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MINNESOTA TAX HANDBOOK

A Profile of State and Local Taxes
in Minnesota
1987 Edition

This handbook contains a summary of the state and local tax system in
Minnesota. The first section provides a brief profile of each tax includ-
ing tax base, rates, collection amounts, comparisons with selected states,
and histotical summaries. The second section provides a description of
the state-local fiscal system in Minnesota and provides information on
state and local tax collections.

Please note: collection amounts stated for the various taxes refer to net
collections after refunds. Also, dates stated for major changes general-
ly indicate the year enacted as opposed to the effective date.

Additional copies of the Minnesota Tax Handbook may be obtained by
contacting:

Minnesota Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division
Mail Station 2230
St. Paul, MN 55146-2230
(612) 296-3425
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INCOME AND ESTATE TAXES

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.03

Tax Base: Federal taxable income plus or minus state modifications,

Rate Schedules:
Married Couples Filing Joint Returns
Tax Year 1987 Tax Year 1988 and Following
Taxable Taxable
Income Rate Income Rate
$ 1--$4,000 4% $  1--%19,000 6%

19,001 and over 8
plus 10% of the federal
5% surtax, if any

4,001 -- 11,000 6
11,001 -- 21,000 8
21,001 and over 9

Single, Married-Separate,Estates, and Trusts

Tax Year 1987 Tax Year 1988 and Following
"Taxable Taxable
Income Rate Income Rate
$ 1--$3,000 4% $ 1 -- $13,000 6%
3,001 -- 9,000 6 13,001 and over 8

9,001 -- 16,000 8
16,001 and over 9

plus 10% of the federal
5% surtax, if any

Heads of Households
Tax Year 1987 Tax Year 1988 and Following
Taxable Taxable
Income Rate Income Rate
$ 1--$3,500 4% $ 1--%$16,000 6%
3,501 -- 10,000 6 16,001 and over 8
10,001 -- 18,500 8 plus 10% of the federal

18,500 and over 9 5% surtax, if any

This document is made available electronically by the Minnesota Legislative Reference Library
as part of an ongoing digital archiving project. http://www.leg.state.mn.us/Irl/Irl.asp
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Computation:
Federal taxable income

plus: Minnesota additions
-- non-Minnesota state and municipal bond interest
-- federal itemized deduction for state income taxes

minus;  Minnesota subtractions
-- state income tax refunds
-- U.S. bond interest
-- dependent education expenses (itemizers only)

equals: Minnesota taxable income
times:  graduated rates - see rate schedules above
equals:  Minnesota gross tax *

minus:  nonrefundable credits
-- income tax paid to other states
-- elderly or disabled persons credit (40% of federal
credit)

equals: Minnesota income tax

minus:  refundable credits
-- dependent care credit
-- enterprise zone credits

equals:  net individual income tax payable

Special computations apply to the alternative minimum tax and to
fump sum distributions from qualified pension, profit-sharing, or
stock bonus plans,

Special Provisions:

1. Taxpayer may assign $5 from general fund to political parties or
campaign funds.

2, Reciprocity agreements exempt North Dakota, Wisconsin, and
Michigan residents from filing Minnesota returns on wage and
personal service income earned in this state,

3. Taxpayers may assign $1 or more of their refund to the Minnesota
Nongame Wildlife Fund or may contribute $1 or more to the fund
by increasing their liability.

Revenue
Collections:; FY. 1986 $1,948,595,000

F.Y. 1987 $2,312,043,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: An individual, trust, or estate with Minnesota income which
meets or exceeds the filing requirements.

Payment Dates:

1. Withholding of taxes on Minnesota earnings is required of
employers. Employers remit taxes withheld on an eighth-monthly,
monthly, or quarterly basis.

2. Calendar year returns for individuals must be filed by April 15.
Fiscal year returns are due by the 15th day of the 4th month
following the close of the fiscal year.

3. Quarterly payments of estimated tax are required for income not
subject to withholding.

History of Major Changes

1933  -- Income tax enacted at graduated rates from 1% to 5%.

1937 -- Graduates rates increased and credits replaced original
exemptions ‘

1949 -- Standard deduction of 10% up to $500 established. A
5% surtax levied on the normal rate.

1951 -- Additional personal credits allowed for blind persons and
age 65 and over.

1953 - Standard deduction maximum increased to $1,000.

1957  -- 5% Veteran’s Bonus surtax levied.

1959 -- Rates increased.

1961 -~ Gross inconie redefined as federal adjusted gross income

with modifications.

Withholding of income taxes imposed.

Rent credit and senior citizen credit enacted.

Married taxpayers allowed to file separately on combined
return,

Credits for pollution control equipment and

non-public school costs established.

Rates increased from 1.5%-12% to 1.6%-15%.

Personal credits and senior citizen and rent credits
increased.

Increased rent credit and senior citizen tax credit.

Low income credit and political contribution credits adopted.
Dollar checkoff for Minnesota state elections

campaign fund instituted.

Additional personal credits for deaf persons allowed.
Rent credit and senior citizen credit replaced by income
adjusted homestead credit.

Low income credit levels increased.

Exemption for military pay repealed.

Minimum tax on preference items imposed.

Out-of-state income included in definition of income.
Dependent care credit established.

Maximum rate increased to 18%.

Personal credits increased to $30 each.

Pension income subtraction limited to $7,200.

Income adjusted homestead credit becomes property tax
refund. Senior citizen property tax freeze repealed.

1967 -
1971 -

*

]
t

]
t

1973 -
1974 -

'
H

1975 -

B

1977 -

1
H



1978

1979

1980

1981

1982
1983

1984

1
H

18% top rate repealed.

Personal credits increased to $40.

Homemaker and National Guard credits allowed.

Pension income subtraction modified and extended to
private pensions.

Low income credit levels and political contribution credit
increased.

Personal credits increased; to be indexed after 1980.
Additional personal credits for quadriplegic persons
allowed.

Maximum standard deduction increased to $2,000; to be
indexed after 1980.

Low income credit levels increased.

Income tax brackets indexed at 85% of increase in Consumer
Price Index.

17% top rate rescinded.

Pension income exclusion increased to $10,000.

National Guard credit repealed. Subtraction of military pay
reinstated.

Political contribution credit and property tax refund
increased. Credits allowed for pollution control expenditures
and renewable energy source expenses.

Pension income subtraction increased to $11,000.

Low income credit levels increased.

Checkoff for nongame wildlife instituted.

Deduction of $200 per person for interest and dividends
allowed.

Dependent care credit increased.

Federal tax deduction changed to accrual basis.

Indexing of brackets, standard deduction maximum, and
personal credits changed to 100% of Consumer Price Index
increase or 100% of increase in Minnesota gross income,
whichever is smaller.

Taxable income adjustment factor for federal tax elasticity
adopted.

Eliminated deduction of $200 per person for interest and
dividends (reverts to $100 deduction for dividends only),
Capital gains exclusion of 60% allowed.

Surtax of 7% enacted.

Temporary surtax increased to 10%.

Temporary surtax of 10% extended.

Indexing to be suspended in event of negative ending fund
balance.

Updated various itemized deductions to federal treatment,
Repealed subtraction for investment tax credit.

Adopted full ACRS deduction for individual taxpayers.
Dependent care credit amounts increased.

Pollution control credits repealed.

Equity investment credit enacted.

Repealed 10% surtax.

Expanded pension income subtraction.

Increased maximum dependent education expense
deduction.

Dependent care credit phaseout schedule modified.
Pollution control credits reinstated.

Credits allowed for purchase of conservation tillage planters
and certain hazardous waste equipment,

Nonresident tax basis changed to allocated portion of total
tax.

1985

1987

i
1

'
1

Required the election of married persons (to file a joint
return or separate returns) to be the same as the federal
election. Lowered the tax rates. Replaced the one rate
schedule with four.
Established a rate schedule for married-joint returns
different from the one that applies to single persons and
married-separate returns. Changed certain other provisions
to be based on the joint income of the couple rather than
the income of each taxpayer.
Made the deductibility of the federal income tax an option,
with a higher set of rates used when the federal tax is
deducted.
Changed the point at which the standard or itemized
deductions are subtracted to be before any federal tax,
rather than after.
Changed the indexing of the tax brackets, maximum standard
deduction, and personal credits to be based on the annual
increase in the Consumer Price Index for the United States.
Eliminated additions for the federal deduction for two-
earner married couples, contributions to an individual
retirement account, simplified employee plan, or Keogh
plan, and the farm loss modification.
Eliminated the subtraction for social security benefits.
Modified the subtraction for pension income and restricted
it to persons age 65 or over or disabled, with some
exceptions.
Conformed certain itemized deductions to federal treatment.
Repealed the taxable net income adjustment factor.
Repealed the low income credit, homemaker credit,
residential energy credit, resource recovery equipment
credit, pollution control credits, conservation tillage credit,
and equity investment credit.
Replaced the minimum tax with an alternative minimum tax.
Changed the starting point for computation of the tax from
federal adjusted gross income to federal taxable income,
thereby adopting the federal standard deduction, itemized
deductions, and personal exemptions.
Adopted changes made by the federal Tax Reform Act of
1986 and among other things, thereby: Repealed the dividend
exclusion, 60% capital gain exclusion, the deduction for
two-earner married couples, the exemption of unemployment
compensation, and the itemized deductions for sales tax,
motor vehicle excise tax, and adoption expenses; Modified
deductions for depreciation, contributions to Individual
Retirement Accounts, medical expenses, and home
mortgage interest; Phased out the deductibility of
consumer interest and passive activity losses over a five-
year period.
Eliminated the deductibility of federal income taxes which
had been optional.
Changed the rate schedules by:
1. reducing the number of brackets to four for 1987 and
to two in subsequent years.
2. adding a schedule for heads of households.
3. eliminating separate rate schedules for federal
deductibility option
4. imposing an additional tax equal to 10% of the federal
5% surtax, if any.
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Comparison With Other States -- Tax Year 1987

California Illinois Jowa Michigan MINNESOTA  New York Dakota? Wisconsin
Federal Tax Deduction No No Yes No No No Yes No
Standard Deduction b b c
Single $1,880 $1,230 $2,540, $3,600 $2,540, $5,200,
Joint \ : 760}, , 3,760, 7,560,
Married Separate 1,880 1,230 1,880 2,650 1,880 3,590
Personal Exemptions
Single $1,000 $1,500 $1,900 $ 900 $1,9004
Joint 2 \ 3,800 1,800 3,800
Dependent 1,000 1,500 1,900 900 1,900
Personal Credits e
Single $51 $20 )
Joint 102 40
Dependent 51 15 $50
Rates 1%1t09.3% 21/2%on 04%t09.98% 4.6% on See 2%1t08.75% 2.67%1t012%  4.9% to 6.93%
on income taxable on taxable taxable Rates on income on taxable on income
over $23,950 netincome income over income Above over $23,300 income over over $15,000 single
S $50,000 $20,000 joint
(Indexes brackets, (Indexes tax (Indexes brackets $10,000 married-
standard brackets) and standard separate
deduction, deduction.)
and credits)

South Dakota and Texas do not impose personal income taxes.

a. Applicable to long form only. On short form liability is 14% of adjusted federal liability.

b. Same as federal. ?Iigher amounts for the elderly and blind.

¢. Maximum amounts shown decline to zero as income increases: from $7,500 to $50,830 for singles; from $10,000 to $70,480 for married-joint; and from
$4,750 to $33,470 for married-separate. For 1988, maximum amounts for married-joint and married-separate increased to $8,900 and &!4,23() respectively.

Phase-out modified o i A
d. North Dakota allows an additional $300 cxemgtion if filing status is married filing joint, head of household, or surviving spouse with dependent child.

e. Wisconsin allows a $25 credit for taxpayer (and spouse on joint return) if age 65 or over.

‘%9 0}
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CORPORATION FRANCHISE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.02

Tax Base: Minnesota taxable net income of the corporation. Domestic
unitary reporting method is used.

Rate: 9.5%

Major Exemptions:

Nonprofit corporations

® Cooperative associations

o  Credit unions

o  Mining companies subject to occupation tax
Computation:

Federal taxable income

plus: Minnesota additions

--  state or foreign income taxes deducted federally

-- federally - exempt interest on government bonds

-- exempt - interest dividends paid by regulated
investment companies

-~ windfall profits tax deducted federally

-~ net operating loss deducted federally

-- federal dividend received deduction

-- losses from mining subject to the occupation tax

--  capital losses

-~ federal charitable contribution deduction

- exempt foreign trade income of a foreign sales
corporation

-- percentage depletion

-- amortization deduction for specified pollution
control facilities

minus: Minnesota subtractions

-- foreign dividend gross up

-~ salary expenses not deducted federally due to
federal jobs credit

--  for banks, any dividend paid on its preferred
stock to the federal government

-- depreciation and depletion deductions for intangible
drilling costs previously disallowed

--  capital loss deduction with no carrybacks

--  interest and expenses on income that is exempt
federally but taxed by the state

-~ cost depletion for mines, oil and gas wells, other
natural deposits, and timber

--  depreciation deduction for specified pollution
control facilities

plus or minus: modifications to the federal accelerated cost recovery

system
equals: total net income
times: apportionment factor

-- weighted factor of 15% of property ratio, 15%
of payroll ratio, and 70% of sales ratio.

-+ under certain conditions, separate accounting or
single sales factor can be used.

equals:  Minnesota net income
minus:  Minnesota deductions
-~ net operating loss
--  dividends received deduction
-- Minnesota charitable contributions
-~ 35% foreign source royalties
equals:  Minnesota taxable income
times: 9.5%
equals  grosstax *
minus:  nonrefundable credits
-- research and development credit
--  gross premiums tax credit for insurance
companies

equals:  tax liability

minus:  refundable credits
-~ enterprise zone credits

equals  net corporate tax payable

* Special computation applies to the alternative minimum tax,

Revenue
Corporation Bank
Collections: JIncome Tax Excise Tax
F.Y. 1986 $326,124,000 $41,187,000
F.Y. 1987 $403,649,000 $19,351,000

Note: The corporation franchise tax replaces the corporation income
and bank excise taxes.

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign corporations and financial institu-
tions including national and state banks which do business in Min-

nesota.

Payment Dates: Quarterly payments of estimated tax due by 15th day
of 3rd month, 6th month, 9th month, and 12th month of the tax year.

Due Date: Return is due 15th day of 3rd month after tax year with 7
month extension available.

History of Major Changes

1933  -- Enacted with rates graduated from 1% to 5%, and a specific
credit against income of $1,000 established.



1937
1939
1941
1947
1949

1953
1955

1957
1959

1961

1967

1969

1971

1973

1977
1979

1980
1981

1982

1983

1984

1985

10

4
H

7% flat rate adopted; 6% rate effective after 1938,
Property/payroll credit enacted.

Manufacturing firms given arithmetic/weighted
apportionment option.

Bank excise tax enacted at a rate of 8%

Specific credit reduced to $500. $10 minimum tax adopted.
5% special surtax added; additional $5 fee imposed. Total
rate of 6.3% for corporations and 8.4% for banks,
Nonmanufacturing firms allowed apportionment option.
1% surtax on taxable income added; total rate of 7.3% for
corporations and 9.4% for banks.

Property/payroll credit repealed.

For corporations 7.5% tax rate adopted; 1.8% additional
levy imposed. Total rate of 9.3%. For banks, 9.5% tax rate
adopted; 1.9% additional levy imposed. Total rate of 11.4%
10% surtax added; total rate of 10.23% for corporations and
12.54% for banks.

1% rate added,; total rate of 11.33% for corporations and
13.64% for banks.

Pollution control credit enacted.

Federal tax deduction eliminated.

Rate increased to 12% for corporations.

Bank rate remained at 13.64%.

Minimum tax increased to $100.

Destination sales basis adopted.

Bank rate reduced to 12%.

Minimum preference tax adopted.

Pollution control equipment credit reinstated retroactive to
1977.

Energy credit adopted.

$100 minimum tax and $500 specific credit repealed.

Rate reduced to 9% (6% after 1982) on first $25,000 of
taxable income.

Credit for increasing research activities enacted,

Limited Accelerated Cost Recovery System (ACRS)
deductions allowed.

Unitary method of taxation enacted.

60% capital gain exclusion allowed.

Research credit changed to 12.5% of qualifying expenses
(6.25% of expenses over $2,000,000).

ACRS deduction limitations changed.

Pollution control credits repealed.

Eliminated deduction for corporate income taxes paid to
other states.

Enacted these credits: technology transfer; small business
assistance office; equity investment; and certain enterprise
zone credits.

Multistate tax compact adopted.

Exempted foreign source dividends and certain foreign
source royalties.

Pollution control credits reinstated and expanded to include
hazardous waste equipment.

Minimum preference tax and energy credit repealed.
Repealed the pollution control credits, resource recovery
equipment credit, equity investment credit, and conservation
tillage credit.

Extended the expiration dates of the technology transfer
credit and the small business assistance office credit.

-- Allowed certain mail order firms to apportion income based
only on sales.

1987 -- Corporate income tax and bank excise tax replaced by a
corporate franchise tax on corporations and banks.,

-- Rate reduced to 9.5%.

-- Adopted federal taxable income as the starting point for
computation of the tax and thereby eliminated the 60%
capital gains deduction and conformed to federal treatment
of Subpart F income.

- Adopted changes made by the federal Tax Reform Act of
1986,

-- Adopted alternative minimum tax of one mill times the
Minnesota property, payroll. and sales factors for tax years
1987, 1988, and 1989, Exempt first $5 million of Minnesota
factors, phased out for corporations with total factors
exceeding $10 million. Property and payroll factors deemed
zero for first five years of a new corporation, Beginning with
tax year 1990, replaced by minimum tax on
preference items.

-- Phased in conformity to federal ACRS treatment.

-- Eliminated arithmetic average option for apportionment.

-- Reduced foreign source royalty deduction from 100% to
35%.

-- Reduced dividend received deduction from 85% to 80%.

-- Reduced foreign source dividend deduction from 100% to
80%.

-- Reduced research and development credit percentages to
5% of the first $2 million of qualifying expenses and to 2.5%
of the excess.

-- Restricted contribution deduction.

-- Repealed net operating loss carrybacks.

Comparison With Other States
Income/Franchise Tax Rates

California 9.3% of net income; minimum tax of $300. Banks:
11.058%; minimum tax of $200.

Illinois 4% of net income plus additional 2.5% tax on net
income for personal property tax replacement.
Franchise tax: 0.1% on certain capital and
surplus. Banks: value of shares subject to local

property tax rates.

Towa 6% first $25,000; 8% next $75,000; 10% next $150,000;
12% of net income over $250,000. Banks: 5% of net
income.

Michigan Single business tax: 2.35% of adjusted tax base that

includes business income, compensation paid employees,
interest payments, and depreciation of tangible assets,
Local corporate income tax may be imposed.

MINNESOTA 9.5%

11



New York 9% of net income, or 0.178% of capital, or the
greater of $250 or 3.5% of net income as a minimum.
Additional tax on subsidiary capital of .9 mill per
dollar, Local tax on income may be imposed. Banks:
9% on net income, $250, or 3% on alternative
income, whichever is greatest.

North Dakota 3% first $3,000; 4.5% next $5,000; 6% next $12,000;
7.5% next $10,000; 9% next $20,000; 10.5% of net
income over $50,000. Banks: 7% of net income
(includes 2% privilege tax).

South Dakota No corporate income tax. Banks: 6% of net income.

Texas No tax on income; 0.525% of capital stock, surplus,
and undivided profits. Temporaty increase to 0.67%
through 12/31/89.
Wisconsin 7.9% of net income.
ESTATE TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 291.01
Tax Base: Federal estate tax credit for state taxes.
Computation:
Federal maximum credit for state death taxes

times: proportion of Minnesota gross estate to federal gross
estate

equals:  estate tax payable
Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $15,319,000*
F.Y. 1987 $21,602,000*

*Reflects total collections from inheritance, gift, and estate taxes.
Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Personal representative submits a return for the estate.
For 1987, return required if federal gross estate exceeds $600,000.

Payment Dates: Tax due within nine months after death. Under cer-
tain conditions, installment payments may be elected.

History of Major Changes

1905 -- Minnesota inheritance tax first adopted. Individual
successions to property taxed at rates from 1.5% on
inheritances less than $50,000 to 5% on inheritances over

$100,000.

1911 -- Exemptions of $10,000 for spouse to $100 for
non-relatives provided,

-- Rates from 1% on inheritances less than $15,000 to 20%
on amounts over $100,000 adopted, depending on the
relationship of the heir.

1937 -- Gift tax enacted to prevent evasion of inheritance tax,

-- Inheritance taxes increased from a maximum of 20% to
60%, not greater than 35% of value of property.

1959  -- Rates changed and exemptions increased.

1976 -- Homestead exemption increased to $45,000.

-- Optional marital exemption of 50% of the gross estate
to $250,000 adopted. Marital exemption increased to
$60,000 and equalized between spouses.

-- Exemption for minor child increased to $30,000.

1979  -- Inheritance and gift tax repealed; replaced by estate tax
with rates graduated from 7% to 12%.

1981 -- Eliminated 10% distribution to counties.

-- Conformed to federal changes increasing minimum
filing requirements and providing unlimited marital
deduction.

1985 -- Eliminated the provisions of the Minnesota rate schedule
tax, so that the tax is equal to the Minnesota portion of
the federal estate tax credit for state taxes, known as the
“pick-up tax.”

Comparison With Other States

New York Rates graduated from 2% to 21% for taxable amount
over $10.1 million.

California, Tax equals the state’s portion of the maximum
Illinois, federal credit for state death taxes allowed against
MINNESOTA federal estate tax (commonly referred to as the
North Dakota, "pick-up tax").

and Texas

Iowa, Michigan, South Dakota, and Wisconsin levy inheritance taxes
instead of estate taxes. In addition to the inheritance tax, Iowa, South
Dakota, and Wisconsin impose an estate tax to absorb the maximum
credit available under 26 U.S.C. 2011, Wisconsin will phase out its in-
heritance tax over a five-year period beginning in 1988. In 1992, its only
death tax will be the state portion of the federal credit.

Inheritance tax is based upon the amount of property transferred to

each beneficiary and the relationship of the beneficiary to decedent,
while an estate tax is based on the value of the estate being transferred.
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STATE SALES AND EXCISE TAXES

SALES AND USE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 297A.02 and 297A.14

Tax Base: Sale and rental of tangible personal property at retail.

Rates:
6%  General rate applicable to all taxable transactions except
those listed below. '

85% Liquor and beer, both on-sale and off-sale.

4%  Capital equipment for new or expanding industries; special
tooling.

2%  Parm machinery; logging equipment.

Other Property shipped outside Minnesota is taxed at the rate in the
destination state under certain conditions.

Property subject to the use tax, on which tax has been paid to
another state at a rate lower than Minnesota’s rate, is taxed
at the difference between Minnesota’s rate and the other
state’s rate.

Major Exemptions: Food for consumption off premises, clothing,
prescribed drugs and medications, gasoline, publications issued at in-
tervals of 3 months or less (except over-the-counter magazines), motor
vehicles (subject to 6% motor vehicle excise tax), materials used or con-
sumed in agricultural or industrial production, textbooks, and residen-
tial heating fuels and water.,

Revenue

F.Y. 1986
F.Y. 1987

$1,360,789,000
$1,470,363,000

Collections:

Disposition: State General Fund, except for the revenues from the sales
and use tax on club dues which are deposited in the Sports and Health
Club Sales Tax Revenue Fund.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Who Pays: Purchasers or users of taxable goods and setvices.

Who Remits: Holders of Minnesota sales and use tax permits collect
and remit the tax. Holders of direct pay permits also remit the tax.

Due Dates (for taxes and returns becoming due after 12/31/87):
Monthly returns -- 20th day of the month following the sales month. Ac-
celerated payment of one-half June liability due June 20th for vendors
having large liabilitics. Quarterly returns -- 20th of the month follow-
ing the sales quarter. Annual returns -- January 20th of the year
following the sales year.
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History of Major Changes

1967
1971

1978
1979
1981

1982

1982
1983

1984

1985

1986

1987

Sales tax enacted at 3% rate.

Rate increased to 4%, except for receipts of coin operated
vending machines.

Motor vehicles subject to the motor vehicle excise tax
exempted.

Residential heating fuel exempted.

Residential water service exempted.

Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%, except for sales
of new and used farm machinery.

Tax on vending products increased to 5% and exemption for
cigarettes repealed.

June accelerated payment enacted.

Exemptions for candy and soft drinks repealed.

Cable TV services subjected to tax.

Property shipped outside Minnesota taxed at destination
state’s rate under certain conditions.

Additional 5% tax imposed on on-sale liquor.

Temporarily increased rate to 6%.

Rate permanently changed to 6%.

Additional tax on on-sale liquor reduced to 2.5% and
off-sale liquor subject to additional tax.

Paper and ink products used to produce publications
exempted,

Over- the -counter magazine sales made taxable.

Enacted exemption for construction materials and
equipment used in enterprise zones.

Construction material and property of direct satellite
broadcasting facilities and distilleries exempted from tax.
Rate reduced to 4% on special tooling and on capital
equipment for new or expanding manufacturing facilities.
Tax on new mobile homes imposed on 65% of actual price.
Used mobile homes, sales of candy by certain educational
organizations, and equipment used to process certain solid
or hazardous waste exempted from tax.

Rate for farm machinery reduced to 2%.

Exempted: repair and replacement parts for farm machinery,;
ticket sales and admissions to elementary and secondary
school games and activities; certain sales of nonprofit
organizations, including fundraising; electricity used in
snowmaking; petroleum products used to improve
agricultural land; and capital equipment purchased for a
qualifying new or expanded manufacturing facility in a
distressed county.

Repealed exemption for central office telephone equipment,
Exempted: construction materials and supplies used or a
qualifying new or expanded manufacturing facility in a
distressed county; and purchases made in connection with a
service contract by qualifying private suppliers of public
services.

Removed exemptions from: nonprescribed drugs and
medicine, except insulin; purchases by the state government;
interstate telephone service, except incoming WATS calls;
railroad rolling stock; club dues, with some exceptions; race
horses; meals sold in hospital cafeterias; admission to public
recreational areas; and admission to health clubs, tanning
facilities, reducing salons, and similar places.
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-- Sales tax extended to selected services, including: parking;
specified motor vehicle cleaning and maintenance (not
repair); pet grooming; laundry and dry cleaning; building and
residential cleaning, maintenance, and exterminating;
detective agencies, security, burglar and fire alarm, and
armored car services; and lawn, garden, tree, and shrub
services.

-- Changed payment dates.

-- 2% rate for farm machinery extended to machinery used in

sod production and to certain dealer-installed farm

machinery.

Eliminated the reduction in sales price for federal taxes.

-- Extended exemptions for new or expanded manufacturing
facilities in distressed counties to the defined taconite tax
relief area. ’

Comparison With Other States

Local Option
Rate Sales Tax
California 4.75% Yes?
Illinois 5.00% Yes
Iowa 4.00% Yes?
Michigan 4.00% No
MINNESOTA See rates above No
New York 4.00%° Yes
North Dakota 5.50% d Yes
South Dakota 4.00% °© Yes
Texas 6.00% Yes
Wisconsin 5.00% Yes £

a. Additional 1.25% state administered sales and use tax imposed
in every county. A 0.5% state administered transactions and use tax
is also applicable in six transit districts, Two 0.5% state
administered transactions and use taxes are imposed in Santa Clara
and Alameda Counties.

b. Local sales tax may be imposed based on voter approval in each
local jurisdiction. The rate is 1%.

c. Exempts sales of residential energy. This exemption is optional to
localities.

d. 3.5% on farm machinery, farm machinery repair parts, irrigation
equipment, and new mobile homes; 6.5% on alcoholic beverages.

e. Temporary increase to 5% through April 30, 1988,

f. Now used in twelve counties.

Of the comparison states, only South Dakota does not provide an ex-
emption for food products. Prescription drugs are also generally ex-
empted in these states, Only Minnesota provides an exemption for
clothing,
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MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297B.02

TaxBase: Purchase price of any motor vehicle required to be registered
in Minnesota.

Rate: 6%. Flat rate of $10 for passenger cars ten years or older, in lieu
of the 6% tax.

Credit: Credit allowed for tax paid to other states under certain con-
ditions.

Major Exemptions: Purchases for resale by dealers, transfers by in-
heritance, and gratuitous transfers between joint owners, spouses, and
parents and children.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1986 $207,566,000
F.Y, 1987 $225,367,000
Disposition:
Highway Transit
General User Assistance
Fiscal Years Fund Fund Fund
Prior to 1985 100% 0% 0%
1985 75 18.75 6.25
1986-1987 100 0 0
1988 and after 95 3.75 1.25
Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays: Purchasers of motor vehicles required to be registered in
Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Tax is paid when ownership is transferred.
History of Major Changes

1971 -- Enacted at a rate of 3%. 1971 special session increased rate
from 3% to 4%.

1981 -- Rate temporarily increased from 4% to $%. Portion of
collections earmarked for Highway User Tax Distribution
Fund and Transit Assistance Fund.

1982 -- Rate temporarily increased to 6%.

1983  -- Rate permanently changed to 6%. “Purchase price” excludes
any federal taxes.

1985 .- Enacted a $10 tax on passenger cars at least ten years old in
lieu of the 6% tax,

1986 -~ Changed the disposition of the tax for fiscal years 1986 and
1987.

1987 -- Disposition changed.

-- Exemptions removed for purchases by nonprofit

organizations and state and local governments,
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Comparison With Other States

California* 6.0%%
Illinois* 5.0%
Towa* 4.0%
Michigan* 4.0%
MINNESOTA 6.0%
New York* 4.0%
North Dakota 5.5%
South Dakota 3.0%
Texas* 6.0%,
Wisconsin* 5.0%b

; Motor vehicles in these states are taxed under the sales and use tax.

With the addition of local taxes, the rate is 6.5% in six transit dis-
tricts and 7% in Santa Clara and Alameda counties.
Additional local tax of 0.5% imposed in twelve counties.

MOTOR FUELS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 296.02, 296.025 and 296.026

Tax Base: Gallons of gasoline or special fuel used in highway vehicles,
snowmobiles, motorboats, all-terrain vehicles, aircraft, trains, and to
propel barges.

Rates: 17 cents per gallon except for certain border areas subject to
rate reduction; Aviation fuel -- 5 cents per gallon. Compressed natural
gas -- in lieu of 17 cents special fuels tax, annual user permit fee based
on vehicle weight and annual mileage.

Credits: Taxes paid on fuel used for non-highway use, except for snow-
mobiles, motorboats, and all-terrain vehicles, may be claimed as a credit
or refund. Aviation fuel taxes are refundable by the Petroleum Division
on a graduated basis, depending upon the number of gallons purchased
if gallons exceed 50,000. Credit of 25 cents per gallon to distributors of
fuel-grade alcohol blended with gasoline to produce gasohol in fiscal
year 1987 and 20 cents thereafter.

Exemptions:

e Petroleum substitutes produced from waste products.
e  Sales to transit system owned by a city or town.

Revenue
Highway Fuels Aviation Fuels
Collections: F.Y.1986 $334,036,000 $2,232,000
F.Y. 1987 $354,487,000 $2,497,000
Disposition:

Aviation -- State airports fund.
Highway* -- Highway user tax distribution fund.

Marine* -- Special revenue fund, water recreation account,
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Snowmobile* -- Snowmobile trails and enforcement account.
All-terrain vehicles* -- All-terrain vehicle account.

* Amount of distribution based on the percentage of total gasoline
usage deemed by statute to be used for these purposes, as follows:
Marine -- 1.5%
Snowmobiles -- 0.75%
All-terrain vehicles -- 0.15%
Highway -- Remaining amount

Administration

Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Minnesota Department of Public Safety -- compressed natural gas user
permit,

Who Pays: Distributors of gasoline collect and remit the tax. Sellers of
special fuels collect and remit tax. Bulk purchasers of special fuels may

elect to remit the tax on fuel purchased by them,

Payment Dates: 23rd day of month following purchase by distributor
or dealer.

History of Major Changes

1925 -- Enacted at 2 cents a gallon,

1929 -- Increased to 3 cents a gallon.

1937 -- Temporaty increase to 4 cents a gallon.

1941 -- Rate of 4 cents made permanent.

1949 .- Increased to S cents a gallon.

1963 -- Increased to 6 cents a gallon.

1967 -- Increased to 7 cents a gallon.

1975 -- Increased to 9 cents a gallon.

1980 -- Increased to 11 cents a gallon.

1981 -- Increased to 13 cents a gallon,

-- Enacted rate reduction for certain border areas to not more
than 3 cents per gallon above rate imposed in contiguous
state.

1983 - Increased to 16 cents a gallon and to 17 cents effective in
1984.

-- Enacted 2 cents per gallon rate reduction for gasohol.

-- Aviation fuel rate of 5 cents per gallon adopted.

1985 -- Replaced the reduced rates for gasohol with credits to
distributors for the amount of fuel-grade alcohol blended
with gasoline to produce gasohol.

-- Enacted an annual user permit fee to be imposed, in lieu of
the highway fuels tax, on vehicles using compressed natural
gas.

1986 -- Reduced the amount of the credits to distributors for

fuel-grade alcohol used to produce gasohol.
Established the ethanol development fund from which
direct payments to ethanol producers in Minnesota are
made.
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Comparison With Other States
Rates Per Gallon

California Gasoline and highway fuels 9 cents; jet fuel 2 cents;
LPG and LNG 6 cents; compressed natural gas 7
cents per 100 cubic feet; 4.5 cents per gallon on
ethanol or methanol.

Illinois Gasoline 13 cents; diesel fuel 15.5 cents.

Jowa Gasoline 16 cents; diesel fuel 17.5 cents; gasohol
15 cents.

Michigan Gasoline 15 cents; diesel fuel 18.5 cents*; aircraft 3

cents (Interstate Commerce 1.5 cents).

MINNESOTA See rates above.

New York Gasoline 8 cents; diesel fuel 10 cents.

North Dakota Gasoline 17 cents; special fuels 17 cents except for
heating, agricultural, industrial, or railroad
purposes; exempt special fuels 2% of sales price.

South Dakota Gasoline and diesel highway fuel 13 cents; LP gas
11 cents; aviation gas 6 cents; gasohol 11 cents;
special fuel aviation gas 4 cents.

Texas All fuels 15 cents.

Wisconsin 20 cents.

*  For diesel fuel there is a 6 cents discount for commercial vehicles,

coupled with road tax based on miles dfiven in state and diesel
license fee.
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297C.02

Tax Base: Distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, wines, and premixed
alcoholic beverages manufactured or received for sale in Minnesota,

Rates:
Tax per Barrel

Beer: Alcohol by Weight of 31 Gallons

3.2% or less $2.40

More than 3.2% $4.60

Tax
PerLiter Per Gallon

Distilled Spirits $1.33 $5.03

Wine: Alcohol by Volume

14% or less $.08 $ .30
14% to 21% 25 .95
21% to 24% 48 1.82
More than 24% 93 3.52
Sparkling wine 48 1.82

Credits: Small brewers receive a credit of $4 per barrel on the first
25,000 barrels produced each year for sale within Minnesota. To qualify,
the brewer must have manufactured less than 100,000 barrels in the
preceding year.

Exemptions: Wine for sacramental purposes. Wine or beer made at
home. Alcoholic beverages sold to food processors. Beer served on the
premises of a brewery at no charge.

Special Provision: Separate tax of 1 cent for each bottle or container of
distilled spirits and wine. Tax is paid by the wholesaler at the time of
removal from inventory for sale, delivery, or shipment.

Revenue
Distilled
Collections: Spirits Beer Wine

F.Y. 1986 $36,513,000 $11,408,000 $3,585,000
F.Y. 1987 $38,619,000 $12,321,000 $3,636,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Who Pays: Wholesalers, distributors, or manufacturers upon acquisi-

tion for sale within Minnesota.
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Payment Dates: 18th day of month following the month in which sale
is made. Accelerated payment of one-half of June liability due June 18th
for those with May liability of $1,500 or more.

History of Major Changes

1934

1937
1947
1959
1969

1971

1973

1976
1979
1980
1985

1986
1987

22

]
H

Enacted at rates of: $1 per barrel of 3.2% beer and $2 per
barrel of strong beer; 60 cents per gallon of liquor; and
rates for wine varying from 10 cents to 60 cents

per gallon.

Liquor tax increased to $1 per gallon on liquor over 24%.
Increased rates of tax.

3.2% beer taxed at $1.60 per barrel,

Strong beer taxed at $3.20 per barrel.

Liquor surtax of 15% imposed.

Additional tax on liquor from $.04 to $.75 per gallon
depending on alcoholic content.

Distilled spirits from $2.50 to $4.53 per gallon. 3.2% beer
from $1.60 to $2 per barrel. Strong beer from $3.20 to $4
per barrel,

Wine taxes increased.

Distilled spirits reduced from $4.53 to $4.39 per gallon.
Minnesota brewers’ credit enacted.

Minnesota brewers’ credit amended,

Sparkling wine reduced from $3.08 to $1.50 per gallon.
Minnesota vintners wine taxed at $.17 per gallon.
Preferential rates for Minnesota vintners repealed.
Minnesota brewers’ credit repealed.

Small brewers’ credit enacted.,
Accelerated June payment enacted. Payment dates changed
Rates increased: distilled spirits from $4.39 to $5.03 per
gallon; all categories of wine -- lowest rate from 27 cents to
30 cents per gallon and highest rate from $3.08 to $3.52
per gallon; 3.2% beer from $2.00 to $2.40 per barrel and
strong beer from $4.00 to $4.60 per barrel.
Payment dates changed.

Comparison With Other States

Beer
Per Barrel

Wine Per Gallon

Distilled Spirits

$.01 $.02 $.30

$1.24

%80 = 108 proct

California

$.23
15% of price

$.60
15% of price

$.23

$2.17

$2.00

Illinois

15% of price

$5.89

15% of price
12% - 13% of price®

Towa

§.51
$1.82

$.51° $.76°
$.95-$352

$.30

$6.30
2.40 < 32%

Michigan

$4.607strong

$

$5.03

MINNESOTA

$.12 $.12 $.33-8.66

$1.70

New York

$ .50¢ $ .60° $1.00

$52.48 bulk
$4.96 bottles and cans

$2.50

North Dakota

$.93 $145-8207 $2.07

18 < 3.2%
Sdbsiy

$3.93

South Dakota

$.516

$25

$ 408

$.45

$.204
$.25

$6.00

$240

$3.25

Texas

$2.00

‘Wisconsin

Rates change at 16% rather than 14%. Lower rate for Michigan - produced wine.

12% rate applies to on-sale. 13.85% applies to off-sale.

a
b

nNo
w



CIGARETTE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297,02 and 297.22

Tax Base: Cigarettes sold in Minnesota.
Rate: 38 cents per pack of 20.
Credits: Distributors receive a 1.25% discount on the first $1,500,000

of stamps purchased and .75% on additional purchases, The discount
covers tax collection expenses.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $97,700,000
F.Y. 1987 $109,026,000

Disposition:

Debt service on specified bonds (paid first)

2 cents per pack  -- Minnesota resources fund

4 cents per pack  -- Minnesota water pollution control fund less
debt service (above) to control water

pollution
2 cents per pack -~ public health fund
Balance -- State general fund

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of cigarettes.

Payment Dates: 18th day of the month following sale to a retailer in
Minnesota. Accelerated payment of one-half of June liability due June

18th for those with May liability of $1,500 or more.

History of Major Changes

1947 -- Enacted at 3 cents per pack.

1949  -- Increased to 4 cents per pack,

1959  -- Increased to 5.5 cents per pack.

1961  -- Increased to 7 cents per pack.

1963  -- Increased to 8 cents per pack.

1969  -- Increased to 13 cents per pack.

1971  -- Increased to 18 cents per pack.

1985 .- Increased to 23 cents per pack. Disposition changed.

1986 -- Accelerated June payment enacted. Payment dates changed
1987 -~ Increased to 38 cents per pack. Payment dates changed.

Disposition changed.

Comparison With Other States

Rate Per Pack of 20
California 10 cents
Illinois 20 cents
Towa 26 cents
Michigan 21 cents
MINNESOTA 38 cents
New York 21 cents
North Dakota 27 cents
South Dakota 23 cents
Texas 26 cents
Wisconsin 30 cents
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TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297.32

Tax Base: Tobacco products (other than cigarettes) sold in Minnesota,
including: cigars, smoking tobacco and chewing tobacco.

Rate: 35% of wholesale price.

Credits: Distributors allowed discount equal to 1.5% of tax for ad-
ministrative expenses.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $3,933,000
F.Y. 1987 $3,426,000

Disposition:

® 85.7% state general fund
e 14.3% state water pollution control fund

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of products received for sale in
Minnesota.

Payment Dates: 18th day of the month following receipt of the product
instate. Accelerated payment of one-half of June liability due June 18th
for those with May liability of $1,500 or more.

History of Major Changes

1955 -- Enacted at rate of 15%.

1959 -- Rate increased to 20%.

1985 -- Rate increased to 25%. Disposition changed.

1986 -- Accelerated June payment enacted, Payment dates changed.
1987 -- Rate increased to 35%. Payment dates changed.

Comparison With Other States

Towa 15% of wholesale price.

MINNESOTA  35% of wholesale price.

North Dakota  20% of wholesale price. )
Texas 28.125% of factory list; variable rate on cigars.
Wisconsin 20% of manufacturer’s list price.

California, Illinois, Michigan, New York, and South Dakota do not im-
pose separate taxes on tobacco products.
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CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297D.08

Tax Base: Marijuana or controlled substance (as defined) that is held,

possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or offered to be sold in viola-
tion of Minnesota laws,

Rates:

@ Marijuana -- $3.50 per gram or portion thereof.

e  Controlled substance -- $200 per gram or portion thereof.

@  Controlled substance not sold by weight -- $2,000 on each 50
dosage units, or portion thereof.

Exemption: Pharmacists or other persons lawfully in possession of
marijuana or a controlled substance,

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1987 $65,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: A dealer who in violation of Minnesota law manufactures,
produces, ships, transports, or imports into Minnesota or possesses

more than the specified amount of marijuana or a controlled substance.

Payment Dates: Immediately upon acquisition or possession in Min-
nesota by a dealer.,

History of Major Changes

1986 -- Enacted,

MORTGAGE REGISTRY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.05

Tax Base: Principal debt which is secured by a mortgage of real proper-
ty in the state,

Rate: 23 cents per $100 of principal debt.

Exemptions: Organizations exempt from the property tax.
Revenue

Collections: For fiscal years 1986 and 1987, 95% of the mortgage
registry tax and 97% of the deed transfer tax collections were deducted
from the county welfare expenses reported to the state. The total tax
collected for each tax is not available, but the welfare offset was
$34,043,000 for fiscal year 1986 and $47,212,000 for fiscal year 1987.

Disposition:

Deducted from welfare expenses reimbursed by the state 97%
Retained by county 3%
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Administration

Agency: Treasurer of the county in which the mortgaged land is
situated.

Who Pays: The lender who records or registers a mortgage of real
property.

Payment Dates: At orbefore the time of filing the mortgage for record
or registration,

History of Major Changes

1907 -- Enacted at 50 cents per $100 of principal debt.

1913 .- Changed to 15 cents per $100 where mortgage runs for five
years or less, and 25 cents per $100 for mortgages of more
than five years,

1945 -~ Changed to 15 cents per $100 on any mortgage.

1983 - Contracts for deed not subject to tax.

1985 -~ Disposition modified.

1987 -- Rate increased to 23 cents for each $100 of debt.

-- Welfare offset increased from 95% to 97%.

Comparison With Other States

MINNESOTA 23 cents per $100 of principal debt.
New York $1.00 per $100 of principal debt maximum.

California, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, North Dakota, South Dakota,
Texas, and Wisconsin have no similar tax.

DEED TRANSFER TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287,21

Tax Base: Transfer of real estate by any deed, instrﬁment, or writing.

Rates: $1.65 for consideration of $500 or less plus $1.65 for each addi-
tional $500,

Exemptions: Executory contracts for the sale of land, mortgages, wills,
plats, leases, cemetery lot deeds, deeds of distribution by personal rep-
resentatives, and transfers between co-owners.

Revenue

Collections: For fiscal years 1986 and 1987, 95% of the mortgage
registry tax and 97% of the deed transfer tax collections were deducted
from the county welfare expenses reported to the state. The total tax
collected for each tax is not available, but the welfare offset was
$34,043,000 for fiscal year 1986 and $47,212,000 for fiscal year 1987.

Disposition:
Deducted from welfare expenses reimbursed by the state. 97%
Retained by county 3%
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Administration
Agency: Treasurer of the county in which the land is situated.

Who Pays: Any person who grants, assigns, transfers, or conveys real -
estate.

Payment Dates: At the time of transfer,

History of Major Changes

1961 -- Enacted at $1.10 for first $1,000 of consideration and $.55
for each additional $500.

1967 -- Increased to $2.20 for first $1,000 and $1.10 for each
additional $500, Earmarked proceeds for the property tax
relief fund.

1969 -- Distribution of proceeds changed to State General Fund.

1973 -~ Included corporations in those subject to tax. o N

1984 .- Exempted transfers between co-owners pattitioning undivided
interests in property.

1985 -- Disposition modified.

1987 -- Rate increased to $1.65 for $500 or less and $1.65 for each

additional $500.

Extended tax to personal property transferred as part of
total consideration.

Eliminated exemption for state and local governments.

Comparison With Other States

California 55 cents per $500 consideration after the fir§t $100
at the city or county option. Equity only subject to
tax,

llinois 25 cents per $500 consideration. '

Iowa 55 cents per $500 consideration after the first $500.

Michigan* 55 cents per $500 consideration maximum.

MINNESOTA $1.65 for consideration of $500 or less plus $1.65 for
each additional $500. .

New York $2.00 per $500 consideration after the first $100.

North Dakota No tax. ) .

South Dakota 50 cents per $500 consideration.

Texas No tax. ) )

Wisconsin 30 cents per $100 consideration,

*Wayne County authorized to impose 75 cents per $500.
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GAMBLING TAXES

CHARITABLE GAMBLING TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 349.212

Tax Base: Gross receipts of a licensed organization from lawful gam-
bling less prizes actually paid out.

Rate: 10%

Exemptions: Pull-tabs. Lawful gambling if conducted by the organiza-
tion on no more than five days peryear and prizes do not exceed $50,000
per yeat. Smaller raffles. Bingo conducted in connection with county
fair, the state fair, or a civic celebration, bingo conducted by an or-
ganization four or fewer times a year, and bingo conducted within a
nursing home or by a senior citizen organization under certain condi-
tions.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986

F.Y. 1987

$6,380,000*
$7,725,000*

* Due to 1/1/87 effective date for changes in the provision,

collections for F.Y. 1986 and part of F.Y. 1987 include the
pull-tab tax.

Disposition: State General Fund
Administration
Agency: Charitable Gambling Control Board

Who Pays: Licensed organizations. To qualify, the organization must
be a fraternal, religious, veterans, or other nonprofit organization.

Payment Dates: On schedule which charitable gambling board will
prescribe.

History of Major Changes

1984  -- Enacted.

1985  -- Exempted bingo at a nursing home or senior citizen
organization under certain conditions.

1986 - Pull-tabs exempted, and a separate pull-tab tax imposed.

Exempted lawful gambling if conducted by an organization
on no more than five days per year and prizes do not exceed
$50,000 per year.

Comparison With Other States

Illinois 3% on gross proceeds.
MINNESOTA 10% on gross proceeds.

North Dakota 5% on adjusted gross proceeds.
Texas 2% on bingo gross proceeds,
Wisconsin 2% on bingo gross proceeds.

California, Iowa, Michigan, New York, and South Dakota do not have
similar provisions,
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PULL-TAB TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 349.212

Tax Base: Face resale value of all the pull-tabs in each deal less the total
prizes which may be paid out for that deal. A “deal” is defined as each
separate package, or series of packages, consisting of one game of pull-
tabs.

Rate: 10%
Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1987 $3,182,000*

*  Collections for pull-tab tax included with charitable gambling tax
prior to 1/1/87.

Disposition: State General Fund
Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Who Pays: Licensed distributor.

Payment Dates: 25th of the month following the month of the sale.
History of Major Changes

1986 -- Enacted. Separate pull-tab tax replaced the charitable
gambling tax on pull-tabs.

PARI-MUTUEL TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 240.15

Tax Base: Total amount bet in pari-mutuel horse racing pools at a
licensed racetrack; paid admissions to a licensed racetrack.

Rates: Calendar year cumulative daily bets --
Up to $48 million:

1.75% -- State General Fund

0.5% -- Minnesota Breeders Fund
Over $48 million:

6% -- State General Fund

1% -- Minnesota Breeders Fund

40 cents per paid admission -- State General Fund

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $5,442,000
F.Y. 1987 $7,483,000

Disposition: General Fund and Minnesota Breeders Fund (see above).
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Racing Commission
Who Pays: Any licensed racetrack.

Payment Date: Within seven days of date tax collected.
History of Major Changes

1982 -- Minnesota Constitution amended to allow pari-mutuel
betting on horse races.
1983 -- Enacted.

Comparison With Other States

California License fee of 1.5% to 7.5% imposed on total
pari-mutuel handle,

Illinois Cook County: 2% of daily handle. Downstate: 1% on
first $400,000 each day and 2% of excess. Additional
tax on multiple wagering pools. Admission tax of
15 cents per person.

Iowa 6% imposed on the gross sum wagered.

Michigan 6% of total daily handle, 5% in less populated
counties, Lower rates in certain situations.

MINNESOTA See rates above.

New York Thoroughbred: Generally 2% on regular and
multiple wagering pools and 7.25% on exotic
wagering pools; Standard bred: varies by track from
1.25% to 10.25%; 4% admissions tax.

North Dakota Pari-mutuel betting was authorized by the
Legislature in 1987, but rates have not yet been
established.

South Dakota Greyhound: tax of 3% to 7% of total accumulated
daily handle for racing season; Horse: 2.25% to 3%
of daily handle.

Texas does not have legal pari-mutuel betting. The Wisconsin constitu-
tion was recently amended to allow pari-mutuel betting.
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GROSS EARNINGS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Chapters 294 and 295

Tax Base: Gross receipts from operation of certain businesses.
Rates:

Rural Electric Cooperatives -- 10 cents per 100 members
Taconite Railroads -- 3.75% (Repeal effective in 1990)

Telephone and Telegraph:
Telephone

Rural Subscribers and All Other
Cities of the Fourth Class Business ~ Telegraph

1988 4.0% 7.0% 6.0%
1989 3.0% 5.5% 6.0%
1990 1.5% 3.0% 4.5%
1991 1.0% 2.5% 3.0%
1992 -0- -0- 1.5%
1993 -0- -0- -0-

* The telephone gross earnings tax is phased out, with repeal by 1992.
It will be replaced by a property tax, beginning with taxes payable

in 1990. The telegraph gross earnings tax is phased out, with repeal
by 1993,

Revenue
Telephone & Taconite Rural
Collections: Telegraph Railroad Co-ops

FY. 1986  $56,281,000 $1,189,000 $42,000
FY. 1987 $114,905,000 $862,000 $44,000

Disposition: State General Fund
Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Who Pays: Each of the various types of businesses subject to tax.
Payment Dates:
Telephone -- Annual return due April 15, Quarterly payments of
estimated tax.
Telegraph -- Annual return due March 1. Quarterly payments of
estimated tax.
Rural Electric Companies -- March 1
Taconite Railroad -- September 1 and March 1 for prior 6 months

earnings.

History of Major Changes

Original Current Rates

Enactment Enacted
Rural Electric Companies 1939 1939
Taconite Railroad 1955 (5%) 1986
Telegraph 1887 (2%) 1987
Telephone 1887 (2%) 1987
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Comparison With Other States*

Those comparison states which impose gross earnings tax on some form
of telephone service or other utility service are: California, Illinois,
New York, North Dakota, South Dakota, Texas, and Wisconsin.

* The comparative information for the various states was too lengthy
to include herein. If more information is desired, contact the Tax
Research Division at the Minnesota Department of Revenue.

INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 60A.15, 60A.198,
69.54, and 299F.21

Tax Base: Gross premiums less return premiums received on all busi-
ness in Minnesota.

Rates:
2.0% -- Domestic and foreign companies’ premiums,
5.0% -- Underwriting profit on ocean marine insurance.
3.0% -- Surplus line agents.
0.5% -- Fire marshal tax on fire premiums.

2.0% -- Surcharge on fire premiums for property located in
cities of the first class.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $97,193,000
F.Y. 1987 $107,092,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign insurance companies doing business
in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Most companies make three estimated payments per
year on April 15th, June 15th, and December 15th.

History of Major Changes

1868 -- 2% gross premiums tax imposed on foreign insurance
companies.
1872 - 2% gross premiums tax extended to domestic companies.

1895 -- Retaliatory tax provisions adopted.
1913 -- Fire marshal tax of 0,.375% adopted.

1934 -- 2% surcharge on fire premiums enacted.

1937 -- Fire marshal tax increased to 0.5%.

1953 -- 5% ocean marine profits tax enacted.

1981 -- Bstimated tax changed from quarterly payments to three
payments per year.

1986 -- Payment schedule modified for some companies.
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1987

-- Bxemptions removed from domestic mutual insurance
companies, cooperative life and casualty companies, and
premiums paid to Workers’ Comprehensive Reinsurance
Association and the Minnesota Comprehensive Health
Insurance Association.

-- Eliminated the credit for payments
to the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association,

Comparison With Other States

Premiums Tax Rate

California 2.35%. i
Illinois 2% on foreign companies. ﬁ
Towa 2%.
Michigan 2% to 3% on foreign companies. :’B
MINNESOTA See rates above. ;
New York 0.8% to 1.2%.
North Dakota 2% for life insurance; 1.25% for accident and sickness
insurance; 1.25% for all other insurance.
South Dakota 2.5% on domestic companies with credit given for
regional or home office located in the state; 1.25%
annuity tax on foreign companies; 2.5% premium tax
on foreign companies; 0.5% fire marshal tax.
Texas 1.1% to 2.5% for life, accident and health insurance
depending on percentage of assets invested in state.
1.2% to 3.5% for property and casualty insurance.
Temporary 20% surtax through 12/31/89.
Wisconsin 2% on foreign casualty and life and domestic fire

insurance companies; 2.375% on foreign fire
insurance; 0.5% on foreign marine insurance; 2% or
3.5% of gross investment income on domestic life
insurance.

SEVERANCE AND TONNAGE TAXES

MINERAL TAXATION

Mineral taxation in Minnesota consists of royalty, occupation, produc-
tion, net proceeds, and property taxes on certain types of minerals. The
property taxes and the production tax are described in the Local Tax
Section; the remaining taxes are described separately in the sections
that follow.

ROYALTY TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 299.01 and 299.013

Tax Base: Royalties received in connection with the exploration and
mining of iron ore, taconite, semi-taconite, iron sulphides, copper-nick-
el, and other metals.

Rates:
Through tax year 1989:
Resource Tax Rate

Statutory rate: 14%
Minimum effective rate: 5.75%

Iron Ore, Taconite, Semi-tac-
onite, and Iron Sulphides
Copper-Nickel 1% plus 1% of royalties paid on
silver, gold, platinum and other
precious metals.

Beginning in tax year 1990: Tax repealed

Credits: The royalty tax is reduced by the labor credit which makes the
net effective tax rate equal to the net effective occupation tax rate.; loss
mine credit.

Special Provision: The Minnesota Constitution places a ceiling on the
total amount of occupation, royalty, and excise taxes paid annually by
each taconite mining company. The provision will expire in 1989,

Revenue

Collections: Iron Ore Taconite Other
F.Y. 1986 $415,000 $3,715,000 $ 3,000
F.Y. 1987 $244,000 $ 2,146,000 $4,000

Disposition: State General Fund
Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Although the recipient of the royalty is subject to the tax,
lease terms normally assign this responsibility to the mining company.

Payment Dates: The taxis paid at the time specified in the lease for the
royalty payment which historically has been quarterly.
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History of Major Changes

1923 -- 6% royalty tax imposed on iron ore.

1937 -- Rate increased to 10%.

1939 -- Rate changed to 9%.

1941 -- Rate increased to 10.5%.

1947 -- Rate increased to 11%.

1955 -~ 15% surtax added.

1959 -- Additional 1% tax added.

1964 -- Taconite Amendment to the Minnesota Constitution
adopted by the voters, which restricts the total amount of
occupation, royalty, and excise taxes paid by taconite
companies, It expires in 1989.

1967 -- Copper-nickel royalties taxed at 1%.

1971  -- Royalty tax on taconite 15%; iron ore increased to 15.5%.

1984 -- Conformed effective rate to that of occupation tax.

1985 .- Rate on taconite and iron ore reduced to 14% by 1987.

1987 -- Royalty taxes repealed, and payers of royalties required to
withhold income tax on royalties paid, beginning in 1990.

Comparison With Other States

None of the comparison states imposes a separate tax on mineral royal-
ties,

OCCUPATION TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.01

Tax Base: Iron ore and taconite concentrates -- Value of minerals
mined or produced in the state as reduced by certain statutory and non-
statutory deductions.

Other ores -- taxable income.

Rates:
Iron ore and taconite concentrates -- 14% with a minimum effective
rate of 5.75%. Beginning in 1990, same as other ores.

Other ores -- occupation tax is imposed on taxable income in the same
manner and at the same rates as the income tax or franchise tax.

Credits:

Iron ore and taconite concentrates -- A credit is allowed for labor which
may reduce the effective tax rate to 5.75%. Other credits are allowed
for research, experimentation and exploration, and pollution control.
A loss mine credit and a discount credit are allowed against the iron
ore occupation tax.

Special Provision: The Minnesota Constitution places a ceiling on the
total amount of occupation, royalty, and excise taxes paid annually by
each taconite mining company. The provision will expire in 1989.

Revenue

Collections: Iron Ore Taconite
F.Y. 1986 $531,000 ($961,000)
FY. 1987 $190,000 $ 3,418,000
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Disposition:

State General Fund 50%*
Elementary and secondary schools 40%
University of Minnesota 10%

*  Of this amount, an amount equal to the yield of a 1 cent per ton

production tax is appropriated to the Iron Range Resources and
Rehabilitation Board.

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Mining companies operating in this state.
Payment Dates: On or before June 15th.

History of Major Changes

1921 -- 6% occupation tax imposed on iron ore.

1937 -- Rate increased to 10%; reduced to 8% for subsequent years.

1941 -- Labor credit enacted.

1947 -- Rate increased to 11%; minimum rate 3.75%.

1955 -- 15% surtax added.

1959 -- Additional 1% tax imposed.

1964 - Taconite Amendment to the Minnesota Constitution
adopted by the voters, which restricts the total amount
of occupation, royalty, and excise taxes paid by taconite
companies. It expires in 1989,

1971  -- Occupation tax on taconite 15%; minimum rate 6.75%.
Occupation tax on iron ore 15.5%; minimum rate 14%.

1984 -- Reduced rate to 15% for natural iron ores.

1985 -- Reduced rate on taconite and iron ore to 14% by 1987.

1987 -- On ores other than taconite and iron ore, tax changed to

be same as the income or franchise tax. Beginning in 1990,
tax on taconite and iron ore changed in a similar manner.

Comparison With Other States

Resource Rate

Michigan Natural gas
Crude oil
Crude oil (from

stripper wells)

5% of gross market value.
6.6% of gross market value.
4% of gross market value,

In addition, production of
natural gas and oil is subject
to a fee of less than 1% of
market value annually to pay
state administrative expenses,

MINNESOTA  See rates above.

North Dakota  Crude oil and 5% of market value.
natural gas
North Dakota

crude oil

6.5% of market value. (4% for
secondary and tertiary recovery
wells and new wells.)
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South Dakota  Minetal products 2% gross yield; 8% of net
yield from sale of extracted
minerals.

Energy minerals  4.5% of taxable value.

Texas Natural gas 7.5% of market value.
Oil production 4.6% of market value.

Wisconsin Metalliferous Graduated rates from
minerals 3% to 15% on net proceeds.
Iron ore 5 cents per ton handled.
concentrates
Petroleum 5 cents per ton processed
products

California, Illinois, Iowa, and New York do not impose an occupa-
tion tax.

PRODUCTION TAX - See Local Tax Section

NET PROCEEDS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.015

Tax Base: Net proceeds from mining or extracting mineral and energy
resources in Minnesota.

Rate: 2%
Exemptions: Sand, silica sand, gravel, building stone, crushed rock,
limestone, granite, dimension granite, dimension stone, horticultural

peat, soil, iron ore, and taconite concentrates.

Computation: Gross proceeds from the sale less allowable deductions.
Revenue
Disposition:

Resources mined outside the taconite tax relief area: State General
Fund

Resources mined within the taconite tax relief area:

City or town where the resources are mined or extracted 5%
Taconite municipal aid account 10%
School district where the resources are mined or extracted  10%
Qualifying group of school districts 20%
County where the resources are mined or extracted 20%
Distributed as taconite homestead credit 20%
Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board 5%
Northeast Minnesota Economic Protection Trust Fund 5%
Taconite Environmental Protection Fund 5%
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Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Companies that mine or extract the resources subject to tax.
Payment Date: June 15 for the previous calendar year.

History of Major Changes

1987 -- Bnacted, effective with calendar year 1987.
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IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 168

Tax Base: Motor vehicles using the public streets and highways.

Rates:

e  Passenger cars, pick-up trucks, and vans -- $10 plus 1.25% of
base value based on the age of the vehicle, Minimum tax -- $35.
Flat tax for vehicles over ten years old -- $35.

@ Trucks, tractors, and buses -- based on the type, weight, and age
of the vehicle. A minimum tax applies to each type of vehicle.

Exemptions: Vehicles owned by governmental or educational units,
agricultural tractors and trailers, special mobile equipment, vehicles
used solely for carrying camp equipment or attached machinery, fire
apparatus, and vehicles not operated on highways.

Revenue

F.Y. 1986
F.Y. 1987

Collections: $223,307,000

$241,749,000
Disposition: Highway User Tax Dstribution Fund
Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays: Anyone who registers a motor vehicle in the state.
Payment Dates: When first registered to use the public streets and an-

nually thereafter when reregistered.

History of Major Changes

1911 -- First motor vehicle registration law enacted. Fee of $1.50
per vehicle.

1921 -- Rates established based on value and weight of vehicle.

1941 -- Passenger cars taxed at 2.2% of value,

1949 -~ Vehicles reclassified and rate schedules revised.

1955 -- Rates increased by 5%.

1965 -- Rate schedule modified.

1971 -- Tax set on passenger vehicles at $10 plus 1.25% of base
value, An annual $25 tax on school buses levied.

1973 .- Monthly series of vehicle registrations established. New
truck rates established.

1976 -- Minimums on trucks, tractors, and combinations increased.

1981 -- Increased rates on certain vehicles.

1986 -- Increased rates on certain vehicles.

1987 -- Exempted vehicles owned by nonprofit charities used to

transport handicapped persons for educational purposes.
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Comparison With Other States

California

Iilinois

Towa

Michigan

MINNESOTA

New York

North Dakota

South Dakota

Passenger Cars

$22 registration fee
plus additional $1
fee plus license fee

of 2% of market value.

$48.

1% of value plus
40 cents/100 Ibs.

$24-$90 based on
weight for models
through 1983. $30
and up based on
list price for 1984
and later models.

See rates above.

$12 -- $65 based on
weight.

$26 -- $251 based
on weight and age of
vehicle.

$20 -- $180 based on
weight.

Commercial Vehicles

Annual weight fees are
assessed on two-axle
trucks and buses ranging
from $8 for vehicles under
3,000 Ibs. to $400 if over
14,000 1bs. Motor vehicles
with 3 or more axles, and
any trailer, range from
$28 for vehicles over

2,000 1bs. to $660 for those
weighing over 15,000 1bs.

Fees for truck and
commercial vehicles based
on weight.

Trucks -~ $45 ($35 if model
is 10 years old) first 6,000
1bs. up to $1,695 on 40 tons
plus $80 per ton over 40
tons. Trailers -- $6 under
1,000 Ibs. $10 for 1,000 1bs.
and over, Semi-Trailers -
$10.

Under 5,000 Ibs. --
$34-844
5,000-8,000 lbs. --
$38-$218

Over 8,000 1bs. --
$316-$2,072

$2.50 per 500 Ibs. on trucks
and trailers. $1.05 per 100
1bs. on tractors.

$27 first 4,000 Ibs. up to
$1,769 for over 102,000 1bs.

$85 first 4,000 Ibs. up to
$250 plus $40 per ton for
over 20,000 lbs.
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Texas $40.50 - $58.50, Motor Buses -- $25 plus
$25 plus 60 cents 44 cents-88 cents per each
per 100 Ibs. 100 Ibs., and 99 cents per

100 Ibs. for over 31,000 1bs.
Trailer or semi-trailers --
$25 plus 33 cents-66 cents
per 100 Ibs. up to 17,000
Ibs. and 72 cents per 100
Ibs. for over 17,000 1bs.

Wisconsin $25 $30 first 4,500 Ibs. up to
$1,682 for up to 80,000 1bs.
AIRFLIGHT PROPERTY TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.072
Tax Base: Flight property of air carriers engaging in air commerce.

Rates: Mill rate is determined annually to yield the statutorily specified
revenue,

Major Exemptions: Commuter airlines electing to be taxed under the
aircraft registration tax.

Computation:

Value of airflight property, as determined by the
Minnesota Department of Revenue

times: apportionment factor - average of the three factors of
tonnage of passengers and freight, equated plane
hours, and revenue ton miles
equals:  Minnesota value
times: assessment ratio, according to the following schedule:
40% for quiet aircraft, as defined
70% for other flight property
50% of above rates for flight property of an airline
company using primarily turboprops and has
scheduled passenger service to three or more small
or medium sized communities.
equals:  assessed value

times: mill rate - determined by dividing the statutorily
specified revenue by the total assessed value

equals:  airflight property tax
Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $4,807,000
F.Y. 1987 $6,205,000

Disposition: State Airports Fund,
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: All air carriers engaging in air commerce in Minnesota
under certificates issued by the Civil Aeronautics Board and those car-
riers operating without a certificate who elect to be taxed under this tax
rather than the aircraft registration tax.

Payment Dates: The taxis due and payable on January 1 of each year
following the levy of the tax.

History of Major Changes

1945 -- Enacted, assessed at 40% of value,
1953 -- Changed to 33 1/3% valuation.
1971 -- “Market Value” for “full and true value” substituted,
1976 -- Exemption included for aircraft weighing less than 30,000 Ibs.
1987 -- One assessment ratio of 33 1/3% replaced by schedule of
ratios.
-- Use of statewide average property tax mill rate replaced
by revenue yield for each year specified by statute and mill
rate determined therefrom

Comparison With Other States

In general, states that tax air flight property use the average property
tax rate statewide. California, New York, and North Dakota do not im-
pose a property tax on airflight property.

AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 360.531

Tax Base: Value of noncommercial aircraft which regularly use the
airspace over, and the airports in, Minnesota.

Rate: 1% of value, The value begins with the base price, and after the
first year it is reduced for depreciation -- 10% in the second year and
15% for the third and each succeeding year, subject to the minimum
tax, The minimum tax is the greater of 25% of the tax computed on the
original base price or $50.

Major Exemptions: Aircraft of the civil air patrol; government-owned
aircraft,

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $1,310,000
F.Y. 1987 $1,570,000

Disposition: State Airports Fund
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Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Transportation

Who Pays: Anyone who registers noncommercial aircraft in Min-
nesota.

Payment Dates: When the aircraft is first registered and annvally
thereafter on July 1.

History of Major Changes

1945  -- Enacted.

1957 -- Exempted civil air patrol.

1987 -- Minimum tax increased to $50.

Comparison With Other States

Michigan Aircraft weight tax of 1/2 cent per pound.

The other states do not impose the tax.
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HAZARDQUS WASTE GENERATOR TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 115B.22

Tax Base: Volume and destination of hazardous waste generated,

Rates: Long-term containment without treatment: 32 cents per gallon
of liquid or $32 per cubic yard of solid.

Long-term containment after treatment: 16 cents per gallon of liquid
or $16 per cubic yard of solid.

Land treatment: $32 per cubic yard.

Other treatment: 8 cents per gallon of liquid or $8 per cubic yard of
solid.

Exemptions: Hazardous waste destined for recycling or reuse; used
crankcase oil; hazardous waste generated as a result of any response ac-
tion; hazardous waste discharged to public sewage treatment works
which meets pretreatment standards; hazardous waste generated as
residue from a hazardous waste incineration facility that treats waste
subject to taxation.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $1,017,000
F.Y. 1987 $1,066,000

Disposition: Environmental Response, Compensation and Com-
pliance Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Any person generating hazardous waste and required to dis-
close such generation under the hazardous waste rules of the Minnesota
Pollution Control Agency.

Payment Dates: Quarterly declarations of estimated tax required on
March 15, June 15, September 15, and December 15 if tax expected to
exceed $1,000. Annual return due April 15.

History of Major Changes

1983 -- Enacted.
1984 -- Exemption for hazardous waste generated as residue from a
hazardous waste incineration facility.

Comparison With Other States

California, Iowa, and New York impose taxes or fees on various
categories of hazardous waste. The comparative information was too
complicated and lengthy to include herein. If more information is
desired, contact the Tax Research Division in the Minnesota Depart-
ment of Revenue.
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METROPOLITAN SOLID WASTE LANDFILL FEE
Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.843

Tax Base: Amount of solid waste disposed of at a solid waste disposal
facility in the metropolitan area.

Rate: 50 cents per cubic yard.

Exemption: Waste residue from energy and resource recovery facilities
at which solid waste is processed for the purpose of extracting, reduF-
ing, converting to energy, or otherwise separating and preparing solid
waste for reuse is exempt from one-half of the tax if at least 85% of the
volume of the solid waste is reduced. .

Revenue
Collections; F.Y. 1986 $3,210,000
F.Y. 1987 $3,262,000
Disposition:
Landfill Abatement Fund 50%

Metropolitan Landfill Contingency Action Fund 50%

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Operators of mixed municipal solid waste disposal fa.cilities
in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington
Counties.

Payment Dates: 20th day of the month, for the previous month.
History of Major Changes

1984 -- Enacted.

Comparison With Other States

None of the comparison states impose a solid waste fee.
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 268.03 to 268.24

Tax Base: A wage base of $11,200 in 1987 and $11,700 in 1988.

Rates: The standard rate for new employers is 2.8% in 1987. Experience
ratings will vary the rate actually paid, which can be from 1% to 7.5%
in 1987 and from 0.8% to 8.0% in 1988. The rate for new construction
employers is 7.5%.

Exemptions: Various categories of excluded employment exist, includ-
ing service performed by: a) a son, daughter, or spouse; b) independent

contractors; ¢) members of a partnership; d) elected public officials;
and ¢) ordained ministers of a church,

Revenue

Collections; F.Y. 1986 $352,331,000
F.Y. 1987 $372,733,000

Disposition: Proceeds are paid into the Minnesota Unemployment

Compensation Fund and benefits are paid out of this fund and charged
to each employer’s account.

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training

Who Pays: Generally, any employer who has one or more individuals
employed for 20 different weeks in either the current or preceding
calendar year, or having paid wages of $1,500 in any quarter of either

year.

Payment Dates: April 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31,

History of Major Changes

1936 -- Unemployment Compensation Law enacted.

1939 .- Standard rate set at 2.7%.

1941 -~ Formula for computing experience ratios adopted.

1971 -- Methods of calculating contribution rates, experience rates,
and minimum rates changed.

1976 -- Method for setting contribution rates redetermined.

1979  -- Amended to conform with federal law.

1982 -- $8,000 base for 1% adopted. Tax base of 60% of average
annual wage adopted.

1987 -- $8,000 base removed. Minimum and maximum rates
changed. Solvency surtax beginning in 1989 if trust fund
below certain levels.
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Comparison With Other States PROPERTY TAXES
AND IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES
State Standard Rate* Basis
California 34% First $ 7,000 GENERAL PROPERTY TAX
Ilinois 392 First $ 8,500 Minnesota Statutes, Section 272.01
30 i 000
;?va:; ) ;3 c Iliirr:: zlg’SOO Tax Base: Assessed value of real and personal property.
ichigan 74 ! »
MINNESOTA 2.8 First $11,200 -
New York 2.7° First$ 7,000 Computation:
North Dakota 325§ First $11,000 ‘
South Dakota 35 First § 7,000 Market value - determined by county assessor, except
T:ias 278 First $ 8,000 for state-assessed property.
Wisconsin 360 First $10,500 . I . .
times: classification ratio(s) - determined by type of property,
*  For new employers. Experience ratings determine actual rate paid as listed in tables below.
in subsequent years. equals: assessed value
a, Plus four industry rates ranging from 4.0%1t05.2.% times: mill rate - aggregate of county, city or town, school
b. 9.0‘(77& tf"or construction empioyers‘ district, and any special taxing districts
c. 4.0% for construction employers.
d. 7.5% for construction employers. ) equals: gross tax
e. Plus 1% subsidiary tax to cover potentia! negative balances.
f. Maximum rate for employers with negative reserve. minus: credits (listed in the order in which they are subtracted
g. Industry rate if higher. from gross tax)
h. 7.2% for construction employers. -- small business property tax transition credit
(payable 1988 only)
-~ disaster credit
-- wetlands credit (repealed beginning with payable
1989)
--  native prairie credit (repealed beginning with
payable 1989)

-~ powerline credit

- agricultural preserves credit

-- enterprise zone credit

-~ state school agricultural credit - replaced with
exemption amount beginning with payable 1989

--  state paid homestead credit
For 1988 - 54% of gross tax, with a maximum
credit of $700.
Beginning with 1989 - replaced with exemption
amount. Retained for agricultural homesteads
at 52% of gross tax, with a maximum credit of
$700.

3 -- taconite homestead credit

supplemental homestead credit

equals: net tax
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TAXES PAYABLE 1988 TAXES PAYABLE 1989
Class and Type of Property Ratio
Class and Type of Property Ratio
Class 1a Nonagricultural homestead
First $68,000 market value 17% Class1 Nonagricultural homestead
Over $68,000 market value 27% First $68,000 market value 37%
Class 1b Homestead of blind and disabled (Nonag.) Over $68,000 market value 60%
First $34,000 market value 5% Class 2a Agricultural homestead
Next $34,000 market value 17% First $66,000 market value 30%
Over $68,000 market value 27% Over $66,000 market value 40%
Homestead of blind and disabled (Ag.) Class 2b Agricultural nonhomestead land; timberland 40%
First $33,000 market value 5% Class 3a  Commercial and industrial
Next $33,000 market value 14% First $80,000 market value 60%
Over $66,000 market value 18% Over $80,000 market value 96%
Class 1c¢  Small homestead resorts 12% Class 3b  Employment property 45% - 86%
Class 2a Agricultural homestead Class4a Nonhomestead residential, four or more
First $66,000 market value 14% units, including private hospitals 70%
Over $66,000 market value 18% Class 4b Property 60%
Class 2b Timberland 18% Nonhomestead residential, three or fewer
Class 2c Agricultural nonhomestead 18% units;
Class 3a Commercial and industrial Fraternity or sorority housing;
First $60,000 market value 28% Manufactured homes, not elsewhere
Over $60,000 market value 43% classified; and
Class 3b Bmployment property 20% - 38.5% Agricultural nonhomestead dwelling
Class 3¢ Vacant land 40% Class4c Property 50%
Class 4a Nonhoniestead residential, four or more Structure qualifying under Title IT or
units, including private hospitals 34% Minnesota Housing Finance Agency for
Class 4b Utility personal property 331/3% low or moderate income familics;
Class 5a Nonhomestead residential, three or fewer Structure qualifying as Section 8 housing;
units, including fraternity or sorority Up to one acre of qualifying land and
housing 28% improvements owned by a neighborhood
Class 5b Type I and Il apartments real estate trust;
Building 25% Seasonal recreational residential; and
Land 34% Qualifying real property of a nonprofit
Class 5¢ Manufactured homes not elsewhere community service organization.
classified 28% Class 4d Property 30%
Class 6a Seasonal recreational residential 21% Small homestead resorts;
Class 6b Qualifying real property of a nonprofit Structure used for housing the elderly or
community service organization 21% for low and moderate income families
Class 7Ta Structure qualifying under Title I or financed by the Farmers Home Adminis-
Minnesota Housing Finance Agency tration and located in a municipality of
for cldetly or for low or moderate less than 10,000; and
income families 20% First $34,000 market value of homestead
Class 7b Structure qualifying as Section 8 housing 20% s of blind or disabled.
Class 7c  Structure used for housing the elderly or Class 5 All property not included in any other class 96%
for low and moderate income families
financed by the Farmers Home .
Administration and located in a Major Exemptions: Real property - Indian lands; public property used
municipality of less than 10,000 10% fo.r pu.blic purposes; educational facilities; religious and charitable in-
Class 7d Up to one acre of qualifying land and stitutions; cemeteries; attached machinery. Personal property -
improvements owned by a neighborhood household goods; commercial and industrial personal property; farm
real estate trust 20% machinery and livestock; agricultural products.
Class8 Electric distribution lines and other
equipment used to supply electricity
to farmers at retail. 5%
Class 9a Unmined iron ore 50%
Class 9b Low recovery iron ore 30% - 48.5%
Class 10 All propeity not included in any other class. 43%
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Special Provisions: Taxing authorities have numerous statutory
limitations on the amount of property taxes they may levy. In addi-
tion, there are the overall levy limitation laws governing school dis-
tricts, counties, and municipal governments.

Rates: Mill rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. Total mill rate includes
all levies for all taxing jurisdictions within which the property is located
(city or town, county, school district, and any special taxing districts).

The statewide average mill rate for taxes payable in 1987 was 111 mills.
After the deduction of all credits, the net rate was 87 mills. (A mill is
$1 for each $1,000 of taxable value.)

Property Tax Refund: Homeowners and renters receive property tax
relief based on the relationship of the property tax on the home or ap-
plicable tax on the apartment and total household income, This relief
is paid directly to the individual by the state.

In order to be eligible for the refund, a person’s property tax must be
more than a specified percentage of household income. Above that
level, the state will pay a percentage of the tax, up to a maximum refund,
The percent of income, percent of state payment, and maximum refund
depend upon the income of the claimant. As the claimant’s income in-
creases, the amount the state pays decreases. Eligibility for the proper-
ty tax refund is limited to claimants with incomes under $35,000.

A homeowner subtracts the homestead credit from the gross property
tax refund to determine the net refund amount.

Revenue

Collections (millions):

Gross Home- Agri- Prop. Net
Year Taxes stead cultural  Other Tax Taxes
Payable Levied Credit* Credit Credits Refund Paid
1986  $3,084.0 $586.1 $126.1 $24 $156.1 $2,213.3
1987 32773 609.2 115.6 2.1 1152 24352

* Includes Taconite Homestead Credit.

Disposition: Revenue is distributed by county auditors and treasurers
to the counties, municipalities, school districts, and other taxing
authorities according to the taxable values and total millage levied by
each.

Administration

Agencies: County assessor, county auditor, county treasurer. Min-
nesota Department of Revenue -- equalization of values and valuation
of state-assessed properties.

Who Pays: All owners of property not specifically exempt.

Payment Dates: First half of real estate tax is due by May 15th. Second

half of real estate tax is due by October 15th (November 15th for owners
of agricultural land).
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History of Major Changes

State Board of Equalization created to reduce inequities of
assessment.

Formulation by legislature of first property tax classification
systen.

All taxable property was divided into four separate classes,
each assessed at a different percentage of full value,
Property classes increased from four to seven.
Constitutional amendment authorized limited exemption of
household goods and farm machinery.

First $4,000 of homesteads exempted for state tax purposes.
Additional classes of property defined.

Property tax enacted for airflight property.

Reclassified lakeshore property not used for commercial
purposes.

Indian lands exempt from taxation.

Homestead credit enacted.

Senior citizen property tax credit enacted.

State government property tax levy eliminated.

Livestock and agricultural machinery exempted from
personal property tax.

Manufacturers granted option to exempt either tools and
machinery considered as personal property or inventories,
Adoption of county assessor systen.

Adoption of “Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax Law”
providing for assessment based on current use rather than
best use for agricultural property to foster preservation of
agricultural lands.

Portion of agricultural homestead considered as the
homestead for tax purposes increased from first 40 acres

to first 80 acres.

Taconite homestead credit enacted.

Tax increment financing of renovation projects authorized,
Separate assessment of Title IT property.

“Minnesota Open Space Property Tax law” enacted to foster
preservation of recreational open spaces in urban areas.
Overall property tax levy limitation laws enacted for school
districts, counties and municipalities.

Mobile homes taxed as personal property.

Fiscal disparities established.

Business inventories and tools and machinery considered as
personal property made entirely exempt.

Separate classes for Type I and Il apartments established.
Senior citizen property tax “freeze” credit enacted,
Increase in market value for residential property is limited
to 5% per year.

Manufacturing and business machinery considered as real
property is exempted.

Senior citizens property tax credit extended to disabled and
blind persons,

Homestead credit increased to a larger percent of gross
taxes (45%) and a larger maximum amount ($325).

Portion of agricultural homestead considered as the
homestead for tax purposes increased from first 80 acres

to first 120 acres.
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5% limit on increase in value for residential property is
replaced with general limits on valuation increases.
Property tax refund enacted.

Flexible homestead base established. Allows portion of
homestead property assessed at a lower rate to increase
with inflation,

Agricultural mill rate differential increased.

Agricultural mill rate differential eliminated and replaced
with an agricultural mill rate credit at a higher rate.
Portion of agricultural homestead property considered as
the homestead for tax purposes increased from first 120
acres to first 160 acres.

Classification ratios for homestead property reduced.
Allowable relief under property tax refund is increased and
senior citizen property tax “freeze” eliminated.
Eliminated limited market value. Enacted two-stage shift to
estimated market value,

Homestead credit increased to a larger percent of gross
taxes (50%) and a larger maximum amount ($550).
Classification ratios for homestead and certain other
property reduced.

Portion of agricultural homestead property considered as
the homestead for tax purposes increased from 160 acres
to 240 acres.

Agricultural mill rate credit increased.

Lowered assessment rate for multi-unit structures used
exclusively to provide housing for low income persons.
Enacted a property tax credit for owners of property
crossed by high voltage electric transmission lines (effective
in 1982).

New credit enacted to foster preservation of wetlands.
Replaced gross earnings tax on railroads with ad valorem
tax.

Allowable relief under property tax refund increased.
Classification ratios lowered for homestead and certain
other property.

Title II reimbursement aid for local governments enacted.
Homestead credit increased to a larger percent of gross
taxes (58%) and a larger maximum credit amount ($650).
Native prairie credit enacted,

Certain property of senior citizens’ groups and shelters for
domestic abuse exempted.

Reinstated flexible homestead base adjustment.

Rental valuation of agricultural land used if less than
market value (for taxes payable beginning in 1984).
Classification ratios for commercial-industrial property
and certain apartment buildings reduced.

Targeting credit (part of property tax refund) modified.
Agricultural mill rate credit made more progressive.
Limitation on certain aid and credit entitlements enacted.
Overall levy limitations law changed.

Enterprise zone classification of propetty created.
Reduced assessments for property damaged by a natural
disaster enacted with state payments to offset local
revenue loss.

Homestead credit percentage reduced to 54%.
Classification ratios for homestead property and certain
apartments changed.

Agricultural property tax credit changed.

1984  --

1985  --

1986 -

1987 -

1
H

Classification ratio on commercial industrial property
reduced,

Payment dates moved up 15 days.

Additional classification ratios for enterprise zone
property created and state paid credit for enterprise
zone business enacted,

Provided exemption for direct satellite broadcasting
facilities.

Enacted a new property tax refund formula with new
maximums,

Targeting refund program amended and additional
targeting refund enacted,

Attached machinery aid for cities and towns eliminated.
Reduced assessment aid repealed.

Removed 240-acre limit for agricultural homesteads.
Classification ratio for commercial-industrial property
reduced.

Agricultural credit increased.

Repealed rent capitalization for agricultural valuation
purposes.,

Provided for a targeting credit for taxes payable in 1985.
Provided for exemption of hydropower facilities leased
from governmental units.

Local option tax relief authorized in cases where
homesteads are destroyed.

Provided state reimbursement for transit levy differentials
in metro area.

Maximum homestead credit increased to $700.
Agricultural credit increased and maximum credit
climinated.

Classification ratios changed for some types of property.
Classes of property reorganized and renumbered.
Owners of agricultural land allowed a one-month grace
period for the payment of the second half of their property
tax,

Small business property tax transition credit enacted for
1988 only.

Reduced classification ratios for nonagricultural homestead
property.

Income maintenance disparity aid enacted.

Eliminated exemptions for specified types of leased
property on airport property owned by a local unit of
government or the Metropolitan Airport Commission.
Eliminated exemption for distillery facilities.
Transferred duties of the Equalization Aid Review
Committee to the commissioner of revenue.

Beginning with taxes payable in 1989:

Replaced the homestead credit on nonagricultural property
and the agricultural credit with exemptions. Local units

of government reimbursed through the homestead credit
replacement aid and the agricultural credit replacement aid.
Restructured the property tax classification system reducing
the number of classes and increasing the classification
ratios,

Tax base adjustment aid enacted.

Repealed the native prairie credit and the wetlands credit.
Exempted electric power distribution lines used to supply
electricity to farmers at retail.

Reduced maximum increase in levy limits from 5% to 3%.
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Comparison With Other States

General rate comparisons cannot be made due to the complex and dif-
fering property tax systems among states. For comparison purposes,
the table below uses effective tax rates for 1985 calculated by the Ad-
visory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations on existing single
family homes with F.H.A. insured mortgages.

Effective Average
State Property Tax Rate
California 1.08%
Illinois 1.57
TIowa 1.96
Michigan 227
MINNESOTA 1.04
New York 2.38
North Dakota 1.26
South Dakota 1.96
Texas 1.36
Wisconsin 1.99
TREE GROWTH TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.32

Tax Base: Five acres or more of forest lands, used exclusively for the
growing of continuous forest crops.

Rates: Lands growing commercial forest types are taxed at 30% of the
value of annual growth. Temporarily nonproductive forests are taxed
at S cents per acre or 15 cents per acre for noncompliance with the
reforestation agreement. Permanently nonproductive types are taxed
at 5 cents per acre.

Credit; For each acre of land planted and maintained with at least 500
commercial trees, the owner is eligible for an annual credit of 50 cents
per acre. The credit is applied against taxes on other lands within the
same governmental subdivision and is allowed for ten years.

Special Provisions: The tree growth tax is in lieu of all other property

taxes. The owner must apply to, and receive approval from, the coun-
ty to have qualifying forest lands come under this tax.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $396,000
F.Y. 1987 $381,000

Disposition: Distributed in the same manner as the property tax.
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Administration
Agencies: County auditor, county board.

Who Pays: Those who receive county board approval to have their
forest lands so taxed.

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax.
History of Major Changes

1957 -- Enacted.

1959 -- Repealed section holding that a landowner may not have
more than 10,000 acres in one county under this tax.

1967 -- Added that ad valorem taxes could not be assessed if an
agreement had been in effect for at least 6 years.

AUXILIARY FOREST TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 88.50

Tax Base: Any 35 acres or more of land that is suitable for forestation
or any wood lot containing 5 to 40 acres.

Rates: Land tax -- annual tax of 10 cents per acre. Yield tax -- 40% to
10% of value of timber, the rate determined by the year of the harvest
in relation to the contract period.

Special Provisions: This tax is in lieu of all other property taxes. The
land is made an auxiliary forest upon the owner’s application, subject
to county board approval. Auxiliary forest tax applies for the duration
of the contract. No new auxiliary forest contracts are allowed, or exist-
ing contracts extended, after June 30, 1974.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1986 $61,000
F.Y. 1987 $20,000

Disposition: Proceeds are credited to the funds of the affected taxing
districts (county, city or town, school district, any special district) in the
same proportion as if the property tax had been levied.

Administration
Agencies: County auditor, county board.

Who Pays: Those who received county board approval on or before
June 30, 1974, to have their lands designated auxiliary forests.

Payment Dates: Land tax -- annually by May 31. Yield tax --at time of
harvest.

History of Major Changes

1927 -- Forestation Amendment established tax on any tract of
forestable land less than 160 acres and woodlots between
20 and 40 acres. Land tax was 8 cents per $1 of land’s
assessed value. Yield tax was 10% of the value of

marketable timber. 57



1929  -- Land tax changed to 5 cents per acre of auxiliary forest land.

1945 -- Size of land plot changed to any 35 acres or more and
wood lots between 5 and 40 acres. Rate changed to 6 cents
per acre.

1947 - Yield tax graduated between 40% and 10% depending on
year of harvest,

1957 -- Rate changed to 10 cents per acre.

1974 -- Prohibited new auxiliary forest contracts from being issued
and existing contracts from being extended, effective after
June 30, 1974,

MINING PRODUCTION TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 298.24, 298.35, and 298.61

Tax Base: Extracted tonnage of taconite and iron sulphides, semi-
taconite and copper-nickel ores. For taconite, iron sulphides, and semi-
taconite, it is tonnage of merchantable ore concentrate produced. For
copper-nickel, it is tonnage of copper-nickel ore to be concentrated.

Rates:

Taconite and Iron Sulphides - $1.90 per ton applicable to the average
production of the current year and the previous two years. Beginning
with production year 1988, the rate will be increased annually by the im-
plicit price deflator. However, the increase will not go into effect in 1988
if production is more than 34 million tons.

Semi-Taconite - Sintered in Minnesota: 5 cents per gross ton plus 0.1
cents for each 1% that the iron content exceeds 55%. Sintered outside
Minnesota: 10 cents per gross ton of crude ore plus 0.1 cent per gross
ton for each 0.5% that the iron content exceeds 55%. The last produc-
tion of semi-taconite was in 1979.

Copper-Nickel - Base rate is 2.5 cents per gross ton of crude ore plus
10% of the base tax per ton for each 0.1% that the average copper-nick-
el content per ton of ore exceeds 1%. This composite rate is subject to
increase proportional to changes in the current year average monthly
wholesale price index above the 1967 index. No production of copper-
nickel has occurred to date.

Special Provision: Additional tax of 10 cents per ton of taconite tailings
produbed which are not deposited on land in accordance with specified

permits, Currently the tax is not imposed because tailings are deposited
in accordance with such permits,

Revenue

Collections: C.Y. 1986 $65,092,000
C.Y. 1987 $48,657,782

Disposition: The taconite production tax is distributed as follows:

Tax Proceeds Per
Taxable Ton
Taconite cities and towns 2.5 cents
Taconite Municipal Aid Account 12.5 cents

Taconite school districts:
In which taconite was mined or quarried
or concentrate produced 5.5 cents
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Qualifying group of districts 22.0 cents
Taconite Referendum Fund Formula amount
Counties
Taconite counties 13.0 cents*
Taconite counties road and bridge funds 3.5 cents*
Taconite homestead property tax relief 22.0 cents*
Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board
(IRRRB) 3.0 cents**
Range Association of Municipalities and Schools 0.2 cents

Northeast Minnesota Economic Protection Trust Fund 1.5 cents*

Each city, town, school district, and county receive the amount it
received from the taconite railroad gross earnings tax in 1977.

The IRRRB receives the amount of occupation tax it received in 1977,

Remaining proceeds after above distribution:

Taconite Environmental Protection Fund 2/3
Northeast Minnesota Economic Protection
Trust Fund 1/3

* Increased From 1979 to 1987 by the steel mill products index and in
1988 and subsequent years by the implicit price deflator.

** Increased from 1981 to 1987 by the steel mill products index and in
1988 and subsequent years by the implicit price deflator.

Proceeds of any production tax derived from copper-nickel and semi-
taconite would be distributed to the state general fund and to the
various taxing districts in which copper-nickel or semi-taconite is lo-
cated as follows:

City or town 22%

School district 50%

County 22%

State 6%
Administration

Agencies:

Minnesota Department of Revenue - determination of liability and dis-
tribution.

Eligible counties - collection and distribution to local units,

Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board - collection of its
share.

Who Pays: Mining companies pay the production tax in lieu of the
property tax on the land, buildings, and equipment used in connection
with taconite mining, quarrying, or production.

Payment Dates: For the preceding calendar year, 90% of the tax pay-
able by February 15th. Balance payable by April 15th.
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History of Major Changes Disposition: 80% of the proceeds are distributed in the same manner
as the property tax. The remaining 20% is deposited in the state general
1881 -- Tonnage tax on iron ore of 1 cent per ton imposed. fund and credited to the Indian business loan account.
1897 -- Tonnage tax on iron ore repealed and replaced by ad
valorem tax. Administration
1941 .- Taconite production tax of 5 cents per ton imposed.
1959 -- Production tax on semi-taconite enacted. Agency: County
1969 -- Taconite production tax increased to 11.5 cents per ton.
1971 -- Additional production tax of 4 cents to 14 cents per ton Who Pays: Owners of mineral interests owned separately from the af-
imposed. fected real estate.
1975 -- Taconite production tax increased by 39 cents per ton.
1977 -- Taconite production tax increased to $1.25 per ton with tax Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the propetty tax.
index based on the price of steel.
1984 -- Index frozen for two years and converts to implicit price : :
deflator for production year 1987. Credit for construction History of Major Changes
of water filtration plant enacted.
1985 -- Taconite production tax paid to the counties and the 1973 -~ Enacted.
IRRRB. Distribution of proceeds modified.
1986 -- Rate reduced from $2.05 to $1.90 per ton. Indexing of rate
P & UNMINED TACONITE TAX

suspended under certain conditions. Distribution of
proceeds modified.
1987 -- Indexing of rate eliminated for 1987. Distribution modified.

Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.26

Tax Base: Taconite or iron sulphides in a forty-acre tract of land from

Comparison With Other States which the production of iron ore concentrate is less than 1,000 tons in
that year,

Rate . .
Resource a Rates: Local mill rate times assessed value (43% of market value) of

the taconite or iron sulphides. Maximum tax of $10 per acre.

California Crude oiland  Per barrel charge or uniform
natural gas rate per thousand cubic feet.
Revenue
MINNESOTA Taconite $1.90 per ton, indexed.
Collections: C.Y. 1986 $397,000
North Dakota Coal 75 cents per ton plus 2 cents CY. 1987 $310,000
per ton for lignite research. (Estimate)
Texas Sulphur $1.03 per long ton. Disposition: Distributed in the same manner as the property tax.
Cement $.0275 per CWT.
Administration
Towa, lilinois, Michigan, New York, South Dakota, and Wisconsin do
not impose a production tax. Agency: County

Who Pays: Owners of taconite mineral interests.

SEVERED MINERAL INTERESTS TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.165 Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax.
Tax Base: Mineral interests in real estate owned separately from the .
interest in the surface of the real estate. History of Major Changes
Rates: Annual rate of 25 cents per acre or portion thereof with a min- 1941 -- Enacted at $1 per acre maximum.
imum tax of $2 per parcel. 1977 -- Increased to $10 per acre maximum.

Exemptions; Mineral interests taxed under other laws relating to
mineral taxation or those exempt from taxation due to constitutional
or statutory provisions.

Revenue

Collections: C.Y. 1986 $528,000
C.Y. 1987 $424,000
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LOCAL SALES AND EXCISE TAXES

Minnesota has a statutory prohibition against the imposition of any
local sales or income tax without specific legislative authorization.
There is, therefore, no local option sales tax. Local sales taxes special-
ly authorized are described below.*

Rate Tax Base
Bloomington: 5% Transient lodging
5% Liquor and beer
3% Admission to spectator events

Transient lodging in towns of Lutsen,
Tofte, and Schroeder.

Cook County: 2%

Duluth: 1% State sales tax base
1% Certain food and beverages
5% Transient lodging
Minneapolis: 0.5% State sales tax base
3% Transient lodging
6% Transient lodging -- more than 50 rooms
3% Admissions, amusements
3% Liquor and beer (downtown, on-sale only)
3% Restaurant food (downtown)
Rochester: 3% Transient lodging
1% State sales tax base
$20 Per motor vehicle sold at retail
St. Cloud: 5% Transient lodging
1% Certain food and beverages
St. Paul: 3% Transient lodging
5% Transient lodging -- 50 or more rooms
Scott County: 25 cents Per paid admission to a large place of
amusement

*  Not all authorized taxes are currently imposed. All cities and towns
are now authorized to impose up to a 3% tax on transient lodging
for tourism promotion,

Special Provisions: Authority has been given to the Metropolitan Sports

Facilities Commission to tax lodging and liquor receipts at a variable
rate in the City of Minneapolis.

Revenue

Collections:*

F.Y. 1987
Bloomington $3,370,000
Duluth 6,287,000
Minneapolis 7,851,000
Rochester 6,262,000
St. Cloud 367,000
St. Paul 1,301,000

Disposition: Local governments.

*  Collection amounts for other selected cities are available from
the Department of Revenue, Tax Research Division.
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Administration

Who Pays: Purchasers or consumers of taxable goods and services.

Who Remits: Holders of city sales tax permits.

Due Dates: The 20th of the month following the sales month.

History of Major Changes

1969

1970

1971

1973

1977

1979

1980

1983

1985

1986

1987

Minneapolis imposed a 3% tax on admissions, amusements,
and transient lodging.

St. Paul, Duluth, and Bloomington imposed a 3% tax on
transient lodging.

Rochester imposed a 3% tax on transient lodging.

Local governments are prohibited from imposing or
increasing sales or income taxes.

Duluth is authorized to impose a 1% “piggyback” general
sales tax,

Duluth is authorized to increase rate to 2% on food and
beverages.

St. Cloud is authorized to impose a 3% tax on transient
lodging,

Metropolitan Sports Commission lodging and liquor tax
authorized.

Duluth is exempted from prohibition against increasing
rates without legislative approval,

Authorized any city to impose a lodging tax of up to 3%
for tourism promotion, Rochester is authorized to impose
a “piggyback” sales tax of up to 1% and a motor vehicle
excise tax of up to $20 per car.

Extended to towns the authority to impose a local lodging
tax of up to 3% for tourism promotion.

Minneapolis is authorized to impose the following new
taxes related to convention center funding: 1) “piggyback”
sales and use taxes of 0.5%; 2) a 3% sales tax on liquor
and beer (downtown only); 3) an additional 3% lodging
tax on facilities with more than 50 rooms; and 4) a 3%
sales tax on restaurant food (downtown only).

St. Paul is authorized to impose an additional 2% tax on
transient lodging facilities with 50 rooms or more. At least
95% of the proceeds must be used to fund a convention
bureau.

To pay for development of the former Metropolitan
Stadium site, Bloomington is authorized to impose a 1%
“piggyback” sales tax within a designated special district.

The city is also authorized to impose a 5% tax on
transient lodging and a 5% sales tax on liquor and beer.
St. Cloud is authorized to fund a possible convention

center by imposing: 1) a 1% sales tax on certain food

and beverages; and 2) an additional 2% lodging tax.

Bloomington authority to impose a 1% general sales tax

repealed.

Cook County transient lodging tax in certain towns

authorized.

Scott County admission tax authorized.
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LOCAL GROSS EARNINGS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 295.37 and 451.07

Tax Base: Gross earnings of trust companies and utilities operating in
certain cities and counties,

Rates:

e Trust companies: 6% )
e  Utility companies: Varies by city

Revenue
Collections:

Utility companies tax:
Minneapolis C.Y. 1986 $10,032,000
St. Paul C.Y. 1986 $14,524,000
Disposition: Local revenue funds.
Administration
Agency: Local units of government
Who Pays: Utilities and trust companies.

Payment Dates:

Trust companies -- March 1st.
Utility companies -- established locally.

SAND AND GRAVEL OCCUPATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.75

Tax Base: Aggregate material removed from gravel pits or deposits.
Rates: 10 cents per cubic yard or 7 cents per ton of aggregate material,
Revenue

Collections: Counties collect tax.

Disposition:  County road and bridge fund 60%
City or town for roads and bridges 30%
Restoration of abandoned pits 10%
Administration

Agency: County

Who Pays: Those removing aggregate material from pits or deposits in
these counties: Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, Carver, Scott, Dakota, Le-
Seuer, Kittson, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, Norman, Mah-
nomen, Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Big Stone, Sibley, Hennepin,
Washington, and Ramsey.

Payment Dates: Quarterly.
History of Major Changes

From 1961-1979, seven counties had received authority to impose
this tax through special legislation.

1980 -- Gave all counties the option of imposing such tax at county
discretion.

1982  -- Uniform rate and proceed disposition provisions enacted
and extended the tax to all “aggregate materials.”

1983 .- Extends tax on aggregate materials to importers as well as

operators. Specifies 26 counties subject to tax,

1984 Exempted certain counties from requirement to impose tax.
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STATE-LOCAL FISCAL RELATIONS

Minnesota utilizes what may be termed a “broad-based” revenue sys-
tem to help pay the costs of local government. Essentially, this means
that a large proportion of state tax revenues is used to finance local
units,

Over a period of years, the state has taken on an ever greater respon-
sibility for financing various local functions. State aid payments are
made for both the general support of local governments and for specific
purposes, e.g., certain educational costs.

This section describes the major state-local aid programs in Minnesota.
Itisintended to provide only a general description of the state-local fis-
cal system; miscellaneous aids and grants to local governments are not
included.

LOCAL AIDS

Local Government Aid -- Enacted in 1971, this aid supports general
operations of local governmental units. Counties, cities, and towns
receive distributions in two payments on July 15th and December 15th.

Homestead Credit Aid -- The amount of homestead credit is subtracted
from the tax statement, and the taxpayer pays only the netamount. The
state reimburses school districts, county, city and town governments,
and special taxing districts for the taxrelief provided homestead proper-
ty. Beginning with taxes payable in 1989, the credit is replaced by an ex-
emption amount and replacement aid, except for agricultural home-
steads.

Attached Machinery Aid (including School District Attached
Machinery Aid) -- Reimbursements are made each year to certain
school districts and county governments for lost revenue due to the ex-
emption of ponderous machinery and equipment from real property
taxation.

School Agricultural Credit -- Aid is paid to school districts for the credit
which is allowed to agricultural land, timberland, and noncommercial
seasonal recreational residential property. Beginning with taxes pay-
able in 1989, it is replaced by an exemption amount and replacement
aid.

Police and Fire Aid -- Aid is given to qualifying municipal fire depart-
ments, independent nonprofit fire fighting corporations, county sheriff
departments, and municipal police departments.

All Other Aids -- Includes wetlands credit and reimbursement, native
prairie credit. and reimbursement, agricultural preserves credit, in-
surance surcharge aid and reduced assessment credit and enterprise
zone credit.

WELFARE AIDS

A combination of federal, state, and county funds are used to finance
public welfare payments.

Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) -- Though federal,
state, and county monies are used to finance this program, payments
are made at the county level, Eligibility involves low or no income status
and lack of other assets.
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Minnesota Supplemental Aid Program (MSA) -- This program supple-
ments the federal Supplemental Security Income (8.8.1.) program for
the aged, blind, or disabled. The majority of funds are state provided,
but county funds are also used.

Medical Assistance -- Funds from this program are paid to doctors,
nursing homes, pharmacists, etc., for medical services provided to wel-
fare recipients.

General Assistance Programs -- These cash payments are made to low
income persons who do not qualify for AFDC, MSA, or Medical As-
sistance.

Emergency Assistance -- Cash assistance for families with children,

Preadmission Screening/Alternative Care Grants -- This program pays
for: 1) screening people who are entering nursing homes; and 2) the
cost of alternative forms of care (provided the cost does not exceed the
cost of nursing home care).

EDUCATION AIDS

The Department of Education administers four major aid programs for
the state’s school districts. These are as follows:

Foundation Aid -- Amounts payable for this general support aid are
based on the required expenditure per pupil, local tax support, and
amounts of other aids expected. Beginning with fiscal year 1989, the for-
mula is modified and renamed the "general education aid."

Transportation Aid -- This aid is tied to local support and is based on
the number of pupils requiring transportation.

Special Education Aid -- The state pays districts for employing teachers
in special education and contributes a percentage of the cost for sup-
plies and equipment.

Secondary Vocational Aid -- The state pays a percentage of specified
costs for vocational education programs.

HIGHWAY AND MASS TRANSIT AID

Highway and transit aid is financed primarily from the highway fuels
excise taxes and motor vehicle license fees. It is distributed through the
following funds:

County State Aid Highway Fund -- The formula for distributing these
funds is based on vehicle registrations, highway mileage, and need.

Municipal State Aid Street Fund -- These funds are distributed on the
basis of need and population.

Transit Assistance - Funds paid to the Regional Transit Board for the
metropolitan area and to non-metropolitan transit assistance.
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The level of state funding in F.Y. 1987 for the various aid categories is
indicated as follows:

Local Aids

Local Government Aid
Homestead Credit Aid

Supplementary Homestead Credit

Attached Machinery Aid
Agricultural Credit
Police and Fire Aids
Other Aids

Welfare Aids

AFDC

Minnesota Supplemental Aid
Medical Assistance

General Assistance

Work Readiness Grants
Emergency Assistance

General Assistance Medical Care
Alternative Care Grants

Education Aids

Foundation Aid
Transportation Aid
Special Education Aid
Secondary Vocational Aid
Teacher Retirement
Other Aids

Transportation Aids
County

Municipal
Transit Assistance
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$ 310,931,000
582,106,000
344,000
3,218,000
126,356,000
28,677,000

17,148,000
$1,068,780,000

$ 114,740,000
18,794,000
453,624,000
39,551,000
10,512,000
340,000
67,789,000

6,818,000
$ 712,168,000

$872,271,000
81,295,000
143,549,000
19,815,000
226,862,000

64,943,000
$1,408,735,000

$179,441,000
44,454,000

24,990,000
$248,885,000

A general comparison of fiscal year 1987 state tax collections and aid
expenditures is shown below. Property tax refund amounts were in-

cluded because they represent payments by the state to individuals
for tax relief purposes.

State Tax Collections

$5,499.1 Million
Other Taxes
$707.7 Million
Severance and Gross Earnings
$229.0 Million
Motor Fuels
$357.0 Million
Corporation Income
and Bank Excise
$423.0 Mitlion
Local Aids -
$3.594.7 Million
Property Tax Refund
$156.1 Million
Transportation Aid
$248.9 Miltion
Sales and Use
$1,470.4 Million
Welfare Aids
$712.2 Million
Local Aids
$1,068.8 Million
Individual Income
$2,312.0 Million
Education Aids
$1,408.7 Million
Local Aids -- $3,594.7 million = 65%

Net State Tax Collections -- $5,499.1 million
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MINNESOTA STATE TAX COLLECTIONS ; MINNESOTA LOCAL TAX COLLECTIONS
NET AFTER REFUNDS
1986 1987
— BFY. 1987
% of General Property Tax -
F.Y. 1986 Amount Total net after credits* $2,369,400,000 $2,550,400,000

Individual Income Tax $1,948,595,000 $2,312,043,000 42.04% Tree growth tax* 396,000 381,000
Reciprocity 15,951,000 21,425,000 .39 Auxiliary forest tax* 61,000 20,000
Corporate Income Tax 326,124,000 403,649,000 7.34
Bank Excise Tax 41,187,000 19,351,000 .35 Taconite production tax* 65,092,000 48,658,000
Estate,Inheritance & Severed mineral interests tax* 528,000 424,000
Gift taxes 15,319,000 21,602,000 39 Unmined taconite tax* 397,000 310,000
General Sales & Use Tax 1,360,789,000 1,470,363,000 26.74 | Sales Taxes**
Motor Vehicle Excise Tax 207,566,000 225,367,000 4.10 } Bloomington 2,079,000 3,370,000
Motor Fuels Taxes 336,268,000 356,984,000 6.50 Duluth 5,758,000 6,287,000
Alcoholic Beverage Taxes 51,506,000 54,576,000 .99 Minneapolis 2,552,000 7,851,000
Cigarette Tax 97,700,000 109,026,000 1.98 Rochester 6,239,000 6,262,000
Tobacco Products Tax 3,932,000 3,426,000 .06 St Cloud 156,000 367,000
Controlled Substances Tax -0- 65,000 * St Paul 727,000 1,301,000
Charitable Gambling and Utility companies gross earnings taxes***

Pull-tab Taxes 6,380,000 10,907,000 20 Minneapolis 10,032,000
Pari-mutuel Taxes 5,442,000 7,483,000 14 St Paul 14,524,000
Telephone & Telegraph

Gross Earning Taxes 56,281,000 114,905,000 2.09
Taconite Railroad & Other

Gross Earnings Taxes 1,231,000 906,000 .02
Insurance Premiums Taxes 97,193,000 107,092,000 1.95 * Shown by year payable

** Fiscal year figures

Hazardous Waste Tax 1,017,000 1,066,000 .02 *** Calendar year figures
Solid Waste Tax 3,210,000 3,262,000 .06
Mining Occupation Taxes (430,000) 3,608,000 .07
Mineral Royalty Taxes 4,133,000 2,442,000 .04
Motor Vehicle Reg. Tax 223,307,000 241,749,000 4.40
Airflight Property Tax 4,807,000 6,205,000 .11
Aircraft Registration Tax 1,310,000 1570000 .03

Total State Tax Collections $4,808,818,000 $5,499,072,000 100.00%

* Less than .005%
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January 1989

ADDENDUM TO
THE MINNESOTA TAX HANDBOOK
1987 EDITION

Major tax law changes enacted during the 1988 Legislative
Session are included in this supplement to the Minnesota Tax
Handbook, 1987 Edition, which was published in January 1988.
The changes are listed by tax, with page references to the 1987
Edition. Following the tax law changes are tables showing the
current individual income tax rates and the property tax capacity
rates and a table of fiscal 1988 state tax collections.

A new tax handbook will be published after the 1989 Legislative
Session.

- Minnesota Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division

History of Major Changes:
Individual Income Tax, Page 6

1988 — Rate schedules and surtax modified: married-separate
returns, estates, and trusts subject to a separate rate
schedule instead of the single persons rate schedule;
qualifying surviving spouses allowed to use married-
joint rate schedule; and surtax based on Minnesota
taxable income instead of a percentage of the federal
surtax.

— Subtractions enacted for: income of the elderly and
disabled, up to a maximum amount based on income;
recovery of previously-taxed contributions to individ-
ual retirement accounts, Keogh plans, and certain
government plans; and unrecovered accelerated cost
recovery system amounts. Subtraction for income from
sales by insolvent farmers re-enacted.

— Elderly and disabled persons credit repealed.

Corporation Franchise Tax, Page 11

1988 — Nexus rules modified.

— Dividend received deduction reduced from 80% to
70% if the recipient owns less than 20% of the payer’s
stock; 80% retained for others, Additional 20%
deduction if recipient owns 80% or more of payer’s
stock eliminated.

— Deduction for 35% of foreign royalties repealed.
Deduction enacted for foreign source income
(royalties, fees and other like income) of foreign
operating corporations of 50% for 1989 and 1990 and
80% for 1991 and after.

— Charitable contribution deduction allowed for a
portion of contributions to non-Minnesota foundations.

— Minimum tax based on federal minimum tax beginning
in 1990 changed from an alternative tax to an add-
on tax.

— Single factor apportionment for mail order firms made
permanent and qualifications modified.



1988 —

1988 —

1988 —

1988 —

1988 —

1988 —

1988 —

1988 —

Sales and Use Tax, Page 16

Exemptions enacted for: purchases by the University
of Minnesota, state universities, community colleges,
technical institutes, state academies, and the University
of Minnesota hospitals; nonprescribed analgesics; used
motor oil; cross country ski passes; and bullet-proof
vests.

Out-of-state retailers required to register and collect
the Minnesota use tax if specified conditions are met.

Miotor Vehicle Excise Tax, Page 17

Disposition of the tax changed beginning with fiscal
year 1989; general fund, 70%; highway user tax
distribution fund, 22.5%; and transit assistance fund,
7.5%.

Flat tax of $90 on collector vehicles enacted in lieu
of the 6% tax.

Exemption enacted for motor vehicles used by certain
schools in automotive training.

Motor Fuels Taxes, Page 19

Rate of highway gasoline and special fuels tax
increased from 17 cents to 20 cents per gallon,
effective May 1, 1988.

Railroad and barge motor fuels tax that was enacted
in 1987 repealed retroactive to enactment date.
Annual user permit fees for compressed natural gas
increased and extended to vehicles using propane in
lieu of highway fuels tax.

Aleoholic Beverage Taxes, Page 22

Small brewers’ credit increased to $4.60 per barrel,
with a maximum of $115,000, effective June 1, 1987.

Controlled Substances Tax, Page 26

Tax on controlled substances not sold by weight
changed to $400 on each ten dosage units.

Charitable Gambling Tax, Page 29

Tipboards exempted and made subject to the same
tax as pull-tabs.

Pull-Tab Tax, Page 30
Tipboards made subject to the same tax as pull-tabs.
Pari-Mutuel Taxes, Page 31

The taxes were changed to: 6% of the takeout (amount
withheld from all pari-mutuel pools by the licensee)
to go to the state general fund; and 1% of the total
amount bet on each racing day to go to the Minnesota
breeder’s fund. The 40 cents tax per paid admission
eliminated. replaced by the 6% sales tax on the price
of admission.

Gross Earnings Taxes, Page 32

1988 — Telegraph gross earnings tax changed to 4% for 1990,

2% for 1991, and repealed for 1992 and thereafter.
Correction: Tax rate for rural electric cooperatives is $10 (not
10 cents) per 100 members or fraction thereof.

Insurance Premiums Taxes, Page 34

1988 — Tax rate for certain domestic mutual insurance
companies other than life reduced from 2% to 1.5%
for 1988, 1o 1% for 1989 through 1991, and to 0.5%
for 1992 and after.

1988 — Premiums received by the writing carrier for the
Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association re-
exempted.

Royalty Taxes, Page 36

1988 — Effective date of the repeal of royalty tax on copper-
nickel and precious metals changed from tax year 1990
to tax year 1987.

General Property Tax, Page 55

1988 — Homestead credit reinstated for 1989 only and
maximum increased from $700 to $725.

— Agricultural credit reinstated for 1989 only but no
longer applicable to seasonal recreational property.

— System of classification ratios and mill rates replaced
by system of tax capacity rates which are applied to
market value.

— Disparity reduction aid for high tax rate areas enacted.

— Property tax refund modified.

— Beginning with taxes payable in 1990, the homestead
credit and the agricultural credit are replaced by the
transition aid which will reduce the gross tax by a
similar amount.

— “Truth in Taxation™ system enacted, beginning with
taxes payable in 1990.

Mining Production Taxes, Page 60
1988 — The distribution of the taconite production tax to

homestead property tax relief reduced from 22 cents
to 12 cents per ton.

Individual Income Tax Rate Schedules, Page 1
Tax Year 1988 Through 1990*

Married-Joint Returns and Surviving Spouses

Taxable Income Rate (or Amount)
$1 — $19.000 6.0%
19,001 and over 8.0%
Plus Surtax:
$75.501 — $165.000 0.5%
$165.,001 and over $447.50

Married-Separate Returns, Estates, and Trusts

Taxable Income Rate (or Amount)

$1 — $9.500 6.0%
$9.501 and over 8.0%
Plus Surtax:
$37,751 — $82.,500 . 0.5%
$82.,501 and over $223.75

Single Persons

Taxable Income Rate (or Amount)
$1 — $13.000 6.0%

$13,001 and over 8.0%

Plus Surtax:

$42.701 — $93.000 0.5%

$93.,001 and over $251.50

Heads of Households

Taxable Income Rate (or Amount)

$1 — $16,000 6.0%
16,001 and over 8.0%

Plus Surtax:

$64.301 — $135.000 0.5%

$135.001 and over $353.50

*Beginning with tax year 1991, the income brackets will be
adjusted annually for inflation.
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Property Tax.Capacity Rates, For Taxes Payable in 1989, Page 51

Residential Property
Blind and disabled homestead
First $32,000 market value (MV)
Homestead
First $68,000 MV
$68,00 — $100,000 MV
Over, $100,000 MV
Nonhomestead — three or fewer units
Agricultural Property
Blind and disabled homestead
First $32,000 MV
Homestead
House, garage, and one acre
First $65,000 MV
Over $65,000 MV
Balance — First 320 acres
First $65,000 MV
Over $65,000 MV
Balance — Over 320 acres
First $65,000 MV
Over $65,000 MV
Nonhomestead
House, garage, and one acre
Balance
Timberland
Commercial, Industrial, and Utility Property
First $100,000 MV
Over $100,000 MV
Employment Property

Rental Property
Apartments — four or more units,
including private hospitals
Type I and Type I structures —
five or more stories
Fraternity and sorority housing
Farmers Home Administration buildings
Structures: Title 1I, Minnesota Housing
Finance Agency, Sec. 8, & low-income
housing under IRC Sec. 42
Neighborhood real estate trust
Seasonal Recreational Property
Small homestead resorts
Other resorts
Noncommercial (cabins)

Nonprofit Community Service Organization

Property
Other
Public utility personal property
Unmined iron ore; low recovery iron ore;
vacant land; and all other property

*The 5.25% is reduced to 5.2% for 1991 and to 5.15% for 1992 taxes

and after.

Tax Capacity Rate

Gross

0.87%

2.17
2.50
3.30
3.50

0.87

1.75
220

1.75
2.25

175
2.25

2.70
2.25
2.25

3.30
525%
2.50-
4.80

3.50
3.50
1.50

2.50
2.50
0.90
2.60
2.30
2.60

4.60

5.25

Net

0.40%

1.00
2.50
3.30
3.50

0.40

0.805
2.20

1.12
1.44

1.295
1.665

2,70
1.665
1.665

3.30
5.25%
2.50-
4.80

4.10

3.50
3.50
1.50

2.50
2.50

0.90
2.60
2.30

Fiscal Year 1988,
Minnesota State Tax Collections

Net After Refunds
FY 1988 Collections
% of
Amount Total

Individual income tax $2,625,287,000 43.00%
Reciprocity 18,421,000 30
Corporation franchise tax 410,994,000 6.73
Estate, inheritance, and gift taxes 13,234,000 22
General sales and use tax 1,678,540,000 27.49
Motor vehicle excise tax 235,927,000 3.86
Motor fuels excise taxes* 391,684,000 6.42
Alcoholic beverage taxes 55,745,000 91
Cigarette tax 150,207,000 2.46
Tobacco products tax 5,671,000 .09
Controlled substances tax 291,000 *k
Charitable gambling and pull-tab taxes 15,347,000 25
Pari-mutuel taxes 6,099,000 10
Telephone and telegraph

gross earnings taxes 99,906,000 1.64
Taconite railroad and other

gross earnings taxes 1,453,000 .02
Insurance premiums taxes 126,765,000 2.08
Hazardous waste tax 1,361,000 02
Solid waste tax 3,062,000 .05
Mining occupation taxes 2,927,000 .05
Mineral royal taxes 2,437,000 .04
Motor vehicle registration tax 251,235,000 4.12
Airflight property tax 7,536,000 A2
Aircraft registration tax 1,522,000 03
Total State Tax Collections $6,105,651,000 100.00%

*Includes highway, aviation, railroad, and barge.
**Less than .005%.
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