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This handbook contains a summary of the state and loca) tax system in
Minnesota. The first section provides a brief profile of each tax type in-
cluding tax base and rates, collection amounts, comparisons with se-
lected states, and historical summaries. The second section provides a
description of the state-local fiscal system in Minnesota and provides in-
formation on state and local tax collections and various state rankings.

Note that collection amounts stated for the various taxes refer to net col-
lections after refunds. Also, dates stated for major changes generally in-
dicate the year enacted as opposed to the effective date.

A Guide to Starting a Business in Minnesota, which discusses many of
the issues involved with starting a small business, is also available from
the Minnesota Department of Revenue. This guidebook answers many
frequently asked questions relating to starting a business and includes a
discussion of tax requirements for small business.

Additional copies of the Minnesota Tax Handbook may be obtained by
contacting:

Minnesota Department of Revenue
Tax Research Division (230)
P.O. Box 64446
St. Paul, MN 55164
(612) 296-3425
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INCOME TAXES

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290,03

Tax Base: Federal adjusted gross income plus or minus state modifica-
tions.

Rates:
TAX YEAR 1986
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
RATE SCHEDULES*
Married Couples Filing Joint Returns
Elect to Deduct Elect NOT to
Federal Taxes Deduct Federal Taxes
Taxable Taxable
Income Rate Income Rate
$ 1—$% 910 1.5% $ 1—$ 1,240 1.7%
911 — 1,810 2.0 1,241 — 1,760 2.1
1,811 — 3,630 2.9 1,761 — 2,800 2.3
3,631— 5,570 4.8 2,801 — 5,810 3.3
5,571 — 17,260 5.9 5,811 — 9,440 5.3
7,261 — 7,390 6.1 9,441 — 13,070 6.8
7,391 — 9,200 7.2 13,071 — 18,460 8.5
9,201 — 12,830 8.3 18,461 — 31,940 9.3
12,831 — 14,520 9.3 31,941 and over 9.9
14,521 — 16,590 10.0
16,591 — 22,300 11.0
22,301 — 22,940 11.3
22,941 — 26,440 i2.3
26,441 — 29,550 12.6
29,551 — 32,920 13.7
32,921 and over 14.0
Single, Married-Separate, Estates and Trusts
Elect to Deduct Elect NOT to
Federal Taxes Deduct Federal Taxes
Taxable Taxable
Income Rate Income Rate
$ 1—$% 730 1.3% $ 1—$ 310 1.0%
731 — 1,450 1.9 311 — 620 1.3
1,451 — 2,900 32 621 — 930 1.6
2,901 — 4,460 5.4 931 — 1,350 2.1
4,461 — 5,910 6.9 1,351 — 2,070 2.7
5911 — 17,360 8.4 2,071 — 2,900 3.7
7,361 — 10,270 9.8 2,901 — 4,460 4.5
10,271 — 13,270 111 4,461 — 6,640 6.1
13,271 — 15,970 12.4 6,641 — 9,750 7.5
15,971 — 20,120 13.6 9,751 — 16,800 9.3
20,121 and over 14.0 16,801 and over 99

*Reflects taxable income brackets for 1986 tax year. For subsequent
years, brackets will be indexed by the annual increase in the Consumer
Price Index for the United States.



Computation:

FEDERAL ADJUSTED { from federal return

GROSS INCOME
plus

ADDITIONS TO
FEDERAL ADJUSTED
GROSS INCOME

minus

SUBTRACTIONS
FROM
FEDERAL ADJUSTED
GROSS INCOME

equals

!

MINNESOTA
GROSS INCOME

minus

v
PERSONAL
DEDUCTIONS

equals

v

MINNESOTA
TAXABLE INCOME

choose

|

Non-Minnesota state and
municipal bond interest

State income tax refunds
Pension income

Military pay

Interest of U.S. bonds
Unemployment compensation
Other subtractions

Standard Deduction:

For tax year 1986, 10% of Minnesota
gross income up to $2,500. For sub-
sequent years, maximum standard de-
duction indexed by the annual in-
crease in the Consumer Price Index
for the United States.

or

Itemized Deductions:

Total federal itemized deductions mi-
nus state income taxes plus education
expenses.

Lesser of:

Option A

Times: graduated rates (top rate
9.9%)

Equals: Minnesota gross tax

or

Option B

Minus: federal tax liability

Equals: taxable income

Times: graduated rates (top rate
14.0%)

Equals: Minnesota gross tax

equals

OPTION WHICH
PRODUCES LOWER
MINNESOTA GROSS
TAlX*
minus
l For tax year 1986, personal credits of
$73 each for taxpayer, spouse, de-
NONREFUNDABLE pendents, age 65 or over, blind,
CREDITS deaf, quadriplegic. For subsequent
years, personal credits indexed by
the annual increase in the Consumer
Price Index for the United States.
Income Tax Paid to Other States
Political Contribution Credit
equals
MINNESOTA
INCOME TAX
minus

Dependent Care Credit up to $720
($1,440 for two or more dependents),
REFUNDABLE CREDITS{ phased out as income increases

Enterprise Zone Credits
equals

NET INDIVIDUAL
INCOME TAX
PAYABLE

*Special computations apply to the alternative minimum tax and to lump
sum distributions from qualified pension, profit-sharing, or stock bo-
nus plans.

Special Provisions:

1. Taxpayer may assign $2 from general fund to political parties or
campaign funds.

2. Reciprocity agreements exempt North Dakota, Wisconsin, and
Michigan residents from filing Minnesota returns on wage and per-
sonal service income earned in this state.

3. Taxpayers may assign $1 or more of their refund to the Minnesota
Nongame Wildlife Fund or may contribute $1 or more to the fund
by increasing their liability.
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Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $2,316,365,000
EY. 1985 $2,233,451,000
FY. 1986 $1,948,595,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: An individual trust or estate with Minnesota income which
meets or exceeds the filing requirements.

Payment Dates:

1. Withholding of taxes on Minnesota earnings is required of employ-
ers. Employers remit taxes withheld on an eighth-monthly, monthly
or quarterly basis.

2. Calendar year returns for individuals must be filed by April 15. Fis-
cal year returns are due by the 15th day of the 4th month following
the close of the fiscal year.

3. Quarterly payments of estimated tax are required for income not
subject to withholding.

History of Major Changes

1933 — Income tax enacted at graduated rates from 1% to 5%.

1937 — Graduates rates increased and credits replaced original exemp-
tions.

1949 — Standard deduction of 10% up to $500 established. 5% surtax
levied on the normal rate.

1951 — Additional personal credits allowed for blind persons and age
65 and over.

1953 — Standard deduction increased to 10% up to $1,000.

1957 — 5% Veteran’s Bonus surtax levied.

1959 — Rates increased.

1961 — Gross income redefined as federal adjusted gross income with
modifications. Withholding of income taxes imposed.

1967 — Rent credit and senior citizen credit enacted.

1971 — Married taxpayers allowed to file separately on combined re-
turn. Credits for pollution control equipment and non-public
school costs established. Rates increased from 1.5% — 12% to
1.6% — 15%. Personal credits and senior citizen and rent
credits increased.

1973 — Increased rent credit and senior citizen tax credit.

1974 — Low income credit and political contribution credits adopted.
Dollar checkoff for Minnesota state elections campaign fund
instituted.

1975 — Additional personal credits for deaf persons allowed. Rent
credit replaced by income adjusted homestead credit. Low in-
come credit levels increased.

1977 — Exemption for military pay repealed. Minimum tax on prefer-
ence items imposed. Out-of-state income included in defini-
tion of income, Dependent care credit established. Maximum
rate increased to 18%. Personal credits increased to $30 each.
Pension income subtraction limited to $7,200. Income ad-
justed homestead credit becomes Property Tax Refund. Senior
citizen property tax freeze repealed.

1978 — 18% top rate rescinded. Personal credits increased to $40.
Homemaker and National Guard credits allowed. Pension in-
come subtraction modified and extended to private pensions,
Low income credit levels and political contribution credit in-
creased.

1979 — Personal credits increased; to be indexed after 1980. Addi-
tional personal credits for quadriplegic persons allowed. Max-
imum standard deduction increased to $2,000; to be indexed
after 1980. Low income credit levels increased. Income tax
brackets indexed at 85% of increase in CPL. 17% top rate re-
scinded. Pension income exclusion increased to $10,000. Na-
tional Guard credit repealed. Subtraction of military pay rein-
stated. Political contribution credit and property tax refund
increased. Credits allowed for pollution control expenditures
and renewable energy source expenses.

1980 — Pension income subtraction increased to $11,000. Low in-
come credit levels increased. Checkoff for non-game wildlife
instituted. Deduction of $200 per person for interest allowed.
Changed low income credit to low income alternative tax. De-
pendent care credit increased to federal levels.

1981 — Federal tax deduction changed to accrual basis. Indexing of
brackets, standard deduction maximum, and personal credits
changed to 100% of C.P.I. increase or 100% of increase in
Minnesota gross income, whichever is smaller. Taxable in-
come adjustment factor for federal tax elasticity adopted.
Eliminated deduction of $200 per person for interest and divi-
dends (reverts to $100 deduction for dividends only). Capital
gains exclusion of 60% allowed. Surtax of 7% enacted.

1982 — Third Special Session:

Temporary surtax increased to 10%.

1983 — Temporary surtax of 10% extended. Indexing to be suspended
in event of negative ending fund balance. Updated various
itemized deductions to federal treatment. Repealed subtraction
for investment tax credit. Adopted full ACRS deduction for in-
dividual taxpayers. Dependent care credit amounts increased.
Pollution control credits repealed. Equity investment credit
enacted.

1984 — Repealed 10% surtax. Expanded pension income subtraction.
Increased maximum dependent education expense deduction.
Dependent care credit phaseout schedule modified. Pollution
control credits reinstated. Credits allowed for purchase of con-
servation tillage planters and certain hazardous waste equip-
ment. Nonresident tax basis changed to allocated portion of to-
tal tax.
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1985 — Required the election of married persons (to file a joint return
or separate returns) to be the same as the federal election.

— Lowered the tax rates. Replaced the one rate schedule with
four.

— Established a rate schedule for married-joint returns different
from the one that applies to single persons and married-sepa-
rate returns, Changed certain other provisions to be based on
the joint income of the couple rather than the income of each
taxpayer.

— Made the deductibility of the federal income tax an option,
with a higher set of rates used when the federal tax is deducted.

— Changed the point at which the standard or itemized deduc-
tions are subtracted to be before any federal tax, rather than af-
ter.

— Changed the indexing of the tax brackets, maximum standard
deduction, and personal credits to be based on the annual in-
crease in the Consumer Price Index for the United States.

— Eliminated additions for the federal deduction for two-earner
married couples, contributions to an individual retirement ac-
count, simplified employee plan, or Keogh plan, and the farm
loss modification.

— Eliminated the subtraction for social security benefits.

— Modified the subtraction for pension income and restricted it
to persons age 65 or over or disabled, with some exceptions.

— Conformed certain itemized deductions to federal treatment.

— Repealed the taxable net income adjustment factor.

— Repealed the low income credit, homemaker credit, residential
energy credit, resource recovery equipment credit, pollution
control credits, conservation tillage credit, and equity invest-
ment credit.

— Replaced the minimum tax with an alternative minimum tax.

CALENDAR YEAR 1986 ESTIMATED
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX BURDENS
FOR HYPOTHETICAL TAXPAYERS

FILER TYPE SIZE OF GROSS INCOME
$15,000 $25,000 $35,000 $50,000 $100,000
Single
Taxpayer $757  $1,384 $2,205 $3,357 $6,645
Married Filing
Joint
One Wage-
earner $339  $ 904 $1,648 $2,812  $6,509

2 Dependents

Married Filing

Separate

70-30 Income

Split $305 $ 834 $1,550 $2,664  $6,265

2 Dependents

NOTE: Calculations for all filer types assumed itemized deductions
were used equivalent to 20% of gross income.
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Dependent

Single
Rates

Joint

2%—9 %4

on taxable
income over

See
Rates
Above

4.6% on
taxable
income

S5%t013%

on taxable

2% % on

1%t011%

2% o 135%

on income
over $30,000 single

on income
over $26,000

income over

taxable
net income

on income
over $28,790

$40,000 joint
separate

$20,000 married-

$50,000

standard

(Indexes brackets,
deduction,

$76,725
(Indexes tax
brackets)

standard

(Indexes brackets,
deduction,

and credits)

and credits)

standard
deduction)

The standard deduction declines to zero as income increases from $7,500 to $50,830 for singles, $10,000 to $77,500 for joint, and $4,750 to $36,810 for

married-separate.

(Indexes tax
brackets and

South Dakota and Texas do not impose personal income taxes.

, head of household, or surviving spouse with dependent child.

bNorth Dakota allows an additional $300 exemption if filing status is married filing joint
dAlternative tax liability of 10.5% of adjusted federal income tax liability may be elected.

“New York has a 9.5% maximum rate on personal service income.




CORPORATION INCOME TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.02

Tax Base: Minnesota taxable net income of the corporation, Domestic
unitary reporting method is used.

Rate: 6% on first $25,000 of taxable income apportioned to Minne-
sota; 12 % on remainder.

Major Exemptions:
o Nonprofit corporations
o Cooperative associations
¢ Credit unions
e National and state banks subject to the bank excise tax
® Mining companies subject to occupation tax

Computation: /
Gross profit
Dividend income
J Interest income
GROSS INCOME Rents and royalties
Net gain or loss
Other income
\
minus

60% net capital gain deduction
Compensation of officers
Salaries and wages
v Repairs
DEDUCTIONS AND Bad debts
BUSINESS EXPENSES | Rents
Taxes (Not federal or state income
taxes)
Interest expense
Amortization depreciation and deple-

tion
Advertising
Pension and profit sharing: employee
benefit programs
Other deductions
equals
TOTAL
NET INCOME
times Lesser of:
Arithmetic average of property, pay-
roll, and sales ratios for Minnesota.
APPORTIONMENT or
FACTOR Weighted factor of 15% of property
ratio, 15% of payroll ratio, and 70%
of sales ratio.
(Separate accounting and single fac-
tor sales apportionment may also be
used.)
equals

v

MINNESOTA
NET 111 COME

minus

CONTRIBUTIONS AND
DIVIDEND DEDUCTIONS

eqyals
TAXABLE INCOME

applied to
RATES

minus

CREDITS Research credit
Small business investment credits

equals
TAX LIABILITY

minus

REFUNDABLE { Enterprise zone credits

CREDITS
equals
NET CORPORATE
TAX PAYABLE

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $275,874,000
EY. 1985 $353,418,000
EY. 1986 $326,124,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign corporations which do business in
Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Quarterly payments of estimated tax due by 15th day of
3rd month, 6th month, 9th month, and 12th month of the tax year.

Due Date: Return is due 15th day of 3rd month after tax year with 7
month extension available,

History of Major Changes

1933 — Enacted with rates graduated from 1% to 5%, and a specific
credit against income of $1,000 established.

1937 — 7% flat rate adopted; 6% rate effective after 1938. Property/
payroll credit enacted.

1939 — Manufacturing firms given arithmetic/weighted option,

1947 — Specific credit reduced to $500. $10 minimum tax adopted.

1949 — 5% special surtax added; additional $5 fee imposed. Total rate
0f6.3%.



1957
1959

1961
1967
1969
1971
1973

1977
1979

1980
1981

1982

1983

1984

1985

T

1953 — Nonmanufacturing firms allowed apportionment option.
1955 — 1% surtax on taxable income added; total rate of 7.3%.

Property/payroll credit repealed.

7.5% tax rate adopted; 1.8% additional levy imposed. Total
rate 0f 9.3%.

10% surtax added; total rate of 10.23%.

1% rate added; total rate of 11.33%.

Pollution control credit enacted.

Rate increased to 12 %. Federal tax deduction eliminated.
Minimum tax increased to $100. Destination sales basis
adopted.

Minimum preference tax adopted.

Pollution control equipment credit reinstated retroactive to
1977. Energy credit adopted.

$100 minimum tax and $500 specific credit repealed.

Rate reduced to 9% (6% after 1982) on first $25,000 of taxable
income. Credit for increasing research activities enacted.
Limited Accelerated Cost Recovery System (ACRS) deduc-
tions allowed. Unitary method of taxation enacted. 60% capi-
tal gain exclusion allowed.

Research credit changed to 12.5% of qualifying expenses
(6.25% of expenses over $2,000,000). ACRS deduction limi-
tations changed.

Pollution control credits repealed. Eliminated deduction for
corporate income taxes paid to other states. Technology trans-
fer credit enacted. Small business assistance office credit en-
acted. Equity investment credit enacted. Multi-state tax com-
pact adopted. Credits for “‘enterprise zone” businesses
enacted.

Exempted foreign source dividends and certain foreign source
royalties from tax. Pollution control credits reinstated and ex-
panded to include hazardous waste equipment. Minimum pref-
erence tax and energy credit repealed.

Repealed the pollution control credits, resource recovery
equipment credit, equity investment credit, and conservation
tillage credit. Extended the expiration dates of the technology
transfer credit and the small business assistance office credit.
Allowed certain mail order firms to apportion income based
only on sales.

Comparison With Other States

Income/Franchise Tax Rates

California 9.6% of net income; minimum tax of $200.

Illinois 4% of net income plus 1/10 of 1% on certain capital
and surplus. Additional 2.5% tax on net income for
personal property tax replacement,

Towa 6% first $25,000; 8% next $75,000; 10% next
$150,000; 12 % of net income over $250,000.

Michigan 2.35% of adjusted tax base that includes business in-
come, compensation paid employees, interest pay-
ments, and depreciation of tangible assets. Local cor-
porate income tax may be imposed.

MINNESOTA  See rates above.

10

New York

North Dakota

South Dakota

Texas

Wisconsin

10% of net income, or 0.178% of capital, or 3% of
net income plus compensation paid to all officers and
certain stockholders less $30,000, or $250, which-
ever is greater. Additional tax on subsidiary capital of
.9 mill per dollar. Local tax on income may be im-
posed.

3% first $3,000; 4.5% next $5,000; 6% next
$12,000; 7.5% next $10,000; 9% next $20,000;
10.5% of net income over $50,000.

No tax.

No tax on income; 0.525% of capital stock, surplus,
and undivided profits.

7.9% of net income.

BANK EXCISE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 290.361

Tax Base: Bank net income.

Rates: 6% of first $25,000 of taxable income; 12 % of remainder.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $29,624,000
EY. 1985 $26,950,000
FY. 1986 $41,187,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Agency:

Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: National and state banks.

Payment Dates: Quarterly payments of estimated tax due by 15th day of
3rd month, 6th month, 9th month, and 12th month of the tax year.

Due Date: Return is due 15th day of 3rd month after tax year with 7
month extension available.

History of Major Changes

1941 —
1949 —
1955 —
1959 —

1961 —
1967 —
1971 —
1973 —
1980 —
1981 —

Enacted at a rate of 8% of net income.

5% special surtax added; total rate of 8.4%.

1% surtax on taxable income added; total rate of 9.4%.

9.5% tax rate adopted; 1.9% additional levy imposed. Total
rate of 11.4%.

10% surtax added; total rate of 12.54%.

1% added; total rate of 13.64%.

13.64 % single rate adopted. Federal tax deduction eliminated.
Rate reduced to 12%.

$100 minimum tax repealed. $500 specific credit repealed.
Rate reduced to 9% (6% after 1982) on first $25,000 of taxable
income.

11



Comparisons With Other States

Base and Rate

California Franchise tax of 10.93 %, minimum tax of $200.
linois Value of shares subject to local property tax rates.
lowa 5% of net income.

Michigan Taxed under single business tax. (See Corporation

Income Tax.)
MINNESOTA  See rates above.

New York 12 % on net income or taxable assets, $250, or 3% on
alternative net income, whichever is greatest.

North Dakota 7% of net income. (Includes 2% privilege tax.)

South Dakota 6% of net income.
Texas .525% of stated capital and surplus,
Wisconsin 7.9% of net income.

ESTATE TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 291.01
Tax Base: Federal estate tax credit for state’s taxes.

Computation:

FEDERAL MAXIMUM
CREDIT FOR STATE
DEATH TAXES
from federal return

times

PROPORTION Minnesota gross estate to federal
gross estate

equals
ESTATE TAX
PAYABLE
Revenue
Collections: EY. 1984 $17,923,000%
FY. 1985 $17,969,000*
FY. 1986 $15,319,000%*

*Reflects total collections from inheritance, gift, and estate taxes.

Disposition: State General Fund

12

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Personal representative submits a return for the estate. For
1987, return required if federal gross estate exceeds $600,000.

Payment Dates: Tax due within nine months after death. Under certain
conditions, installment payments may be elected.

History of Major Changes

1905 — Minnesota inheritance tax first adopted. Individual succes-
sions to property taxed at rates from 1.5 % on inheritances less
than $50,000 to 5% on inheritances over $100,000.

1911 — Exemptions of $10,000 for spouse to $100 for non-relatives
provided. Rates from 1% on inheritances less than $15,000 to
20% on amounts over $100,000 adopted, depending on the re-
lationship of the heir.

1937 — Gift tax enacted to prevent evasion of inheritance tax. Inheri-
tance taxes increased from a maximum of 20% to 60%, not
greater than 35 % of value of property.

1959 — Rates changed and exemptions increased.

1976 — Homestead exemption increased $45,000. Optional marital
exemption of 50% of the gross estate to $250,000 adopted.
Marital exemption increased to $60,000 and equalized be-
tween spouses. Bxemption for minor child increased to
$30,000.

1979 — Inheritance and gift tax repealed; replaced by estate tax with
rates graduated from 7% to 12%.

1981 — Eliminated 10% distribution to counties. Conformed to federal
changes increasing minimum filing requirements and provid-
ing unlimited marital deduction.

1985 — Eliminated the provisions of the Minnesota rate schedule tax,
so that the tax is equal to the Minnesota portion of the federal
estate tax credit for state taxes, known as the “pick-up tax.”

Comparisons With Other States

New York Rates graduated from 2% to 21 % for taxable amount
over $10.1 million.

California, Tax equals the state’s portion of the credit for state
Illinois, death taxes allowed against federal estate tax.
MINNESOTA,

North Dakota

and Texas

Towa, Michigan, South Dakota and Wisconsin levy inheritance taxes in-
stead of estate taxes. Inheritance tax is based upon the amount of prop-
erty transferred to each beneficiary and the relationship of the benefi-
ciary to decedent, while estate taxes are based on the value of the estate
being transferred. In addition to the inheritance tax, Jowa and South
Dakota impose an estate tax to absorb the maximum credit available un-
der26 U.S.C. 2011.
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STATE SALES AND EXCISE TAXES

SALES AND USE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 297A.02 and 297A.14

Tax Base: Sale and rental of tangible personal property at retail.

Rates:

6% General rate applicable to all taxable transactions except
those listed below.

8.5% Liquor and beer, both on-sale and off-sale.

4% Capital equipment for new or expanding industries; special
tooling.
2% Farm machinery; logging equipment.

Other Property shipped outside Minnesota is taxed at the rate in the
destination state under certain conditions,

Property subject to the use tax, on which tax has been paid to
another state at a rate lower than Minnesota’s rate, is taxed at
the difference between Minnesota’s rate and the other state’s
rate.

Major Exemptions: Food for consumption off premises, clothing,
drugs and medications, gasoline, publications issued at intervals of 3
months or less, motor vehicles (subject to 6% motor vehicle excise tax),
materials used or consumed in agricultural or industrial production,
textbooks, and home heating fuels.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $1,252,528,000
FY. 1985 $1,347,420,000
EY. 1986 $1,360,789,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Who Pays: Purchasers or users of taxable goods and services.

Who Remits; Holders of Minnesota sales and use tax permits collect
and remit the tax. Holders of direct pay permits also remit the tax.

Due Dates: Monthly returns — 25th day of the month following the
sales month. Accelerated payment of one-half June liability due June
25th for vendors having large liabilities. Quarterly returns — 25th of the
month following the sales quarter. Annual returns — January 25th of the
year following the sales year.

History of Major Changes

1967 — Sales tax enacted at 3% rate.

1971 — Rate increased to 4%, except for receipts of coin operated
vending machines. Motor vehicles subject to the motor vehicle
excise tax exempted.

1978 — Residential heating fuel exempted.

1981 — Rate temporarily increased from4 % to 5%, except for sales of
new and used farm machinery. Tax on vending products in-
creased to 5% and exemption for cigarettes repealed. June ac-
celerated payment enacted.

1982 — Exemptions for candy and soft drinks repealed. Cable TV
services subjected to tax. Property shipped outside Minnesota
taxed at destination state’s rate under certain conditions. Addi-
tional 5% tax imposed on on-sale liquor.

1982 — Third Special Session:

Temporarily increased rate to 6%.

1983 — Rate permanently changed to 6%. Additional tax on on-sale
liquor reduced to 2.5 % and off-sale liquor subject to additional
tax. Paper and ink products used to produce publications ex-
empted. Over-the-counter magazine sales made taxable. En-
acted exemption for construction materials and equipment
used in enterprise zones. Construction materials and property
of direct satellite broadcasting facilities and distilleries ex-
empted from tax.

1984 — Rate reduced to 4% on special tooling and capital equipment
for new or expanding manufacturing facilities. Tax on new mo-
bile homes imposed on 65% of actual price. Used mobile
homes, sales of candy by certain educational organizations,
and equipment used to process certain solid or hazardous waste
exempted from tax.

1985 — Rate for farm machinery reduced to 2 % . Exempted: repair and
replacement parts for farm machinery; ticket sales and admis-
sions to elementary and secondary school games and activities;
certain sales of nonprofit organizations, including fundraising;
electricity used in snowmaking; petroleum products used to
improve agricultural land; and capital equipment purchased
for a qualifying new or expanded manufacturing facility in a
distressed county. Repealed exemption for central office tele-
phone equipment.

1986 — Exempted: construction materials and supplies used for a qual-
ifying new or expanded manufacturing facility in a distressed
county; and purchases made in connection with a service con-
tract by qualifying private suppliers of public services.

Comparison With Other States

Local Option
Rate Sales Tax
California 4.75% Yes?
Illinois 5.00% Yes
Iowa 4.00% Yesb
Michigan 4.00% No
MINNESOTA See rates above No
New York 4.00%* Yes
North Dakota 4.00%¢ No
South Dakota 4.00% Yes
Texas 4.125%¢ Yes
Wisconsin 5.00% Yes’

aAdditional 11/2+% state administered sales and use tax imposed in every
county. A 2 % state administered transactions and use tax is also appli-
cable in five transit districts, Two 2% state administered transactions
and use taxes are imposed in Santa Clara County.

bLocal sales tax may be imposed based on voter approval in each local
jurisdiction. The rate is 1%.

<Exempts sales of residential energy. This exemption is optional to local-
ities.

43% on farm machinery, irrigation equipment and new mobile homes;
5% on alcoholic beverages.

“Temporary increase to 5.25% through August 31, 1987,

Now used in Barron and Dunn Counties.
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Of the comparison states, only South Dakota does not provide an ex-
emption for food products. Prescription drugs are also generally ex-
empted in these states. Only Minnesota provides an exemption for cloth-

ing.

MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297B.02

Tax Base: Purchase price of any motor vehicle required to be registered
in Minnesota.

Rate: 6%. Flat rate of $10 for passenger cars ten years or older, in lieu
of the 6% tax.

Credits: Credit allowed for tax paid to other states under certain condi-
tions.

Major Exemptions: Purchases by governmental units and nonprofit
organizations, purchases for resale by dealers, and gratuitous transfers
between joint owners, spouses, and parents and children.

Revenue
Collections: FY. 1984 $179,018,000

FY. 1985 $196,992,000

FY. 1986 $207,566,000
Disposition:

Highway Transit

General User Assistance
Fiscal years Fund Fund Fund
Prior to 1985 100% 0% 0%
1985 75 18.75 6.25
1986 — 1987 100 0 0
1988 — 1989 50 37.50 12.50
1990 — 1991 25 56.25 18.75
1992 and after 0 75.00 25.00
Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Who Pays: Purchasers of motor vehicles required to be registered in
Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Tax is paid when ownership is transferred.

History of Major Changes

1971 — Enacted at a rate of 3%. 1971 special session increased rate -

from3% to4%.

1981 - Rate temporarily increased from 4% to 5%. Portion of collec-
tions earmarked for Highway User Tax Distribution Fund and
Transit Assistance Fund.

1982 — Third Special Session:
Rate temporarily increased to 6%.

1983 — Rate permanently changed to 6% . “Purchase price” excludes
any federal taxes.

1985 — Enacted a $10tax on passenger cars at least ten years old in lieu
of the 6% tax.

1986 — Changed the disposition of the tax for fiscal yea:s 1986 and
1987.
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Comparison With Other States
MINNESOTA 6%.
North Dakota 4%.
South Dakota 3%.

Other states tax motor vehicles under state and local sales and use tax. In
California, the rate is 6% or 6% % in five transit districts, and 7% in
Santa Clara County due to the imposition of two 2% transit taxes.
Texas, lllinois and Wisconsin have a 5% rate. A 4% rate applies in lowa,
Michigan and New York.

MOTOR FUELS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 296,02, 296.025 and 296.026

Tax Base: Gallons of gasoline or special fuel used in highway vehicles,
snowmobiles, motorboats, all-terrain vehicles and aircraft.

Rate: 17¢ per gallon except for certain border areas subject to rate re-
duction; Aviation fuel — 5¢ per gallon. Compressed natural gas — in
lieu of 17¢ special fuels tax, annual user permit fee based on vehicle
weight and annual mileage.

Credits: Taxes paid on fuel used for non-highway use, except for snow-
mobiles and motorboats, may be claimed as a credit or refund. Aviation
fuel taxes are refundable by the Petroleum Division on a graduated ba-
sis, depending upon the number of gallons purchased if gallons exceed
50,000. Credit of 25¢ per gallon to distributors of fuel-grade alcohol
blended with gasoline to produce gasohol in fiscal year 1987 and 20¢
thereafter.

Exemptions:

e Petroleum substitutes produced from waste products.
o Sales to transit system owned by a city or town.

Revenue
Highway Fuels  Aviation Fuels
Collections: EY. 1984 $330,284,000 $1,773,000
EY. 1985 $347,794,000 $2,314,000
FY. 1986 $334,036,000 $2,232,000
Disposition:
Usage

Aviation — State airports fund.

Highway* — Highway user tax distribution fund.

Marine* — Special revenue fund, water recreation account.
Snowmobile* — Snowmobile trails and enforcement account.
All-terrain vehicles* — All-terrain vehicle account.

* Amount of distribution based on the percentage of total gasoline usage
deemed by statute to be used for these purposes, as follows:
Marine — 1.5% in fiscal years 1986 and 1987, 0.75% thereafter
Snowmobiles — 0.75%
All-terrain vehicles — 0.15%
Highway — Remaining amount
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Administration

Agencies: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Minnesota Department of Public Safety — compressed natural gas user
permit.

Who Pays: Distributors of gasoline collect and remit the tax. Sellers of
special fuels collect and remit tax. Bulk purchasers of special fuels may
elect to remit the tax on fuel purchased by them.

Payment Dates: 23rd day of month following purchase by distributor or
dealer.

History of Major Changes

1925 — Enacted at 2¢ a gallon.

1929 — Increased to 3¢ a gallon.

1937 — Temporary increase to 4¢ a gallon,

1941 — Rate of 4¢ made permanent.

1949 — Increased to 5¢ a gallon.

1963 — Increased to 6¢ a gallon.

1967 — Increased to 7¢ a gallon.

1975 — Increased to 9¢ a gallon.

1980 — Increased to 11¢ a gallon.

1981 — Increased to 13¢ a gallon. Enacted rate reduction for certain
border areas to not more than 3¢ per gallon above rate imposed
in contiguous state.

1983 — Increased to 16¢ a gallon and to 17¢ effective in 1984. Enacted
2¢ per gallon rate reduction for gasohol. Aviation fuel rate of
5¢ per galion adopted.

1985 — Replaced the reduced rates for gasohol with credits to distribu-
tors for the amount of fuel-grade alcohol blended with gasoline
to produce gasohol. Enacted an annual user permit fee to be
imposed, in lieu of the highway fuels tax, on vehicles using
compressed natural gas.

1986 — Reduced the amount of the credits to distributors for fuel-grade
alcohol used to produce gasohol. Established the ethanol de-
velopment fund from which direct payments to ethanol pro-
ducers in Minnesota are made.

Comparisons With Other States

Rates Per Gallon
California Gasoline and highway fuels 9¢, jet fuel 2¢, LPG and
LNG 6¢, compressed natural gas 7¢ per 100 cubic
feet, 4%¢ per gallon on ethanol or methanol.
Illinois Gasoline 13¢; diesel fuel 15.5¢.

Towa *QGasoline 16¢; diesel fuel 17.5¢; gasohol 15¢.

Michigan **Gasoline 15¢; diesel fuel 15¢; aircraft 3¢ (Inter-
: state Commerce 1.5¢).

MINNESOTA  See rates above.

New York Gasoline 8¢; diesel fuel 10¢,

North Dakota Gasoline 13¢; special fuels 13¢ except for heating,

agricultural, industrial, or railroad purposes; exempt
special fuels 2% of sales price.

South Dakota Gasoline and diesel highway fuel 13¢; LP gas 11¢;
aviation gas 6¢; gasohol 11¢; special fuel aviation
gas 4¢.

Texas All fuels 10¢.

Wisconsin 17.5¢.

*Diesel fuel rate increases to 18.5¢ effective January 1987,
**For diesel fuel there is a 6¢ discount for commercial vehicles, coupled
with “road tax” based on miles driven in state and diesel license fee.

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297C.02

Tax Base: Distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, wines, and premixed
alcoholic beverages manufactured or received for sale in Minnesota.

Rates:
Tax per Barrel

Beer: Alcohol by Weight of 31 Gallons
3.2% or less $2.00
More than 3.2% $4.00
Tax

Per Liter Per Gallon
Distilled Spirits $1.16 $4.39
Wine: Alcohol by Velume
14% or less $ .07 $ .27
14% t021% .21 .19
21% t024% 42 1.58
More than 24 % .81 3.08
Sparkling wine .40 1.50

Credits: Small brewers receive a credit of $4 per barrel on the first
25,000 barrels produced each year for sale within Minnesota. To qual-
ify, the brewer must have manufactured less than 100,000 barrels in the
preceding year.

Exemptions: Sacramental wines and commemorative bottles sold be-
tween collectors.

Special Provision: Separate tax of 1¢ for each bottle or container of
distilled spirits and wine. Tax is paid by the wholesaler at the time of re-
moval from inventory for sale, delivery, or shipment.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $53,908,000
FY. 1985 $52,427,000
EY. 1986 $51,506,000

Disposition: State General Fund
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Administration Michigan Wine 16% and under $ .135 per liter
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue W@ne over 16% o $ .20 per liter
L . Wine Produced in Michigan:
Who Pays: Wholesalers, distributors, or manufacturers upon acquisi- 16% and under $ .01 per liter
tion for sale within Minnesota. Over 16% $ 135 per liter
Payment Dates: 25th day of month following the month in which sale is Distilled Spirits 8 %'9-85_ % of retail
made. Accelerated payment of one-half of June liability due June 25th price with alcoholic
for those with May liability of $1,500 or more. content greater than
22%
Beer $6.30 per barrel
MINNESOTA  See Rates Ab
History of Major Changes New York V::.e ?Sesll) ove $ 0% |
ew Yor ine (Sti .032 per liter
1934 — Enacted at rates of $1 per barrel of 3..2 % beer and $2 per bar.rel Artificially Carbonated Wine $ .088 per liter
of strong beer; 60¢ per gallon of liquor; and rates for wine Natural Sparkling Wine $ .175 per liter
varying from 10¢ to 60¢ per gallon. Hard Cider $ .004 per liter
}g% — %iqruor ta:jx ir:cre;:::dxto $1 per gallon on liquor over 24 %. Liquor not more than24%  $ .264 per liter
— “nereased rates of tax. Li ter than 24 % 1.08 per liter
1959 — 3.2% beertaxed at $1.60 per barrel. Strong beer taxed at $3.20 qior greater fhan 2 S per e
. ; Beer $ .055 per gallon
per barrel. Liquor surtax of 15% imposed. )
1969 — Additional tax on liquor from $.04 to $.75 per gallon depend- North Dakota  Wine less than 17% $ .50 per gallon
ing on alcoholic content. Wine — 17-24% $ .60 per gallon
1971 — Distilled spirits from $2.50 to $4.53 per gallon. 3.2% beer Sparkling Wine $1.00 per gallon
from $1.60 to $2 per barrel. Strong beer from $3.20 to $4 per Distilled Spirits $2.50 per gallon
barrel. Wine taxes increased. AICO}}OI $4.05 per gallon
1973 — Distilled spirits reduced from $4.53 to $4.39 per gallon. Min- Beer in Bulk $ .08 per gallon
nesota brewers’ credit enacted. Beer in Bottles and Cans $ .16 per gallon
1976 — Minnesota brewers’ credit amended. South Dakota Wine less than 14 % $ .90 per gallon
1979 — Sparkling wine reduced from $3.08 to $1.50 per gallon. Wine — 14-20% $1.40 per gallon
1980 — Minnesota vintners wine taxed at $.17 per gallon. Wine more than 20% $2.00 per gallon
1985 — Preferential rates for Minnesota vintners repealed. Minnesota Sparkling Wine $2.00 per gallon
brewers’ credit repealed. Small brewers’ credit enacted. Distilled Spirits $3.80 per gallon
1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted. Payment dates changed. Beer3.2% $5.00 per barrel
Beer more than 3.2 % $8.30 per barret
Comparisons With Other States ,
. . ) Texas Wine less than 14 % $ .204 per gallon
California W¥ne less than 14% $ .01 per gallon Wine more than 14 % $ .408 per gallon
Wine greater than 14% $ .02 per gallon Sparkling Wine $ .516 per gallon
Hard Cider $ .02 per gallon Distilled Spirits $2.40 per gallon
Sparkling Wines $ .30 per gallon Beer $6.00 per barrel
Distilled Spirits $2.00 and Malt Liquor $ .198 per gallon
$4.00 per gallon . . .
Beer $1.24 per barrel Wisconsin Wine less than 14% $ .25 per gallon
Non-liquid Distilled Spirits  $ .02 and Wine more than 14 % $ .45 per gallon
$ .04 per oz. Distilled Spirits $3.25 per gallon
L. . Beer $2.00 per barrel
Illinois Wine less than 14% $ .23 per gallon
Wine greater than 14 % $ .60 per gallon
Distilled Spirits $2.00 per gallon
Beer $ .07 per gallon
Iowa Distilled Spirits and Wine ~ 15% of price set by
liquor control com-
mission
Beer $5.89 per barrel
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CIGARETTE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297.02 and 297.22

Tax Base: Cigarettes and little cigars sold in Minnesota.
Rate: 23¢ per pack of 20.
Credits: Distributors receive a 2% discount on the first $1,000,000 of

stamps purchased and 1.25% on additional purchases. The discount
covers tax collection expenses.

Revenue

Collections: EY. 1984 $81,683,000
EY. 1985 $82,170,000
EY. 1986 $97,700,000

Disposition:

e 16¢ per pack to the state general fund

e 4¢ per pack to the state water pollution control fund
® 2¢ per pack to the Minnesota resources fund

e 1¢ per pack to the public health fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Who Pays: Distributors, or wholesalers of cigarettes.

Payment Dates: 25th day of the month following sale to a retailer in
Minnesota. Accelerated payment of one-half of June liability due June
25th for those with May liability of $1,500 or more.

History of Major Changes

1947 — Enacted at 3¢ per pack.

1949 — Increased to 4¢ per pack.

1959 — Increased to 5.5¢ per pack.

1961 — Increased to 7¢ per pack.

1963 — Increased to 8¢ per pack.

1969 — Increased to 13¢ per pack.

1971 ~— Increased to 18¢ per pack.

1985 — Increased to 23¢ per pack. Disposition changed.

1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted. Payment dates changed.

Comparisons With Other States

California 10¢
Ilinois 20¢
Iowa 26¢ per pack of 20; 32.5¢ per pack of 26.
Michigan 21¢
MINNESOTA  23¢
New York 21¢

North Dakota 18¢
South Dakota 23¢

Texas 20.5¢
Wisconsin 25¢
22

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 297.32

Tax Base: Tobacco products (other than cigarettes and little cigars) sold
in Minnesota, including: cigars, smoking tobacco and chewing tobacco.

Rate: 25% of wholesale price.

Credits: Distributors allowed discount equal to 2% of tax for adminis-
trative expenses.

Revenue

Collections: EY. 1984 $3,032,000
EFY. 1985 $3,144,000
EY. 1986 $3,933,000

Disposition:

* 80% state general fund
e 20% state water pollution control fund

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of products received for sale in
Minnesota.

Payment Dates: 25th day of the month following receipt of the product
in state. Accelerated payment of one-half of June liability due June 25th
for those with May liability of $1,500 or more.

History of Major Changes

1955 — Enacted at rate of 15% of wholesale price.

1959 — Rate increased to 20% of wholesale price.

1985 — Rate increased to 25% of wholesale price. Disposition
changed.

1986 — Accelerated June payment enacted. Payment dates changed.

Comparisons With Other States

Towa 15% of wholesale price.

MINNESOTA  25% of wholesale price.

North Dakota 11% of wholesale price.

Texas 25% of factory list; variable rate on cigars.
Wisconsin 20% of manufacturer’s list price.

California, Illinois, Michigan, New York and South Dakota do not im-
pose separate taxes on tobacco products.

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 297D.08

Tax Base: Marijuana or controlled substance (as defined) that is held,
possessed, transported, transferred, sold, or offered to be sold in viola-
tion of Minnesota laws.

Rates:

e Marijuana — $3.50 per gram or portion thereof.

e Controlled substance — $200 per gram or portion thereof.

¢ Controlled substance not sold by weight — $2,000 on each 50 dos-
age units, or portion thereof.
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Exemption: Pharmacists or other persons lawfully in possession of
marijuana or a controlled substance.
Revenue:

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: A dealer who in violation of Minnesota law manufactures,
produces, ships, transports, or imports into Minnesota or possesses
more than the specified amount of marijuana or a controlled substance.

Payment Dates: Immediately upon acquisition or possession in Minne-
sota by a dealer.

History of Major Changes
1986 — Enacted.

MORTGAGE REGISTRY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.05

Tax Base: Principal debt which is secured by any mortgage of real
property in the state.

Rate: 15¢ per $100 of principal debt.

Exemptions: Organizations exempt from the property tax.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $13,327,000
FY. 1985 $12,849,000
FY. 1986 $ 1,179,000%

*Decrease in state collections figure due to change in disposition from
state to counties. In EY. 1986, counties reported to the Department of
Human Services a total Mortgage and Deed offset of about
$34,043,000. This total includes roughly 95% of Mortgage Registry
Tax collections and roughly 97% of Deed Transfer Tax collections.

Disposition: County Welfare Fund

Administration

Agency: Treasurer of the county in which the mortgaged land is situ-
ated.

Who Pays: The lender who records or registers a mortgage of real
property.

Payment Dates: At or before the time of filing the mortgage for record
or registration.

History of Major Changes

1907 — Enacted at 50¢ per $100 of principal debt.

1913 — Changed to 15¢ per $100 where mortgage runs for five years
or less, and 25¢ per $100 for mortgages of more than five
years.

1945 — Changed to 15¢ per $100 on any mortgage.

1983 — Contracts for deed not subject to tax.

1985 — Disposition transferred from state to county.

Comparisons With Other States

MINNESOTA  15¢ per $100 of principal debt.
New York $1.00 per $100 of principal debt maximum.
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California, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, North Dakota, South Dakota,
Texas, and Wisconsin have no similar tax.

DEED TRANSFER TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 287.21

Tax Base: Transfer of real estate by any deed, instrument, or writing.

Rates: $2.20 for consideration of $1,000 or less plus $1.10 for each
$500, or portion of $500, in excess of $1,000.

Exemptions: Executory contracts for the sale of land, mortgages,
wills, plats, leases, transfers involving government agencies, cemetery
lot deeds, deeds of distribution by personal representatives, and trans-
fers between co-owners.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $13,112,000
EY. 1985 $13,196,000
EY. 1986 $ 1,013,000%

*Decrease in state collections figure due to change in disposition from
state to counties. In EY., 1986, counties reported to the Department of
Human Services a total Mortgage and Deed offset of about
$34,043,000. This total includes roughly 95% of Mortgage Registry
Tax collections and roughly 97% of Deed Transfer Tax collections.

Disposition: County Welfare Fund

Administration
Agency: Treasurer of the county in which the land is situated.

Who Pays: Any person who grants, assigns, transfers, or conveys real
estate.

Payment Dates: At the time of transfer.

History of Major Changes

1961 — Enacted at $1.10 for first $1,000 of consideration and $.55 for
each additional $500.

1967 — Increased to $2.20 for first $1,000 and $1.10 for each addi-
tional $500. Earmarked proceeds for the property tax relief
fund.

1969 — Distribution of proceeds changed to State General Fund.

1973 — Included corporations in those subject to tax.

1984 — Exempted transfers from co-owners partitioning undivided in-
terests in property.

1985 — Disposition transferred from state to county.

Comparisons With Other States

California 55¢ per $500 consideration after the first $100 at the
city or county option. Equity only subject to tax.

Illinois 25¢ per $500 consideration.

Iowa 55¢ per $500 consideration after the first $500.

*Michigan 55¢ per $500 consideration maximum.

MINNESOTA  $2.20 for first $1,000 consideration plus $1.10 for
each $500 additional consideration.

New York $2.00 per $500 consideration after the first $100.

North Dakota No tax.

South Dakota 50¢ per $500 consideration.

Texas No tax.

Wisconsin 30¢ per $100 consideration.

*Wayne County authorized to impose 75¢ per $500.



GAMBLING TAXES

CHARITABLE GAMBLING TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 349.212

Tax Base: Gross receipts of a licensed organization from lawful gam-
bling less prizes actually paid out.

Rate: 10%

Exemptions: Pull-tabs. Lawful gambling if conducted by the organiza-
tion on no more than five days per year and prizes do not exceed $50,000
per year. Raffles if value of all prizes does not exceed $750. Bingo con-
ducted in connection with county fair, the state fair, or a civic celebration
if it is not conducted for more than 12 consecutive days in a calendar
year. Bingo conducted by an organization which conducts four or fewer
bingo occasions in a calendar year. Bingo conducted within a nursing
home or by a senior citizen organization under certain conditions.

Revenue
Collections: EY. 1985 $ 444,000
FY. 1986 $6,380,000%
*Due to 1/1/87 effective date for changes in this provision, F.Y. 1986
collections still include Pull-Tab Tax.

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Charitable Gambling Control Board

Who Pays: Licensed organizations. To qualify, the organization must
be a fraternal, religious, veterans, or other nonprofit organization.

Payment Dates: On schedule which charitable gambling board will
prescribe.

History of Major Changes

1984 — Enacted.

1985 — Exempted bingo at a nursing home or senior citizen organiza-
tion under certain conditions.

1986 — Pull-tabs exempted, and a separate pull-tab tax imposed. Ex-
empted lawful gambling if conducted by an organization on no
more than five days per year and prizes do not exceed $50,000
per year.

Comparisons With Other States

Tllinois 3% on gross proceeds.
MINNESOTA  10% on gross proceeds.

"California, IJowa, Michigan, New York, North Dakota, South Dakota,
Texas and Wisconsin do not have similar provisions.

PULL-TAB TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 349,212

Tax Base: Face resale value of all the pull-tabs in each deal less the total
prizes which may be paid out for that deal. A “deal” is defined as each
separate package, or series of packages, consisting of one game of pull-
tabs.
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Rate: 10%

Revenue:

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Licensed distributor.

Payment Dates: 25th of the month following the month of the sale.

History of Major Changes

1986 — Enacted. Separate pull-tab tax replaced the charitable gam-
bling tax on pull-tabs.

PARI-MUTUEL TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 240,15

Tax Base: Total amount bet in pari-mutuel pools at a licensed racetrack;
paid admissions to a licensed racetrack.
Rates: Calendar year cumulative daily bets —

Up to $48 million:
1.75% — State General Fund
0.5% — Minnesota Breeders Fund

Over $48 million:
6% — State General Fund
1% — Minnesota Breeders Fund

40¢ per admission — State General Fund

Revenue
Collections: FY. 1986 $5,442,000

Disposition: General Fund and Minnesota Breeders Fund (see above).

Administration:
Agency: Minnesota Racing Commission
Who Pays: Any licensed racetrack.

Payment Date: Within seven days of date tax collected.

History of Major Changes
1983 — Enacted.

Comparisons With Other States

California License fee of 1.5% to 7.5% imposed on total pari-
mutuel handle.

Towa 6% imposed on the gross sum wagered.

Illinois Racing privilege tax from 1.75 to 7.75% of daily

pari-mutuel handle. Additional tax on multiple wa-
gering pools. Admission tax of 15¢ per person.
Michigan 6% of total daily handle, 5% in less populated coun-
ties.
MINNESOTA  See rates above.
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New York Thoroughbred: Generally 5% on regular and multi-
ple wagering pools and 74 % on exacta wagering
pools; Standard bred: 2% to 12.5%; 4% admissions
tax.

South Dakota Greyhound: tax of 3% to 7% of total accumulated
daily handle for racing season; Horse: 2.25% to 3%
of daily handle.

North Dakota, Texas and Wisconsin do not have legal pari-mutuel bet-
ting.
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GROSS EARNINGS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 294 and 295

Tax Base: Gross receipts from operation of certain businesses.

Rates:

Rural Electric Cooperatives — 10¢ per 100 members
Taconite Railroads — 3.75%

Telegraph — 6%

Telephone:*

Rural Subscribers and Al Other
Cities of the Fourth Class Business
1987 3.0% 5.5%
1988 1.5% 3.0%
1989 1.0% 2.5%
1990 -0- -0-

*The telephone gross earnings tax is phased out, with repeal by 1990. It
will be replaced by a property tax, beginning with taxes payable in
1988.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $70,655,000
FY. 1985 $54,343,000
FY. 1986 $57,513,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Who Pays: Each of the various types of businesses subject to tax.
Payment Dates:

Telephone — April 15

Telegraph — March 1

Rural Electric Companies — March 1

All others — September 1 and March 1 for prior 6 months earnings.

History of Major Changes

Original Current Rates
Enactment Enacted
Rural Electric Companies 1939, 1939
10¢/100 members
Taconite Railroad 1955,5% 1986
Telegraph 1887,2% 1945
Telephone 1887,2% 1985

Comparison With Other States*

Those comparison states which impose gross earnings tax on some form
of telephone service or other utility service are: California, Illinois,
New York, North Dakota, South Dakota, Texas, and Wisconsin.

*The comparative information for the various states was too lengthy to
include herein. If more information is desired, contact the Tax Re-
search Division in the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
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INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 60A.15, 60A.198,
69.54, and 299F.21

Tax Base: Gross premiums less return premiums received on all busi-
ness in Minnesota.

Rates:
2% — Domestic and foreign companies’ premiums.
5% — Underwriting profit on ocean marine insurance.
3% — Surplus line agents.
0.5% — Fire marshal tax on fire premiums.
2% — Surcharge on fire premiums for property located in cities of the

first class.
Revenue
Collections: FY. 1984 $68,611,000
EY. 1985 $74,201,000
FY. 1986 $94,303,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign insurance companies doing business
in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Most companies make three estimated payments per
year on April 15th, June 15th and December 15th.

History of Major Changes

1868 — 2% gross premiums tax imposed on foreign insurance com-
panies.

1872 — 2% gross premiums tax extended to domestic companies.

1895 — Retaliatory tax provisions adopted.

1913 — Fire marshal tax of .375% adopted.

1934 — 2% surcharge on fire premiums enacted.

1937 — Fire marshal tax increased to .5%.

1953 — 5% ocean marine profits tax enacted.

1981 — Estimated tax changed from quarterly payments to three pay-
ments per year.

1986 — Payment schedule modified for some companies.

Comparisons With Other States

Premiums Tax Rate
California 2.33%.
Illinois 2% on foreign companies.
Towa 2%.
Michigan 2% — 3% on foreign companies.
MINNESOTA  See rates above.
New York 1.0% —1.2%.

North Dakota 2% for life insurance; 5% for accident and sickness
insurance; 1% for all other insurance.

South Dakota 2.5% on domestic companies with credit given for
regional or home office located in the state; 1.25%
annuity tax on foreign companies; 2% % premium
tax on foreign companies; Y2 % fire marshal tax.

Texas 1.1% t0 2.5% for life, accident and health insurance
depending on percentage of assets invested in state.
1.2% — 3.5% for property and casualty insurance.

Wisconsin 2% on foreign casualty and life and domestic fire in-
surance companies; 23/s% on foreign fire insurance;
.5% on foreign marine insurance; 2% or 3.5% of
gross investment income on domestic life insurance.
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SEVERANCE AND TONNAGE TAXES
MINERAL TAXATION

Mineral taxation in Minnesota consists of royalty, occupation, produc-
tion and property (see Local Taxes section) taxes on certain types of min-
erals. Except for property taxes, these taxes are described separately in
the sections that follow.

ROYALTY TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 299.01 and 299.013

Tax Base: Royalties received in connection with the exploration and
mining of iron ore, taconite, semi-taconite, iron sulphides, copper-
nickel and other metals.

Rates:

Resource Tax Rate

Iron Ore, Taconite, Semi-tac-  Statutory rate: 14%
onite, and Iron Sulphides Minimum rate: 5.75%

Copper-Nickel 1% plus 1% of royalties paid on
silver, gold, platinum and other

precious metals.

Credits: The royalty tax is reduced by the labor credit which makes the
net effective tax rate equal to the net effective occupation tax rate.

Revenue

FY. Iron Ore Taconite Other
1984 $449,000 $3,341,000 $12,000
1985 $523,000 $3,936,000 $ 5,000
1986 $415,000 $3,715,000 $ 3,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: Although the recipient of the royalty is subject to the tax,
lease terms normally assign this responsibility to the mining company.

Payment Dates: The tax is paid at the time specified in the lease for the
royalty payment which historically has been quarterly.

History of Major Changes

1923 — 6% royalty tax imposed on iron ore.

1937 — Rate increased to 10%.

1939 — Rate changed t0 9%.

1941 — Rate increased to 10.5%.

1947 — Rate increased to 11%.

1955 — 15% surtax added.

1959 — Additional 1% tax added.

1967 — Copper-nickel royalties taxed at 1%.

1971 — Royalty tax on taconite 15%; iron ore increased to 15.5%.
1984 — Conformed effective rate to that of occupation tax.
1985 — Rate on taconite and iron ore reduced to 14% by 1987.
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Comparison With Other States

None of the comparison states imposes a separate tax on mineral royal-
ties.

OCCUPATION TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.01 and 298.51

Tax Base: Value of minerals mined or produced in the state as reduced
by certain statutory and non-statutory deductions.

Rates:
Minimum Rate
Resource Tax Rate  (Less Labor Credit)
Iron Ore, Taconite, Semi-tac-
onite 14% 5.75%
Copper-Nickel Ores 1% 1.0%
Exemptions:

Iren Ore, Taconite, Semi-Taconite and Iron Sulfide — Statutory de-
ductions include costs of development, mining labor and supplies, ad-
ministrative expenses, royalty, depreciation of mine plant and equip-
ment, and ad valorem or production taxes. Non-statutory deductions are
the cost of benefication, including labor, supplies, depreciation, inter-
est, plus allowances for stockpile loading, transportation, and market-
ing.

Credits:

Iron Ore, Taconite, and Semi-Taconite — A credit is allowed for labor
which may reduce the effective tax rate to 5.75%. Other credits are al-
lowed for research, experimentation and exploration, and pollution con-
trol. A loss mine credit and a discount credit are allowed against the iron
ore occupation tax.

Copper-Nickel — Credits are allowed for processing the ore within the
state and for research, experimentation and exploration,

Revenue
Collections:
EY. Iron Ore Taconite
1984 $555,000 $ 2,386,000
1985 $380,000 $10,606,000
1986 $531,000 ¢ 961,000)
Disposition:
State General Fund: 50%*
Elementary and secondary schools 40%
University of Minnesota 10%

*Of this amount, an amount equal to the yield of a 1¢ per ton production
tax is appropriated to the Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation
Board.
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue
Who Pays: Mining companies operating in this state.

Payment Dates: On or before June 15th.

History of Major Changes

1921 — 6% Occupation tax imposed on iron ore,

1937 — Rate increased to 10%; reduced to 8 % for subsequent years.

1941 — Labor credit enacted.

1947 — Rate increased to 11%; minimum rate 3.75%.

1955 — 15% surtax added.

1959 — Additional 1% tax imposed.

1963 — A taconite producer’s occupation, royalty and excise taxes
cannot exceed the greater of what a manufacturing corporation
would pay or what the producer would have otherwise paid un-
der the 1963 occupation royalty and excise taxes.

1971 — Occupation tax on taconite 15%; minimum rate 6.75%. Occu-
pation tax on iron ore 15.5%; minimum rate 14%.

1984 — Reduced rate to 15% for natural iron ores.

1985 — Reduced rate on taconite and iron ore to 14% by 1987.

Comparison With Other States
Resource Rate

Michigan Natural Gas 5% of gross market value.

Crude oil 6.6% of gross market value.

Crude oil (from 4% of gross market value.

stripper wells) In addition, production of
natural gas and oil is subject
to a fee of less than 1% of
market value annually to
pay state administrative ex-
penses.

MINNESOTA  See rates above,

North Dakota Crude Oil and
Natural Gas
North Dakota
Crude Oil

South Dakota Mineral Products

5% of market value.

6.5% of market value.

2% gross yield; 8% of net
yield from sale of extracted
minerals.

Energy Minerals 4.5% of taxable value.

7.5% of market value.
4.6 % of market value.

Texas Natural Gas
Oil Production

Wisconsin Metalliferous Graduated rates from
Minerals 3% to 15% on net proceeds.
Iron Ore 5¢ per ton handled.
Concentrates
Petroleum 5¢ per ton processed.
Products

33



PRODUCTION TAXES
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.24, 298.35, and 298.61

Tax Base: Extracted tonnage of taconite and iron sulphides, semi-tac-
onite and copper-nickel ores. For taconite, iron sulphides, and semi-tac-
onite, it is tonnage of merchantable ore concentrate produced. For cop-
per-nickel, it is tonnage of copper-nickel ore to be concentrated.

Rates:

Taconite and Iron Sulphides — Base rate equals $1.25 per gross ton of
merchantable iron ore concentrate produced in 1977. After 1977, the
base rate increases with changes in the steel mill products index. An ad-
ditional tax of 1.6% is imposed for each percent that the iron ore content
of the product exceeds 62%. The F.Y. 1984 average rate is $2.05 per
taxable ton. For production year 1986 the rate is $1.90 per ton, and it
applies to the average production of the current year and the previous
two years. Beginning with production year 1987, the rate will be in-
creased annually by the implicit price deflator. However, the increase
will not go into effect in 1987 if production is more than 33 million tons
or in 1988 if production is more than 34 million tons.

Semi-Taconite — Sintered in Minnesota — 5¢ per gross ton plus 0.1¢
for each 1% that the iron content exceeds 55%.

Sintered outside Minnesota — 10¢ per gross ton plus 0. € per gross ton
for each 0.5% that the iron content exceeds 55%. The last production of
semi-taconite was in 1979,

Copper-Nickel — Base rate is 2.5¢ per gross ton of crude ore plus 10%
of the base tax per ton for each 0.1 % that the average copper-nickel con-
tent per ton of ore exceeds 1 %. This composite rate is subject to increase
proportional to changes in the current year average monthly wholesale
price index above the 1967 index. No production of copper-nickel has
occurred to date.

Special provision: Additional tax of 10¢ per ton of taconite tailings pro-
duced which are not deposited on land in accordance with specified per-
mits. Currently the tax is not imposed because tailings are deposited in
accordance with such permits.

Revenue

Collections: EY. 1984 $67,341,000
FY. 1985 $64,514,000
FY. 1986 $65,092,000%

*As of FY, 1986, the taconite production tax is paid to counties and the
IRRRB, not to the state.

Disposition; The taconite production tax is distributed as follows:
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Tax Proceeds Per
Taxable Ton

Taconite cities and towns 2.5¢
Taconite Municipal Aid Account 12.5¢
Taconite school districts:

In which taconite was mined or quarried or

concentrate produced 5.5¢

Qualifying districts 22.0¢

Taconite Referendum Fund Formula amount
Counties

Taconite counties 13.0¢

Taconite counties road and bridge funds 3.5¢
Taconite homestead property tax relief 22.0¢
Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board
(IRRRB) 3.0¢
Range Association of Municipalities and Schools 0.2¢
Northeast Minnesota Economic Protection Trust
Fund 1.5¢*

Each city, town, school district, and county re-
ceive the amount it received from the taconite
railroad gross earnings tax in 1977,

The IRRRB receives the amount of occupation
tax it received in 1977.

Remaining proceeds after above distributions:

Taconite Environmental Protection Fund 2/3
Northeast Minnesota Economic Protection
Trust Fund 1/3

*Increased from 1979 to 1987 by the steel mill products index and in
1988 and subsequent years by the implicit price deflator.

Proceeds of the production tax derived from copper-nickel and semi-tac-
onite are distributed to the state general fund and to the various taxing
districts in which copper-nickel or semi-taconite is located as follows:

22% — City or town
50% - School district
22% — County
6% — State
Administration
Agencies:

Minnesota Department of Revenue — determination of liability and dis-
tribution.

Eligible counties — collection and distribution to local units.

Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board — collection of its
share.

Who Pays: Mining companies pay the production tax in lieu of the
property tax on the land, buildings, and equipment used in connection
with taconite mining, quarrying, or production.

Payment Dates: For the preceding calendar year, 90% of the tax pay-
able by February 15th. Balance payable by April 15th.
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History of Major Changes

1881 — Tonnage tax on iron ore of 1€ per ton imposed.

1897 — Tonnage tax on iron ore repealed and replaced by ad valorem
tax.

1941 — Taconite production tax of 5¢ per ton imposed.

1959 — Production tax on semi-taconite enacted.

1969 — Taconite production tax increased to 11.5¢ per ton.

1971 — Additional production tax of 4¢ to 14¢ per ton imposed.

1975 — Taconite production tax increased by 39¢ per ton.

1977 — Taconite production tax increased to $1.25 per ton with tax in-
dex based on the price of steel.

1984 — Index frozen for two years and converts to implicit price defla-
tor for production year 1987. Credit for construction of water
filtration plant enacted.

1985 — Taconite production tax paid to the counties and the IRRRB.
Distribution of proceeds modified.

1986 — Rate reduced from $2.05 to $1.90 per ton. Indexing of rate sus-
pended under certain conditions. Distribution of proceeds
modified.

Comparison With Other States

Resource Rate

Crude oil and
natural gas

North Dakota Coal

California Per barrel charge or uniform rate

per thousand cubic feet.

85¢ per ton plus 1¢ per ton for
each 4 point increase in wholesale
price index as adjusted twice per

year.
Texas Sulphur $1.03 per long ton.

Cement $.0275 per CWT.
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IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 168

Tax Base: Motor vehicles using the public streets and highways.

Rates:

® Passenger cars, pick-up trucks, and vans — $10 plus 1.25% of base
value based on the age of the vehicle. Minimum tax — $35. Flat tax
for vehicles over ten years old — $35.

* Trucks, tractors, and buses — based on the type, weight, and age of
the vehicle. A minimum tax applies to each type of vehicle.

Exemptions: Vehicles owned by governmental or educational units,
agricultural tractors and trailers, special mobile equipment, vehicles
used solely for carrying camp equipment or attached machinery, fire ap-
paratus, and vehicles not operated on highways.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $197,770,000
FY. 1985 $212,696,000
EY. 1986 $223,307,000

Disposition: Proceeds are paid into the state treasury and credited to the
highway user tax distribution fund.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Who Pays: Anyone who registers a motor vehicle in the state.

Payment Dates: When first registered to use the public streets and annu-
ally thereafter when reregistered.

History of Major Changes

1911 — First motor vehicle registration law enacted. Fee of $1.50 per
vehicle.

1921 — Rates established based on value and weight of vehicle.

1941 — Passenger cars taxed at 2.2 % of value.

1949 — Vehicles reclassified and rate schedules revised.

1955 — Rates increased by 5%.

1965 — Rate schedule modified.

1971 — Tax set on passenger vehicles at $10 plus 1.25% of base value.
An annual $25 tax on school buses levied.

1973 — Monthly series of vehicle registrations established. New truck
rates established.

1976 — Minimums on trucks, tractors, and combinations increased.

1981 — Increased rates on certain vehicles.

1986 — Increased rates on certain vehicles.
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Comparison With Other States
Passenger Cars

California $22 registration fee
plus additional $1
fee plus license fee
of 2% of market

value.

$36-48 based on
horsepower.

1llinois

Towa 1% of value plus
40¢/100 Ibs.

$24.90 based on
weight for models
through 1983. $30-
$148 based on list
price for 1984 and
later models.

Michigan

MINNESOTA
New York

See rates above.

$12 — $65 based on
weight.

North Dakota $20 — $245 based
on weight and age of

vehicle.

South Dakota $20 — $180 based

on weight.

$12.50 plus $25-
$58.50 plus 60¢ per
100 Ibs.

Texas

Wisconsin $25

Commercial Vehicles

Annual weight fees are as-
sessed on two-axle trucks
and buses ranging from $8
for vehicles under 3,000
Ibs. to $400 if over 14,000
Ibs. Motor vehicles with 3
or more axles, and any
trailer, range from $28 for
vehicles over 2,000 Ibs. to
$660 for those weighing
over 15,000 lbs.

$24 first 3,000 Ibs. up to
$1,560 for between 64,000
and 73,280 Ibs.

Trucks — $45 ($35 if model
is 10 years old) first 6,000
1bs. up to $1,695 on 40 tons
plus $80 per ton over 40
tons. Trailers — $6 under
1,000 1bs. $10 for 1,000 Ibs.
and over. Semi-Trailers —
$10.

Under 5,000 Ibs, —
$34-344

5,000-8,000 lbs. —
$38-$218

Over 8,000 Ibs. —
$316-$2,072

$2.50 per 500 lbs. on trucks
and trailers. $1.05 per 100
Ibs. on tractors. :

$21 first 4,000 Ibs. up to
$1,736 for over 102,000
Ibs.

$85 first 4,000 lbs. up to
$250 plus $40 per ton for
over 20,000 Ibs.

Motor Buses — $25 plus
44¢-88¢ per each 100 lbs.,
and 99¢ per 100 Ibs. for
over 31,000 Ibs. Trailer and
semi-trailers — $25 plus
33¢-66¢ per 100 Ibs.up to
17,000 lbs. and 72¢ per 100
Ibs. for over 17,000 lbs.

$30 first 4,500 1lbs. up to
$1,682 for up to 80,000 lbs.

AIRFLIGHT PROPERTY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270,072
Tax Base: Flight property of air carriers engaging in air commerce.
Rates: Assessed value of flight property times the average rate of prop-

erty taxes throughout the state.

Major Exemptions: Aircraft weighing less than 30,000 pounds that
are used on intermittent or irregularly timed flights.

Computation:
Determined by the Minnesota Depart-
VALUE OF ment of Revenue. Includes aircraft,
AIRFLIGHT PROPERTY 1§ flight equipment, and space flight
equipment.
times
Three-factor formula to apportion
value to Minnesota, with each factor
APPORTIONMENT having equal weight. The three fac-
FACTOR tors are: tonnage of passengers and
freight; equated plane hours; and rev-
enue ton miles.
equals
MINNESOTA VALUE
times
ASSESSMENT RATIO
OF 3313%
equals
ASSESSED VALUE
times
STATEWIDE AVERAGE
MILL RATE
|
equals
v
AIRFLIGHT PROPERTY
TAX
Revenue
Collections: FY. 1984 $4,253,000
EY. 1985 $4,716,000
EY. 1986 $4,807,000

Disposition: State Airports Fund.
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Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Who Pays: All air carriers engaging in air commerce in Minnesota un-
der certificates issued by the Civil Aeronautics Board and those carriers
operating without a certificate who elect to be taxed under this tax rather
than the aircraft registration tax.

Payment Dates: The tax is due and payable on January 1 of each year
following the levy of the tax.

History of Major Changes

1945 — Enacted, assessed at 40% of value.

1953 — Changed to 33'/2% valuation.

1971 — “Market Value” for “‘full and true value’ substituted.

1976 — Exemption included for aircraft weighing less than 30,000 Ibs.

Comparison With Other States

In general, most states tax air flight property at the average property tax
rate statewide.

AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 360.531

Tax Base: Value of noncommercial aircraft which regularly use the air-
space over, and the airports in, Minnesota.

Rate: 1% of value. The value begins with the base price, and after the
first year it is reduced for depreciation — 10% in the second year and
15% for the third and each succeeding year, subject to the minimum tax.
The minimum tax is the greater of 25% of the tax computed on the origi-
nal base price or $10.

Major Exemptions: Aircraft of the civil air patrol; government-owned
aircraft.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $1,524,000
FY. 1985 $1,343,000
EY. 1986 $1,310,000

Disposition: State Airports Fund

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Transportation

Who Pays: Anyone who registers noncommercial aircraft in Minne-
sota,

Payment Dates: When the aircraft is first registered and annually there-
after on July I.
History of Major Changes

1945 — Enacted.
1957 — Exempted civil air patrol.
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HAZARDOUS WASTE TAXES

Minnesota Statutes, Section 115B.22
Tax Base: Volume and destination of hazardous waste generated.

Rates: Long-term containment without treatment: 32¢ per gallon or
$32 per cubic yard.

Long-term containment after treatment: 16¢ per gallon or $16 per cubic
yard.

Land treatment: $32 per cubic yard.
Other treatment: 8¢ per gallon or $8 per cubic yard.

Exemptions: Hazardous waste destined for recycling or reuse, used
crankcase oil, hazardous waste generated as a result of any response
action, hazardous waste discharged to public sewage treatment works
which meets pretreatment standards, hazardous waste generated as resi-
due from a hazardous waste incineration facility that treats waste subject
to taxation.

Revenue

Collections: EY. 1984 $ 776,000
FY. 1985 $ 995,000
EY. 1986 $1,017,000

Disposition: Environmental Response, Compensation and Compliance
Fund

Administration

Who Pays: Any person generating hazardous waste and required to dis-
close such generation under the hazardous waste rules of the Pollution
Control Agency.

Payment Dates: Quarterly declarations of estimated tax required on
March 15, June 15, September 15, and December 15 if tax expected to
exceed $1,000. Return due April 15.

History of Major Changes

1983 — Enacted.
1984 — Exemption for hazardous waste generated as residue from a
hazardous waste incineration facility.

Comparison With Other States:

California, Iowa and New York impose taxes or fees on various catego-
ries of hazardous waste. The comparative information was too compli-
cated and lengthy to include herein. If more information is desired, con-
tact the Tax Research Division in the Minnesota Department of
Revenue.
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SOLID WASTE FEE
Minnesota Statutes, Section 473.843

Tax Base: Amount of solid waste disposed of at a solid waste disposal
facility in the metropolitan area.

Rate: 50¢ per cubic yard.

Exemptions: Waste residue from energy and resource recovery facili-
ties at which solid waste is processed for the purpose of extracting, re-
ducing, converting to energy or otherwise separating and preparing
solid waste for reuse is exempt from one-half of the tax if at least 85% of
the volume of the solid waste is reduced. Prior to January 1, 1988, non-
hazardous solid waste from metalcasting facilities is exempt from the
tax.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1985 $1,220,000
EY. 1986 $3,210,000

Disposition: 50% to landfill abatement fund and 50% to metropolitan
landfill contingency action fund.

Administration:

Who Pays: Operators of mixed municipal solid waste disposal facilities
in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington
Counties.

Payment Dates: On or before the 20th day of each month, tax due for
previous month paid.

History of Major Changes
1984 — Enacted.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 268.03 to 268.24

Tax Base: A wage base of $10,700 for each employee in 1986; $11,200
in 1987. Employers with a 1% rate use an $8,000 wage base.

Rates: The standard rate for new employers is 2.9% in 1986, Experi-
ence ratings will vary the rate actually paid, which can be from 1% of
7.5%. The rate for new construction employers is 7.5%.

Exemptions: Various categories of excluded employment exist, in-
cluding service performed by: a) a son, daughter or spouse; b) indepen-
dent contractors; ¢) members of a partnership; d) elected public offi-
cials; and e) ordained ministers of a church.
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Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 $294,888,000
EY. 1985 $346,519,000
EY. 1986 $363,716,000

Disposition: Proceeds are paid into the Minnesota Unemployment
Compensation Fund and benefits are paid out of this fund and charged to
each employer’s account.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Jobs and Training

Who Pays: Generally, any employer who has one or more individuals
employed for 20 different weeks in either the current or preceding calen-
dar year, or having paid wages of $1,500 in any quarter of either year.

Payment Dates: April 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31.

History of Major Changes

1936 — Unemployment Compensation Law enacted.

1939 — Standard rate setat 2.7%.

1941 — Formula for computing experience ratios adopted.

1971 = Methods of calculating contribution rates, experience rates,
and minimum rates changed.

1976 — Method for setting contribution rates redetermined.

1979 — Amended to conform with federal law.

Comparison With Other States

State Standard Rate* Basis
California 3.4% First $ 7,000
Ilinois 39a First$ 8,500
Towa 2.3b First $12,000
Michigan 27¢ First$ 9,500
MINNESOTA 2.9d First $10,700
New York 3.7 First$ 7,000
North Dakota e First $10,800
South Dakota 3.5 First$ 7,000
Texas 2.7f First $ 7,000
Wisconsin 36g First $10,500

*For new employers. Experience ratings determine actual rate paid in
subsequent years.

Plus four industry rates ranging from4.0to 5.2.
9.0% for construction employers.

4.0% for construction employers.

7.5% for construction employers.

Industry rate from 1.0t0 7.0%.

Industry rate if higher.

7.2% for construction employers.

©me oo o
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WORKERS COMPENSATION TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 176
Tax Base: Annual salaries of employees.

Rates: Vary with type of employment and each specific employment
classification.

Exemptions: Coverage does not apply to railroad workers, certain
people employed in farming, persons whose work is casual and not in
the usual course of the business of the employer, and household workers
who earn less than $500 cash in any 3 month period from a single private
home or household.

Special Provisions: Qualifying firms are allowed to self insure. Insur-
ance rates are adjusted annually subject to the approval of the Commis-
sioner of Insurance, Department of Commerce.

Revenue

Premiums: * C.Y. 1983 $358,400,000
C.Y. 1984 $350,000,000
C.Y. 1985 $392,000,000

*Does not include premium amounts for firms allowed to self insure.

Disposition: Benefits are paid out to qualifying persons by the private
insurance companies.

Administration
Agency: Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
Who Pays: Most employers of one or more employees.

Payment Dates: Annually as an insurance premium.

History of Major Changes

1913 — First Workman’s Compensation Act enacted.

1919 — Special compensation fund created for payments of permanent
total disability resulting partly from previous disability.

1933 — State compensation revolving fund created.

1953 — Deleted requirement that an “‘accident” cause injury or death.

1967 — Department of Labor and Industry and the Industrial Commis-
sion abolished; replaced with a new Department of Labor and
Industry and Workman’s Compensation Commission.

1983 — Established a state competitive fund and provided a major re-
vamping of the administrative system and the permanent par-
tial benefit schedule.

Comparison With Other States

All the comparison states levy some form of Worker’s Compensation
Tax. However, due to the various job classifications and rates, a compar-
ison by state cannot be made.
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PROPERTY TAXES

GENERAL PROPERTY TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 272.01

Tax Base: Assessed value of real and personal property.

Computation:
MARKET VALUE

times

CLASSIFICATION
RATIO(S)

equals
ASSESSED VALUE
times

MILL RATE

equals

v
GROSS TAX

l

minus

CREDITS

equals

v
NET TAX

|
|

Determined by county assessor, ex-
cept for state-assessed property.

Ratio(s) determined by type of prop-
erty, as listed in table below.

Aggregate of county, city or town,
school district, and any special taxing
districts.

(Listed in the order in which they are
subtracted from gross tax)

Disaster credit

Wetlands credit

Native prairie credit

Powerline credit

Agricultural preserves credit

Enterprise zone credit

State school agricultural credit —
36% of the gross tax for the first 320
acres of homestead agricultural land;
26% for all other agricultural land
and timberland; 15% for seasonal
recreational residential with a $100
maximum,

State paid homestead credit — 54 %
of gross tax, with a maximum credit
of $700.

Taconite homestead credit

Supplemental homestead credit
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A.

Classification
Type of Property Ratios
Property
Unmined Iron Ore 50%
Low Recovery Iron Ore 30-48% %
Agricultural Land (nonhomestead) 18%
Seasonal, Recreational Residential 21%
Agricuitural Homesteads
1. First $65,000 of market value. 14%
2. First $32,500 of market value for certain
blind or disabled persons. 5%
3. Excess over $65,000 of market value. 18%
Non-Agricultural Homesteads
1. First $65,000 of market value. 18%
2. First $32,500 of market value for certain
blind or disabled persons. 5%
3. EBxcess over $65,000 of market value. 28%
Residential, nonhomestead of three or fewer
units 28%
Apartments
1. Standard (four or more units). 34%
2. Typeland II (four or fewer stories). 34%
3. Type Land II (five and more stories). 25%
4. Title II (in cities or towns of under 10,000
population) 10%
5. Title Il (Other and low income housing). 20%
Timberland 18%
Urban Vacant Land 40%
Public Utility
1. Land and buildings
a. First $60,000 of market value 28%
b. Excess over $60,000 of market value 43%
2. Machinery 3313%
Commercial and Industrial
1. First $60,000 of market value 28%
2. Excess over $60,000 of market value 43%
Seasonal Recreational Commercial (12% in
certain cases if property includes homestead of
the owner). 21%
I1I. Personal Property
Mobile homes and owner-occupied residences
on leased public or railroad lands (Assessed at
rate provided for applicable real property
class). Varies
Leased Agricultural on Exempt Land 21%
Structures on Leased Public Land in Rural Ar-
eas 21%
Structures on Leased Public Lands in Urban
Areas or on Railroad Right of Way; leased
Non-Agricultural Exempt Land
(first $60,000) 28%
(over $60,000) 43%
Tools, Implements and Machinery of an Elec-
tric Generating, Transmission or Distribution
System or a Pipeline System Transporting or
Distributing Water, Gas, or Petroleum Prod-
ucts which are Fixtures. 3313%
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Exemptions: Cemeteries; public schools; public hospitals; colleges,
universities and seminaries; churches and church property; most institu-
tions of public charity; public property used for public purposes; natural
cheese held for aging by original Minnesota manufacturer; farm tools,
machinery, equipment and livestock; agricultural products; inventories
and equipment of manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers, and contractors
including tools and machinery, manufactured articles, stocks of mer-
chandise, parts and supplies, furniture and furnishings; pollution con-
trol equipment; agricultural wetlands; native prairie land; and solar,
wind or agriculturally derived gas systems used to provide heating,
cooling, or electric power for a building or structure; certain senior citi-
zen group property; and shelters for domestic abuse.

Special Provisions: Taxing authorities have numerous statutory limita-
tions on the amount of property taxes they may levy. In addition, there
are the overall levy limitation laws governing school districts, counties
and municipal governments.

Rates: Mill rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. Total mill rate includes
all levies for all taxing jurisdictions within which the property is located
(city or town, county, school district and any special taxing districts).

The statewide average mill rate for taxes payable in 1986 was 105 mills.
After the deduction of all credits, the net rate was 81 mills. (A mill is $1
for each $1,000 of taxable value.)

Property Tax Refund: Owner-occupied homesteads and residential
rental units receive property tax relief based on the relationship of actual
property tax paid and total household income. This relief is paid directly
to the taxpayer by the state.

In order to be eligible for the refund, a person’s property tax must be
more than a specified percentage of household income. Above that
level, the state will pay a percentage of the tax, up to a maximum refiind.
The percent of income, percent of state payment, and maximum refund
depend upon the income of the claimant. As the claimant’s income in-
creases, the amount the state pays decreases. Eligibility for the property
tax refund is limited to claimants with incomes under $40,000.

A homeowner subtracts the homestead credit from the gross property
tax refund to determine the net refund amount.
Revenue

Collections (millions):

Gross Home- Agri- Property Net
Year Taxes stead cultural Other Tax Taxes
Payable Levied Credit* Credit Credits Refund Paid
1983  $2,540.0 521.5 9.9 178 182.0 $1,721.8
1984  2,784.2 5255 92.7 1.7 173.0 1,991.3
1985 2,875.0 539.5 106.5 2.2 175.0 2,051.8

*Includes Taconite Homestead Credit.

Disposition: Revenue is distributed by county auditors and treasurers to
the counties, municipalities, school districts and other taxing authorities
according to the taxable values and total millage levied by each. State-
wide, school districts account for and receive nearly one-half of the total
tax revenue.
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Administration

Agencies: County assessor, county auditor, county treasurer, Minne-
sota Department of Revenue — equalization of values and valuation of
state-assessed properties.

Who Pays: All property owners of property not specifically exempt.

Payment Dates: First half of real estate tax is due by May 15th. Second
half of real estate tax is due by October 15th.

History of Major Changes

1860 — State Board of Equalization created to reduce inequities of as-
sessment.

1913 — Formulation by legislature of first property tax classification
system.

— All taxable property was divided into four separate classes,
each assessed at a different percentage of full value.

1933 — Property classes increased from four to seven.

1934 — Constitutional amendment authorized limited exemption of
household goods and farm machinery.

1937 — First $4,000 of homesteads exempted for state tax purposes.

— Additional classes of property defined.

1945 — Property tax enacted for airflight property.

1959 — Reclassified lakeshore property not used for commercial pur-
poses.

1961 — Indian lands exempt from taxation,

1967 — Homestead credit enacted.

— Senior citizen property tax credit enacted.

— State government property tax levy eliminated.

— Livestock and agricultural machinery exempted from personal
property tax.

— Manufacturers granted option to exempt either tools and ma-
chinery considered as personal property or inventories.

— Adoption of county assessor system.

-— Adoption of “Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax Law” pro-
viding for assessment based on current use rather than best use
for agricultural property to foster preservation of agricultural
lands.

— Portion of agricultural homestead considered as the homestead
for tax purposes increased from first 40 acres to first 80 acres.

1969 — Taconite homestead credit enacted.

— Tax increment financing of renovation projects authorized.

— Separate assessment of Title II property.

— “Minnesota Open Space Property Tax law” enacted to foster
preservation of recreational open spaces in urban areas.

1971 - Overall property tax levy limitation laws enacted for school
districts, counties and municipalities.

— Mobile homes taxed as personal property.

— Fiscal disparities established.

— Business inventories and tools and machinery considered as
personal property made entirely exempt.

1973 — Separate classes for Type I and II apartments established.

— Senior citizen property tax “‘freeze” credit enacted.

— Increase in market value for residential property is limited to
5% per year.

— Manufacturing and business machinery considered as real
property is exempted.

— Senior citizens property tax credit extended to disabled and
blind persons.
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1974 — Homestead credit increased to a larger percent of gross taxes
(45%) and a larger maximum allowed amount ($325).

— Portion of agricultural homestead considered as the homestead
for tax purposes increased from first 80 acres to first 120 acres.

1975 — 5% limit on increase in value for residential property is re-
placed with general limits on valuation increases.

— Property tax refund enacted.

— Flexible homestead base established. Allows portion of home-
stead property assessed at a lower rate to increase with infla-
tion.

— Agricultural mill rate differential increased.

1976 — Agricultural mill rate differential eliminated and replaced with
an agricultural mill rate credit at a higher rate.

1977 — Portion of agricultural homestead property considered as the
homestead for tax purposes increased from first 120 acres to
first 160 acres.

— Classification ratios for homestead property reduced.

- Allowable relief under property tax refund is increased and
senior citizen property tax “freeze” eliminated.

1979 — Eliminated limited market value. Enacted two-stage shift to es-
timated market value.

— Homestead credit increased to a larger percent of gross taxes
(50%) and a larger maximum allowed amount ($550).

— Classification ratios for homestead and certain other property
reduced.

— Portion of agricultural homestead property considered as the
homestead for tax purposes increased from 160 acres to 240
acres.

— Agricultural mill rate credit increased.

— Lowered assessment rate for multi-unit structures used exclu-
sively to provide housing for low income persons.

— Enacted a property tax credit for owners of property crossed by
high voltage electric transmission lines (effective in 1982).

— New credit enacted to foster preservation of wetlands.

— Replaced gross earnings tax on railroads with ad valorem tax.

— Allowable relief under property tax refund increased.

1980 — Classification ratios lowered for homestead and certain other
property.

— Title Il reimbursement aid for local governments enacted.

— Homestead credit increased to a larger percent of gross taxes
(58%) and a larger maximum credit amount ($650).

— Native Prairie Credit enacted.

1981 — Certain property of senior citizens’ groups and shelters for do-
mestic abuse exempted.

— Reinstated flexible homestead base adjustment.

— Rental valuation of agricultural land used if less than market
value (for taxes payable beginning in 1984).

— Classification ratios for commercial-industrial property and
certain apartment buildings reduced.

— Targeting credit (part of property tax refund) modified.

— Agricultural mill rate credit made more progressive.

— Limitation on certain aid and credit entitlements enacted.

— Overall levy limitations law changed.

1982 — Enterprise Zone classification of property created.

— Reduced assessments for property damaged by a natural disas-
ter enacted with state payments to offset local revenue loss.
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1983 — Homestead credit percentage reduced to 54 %.

— Classification ratios for homestead property and certain apart-
ments changed.

— Agricultural property tax credit changed.

— Classification ratio on commercial industrial property re-
duced.

-~ Payment dates moved up 15 days.

— Additional classification ratios for enterprise zone property
created and state paid credit for enterprise zone business en-
acted.

— Provided exemption for direct satellite broadcasting facilities.

— Enacted a new property tax refund formula with new maxi-
mums.

— Targeting refund program amended and additional targeting
refund enacted.

— Attached machinery aid for cities and towns eliminated.

— Reduced assessment aid repealed.

— Removed 240-acre limit for agricultural homesteads.

1984 — Classification ratio for commercial-industrial property re-
duced.

— Agricultural credit increased.

— Repealed rent capitalization for agricultural valuation pur-
poses.

— Provided for a targeting credit for taxes payable in 1985.

— Provided for exemption of hydropower facilities leased from
governmental units.

— Local option tax relief authorized in cases where homesteads
are destroyed.

— Provided state reimbursement for transit levy differentials in
metro area.

1985 — Maximum homestead credit increased to $700.

-— Agricultural credit increased and maximum credit eliminated.

— Classification ratios changed for some types of property.

— Classes of property reorganized and renumbered.

1986 — Owners of agricultural land allowed a one-month grace period
for the payment of the second half of their property tax.

Comparison With Other States

General rate comparisons cannot be made due to the complex and differ-
ing property tax systems among states. For comparison purposes, the
table below uses effective tax rates calculated by the Advisory Commis-
sion on Intergovernmental Relations on homes with EH.A. insured
mortgages in 1984.

Effective Average
State Property Tax Rate
California 1.02%
IHinois 1.63
Iowa 1.63
Michigan 2.78
MINNESOTA 0.99
New York 2.80
North Dakota 1.25
South Dakota 1.63
Texas 1.32
Wisconsin 2.00
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TREE GROWTH TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 270.32

Tax Base: Five acres or more of forest lands, used exclusively for the
growing of continuous forest crops.

Rates: Lands growing commercial forest types are taxed at 30% of the
value of annual growth. Temporarily nonproductive forests are taxed at
5¢ per acre or 15¢ per acre for noncompliance with the reforestation
agreement. Permanently nonproductive types are taxed at 5¢ per acre.

Credit: For each acre of land planted and maintained with at least 500
commercial trees, the owner is eligible for an annual credit of 50¢ per
acre. The credit is applied against taxes on other lands within the same
governmental subdivision and is allowed for ten years.

Special Provisions: The tree growth tax is in lieu of all other property
taxes. The owner must apply to, and receive approval from, the county
to have qualifying forest lands come under this tax.

Revenue

Collections: FY. 1984 N/A
FY. 1985 $376,000
EY. 1986 $396,000

Disposition: Distributed in the same manner as the property tax.

Administration
Agencies: County auditor, county board.

Who Pays: Those who receive county board approval to have their for-
est lands so taxed.

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax.

History of Major Changes

1957 — Enacted.

1959 — Repealed section holding that a landowner may not have more
than 10,000 acres in one county under this tax.

1967 — Added that ad valorem taxes could not be assessed if an agree-
ment had been in effect for at least 6 years.

AUXILIARY FOREST TAX

Minnesota Statutes, Section 88.50

Tax Base: Any 35 acres or more of land that is suitable for forestation
or any wood lot containing 5 to 40 acres.

Rates: Land tax — annual tax of 10¢ per acre. Yield tax — 10% to 40%

of value of timber, the rate determined by the year of the harvest in rela-
tion to the contract period.
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Special Provisions: This tax is in lieu of all other property taxes. The
land is made an auxiliary forest upon the owner’s application, subject to
county board approval. Auxiliary forest tax applies for the duration of
the contract. No new auxiliary forest contracts are allowed, or existing
contracts extended, after June 30, 1974.

Revenue

Collections: EY. 1984 N/A
FY. 1985 $61,000
FY. 1986 $61,000

Disposition: Proceeds are credited to the funds of the affected taxing
districts (county, city or town, school district, any special district) in the
same proportion as if the property tax had been levied.

Administration
Agencies: County auditor, county board,

Who Pays: Those who received county board approval on or before
June 30, 1974 to have their lands designated auxiliary forests.

Payment Dates: Land tax — annually by May 31. Yield tax — at time of
harvest.

History of Major Changes

1927 — Forestation Amendment established tax on any tract of forest-
able land less than 160 acres and woodlots between 20 and 40
acres. Land tax was 8¢ per $1 of land’s assessed value, Yield
tax was 10% of the value of marketable timber.

1929 — Land tax changed to 5¢ per acre of auxiliary forest land.

1945 — Size of land plot changed to any 35 acres or more and woodlots
between 5 and 40 acres. Rate changed to 6¢ per acre.

1947 — Yield tax graduated between 40% and 10% depending on year
of harvest.

1957 — Rate changed to 10¢ per acre.

1974 — Prohibited new auxiliary forest contracts from being issued
and existing contracts from being extended, effective after
June 30, 1974,

SEVERED MINERAL INTERESTS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.165

Tax Base: Mineral interests in real estate owned separately from the in-
terest in the surface of the real estate.

Rates: Annual rate of 25¢ per acre or portion thereof with a minimum
tax of $2 per parcel.

Exemptions: Mineral interests taxed under other laws relating to min-

eral taxation or those exempt from taxation due to constitutional or statu-
tory provisions.

52

Revenue

Collections: Counties are responsible for collections.

Disposition: 80% of the proceeds are distributed in the same manner as
the property tax. The remaining 20% is deposited in the state general
fund and credited to the Indian business loan account,

Administration .

Agency: County auditor, county treasurer. county recorder.

Who Pays: Owners of mineral interests owned separately from the af-
fected real estate.

Payment Dates: Annually at the same time as the property tax.

History of Major Changes
1973 — Enacted.

UNMINED TACONITE TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.26

Tax Base: Taconite or iron sulphides in a forty-acre tract of land from

which the production of iron ore concentrate is less than 1,000 tons in,

that year.

Rates: Local mill rate times assessed value (43% of market value) of
the taconite or iron sulphides. Maximum tax of $10 per acre.

Revenue

Counties are responsible for collections. The disposition is the same as
the property tax.

Administration

The tax is paid to the county auditor by owners of taconite mineral inter-
ests or leasee’s (usually mining companies). The payment dates are the
same as the property tax.

History of Major Changes

1941 — Enacted at $1 per acre maximum.
1977 — Increased to $10 per acre maximum,
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LOCAL SALES AND EXCISE TAXES
LOCAL SALES TAX

Minnesota has a statutory prohibition against the imposition of any local
sales or income tax without specific legislative authorization. There is,
therefore, no local option sales tax. Local sales taxes specially autho-
rized are described below. *

Rate Tax Base

Bloomington: 5%  Transient lodging
5% Liquor and beer
3%  Admission to spectator events
1%  State sales tax base

Duluth: 1%  State sales tax base
1%  Certain food and beverages
5%  Transient lodging

Minneapolis: 0.5%  State sales tax base
3%  Transient lodging
6%  Transient lodging — more than 50 rooms
3%  Admissions, amusements
3%  Liquor and beer (downtown, on-sale only)
3%  Restaurant food (downtown)

Rochester: 3%  Transient lodging
1%  State sales tax base
$20  Per motor vehicle sold at retail

St. Cloud: 5%  Transient lodging
1%  Certain food and beverages

St. Paul: 3%  Transient lodging
5%  Transient lodging — 50 or more rooms.

*Not all authorized taxes are currently imposed. All cities and towns are
now authorized to impose up to 3 % tax on transient lodging for tourism
promotion.

Special Provisions: Authority has been given to the Metropolitan
Sports Facilities Commission to tax lodging and liquor receipts at a vari-
able rate in the City of Minneapolis.
Revenue
Collections: *

F.Y. 1986 (000’s)

Duluth $5,758
Bloomington 2,079
Minneapolis 2,552
Rochester 6,239
St. Cloud 156
St. Paul 727
Stadium Commission 3]k

Disposition: Local governments.

*Collection amounts for other selected cities are available from the De-
partment of Revenue, Tax Research Division.
**Collection of accounts receivable.
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Administration

‘Who Pays: Purchasers or consumers of taxable goods and services.
Who Remits: Holders of city sales tax permits.

Due Dates: The 25th of the month following the sales month.

History of Major Changes

1969 — Minneapolis imposed a 3% tax on admissions, amusements,
and transient lodging.

1970 — St. Paul, Duluth and Bloomington imposed a 3% tax on tran-
sient lodging.

1971 — Rochester imposed a 3% tax on transient lodging.

-— Local governments are prohibited from imposing or increas-
ing sales or income taxes.

1973 — Duluth is authorized to impose a 1% ‘“piggyback” general
sales tax.

1977 — Duluth is authorized to increase rate to 2% on food and bever-
ages.

1979 — St. Cloud is authorized to impose a 3% tax on transient lodg-
ing.

— Metropolitan Sports Commission lodging and liquor tax au-
thorized.

1980 — Duluth is exempted from prohibition against increasing rates
without legislative approval.

1983 — Authorized any city to impose a lodging tax of up to 3% for
tourism promotion. Rochester is authorized to impose a *“pig-
gyback” sales tax of up to 1% and a motor vehicle excise tax of
up to $20 per car.

1985 — Extended to towns the authority to impose a local lodging tax
of up to 3% for tourism promotion.

1986 — Minneapolis is authorized to impose the following new taxes
related to Convention Center funding: 1) “piggyback” sales
and use taxes of 0.5%; 2) a 3% sales tax on liquor and beer
(downtown only); 3) an additional 3% lodging tax on facilities
with more than 50 rooms; and 4) a 3% sales tax on restaurant
food (downtown only).

— St. Paul is authorized to impose an additional 2% tax on tran-
sient lodging facilities with 50 rooms or more. At least 95% of
the proceeds must be used to fund a convention bureau.

— To pay for development of the former Metropolitan Stadium
site, Bloomington is authorized to impose a 1 % *‘piggyback”
sales tax within a designated special district. The city is also
authorized to impose a 5% tax on transient lodging and a 5%
sales tax on liquor and beer.

— St. Cloud is authorized to fund a possible convention center by
imposing: 1) a 1 % sales tax on certain food and beverages; and
2) an additional 2 % lodging tax.
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GROSS EARNINGS TAXES

LOCAL GROSS EARNINGS TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Sections 295.37 and 451.07

Tax Base: Gross earnings of trust companies and utilities operating in
certain cities and counties.
Rates:
e Trust companies: 6%
e Utility companies: Varies by city
Revenue
Collections: Local units collect tax.

Disposition: Local revenue funds.

Administration
Who Pays: Utilities and trust companies.
Payment Dates:

¢ Trust companies — March ist.
e Utility companies — established locally.
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SEVERANCE TAXES

SAND AND GRAVEL OCCUPATION TAX
Minnesota Statutes, Section 298.75

Tax Base: Aggregate material removed from gravel pits or deposits.
Rates: 10¢ per cubic yard or 7¢ per ton of aggregate material.

Revenue
Collections: Individual counties collect tax.

Disposition: 60% distributed to county road and bridge fund, 30% to
townships and cities for road and bridge purposes, and 10% for restora-
tion of abandoned pits.

Administration

Who Pays: Those removing aggregate material from pits or deposits.

Payment Dates: Quarterly.

History of Major Changes

From 1961-1979, seven counties had received authority to impose this
tax through special legislation.

1980 — Gave all counties the option of imposing such tax at county dis-
cretion.

1982 — Uniform rate and proceed disposition provisions enacted and
extended the tax to all “‘aggregate materials.”’

1983 — Extends tax on aggregate materials to importers as well as op-
erators. Specifies 26 counties subject to tax.

1984 — Exempted certain counties from requirement to impose tax.
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SECTION TWO



D

STATE-LOCAL FISCAL RELATIONS

Minnesota utilizes what may be termed a “‘broad-based” revenue sys-
tem to help pay the costs of local government. Essentially, this means
that a large amount of state tax revenues are used to finance local units.

Over aperiod of years, the state has taken on an ever greater responsibil-
ity for financing various local functions. State aid payments are made
for both the general support of local governments and for specific pur-
poses, e.g., certain educational costs.

This section describes the major state-local aid programs in Minnesota,
It is intended to provide only a general description of the state-local fis-
cal system; miscellaneous aids and grants to local governments are not
included.

LOCAL AIDS

Local Government Aid — Enacted in 1971, this aid supports general
operations of local governmental units. Counties, cities, and towns re-
ceive distributions in two payments on July 15th and December 15th.

Homestead Credit Aid — The amount of homestead credit is subtracted
from the tax statement, and the taxpayer pays only the net amount. Then
the state reimburses school districts, county, city and town govern-
ments, and special taxing districts for the tax relief provided homestead

property.

Attached Machinery Aid (including School District Attached Ma-
chinery Aid) — Reimbursements are made each year to certain school
districts and county governments for lost revenue due to the exemption
of ponderous machinery and equipment from real property taxation.

School Agricultural Credit — Aid is paid to school districts for the
credit which is allowed to agricultural land, timberland, and noncom-
mercial seasonal recreational residential property.

Police and Fire Aid — Aid is given to qualifying municipal fire depart-
ments, independent non-profit fire fighting corporations, county sheriff
departments, and municipal police departments.

All Other Aids — Includes Taconite Aid Reimbursement, Wetlands
Credit and Reimbursement, Native Prairie Credit and Reimbursement,
Power Line Credit, Agricultural Preserves Credit, Insurance Surcharge
Aid and Reduced Assessment Credit.
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PUBLIC WELFARE AIDS

A combination of federal, state, and county funds are used to finance
public welfare payments.

Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) — Though federal,
state, and county monies are used to finance this program, payments are
made at the county level. Eligibility involves low or no income status
and lack of other assets.

Minnesota Supplemental Aid Program (MSA) — This program supple-
ments the federal Supplemental Security Income (S.S.1.) program for
the aged, blind, or disabled. The majority of funds are state provided,
but county funds are also used.

Medical Assistance — Funds from this program are paid to doctors,
nursing homes, pharmacists, etc., for medical services provided to wel-
fare recipients.

General Assistance Programs — These cash payments are made to low
income persons who do not qualify for AFDC, MSA, or Medical Assist-
ance.

Emergency Assistance — Cash assistance for families with children.

Preadmission Screening/Alternative Care Grants — This program pays
for: 1) screening people who are entering nursing homes; and 2) the cost
of alternative forms of care (provided the cost does not exceed the cost of
nursing home care).

EDUCATION AIDS

The Department of Education administers four major aid programs for
the state’s school districts. These are as follows:

Foundation Aid — Amounts payable for this general support aid are
based on the required expenditure per pupil, local tax support, and
amounts of other aids expected.

Transportation Aid — This aid is tied to local support and is based on
the number of pupils requiring transportation.

Special Education Aid — The state pays districts for employing teach-
ers in special education and contributes a percentage of the cost for sup-
plies and equipment.

Vocational Aid — The state pays a percentage of specified costs for vo-
cational education programs.
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HIGHWAY AND MASS TRANSIT AID

Highway aid is financed from the gasoline excise tax, motor vehicle k-
cense fees, and beginning with EY. 1985, a portion of motor vehicle ex-
cise tax revenues. It is distributed through the following funds:

County State Aid Highway Fund — The formula for distributing these
funds is based on vehicle registrations, highway mileage, and need.

Municipal State Aid Street Fund — These funds are distributed on the
basis of need and population.

The level of State funding in FY. 1986 for the various aid categories is
indicated as follows:

Local Aids

Local Government Aid $ 288,417,245
Homestead Credit Aid 536,596,811
Taconite Homestead Credit 10,675,938
Attached Machinery Aid! 2,381,787
School Agricuitural Credit 106,667,822
Police and Fire Aids 24,441,262
Other Aids 2,856,646

$ 972,037,511

Welfare Aids

AFDC $ 111,132,800
Minnesota Supplemental Aid 16,257,400
Medical Assistance 447,356,800
General Assistance 44,571,500
Work Readiness Grants 14,059,500
Emergency Assistance 346,500
General Assistance Medical Care 56,599,500
Alternative Care Grants 10,291,000

$ 700,615,000

Education Aids

Foundation Aid $ 703,165,000
Transportation Aid 90,246,100
Special Education Aid 138,349,000
Vocational Aid 34,537,800
All Other Aids 56,748,748

$1,023,046,648

Transportation Aid

County $ 137,863,423
Municipal 43,346,660

$ 181,210,083

!Includes School District Attached Machinery Aid.
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A general comparison of fiscal year 1986 state tax collections and aid
expenditures is shown below. Property tax refund amounts were in-
cluded because they represent payments by the state to individuals for
tax relief purposes.

State Tax Collections
$4,807.8 Million

Other Taxes
$638.7 Miltion

Severance and Gross Earnings
$158.4 Million

Highway Gasoline
$334.0 Million

Corporation and
Bank Income
$367.3 Million

Local Aids
$3,058.8 Million

Sales and Use
$1,360.8 Million Transportation Aid
$181.2 Million

Property Tax Refund
$182.0 Million

Welfare Aids
$700.6 Million

Local Aids
$972.0 Million

Individual Income
$1,948.6 Million

Education Aids
$1,023.0 Million

Local Aids — $3,058.8 million
Net State Tax Collections — $4,807.8 million

= 64%
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FISCAL YEARS ENDING

JUNE 30, 1985 AND JUNE 30, 1986

F.Y. 1985 E.Y. 1986

MINNESOTA STATE TAX COLLECTIONS

EY. 1986

40.53%
6.78
0.86
0.33

0.31
0.01
0.00

28.30
4.32
6.95
0.05
0.76
0.24
0.07
2.03
0.08
0.02
0.02

1.15
0.02
0.00
0.02
0.00

1.96
0.04
0.02
0.00

0.02
0.07

0.00

—0.02

0.01
0.08
0.01

Net Net
Collections  Collections % of Total
(000%s) (000’s)

Income Taxes
Individual $2,233,451  $1,948,595
Corporation 353,418 326,124
Bank Excise 26,950 41,187
Reciprocity 16,153 15,951
Estate Taxes
Estate 16,758 14,839
Inheritance 1,101 439
Gift 111 41
Sales and Excise Taxes
General Sales & Use 1,347,420 1,360,789
*Motor Vehicle Excise 196,992 207,566
Highway Fuels 347,794 334,036
Aviation Fuels 2,314 2,232
Intoxicating Liquor 37,975 36,513
Fermented Malt Beverages 11,675 11,408
Wine 2,777 3,585
Cigarettes 82,170 97,700
Tobacco Products 3,144 3,933
*Mortgage Registration 12,849 1,179
*Deed Transfer 13,196 1,013
Gross Earnings Taxes
Telephone 54,340 55,494
Telegraph 520 787
Railroad, Regular (558) 0
Taconite Railroad 0 1,189
Freight Line 0 0
**Insurance Gross

Premiums 74,201 94,303
Fire Marshall 1,546 1,915
Fireman’s Relief Surcharge 716 975
Rural Electric Cooperatives 42 42
Gambling Taxes
Charitable Gambling 444 6,380
Pari-Mutuel N.A. 5,442
Hazardous and Solid Waste
Taxes
Hazardous Waste Tax 995 1,017
Solid Waste Tax 1,220 3,210
Minerals Taxes
**¥Taconite Production 64,514 0
Taconite Occupation 10,606 (961)
Iron Ore Occupation 380 531
Taconite Royalty 3,936 3,715
Iron Ore Royalty 523 415
Miscellaneous Royalty 5 3

0.00
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In Lieu of Property Taxes

Motor Vehicle Licenses 212,696 223,307 4.64
Aircraft Licenses 1,343 1,310 0.03
Airflight Property 4,716 4,807 0.10
Collected by:

Department of Revenue 4,726,956 4,363,799 90.76
Other Agencies 411,475 444,005 9.24
Total Collections $5,138,431  $4,807,804 100.00%

*Effective July 1, 1985, these taxes are credited to each county’s rev-
enue fund, instead of the state general fund.
**Includes Surplus Line, Unauthorized Insurance and Ocean Marine
Profits Tax.
#k*Starting in FY, 1986, the taconite production tax is collected by
counties and IRRRB.
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MINNESOTA LOCAL TAX COLLECTIONS
FISCAL YEARS ENDING
JUNE 30, 1985 AND JUNE 30, 1986

Property Taxes!

Real Property?

Personal Property

Special Assessments

Mobile Home Property?

Tree Growth*

Auxiliary Forest?

2B Timberland Classification*
Rural Powerlines

Minerals Taxes
Taconite Production
Sales Tax

Bloomington

Duluth

Minneapolis
Rochester

St. Cloud

St. Paul

Stadium Commission

Gross Earning Taxes

Minneapolis*
St. Paul

Footnotes

IFiscal year 1985 property taxes were levied in calendar year 1984 and
were payable in calendar year 1985. Fiscal year 1986 property taxes
were levied in calendar year 1985 and were payable in calendar year
1986. Taxes on mobile homes are levied and payable in the same year.

2

After Credits

Regular Homestead Credit
Taconite Homestead Credit
Supplemental Homestead Credit
Agricultural Credit

Native Prairie Credit

Wetlands Credit

Power Line Credit

Agricultural Preserves Credit
Enterprise Zone Credit

3After Credits

Regular Homestead Credit
Taconite Credit
Agricultural Credit

F.Y. 1985
Amount
(000)

$2,147,405
79,372
136,671
5,034

376

61

5,576
6,426

2,102
5,497
2,655
6,237

157

735
1,610

9,977
15,622

Fiscal Year
1985
(000)

$532,357
10,266
314
106,624
139

422

152

391
1,014

$4,240
96
44

E.Y. 1986
Amount
000)

$2,282,521 (E)
86,818 (E)
140,970 (E)
5,555 (E)

65,0923

2,079
5,758
2,552
6,239
156
727
31

N/A
15,160

Fiscal Year
1986
(000)

$577,349 (E)
10,487 (E)
341 (B)
126,305 (E)
130 (E)

396 (E)

171 (E)

651 (E)
1,078 (E)

$4,757 (E)
89 (B)
51 (B)

4Fiscal year figures are as of calendar years ending 12/31.

sStarting in FY. 1986, the taconite production tax is collected by coun-

ties and IRRRB.
(E) Estimated.




STATE TAX RANKINGS
Per Capita Personal Income
Calendar Year 1985

. Alaska

. District of Columbia
. Connecticut

. New Jersey

. Massachusetts
. California

. New York

. Maryland

. New Hampshire
10. Colorado

1. Illinois

2. Virginia

13. Nevada

14, Delaware

15. MINNESOTA
16. Rhode Island
17. Washington
18. Hawaii

19. Kansas

20. Florida

21. Michigan

22. Texas

23. Pennsylvania
24, Nebraska

25. Missouri

26. Ohio

27. Wyoming

28. Wisconsin
29. Arizona

30. Oregon

31. Towa

32. Georgia

33, Indiana

34. Oklahoma
35. Vermont

36. North Dakota
37. Maine

38. North Carolina
39. Louisiana
40. Tennessee
41, South Dakota
42. Idaho

43. Montana

44, New Mexico
45. Kentucky

46. Alabama

47. South Carolina
48. Utah

49. Arkansas

50. West Virginia
51. Mississippi

D00~ NN RN —

U.S. Average

— Minnesota — Amount
1982 11,290
1983 11,845
1984 13,247

68

$18,187
18,168
18,089
17,211
16,380
16,065
16,050
15,864
14,964
14,812
14,738
14,542
14,488
14,272
14,087
13,906
13,876
13,814
13,775
13,742
13,608
13,483
13,437
13,281
13,244
13,226
13,223
13,154
12,795
12,622
12,594
12,543
12,446
12,232
12,117
12,052
11,887
11,617
11,274
11,243
11,161
11,120
10,974
10,914
10,824
10,673
10,586
10,493
10,476
10,193
9,187

$13,867

OO~ D W —

PERCENTAGE OF PERSONAL
INCOME REMAINING AFTER
STATE AND LOCAL TAXES

. New Hampshire
. Missouri

. Florida

. Tennessee

. Virginia

. Idaho

. Arkansas

. Alabama

. South Dakota
. Texas

. Georgia

. Nebraska

. Indiana

. Kentucky

. Colorado

. Kansas

. North Carolina
. Nevada

. Mississippi

. Illinois

. Connecticut

. Ohio

. New Jersey

. South Carolina
. California

. Maryland

. Pennsylvania
. Washington

. Massachusetts
. Oklahoma

. Towa

. Rhode Island
. Arizona

. Delaware

. Maine

. Oregon

. North Dakota
. New Mexico
, Vermont

. Louisiana

. West Virginia
. Michigan

. Hawaii

. Utah

. Wisconsin

. MINNESOTA
. Montana

. District of Columbia
. New York

. Wyoming

. Alaska

U.S. Average

— Minnesota —
1982
1983
1984

Amount
88.46
87.63
87.12

92.47%
91.77
91.40
91.14
91.01
90.81
90.76
90.72
90.66
90.60
90.58
90.58
90.51
90.45
90.22
90.15
90.15
90.04
90.01
90.00
89.96
89.94
89.84
89.84
89.76
89,73
89.69
89.66
89.53
89.46
89.43
89.37
89.24
89.09
88.83
88.75
88.74
88.56
88.51
88.48
88.20
88.18
88.04
88.01
87.75
87.46
87.40
86.16
85.46
80.49
74.79

89.43%




STATE AND LOCAL TAX COLLECTIONS STATE AND LOCAL
Per Capita — Fiscal Year 1985 PROPERTY TAX COLLECTIONS
P ita — Fiscal Year 1985
L Alska $4,584.94 er Capita iscal Year
2. Wyoming 2,579.68 1. Wyomin $1,101.39
3. District of Columbia 2,515.09 2. Al{lska € 1,071.55
4. New York 2,333.66 3. District of Columbia 726.99
5. Connecticut 1’816 19 4. New Jersey 717.12
6. MINNESOTA }’;gggg 5. Connecticut 703.05
7. New Jersey » 198, 6. New Hampshire 692.78
8. Massachusetts 1,715.39 7. New York 688.16
9. Hawaii 1,651.81 8. Montana 631.28
10. California 1,644.80 9. Michigan 618.94
11. Maryland 1,628.56 10. Oregon 617.40
12. Wisconsin 1,610.98 11. Rhode Island 588.06
13. Michigan 1,608.63 12, Wisconsin 568.55
14. Delaware 1,557.62 13. Massachusetts 567.68
15. Rhode Island 1,478.65 14. Nebraska 541,28
16. Tllinois 1,474.37 15. Vermont 531.54
17. Colorado 1,448.41 16. Illinois 525.69
18. Nevada 1,443.49 7. lowa 520.29
19. Washington 1,435.30 18. Kansas 500.85
20. Oregon 1,420.26 19. Colorado 497.24
21, Vermont 1,391.97 20. MINNESOTA 496.89
22. Pennsylvania 1,384.82 21. Maine 471.24
23. Montana i;g?]égg 22 Texas 465.87
24.  Arizona »2 /0. 23. South Dakota 455.14
25. North Dakota 1,357.08 24. California 420.37
26. Kansas i’ggggg 25. Washington 411.21
217. Iovya : 1’330.58 26. Maryland 406.64
28.  Ohio U397 60 27. Florida 371.90
29, Maine el 28. Indiana 3717.63
30. Virginia 1,307.47 29. Ohio 373.86
31. Louisiana 1,298.33 30. Arizona 367.06
32. Oklahoma i%ggéﬁ 31. Pennsylvania 366.98
33, Texas »e0 1 32. Virginia 365.72
34. Utah 1,258.34 33, Utah 345.69
35. Nebraska 1,251.29 34, North Dakota 337.27
36. New Mexico 1,248.56 35. Nevada 315.51
37. West Virginia 1,202.52 36. Georgia 294.72
38. Georgia 1,181.49 37. Hawaii 292.73
39. Florida 1,181.45 38. Idaho 280.48
40. Indiana 1,180.84 39. North Carolina 246.62
41, North Carolina 1,144.42 40. South Carolina 239.37
42, New Hampshire 1,126.28 41. Missouri 238.71
43. Missouri _ 1,090.59 42. Oklahoma 225.65
44. South Carolina 1,075.97 43. Tennessee 217.89
45. South Dakota 1,042.74 44. Mississippi 210.39
46. Kentucky 1,033.37 45. Delaware 203.72
47. Idaho 1,022.09 46. West Virginia 198.85
48. Tennessee 995.73 47. Kentucky 182.20
49, Alabama 989.95 48. Louisiana 176.45
S0. Arkansas 967.49 49, Arkansas 173.48
51.  Mississippi 917.91 50. New Mexico 149.82
U.S. Average $1,465.16 51. Alabama ., 115.66
U.S. Average $ 434.60
— Minnesota — Amount Rank g
1982 1,289.70 10 — Minnesota — Amount Rank
1983 1,473.71 3 1982 341.50 25
1984 1,706.43 5 1983 413.11 19
1984 466.15 19
70 7




A B o Tf - -
%
STATE INDIVIDUAL : STATE SALES TAX COLLECTIONS
INCOME TAX COLLECTIONS Per Capita — Fiscal Year 1985
Per Capita — Fiscal Year 1985
1. Hawaii $648.61
1. Delaware $587.76 2. Washington 607.98
2. New York 584.56 3. Nevada 489.65
3. Massachusetts 542.59 4. Connecticut 484.73
4. MINNESOTA 532.67 5. Arizona 426.54
5. Oregon 487.80 6. New Mexico 418.75
6. Wisconsin 420.76 7. Florida 411.09
7. California 408.20 8. West Virginia 410.65
8. Hawaii 407.40 9. Indiana 384.24
9. Maryland 402.61 10. California 367.26
10. Virginia 341.43 11. Tennessee 365.05
1. Michigan 335.44 12, Mississippi 356.74
12.  North Carolina 323.50 13. Wyoming 353.23
13. Rhode Island 291.06 14. Utah 337.64
14. Georgia 287.54 15. MINNESOTA 321.54
15. lowa 285.91 16. Wisconsin 304.40
16. Colorado 280.91 ,, 17. Maine 304.10
17. Vermont 271.31 : 18. South Carolina 302.00
18. Utah 261.83 19. New Jersey 298.97
19. West Virginia 259.91 20.  Arkansas 292.73
20. Ohio 258.90 21. Rhode Island 283.30
21. Idaho 256.95 22. Missouri 282.01
22. New Jersey 256.15 23. Michigan 279.72
23. Maine 255.35 . 24, IHinois 275.72
24. South Carolina 254.20 25. North Dakota 273.66
25. Kansas 246.31 26. Ohio 268.11
26. Indiana 234.05 27. Louisiana 266.06
27. Tllinois 225.48 28. lowa 262.75
28. Oklahoma 220.27 29.  South Dakota 260.68
29. Montana 219.20 30, Texas 259.31
30. Pennsylvania 218.42 ‘ 31. Georgia 256.49
31. Missouri 209.50 32, Pennsylvania 254.73
32. Kentucky 208.42 t 33. Maryland 250.10
33. Arkansas 199.85 34, Massachusetts 246.99
34. Nebraska 198.54 35. New York 237.81
35. Arizona 190.97 36. Idaho 237.36
36. Alabama 176.62 37. Colorado 235.99
37. Louisiana 117.54 . 38. Kansas 223.24
38. North Dakota 111.21 39.  Kentucky 220.20
39. Mississippi 99,29 40. Nebraska 212.60
40. Connecticut 91.88 41. Alabama 203.66
41. New Mexico 58.61 42. Oklahoma 191.01
42, New Hampshire 24.53 43.  North Carolina 185.39
43. Tennessee 12.98 44.  Vermont 164.39
44, Alaska 2.43 45. Virginia 162.62
South Dakota 0.00 Delaware 0.00
Florida 0.00 New Hampshire 0.00
Texas 0.00 Alaska 0.00
Washington 0.00 Oregon 0.00
Wyoming 0.00 Montana 0.00
Nevada 0.00 U.S. Average* $299.53
U.S. Average* $312.26 *Based on a 45 state average.
*Based on a 44 state average. — Minnesota — Amount Rank
— Minnesota — Amount Rank 1982 214.67 20
1982 380.06 4 1983 239.44 17
1983 477.31 2 1984 300.54 14
1984 556.55 2
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CORPORATE INCOME TAX COLLECTIONS
Per Capita — Fiscal Year 1985

1. Alaska $192.71
2. Connecticut 154.22
3. Michigan 153.15
4, Massachusetts 146.22
5. California 138.75
6. Delaware 123.89
7. North Dakota 123.28
8. New Jersey 122.08
9. New York 104.59
10. New Hampshire 95.61
11. MINNESOTA 91.41
12, Wisconsin 86.63
13. Pennsylvania 79.56
14, North Carolina 78.38
15. Montana 75.87
16. Rhode Island 72.83
17. Georgia 69.99
18, Louisiana 65.52
19. Vermont 65.34
20. Kansas 65.17
21. Arizona 63.48
22. Illinois 61.21
23. South Carolina 59.69
24. Oregon 57.25
25. Kentucky 56.71
26. Maryland 56.04
27. Arkansas 55.21
28, Tennessee 54.43
29. Iowa 53.54
30. Alabama 52.79
31. West Virginia 51.02
32. Virginia 50.43
33, Hawaii 46.22
34, Maine 45.99
35, New Mexico 44,18
36. Idaho 42.47
37. Mississippi 40.75
38. Ohio 40.69
39. Florida 39.95
40. Indiana 32.43
41. Missouri 31.93
42. Utah 31.73
43. Oklahoma 31.66
44, Colorado 31.46
45, Nebraska 30.49
46. South Dakota 23.92
Nevada 0.00
Washington 0.00
‘Wyoming 0.00
Texas 0.00
U.S. Average* $ 81.69
*Based on a 46 state average.
- Minnesota — Amount Rank
1982 79.81 8
1983 61.29 12
1984 73.40 10
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PER CAPITA STATE AND

LOCAL EXPENDITURES
MINNESOTA AND U.S. AVERAGE, Fiscal Year 1985
(Direct, General Expenditures —

Including Capital Outlay)

Minnesota u.s.
Per Capita  Per Capita
Education
Elementary & Secondary $ 656.70 $ 552.85
Higher Education 241.84 219.13
Other Education 37.75 35.12
Total Education 936.29 807.10
Libraries 12.92 11.31
Public Welfare 430.88 299.63
Health & Hospitals 232.21 208.39
Highways 291.42 188.62
Airports 14.87 15.69
Police 75.78 87.80
Fire 26.21 37.35
Corrections 41.10 53.78
Sewerage 54.64 51.12
Housing & Development 55.02 43.45
Nat. Resources & Parks 107.12 73.38
Financial Admin. 49.48 43.717
Judicial & Legal 41.63 39.55
Public Buildings 53.15 37.62
Interest on Debt 195.77 135.83
All Other 223.95 178.94
Totals $2,842.44  $2,313.33
Minnesota  Minnesota
Per Capita as Pct.
Rank of U.S.
Education
Elementary & Secondary 6 119%
Higher Education 21 110
Other Education 21 107
Total Education 10 116
Libraries 16 114
Public Welfare 5 144
Health & Hospitals 12 111
Highways 9 155
Airports 22 95
Police 24 86
Fire 34 70
Corrections 31 76
Sewerage 19 107
Housing & Development 9 127
Nat. Resources & Parks 11 146
Financial Admin. 16 113
Judicial & Legal 17 105
Public Buildings 9 141
Interest on Debt 12 144
All Other N/A 125
Total Rank/Pct. 5 123
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