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The Minnesota Tax Handbook provides general information on
Minnesota state and local taxes. Questions regarding the applica-
tion of a tax to the specific situation of an individual or a business
should be directed as follows: ~

Individual income tax and property tax refund
Minnesota Department of Revenue
Income Tax Division
Mail Station 5510
St. Paul, MN 55146-5510
(651) 296-3781 or 1-800-652-9094 (toll free)
Sales tax
Minnesota Department of Revenue
Mail Station 6340
St. Paul, MN 55146-6340
(651) 296-6181 or 1-800-657-3777 (toll free)
Corporate franchise (income) tax
Minnesota Department of Revenue
Mail Station 5100
St. Paul, MN 55146-5100
(651)297-7000 or 1-800-366-2913 (toll free)
Hearing Impaired
TDD (651) 297-2197
Minnesota Relay Service 1-800-627-3529
(ask for 1-800-652-9094)

Information is also available from the Department of Revenue’s
Internet web site at http://www.taxes.state.mn.us

Propetty tax questions for specific property should be dlrected toi .
the county in which the property is located, .
For valuations and assessments: county assessor.
For tax rates and computation: county auditor.
For tax statement and payment: county treasurer.

MINNESOTA TAX HANDBOOK

A Profile of State and Local Taxes in Minnesota
1998 Edition

This handbook contains a summary of the state and local tax
system in Minnesota. The first section provides a profile of each
state tax including tax base, rates, collection amounts, comparisons
with selected states, and legislative history. The second section
profiles each local tax in a similar manner. The last section
contains information on state and local tax collections.

The tax provisions include changes enacted in the 1998 legislative
session.

Please note:

* collection amounts are net collections after refunds.

* the history sections show major changes by the year enacted, not
the effective date.

Additional copies of the Minnesota Tax Handbook may be
obtained by contacting:

Minnesota Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division

Mail Station 2230

St. Paul, MN 55146-2230

(651) 296-3425

The Minnesota Tax Handbook is available on the Department of
Revenue’s Internet web site at http://www.taxes.state.mn.us
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STATE TAXES

INCOME AND ESTATE TAXES
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.03
Tax Base: Federal taxable income modified by state additions

and subtractions.

Rates and Taxable Income Brackets: The income brackets
are adjusted annually for inflation.

Tax Year 1998

6% up to ) 8% 8.5% over
Married Joint $24.800  $24,801-$98,540  $98,540
Married Sep. $12,400  $12,401-$49,270  $49,270
Single $16,960  $16,961-$55,730  $55,730
Head of Hshld. - $20,890  $20,891-$83,930  $83,930

Tax Year 1999

6% up to 8% 8.5% over
Married Joint $25,220  $25,221-$100,200  $100,200
Married Sep. $12,610  $12,611-$50,100  $50,100
Single $17,250  $17,251-$56,680  $56,680
Head of Hshid.  $21,240  $21,241-$85,350  $85,350

Computation for tax year 1998:
Federal taxable income
plus: Minnesota additions, including:
— non-Minnesota state/municipal bond interest
— itemized deduction for state income taxes
— expenses deducted federally on income not
taxed by Minnesota
minus;  Minnesota subtractions, including:
— U.S. bond interest
— dependent education expenses
— income of elderly and disabled (up to limits)
— payments by the self-employed for health
insurance not deducted federally
— railroad retirement income
equals: Minnesota taxable income
times:  graduated rates - 6%, 8%, and 8.5%
equals: Minnesota gross tax

plus: alternative minimum tax (7% of alternative
minimum taxable income) exceeding regular tax
plus: tax on lump sum distribution from a pension plan




minus:  nonrefundable credits, including:
— credit for income tax paid to other states
— alternative minimum tax carryover credit
equals:  Minnesota income tax
minus:  refundable credits
— dependent care credit, up to $31,070 income
— working family credit (same eligibility as federal
earned income credit)
— 20% of property tax paid by homeowners and
renters, maximum rebate of $1,500
— K-12 education credit, up to $33,500 income
equals: net individual income tax payable

Special Provisions:

1. Taxpayers may assign $5 from general fund to political
parties or campaign funds.

2. Taxpayers may contribute $1 or more to the Minnesota
Nongame Wildlife Management Account by reducing their
refund or increasing their amount owed.

3. Reciprocity agreements exempt North Dakota, Wisconsin,
and Michigan residents from filing Minnesota returns on
wage and personal service income earned in this state.
Wisconsin is required to reimburse Minnesota for the net
revenue lost due to reciprocity each year.

4. In lieu of the regular income tax, nonresident entertainers
pay a tax equal to 2% of compensation received for
entertainment performed in Minnesota.

Revenue

Collections: Income Tax Reciprocity
F.Y. 1997 $4,784,801,000 $31,887,000
F.Y. 1998 $4,749,533,000 $37,872,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: An individual, trust, or estate with Minnesota
income which meets or exceeds the filing requirements.

Payment Dates:

1. Calendar year returns must be filed by April 15th.

2. Withholding of taxes on Minnesota earnings is required
of employers. Employers remit taxes withheld on a
semi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly basis.

3. Quarterly estimated tax payments for calendar year filers
are due the 15th of April, June, September, and the next
January.

History of Major Changes

1933 — Enacted at graduated rates from 1% to 5%.

1937 — Rates increased; personal credits replaced exemptions.

1949 — Standard deduction of 10% to $500 maximum enacted.
— 5% surtax levied on the normal rate.

1951 — Additional personal credits enacted for blind persons

and age 65 and over.
1953 — Standard deduction maximum raised to $1,000.

1955 — Dependent education expense deduction enacted.
1957 — 5% veterans’ bonus surtax levied.

1959 — Rates increased.

1961 — Gross income redefined as federal adjusted gross

income with modifications.
— Withholding of income taxes imposed.
1967 — Rent credit and senior citizen credit enacted.
1971 — Combined return allowed for married-separate filers.
— Rates increased from 1.5%-12% to 1.6%-15%.
— Credits for pollution control equipment and nonpublic
school costs established.
— Senior citizen, rent, and personal credits increased.

1973 — Increased rent and senior citizen tax credits.
— Senior citizen property tax freeze credit enacted.
1974 — Low income and political contribution credits enacted.

— Nonpublic school credit held unconstitutional.
1975 — Additional personal credits for deaf persons.
— Rent and senior citizen credits replaced by income-
adjusted homestead credit (property tax refund).
— Low income credit levels increased.
1976 — Increased maximum education expense deduction.
1977 — Exemption for military pay repealed.
— Minimum tax on preference items imposed.
— Out-of-state income included in income.
— Dependent care credit established.
— Brackets with rates of 16%, 17%, and 18% added.
— Personal credits increased from $21 to $30 each.
— Public pension subtraction limited to $7,200.
— Senior citizen property tax freeze credit repealed.
1978 — 18% top rate repealed.
— Personal credits increased to $40.
— Homemaker and National Guard credits enacted.
— Pension subtraction modified and extended to private
pensions.
— Low income credit levels and political contribution
credit increased.
1979 — Personal credits increased; indexed after 1980;
additional credits for quadriplegic persons.
— Maximum standard deduction increased to $2,000;
indexed after 1980.
— Low income credit levels increased.



Income tax brackets indexed.

17% top rate repealed.

Pension subtraction increased to $10,000.

National Guard credit repealed. Subtraction of military
pay reinstated.

Political contribution credit and property tax refund
increased. Credits enacted for pollution control and
renewable energy expenditures.

Pension subtraction increased to $11,000.

Low income credit levels increased.

Dependent care credit increased.

Federal tax deduction changed to accrual basis.
Taxable net income adjustment factor adopted.
Capital gains exclusion of 60% enacted.

Surtax of 7% enacted.

Temporary surtax increased to 10%.

Temporary surtax of 10% extended.

Repealed subtraction for investment tax credit.
Dependent care credit amounts increased.

Pollution control credits repealed.

Equity investment credit enacted.

Repealed 10% surtax.

Expanded pension income subtraction.

Increased maximum education expense deduction.
Pollution control credits reinstated.

Credits enacted for conservation tillage equipment and
resource recovery equipment.

Computation of tax for nonresidents changed to
apportionment of total tax.

Required the election of married persons to file jointly
or separately to be the same as the federal. Established
a different rate schedule for married joint. Other
provisions changed to be based on the couple’s joint
income.

Tax rates lowered; deductibility of federal income tax
an option (higher rates used when federal tax is
deducted).

Eliminated additions for the federal deduction for
two-earner married couples, contributions to an
individual retirement account, simplified employee
plan, or Keogh plan, and the farm loss modification.
Eliminated the subtraction for social security benefits.
Modified the subtraction for pension income and
restricted it to elderly and disabled persons.

Taxable net income adjustment factor repealed.

1987 —

1988 —

1989 —

L1991 —

1992 —

1993 —

Repealed these credits: low income; homemaker;
residential energy; resource recovery equipment;
pollution control; conservation tillage; and equity
investment.

Replaced minimum tax with alternative minimum tax.
Changed the starting point of the tax from federal
adjusted gross income to federal taxable income,
thereby adopting the federal standard deduction,
itemized deductions, and personal exemptions.
Adopted changes made by the federal Tax Reform Act
of 1986, including repeal of capital gains exclusion.
Eliminated the option to deduct federal income taxes.
Tax rates changed. Number of brackets reduced to four
for 1987 and two for 1988. Schedule added for head
of household.

Additional tax equal to 10% of the federal 5% surtax.
Increased alternative minimum tax rate from 4% to 6%.
Repealed: the personal credits and the Minnesota
itemized and standard deductions (replaced by federal
provisions); political contribution credit; subtractions
including pension income, military pay, and
unemployment compensation.

Enacted a credit for elderly and disabled persons equal
to 40% of the federal credit.

Rate schedules and surtax modified.

Subtraction enacted for income of the elderly and
disabled, up to a maximum amount based on income.
Elderly and disabled persons credit repealed.
Dependent care credit phase-out modified; income
levels indexed, beginning in 1991.

Alternative minimum tax credit enacted.

Nonresident entertainer tax enacted.

Top rate kept at 8.5% rather than going down to 8%
above specified income thresholds.

Alternative minimum tax rate increased to 7%.
Federal changes adopted include the phaseout of the
personal exemptions and the limitation of itemized
deductions for higher-income taxpayers.

Working family credit enacted equal to 10% of the
federal earned income credit.

Full deduction allowed for self-employed health
insurance premiums.

Working family credit increased from 10% to 15% of
the federal earned income credit.



1994 — Adopted federal changes that increased the taxable
portion of social security, expanded the earned
income credit, and decreased the deductible portion
of business meals and entertainment expenses.

— Elderly subtraction base amounts and income
thresholds increased; minimum subtraction added
for increase in taxable social security benefits for
1994 through 1996.

1997 — One-year refundable credit enacted for 1997 equal
to 20% of property taxes paid by homeowners and
renters.

— Dependent education expense deduction extended
to nonitemizers and to expenses for tutoring and
summer school, also computer and educational
software up to $200 per family. Maximum
deduction increased. Effective tax year 1998.

— Refundable credit enacted equal to education
expenses up to $1,000 per child, $2,000 per family,
for families with income of $33,500 or less,
effective tax year 1998. Expenses same as for the
deduction except for school tuition.

— Working family credit increased from 15% to 25%
of the federal earned income credit for taxpayers
with children, effective tax year 1998.

— Nonrefundable credit enacted for increases in cabin
property taxes for 1998 and 1999.

1998 — One-year refundable credit enacted for 1998 equal
to 20% of property taxes paid by homeowners and
renters, with a maximum credit of $1,500.

— Working family credit decoupled from the federal
earned income credit, increased for some filers.

— Deduction disallowed for expenses related to
income exempt from Minnesota tax.

— Adopted federal provisions of Roth and education
IRAs, expansion of deductible IRAs, capital gain
exclusion for home sales, and deduction of student

loan interest.

— Shareholders of S corporation banks allowed to
subtract the federal tax on flow-through bank
income.

Comparison With Other States - Tax Year 1998
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South Dakota and Texas do not impose personal income taxes

* Credits. All other are exemptions.

a. Amounts shown applicable to long form only. On short form, liability is 14% of adjusted federal liability.

b. Same as federal. Higher amounts for the elderly and blind.

¢. Maximums decline to zero a.s‘income increases: from $7,500 to $50,830 single; $10,000 to $55,000 married-joint; $4,750 to $26,140 married-separate.
d. North Dakota allows an additional $300 exemption if filing status is married filing joint, head of household, or surviving spouse with dependent child.

e. Wisconsin allows a $25 credit for taxpayer (and spouse on joint return) if age 65 or older. Credit phased out above income limits.



CORPORATION FRANCHISE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.02

Tax Base: Minnesota taxable net income of the corporation.
Domestic unitary reporting method is used.

Rate: 9.8%

Major Exemptions:

o Charitable, religious, educational, and other organizations
exempt under Subchapter F of the Internal Revenue Code
(unrelated business income is taxed)

e Credit unions
e Mining subject to the occupation tax
e Insurance companies domiciled in retaliatory states
e Mutual property and casualty insurance companies with
assets less than $1.6 billion as of 12/31/89
Computation:
Federal taxable income
plus: Minnesota additions; including:
— state, local, or foreign income taxes deducted
federally
— federally-exempt interest
— net operating loss deducted federally
— federal dividend received deduction
— losses from mining subject to occupation tax
— federal capital loss deduction
— federal charitable contribution deduction
— exempt foreign trade income of a foreign sales
corporation
— federal percentage depletion deduction
— deemed dividends from foreign operating
corporations
minus:  Minnesota subtractions; including:

— foreign dividend gross-up

— salary expenses not deducted federally due to
federal jobs or Indian employment credits

— capital loss deduction with no carrybacks

— interest and expenses on income that is exempt
federally but taxed by the state

— cost depletion for mines, oil and gas wells, other
natural deposits, and timber

— 80% of foreign source royalties, fees, etc.,
received within unitary group

— income or gains from mining subject to the
occupation tax

— research expenses disallowed federally due to
claiming the federal credit

e

plus or

modifications to the federal accelerated cost

minus:  recovery system
equals:  net income
times:  apportionment factor
— weighted factor of 15% of property ratio, 15%
of payroll ratio, and 70% of sales ratio
— under certain conditions, separate accounting or
single sales factor can be used
equals:  taxable net income
minus:  Minnesota deductions
— net operating loss
— dividends received deduction
— Minnesota charitable contributions
equals:  Minnesota taxable income
times:  tax rate of 9.8%
equals:  gross tax
minus:  nonrefundable credits
— research and development credit
— alternative minimum tax carryover credit
~— job training program credit
— premiums tax credit for insurance companies
— guaranty association assessments for insurance
companies
plus: — alternative minimum tax (5.8% of alternative
minimum taxable income) exceeding regular tax
— minimum fee*
equals:  tax liability
minus:  refundable enterprise zone credits
equals:  net corporate tax payable

*

The minimum fee is in addition to the regular or alterna-
tive minimum tax and is determined by the sum of the
corporation’s Minnesota property, payroll, and sales:

Total Minnesota Minimum
Property, Payroll and Sales Fee
Less than $ 500,000 $0
$ 500,000 - 999,999 100
1,000,000 - 4,999,999 300
5,000,000 - 9,999,999 1,000

10,000,000 - 19,999,999 2,000
20,000,000 or more 5,000

Special Provision: A corporation may contribute $1 or more
to the Minnesota Nongame Management Account by reducing
its refund or increasing its amount owed.




Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997

F.Y. 1998

$680,898,000
$752,061,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign corporations and financial
institutions, including national and state banks, which have
nexus in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Quarterly payments of estimated tax due by
15th day of 3rd, 6th, 9th, and 12th months of the tax year.

Due Date: Return is due 15th day of 3rd month after tax year,
with 7-month extension available.

History of Major Changes
1933 — Enacted with rates graduated from 1% to 5%, and a
specific credit against income of $1,000.
1937 — 7% flat rate adopted; 6% rate after 1938.
— Property/payroll credit enacted.

1939 — Manufacturing firms given option of average or
weighted apportionment.
1941 — Bank excise tax enacted at a rate of 8%.

1947 — Specific credit reduced to $500; $10 minimum tax.
1949 — 5% special surtax added; additional $5 fee imposed.
1953 — Apportionment option extended to all firms.

1955 — 1% surtax on taxable income added.

1957 — Property/payroll credit repealed.

1959 — For corporations 7.5% tax rate and 1.8% additional
levy enacted. For banks, 9.5% tax rate and 1.9%
additional levy enacted

1961 — 10% surtax added.

1967 — 1% rate added; total rate of 11.33% for corporations
and 13.64% for banks.

1969 — Pollution control credit enacted.

1971 — Federal tax deduction eliminated.

— Rate increased to 12% for corporations.

— Bank rate remained at 13.64%.

— Feedlot pollution control credit enacted; both
pollution control credits set to expire after 1976.

1973 — Minimum tax increased to $100.

— Destination sales basis adopted for apportionment.
— Bank rate reduced to 12%.
1977 — Minimum preference tax adopted.

1979 —

1980 —
1981 —

Pollution control equipment credit reinstated
retroactive to 1977,

Energy credit adopted.

$100 minimum tax and $500 credit repealed.

Rate reduced to 9% (6% after 1982) on first $25,000
of taxable income.

Credit for increasing research activities enacted.
Unitary method of taxation enacted.

60% capital gain exclusion allowed.

Research credit changed to 12.5% of qualifying
expenses (6.25% of expenses over $2 million).
Pollution control credits repealed.

Eliminated deduction for corporate income taxes
paid to other states.

Enacted these credits: technology transfer; small
business assistance office; equity investment; and
enterprise zone.

Exempted foreign source dividends and certain
foreign source royalties.

Pollution control credits reinstated and expanded.
Minimum preference tax and energy credit repealed.
Repealed these credits: pollution control; resource
recovery equipment; equity investment; and
conservation tillage.

Corporate income tax and bank excise tax replaced
by a corporate franchise tax.

Rate reduced to 9.5%.

Adopted federal taxable income as the starting point
for the tax.

Eliminated the 60% capital gains exclusion.
Adopted changes made by the federal Tax Reform
Act of 1986.

Alternative minimum tax of one mill times the
Minnesota property, payroll, and sales factors for tax
years 1987, 1988, and 1989. Replaced by minimum
tax on preference items in 1990.

Eliminated arithmetic average option for
apportionment.

Reduced dividend received deduction and foreign
source royalty deduction.

Repealed these credits: technology transfer to small
business; and contributions to small business
assistance offices.

11




1988 —

1989 —

1990 —

1992 —

1994 —

1997 —
1998 —

Reduced research and development credit
percentages to 5% of the first $2 million of
qualifying expenses and to 2.5% of the excess.
Dividend received deduction changed.

Deduction for 35% of foreign royalties repealed.
Deduction enacted for foreign source income
(royalties, fees, and other like income) of foreign
operating corporations of 50% for 1989 and 1990
and 80% for 1991 and after.

Minimum tax beginning in 1990 changed from an
alternative tax to an add-on tax.

Unrelated business income tax imposed on exempt
organizations.

Alternative minimum tax of 7% enacted, beginning
with tax year 1990; add-on tax repealed,

Tax on insurance companies based on current
Internal Revenue Code rather than 1936 Federal
Revenue Act, starting with tax year 1991,
Exemptions enacted for: insurance companies
domiciled in retaliatory states; town and farmers’
mutual insurance companies; and mutual property
and casualty companies with total assets less than
$1.6 billion. Effective with tax year 1991,
Additional 20% dividend received deduction
allowed in certain situations,

Rate increased from 9.5% to 9.8%, alternative
minimum tax rate reduced from 7% to 5.8%.
Minimum fee enacted of from $0 to $5,000 based on
Minnesota property, payroll, and sales of C
corporations, S corporations, and partnerships.
Provisions adopted to tax limited liability companies
as partnerships.

Adopted changes made by the federal Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993.

Guaranty association assessments credit enacted for
insurance companies.

Limited job training credit enacted.

Small corporations exempted from alternative
minimum tax.

Comparison With Other States — Tax Year 1998

Income/Franchise Tax Rates

California 8.84% of net income; minimum tax of
$800. Banks: 10.84%; minimum tax of
$800. Alternative minimum tax rate is
6.65%. S Corporations: 1.5%

[llinois 4.8% of net income plus additional 2.5%
tax on net income for personal property tax
replacement. Franchise tax: 0.1% on
certain capital and surplus. Banks: value
of shares subject to local property tax rates.

lowa 6% on first $25,000; 8% next $75,000;
10% next $150,000; 12% on net income
over $250,000. Banks: 5% of net income.
A minimum tax may apply.

Michigan Single business tax: 2.3% of adjusted tax
base that includes business income,
compensation paid employees, interest
payments, and depreciation of tangible
assets. Alternative tax for small businesses:
2% of adjusted business income. Local
corporate income tax may be imposed.

MINNESOTA  9.8%. Alternative minimum tax at rate of
5.8%. Plus minimum fee of up to $5,000
based on Minnesota property, payroll, and
sales.

New York 9% of net income, or 0.178% of capital, or
the greater of an amount ranging from $325
to $1500 depending on the firm’s gross
payroll. The rate for small businesses is
8%. Also, MTA surcharge on all business
tax liabilities in the Metropolitan Transit
Authority District. Additional tax on
subsidiary capital of .9 mill per dollar.
Alternative minimum tax of 3.5% of
alternative net income using only a
double-weighted receipts factor. Banks:
9% on net income, $250, 3% on alternative
income, or asset-based tax at rate ranging
from 1/50 to 1/10 of one mill, whichever is
greatest.




North Dakota

South Dakota

Texas

Wisconsin

3% on first $3,000; 4.5% next $5,000; 6%
next $12,000; 7.5% next $10,000; 9% next
$20,000; 10.5% of net income over $50,000.
Banks: 7% of net income (includes 2%
privilege tax).

No corporate income tax. Banks: 6% of net
income.

No tax on income. Franchise tax of 0.25% of
capital or 4.5% of net taxable earned surplus,
whichever is higher.

7.9% of net income. Temporary recycling

surcharge of 2.75% of gross tax, with a
minimum of $25 and a maximum of $9,800.
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ESTATE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 291.01

Tax Base: Federal estate tax credit for state taxes.

Computation:
Federal maximum credit for state death taxes

times:  proportion of Minnesota gross estate to federal gross
estate

equals:  estate tax payable

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $48,944,000
F.Y. 1998 $61,612,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Personal representative submits a return for the
estate. Return required if federal gross estate exceeds
$625,000 in 1998 and $650,000 in 1999.

Payment Dates: Tax due within nine months after death.
Under certain conditions, installment payments may be
elected.

History of Major Changes
1905 — Inheritance tax adopted, with rates from 1.5% on
inheritances less than $50,000 to 5% over $100,000.
1911 — Exemptions provided ranging from $10,000 for
spouse to $100 for unrelated persons.
-— Rates from 1% on inheritances less than $15,000 to
20% on amounts over $100,000 adopted, depending
on the relationship of the heir.
1937 — Gift tax enacted.
— Rate increased from a maximum of 20% to 60%, not
greater than 35% of value of property.

1959 — Rates changed and exemptions increased.
1976 — Homestead exemption increased from $30,000 to
$45,000.

— Optional marital exemption of 50% of the gross
estate to $250,000 adopted. Marital exemption
increased to $60,000 and equalized between spouses.

— Exemption for minor child increased from $15,000
to $30,000.
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1979 — Inheritance and gift tax repealed and replaced with
estate tax with graduated rates from 7% to 12% of
Minnesota taxable estate, but tax not less than the
federal credit for state death taxes.

1981 — Conformed to federal changes increasing minimum
filing requirements and providing unlimited marital
deduction.

1985 — Eliminated the Minnesota rate schedule tax; tax
equal to the Minnesota portion of the federal estate
tax credit for state taxes.

1998 — Adopted 1997 federal changes, including the
phased-in increase in filing requirements from
$600,000 to $1 million in 2006.

Comparison With Other States — 1998

California Tax equals the state’s portion of

Illinois the maximum federal credit for

Michigan state death taxes allowed against

MINNESOTA federal estate tax (commonly

North Dakota referred to as the “pick-up tax”).

Texas

Wisconsin

New York Estate tax with rates graduated
from 2% to 21%.

Iowa Inheritance tax* rather than estate

South Dakota } tax plus an estate tax to absorb the

maximum federal credit.

*An inheritance tax is based upon the amount of property
transferred to each beneficiary and the relationship of the

beneficiary to the decedent; an estate tax is based on the value

of the estate being transferred.
Other Transfer Taxes:
Generation-skipping transfer tax imposed by California,

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, New York, and Texas.

Gift tax imposed by New York.
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SALES AND EXCISE TAXES

GENERAL SALES AND USE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 297A.02 and 297A.14

Tax Base: Sales price of tangible personal property and
specified taxable services sold or used in Minnesota.

Rates:
General rate applicable to all taxable transactions
except those listed below 6.5%
Liquor and beer, both on-sale and off-sale 9.0%
Farm machinery; logging equipment
7/1/98 to 6/30/99 2%
7/1/99 to 6/30/00 1%
7/1/00 and after Exempt

Major Exemptions: Sales for resale in the regular course of
business; food products (but not prepared meals and drinks,
candy, gum, and soft drinks), clothing; prescribed drugs and
medications; nonprescribed analgesics; gasoline and special
fuels taxed under the motor fuels excise tax; publications
issued at intervals of 3 months or less (except over the counter
magazines); motor vehicles subject to the motor vehicle sales
tax; materials used or consumed in agricultural or industrial
production; textbooks; residential heating fuels and water
services; and capital equipment used in manufacturing,
fabricating, mining, or refining tangible personal property.

Additional Tax: 6.2% is imposed on the rental of a car, van,
or pickup truck for less than 29 days.

Revenue

Collections: Sales and Use Tax  Motor Vehicle Rental
F.Y. 1997 $3,018,193,000 $8,907,000

F.Y. 1998 $3,255,981,000 $9,900,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Purchasers or users of taxable goods and services.
Holders of Minnesota sales and use tax permits collect and
remit the tax. Holders of direct pay permits remit the tax
directly.
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Due Dates: Monthly returns — 20" day of the following
month. (Accelerated payment of 75% of June liability and
different due dates apply for filers required to pay by electronic
funds transfer.) Quarterly returns — 20" of the month
following the sales quarter. Annual returns — February 5%,
Annual individual use tax — April 15%.

History of Major Changes

1967 —
1971 —

1973 —
1978 —
1979 —
1981 —

1982 —

1983 —

1984 —

1985 —

1987 —

Sales tax enacted at 3% rate.

Rate increased to 4%.

Motor vehicles exempted from the sales tax and made
subject to the motor vehicle excise tax.

Accessory tools exempted.

Residential heating fuel exempted.

Residential water service exempted.

Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%, except for
farm machinery.

Exemption for cigarettes repealed.

June accelerated payment enacted.

Exemptions for candy and soft drinks repealed.

Cable TV services subjected to tax.

Additional 5% tax imposed on on-sale liquor.

Rate temporarily increased to 6%.

Rate permanently changed to 6%.

Additional tax on on-sale liquor reduced to 2.5% and
extended to off-sale liquor.

Exempted: race horses; paper and ink used to produce
publications; and construction materials and equip-
ment used in enterprise zones.

Over-the-counter sales of magazines made taxable.
Rate reduced to 4% on capital equipment for new or
expanding manufacturing facilities and on special
tooling.

Mobile homes taxed at 65% of sales price.

Rate for farm machinery reduced to 2%.

Exempted: repair and replacement parts for farm
machinery; ticket sales and admissions to elementary
and secondary school games and activities; and
certain sales by nonprofit organizations, including
fundraising,

Repealed exemption for central office telephone
equipment.

Removed exemptions from: nonprescribed drugs and
medicine; state government purchases; interstate
telephone service, railroad rolling stock; most club
dues; race horses; meals sold in hospital cafeterias;
admission to public recreational areas; and admission
to health clubs, tanning facilities, and similar places.
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1988 —

1989 —

1991 —

1992 —

1994 —

1995 —

Sales tax extended to: parking; motor vehicle
cleaning and maintenance (not repair); pet
grooming; laundry and dry cleaning; building and
residential cleaning, maintenance, and
exterminating; detective agencies, security, burglar
and fire alarm, and armored car services; and lawn,
garden, tree, and shrub services.

Repealed reduction in sales price for federal taxes.
Exemptions enacted for: sales to the University of
Minnesota, state universities, community colleges,
technical institutes, state academies, and the
University of Minnesota hospitals; and
nonprescribed analgesics.

Sales tax extended to garbage collection and
telephone access charges imposed by hotels.
Exemption enacted for capital equipment in new or
expanding industries (previously taxed at 4%).
Exemption repealed for motor vehicles leased by
local governments and nonprofit organizations.
Rate temporarily increased from 6% to 6.5%
(7/1-12/31/91). Local option sales tax for counties
of 0.5% enacted (1/1/92).

[solated or occasional sale exemption restricted for
business property.

Tax extended to private communications services
and pet boarding.

Tax of $7.50 imposed on the rental of a car, van, or
pickup truck for less than 29 days.

General exemption for sales to local governments
repealed. Still exempt: sales to school districts, and
to hospitals and nursing homes owned and operated
by local governments; and certain purchases by
public libraries.

Exemptions enacted for: large ships; photovoltaic
devices; and wind energy conversion systems.
Restricted the application of the tax on isolated or
occasional sales.

Exemptions enacted for: special tooling (previously
taxed at 4.5%); horses, other than racehorses; and
used farm machinery (7/1/94-6/30/95).

Rate on replacement capital equipment reduced from
6.5% to 5.5% and phased down to 2%.

Local option tax of 0.5% repealed; state rate
increased by 0.5% (7/1/96).

Additional tax on motor vehicle rentals changed to
an additional 6.2% on the rental charge.
Exemptions enacted for racehorses and used farm
machinery (7/1/95 - 6/30/96).
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1996 — Exemption for used farm machinery
(7/1/96-6/30/97).
— Individual purchases for personal use of $770 or less
exempted from use tax (1/1/97).
1997 — Exemptions enacted for replacement capital
equipment, previously taxed at a reduced rate
(7/1/98) and materials used in providing taxable
services (7/1/99).
— Used farm machinery exemption made permanent.
1998 — Tax on new farm machinery phased out.

Comparison With Other States — 1998

Local Option
Rate Sales Tax

California 7.25%" Yes
Illinois 6.25% Yes
lowa 5.0% Yesb
Michigan 6.0%° No

MINNESOTA 6.5%" No

New York 4.0%° Yes
North Dakota 5.0%" Yes
South Dakota 4.0% Yes
Texas 6.25% Yes
Wisconsin 5.0% Yest

a. Includes 1.25% state-administered sales and use tax
imposed in every county. Additional district taxes of
0.125% to 0.50% may apply.

b. Local sales tax may be imposed based on voter approval
in each jurisdiction. The rate is up to 1%.

¢ Rate is 4% for residential electricity and heating fuels.

d. General rate. See page 19 for other rates. (See Local Tax
Section for specially-authorized taxes.)

€. Additional 0.25% rate imposed in some counties for the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District.

f. 3% on farm machinery and repair parts, and mobile
homes; 7% on alcoholic beverages.

g. Used in 49 of 72 counties.

Of the comparison states, only South Dakota does not exempt

food products. Prescription drugs are also generally exempted
in these states. Only Minnesota exempts clothing.
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MOTOR VEHICLE SALES TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297B.02

Tax Base: Purchase price less value of trade-in vehicle of any
motor vehicle required to be registered in Minnesota.

Rate: 6.5%.

Flat tax in lieu of the 6.5% tax: $10 for passenger cars ten
years or older with value of less than $3,000; $90 for collector
vehicles.

Credit: Tax paid to other states, under certain conditions.

Major Exemptions: Purchases for resale by dealers; transfers
by inheritance: and gratuitous transfers between joint owners,
spouses, and parents and children.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997

F.Y. 1998

$393,710,000
$443,471,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays: Purchasers of motor vehicles required to be
registered in Minnesota.

Payment Date: When ownership is transferred.

History of Major Changes

1971 — Enacted at a rate of 3%. Rate increased from 3% to
4% in 1971 special session.

1981 — Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%.

1983 — Rate increased to 6%.

— Purchase price reduced by federal excise taxes.

1985 — Enacted a $10 tax on passenger cars at least ten
years old in lieu of the 6% tax.

1987 — Exemptions repealed for purchases by nonprofit
organizations and state and local governments.

1988 — Flat tax of $90 on collector vehicles enacted in lieu
of the 6% tax.
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1991 — Rate temporarily increased from 6% to 6.5%
(7/1-12/31/91). Local option tax for counties of
0.5% enacted (1/1/92).

1994 — Local option tax of 0.5% repealed; state rate
increased by 0.5% (7/1/96).

1997 — Exemption enacted for vehicles donated to a
501(c)(3) organization.

1998 — Exemptions enacted for ready-mix concrete trucks
and town purchases of road maintenance vehicles.

Comparison With Other States - 1998

Rate
California* 7.25%-8.5%"
Illinois* 6.25%
lowa* 5.0%
Michigan* 6.0%
MINNESOTA 6.5%
New York* 4.0%
North Dakota 5.0%
South Dakota 3.0%
Texas 6.25%
Wisconsin* 5.0%°

*  Motor vehicles in these states are taxed under the general
sales and use tax.

a. Including local taxes, which vary by county.

b. Additional 0.25% rate imposed in certain counties for the
benefit of the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation
District.

c¢. Local tax of 0.5% imposed in 49 of 72 counties. Stadium
tax of 0.1% imposed in 5 counties.
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MOTOR FUELS EXCISE TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 296.02 and 296.025

Tax Base: Fuels used in highway vehicles, aircraft, boats,
snowmobiles, and all terrain vehicles.

Rates:
Highway Fuels:
E85-14.2¢ per gallon
M85-11.4¢ per gallon
All other gasoline-20¢ per gallon
Liquefied petroleum gas or propane-15¢ per gallon
Liquefied natural gas-12¢ per gallon
Compressed natural gas-$1.739 per thousand cubic feet
All other special fuel (diesel)-20¢ per gallon

Aviation Fuels: 5¢ per gallon, reduced by refund based on
annual purchases.

Annual Gallons Rate After Refund
Up to 50,000 5.0¢
50,001-150,000 2.0¢
150,001-200,000 1.0¢
Over 200,000 0.5¢

Credit: Gasohol sold to governments and schools (phased out
by 10/1/99).

Exemption: Transit systems receiving state assistance.

Special Provision: Motor carriers pay the road tax of 20¢ per
gallon for gasoline or special fuel used in Minnesota.

Revenue

Collections: Highway Fuels Aviation Fuels
FY. 1997 $533,113,000 $2,968,000
F.Y. 1998 $548,365,000 $3,080,000

Disposition:

Aviation Fuels — State Airports Fund.

Highway Fuels

1.5% Water Recreation Account

0.75%  Snowmobile Trails and Enforcement Account
0.15%  All-Terrain Vehicle Account

0.164% Off-Road Vehicle Account

0.046% Off-Highway Motorcycle Account

Balance Highway User Tax Distribution Fund
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Who Pays: In general, distributors collect and remit the tax; in
some cases, it is the special fuel dealer or bulk purchaser.

Payment Dates: 23rd day of month following purchase.

History of Major Changes
1925 — Enacted at 2¢ per gallon on highway fuel.
1929 — Increased to 3¢ per gallon.
1937 — Temporary increase to 4¢ per gallon.
1941 — Rate of 4¢ made permanent.
1945 — Aviation fuel tax enacted at 4¢ per gallon
1949 — Increased to 5¢ per gallon on highway fuel.
1963 — Increased to 6¢ per gallon.
1967 — Increased to 7¢ per gallon.
1975 — Increased to 9¢ per gallon.
1980 — Increased to 11¢ per gallon.
— Enacted 2¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol.
1981 — Increased to 13¢ per gallon.
1983 — Increased to 16¢ per gallon and to 17¢ (1984).
— Rate reduction for gasohol increased to 4¢.
— Enacted 8¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol sold
to governments and schools.
— Aviation fuel rate increased from 4¢ to 5¢.
1985 — Replaced the reduced rates for gasohol with credits
to distributors.
— Enacted an annual user permit fee on vehicles using
compressed natural gas.
1986 — Reduced the amount of the credits to distributors for
fuel-grade alcohol used to produce gasohol.
1988 — Increased from 17¢ to 20¢ per gallon, (5/1/88).
— Annual permit fees increased, extended to propane.

1991 — Annual permit fees extended to all alternate fuels.
1993 — Alternate fuel permit repealed.
1994 — Alternate fuel permit reenacted.

— Gasohol credit phased out.
1995 — Alternate fuel permit repealed and replaced by
differing rates on LPG, LNG, and CNG.
1996 — Gasohol credit for governments and schools phased
out from 80¢ to zero on 10/1/99.
1998 — Credit for rerefined waste oil repealed.
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1998

Comparison With Other States

Rates Per Gallon

Highway Fuel

Aviation

Diesel

Special Fuels

Gasoline

@

Q

LNG

Gasohol

Gasoline

2¢

2¢

7¢
19¢
16¢

6¢
19¢
20¢

6¢
19¢
20¢

9¢
19¢
19¢
19¢
11.4¢°

18¢°
21.5¢
22.5¢

¢

18

California
Illinois
Jowa

0¢

0¢

19¢
20¢
19¢
20¢

3¢

8¢

3¢

3¢¢

0¢
17.39¢

0¢
12¢

21¢°
20¢

Michigan

15

MINNESOTA
New York

8¢

5.8¢"
8¢

8¢
20¢

8¢
20¢
16¢
20¢

8¢
20¢

8¢
20¢
18¢
20¢

North Dakota
South Dakota

Texas

N
W

d¢
20¢

6¢
20¢

6¢

18¢
20¢

6¢

6¢

20.3¢

20.3¢

18.6¢

N

Wisconsin

eMethanol is 11.4¢ and ethanol is 14.2¢.

sTax per 100 cubic feet.

fRate after refund (based on annual purchases) is 0.5¢ ,1¢ ,or 2¢.

] NG transport is prohibited in New York.

hased out of state and used in

5Plus 8.34¢ surcharge on diesel fuel purc

California by interstate truckers.
<6¢ per gallon discount for diesel fuel for commercia

7}
2
<
=
A

"Fuels excise tax does not apply to aviation use in New Yor

shown are for the separate petroleum business tax.

1 licensees under

Motor Fuel Tax Act.
¢Tax reduced to 1.5¢ for scheduled flights.




ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297G.03, 297G.04, and 297G.05

Tax Base: Distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, wines, and
premixed alcoholic beverages manufactured or received for
sale in Minnesota.

Rates:
Tax per Barrel
Beer: Alcohol by Weight of 31 Gallons
3.2% or less $2.40
More than 3.2% $4.60
Tax_
Per Liter Per Gallon
Distilled Spirits $1.33 $5.03
Wine: Alcohol by Volume .
14% or less $.08 $.30
More than 14% to 21% 25 95
More than 21% to 24% 48 1.82
More than 24% .93 3.52
Sparkling wine 48 1.82
Cider:  0.5% to 7% alcohol .04 15

Credit: Credit of $4.60 per barrel on the first 25,000 barrels
produced each year for sale within Minnesota by a small
brewer (produced less than 100,000 barrels).

Exemptions: Wine for sacramental purposes. Wine or beer
made at home. Alcoholic beverages sold to food processors

and pharmaceutical firms. Beer served on the premises of a

brewery at no charge.

Special Provision: Separate tax of 1¢ for each bottle or
container of distilled spirits and wine 200 milliliter and larger.
Tax is paid by the wholesaler at the time of removal from
inventory for sale, delivery, or shipment.

Revenue

Collections:  Distilled Spirits Beer Wine
FY. 1997  $38312,000 $14,784,000 $3,302,000
F.Y. 1998  $39,100,000 $15,004,000 $3,306,000

Disposition: State General Fund
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: For distilled spirits and wine, licensed manufac-
turers or wholesalers. For beer, brewers, importers, or
wholesalers.

Payment Dates: 18th day of month following the month in
which sale is made. Accelerated payment of 75% of June
liability due 2 business days before June 30 for filers required
to pay by electronic funds transfer.

History of Major Changes
1934 — Enacted at rates of: $1 per barrel of 3.2% beer and
$2 per barrel of strong beer; 60¢ per gallon of liquor;
and 10¢ to 60¢ per gallon for wine.
1937 — Liquor tax increased to $1 per gallon on liquor over
24% alcohol.
1947 — Increased rates of tax.
1959 — Beer tax increased to $1.60 per barrel for 3.2% and
$3.20 for strong beer.
— Liquor surtax of 15% imposed.
1969 — Additional tax on liquor from 4¢ to 75¢ per gallon
depending on alcoholic content.
1971 — Rates increased: distilled spirits from $2.50 to $4.53
per gallon. 3.2% beer from $1.60 to $2 per barrel.
Strong beer from $3.20 to $4 per barrel. Wine tax
rates increased.
1973 — Distilled spirits tax reduced from $4.53 to $4.39.
— Minnesota brewers’ credit enacted.
1979 — Sparkling wine tax reduced from $3.08 to $1.50.

1985 — Minnesota brewers’ credit repealed.
— Small brewers’ credit enacted.
1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted.

1987 — Rates increased: distilled spirits to $5.03 per gallon;
all categories of wine; 3.2% beer to $2.40 per barrel
and strong beer to $4.60 per barrel.

1989 — Small brewers’ credit increased.

1998 — Separate tax of 15¢ per gallon enacted for cider.
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Comparison With Other States 1998

Wine Per Gallon
More Than 14%

Beer Per Barrel

Distilled Spirits

Sparklin

Per Gallon 31 Gallons 14% or Less

$3.30 < 100 proof
$6.60>100 proof

$.30

$.20

$.20

$6.20

California

$.23

$.60
$1.75

$.23
$1.75

$2.17

$2.00
50% markup®
65% markup plus
12%-13.85% of price®

2

o
B
—

§
.20
o S

$1.75

$5.89

$.76°
$.95-$3.52

$51¢
$.30

$6.30
$2.40<3.2%
$4.60 strong

$1.82

$5.03

MINNESOTA

$.19

$.19

$.19

$2.53<24% $4.96

$6.43>24%

New York

$2.48 bulk $.50° $.60° $1.00
$4.96 bottles and cans

$2.50

North Dakota

$.93 $1.45-$2.07 $2.07

$3.93 $8.50

South Dakota
Texas

$.516
$.25

$.408
$.45

$.204

$.25

$6.00

$2.40
$3.25

$2.00

Wisconsin

State monopoly on spirits marks up wholesale price by 50%. Low-proof (5% or less) wine and spirits taxed as beer.

12% rate applies to on-premise sales; 13.85% applies to off-premises sales.

[ =R ]

Rates change at 16% rather than 14% for Michigan and at 17% for North Dakota.

CIGARETTE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297F.05

Tax Base: Cigarettes sold or used in Minnesota.
Rate: 48¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.

Credits: Distributors receive a 1% discount on the first
$1,500,000 of stamps purchased annually and 0.6% on excess.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1997 $180,571,000
F.Y. 1998 $180,342,000

Disposition:

Debt service on specified bonds (paid first)
Minnesota Future Resources Fund—2¢ per pack
State General Fund—Balance

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of cigarettes.

Payment Dates: 18th day of the month following sale to a
retailer in Minnesota. Accelerated payment of 75% of June
liability due 2 business days before June 30 for filers required
to pay by electronic funds transfer.

History of Major Changes

1947 — Enacted at 3¢ per pack.

1949 — Increased to 4¢ per pack.

1959 — Increased to 5.5¢ per pack.
1961 — Increased to 7¢ per pack.

1963 — Increased to 8¢ per pack.

1969 — Increased to 13¢ per pack.
1971 — Increased to 18¢ per pack.
1985 — Increased to 23¢ per pack.
1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted.
1987 — Increased to 38¢ per pack.
1991 — Rate increased to 43¢ per pack.
1992 — Rate increased to 48¢ per pack.
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Comparison With Other States — 1998

Rate Per Pack of 20
California 87¢
Illinois 58¢
lowa 36¢
Michigan 75¢
MINNESOTA 48¢
New York 56¢
North Dakota 44¢
South Dakota 33¢ -
Texas 41¢ :
Wisconsin 59¢

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297F.05

Tax Base: Tobacco products, other than cigarettes, sold or
used in Minnesota, including cigars, smoking tobacco, and
chewing tobacco.

Rate: 35% of wholesale price.

Credits: Distributors allowed discount equal to 1.5% of tax.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997

F.Y. 1998

$13,278,000
$13,798,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of products received
for sale in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: 18th day of the month following receipt of

the product in state. Accelerated payment of 75% of June

liability due 2 business days before June 30 for filers required -
to pay by electronic funds transfer.

History of Major Changes .
1955 — Enacted at rate of 15% of wholesale price.

1959 — Rate increased to 20%.

1985 — Rate increased to 25%.

1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted.

1987 — Rate increased to 35%. '

Comparison With Other States — 1998
California 26.17% of wholesale price.
Illinois 18% of wholesale price.
lowa 22% of wholesale price.

Michigan 16% of wholesale price.

MINNESOTA  35% of wholesale price.

New York 20% of wholesale price.

North Dakota 28% of wholesale price.

South Dakota 10% of wholesale price.

Texas 35.213% of factory list; variable rate on cigars.
Wisconsin 20% of manufacturer’s list price.

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297D.08

Tax Base: Marijuana or controlled substance, as defined, that
is held, possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or offered to
be sold in violation of Minnesota laws.

Rates:

e Marijuana — $3.50 per gram or portion thereof.

o Controlled substance — $200 per gram or portion thereof.

o Controlled substance not sold by weight — $400 on each
ten dosage units, or portion thereof.

Exemption: Pharmacists or other persons lawfully in
possession of marijuana or a controlied substance.

Credit: Tax paid to another state or local government.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997

F.Y. 1998

$112,000
$106,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: A person who in violation of Minnesota law
manufactures, produces, ships, transports, or imports into
Minnesota or possesses more than the specified amount of
marijuana or a controlled substance.

Payment Dates: Immediately upon acquisition or possession
in Minnesota.
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History of Major Changes

1986 — Enacted.

1988 — Tax on dosage units not sold by weight changed.

1989 — Credit enacted for a controlled substance tax paid to
another state or local government.

Comparison With Other States — 1998

Marijuana Controlled Substance

Per Gram  Per Gram Other*
lowa $5.00 $250 $400/10 units
MINNESOTA  $3.50 $200 $400/10 units
Texas $3.50 $200 $2,000/50 units
Wisconsin** $3.50 $200

* For controlled substance not sold by weight, tax is based on
number of dosage units.

** Also: $1,000 per marijuana plant; $10 per gram of
hallucinogenic mushrooms; and $1,000 per gram for
material containing LSD.

California, Illinois, Michigan, New York, North Dakota, and
South Dakota do not impose a separate excise tax on marijuana
or controlled substances.

MORTGAGE REGISTRY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.05

Tax Base: Principal debt which is secured by a mortgage of
real property in the state.

Rate: 23¢ per $100 of principal debt.

Exemptions: Organizations exempt from the property tax.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $48,515,000
(state portion) F.Y. 1998 $67,641,000
Disposition:
State General Fund 97%
County Revenue Fund 3%
Administration

Agency: Treasurer of the county in which the mortgaged land
is situated.

Who Pays: The lender who records or registers a mortgage of
real property.

Payment Dates: At or before the time of filing the mortgage
for record or registration.

History of Major Changes

1907 — Enacted at 50¢ per $100 of principal debt.

1913 — Changed to 15¢ per $100 if mortgage is for 5 years
or less; 25¢ for more than 5 years.

1945 — Changed to 15¢ per $100 on any mortgage.

1987 — Rate increased to 23¢ for each $100 of debt.

1991 — Reverse mortgages subject to tax.

Comparison With Other States —1998
MINNESOTA  23¢ per $100 of principal debt.

New York 50¢ (plus an additional 50¢ in specified

situations) per $100 of principal debt.

The other comparison states do not have a similar tax.
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DEED TRANSFER TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.21

Tax Base: Transfer of real estate by any deed, instrument, or
writing.

Rates: $1.65 for consideration of $500 or less plus $1.65 for
each additional $500.

Major Exemptions: Executory contracts for the sale of land;
mortgages; wills; plats; leases; cemetery lot deeds; deeds of
distribution by personal representatives; transfers between
co-owners partitioning undivided interest in the same piece of
property; and transfers between the parties pursuant to a
decree of marriage dissolution.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $46,246,000
(state portion) F.Y. 1998 $52,566,000
Disposition:
State General Fund 97%
County Revenue Fund 3%

Administration
Agency: Treasurer of the county in which the land is situated.

Who Pays: Any person who grants, assigns, transfers, or
conveys real estate.

Payment Dates: At the time of transfer.

History of Major Changes
1961 — Enacted at $1.10 for first $1,000 of consideration
and 55¢ for each additional $500.
1967 — Increased to $2.20 for first $1,000 and $1.10 for each
additional $500.
1973 — Included corporations in those subject to tax.
1987 — Rate increased to $1.65 for $500 or less and $1.65
for each additional $500.
— Extended tax to personal property transferred as part
of total consideration.
— Eliminated exemption for state and local
governments.

f

Comparison With Other States - 1998

California

Illinois

lowa

Michigan

MINNESOTA

New York

South Dakota

Wisconsin

55¢ per $500 consideration after the first $100
at the city or county option. The full sales
price is subject to tax.

50¢ per $500 consideration. -

80¢ per $500 consideration after the first
$500.

$3.75 per $500 value state real estate transfer
tax, plus county tax of 55¢ per $500 if
population under 2 million, 75¢ per $500 if
population 2 million or more.

$1.65 for consideration of $500 or less plus
$1.65 for each additional $500.

$2 per $500 consideration after the first $100.
For residences with consideration of $1
million or more, an extra $5 per $500 of
consideration.

50¢ per $500 consideration.

30¢ per $100 consideration.

North Dakota and Texas do not impose a deed transfer tax.
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GAMBLING TAXES

LAWFUL GAMBLING TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Tax Base: Gross receipts of a licensed organization from
bingo, raffles, and paddlewheels less prizes paid out.

Rate: 9.5%
'?t

Major Exemptions: Lawful gambling if conducted by the
organization on no more than five days per year and prizes do
not exceed $50,000 per year. 4
Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $2,136,000

F.Y. 1998 $2,310,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Licensed fraternal, religious, veterans, and other
nonprofit organizations.

Payment Date: 20th of the month.

History of Major Changes

1984 — Enacted.

1986 — Pull-tabs exempted, separate pull-tab tax imposed.

— Exempted lawful gambling if conducted by an

organization on no more than five days per year and
prizes do not exceed $50,000 per year.

1988 — Tipboards exempted; made subject to pulltab tax.

1998 — Rate reduced from 10% to 9.5%.

Comparison With Other States — 1998

Illinois 3% of gross proceeds for charitable games,
5% of gross proceeds for bingo. §
MINNESOTA 9.5% on gross receipts less prizes.
North Dakota 5% - 20% on adjusted gross proceeds.
Texas 5% of value of prizes awarded at bingo A
games; 3% on gross rentals of premises to
conduct bingo games.
Wisconsin 2% on bingo gross proceeds.

California, lowa, Michigan, New York, and South Dakota do
not have similar taxes.
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PULL-TAB AND TIPBOARD TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Tax Base: Ideal gross of each pull-tab or tipboard deal sold
by a distributor. A “deal” is defined as each separate package,
or series of packages, consisting of one game of pull-tabs or
tipboards.

Rate: 1.9%

Exemption: Lawful gambling if conducted by an .
organization on no more than five days per year and prizes do
not exceed $50,000 per year.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997

F.Y. 1998

$29,910,000
$29,271,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Who Pays: Licensed distributors.
Payment Date: 20th of the month.

History of Major Changes

1986 — Enacted. Separate pull-tab tax replaced the
charitable gambling tax on puli-tabs.

1988 — Tipboards made subject to the pull-tab tax.

1989 — Tax changed from 10% of ideal net to 2% of ideal
gross.

1996 — Refund allowed to organizations for tax on unsold
tickets.

1998 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.9%.

Comparison With Other States — 1998

Illinois 5% of gross receipts.
MINNESOTA 1.9% of ideal gross.
North Dakota 4.5% of gross receipts.

The other comparison states do not impose a separate pull-tab
or tipboard tax.
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COMBINED RECEIPTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Tax Base: Gross receipts from pull-tabs and tipboards.

Graduated Rate Schedule:

Fiscal Year Receipts Tax Rate
First $500,000 0%
$500,001 - $700,000 1.9%
$700,001 - $900,000 3.8%
Over $900,000 5.7%

Exem.pti(?n: Lawful gambling if conducted by the
organization on no more than five days per year and prizes do
not exceed $50,000 per year.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $30,276,000
F.Y. 1998 $30,625,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue.

Who Pays: Licensed fraternal, religious, veterans, and other
nonprofit organizations.

Payment Date: 20th day of the month.

History of Major Changes
1989 — Enacted, effective 10/1/89.
1998 — Rates reduced.

Comparison With Other States — 1998

Illinois Tax on riverboat gambling: graduated
rates of 15% to 35% of adjusted gross
receipts; admission tax of $2.

Iowa Tax on excursion boat gambling and slot
machines at race tracks based on adjusted
gross receipts of the licensee: graduated
rates of 5%, 10%, and 20%.

MINNESOTA Tax on pull-tab and tipboard receipts of an
organization: graduated rate schedule of

0%, 1.9%, 3.8% and 5.7%.

The other comparison states do not impose a similar tax.

38

PARI-MUTUEL TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 240.15

Tax Base: Total amount bet in pari-mutuel horse racing pools at a
licensed racetrack.

Rates and Disposition:

State General Fund: 6% of the takeout in excess of $12 million
annually. The takeout is 17% for straight pools; 23% for multiple
pools.

Minnesota Breeder’s Fund: 1% of the total amount bet.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1997 $854,000
F.Y. 1998 $794,000

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Racing Commission
Who Pays: Any licensed racetrack.

Payment Date: Within seven days of date tax was collected.

History of Major Changes

1982 — Minnesota Constitution amended to allow pari-mutuel
betting on horse races.

1983 — Tax enacted.

1988 — Changes made to the tax base and rates.

1989 — Pari-mutuel betting allowed on out-of-state horse races
televised at a licensed racetrack.

1996 — One-year exemption of first $12 million of the takeout.

1998 — Exemption of first $12 million made permanent.

Comparison with Other States — 1998

Dog Racing
Taxable Event Tax Base Tax Rate
Towa Greyhound  Gross sum wagered 4%-6%

South Dakota  Greyhound

simulcast ~ Season handle 4.5%
Texas Greyhound Daily handle 2%-5%
Wisconsin Greyhound Daily handle 2%-8.67%
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California

[llinois

JTowa

Michigan

MINNESOTA

New York

North Dakota

South Dakota

Texas

Wisconsin

Horse Racing

Taxable Event Tax Base Tax Rates
Thoroughbred Ontrack handle 4.8%-7.5%

Offtrack handle ~ 2.5%- 4%
Quarterhorse/harness Total handle. 1%
Fair racing Ontrack handle  2.5% - 4.5%

Offtrack handle  1.5%-3%
Cook County races Daily handle 2%
Downstate races 1st $400,000 daily 1%

Excess over $400,000 2%

(Additional tax on multiple wagering pools)

Admission

Live races
Simulcast races

Per person 15¢
Gross sum wagered 6%
Gross sum wagered 2%

(Credits to licensees for debt retirement or operating

expenses)

Live races
Simulcast races

Live and
simulcast races

On-track betting
Thoroughbred
Thoroughbred
Standardbred
Standardbred
Off-track betting
Admissions

Live/Simulcast

Live races

Simulcast races
Live/Simulcast

Simulcast
(no live racing)
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No tax

All wagering 3.5%
Total bet 1%
Annual takeout exceeding

$12 million 6%
Breakage 20%
Betting handle 1% -7.5%
Breakage 50%
Betting handle  0.5%-1.5%
Betting handle  0.5% - 1.5%
Admission charge 4%
Betting handle 2% - 4%

Total exceeding 1.25%
retained by licensee or
remitted to county w/o

breakage 4/17
Daily handle 4.5%
Daily handle 1% - 5%
Daily handle 1%-3%

~—

SPORTS BOOKMAKING TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.03

Tax Base: Value of all bets received by a person engaged in
sports bookmaking. Sports bookmaking (a felony) is defined
in the criminal code as intentionally receiving, recording, or
forwarding more than 5 bets within a 30-day period that total
more than $2,500 on any one or more sporting events.

Rate: 6%

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1997 $3,000
F.Y. 1998 $5,000

Dispositioh: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Persons engaged in receiving, recording,
forwarding or accepting sports bookmaking bets.

Payment Dates: 20" day of the month following sports
bookmaking activity.

History of Major Changes
1993 — Enacted.

Comparison With Other States — 1998

None of the other comparison states imposes a tax on illegal
sports bookmaking.
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GROSS EARNINGS TAXES
INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 60A.15, 60A.198,
69.54, and 299F .21

Tax Base: Gross premiums less return premiums received on
all business in Minnesota.

Rates: - .

2.0% — Domestic and foreign companies’ premiums.

1.26% — Mutual property and casualty companies yv1.th assets
more than $5 million but less than $1.6 billion as of
12/31/89.

1.0%* — Health maintenance organizations; nongroﬁt health
service plan corporations; and community integrated
service networks. ‘ _

1.0% — Mutual property and casualty companies with assets
less than $5 million and town and farmers’ mutual
insurance companies.

3.0% — Surplus line agents. ‘

0.5% — Fire marshal tax on fire premiums. .

2.0% — Surcharge on fire premiums for property located in
cities of the first class.

* Not imposed on entities that meet statutory cost containment
goals.

Special Provision: Foreign companies are subject to retalia-
tory tax increase.

Major Exemptions: fraternal benefit societies and Minnesota’s
comprehensive health association plan premiums.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1997 $176,492,000
F.Y. 1998 $151,542,000

Disposition:

Health Care Access Fund — taxes paid by health mainte‘nance
organizations; nonprofit health service plan corporations, and
community integrated service networks. '

State General Fund — taxes paid by other companies.

(The proceeds from the tax on certain types of premiums are
paid as aids to local fire and police departments.)

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign insurance companies doing
business in Minnesota.

42

Payment Dates: Most companies make three estimated
payments per year on April 1, June 1, and December 1. Annual
return due March 1 of the following year.

History of Major Changes

1868 — 2% gross premiums tax imposed on foreign insurance
companies.

1872 — 2% tax extended to domestic companies.

1895 — Retaliatory tax provisions adopted.
1913 — Fire marshal tax of 0.375% adopted.

1934 — 2% surcharge on fire premiums enacted.
1937 — Fire marshal tax increased to 0.5%.

1953 — 5% ocean marine profits tax enacted.

1987 — Exemptions removed from domestic mutual

insurance companies, cooperative life and casualty
companies, and premiums paid to Workers’
Comprehensive Reinsurance Association.

~ Eliminated the credit for payments to the Minnesota
Comprehensive Health Association.

1988 — Tax rate for certain mutual property and casualty
insurance companies phased down from 2% for 1988
to 0.5% for 1992 and after.

1992 — Ocean marine profits tax repealed and replaced by
2% premiums tax.

— Nonprofit health service plan corporations and health

maintenance organizations subject to 1% premiums
tax, beginning 1/1/96.

1994 — Credit enacted for guaranty association assessments.

1995 — Rate increased from 0.5% to: 1.26% for mutual
property and casualty companies with assets between
$5 million and $1.6 billion; and 1.0% for town and

farmers’ mutual companies and for mutual property
and casualty companies with less than $5 million in
assets.

1997 — One-year exemption enacted for health maintenance
organizations, nonprofit health service plan
corporations, and community integrated service
networks that meet specified cost containment goals
for 1996 and also for 1997.

— For each year after 1999, the 1% premiums tax on
health maintenance organizations, nonprofit health
service plan corporations, and community integrated
service networks not imposed unless a structural
deficit is forecast for the Health Care Access Fund

1998 — Health maintenance organizations, nonprofit health
service plan corporations, and community integrated
service networks made exempt for April through
December 1999.
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Comparison With Other States - 1998

Premiums Tax Rate

California 2.35%.
Nlinois 0.4% to 3%.
Iowa 2%.

MINNESOTA See rates on previous page.

New York 0.8% to 1.3%; top rate of 0.4% or $5,000
for captive insurers.

294, for life insurance, 1.75% for accide.nt,
health, property, casualty and surplus lines
of insurance.

North Dakota

1.25% annuity tax; 2.5% premium tax;
0.5% fire marshal tax.

South Dakota

Texas 1.75% for life, accident, and health
insurance; 1.6% to 3.5% for property and
casualty insurance; and 1.3% to 2.0% on
title insurance.

Wisconsin 2% on casualty and foreign life insurance
companies; 2.375% on fire insurance;
0.5% on marine insurance; 3.5% of gross
income (except interest on reserves anq
premiums on annuities) for domestic life
insurance companies.

Michigan has no insurance premiums tax. Insurers pay the
single business tax at an effective rate of 1% after credits.
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HEALTH CARE PROVIDER SURCHARGES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 256.9657, 256B.19

Tax Base and Rates:

Licensed nursing homes, other than state-operated: $625 per
licensed bed. For county-owned nursing homes, an
additional $5,723 per licensed bed.

Hospitals: 1.56% of net patient revenues, excluding Medicare.
For Hennepin County Medical Center (HCMC) and the
University of Minnesota Hospital, an additional 1.8% of net-
patient revenues excluding Medicare, plus monthly
payments of $1.5 million by HCMC and $500,000 by the
University of Minnesota Hospital.

Health maintenance organizations and community integrated
service networks: 0.6% of total premium revenues.

Revenue
Collections: EF.Y. 1997 $124,818,000
F.Y. 1998 $121,143,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Department of Human Services

Who Pays: Nursing homes, hospitals, health maintenance
organizations, community integrated service networks.

Payment Dates: 15" of each month.

History of Major Changes:

1991 — Enacted, on hospitals and nursing homes.

1992 — Tax base and rates for hospitals and nursing homes
changed. Additional surcharge of 2% for county
hospitals in Hennepin and Ramsey.

— Surcharge extended to physicians and health
maintenance organizations.

1993 — Rates increased for nursing homes and hospitals.

— Additional surcharge for Ramsey County deleted.
— Surcharges for the University of Minnesota and
county nursing homes enacted.

1997 — Physician surcharge repealed.
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MINNESOTACARE TAXES

Minnesota’s health care access program, MinnesotaCare, is
funded by the three taxes in this section. The Minnesotapare
pharmacy tax was repealed in 1997. Funding is al'so d'erlved
from a premiums tax on health maintenance organizations
and nonprofit health service plan corporations.

HOSPITAL AND SURGICAL CENTER TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. 1 and la

Tax Base: Gross revenues for patient services.
Rate: 1.5%

Major Exemptions: Medicare payments; medical assistance
payments; general assistance medical care payments;
payments received from hospitals, surgical centers, and health
care providers subject to MinnesotaCare taxes;
MinnesotaCare program payments; home health care and
hospice services.

Credit: Tax paid to another state.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $44,499,000
F.Y. 1998 $32,173,000

Disposition: Health Care Access Fund

Administration:
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Hospitals and surgical centers.

Payment and Filing Dates: Monthly estimated tax payments
- 15" of the following month. Annual return - March 15.

History of Major Changes

1992 — Enacted, effective 1/1/93.

1997 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999
and extended to 2000 and 2001 if estimated positive
balance for the Health Care Access Fund.

— Medical supplies, appliances, and equipment
removed from tax base.

— Research deduction sunsetted after 1999.

__ Research credit enacted equal to 2.5% of qualifying
expenditures, effective in 2000.
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HEALTH CARE PROVIDER TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. 2

Tax Base: Gross revenues for patient services.

Rate: 1.5%

Major Exemptions: Medicare payments; medical assistance
payments; general assistance medical care payments; payments
received from hospitals, surgical centers, and health care
providers subject to MinnesotaCare taxes; MinnesotaCare
program payments; home health care and hospice services.

Credit: Tax paid to another state.

Revenue
Collections:  F.Y. 1997 $78,768,000
F.Y. 1998 $77,868,000

Disposition: Health Care Access Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Health care providers that furnish directly to a
patient or consumer the following goods or services: medical,
surgical, optical, visual, dental, hearing, nursing services,
drugs, laboratory, diagnostic or therapeutic services, or any
other goods or services that qualify for medical assistance
reimbursement. A staff model health carrier or a licensed
ambulance service is also a health care provider. Hospitals,
nursing homes, pharmacies, and surgical centers are not
considered health care providers for purposes of this tax.

Payment and Filing Dates: Quarterly estimated tax payments
- the 15" of April, July, October, and the following January.
Annual return - March 15.

History of Major Changes
1992 — Enacted, effective on 1/1/94
1997 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999
and extended to 2000 and 2001 if estimated positive
balance for the Health Care Access Fund.
— Medical supplies, appliances, and equipment
removed from tax base.
— Research deduction sunsetted after 1999.
— Research credit equal to 2.5% of qualifying
expenditures, effective in 2000.
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WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTOR TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. 3 and 4

Tax Base: Gross revenues from the sale or distribution of
prescription drugs that are delivered in Minnes.ota. 'A use tax
is imposed on drugs received for resale or use in Minnesota by
a person other than a wholesale drug distributor.

Rate: 1.5%
Credit: Tax paid to another state

Revenue )
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $26,342,000
F.Y. 1998 $28,085,000

Disposition: Health Care Access Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Wholesale drug distributors or other persons who
receive prescription drugs for resale or use in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Quarterly estimated tax payments - the 15" of
April, July, October, and the following January. Annual return
- March 15.

History of Major Changes

1992 — Enacted, effective 1/1/94.

1997 — Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999
and extended to 2000 and 2001 if positive balance
for the Health Care Access.
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SEVERANCE AND TONNAGE TAXES
MINERAL TAXATION

The production tax and other taxes on minerals are found in
the Local Tax Section.

OCCUPATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.01

Tax Base: Similar to the corporate franchise tax but starting
point is the mine value of iron ore, taconite concentrates, or
direct reduced ore mined or produced in Minnesota. Mine
value is determined annually by the Commissioner of
Revenue. Deductions allowed only for expenses necessary to
convert raw iron ore, taconite concentrates, or other ore to
marketable quality.

Rate: 9.8%. Non-unitary provisions result in 30% appor-
tionment to Minnesota. Also subject to alternative minimum
tax.

Special Provisions: Other provisions that differ from the
corporate franchise tax: unitary principle not applicable;
percentage depletion allowed.

Revenue

Collections: Iron Ore Taconite
F.Y. 1997 $184,000 $2,564,000
F.Y. 1998 $213,000 $1,082,000

Disposition:
State General Fund 50%*
Elementary and secondary schools 40%
University of Minnesota 10%

* Of this amount, an amount equal to 1.5¢ per taxable ton is
appropriated to the Iron Range Resources and
Rehabilitation Board (IRRRB) for environmental
development or economic development loans or grants in
Carlton and Koochiching counties.
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Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax
Office in Eveleth

Who Pays: Mining companies operating in this state.

Payment Date: May 1 for the previous year.

History of Major Changes

1921 — 6% occupation tax imposed on iron ore.
1937 — Rate increased to 10%; reduced to 8% for
subsequent years.

1941 — Labor credit enacted, reducing the rate.

1947 — Rate increased to 11%; with credits rate reduced to
minimum 3.75%.

1955 — 15% surtax added.

1959 — Additional 1% tax imposed.

1964 — Taconite Amendment to the Minnesota Constitution
adopted by the voters, which restricted the total
amount of occupation, royalty, and excise taxes paid
by taconite companies. It expired at the end of
1989.

1971 — Occupation tax on taconite 15%, after credits
6.75%. Occupation tax on iron ore 15.5% after
credits 14%.

1984 — Reduced rate to 15% for natural iron ores.

1985 — Reduced rate on taconite and iron ore to 14% by
1987.

1987 — On ores other than taconite and iron ore, tax changed
to be same as the corporate franchise tax. Beginning
in 1990, tax on taconite and iron ore changed in a
similar manner.

1989 — Tax based on the valuation of the ore. Allowed
deductions specified.

1991 — Credit allowed for alternative minimum tax paid ina
prior year.
1995 — Tax imposed on direct reduced ore. (No direct ore

has been produced in Minnesota to date.)

1996 — Appropriation to IRRRB for Carlton and
Koochiching Counties increased from 1¢ to 1.5¢ per
ton.
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Comparison With Other States — 1998

Resource Rate

Michigan Natural gas 5% of gross market value
Crude oil 6.6% of gross market value
Crude oil 4% of gross market
(from stripper ~ value. In addition,
wells) productiorn of natural gas

and oil is subject to a fee of
1% or less of market value
annually to pay state
administrative expenses.

MINNESOTA Iron ore, tac- 9.8% of taxable income
onite concen-
trates, and
direct reduced
ores

North Dakota  Crude oil 5% of market value.
Natural gas 3.85¢ per mcf (adjusted

annually)
North Dakota  6.5% of market value
crude oil (4% for secondary and

tertiary recovery wells and
new wells.)

South Dakota Mineral $4 per ounce of gold;
products 10% of net yield from sale
of extracted minerals; plus
an additional tax of from $1
to $4 per ounce of gold,
depending on the price of

gold.

Energy 4.5% of taxable value.
minerals

Texas N'fltural gas 7.5% of market value.
Oil 4.6% of market value.
production

Wisconsin Petroleum 5¢ per ton processed.
products

California, Illinois, Iowa, and New York do not impose an
occupation tax.
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NET PROCEEDS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.015

Tax Base: Net proceeds from mining or extracting mineral
and energy resources in Minnesota.

Rate: 2%

Exemptions: Sand, silica sand, gravel, building stone,
crushed rock, limestone, granite, dimension granite, dimension
stone, horticultural peat, clay, soil, iron ore, and taconite
concentrates.

Revenue
Collections: No revenues have been collected to date.

Disposition: (based on where resources are mined)
Outside the taconite tax relief area — State General Fund
Within the taconite tax relief area:

City/town where mined/extracted 5%
Taconite municipal aid account 10%
School district where mined/extracted 10%
Qualifying group of school districts 20%
County where mined/extracted 20%
Distributed as taconite homestead credit 20%
Iron Range Resources/Rehabilitation Board 5%
NE Minnesota Economic Protection Trust Fund 5%
Taconite Environmental Protection Fund 5%
Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax
Office in Eveleth

Who Pays: Companies that mine or extract the resources.
Payment Date: June 15 for the previous calendar year.

History of Major Changes
1987 — Enacted, effective with calendar year 1987.
1990 — Clay exempted from the tax.

Comparison With Other States - 1998
MINNESOTA 2% of net proceeds from specified
mineral and energy resources

Wisconsin Graduated rates from 3% to 15% on net
proceeds from metalliferous minerals.

The other comparison states do not impose a net proceeds
tax.
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TAXES IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 168

Tax Base: Motor vehicles using the public streets and
highways.

Rate:

Passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans: $10 plus 1.25% of
base value. The percentage of base value declines with the age
of the vehicle: 100% in the 1st and 2nd years; 90% in the 3rd
and 4th years; 75% in the 5th and 6th years; 60% in the 7th
year; 40% in the 8th year; 30% in the 9th year; and 10% in the
10 year. Minimum tax: $35.

Flat tax for vehicles over ten years old: $35.

Trucks, tractors, and buses: based on the type, weight, and age
of the vehicle. A minimum tax applies to each type of vehicle.

Major Exemptions: Vehicles owned by governmental units;
school buses; agricultural tractors and trailers; special mobile
equipment; vehicles used solely for carrying construction
camp equipment or attached machinery; fire apparatus;
ambulances; and vehicles not operated on highways.

Revenue
Collections F.Y. 1997 $476,222,000
F.Y. 1998 $510,956,000

Disposition: Highway User Tax Distribution Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays: Any person who registers a motor vehicle in the
state.

Payment Dates: When first registered to use the public roads
and annually thereafter upon renewal.

History of Major Changes

1911 — Enacted at $1.50 per vehicle.

1921 — Rates based on value and weight of vehicle.
1941 — Passenger cars taxed at 2.2% of value.

1949 — Vehicles reclassified and rate schedules revised.
1955 — Rates increased by 5%.
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1965 — Rate schedule modified. AIRFLIGHT PROPERTY TAX
1971 — Tax set on passenger vehicles at $10 plus 1.25% of Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.072
base value.
1973 — New truck rates established. Tax Base: Flight property of air carriers engaging in air
1976 — Minimums on trucks, tractors, and combinations commerce.
increased.
1989 — Depreciation schedule modified for passenger cars, Rates: Tax rate is determined annually to yield the property
pickup trucks, and vans. ; tax portion of the State Airports Fund. Rate for taxes payable
1990 — Exempted ambulances owned by private licensed in 1999 was approximately 4.58%.

ambulance services and vehicles used by driver

education programs at nonpublic high schools.
1996 — Eliminated exemption for vehicles owned by

representative of foreign powers.

Exemption: Commuter airlines electing to be taxed under the
aircraft registration tax.

Computation:
Value of airflight property, as determined by the
Minnesota Department of Revenue

times:  Apportionment factor - average of the three factors

Comparison With Other States - 1998

Passenger Cars

Tax Base Tax Rate of tonnage of passengers and freight, equated plane

California Value $29 plus 2% hours, and revenue ton miles

of market value equals:  Minnesota value

times:  tax capacity rate:
Illinois Flat rate $48 e 40% for quiet aircraft, as defined
e 70% for other flight property

Jowa Value and weight 1% of value e 50% of above rates for flight property of an

plus 40¢/1001bs. airline company using primarily turboprops and

that has scheduled passenger service to three or
more small or medium sized communities.
equals:  tax capacity
times:  tax rate - percentage of property tax portion of the
state airports fund to total tax capacity
equals:  airflight property tax.

Michigan Age, weight, and value 1984 and after:
$5 plus 0.5% of

list price based on

age; $35 minimum

MINNESOTA Value and age $10 plus 1.25%
of value based on Revenue

age; $35 minimum Collections: FY. 1997 $8,872,000

F.Y. 1998 $8,780,000
New York Weight $10.25 - $56

, Disposition: State Airports Fund.
North Dakota  Weight and age $26 - $251
Administration
South Dakota Weight $20 -$40 Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Texas Weight $40.50 - $58.50 Who Pays: All air carriers engaging in air commerce in
Over 6000 tbs: Minnesota under certificates issued by the United States

$25 plus 60¢/1001bs Department of Transportation.

Wisconsin Flat rate $45 Payment Dates: The tax is due and payable on January 1 of

each year following the levy of the tax.
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History of Major Changes
1945 — Enacted, assessed at 40% of value.
1953 — Changed to 33 1/3% valuation.
1976 — Exempted aircraft weighing less than 30,000 1bs.
1987 — Schedule of ratios replaced 33 1/3% ratio.
— Revenue yield specified by statute rather than the
statewide average property tax mill rate.
1992 — Revenue yield changed to property tax portion of the
state airports fund.
{
Comparison With Other States
In general, states that tax air flight property use the average
property tax rate statewide. Towa, New York, and North
Dakota do not impose a property tax on airflight property.
California and Texas have local taxes on airflight property.

AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 360.531

Tax Base: Value of noncommercial aircraft which regularly
use the airspace over or the airports in Minnesota.

Rate: 1% of value. The value is the base price, which is
reduced for depreciation: 10% in the second year and 15% for
the third and each succeeding year, subject to the minimum
tax. The minimum tax is the greater of 25% of the tax
computed on the original base price or $50.

Exemptions: Civil air patrol and government-owned aircraft.
Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $3,307,000

F.Y. 1998 $3,363,000

Disposition: State Airports Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Transportation

Who Pays: Any person who registers noncommercial aircraft
in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: When the aircraft is first registered and
annually thereafter on July 1.
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History of Major Changes

1945 — Enacted.

1957 — Exempted civil air patrol.

1987 — Minimum tax increased from $10 to $50.
Comparison With Other States — 1998

Michigan Aircraft weight tax of 1¢ per pound.
MINNESOTA 1% of value, based on age.

Wisconsin Annual fee: from $30 for 2,000 Ibs. or less
to $3,125 for more than 100,000 Ibs.

The other comparison states do not impose a similar tax.
RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATIONS
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.41
Tax Base: Number of members. The tax is in lieu of all

personal property taxes on distribution lines and their
attachments and appurtenances.

Rate: $10 for each 100 members or portion thereof.

Revenue:
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $46,000
F.Y. 1998 $43,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration:
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Rural electric cooperative association
Payment Date: March 1 for the previous calendar year.

History of Major Changes
1939 — Enacted
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WASTE TAXES

HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATOR TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 115B.22

Tax Base: Volume of hazardous waste generated.

Rates:

Generators That Produce Per Year

More than 2,640 gallons $500 *
From 264 to 2,640 gallons $200 *
From 10 to 264 gallons $50
10 gallons or less $0

* Or quantity tax, whichever is larger.

Quantity Tax

Hazardous waste discharged to a publicly-owned wastewater
treatment works or managed as a hazardous waste fuel or using
thermal treatment; 1.5¢ per pound of solid or 15¢ per gallon of
liquid. :

Hazardous waste managed under any other method: 3¢ per
pound of solid or 30¢ per gallon of liquid.

Major Exemptions: Hazardous waste that is: destined for
recycling; or incineration at an approved facility in Minnesota;
pretreated to a nonhazardous state under certain conditions; or
generated as a result of a response action.

Special Provision: The tax is repealed on January 1, 2004.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $1,569,000
F.Y. 1998 $1,698,000

Disposition: Environmental Fund, Environmental Response,
Compensation, and Compliance Account.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Generators of hazardous waste required to disclose
such generation to the Pollution Control Agency or the
metropolitan counties.

Payment Dates: Quarterly estimated tax payments due on the

15" of March, June, September, and December. Annual return
due on April 15.
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History of Major Changes
1983 — Enacted.

1984 — Exempted hazardous waste generated as residue
frqm a hazardous waste incineration facility.
1993 — Existing tax repealed and replaced by a new tax

structure in effect from 1994 to 2003.

Comparison With Other States — 1998
California, Iowa, New York, and Texas impose taxes or fees
on various categories of hazardous waste.

METROPOLITAN SOLID WASTE LANDFILL FEE
Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.843

Tax Base: Volume of solid waste disposed of at a solid waste
disposal facility in the seven county metropolitan area.

. Rate:

If the facility weighs the waste it accepts: $6.66 per ton.
If the facility does not weigh the waste but measures the
volume: $2 per cubic yard.

Exemption: Waste residue from recycling or energy and
resource recovery facilities at which solid waste is processed to
extract, reduce, convert to energy, or otherwise separate and
prepare it for reuse if at least 85% (by weight) of the solid
waste is reduced.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1997 $2,154,000
F.Y. 1998 $2,347,000
Disposition:
Metropolitan Landfill Abatement Account,
Environmental Fund 75%
Metropolitan Landfill Contingency
Action Trust Fund 25%
Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

th I.’ay:sz Operators of mixed municipal solid waste disposal
facilities in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott,
and Washington counties.

Payment Date: 20th day of the month for the previous month.
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History of Major Changes

1984 — Enacted.

1989 — Rate increased from 50¢ to $2 per cubic yard.

1994 — Differential rate enacted for facility that weighs the
waste it accepts. .

Comparison With Other States — 1998
California $1.34 per ton

Illinois 95¢ per ton

MINNESOTA $2 per cubic yard or $6.66 per ton

None of the other comparison states imposes a solid waste fee.

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 297H

Tax Base: Sales price of mixed municipal solid waste
management services received.

Rates:

Residential generators: 9.75%:

Commercial generators: 17%.

Non-mixed-municipal solid waste: 60¢ per noncompacted
cubic yard of periodic waste collection capacity purchased by
the commercial generator. Other rates apply to construction
debris and infectious and pathological waste.

Revenue
Collections: Solid Waste Solid Waste
Assessments Mgt. Taxes
F.Y. 1997 $21,390,000 —
F.Y. 1998 $15,237,000 $16,454,000

Note: The solid waste generator assessments and the sales tax
on solid waste management services were repealed and
replaced by the solid waste management taxes on 1/1/98.

Disposition:

Solid Waste Fund 50% of revenues or $22 million,
whichever is greater

General Fund Remainder
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Purchasers of waste collection services.

Who Remits: Providers of waste collection services collect
and remit the tax.

Payment Dates: Same as the state sales tax.

History of Major Changes

1993 — Enacted tax on mixed municipal solid waste at $2
per year for residential customers and 12¢ per
noncompacted cubic yard for nonresidential
customers.

1994 — Rate for nonresidential customers increased from
12¢ to 60¢ per noncompacted cubic yard.

— Extended to infectious, pathological, and industrial

waste and construction debris.

1997 — Solid waste generator assessments repealed along

N with the sales tax on mixed municipal solid waste
and replaced by the solid waste management tax,
effective 1/1/98.

61




LOCAL TAXES

PROPERTY TAXES AND
TAXES IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

GENERAL PROPERTY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 272.01

Tax Base: Net tax capacity or referendum market value of
real and personal property.

Rates: Local tax rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. Total tax
rate includes all levies for all taxing jurisdictions within which
the property is located (city or town, county, school district,
and any special taxing districts).

Major Exemptions:

Real property - public property used for public purposes;
educational facilities; religious and charitable institutions;
Indian lands; cemeteries; attached machinery.

Personal property - household goods; commercial and
industrial personal property; farm machinery and livestock;
agricultural products.

Computation for tax based on net tax capacity:
Market value — determined by county assessor,
except for state-assessed property.
times;  class rate(s) — determined by type of property, as
listed in table on next page.
equals:  net tax capacity
times:  local tax rate — aggregate of county, city or town,
school district, and any special taxing districts
equals:  gross tax
minus:  credits, in the following order:
— disaster credit
— power line credit
— agricultural preserves credit
—— enterprise zone credit
— disparity reduction credit
— conservation tax credit
_ education homestead credit*
— taconite homestead credit
— supplemental homestead credit
equals: nettax

*For taxes payable in 1999, the education homestead credit is

equal to 66.2% of the general education levy, with a maximum

credit per homestead of $320.
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Class Rates for Major Classes of Property Tax

Taxes Payable in 1999
Class and Type of Property Net Class Rate
1a Residential homestead
First $75,000 market value (MV) 1.0%
Over $75,000 MV 1.7%
1b Homestead of blind or disabled
First $32,000 MV 0.45%
Excess is Class la or 2a
1c Small homestead resorts 1.0%

1d Seasonal farm worker housing- same as Class la
2a Agricultural homestead
House, garage, and one acre - same as Class la
Remaining land and buildings

First $115,000 MV 0.35%
Over $115,000 MV
First 320 acres 0.8%
Over 320 acres 1.25%
2b Nonhomestead agricultural land; timberland 1.25%
3a Commercial, industrial, and utility property
First $150,000 MV 2.45%
Over $150,000 MV 3.5%
3b Employment property (enterprise competitive zones)
First $50,000 MV 2.3%
Over $50,000 MV 3.5%
4a Apartments, 4 or more units; private hospitals
In qualifying smaller cities outside the metro area  2.15%
All other 2.5%
4b Residential and farm nonhomestead, 2-3 units 1.7%
4bbNonhomestead residential or farm, 1 unit
First $75,000 MV 1.25%
Over $75,000 MV 1.7%
4c Certain low-income rental housing 2.4%
Commercial seasonal recreational residential 1.8%
Fraternity and sorority housing 1.25%
Manufactured home parks 2.0%
Noncommercial seasonal recreational residential
First $75,000 MV 1.25%
Over $75,000 MV 2.2%
4d Qualifying low-income rental housing 1.0%
Other low-income rental housing 2.2%
4e Residential portion of certain converted warehouses 2.3%
5 Tools, implements, and machinery of an electric 3.5%

generating, transmission, or distribution
system or a pipeline system.
Unmined iron ore and low-grade iron ore
All other property
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Property Tax Refund: Homeowners and renters may receive
property tax relief based on the relationship of homestead
property tax or 19% of rent paid and total household income.
The person’s property tax must be more than a specified
percentage of household income. Above that level, the state
will pay a percentage of the tax, up to a maximum refund of
$490 for homeowners and $1,140 for renters. The percent of
income, percent of state payment, and maximum refund
depend upon the income of the claimant. As the claimant’s
income increases, the amount the state pays decreases.
Eligibility for the property tax refund is limited to claimants
with incomes under $68,510 for homeowners and under
$39,960 for renters. The income thresholds and maximum
refund amounts are indexed for inflation.

Another refund (called the special refund or targeting) is
available to homeowners whose net property tax increases by
more than 12% from the previous year, with a maximum
refund of $1,000. Both the property tax refund and the special
refund are paid directly to the claimants by the state.

Revenue

Collections (millions):
Year Gross Prop.
Pay- Taxes Tax Taxes
able Levied* Credits  Refund** Paid
1997  $4.732.1 $183 $173.7 $4,540.1

1998  $4,802.7 $177.8 $182.8 $4,442.1

*  After homestead and agricultural credit aid and disparity
reduction aid.
** Includes targeting refund.

Disposition: Revenue is distributed by county auditors and
treasurers to the counties, municipalities, school districts, and
other taxing authorities according to the amount each levies.

Administration

Agencies: County assessor, county auditor, county treasurer.
Minnesota Department of Revenue — equalization of values
and valuation of state-assessed properties.

Who Pays: Owners of property not specifically exempt.
Payment Dates: First half of real estate tax is due by May

15th. Second half of real estate tax is due by October 15th
(November I5th for owners of agricultural land).
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- History of Major Changes

1860 — State Board of Equalization created to reduce
inequities of assessment.
1913 — Classification system enacted, with four classes of
property
1933 — Property classes increased from four to seven.
1934 — Constitutional amendment authorized the limited
exemption of household goods and farm machinery.
1937 — First $4,000 of homesteads exempted for state tax.
— Additional classes of property defined.
1945 — Airflight property tax enacted.
1961 — Indian lands exempt from taxation.
1967 — Homestead credit enacted at 35% of gross tax with a
maximum credit of $250.
— Senior citizen property tax credit enacted.
— State government property tax levy eliminated.
— Livestock and agricultural machinery exempted.
— Manufacturers given option to exempt either tools
and machinery or inventories.
— Adoption of county assessor system.
— Adoption of Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax
Law (known as “green acres”™).
— Farm homestead increased from 40 to 80 acres.
1969 — Taconite homestead credit enacted.
— Minnesota Open Space Property Tax law enacted.
1971 — Overall property tax levy limitation laws enacted for
school districts, counties, and municipalities.
— Mobile homes taxed as personal property.
— Fiscal disparities established.
— Business inventories and tools and machinery made
entirely exempt.
1973 — Senior citizen property tax freeze credit enacted.
— Increase in market value for residential property
limited to 5% per year.
— Manufacturing and business machinery considered
as real property (attached machinery) exempted.
1974 — Homestead credit increased to 45% of gross tax with
a maximum credit of $325.
— Farm homestead increased from 80 to 120 acres.
1975 — Limited market value for residential property
replaced with general limits on valuation increases.
— Property tax refund enacted.
— Flexible homestead base established.
— Agricultural mill rate differential increased.
1976 — Agricultural mill rate differential eliminated and
replaced with a credit at a higher rate.
1977 — Farm homestead increased from 120 to 160 acres.
— Classification ratios for homesteads reduced.
— Relief under property tax refund increased; senior
citizen property tax freeze credit repealed.
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1979 — Eliminated limited market value. Enacted two-stage
shift to estimated market value.

— Homestead credit increased to 50% of gross tax with
a maximum credit of $550.

— Classification ratios for homestead and certain other
property reduced.

— Farm homestead increased from 160 to 240 acres.

— Agricultural mill rate credit increased.

— Enacted power line credit (effective in 1982).

— Wetlands exemption and credit enacted.

— Gross earning tax on railroads replaced with the
general property tax.

1980 — Classification ratios lowered for homestead and
certain other property.

— Homestead credit increased to 58% of gross tax with
a maximum credit of $650.

— Native prairie exemption and credit enacted.

— Targeting credit for homesteads enacted.

1981 — Classification ratios for commercial-industrial
property and certain apartment buildings reduced.

— Agricultural mill rate credit made more progtessive.

1982 — Enterprise zone classification of property created.

— Reduced assessments for property damaged by a
natural disaster enacted, with state payments to offset
local revenue loss.

1983 — Homestead credit percentage reduced to 54%.

— Classification ratios for homestead property and
certain apartments changed.

— Classification ratio on commercial/industrial property
reduced.

— Additional classification ratios for enterprise zone
property created and state paid credit for enterprise
zone business enacted.

— Enacted a new property tax refund formula with new
maximums.

— Removed 240-acre limit for farm homesteads.

1984 — Classification ratio for commercial/industrial property
reduced.

— Agricultural credit increased.

— Targeting credit enacted for taxes payable in 1985.

1985 — Maximum homestead credit increased to $700.
— Agricultural credit increased, maximum repealed.
1987 — Small business property tax transition credit enacted
for 1988 only.
— Homestead classification ratios reduced.
Beginning with taxes payable in 1989:

— Replaced the homestead credit on nonagricultural
property and the agricultural credit with exemptions.
Local units of government reimbursed through
replacement aid.
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—— Restructured the classification system, reducing the
number of classes and increasing the ratios.

— Repealed the native prairie and wetlands credits.

— Exempted electric power distribution lines used to
supply electricity at retail to farmers.

1988 — Homestead credit reinstated for 1989 only and
maximum increased from $700 to $725.

— Agricultural credit reinstated for 1989 only but no
longer applicable to seasonal recreational property.

—— Classification ratios and mill rates replaced by tax
capacity rates applied to market value.

— “Truth in Taxation” system enacted (pay 1990).

1989 — Beginning with pay 1990, the homestead and
agricultural credits replaced by new state aids,
including school equalization aid and homestead and
agricultural credit aid (HACA).

— New class rates for 1990 and subsequent years.

— Levy limits to be repealed by 1993.

— Noncommercial seasonal recreational property
eligible for targeting refund for 1990 only.

1990 — Class rates changed for several types of property.

1991 — Class rates and brackets changed for homestead
property. Class rates changed for commercial/
industrial, residential rental, and seasonal residential
property.

— Separate vacant land class eliminated (pay 1993).

1992 — Homestead treatment extended to dwelling occupied
by relative of the owner.

— Calculation of targeting refund modified and limited
to a maximum of $1,500.

1993 — Limited market value established for agricultural,
residential, and noncommercial seasonal recreational
residential property for 1993-1998.

— Exclusion enacted for certain improvements to older
homes for up to ten years. After ten'years, 20% of
the excluded value added in each of five years.

— Class rates reduced for certain agricultural property.

— Non-school referendum levies applied to taxable
market value.

1994 — Restrictions added to exclusion of improvements for
older homes, including market value limit of
$150,000 ($300,000 in some areas).

— For the property tax refund, increased the income
thresholds and maximum refund amounts; indexed
both. Increased percent paid by the state.

— For targeting, reduced the percent paid by the state
from 75% to 60% and the maximum refund from
$1,500 to $1,000.
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1995 — Class rates reduced for: cabins (pay 1997);
apartments in qualifying smaller cities outside the
metropolitan area; and certain new commercial/
industrial property within transit zones.

— New operating school district referendum levies
based on referendum market value.

1996 — Class rates reduced for cabins.

— Electric power generation facilities eligible for
partial market value exclusion based on efficiency.

— Income qualifications changed for Class 1b.

— Fiscal disparities enacted for taconite tax relief area.

1997 — Class rates reduced for most types of property,
including homesteads (2nd tier), commercial/
industrial, apartments, cabins (1st tier), and Class 5.

— Brackets changed for homesteads and commercial/
industrial property.

— New classifications created for seasonal farm worker
housing and residential nonhomestead single unit
property.

— Education homestead credit enacted equal to 32% of
the property’s general education levy, with a
maximum credit of $225 per homestead.

— Levy limitations enacted for counties and for cities
over 2,500 population for pay 1998 and 1999 only.

—— One-year rebate enacted as a refundable income tax
credit for homeowners and renters equal to 20% of
property taxes paid in 1997.

— Property tax deferral program enacted for qualifying
senior citizens, beginning pay 1999.

— Limited market value program extended to 2001.

— Income tax credit for increases in cabin property
taxes, for pay 1998 and 1999 only.

— For property tax refund and rebate, rent constituting
property taxes changed to equal 18% of gross rent.

— All new referendum levied applied to referendum
market value.

1998 — Class rates reduced for most types of property.

— Education homestead credit percentage increased and
maximum increased to $320 for 1999 and $335
thereafter.

— One-year rebate enacted as a refundable income tax
credit for homeowners and renters equal to 20% of
property taxes paid in 1998, with a maximum rebate
of $1,500.

— For property tax refund and rebate, rent constituting
property taxes increased from 18% to 19% of gross
rent.
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TREE GROWTH TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.36

Tax Base: Five acres or more of forest lands used exclusively
for the growing of continuous forest crops.

Rates: Lands growing commercial forest types are taxed at
30% of the value of annual growth. Temporarily
nonproductive forests are taxed at 5¢ per acre or 15¢ per acre
for noncompliance with the reforestation agreement.
Permanently nonproductive lands are taxed at 5¢ per acre.

Credit: For each acre of land planted and maintained with at
Jeast 500 commercial trees, the owner is eligible for an annual
credit of 50¢ per acre which is applied against taxes on other
lands within the same governmental subdivision and is
allowed for ten years.

Special Provisions: The tree growth tax is in lieu of the
property tax. The owner must apply to, and receive approval
from, the county to have qualifying forest lands come under
this tax.

Revenue

Collections:  Year Payable
1997 $1,487,000
1998 $1,481,000

Disposition: Same as the property tax.

Administration
Agencies: County auditor, county board.

Who Pays: Those who apply for and receive county board
approval to have their forest lands so taxed.

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax.
History of Major Changes
1957 — Enacted.

1959 — Repealed restriction that a landowner may not have
more than 10,000 acres in one county under this tax.
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AUXILIARY FOREST TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 88.50

Tax Base: Any 35 acres or more of land that is suitable for
forestation or any wood lot containing 5 to 40 acres.

Rates: Land tax—annual tax of 10¢ per acre. Yield tax—
40% to 10% of value of timber, the rate determined by the year
of the harvest in relation to the contract period.

Special Provisions: This tax is in lieu of the property tax.
The land was made an auxiliary forest upon county board
approval. When the auxiliary forest contract expires, the land
automatically qualifies for the tree growth tax. No new
auxiliary forest contracts are allowed, or existing contracts
extended, after June 30, 1974.

Revenue

Collections:  Year Payable
1997 $3,000
1998 $3,000

Disposition: Same as the property tax

Administration
Agencies: County auditor, county board.

Who Pays: Those who received county board approval on or
before June 30, 1974.

Payment Dates: Land tax — annually by May 31. Yield tax
— at time of harvest.

History of Major Changes

1926 — Enabling constitutional amendment adopted.

1927 — Tax imposed on any tract of forestable land less than
160 acres; woodlots between 20 and 40 acres. Land
tax: 8¢ per $l assessed value. Yield tax: 10% of
marketable timber value.

1929 — Land tax changed to 5¢ per acre.

1945 — Size of land plot changed to any 35 acres or more
and wood lots between 5 and 40 acres. Rate changed
to 6¢ per acre.

1947 — Yield tax graduated between 40% and 10%.

1957 — Land tax rate changed to 10¢ per acre.

1974 — Prohibited contracts from being issued or extended,
effective after June 30, 1974.
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CONTAMINATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.91

Tax Base: Contamination value of taxable real property,
which is the amount of any market value reduction granted for
the property tax due to the presence of contaminants.

% of

Rates: Class Rate*
General rate 100.0%
Owner has in place an approved abatement

or management plan, as specified 50.0%
Neither the owner nor the operator is the

party responsible for the contaminants 25.0%
Neither the owner nor the operator is the

responsible party and an approved abatement

or management plan is in place. 12.5%

* (Class rate for that property under the property tax.

Major Exemptions: Value of contaminants for which the
requirements of a response action plan have been satisfied;
value of asbestos under certain conditions.

Revenue

Collections:  Year Payable
1997 $542,000
1998 $484,000

Disposition:
Tax on property that has a response plan
Contaminated Site and Development Account,

State General Fund 95%
County (for administrative costs) 5%
Tax on property without a response plan—distributed to local
jurisdictions in the same manner as the property tax.

Administration
Agencies: County assessor, auditor, and treasurer

Who Pays: Owners of contaminated property.

Payment Dates: Same as the general property tax.
History of Major Changes

1993 — Enacted, beginning with taxes payable in 1995.

1994 — Exempted asbestos-contaminated property that is
managed under a qualifying program.
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MINING PRODUCTION TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.24

Tax Base: Tonnage of merchantable ore concentrate
produced from taconite, iron sulfides, and semi-taconite.

Rates:

Taconite and Iron Sulfides - $2.141 per ton applicable to the
average production of the current year and the previous two
years. The rate is indexed annually by the implicit price
deflator.

Direct Reduced Iron — an additional tax is imposed equal to
3¢ per gross ton of concentrate for each 1% that the iron
contents exceeds 72% when dried at 212° F.

Direct Reduced Iron — for the first two years of a plant’s
production, no tax is imposed. Thereafter, the tax rate is a
percentage of the regular tax rate: 25% in the third year,
50% in the fourth year, 75% in the fifth year, and 100% in
the sixth year.

Special Provision: Additional tax of 10¢ per ton of taconite
tailings not deposited on land in accordance with specified
permits. Due to compliance with permits, tax is not imposed.

Revenue

Collections:  Year Payable
1997 $90,513,000
1998 $94,705,000

Disposition: The tax is distributed based on requirements and
formulas specified in state statute. The distribution of the net
tax made in 1998 for the 1997 production year is summarized
on the next page. (Source: Minnesota Mining Tax Guide,
Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax Office.
September 1998)
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Cents per
Aid recipients Taxable Ton

Taconite Cities and Towns 4.7¢
Taconite Municipal Aid 15.6
School Districts 395
Counties 22.5
County Road and Bridge 6.0
Taconite Property Tax Relief 304

Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation Board 9.6
Range Association of Municipalities & Schools .2
Taconite Railroad Grandfather Amount 7.1

Taconite Environmental Protection Fund 29.0
N.E. Minnesota Economic Protection Fund 11.9
Taconite Economic Development Fund 16.7
School Bond Credits and Payments 9.4
State of Minnesota 2
Other Administrative/Economic

Development Funds 9.7

212.5¢ =$2.125

Administration

Agencies:

Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax Office in
Eveleth — determination of liability and distribution.
Eligible counties — collection and distribution to local units.
Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board — collection
of its share.

Who Pays: Mining companies pay the production tax in lieu
of the property tax on land and structures used to mine, quarry,
or produce taconite.

Payment Dates: February 24 of the following year.

History of Major Changes

1881 — Tonnage tax on iron ore of 1¢ per ton imposed.

1897 — Tonnage tax on iron ore repealed and replaced by
the property tax.

1941 — Taconite production tax of 5¢ per ton imposed.

1959 — Production tax on semi-taconite enacted.

1967 — Copper-nickel production tax enacted.

1969 — Tax on taconite increased to 11.5¢ per ton.

1971 — Additional tax of 4¢ to 14¢ per ton imposed.

1975 — Taconite production tax increased by 39¢ per ton.

1977 — Taconite production tax increased to $1.25 per ton
with tax indexed based on the price of steel.




1984 — Index frozen for two years and converts to implicit
price deflator for production year 1987.
-— Water filtration plant credit enacted.
1985 — Taconite production tax paid to the counties and the
IRRRB.

1986 — Rate reduced from $2.048 to $1.90 per ton.

Indexing of rate suspended under certain conditions.

1987 — Rate set at $1.90 per ton for 1987 and 1988,
indexed thereafter.
— Production tax on copper-nickel repealed.
1990 — Rate set at $1.975 per ton for 1990, to be indexed
starting in 1991.
1992 — Rate set at $2.054 per taxable ton for production
years 1992 and 1993. Indexing to start in 1994.
1994 — Rate kept at $2.054 for 1994 production year.
— Lower rate enacted for direct reduced ore.
1995 — Rate kept at $2.054 for the 1995 production year.
1996 — Increase in rate due to indexing limited to 4¢ per ton
for 1996.
1997 — For direct reduced iron, additional tax of 3¢ per ton
imposed for each 1% that the iron content exceeds
72%.
— Rates applicable to direct reduced iron changed.
1998 — Rate kept at $2.141 for 1998 production year.

Comparison With Other States — 1998

Resource Rate
California Crude oil and A charge of about 3.5¢
natural gas per barrel of oil or ten

thousand cubic feet of
net gas produced.

MINNESOTA  Taconite $2.141 per ton, indexed.

North Dakota Coal 75¢ per ton plus 2¢ per

ton for lignite research.
Texas Sulphur $1.03 per long ton.

Illinois, lowa, Michigan, New York, South Dakota, and
Wisconsin do not impose a production tax.
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SEVERED MINERAL INTERESTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.165, Subd. 1

Tax Base: Mineral interests in real estate owned separately
from the title to the surface interests in the real estate.

Rates: Annual tax of 40¢ per acre times the fractional interest
owned. Minimum tax of $3.20 on any mineral interest.

Exemptions: Mineral interests taxed under other laws relating
to mineral taxation or those exempt from taxation due to
constitutional or statutory provisions.

Revenue

Collections:  Year Payable
1997 $714,000
1998 $647,000

Disposition: 80% of the proceeds are distributed in the same
manner as the property tax. The remaining 20% is deposited
in the Indian Business Loan Account of the Special Revenue
Fund.

Administration
Agency: County

Who Pays: Owners of mineral interests which are owned
separately from the affected real estate. :

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax.

History of Major Changes

1973 — Enacted.

1994 — Tax rate increased from 25¢ to 40¢ per acre;
minimum tax increased from $2 to $3.20, beginning
with taxes payable in 1995.
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UNMINED TACONITE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.26

Tax Base: Taconite in a forty-acre tract of land from which
the production of iron ore concentrate is less than 1,000 tons in
that year.

Rates: Market value times the class rate (4% for taxes payable
in 1998 and 3.5% for 1999) times the local property tax rate.
Maximum tax of $15 per acre.

Revenue

Collections:  Year Payable
1997 $456,000
1998 $445,000

Disposition: Distributed in the same manner as the property
tax.

Administration
Agency: County

Who Pays: Owners of taconite mineral interests.

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax.

History of Major Changes
1941 — Enacted at $1 per acre maximum.
1977 — Increased to $10 per acre maximum.

1994 — Maximum tax increased from $10 to $15 per acre,
beginning with taxes payable in 1995,
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LOCAL SALES TAXES

Minnesota law enacted in 1971 prohibits the imposition of
any local sales or income tax without specific legislative
authorization. The following table shows local sales taxes
authorized by special legislation and imposed by the local
government. It does not include: taxes that were authorized
but not imposed; taxes that have expired; or taxes that were
repealed. The total local sales tax on some transactions
involves combining two or more tax rates from the table.

Year Last
Rate FEnacted Changed

General Sales Tax

Cook County 1.0% 1993 1997
Duluth 1.0% 1973 1980
Hermantown 1.0% 1996
Mankato 0.5% 1991 1998
Minneapolis 0.5% 1986
Rochester 0.5% 1983 1998
St. Paul 0.5% 1993 1998
Two Harbors 0.5% 1998
Willmar 0.5% 1997
Winona 0.5% 1998
Lodging *
Bloomington 6.0% 1970 1990

Cook County towns Lutsen, 2.0% 1987
Schroeder, and Tofte

Duluth
More than 30 Rooms 5.5% 1970 1998
Other 3.0% 1970 1980
Minneapolis
More than 50 Rooms 5.0% 1986
Other 3.0% 1969
Rochester 3.0% 1971
St. Cloud 5.0% 1979 1986
St. Paul
More than 50 Rooms 6.0% 1986 1991
Other 3.0% 1970 1982
Two Harbors 1.0% 1994
Winona 1.0% 1991 1995

* In addition to the lodging taxes shown here, Minnesota
Statutes, Section 469.190, provides cities and towns with
the option to impose a lodging tax of up to 3%. Proceeds
must be used for tourism promotion. More than fifty
cities and towns impose this tax.
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Year Last LOCAL GROSS EARNINGS TAXES
Rate Enacted Changed Minnesota Statutes, Section 451.07

Restaurant Food and Beverages Tax Base: Gross earnings of utilities operating in certain cities

and counties.

Duluth 1.5% 1977 1998
Little Falls 0.5% 1996 . )
Minneapolis - Downtown 3.0% 1986 Rates: Varies by city
St. Cloud 1.0% 1986
Revenue
Liquor & Beer (On Sale) Collections: Gas and electric utility companies*
Bloomington 50% 1986 CY. 1996 CY. 1997
Minneapolis - Downtown 3.0% 1986
St. Cloud 1.0% 1986 Albert Lea $1,021,000 $1,093,000
Anoka 785,000 834,000
Admissions Coon Rapids 1,519,000 1,608,000
Bloomington Duluth 937,000 937,000
Spectator Events 3.0% 1970 Minneapolis 18,046,000 18,709,000
Minneapolis 3.0% 1969 St. Cloud 1,418,000 1,383,000
St. Paul 14,724,000 15,059,000
Amusements Winona 670,000 647,000
Minneapolis 3.0% 1969

Motor Vehicle Retail Sales - Tax Per Vehicle

*Cities shown are those with annual receipts over $500,000.

Mankato $20 1991 Disposition: Local revenue funds.
Rochester $20 1983 1992
Two Harbors $20 1998 Administration
Willmar $20 1997 Agency: Local units of government.
Winona $20 1998
Who Pays: Utility companies.
Revenue
Collections:* C.Y. 1996 C.Y. 1997 Payment Dates: Established locally.
Bloomington $10,122,000 $10,102,000
Duluth 11,272,000 11,669,000
Little Falls 20,000 48,000
Mankato 2,363,000 2,508,000
Minneapolis 36,955,000 38,774,000
Rochester 6,970,000 7,957,000
St. Cloud 1,474,000 1,759,000
St. Paul 11,722,000 12,289,000
Two Harbors 27,000 39,000
Winona 177,000 200,000
Cook County 980,000 1,026,000

* Reflect collections only from taxes imposed upon special

authorization,
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AGGREGATE MATERIAL TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.75

Tax Base: Aggregate material removed from gravel pits or
deposits in specified counties. Aggregate material means
nonmetallic natural mineral aggregate and includes sand, silica
sand, gravel, building stone, crushed rock, limestone, and
granite. Dimension stone and dimension granite are not
included.

Rates: 10¢ per cubic yard or 7¢ per ton.

Revenue
Collections:
County C.Y. 1996 C.Y. 1997
Becker $ 65,000 $ 94,000
Benton 0 0
Big Stone 56,000 81,000
Carver 48,000 63,000
Clay 154,000 183,000
Dakota 496,000 575,000
Hennepin 326,000 357,000
Kittson 28,000 34,000
LeSueur 153,000 180,000
Mahnomen 27,000 3,000
Marshall 17,000 2,000
Norman 3,000 13,000
Pennington 13,000 14,000
Polk 8,000 3,000
Ramsey 38,000 42,000
Red Lake 27,000 35,000
Scott 301,000 285,000
Sherburne 165,000 186,000
Sibley 30,000 37,000
Stearns 64,000 60,000
Washington 302,000 390,000
Wilkin 11,000 19,000
$2,331,000 $2,659,000
Disposition:
County road and bridge fund 60%
City or town for roads and bridges 30%
Restoration of abandoned pits 10%
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Administration
Agency: County (township in one case)

Who Pays: Those removing aggregate material from pits or
deposits in the specified counties.

Payment Dates: Quarterly.

History of Major Changes
From 1961-1979, seven counties had received authority to
impose this tax through special legislation.

1980 — Gave all counties the option of imposing such tax.
1982 — Uniform rate and other provisions enacted; tax
extended to all aggregate materials.

1983 — Extended tax to importers as well as operators.
Specified 26 counties subject to tax.
1984 — Exempted certain counties.

1996 — Authority to impose the tax extended to Chisago,
Murray, and Rock counties. (None of the counties
chose to impose the tax.)

1997 — Authority to impose the tax extended to Carlton,
Pope, and St. Louis counties. (Pope County
imposed the tax effective 4/1/98; Carlton and St.
Louis counties chose not to impose it.)

— Authorized specified townships in St. Louis County
to impose the tax if county chose not to impose it.
(Solway Township voted to impose the tax,
effective date to be determined.)
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GREATER MINNESOTA LANDFILL
CLEANUP FEE
Minnesota Statutes, Section 115A.923

Tax Base: Volume of solid waste disposed of at a solid waste
disposal facility outside the seven-county metropolitan area.

Rate: $2 per cubic yard.

Exemption: Waste residue from recycling or energy and
resource recovery facilities at which solid waste is processed to
extract, reduce, convert to energy, or otherwise separate and
prepare it for reuse if at least 85% (by weight) of the solid
waste is reduced.

Revenue

Disposition: County or sanitary district where facility is
located or the city for a city-owned facility. Revenue must be
used for landfill abatement purposes or costs of closure,
postclosure care, and response actions or other designated
purposes.

Administration
Agency: County, sanitary district, or city.

Who Pays: Operators of mixed municipal solid waste disposal
facilities outside the seven-county metropolitan area charge
and remit the fee.

History of Major Changes

1989 — Enacted.

1990 — Fee remitted to local unit of government rather than
Department of Revenue.

1991 — Changed the status of the operator of a mixed
municipal solid waste disposal facility from the
entity that pays the fee to the one that charges the
fee.

1995 — Exemption based on 85% of weight rather than
volume.
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MINNESOTA STATE TAX COLLECTIONS

NET AFTER REFUNDS
Fiscal Year 1998
% of
F.Y. 1997 Amount Total
(000’s) (000’s)
Individual Income $4,784.801 $4,749,533  42.15%
Income Tax Reciprocity 31,887 37,872 0.34
Corporate Franchise 680,898 752,061 6.67
Estate 48,944 61,612 0.55
General Sales & Use 3,018,193 3,255,981  28.90
Motor Vehicle Rental 8,907 9,900 0.09
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax 393,710 443,471 3.94
Motor Fuels Excise 536,081 551,445 4.89
Alcoholic Beverage 56,399 57,410 0.51
Cigarette 180,571 180,342 1.60
Tobacco Products 13,278 13,798 0.12
Controlled Substances 112 106 *
Mortgage Registry 48,515 67,641 0.60
Deed Transfer 46,246 52,566 0.47
Lawful Gambling Taxes 62,322 62,206 0.55
Pari-mutuel 854 794 0.01
Sports Bookmaking 3 5 *
Insurance Premiums 176,492 151,542 1.34
Health Care Surcharge 124,818 121,143 1.08
MinnesotaCare Taxes 149,609 138,126 1.23
Mining Occupation 2,748 1,295 0.01
Motor Vehicle Reg. 476,222 510,956 4,53
Airflight Property 8,872 8,780 0.08
Aircraft Registration 3,307 3,363 0.03
Rural Electric Co-ops 46 43 *
Hazardous Waste 1,569 1,698 0.02
Metropolitan Landfill 2,154 2,347 0.02
Solid Waste Assessments 21,390 15,237 0.14
Solid Waste Mgt. Taxes — 16,454 0.15
Total $10,878,948 $11,267,727 100.00%

* Less than .005%
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MINNESOTA LOCAL TAX COLLECTIONS

Year Payable

1997 1998
(000’s) (000°s)
General Property Tax —
net after credits $4,540,100 $4,442,100
Tree growth tax 1,487 1,481
Auxiliary forest tax 3 3
Contamination tax 542 484
Taconite production tax 90,513 94,705
Severed mineral interests tax 714 647
Unmined taconite tax 456 445
Calendar Year Collections
1996 1997
(000’s) (000°s)
Local Sales Taxes*
Bloomington $10,122 $10,102
Duluth 11,272 11,669
Little Falls 20 48
Mankato 2,363 2,508
Minneapolis 36,955 38,774
Rochester 6,970 7,957
St. Cloud 1,474 1,759
St. Paul 11,722 12,289
Two Harbors 27 39
Winona 177 200
Cook County 980 1,026
Gross Earnings on Utility Companies**
Albert Lea $1,021 $1,093
Anoka 785 834
Coon Rapids 1,519 1,608
Duluth 937 937
Minneapolis 18,046 18,709
St Cloud 1,418 1,383
St. Paul 14,724 15,059
Winona 670 647
Aggregate materials tax $2,331 $2,659

* Collections reflect only taxes imposed upon special

authorization.

** Cities shown are those with annual receipts over $500,000.

84



MINNESOTA Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division
Mail Station 2230
St. Paul, MN 55146-2230
(651) 296-3425




Addendum to the 1998 Edition of
the Minnesota Tax Handbook

This supplement to the 1998 Edition of the Minnesota Tax
Handbook contains the major tax law changes enacted in the 1999
legislative session. The law changes are listed by tax, with page
references to the 1998 Edition.

The rates for the major state taxes are listed on page 4 and the
property tax class rates are on page 5. State tax collections for
fiscal year 1999 are on page 6.

Minnesota Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division

History of Major Changes

Individual Income Tax, Page 6
1999 — Rates reduced from 6%, 8%, and 8.5% to 5.5%, 7.25%,
and 8%.

— Alternative minimum tax rate reduced from 7% to
6.5%.

~ Credit enacted for married-joint filers if both spouses
have earned income to address the “marriage penalty”
in the tax brackets.

— Working family credit increased for taxpayers with
children.

— Subtraction enacted for nonitemizers equal to 50% of
charitable contributions over $500.

— Income limit for the education credit increased to
$37,500 and the maximum credit phased out for
income from $33,500 to $37,500.

~ Allow all remaining subtractions to be taken in tax year
2000 which are due to additions made in the early
1980s for IRAs, Keogh plans, public pension plans,
and ACRS.

— Conform to federal S corporation treatment for
shareholders of electing banks. Corporate level tax
retained, but shareholders allowed credit equal to 80%
of the corporate tax.



Corporation Franchise Tax, Page 12

1999 — Sales factor in the apportionment formula increased
from 70% to 75%; property and payroll factors each
reduced from 15% to 12.5%, effective 1/1/01.

— Credit for tax paid to another state allowed in certain
situations.

General Sales and Use Tax, Page 20

1999 — One-time sales tax rebate of $1.3 billion for individuals
equal to 71.55% of estimated sales tax paid by size of
income for 1997.

— Exempted television commercials and tangible personal
property used in the production of television
commercials.

— Exempted items given as prizes in games of skill or
chance at events lasting fewer than six days.

— Exempted nonprofit outpatient surgical centers.

Lawful Gambling Tax, Page 36
1999 — Rate reduced from 9.5% to 9%.

Pulitab and Tipbeard Tax, Page 37
1999 — Rate reduced from 1.9% to 1.8%.

 Combined Receipts Tax, Page 38
1999 — Rates reduced from 1.9%, 3.8% and 5.7% to 1.8%,
3.6% and 5.4%.

MinnesotaCare Taxes, Pages 46-48

1999 — Rate set at 1.5% for 2000 and 2001; 2% thereafter.

— Exempted K-12 schools, services to nursing homes, and
exams for insurance, litigation, and employment.

Aircraft Registration Tax, Page 57
1999 — Tax on agricultural aircraft limited to $500.

General Property Tax, Page 68

1999 — Class rates reduced for most types of property,
including homesteads (2™ tier), commercial and
industrial, apartments, and cabins.

— Brackets changed for homesteads, one-unit
nonhomestead property, and cabins.

— Bracket change for agricultural homestead land over
$115,000 market value set at $600,000 market value
rather than 320 acres.

L S

— Education homestead credit percentage increased and
maximum credit per homestead increased to $390.

— Education agricultural credit enacted equal to 54% of
the general education levy for agricultural homestead
land and 50% for agricultural nonhomestead land and
timberland.

— Limited market value calculation modified to further
restrict annual market value increases

Mining Production Taxes, Page 74
1999 — Rate kept at $2.141 for the 1999 production year.

Local Sales Taxes, Pages 77-78
1999 — New Ulm authorized to impose a general sales and use
tax of up to 0.5% and an excise tax of up to $20 per
motor vehicle sold at retail.
— Proctor authorized to impose a general sales and use tax
of up to 0.5% and an excise tax of up to $20 per motor
vehicle sold at retail.

Rates of Major State Taxes
As of December 31, 1999

Individual Income Tax: Tax Year 1999
Rates and Taxable Income Brackets

5.5%up to 1.25% 8% over

Married Joint $25,220  $25,221-$100,200 $100,200
Married Sep. $12,610 $12,611- $50,100 $50,100
Single $17,250  $17,251- $56,680 $56,680
Head of Hshld. $21,240  $21,241- $85,350 $85,350
Corporation Franchise Tax: 9.8%
General Sales and Use Tax:

General rate 6.5%

Liquor and beer, on-sale and off-sale 9.0%
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax: 6.5%
Motor Fuels Excise Taxes

Highway fuels: 20¢ per gallon

Aviation fuels: 0.5¢ - 5¢ per gallon

Other rates apply to LPG, LNG, and CNG

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes

Distilled spirits: $5.03 per gallon
Beer: more than 3.2% $4.60 per barrel

3.2% or less: $2.40 per barrel
Wine: $.30 - $3.52 per gallon

Cigarette Tax: 48¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes

Tobacco Products Tax: 35% of wholesale price

Mortgage Registry Tax: 23¢ per $100 of principal debt

Deed Transfer Tax: $1.65 per $500 of consideration

Motor Vehicle Registration Tax: $10 plus 1.25% of base value

based on age for passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans. Trucks,
tractors, and buses based on type, weight, and age of the vehicle.



Class and Type of Property Net Class Rate
1a  Residential homestead
First $76,000 market value (MV) 1.0%
Over $76,000 MV 1.65%
1b  Homestead of blind or disabled
First $32,000 MV 0.45%
Excess is Class 1a or 2a
1c  Small homestead resorts 1.0%

1d  Seasonal farm worker housing - same as Class 1a

2a  Agricultural homestead
House, garage, and one acre - same as Class 1a
Remaining land and buildings
First $115,000 MV
$115,000 - $600,000 MV
Over $600,000 MV
Nonhomestead agricultural land; timberland

Commercial and industrial, utility real property
First $150,000 MV

Over $150,000 MV

Utility personal property

Employment property — same as Class 3a

Apartments, 4 or more units; private hospitals
In qualifying smaller cities outside the metro area
All other

Residential and farm nonhomestead, 2-3 units
Nonhomestead residential or farm, 1 unit
First $76,000 MV

Over $76,000 MV

Commercial seasonal recreational residential.
Fraternity and sorority housing.

Manufactured home parks

Noncommercial seasonal recreational residential
First $76,000 MV

Over $76,000 MV

Qualifying low-income rental housing

Unmined iron ore and low-grade iron ore
All other property

Property Tax Class Rates for Taxes Payable in 2000

0.35%
0.8%
1.2%
1.2%

2.4%
3.4%
3.4%

2.15%
2.4%
1.65%

1.2%
1.65%
1.65%
1.2%
1.65%

12%
1.65%
1.0%

3.4%
3.4%

Minnesota State Tax Collections Fiscal Year 1999

All Funds - Net After Refunds

FY 1999 Collections

% of
Amount Total
(000’s)
Individual Income $5,305,177 43.60%
Income Tax Reciprocity 39,367 0.32
Corporation Franchise 777,492 6.39
Estate 58,132 0.48
General Sales & Use 3,407,603* 28.00
Motor Vehicle Rental 11,075 0.09
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax 478,088 3.93
Motor Fuels Excise 580,023 4.77
Alcoholic Beverage 58,818 0.48
Cigarette 175,117 1.44
Tobacco Products 14,147 0.12
Controlled Substances 81 b
Mortgage Registry 89,791 0.74
Deed Transfer 62,945 0.52
Lawful Gambling Taxes 62,762 0.52
Pari-mutuel 878 0.01
Sports Bookmaking 1 b
Insurance Premiums 180,436 1.48
Health Care Surcharges 120,418 0.99
MinnesotaCare Taxes 127,312 1.05
Mining Occupation 2,164 0.02
Motor Vehicle Reg. 548,007 4.50
Airflight Property 8,661 0.07
Aircraft Registration 3,782 0.03
Rural Electric Co-ops 44 b
Hazardous Waste 1,268 0.01
Metropolitan Landfill 3,385 0.03
Solid Waste Management 51,062 0.42
Total $12,168,036 100.00%

“Before reduction for the $1.3 billion rebate.
Less than .005%
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