stiff penalties
for juvenile offenders, including mandatory
minimum sentences for juveniles convicted
of a drive-by shooting, and felony penalties
for those brandishing a BB gun or gun replica
on school property.

The law was sponsored in the House by

Rep. Wes Skoglund (DFL-Mpls) and in the
Senate by Sen. Jane Ranum (DFL-Mpls).

Among the bill's (HF2074*/SF1845/
CH576).other highlights:

Secure juvenile facilities

The Department of Correctionsisinstructed
to license several regional secure juvenile
facilities throughout the state. Currently,
Minnesota has no secure facilities and is
spending an increasing amount of state dol-
lars on out-of-state placement of serious ju-
venile offenders. An additional 100 secure
beds will be licensed.

Intensive educational programs will be
designed for use at each secure facility, and
will be tailored based on an offender’s crimi-
nal history, age, and cultural and ethnic
heritage. Other program components will
include mental health screening and chemi-
cal dependency treatment.

While the bill includes no funding for the
juvenile jails, the bonding bill (HF218) does
include $19 million to pay for secure juvenile
facilities. (HF2074%/SF1845/CHS576, Sec. 4)

Certifying kids as adults

There will be a presumption to try 16- and
17-year-olds as adults if the juvenile court
decides a prison sentence is likely or if the
juvenile used a firearm while committing a
felony. In other words, juveniles will face an
adult trial unless they prove they warrant a
juvenile hearing. (HF2074*/SF1845/CHS576,
Sec. 13)




Extended jurisdiction juveniles
Serious and repeat juvenile offenders will

face a new juvenile court proceeding de-

signed as a “last chance” before entering the
adult district court —and prison — systems.

Under an extended jurisdiction juvenile
(E])) proceeding, certain 14- to 17-year-olds
will be entitled to legal counsel and a jury
trial, (Currently, 11 states allow for jury trials
for juvenile court proceedings.)

Those teens found guilty will receive a
juvenile court penalty and a stayed adult
criminal penalty. If the juvenile violates the
conditions of the juvenile penalty, and/or
commits another crime, the adult sentence
would kick in. A hearing process will be
allowed to those who contest the imposition
of the adult penalty in such cases.

A juvenile court proceeding will become
an “EJJ” hearing if:

o the minor was 14- to 17-years old at the
time of the alleged offense, a certification
hearing was held, and the court ruled for
the EJJ process instead of certifying the
child as an adult;

o the offender was 16- or 17-years old and is
alleged to have committed a felony and
used a firearm, or the crime would resultin
aprisonsentence, and the prosecutor chose
an EJJ; or

o the offender is 14- to 17-years old and the
EJJ is requested by the prosecutor, and the
court, after a hearing, agrees to an EJJ
prosecution. (Sec. 14)

The Department of Corrections will re-
ceive $100,000 to develop and implement a
plan for EJJ proceedings. (HF2074*/SF1845/
CH576, Sec. 67, Subd. 2)

Parents in court

Unless excused by the court, parents or
guardians will have to accompany their chil-
dren at an EJJ or delinquency proceeding.
Those who are no-shows could face charges
of contempt. (HF2074*/SF1845/CH576, Sec.
21)

Keeping court records

Juvenile court conviction records will be
held on file until the offender reaches the age
of28. Under current law, the records are held
until the offender turns 23. (Sec. 22)

EJJ records, which are classified differ-
ently, will be forwarded to the Bureau of
Criminal Apprehensionand held for 15 years
after disposition of the case. The data will be
considered private. However, if the EJJ
offender’'sadultsentence is imposed, the data
becomes public. (Sec. 23)

Under a separate provision, a database on
EJJ juveniles will be created, and the criminal
and juvenile information policy group will

study further whether the records should be
public or private and how long they should
be retained. (HF2074*/SF1845/CH576, Sec.
41)

Juvenile jurisdiction

Inmost cases, juvenile courts will maintain
jurisdiction until an individual’s 21st birth-
day, unless the court terminates its jurisdic-
tion before that date. Under current law,
juvenile court jurisdiction ends at age 19.
(HF2074*/SF1845/CHS576, Sec. 25)

Juvenile drunk drivers
Minors at least 16 years of age will face

district court — not juvenile court — if’

charged withaDWI offense, or with any non-
felony traffic penalties in connection with the
same DWI charge. (Sec. 30)

Juveniles will be held before trial in a
secure juvenile detention facility, and, if found
guilty, will be placed in a residential treat-
ment facility or a juvenile correctional facil-
ity. (HF2074*/SF1845/CH576, Sec. 33)

Firearm restrictions

Any juvenile certified to adult court and
convicted of a “crime of violence,” which
includes nearly three dozen offenses ranging
from arson to murder, will be ineligible to
possess a firearm for 10 years following their
release from prison. Additional convictions
for a crime of violence would start the time
clock over again. (Sec. 3)

The provision also applies to juveniles or
those convicted in an EJJ proceeding who
committed a crime of violence. (Sec. 34)

A separate provision prohibits possession
of a pistol or assault weapon for 10 years for
the same offenders. (HF2074*/SF1845/
CHS576, Sec. 55)

Education grants
A total of $4.9 million will fund grants

administered by the Department of Educa-

tion designed to stem violence or stop it
before it happens. A majority of the funds will
go to three specific programs:

o $1 million will fund violence prevention
grants to school districts. Grant funds will
be used to develop and implement vio-
lence prevention programs to be integrated
into existing K-12 curriculum (Sec. 67,
Subd. 4);

* $1.5 million will be for learning readiness
programs, which help to prepare pre-kin-
dergarten children for school. Such pro-
grams integrate social services, health and
nutrition components to ensure the suc-
cess of the child. The programs are de-
signed to serve at-risk and developmen-
tally disadvantaged children (Sec. 67, Subd.

4): and

° $2.2 million for high risk youth violence
prevention grants. (HF2074*/SF1845/
CH576, Sec. 67, Subd. 4)

Community crime reduction grants

An additional $2.2 million will be used to
expand the community crime reduction grant
program administered by the Department of
Public Safety. Under current law, the funds
must be spent on programs designed to dis-
courage involvement with drugs or gangs or
on “innovative” programs that draw signifi-
cant participation from the community served
by the program. The 1993 Legislature allo-
cated $1.4 million for such programs.

The law is expanded to, fund programs to
prevent truancy, increase high school gradu-
ation rates, and intervene with juveniles who
are considered likely to participate in crimi-
nal activity. (HF2074*/SF1845/CH576, Sec.
38)

Mental health screening

A total of $500,000 in additional funding
will continue to fund mental health screen-
ings and non-residential treatment of juve-
nile offenders. Established by the 1992 Leg-
islature, the programs are designed to reduce
the number of repeat offenders by treating
underlying mental health problems that con-
tribute to delinquent behavior. (Sec. 67, Subd.
9

The program, established by the 1992
Legislature, is expanded to include children
alleged or found to be delinquent, or found to
be in need of protection or services. Cur-
rently, only juveniles in shelter care or in a
detention facility are eligible for the mental
health assessments and treatment program.
(HF2074*/SF1845/CH576, Sec. 18)

Hot line for school crimes

A 24-hour toll-free hot line will be run by
the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to take
tips on crimes committed on school prop-
erty. Calls leading to an arrest could get the
tipster a reward of up to $100. A $20,000
appropriation will establish the hot line. (Sec.
40)

The 1992 Legislature directed DPS to es-
tablish a similar line to refer crime victims to
appropriate agencies. (HF2074%/SF1845/
CH576)

Pretrial diversion programs

By July 1, 1995, all county attorneys must
establish pretrial diversion programs for ju-
venile offenders.

The program goals will emphasize court
alternatives that focus on promoting restitu-
tion to victims, reduce costs to the juvenile
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court system, and minimize the number of
repeat offenders.

The original House proposal called for
$1.1 million in funding for the program, but
the funds were eliminated from the final
proposal. (HF2074*/SF1845/CH576, Sec.
42)

Youth grants fo cities
A total of $1.15 million in grants will be
available to cities for curfew enforcement,
"truancy prevention, and after-school and
summer recreation programs for youth.
The grants will be administered by the
Department of Economic Security, which is
the new name of the former Department of
Jobs and Training. (HF2074*/SF1845/
CH576, Sec. 67, Subd. 10)

Reducing truancy

The Department of Education will receive
$100,000 to help fight truancy in schools.
Grants will be awarded to community orga-
nizations that provide intervention, preven-
tion, and educational services. Such services
could include individual or family counsel-
ing, tutoring, or an assessment to determine
the underlying issues contributing to the
truancy problem. Priority for grant funding
will be given to programs that involve local
law enforcement agencies and address el-
ementary and middle school students.

Those organizations receiving grants will
be required to submit annual progress re-
ports to the Legislature. (HF2074*/SF1845/
CH576, Sec. 1)

Graffiti patrol

A total of $60,000 in state funds will pay
for community service work crews to remove
graffiti from both public and private prop-
erty. (HF2074*/SF1845/CH576, Sec. 67,
Subd. 2)

Stiffer DWI penalties

Repeat DWI offenders will spend more
time behind bars under a bill Gov. Arne
Carlson signed into law May 10.

And those who drink and drive in different
types of vehicles — including cars, snowmo-
biles, boats, and all-terrain vehicles — will
also find past offenses more likely to stack up
against them.

The 1994 ommibus DWI bill, sponsored in
the House by Rep. Charlie Weaver (IR-Anoka)
and in the Senate by Sen. Gene Merriam (DFL-
Coon Rapids), increases penalties for people
who make a habit out of drinking and driving.
Lawmakers say these offenders are “slipping
through the cracks” of the present system.
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Under the bill, which is effective Aug. 1,
judges will be required to order those con-
victed of DWI and related crimes to serve
their sentences back-to-back (consecutively)
instead of merging all sentences into one
(concurrently). )

Currently, a person may be convicted of
two or more drunk driving offenses, but
usually serves the sentences concurrently.
For instance, someone who is charged with a
second DWI, while they’re still waiting to go
to court fora first DWI, would probably serve
only one sentence for both violations.

Under the new law, sentences for these
types of DWI crimes must run consecutively.
And those serving sentences for multiple
gross misdemeanor offenses could spend up
to four years in jail — up from the current
three-year limit.

Likewise, when a consecutive sentence is
ordered for a gross misdemeanor and one or
more misdemeanor DWI offenses, the jail
time limit will be extended to two years.

(Although the maximum jail time for a
gross misdemeanor is one year, the law al-
lows for more jail time to be served when the
sentences are served back-to-back.)

The proposal also adds two more catego-
ries to the “habitual DWI offender” defini-
tion. Right now, people convicted of a DWI
for a third time in five years or a fourth time
in 10 years must spend a minimum of 30 days
in jail. Under the bill, someone convicted of
a sixth DWI within 10 years or an eighth
within 15 years must be sentenced to at least
one year in jail, or intensive probation with
electronic alcohol monitoring.

In addition, if an alcohol-related offense
and a non-alcohol related offense are com-
mitted during the same incident, such as
someone driving while intoxicated and with-
out insurance, the new law gives a judge the
option of ordering consecutive sentences.
Currently, a judge can order just the most
severe punishment to be served.

Besides increasing jail time for multiple
DWI offenders, the law also states that prior
drinking and driving offenses — no matter
what type of vehicle was involved — will
enhance penalties for future offenses.

Under current law, a snowmobile or boat-
ing drunk driving conviction goes on an
offender’s driving record. If a person has had
aBWI (boating while intoxicated) and is later
convicted of a DWI, the DWI would be
treated as if it were the second such offense.
However, a previous DWI would not count
against someone later convicted of a boating
or snowmobiling offense. Under the new
law, that no longer will be the case — boating
and snowmobile violations also will stack up

against each other.

The new measures will not change current
law with regard to a driver’s license revoca-
tion. Drivers will lose only their license for
the type of vehicle they were driving at the
time of the arrest.

HF2985/SF1961*/CH615

m DEVELOPMENT

World Trade Center

The World Trade Center Corp. will receive
$189,000 during fiscal years 1994 and 1995
to reduce its debt under a section of the state
supplemental budget bill signed into law
May 10 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

The corporation, however, will not receive
$111,000 of the total appropriation slated for
fiscal year 1995 unless St. Paul businesses
contribute half that amount. (Art. 4, Sec. 9)

The corporation oversees the World Trade
Center in downtown St. Paul, a quasi-public
agency that tries to attract foreign companies
to do business in Minnesota.

In 1993, lawmakers gave the corporation
$200,000 to help pay its debts and operating
costs. The 1992 Legislature granted the cor-
poration $580,000 in an effort make it more
attractive to any potential private buyers.

Last year’s appropriation also contained a
clause stating that “this section is intended to
make it clear that the state of Minnesotais not
and never has been nor will be responsible for
the obligations of the corporation.”

Language in the new law also directs the
corporation to cooperate more with the Min-
nesota Trade Office and the Department of
Trade and Economic Development.

Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-Bovey) spon-
sored the bill in the House and Sen. Gene
Merriam (DFL-Coon Rapids) camed the leg-
islation in the Senate.

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

‘Phalen Corridor’

The city of St. Paul will receive a $450,000
grant to develop a 100-acre railroad corridor
in the northeast section of the city into an
industrial park, under a provision in the state
supplemental budget bill signed into law
May 10 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

The $450,000 grant to turn the “Phalen
Corridor” site near Lake Phalen into a light
industrial park will not be available, how-
ever, unless the city also pitches in an equal
amount for the project. (Art. 4, Sec. 3)

Thessiteislocated in an area of St. Paul with
a relatively high level of unemployment, ac-
cording to city officials who pitched the




proposal at a House committee hearing ear-
lier this session. Thus, workers who could fill
the jobs created in the corridor would be
close at hand, they said.

Plus, the area is near Interstate Highway
35E, which should make the area attractive to
businesses, the officials said.

Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-Bovey) spon-
sored the state supplemental budget bill in
the House and Sen. Gene Merriam (DFL-
Coon Rapids) carried the legislation in the
Senate.

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

|

No ‘Crazy Horse’ malt liquor

DRUGS

Crazy Horse brand malt liquor will be
banned in Minnesotaunder legislation signed
into law May 9 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

But drinkers can imbibe later on Christmas
Eve under another provision in the omnibus
liquor bill, which makes many technical
changes in state law regarding the sale and
consumption of alcoholic beverages.

The “Crazy Horse” provision in the new
law instructs the state Liquor Control Divi-
sion to revoke the registration of any brand
that “states or implies in a false or misleading
manner a connection with an actual living or
dead American Indian leader.” The change in
this provision is effective Aug. 1, 1994.

ANew York City-based brewer introduced
the Crazy Horse brand in Minnesota last year.
It evoked an outcry from American Indians
and others who said the label was offensive to
the memory of the Oglala Lakota chief, who
opposed the use of alcohol.

The new law also strikes language in cur-
rent law that prohibits bars and restaurants
from serving alcohol after 8 p.m. on Christ-
mas Eve. The change means that Christmas
Eve closing time will be at 1 a.m. the next day,
the same as on most nights of the year. The
change in law will be in effect by Christmas
Eve 1994.

Another provision in the bill, effective May
10, authorizes charitable, religious, or other
non-profit organizations to raise money by
holding wine-tasting events, but only if the
events do not last more than four hours.

Rep. Joel Jacobs (DFL-Coon Rapids) spon-
sored the House bill and Sen. Sam Solon
(DFL-Duluth) carried the legislation in the
Senate.

HF2617*/SF2161/CH611

E: EDUCATION

K-12 funding

School districts will get an extra $15 million
to keep teachers up to speed on the latest
instruction methods, and the state will spend
$3 million to make its school buses safer,
under the 1994 K-12 supplemental budget bill
Gov. Arne Carlson signed into law May 10.

The state also will pay for several different
educational grant programs, and spend $2
million to take metropolitan area schools a
few steps closer to achieving racial balance.

In total, Minnesota will spend an addi-
tional $49 million on K-12 education pro-
grams in fiscal years 1994-1995. However,
only $22.4 million of those funds will be an
additional draw from the state’s general fund.
The remainder will come from a reallocation
of existing state education dollars.

Additionally, the State Technical College
System will receive $24 million in state aid
payments that have been intentionally de-
layed.

The K-12 education bill was one of the last
to win legislative approval this session. A
conference committee haggled over House
and Senate proposals for nearly three weeks
before reaching a compromise May 6 — just
hours before the Legislature was set to ad-
journ.

And despite Gov. Arne Carlson’s recent
streak of line-item vetoes, he signed the K-12
bill without cutting any programs or spend-
ing.

The bill was sponsored in the House by
Rep. Kathleen Vellenga (DFL-St. Paul) and in
the Senate by Sen. Larry Pogemiller (DFL-
Mpls). Many sections of the omnibus bill,
however, were taken from other bills intro-
duced during the session. Sponsors of those
measures are noted wherever possible.

HF2189%/SF2206/CH647

Technical college shift

A total of $24 million will be paid back to
the state’s technical colleges. This provision,
which originally was included in the higher
education funding bill, was shifted to the K-
12 bill during conference committee negotia-
tions.

Currently, the state’s technical colleges are
part of Minnesota’s K-12 education system
and, like elementary and secondary schools,
receive some of their state aid payments late.
The state intentionally pays schools some of
their money late and the accounting shifts
have left districts short of cash.

The state’s technical colleges, however,
will soon be merged with Minnesota’s com-

munity college and state university systems.
According to the state Office of the Attorney
General, the late payments can't legally con-
tinue after the merger, which is scheduled to
be completed by July 1995. The money to
“settle up” with the technical colleges will
come from the state’s general fund. (HF2189*/
SF2206/CH647, Art. 15, Sec. 1)

Per pupil unit funding increase

The state will give school districts an extra
$15.7 million in fiscal year 1995 to help pay
for a mandate it imposed last year.

The state currently pays $3,150 per pupil
unit. The additional funds will increase that
amount by $17.10.

The increase is a one-time appropriation.
Itis expected to offset the costs of a 1993 law
requiring districts to spend more money on
staff development — training to keep teach-
ers up-to-date with new advances in their
fields of expertise. (HF2189*/SF2206/
CH647, Art. 1, Sec. 38)

Bus safety

Minnesota school districts will get a 1
percent boost in their transportation safety
aid each year —an extra $3 million statewide
— to make their buses safer, and school bus
drivers will get more training to help them
handle their sometimes unruly passengers.

With the funds, districts will be able to pay
for adult monitors, video cameras, public
address systems, crossing control arms, or
other measures aimed at improving school
bus safety. Although each district will be able
to choose its own means for making buses
safer, choices must be pre-approved by the
Department of Public Safety.

The law also designates the first week of
school as school bus safety week. During the
week, each district is required to provide K-
12 students with bus safety training. Training
should include the theme that riding the bus
is a privilege, not a right.

Another provision gives school boards the
option of designating one day during school
bus safety week as “School Bus Driver Day.”
Earlier this session, the House passed a bill
declaring the second Monday in January
“School Bus Driver Day” in the state, but the
bill did not gain Senate approval.

The law also tightens training standards
for school bus drivers. 1t will require them to
have eight hours of training each year in areas
suchas safety, firstaid, emergency situations,
and understanding student behavior, includ-
ing behavior relating to students with dis-
abilities. This training is in addition to regu-
lar standards the drivers are currently ex-
pected to meet.

The $3 million allocation includes $15,000
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to fund a newly created school bus safety
advisory committee that will keep abreast of
school bus safety issues in the state and make
recommendations to the Legislature for fur-
ther improvements,

Originally, the House bus safety proposal
mandated that districts use the extra money
to buy “safety crossing control arms” for all
their buses. The retractable arms can extend
eight feetin front of a bus, forcing children to
walk around them in full view of the bus
driver. However, lawmakers adopted the
Senate proposal in conference committee,
giving districts the option of buying the arms
or spending the money on some other safety
measure.

The bus safety measures were sponsored
in the House by Rep. Betty McCollum (DFL-
North St. Paul), and contained many recom-
mendations from a 17-member school bus
safety task force the Legislature created last
year. (HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 12)

Burnsville fire funds

The state will give the Burnsville School
District $500,000 to help it recover from a
fire that blazed through Burnsville Senior
High School April 25.

The law also gives the district permission
to have a shorter school day and offer fewer
than the 170 instructional days that are re-
quired by law to complete the school year.
The exception will allow Burnsville students
to graduate on time.

Although damages from the fire are esti-
mated between $5 million and $7 million,
most of the school’s expenses will be covered
by insurance. The proposal was originally spon-

sored in the House by Rep. Connie Morrison .

(IR-Burnsville) and in the Senate by Sen. David
Knutson (IR-Burnsville). (HF2189%/SF2206/
CH647, Art. 14, Sec. 3-4)

Desegregating schools

The state will spend $2 million to help |

achieve racial balance in Twin Cities area
schools.

The bulk of the money, $1.5 million, is set
aside for grants to districts to plan and de-
velop magnet schools, which traditionally
offer specialized programs in addition to
regular classes to attract students.

Lawmakers say magnet schools help the
state achieve “voluntary” desegregation by
offering programs to attract students to other
districts. For example, a specialized inner
city school that attracts many suburban stu-
dents would help a school achieve better
racial balance.

Another $150,000 will be used to establish
astate office to coordinate and support activi-
ties relating to desegregation. The office,
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The state will give schools more money to decrease their kindergarten class sizes, under a provision in
the omnibus K-12 law approved this year. (HF2189%/SF2206/CH647)

within the Department of Education, will,
among other things, distribute information,

assist with interdistrict transfers, and help

districts develop new magnet schools and
programs.

The office will also monitor the progress of
desegregation in metro area schools, and peri-
odically consult with the Metropolitan Coun-
cilto coordinate desegregation and integration
efforts with housing, social, economic and
other needs of the Twin Cities area.

The remaining desegregation dollars will
fund three different grant programs: $200,000
to an existing program to attract teachers of
color; $100,000 for mentorship grants to
assist beginning minority teachers; and
$50,000 for grants to encourage minorities
specializing in business, science and other
careers to seek alternative teaching licenses
and share their expertise with students.
(HF2189%/SF2206/CH647, Art. 8, Sec. 1-
2)Graduation rule changes

The State Board of Education will proceed
on schedule with plans to implement state-
wide graduation standards in Minnesota’s
high schools.

Last year, the Legislature gave the Depart-
ment of Education $10 million to develop
standards that students across the state would
be required to achieve in order to graduate
from high school.  The law also said the
standards could be put in place for students
entering high school in 1996; this year’s law
clarifies that to mean students entering ninth
grade in the 1996-97 school year.

In addition, the new law requires the state
Board of Education to consult with the Spe-
cial Education Advisory Council in develop-
ing the standards to ensure that students with
disabilities can fully participate under the

graduation rule.

The original House proposal, sponsored
by Rep. Alice Johnson (DFL-Spring Lake
Park), would have required the board to gain
approval from the Legislature next year in
order to implement the standards statewide.
But the compromise bill maintains current
law, and states that the board must give the
Legislature a yearly update on its progress
with implementing different phases of the
graduation standards. (HF2189%/SF2206/
CH647, Art. 7, Sec. 1)

Voter referendums

A section of the bill will smooth the transi-
tion for districts that must change the way
they collect extra property taxes from local
taxpayers for education.

Currently, about two-thirds of the districts
in the state have successfully asked theirlocal
taxpayers to pass an excess levy referendum,
meaning their residents have voted to pay
more of a district’s day-to-day operating ex-
penses. Most levies are collected using a “net
tax capacity” formula, where a larger tax
burden is placed on commercial property —
giving most homeowners a reduced share of
the tax burden.

Under current law, all such levies will
expire in 1997 and any new levies must be
based on a “market value tax system.” Under
the new law, districts will have until the year
2000 to make the conversion.

Amarket value system taxes both commer-
cial and residential property based solely on
market value. This would reduce the tax
burden on commercial property and shift
some of the load to homeowners.

In addition, a new levy can last 10 years.
Current law limited them to five years.




(HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 1, Sec. 17-
20)

Remembering kindergarten

The state will pay an additional $8.7 mil-
lion to help districts cut class sizes. The
measure actually fixes a glitch in the 1993 law
that ordered districts to begin reducing their
class sizes and gave them more than $100
million to do so.

Although the 1993 law required districts
to reduce their student-teacher ratios for
grades K-6, the state only funded reductions
for the first through sixth grades. Lawmakers
inadvertently omitted kindergartners from
the formula for class size reduction aid.

The new law adds kindergarten students
to the formula, and makes the funding con-
sistent with the mandate. (HF2189%/SF2206/
CH647, Art. 1, Sec. 6)

Cooperative revenue

The state will spend an extra $4.6 million
to help districts cooperate with each other to
improve their services.

Currently, all districts receive $50 per pu-
pil for cooperation aid — money to help
them pay for programs or services they pur-
chase in cooperation with another district,
such as foreign language classes, secondary
education programs, and some special edu-
cation services.

Under the new law, districts will receive
$67 per pupil for cooperation aid.

Cooperation aid is split between property
tax levies and state aid, depending upon a
district’s property tax base. For some dis-
tricts, the $67 will come entirely from their
property taxes. For others, especially dis-
tricts that have a low property tax base, the
state will pay a portion of the aid and the
district will add the rest to the property tax
levy. (HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 6, Sec.
24)

Special education

The state will carry out a federal program
for disabled infants and toddlers and their
families.

A provision of the law would bring Minne-
sota into the final phase of “Part H,” a feder-
ally funded program requiring states to pro-
vide, at no cost, certain special education
services for disabled children up to 3 years
old and their families.

The program is designed to coordinate the
various special education programs and
county social service programs that are al-
ready in place; it enables families of disabled
children to receive all their information in
one place, instead of having to track down all

the different services available to them.

The Part H provision originally came from
a bill sponsored in the House by Rep. Alice
Seagren (IR-Bloomington).

Measures to improve special education
services for older children in the classroom
are also included in the bill.

School districts will get $1.5 million extra
to help them buy equipment to make it easier
for special education students to be
mainstreamed. The funds will come in the
form of an extra $3 per pupil for their capital
expenditure accounts.

Districts will be required to use the extra
money for telecommunications equipment,
computers, and other related management
equipment that would help integrate special
education students into the mainstream class-
room.

Acting on recommendations from a state-
appointed task force on children with dis-
abilities, the law directs the Department of
Education to assist schools in providing staff
training that combines special and general
education teaching methods. This provision
is meant to encourage school districts to
integrate special education and regular edu-
cation teaching practices whenever possible.

The law also allocates $25,000 to continue
the task force on children with disabilities for
one more year. (HF2189*/SF2206/CH647,
Art. 3)

Male responsibility

Young men will learn about the responsi-
bilities of fatherhood, under a provision that
calls for $500,000 to promote “male respon-
sibility.”

The new law makes grants available for
youth or parenting programs that collaborate
with school districts to educate young people,
particularly 10- to 21-year-old males, on the
responsibilities of parenthood.

Each dollar must be matched with 50 cents
of non-state money or in-kind contributions.

The measure is designed to prevent teen
pregnancies and, in the long run, crimes
committed by young people who grew up
without fathers.

The provision was originally sponsored in
the House by Rep. David Tomassoni (DFL-
Chisholm). (HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art.
8, Sec. 24)

School breakfasts

The state will spend an additional $200,000
to help schools provide free or reduced-
priced breakfasts to students who qualify,
under the new law.

The provision requires more districts to
offer the reduced price breakfast program;

the $200,0001is meant to help pay for the new
districts. This measure was sponsored in the
House by Rep. Kathleen Vellenga (DFL-St.
Paul).

Another provisionallocates $167,000 fora
pilot program to explore the effects of giving
nutritious breakfasts to all children in four
selected elementary schools, without regard
to eligibility for free or reduced-price meals.

Under the pilot project, two of the schools
must have a high concentration of low-in-
come students, or more than 40 percent
qualifying for free or reduced price lunches.
The other two schools could have an average
population, from 15 to 40 percent, of stu-
dents whowould qualify for discounted meals.

At the end of the year, the Department of
Education will evaluate the four grant sites to
determine the impact of the breakfast pro-
gram on discipline, test scores, attendance
rates, and other criteria. The breakfast pilot
program was sponsored in the House by Rep.
Alice Johnson (DFL-Spring Lake Park).
(HF2189%/SF2206/CH647, Art. 8, Sec. 30,
35)

Helping gifted students

The state will spend an additional $450,000
on programs for gifted students.

Normally, students are charged for test
taking and other feesassociated with the state
Advanced Placement and International Bac-
calaureate programs for the gifted. Currently,
the state allocates $300,000 to help low-
income students participate.

The extra money is expected to pay for all
students to take one test, and up to half fora
second test. The state is not obligated to pay
for portions of a second test if the money runs
out.

The provision does not change the current
procedure, under which the state pays all fees
for eligible low-income students. Rep. Alice
Johnson (DFL-Spring Lake Park) sponsored
this proposal in the House. (HF2189%/
SF2206/CH647, Art. 7, Sec. 12)

Aid for ‘far out’ districts

The state’s most “far out” districts will get
an extra $1.8 million a year, under the new
law. )

The law increases a portion of the “sparsity
revenue” that the state gives to Minnesota’s
most geographically isolated school districts.
This provision was taken from a bill intro-
duced in the House earlier this session by
Rep. Irv Anderson (DFL-Int'l Falls).

Currently, the state spends $5.8 million a
year to assist 60 of its most isolated school
districts. Administrators from those districts
say they have a unique situation in that their
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distance from other schools prohibits them
from sharing resources, as many urban and
suburban school districts do to save money.

The provision also adds three more dis-
tricts to the list of districts that are eligible for
the aid.(HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 1,
Sec. 22-23)

Keeping kids up-to-date

The state will spend $1.6 million to help
districts take advantage of the latest technol-
ogy to improve education and make it more
efficient.

Under the provision, districts can apply for
“instructional technology” grants to help them
buy or gain access to the latest classroom
technology.

To be eligible for a grant, a school district
or group of school districts must demon-
strate collaboration with a business or higher
education institution. Community organiza-
tions or local units of government could also
be involved.

The cooperatives will be expected to use
computers and other technological equip-
ment to do things such as develop personal-
ized learning plans, create a broader curricu-
lum, and gain access to electronic libraries.
(HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 7, Sec. 17)

Adjusting with disabilities

The state will spend $250,000 next year to
help students with disabilities move from
high school into the “real world.”

The money will provide grants to enable
districts to pay for education and training to
help disabled youth make the transition from
high school to post-secondary education,
work, or community living.

The district will be able to use the money
to contract with a center for independent
living or other similar organization to pro-
vide the services. The Department of Eco-
nomic Security — formerly the Department
of Jobs and Training — will oversee the
program. (HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 3,
Sec. 31)

Library improvements

Two parts of the K-12 education measure
will benefit the state’s library systems.

The first calls for $55,000 to recruit stu-
dents of color to become librarians. The
money will help pay tuition for professional
development programs in the field of library
science or information management.

The provision comes from a bill originally
proposed in the House by Rep. Lyndon Carl-
son (DFL-Crystal).

A second provision would establish a
$50,000 grant program to help improve pub-
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The state’s K-12 education funding bill, signed
into law by the governor, contains $2 million to
help achieve racial balance in Twin Cities-area
schools. Of that money, $1.5 million goes to
districts to develop magnet schools, which offer
specialized programs, such as advanced science
and math, to attract students. (HF2189%*/SF2206/
CH647)

lic libraries’ service to children, youth and
families.

The grants, taken from a bill originally
proposed in the House by Rep. Alice Haus-
man (DFL-St. Paul), require collaboration
between apublic library and atleast one child
or family organization such as a day care
center or school district. (HF2189*/SF2206/
CH647, Art. 10, Sec. 1, 3)

Interpreters

Anyone who provides American sign lan-
guage, English interpreting or sign transliter-
ating services for a Minnesota school district
must be certified after the year 2000.

Interpreters can be certified by the Registry
of Interpreters for the Deaf, the National
Association for the Deaf, or the state Board of
Education. They must also complete an ac-
credited interpreter/transliterator training
program.

Currently, school interpreters are not re-
quired to be certified, although most have
completed an accredited training program.

The certification was proposed in the House
by Rep. Alice Johnson (DFL-Spring Lake
Park). (HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 3, Sec.
17)

Cultural exchange

The law sets aside $142,000 for a cultural
exchange grant program.

The program would create opportunities
for children and staff of different ethnic,
racial, and other cultural backgrounds to
share educational experiences. It would call
for student and staff exchanges between dis-
tricts with approved desegregation plans and
districts without desegregation plans.

Under the program, participating districts
would develop summer programs reflective
of particular ethnic, racial, and other cultural
aspects of various demographic groups in the
state. (HF2189%/SF2206/CH647, Art. 8, Sec.
23)

Sexuality and family life study

The state will spend $25,000 to evaluate
sexuality and family life education programs
in Minnesota schools.

Under the new law, the Department of
Education will conduct a survey, compiling
information on the sexuality and family life
related curriculum offered in each school,
the age at which certain topics are taught,
research and staff training available to teach
the subject matter, and the role of parents in
the sexuality/family life curriculum.
(HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 8, Sec. 44)

Richfield airport impact aid

The state will provide $500,000 to help
compensate the Richfield school district for
the loss of students who live in about 400
homes affected by noise from nearby Twin
Cities International Airport.

The Metropolitan Airports Commission is
in the process of buying out the homes whose
residents have complained about airport noise
for years.

Since schools receive a part of their state
aid based on the number of students en-

rolled, the declining pupils due to the buyout .

isexpected to have asignificant impact on the
district’s state aid payment. The $500,000 is
meant to offset the decrease in funding and
help the district through the transition.
(HF2189*/SF2206/CH647, Art. 1, Sec. 41,
Subd. 2)

¢




Starting school early

Recognizing an important Jewish holiday
and the unique importance of the first day of
school, Minnesota school districts will have
the option of starting classes a few days earlier
this fall.

Gov. Ame Carlson signed a bill into law
April 6 that would allow districts to start the
1994-95 schoolyear on Sept. 1, the Thursday

- before Labor Day.

Minnesota law currently prohibits school
districts from starting classes before Labor
Day — schools usually start the day after
Labor Day. This year, however, the begin-
ning of Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year,
falls on what would normally be the first day
of school.

Jewish children do not go to school on
Rosh Hashanah; the two days are tradition-
ally set aside for confession and introspec-
tion.

Under the bill, sponsored in the House by
Rep. Jim Rhodes (IR-St. Louis Park) and in
the Senate by Sen. Ted Mondale (DFL-St.
Louis Park), districts can decide to start early,
allowing Jewish students to attend the first
day of classes.

HF1845%/SF1693/CH392

ELECTIONS

#

Pending governor's
signature

Uniform elections

A bill to hold all Minnesota elections —
except special elections and most township
elections — in November was approved by
bothlegislative bodies before they adjourned.
Itnow awaits action from Gov. Arne Carlson.

Currently, city and school elections can be
held on different days during the year.

The bill would require city, school district,
and special district elections that are held any
other time to move to the Tuesday following
the first Monday in November. In even-
numbered years, those elections would then
coincide with state and federal elections.
Primary elections must be held in September.

Elections could be held in either even-
numbered years or in odd-numbered years,
at the discretion of the local governing bod-
ies.

Also under the bill, terms for school board
members elected after January 1995 would
be increased from three to four years,

The House passed a House-Senate com-
promise bill May 6 by a 111-21 vote. The
Senate passed the bill the same day, 60-3.

Almost all elections would be held in November under a uniform elections bill that awaits Gov. Arne
Carlson’s consideration. (HF323/SF1512%/CH646)

Exceptions to the uniform election day
under the bill would be most township elec-
tions and school bond and levy referendums.

Township elections could still be held in
March. The bill's House sponsor, Rep. Tom
Osthoff (DFL-St. Paul), said townships were
left out because they hold annual “town hall
meetings” where residents discuss the issues
for the year, and he didn’t want to disrupt
that process.

Residents of metropolitan area towns, how-
ever, could choose to move their elections to
November as well.

Under the bill, cities, counties, and school
districts could begin holding November elec-
tions whenever they choose, but they must
begin by 1998.

The bill also would set a mandatory mini-
mum voting time from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. for
city and school elections outside the metro-
politan area. Currently, cities can set their
own voting time as long as it lasts at least
three hours. In the metropolitan area, polls
must be open for amunicipal election from at
least 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The bill was sponsored in the Senate by
Sen. William Luther (DFL-Brooklyn Park).

HF323/SF1512*%/CH646

Smaill town polling results

Rural cities and towns that get together to
hold their elections at a common polling site
each will be required to bring along their own
ballot boxes, under a bill signed into law by
Gov. Arne Carlson May 6.

Under current law, up to four non-metro-
politan cities or towns can combine into one

precinct to vote in the same place. This often
helps small towns save money on election
judges and other expenses related to holding
elections.

The new law, effective Aug. 1, 1994, and
sponsored in the House by Rep. Peter Ro-
dosovich (DFL-Faribault), will continue to
allow for acommon polling site, but each city
or town will be required to use a separate
ballot box for each precinct.

According to Rodosovich, the Office of the
Secretary of State, which oversees elections,
has been unable to attribute specific results to
towns and cities that combine for elections.
The new law will allow them to deliver tai-
lored results to each city by precinct.

Sen. Lawrence Pogemiller (DFL-Mpls)
sponsored the bill in the Senate.

HF2672/SF2297*/CH607

St. Paul residency requirement

EMPLOYMENT

Newly hired St. Paul employees will be
required to live within the city limits —
provided its city council agrees to the idea —
under a bill signed into law by Gov. Arne
Carlson May 5.

City leaders, who requested the legisla-
tion, have testified that if their employeeslive
in the city, more of their paychecks would be
spent in the city. They also believe that the
city would be safer if its police officers and
firefighters were required to live within St.
Paul’s borders. ‘

Current St. Paul city employees would not
be affected by the new law.

It will be up to the St. Paul City Council to
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decide how to carry out the residency re-
quirement. Council members may decide,
for example, to give new hires one year to
move into St. Paul.

Last year, the Legislature authorized Min-
neapolis to adopt a residency requirement.
The Minneapolis City Council gives new
employees one year after they're hired to
move into the city.

About 52 percent of the 3,500 St. Paul city
employees live outside St. Paul, said House
bill sponsor Rep. Steve Trimble (DFL-St.
Paul). The legislation was sponsored by Sen.
Randy Kelly (DFL-St. Paul) in the Senate.

HF881/,SF309*/CH570

Dept. of Economic Security

The Minnesota Department of Jobs and
Training has a new monikerwith a distinctly
older flavor. On April 22 its name was legally
changed to the Department of Economic
Security — the same name the department
had from 1977 to 1985, under a bill signed
into law by Gov. Arne Carlson April 21.

The name chaﬁge reflects the “role, mis-
sion, and responsibility” of the department,
said its commissioner, R. Jane Brown, who
pushed for the legislation this session. A
similar bill failed last year.

The department does much more than
find jobs for people and train them, said
Brown, explaining the department’s decision
to seek a name change.

The department administers programs such
as Head Start, a government education pro-
gram for disadvantaged pre-schoolers, and
provides help with energy bills and services
to the blind.

Rep. Barb Vickerman (IR-Redwood Falls)
sponsored the bill in the House. Sen. Dennis
Frederickson (IR-New Ulm) sponsored the
Senate companion.

HF936*%/SF961/CH483

ENVIRONMENT

Prairie Island nuclear storage

Northern States Power Co. (NSP) would
eventually be permitted to store radioactive
waste in 17 storage casks alongside its Prairie
Island power plant in Red Wing — provided
it meets several conditions, underabill signed
into law by Gov. Arne Carlson May 10.

The Minnesota Legislature, on the final
day of the 1994 legislative session, approved
the bill granting NSP the authority to store
radioactive waste.

After nearly three hours of emotional floor
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Whether to allow NSP to store 17 casks of spent nuclear fuel outside its Prairie Island plant was one of
the most controversial issues the Legislature faced during the 1994 session. In the end, lawmakers

approved the proposal and the governor signed the bill into law. (HF2140/SF1706*/CH641)

debate May 6, the House voted 86 to 46 to
allow the casks. Earlier that day, the Senate
passed identical legislation, 43 to 22.

The issue pitted NSP and other energy
interests against environmental groups and
the power plant’s neighboring Dakota (Sioux)
community, which contends that above-
ground storage is unsafe for humans and the
environment.

The legislation sent to the governor was a
House-Senate conference committee report
that emerged between widely different legis-
lative visions on how to chart the state’s
energy future.

Under the House version of the legislation,
NSP would have been prohibited from stor-
ing radioactive waste in above-ground casks.
The Senate version permitted the power com-
pany to have 17 casks.

Under conditions outlined in the final com-
promise, NSP will be able to eventually ac-
quire and fill 17 casks, provided the com-
pany invests in alternative energy and searches
for a storage site away from its Prairie Island
plant.

In the debate preceding the final vote,
some House members said the compromise
report contained too little of the House’s
wishes.

“This bill is not a compromise bill,” said
Rep. Alice Hausman (DFL-St. Paul). “NSP
asked for 17 casks and it is getting 17 casks.”

Specifically, NSP sought the Legislature’s
permission to transfer radioactive waste from
its indoor, underwater temporary storage
pooltoabove-ground, 17-foot-tall steel casks
weighing 122 tons when fully loaded with
radioactive waste.

NSP officials have stated that without dry
cask storage they would have to shut down
one of the two reactors at Prairie Island

within a year. With 17 of the storage casks,
the utility says it can continue its Prairie
Island operations until about 2001.

“This is the safest thing to do,” said Rep.
Loren Jennings (DFL-Harris), sponsor of the
House legislation. Jennings said that he was
confident that NSP would eventually be able
to move the radioactive casks away from the
power plant and the neighboring Prairie Is-
land Mdewakanton Dakota Indians.

“We are going to move the casks,” he said,
eithertoanothersite in surrounding Goodhue
County or to a proposed federal depository
under Yucca Mountain in Nevada.

Rep. Willard Munger (DFL-Duluth) and
other foes of NSP’s plan have argued that
federal efforts to develop a permanent nuclear
waste repository have stalled, so there would
be no assurance that any nuclear waste casks
would ever leave Prairie Island.

To his colleagues who planned to vote for
the legislation, Munger asked: How will you
respond when your grandchildren ask why
you voted for a permanent nuclear waste
dump in the state?

Under the new law, the state’s largest power
company has permission to use five storage
casks immediately, and can use 12 more if it
meets certain conditions.

Four of the 12 additional casks will be
available when NSP has either constructed,
purchased, or has under contract an addi-
tional 100 megawatts of wind power. NSP
could only get the four additional casks if it
also becomes actively engaged in searching
for a site away from its Prairie Island power
plant, but still within surrounding Goodhue
County.

In addition, the company can use eight
more casks unless the Legislature enacts alaw
by June 1, 1999, specifically revoking per-




mission. The Legislature could only revoke
permission for the casks if, by that time NSP
hasnot begun constructing an alternative site
or if the company has not met goals outlined
in the legislation regarding wind power and
biomass.

The legislation signed by the governor also
includes provisions requiring NSP to:

* construct and operate or purchase or con-
tract for 225 megawatts of wind energy by
Dec. 31, 1998, and an additional 200 mega-
waltts by the end of 2002;

o construct and operate or purchase or con-
tract for 50 megawatts of biomass energy by
the end of 1998. Biomass energy is electricity
generated by burning animal waste and farm-
grown crops such as corn; and

» reduce by 50 percent the cost of the first
300 kilowatt hours per month purchased by
low-income customers. '

The waste storage issue came before the
Legislature because last June the Minnesota
Court of Appeals ruled that NSP’s request for
above-ground storage needed legislative ap-
proval.

Although NSP received approval for its
plan from the Public Utilities Commission
(PUQ) in August 1992, the issue landed in
court three months later when the Prairie
Island Mdewakanton Dakota Tribal Council
appealed the PUC decision.

Sen. Steve Novak (DFL-New Brighton)
sponsored the Senate bill.

HF2140/SF1706*/CH641

Harbors and feedlots

Boaters on Lake Superior will see a new
harbor at Silver Bay, and farmers will receive
help cleaning up their poultry and cattle
feedlots, with money provided in a new state
supplemental budget bill signed into law by
Gov. Arne Carlson May 10.

But Carlson did line-item veto half of the
projects outlined in the House-Senate com-
promise bill. The new law now spends $3
million on environmental projects across the
state in fiscal years 1994 and 1995. (See
Vetoed Bills section.)

Projects in the new law include:

* $1 million to complete construction of a
small craft harbor at Silver Bay. Last year
the project received $1 million to acquire
25 acres of land and begin development of
the harbor project;

* $650,000 to improve state parks;

» $850,000 to acquire land for a boat access
at Lake Minnetonka;

° $600,000 from the Department of Natural
Resources game and fish fund to maintain

- Number of‘ckck!s:ks[f‘f -

Timeline for NSP nuclear waste storqge

Conditions*

8 more

| with the Nuclear Regulclory Commission |
fora sforcnge safe dway. From Prairie

Legislature can revoke approval for these
8 casks if NSP (1) isn't operating or
doesn't have under contract 50 megawatts
of biomass energy and 125 more
megawatts of windpower, or (2] NSP
hasn't begun construction of a waste site
away from Prairie Island)

1, 1999

(last date rhe
Legislature can
revoke authorization
for 8 casks)

June

- Any casks in addlhon L

0 Pubhc Uhhhes Commlssl ,
_ permission (casks must be in exchange
;ffor a Prairie Island plcmt shut down)

grants

*upan’PUcapp“favér f

* Beginning Jan. 1, 1999, NSP must pay $500,000 each year for each full cask sfill remaining
outside its Prairie Island nuclear power plant. The money will be used to develop renewable energy sources.

and construct snowmobile trails in fiscal
year 1995;

* $1.8 million in fiscal year 1995 to help
clean up poultry and cattle feedlots. Ani-
mal waste can pollute streams. Of this
amount, $900,000 is earmarked for coun-
ties that have established feedlot programs.
Counties receiving grants must match the
money with a mix of their own money and
in-kind contributions;

* $1 million to the Board of Water and Soil
Resources that will allow soil and water
districts to hire staff to help landowners
improve conservation practices;

* a requirement that Northern States Power
Co. relocate its power lines and poles away
from the Indian Mounds Park in St. Paul.
The electrical utility will assumme the costs
involved in this project;

¢ $300,000 for the Minnesota Pollution Con-
trol Agency to support statewide partner-
ships to improve septic tank systems and
storm sewers;

» $73,000 to the MPCA to continue a citizen
lake water quality monitoring program;

> $750,000 to assist farmers with feedlots to
implement best management practices for
using animal waste as crop fertilizer in-
stead of having the waste pollute nearby
water sources;

* $175,000 to the Department of Agriculture
for a rural loan program to improve water
quality;

° $100,000 to the Department of Agriculture
for demonstration projects on pest man-
agement; and
The new law voids budget cuts made

earlier this year by the Department of Natural
Resources (DNR) to balance the books of the
agency’s troubled game and fish fund. (See
March 31, 1994, Session Weekly, page 6.);

The DNR’s game and fish fund has also
been relieved from making treaty payments
to the White Earth and Leech Lake Ojibwe
bands, as well as reimbursements to counties
forlost tax revenues on land taken for wildlife
management areas. This was done in a sepa-
rate bill signed by the governor May 4.
(HF3032%/SF2445/CH561).

The supplemental budget bill was spon-
sored in the House by Rep. Loren Solberg
(DFL-Bovey) and in the Senate by Sen. Gene
Merriam (DFL-Coon Rapids).

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

Waste Management Act amended

Gov. Arne Carlson May 6 signed into law
changes to the state’s existing Waste Manage-
ment Act and as a result banned the sale of
some basketball shoes in Minnesota.

Effective May 7, the new law bans the sale
of some basketball shoes with lights triggered
by a mercury-activated electric switch hid-
den in the sole of the shoe.

The half gram of mercury in the switch can
get loose and enter the atmosphere when the
shoes are dumped or incinerated. Methyl
mercury, the organic form of the liquid metal,
can damage the nervous system.

Other sections of the new Waste: Manage-
ment Act, sponsored in the House by Rep.
Jean Wagenius (DFL-Mpls) and in the Senate
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by Sen. Janet Johnson (DFL-North Branch)

will:

 allow the Minnesota Pollution Control
Agency (MPCA) to provide grants to build
and improve regional solid waste facilities
that compost, incinerate, or use garbage as
fuel;

* ban landfills from accepting separated recy-
clable materials;
exempt the U.S. government from certain
regulations that apply to private couriers,
so it can transport infectious waste. That
way, outstate dentists, doctors, and veteri-
narians could use the U.S. postal system to
mail small quantities of needles to facilities
that dispose of biologically hazardous
waste;

« improve the Office of Waste Management’s

methods foranalyzing the amount of pack-

aging material that goes into the garbage.

By the end of 1995, the state hopes to

reduce by 25 percent the amount of pack-

aging that is disposed of in landfills;
require people who recycle CFCs

(chloroflourocarbons) from air condition-

ers and other appliances to be trained and

certified. State certification could be met
by receiving federal certification as a CFC
recycler;

assess a civil penalty of $500 against a

person for knowingly releasing CFCs into

the atmosphere. The release of CFCs is
believed to be a contributing factor to the
destruction of the earth’s ozone layer;
award grants to help build regional waste
transfer facilities but only if the facility
contracts for 10 years to transfer non-
recyclable garbage to an incinerator or
composting facility;

» regulate the levels of toxic metalsin ink and
paints. After Sept. 1, 1994, inks and paints
must have reduced levels of lead, cad-
mium, mercury and chromium. Current
law sets no standard; and

¢ allow for automobile oil filters and anti-
freeze to be recycled at a municipal recy-
cling facility that burns waste.

Various sections of the new law become
effective on a variety of different dates.
HF1995/SF1788*/CH585

e

Septic tank standards

By 1996, all Minnesota counties and cities
will need to adopt strict anti-pollution rules
for septic tanks, under a bill signed into law
by Gov. Arne Carlson May 10.

Septic tanks, which gather, decompose,
and drain human wastes into the soil, are
needed by households not connected to
municipal sewer systems.
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More than 340,000 failed or malfunction-
ing septic tanks exist statewide, according to
Patty Burke of the Minnesota Pollution Con-
trol Agency (MPCA). (See March 11, 1994,
Session Weekly, page 9.)

The MPCA has guidelines regulating septic
tanks and some countiesalready have adopted
them. Effective May 11, 1994, the new law
requires counties or cities to adopt the MPCA
rulesorset tougherrules that meet the agency’s
approval. The rules regulate such things as
how deeply a septic tank should be buried,
how and where it should drain, and how far
away it should lie from surface water.

The new law, which sets aside $120,000
for the MPCA, also requires that an existing
septic sewage system be inspected whenever
someone wants to build an additional bed-
room or bathroom onto a house.

Such home improvements, said House bill
sponsor Rep. Dave Bishop (IR-Rochester),
are a likely indication that septic tanks may
soon be subject to greater use.

If the inspection shows that a septic system
doesn’t meet the anti-pollution rules, a build-
ing permit will be denied until the tanks are
improved or replaced.

Under the legislation, anyone inspecting,
installing, designing, or maintaining septic
systems also must obtain a license from the
state at a cost of $100 per year.

Also, the new law states that people selling

a home with a septic system after Aug. 31,.

1994, must disclose in writing to a buyer the
location and status of the system.
Sen. Leonard Price (DFL-Woodbury) spon-
sored the Senate version of the legislation.
HF2158%/SF1909/CH617

Cleaning up landfills

Minnesota businesses and municipalities
will pay more to dispose of their garbage, but
they won't face the threat of a much greater
financial strain — paying to clean up a con-
taminated landfill.

Under a new law signed by Gov. Arne
Carlson May 10, the state will pick up the tab
for cleaning up many of its contaminated
municipal landfills. Currently, that burden is
usually shouldered by a handful of busi-
nesses and local governments the state has
identified as contaminating the landfill.

By establishing a state-sponsored landfill
cleanup program, lawmakers hope toend the
numerous court fights between Minnesota
businesses and municipalities over who
should pay to clean up landfills.

Under the new law, the state will generate
money to pay for the program by raising the
fee businesses and local governments pay on

The state will step in and take charge of cleaning
up many of Minnesota’s contaminated landfills. A
new law establishing a landfill cleanup program
will mean businesses and municipalities pay more
to dispose of their garbage, but they won’t have to
worry about being held liable for the cleanup of a
contaminated landfill. (HF3086*/SF2313/CH639)

the garbage they generate whether it goes to
a landfill, incinerator or composting plant.
It’s called the solid waste generator fee.

The new law expands another passed by
the Legislature in 1993. That year house-
holds began seeing a $2 annual charge on
their garbage bills and businesses and mu-
nicipalities began paying 12 cents for every
cubic yard of garbage they generated.

Last year, about half of the $7 million
raised went to help assess what kind of land-
fill cleanup was needed in the state. The other
half began to pay for some of the cleanup.
Although the state began paying for some
cleanup in 1993, it did not let individual
businesses and governments off the hook
that were already identified by the Minnesota
Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) as con-
tributing to a particular landfill’s contamina-
tion.

Under the new law, they will be off the
hook — but all Minnesota businesses and
municipalities will have to pay more to dis-
pose of their garbage. The solid waste genera-
tor fee will rise from 12 cents to 60 cents
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beginning in 1995. The increase is expected
to generate another $16.4 million a year to
clean up landfills.

In addition, the fee will be applied to other
types of garbage that weren’t assessed until
now; such as industrial and medical waste
and construction debris.

The $2 yearly household fee will not be
affected.

Besides the increased fees, the new law
allocates $90 million from the sale of state
bonds toward the landfill cleanup program
over the next 10 years.

Under current law, the MPCA or the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency, depend-
ing on whether the state or federal govern-
ment will oversee cleanup, uses landfill
records to determine who dumped contami-
nants, hazardous material or other pollutants
into a landfill. The agency then names “re-
sponsible parties” to be held liable for paying
cleanup costs.

Although the “responsible parties” are le-
gally obligated to pay, many of them try to
bring in others — or third parties — to help
share the cost. According to the House bill
sponsor, Rep. Jean Wagenius (DFL-Mpls),
many cities or small businesses will pay, even
if they know they aren’t responsible, because
they’re afraid it will cost more to try and fight
the request.

Under the new law, the state will take
responsibility for cleaning up qualifying land-
fills. The state, however, will not assume
liability for groundwater contamination or
any other damages from a polluted landfill.
The landfill owner and/or the businesses
identified as contributing to the contamina-
tion must pay to clean up the groundwater,
which is current practice.

In addition, some businesses and munici-
palities that already have paid for landfill
cleanups, or are currently paying under a
cleanup order, will be eligible for reimburse-
ment under the program.

The legislation was sponsored in the Sen-
ate by Sen. Steve Morse (DFL-Dakota).

HF3086*/SF2313/CH639

Selling the DNR

Your fishing regulations booklet from the
Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

could soon have a new look. The DNR now

has permission to sell advertising space in
their publications, under a bill signed into
law by Gov. Arme Carlson April 25.

After Aug. 1, 1994, advertising revenue
can be used to defray the costs of DNR
publications, videos, and informational ma-
terials. The agency, however, cannot accept

ads from elected officials or candidates for
elective office.

Thelaw also clarifies that the DNR can give
away souvenirs — with a value of less than
$10— that promote natural resource conser-
vation or wildlife management programs.
The total value of items given away in this
program can't exceed $25,000 per year.

Volunteersin various DNR programs could
receive a coffee mug or a poster to acknowl-
edge their efforts, under a provision of the

new law, explained Marcy Dowse, director of

information and education for the DNR.

Another provision clarifies in law what has
been a long-standing DNR practice: the rec-
ognition of corporate and individual gifts or
in-kind services on “plaques, signs, publica-
tions, audio-visual materials, and media ad-
vertisements.”

The law comes from bills that were passed
by both the House and Senate in 1993. A
House and Senate conference committee
couldn’t resolve differencesin 1993, so it was
tabled until the 1994 legislative session. The
conferees met again this year and came up
with a compromise.

Rep. Ken Wolf (IR-Burnsville) sponsored
the House bill and Sen. Leonard Price (DFL-
Woodbury) sponsored the Senate compan-
ion.

HF859/SF760*/CH509

Park permits for disabled

Many campers with disabilities don’t own
or operate a vehicle, making it difficult for
them to use Minnesota’s state parks. People
who use the parks must purchase and display
a park permit on their vehicle’s windshield.

Butanew law signed by Gov. Arne Carlson
April 18 would allow people who are dis-
abled and do not own or operate a vehicle to
purchase an annual permit they can carry.
The law takes effect Aug. 1, 1994.

Those who qualify mustapply in writingto

the Department of Natural Resources and
provide a letter from a licensed physician or
chiropractor attesting to their disability.

The annual park permit for people who are
disabled continues at the discounted rate of
$12 — instead of $18. Currently, the same
discount applies to senior citizens who are
older than 65.

Rep. Kathleen Vellenga (DFL-St. Paul) was
the House sponsor of the bill; Sen. Ellen
Anderson (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored the Sen-
ate companion.

HF2657%/SF2584/CH458

Happy trails

New biking and hiking trails in southeast-
ern Minnesota will be established under a
law signed by Gov. Arne Carlson April 6.

The law, effective Aug. 1, 1994, will
extend the Blufflands trail system in Fillmore
and Houston counties to the MississippiRiver.
Additional trails will extend the system to
Fountain, Wykoff, Spring Valley, Mabel,
Canton, and Ostrander in Fillmore County,
and to Winona in Winona County.

In addition, a Shooting Star trail will be
created in Mower County. The trail will start
in Leroy, extend northwest through Lake
Louijse State Park, and connect the cities of
Taopi, Adams, Rose Creek, and Lyle, and
conclude in Austin.

Additional trails will be constructed to
connect the Shooting Star trail with the
Blufflands trail system, and the trail from
Riceville, Iowa.

Also, the law calls for the creation of a
Prairie Wildflower trail in Mower, Dodge,
Steele, and Rice counties. The trail will follow
anabandoned railroad line from Austin north-
west through Blooming Prairie and Owatonna
to the city of Faribault.

The trails will be developed for biking and
hiking.

Funding for all the above trail networks
would have to be secured in future legislative
sessions.

Rep. Leo Reding (DFL-Austin) sponsored
the House bill and Sen. Pat Piper (DFL-
Austin) sponsored the Senate companion
bill.

HF1906*/SF1841/CH391

Rochester land sale

Abill allowing the sale of land belonging to
the Gordy Yaeger Wildlife Management Area
in Olmsted County was signed by Gov. Arne
Carlson April 28.

The law, effective April 29, 1994, specifies
that the land will sell for $950 per acre. The
Rochester School District will be allowed to
buy 20 acres; the city of Rochester, 30 acres;
and the public can bid for 50 acres. The
acreage sold to the school district and the city
must be used for public purposes.

The school district and the city of Roches-
ter are expected to cooperate in developing
their land parcels — which lie within the
Rochester city limits — into a combined city
park and elementary school, according to
Jack Heather, acting regional wildlife area
manager for the Department of Natural Re-
sources (DNR).

Heather said the sale of land to the public
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will generate funds to buy more desirable
replacement land for the wildlife area.

Most of the wildlife area land formerly
belonged to the Department of Public Wel-
fare (now the Department of Human Ser-
vices) and was part of the Rochester State
Hospital, now being used as a federal prison.
In 1967, 155 acres was permanently trans-
ferred to the Department of Conservation
(now the Department of Natural Resources).
In 1971, another 550 acres was temporarily
transferred to the DNR. The wildlife area
covered 758 acres prior to the new land sales.

The land sales are based on recommenda-
tions from the wildlife area’s advisory com-
mittee.

The wildlife area is named after Gordy
Yaeger, a longtime columnist for the Roches-
ter Post-Bulletin, who was an active propo-
nent of wildlife conservation efforts. Yaeger
died in 1976.

Rep. Dave Bishop (IR-Rochester) spon-
sored the House bill and Sen. Duane Benson
(IR-Lanesboro) sponsored the Senate com-
panion.

HF2054*/SF1858/CH531

One big walleye

Minnesota anglers can keep only one wall-
eye longer than 24 inches per day, under a
bill signed into law by Gov. Arne Carlson
April 28. :

The existing six-walleye daily and posses-
sion limit, which includes the single “trophy”
fish, will not change.

Last year, the Legislature set the daily limit
at one walleye over 20 inches long, and also
limited anglers to one northern pike longer
than 30 inches.

The new restrictions, effective April 29,
apply to most Minnesota lakes, but do not
apply to boundary waters.

An exception in the law is made for Lake of
the Woods. There, anglers can take only one
walleye longer than 19.5 inches per day. This
conforms to Ontario regulations. Also, an-
glers can now take only one northern pike
over 36 inches per day from Lake of the
Woods.

The Department of Natural Resources
(DNR) also has the authority, by rule, to
establish different length limits on different
bodies of water, and designate them as “ex-
perimental waters.” These rules carry the
same weight as state law.

For the past 10 years, for example, anglers
on Lake Mille Lacs have been limited to one
walleye longer than 20 inches daily, accord-
ing to Jack Wingate, resource manager for
fisheries at the DNR. He said that particular
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A new law increases fish size limits for anglers
hooking walleye and northern pike. (HF2731/
SF2467%/CH523)

DNR rule was adopted as part of an experi-
ment to encourage more anglers to catch and
release game fish. He estimated that some
2,000 large walleye are caught and released
each year due to the one per day limit at Mille
Lacs.

The new law will not supersede any exist-
ing rules currently in effect on experimental
waters so designated by the DNR.

Rep. Doug Peterson (DFL-Madison) spon-
sored the bill in the House and Sen. Charles
Berg (DFL-Chokio), sponsored it in the Sen-
ate.

HF2731/SF2467*/CH523

Direct adoption regulation

FAMILY

Abill to regulate direct adoptions —where
a child is placed directly by a birth parent
without use of an adoption agency — was
signed into law by Gov. Arne Carlson May
10.

Current law doesn’t regulate a birth
mother’s choice to hand her baby over to
adoptive parents in a private transaction, but
it is a common practice. (See April 8, 1994,
Session Weekly, page 8.)

The new law, effective Aug. 1, 1994, will
require adoptive parents to get an adoption
order from the district court in the county
where they live before they take custody of a
baby through a direct adoption. A personal
appearance in court will not be required.

The adoption order will be granted based
on information provided to the court in a
newly mandated adoption study. The pro-
spective adoptive parents will pay for the
study, to be conducted by a licensed adop-
tion agency. The agency will examine the
history of prospective adoptive parents for
any criminal or child abuse, assess parenting
skills, determine if finances are adequate to
support a child, and, if appropriate, evaluate

theirawareness of inter-racial, cross-cultural,
and special needs adoptions.

Because no such order is now required, in
some cases, direct adoptions have taken place
and neither the Department of Human Ser-
vices nor a court were notified for two years.
As a consequence, some birth mothers have
effectively sought to regain custody of their
children after a substantial period of time.

The measure will require the birth mother
to sign an affidavit to permit the child to be
placed with adoptive parents. Not sooner
than 72 hours after the birth ofa child and not
later than 60 days after the child is placed, the
birth parent must sign a consent form to
“finalize” the adoption. Under the bill, a birth
parent will have 10 working days to with-
draw his or her consent to the direct adop-
tion. The same 10-day requirement now ex-
ists in law for agency adoptions.

The birth mother is required to notify the
birth father for consent purposes unless he
cannot be found or if to search for him will
result in “severe emotional distress” to her or
the child.

The bill also will require a follow-up agency
investigation to ensure that adoptive parents
have adapted well to the child and that the
child is healthy.

Other provisions in the bill will:

» make it a gross misdemeanor to intention-
ally falsify information on a birth certificate;
* require any group applying for a license to
place children in adoptive homes to incorpo-
rate as a non-profit corporation;

» require an adoption agency to purchase a
bond to cover costs for the transfer and
storage of adoption records, in case the agency
goes out of business; and

° create an adoption advisory board — com-
prised of birth parents, adoptive parents,
adopted adults, private adoption agency
employees, and human services officials —
to further study adoption issues and report
back to the Legislature by Feb. 1, 1995.

The bill was sponsored in the House by
Rep. Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope) and in the
Senate by Sen. Pat Piper (DFL-Austin).

HF2337/SF2129%/CH631




GAMBLING

County fair simulcasting

Charitable gambling organizations will be
able to sell pulltabs via vending machines,
county fairgoers can watch and bet on live
horse racing from other county fairs, and 18-
year-olds can still gamble under the omnibus
gambling bill which the governor signed into
law May 10.

House members passed the omnibus gam-
bling bill 89 to 44 and the Senate passed it 58
to 0.

The final compromise bill does not include
an amendment Rep. Doug Swenson had suc-
cessfully attached to the House bill. It would
have slashed the Minnesota State Lottery’s
advertising budget from $7.5 million to $4.5
million annually.

The new law includes provisions for:

o Simulcasted horse races at five county fairs.

That means live horse harness racing at

one county fair can be broadcast live to up.

to four other county fairs. People can bet
on those races if the fairs have the proper
licensing and authorization. The five county
fairs will become part of the harness racing
circuit and no other county fairs can be
authorized to simulcast horse racing. A fair
can only broadcast live harness races to the
other four fairs in its circuit and only when
the fair is taking place.

o Up to three pulltab dispensing machines in
bars. The machines will dispense the
pulltabs instead of bar employees who
typically keep the pulltabs in jars. The
vending machines can be used after June
1995.

 Keeping the legal gambling age at 18. But
minors can't play bingo. Currentlaw doesn’t
set a minimum age for bingo. An amend-
ment successfully attached to the original
House bill would have raised the current
legal gambling age from 18 to 21. Other
changes in the bill will keep anyone under
18 from receiving a lottery ticket as a gift.
Currently, minors can’t buy lottery tickets,
but can receive them as a gift from some-
one of legal gambling age.

o Keeping three state gambling boards: the
Minnesota Racing Commission, the Gam-
bling Control Board, and the Lottery Board.
The House bill had called for their elimina-
tion or merger with other boards and the
creation of a special council to advise the
governor on gambling policy. Those three
divisions remain in place under the com-
promise bill, but the advisory council will
still be created.

Allowing charitable gambling organiza-

tions to use up to 5 percent, or $5,000, of

their profits to advertise their games. The

House bill didn’t contain the provision.

The original Senate bill did.

Increasing the maximum pulltab prizes

from $250 to $500.

o The Metropolitan Airports Commission,
which oversees the Minneapolis-St. Paul
Airport, can sell lottery tickets at the air-
port. The commission will authorize a
non-profit organization to sell the tickets
from an independently operated kiosk.
HF321/SF103*/CH633

Minnesota voters will get a chance this November to decide whether off-track horse betting should be
allowed in the state. The 1994 election ballot will include a question asking voters if the state
constitution should be amended to allow off-track betting on horses. If voters say yes, it’s up to the
Legislature next year to decide how off-tracking betting will be carried out. (HF3227/SF180*/CH626)

Off-track betting

Minnesota voters will get a chance this No-
vember to decide whether off-track horse bet-
ting should be allowed in the state, under a bill
signed into law by Gov. Arne Carlson May 10.

This year's November election ballot will
include a question asking voters if the state
constitution should be amended to allow off-
track betting on horses. If the majority an-
swer yes, the Legislature could authorize
such betting in 1995.

Two Hector, Minn., horse breeders an-
nounced in late March they had purchased
Canterbury Downs with hopes of bringing
back live horse racing there. They need off-
track betting parlors — where people bet on
and watch races held across the country on
big-screen televisions — to make a go of it,
they said.

Although the 1991 Legislature approved
up to four off-track teleracing sites in Minne-
sota, the law was later declared unconstitu-
tional by the Minnesota Supreme Court.

The new law only authorizes that a pro-
posed constitutional amendment be put to
voters. If the proposed amendment passes, it
will be up to the Legislature to determine
how many off-track betting parlors would be
authorized in Minnesota and how they will
be regulated.

The proposed constitutional amendment
will read:

“Shall the Minnesota Constitution be
amended to permit the legislature to autho-
rize off-track pari-mutuel betting on horse
racing in a manner prescribed by law?”

The new law also requires that the director
of pari-mutuel betting conduct a study and
report back to the Legislature by Feb. 1,
1995, with draft legislation on how off-track
betting should be conducted.

Among other things, the draft legislation:
must:

o provide for a limited number of off-track
betting sites to be spread throughout the
state; ,

» provide that pari-mutuel betting be con-
ducted primarily to support live horse
racing — not to supplant it; and

o provide that “off-track betting locations be
limited to teletheaters with large-screen
television displays of live horse racing,
theater-seating and full dining and bever-
age service.”

Bill sponsor Rep. Wayne Simoneau (DFL-
Fridley) said live horse racing could be a huge
financial industry in the state. He said he
expected 400 Minnesota horse farms to spring
up,shouldlive racingreturn. Sen. Carl Kroening
(DFL-Mpls) sponsored the bill in the Senate.

HF3227/SF180*/CH626
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“ GAME & FISH

Omnibus fish and game law

The Department of Natural Resources
(DNR) can prescribe an alternative color of
garb for Amish deer hunters who have a
religious objection to wearing blaze orange
clothing.

And hunters can continue to take more
than one deer — one with a firearm and one
with a bow and arrow — in certain north-
western Minnesota counties.

These are two of the provisions in the
omnibus game and fish bill signed into law by
Gov. Arne Carlson May 10. _

Effective May 11, 1994, the DNR commis-
sioner can allow red instead of blaze orange
hunting jackets and hats for Amish people
who hold a religious objection to the bright
orange color. The exception is based upon
the federal Religious Freedom Restoration
Act of 1993.

Another provision in the law, also effective
May 11, will allow hunters in four northwest-
ern Minnesota counties to continue to take
two deer in one season — provided one is by
firearms and the other by archery.

Current law permits the taking of two deer
in four northwestern Minnesota counties —
Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, and
Roseau — during the 1993 and 1994 hunt-
ing seasons. The new law makes that practice
permarnent. '

The law also repairs language in a recently
enacted law that would have banned all Min-
nesotans from bringing walleye into the state
from Ontario — except for one “trophy” fish.
(See April 29,1994, Session Weekly, page 13.)
Minnesota fish wholesalers and restaurants
complained that the import ban in the 1994
law would have been disastrous for business.
(HF1835%/SF1755/CH479)

The revision now specifies that a Minne-
sota angler cannot bring back any walleye
caught anywhere in Ontario, except for one
“trophy” fish. Border waters east of Rainy
Lake are not included in the ban. The zero
limit also applies to sauger, lake trout, stur-
geon, and muskie, although one “trophy” fish
for mounting of each species can be brought
back. The law doesn’t apply to anglers from
outside Minnesota.

The law is part of a Minnesota effort to
retaliate against Ontario for prohibiting Min-
nesota anglers or those using cabins on the
Minnesota side of Rainy Lake from bringing
. back walleye from the Canadian side of the
lake, Ontario imposed the restriction to en-
courage anglers to stay at Canadian resorts.

Anumber of civil law provisions also are in
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the new omnibus game and fish law. For
instance, landowners who permit snowmo-
bile trails to run through their property will,
effective Aug. 1, 1994, be shielded from
liability should a snowmobiler be injured.
Landowners willnot be responsible for main-
taining the trails or for warning riders of
potential dangers. :

Fear of lawsuits has limited the number of
property owrers willing to open their land to
snowmobile trails. Landowners, however,
who “willfully” take action to injure someone
still can be held liable.

Similar liability provisions in the law will
shield individuals running charitable food
banks, livestock shows, and bars with breath-
alcohol testing devices from lawsuits. Also
covered are physicians, trainers, and coaches
volunteering with amateur athletic events.

The law will prohibit the DNR from adding
more rules on how archery bows can be
transported or possessed. This provision

eliminates a DNR rule that archers must have -

their bows unstrung or in a case while in the

field before and after the hours allowed for

hunting.
Other sections of the new game and fish
omnibus law will allow:

 road maintenance workers to remove a
beaver dam blocking a waterway when it
threatens to damage a public road. Beaver
lodges within 300 feet of a road can be
removed, if the DNR commissioner gives
his approval;

 non-residents to hunt deer with antlers
anywhere in Minnesota by buying a $220
license;

» disabled war veterans to get free small game
hunting licenses;

 bow hunters to use a high-tech arrowhead
with mechanically retractable blades, as
long as they comply with other require-
ments for arrowheads used in big game
hunting;

» an expanded season for hunting raccoon
and red fox. By Jan. 15, 1996, the DNR
commissioner must report back to the
Legislature on the effect this change has on
these animals and their prey; and

o individuals lawfully entitled to trap fur
bearing animals to sell raw furs to a li-
censed fur buyer, without buying alicense.
The game and fish bill was sponsored in

the House by Rep. Bob Milbert (DFL-South

St. Paul) and in the Senate by Sen. Bob

Lessard (DFL-Int’] Falls).
HF2825/SF2429%/CH623

GOVERNMENT

Statewide computer link

Money for a new $14.8 million statewide
computer system to link state agencies and
consolidate state accounting functions was
signed into law May 10 by Gov. Arne Carl-
son.

The money is part of a $30.7 million
supplemental state budget bill and repre-
sents the bulk of a $17.7 million appropria-
tion for the departments of finance, adminis-
tration, employee relations and a few smaller
agencies.(See Vetoed Bills section.)

In 1991, the Legislature spent $1.8 million
tobegin the computer link. Itauthorized $15
million for the project in 1993. The last
payment for the computer system is expected
to come in the 1996-97 state budgeting pe-
riod. (Art. 3, Sec. 8)

Other money set aside in the new law for
the departments of finance, administration,
employee relations and other smaller agen-
cies includes:

* $300,000 to the Minnesota Amateur Sports
Commission to grant to the Minnesota
Chippewa tribe. The tribe will host the
1995 Indigenous Games near Bemidj,
Minn. The sponsor of this provision, Rep.
Bob Johnson (DFL-Bemidji), compared the
Indigenous Gamestoasmaller-scale Olym-
pics. The grant must be matched by
nonpublic funds (Art. 3, Sec. 10);

* $200,000 to the Legislative Audit Commis-
sion to conduct a best practices review of
Minnesota local governments to determine
the best “method of service delivery” used
by various city councils, county boards,
and other units of local government. The
commission will then recommend that
other local governments, which may not
be doing as well, adopt the “best practices”
(Art. 3 Sec. 2);

* $100,000 to the Office of Strategic and
Long-Range Planning to maintain a com-
puterized database of the results of ground
water quality monitoring. The monitoring
is legally required in Minnesota (Art. 3,
Sec. 6); and :

* a $1 million cut in the amount paid from

the state’s general fund to the police and

firefighter’s pension fund. The payment
isn’t necessary because the fund is doing
well (Art. 3, Sec. 14).

The new law also authorizes the commis-

sioner of employee relations to study the way .
the Minnesota State High School League pays

its employees. No money is set aside for this

provision. The report should take into account

pensions, health insurance, and all other forms




of compensation paid to employees.

The Department of Employee Relations
must provide the report to the House and
Senate education committees and govern-
mental operations committees by February
1995. (Art. 3, Sec. 9)

The bill was sponsored by Sen. Gene Mer-
riam (DFL-Coon Rapids) in the Senate and
Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-Bovey) in the House.

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

Expanded Met Council

Members of the Metropolitan Council will
remain appointed by the governor, but the
regional governing board will absorb the
Metropolitan Transit Commission (MTC),
the Regional Transit Board (RTB), and the
Metropolitan Waste Control Commission
(MWCC), under a bill the governor signed
into law May 10.

Under the new law, the MTC, RTB, and
MWCC will no longer exist and their duties
will be transferred to the Metropolitan Coun-
cil. But employees of the three agencies can-

not be laid off before January 1995, when the

reorganization becomes effective. Combined,
the agencies employ about 3,635 people.

Rep. Myron Orfield (DFL-Mpls), the bill's
sponsor, originally had pushed for an elected
Metropolitan Council but that version of his
bill failed by one vote on April 28. House
membersresurrected the bill May 2 and passed
it, minus the elected council provision.

The Metropolitan Council plans and coor-
dinates the development of airports, parks,
roads and transit, sewage, and other regional
issues for the seven-county Twin Cities met-
ropolitan area. Its authority encompasses 100
cities, and the council has a full-time staff of
about 200 employees.

The new measure puts the metropolitan
area’s sewer systems, solid waste manage-
ment, and transit services under the jurisdic-
tion of the Metropolitan Council.

The council’s top staff position, which is
now the executive director, will now be the
regional administrator.

Also under the bill, the 17 Metropolitan
Council members will draw a $20,000 an-
nual salary, rather than the $50 per day
payments they now receive. The per diem
payments amount to about $9,000 per year.

HF2276/SF2015%/CH628

Protecting free speech

Lawsuits against citizens who exercise their
constitutional right to speak out — typically
against condominium projects, landfills, or
other developments — will be more difficult
to win, under a bill signed into law May 5 by
Gov. Arne Carlson.

The new law, sponsored by Rep. Tom
Pugh (DFL-South St. Paul) and Sen. Jane
Krentz (DFL-May Township), will better pro-
tect citizens and civic organizations from
lawsuits called SLAPP suits. These Strategic
Lawsuits Against Public Participation often
are designed to stop people from testifying
against a project before a city council or other
governing board, or from writing a letter to
their local newspaper in opposition to a
project.

The law, which took effect May 6, 1994,
requires developers or others filing the legal
action to prove that they have been harmed
by the person or people whose words or
actions are at issue.

If not, the measure specifies that such a
lawsuit be dismissed. The law protects
people’s “lawful conduct or speech” by mak-
ing them immune from liability if their ac-
tions are “genuinely aimed in whole orin part
at procuring favorable government action . . .
unless the conduct or speech constitutes a
tort or a violation of a person’s constitutional
rights.”

Until thislaw, the citizen or citizens against
whom such a suit was brought must have, in
essence, proved their innocence.

In addition, the law requires the losers of
such cases to pay the attorney fees of the
winner. And it also allows the winner to seek
damages against the initiator of such a SLAPP
suit if he or she can prove it was brought to
harass, inhibit public participation or other-
wise harm the winner.

Lawmakers were concerned that the threat
of a SLAPP suit will intimidate citizens and
make them afraid to speak out.

HF1155/SF584*/CH566

Revoking state licenses

A new law giving more authority to the
Department of Commerce to deny, suspend,
or revoke a state-issued license was signed
March 31 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

Under current law, the department may
deny, suspend, or revoke a state-issued li-
cense for several reasons.

The new law, effective April 1, expands
that power so the department can deny,
suspend, or revoke the state-issued license of
a person who provides false, misleading, or

incomplete information to the Department of
Commerce, or has refused to allow a reason-
able inspection of records or premises.

The law also clarifies that the
commissioner’s authority includes the power
to enforce its responsibilities under the pe-
troleum tank release cleanup fund law.

Under the state’s petroleum tank release
cleanup fund law, or Petrofund program,
owners of storage tanks may recover up to 90
percent of asite’s cleanup cost. Those seeking
reimbursement for such costs are required by
law to provide the Petroleum Tank Release
Compensation Board with detailed financial
records upon request.

The new law will allow the Department of
Commerce to exercise administrative author-
ity should someone seeking Petrofund reim-
bursement fail to meet the disclosure re-
quirements.

The proposal was sponsored in the House
by Rep. Geri Evans (DFL-New Brighton) and
in the Senate by Sen. Cal Larson (IR-Fergus
Falls).

HF2201/SF1750*/CH385

Fireworks study

Gov. Arne Carlson signed a bill into law
April 11 requiring the state fire marshal to
study fireworks safety and how fireworks
display operators would best be regulated by
the state.

The study will make recommendations to
increase the safety level of public fireworks
displays, create requirements for fireworks
operators, and establish a program to certify
public display operators.

Recommendations must be submitted to
the Legislature by Dec. 31, 1994.

The bill was sponsored in the House by
Rep. Jerry Bauerly (DFL-Sauk Rapids) and in
the Senate by Sen. Dan Stevens (IR-Mora).

HF2836/SF2425*%/CH405

A new law promises universal health cov-
erage for all uninsured Minnesotans by July
1,1997.

The proposal builds on legislation passed
during the last two legislative sessions and
continues attempts to stem the growth in
health care and insurance costs while in-
creasing access to doctors and other health
care professionals for uninsured Minneso-
tans.

The law, signed by Gov. Arne Carlson May
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10, says the state will complete its restructur-
ing of Minnesota’s health care delivery sys-
tem by July 1, 1997.

Once the system reformis completed, Min-
nesotans won't simply have health coverage
available — they’ll have to be covered. The
bill mandates that each Minnesota resident
“shall obtain and maintain qualifying [health
care] coverage.”

By Jan. 1, 1998, each Minnesotan also will
have a health care identification card detail-
ing their coverage.

The new health care system will be divided
into two categories: independent service net-
works (ISN) and regulated all-payer option
(RAPO) for those not belonging to an ISN.

The 1993 Legislature encouraged the for-
mation of ISNs, which would provide a full
array of health care services, from routine
primary and preventive care through acute
inpatient hospital care, for a fixed price.

By law, ISNs are to be non-profit corpora-
tions that must participate in the Medical
Assistance, General Assistance Medical Care,
and MinnesotaCare programs.

Joining an ISN.is voluntary for all health
care providers. Those choosing not to join
will become part of the “regulated all-payer
system,” or fee-for-service system. Both sys-
tems would be strictly regulated by the state.

As an intermediary step toward the two-
tier system goal, community integrated ser-
vice networks, or CISNs, will be formed.
These “mini-ISNs” will begin providing health
care services to smaller communities through-
out the state beginning Jan. 1, 1995.

Each CISN will serve up to 50,000 people
and will be regulated in much the same way
health maintenance organizations (HMOs)
are now regulated. The benefits provided by
CISNs must meet the minimum benefits out-
lined in law for HMOs.

Deductibles of up to $1,000 per person per
year could be charged, provided that out-of-
pocket expenses don't exceed $3,000 per
person or $5,000 per family per year. The
deductible would not apply to preventive
health care services.

The new law delays the start-up of ISNs,
which have no limit on the number of people
who can be enrolled, until Jan. 1, 1996. They
were to begin forming on July 1, 1994.

While the governor did exercise his line-
item veto authority on two provisions of the
new MinnesotaCare law, they do not affect
the policy changes outlined here.

The bill was sponsored in the House by
Rep. Lee Greenfield (DFL-Mpls) and in the
Senate by Sen. Linda Berglin (DFL-Mpls).

Other provisions in the bill (HF2525/
SF2192*/CH625) include:
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A new law promises universal heahh.coverage for all uninsured Minnesotans by July 1, 1997. The law,
signed by Gov. Arne Carlson May 10, says the state will complete its restructuring of Minnesota’s health
care delivery system by 1997. (HF2525/SF2192*/CH625)

Expanded coverage

Beginning Oct. 1, 1994, single adults and
people in households with no children with
incomes less than 125 percent of federal
poverty guidelines will be eligible for
MinnesotaCare. For an individual, that’s
$9,204 per year; fora couple, $12,300 annu-
ally.

Atpresent, thereare 62,305 MinnesotaCare
enrollees. Estimates place enrollment after
single adults and childless couples are added
at 89,798 for fiscal year 1995.

The current 2 percent tax on gross rey-
enues from all health care providers, hospi-
tals, pharmacies, and wholesale drug dis-
tributors, expected to generate $138.6 mil-
lion in fiscal year 1995, will cover all 89,798
expected enrollees.

On Oct. 1, 1995, single adults and child-
less couples with incomes up to 275 percent
of federal poverty guidelines will be eligible
for MinnesotaCare. (Art. 13, Sec. 2)

Lawmakers will address how to fund the
universal coverage goal next session.
(HF2525/SF2192*/CH625)

Expanded HMO coverage
The law requires HMOs to offer coverage

for “allied independent health providers,” -

effectiveJan. 1. 1995. Such providersinclude
chiropractors, marriage and family thera-
pists, social workers, and dietitians.

Those allied providers must meet the
HMOQO’s credential standards, contract terms,
and managed care rules. Included in those
rules would be a mandatory referral from the
HMO before a patient could see an allied
provider.

As long as allied providers meet those
requirements, HMOs could not refuse them
entrance to their provider network.

The HMOs will be allowed to offer the
allied health coverage as a separate insurance
plan — at an additional cost — as long as the
increase can be justified and is approved by
the Department of Health.

The Medicare, Medical Assistance, Gen-
eral Assistance Medical Care, and
MinnesotaCare programs are exempted from
the expanded allied health coverage man-
date. (HF2525/SF2192*/CH625, Art. 1, Sec.
6)

Office of Consumer Information

To help individuals make an informed
choice about their health insurance coverage,
astate office of consumer information will be
formed within the Department of Health.
The office will serve as an information clear-
inghouse and help consumers to obtain cov-
erage. Quality report cards would be avail-
able upon request from the office, based on
data provided by each health organization.
(HF2525/SF2192*%/CH625, Art. 2, Sec. 1)

Reform effectiveness

How many Minnesotans are now without
health care coverage and how efféctive are the
reforms of the past few years? The Minnesota
Health Care Commission is asked in the new
law to authorize a study to find out. The
Department of Human Services will analyze
the current MinnesotaCare population to
determine the effects of existing health care
reforms. Results are to be reported to the
Legislature by Jan. 15, 1995. (Art. 6, Sec. 5)




s

The commission is also asked to present
the Legislature with a specific percentage of
income that overall health care costs to a
family or individual should not exceed.
(HF2525/SF2192*%/CH625, Art. 6, Sec. 6)

Uniform billing forms

To streamline administrative efforts, the
law mandates uniform billing forms. Phase-
in of the forms, for all areas of the health care
industry, is to be completed by July 1, 1996.
Providers could avoid the uniform forms
only if they use an equivalent electronic bill-
ing format. (Art. 9, Secs. 1-5)

Additionally, the Minnesota Center for
Health Care Electronic Data Interchange will
be created, to make the exchange of informa-
tion more efficient. (HF2525/SF2192%/
CH625, Art. 9, Sec. 8)

Single payer study : P

A $65,000 study to determine whether the
state could save money with a single-payer
health care system will be conducted by the
Office of the Legislative Auditor.

Aseparate bill (SF1867) proposing the same
study was vetoed by the governor May 2.

Under asingle-payer system, the state gov-
ernment would take over the payment of all
health care services or authorize one outside
insurance company, acting somewhat like a
public utility, to handle all the claims.

Currently, many different private insur-
ance companies and health care groups pay
claims filed by patients, clinics, doctors, and
others.

A report to the Legislature is due by Jan.
15,1995. (HF2525/SF2192*/CH625, Att. 5,
Sec. 9)

Helping doctors and nurses

Gov. Arne Carlson signed a bill into law
May 4 that encourages health professionals
to voluntarily report an illness or drug and
alcohol problem.

Effective May 5, the law is designed to
allow certain doctors, nurses, dentists, and
some other health professionals to continue
their practices provided they submit to a
monitoring program. Some health care work-
ers may be asked to stop practicing fora while
as a condition of acceptance into the pro-
grarm.

It is hoped that more health professionals
will step forward and admit their problems if
the fear of losing their livelihoods and repu-
tations is at least partially removed. Names
remain confidential.

Previously, a health care professional ac-
cused of being impaired for health reasons
was subject to a disciplinary hearing, the

results of which are public. Critics argue that
practice prevented doctors and others from
receiving help for their problems.

Under the new law, health professionals
can continue to practice unless they become
a danger to patients, fail a drug test, or
otherwise violate their monitoring contract.

Sponsored by Rep. Steve Kelley (DFL-
Hopkins) in the House and in the Senate by
Sen. Pat Piper (DFL-Austin), $198,000 is set
aside for the program. It is modeled after an
existing program that encourages health pro-
fessionals with HIV, the virus that causes
AIDS, and those with Hepatitis B Virus, to
self-report. They can volunteer the informa-
tion and subject themselves to monitoring.

Five of the state’s 12 health professional
regulating licensing boards have tentatively
agreed to participate in the program. They
include the Board of Medical Practice, the
Board of Nursing, the Board of Dentistry, the
Board of Podiatry, and the Board of Chiro-
practic Examiners. Other regulating boards
could join later.

The new law sets up a Health Professional
Services Program that consists of two or more
regulating boards working together. A com-
mittee made up of a member from each
regulating board will appoint a manager to
help work out the specifics of the program

such as who should be enrolled, how they

should be monitored, and how often.
HF2120%/SF1849/CH556

Dispensing drugs

Effective Aug. 1, 1994, certain health
professionals will be granted the authority to
dispense drugs.

Under current law, nurse practitioners and
physician assistants have the authority to pre-
scribe and administer drugs, but they cannot
dispense them. That means members of the two
professions can give patients a pill or an injec-
tion in an office setting, but cannot give the
same patient any medicine to take home.

The new law also states that nurse practi-
tioners and physician assistants can dispense
drug samples, codifying what has been com-
mon practice, according to Sue Stout of the
Minnesota Nurses Association. (See March
31, 1994 Session Weekly, page 6.)

The bill, sponsored in the House by Rep.
Roger Cooper (DFL-Bird Island) and in the
Senate by Sen. Pat Piper (DFL-Austin), was
signed April 6 by Gov. Arne Carlson.
HF2318/SF2086*/CH389

Advance practice nurses

Certified psychiatric and mental health
nurses can now prescribe and administer
certain drugs, under a new law signed April
20 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

The new law, effective April 21, 1994, al-
lows such nurses who have earned a master’s
degree to prescribe and administer drugs used
to treat psychiatric and behavioral disorders.
Forty-six other states have similar laws.

Eligible nurses also must complete at least
30 hours of formal study relating to the drugs
they would prescribe, and would be under
the supervision of a psychiatrist.

Under current law, each time a psychiatric
medication is prescribed or adjusted, a
psychiatrist’s signature is needed. Eliminating
that requirement will decrease waiting lists for
mental health services, particularly in rural
areas, where the acute shortage of psychiatrists
has been strongly felt, according to Deborah
Brown of the Minnesota Nurses Association.

The measure expands a 1992 law that
authorized nurse practitioners to prescribe
and administer drugs.

The new law was sponsored in the House
by Rep. Pam Neary (DFL-Afton) and in the
Senate by Sen. Harold Finn (DFL-Cass Lake).

HF2072/SF1806*/CH470

Arelated measure, authorizing nurse prac-
titioners and physician assistants to dispense
drugs, also has been signed by the governor.
As of April 7, 1994, certified psychiatric and
mental health nurses have the authority to
dispense drugs as well. Dispensing authority
allows a nurse to give a patient medication to
bring home, rather than administering a single
dose in an office setting. (For more details on
bothlaws, see March 31,1994, Session Weekly,
page 8, and April 15, 1994, Session Weekly,
page 13.)

HF2318/SF2086*/CH389

Foreign doctors

Some foreign medical school graduates who
want to be licensed in Minnesota are now
exempt from going through two more years of
graduate medical school, under a new law
signed by Gov. Arnie Carlson April 13.

The new exemption applies if the foreign
graduate is licensed in another state, has
practiced for five years without disciplinary
action, has completed one year of required
graduate training, and has passed a special
exam within three attempts in the two years
before the licensing.

Effective April 14, 1994, the new law ex-
pands existing exemptions for foreign medi-
cal school graduates.
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Under a 1993 law, the two-year training
requirement was set aside if the person went
through one year of training and, either was
admitted as a permanent immigrant with
exceptional science ability, or was given a
permanent visa as an outstanding professor
or researcher after Oct. 1, 1991.

Rep. Katy Olson (DFL-Sherburn) and Sen.
Jim Vickerman (DFL-Tracy) sponsored the
new law.

HF2391/SF2345*%/CH433

Mental health pilot study

A three-county pilot study will evaluate
delivery of adult mental health services
throughout the state, under a new law Gov.
Arne Carlson signed April 25.

The law — effective Aug. 1, 1994 — will
create three, nine-member advisory commit-
tees to study the availability and quality of
emergency mental health services for adults.

The three counties chosen for the study
will represent urban, suburban, and rural
areas. The Department of Human Services
will appoint the committee members but will
consult first with advocates for people with
mental illnesses and local advisory councils.

The law was sponsored in the House by

Rep. Kay Brown (DFL-Northfield) and in the -

Senate by Sen. Don Betzold (DFL-Fridley).
The human services commissioner will

report the study’s findings and recommenda-

tions to the Legislature by Jan. 15, 1996.
HF2148*/SF1760/CH515

No smoking in hallways

It will be more difficult for apartment
dwellers to find a place to light up a cigarette,
under a bill signed into law by Gov. Arne
Carlson April 28.

Effective Aug. 1, 1994, smoking in com-
mon areas of apartment buildings such as
laundry rooms, mail rooms, and hallways is
prohibited.

Sponsored in the House by Rep. Edwina
Garcia (DFL-Richfield) and in the Senate by
Sen. Gene Merriam (DFL-Coon Rapids), the
measure expands Minnesota’s Clean Indoor
Air Act, which restricts smoking in many
public places.

HF423*/SF372/CH520
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ﬁ HIGHER EDUCATION
New higher ed funding formula

Gov. Ame Carlson May 5 vetoed all the
money in the supplemental budget bill for
the state’s public colleges and universities,
but he leftalone other provisions, such as one
that would change how state aid to colleges
and universities is distributed. (See Vetoed
Bills section.)

The idea is to make the way the state
distributes funding to public colleges and
universities more equitable. The new law
uses a “base plus” funding formula instead of
the average cost formula in place since 1983.

Under the average cost formula, schools
calculate the average cost of programs and
divide that by the number of full-time stu-
dents to come up with a total. The state then
pays 67 percent of that total and expects
tuition to pick up the rest.

The “base plus” formula will give schools a
set dollar amount based on building costs,
utilities, equipment expenses, and other costs.
The formula will not be based on enrollment.

Schools will also receive a variable dollar
amount for teachers salaries and classroom
equipment, which will change with enroll-
ment shifts, Also, schools can receive an extra
1 percent bonus if they meet specific perfor-
mance standards the new law outlines for
them.

The state will use the new method of
appropriating money beginning with the 1995
school year.

Also under the new law, college students
with children can receive nomore than $1,500
annually for each child in child care. That
amount currently is not capped.

The measure also delays by one year —
until July 1995 — the implementation of a
cap on how much financial aid private col-
lege students can receive. The cap was to go
into effect this year.

Inaddition, the bill includes language that
will allow the merger of three of the state’s
higher education systems — the technical
college, community college, and state uni-
versity systems — to go forward. Beginning
in July 1995, the administrative arms of the
three systems will be consolidated under the
newly created Higher Education Board.

The new law also requires the Higher Edu-
cation Coordinating Board (HECB) — which
now distributes financial aid to students
among many other duties — to recommend
to the Legislature what its role should be after
the merger.

The original House version of the bill would
have abolished the HECB.

The community college centers in Duluth
and Cambridge could become full colleges
under the law, but only if approved by the
Higher Education Board. The board cannot
grant the approval until it's officially formed
in July 1995.

The House-Senate compromise bill would
have appropriated $450,000 to the Fond du
Lac Center in Cloquet to become a full com-
munity college. The governor, however, ve-
toed that appropriation.

The final bill, however, establishes the
center’s mission as meeting the educational
needs of American Indians. Tribal officials
can oversee the community college board.

The House passed the bill on a 112-22
vote; the Senate passed it 65-0. It was spon-
sored by Rep. Gene Pelowski (DFL-Winona)
in the House and Sen. LeRoy Stumpf (DFL-
Thief River Falls) in the Senate.

HF3178/SF2900*/CH532

Mobile home communities

HOUSING

A new law signed by Gov. Arne Carlson
April 20 prevents local governments from
changing certain zoning requirements for
mobile home parks constructed before Janu-
ary 1995 if the park met zoning ordinances
when originally constructed.

The law is effective Aug. 1, 1994.

The law keeps local governments from
changing zoning rules on older mobile home
parks that regulate how close mobile homes
can be to one another, the size of mobile
home lots, and how far from streets and
sidewalks the homes must be.

Changes in zoning rules could throw older
parks out of compliance and result in their
closure, argued supporters of the bill.

Rep. Chuck Brown (DFL-Appleton) spon-
sored the billin the House; Sen. John Hottinger
(DFL-Mankato) was the Senate sponsor.

HF2666*/SF2421/CH473

Written leases or else

Landlords who rent' out apartments in
buildings with 12 or more units will face a
fine of up to $200 if they don't use written
leases, under legislation signed into law April
22 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

Lawmakers last year passed legislation re-
quiring owners of buildings with 12 or more
units to provide their tenants with written
leases. This year’s legislation makes disobey-
ing the law a petty misdemeanor, which is
subject to a fine of up to $200.




Rep. Darlene Luther (DFL-Brooklyn Park)
carried the House bill and Sen. Ellen Ander-
son (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored the legislation
in the Senate. The law becomes effective Aug.
1,1994, for new or renewed leases beginning
on or after that date.

HF1859*/SF1822/CH496

Farm liability insurance

INSURANCE

How well damage caused by pollution is
covered by farm liability insurance policies
will be studied, under a bill Gov. Arne Carl-
son signed into law April 20.

The law is in response to the more rigorous
enforcement of state feedlot pollution regula-
tions that are designed to prevent animal
waste from polluting rivers. Feedlots are con-
fined areas where grass doesn't grow and
groups of animals are kept.

Although the feedlot regulations have been
on the books for some time, they haven’t
been enforced as rigorously until recently.
Consequently, farmers have become more
concerned about whether damage caused by
pollution is covered by their insurance.

The new law requires the Department of
Commerce to select an advisory committee
composed of representatives from both the
farming and insurance industry to conduct
the study.

The committee will:

o identify existing farm liability policies in
Minnesota and the extent of pollution liabil-
ity coverage;

* determine the range of farm pollution li-
ability insurance beyond the basic farm li-
ability policy as well as the limits and costs of
the coverage;

* analyze current insurance industry prac-
tices, including how companies compute
pollution liability risk;

* assess whether pollution coverage should
be mandated in farm liability insurance;

» consider whether to publish a farm liability
coverage market guide; and

» make recommendations for new legislation
or rules regarding pollution liability insur-
ance to “strengthen both the farming com-
munity and the insurance industry.”

The commerce commissioner is to report
the study’s findings and recommendations to
the Legislature by Jan. 1, 1995.

The law was sponsored by Rep. Alice
Johnson (DFL-Spring Lake Park) and Sen.
William Luther (DFL-Brooklyn Park).

HF2954/SF2255*/CH476

A county board may seek civil penalties and damages from people who are caught littering, under
a law the governor signed April 11. (HF1186*/SF1489/CH412)

Closing insurance loopholes

Insurance companies will not be able to
claim a woman had a pre-existing condition
if she hasnon-cancerous lumps in her breasts
and then later develops cancer, under a bill
signed into law by the governor April 15.

Thebill, which was unanimously approved
by both the House and Senate, would pro-
hibit health carriers from terminating, can-
celing, or refusing to renew a health plan
solely because of what is called a fibrocystic

condition.

Accordingto House bill sponsor Rep. Carol
Molnau (IR-Chaska), between 50 and 70
percent of all women are affected by a heredi-
tary fibrocystic condition, which can cause
nodules or cysts to form in women’s breasts.

The American Cancer Society and other
medical groups have stated there is no evi-
dence between the condition and cancer,
Molnau said.

Although insurance companies cannot ter-
minate a policy because a woman develops
breast cancer, some companies still claim the
fibrocystic lumps were a pre-existing condi-
tion the woman hid from them. The compa-
nies consider that grounds for terminating
the policy.

The new law will insure that a woman’s
health insurance is not changed solely be-
cause she has a fibrocystic condition. The
measure, which was sponsored in the Senate
by Sen. Terry Johnston (IR-Prior Lake), is
effective Aug. 1, 1994, and applies to a plan
issued or renewed to provide coverage to a
Minnesota resident on and after that date.

HF2530/SF1951*/CH442

HIV test results

Insurance companies cannot obtain the
HIV test results of accident victims, or the
emergency medical personnel and good Sa-
maritans who help them, under a new law
signed by Gov. Arne Carlson April 20.

The law, which is effective Aug. 1, 1994,
expands a current statute that keeps insurers
from obtaining the results of HIV tests per-
formed on sex offenders or on victims who
had contact with a criminal’s bodily fluids.

HIV is the virus that causes acquired im-
mune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) and can
be spread through contact with bodily fluids.
Insurance companies use HIV test results to
deny health coverage or cancel a policy, said
Rep. David Bishop (IR-Rochester) who spon-
sored the measure in the House. Sen. Ember
Reichgott Junge (DFL-New Hope) sponsored
the Senate version. (See April 15,1994, Ses-
sion Weekly, page 17).

The law defines emergency medical pro-
viders as firefighters, paramedics, nurses,
and other trained professionals, as well as
“other persons who administer emergency
care” such as good Samaritans.

. HF2379/SF1794*/CH475
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LABOR

Labor Interpretive Center

The proposed Labor Interpretive Center
will get $185,000 during fiscal years 1994
and 1995 under a provision in the state
supplemental budget bill signed into law
May 10 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

The center, which has been planned since
1985, is slated to be built in downtown St.
Paul across from the Civic Center on a site
between Kellogg Boulevard and Fifth Street.

The goal of the proposed center is to “cel-
ebrate the contribution of working people to
the past, present, and future of Minnesota,”
according to the center’s mission statement.

Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-Bovey) spon-
sored the supplemental budget bill in the
House and Sen. Gene Merriam (DFL-Coon
Rapids) carried the legislation in the Senate.

HF3215/SF2913*%/CH632

LAW

Border incident

A law enforcement officer from an adjoin-
ing state will be able to cross the border and
make an arrest in Minnesota, under a bill
signed into law by Gov. Arne Carlson April
15.

After Aug. 1, 1994, law enforcement offic-
ers from North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa,
or Wisconsin can enter this state, in direct
response to a request from a Minnesota peace
officer, and act with the full authority granted
to law enforcement personnel in this state.
The officer must obey the direction of the
Minnesota law enforcement officer while in
this state, however.

The out-of-state police officer, sheriff's
deputy, or conservation officer will be re-
quired to follow the rules of his or her own
agency while in Minnesota. After making the
arrest, the officer must promptly surrender
custody of the arrested individual toa Minne-
sota peace officer.

The law stems from a Nov. 14, 1992,
incident which began when a concerned
citizen from Revillo, S. D., called the Lac qui
Parle County sheriff’s department in Minne-
sota about a group driving pickups through
fields and “shining” deer — using a spotlight
to freeze deer and then shoot them.

The sheriff dispatched some deputies and
a town officer. A South Dakota state trooper
and a South Dakota deputy, along with con-
servation officers from Minnesota and South
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Nearly all lobbyist gifts to lawmakers are banned
under the new ethics law that was one of the first
bills to be signed into law this year. (HF1863*/
SF1737/CH377)

Dakota, responded to the call.

AMinnesota conservation officer, who was
following the three pickups, radioed ahead to
a South Dakota trooper who was in a better
position. The trooper then apprehended the
suspects one mile into Minnesota.

Although a Lac qui Parle County sheriff’s
deputy arrived at the scene within two min-
utes of the initial stop, a Minnesota judge
later ruled that the South Dakota trooper did
not have authority to make a legal stop and
dismissed the case against the six defendants.

Rep. Doug Peterson (DFL-Madison) was
the House sponsor of the bill, and Sen. Randy
Kelly (DFL-St. Paul) sponsored the Senate
companion.

HF1966*/SF1855/CH441

Ethics in government

Gov. Arne Carlson signed a major ethics
bill into law March 22 that bans nearly all
lobbyist gifts to lawmakers.

Under the bill, a lobbyist, business, or
special interest group can not give a gift to a
legislator. Alegislator, in turn, cannot accept
a gift from anyone or any group attempting to
influence legislation.

Such gifts include money, property, a ser-
vice, a loan, or a promise of future employ-

ment. Although not specifically listed, food
and beverages are also considered gifts, and,
therefore, are banned.

There are a few exceptions to the ban on
gifts; a lawmaker may accept a plaque or
similar memento recognizing service or a
meal after he or she hasappeared at a meeting
to give a speech or answer questions on an
issue.

The new law takes effect Aug. 1, 1994. It
was sponsored by Rep. Edgar Olson (DFL-
Fosston) in the House and in the Senate by
Sen. John Marty (DFL-Roseville).
HF1863*/SF1737/CH377

Flag burning ban

A legislative resolution that calls on Con-
gressto pass a proposed constitutional amend-
ment that would allow Congress and the
states to pass laws against the “physical des-
ecration of the flag of the United States” was
signed into law by the governor April 15.

The resolution has no force of law, but
functions as a “show of support and show of
strength” for Congressional action, accord-
ing to Lyle Foltz, assistant adjutant of the
Minnesota American Legion.

Foltz said that Congress must still pass a
proposed constitutional amendment, which
requires a two-thirds majority in both the
U.S. House and the U.S. Senate. If that oc-
curs, the proposed amendment would then
have to be ratified by at least 38 states.

Foltz said Minnesota is the 43rd state to
pass a resolution stating support for the ban
on flag burning, but it is unclear whether
there is enough support in the U.S. House
and Senate for the proposal to be considered
by the states.

Recent U.S. Supreme Court rulings have
held that burning the flag is protected under
the First Amendment. (See March 4, 1994,
Session Weekly, page 11 and March 25, 1994,
Session Weekly, page 15.)

The Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office is
instructed to send copies of the resolution to
the “President and Secretary of the United
States Senate, the Speaker and Clerk of the
United States House of Representatives, and
Minnesota’s Senators and Representatives in
Congress.” :

The resolution was sponsored in the House
by Rep. Brian Bergson (DFL-Osseo) and in
the Senate by Sen. Jim Vickerman (DFL-
Tracy).

HF1880*/SF1700/R5




Data privacy, open meetings

A news organization couldn’t broadcast
your emergency call to 911 without your
permission, and a merchant couldn’t disclose
what videos you rented, under the terms of a
data privacy bill signed into law by Gov. Arne
Carlson May 10.

The changes are included in the new data
privacy law, sponsored in the House by Rep.
Mary Jo McGuire (DFL-Falcon Heights) and
in the Senate by Sen. Harold “Skip” Finn
(DFL-Cass Lake).

Other changes in the new law will:

o make available to the public the blood-
alcohol level of persons involved in traffic
accidents;

* make available to the Department of Health
the medical data on stillborn infants, moth-
ers who died during pregnancy or while
giving birth, and infants who died before
reachingage 2. The department, with some
restrictions, can access these records with-
out permission of family members or guard-
ians as long as the data are used in legiti-
mate medical studies relating to pregnancy
and childbirth;

o allow law enforcement agencies, without
first obtaining a juvenile court order, to
provide information on young delinquents
to school officials if the information would
promote school safety;

o require an individual’s permission before
his or her 911 call can be broadcast on
radio or TV. News organizations can still
obtain and make public a transcription of
a call to 911, but only if the transcript
doesn’t reveal the caller’s identity. The
audio recordings are still available for law
enforcement or fire department investiga-
tions and 911 dispatcher training pur-
poses; and

» require video stores to obtain a customer’s
written permission before disclosing any
personal information about the customer.
Video rental outlets cannot disclose what
video titles a person rented. Such informa-
tion will only be available to law enforce-
ment authorities presenting a court-issued
warrant, or to grand juries or courts upon
presentation of a subpoena.

° put some teeth in to the state’s open meet-
ing law by raising the fine to $300 — up
from $100 — on an individual who vio-
lates the law. A person who pursues an
intentional violator of the law also could
recoup attorney's fees up to $13,000.
HF2028%/SF2079/CH618

Suing pimps and madams

People coerced into prostitution would be
able to sue their pimp or madam, under a bill
signed into law by Gov. Arne Carlson May 10.

House sponsor Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-
St. Paul) said that the new law “will put a
major hurt on those who would sexually
exploit vulnerable young people.”

A person who coerces a man, woman, boy,
or girl into prostitution now can be sued
effective Aug. 1, 1994, for a variety of dam-
ages, such as loss of future earning capacity,
mental and emotional harm, and pain and
suffering.

The person sued also will have fewer de-
fenses at his or her disposal under the new
law. For instance, someone sued cannot use
a defense such as the plaintiff did not try to
flee or the plaintiff worked in a place that had
signs posted prohibiting prostitution. Any
civilaction, however, must be brought within
six years of the alleged coercion.

The new law lists 23 examples of “coer-
cion,” ranging from physical torture to “ex-
ploiting needs for food, shelter. . . orintimate
or marital relationships.”

A provision in the new law, adopted from
the Senate’s bill, will make it easier to hold an
adult liable when a minor is involved. This
section does not require the victim to show
he or she was “coerced” into prostitution;
simply hiring a minor to engage in prostitu-
tion could make a person liable for damages.

Sen. Ember Reichgott Junge (DFL-New
Hope) sponsored the bill in the Senate.

HF2519%/SF2112/CH624

PETS

Abandoned animals

If you're notified by a veterinarian or ani-
mal boarding facility to pick up your pet and
you don’t do so within 10 days, you have no
“further rights or claim to the animal,” under
a bill signed into law April 11 by the gover-
nor.

The law specifies that individuals must be
notified — by certified mail or through a
court summons — that their pet should be
claimed. An alternative to this procedure is to
publish a notice in the animal owner’s local

newspaper.

If there’s no response to a letter or notice
within 10 days afterits receipt or publication,
the veterinary or animal boarding facility can
dispose of the animal without any legal liabil-
ity.

The bill was sponsored in the House by

Rep. Tom Osthoff (DFL-St. Paul) and in the

Senate by Sen. William Belanger (IR-Bloom-

ington). The law is effective Aug. 1, 1994.
HF2435%/SF2607/CH401

Dangerous dog tags

Beginning Aug. 1, 1994, dangerous dogs
must wear tags with the designated state
dangerous dog symbol, under legislation
signed into law May 4 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

The new law directs the Department of
Public Safety to determine the exact design
and material for the tag,

Previous law only required the owner of a
dangerous dog to place a sign in his or her
yard warning passersby of the animal (See
April 29, 1994, Session Weekly, page 13). The
signs are bright yellow and depict an attack-
ing dog with a human hand held out to
protect against the animal.

A dangerous dog is defined as one that
does any of the following: inflicts substantial
bodily harm on a human without provoca-
tion; kills a domestic animal without provo-
cation while off the owner’s property; or is
otherwise found to have been potentially
dangerous.

Rep. Lyndon Carlson (DFL-Crystal) spon-
sored the bill in the House and Sen. Ember
Reichgott Junge (DFL-New Hope) carried
the legislation in the Senate.

HF2362*/SF2189/CH550

- SPORTS
Target Center buyout

With barely a vote to spare and minus a
controversial “Mighty Ducks” amendment
that would have paid for more youth ice
rinks, the Legislature May 7 voted for a state
buyout of the Target Center.

And Gov. Arne Carlson signed the bill into
law May 10.

The House passed a compromise House-
Senate bill 69 to 61 minutes before the clos-
ing of the 1994 session. The Senate passed
the compromise bill minutes later 35 to 26.
Both bodies approved the buyout with only
one vote to spare. It needed 68 votes in the
House; 34 in the Senate.

The new law now authorizes the Metro-
politan Sports Facilities Commission to issue
$42 million in revenue bonds to purchase the
downtown Minneapolis sports arena, home
of the Timberwolves basketball team.

A 10 percent ticket tax and a $1 ticket
surcharge on Target Center events will help
pay off the bonds.
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Also, the state will contribute $750,000
annually over 15 years to help pay them off.
The money will be drawn from the accounts
of the state’s Amateur Sports Commission. In
return, the commission can use the Target
Center on 50 event days each year. When the
bonds are retired, the law releases the Ama-
teur Sports Commission from its agreement
and allows it to pay a per-event fee each time
it uses the Target Center.

Originally, the House bill—before itheaded
to House/Senate conference committee —
called for the annual $750,000 payment to
come from investment returns from the Min-
neapolis police and firefighters pension fund.
The money would otherwise go to the state’s
general fund.

In addition, the new law calls for a Minne-
apolis tax on downtown restaurants, bars,
and hotels to kick in if the ticket surcharge
and state’s annual $750,000 payments aren’t
enough to pay off the bonds.

Should that tax kickin, 0.25 percent would
be added to the base tax. That money would
be used to fund Minneapolis youth recre-
ation programs. -

An amendment sponsored by Rep. Bob
Milbert (DFL-South St. Paul) that would have
built 12 new indoor ice arenas for youth
sports across the state never made it into the
compromise bill. Milbert proposed raising
Target Center ticket prices by $1.50 rather
than $1 and using the extra 50 cents to build
the rinks.

The Target Center buyout became a legisla-
tive issue after the arena’s two owners, Harvey
Ratner and Marv Wolfenson, said they could
no longer pay the debt on the sports arena,
which they built for $104 million. Rep. Rich-
ard Jefferson (DFL-Mpls) said a state buyout
would ensure the national basketball team, the
Timberwolves, stay in town.

The new law specifies the arena will be
purchased if future Timberwolves owners
agree to keep the team in Minnesota at least
30 years. Also, the law mandates that the
sports commission must try to move a profes-
sional hockey team to the Twin Cities.

Negotiators from other cities are attempting
to lure the Timberwolves to their towns, but
Ratner and Wolfenson have said they’re com-
mitted to keeping the team in Minnesota.

If the new law hadn’t passed, the
Timberwolves probably would have been
sold to a company wanting to move the team
to New Orleans, Jefferson has said.

HF3041*/SF2725/CH648
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The Timberwolves have more reason to stay in town now that the governor has signed into law a Target
Center buyout bill. But negotiations with the sports arena’s owners will move forward only if the
Timberwolves agree to stay in town at least 30 years. The Target Center basketball court is shown during

the 1994 NBA All Star Game. (HF3041*/SF2725/CH648)

Ice time for girls

Boys hockey teams should share the ice
equally with their female counterparts by the
1996 season, under a provision of a bill
signed into law May 10 by Gov. Arne Carl-
SOIL

The provision, proposed by Rep. Phyllis
Kahn (DFL-Mpls), is intended to make sure
males share ice time equally with females.
The language signed into law, however, ap-
pears to be less than a mandate.

The new 1994-1995 supplemental budget
law saysall publicindoor ice arenas must give
female teams “up to 15 percent” of the prime
ice time during the upcoming winter season,
“up to 30 percent” during the 1995 season
and “up to 50 percent” by the 1996 season.

The provision, effective July 1, 1994, is
part of the state government finance portion
of the supplemental budget law.

The new law also says if a public arena
provides more ice time to one gender than
the other, it can’t turn down a request for
prime ice time from the underrepresented
group.

Prime time is defined in the bill as 4 p.m.
to 10 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 9
a.m. to 8 p.m. during the weekend.

Sen. Gene Merriam (DFL-Coon Rapids)
sponsored the supplemental budget bill in
the Senate. Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-Bovey)
sponsored it in the House. (Art. 3, Sec. 23)

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

TAXES

Property tax relief, child care credit

Minnesota homeowners will get some prop-
erty tax relief and some parents of infants will
receive a tax break, under a compromise tax
bill signed into law by Gov. Arne Carlson
May 5.

But some upper-income senior citizens
will see a tax increase. And writing off those
golf course memberships and some other
quasi-business expenses will be eliminated
entirely or sharply curtailed.

In all, the new law allocates about $110
million for property tax relief.

Millions are set aside for Minnesota cities to
hold down the cost of local property taxes. The
Local Government Trust Fund, which collects
some sales tax revenue and transfers it to cities,
is short about $30 million. The legislation
makes up the difference in fiscal year 1995 and
expects to make up another roughly $30 mil-
lion shortfall in fiscal year 1997.

Another $20 million pays a portion of the
property taxes Minnesota school districts’
would otherwise collect from taxpayers in
1995.

And another $21 million helps pump up
property tax relief programs such as renters’
credit, the targeting refund, and circuit breaker
program in the 1996-1997 two-year budget-
ing period. Those programs offer tax refunds
to property owners and renters based on
their income and tax burden.

Additional money for the targeting refund
program — $6.2 million — was signed into




law by the governor under a separate bill.
Because so many people have seen a property
tax increase, this separate new law pumps up
the amount of money available for refunds so
more people can collect this year.

The omnibus compromise tax law also sets
aside an additional $3 million for the target-
ing refund program for fiscal year 1996.

Below are some of the highlights of the new
law (HF3209*/SFNone/CH587):

Child care tax credit

Low to moderate income parents of a child
under age 1, who do not use professional
child care services, could receive a tax break.

Currently, Minnesota offers parents who
each work a tax credit to help with profes-
sional child care costs. The omnibus tax bill
takes into account the value of a mother or
father staying home to care for their infant,
working split shifts so one can always be
home with the child, or using a relative or
other non-professional care. The law offers a
tax credit of up to $720 a year to married
couples raising a child up to 1 year old who
do not claim the credit for professional child
care costs.

Only couples earning a household income
of less than $29,560 would be eligible. A
couple with an income of $15,560 would get
the full $720 credit.

The measure is expected to cost about $3.7
million a year.

Proponents say the current tax structure
and cost of consumer goods has forced fami-
lies to seek two incomes instead of staying
home to raise their children.

This provision was originally introduced
as HF1837 and was sponsored by Rep. Dar-
lene Luther (DFL-Brooklyn Park). (See Feb.
25,1994, Session Weekly, page 6.) (HF3209%/
SFNone/CH587, Art.1, Sec. 13)

Upper-income seniors pay more

A provision of the compromise tax law
changes Minnesota’s tax code to conform
with that of the federal government. But the
change means upper-income seniors pay
higher income taxes on their Social Security
benefits.

Next year, singles with income of about
$65,000 and married seniors with income of
about $80,000 will pay more in taxes. In
1997, married seniors with income of about
$44,000 annually, and single seniors with
income of about $34,000, will be affected by
the new law. They represent about 60,000
households, or the top 12 percent of Minne-
sota seniors.

Eighty-five percent of their Social Security
benefits would be subject to Minnesota’s
income tax, just as is the case now for filing

Anew law gives low- tomoderate-income parents a tax break for children under age 1if the family doesn’t

use professional child care. (HF3209*/SFnone/CH587)

federal income tax returns. (Art. 1, Sec. 6)

Although some senior citizens will pay
more taxes under the new tax changes, some
will pay less.

The law also expands the “income tax
subtraction” for some seniors and disabled
people. It will resultin lower income taxes for
low- to middle-income seniors and disabled
people than existed in previous law.

The purpose of the law is to equalize
income taxes regardless of the source of in-
come for seniors and disabled people. Se-
niors who retire on income other than Social
Security or exempt interest currently benefit
under this law. (HF3209*/SFNone/CH587,
Art. 1, Sec. 16)

Meals, golf, business trips

As part of conforming to the federal tax
code, the new tax law will either reduce or
eliminate state tax deductions for business
meals, country club membership fees, lobby-
ing expenses, and expenses incurred while
taking a spouse on a business trip.

Last year, as Congress worked to reduce
the deficit, many federal income tax deduc-
tions were reduced or eliminated. Lawmak-
ers hope that conforming to the federal in-
come tax standards will simplify the filing of
Minnesota tax returns. (HF3209*/SFNone/
CH587, Art. 1, Sec. 6)

Limiting millionaire deductions

Currently there are no limits on how much
a public company can deduct for employee
salaries and some benefits. The new law limits
the tax deduction publicly held companies can
take for each executive who earns more than
$1 million a year in salary (and certain benefits
such as stock options), and allows the com-
pany to deduct only the portion up to $1

million. If an executive earns $2 million, the
company can deduct only $1 million.
(HF3209*/SFNone/CH587, Art. 1, Sec. 6)

Government frust fund eliminated

The Local Government Trust Fund, estab-
lished in 1991 with an extra half-cent added
to the state’s 6-percent sales tax, will be
abolished July 1, 1996. The fund pays out
state aid to Minnesota cities and towns,

Municipalities will still receive their state
aid based on current formulas in law, but
morey will no longer be set aside especially
forlocal governments. Cities and towns would
receive a 2 percent increase in their state aid
for 1995. During subsequent years, aid in-
creases would be tied to inflation. (HF3209*/
SFNone/CH587, Art. 3, Sec. 20)

Help for St. Paul landlords

Property taxes for some St. Paul single-
family and duplex rental units will be re-
duced in hopes of encouraging landlords to
reinvest more money in their properties,
under a provision in the new tax law.

Originally sponsored by Rep. Andy
Dawkins (DFL-St. Paul), the provision estab-
lishes a one-year pilot project in St. Paul for
property taxes payable in 1995. Qualifying
single-family and duplex rental housing will
receive a local property tax credit. (The mea-
sure was originally introduced as HF2308.)

To participate, a landlord must pay a fee to
hire a housing evaluator to inspect the rental
unitor units, repair the property based on the
evaluator’s findings, have the property re-
inspected after repairs, and gain approval
from city officials. Any life and safety hazards
identified in the inspection must be repaired
even if the landlord withdraws from the
program.
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The new provision taps the general fund
for $1 million in fiscal year 1996 to offer the
- tax breaks. Landlords and the city of St. Paul
will have to come back to the Legislature if
they want state help in continuing the project.

Dawkins has said helping landlords rein-
vest in their properties would help provide
“safe, affordable housing for renters” -and
improve St. Paul neighborhoods.

The St. Paul City Council will also have to
agree to the idea before the program can take
effect. (See March 31, 1994, Session Weekly,
page 12.) (HF3209*/SFNone/CH587, Art. 5,
Sec. 27)

Tax break to replace equipment

The compromise tax bill will save manu-
facturers $68.3 million in fiscal years 1996
and 1997 by reducing the state’s 6.5 percent
sales tax on replacements for aging equip-
ment. The tax will be phased down to 2
percent by fiscal year 1999.

Under this provision, businesses should
see savings quickly. The provision will begin
July 1, 1994, and save manufacturers an
estimated $14.6 million.

The provision is designed to keep Minne-
sota manufacturers competitive in the U.S.
and around the world. It is hoped they will
take the sales tax savings and reinvest in jobs
and new products and services, (HF3209%/
SFNone/CH587, Art. 2, Sec. 4, Subd. 5)

Other sales tax exemptions
Protective equipment and clothing for
firefighters will be exempt from Minnesota’s
6.5 percent sales tax, under the new tax law.
That’s estimated to save fire departments
about $400,000 a year. (Art. 2, Sec. 11)
Many horse purchases (except race horses)

also will be exempt from the sales tax, saving
horse buyers an estimated $200,000 a year.
(Art. 2, Sec. 12)

Personal computers sold by public and ‘

private schools, colleges, and business and
trade schools to students enrolled in their
classes also will be exempt from sales tax.
(Art. 2, Sec, 13)

Another provision of the law extends the
sales tax exemption on ticket sales from chari-
table golf tournaments that last more than
four days — provided the proceeds go to a
charitable organization. The intent of the
provision is to exempt ticket sales to the
annhual Burnet Senior Golf Tournament,
scheduled this yearat Bunker Hills golf course
in Coon Rapids.

The event is owned by Abbott Northwest-
ern Hospital and the United Hospital Foun-
dation. Last yearalaw was enacted to provide
a one-time sales tax exemption for the 1993
tournament. The provision is expected to
save the tournament about $100,000 a year.
(HF3209*/SFNone/CH587, Art. 2, Sec. 14,
Subd. 1)

This old house

Alaw enacted last year to encourage home-
owners to fix up their older homes is tight-
ened under the new tax law.

The 1993 Legislature approved a law that
allows homeowners to partially exclude the
value of improvements made to their homes
from their property tax assessments for 10
years.

In addition to a house having to be at least
35 years old to qualify, it now will have to
have either:

° a market value equal to or less than
$150,000;

A provision of the state’s tax bill, now law, will mean upper-income senior citizens would pay higher
income taxes on their Social Security benefits. Although some seniors will pay more taxes under the tax
bill, some will pay less. (HF3209%/SFNone/CH587)
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o or, if the market value ismore than $150,000

but less than $300,000, the property would
qualify if it is located in a city or town in
which 50 percent or more of the homes
were built before 1960 based on the 1990
census, and the city or town’s median
income is less than the statewide median
income based on the 1990 census; in other
words, Minneapolis, St. Paul, and other
older cities and towns.
Any house valued at more than $300,000
is not eligible for the program. (HF3209%/
SFNone/CH587, Art. 5, Sec. 4)

Enterprise zones

Businesses in some low-income areas that
employ and train local residents will be eli-
gible for tax breaks, under another provision
in the new tax law.

The measure spends $900,000 in 1997 to
help bring businesses and jobs to neighbor-
hoods in Minneapolis, St. Paul, and other
Minnesota cities with low income areas.

Itestablishes an “enterprise zone” program
in which businesses that hire and train local
people forjobs may receive state tax credits of
up to $5,000 for each employee.

To qualify, a business must be located in a
designated enterprise zone, and must pay the
worker at least $7.22 an hour (which is 170
percent of the federal minimum wage) by the

end of the first year of employment. The -

employee must be a resident of the desig-
nated zone.

According to Rep. Carlos Mariani (DFL-St.
Paul), who sponsored the original proposal
as HF2811, money from the state will help
cities attempt to secure grants from the fed-
eral government. The federal government
gives enterprise zones that qualify federal tax
credits and block grants, he said. (Art. 12,
Sec. 12-19)

The new law also establishes a “rural job
creation credit” that provides a tax credit to
employers creating at least 10 new jobs out-
side the Twin Cities. The employee must earn
at least $7.22 an hour. (Art. 12, Sec. 20)

The legislation gives Minneapolis, St. Paul,
and other qualifying cities permission to set
up the zones, but each city council will need
to approve the program. (HF3209%/SFNone/
CH587)

Property tax refund law

Abill that would make more Minnesotans
eligible for a property tax refund in 1994 was
signed into law March 31 by Gov. Arne
Carlson.

The law specifically deals with the state’s
“targeting” refund program, which is sepa-




rate from the renter’s credit and circuit breaker

tax refund programs.

To qualify for arefund under previous law,

a property owner’s taxes must have gone up
more than 12 percent and increased by at
least $100 over the previous year. But be-
cause so many people will see a property tax
increase this year, the Department of Rev-
enue, using its discretion as allowed under
law, increased that $100 threshold to $300.

Thatincrease would have limited the num-
ber of people eligible for a “targeting” refund
and was designed to make sure the depart-
ment didn’t exceed the state’s $5.5 million
budget cap for such refunds.

The new law, sponsored by Taxes Com-
mittee Chair Rep. Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope)
in the House and Sen. Phil Riveness (DFL-
Bloomington) in the Senate, removes the
$5.5 million cap and restores the $100 limit.

The law appropriates an additional $6.2
million from the state’s general fund in fiscal
year 1995 to pump the refund program up to
$11.7 million. The law is a one-shot deal and
eliminates the cap only for taxes payable in
1994.

Because the refund forms already have
gone out with the $300 threshold printed on
them, the law contains provisions for the
state to inform the public immediately of the
change. HF1858/SF1709*/CH383

Fingerhut bill signed

Gov. Arne Carlson March 22 signed into
law a bill that is intended to help Fingerhut
Companies create another 400 jobs in St.
Cloud.

The law gives Fingerhut special tax breaks
to build a $19.2 million expansion in St.
Cloud. Specifically, it exempts Fingerhutand
St. Cloud from some Minnesota laws regard-
ing government tax breaks.

The new law became effective upon local
approval.

The company had told St. Cloud city offi-
cials it would take its new jobs, paying $8 to
$12 an hour, to Kansas City, Mo, if the city
and state did not meet its requests.

City officials already had agreed to give
Fingerhut $4.8 million in tax breaks if both
the House and Senate approved. The tax
breaks, spread out over up to 25 years, could
eventually cost the city $13 million in prop-
erty taxes.

Under Minnesota law, cities can offer tax
breaks to companies to help create jobs in
their community. Normally the agreement,
called a Tax Increment Financing District,
involves a company expanding and creating
new jobs in exchange for the city forgiving

property taxes for a set number of years.

State law allows the job-creating districts
to last 11 years. In the new law, the Legisla-
ture extended the St. Cloud and Fingerhut
district to up to 25 years.

The law also forgives the penalty normally
assessed against cities that set up these dis-
tricts. Cities lose a portion of their state aid
when they offer a business tax breaks. In St.
Cloud’s case, the city could have lost about
$4.5 million.

The national mail order retailer, headquar-
tered in Minnetonka, employs about 4,000
people year round in St. Cloud and several
thousand others throughout Minnesota. Rep.
Joe Opatz (DFL-St. Cloud) sponsored the
proposal in the House, and Sen. Joe Bertram
(DFL-Paynesville) sponsored the Senate com-
panion. HF2213*/SF2030/CH376

TOURISM

Canadian ‘trophy fish’

Minnesotans who fish in Ontario this sum-
mer can return home with only trophy fish
that they intend to mount — and only one of
each species.

The new law, signed by Gov. Arne Carlson
April 21, is the result of a long-running
border dispute between the Ontario govern-
ment and resort owners along Minnesota’s
northern border. ‘

The law aims to bring Ontario officials to
the bargaining table, where state officials
hope to convince them to ease up on some of
the regulations they’ve placed on Minnesota-
based anglers in recent years.

The latest and most severe Canadian regu-
lation was a 1993 law that encourages people
who fish the Canadian side of Minnesota-
Ontario border lakes to stay in Ontario re-
sorts.

~ The Ontario measure puts stricter limits
on anglers who stay in Minnesota than on
those who stay in Ontario resorts, sometimes
banning Minnesota-based anglers from keep-
ingany walleyes they've caught on the Ontario
side of Lake of the Woods and Rainy Lake.

Minnesota’s new law, which took effect
April 22,1994, is meant to discourage Min-
nesotans from crossing the border. It limits
all Minnesotans who fish in Ontario — re-
gardless of where they lodge — to the most
restrictive Ontario limit placed on Minne-
sota-based anglers.

Although thatlimitshould be zero, lawmak-

“ ers are making an exception. Minnesotans will

beallowed to bring home just one “trophy fish”

of each species, and only if they bring it back
whole and intend to have it mounted. The
Department of Natural Resources will estab-
lish the definition of a trophy fish.

The Minnesotalaw will not apply to border
lakes where the limits are the same for every-
one. Currently, this would mean those lakes
east of Rainy Lake.

The governor said he would waive the fish
limits by July 1, 1994, if the Ontario govern-
ment agrees to create a task force to resolve
the issue by setting equal limits for everyone
fishing in the designated waters.

The proposal was sponsored in the House
by Rep. Jim Tunheim (DFL-Kennedy) and in
the Senate by Sen. LeRoy Stumpf (DFL-Thief
River Falls).

HF1835*/SF1755/CH479

TRANSPORTATION

Transportation funding

Anew state law will give an additional $15
million to the Department of Transportation
to help it build and maintain the state’s
roadways. '

However, a provision in the bill to increase
the state tax on gasoline by 4.4 cents per
gallon and tie further annual increases to the
consumer price index did not survivea House-
Senate conference committee.

The gas tax increase would have taken
place only if Minnesota voters had approved
a proposed constitutional amendment this
November that would alter how the state’s
motor vehicle excise tax is spent.

The House passed the compromise legisla-
tion May 6 by a vote of 129-1 and the Senate
unanimously passed it the same day. Gov.
Arne Carlson signed the bill into law May 10.

The governor also vetoed two appropria-
tions in the bill, writing in his veto message
that “neither . . . require funding in this non-
budget year.” (See Vetoed Bills section.)

Rep. Bernie Lieder (DFL-Crookston) spon-
sored the House bill and Sen. Keith Langseth
(DFL-Glyndon) sponsored the legislation in
the Senate.

HF3230%/SF2097/CH640

Work-zone spéeding

Beginning July 1, 1994, motorists con-
victed of speeding in a highway work zone
could pay up to $200, double the current
maximum fine.

Under the legislation signed into law May
10 by the governor, any speeding fine will be
doubled if the violation takes place in a
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highway work zone. The new law also stipu-
lates that this extra fine must be at least $25.

Currently, Minnesota has a scale of fines
depending on which county the violation
occurs in and how fast a driver is moving
through a work zone. Fines can be as high as
$100 and are considered petty misdemean-
ors.

Current law also allows the Department of
Transportation to set speed limits between
20 and 40 miles per hour on roads when
repair or maintenance crews are present.

Highway work zones are one of the most
hazardous work sites for MnDOT road crews,
according to Rep. Wayne Simoneau (DFL-
Fridley), who sponsored the original work-
zone legislation as HF1458. This bill was
later incorporated into HF3230.

Rep. Bernie Lieder (DFL-Crookston) spon-
sored the House bill and Sen. Keith Langseth
(DFL-Glyndon) sponsored the legislation in
the Senate.

HF3230%/SF2097/CH640

Two hours to Chicago?

The state will help pay for the second phase
of a study to evaluate a high-speed train link
between the Twin Cities and Chicago under
legislation signed into law May 10 by the
gOVernor.

The new law instructs the Department of
Transportation (MnDOT) to continue its
study of a high-speed train route connecting
the Twin Cities, Rochester, La Crosse, Madi-
son, Milwaukee, and Chicago.

At its highest speed, 300 mph, such a train
could travel from the Twin Cites to Chicago
in about 2 hours and 15 minutes, according
to Rep. Don Frerichs (IR-Rochester). These
trains would, therefore, be very competitive
with air travel for trips of up to 500 miles,
Frerichs said.

“High-speed rail is truly the missing link”
in Minnesota’s transportation picture, said
Frerichs.

Frerichs sponsored the original high-speed
train study proposal as HF1052, which was
later incorporated into HF3230.

The law also appropriates $630,000 to
MnDOT to continue the study, but the money
would only be available if Wisconsin contrib-
utes $500,000 and the federal government
matches the Minnesota and Wisconsin mon-
ies.

Rep. Bernie Lieder (DFL-Crookston) spon-
sored HF3230 in the House and Sen. Keith
Langseth (DFL-Glyndon) sponsored the leg-
islation in the Senate.

HF3230%/SF2097/CH640
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NSP must move its electric poles and power lines
from Indian Mounds Park in St. Paul, under the
state supplemental budget bill signed into law by
Gov. Arne Carlson. (HF3215/SF2913*/CH632)

Seniors’ car insurance rates

Beginning Jan. 1, 1995, Minnesota senior
citizens can qualify for lower car insurance
rates in less time — and with less effort —
under legislation signed into law May 2 by
Gov. Arne Carlson.

Since 1985, people 55 and older, by law,
receive a 10 percent break on their car insur-
ance rates if they complete an annual eight-
hour accident prevention course.

Under the new law, seniors who have
already taken the eight-hour course could
renew their eligibility by taking a “refresher”
course that would last no more than four
hours.

In addition, seniors would remain eligible
for the discount if they take either the eight-
hour course or the shorter “refresher” course
just once every three years. (See April 29,
1994, Session Weekly, page 14.)

The bill directs the Department of Public
Safety to establish the criteria for a “refresher”
course and to approve organizations that

wish to conduct the course. The department
currently conducts eight-hour courses, as do
anumber of private organizations such as the
American Association of Retired Persons.
Rep. Don Ostrom (DFL-St. Peter) spon-
sored the legislation in the House and Sen.
Sandy Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) carried the leg-
islation in the Senate.
HF2115/SF2303*/CH547

Free car seats

Fines collected from drivers who don’t
strap their kids into child safety seats will
help buy car seats for people who can’t afford
them, under a new law signed May 10 by
Gov. Arne Carlson.

The change is among the many items in-
cluded in an omnibus transportation bill
making mostly technical changes in state
laws regulating transportation. All of the
changes in the law became effective May 11,
1994.

Drivers who don’t use a car safety seat
when traveling with a child under the age of
4 are subject to a fine of up to $50.

Under the new law, all fine money will be
used to fund a new program at the Depart-
ment of Public Safety to educate the public on
the need to put young children in safety seats.
The program also would give, or loan at no
cost, car safety seats to families who can't
afford to buy them.

Anothersection of the bill requires thatany
traffic signals installed by the Department of
Transportation (MnDOT) after Jan. 1, 1995,
be pre-wired with connections for a system
that changes the signal to green ‘when an
emergency vehicle such as a fire truck ap-
proaches.

The law doesn't require new traffic signals
to be equipped with the sensing devices that
detect oncoming emergency vehicles. But
making them ready to accept the equipment
can save thousands of dollars on each signal
that may later be so equipped, according to
MnDOT officials.

Carlson also line-item vetoed four metro-
politan-area construction projects contained
in the bill that he said would cost the state
more than $1 million. (See Vetoed Bills sec-
tion.) .

Rep. Tom Osthoff (DFL-St. Paul) spon-
sored the House bill and Sen. Keith Langseth
(DFL-Glyndon) carried the Senate legisla-
tion.

(HF3011*/SF2680/CH635)




Metro Mobility funding

Problem-plagued Metro Mobility will re-
ceive $2.5 million more to spend beginning
July 1, 1994, under a provision of the state
supplemental budget bill signed into law
May 10 by Gov. Arne Carlson.
~ The extra cash is part of an overall $8.4
million appropriation to the Regional Transit
Board, which oversees Metro Mobility as well
as the Metropolitan Transit Commission and
other rural and suburban public transit op-
erations. (Art. 6, Section 3)

The money to Metro Mobility will erase a
budget shortfall the agency would have expe-
rienced on July 1, 1994, the end of its 1994
fiscal year. The 1993 Legislature appropri-
ated $13.8 million to Metro Mobility for
fiscal year 1994.

The transit service, which gives rides to
approximately 20,000 people who are dis-
abled around the Twin Citles, effectively
collapsed in early October 1993 when a new
management service began to restructure the
organization.

In less than a week after the restructuring
began, the governor activated the state’s Na-
tional Guard and had guard members drive
Metro Mobility’s vans and buses.

Rep. Loren Solberg (DFL-Bovey) spon-
sored the state supplemental budget bill in
the House and Sen. Gene Merriam (DFL-
Coon Rapids) carried the legislation in the
Senate.

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

Patrolling handicapped parking

Legislation to permit all Minnesota cities to
establish citizen parking patrols to tag ve-
hicles illegally parked in handicapped-only
spaces was signed into law by the governor
April 21.

Lawmakers two years ago granted such
authority to the state’s three largest cities:
Minneapolis, St. Paul, and Duluth. Last year,
the Legislature expanded that authority to
“second class” cities, those with populations
between 20,000 and 100,000.

The new law will soon authorize all incor-
porated cities in Minnesota, regardless of
population, to train volunteers to issue cita-
tions to drivers who illegally park in handi-
capped-only zones. (See March 18, 1994,
Session Weekly, page 13, April 8, 1994, Ses-
sion Weekly, page 15, April 22, 1994, Session
Weekly, page 14.)

The current fine for illegally parking in a
handicapped-only space is between $100
and $200.

Such “parking posses” are needed in both

small and large cities because police don’t
have the time to enforce the law, said Rep.
Tony Kinkel (DFL-Park Rapids), chiefauthor
of the House legislation.

The Senate bill was carried by Sen. Harold
Finn (DFL-Cass Lake). The law is effective
Aug. 1, 1994,

HF2426*/SF2035/CH495

Special license plates

Volunteer ambulance attendants can buy
speciallicense plates under legislation signed
into law April 15 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

The exact design of the plates, which will
cost an extra $10, will be determined by the
Department of Transportation.

Rep. Jim Tunheim (DFL-Kennedy) spon-
sored the House bill and Sen. LeRoy Stumpf
(DFL-Thief River Falls) carried the legislation
in the Senate. The law is effective Aug. 1,
1994.

HF1928*/SF1807/CH443

Rural mail carriers

Rural mail carriers will be able to equip
their vehicles with strobe lights and studded
metal tires under separate bills signed into
law April 20 and 21 by Gov. Arne Carlson.

The House sponsors of both bills said they
carried the legislation in an attempt to make
rural mail carriers safer while on the job.

Many rural mail carriers use their own
vehicles to deliver the mail. The new strobe
light law specifies that a carrier can mount a
revolving, amber-colored strobe light on his
or her car but can operate the lamp only
during daylight while actually delivering mail.

The tire legislation, signed April 21, speci-
fies that a rural mail carrier can use studded
tires only on routes having less than 25
percent of its roads paved. Also, studded tires
will be allowed only between Nov. 1 and
April 15 and can be used only while deliver-
ing mail or driving to the mail route.

Rep. Dennis Ozment (IR-Rosemount)
sponsored the strobe legislation in the House
and Sen. Paula Hanson (DFL-Ham Lake)
carried the Senate bill. The law became effec-
tive April 21, 1994.

HF2254/SF1774*/CHA78

Rep. Andy Steensma (DFL-Luverne) car- -

ried the studded tire legislation in the House
and Sen. Jim Vickerman (DFL-Tracy) spon-
sored the Senate bill. The law is effective Aug.
1, 1994.

HF524*/SF430/CH486

Plum Creek highway

The section of U.S. Highway 14 between
Mankato, Minn., and the South Dakota bor-
der will be named the “Laura Ingalls Wilder
Historic Highway” under a new law signed by
the governor April 7.

The stretch of highway passes through
Walnut Grove, Minn., which is the setting for
Wilder’s novel, On the Banks of Plum Creek.

The proposal was sponsored in the House
by Rep. Ted Winter (DFL-Fulda) and in the
Senate by Sen. Jim Vickerman (DFL-Tracy).

The law is effective Aug. 1, 1994.

HF1976/SF1752*/CH395

Reporting accidents

After Aug. 1, 1994, anyone in a motor
vehicle accident that results in more than
$1,000 in damages must report that accident
to the Department of Public Safety (DPS).

The change, which doubles the current
$500 minimum damage threshold, is out-
lined in legislation signed into law by Gov.
Arne Carlson April 7.

Traffic engineers at the DPS use the infor-
mation to find accident “hot spots” and to
decide whether new traffic signs or lights
might make these sites safer. ’

Even a minor fender bender can easily
exceed the $500 threshold, bill sponsor Rep.
Lyndon Carlson (DFL-Crystal) explained.
Sen. Paula Hanson (DFL-Ham Lake) spon-
sored the Senate companion.

HF2630/SF2415*/CH399

State veterans’ cemetery

VETERANS

Land adjacent to Camp Ripley in central
Minnesota will soon become the site of a
state-run cemetery for Minnesota veterans.

A total of $250,000 was appropriated in
the supplemental budget bill to establish a
special trust account, the interest from which
is to be used by the Department of Veterans
Affairs for upkeep of the proposed cemetery.
(Art. 3, Secs. 3 and 53)

The measure specifies that 36 acres of land
in Morrison County is to be donated by Aug.
1, 1994, for use as a state veterans cemetery.
It also requires that the department receive

approval from the Morrison County Board of

Commissioners before accepting the land.
(Art. 3, Sec. 53)

The Minnesota State Veterans' Cemetery
Association has donated the land to supple-
ment the existirig U.S. military cemetery at
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Fort Snelling near the Twin Cities airport.

Laverne Hanson of Hillman, president of
the association, earlier told legislators that
the land can accommodate 28,000 individual
plots.

The law specifies that anyone who is eli-
gible for burial in a national veterans cem-
etery would also be eligible for burial in the
state cemetery. Italso calls on the department
to establish burial fees and other regulations.

“If practicable, the commissioner shall re-
quire that upright granite markers be used to
mark all gravesites,” states the law.

In addition, the measure creates a perma-
nent advisory council that would help raise
private funds to pay for the cemetery’s up-
keep.

The bill was originally sponsored in the
House by Rep. Steve Wenzel (DFL-Little
Falls) as HF2029. It was later incorporated
into the supplemental budget bill.

Wenzel pointed out that Minnesota is one
of 12 states without a state veterans cemetery.
He said that people in rural Minnesota would
benefit from easy access to the cemetery’s
outstate location..

HF3215/SF2913*/CH632

Foreign soldiers recognized

Effective Aug. 1, 1994, foreign combatants
who served alongside their American allies in
foreign wars will be eligible for special license
plates under a new law signed by the gover-
nor April 7.

For the first time, allied soldiers from coun-
tries other than the United States will be
eligible to receive special veteran plates for
motor vehicles registered in Minnesota.

Under current law, only veterans of Ameri-
can armed forces are eligible for these special
plates, which include designations as veter-
ans of the two world wars and the wars in the
Persian Gulf, Korea, and Vietnam.

Inaddition, anew license plate commemo-
rating those who served in Laos during the
Vietnam war, reading “LAOS WAR VET,”
will be created. The plates will cost an extra
$10 for those who purchase them.

The new law was sponsored by Rep. Steve
Trimble (DFL-St. Paul) in the House and Sen.
Sandy Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) in the Senate.

HF2105/SF1968*/CH396
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The legal age to play bingo is now 18 under a new omnibus gambling law signed by the governor.
Previously, there had been no minimum age to play bingo. (HF321/SF103/CH633)

Veterans highway

The Minnesota portion of U.S. highway
212 will be called the “Minnesota Veterans
Memorial Highway” under legislation the
governor signed into law April 18.

The new name for the highway, which
runs east-west between the South Dakota
border near Dawson and the southwest met-
ropolitan area, is effective Aug. 1, 1994.

Rep. Carol Molnau (IR-Chaska) sponsored
the legislation in the House and Sen. Terry
Johnston (IR-Prior Lake) carried the Senate
bill.

HF1844*/SF1679/CH457
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Vetoed Bills 1994

Chapter Bill title Veto date Comments

Full vetoes (17)

381 Union representatives given time off by public employers 3/28  Similar language was inserted in HF2228 following the governor's veto and then was incorporated into HF2189.

481 Civil commitment— procedures modified 4/N

492 Whistleblower low expanded 4/22

540 Health care administrative costs studied by legislative auditor 5/2

543 - Seniors allowed small pets in mobile homes 5/2

544 Environmental assistance office established 4/29  HF2920—House attempted to override the veto on 5/2,/94 but failed on a 89-45 vote

555 Cook County lukeshore property required fo be re-offered for sale 5/5

569 Minneapolis Teachers Refirement Fund allowed service credit 5/5

593 Business consolidated licensing established 5/9

594 Metropolifan Council—new housing rules 5/9

597 Health care aceess reserve account created 5/9

599 Manufactured home sales fees dlarified 5/9

601 Sprinkler systems required in offices, apartment buildings 5/9

606 Omnibus health and human senvices appropriations bill 5/9

608 Minors provided simulated elections 5/9

609 Appointments given for some county offices 5/6

621 Minimum wage increased 5/10

Line-item vetoes (8)

532 Omnibus higher education appropriations bill 5/5 Line-item vetoes indude: Pg. 3, line 10, lines 13-18, lines 29-31; lines 32-39; lines 40-45, lines 46-51; Pg. 4, lines

' 9-16, line 19; Pg. 5, lines 1-12.

576 Omnibus juvenile crime bill 5/5 Line-tem vetoes include: Pg. 63, lines 6-21, lines 22-29, lines 30-61; Pg. 65, lines 38-50. The House tried to override
parts of the veto on 5,/6,/94 but failed with o 87-45 and 85-47 vofe.

625 MinnesotaCare 5/10  Lineitem vetoes include: Pg. 245, lings 5260, line 61; Pg. 246, lines 1-7

632 Omnibus appropriations bill 5/10  Line-tem vefoes include: Pg. 6, lines 33-41; Pg. 8, lines 1-36, lines 58-59; Pg. 10, lines 1-7, lines 47-54, lings 55-
56; Pg. 11, lines 8-11, lines 17-22, lines 23-31 lines 39-49; Pg. 12, lines 51-54; Pg. 13, lines 1-3, lines 4-9, lines
10-13; Pg. 24, lines 9-12; Pg. 44, lines 16-36; Py. 45, lines 1-16; Pg. 51, lines 34-36, lines 37-41; Pg. 52, lines
23-29, lines 30-40; Pg. 55, lines 8-12, lines 13-15; Pg. 100, lines 25-27; Pg. 101, lines 37-41, lines 55-57; Pg.
102, lines 19, lines 36-55; Pg. 103, lines 33-37, lines 38-42, lines 43-48, lines 49-57; Pg. 104, lines 1-5, lines
18-24, ;

635 Municipal state-uid sireet mileage limitation changed 5/10  Lline-tem vetoes include: Pg. 20, lines 19-24; Pg. 21, lings 3-7, lines 8-14, lines 15-20

636 Omnibus crime bil 5/10  Linedtem vetoes indude: Pg. 5, lines 31-33, lines 47-48; Pg. 8, lines 16-24, lines 25-35; Pg. 9, lines 38-41; Pg. 10,
lines 4-19, lines 20-29, lines 30-34, lines 35-40, lines 41-48, lines 49-54; Pg. 11, lines 37-48, lines 5253, lines
54-56, lines 57-58; Pg. 12, lines 30-37; Pg. 13, lines 22-38.

640 Vehide and fuel excise fax revenue dedicated o public transit 5/10  Ulineitem vetoes include: Pg. 7, lines 18-28, lines 34-36; Pg. 8, lines 1-2.

642 Farm disaster relief 5/10  Linedtem vetoes include: Pg. 16, lines 24-36; Pg. 17, lines 1-25, fines 32-36; Pg. 18, lines 1-10, lines 24-29, lines

35-36; Pg. 19, lines 1-7, lines 25-36; Py. 20, lines 1-7, lines 20-25; Pg. 22, lines 19-23.
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Arne Carlson . . .

Governor continues veto pace, 25 and holding

Omnibus appropriations bill

While signing into law much of a supple-
mental state budget bill, Gov. Arne Carlson
line-item vetoed about $5 million worth of
projects, leaving total spending atabout $30.7
million. <

The bill incorporates three legislative
supplemental budget measures in the areas
of environment and natural resources, state
government finance, and economic develop-
ment, infrastructure, and transportation.

The House and Senate passed a $35.7
million compromise supplemental budget
bill May 5. The House voted 117 to 16 and
the Senate voted 49 to 14.

The governor signed the bill May 10.

The following is a listing of the line-item
vetoes by general section of the 168-page bill
(HF3215/SF2913*/CH632).

Environment and natural resources

A total of $3 million slotted for environ-
ment and natural resource projects was line-
item vetoed from the bill.

The biggest environmental funding casu-
alty was $1.5 million the state would have
given local governments to make up for the
property tax money they can'’t collect from
land owned by the Department of Natural
Resources.

Other environmental projects Carlson ve-
toed include:

° $270,000 for the operation of state parks.
The veto, some say, will resultinareduced
level of services at parks;

* $200,000 for a study of the costs of gener-
ating electricity in the state;

* $130,000 to find ways to protect the quality
of the state’s groundwater;

» $90,000 for field resource ecologists needed
for a county biological survey;

» $87,000 for increased activity in forest and
prairie ecology studies;

° $75,000 for a grant to be used to plan and
begin restoration of oak forest areas in St.
Paul’'s Mounds and Battle Creek parks;

* $50,000 for a farm safety program to edu-
cate farmersregarding equipmentand other
farm activity safety practices;

° $50,000 for a grant to the Southwest Re-
gional Development Commission to pay
for the planning of the Lewis and Clark
Water system in southwest Minnesota;

° $75,000 for completion of the fishing pier
on the Mississippi River in South St. Paul;

o A $150,000 transfer from the DNR to the
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State agency heads and commissioners pored over stacks of bills in Gov. Arne Carlson’s reception room,
which he turned into the “Veto Command Center,” May 5. The governor has either completely vetoed
or line-item vetoed 25 bills so far this session. He has only four bills left to consider.

Environmental Quality Board for activities

related to sustainable development;

° $250,000 for a grant to the Northern Coun-
ties Land Use Planning Board to help some
northern counties undergo a joint devel-
opment effort;

» $70,000 to the Office of Waste Manage-
ment to conduct its annual solid waste
composition study; and

* $50,000 to the Environmental Quality Board
for groundwater protection coordination
activities.

The governor also vetoed a provision that
would have doubled the limit on what the
state is allowed to pay ethanol producers.
Currently, the state pays ethanol producers
20 cents a gallon to help stimulate and en-
courage ethanol production; the program
can spend up to $10 million a year from the
general fund. The vetoed provision would
have allowed the state to pay out $20 million
a year. Although the program cost only $4.5
million last year, two new ethanol plants are
being built, and the state Department of
Agriculture is expecting several more in the
next few years.

State government

A study for a possible police officer stress
program, a voter information hot line and
special money for expert witnesses were all
line-item vetoed from the state government
section of the supplemental budget bill.

The programs were to be part of the money
spent on the departments of finance, admin-
istration, employee relations and afew smaller

state agencies. Carlson used his line-item

veto authority to make $471,000 in cuts,

leaving the departments with $17.7 million

in additional funding for fiscal years 1994

and 1995.

The House-Senate compromise bill autho-
rized $18.2 million for the select state agen-
cies before the governor’s cuts. The line-item
vetoes include:

e $20,000 to set up a public employees
insurance task force to study whether pub-
licemployees could formahealth coopera-
tive to purchase hospital, dental, and medi-
cal insurance;

* $50,000 to study the feasibility of setting up
a Minnesota police officers stress program.
A program would have provided treat-
ment forpolice officers suffering from post-
traumatic stress syndrome. It also would
have referred officers to professionals who
could help them with stress-related prob-
lems.

» $150,000 to the state Environmental Qual-
ity Board to find a way to include the
University of Minnesota heating system in
a thermal network with other area heating
systems. The university is considering
building its own heating facility. The bill
wanted to study whether the university
could save money and provide the same
quality heat by hooking up with an exist-
ing facility,

* $10,000 to the Environmental Quality Board
to study the issue of environmental justice.
Environmental justice means ensuring mi-
nority groups and their neighborhoods




aren’t unfairly discriminated against in the
placement of potential environmental haz-
ards, such as landfills and power plants.
The study would have looked into ways
the EQB can address the problem in the
future;

 $80,000 to the Office of the Secretary of
State fora voter information telephone line
to give Minnesotans information on voter
registration. The toll-free telephone line
would have allowed Minnesotans from
outside the metropolitan area to call free
for voter registration numbers; and

° $161,000 to the Office of the Attorney
General to train state employees who re-
view software and other “intellectual prop-
erty” developed by state agencies to make
sure it doesn’t violate copyright laws and is
“properlylicensed. It also would have helped
the agencies properly license and copy-
right their intellectual software.

Community development funds
More than $2.3 million will be spent on

community development projects as out-

lined in a new state supplemental budget bill.

The bill sent to the governor had called for
$2.8 million in projects, but the governor
line-item vetoed nearly $500,000 worth, la-
beling them as non-emergencies.

Carlson wrote in his veto message that he
did so “because of the need for a balanced
budget.” -

Community development projects vetoed
include:

* two grants totaling $215,000 to the Depart-
ment of Economic Security (formerly the
Department of Jobs and Training). The
first, for $165,000, would have gone to the
department’s displaced homemaker pro-
gram, which works with private organiza-
tions to assist displaced homemakers with
counseling, job training, and help in con-
necting with social service agencies. The
second, for $50,000, would have gone to
a department program that helps some
businesses pay for their employees’ mental
health services;

» $130,000 for various Minnesota Historical
Society projects, including $60,000 for the
development of the St. Anthony Falls area
in Minneapolis, and $35,000 to acquire
and restore an American Indian chert (flint)
quarry in Mower County near Austin;

» $115,000 to the city of Minneapolis to
improve the Hennepin Center for the Arts;

° $25,000 for a study to assess the status of
women-owned businesses in the state, in-
cluding their financial health and their
ability to get business loans; and

* $8,000 to the Department of Commerce to

study the state’s pawnbroker industry.

Sen. Gene Merriam (DFL-Coon Rapids)
sponsored the bill in the Senate. Rep. Loren
Solberg (DFL-Bovey) sponsored it in the
House.

HF3215/S8F2913*/CH632

Flood relief

Gov. Arne Carlson May 10 signed into law

aflood reliefbill designed to help Minnesota’s
farmers recover from last spring’s tfloods but
not before cutting its funding provisions in
half.

The measure now will provide only $9
million in aid — down from $18 million —
as a result of the governor’s several line-item
vetoes. :

The largest of those was a $5 million inter-
est buy-down program that would have
helped secure loans for farmers and small
businesses hit hardest by the floods. Under
the program, the state would have paid a
portion of the interest on a loan for a qualify-
ing farmer or small business.

The governor noted that many farmers and
small businesses already have secured oper-
ating loans. He also noted that the federal
government already has picked up much of
the tab for damages caused by last spring’s
floods. -

He also vetoed another $2 million that
would have gone to the Department of Eco-
nomic Security (formerly the Department of
Jobs and Training) for emergency job train-
ing and creation programs, as well as a few
other smaller appropriations.

Rep. Steve Wenzel (DFL-Little Falls) spon-
sored the flood relief legislation in the House
and Sen. Joe Bertram (DFL-Paynesville) did
so in the Senate. (See related story in the
Agriculture section.)

HF2249/SF2168%*/CH642

Omnibus crime bill

The governor signed a $34 million crime
prevention bill May 10, but exercised his
line-item veto authority to strip $2.7 million
in funds allocated for 17 different programs.

“This bill is $6 million over our crime
spending targets for fiscal year 1995. .. .The
Legislature saw fit . . . to get into an irrespon-
sible bidding war on the crime issue, forcing
me to exercise the item veto to trim spend-
ing,” Carlson wrote in his veto message.

While noting the bill “does contain worth-
while provisions,” Carlson said he was disap-
pointed with the work of the Legislature.

“Five months after laying out this

administration’s crime proposal I have re-

ceived a bill which is too expensive and is soft

on repeat offenders.”
Here’s a rundown on the vetoed provi-
sions:

¢ $1 million for a “productive day program”
in Hennepin, Ramsey and St Louis coun-
ties designed to motivate inmates in local
jails to develop life and work skills. The
goalis to provide training and education to
create opportunities for inmates upon their
release;

» $400,000 for two “work and learn” centers
designed to help 14- to 19-year-olds with-
out a high school diploma. To be eligible,
the juveniles must be delinquent, or re-
ferred froma county social servicesagency.
One site was to be in a school setting, the
other at a wilderness site;

e $200,000 in grants to local law enforce-
ment agencies to develop three truancy
service centers;

e $200,000 for the creation of a withess and
victim protection fund;

» $170,000 to reimburse local law enforce-
ment agencies for costs incurred conduct-
ing background checks;

» $100,000 for the remote electronic alcohol
monitoring pilot program.

¢ $100,000 in mini-grants for programs that
work with juvenile female offenders;

° $100,000 in start-up money for the crime
information reward fund;

» $100,000 for intervention projects to work
with students at risk of failing in school
because of chronic neglect at home;

° $56,000 for a grant to the Region Nine
Development Commission for grants to
community-based intervention and pre-
vention projects;

» $50,000 for the activities of a statewide
youth safety initiative coordinated by the
Minnesota student safety program,

* $50,000 for community-based truancy ac-
tion projects;

* $50,000 for male responsibility and father-
ing program grants;

¢ $50,000 for the Bureau of Criminal Appre-
hension to establish and maintain a dis-
tinctive physical mark, or tattoo computer
library identification system;

* $40,000 for the gang resistance education
training pilot program,

* $25,000 for a grant to the Nett Lake com-
munity crime and drug prevention pro-
gram,; and v

¢ $10,000 for a violence prevention study
conducted by the chemical abuse and vio-
lence prevention council.
HF2351*/SFnone/CH636
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Juvenile crime bill

The House failed two attempts May 6 to
keepalive portions of the 1994 juvenile crime
bill that were line-item vetoed by Gov. Arne
Carlson the previous day.

Before signing the $13.9 million measure
into law May 5, Carlson used his line-item
veto powers to eliminate nearly $4 million
from the bill.

The governor cut three major appropria-
tions that lawmakers say would have helped
the juvenile justice system handle the in-
crease workload resulting from new provi-
sions in the bill: $372,000 for four additional
judgeships, $1 million to hire more proba-
tion officers, and $2.6 million set aside for
more public defenders.

Although Carlson said the bill was good
policy, he said the state also has to live within
its means.

The legislation represents “one of the most
significant achievements of the 1994 session
and should go far in addressing our troubling
juvenile crime rates,” said Carlson in his veto
message. But “due to the Legislature’s lack of
financial planning and the need for a healthy
and balanced budget, I was forced to item
veto three provisions of spending in this
measure.”

Rep. Wes Skoglund (DFL-Mpls), who spon-
sored the juvenile crime bill in the House,
attempted first to reinstate the $1 million
appropriation that would have paid for more
probation officers in the juvenile justice sys-
tem.

“It’s absolutely essential, for those kids we
can turn around, that we [hire more] proba-
tion officers,” Skoglund said.

The motion to override failed by a vote of
87-45. To override a gubernatorial veto takes
two-thirds vote in both bodies: 90 in the
House; 45 in the Senate.

After the first failed override attempt, Sko-
glund said he wanted to try “one more time,”
and proposed the House reinstate appropria-
tions for added public defense spending.

The second motion failed 85-47.

HF2074%/1845/CH576

Election practice

A bill that would have allowed minors to
~ casta mock ballot in the upcoming Novemn-
~ ber election in selected cities and counties
wa ‘Vetoed by Gov. Arne Carlson May 9.
easure was deagned toeducate chil-
e election process and increase
turnout, according to Rep Mike
~ , -Duluth); House sponsor of the
bl The idea was that chil dren would bring
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their parents and other adults to polling
places, Jaros said.

Minors would have cast ballots in a simu-
lated election when their parents and other
adults went to the polls to cast real ballots on
election day. Jaros said similar projects are
now under way in 20 other states; Arizona’s
program has been operating since 1988. (See
March 31, 1994, Session Weekly, page 6.)

In his veto message, Carlson said the goal
of teaching students about elections is “laud-
able.” However, he objected to granting the
Secretary of State “sole authority to develop
this program without . . . guidelines, or any
guarantee of political neutrality.”

Carlson charged that the simulated elec-
tions could become a “partisan tool rather
than an educational aide.” He also said that
the lack of “clearly-defined guidelines” for
the program could cause “considerable chaos
at polling places which, in many cases, are
already confused and overcrowded.”

Secretary of State Joan Growe said she
could see “no reason that this bill should have
been vetoed.”

She said the program would have encour-
aged young people to participate in citizen-
ship. “This is a particularly good program
because students participate with their par-
ents.”

Sen. Sam Solon (DFL-Duluth) sponsored
the bill in the Senate _

HF3004/SF2011*/CH608

Whistle-blower bill

Rep. Mike Delmont (DFL-Lexington)
doesn’t mind a bit that Gov. Arne Carlson
April 22 vetoed his bill aimed at clarifying the
current whistle-blower law. He said the veto
message was actually more helpful than the
law change.

The whistle-blower law is designed to pro-
tect employees who refuse to violate state law
from being harassed by their employers.

Delmont said he sponsored the bill to
make sure certain employees are indeed cov-
ered by Minnesota’s whistle-blower law. An
attorney for a public agency had asserted that
the whistle-blower law did not apply to “at
will employees,” defined as those who serve
at the pleasure of their appointing authority.
Some state government employees fit into
this category.

In his message to House and Senate lead-
ers, Carlson said he vetoed the bill because at
will employees are already covered under

_existing law.

_ Delmont explained that means that both
past and future at will employees are covered
by the state’s whistle-blower law. Had his bill

been signed by the governor, it would have
clarified the question for future at will em-
ployees only.

“The measure is unnecessary,” Carlson
wrote. “The Department of Employee Rela-
tions already interprets the whistle-blower
statutes in this fashion. Minnesota case law
already extends these protections to at will
employees.”

HF2007*/SF2285/CH492

Minimum wage

People flipping burgers and others who
work for minimum wage won't see a state-
mandated pay raise in the near future.

Gov. Arne Carlson May 10 vetoed a bill
that would have required a 40-cent per hour
increase in the minimum wage beginning
Jan. 1, 1995, for large businesses. And begin-
ning Jan. 1, 1996, those wages would have
risen by another 35 cents to $5 an hour. The
current minimum wage is $4.25 an hour.

For small businesses, the bill would have
increased wages to $4.40 in 1995 and $4.75
in 1996.

In his veto message, Carlson said a higher
minimum wage would have meant fewer
minimum-wage jobs in the state.

“We believe it would cause the loss of
approximately 5,500 to 6,000 jobs in the
state,” wrote the governor. “If we were to sign
that bill, that would place us in the third-
highest position in the United States and
would again reduce our capacity to effec-
tively compete in the area of jobs and job
growth.”

If the bill had become law, Minnesota’s
minimum wage would have been higher than
the federal rate of $4.25 per hour. Currently,
eight states and the District of Columbia pay
more. lowa pays its workers at least $4.65 an
hour.

The House approved the bill by a 74-58
vote; the Senate, 37 - 29.

The vetoed bill also called for $117,000 to
be appropriated from the general fund to the
Department of Human Services to pay for
increased Medical Assistance (MA) grants for
nursing home, home health workers, and
others who work in the human services field.
The fund’s money would have hiked MA
reimbursement rates to bring wages up to the
proposed new minimum wage levels.

The bill was sponsored by Rep. Tom
Rukavina (DFL-Virginia) and Sen. Randy
Kelly (DFL-5t. Paul).

HF2243/SF1944*/CH621




Status quo on environment

Despite an attempted override vote, a gov-
ernor veto of a new state agency to help
Minnesota businesses and local governments
comply with environmental laws stands.

The House effort May 2 to reverse Gov.
Arne Carlson’s veto failed on a vote of 89 to
45, To override a gubernatorial veto, a mea-
sure must be approved by a two-thirds ma-
jority in each body; 90 votes in the House and
45 in the Senate.

The bill (HF2920), sponsored in the House
by Rep. Dee Long (DFL-Mpls), would have
re-established the Office of Waste Manage-
ment (OWM) as the Office of Environmental
Assistance (OEA). The new office would have
provided information about pollution pre-
vention and resource conservation, as well as
technical and financial assistance to busi-
nesses and local governments about waste
management programs.

In creating the OFA as a separate advisory
agency, the bill would have left the Minne-
sota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) in
charge of environmental regulation and en-
forcement of laws.

Carlson said he vetoed the bill because it
separated an agency — the MPCA— that had
been streamlined to eliminate duplication of
services.

In addition, Carlson said the bill would
have prohibited the executive branch from
using its reorganization powers on the newly
created agency.

“This clearly is an infringement on execu-
tive branch powers by the legislative branch
of government and is not acceptable,” said
Carlson.

The original bill passed the House 100 to
32 and the Senate 58 to 7. The Senate did no
attempt to override the veto. ‘

(HF2920%/SF2523/CH544)

Lake Caribou lot sale

ADill calling on the Department of Natural
Resources (DNR) tovoid the sale of alakeshore
lot in Cook County was vetoed by Gov. Arne
Carlson May 5.

The Caribou Lake lot was offered for sale
on Aug. 16, 1993, and sold at auction to a
Minnesota couple who had built a cabin on
the lot they had been leasing from the DNR.

Under a 1986 law, the DNR is allowed to
sell any of its 1,800 leased lakeshore lots, if
the person leasing a lot requests that a sale be
conducted. Because the lots are part of state
school trust fund lands, the Minnesota Con-
stitution requires that these sales be adver-
tised and open to bidders.

In the Caribou Lake lot sale, another bid-
der entered the auction and substantially bid
up the price. The Minnesota couple finally
won the bidding war, but ended up paying
$40,000 over the appraised value of the land.

The couple complained that their com-
petitor in the land auction was from Texas,
and, therefore, an illegitimate participant in
the process, and brought their case to the
Legislature. The bill would have voided their
purchase and required the DNR to “re-offer
the property at public sale under the same
procedures that applied to the original sale.”

The veto message from the governor said
that it would be a violation of the DNR’s
“fiduciary responsibility to the school trust to
cancel the valid sale and relinquish its claim
against the high bidders.”

Carlson said the bill would “establish a
dangerous precedent” affecting future state
sales of mineral, timber, and land. He quoted
a provision in the state constitution that
prohibits granting “to any private corpora-
tion, association, or individual any special or
exclusive privilege, immunity or franchise.”

The vetoed bill was sponsored by Rep.
David Battaglia (DFL-Two Harbors) and Sen.
Doug Johnson (DFL-Cook).

HF2925*%/SF2608/CH555

One-stop shopping

A bill to help provide one-stop shopping
for prospective business owners will not be-
come law this year.

Although the measure to consolidate the
business licensing process passed the House
by a vote of 121-12 and was unanimously
approved in the Senate, Gov. Arne Carlson
vetoed the bill May 9, saying it was too soon
to put the proposal into law.

The bill would have required the state’s
Bureau of Business Licenses — an arm of the
Department of Trade and Economic Devel-
opment (DTED)—to processall applications
and accept fees for the different types of
business licenses.

Currently, the bureau only provides pro-
spective business owners with information
about licenses and how to secure them.

Although the bill, sponsored in the House
by Rep. Geri Evans (DFL-New Brighton), did
not allocate any money toward the licensing
system, it called on DTED to study the feasi-
bility of an interlinking computer system to
coordinate all the different agencies that grant
various types of business licenses.

In his veto message, the governor said a
1993 executive order required DTED to con-
duct a feasibility study of improvements in
business licensing.

“The study is due in January 1995 and 1
believe it would be premature to sign legisla-
tion in this area without the benefit of those
recommendations,” Carlson said.

Carlson also noted that the bill would cost
a “significant” amount of money to imple-
ment in future years, and was best dealt with
during a regular budget year.

Sen. Ember Reichgott Junge (DFL-New
Hope) sponsored the Senate companion to
the bill.

HF1918%/SF2496/CH593

County auditors, treasurers

Gov. Arne Carlson May 6 vetoed a law that
would have allowed county boards to ap-
point county auditors, treasurers, coroners,
and recorders.

Currently, employees can be appointed to
those positions, but only if voters approve the
move in a referendum.

The bill would have allowed the county
board to appoint someone to one of those
positions without a referendum vote, but
only if the vacancy came up before March 1
in the year before an election for the office
would be held.

And the county board would have had to
publish three times its intention to appoint
someone to the position in the local newspa-
per.

In his veto message, Carlson said the bill
would have “transferred authority from the
voters to elected county board members.”

The Senate approved the bill April 14 by a
35-to-31 vote. The House approved it May 4,
69 to 65. Rep. Mary Jo McGuire (DFL-Falcon
Heights, sponsored the bill in the House.
Sen. Sandra Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) spon-
sored the bill in the Senate.

HF2645/SF2232*/CH609

Health and human services

Gov. Arne Carlson May 9 vetoed a $22
million health and human services supple-
mental appropriations bill that would have
reinstated state aid to hospitals that was cut
last year.

The 1993 Legislature directed that nearly
$14 million in state Medical Assistance and
General Assistance Medical Care fundsbe cut
as of July 1994. That meant hospitals would
receive less state help for caring for poor
patients. The vetoed bill would have rein-
stated 80 percent of that cut, or about $11
million.

The bill, which won overwhelming sup-
port in both the House and Senate, also
included $8 million for subsidized day care




and $400,000 to pay for lead clean-up pro-
grams.

In his veto message, Catlson said the bill
would cost too much money and could result
in a tax increase.

“This bill does contain a number of good
proposals, some of which were proposed by
myself and others. . . . Unfortunately, the bill
also contains an unacceptable level of over-
spending,” Carlson wrote.

The House passed the bill 105 to 28; the
Senate passed it 50 to 14. The bill was spon-
sored by Rep. Lee Greenfield (DFL-Mpls) in
the House.

HE3210*/SFNone/CH606

MinnesotaCare reserve account

Gov. Arne Carlson May 9 vetoed a $75
million reserve account for MinnesotaCare,
the state health care plan for uninsured Min-
nesotans.

The bill would have taken the money from
the state’s general fund this year, so more
people could become insured while lawmak-
ers devise a better payment plan. Specifically,
the money would have been used to enroll
adults without children in the insurance plan.

It would have used the $75 million to
continue the work toward the goal of univer-
sal access to health care by July 1, 1997. The
bill, sponsored by Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-
Virginia), was intended as a stopgap measure
until the 1995 Legislature could adopt a new,
permanent way to pay for the MinnesotaCare
program. Sen. Doug Johnson (DFL-Cook)
sponsored the bill in the Senate. (See April
22,1994, Session Weekly, pages 8-9.)

“While thisis alaudable goal, we simply do
not have the money available to create such a
fund, nor do we have a revenue source iden-
tified to maintain this fund,” wrote Carlson in
his veto message.

A2 percent tax on the gross revenues from
all the state’s health care providers, hospitals,
pharmacies, and wholesale drug distributors
now pays for MinnesotaCare. The tax is con-
troversial and not well liked in health care
circles. Some lawmakers also acknowledge
the tax is difficult to collect from the state’s
numerous health care providers and clinics.

The bill would have given the departments
ofhealth and human services an extra year to
develop a plan to make sure MinnesotaCare
expenses do not exceed revenues from the 2
percent health care providers tax. The de-
partments would have had until February
1995, and the balanced budget plan would
have included ways to adjust or limit who
receives health care benefits and what kind of
benefits are offered under MinnesotaCare.
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The bill also would have allowed the health
care program to go ahead with enrolling
single adults and those without children even
if expenses exceed revenues through fiscal
year 1997. The added provision would have
allowed the departments of health and hu-
man services more time to develop a
MinnesotaCare balanced budget plan.

HF2951%/SF2494/CH597

MinnesotaCare access fund transfer

Gov. Arne Carlson signed into law a bill
promising universal health coverage for all
uninsured Minnesotans by July 1, 1997, with
the exception of two appropriations.

The first provision vetoed would have trans-
ferred $15 million from the health care access
fund to the general fund. '

The transfer is done to supplement fund-
ing for the Medical Assistance (MA) and
General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC)
programs. When Minnesotans apply for
MinnesotaCare, it is often discovered that
they qualify for MA or GAMC.

The MinnesotaCare law also calls for a
reassessment of funding for the
MinnesotaCare program, leading Carlson to
write: “I feel it is prudent to hold off on
changes to the previously mentioned funds
until the entire package of expenditures and
funds is reassessed during the 1995 legisla-
tive session.”

In his second MinnesotaCare veto, Carlson
wrote that a $200,000 appropriation to the
Office of the Attorney General was “unneces-
sary.”

The funds were to be used by the attorney

general to work with the Department of Health
to increase Minnesota’s Medicare reimburse-
ment rate.

Carlson wrote that the commissioners of
the departments of health and human ser-
vices already are working toward the same
goal, and they “do not feel the assistance of
the attorney general is needed.” (See related
story in the Health section.)

HF2525/SF2192*%/CH625

Government health care

Gov. Ame Carlson May 2 vetoed a bill that
would have spent $65,000 to study whether
the state could save money with a single-
payer health care system.

Under asingle-payer system, the state gov-
ernment takes over the payment of all health
care services or authorizes one outside insur-
ance company, acting somewhat like a public
utility, to handle all the claims.

Currently, many different private insur-
ance companies and health care groups pay
claims filed by patients, clinics, doctors, and
others.

The bill would have asked the Office of the
Legislative Auditor to study whether the state
could save money with a single-payer system
and how access and the quality of health care
would be affected. Administrative costs would
have been analyzed, including revenues re-
ceived versus claims paid, and billing costs
for Minnesota health care providers.

Carlson, dubbing the legislation unneces-
sary, said: “The Minnesota Health Care Com-
mission is currently working on a study on
financing universal access to health care, and

Spouses who each hold more than $1.2 million in assets will be able to create a postnuptiai
contract defining property matters, under a new law signed by the governor May 2. (HF1788*/
SF1997/CH545)




the United States General Accounting Office
has already completed a study on this sub-
ject.”

However, a provision in SF2192, the 1994
MinnesotaCare law, provides $65,000 to fund
the same study.

The bill was sponsored in the House by
Rep. Tom Rukavina (DFL-Virginia) and in
the Senate by Sen. Linda Berglin (DFL-Mpls).
(See April 29, 1994, Session Weekly, pages
10-11).

HF2048/SF1867*/CH540

Medication bill

Gov. Arne Carlson vetoed a bill April 21
that would have allowed the guardians of
people who are mentally ill to give doctors
permission to use certain kinds of medica-
tion when treating them.

In rejecting the bill, which was unani-
mously approved in both the House and
Senate, Carlson said he had been prepared to
support the measure — until a certain provi-
sion was attached to the bill on the House
floor. It requires a court hearing before a
guardian could give permission.

Carlson said the court hearings would
“create enormous legal costs for the state and
for counties,” as well as for guardians. He said
there are at least 11,000 people on Medical
Assistance living in nursing homes or inter-
mediate care facilities forwhom “neuroleptic”
medication is typically prescribed. ,

The term “neuroleptic” describes several
powerful tranquilizers commonly used to
treat psychosis. They also are called
“antipsychotic” medications.

“The intent of the bill was to grant the
guardians and conservators the authority to
consent to the administration of neuroleptic
medications to mentally ill persons,” wrote
the governor. “The last-minute amendment
imposes the requirement of a court hearing
for this consent to be valid.”

Carlson said if lawmakers had removed the
last-minute language requiring the court hear-
ing, which was offered by House bill sponsor
Rep. Andy Dawkins (DFL-St. Paul), he would
“certainly sign the bill into law.”

HF2088/SF1694*/CH481

Higher education

Gov. Are Carlson May 5 line-item vetoed
_ every appropriation in the higher education
supplemental budget bill that contributed to
the call for an additional $11.3 million in
- spending for the state’s public colleges and
universities during the remainder of fiscal
1994 and in fiscal year 1995,

The House passed the bill 112-22 and the
Senate passed it 65-0.

In hisvetomessage, Carlson said thiswasn’t
the year for granting state aid to higher edu-
cation institutions. In fact, he had requested
$10 million in cuts, House Minority Leader
Steve Sviggum (IR-Kenyon) told fellow law-
makers during House debate on the bill,

“Itis the year for choosing whether we can
preserve the fiscal stability of the state,” Carl-
son wrote in his message.

The governor’s veto eliminates the follow-
ing appropriations:

"¢ $9. 1 million to the University of Minnesota.
Part of that money would have been used
to begin a program to allow students to
register for classes by phone. The money
— which the university requested as part
of its “U2000” plan — would have been
used to improve libraries and laboratory
equipment, and to better maintain class-
rooms;

° $3 million to the Department of Finance to
develop an accounting system for the 1995
merged highereducation system. The state’s
community college, technical college, and
state university systems are to be merged
under the newly created Higher Education
Board in July 1995. Carlson did approve
language in the bill allowing the merger to
go forward;

* $758,000 to Metropolitan State University
to strengthen academic course offerings
and to develop a more comprehensive
four-year program at the school, which is
located on several small Twin Cities’ carm-
puses;

o $242,000 to better prepare teachers to
work in inner-city schools; and

* $800,000 for added campus security at
state universities. (See related story in the
Higher Education section.)
HF3178/SF2900%*/CH532

Affordable housing in ‘burbs’

Gov. Arne Carlson vetoed a bill May 9 that
would have urged cities and towns in the
seven-county metropolitan area to make room
for low-income housing.

In his veto message, Carlson said the bill
was largely similar to abill he vetoed last year.

" Both bills were sponsored by Rep. Myron

Orfield (DFL-Mpls).

But Orfield has said he specifically de-
signed his bill this year to appease the
governor’s objections from last year.

The House approved the House-Senate
compromise May 3 by a 79-54 vote. The
Senate approved it May 2 with a 34-32 vote.

Orfield said he wanted to see low-income

housing evenly distributed throughout the
seven-county metropolitan area rather than -
concentrated in Minneapolis and St. Paul.

The bill called for the Metropolitan Coun-
cil to allocate affordable housing in the met-
ropolitan area based on a formula that deter-
mines each city’s current proportion of such
housing. The council also would have looked
at the number of jobs available in a commu-
nity and other factors when setting low-
income housing goals.

Although the compromise bill would not
have penalized cities that didn’t comply with
Metropolitan Council suggestions, earlier
versions would have penalized those that did
not change their zoning laws to allow more
low- and moderate-income housing. Some of
the penalties considered included losing some
state aid or being denied permission to in-
crease municipal sewer services.

Although the penalties were dropped from
the bill sent to the governor, Carlson sug-
gested the passage of the bill would open the
door for Orfield or other lawmakers to try to
institute penalties in future years.

The bill, Carlson maintained, eventually
could have penalized communities that didn’t
meet the council’s quota for low-income hous-
ing. “Penalties are inappropriate, as are un-
necessary legislative mandates such as this,”
he wrote.

In his veto message, Carlson also said the
Metropolitan Council is “already in the pro-
cess of conducting an affordable housing
survey.”

Furthermore, Carlson said the bill would
have required the Metropolitan Council to
ask for low-income housing in communities
without a great deal of such housing, rather
than in communities where the jobs are.

Orfield has said he specifically designed
his bill this year with a requirement that the
Metropolitan Council look at the number of
jobs in a city when calculating how much
affordable housing should go there.

Sen. Steven Novak (DFL-New Brighton)
sponsored the Senate companion bill.

HF2171*/SF1991/CH594
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Sprinklers for high-rises

A bill that would have required high-rise
buildings to be equipped with sprinkler sys-
tems was vetoed by Gov. Arne Carlson May 9.

In his veto message, Carlson said requiring
sprinkler systems would “impose a huge cost
on cities and would make publicly assisted
housing even more difficult to provide.”

The bill, sponsored in the House by Rep.
Bob Johnson (DFL-Bemidji) and in the Sen-
ateby Sen. Carl Kroening (DFL-Mpls), would
have required most buildings over 74 feet
high and not equipped with sprinkler sys-
tems to have the systems installed within the
next 15 years.

The bill passed the House 98 to 33 and the
Senate 53 to 11.

“I am uncomfortable when the state Legis-
lature involves itselfin matters which are best
handled on a local level,” said Carlson. “I
remain committed to safety in all buildings
but we must not mandate costs without con-
sidering how they will be paid.”

The measure would have only affected
older commercial and apartment buildings.
Since 1974, state law has required newly
constructed high-rise buildings to be
equipped with sprinkler systems. In addi-
tion, a section of the bill exempted buildings
that are 70 percent owner-occupied, which
would have excused most condominiums
from the mandate.

HF392*%/SF374/CH601

Mobile home evacuation plans

Studying the emergency evacuation plans
of the state’s mobile home parks would put
too much strain on the budgets of the agen-
cies asked to do the study, according to a May
9 veto message from Gov. Arne Carlson.

The vetoed bill proposed that the depart-
ments of health, public safety, and adminis-
tration gather information on all licensed
mobile home parks in the state with more
than 50 homes.

Had the bill become law, the agencies
would have had to report to the Legislature
by Jan. 10, 1995, on the status of emergency
shelters in these parks and any evacuation
plans they had developed.

The bill contained no money for the agen-
cies to pay for the study. In his veto message,
Carlson wrote that “budgets are strained and
legislative demands on these agencies con-
tinue to grow.”

The bill, sponsored in the House by Rep.
Geri Evans (DFL-New Brighton), also would
have prohibited mobile home park owners
from charging an application fee to a current
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park resident who is moving to another site
within the park.

It passed the House 98-33 and the Senate
61-0.

Sen. Jane Krentz (DFL-May Township)
sponsored the Senate legislation.

HF1919*/SF1984/CH599

No mobile home pets

A House bill that would require mobile
home park owners to allow senior citizens to
keep pets would “unreasonably infringe” on
the rights of park owners, according to Gov.
Arne Carlson, who vetoed the bill May 2.

Carlson wrote in his veto message that
although he supports the rights of senior
citizens to own and enjoy pets, the state must
also “be respectful of those seniors and other
... residents who have chosen to live in pet-
free environments.”

The vetoed bill would have permitted any-
one 62 years old or older and living in a
mobile home park to own a dog, cat, or bird.
The bill also would have allowed park own-
ers to set “reasonable rules” regarding the
care and maintenance of the pet.

Senior citizens, especially those who have
lost their spouses, should not be denied the
companionship these pets can offer, said
Rep. Richard Jefferson (DFL-Mpls), sponsor
of the House bill. (See March 25, 1994,
Session Weekly, page 13, and April 8, 1994,
Session Weekly, page 11.)

Sen. Paula Hanson (DFL-Ham Lake) spon-
sored the legislation in the Senate.

HF2135*/SF1698/CH543

Unpaid leaves for union members

Gov. Arne Carlson issued his first veto of
the 1994 Legislative Session March 28 when
he rejected a bill that would have allowed
unpaid leaves of absence to some union mem-
bers employed by public bodies.

Under currentlaw, designated union mem-
bers are allowed to take an unpaid leave from
work when conducting business for the union
that represents workers in the office from
which the leave is taken.

The measure, sponsored by Rep. Phil Car-
ruthers (DFL-Brooklyn Center), would have
allowed other designated union members to
take unpaid time off — regardless of whether
they would be conducting business for the
office from which the leave would be taken.

Although this bill was vetoed, similar lan-
guage was incorporated into the omnibus K-
12 education finance bill (HF2189*/SF2206/
CH 647 Art. 8, Sec. 27), which the governor
signed May 10.

Carruthers said he sponsored the bill after
learning of a constituent who taught in a
school district represented in bargaining by
the Minnesota Education Association (MEA),
one of two state teachers’ unions. The con-
stituent belonged toa different teachers’ union
and wanted to take an unpaid leave to work
on his union business.

But because the constituent did not belong
to the same union that represented his dis-
trict, he was denied a leave of absence. An
MEA member, however, can take an unpaid
leave of absence to work on unionbusiness in
that district.

In his veto message, Carlson said the bill
was an “unwarranted widening” of existing
practice and would impose “an undue bur-
den on public employers of all types and
levels in Minnesota.”

He said if there is a general problem with
the law, it is not widely knowmn.

“If, on the other hand, this bill seeks re-
dress of the frustration of a limited number of
persons, perhaps even a single individual,
that is an example of legislative micro-man-
agement that disappoints the general pub-
lic,” Carlson wrote.

HF2228/SF0844*/CH381

Pension buy-back

Gov. Ame Carlson vetoed a bill May 5 that
would have allowed some teachers to boost
their pension funds by giving them credit for
time they spent teaching outside Minnesota.

Under current public pension law, teach-
ers and others are, under specific circum-
stances, authorized to “buy back” credit to-
ward their pension accounts. The buy back is
alump sumemployee payment—with inter-
est — to cover pension contributions for a
period of time when the employee did not
make pension contributions. In such cases,
the employer then makes a lump-sum contri-
bution to the employee’s pension fund as
well.

Under the bill, teachers within the Minne-
apolis School District contributing to the
Minneapolis Teachers Retirement Fund As-
sociation would have been allowed to buy
back pension service credits for prior teach-
ing experience outside the state of Minne-
sota.

“This legislation has the potential to buy
back pension credits on the backs of the
taxpayer by an already financially strapped
school district,” wrote Carlson in his veto
message. “The legislation sets the stage for the
district to later request a subsidy from the
state.”

Carlson added that the legislation would




create an exception for only one of many
pension funds within the public system,
“which is neither good public policy, nor
good precedent.”
The House approved the bill 124 to 5 and
the Senate approved it 55 to 2.
HF662/SF609*/CH569

Metro transportation projects

Gov. Arne Carlson May 10 line-item ve-
toed four metropolitan-area construction
projects contained inan omnibus transporta-
tion bill making mostly technical changes in
state laws regulating transportation. (See re-
lated story in the Transportation section.)

The governor deleted two separate projects
to erect sound barriers along portions of

Interstate Highways 394 and 694, and an-
other sound barrier project along State High-
way 252 in Brooklyn Park. He also deleted a
project to put traffic signals at an intersection
near a middle school in North Oaks.

Carlson said the projects would have cost
the state more than $1 million.

Each of these projects, wrote Carlson in his
veto letter, “represents a significant cost to
the state trunk highway fund, and none of
which require funding in this non-budget
year.”

Rep. Tom Osthoff (DFL-St. Paul) spon-
sored the House bill and Sen. Keith Langseth
(DFL-Glyndon) carried the Senate legisla-
tion.

HF3011*/SF2680/CH635

MnDOT funding

Anew state law that will give the Minesota
Department of Transportation an additional
$15 million in fiscal years 1994 and 1995,
but the governor line-item vetoed two appro-
priations contained in the bill.

The governor excised a $250,000 grant to
the Minnesota Job Skills Partnership Board
and also cut a separate section of the bill that
would provided another $5.5 million in fund-
ing to MnDOT.

“Neither . . . require funding in this non-
budget year,” wrote the governor.

HF3230%/SF2097/CH640

|  (IR-Minnetonka) will
| leave one office to become

candidate for another.

Recently, he announced
hat he will not seek a 12th
| legislative term and instead
will vie for a spot on the
Hennepin County Board of
Commissioners.

Knickerbocker, who has
served in the Legislature for 22 years, said he
believes his extensive experience will be an
asset on the county board.

“The opportunity to apply my experience
and skills to a different level of government,
one that provides greater hands-on involve-
ment and the opportunity to work hard to
improve the quality of Hennepin County’s
government is an exciting challenge,” said
Knickerbocker.

His accomplishments at the Legislature
include working on major election law
changes; sponsoring several pieces of insur-
ance reform legislation, and sponsoring a bill
to better protect and maintain streams.

i

Rep. Jerry
Knickerbocker

After eight years at the
Legislature, Assistant Ma-
jority Leader Katy Olson
(DFL-Sherburn) has de-
cided to step down.

Olson said she waited to
announce her retirement
until the session had ended
because she didn’t want to
endanger two local projects that were still
pending.

“I wanted to make sure they got through
before I said anything to anyone,” she said.

Throughout her tenure at the Legislature,
Olson has been known as a champion of
farmers. This session, she co-sponsored the
$18 million flood relief bill, which Gov. Arne
Carlson signed after reducing it to $9 million.

But Olson’s work on flood relief began well
before this session. Last summer, Olson and

Rep. Katy Olson

Three more House members step down

Rep. Rick Krueger (DFL-
Staples) has decided to
move from the public sec-
tor to the private sector.

After 12 years at the Leg-
islature, Krueger recently
announced that he will not

Rep.RickKruegr seek a seventh term.

Instead, he is starting a
new job as the president of Minnesota High
Technology Council and looks forward to
spending more time with his wife, Diane, and
three children, ages 6, 9, and 13.

Krueger has chaired the State Government
Finance Division of the Governmental Op-
erations and Gambling Committee for the
past two years. The committee funds several
state agencies and programs.

In that capacity, much of his energy has

been focused on technology issues. He also

several others from the House rural caucus
went to Washington, D.C., to lobby 26 offi-

cials for flood relief on the federal level.

. Among her legislative achievements, Ol-
son lists the Heron Learning Center Ecology
Bus and the expansion of Highway 60 from
Windom to Worthington.

chaired the Rules and Legislative Administra-
tion Committee’s Telecommunications and

Technology Subcommittee, which was in the

processof making recommendations to House
leadership on computer issues.
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Tracking the Bills . . .

Now it's up to the governor

Exactly 2,702 bills were introduced this legislative session by the House
and the Senate. Of those, 274 bills (and one resolution) were passed by
both bodies during the 1994 Session and sent to the governor.

Sowhat happened to the other 2,428? Some were duplicates, some were
folded into other bills, but most are dead, gone from the legislative process
unless they are re-introduced next year. The biennium has ended, and bills
do not carry over from one biennium to the next.

And the 274 (and one resolution) sent to the governor?

Once a bill has passed both the House and the Senate in identical form,
it’s ready to be sent to the governor for consideration. The governor has
several options when considering a bill. The governor can:

* sign the bill and it will become law;

e veto the bill;

* line-item veto individual items within an appropriations bill; or

* do nothing, which at the end of the biennium results in a pocket veto.

The timing of these actions is as important as the actions themselves.

If a bill was passed by the Legislature and presented to the governor
before the final three days of the session, the bill will become law unless
the governor vetoes it by returning it to the Legislature within three days.
The governor normally signs the bills and files them with the Secretary of
State, but his signature is not required.

But if a bill is passed during the last three days of the session, the
governor hasalonger time to act on it. He/she must sign and deposit it with
the secretary of state within 14 days of adjournment or the bill will not
become law. Inaction by the governor results in a “pocket veto,” and the
governor is not required to provide a reason for the veto.

Only onappropriations bills can the governor exercise the line-item veto
authority. This option allows the governor to eliminate the appropriation
items to which he/she objects. As with all vetoes, the governor must
include a statement listing the reasons for the veto with the returned bill.
Here, too, the timetable is either 14 days after adjournment for bills passed
during the final three days of the session, or within three days after the
governor receives the bill at any other time.

A two-thirds vote of the members in each house is needed to override a
veto. But because only the governor can call a special session of the
Legislature, anything vetoed after the Legislature is adjourns is history —
at least until next year.

After each session, a comprehensive summary of all bills that were
~ signed into law or vetoed is published. You can get a copy by calling or
writing the House Public Information Office, 175 State Office Building, St.
Paul, MN 55155-1298; (612) 296-2146, 1-800-657-3550.
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Editor’s note: The following chart includes the
274 bills (and one resolution) that passed both
the House and the Senate and have been or will
be sent on to the governor for consideration.
Final action is as yet incomplete on four of the
bills.

Here are definitions of some of the terms used
in the chart.

Governor’s Options:

* enactment

The date the governor signed the bill into law.
* line-item veto (liv)

The power or action of the governor to reject
individual items within an appropriations bill
while approving the rest of the bill.

» Veto (v)

The governor did not approve the bill.

o ¥

An asterisk marks the version of the bill the
House and Senate approved and sent on to the
governor.

Effective Date:

Each act takes effect at 12:01 a.m. on the day it
becomes effective, unless the act specifies a
different time. Examples:

e Aug. 1, 1994

Each act the governor signs into law, except
those that make appropriations, take effect on
Aug. 1 following its final enactment, unless the
act specifies a different date.

° upon local approval (ula)

A special law requiring approval from the local
government unit it affects becomes effective the
day after the local government unit’s governing
body files a certificate with the secretary of state,
unless the act specifies a later date.

e July 1, 1994

An appropriations act, or an act having appro-
priations items, takes effect at the beginning of
the first day of July following its final enact-
ment, unless the act specifies a different date.
e various dates (vd)

Different parts of the act have different effective
dates.

» with exceptions (we)

Act includes other effective dates.

* o with qualifications (wq)

Act adds conditions to the effective date.

* retroactive (r)

Act goes into effect as of a specified date in the
past.

o currently unavailable (cu)

The act is not yet in its final form; therefore, an
effective date cannot be cited at this time.




1994 MINNESOTA LEGISLATURE
FINAL ACTION (as of May 12, 1994)
HF—House File v—yetoed vd—vatious dates
SF—Senate File iv—Tine item veto we—with-excepfions N 5
R—~Resolution p—pending governor's signature  wq—uwith qualifications 2 "§ = P
1—footnote f—filed with secrefary of statfe  ul-—upon local approval E o % _.‘§
g—governor signed bill I—refroactive cu—currently unavailable ; 'g S o
dae—day after enactment B g ° 5
° edem
HE | Author | SF | Author Bill Title S |0 3 &
2080 Dehler .| 1975 | Soms Food laws given uniformity 571 g 5/5 | 5/6
2132 | Trimble 2072 | Monddle Salvaged food labeling, licensing, other requirements 563 g 54 |7/
2248 | Gutknecht 1999 | Benson, D.D. Pesticide posting requirements changed 482 g 4N | 4yn
2249 Wenzel 2168 | Bertram Farm disaster relief 642 liv 5/10 | 5/11 (Secs. 1,2, 49,11-42):7/1/93
refro. (Secs. 3, 10)
2373 | Olson, E. 2038 | Stumpf Wheat and barley regulations modified 452 g 418 | 4/19
2400 | Mosel 1903 | Bertram Rural Finance Autherity authorized participation in restructuring loans 514 g 4/25 | 4/26
2493 | Boverly 2247 | Sams Farm operation nuisonce liahifity provisions modified 619 g 5/10 | 5/11 (Sec. 4); 8/1
2646 | Olson, E. 2283 | Moe Pofato seed growing area expanded 422 g 413 | 4/14
2885 | Winter 1948 | Berg Farm limited lihility companies provided 622 g 5/10 | 5/11 (Sec. 6); 8/1
2892 Hugoson 2709 | Berg Dairy prici isi dified 558 g 5/4 1 8/1
218 Stanius 182 | Johnson, D.E. Bonding bill for capital improvements and land acquistion 643 D
IC DEVELOPMENT -
1449 Lasley 862 | Price Motor vehicle dealers— licensed 500 g 4/22 | 8/
1835 | Tunheim 1755 | Stumpf Ontario-Minnesota boundary water fishing restrictions 479 g 40 | 4N
1918 | Evans 2496 1 Reichgott Junge Business consolidated licensing established 593 v 5/9
1923 Pert - | 1911 | Finn Filing requirements modified for corporations 438 g 4/15 | 8/1
1985 | Rest 1786 | Reichgott Junge Limited liability partnerships registered 539 g 4/29 | 1N
2016 | Asth 1847 | Solon Mortgage payment services regulated 638 g 5/10 | 5/1
2035 McCollum 2215 | Oliver Building contractor requirements clarified 404 q 411 | v
2139 | Knickerbocker 1848 | Solon Trust regulation; real estate license definition 461 g 4/18 | 4/19
2201 Fvans 1750 | Larson Commerce department authority expanded 385 [ 3/31- | 4/1
200 | Asch 1791 | Knutson Commerce deparfment dota given dissification 400 g 41 | 4/12 (Sec. D); 8/1 (Sec. 1)
2415 | Rhodes 1983 | Anderson Minnesofa companies clarified 397 g 41 | 8/1
2784 | Milbert 2267 | Samuelson Title insurance companies— mortguges 447 g 4/15 | 8/1
2836 Baverly 2425 | Stevens Fireworks operators— cerfification requirements 405 g 411 | 8/1
2954 | Johnson, A. 2255 | luther Farm liability insurance policies studied for pollution coverage 476 g 420 | 4/1
3146 | Asth 2579 | Chandler Business reputation injury provided civil remed 477 g 4/20 | 8/1
| EDUCATIO -
664 Greiling 614 | Krentz Teacher retirement programs— job sharing incentives 521 q 4/28 | 7/1wg
1845 Rhodes 1693 | Mondale School year starting date modified 392 g 4/6 | 8/1
5 2189 | Vellenga 2206 | Pogeniller Omnibus K-12 education finance bill 647 g 5/10 | vd:
3178 | Pelowski 2900 | Stumpf Ormnibus higher education appropriations bill 532 liv 5/5 | 8/1:7/1/95 (Secs. 1-3,7,8,10, 11)
_ ENVIRONMENT & NATURALRESOURCES
859 Wolf 760 | Price Natural resources gifts, acknowledgements, advertising 509 g 4/25 | 8/1
1186 Sekhon 1489 | Wiener Littering penalties dlarified 412 g 4/11 | 8/1
1906 Reding 1841 | Piper Trails established, expanded 391 g 4/6 | 8/1
1936 Battaglia 1915 | Johnson, D.J. Lake Superior hooked fish returned to water 460 g 4/18 | 8/1
1995 Wagenius 1788 | Johnson, J.B. Waste Management Act amended | 585 0| 56 | v
2010 Ozment 2050 | Johnson, J.B. Landfill operators must pay into trust fund 548 g | 5/4 1 2/1/95wq;5/5 (Sec. 1, Subd. 4)
2046 Wagenius 1922 | Ranwm Dogs—killing, wounding restricted in metro area ; 55 | g 5/5 | 8/1
2054 | Bishop 1858 | Benson, D. Gordy Yaeger Wildlife Monagement Area sale dllowed | 531 g | 428 | 41
2158 | Bishop 1909 | Price Sewage freatment ordinances required, professionals licensed o617 g 5/10 1 5/11 (Secs. 1,2);7/1 (Sec. 3)
2175 Hausman 2114 | Kelly St. Paul authorized a lead pipe replacement program 1 504 g 4/25 | vl
2178 | Cooper 2017 | Johnson, D.E. Meeker County authorized to sell tax forfeited lond 403 g a1 | 4
2187 | Koppendrayer 2062 | Stevens Mille Lacs County fux forfeited land sole authorized 418 g 413 | 8/1
2212 | Kahn 2023 | Dille Genetically engineered organism—release exemption 454 g 418 | 4/19
2244 | Tunheim 1959 | Stumpf Roseau County authorized fo sell tox forfsited fand 437 g 413 | 4/14
2321 Dauner 2152 | Dauner Clay County authorized fo sell tax forfeited lands 464 g 4/18 | 8/1
2410 | Rukaving 2236 | lessord Tree planting stock and seed sales given fo nurseries 551 g 5/4 | 8/1
2485 | Munger 2220 | Piice Legislative Water Commission duties provided 557 g 5/4 | 5/5(Sess. 17,18); 8/1 (Secs. 1-16,19-27)
2517 | Weaver 1741 | Merriom  Rough fish harpooning allowed by non-esidents 467 g 4/20 | 4/
2520 | Weaver 2289 | Meriom Air emission facility—given permit cost reimbursement 637 g 5/10 | 8/1
2572 | Waliman 2246 | Murphy Wabasha and Fillmore counies authorized land exchange 537 g 4729 | 4/30
2622 | Anderson, |. 2561 | lessard Itasca and St. Louis counties state land sale authorized 407 g 41 | 412

SESSION WEEKLY / May 13, 1994 49




1994 MINNESOTA LEGISLATURE
FINAL ACTION (as of May 12, 1994)
HF—House File v—yetoed vd—various dates
SF—Senate File liv—Tline ifem veto we—uwith exceptions N 5
R—~Resolufion p—pending govemor's signature  wq——with qualifications 2 'f.; c 2
1—footnote f—filed with secretary of statle  ulo—upon local approval E - '% -§
g—govemnor signed bil r—Tetroactive cu—currently unavailable ; E 2 o
doe—day after enactment B g ° i
° Ly
HE | Author | SF | Author Bill Title CREEAN: b+
2623 | Anderson, |. 2562 | Lessard ltasca County authorized to sell tay forfsited lund 579 g 5/6 | 5/1
2638 | Sekhon 2277 | Meniam Waste Control Commission— watershed agreements 562 g 5/4 | 8/
2657 | Vellenga 2584 | Anderson State park permits for handicapped persons 458 g 418 | 8/1
2665 | McGuire 2451 [ Johnson, J.B. State park lond added 448 g 415 | 8/1
2675 | Lourey 2305 | lessard Aitkin County authorized to sell tax forfeited land 530 g 418 | 4/29
2692 Wenzel 2436 | Samuelson Crow Wing County state land sale authorized 415 g 411 1 8/1
2728 | Berham 2491 | Beriram Stearns County authorized nonpublic sale of tax-forfeited land 468 g 4/20 1 4/
2731 Peterson 2467 | Berg Walleye size limits modified 523 g 428 | 4/9
2825 Milbert 2429 | lessrd Wildife management bill 623 g 510 | vd
2856 | Reding 2749 | Piper Mower County authorized to sell tax forfeited land 462 g 418.| 8/1
2894 Ozment 2520 | Price Salvage facilities given waste management evaluations 582 g 5/6 1 1IN
2920 | long 2523 | Merriam Environmental assistance office established 544 v 4/29
2925 | Batfoglia 2608 | Johnson, D.J. Cook County lukeshore property required to be re-offered for sale 555 v 5/5
3032 Pugh 2445 | Merriom Game and fish revenues clarified 561 q 5/4 1 v
3079 | Rukavina 2757 | Price Conservation subgrants authorized 578 g 5/6 1 5/1
3086 Wagenius 2313 | Mondale Passive hioremediation allowed and hazardous substance release expanfled 639 g 5/10 |
3179 Munger 2724 | Stumpf Wetlands bil | & g 5/10. 1 5/11 (Sec. 9); 7/1 wq (Sec. 10); 8/1
_ ENVIRONMENT & NATURAL RESOURCES FINANCE
2234 | Kan - 2054 | Morse Environment and natural resources frust fund 580 g 5/6 | 5/7
1863 | Olson, E. 1737 | Marty Ethics in govemment 377 g 3/22 | 8/
| FINANCIALINSTITUTIONS & INSURANCE -~ :
1094 Starius 1134 | Luther Reporting requirements for cerfain businesses 485 g 422 |
1885 Jennings 1846 | Solon Financial administrative hearings regulated 382 g 3/28 | 3/29
1886 Reding 1751 | Lorson Insurers, investments, other transactions regulated 425 g 413 | 8/
1914 | lennings 1729 | Metzen Intersiate banking— geographical limits removed 484 g AR
1964 Reding 1749 | larson Insurance company regulations 426 g 413 | 8/
1999 Pugh 1784 | Riveness Insurance fraud information disclosure required 574 g 5/5 | 8/1 (Secs. 13); 1/1/95 (Secs. 4-5)
2060 | Pugh 1898 | Wiener Diabefic equipment/supplies by insurance 538 g 4/29 | 8/1wg
2061 Cooper 1912 | Vickerman Short term health, accident insurance plans allowed 506 g 4/25 | 4/26
2379 | Bishop 1794 | Reichgott Junge HIV test results—prohibited in some underwriting decisions 475 g 4/20 | 8/
2530 | Molnay 1951 | Johnston Insurance termination for fibrocystic condition prohibited 442 g 415 1 8/1wq
2990 | Berram 2690 | Chmielewski Township fire insurance combination policies authorized 564 g 5/4 | 5/5
| GENERAL LEGISLATION, VETERANS AFFAIRS & ELECTIONS.
33 Osthoff 1512 | Luther Uniform election procedures provided 646 p
1880 | Bergson 1700 | Vickerman Flag desecration banned—resolution RS g 4151 —
2362 Carlson 2189 | Reichgott Dogs—potentially dangerous definition changed 550 g 5/4 | 8/1
2435 Osthoff 2607 | Belanger Veterinarians—abandoned animal procedure changed 401 g 4111 8/ ]
2602 | Rodosovich 2197 | Pogemiller Legislative 1992 district boundaries recodified 612 g 5/9 | 9/13 and thereafter
2671 Rodosovich 2199 | Pogemiller Congressionial district reappointment plan codified 406 g 4/11 1 9/13 and thereatter
2672 Rodosovich 2297 | Pogemiller Precinct and election changes 607 g 5/6 | 8/
2677 Brown, C. 2422 | Fimn Burial grounds—civil actions for damage expanded 469 g 4/20 | 8/
2680 | Jefferson 2231 | Poppas Charitable organizations— regulations changed 535 g 428 | 4/
3004 | Juros 2017 | Solon Minors provided simulated elections 608 v 5/9
_ GOVERNMENTAL OPERATIONS & GAMBLNG
321 Kahn 103 | Berg Omnibus gombling bill 633 g 5/10 | vd
392 Johnson, R. 374 | Kroening Sprinkler systems required in offices, apartment buildings 601 y 5/9
662 Orfield 609 | Kroening Minneapolis Teachers Refirement Fund allowed service credit 569 v 5/5
936 Vickerman 961 | Frederickson Jobs and training department renamed 483 g yn | oam
984 | Kueger 1307 | Riveness Administrafive department provisions modified 634 g 5/10 | w
985 Weaver 793 | McGowan Police and fire fund disability benefit modified 463 g 418 | 4/19
1416 | Reding 1280 | Piper Austin Fire Department Relief Association—health insurance 490 g 4/22 |
1881 Dempsey 1680 | Murphy Red Wing police—to elect retirement coverage 410 g 411 ] o
1899 | Greiling 1969 | Hottinger Administrative rules—adoption and review revised 629 g 5/10 | 8/1,7/1/95 (Sec. 5)
1909 | Reding 1723 | Piper Police /firefighter relief associations—spouse henefit 491 g 40 1 4/7w
1913 Farrel 2394 1 Kelly St. Paul police acccount authorized to pay refunds 409 g 4111 ul
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° whan
HF Author SF Avuthor Bill Title S O a i
Weaver 1734'| Reichgoft Junge Disaster volunteer leave program established 583 g 5/6 | 8/1
Johnson, R. 180T | Morse Teacher refirement fund— increased worker contribufion 524 g 48 W
Tunheim 1818 | Stumpf WMedicare coverage referendum required 459 q I8 ula
Johnson, R. 1908 | Morse Early refirement benefifs corrected 518 [ 4728 | 4/29 (Secs. 1-2); 5/17/93 reho. (Sec. 2)
Kahn 1860 | Riveness Refirement account plan Tor Tigher educafion dlarified 508 g 4725 1 771773795 (At T, Secs. 3,58, T1)
Kiueger 2593 | Anderson Project Tnnovation employees given some state benefits 554 [ 5/ 8/1
Tunheim 2028 | Stumpf Elwin Leveringfon given hearing 440 [ 405 4716
Hunfley 2060 | Solon Duluth Firefighters Associafion pension benefit clurified 474 g 201 o
Seagren 7885 | Terwilliger [egislator reporf/material distribution codified 411 g AR
Orenstein 2095 | Cohen Vacation donafion program fund use 576 g 8 4/
Johnson, R. 2177 Moe American Tndian fribal govt. eligible for fire, pofice aid 498 q 11717 4/ wq
Reding 2288 | Stumpf Public employes retirement system modified 528 [ 187 v
Mahon 2081 | Wiener Agency open appoinfment ac 480 g 400 4772 (Secs. 69); 171795 (Secs. 1-5)
Solberg 7213 | Tessard [tasca medical center employees considered public employees 588 q 5/6 | 5/7
Rice 2180 | Kroening Finneapolis Fire Deparfment Associafion given surviving spouse benefit| 591 q 5/6 | ula
Reding 2257 | Solon Teacher salary defined, parental Teaves provided 547 g 409 1 4730
Sarna 2240 | Pogemiller Minneapolis Police Association benefits changed 590 g 5/6 | o
Grefling 2040 | Berglin Refirement pension plan obfigafions darified 386 g 411 48
Pugh - 2250 | Mefzen St. Paul refired employee allowed fo receive normal annuity 526 g 8 40
Reding 22621 Sams Conservation employees allowed service credit purchase 456 q g | 4/19
Pauly 2407 | Terwilliger Vacation leave donations— Pollution Confrol employees 581 g 576 1 5/7 (Sec. 2); 3/T retro. (Sec. T)
Seagren 2467 | Terwilliger Management fraining programs started, fax use authorized 479 g N3 8
Reding 2358 | Flynn Metropolitan Waste Confral chair provisions changed 560 g 5/471 5/5 (Secs. 7,72); 8/7 (Secs. 16, 8-
1,73
Wenzel 2432 Samuelson Teacher association member given prior service credit purchase 494 q agnlo4m
Reding 2316 | Mefzen Investment Board fund management changed 604 g 5/6 1 7/1,6/30 (Art. T, Sec. 6)
Kahn 2357 Morse Stafe University System benefits modified 602 g 59 1 8/1-
Kahn 2276 | Pogemiller Hennepin County paramedics, EMTs included in police and fire fund 9 g 171 da
Reding 2498 | Stumpf Higher Education Board employee retirement options 572 q 5/5°1 771 (ecs.3,7), 771795 (Secs. 1,2,
46, 811)
Kahn 26241 Riveness Electronic access to state agencies for Ticenses 559 g 5/ 1 8/1
Kahn 24641 Pogemiller Winneapolis employee authorized prior service credit purchase 130 g 4137 o
Orenstein 2258 | Metzen Civil service pilot project established 453 g 18 7/
Pugh 25191 Metzen South St. Paul Police Association— probation employment clarified 54 g 4729 T 4/30 (Sec. T); vlo (Secs. 2-3)
Qlson, M. 2009 | Terwilliger Emergency response commission expanded 584 g 5/6 1 8/1
Trimble 2500 | Kelly St. Paul TRA— proportional represenfafion required 565 g 5/815/5
Kinkel 2292 | Merriam National Guard members in active duly given expedited pay 525 g a8 | 419
Kahn 2291 Merriam Attorney Tees for public bond counsel restricted 533 g 47181 8/l
2L ————
Garda 377 | Meriom "~ Smoking prohibition in public places ‘ ‘ 510 g 78 8/
Lourey 1339| Johnson, J.B. Nutrition and dietefics board established 613 q 59 1 d
Greenfield 1318 Befzold Health review organizations— confidentiality quidefines 497 g nayn
Rukaving 1867 Berglin Health care administrative costs studied by Tegisative auditor 540 v 5/1
Neary 1806 [ Finn - Authority Tor speciafists prescribed 470 g 401 4/
Kelley 1849 | Piper Health boards—profect from impaired regulated persons 558 g 5/8 1 5/5
Brown, K. 1760 | Betzold Emergency health services— evaluated on pilot basis 515 g 47251 8/
Garcio 2035 | Sams Social service plan modified for counfies 437 g 4137 5/13
McGuire 20| Kelly Ramsey Health Care, Tnc.— privafe incorporafion 549 g 5/4 1 ula (Secs. T,2); 8/T (Sec. 3)
Cooper 2086 | Piper Medicine dispense authority extended 389 g 76 1 477
Olson, K. 2345 1 Vickerman Physician Ticense dafa dassified as privafe 433 g 34
Greenfield 1930 | Befzold Auman services provisions modified 529 g 4728 | 777 (Secs. 16, 8-19); 10/1/93 retro.
(Sec. /)
Greenfield 2192 | Berglin MinnesotaCare 625 liv 5/10 ] wd
Van Engen 25771 Kreniz Human services Ticensing clarified 434 g 4713 | 4714 GSecs. 1-7, 11); 8/T (Secs. 8-10)
Huntley 2551 | Solon Willer-Dwan hospital established in Duluth i g 470 T o
Sviggum 2672 | Dy Coroner education requirement exermption 445 g 47151 4/16
Clork 2710 Solon Lead abafement provisions modified 567 g 5/571 5/8
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R—-Resolution p—pending governor's signafure  wq—with qualifications 8 "g e D
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1829 | Brown, K. 2778 | Novak 592 g 5/6 1 8/
1859 Lufher 18221 Anderson Landlord penafties set for nof providing written lease 496 g 47171 8/
1861 Brown, K. 1825 | Finn Manufactured home repossession— venue restricted 444 g 4151 8/
1919 Evans 1984 [ Krenfz Manufactured home sales Tees darified 599 v 5/9
2064 Brown, K. 1982 Novak Loan provisions changed, tribal Indion housing Toans authorized 586 g 5/6 | 5/1
2135 | Jefferson 1698 | Hanson Seniors cllowed small pefs in mobile hlomes 543 v 5/7
2171 Orfield 1991 Novak Metropolitan Councl—new housing rules 594- v 5/9
T155 Pugh 584 1 Krentz SLAPP Tawsuits—remedies provided fo defendants 566 g 5/5 1 5/6wq
1659 Macklin 1558 | Finn Probafe uniform code— arficle 2 recodified 472 g 70T 1/1/9% wg
1788 Bishop 1997 1 Cohen Postupfial confracfs, sefflements 545 q 5/2 1 8/1
1792 Wejcman 1662 | Piper Family support inferstate uniform act adopted 630 g 5/10 [ e
1891 Pugh 1691 | Betzold Property stafufory provisions dlarified 388 g LY/
1910 | Wejcman 1732 Fin Rental matters—heard in concliafion court 502 g 475 1 8/1
1934 Pugh 1767 | Finn Business corporafions— organizafion, aperafion modified 417 g 131 8/
1966 Peterson 1855 | Kelly Peace officer authority expanded 44 g 4151 8/
2028 | McGuire 2079 | Finn Omnibus data pracfices bill 618 g 5/10 | wd
2074 | Skoglund 1845 ] Ranum Omnibus juvenile crime bill 576 fiv 551 v
2088 | Dawkins 1694 | Befzold Givl commitment— procedures modified 481 v 4n
2176 Wejcman 17351 Betzold Foster care, adopfion provisions modified 598 g 5/6 1 8/
2337 Rest 2129 1 Piper Adoption agencies, policies regulated 631 g 5710 | 8/1
2351 Skoglund None Omnibus crime bill 636 liv 510 [ v
7380 Wejcman 21047 Runbeck Child abuse service providers grant program 552 g 5/4 1 81
2519 Mariani 2TT7] Reichgott Junge Prostitution—civil action created for those coerced 624 g 5/10 1 8/Twg
2957 Carlson 7587 | Reichgott Junge Fire insurance policy coverage extended 435 g 131 1195w
2979 | Bishop 1766 | Reichgoff Junge Attorney—unauthorized pracfice of law penalfies 568 g 5/5 1 8/1
2985 Wejcman 1961 Merrom Omnibus DWT bill 615 q 57101 8/Twq
3091 Milbert 2731] Betzold Revisor's blll——corrects stofutes 465 g YANIA
2007 | Delmont 2285 | Frenfz W 192 v 1/
2159 | Rest 1971 Reichgott Junge Timited Tiability companies— worker Taws 512 g 4725 1 8/1,1/1/95 (Sec. 3)
2228 | Camuthers 84471 Luther Union representatives given fime off by public employers 381 v 3/28
2243 Rukavina 1944 [ Kelly Minimum wage increased 621 ] 57107 7N
2535 | Wolf 1996 | Belanger Personnel record review provisions exfended 595 g 5/9 1 8/7; ula (Sec. 3)
2567 | Beffermonn 2327 | Chandler Boiler inspecfion chief requirements modified a7 g N3] 414
2679 Dauner 2557 | lLangseth Bofler and engine nspections modified 402 g 111 8/
2893 Rukavina 2699 1 Janezich Unemployment benefits— given to mining employees 503 g 4725 1 4726 (Secs. 1-2); 7/ (Sec. 5); 8/1
(Secs. 3,4, 8,7)
Perlt 2800 | Runbeck Reemployment insurance provided, reguluted 488 g 4727 1 81
Biown, C. Vickerman Annexafion elecfions provi oi— arnexafion v ordiance modie 5T g | 4/25 | 8/Twy 871795 (Sec. 4)
 Trimble. Kelly St. Paul authorized to require residency for employment 570 g 5/5 1 ula
Knutson Metropolitan councl fo study housing 577 g 5/5 1 5/6wg
Betzold Public confracfor—payment bond, performance act 419 g 47131 8/Twg
Lake of the Woods County  allowed to forgive a debt 423 g 131 81 .
Rutchinson allowed fo incur debt for share of Tacilty coss 572 g 4778 | Without Tocal approval unfess requested by
6/1
 Wright County’s fransfer of Tacifity without bids allowed 379 g /81 TN
| Anoka city and county’s merge of Tbraries allowed 378 g 3/28 | vl
| 0 msted County——housmg and redevelopment authority gronted 493 g 4171 W
380 0| 3B
576 o | 527 ] 8/
466 g 4701 5/20
andoned 44 g YARE
L 390 g 76 |/
ommissior fo five 507 g 47571 8/
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doe—day after enactment B g o 3
o £
HF | Author | SF | Author Bill Title S |6 4 i
2130 | Tomassoni 2052 | lanezich Meadowlands—former town of Payne assigned commissioner district | 384 g 3/31 | ula
2276 | Orfield 2015 | Fynn Metropolitan Reorganizaion Act of 1994 628 g 5/10 | vd
2330 Simoneau 1929 | Betzold Tax-forfeited lond scles authorized by sedled bid 413 i 41| e
2354 Lourey 2118 | Chielewski Moose [ake fire profection disfricf provisions modified 517 q 481 7N
7381 Leppik 2070 | Robertson Charter cifies allowed to apply city stafutes 448 g 4151 8/
2429 Anderson, I. 2383 | lessard Roochiching County—recorder office appointed 387 g 476 | U
2433 Huntley 2205 | IJohnson, D.J. Duluth general obligafion bonds authorized 489 g 4/72 | o
2487 Dovids 2056 | Benson, D.D. Olmsted County authorized fo adopt state bullding code 477 g 413 1 8/1
2529 Haukoos 2274 | Piper Fregborn County—appoint officers, rearganize 393 g 76 | o
7533 Koppendrayer 2262 | Sams Town board nofice requirement removed for inspections 455 g 4718 | 8/
2634 | TLourey 2019 | Chmielewski Road domage appeals— nofice requirements 451 g 4718 1 8/
2645 McGuire 2232 | Pappas Appointments given for some county offices 609 v 5/6
2666 | Brown, C. 2421 | Hotfinger — Zoning ordinances imifed for manufactured home parks 473 g 4770 T 8/
2705 Nelson 2522 | Sams Wadena County auditor, freasurer may merge 394 g 47 | Ja
2770 Wejcman 2858 | Flynn Hennepin County personnel system name changed 596 g 5/6 | 8/1
2896 Solberg 2671 | lessard Ttasca County dllowed nonbinding referendum 428 g 4713 | o
2953 Kahn 2598 | Pogemiller Hinneapofis Park and Recreation Board Tand conveyance 431 g 413 | ula
2967 Wejcman 2647 1 Kroening Trade and craft contract negotiations authority 450 q 415 1 8/1
3041 Jefferson 2725 | Pogemiller Target Center— ownership, finances and use 648 g 5710 [ 5/TTwg 7/1 (At 2); 12731 (At T,
Sec. 1)
| REGUIATEDINDUSTRIES RENERGY
564 Stanius 819 | Johnson, 18- 1900 call charges regulate ‘ ‘ 409 q 8715 [ 8/1
834 Frerichs 788 | Johnson, 1B. Energy conservation duties efiminated 610 q 5/9 1 5/10
1996 Kelley 1826 | Monddle Two-way radios—RMetro Counil reporting dates extended 424 q 4713 1 1731 (retro.)
2140 | Jennings 1706 | Novk Prairie Tsland nudlear storage 641 g 5/10 | vd
2143 T Jacobs 2024 | Chandler Telephone compefitive services regulated 534 g 4778 1 v
07 Krueger 1609 | Soms Ground voltage studies mandated 573 q 5/5 1 5/8
2440 Beard 2329 | Price Cogeneration property fux exemption 513 g 715 | 4/26wq
2590 | Jacobs 2540 | Lesewski Municipal energy conservation investment foan program 616 q 5710 1 7/
2591 Jacobs 2539 | Lesewski Energy Torecast info— duplicate reporfing efiminafed 644 D
2617 Jacabs 2161 | Solon Omnibus fiquor bill 611 g 59 1T v
| RULES & LEGISEATIVE ADMINISTRATION -
322 Simoneau 180 | Kroening Consfitufional amendment proposed fo allow o Truc eﬂmg 626 g 5710 1 8/1
; 3230 Lieder 2097 | TLongseth Vehicle and fuel excise mx revenue dedlcuted to pubhc tmnsw 640 fiv 5/10 1 7/1 (Secs. Tand 9); 8/1
1858 Rest 1709 | Riveness Propeny ‘rux refund untupped for 994 turgehng 383 g 331 | v
2213 Opatz 2030 | Bertram St. Cloud—tax increment financing district exemptions 376 q /27 1 U
7255 Losley 2073 | Pappos Omnibus tax correcfion bill 416 g M3 1 v
2275 Rest 24207 Flynn Department of Revenue poficy bill 510 g 47051
7306 Rest 2106 | Flynn | Minneapofis Teachers Refirement Fund—special faxing district levy 420 q 4/13 | taxes payablein 1995
2311 Winter 2391 | Belanger Levy Timitations abalished for Tocal government : 505 g 4725 1 Property toxes payable in T995, and
: : : thereafter
7951 Rukavina 2494 1 Iohnson, D.J. Health care access reserve account created I 597 v 5/9
3172 Rest 2836 | Pogemiller Bonding authority allocation procedures changed 577 [ 4728 1 4779 (Secs. 2, 3, 6,and 9); 8/1
e (Secs.1,4,5, 6,7, 10-TD)
3193 Rest 2884 | Pogemiller Public finance provxsmns mo : 1 614 i 5/10 ] vd
Steensma Vickerman ™ Mail rural vehicles authorized fires with mefal sfuds g YA
947 Bishop 759 | Chmiglewski RecKless driving offense expanded . D
1844 Molnau 1679 | Johnston Veterans memorial highway designafed R 457 g 4181 8/
1917 Kelso 1736 | Belanger Transit board—public operatars given assistance 605 g 5/6 571
1928 | Tunheim 1807 | Stumpf Ambulance volunteer special license plote creafed 443 g 415 1 8/
1976 Winter 1752 | Vickerman  Loura Ingalls Wilder highway designafed 395 q 477 8/1
Lieder Murphy - Town roud fevies disfribufion modified 553 g 578 11995 (aid distribution year) wg; 8/1
1 : (Sec. 2) ’
2105 | Trimble 1968 o ans” special license plate created 396 9 41 1 8/
Ostrom | Accident prevention refresher course 547 g 5721 1/1/95
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2183 | Ozment 2354 | Vickerman Transportation of hazardous waste modified 589 g 5/6 | 5/1

2254 | Ozment 1774 | Hanson Mal rural vehicles— authorized strobe lights 478 g 4/20 | /N

2309 Lasley 2471 | Johnson, 1.B. Highways 292 and 65 descriptions changed 408 q 411 | ua

2359 | McCollum 2260 | lohnston Public safety depariment omnibus bill 501 q 40 | 81

2360 | Jennings 2472 | Johnson, J. Truck inspection station in Wisconsin authorized 487 g 40 | 81

2365 | Morrison 1966 | Langseth Traffic regulation changes 600 g 5/6 | 8/1

2418 | Frerichs 1967 | Pappas Drivers' license reinsiatement test 398 q 4/1 | 8/l

2426 | Kinkel 2035 | Finn Handicapped parking enforced by citizens 495 g 4/21 | 8/1

2508 | Steensma 1990 | Vickerman Motor vehicle registration, taxation modified 536 g 4/28 rﬁ8/ 1

2513 | Lieder 2503 | Krentz Highway and acquistion rules modified 436 g 413 | 8/1

2630 | Carlson 2415 | Hanson Accident reporting threshold level increased 399 g Y1 | 8/

2762 | Wagenius 2510 | Ranum Head Start school bus use regulated 603 g 59 | 8/1

2882 Olson, E. 2706 | Moe Potato transportation exemption provided 519 g 418 | 419

2936 McCollym 2660 | Pappas Ramsey County turnback road maintenance funded 439 g 4/15 | 8/

3011 Osthoff 2680 | Langseth Municipal state-aid street mileage limitation changed 635 v | 5710 | 5/1

 WASGMERNS . . -

3209 Rest None Omnibus tax bl 587 g 5/5 1 v

3210 | Greenfield None : Omnibus health and human services appropriations bill 606 v 5/9

3201 Steensma 2910 | Kelly Claims against state appropriated money 620 g 5/10 1 5/1

3215 Solberg 2913 | Meriam Omnibus appropriations bill 632 liv 5/10 | vd
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Order Form

Apublication summarizing the new laws of 1994 will provide brief summaries of the bills that were passed by both the House and the Senate
and signed by the governor during the current legislative session. The publication will be ready soon after the session ends. Copies will be
mailed to those who order them.

Do you want to receive a copy of the 1994 new laws publication? Yes No

Do you want to receive Session Weekly in 1995? Yes No  Phone number: (___)

Please place this form (with the ﬁlailing label on the back) in an envelope. Mail it by June 3, 1994, to: Session Weekly, House Public
Information Office, 175 State Office Building, 100 Constitution Ave., St.. Paul, MN 55155-1298.

1994 Session Weekly Readership Survey
We would appreciate your takir;g amoment to tell us what you think about the Session Weekly. You're opinions will help us plan for next year.
How often do you read the Session Vi‘fxizekl‘y?i (ﬁgase ‘check one)
__ Never ___Once a‘moknthn . __Tvmce amonth » _ - Three times a mth _Evefy week
On which day of the week does the‘k:Se‘skSion‘:We‘ek?zkly kukskually reach your maﬂboﬁé (Please check one.)
__Saturday __ Monday _Tuesday __ Wednesday =~ . Thursday ___ Friday

Which parts of the Session Weekly do you most often read? (Please check all that apply)

___Highlights _ Informational material (lists, etc.) Do You Know?
___Bill Introductions _ Minnesota Index __ Features
__ Committee Schedule _ It’s a Fact! __ Member profiles
__ Bill Tracking : : i
Which section do you prefer? _ Weekly action (grid) ___Cumulative action
Should the bill tracking sections be continued next year?  ___ Yes __No

On the following scale from 1 to 5, please rate the following aspects of the Session Weekly? (Circle one number in each set)

Writing Difficult to understand ‘ Easy to understand
1 2 3 4 5
Story Length Too short ' Too long Just right
1 2 : 3 4 5
Readability (type size) Too small Too large Just right
1 2 3 5

Photographs Poor Average o Excellent
1 2 3 ‘ . 5

Layout ' Poor Average ‘ . Excellent
1 5 i - 5

What do you like about the Session Weekly?

Do you have any suggestions for improving the Sessi

We plan toincludea Q & A ¢ olu

space a ows. If you have a question about the Minnesota House of Representatives or
the legislative process, pleas -
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MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICE
175 STATE OFFICE BUILDING
ST. PAUL, MN 55155-1298

Speaker of the House: Irv Anderson
Majority Leader: Phil Carruthers
Minority Leader: Steven A. Sviggum

For more
information . . .

For general information, call:
House Information Office
(612) 296-2146 or
1-800-657-3550

To obtain a copy of a bill, call:
Chief Clerk’s Office
(612) 296-2314

To find out about bill introductions or
the status of a specific bill, call;
House Index Office )

(612) 296-6646

For up-to-date recorded message
giving committee meeting fimes and
agendas, call:

House Calls {612) 296-9283

Telecommunications
Device for the Deaf (TDD)

Telecommunications device for the deaf.

To ask questions or leave messages, call:

TDD Line (612) 296-9896 or
1-800-657-3550




