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MINNESOTA TAX HANDBOOK

A Profile of State and Local Taxes in Minnesota
1996 Edition

This handbook contains a summary of the state and local tax
system in Minnesota. The first section provides a profile of
each state tax including tax base, rates, collection amounts,
comparisons with selected states, and legislative history. The
second section profiles each local tax in a similar manner.
The third section provides a description of the state-local
fiscal system in Minnesota and provides information on state
and local tax collections and state aids to local governments.

The tax provisions include changes enacted in the 1996
legislative session.

Please note:
collection amounts are net collections after refunds.
the history sections show major changes by the year enacted,

not the effective date.

Additional copies of the Minnesota Tax Handbook may be
obtained by contacting:

Minnesota Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division
Mail Station 2230
St. Paul, MN 55146-2230
(612) 296-3425

This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library 
as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/lrl/lrl.asp 
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STATE TAXES

INCOME AND ESTATE TAXES

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.03

Thx Base: Federal taxable income modified by state
additions and subtractions.

LOCAL TAXES

Property Taxes and Taxes in Lieu of Property Taxes
General Property Tax 70
Tree Growth Tax 78
Auxiliary Forest Tax 79
Contamination Tax 80
Mining Production Taxes 81
Severed Mineral Interests Tax 84
Unmined Taconite Tax 85

Local Sales Taxes 86

Local Gross Earnings Taxes 90

Sand and Gravel Production Tax 91

Married Joint
Married Sep.
Single
Head of Hshld.

Married Joint
Married Sep.
Single
Head of Hshld.

Tax Year 1996
Rates and Thxable Income Brackets

6% up to 8% 8.5% over
$23,490 $23,491-$93,340 $93,340
$11,750 $11,751-$46,670 $46,670
$16,070 $16,071-$52,790 $52,790
$19,780 $19,781-$79,500 $79,500

Tax Year 1997
Rates and Taxable Income Brackets

6% up to 8% 8.5% over
$24,140 $24,141-$95,920 $95,920
$12,070 $12,071-$47,960 $47,960
$16,510 $16,511-$54,250 $54,250
$20,330 $20,331-$81,700 $81,700

Greater Minnesota Landfill Cleanup Fee 93

STATE-LOCAL FISCAL RELATIONS

Education Aids 94
Human Services Aids 95
Local Aids 96
Transportation Aids 96
State Aid Expenditures 97

Net State Tax Collections 98
Local Tax Collections 99

* The income brackets are adjusted annually for inflation.

Computation:
Federal taxable income

plus: Minnesota additions
- non-Minnesota state and municipal bond

interest
- itemized deduction for state income taxes
- capital gains portion of a lump sum distribu-

tion
minus: Minnesota subtractions

- U.S. bond interest
- state income tax refunds
- dependent education expenses (itemizers only)
- income of elderly and disabled (up to limits)
- payments by the ~elf-employed for health

insurance not deducted federally
- railroad retirement income
- gains on farm sales by insolvent farmers

equals: Minnesota taxable income



Who Pays: An individual, trust, or estate with Minnesota
income which meets or exceeds the filing requirements.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Special Provisions:
1. Taxpayer may assign $5 from general fund to political

parties or campaign funds.
2. Taxpayer may contribute $1 or more to the Minnesota

Nongame Wildlife Management Account by reducing
their refund or increasing their amount owed.

3. Reciprocity agreements exempt North Dakota, Wiscon­
sin, and Michigan residents from filing Minnesota
returns on wage and personal service income earned in
this state. The reciprocity agreement with Wisconsin
includes a reimbursement provision. Each year Wiscon­
sin reimburses Minnesota for the net revenue lost due to
reciprocity.

4. In lieu of the regular income tax, nonresident entertainers
pay a tax equal to 2% of compensation received for
entertainment performed in Minnesota.

Disposition: State General Fund

Payment Dates:
1. Calendar year returns for individuals must be filed by

April 15. Fiscal year returns are due by the 15th day of
the 4th month following the close of the fiscal year.

2. Quarterly payments of estimated tax for calendar year
filers are due the 15th of April, June, September, and the
following January.

3. Withholding of taxes on Minnesota earnings is required
of employers. Employers remit taxes withheld on a
semi-weekly, monthly, or quarterly basis.

History of Major Changes
1933 - Enacted at graduated rates from 1% to 5%.
1937 - Rates increased and credits replaced exemptions.
1949 - Standard deduction of 10% to $500 enacted.

- 5% surtax levied on the normal rate.
1951 - Additional personal credits enacted for blind

persons and age 65 and over.
1953 - Standard deduction maximum raised to $1,000.
1955 - Dependent education expense deduction enacted.
1957 - 5% veterans' bonus surtax levied.
1959 - Rates increased.
1961 - Gross income redefined as federal adjusted gross

income with modifications.
- Withholding of income taxes imposed.

1967 - Rent credit and senior citizen credit enacted.
1971 - Combined return allowed for married taxpayers

filing separately.
- Credits for pollution control equipment and

nonpublic school costs established.
- Rates increased from 1.5%-12% to 1.6%-15%.
- Personal credits and senior citizen and rent credits

increased.
1973 - Increased rent and senior citizen tax credits.

- Senior citizen property tax freeze credit enacted.
1974 - Low income credit and political contribution credit

enacted.
- $1 checkoff for elections campaign fund enacted.
- Nonpublic school credit held unconstitutional.

1975 - Additional personal credits for deaf persons.
- Rent and senior citizen credits replaced by income­

adjusted homestead credit (property tax refund).
- Low income credit levels increased.

1976 - Maximum deduction for dependent educational
expenses increased.

Reciprocity
$26,996,000
$28,504,000

Income Tax
$3,753;259,000
$4,135,332,000

graduated rates - 6%, 8%, and 8.5%
Minnesota gross tax
alternative minimum tax (7% ofalternative
minimum taxable income) in excess of the regular
tax
tax on lump sum distribution from a pension plan
nonrefundable credits
- credit for income tax paid to other states
- alternative minimum tax carryover credit
Minnesota income tax
refundable credits
- dependent care credit
- working family credit (15% of federal earned

income credit)
- enterprise zone credits
net individual income tax payable

Revenue
Collections:

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

equals:

equals:
minus:

plus
minus:

times:
equals:
plus:

2 3



1977 - Exemption for military pay repealed.
- Minimum tax on preference items imposed.
- Out-of-state income included in income.
- Dependent care credit established.
- Brackets with rates of 16%, 17%, and 18% added.
- Personal credits increased from $21 to $30 each.
- Public pension subtraction limited to $7,200.
- Senior citizen property tax freeze credit repealed.

1978 18% top rate repealed.
- Personal credits increased to $40.
- Homemaker and National Guard credits enacted.
- Pension subtraction modified and extended to

private pensions.
- Low income credit levels and political contribution

credit increased.
1979 - Personal credits increased; indexed after 1980;

additional credits for quadriplegic persons.
- Maximum standard deduction increased to $2,000;

indexed after 1980.
- Low income credit levels increased.
- Income tax brackets indexed at 85% of increase in

Consumer Price Index.
- 17% top rate repealed.
- Pension subtraction increased to $10,000.
- National Guard credit repealed. Subtraction of

military pay reinstated.
- Political contribution credit and property tax

refund increased. Credits enacted for pollution
control and renewable energy expenditures.

1980 - Pension subtraction increased to $11,000.
- Low income credit levels increased.
- Checkoff for nongame wildlife instituted.
- Dependent care credit increased.

1981 - Federal tax deduction changed to accrual basis.
- Indexing changed to the smaller of the increase in

the Consumer Price Index or Minnesota gross
income.

- Taxable net income adjustment factor adopted.
- Capital gains exclusion of 60% enacted.
- Surtax of7% enacted.

1982 - Temporary surtax increased to 10%.
1983 - Temporary surtax of 10% extended.

- Conformed some itemized deductions to federal.
- Repealed subtraction for investment tax credit.
- Adopted full ACRS deduction.
-'- Dependent care credit amounts increased.
- Pollution control credits repealed.
- Equity investment credit enacted.
- Political checkoff increased from $1 to $2.
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1984 - Repealed 10% surtax.
- Expanded pension income subtraction.
- Increased maximum education expense deduction.
- Dependent care credit phaseout modified.
- Pollution control credits reinstated.
- Credits enacted for .conservation tillage equipment

and resource recovery equipment.
- Computation of tax for nonresidents changed to

apportionment of total tax.
1985 - Required the election of married persons to file

jointly or separately to be the same as the federal.
Established a different rate schedule for married
joint. Changed other provisions to be based on the
couple's joint income.

- Tax rates lowered; deductibility of federal income
tax an option (higher rates used when federal tax is
deducted).

- One rate schedule replaced by four due to change
in joint filing and optional federal tax deductibil­
ity.

- Indexing based on the U. S. Consumer Price Index.
---:.. Eliminated additions for the federal deduction for

two-earner married couples, contributions to an
individual retirement account, simplified employee
plan, or Keogh plan, and the farm loss modifica­
tion.

- Eliminated the subtraction for taxable social
security benefits.

- Modified the subtraction for pension income and
restricted it to elderly and disabled persons.

- Conformed certain itemized deductions to federal
treatment.

- Taxable net income adjustment factor repealed.
- Repealed these credits: low income; homemaker;

residential energy; resource recovery equipment;
pollution control; conservation tillage; and equity
investment.
Replaced the minimum tax with an alternative
minimum tax.

1987 - Changed the starting point of the tax from federal
adjusted gross income to federal taxable income,
thereby adopting the federal standard deduction,
itemized deductions, and personal exemptions.

- Adopted changes made by the federal Tax Reform
Act of 1986 including: Repeal of the dividend
exclusion, 60% capital gain exclusion, the
deduction for two-earner married couples, and the
itemized deductions for sales tax, motor vehicle
excise tax, and adoption expenses; Modified



deductions for depreciation, contributions to
individual retirement accounts, medical expenses,
and home mortgage interest; Phase out of the
deductibility of consumer interest and passive
activity losses over a five-year period.

- Eliminated the deductibility of federal income
taxes which had been optional.

- Rate schedule changes: number of brackets
reduced to four for 1987 and to two thereafter;
schedule added for heads of households; separate
rate schedules for federal deductibility option
eliminated; and additional tax imposed equal to
10% of the federal 5% surtax.

- Increased the alternative minimum tax rate from
4% to 6%.

- Enacted a credit for elderly and disabled persons
equal to 40% of the federal credit.

- Repealed: the personal credits and the Minnesota
itemized and standard deductions (replaced by
federal provisions); political contribution credit;
subtractions including pension income, military
pay, and unemployment compensation.

- Political checkoff increased from $2 to $5.
1988 - Rate schedules and surtax modified: married­

separate returns, estates, and trusts subject to a
separate rate schedule; qualifying surviving
spouses allowed to use married-joint rate schedule;
and surtax based on taxable income instead of the
federal surtax.
Subtractions enacted for: income of the elderly and
disabled, up to a maximum amount based on
income; recovery of previously-taxed contribu­
tions to individual retirement accounts, Keogh
plans, and certain government plans; and
unrecovered depreciation amounts.

- Elderly and disabled persons credit repealed.
1989 - Dependent care credit phase-out modified; income

levels indexed, beginning in 1991.
- Alternative minimum tax credit enacted.
- Nonresident entertainer tax enacted.
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1991 - Rate schedules changed. Top rate kept at 8.5%
rather than going down to 8% above specified
income thresholds.

- Alternative minimum tax rate increased to 7%.
- Federal changes adopted include the phase-out of

the personal exemptions and the limitation of
itemized deductions for higher-income taxpayers.

- Working family credit enacted equal to 10% of the
federal earned income credit.

- Eligibility for dependent care credit extended to
home day care providers.

1992 - Full deduction allowed for self-employed health
insurance premiums.

- Federal estimated tax provisions adopted.
- Trusts and partnerships required to make estimated

tax payments.
1993 - Working family credit increased from 10% to 15%

of the federal earned income credit.
1994 - Adopted changes made by the federal Omnibus

Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993, including
increase in the taxable portion of social security,
expansion of the earned income credit, decrease in
deductible portion of business meals and entertain­
ment, and repeal of the deductions for club dues
and lobbying expenses.

- Elderly subtraction base amounts and income
thresholds increased; minimum subtraction added
for increase in taxable social security benefits.

- Dependent care credit extended to married couples
filing jointly with child under age one, regardless
of whether expenses incurred.

- Two new jobs credits enacted: enterprise zones and
rural job creation credits.

1995 - The enterprise zone and rural job creation credits
enacted in 1994 changed to direct grants.

- Subtraction allowed to purchasers of homes in
designated zones of the metro area, beginning with
tax year 1996 (urban homestead program).

1996 - Urban homestead program extended to noise zone
around the Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport.

7



CORPORATION FRANCHISE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.02

Major Exemptions:
Charitable, religious, educational, and other organiza­
tions exempt under Subchapter F of the Internal
Revenue Code (unrelated business income is taxed)
Cooperative associations
Credit unions
Mining subject to the occupation tax
Insurance companies domiciled in states with retalia­
tory tax provisions
Mutual property and casualty insurance companies with
assets less than $1.6 billion as of 12/31/89

Tax Base: Minnesota taxable net income of the corporation.
Domestic unitary reporting method is used.

Computation:
Federal taxable income

plus: Minnesota additions
state, local, or foreign income taxes deducted
federally
federally-exempt interest
exempt-interest dividends paid by regulated
investment companies
windfall profits tax deducted federally
net operating loss deducted federally
federal dividend received deduction
losses from mining subject to occupation tax
federal capital loss deduction
federal charitable contribution deduction
exempt foreign trade income of a foreign sales
corporation
federal percentage depletion deduction
amortization deduction for specified pollution
control facilities
deemed dividends from foreign operating
corporations

minus: Minnesota subtractions
foreign dividend gross-up
salary expenses not deducted federally due to
federal jobs or Indian employment credits
for banks, any dividend paid on their pre­
ferred stock to the federal government
previously disallowed deductions for
intangible drilling costs

Rate; 9.8%

000
00 000
M'<tM
,..:~,..:
Y'T

.~
Q 0
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Payment Dates: Quarterly payments of estimated tax due by
15th day of 3rd, 6th, 9th, and 12th months of the tax year.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Due Date: Return is due 15th day of 3rdmonth after tax
year, with 7-month extension available.

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign corporations and
financial institutions, including national and state banks,
which do business in Minnesota.

$0
100
300

1,000
2,000
5,000

Minimum
Fee

$665,710,000
$701,735,000

F.Y 1995
F.Y 1996

Total Minnesota
Property. Payroll and Sales

Less than $ 500,000
$ 500,000 999,999
1,000,000 4,999,999
5,000,000 9,999,999

10,000,000 - 19,999,999
20,000,000 or more

The minimum fee is in addition to the regular or alterna­
tive minimum tax and is determined by the sum of the
corporation's Minnesota property, payroll, and sales as
follows:

History of Major Changes
1933 - Enacted with rates graduated from 1% to 5%, and

a specific credit against income of $1 ,000.
1937 - 7% flat rate adopted; 6% rate after 1938.

Property/payroll credit enacted.
1939 - Manufacturing firms given option ofaverage or

weighted apportionment.
1941 - Bank excise tax enacted at a rate of 8%.
1947 - Specific credit reduced to $500; $10 minimum tax

adopted.

Disposition: State General Fund

*

Revenue
Collections:

Special Provision: A corporation may contribute $1 or more
to the Minnesota Nongame Management Account by
reducing its refund or increasing its amount owed.

capital loss deduction with no carrybacks
interest and expenses on income that is exempt
federally but taxed by the state
cost depletion for mines, oil and gas wells,
other natural deposits, and timber
depreciation deduction for specified pollution
control facilities
enterprise zone credits included in income
state income tax refunds
80% of foreign source royalties, fees, etc.,
received within unitary group
income or gains from mining subject to the
occupation tax
handicap access expenditures disallowed
federally due to claiming the federal credit
research expenses disallowed federally due to
claiming the federal credit

modifications to the federal accelerated cost
recovery system
total net income
apportionment factor

weighted factor of 15% of property ratio, 15%
of payroll ratio, and 70% of sales ratio
under certain conditions, separate accounting
or single sales factor can be used

Minnesota net income
Minnesota deductions

net operating loss
- dividends received deduction
- Minnesota charitable contributions
Minnesota taxable income
tax rate of 9.8%
gross tax
nonrefundable credits

research and development credit
alternative minimum tax carryover credit
premiums tax credit for insurance companies
guaranty association assessments for insurance
companies
alternative minimum tax (5.8% of alternative
minimum taxable income) in excess of regular
tax
minimum fee*

tax liability
refundable enterprise zone credits
net corporate tax payable

equals:
minus:
equals:

plus:

equals:
times:
equals:
minus:

equals:
minus:

plus or
minus:
equals:
times:
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1949 - 5% special surtax added; additional $5 fee
imposed. Total rate of 6.3% for corporations and
8.4% for banks.

1953 - Apportionment option extended to non-manufac­
turing firms.

1955 - 1% surtax on taxable income added; total rate of
7.3% for corporations and 9.4% for banks.

1957 - Property/payroll credit repealed.
1959 - For corporations 7.5% tax rate adopted; 1.8%

additional levy imposed. Total rate of 9.3%. For
banks, 9.5% tax rate adopted; 1.9% additional levy
imposed. Total rate of 11.4%.

1961 - 10% surtax added; total rate of 10.23% for
corporations and 12.54% for banks.

1967 - 1% rate added; total rate of 11.33% for corpora­
tions and 13.64% for banks.

1969 - Pollution control credit enacted.
1971 - Federal tax deduction eliminated.

Rate increased to 12% for corporations.
Bank rate remained at 13.64%.
Feedlot pollution control credit enacted; both
pollution control credits set to expire after 1976.

1973 - Minimum tax increased to $100.
Destination sales basis adopted for apportionment.
Bank rate reduced to 12%.

1977 - Minimum preference tax adopted.
1979 - Pollution control equipment credit reinstated

retroactive to 1977.
Energy credit adopted.

1980 - $100 minimum tax and $500 specific credit
repealed.

1981 - Rate reduced to 9% (6% after 1982) on first
$25,000 of taxable income.
Credit for increasing research activities enacted.
Limited accelerated cost recovery system (ACRS)
deductions allowed.
Unitary method of taxation enacted.
60% capital gain exclusion allowed.

1982 - Research credit changed to 12.5% of qualifying
expenses (6.25% of expenses over $2 million).
ACRS deduction limitations changed.

1983 - Pollution control credits repealed.
Eliminated deduction for corporate income taxes
paid to other states.
Enacted these credits: technology transfer; small
business assistance office; equity investment; and
enterprise zone.
Multistate tax compact adopted.
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1984 - Exempted foreign source dividends and certain
foreign source royalties.
Pollution control credits reinstated and expanded
to include hazardous waste equipment.
Minimum preference tax and energy credit
repealed.

1985 - Repealed these credits: pollution control; resource
recovery equipment; equity investment; and
conservation tillage.
Allowed certain mail order firms to apportion
income based only on sales.

1987 - Corporate income tax and bank excise tax replaced
by a corporate franchise tax.
Rate reduced to 9.5%.
Adopted federal taxable income as the starting
point for computation of the tax and thereby
eliminated the 60% capital gains deduction.
Adopted changes made by the federal Tax Reform
Act of 1986.
Adopted alternative minimum tax of one mill
times the Minnesota property, payroll, and sales
factors for tax years 1987, 1988, and 1989.
Beginning with tax year 1990, replaced by
minimum tax on preference items.
Phased in conformity to federal depreciation
deductions.
Eliminated arithmetic average option for appor­
tionment.
Reduced: dividend received deduction from 85%
to 80%; foreign source dividend deduction from
100% to 80%; and foreign source royalty
deduction from 100% to 35%.
Repealed these credits: technology transfer to
small business; and contributions to small business
assistance offices.
Reduced research and development credit
percentages to 5% of the first $2 million of
qualifying expenses and to 2.5% of the excess.
Restricted charitable contribution deduction.
Repealed net operating loss carrybacks.

1988 - Nexus rules modified.
Dividend received deduction reduced from 80% to
70% if the recipient owns less than 20% of the
payer's stock; 80% retained for others. Eliminated
additional 20% deduction if recipient owns 80% or
more of payer's stock.
Deduction for 35% of foreign royalties repealed.
Deduction enacted for foreign source income
(royalties, fees, and other like income) of foreign



Comparison With Other States - Tax Year 1996
IncomelFranchise Tax Rates

California 9.3% of net income; minimum tax of
$800. Banks: 11.47%; minimum tax of
$800. Alternative minimum tax rate is
7%.

Guaranty association assessments credit enacted
for insurance companies.
Subtraction enacted for salary expenses not
deducted federally due to Indian employment
credit.
Estimated tax requirement increased to 100%.

1995 - The enterprise zone and rural job creation credits
enacted in 1994 changed to direct grants.

1996 - Apportionment method for leased movable
property modified.

operating corporations of 50% for 1989 and 1990
and 80% for 1991 and after.
Minimum tax beginning in 1990 changed from an
alternative tax to an add-on tax.

1989 - Unrelated business income tax imposed on exempt
organizations.
Alternative minimum tax of 7% of Minnesota
alternative taxable income enacted, beginning with
tax year 1990; add-on tax repealed.
Surtax imposed, beginning with tax year 1990, to
yield the same total revenues as if the factors tax
were in effect.
Tax on insurance companies based on current
Internal Revenue Code rather than 1936 Federal
Revenue Act, starting with tax year 1991.
Exemptions enacted for: insurance companies
domiciled in retaliatory states; town and farmers'
mutual insurance companies; and mutual property
and casualty companies with total assets less than
$1.6 billion. Effective with tax year 1991.
Additional 20% dividend received deduction
allowed in certain situations.
Checkoff for nongame wildlife allowed for
corporations.

1990 - Rate increased from 9.5% to 9.8%; surtax
repealed; alternative minimum tax rate reduced
from 7% to 5.8%.
Minimum fee enacted of from $0 to $5,000 based
on Minnesota property, payroll, and sales of C
corporations, S corporations, and partnerships.
Asset test for mutual property and casualty
companies exemption frozen as of 12/31/89.

1991 - Subtractions allowed for: federally-disallowed
disabled access expenditures used for the federal
credit; and federally-disallowed research expenses
used for the federal credit to the extent they exceed
the Minnesota credit.
Special allocation rule for farming eliminated;
farming subject to regular apportionment rules.

1992 - Estimated tax requirement increased from 90% to
93% in 1992 and 95% thereafter.
Provisions adopted to tax limited liability
companies as partnerships.
Designed county jobs credit enacted for 1993.

1993 - Estimated tax requirement increased to 97%.
1994 - Adopted changes made by the federal Omnibus

Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993.
Two new jobs credits enacted: enterprise zones
and rural job creation credit.
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Illinois

Iowa

Michigan

MINNESafA

New York

4.8% of net income plus additional 2.5%
tax on net income for personal property
tax replacement. Franchise tax: 0.1 % on
certain capital and surplus. Banks: value
of shares subject to local property tax
rates.

6% on first $25,000; 8% next $75,000;
10% next $150,000; 12% on net income
over $250,000. Banks: 5% of net income.
A minimum tax may apply.

Single business tax: 2.3% of adjusted tax
base tbat includes business income,
compensation paid employees, interest
payments, and depreciation of tangible
assets. Alternative tax for small busi­
nesses: 2% of adjusted business income.
Local corporate income tax may be
imposed.

9.8%. Alternative minimum tax at rate of
5.8%. Plus minimum fee of up to $5,000
based on Minnesota property, payroll,
and sales.

9% of net income, or 0.178% of capital,
or the greater of an amount ranging from
$325 to $1500 depending on the firm's
gross payroll. The rate for small
businesses is 8%. Also, MTA surcharge

15



Tax Base: Federal estate tax credit for state taxes.

ESTATE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 291.01

Computation:
Federal maximum credit for state death taxes

times: proportion of Minnesota gross estate to federal
gross estate

equals: estate tax payable

$34,784,000
$42,897,000

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Revenue
Collections:

on all business tax liabilities in the
Metropolitan Transit Authority District.
Additional tax on subsidiary capital of .9
mill per dollar. Alternative minimum tax
of 3.5% of alternative net income using
only a double-weighted receipts factor.
Banks: 9% on net income, $250, 3% on
alternative income, or asset-based tax at
rate ranging from 1/50 to 1/10 of one
mill, whichever is greatest. A surcharge
of 2.5% of tax liability after credits
applies for tax years ending 6/30/96 and
before 7/1/97.

North Dakota 3% on first $3,000; 4.5% next $5,000;
6% next $12,000; 7.5% next $10,000;
9% next $20,000; 10.5% of net income
over $50,000. Banks: 7% of net income
(includes 2% privilege tax).

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

South Dakota No corporate income tax. Banks: 6% of
net income.

Who Pays: Personal representative submits a return for the
estate. Return required if federal gross estate exceeds
$600,000.

Texas No tax on income. Franchise tax of
0.25%.of capital or 4.5% of net taxable
earned surplus.

Payment Dates: Tax due within nine months after death.
Under certain conditions, installment payments may be
elected.

Wisconsin 7.9% of net income. Temporary recycling
surcharge of 5.5% of gross tax, with a
minimum of $25 and a maximum of
$9,800.

History of Major Changes
1905 - Minnesota inheritance tax first adopted.

Individual successions to property taxed at rates
from 1.5% on inheritances less than $50,000 to
5% on inheritances over $100,000.

1911 - Exemptions of $10,000 for spouse to $100 for
non-relatives provided.

- Rates from 1% on inheritances less than $15,000
to 20% on amounts over $100,000 adopted,
depending on the relationship of the heir.

1937 - Gift tax enacted to prevent inheritance tax
evasion.

- Rate increased from a maximum of 20% to 60%,
not greater than 35% of value of property.

1959 - Rates changed and exemptions increased.
1976 Homestead exemption increased from $30,000 to

$45,000.
Optional marital exemption of 50% of the gross
estate to $250,000 adopted. Marital exemption
increased to $60,000 and equalized between
spouses.
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Comparison With Other States - 1996
New York Rates graduated from 2% to 21 % for

taxable amount over $10.1 million.

Motor Vehicle Rental
$7,317,000
$8,601,000

General
Sales and Use Tax

$2,722,381,000
$2,873,127,000

Revenue
Collections:
F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Additional Tax:
An additional tax of 6.2% is imposed on the rental of a car,
van, or pickup truck for less than 29 days.

SALESANDEXCISETAXES

GENERAL SALESAND USETAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 297A.02 and 297A.14

Rates:
General rate applicable to all taxable transactions

except those listed below 6.5%
Liquor and beer, both on-sale and off-sale 9.0%
Farm machinery; logging equipment 2.5%
Replacement capital equipment

7/1/96 to 6/30/97 3.8%
7/1/97 to 6/30/98 2.9%
7/1/98 and after 2.0%

Who Pays: Purchasers or users of taxable goods and
services. Holders of Minnesota sales and use tax permits
collect and remit the tax. Holders of direct pay permits remit
the tax directly.

Major Exemptions: Sales for resale in the regular course of
business; food for consumption off premises; clothing;
prescribed drugs and medications; nonprescribed analgesics;
gasoline and special fuels taxed under the motor fuels excise
tax; publications issued at intervals of 3 months or less
(except over-the-counter magazines); motor vehicles subject
to the separate motor vehicle sales tax; materials used or
consumed in agricultural or industrial production; textbooks;
residential heating fuels and water services; and capital
equipment, except for replacements, used in manufacturing,
fabricating, mining, or refining tangible personal property.

Tax Base: Sales price of tangible personal property and
taxable services sold or used in Minnesota.

Tax equals the state's portion of the
maximum federal credit for state
death taxes allowed against federal
estate tax (commonly referred to as
the "pick-up tax")

Other Transfer Taxes:
California, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, New York, and Texas
impose generation-skipping transfer taxes. New York also
imposes a gift tax.

Iowa and South Dakota levy inheritance taxes rather than
estate taxes and impose an estate tax to absorb the maximum
federal credit available. An inheritance tax is based upon the
amount of property transferred to each beneficiary and the
relationship of the beneficiary to the decedent; an estate tax
is based on the value of the estate being transferred.

Califomia
Illinois
Michigan
MINNESarA
North Dakota
Texas
Wisconsin

- Exemption for minor child increased from $15,000
to $30,000.

1979 - Inheritance and gift tax repealed.
Estate tax with graduated rates from 7% to 12% of
Minnesota taxable estate, but tax not less than the
federal credit for state death taxes.

1981 - Eliminated 10% distribution to counties.
- Conformed to federal changes increasing

minimum filing requirements and providing
unlimited marital deduction.

1985 - Eliminated the provisions of the Minnesota rate
schedule tax, so that the tax is equal to the
Minnesota portion of the federal estate tax credit
for state taxes, known as the "pick-up tax."



Due Dates:
Monthly returns - 20th day of the month following the
sales month. (Accelerated payment of 75% of June liability
and different due dates apply for filers required to pay by
electronic funds transfer.) Quarterly returns - 20th of the
month following the sales quarter. Annual returns ­
February 5th of the year following the sales year. Annual
individual use tax - April 15th of the following year for
annual purchases of less than $18,500.

History of Major Changes
1967 - Sales tax enacted at 3% rate.
1971 - Rate increased to 4%, except vending machines.

- Motor vehicles made subject to the motor vehicle
excise tax and exempted from the sales tax.

1973 - Accessory tools exempted.
1978 - Residential heating fuel exempted.
1979 - Residential water service exempted.
1981 - Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%, except

for farm machinery; tax on vending products
increased from 3% to 5%.

- Exemption for cigarettes repealed.
- June accelerated payment enacted.

1982 - Exemptions for candy and soft drinks repealed.
- Cable TV services subjected to tax.
- Property shipped outside Minnesota taxed at

destination state's rate under certain conditions.
- Additional 5% tax imposed on on-sale liquor.
- Rate temporarily increased to 6%.

1983 - Rate permanently changed to 6%.
- Additional tax on on-sale liquor reduced to 2.5%

and extended to off-sale liquor.
- Exempted: race horses; paper and ink used to

produce publications; construction materials and
equipment used in enterprise zones; and construc­
tion materials and property of direct satellite
broadcasting facilities and distilleries.

- Over-the-counter magazines made taxable.
1984 - Rate reduced to 4% on capital equipment for new

or expanding manufacturing facilities and on
special tooling.

- Tax on mobile homes based on 65% of sales price.
- Exempted: used mobile homes; candy sold by

certain organizations; and equipment used to
process solid or hazardous waste.

1985 - Rate for farm machinery reduced to 2%.
- Exempted: repair and replacement parts for farm

machinery; ticket sales and admissions to
elementary and secondary school games and
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activities; certain sales by nonprofit organizations,
including fundraising; and petroleum products
used to improve agricultural land.

- Repealed exemption for central office telephone
equipment.

1986 - Exempted purchases made by qualifying private
suppliers of public services.

1987 - Removed exemptions from: nonprescribed drugs
and medicine, except insulin; state government
purchases; interstate telephone service, except
incoming WATS calls; railroad rolling stock; most
club dues; race horses; meals sold in hospital
cafeterias; admission to public recreational areas;
and admission to health clubs, tanning facilities,
reducing salons, and similar places.

- Sales tax extended to: parking; motor vehicle
cleaning and maintenance (not repair); pet
grooming; laundry and dry cleaning; building and
residential cleaning, maintenance, and exterminat­
ing; detective agencies, security, burglar and fire
alarm, and armored car services; and lawn, garden,
tree, and shrub services.

- Payment dates changed.
- Repealed reduction in sales price for federal taxes.

1988 ~ Exemptions enacted for: sales to the University of
Minnesota, state universities, community colleges,
technical institutes, state academies, and the
University of Minnesota hospitals; and
nonprescribed analgesics.

- Out-of-state retailers required to register and
collect the Minnesota use tax if specified condi­
tions are met.

1989 - Sales tax extended to: garbage collection;
telephone access charges imposed by hotels.

- Sale of lottery tickets exempted from the sales tax
but subjected to a 6% gross receipts tax.

- Exemptions enacted for: capital equipment in new
or expanding industries (previously taxed at 4%);
sales to the state arts high school; and glucose
monitoring devices used by diabetics.

- Exemptions repealed for: motor vehicles leased by
local governments and nonprofit organizations;
and construction materials of satellite broadcasting
facility.

- Nexus provisions modified.
1990 - Exemptions enacted for: repair and replacement

parts for ships used in interstate or foreign
commerce; long distance telephone calls made by
telemarketing firms; and capital equipment in a



new or expanding mining or quarrying facility.
1991 - Rate temporarily increased from 6% to 6.5% (7/1­

12/31/91).
- Local option sales tax for counties of 0.5%

enacted (1/1/92). Its receipts plus 1.5% of the 6%
state rate go to the Local Government Trust Fund.

- Isolated or occasional sale exemption for business
property restricted.

- Sales tax extended to: pet boarding and private
communication services.

- Exemptions enacted for: charges for planting trees,
bushes, plants, sod, and similar items; sales to
farmers for certain conservation programs; and
construction materials, equipment, and supplies for
an aircraft maintenance facility or an aircraft
engine repair facility and machinery, equipment,
and tools to equip the facility.

- 2% rate extended to aquaculture equipment.
- Tax of $7.50 imposed on the rental of a car, van, or

pickup truck for less than 29 days.
- Annual use tax returns allowed for annual

purchases of less then $5,000.
1992 - General exemption for sales to local governments

repealed. Still exempt: sales to school districts, and
to hospitals and nursing homes owned and
operated by local governments; certain purchases
by public libraries; and medical supplies used by a
publicly-owned ambulance service.

- Exemptions enacted for: large ships; photovoltaic
devices; wind energy conversion systems; certain
air cooling equipment; and construction materials
to build an office waste recycling facility.

- Restricted the application of the tax on isolated or
occasional sales.

- Tax of 50¢ imposed on each telephone call to 900
service numbers.

1993 - Exemptions enacted for: replacement equipment
used in taconite mining or production; construction
materials and supplies for a new satellite broadcast­
ing facility plus machinery, equipment, furniture,
and fixtures to equip the facility; pollution control
equipment purchased by a steel reprocessing firm;
repair and replacement parts purchased by local
governments for fire trucks and emergency rescue
vehicles; certain purchases by county law libraries,
the state law library, and the legislative reference
library; and local government purchases of
machinery and equipment for use at landfills.

- Use tax extended to distribution of tangible
personal property.
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- Modified requirements and payment dates for
accelerated June payment.

- Changed annual return due date.
1994 - Exemptions enacted for: special tooling (previ­

ously taxed at 4.5%); firefighters' protective
equipment; horses, other than racehorses; used
farm machinery (7/1/94-6/30/95); and specified
types of facilities.

- Rate on replacement capital equipment reduced
from 6.5% to 5.5% and phased down to 2% (7/1/
98).

- Local option tax of 0.5% repealed; state rate
increased by 0.5% (7/1/96).

- Disposition of portion of proceeds to local
government trust fund eliminated on 6/30/96.

- Additional tax on motor vehicle rentals changed
from a flat tax of $7.50 per rental to an additional
6.2% on the rental charge.

- Annual consumer's use tax return threshold
increased from $5,000 to $18,500.

1995 - Exemptions enacted for: racehorses; materials sold
to veterinarians for treating agricultural production
animals; materials, including feed and bedding,
sold to persons who raise or board horses; used
farm machinery (7/1/95 - 6/30/96); and specified
types of facilities.

- Additional tax of 50¢ on telephone calls to 900
service numbers repealed.

1996 - Exemptions enacted for: Jewish community center
memberships; used farm machinery (7/1/96-6/30/
97); and pollution control equipment for resource
recovery facilities.

- Individual purchases for personal use of $770 or
less exempted from use tax (1/1/97).



Comparison With Other States - 1996

California
Illinois
Iowa
Michigan
MINNESOTA
New York
North Dakota
South Dakota
Texas
Wisconsin

Rate
7.25%a
6.25%
5.0%
6.0%C
6.5%d
4.0%e
5.0%f

4.0%
6.25%
5.0%

Local Option
Sales Tax

Yes
Yes
Yesb

No
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yesg

MOTOR VEHICLE SALES TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297B.02

Tax Base: Purchase price less value of trade-in vehicle of
any motor vehicle required to be registered in Minnesota.

Rate: 6.5%.

Flat tax in lieu of the 6.5% tax: $10 for passenger cars ten
years or older with value of less than $3,000; $90 for
collector vehicles.

Credit: Tax paid to other states, under certain conditions.

Payment Dates: When ownership is transferred.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays: Purchasers of motor vehicles required to be
registered in Minnesota.

$347,077,000
$380,854,000

EY 1995
EY 1996

History of Major Changes
1971 - Enacted at a rate of 3%. Rate increased from 3%

to 4% in 1971 special session.
1981 - Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%.

Portion of collections earmarked for highway and
transit funding.

1983 - Rate changed to 6%.
- Purchase price reduced by federal excise taxes.

1985 - Enacted a $10 tax on passenger cars at least ten
years old in lieu of the 6% tax.

1986 - Disposition changed for 1986 and 1987.
1987 - Disposition changed.

- Exemptions repealed for purchases by nonprofit
organizations and state and local governments.

1988 - Disposition changed.
- Flat tax of $90 on collector vehicles enacted in lieu

of the 6% tax.

Revenue
Collections:

Disposition: State General Fund

Major Exemptions: Purchases for resale by dealers;
transfers by inheritance: and gratuitous transfers between
joint owners, spouses, and parents and children.

a. Includes 1.25% state-administered sales and use tax
imposed in every county.

b. Local sales tax may be imposed based on voter approval
in each jurisdiction. The rate is up to 1%.

c The rate is 4% for residential use of electricity, natural
gas, and home heating fuels.

d. General rate. See page 19 for other rates. (See Local Tax
Section for specially-authori'zed taxes.)

e. Additional 0.25% rate imposed in certain counties for
the benefit of the Metropolitan Commuter Transporta­
tion District.

f. 3% on farm machinery and repair parts, irrigation
equipment, and mobile homes; 7% on alcoholic
beverages.

g. Used in 48 of 72 counties.

Of the comparison states, only South Dakota does not
provide an exemption for food products. Prescription drugs
are also generally exempted in these states. Only Minnesota
exempts clothing.
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*

c.

Califomia*
Illinois*
lowa*
Michigan*
MINNESOTA
New York*
North Dakota
South Dakota
Texas
Wisconsin*

Aviation Fuels
$3,138,000
$2,638,000

Rate After Refund
5.0¢
2.0¢
1.0¢
0.5¢

Highway Fuels
$501,090,000
$514,415,000

Revenue
Collections:

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Aviation Fuels: 5¢ per gallon, reduced by refund based on
annual purchases.

Annual Gallons
Up to 50,000

50,001-150,000
150,001-200,000

Over 200,000

MOTOR FUELS EXCISE TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 296.02, and 296.025

Credits: Taxes paid on fuel used for non-highway use,
except for snowmobiles, boats, and all-terrain vehicles.
Credit of 20¢ per gallon to distributors of fuel-grade alcohol
blended with gasoline to produce gasohol (credit phased out
from 10/1/94 to 10/1/97). The credit is 80¢ if the gasohol is
sold to a governmental unit or for school transportation
(credit phased out from 10/1/96 to 10/1/99). Credit of 10¢
per gallon of rerefined waste oil.

Special Provision: Motor carriers pay the road tax which is
20¢ per gallon for gasoline or special fuel used on Minne­
sota highways.

Exemption: Transit systems receiving state assistance.

Rates:
Highway Fuels:

E85-14.2¢ per gallon
M85-11.4¢ per gallon
All other gasoline-20¢ per gallon
Liquefied petroleum gas or propane-15¢ per gallon
Liquefied natural gas-12¢ per gallon
Compressed natural gas-$1.739 per thousand cubic feet
All other special fuel (diesel)-20¢ per gallon

Tax Base: Fuels used in highway vehicles, aircraft, boats,
snowmobiles, and all terrain vehicles.

Motor vehicles in these states are taxed under the
general sales and use tax.

a. Including local taxes, which vary by county.
b. Additional 0.25% rate imposed in certain counties for

the benefit of the Metropolitan Commuter Transporta­
tion District.
Local tax of 0.5% imposed in 48 of 72 counties.
Stadium tax of 0.1 % imposed in 5 counties.

Comparison With Other States· 1996
Rate

7.25%-8.5%a
6.25%
5.0%
6.0%
6.5%
4.0%b
5.0%
3.0%
6.25%
5.0%C

1989 - Disposition changed.
1990 - Disposition changed.
1991 - Rate temporarily increased from 6% to 6.5%

(7/1-12/31/91).
- Local option tax for counties of 0.5% enacted

(1/1/92). Its receipts plus 1.5% of the 6% state
rate go to the Local Government Trust Fund.

- Disposition of a portion for highway and transit
funding eliminated.

1992 Purchase price reduced by value of handicapped
accessible modifications.

1994 - Bookmobiles and library delivery vehicles
exempted.

- Local option tax of 0.5% repealed; state rate
increased by 0.5% (7/1/96).

- Disposition of portion of proceeds to local
government trust fund eliminated on 6/30/96.

- Name changed from "motor vehicle excise tax".
1995 - $90 flat tax extended to collector fire trucks.

- $15 flat tax enacted for vehicles in cold weather
testing.
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New York Gasoline and diesel fuel 8¢.

Texas Gasoline, diesel fueI20¢; natural gas 15¢.

MINNESOTA Highway fuels 20¢; (other rates on p. 27);
aviation fuels 0.5¢-5¢.

Highway: gasoline 20¢; diesel fuel 22.5¢;
gasohol 19¢. Aviation: gasoline 8¢; special
fuels 3¢.

Gasoline 15¢; diesel fuel 15¢ (6¢ discount
for commercial vehicles); LPG 15¢; aircraft
3¢ (interstate commerce 1.5¢).

Gasoline 19¢; diesel fuel 21.5¢.

South Dakota Gasoline and diesel highway fuel 18¢; LP
gas 16¢; gasohol 16¢; aviation gas 6¢;
aviation special fuel 4¢.

Wisconsin All fuels 23.7¢ per gallon.
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Michigan

North Dakota Gasoline and special fuels 20¢; exempt
special fuels 2% of sales price.

Illinois

Iowa

Comparison With Other States - 1996
Rates Per Gallon

California Highway fuels 18¢; jet fueI2¢; LPG and
LNG 6¢; compressed natural gas 7¢ per 100
cubic feet; ethanol or methanol 9¢.

- Annual permit fees increased, extended to
propane.

1991 - Annual permit fees extended to all alternate fuels.
1993 - Alternate fuel permit repealed.

- Credit enacted for rerefined waste oil.
1994 - Alternate fuel permit reenacted.

- Gasohol credit phased out from 20¢ before 10/1/
94 to zero on 10/1/97.

- Certain medical transportation services exempted.
- Exemption repealed for petroleum substitutes

produced from waste materials.
- Disposition changed for off-road vehicles and

motorcycles.
1995 - Alternate fuel permit repealed and replaced by

differing rates on LPG, LNG, and CNG.
- Phaseout of gasohol credit modified.

1996 - Gasohol credit for governments and schools
phased out from 80¢ to zero on 10/1/99.

Disposition:
Aviation Fuels - State Airports Fund.
Highway Fuels

1.5% Special Revenue Fund, Water Recreation Account
0.75% Snowmobile Trails and Enforcement Account
0.15% All-Terrain Vehicle Account
0.164% Off-Road Vehicle Account
0.046% Off-Highway Motorcycle Account
Balance Highway User Tax Distribution Fund

History of Major Changes
1925 - Enacted at 2¢ per gallon on highway fuel.
1929 - Increased to 3¢ per gallon.
1937 - Temporary increase to 4¢ per gallon.
1941 - Rate of 4¢ made permanent.
1945 - Excise tax on aviation fuel enacted at 4¢ per gallon
1949 - Increased to 5¢ per gallon on highway fuel.
1963 - Increased to 6¢ per gallon.
1967 - Increased to 7¢ per gallon.
1975 - Increased to 9¢ per gallon.

- Exemption enacted for petroleum substitutes
produced from waste products.

1977 - Transit systems purchases exempted.
1980 - Increased to 11 ¢ per gallon.

- Enacted 2¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol.
1981 - Increased to 13¢ per gallon.

- Enacted rate reduction for certain border areas.
1983 - Increased to 16¢ per gallon and to 17¢ (1984).

- Increased the rate reduction for gasohol to 4¢.
- Enacted 8¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol

sold to governments and schools.
- Aviation fuel rate increased from 4¢ to 5¢.

1985 - Replaced the reduced rates for gasohol with
credits to distributors.

- Enacted an annual user permit fee on vehicles
using compressed natural gas.

1986 - Reduced the amount of the credits to distributors
for fuel-grade alcohol used to produce gasohol.

1987 - Imposed tax on railroad and barge fuels.
1988 - Increased from 17¢ to 20¢ per gallon, (5/1/88).

- Railroad and barge fuels tax repealed retroactive to
enactment in 1987.

Payment Dates: 23rd day of month following purchase.

Who Pays: In general, distributors collect and remit the tax;
in some cases, it is the special fuel dealer or bulk purchaser.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue.
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297C.02

Tax Base: Distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, wines, and
premixed alcoholic beverages manufactured or received for
sale in Minnesota.

Exemptions: Wine for sacramental purposes. Wine or beer
made at horne. Alcoholic beverages sold to food processors
and pharmaceutical firms. Beer served on the premises of a
brewery at no charge.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department ofRevenue

Payment Dates: 18th day of month following the month in
which sale is made. Accelerated payment of 75% of June
liability due 2 business days before June 30 for filers
required to pay by electronic funds transfer.

History of Major Changes
1934 - Enacted at rates of: $1 per barrel of 3.2% beer and

$2 per barrel of strong beer; 60¢ per gallon of
liquor; and rates for wine varying from 10¢ to 60¢
per gallon.

1937 - Liquor tax increased to $1 per gallon on liquor
over 24%.

1947 - Increased rates of tax.
1959 - 3.2% beer taxed at $1.60 per barrel.

Strong beer taxed at $3.20 per barrel.
Liquor surtax of 15% imposed.

1969 Additional tax on liquor from 4¢ to 75¢ per gallon
depending on alcoholic content.

1971 - Rates increased: distilled spirits from $2.50 to
$4.53 per gallon. 3.2% beer from $1.60 to $2 per
barrel. Strong beer from $3.20 to $4 per barrel.
Wine tax rates increased.

1973 - Distilled spirits tax reduced from $4.53 to $4.39
per gallon.
Minnesota brewers' credit enacted.

1979 - Sparkling wine tax reduced from $3.08 to $1.50
per gallon.

1980 - Minnesota vintners wine taxed at 17¢ per gallon.
1985 - Preferential rates for Minnesota vintners repealed.

Minnesota brewers' credit repealed.
Small brewers' credit enacted.

1986 - Accelerated June payment enacted. Payment dates
changed

1987 - Rates increased: distilled spirits from $4.39 to
$5.03 per gallon; all categories of wine-lowest
rate from 27¢ to 30¢ per gallon and highest rate
from $3.08 to $3.52 per gallon; 3.2% beer from
$2.00 to $2.40 per barrel and strong beer from
$4.00 to $4.60 per barrel.
Payment dates changed.

1989 - Small brewers' credit increased.
1993 - Modified requirements and payment date for

accelerated June payment.

Who Pays: Wholesalers, distributors, or manufacturers upon
acquisition for sale within Minnesota.

$.30
.95

1.82
3.52
1.82

Per Gallon
$5.03

Wine
$3,405,000
$3,933,000

Tax per Barrel
of 31 Gallons

$2.40
$4.60

$.08
.25
.48
.93
.48

Per Liter
$1.33

Beer
$14,792,000
$14,834,000

Distilled Spirits
$36,812,000
$36,965,000

Distilled Spirits

Rates:

Beer: Alcohol by Weight
3.2% orIess
More than 3.2%

Wine: Alcohol by Volume
14% or less
More than 14% to 21 %
More than 21 % to 24%
More than 24%
Sparkling wine

Credit: Small brewers receive a credit of $4.60 per barrel on
the first 25,000 barrels produced each year for sale within
Minnesota. The brewer must have manufactured less than
100,000 barrels in the preceding year.

Revenue
Collections:
EY. 1995
EY. 1996

Disposition: State General Fund

Special Provision: Separate tax of 1¢ for each bottle or
container of distilled spirits and wine. Tax is paid by the
wholesaler at the time of removal from inventory for sale,
delivery, or shipment.
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CIGARETTE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 297.02 and 297.22
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Tax Base: Cigarettes sold or used in Minnesota.

Rate: 48¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.

Credits: Distributors receive a 1.0% discount on the first
$1,500,000 of stamps purchased and 0.60% on excess.

$177,028,000
$176,296,000

EY. 1995
EY. 1996

33

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of cigarettes.

History of Major Changes
1947 - Enacted at 3¢ per pack.
1949 - Increased to 4¢ per pack.
1959 - Increased to 5.5¢ per pack.
1961 - Increased to 7¢ per pack.
1963 - Increased to 8¢ per pack.
1969 - Increased to 13¢ per pack.
1971 - Increased to 18¢ per pack.
1985 - Increased to 23¢ per pack. Disposition changed.
1986 - Accelerated June payment enacted. Payment dates

changed
1987 - Increased to 38¢ per pack. Payment dates changed.
1989 - Disposition changed.
1991 - Rate increased from 38¢ to 43¢ per pack.
1992 - Rate increased to 48¢ per pack; 5¢ per pack

temporarily to Health Care Access Fund.
1993 - Modified requirements and payment date for

accelerated June payment.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Payment Dates: 18th day of the month following sale to a
retailer in Minnesota. Accelerated payment of 75% of June
liability due 2 business days before June 30 for filers
required to pay by electronic funds transfer.

Disposition:
Debt service on specified bonds. (paid first)
Minnesota Future Resources Fund-2¢ per pack
State General Fund-Balance

Revenue
Collections:
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Comparison With Other States - 1996

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297.32

California
Illinois
Iowa
Michigan
MINNESarA
New York
North Dakota
South Dakota
Texas
Wisconsin

Rate Per Pack of 20
37¢
44¢
36¢
75¢
48¢
56¢
44¢
33¢
41¢
44¢

1987 - Rate increased to 35%. Payment dates "''''''F.'''.I.

1989 - Disposition changed.
1993 - Modified requirements and payment date for

accelerated June payment

Comparison With Other States - 1996
California 30.38% of wholesale price.
Illinois 18% of wholesale price.
Iowa 22% of wholesale price.
Michigan 16% of wholesale price.
MINNESarA 35% of wholesale price.
New York 20% of wholesale price.
North Dakota 28% of wholesale price.
South Dakota 10% of wholesale price.
Texas 35.213% of factory list; variable rate on ci­

gars.
Wisconsin 20% of manufacturer's list price.

Tax Base: Tobacco products, other than cigarettes, sold or
used in Minnesota, including cigars, smoking tobacco, and
chewing tobacco.

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297D.08

Rate: 35% of wholesale price.

Credits: Distributors allowed discount equal to 1.5% of tax.

Tax Base: Marijuana or controlled substance, as defined,
that is held, possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or
offered to be sold in violation of Minnesota laws.
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Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of products received
for sale in Minnesota.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

$233,000
$135,000

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Disposition: State General Fund

Revenue
Collections:

Credit: Tax paid to another state or local government.

Exemption: Pharmacists or other persons lawfully in
possession of marijuana or a controlled substance.

Rates:
Marijuana - $3.50 per gram or portion thereof.
Controlled substance - $200 per gram or portion thereof.
Controlled substance not sold by weight - $400 on each ten

dosage units, or portion thereof.

$10,205,000
$11,296,000

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Disposition: State General Fund

Revenue
Collections:

Payment Dates: 18th day of the month following receipt of
the product in state. Accelerated payment of 75% of June
liability due 2 business days before June 30 for filers
required to pay by electronic funds transfer.

History of Major Changes
1955 - Enacted at rate of 15% of wholesale price.
1959 - Rate increased to 20%.
1985 - Rate increased to 25%. Disposition changed.
1986 - Accelerated June payment enacted. Payment dates

changed.



Who Pays: A person who in violation of Minnesota law
manufactures, produces, ships, transports, or imports into
Minnesota or possesses more than the specified amount of
marijuana or a controlled substance.

Payment Dates: Immediately upon acquisition or possession
in Minnesota.

MORTGAGE REGISTRY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.05

Tax Base: Principal debt which is secured by a mortgage of
real property in the state.

Rate: 23¢ per $100 of principal debt.

Exemptions: Organizations exempt from the property tax.History of Major Changes
1986 - Enacted.
1988 - Tax on dosage units not sold by weight changed.
1989 - Credit enacted for a controlled substance tax paid

to another state or local government.

Revenue
Collections:
(state portion)

EY 1995
EY 1996

$34,224,000
$46,831,000

Comparison With Other States - 1996

Marijuana
Per Gram

Controlled Substance
Per Gram Other*

Disposition:
State General Fund
County Revenue Fund

97%
3%

Illinois $5.00 $250 '$2,000/50 units
Iowa $5.00 $250 $400/10 units
MINNESOTA $3.50 $200 $400/10 units
Texas $3.50 $200 $2,000150 units
Wisconsin** $3.50 $200

* For controlled substance not sold by weight, tax is based
on number of dosage units.

** Also: $1,000 per marijuana plant; $10 per gram of
hallucinogenic mushrooms; and $1,000 per gram for
material containing LSD.

California, Michigan, New York, North Dakota, and South
Dakota do not impose a separate excise tax on marijuana or
controlled substances.
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Administration
Agency: Treasurer of the county in which the mortgaged
land is situated.

Who Pays: The lender who records or registers a mortgage
of real property.

Payment Dates: At or before the time of filing the mortgage
for record or registration.

History of Major Changes
1907 - Enacted at 50¢ per $100 of principal debt.
1913 - Changed to 15¢ per $100 if mortgage is for 5

years or less; 25¢ for more than 5 years.
1945 - Changed to 15¢ per $100 on any mortgage.
1985 - Disposition modified.
1987 - Rate increased to 23¢ for each $100 of debt.

Disposition modified.
1989 - Disposition modified.
1991 - Reverse mortgages subject to tax.

Comparison With Other States -1996
MINNESOTA 23¢ per $100 of principal debt.
New York 50¢ (plus an additional50¢ in specified situ­

ations) per $100 of principal debt.

California, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, North Dakota, South Da­
kota, Texas, and Wisconsin have no similar tax.
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DEED TRANSFER TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.21

Tax Base: Transfer of real estate by any deed, instrument, or
writing.

Comparison With Other States - 1996
California 55¢ per $500 consideration after the first

$100 at the city or county option. The full
sales price is subject to tax.

Rates: $1.65 for consideration of $500 or less plus $1.65 for
each additional $500.

Illinois

Iowa

50¢ per $500 consideration.

80¢ per $500 consideration after the first
$500.

Major Exemptions: Executory contracts for the sale of land;
mortgages; wills; plats; leases; cemetery lot deeds; deeds of
distribution by personal representatives; and transfers between
co-owners.

MINNESafA $1.65 for consideration of $500 or less plus
$1.65 for each additional $500.

Revenue
Collections:
(state portion)

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

$36,723,000
$41,154,000

Michigan $3.75 per $500 value state real estate
transfer tax, plus county tax of 55¢ per $500
if population under 2 million, 75¢ per $500
if population 2 million or more.

Disposition:
State General Fund
County Revenue Fund

97%
3%

New York $2 per $500 consideration after the first
$100. For residences with consideration of
$1 million or more, an extra $5 per $500 of
consideration.

Administration
Agency: Treasurer of the county in which the land is situated.

Who Pays: Any person who grants, assigns, transfers, or
conveys real estate.

Payment Dates: At the time of transfer.

History of Major Changes
1961 - Enacted at $1.10 for first $1,000 of consideration

and 55¢ for each additional $500.
1967 - Increased to $2.20 for first $1,000 and $1.10 for each

additional $500. Earmarked proceeds for the
property tax relief fund.

1969 - Distribution of proceeds changed to State General
Fund.

1973 - Included corporations in those subject to tax.
1984 - Exempted transfers between co-owners partitioning

undivided interests in property.
1985 - Disposition modified.
1987 - Rate increased to $1.65 for $500 or less and $1.65

for each additional $500.
Extended tax to personal property transferred as part
of total consideration.
Eliminated exemption for state and local govern­
ments.

1989 - Disposition changed.
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South Dakota 50¢ per $500 consideration.

Wisconsin 30¢ per $100 consideration.

North Dakota and Texas do not impose a deed transfer tax.
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MINNESOTA
North Dakota
Wisconsin

GAMBLING TAXES

LAWFUL GAMBLING TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Thx Base: Gross receipts of a licensed organization from
lawful gambling (bingo, raffles, and paddlewheels) less
prizes actually paid out.

Rate: 10%

Comparison With Other States - 1996
Illinois 3% of gross proceeds for charitable

games, 5% of gross proceeds for bingo.
10% on gross receipts less prizes.
5% - 20% on adjusted gross proceeds.
2% on bingo gross proceeds.

California, Iowa, Michigan, New York, South Dakota, and
Texas do not have similar taxes. Texas has a bingo rental tax
of 3% on the gross rentals of premises for the conduct of
bingo games.

Exemptions: Lawful gambling if conducted by the
organization on no more than five days per year and prizes
do not exceed $50,000 per year. Smaller raffles. Bingo
conducted: in connection with a county fair, the state fair, or
a civic celebration; by an organization four or fewer times a
year; and within a nursing home or by a senior citizen
organization under certain conditions.

Revenue
Collections: FY. 1995

FY. 1996
$2,352,000
$2,558,000

PULL-TAB AND TIPBOARD TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Tax Base: Ideal gross of each pull-tab or tipboard deal sold by
a distributor. A "deal" is defined as each separate package, or
series of packages, consisting of one game of pull-tabs or
tipboards.

Rate: 2%

Exemption: Lawful gambling if conducted by an organization
on no more than five days per year and prizes do not exceed
$50,000 per year.

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agencies: Minnesota Gambling Control Board - licensing
and regulation. Minnesota Department of Revenue ­
collection and administration of the tax.

Revenue
Collections: FY. 1995

FY. 1996
$30,101,000
$30,782,000

Who Pays: Licensed organizations. To qualify, the organiza­
tion must be a fraternal, religious, veterans, or other
nonprofit organization.

Payment Date: 20th day of the month for the previous
calendar month.

History of Major Changes
1984 - Enacted.
1985 - Exempted bingo at a nursing home or senior

citizen organization under certain conditions.
1986 - Pull-tabs exempted, and a separate pull-tab tax

imposed.
Exempted lawful gambling if conducted by an
organization on no more than five days per year
and prizes do not exceed $50,000 per year.

1988 - Tipboards exempted and made subject to the same
tax as pulltabs.

1989 - Name changed from "charitable gambling" to
"lawful gambling".
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Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agencies: Minnesota Gambling Control Board - licensing and
regulation. Minnesota Department of Revenue - collection and
administration of the tax.

Who Pays: Licensed distributors.

Payment Date: 20th of the month for the previous calendar
month.

History of Major Changes
1986 - Enacted. Separate pull-tab tax replaced the

charitable gambling tax on pull-tabs.
1988 - Tipboards made subject to the same tax as pull-tabs.
1989 - Tax changed from 10% of ideal net to 2% of ideal

gross.
Payment date changed.
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1996 - Purchasers allowed refund of tax for unsold
tickets.

History of Major Changes
1989 - Enacted, effective 10/1/89.

Comparison With Other States - 1996
Illinois 5% of gross receipts.
MINNESafA 2% of ideal gross.
North Dakota 4Y:z% of gross receipts.

Comparison With Other States - 1996
Illinois Tax on riverboat gambling: 20% of

adjusted gross receipts; admission tax of
$2.

The other states do not impose a separate pull-tab or tipboard
tax.

COMBINED RECEIPTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.02

Tax Base: Gross receipts of an organization from lawful
gambling other than bingo, raffles, and paddlewheels
(currently pull-tabs and tipboards). Tax on pull-tab and tipboard receipts of

an organization: graduated rate schedule
of 0%, 2%, 4% and 6% of annual gross
receipts (see above).

Tax on excursion boat gambling and slot
machines at race tracks based on
adjusted gross receipts of the licensee:
5% of tsl $l million; 10% on next $2
million; 20% over $3 million.
(Starting 1/1/97 the top rate on slot
machines at race tracks will increase by
2% per year until it reaches 36%.)

PARI-MUTUEL TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 240.15

Rates and Disposition:
State General Fund: 6% of the takeout in excess of $12
million annually. The takeout is 17% for straight pools; 23%
for multiple pools. (Exemption of$12 million in effect7/1/96­
6/30/99.)

Tax Base: Total amount bet in pari-mutuel horse racing
pools at a licensed racetrack.

MINNESafA

Iowa

$30,286,000
$33,605,000

Tax Rate
0%
2%
4%
6%

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Graduated Rate Schedule:
Fiscal Year

Combined Receipts
First $500,000
$500,001 - $700,000
$700,001 - $900,000
Over $900,000

Exemption: Lawful gambling if conducted by the organiza­
tion on no more than five days per year and prizes do not
exceed $50,000 per year.

Revenue
Collections:

Disposition: State General Fund Minnesota Breeder's Fund: 1% of the total amount bet.

Administration
Agencies: Minnesota Gambling Control Board - licensing
and regulation. Minnesota Department of Revenue ­
collection and administration of the tax.

Revenue
Collections: F.y. 1995

F.y. 1996
$1,426,000
$1,394,000

Who Pays: Licensed organizations. To qualify, the organiza­
tion must be a fraternal, religious, veterans, or other
nonprofit organization.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Racing Commission

Who Pays: Any licensed racetrack.

Payment Date: 20th day of the month for the previous
calendar month.

Payment Date: Within seven days of date tax was collected.
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History of Major Changes
1982 - Minnesota Constitution amended to allow

pari-mutuel betting on horse races.
1983 - Tax enacted.
1988 - Changes made to the tax base and rates; the 40¢

tax per paid admission replaced by the sales tax on
the price of admission.

1989 - Pari-mutuel betting allowed on out-of-state horse
races televised at a licensed racetrack.

1996 - First $12 million of the takeout exempted (7/1/96­
6/30/99).

South Dakota Greyhound simulcast: Tax of 4.5% of
accumulated daily handle for racing
season. Horse simulcast: 4.5% of daily
handle. Live racing: 4/17 of the total
retained as compensation by the licensee
which exceeds 1.25% retained by the
licensee or remitted to the county except
breakage.

Texas Greyhound: 2% to 5% of total daily
handle; Horse: 1% to 5% of total daily
handle.

Michigan 2.5% on wagering on simulcast races
(increases to 3.5% on 1/1/97). None on
live races.

Comparison With Other States - 1996
California Thoroughbred: 4.8% to 7.5% of ontrack

handle and 2.5% to 4.0% of offtrack
handle. Quarterhorse and harness: 1% of
total handle. Fair racing: 2.5% to 4.5% of
ontrack handle and 1.5% to 3% of offtrack
handle.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

$26,000
$12,000

EY. 1995
EY. 1996

Greyhound: 2% to 8.67% of daily handle;
Horse: 1% to 3% of daily handle (no horse
racing occurring at this time).

Revenue
Collections:

Disposition: State General Fund

Rate: 6%

Wisconsin

SPORTS BOOKMAKING TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297E.03

Tax Base: Value of all bets received by a person engaged in
sports bookmaking. Sports bookmaking (a felony) is defined
in the criminal code as intentionally receiving, recording, or
forwarding more than 5 bets within a 30-day period that total
more than $2,500 on anyone or more sporting events.

Horse: 6% of the gross sum wagered, with
a credit of up to 5% of the gross sum
wagered to licensees for debt retirement or
operating expenses (6% if gross sum
wagered is less than $90 million).
Simulcast races: 2%; Dog: rates from 4%
to 6% of the gross sum wagered.

Cook County: 2% of daily handle.
Downstate: 1% on first $400,000 ,each day
and 2% of excess. Additional tax on
multiple wagering pools. Admission tax of
15¢ per person.

Iowa

Illinois

MINNESafA 6% of the takeout exceeding $12 million
annually plus 1% of the total amount bet.

Who Pays: Persons engaged in receiving, recording,
forwarding or accepting sports bookmaking bets.

New York Tax on betting handles: at non-NYRA
tracks, 0.5%; at NYRA tracks, 3% on
regular, 2.5% on multiple, and 7.5% on
exotic race handles. Tax on breakage: 20%
at thoroughbred tracks; 50% at standard­
bred tracks. Tax of 4% of track admissions.

Payment Dates: 20th day of the month following sports
bookmaking activity.

History of Major Changes
1993 - Enacted, effective 7/1/93.

North Dakota 2% on win, place, show.
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GROSS EARNINGSTAXES

Tax Base: Gross premiums less return premiums received on
all business in Minnesota.
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History of Major Changes
1868 - 2% gross premiums tax imposed on foreign

insurance companies.
1872 - 2% tax extended to domestic companies.
1895 - Retaliatory tax provisions adopted.
1913 - Fire marshal tax of 0.375% adopted.
1934 - 2% surcharge on fire premiums enacted.
1937 - Fire marshal tax increased to 0.5%.
1953 - 5% ocean marine profits tax enacted.
1981 - Estimated tax payment schedule changed.
1986 - Payment schedule modified for some companies.
1987 - Exemptions removed from domestic mutual

insurance companies, cooperative life and casualty
companies, and premiums paid to Workers'
Comprehensive Reinsurance Association and the
Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association.
Eliminated the credit for payments to the
Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association.

1988 - Tax rate for certain mutual property and casualty
insurance companies phased down from 2% for
1988 to 0.5% for 1992 and after.
Premiums received by the writing carrier for the
Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association
re-exempted.

1989 - Reduced rate for mutual property and casualty
companies extended to those writing principally
workers' compensation.

1990 - Asset test for mutual property and casualty
companies frozen as of 12/31/89.

1992 - Ocean marine profits tax repealed and replaced by
2% premiums tax.
Nonprofit health service plan corporations and
health maintenance organizations subject to 1%
premiums tax, beginning 1/1/96.
Payment dates for estimated tax changed.

1994 - Reduced rate for mutual property and casualty
companies extended to a stock company converted
from a mutual company under certain conditions.
Credit enacted for guaranty association assess­
ments.

1995 - Rate increased from 0.5% to: 1.26% for mutual
property and casualty companies with assets
between $5 million and $1.6 billion; and 1.0% for
town and farmers' mutual companies and for
mutual property and casualty companies with less
than $5 million in assets.

$146,539,000
$151,001,000

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Revenue
Collections:

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Disposition:
Health Care Access Fund - taxes paid by health maintenance

organizations and nonprofit health service plan corpora­
tions.

State General Fund - taxes paid by other companies.
(The proceeds from the tax on certain types of premiums
are paid as aids to local fire and police departments.)

INSURANCE PREMIUMSTAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 60A.15, 60A.198,

69.54, and 299F.21

Payment Dates: Most companies make three estimated
payments per year on April 1, June 1, and December 1.
Annual return due March 1 of the following year.

Exemptions: fraternal benefit societies; Minnesota's
comprehensive health association plan premiums; farmers'
mutual and township mutual insurance companies (fire
marshal tax).

Rates:
2.0% - Domestic and foreign companies' premiums.
1.26% - Mutual property and casualty companies with

assets more than $5 million but less than $1.6
billion as of 12/31/89.

1.0% - Health maintenance organizations; nonprofit
health service plan corporations; and mutual
property and casualty companies with assets less
than $5 million.

3.0% - Surplus line agents.
0.5% - Fire marshal tax on fire premiums.
2.0% - Surcharge on fire premiums for property located

in cities of the first class.

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign insurance companies doing
business in Minnesota.



Comparison With Other States· 1996
PremiumsTax Rate

California 2.35%.

HEALTHCARESURCHARGFB
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 147.01,256.9657, 256B.19

Illinois

Iowa

MINNESOTA

New York

North Dakota

1% to 3%.

2%.

See rates on previous page.

0.8% to 1.3%.

2% for life insurance, 1.75% for
accident, health, property, casualty and
surplus lines of insurance.

Tax Base and Rates:
Physicians: $400 annual license surcharge.
Licensed nursing homes, other than state-operated: $625 per
licensed bed. For county-owned nursing homes, an additional
$5,723 per licensed bed.
Hospitals: 1.56% of net patient revenues, excluding Medicare.
For Hennepin County Medical Center (HCMC) and the
University of Minnesota Hospital, an additional 1.8% of net
patient revenues excluding Medicare, plus HCMC pays $1.5
million and the University of Minnesota Hospital pays
$500,000 per month.
Health maintenance organizations and integrated service
networks: 0.6% of total premium revenues.
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Michigan has no insurance premiums tax. Insurers pay the
single business tax at an effective rate of 1% after credits.

Who Pays: Physicians, nursing homes, hospitals, health
maintenance organizations, integrated service networks.

Payment Dates:
Physicians - June 15 or December 15
All others - monthly by the 15th of the month.

J

$121,315,000
$124,046,000

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Disposition: State General Fund

Revenue
Collections:

History of Major Changes:
1991 - Enacted, on hospitals and nursing homes.
1992 - Tax base and rates for hospitals and nursing homes

changed. Additional surcharge of 2% for county
hospitals in Hennepin and Ramsey.
Surcharge extended to physicians and health
maintenance organizations.
Disposition changed.

1993 - Rates increased for nursing homes and hospitals.
Surcharge extended to integrated service networks.
Additional surcharge for Ramsey County deleted.
Surcharge for Hennepin County reduced.
Surcharges for the University of Minnesota and
county nursing homes enacted.

1995 - Monthly payment amount changed for HCMC and
the University Hospital.
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Administration
Agencies: Department of Human Services; Board of Medical
Practice (physicians).2% on casualty and foreign life

insurance companies; 2.375% on fire
insurance; 0.5% on marine insurance;
3.5% of gross income (except interest
on reserves and premiums on annuities)
for domestic life insurance companies.

1.75% for life, accident, and health
insurance; 1.6% to 3.5% for property
and casualty insurance and 1.3% to
2.0% on title insurance depending on
percentage of assets invested in the state.

1.25% annuity tax; 2.5% premium tax;
0.5% fire marshal tax.

South Dakota

Wisconsin

Texas



MINNFSOfACARETAXES
HEALTH CAREPROVIDERTAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. 2

Minnesota's health care access program, MinnesotaCare, is
funded by the following 2% rate taxes referred to as the
MinnesotaCare taxes: the hospital and surgical center taxes;
the health care provider tax; the wholesale drug distributor
tax; and the pharmacy tax. Funding is also be derived from
a 1% premiums tax on health maintenance organizations
and nonprofit health service plan corporations.

HOSPITAL AND SURGICAL CENTER TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. 1 and 1a

Thx Base: Gross revenues for patient services.

Thx Base: Gross revenues for patient services.

Rate: 2%

Major Exemptions: Medicare payments; medical assistance
payments; general assistance medical care payments;
payments received from hospitals, surgical centers, and
health care providers subject to MinnesotaCare taxes;
MinnesotaCare program payments; home health care
service; hospice care services; amounts paid for prescription
drugs to a wholesale drug distributor; and specified other
government payments.

Rate: 2% Credit: Tax paid to another state.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Disposition: Health Care Access Fund

Major Exemptions: Medicare payments; medical
assistance payments; general assistance medical care
payments; payments received from hospitals, surgical
centers, and health care providers subject to MinnesotaCare
taxes' MinnesotaCare program payments; home health care
servi~es; hospice care services; amounts paid for prescrip­
tion drugs to a wholesale drug distributor; and specified
other payments.

Revenue
Collections: F.y. 1995

F.y. 1996
$71,726,000
$74,023,000

Who Pays: Hospitals and surgical centers that transact
business in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Monthly estimated tax payments due by
the 101b of the following month. Annual return due on
March 15 for the previous calendar year.

Credit: Tax paid to another state.

Disposition: Health Care Access Fund

Payment Dates: Quarterly estimated tax payments due on the
151b of April, July, October, and the following January.
Annual return due on March 15 for the previous calendar
year.

Who Pays: Health care providers that transact business in
Minnesota. A health care provider is a person furnishing
directly to a patient or consumer the following goods or
services: medical, surgical, optical, visual, dental, hearing,
nursing services, drugs, medical supplies and appliances,
laboratory, diagnostic or therapeutic services, or any other
goods or services that qualify for medical assistance
reimbursement. A staff model health carrier or a licensed
ambulance service is also a health care provider. Hospitals,
nursing homes, pharmacies, and surgical centers are not
considered health care providers for purposes of this tax.

$40,191,000
$42,953,000

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Administration:
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Revenue
Collections:

History of Major Changes
1992 - Enacted, effective 1/1/93.

History of Major Changes
1992 - Enacted, effective on 1/1/94
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WHOLESALE DRUG DISTRIBUTORTAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. 3 and 4

Tax Base: Gross revenues from the sale or distribution of
prescription drugs that are delivered in Minnesota. A use tax
is imposed on drugs received for resale or use in Minnesota
by a person other than a wholesale drug distributor.

PHARMACY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 295.52, Subd. Ib

Tax Base: Gross revenues from medical supplies, appli­
ances, and equipment.

Rate: 2%

Rate: 2%

Credit: Tax paid to another state

Revenue
Collections: EY. 1995

EY. 1996

$19,488,000
$23,068,000

Credits: Tax paid to another state. A pharmacy may claim a
credit equal to 2% of the amount paid to a wholesale drug
distributor who is subject to the wholesale drug distributor
tax for prescription drugs the pharmacy delivers outside
Minnesota.

Revenue
Collections: Included with Health Care Provider Tax

Disposition: Health Care Access Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Wholesale drug distributors or other persons who·
receive prescription drugs for resale or use in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Estimated tax payments due the 15th of
April, July, October, and the following January. Annual
return due on March 15th for the previous calendar year.

History of Major Changes
1992 - Enacted, effective 1/1/94.
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Disposition: Health Care Access Fund

Administration:
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Pharmacies that transact business in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Quarterly estimated tax payments due on the
15th of April, July, October, and the following January.
Annual return due on March 15 for the previous calendar
year.

History of Major Changes:
1993 - Enacted, effective 1/1/94
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Rate: 9.8%. Also subject to alternative minimum tax.

OCCUPATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.01

The production tax and property taxes on minerals are found
in the Local Tax Section.

SEVERANCEANDTONNAGE'fAXES
MINERALTAXATION

History of Major Changes
1921 - 6% occupation tax imposed on iron ore.
1937 - Rate increased to 10%; reduced to 8% for

subsequent years.
1941 - Labor credit enacted.
1947 - Rate increased to 11 %; minimum rate 3.75%.
1955 - 15% surtax added.
1959 - Additiona11 % tax imposed.
1964 - Taconite Amendment to the Minnesota Constitu­

tion adopted by the voters, which restricted the
total amount of occupation, royalty, and excise
taxes paid by taconite companies. It expired at the
end of 1989.

1971 - Occupation tax on taconite 15%; minimum rate
6.75%. Occupation tax on iron ore 15.5%;
minimum rate 14%.

1984 - Reduced rate to 15% for natural iron ores.
1985 - Reduced rate on taconite and iron ore to 14% by

1987.
1987 - On ores other than taconite and iron ore, tax

changed to be same as the corporate franchise tax.
Beginning in 1990, tax on taconite and iron ore
changed in a similar manner.

1989 - Tax based on the valuation of the ore. Allowed
deductions specified.

1991 Credit allowed for alternative minimum tax paid in
a prior year.
Payment date changed from June 15 to May 1.
Seven month extension to file allowed.

1995 - Tax imposed on direct reduced ore.
1996 - Appropriation to IRRRB for Carlton and

Koochiching Counties increased from 1¢ to 1.5¢
per ton.

50%*
40%
10%

Taconite
$2,302,000
$3,064,000

Iron Ore
$68,000

$133,000

Disposition:
State General Fund
Elementary and secondary schools
University of Minnesota

Revenue
Collections:

FY. 1995
FY. 1996

Special Provisions: Other provisions that differ from the
corporate franchise tax: unitary principle not applicable;
percentage depletion allowed.

Tax Base: Similar to the corporate franchise tax but starting
point is the value of iron ore, taconite concentrates, or direct
reduced ore mined or produced in Minnesota. Deductions
allowed only for expenses necessary to convert raw iron ore,
taconite concentrates, or other ore to marketable quality.

Comparison With Other States - 1996

* Of this amount, an amount equal to the yield of a 1.5¢ per
taxable ton is appropriated to the Iron Range Resources
and Rehabilitation Board (IRRRB) for environmental
development grants and economic development loans in
Carlton and Koochiching counties.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax

Office in Eveleth

Who Pays: Mining companies operating in this state.

Payment Date: May 1 for the previous year.
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Michigan
Resource
Natural gas
Crude oil

Crude oil
(from stripper
wells)
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Rate
5% of gross market value
6.6% of gross market
value
4% of gross market
value. In addition,
production of natural gas
and oil is subject to a fee
of 1% or less of market
value annually to pay state
administrative expenses.



5%
10%
10%
20%
20%
20%

5%
5%
5%

Disposition: (based on where resources are mined)
Outside the taconite tax relief area - State General Fund
Within the taconite tax relief area:

City/town where mined/extracted
Taconite municipal aid account
School district where mined/extracted
Qualifying group of school districts
County where mined/extracted
Distributed as taconite homestead credit
Iron Range ResourceslRehabilitation Board
NE Minnesota Economic Protection Trust Fund
Taconite Environmental Protection Fund

NET PROCEEDS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.015

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax
Office in Eveleth

Revenue
Collections: No revenues have been collected to date.

Exemptions: Sand, silica sand, gravel, building stone,
crushed rock, limestone, granite, dimension granite,
dimension stone, horticultural peat, clay, soil, iron ore, and
taconite concentrates.

Rate: 2%

Tax Base: Net proceeds from mining or extracting mineral
and energy resources in Minnesota.

MINNESOTA Iron ore, tac- 9.8% of taxable income

onite concen-
trates, and
direct reduced ores

North Dakota Crude oil 5% of market value.

Natural gas 3.85¢ per mcf (adjusted
annually)

North Dakota 6.5% of market value

crude oil (4% for secondary and
tertiary recovery wells and
new wells.)

South Dakota Mineral $4 per ounce of gold;

products 10% of net yield from
sale of extracted minerals;
plus an additional tax of
from $1 to $4 per ounce
of gold, depending on the
price of gold.

Energy 4.5% of taxable value.

minerals

Texas Natural gas 7.5% of market value.

Oil 4.6% of market value.

production

Wisconsin Petroleum 5¢ per ton processed.

products

California, Illinois, Iowa, and New York do not impose an

occupation tax.

Who Pays: Companies that mine or extract the resources.

Payment Date: June 15 for the previous calendar year.

History of Major Changes
1987 - Enacted, effective with calendar year 1987.
1990 - Clay exempted from the tax.

Comparison With Other States - 1996
MINNESOTA 2% of net proceeds from specified

mineral and energy resources

Wisconsin Graduated rates from 3% to 15% on
net proceeds from metalliferous
minerals.
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IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 168

Tax Base: Motor vehicles using the public streets and
highways.

Rates:
Passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans - $10 plus
1.25% of base value based on the age of the vehicle.
Minimum tax - $35. Flat tax for vehicles over ten years

old-$35.

1973 - New truck rates established.
1976 - Minimums on trucks, tractors, and combinations

increased.
1981 - Increased rates on certain vehicles.
1986 - Increased rates on certain vehicles.
1989 - Depreciation schedule modified for passenger

cars, pickup trucks, and vans.
1990 - Exempted ambulances owned by private licensed

ambulance services and vehicles used by driver
education programs at nonpublic high schools.

1995 - Exemption enacted for vehicles used by a
manufacturer in conducting cold weather testing.

1996 - Eliminated exemption for vehicles owned by
representative of foreign powers.

Disposition: Highway User Tax Distribution Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays: Any person who registers a motor vehicle in the

state.

Fees for truck and
commercial vehicles
based on weight.

Commercial Vehicles
Annual weight fees are
assessed on two-axle
trucks and buses rang­
ing from $8 for vehicles
under 3,000 lbs. to $616
if over 14,000 lbs.
Motor vehicles with 3 or
more axles and any
trailer range from $43
for vehicles from 2,000
to 3,000 lbs. to $1,016
for those weighing over
15,0001bs.

Passenger Cars
$29 registration
fee plus license
fee of2% of
market value.

$48

Comparison With Other States· 1996

California

Illinois

$427,322,000
$449,719,000

EY. 1995
EY. 1996

Revenue
Collections

Exemptions: Vehicles owned by governmental units, school
buses, agricultural tractors and trailers, special mobile
equipment, vehicles used solely for carrying construction
camp equipment or attached machinery, fire apparatus,
ambulances, and vehicles not operated on highways.

Trucks, tractors, and buses - based on the type, weight,
and age of the vehicle. A minimum tax applies to each
type of vehicle.

Payment Dates: When first registered to use the public roads
and annually thereafter when re-registered.

History of Major Changes
1911 - Enacted at $1.50 per vehicle.
1921 - Rates based on value and weight of vehicle.
1941 - Passenger cars taxed at 2.2% of value.
1949 - Vehicles reclassified and rate schedules revised.
1955 - Rates increased by 5%.
1965 - Rate schedule modified.
1971 - Tax set on passenger vehicles at $10 plus 1.25% of

base value.

Iowa 1% of value
plus 40¢/100
lbs; multipurpose
vehicles-$200
for model years
prior to 1993,
at general rate
thereafter. Taxes
decline after
2 model years.

Trucks - $65 for 3 ton
or less; $80-$1,695 for
over 3 ton; plus $80 per
ton over 40 tons. Lower
rates for farm trucks.
Trailers - $6 or $10.
Semi-trailers $10.
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Thx Base: Flight property of air carriers engaging in air
commerce.

Exemption: Commuter airlines electing to be taxed under
the aircraft registration tax.

$8,532,000
$8,286,000

F.Y 1995
F.Y 1996

Disposition: State Airports Fund.

AIRFLIGHT PROPERTY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.072

Rates: Tax rate is determined annually to yield the property
tax portion of the State Airports Fund. Rate for taxes payable
in 1996 was approximately 6.2%.

Computation:
Value of airflight property, as determined by the
Minnesota Department of Revenue

times: Apportionment factor - average of the three factors
of tonnage of passengers and freight, equated
plane hours, and revenue ton miles

equals: Minnesota value
times: tax capacity rate, according to the following

schedule:
40% for quiet aircraft, as defined
70% for other flight property
50% of above rates for flight property of an airline

company using primarily turboprops and that
has scheduled passenger service to three or
more small or medium sized communities.

equals: tax capacity
times: tax rate - determined by dividing the property tax

portion of the state airports fund by the total tax
capacity

equals: airflight property tax.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Revenue
Collections:

Who Pays: All air carriers engaging in air commerce in
Minnesota under certificates issued by the United States
Department of Transportation.

Payment Dates: The tax is due and payable on January 1 of
each year following the levy of the tax.

60

$29-$95 based Commercial pickup

on weight for trucks under 5,000 lbs

models through - $34 to $44. Tow
1983. $30 and trucks and trucks 8,000

up based on lbs. or less - $38 to
list price for $218. Trucks towing a

1984 and later trailer 8,000 lbs. or less

models. and trucks over
8,000 lbs. - $378 to
$2,398.

MINNESOTA See rates above

New York $13.80-$74.75 $2.88 per 500 lbs. on
based on weight. trucks and trailers.

$1.21 per 100 lbs. on
tractors.

North Dakota $26-$251 based $27 first 4,000 lbs. up
on weight and to $1,769 for over
age of vehicle. 102,000 lbs.

South Dakota $20-$40 based $85 first 4,000 lbs. up

on weight. to $250, plus $40 per
ton for over 20,000 1bs.

Texas $40.50-$58.50. $25 plus 44¢ - 88¢ per

Vehicles over each 100 lbs. up to
6,000 lbs - $25 31,000 lbs plus 99¢ per

plus 60¢ per 100 lbs. for over 31,000

1001bs. lbs.

Wisconsin $40 $45 first 4,500 lbs. up to
$1,832 for over 80,000
lbs.



History of Major Changes
1945 - Enacted, assessed at 40% of value.
1953 - Changed to 33 1/3% valuation.
1971 - "Market value" for "full and true value" substi­

tuted.
1976 - Exemption enacted for aircraft weighing less than

30,000Ibs.
1987 - One assessment ratio of 33 1/3% replaced by

schedule of ratios.
Use of statewide average property tax mill rate
replaced by revenue yield for each year specified
by statute and tax rate determined therefrom.

1992 - Revenue yield changed from statutory specified
amount to property tax portion of the state airports
fund.

Comparison With Other States
In general, states that tax air flight property use the average
property tax rate statewide. California, Iowa, New York, and
North Dakota do not impose a property tax on airflight
property.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Transportation

Who Pays: Any person who registers noncommercial aircraft
in Minnesota.
Payment Dates: When the aircraft is first registered and
annually thereafter on July 1.

History of Major Changes
1945 - Enacted.
1957 - Exempted civil air patrol.
1987 - Minimum tax increased from $10 to $50.

Comparison With Other States
Michigan Aircraft weight tax of 1¢ per pound.
MINNESOTA 1% of value.
Wisconsin Annual fee: from $30 for 2,000 lbs. or

less to $3,125 for more than 100,000Ibs.

The other states do not impose the tax.

AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 360.531

RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATIONS
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.41

Rate: $10 for each 100 members of portion thereof.

Tax Base: Number of members. The tax is in lieu of all
personal property taxes.

Disposition: State General Fund

$52,000
$53,000

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Revenue:
Collections:

Administration:
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Exemptions: Aircraft of the civil air patrol;
government-owned aircraft.

Tax Base: Value of noncommercial aircraft which regularly
use the airspace over or the airports in Minnesota.

Rate: 1% of value. The value begins with the base price, and
after the first year it is reduced for depreciation -10% in the
second year and 15% for the third and each succeeding year,
subject to the minimum tax. The minimum tax is the greater
of 25% of the tax computed on the original base price or
$50.

Revenue
Collections: F.y. 1995

F.y. 1996
$2,016,000
$2,533,000

Who Pays: Rural electric cooperative association

Payment Date: March 1 for the previous calendar year.

Disposition: State Airports Fund History of Major Changes
1939 - Enacted
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WASTE TAXES

HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATOR TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 115B.22

Payment Dates: Quarterly declarations of estimated tax
required on the 15th of March, June, September, and
December if tax expected to exceed $1,000. Annual return
due April 15.

Tax Base: Volume of hazardous waste generated.

Rates:
Generators That Produce Per Year
More than 2,640 gallons
From 264 to 2,640 gallons
From 10 to 264 gallons
10 gallons or less

*Or quantity tax, whichever is larger.

$500*
$200*

$50
$0

History of Major Changes
1983 - Enacted.
1984 - Exemption for hazardous waste generated as

residue from a hazardous waste incineration
facility.

1993 - Existing tax repealed and replaced by a new tax
structure in effect from 1994 to 2003.

Comparison With Other States - 1996
California, Iowa, New York, and Texas impose taxes or fees
on various categories of hazardous waste.

Ouantity Tax
Hazardous waste discharged to a publicly-owned wastewater
treatment works or managed as a hazardous waste fuel or
using thermal treatment: 1.5¢ per pound of solid or 15¢ per
gallon of liquid.

Hazardous waste managed under any other method: 3¢ per
pound of solid or 30¢ per gallon of liquid.

Exemptions: Hazardous waste that is: destined for recy­
cling; destined for incineration at an approved facility in
Minnesota; pretreated to a nonhazardous state prior to
discharge to a publicly-owned treatment works; treated to a
nonhazardous state after treatment in an on-site treatment
system; neutralized and not otherwise hazardous after
neutralizing; generated as a result of a response action or as
the result of lead acid battery smelting.

Special Provision: The tax is repealed, on January 1,2004.

METROPOLITAN SOLID WASTE LANDFILL FEE
Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.843

Tax Base: Volume of solid waste disposed of at a solid waste
disposal facility in the seven county metropolitan area.

Rate:
If the facility weighs the waste it accepts: $6.66 per ton.
If the facility does not weigh the waste but measures the
volume: $2 per cubic yard.

Exemption: Waste residue from recycling facilities or from
energy and resource recovery facilities at which solid waste
is processed for the purpose of extracting, reducing,
converting to energy, or otherwise separating and preparing
solid waste for reuse is exempt if at least 85% of the weight
of the solid waste is reduced.
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Disposition: Environmental Fund, Environmental Response,
Compensation, and Compliance Account.

25%

75%

$3,255,000
$1,047,000

EY. 1995
EY. 1996
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Disposition:
Metropolitan Landfill Abatement Account,
Environmental Fund

Metropolitan Landfill Contingency
Action Trust Fund

Revenue
Collections:$1,858,000

$1,721,000
EY. 1995
EY. 1996

Revenue
Collections:

Who Pays: Generators of hazardous waste required to
disclose such generation under the hazardous waste rules of
the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.



Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Revenue
Collections: F.y. 1995

F.y. 1996
$11,041,000
$20,153,000

,

Who Pays: Operators of mixed municipal solid waste
disposal facilities in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin,
Ramsey, Scott, and Washington counties.

Payment Dates: 20th day of the month, for the previous
month.

History of Major Changes
1984 - Enacted.
1989 - Rate increased from 50¢ to $2 per cubic yard;

disposition changed; exemption modified.
1994 - Differential rate enacted for facility that weighs the

waste it accepts.
1995 - Exemption based on 85% of weight rather than

volume.

Comparison With Other States - 1996
California $1.34 per ton
MINNESOTA $2 per cubic yard or $6.66 per ton

None of the other states imposes a solid waste fee.

SOLID WASTE GENERATOR ASSESSMENTS
Minnesota Statutes, Section 116.07, Subd. 10

Tax Base: Collection of assessed waste. ''Assessed waste" is
mixed municipal solid waste, infectious waste, pathological
waste, industrial waste, and construction debris.

Rates:
Residential customers: $2 per residential customer per year.
Nonresidential customers: 60¢ per noncompacted cubic yard

of periodic waste collection capacity purchased by the
customer. Also, a person who transports assessed waste
generated by that person or by another person without
compensation pays 60¢ per noncompacted cubic yard to the
operator of the facility.

Special Provision: For any fiscal year after 1996, if less than
$25 million is projected to be available for landfill cleanup
and reimbursement costs, the 60¢ assessment is increased to
provide for the shortfall.
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Disposition: Solid Waste Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Purchasers of waste collection services.

Who Remits: Providers of waste collection services collect
and remit the tax.

Payment Dates: Same as the state sales tax, The assessments
are reported on and remitted with the sales tax returns.

History of Major Changes
1993 - Enacted at $2 per year for residential customers

and 12¢ per noncompacted cubic yard for
nonresidential customers for mixed municipal
solid waste. Effective 7/1/93.

1994 - Rate for nonresidential customers increased from
12¢ to 60¢.
Extended to other types of waste: infectious;
pathological; industrial; and construction debris.
Extended to person who transports waste
generated by that person or by another person
without compensation.
Provision added for increase in the 60¢ assessment
if less than $25 million is available for certain
landfill costs.

1995 - Disposition changed.
1996 - Materials separated for recycling exempted under

certain conditions.
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REEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 268.03 to 268.24

'lax Base: Wage base of $15,800 in 1996, $16,300 in 1997.

Rates: Standard rate for new employers: 1.8% in 1996 and
1.6% in 1997. Rate for new construction employers: 8.6% in
1996 and 8.1 % in 1997. Minimum rate: 0.1 % in 1996 and
1997. Maximum rate: 9.0% in 1996 and 1997. All tax-rated
employers pay an additional 0.1% tax to fund the dislocated

workers program.

Exemptions: Various categories of excluded employment
exist, including service performed by: a son, daughter, or
spouse; independent contractors; members of a partnership;
elected public officials; and ordained ministers of a church.

History of Major Changes
1936 - Unemployment Compensation Law enacted.
1939 - Standard rate set at 2.7%.
1941 - Formula for computing experience rates adopted.
1971 - Methods of calculating contribution rates,

experience rates, and minimum rates changed.
1976 - Method for setting contribution rates changed.
1979 - Amended to conform with federal law.
1982 - $8,000 base for 1% adopted. Tax base of 60% of

average annual wage adopted.
1985 - Standard rate set at 5.4%.
1987 - $8,000 base removed. Minimum and maximum

rates changed. Solvency surtax beginning in 1989
if trust fund below certain levels.

1994 - Name changed from "unemployment insurance"
to "reemployment insurance".

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Economic Security

Payment Dates: April 30, July 31, October 31, and Janu­

ary 31.

Disposition: Proceeds are paid into the Reemployment
Insurance Fund and benefits are paid out of this fund and
charged to each employer's account.

Wage Base
$7,000
$9,000

$14,700
$9,500

$15,800
$7,000

$13,900
$7,000
$9,000

$10,500

Standard Rate*
3.4%a
2.7%b
1.05%c
2.7%d
1.8%e
5.4%f
2.2%g
1.9%h
2.7%i

3.05o/J

Comparison With Other States - 1996

California
Illinois
Iowa
Michigan
MINNESarA
New York
North Dakota
South Dakota
Texas
Wisconsin

a. Plus disability insurance tax of 0.8% until the employee's
wage reaches $31,767.

b. Plus four industry rates ranging from 3.3% to 4.2. %
c. 7.05% for new construction employers.
d. 7.3% for new construction employers.
e. 8.6% for new construction employers.
f. Subsidiary contributions required if general account

balance falls below $120 million, and supplemental tax
required if size-of-fund index falls to below 2%.

g. 7% for new construction employers.
h. 6.7% for new construction employers.
i. Industry rate if higher.
j. 4.4% for construction employers. For employers with

payroll over $500,000, the rates are 3.25% and 4.55%
(construction).

* For new employers. Experience ratings determine actual
rate paid in subsequent years.

$424,518,000
$378,931,000

F.y. 1995
F.y. 1996

Revenue
Collections:

Who Pays: Generally, any employer who has one or more
individuals employed for 20 different weeks in either the
current or preceding calendar year, or having paid wages of
$1,500 in any quarter of either year.
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2.0%

1.0%

0.45%

2.3%
3.6%

3.0%
4.6%

1.0%
1.5%
1.5%

1.0%
2.0%

1.75%
2.5%
2.0%

0.45%
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Property Tax Class Rates For Taxes Payable in 1997
Class and Type of Property Net Class Rate
la Residential homestead

First $72,000 market value (MV)
Over $72,000 MV

Ib Homestead of blind or disabled
First $32,000 MV
Excess is Class 1a or 2a

Ie Small homestead resorts
2a Agricultural homestead

House, garage, and one acre - same as Class 1a
Remaining land

First $115,000 MV
Over $115,000 MV

First 320 acres
Over 320 acres

2b Nonhomestead agricultural land; timberland;
certain areas of privately-owned public use airports

3a Commercial, industrial, and utility property
First $100,000 MV
Over $100,000 MV

3b Employment property (enterprise zones)
Competitive Zone

First $50,000 MV
Over $50,000 MV

Border city zone - same as class 3a
4a Apartments, 4 or more units; private hospitals

In qualifying smaller cities outside the metro area 2.3%
All other 3.4%

4b Residential nonhomestead, 1-3 units including 2.3%
farm house, garage, and one acre.

4e Housing under: Title II; Minn. Housing Finance 2.3%
Agency; Section 8; Sec. 42 of Internal Revenue Code.
Neighborhood real estate trust.
Commercial seasonal recreational residential.
Nonprofit community service organization
Fraternity and sorority housing.

Manufactured home parks
Noncommercial seasonal recreational residential

First $72,000 MV
Over $72,000 MV

4d Structures of Farmers Home Administration
housing in municipalities under 10,000 pop.
Abandoned housing under a lease-purchase
program administered by the Minn.
Housing Finance Agency or a housing and
and redevelopment authority - same as class la.

4e Residential portion of certain converted warehouses 2.3%
5 Tools, implements, and machinery of an electric 4.6%

generating, transmission, or distribution
system or a pipeline system.

Unmined iron ore and low-grade iron ore
All other property

PROPERTY TAXES AND
TAXES IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

Major Exemptions: Real property - Indian lands; public
property used for public purposes; educational facilities;
religious and charitable institutions; cemeteries; attached
machinery.Personal property - household goods; commercial
and industrial personal property; farm machinery and
livestock; agricultural products.

Computation:
Market value - determined by county assessor,
except for state-assessed property.

times: class rates - determined by type of property, as
listed in table on next page.

equals: net tax capacity
times: local tax rate - aggregate of county, city or town,

school district, and any special taxing districts
equals: gross tax
minus: credits (listed in the order in which they are

subtracted from gross tax)
- disaster credit
- powerline credit
- agricultural preserves credit
- enterprise zone credit
- disparity reduction credit
- conservation tax credit
- taconite homestead credit
_ supplemental homestead credit

equals: net tax
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LOCAL TAXES

GENERAL PROPERTY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 272.01

Rates: Local tax rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. Total tax
rate includes all levies for all taxing jurisdictions within
which the property is located (city or town, county, school
district, and any special taxing districts).

Tax Base: Net tax capacity of real and personal property.
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Who Pays: Owners of property not specifically exempt.

Payment Dates: First half of real estate tax is due by May
15th. Second half of real estate tax is due by October 15th
(November 15th for owners of agricultural land).

History of Major Changes
1860 - State Board ofEqualization created to reduce

inequities of assessment.
1913 - Classification system enacted, with four classes of

property
1933 - Property classes increased from four to seven.
1934 - Constitutional amendment authorized the limited

exemption of household goods and farm machin­
ery.

1937 - First $4,000 of homesteads exempted for state tax.
- Additional classes of property defined.

1945 - Airflight property tax enacted.
1959 - Reclassified noncommercial lakeshore property.
1961 - Indian lands exempt from taxation.
1967 - Homestead credit enacted at 35% of gross tax with

a maximum of $250.
- Senior citizen property tax credit enacted.
- State government property tax levy eliminated.
- Livestock and agricultural machinery exempted.
- Manufacturers given option to exempt either tools

and machinery or inventories.
- Adoption of county assessor system.
- Adoption of Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax

Law (known as "green acres").
- Farm homestead increased from 40 to 80 acres.

1969 - Taconite homestead credit enacted.
- Minnesota Open Space Property Tax law enacted.

1971 - Overall property tax levy limitation laws enacted
for school districts, counties, and municipalities.

- Mobile homes taxed as personal property.
- Fiscal disparities established.
- Business inventories and tools and machinery

made entirely exempt.
1973 - Type I and II apartments made separate classes.

- Senior citizen property tax freeze credit enacted.
- Increase in market value for residential property

limited to 5% per year.
- Manufacturing and business machinery considered

as real property (attached machinery) exempted.
- Senior citizens property tax credit extended to

disabled and blind persons.
1974 - Homestead credit increased to 45% of gross tax

with a maximum credit of $325.
- Farm homestead increased from 80 to 120 acres.

1975 - Limit on market value increase for residential
property replaced with general limits on valuation
increases.

- Property tax refund enacted.
- Flexible homestead base established.
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Taxes
Paid

$4,123.3
$4,343.7

Prop.
Tax

Refund**
$176.3
$177.6

Credits
$18.5
$18.5

Revenue
Collections (millions):

Year Gross
Pay- Taxes
able Levied*
1995 $4,318.1
1996 $4,539.8

* After homestead and agricultural credit aid and disparity
reduction aid.

** Includes targeting refund.

Property Tax Refund: Homeowners and renters may
receive property tax relief based on the relationship of the
property tax on the home or applicable tax on the rental unit
and total household income. The person's property tax must
be more than a specified percentage of household income.
Above that level, the state will pay a percentage of the tax,
up to a maximum refund of $470 for homeowners and
$1,090 for renters. The percent of income, percent of state
payment, and maximum refund depend upon the income of
the claimant. As the claimant's income increases, the amount
the state pays decreases. Eligibility for the property tax
refund is limited to claimants with incomes under $65,450
for homeowners and under $38,170 for renters. The income
thresholds and maximum refund amounts are indexed for
inflation.

Disposition: Revenue is distributed by county auditors and
treasurers to the counties, municipalities, school districts,
and other taxing authorities according to the amount levied
by each.

Another refund (called the special refund or targeting) is
available to homeowners whose net property tax increases by
more than a set percentage from the previous year. Both the
property tax refund and the special refund are paid directly
to the claimants by the state.

Administration
Agencies: County assessor, county auditor, county treasurer.
Minnesota Department of Revenue - equalization of values
and valuation of state-assessed properties.



- Agricultural mill rate differential increased.
1976 - Agricultural mill rate differential eliminated and

replaced with a credit at a higher rate.
1977 - Farm homestead increased from 120 to 160 acres.

- Classification ratios for homesteads reduced.
- Relief under property tax refund increased; senior

citizen property tax freeze credit repealed.
1979 - Eliminated limited market value. Enacted

two-stage shift to estimated market value.
- Homestead credit increased to 50% of gross tax

with a maximum of $550.
- Classification ratios for homestead and certain

other property reduced.
- Farm homestead increased from 160 to 240 acres.
- Agricultural mill rate credit increased.
- Lowered assessment rate for multi-unit structures

used for low-income housing.
- Enacted power line credit (effective in 1982).
- Wetlands exemption and credit enacted.
- Replaced gross earning tax on railroads with the

general property tax.
- Relief under property tax refund increased.

1980 - Classification ratios lowered for homestead and
certain other property.

- Title II reimbursement aid for local governments
enacted.

- Homestead credit increased to 58% of gross tax
with a maximum credit of $650.

- .Native prairie exemption and credit enacted.
- Targeting credit for homesteads enacted.

1981 - Certain property of senior citizens' groups and
shelters for victims of domestic abuse exempted.

- Rental valuation of agricultural land used if less
than market value (pay 1984).

- Classification ratios for commercial-industrial
property and certain apartment buildings reduced.

- Targeting credit modified.
- Agricultural mill rate credit made more progres-

sive.
- Certain aid and credit entitlements limited.
- Overall levy limitations law changed.

1982 - Enterprise zone classification of property created.
- Reduced assessments for property damaged by a

natural disaster enacted, with state payments to
offset local revenue loss.

1983 - Homestead credit percentage reduced to 54%.
- Classification ratios for homestead property and

certain apartments changed.
- Agricultural property tax credit changed.
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- Classification ratio on commerciaVindustrial
property reduced.

- Payment dates moved up 15 days.
- Additional classification ratios for enterprise zone

property created and state paid credit for enterprise
zone business enacted.

- Direct satellite broadcasting facilities exempted.
- Enacted a new property tax refund formula with

new maximums.
- Targeting refund program amended and additional

targeting refund enacted.
- Attached machinery aid for cities and towns

eliminated.
- Reduced assessment aid repealed.
- Removed 240-acre limit for farm homesteads.

1984 - Classification ratio for commerciaVindustrial
property reduced.

- Agricultural credit increased.
- Repealed rent capitalization for agricultural

valuation purposes.
- Targeting credit enacted for taxes payable in 1985.
- Local option tax relief authorized in cases where

homesteads are destroyed.
- State reimbursement enacted for transit levy

differentials in metro area.
1985 - Maximum homestead credit increased to $700.

Agricultural credit increased and maximum credit
eliminated.

- Classification ratios changed for some types of
property.

- Classes of property reorganized and renumbered.
1986 - Due date for second half property tax payment on

farm property extended one month.
1987 - Small business property tax transition credit

enacted for 1988 only.
- Reduced classification ratios for homestead

property.
- Income maintenance disparity aid enacted.
- Transferred duties ofthe EqualizationAid Review

Committee to the commissioner ofRevenue.

Beginning with taxes payable in 1989:
- Replaced the homestead credit on nonagricultural

property and the agricultural credit with exemp­
tions. Local units of government reimbursed
through the homestead credit replacement aid and
the agricultural credit replacement aid.

- Restructured the property tax classification system
reducing the number of classes and increasing the
classification ratios.
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- Tax base adjustment aid enacted.
- Repealed the native prairie and wetlands credits.
- Exempted electric power distribution lines used to

supply electricity to farmers at retail.
- Reduced levy limits increases from 5% to 3%.

1988 - Homestead credit reinstated for 1989 only and
maximum increased from $700 to $725.

- Agricultural credit reinstated for 1989 only but no
longer applicable to seasonal recreational property.

- System of classification ratios and mill rates
replaced by system of tax capacity rates which are
applied to market value.

- Disparity reduction aid enacted.
- Property tax refund modified.
- Beginning with pay 1990, homestead and

agricultural credits replaced by transition aid.
- ''Truth in Taxation" system enacted (pay 1990).

1989 - Beginning with pay 1990, the homestead and
agricultural credits are replaced by new state aids,
including a new school equalization aid and
homestead and agricultural credit aid (HACA,
formerly transition aid).

- New class rates for 1990 and subsequent years.
- Modified disparity reduction aid formula.
- Levy limits to be repealed by 1993.
~ Commercial/industrial equalization refund

established for taxes payable in 1990 and 1991.
- Noncommercial seasonal recreational property

eligible for targeting refund for 1990 only.
- Property tax refund modified.

1990 - Commercial/industrial equalization refund
repealed before it went into effect.

- Third homestead classification bracket increased
from $100,000 to $110,000.

- Class rates changed for several types of property.
- Repeal of levy limits for cities and towns delayed

from taxes payable in 1992 to 1993.
- Property tax refund modified.

1991 - Class rates and brackets changed for homestead
property. Class rates changed for commercial/
industrial, residential rental, and seasonal
residential property.

- Vacant land eliminated as a separate class (pay
1993).

- Levy limits made more restrictive for pay 1992.
- Local Government Trust Fund established.

1992 - Homestead treatment extended to dwelling
occupied by relative of the owner.
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- Calculation of targeting refund modified and limited
to a maximum of $1 ,500.

- Class rate on manufactured home parks reduced
from 2.3% to 2% for 1993 only.

1993 - Limited market value established for agricultural,
residential, and noncommercial seasonal recre­
ational residential property for 1993-1998.

- Exclusion enacted for certain improvements to
older homes for up to ten years. After ten years,
20% of the excluded value added in each of the
next five years.

- Class rates reduced for certain agricultural
property.

- Class rate of 2% for manufactured home parks
extended for two years.

- Homestead certification procedures modified.
1994 - Duration of limited market value program reduced

by one year.
- Restrictions added to exclusion of improvements

for older homes, including market value limit of
$150,000 ($300,000 in some areas).

- For the property tax refund, increased the income
thresholds and maximum refund amounts; indexed
both. Increased percent paid by the state.

- For targeting, reduced the percent paid by the state
from 75% to 60% and the maximum refund from
$1,500 to $1,000.

- Local Government Trust Fund eliminated 6/30/96.
1995 - Class rates reduced for: cabins (pay 1997);

apartments in qualifying smaller cities outside the
metropolitan area; and certain new commercial/
industrial property within transit zones.

- Class rate of 2% for manufactured home parks
made permanent.

- Property tax refund for homeowners and targeting
changed from direct payments to deductions on the
tax statement (pay 1998).

1996 - Class rates reduced for cabins.
- Electric power generation facilities eligible for

partial market value exclusion based on efficiency.
- Income qualifications changed for Class 1b

disabled homesteads.
- New Class 4e created for pre-1940 warehouse

converted to residential use.
- Fiscal disparities enacted for taconite tax relief

area.
- Property tax refund on the tax statement delayed

for one year.
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TREE GROWTH TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.32

Tax Base: Five acres or more of forest lands used exclu­
sively for the growing of continuous forest crops.

AUXILIARY FOREST TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 88.50

Tax Base: Any 35 acres or more of land that is suitable for
forestation or any wood lot containing 5 to 40 acres.

Rates: Land tax-annual tax of 1O¢ per acre. Yield tax­
40% to 10% of value of timber, the rate determined by the
year of the harvest in relation to the contract period.

Special Provisions: This tax is in lieu of the property tax.
The land was made an auxiliary forest upon county board
approval. When the auxiliary forest contract expires, the land
automatically qualifies for the tree growth tax. No new
auxiliary forest contracts are allowed, or existing contracts
extended, after June 30, 1974.

Disposition: Same as the property tax

Rates: Lands growing commercial forest types are taxed at
30% of the value of annual growth. Temporarily nonproduc­
tive forests are taxed at 5¢ per acre or 15¢ per acre for
noncompliance with the reforestation agreement. Perma­
nently nonproductive lands are taxed at 5¢ per acre.

Credit: For each acre of land planted and maintained with at
least 500 commercial trees, the owner is eligible for an
annual credit of 50¢ per acre. The credit is applied against
taxes on other lands within the same governmental subdivi­
sion and is allowed for ten years.

Special Provisions: The tree growth tax is in lieu of the
property tax. The owner must apply to, and receive approval
from, the county to have qualifying forest lands come under
this tax.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

1995
1996

$19,000
$7,000

Disposition: Same as the property tax.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

1995
1996

$762,000
$795,000

Administration
Agencies: County auditor, county board.

Who Pays: Those who received county board approval on or
before June 30, 1974.

Administration
Agencies: County auditor, county board.

Who Pays: Those who apply for and receive county board
approval to have their forest lands so taxed.

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property
tax.

History of Major Changes
1957 - Enacted.
1959 - Repealed restriction that a landowner may not have

more than 10,000 acres in one county under this
tax.

1967 - Added that ad valorem taxes could not be assessed
if an agreement had been in effect for at least 6
years.
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Payment Dates: Land tax - annually by May 31. Yield tax
- at time of harvest.

History of Major Changes
1926 - Enabling constitutional amendment adopted.
1927 - Tax imposed on any tract of forestable land less

than 160 acres; woodlots between 20 and 40 acres.
Land tax: 8¢ per $1 assessed value. Yield tax: 10%
of marketable timber value.

1929 - Land tax changed to 5¢ per acre.
1945 - Size of land plot changed to any 35 acres or more

and wood lots between 5 and 40 acres. Rate
changed to 6¢ per acre.

1947 - Yield tax graduated between 40% and 10%.
1957 - Land tax rate changed to 10¢ per acre.
1974 - Prohibited contracts from being issued or extended,

effective after June 30, 1974.
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CONTAMINATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.91

MINING PRODUCTION TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 298.24 and 298.35

Tax Base: Contamination value of taxable real property,
which is the amount of any market value reduction granted
for the property tax due to the presence of contaminants.

Tax Base: Tonnage of merchantable ore concentrate
produced from taconite, iron sulfides, and semi-taconite.

Direct Reduced Ore - for the first five years of a plant's
production, the rate is 25% of the regular tax rate for the first
500,000 tons for the year and 50% of the regular tax rate for
the excess.

Rates:
Taconite and Iron Sulfides - $2.094 per ton applicable to the
average production of the current year and the previous two
years. Beginning with production year 1997, the rate is
increased annually by the implicit price deflator.

12.5%

25.0%

50.0%

%of
Class Rate*

100.0%
Rates:
General rate
Owner has in place an approved abatement

or management plan, as specified
Neither the owner nor the operator is the

party responsible for the contaminants
Neither the owner nor the operator is the

responsible party and an approved abatement
or management plan is in place.

* Class rate for that property under the property tax.

Exemptions: Contamination value of contaminants for
which the requirements of a response action plan have been
satisfied. Contamination value of asbestos if the work has
been completed under an abatement plan or if a management
plan has been implemented.

Revenue
Collections: Year Payable

1995
1996

$635,000
$508,000

Semi-Taconite - Sintered in Minnesota: 5¢ per gross ton plus
0.1 ¢ for each 1% that the iron content exceeds 55%. Sintered
outside Minnesota: 1O¢ per gross ton of crude ore plus 0.1 ¢
per gross ton for each 0.5% that the iron content exceeds
55%. The last production of semi-taconite was in 1979.

Special Provision: Additional tax of 1O¢ per ton of taconite
tailings produced which are not deposited on land in
accordance with specified permits. Currently the tax is not
imposed because tailings are deposited in accordance with
such permits.

Revenue

Disposition: The taconite production tax is distributed to a
number of entities based on requirements and formulas
specified in state statute. The actual distribution made in
1996 for the 1995 production year is summarized on the next
page. (Source: Minnesota Mining Tax Guide, Minnesota
Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax Office. September
1996)

Disposition:
Tax on property that has a response plan

Contaminated Site and Development Account,
State General Fund 95%

County (for administrative costs) 5%
Tax on property without a response plan-distributed to
local jurisdictions in the same manner as the property tax.

Administration
Agencies: County assessor, auditor, and treasurer

Collections:
Year Payable

1995
1996

$81,500,000
$85,705,000

Who Pays: Owners of contaminated property.

Payment Dates: Same as the general property tax.

History of Major Changes
1993 - Enacted, beginning with taxes payable in 1995.
1994 - Exempted asbestos-contaminated property that is

managed under a qualifying program.
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Administration
Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue, Minerals Tax
Office in Eveleth - determination of liability and distribu­
tion.
Eligible counties - collection and distribution to local units.
Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board - collec­
tion of its share.

1985 - Taconite production tax paid to the counties and
the IRRRB. Distribution of proceeds modified.

1986 - Rate reduced from $2.05 to $1.90 per ton.
Indexing of rate suspended under certain condi­
tions. Distribution of proceeds modified.

1987 - Indexing of rate eliminated for 1987.
Distribution modified.
Production tax on copper-nickel repealed.

1988 - Distribution modified.
1989 - Distribution modified.
1990 - Rate set at $1.975 per ton for 1990, to be indexed

starting in 1991.
1992 - Rate set at $2.054 per taxable ton for production

years 1992 and 1993. Indexing to start in 1994.
Distribution modified for production years 1992
and 1993.

1993 - Payment date changed.
Distribution modified.

1994 - Rate kept at $2.054 for 1994 production year.
Lower rate enacted for direct reduced ore.
Distribution modified.

1995 - Rate kept at $2.054 for the 1995 production year.
1996 - Increase in rate due to indexing limited to 4¢ per

ton for 1996.
- Distribution modified.

Cents per
Taxable Ton

3.3¢
16.5
40.4
23.3

6.2
31.0

9.7
.2

7.5
30.0
11.1
16.7
9.3

__.2

205.4¢

Aid recipients
Taconite Cities and Towns
Taconite Municipal Aid
School Districts
County
County Road and Bridge
Taconite Property Tax Relief
Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation Board
Range Association of Municipalities & Schools
Taconite Railroad Grandfather Amount
Taconite Environmental Protection Fund
N.E. Minnesota Economic Protection Fund
Taconite Economic Development Fund
School Bond Credits and Payments
State of Minnesota

Who Pays: Mining companies pay the production tax in lieu
of the property tax on the land, buildings, and equipment
used in connection with taconite mining, quarrying, or
production.

Payment Dates: February 24 of the following year.

History of Major Changes
1881 - Tonnage tax on iron ore of 1¢ per ton imposed.
1897 - Tonnage tax on iron ore repealed and replaced by

the property tax.
1941 - Taconite production tax of 5¢ per ton imposed.
1959 - Production tax on semi-taconite enacted.
1967 - Copper-nickel production tax enacted.
1969 - Tax on taconite increased to 11.5¢ per ton.
1971 - Additional tax of 4¢ to 14¢ per ton imposed.
1975 - Taconite production tax increased by 39¢ per ton.
1977 - Taconite production tax increased to $1.25 per ton

with tax index based on the price of steel.
1984 - Index frozen for two years and converts to implicit

price deflator for production year 1987.
Water filtration plant credit enacted.

Comparison With Other States

Resource Rate
California Crude oil and A charge of about 3.3¢

natural gas per barrel of oil or ten
thousand cubic feet of
net gas produced.

MINNESOTA Taconite $2.094 per ton, indexed.

North Dakota Coal 75¢ per ton plus 2¢ per
ton for lignite research.

Texas Sulphur $1.03 per long ton.

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, New York, South Dakota, and
Wisconsin do not impose a production tax.
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SEVERED MINERAL INTERESTSTAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.165, Subd. 1

UNMINED TACONITE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.26

Tax Base: Mineral interests in real estate owned separately
from the title to the surface interests in the real estate.

Tax Base: Taconite in a forty-acre tract of land from which
the production of iron ore concentrate is less than 1,000 tons
in that year.

Rates: Annual rate of 40¢ per acre times the fractional
interest owned. Minimum tax of $3.20 on any mineral
interest.

Rates: Market value times the class rate of 4.6% times the
local property tax rate. Maximum tax of $15 per acre.

Exemptions: Mineral interests taxed under other laws
relating to mineral taxation or those exempt from taxation
due to constitutional or statutory provisions.

Revenue

Collections:
Year Payable

1995
1996

$488,000
$468,000

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property
tax.

Administration
Agency: County

Who Pays: Owners of mineral interests which are owned
separately from the affected real estate.

Disposition: 80% of the proceeds are distributed in the same
manner as the property tax. The remaining 20% is deposited
in the Special Revenue Fund and credited to the Indian
Business Loan Account.

Administration
Agency: County

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property
tax.

Who Pays: Owners of taconite mineral interests.

Disposition: Distributed in the same manner as the property
tax.

History of Major Changes
1941 - Enacted at $1 per acre maximum.
·1977 - Increased to $10 per acre maximum.
1994 - Maximum tax increased from $10 to $15 per acre,

beginning with taxes payable in 1995.

$428,000
$684,000

Year Payable
1995
1996

Collections:

Revenue

History of Major Changes
1973 - Enacted.
1994 - Tax rate increased from 25¢ to 40¢ per acre;

minimum tax increased from $2 to $3.20,
beginning with taxes payable in 1995.
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LOCAL SALES TAXES

Special Provision: Authority has been given to the
Metropolitan Sports Facilities Commission to tax lodging
and liquor at a variable rate in the City of Minneapolis.

Minnesota law prohibits the imposition of any local sales or
income tax without specific legislative authorization. Local
sales taxes specially authorized are listed here. All cities and
towns are also authorized to impose a lodging tax of up to
3%, with the proceeds dedicated to tourism promotion.

Rate Tax Base
Bloomington: 6% Lodging

5% Liquor and beer
3% Admission to spectator events

Cook County: 1% State sales tax base
2% Lodging in towns of Lutsen,

Tofte, and Schroeder.
Duluth: 1% State sales tax base

1% Certain food and beverages
4% Lodging
6% Lodging - 30 or more rooms

Hermantown 1% State sales tax base (4/1/97)
Little Falls 0.5% Restaurant food and beverages

(7/1/96)
Mankato: 0.5% State sales tax base

$20 Per motor vehicle sold at retail
Minneapolis: 0.5% State sales tax base

3% Lodging*
6% Lodging -'- more than 50 rooms*
3% Admissions, amusements, lodging
3% Liquor and beer (downtown,

on-sale only)
3% Restaurant food (downtown)

Rochester: 3% Lodging
0.5% State sales tax base

$20 Per motor vehicle sold at retail
St. Cloud: 5% Lodging

1% Certain food and beverages
St. Paul: 0.5% State sales tax base

3% Lodging
6% Lodging - 50 or more rooms

Two Harbors: 1% Lodging
Winona: 1% Lodging

Due Dates: The 20th of the month following the sales
month.

* Reflect collections only from taxes imposed upon special
authorization.

History of Major Changes
1969 - Minneapolis imposed a 3% tax on admissions,

amusements, and lodging.
1970 - St. Paul, Duluth, and Bloomington imposed a 3%

tax on lodging.
1971 - Rochester imposed a 3% tax on lodging.

- Local governments prohibited by state law from
imposing or increasing sales or income taxes.

1973 - Duluth authorized to impose a 1% general sales
tax.

1977 - Duluth authorized to impose a 2% tax on
restaurant sales of meals and drinks.

1979 - St. Cloud authorized to impose a3% lodging tax.
- Metropolitan Sports Commission lodging and

liquor tax authorized.

Disposition: Local governments.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue - collection of
Mankato, Minneapolis, Rochester, St. Cloud, and St. Paul
sales taxes. Other cities and counties collect their own taxes.

Who Remits: Holders of local sales tax permits.

Who Pays:· Purchasers or users of taxable goods and
services.

Revenue
Collections:* C.Y. 1994 c.Y. 1995

Bloomington $8,939,000 $9,797,000
Duluth 10,187,000 10,653,000
Mankato 2,002,000 2,149,000
Minneapolis 33,056,000 34,877,000
Rochester 6,374,000 6,585,000
St. Cloud 1,519,000 1,711,000
St. Paul 10,691,000 11,115,000
Two Harbors 7,000 9,000
Winona 172,000 168,000
Cook County 776,000 901,000
Scott County 278,000 468,000

The cumulative tax on lodging in Minneapolis cannot exceed
12%.

*
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1980 - Duluth exempted from prohibition against
increasing rates without legislative approval.

1982 - St. Paul authorized to impose a lodging tax of 3%.
At least 25% of the proceeds to pay the debt
service on the civic center parking ramp.

1983 - Authorized any city to impose a lodging tax of up
to 3% for tourism promotion.

- Rochester authorized to impose a general sales tax
of up to 1% and an excise tax of up to $20 per
vehicle sold at retail.

1985 - Extended to towns the authority to impose a
lodging tax of up to 3% for tourism promotion.

1986 - Minneapolis authorized to impose these taxes for
convention center funding: a 0.5% general sales
and use tax; a 3% sales tax on liquor and beer and
on restaurant food (downtown only); and an
additional 3% lodging tax on facilities with more
than 50 rooms.

- St. Paul authorized to impose an additional 2% tax
on transient lodging facilities with 50 rooms or
more to fund a convention bureau.

- Bloomington authorized to impose a 1% general
sales tax within a designated special district. The
city also authorized to impose a 5% lodging tax
and a 5% sales tax on liquor and beer.

- St. Cloud authorized to fund a convention center
by imposing a 1% sales tax on certain food and
beverages and an additional 2% lodging tax.

1987 - Bloomington authority to impose a 1% general
sales tax repealed.

- Cook County lodging tax in certain towns
authorized.

- Scott County admission tax authorized.
1989 - Rate for the generally-authorized lodging tax

increased from 3% to 6%.
1990 - Rate for generally-authorized lodging tax reduced

from 6% to 3%
- Bloomington authorized to impose an additional

1% lodging tax.
1991 - Mankato authorized to impose a general sales tax

of 0.5% and a $20 excise tax per vehicle sold at
retail. Proceeds to the Riverfront 2000 Project.

- Winona authorized to impose a lodging tax of 1%.
Half of proceeds for a specified project; the
balance for tourism promotion.

- St. Paul's authority for an additional lodging tax
on a business with 50 or more rooms increased
from 2% to 3%.
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1992 - Brooklyn Center authorized to impose a 1% tax on
restaurant food and on-sale liquor. Proceeds to
fund low-income housing projects. (Not imposed)

- Ely authorized to impose a general sales tax of 1%
and an excise tax of $20 per motor vehicle sold at
retail. Proceeds to fund the Ely Wilderness
Gateway project. (Not imposed)

- Rochester authorized to impose a general sales and
use tax of 0.5% and an excise tax of $20 per motor
vehicle sold at retail. Proceeds for specified capital
improvements.

- Roseville authorized to impose a 2% tax on
lodging. Proceeds to fund a multi-use speed
skating and bandy facility. (Not imposed)

- Thief River Falls authorized to impose a general
sales tax of 0.5% and an excise tax of $20 per
motor vehicle sold at retail. Proceeds to fund the
Tourism - Convention Facilities. (Not imposed)

1993 - St. Paul authorized to impose a general sales tax of
up to 0.5% by resolution of the city council.
Proceeds to fund the expansion and remodeling of
the St. Paul Civic Center complex and capital
projects to further residential, cultural, commer­
cial, and economic development downtown and in
the neighborhoods.

- Cook County authorized to impose a general sales
tax of up to 1% by referendum. Proceeds to fund
the expansion and improvement of the North
Shore Hospital. (Approved, effective 1/1/94)

- Garrison authorized to impose a general sales tax
of up to 1% by referendum. (Not imposed)

1994 - Two Harbors authorized to impose a tax of up to
1% on lodging. Proceeds to be used for preserva­
tion and display of the tugboat Edna G.

1995 - Disposition of proceeds changed for Winona
lodging tax.

1996 - Hermantown authorized to impose a general sales
tax of up to 1%. Proceeds to fund improvements to
sewer and water systems and construction of a po­
lice and fire station. (Implemented 4/1/97)

- Little Falls authorized to impose a tax of 0.5% on
restaurant food and beverages. Proceeds to be used
for tourism purposes. (Implemented 7/1/96)

- Scott County admissions tax repealed.
- Mankato authorized to also use sales tax proceeds

to improve and expand its municipal airport.
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LOCAL GROSS EARNINGS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 451.07

SAND AND GRAVEL PRODUCTION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.75

Tax Base: Gross earnings of utilities operating in certain
cities and counties.

Tax Base: Aggregate material removed from gravel pits or
deposits in 22 counties.

Rates: Varies by city Rates: 10¢ per cubic yard or 7¢ per ton of aggregate
material.

Payment Dates: Established locally.

Who Pays: Utility companies.

Disposition: Local revenue funds.

*Cities shown are those with annual receipts over $200,000.

Revenue
Collections:
County c.Y. 1994 c.Y. 1995
Becker $ 74,000 $ 55,000
Benton 1,000 *
Big Stone 39,000 40,000
Carver 46,000 54,000
Clay 143,000 131,000
Dakota 466,000 421,000
Hennepin 274,000 283,000
Kittson 39,000 8,000
LeSueur 153,000 151,000
Mahnomen 3,000 3,000
Marshall 12,000 26,000
Norman 1,000 1,000
Pennington 31,000 20,000
Polk 24,000 4,000
Ramsey 28,000 40,000
Red Lake 28,000 28,000
Scott 276,000 270,000
Sherburne 153,000 145,000
Sibley 21,000 23,000
Stearns 54,000 78,000
Washington 397,000 327,000
Wilkin 9,000 7,000

$2,272,000 $2,115,000

c.Y. 1995

$897,000
1,363,000

700,000
16,595,000
14,227,000

424,000
614,000

$957,000
1,363,000

700,000
16,800,000
13,999,000

417,000
573,000

Administration
Agency: Local units of government.

Albert Lea
Coon Rapids
Duluth
Minneapolis
St. Paul
South St. Paul
Winona

Gas and electric utility companies:*
C.Y. 1994

Revenue
Collections:

*Less than $500

Disposition:
County road and bridge fund
City or town for roads and bridges
Restoration of abandoned pits

60%
30%
10%

Administration
Agency: County

Who Pays: Those removing aggregate material from pits or
deposits in the 22 counties.

Payment Dates: Quarterly.
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History of Major Changes
From 1961-1979, seven counties had received authority to
impose this tax through special legislation.

1980 - Gave all counties the option of imposing such tax.
1982 - Uniform rate and proceed disposition provisions

enacted and extended the tax to all aggregate
materials.

1983 - Extended tax on aggregate materials to importers as
well as operators. Specified 26 counties subject to
tax.

1984 - Exempted certain counties from requirement to
impose tax.

1996 - Authority to impose the tax extended to Chisago,
Murray, and Rock counties. (None of the counties
will impose the tax.)
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GREATER MINNESOTA LANDFILL
CLEANUP FEE

Minnesota Statutes, Section 115A.923

Tax Base: Volume of solid waste disposed of at a solid waste
disposal facility outside the seven-county metropolitan area.

Rate: $2 per cubic yard.

Exemption: Waste residue from recycling facilities or from
energy and resource recovery facilities at which solid waste
is processed for the purpose of extracting, reducing,
converting to energy, or otherwise separating and preparing
solid waste for reuse is exempt if at least 85% of the weight
of the solid waste is reduced.

Revenue
Disposition: County or sanitary district where facility is
located or the city for a city-owned facility. Revenue must be
used for landfill abatement purposes or costs of closure,
pastclosure care, and response actions or other designated
purposes.

Administration
Agency: County, sanitary district, or city.

Who Pays: Operators of mixed municipal solid waste
disposal facilities outside the seven-county metropolitan area
charge and remit the fee.

History of Major Changes
1989 - Enacted.
1990 - Fee remitted to local unit of government rather

than Department of Revenue.
- Disposition modified.

1991 - Changed the status of the operator of a mixed
municipal solid waste disposal facility from the
entity that pays the fee to the one that charges the
fee.

1995 - Exemption based on 85% of weight rather than
volume.
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STATE-LOCAL FISCAL RELATIONS

State aid payments are made for both the general support of
local governments and for specific purposes. This section
describes the major state-local aid programs in Minnesota. It
is intended to provide only a general description of the
state-local fiscal system; miscellaneous aids and grants to
local governments are not included.

EDUCATION AIDS

The Department of Education administers the following
major aid programs for the state's school districts:

General Education Aid - Aid and levy formula which
includes basic revenue, compensatory education revenue,
training and experience revenue, sparsity revenue, and other
aids.

'Iransportation Aid~ Provides funding to school districts
for the transportation of students to and from school.

Special Education Aid - Funds a portion of the salaries of
teachers and other staff providing direct services to students.

Capital Expenditure Aid - Provides funding for programs
such as facilities, equipment, health and safety improve­
ments, and lease payments.

Community Service Aid - Provides funding for programs
including community education, adult education, early
childhood education, and nonpublic pupil programs.

Debt Redemption Aid - Provides funding for various
programs so that school districts have the ability to make
long-term debt payments.

Food Service Aid - Provides funds for federal matching
requirements for school lunch, milk, and breakfast programs.

Other General Fund Programs - Provide funding for
various small categorical grant programs, such as First Grade
Preparedness, Indian Education programs, and one-time
categorical programs.
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HUMAN SERVICES AIDS

Medical Assistance (MA) - Makes vendor payments to
nursing facilities, group homes for developmentally disabled
persons, hospitals, physicians, pharmacists, and other
providers of medical services. Payments are made on behalf of
AFDC and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients
and other children and parents and elderly, blind, or disabled
people who meet the income and asset limits of the program.

General Assistance Medical Care (GAMC) - Makes
vendor payments to hospitals, physicians, and other providers
of medical services. Payments are made on behalf of
recipients of General Assistance or Work Readiness and other
low-income people who do not meet the categorical require­
ments of Medical Assistance.

Alternative Care Program - Pays for home-care services
for people who would qualify for Medical Assistance within
six months of entering a nursing facility.

Consolidated Chemical Dependency Fund - Pays for
chemical dependency treatment for people whose incomes are
within the limits for MA or GAMe.

Aid to Families With Dependent Children (AFDC) - Cash
grants to families with children with family income under
approximately 53% of the federal poverty guideline. Includes
Emergency Assistance.

Minnesota Family Investment Plan (MFIP) - Pilot program
in certain counties which is an alternative to AFDC and is
designed to provide more incentives for recipients to work.

General Assistance (GA) - Cash grants to individuals and
families who do not qualify for AFDC or SSI, who meet the
categorical requirements of General Assistance. Categorical
requirements define conditions and circumstances under
which the person may not be capable of self·support.

Work Readiness - Cash grants to individuals and families
who do not qualify for AFDC or SSI, and who do not meet
the categorical requirements of General Assistance. Assistance
is time-limited.

Minnesota Supplemental Aid - Cash grants for the elderly,
blind, or disabled which supplement SSI grants.
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The level of state funding in EY. 1996 for the various aid
categories is indicated as follows:

Comparison of State Aid to Local Government
and State Tax Collections for RY. 1996:

Child Care Fund - Pays for child care for AFDC recipients
who are participating in work and training activities and for
former AFDC recipients in their first year after termination of
AFDC.

LOCAL AIDS

Local Government Aid - This aid supports general
operations of cities and towns.

Homestead and Agricultural Credit Aid (HACA) - This
aid replaced the homestead credit and the agricultural credit
beginning in 1990. It reduces levies for all taxing districts,
and together with statewide property class rates, primarily
benefits farms, timberlands, and lower-valued homes.

Disparity Reduction Aid - This aid reduces the levies of
all taxing districts in areas that had high tax rates in 1988.

Police and Fire Aids - Aid is given to qualifying municipal
fire departments, independent nonprofit fire fighting
corporations, county sheriff departments, municipal police
depaltments, the Metropolitan Airports Commission, and
University of Minnesota, and certain park police and joint
powers police agencies.

Amortization Aids - Aids paid to police and fire depart­
ments with local relief associations in the process of
converting to the Public Employees Retirement Association.
The aids are paid to amortize the unfunded accrued liability
of local pension plans.

TRANSPORTATION AIDS

Highway and transit aid is financed primarily from the
highway fuels excise taxes and motor vehicle registration
tax. It is distributed through the following funds:

County State Aid Highway Fund - The formula for
distributing these funds is based on vehicle registrations,
highway mileage, and need.

Municipal State Aid Street Fund - These funds are
distributed on the basis of need and population.

Transit Assistance - Funds paid for non-metropolitan
transit assistance.

Education Aids
General Education
Transportation
Special Education
Capital Expenditure
Community Service
Debt Redemption
Food Service
General Fund Programs
Other Aids

Human Services Aids
Medical Assistance
General Assistance Medical Care
Alternative Care Program
Consolidated Chemical Dependency Fund
AFDC (Includes Emergency Assistance)
MN Family Investment Plan
General Assistance
Work Readiness Grants
Minnesota Supplemental Aid
Child Care Fund

Local Aids
Local Government Aid
Homestead Credit and
Agricultural Credit Aid
Disparity Reduction Aid
Police and Fire Aids
Amortization Aids
Other Aids and Credits

Transportation Aids
County
Municipal
Transit Assistance
State Airport Fund Grants

$2,252,584,000
149,981,000
239,033,000
141,791,000
56,223,000
30,078,000

6,351,000
102,459,000

14,263,000
$2,992,763,000

$1,188,384,000
151,566,000
34,424,000
43,330,000

126,315,000
19,180,000
46,218,000

1,580,000
21,803,000
34,327,000

$1,667,127,000

$339,305,000

601 ,808,000
28,261,000
49,990,000

5,971,000
24,120,000

$1,049,455,000

$352,797,000
113,638,000

11,223,000
9.434,000

$487,092,000
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State Aid
State Taxes
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$6.196 billion
$9.990 billion

=62.0%
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Property Tax Class Rates For Taxes Payable in 1998 
Minnesota State Tax Collections	 Addendum to 

Class and Type of Property	 Net Class Rate Net After Refunds the Revised 1996 Edition of 
la	 Residential homestead Fiscal Year 1997	 the Minnesota Tax Handbook

First $75,000 market value (MY) 1.0%
 
Over $75,000 MY 1.85%
 

FY 1997 CollectionsIb	 Homestead of blind or disabled This supplement to the 1996 Revised Edition of the 
First $32,000 MY 0.45%	 %of 

Minnesota Tax Handbook contains the major tax law 
Excess is Class Ia or 2a	 Amount Total 

changes enacted in the regular and special sessions of thelc Small homestead resorts 1.0% (OOO's) 
1997 Minnesota Legislature. The law changes are listed by Id Migrant housing - same as Class la
 

2a Agricultural homestead tax, with page references to the Revised 1996 Edition.
 Individual Income $4,784,801 44.06%
 
House, garage, and one acre - same as Class Ia
 Income Tax Reciprocity 31,887 .29
Remaining land: Publication of a new tax handbook is scheduled for the latter Corporation Franchise 680,898 6.27Up to $115,000 MY	 0.4% part of 1998 and will include any 1998 law changes. Estate	 48,944 .45Over $115,000 MY
 

Up to 320 acres 0.9%
 
Minnesota Department of Revenue

Over 320 acres 1.4% General Sales & Use 3,018,193 27.80 
Tax Research Division 2b Nonhomestead agricultural land; timberland 1.4% Motor Vehicle Rental 8,907 .08 

3a Commercial, industrial, and utility property Motor Vehicle Sales Tax 393,710 3.63 
First $150,000 MY 2.7% Motor Fuels Excise 536,081 4.94 History of Major ChangesOver $150,000 MY	 4.0% Alcoholic Beverage	 56,399 .52

3b	 Employment property (enterprise zones) Cigarette	 180,571 1.66 Individual Income Tax, Page 7
Competitive Zone: 

Tobacco Products	 13,278 .12 1997 - One-time refundable credit enacted for 1997 equal First $50,000 MY 2.3% 
Controlled Substances 112 to 20% of property taxes paid by homeowners and Over $50,000 MY 3.6% *
 

Border city zone - same as class 3a renters.
 
4a Apartments, 4 or more units; private hospitals Mortgage Registry 48,515 .45 Dependent education expense deduction extended 

In qualifying smaller cities outside the metro area 2.3% Deed Transfer 46,246 .43 to nonitemizers and to expenses for tutoring and 
All other 2.9% summer school, also computer and educational 

4b Residential nonhomestead, 2-3 units; res. vacant land 2.1% Lawful Gambling Taxes 62,322 .57	 software up to $200 per family. Maximum 
4bb	 Residential nonhomestead, 1 unit Pari-mutuel	 854 .01 deduction increased from $650 to $1,625 for a 

First $75,000 MY 1.9% 
Sports Bookmaking 3	 child in K_6

th 
grade and from $1,000 to $2,500 for Over $75,000 MY 2.1%	 * 

grades 7-12. Effective tax year 1998.4c Housing under: Title II; MHFA; Section 8; Sec. 42 2.0% 
ofInternal Revenue Code. Neighborhood real estate Insurance Premiums 156,369 1.44	 Refundable credit enacted equal to education 

trust. Health Care Surcharges 124,818 1.15 expenses up to $1,000 per child, $2,000 per family, 
Commercial seasonal recreational residential. 2.1% MinnesotaCare Taxes 149,334 1.38 for families with income of $33,500 or less, 
Nonprofit community service organization 2.1% effective tax year 1998. Expenses same as for the 
Fraternity and sorority housing.	 2.1% Mining Occupation 2,748 .03 deduction except for school tuition.
 
Manufactured home parks 2.0%
 Working family credit increased from 15% to 25% 
Qualifying golfcourses	 2.1% 

Motor Vehicle Reg. 476,222 4.39	 of the federal earned income credit for taxpayers 
Noncommercial seasonal recreational residential 

Airflight Property 8,872 .08	 with children, effective tax year 1998. First $75,000 MY 1.4%
 
Over $75,000 MY 2.5%
 Aircraft Registration 3,307 .03 Nonrefundable credit enacted for increases in cabin 

4d Structures ofFarmers Home Administration 1.9% Rural Electric Co-ops 46 property taxes for 1998 and 1999. * 
housing in municipalities under 10,000 pop. Certain Urban homestead program in airport zone sunsetted. 
housing under a lease-purchase program administered Hazardous Waste 1,569 .01 
by the MHFA or an HRA - same as class la. Metropolitan Landfill 2,154 .02 Corporation Franchise Tax, Page 15 

4e	 Residential portion of certain converted warehouses 2.3% Solid Waste Assessments 21 390 ---.2Q 1997 - Limited job training credit enacted. 
Public utility machinery 4.0% 
Unmined iron ore and low-grade iron ore General Sales and Use Tax, Page 23Total	 $10,858,550 100.00%All other property 

1997 - Exemptions enacted for: replacement capital 
equipment (7/1/98); materials used in providing * Less than .005% 
taxable services (7/1/99); and specified types of 
facilities. 
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Minnesota Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division

Publication of a new tax handbook is scheduled for the latter
part of 1998 and will include any 1998 law changes.

Corporation Franchise Tax, Page 15
1997 - Limited job training credit enacted.

History of Major Changes

Individual Income Tax, Page 7
One-time refundable credit enacted for 1997 equal
to 20% of property taxes paid by homeowners and
renters.
Dependent education expense deduction extended
to nonitemizers and to expenses for tutoring and
summer school, also computer and educational
software up to $200 per family. Maximum
deduction increased from $650 to $1,625 for a
child in K_6

th
grade and from $1,000 to $2,500 for

grades 7-12. Effective tax year 1998.
Refundable credit enacted equal to education
expenses up to $1,000 per child, $2,000 per family,
for families with income of $33,500 or less,
effective tax year 1998. Expenses same as for the
deduction except for school tuition.
Working family credit increased from 15% to 25%
of the federal earned income credit for taxpayers
with children, effective tax year 1998.
Nonrefundable credit enacted for increases in cabin
property taxes for 1998 and 1999.
Urban homestead program in airport zone sunsetted.

This supplement to the 1996 Revised Edition of the
Minnesota Tax Handbook contains the major tax law
changes enacted in the regular and special sessions of the
1997 Minnesota Legislature. The law changes are listed by
tax, with page references to the Revised 1996 Edition.

Addendum to
the Revised 1996 Edition of

the Minnesota Tax Handbook

1997 -

General Sales and Use Tax, Page 23
1997 - Exemptions enacted for: replacement capital

equipment (7/1/98); materials used in providing
taxable services (7/1/99); and specified types of
facilities.

Property Tax Class Rates For Taxes Payable in 1998
Minnesota State Tax Collections

Class and Type of Property Net Class Rate Net After Refunds
la Residential homestead Fiscal Year 1997

First $75,000 market value (MY) 1.0%
Over $75,000 MY 1.85%

FY 1997 CollectionsIb Homestead of blind or disabled
First $32,000 MY 0.45% %of
Excess is Class Ia or 2a Amount Total

lc Small homestead resorts 1.0% (OOO's)
Id Migrant housing - same as Class la
2a Agricultural homestead Individual Income $4,784,801 44.06%

House, garage, and one acre - same as Class Ia Income Tax Reciprocity 31,887 .29
Remaining land:

Corporation Franchise 680,898 6.27Up to $115,000 MY 0.4%
Over $115,000 MY Estate 48,944 .45

Up to 320 acres 0.9%
Over 320 acres 1.4% General Sales & Use 3,018,193 27.80

2b Nonhomestead agricultural land; timberland 1.4% Motor Vehicle Rental 8,907 .08
3a Commercial, industrial, and utility property Motor Vehicle Sales Tax 393,710 3.63

First $150,000 MY 2.7% Motor Fuels Excise 536,081 4.94
Over $150,000 MY 4.0% Alcoholic Beverage 56,399 .52

3b Employment property (enterprise zones) Cigarette 180,571 1.66Competitive Zone:
First $50,000 MY 2.3% Tobacco Products 13,278 .12

Over $50,000 MY 3.6% Controlled Substances 112 *
Border city zone - same as class 3a

4a Apartments, 4 or more units; private hospitals Mortgage Registry 48,515 .45
In qualifying smaller cities outside the metro area 2.3% Deed Transfer 46,246 .43
All other 2.9%

4b Residential nonhomestead, 2-3 units; res. vacant land 2.1% Lawful Gambling Taxes 62,322 .57
4bb Residential nonhomestead, 1 unit Pari-mutuel 854 .01

First $75,000 MY 1.9%
Sports Bookmaking 3 *Over $75,000 MY 2.1%

4c Housing under: Title II; MHFA; Section 8; Sec. 42 2.0%
ofInternal Revenue Code. Neighborhood real estate Insurance Premiums 156,369 1.44
trust. Health Care Surcharges 124,818 1.15

Commercial seasonal recreational residential. 2.1% MinnesotaCare Taxes 149,334 1.38
Nonprofit community service organization 2.1%
Fraternity and sorority housing. 2.1% Mining Occupation 2,748 .03
Manufactured home parks 2.0%
Qualifying golfcourses 2.1%

Motor Vehicle Reg. 476,222 4.39Noncommercial seasonal recreational residential
First $75,000 MY 1.4% Airflight Property 8,872 .08

Over $75,000 MY 2.5% Aircraft Registration 3,307 .03
4d Structures ofFarmers Home Administration 1.9% Rural Electric Co-ops 46 *

housing in municipalities under 10,000 pop. Certain
housing under a lease-purchase program administered Hazardous Waste 1,569 .01
by the MHFA or an HRA - same as class la. Metropolitan Landfill 2,154 .02

4e Residential portion of certain converted warehouses 2.3% Solid Waste Assessments 21 390 ---.2Q5 Public utility machinery 4.0%
Unmined iron ore and low-grade iron ore

Total $10,858,550 100.00%All other property

* Less than .005%
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- Exemption for used farm machinery made 
permanent. 

- Tax extended to more types of prepared food. 
- Analgesic exemption extended to all types of 

analgesics. 
- Purchase of prepaid telephone calling cards made 

subject to tax; telephone services purchased with a 
prepaid card exempted. 

Motor Vehicle Sales Tax, Page 26 
1997 - Exemption enacted for vehicles donated to a 

501(c)(3) organization. 

Insurance Premiums Taxes, Page 47 
1997 - One-year exemption enacted for health 

maintenance organizations, nonprofit health service 
plan corporations, and community integrated 
service networks that meet specified cost 
containment goals for 1996 and also for 1997. 
For each year after 1999, the 1% premiums tax on 
health maintenance organizations, nonprofit health 
service plan corporations, and community 
integrated service networks not imposed unless a 
structural deficit is forecast for the Health Care 
Access Fund. 

MinnesotaCare Taxes, Pages 50-53 
1997 - Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999. 

The 1.5% rate is extended to 2000 and 2001 if 
estimated that the structural balance for the Health 
Care Access Fund will remain positive. 

- Exemption for certain home health care providers 
extended to include all such providers. 

- Medical supplies, appliances, and equipment 
removed from tax base, except for hearing aids and 
prescription eyewear; pharmacy tax repealed. 

- Research deduction sunsetted after 1999. 
- Research credit enacted for hospitals and health 

care providers equal to 2.5% of expenditures for 
qualifYing research, effective in 2000. 

Solid Waste Generator Assessments, Page 66 
1997 - Solid waste generator assessments repealed along 

with the sales tax on mixed municipal solid waste 
and replaced by the solid waste management tax 
equal to 9.75% of sales price for residential and 
17% for commercial, effective 111198. 

General Property Tax, Page 77 
1997 - Class rates reduced for most types of property, 

including homesteads (2nd tier), commerciaVindustrial, 
apartments, cabins (151 tier), and Class 5. 
Brackets changed for homesteads and 
commerciaVindustrial property. 
New classifications created for migrant housing, 
residential nonhomestead single unit property, and 
qualifYing golf courses. 
Education homestead credit enacted equal to 32% 
of the property's general education levy, with a 
maximum credit of $225 per homestead. 
Property tax reform account established. 
Levy limitations enacted for counties and for cities 
over 2,500 population for pay 1998 and 1999 only. 
One-time rebate enacted as a refundable income tax 
credit for homeowners and renters equal to 20% of 
property taxes paid in 1997. 
Property tax deferral program enacted for 
qualifYing senior citizens, beginning pay 1999. 
Limited market value program extended for three 
years to 2001; calculation modified. 
Nonrefundable income tax credit enacted for 
increases in cabin property taxes, for taxes payable 
in 1998 and 1999 only. 
For property tax refund, rent constituting property 
taxes changed to equal 18% of gross rent. 

.Property tax refund on the tax statement repealed. 

Mining Production Taxes, Page 83 
1997 - Additional tax of3¢ per ton imposed for each 1% 

that the iron content exceeds 72%. 
- Distribution modified. 

Local Sales Taxes, Page 89 
1997 - Model rules for local sales taxes enacted. 

Willmar authorized to impose a general sales and 
use tax of up to 0.5% and an excise tax of up to $20 
per vehicle. Proceeds for acquisition, construction, 
and improvement of public library. 

- Disposition modified for Cook County sales tax. 
- Disposition modified for St. Paul sales tax. 

Sand and Gravel Production Tax, Page 92 
1997 - Authority to impose the tax extended to Carlton, 

Pope, and St. Louis counties. 

Rates of Major State Taxes 
As of December 31,1997 

Individual Income Tax: Tax Year 1998 
Rates and Taxable Income Brackets 

6% up to 8% 8.5% over 
Married Joint $24,800 $24,801-$98,540 $98,540 
Married Sep. $12,400 $12,401-$49,270 $49,270 
Single $16,960 $16,961-$55,730 $55,730 
Head ofHshld. $20,890 $20,891-$83,930 $83,930 

Corporation Franchise Tax: 9.8% 

General Sales and Use Tax: 
General rate 6.5% 
Liquor and beer, on-sale and off-sale 9.0% 
Farm machinery; logging equipment 2.5% 
Replacement capital equipment 

7/1/97 - 6/30/98 2.9% 
7/1/98 and after exempt 

Motor Vehicle Sales Tax: 6.5% 

Motor Fuels Excise Taxes 
Highway fuels: 20¢ per gallon 
Aviation fuels: 0.5¢ - 5¢ per gallon 
Other rates apply to LPG, LNG, and CNG 

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes 
Distilled spirits: $5.03 per gallon 
Beer: more than 3.2% $4.60 per barrel 

3.2% or less: $2.40 per barrel 
Wine: $.30 - $3.52 per gallon 

Cigarette Tax: 48¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes 

Tobacco Products Tax: 35% of wholesale price 

Mortgage Registry Tax: 23¢ per $100 of principal debt 

Deed Transfer Tax: $1.65 per $500 of consideration 

Motor Vehicle Registration Tax: $10 plus 1.25% of base 
value based on age for passenger cars, pickup trucks, and 
vans. Trucks, tractors, and buses based on type, weight, and 
age of the vehicle. 
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Insurance Premiums Taxes, Page 47

Motor Vehicle Sales Tax, Page 26
1997 - Exemption enacted for vehicles donated to a

501(c)(3) organization.

Solid Waste Generator Assessments, Page 66
1997 - Solid waste generator assessments repealed along

with the sales tax on mixed municipal solid waste
and replaced by the solid waste management tax
equal to 9.75% ofsales price for residential and
17% for commercial, effective 111198.

- Exemption for used farm machinery made
permanent.

- Tax extended to more types of prepared food.
- Analgesic exemption extended to all types of

analgesics.
- Purchase of prepaid telephone calling cards made

subject to tax; telephone services purchased with a
prepaid card exempted.

6.5%
9.0%
2.5%

2.9%
exempt

$5.03 per gallon
$4.60 per barrel
$2.40 per barrel

$.30 - $3.52 per gallon

Individual Income Tax: Tax Year 1998
Rates and Taxable Income Brackets

6% up to 8% 8.5% over
$24,800 $24,801-$98,540 $98,540
$12,400 $12,401-$49,270 $49,270
$16,960 $16,961-$55,730 $55,730
$20,890 $20,891-$83,930 $83,930

Married Joint
Married Sep.
Single
Head ofHshld.

General Sales and Use Tax:
General rate
Liquor and beer, on-sale and off-sale
Farm machinery; logging equipment
Replacement capital equipment

7/1/97 - 6/30/98
7/1/98 and after

Corporation Franchise Tax: 9.8%

Motor Vehicle Sales Tax: 6.5%

Rates of Major State Taxes
As of December 31,1997

Mortgage Registry Tax: 23¢ per $100 of principal debt

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes
Distilled spirits:
Beer: more than 3.2%

3.2% or less:
Wine:

Motor Fuels Excise Taxes
Highway fuels: 20¢ per gallon
Aviation fuels: 0.5¢ - 5¢ per gallon
Other rates apply to LPG, LNG, and CNG

Cigarette Tax: 48¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes

Tobacco Products Tax: 35% of wholesale price

Deed Transfer Tax: $1.65 per $500 of consideration

Motor Vehicle Registration Tax: $10 plus 1.25% of base
value based on age for passenger cars, pickup trucks, and
vans. Trucks, tractors, and buses based on type, weight, and
age of the vehicle.

Class rates reduced for most types of property,
including homesteads (2nd tier), commerciaVindustrial,
apartments, cabins (151 tier), and Class 5.
Brackets changed for homesteads and
commerciaVindustrial property.
New classifications created for migrant housing,
residential nonhomestead single unit property, and
qualifYing golf courses.
Education homestead credit enacted equal to 32%
of the property's general education levy, with a
maximum credit of $225 per homestead.
Property tax reform account established.
Levy limitations enacted for counties and for cities
over 2,500 population for pay 1998 and 1999 only.
One-time rebate enacted as a refundable income tax
credit for homeowners and renters equal to 20% of
property taxes paid in 1997.
Property tax deferral program enacted for
qualifYing senior citizens, beginning pay 1999.
Limited market value program extended for three
years to 2001; calculation modified.
Nonrefundable income tax credit enacted for
increases in cabin property taxes, for taxes payable
in 1998 and 1999 only.
For property tax refund, rent constituting property
taxes changed to equal 18% of gross rent.

.Property tax refund on the tax statement repealed.

1997 -

Local Sales Taxes, Page 89
1997 - Model rules for local sales taxes enacted.

Willmar authorized to impose a general sales and
use tax of up to 0.5% and an excise tax of up to $20
per vehicle. Proceeds for acquisition, construction,
and improvement of public library.

- Disposition modified for Cook County sales tax.
- Disposition modified for St. Paul sales tax.

Mining Production Taxes, Page 83
1997 - Additional tax of3¢ per ton imposed for each 1%

that the iron content exceeds 72%.
- Distribution modified.

General Property Tax, Page 77

Sand and Gravel Production Tax, Page 92
1997 - Authority to impose the tax extended to Carlton,

Pope, and St. Louis counties.

One-year exemption enacted for health
maintenance organizations, nonprofit health service
plan corporations, and community integrated
service networks that meet specified cost
containment goals for 1996 and also for 1997.
For each year after 1999, the 1% premiums tax on
health maintenance organizations, nonprofit health
service plan corporations, and community
integrated service networks not imposed unless a
structural deficit is forecast for the Health Care
Access Fund.

1997 -

MinnesotaCare Taxes, Pages 50-53
1997 - Rate reduced from 2% to 1.5% for 1998 and 1999.

The 1.5% rate is extended to 2000 and 2001 if
estimated that the structural balance for the Health
Care Access Fund will remain positive.

- Exemption for certain home health care providers
extended to include all such providers.

- Medical supplies, appliances, and equipment
removed from tax base, except for hearing aids and
prescription eyewear; pharmacy tax repealed.

- Research deduction sunsetted after 1999.
- Research credit enacted for hospitals and health

care providers equal to 2.5% of expenditures for
qualifYing research, effective in 2000.
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