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Minnesota Tax Handbook

A Profile of State and Local Taxes
in Minnesota
1980-81 Edition

This handbook contains a summary ‘of the state and local tax
system in Minnesota. The first section provides a brief profile
of each tax type, including tax base and rates; collection
amounts, comparisons with selected states, and historical sum-
maries. The second section provides a description of the state-
local fiscal system in Minnesota, and provides information on
state and local tax collections.

Note: Collection amounts stated for the various taxes refer to
~ net collections after refunds. The comparison information for
selected states is based on laws in existence for 1980,
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INCOME TAXES
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
(M.S. 290.03) .

Tax Base: Federal adjusted gross income plus or minus state
modifications.

Rates:
Minnesota .
Taxable Income* Rates
$ 0—8%::.598 1.6%
599 =~ 1,197 2.2
1,198 —  2;393 3.5
2,394 - 3,589 5.8
3,590 — 4,785 7.3
4,786 — 5,981 8.8
- 5982 - 8,373 10.2
8,374 — 10,765 11.5
10,766 — 14,951 12.8
14,952 — 23,920 14.0
23,921 — 32,889 15.0
32,890 and Over 16.0

*Reflects taxable income brackets for 1980 tax year. Brackets
are indexed annually at 85% of the increase in the Minneapolis-
St. Paul Consumer Price Index.

Computation: ;
FEDERAL ADJUSTED from federal return
GROSS INCOME )
plus :
Federal Income Tax Refunds
, Received in Previous Year
ADDITIONS TO ‘ 10% of Long Term Capital
FEDERAL ADJUSTED ~ Gains
GROSS INCOME Out of State Property or
Business Loss
Farm Loss :
Municipal Bond Interest
minus Other Additions
‘ o State Income Tax Refunds
SUBTRACTIONS FROM Pension Income
FEDERAL ADJUSTED Military Pay
- GROSS INCOME Interest of U.S. Bonds
. s Other Subtractions
. equals
\ 4
MINNESOTA

G‘ROSS INCOME

minus



FEDERAL'

INCOME

TAX PAID

equals

MINNESOTA

ADJUSTED

GROSS INCOME

minus

PERSONAL DEDUCTIONS

equ

\

MINNE
TAXABLE

tim

als

y

SOTA
INCOME

€S

\
GRADUAT

FROM
1.6% to 16%

equ.

MINNESOTA

‘mi

\

als

GROSS TAX

nus

y

NON-REFUNDABLE
CREDITS

ED RATES

Standard Deduction:

10% ‘of Minnesota Adjusted
Gross Income up to $2,000
(maximum~ to be indexed

fully, beginning in 1981).

; or
Itemized Deductions:

Medical and Dental Expenses
Taxes (Real Estate, Gasoline,
Sales, Car License)

Interest Expense
-Contributions

Casualty or Theft Losses

Miscellaneous Deductions
(union  dues, tax return
preparation fee, education
expenses, adoption expenses,
etc.)

Brackets indexed annually at
- 85% of Twin Cities CPI

Personal credits of $60 (to be

_indexed at 100% CPI in
1981) per exemption for tax-
payer, spouse, dependents,
over 65, blind, deaf, quadri-
plegic)

Income Tax Paid to Other
States .

Homemaker Credit to $50

Pollution Control Credit

Residential Energy Credit

Political Contribution Credit

equals

Choice of the smaller tax:

1. EITHER the tax calculated

from taxable income being
\ applied to the rate sched-
MINNESOTA ule minus the non-refund-
INCOME TAX able credits

2. OR the ‘low income al-
ternative  tax”  for tax-
payers having income
under specified levels

' minus ‘

Property Tax Refund

Exempt = Agricultural - Elec-
tricity Credit

Dependent Care Credit up to
$400

Gas Tax Credit

REFUNDABLE CREDITS

equals

l

NET INDIVIDUAL
INCOME TAX PAYABLE

Special Provisions:

1. Taxpayer may assign $2 from general fund to political
parties or campaign funds.

2. Property tax refund based on household income and

property tax paid is available to most homeowners and

__renters but only senior citizens, disabled persons and

renters may use the refund to reduce income taxes.
(See Property Tax.) : :

- 3. Reciprocity agreements with neighboring states exempts

. North Dakota and Wisconsin residents from filing a

- Minnesota return on earnings in this state.

4, ’[‘axpaye,rsmay~~assign one ot more dollars of their re-
fund to the Minnesota Nongame Wildlife Fund.

Revenue:

Collections: F.Y. 1978 $1,093,529,000
F.Y. 1979 $1,255,998,000
F.Y. 1980 $1,271,810,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration
Who Pays: Every individual, trust, and estate in Minnesota (or
tesiding in Minnesota) earning enough income to meet filing
requirements.

Payment Dates:

1.  Withholding of taxes on Minnesota earnings is required
~of employers. Employers remit taxes withheld on a
monthly or quarterly basis.
2. Calendar year returns for individuals must be filed by
‘April 15. Fiscal year returns are due by the 15th day of
the 4th month following the close of the fiscal year.
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3. Self-employedApersons are required to make declarations
of estimated payments in quarterly installments.

History of Major Changes

.
|
1933 — Income Tax enacted at graduated rates from 1% to E = x §°E’ o83 5 F
5%. : | £ o 88 RES 255882 & 3
1937 — Graduated rates increased (top rate equaled 10%) . 2% 3% =H3358Y E &
and credits replaced original exemptions. { = & ® 38 PES il
1949 — Standard deduction of 10% up to $500 established. . P ‘ 5 %
5% surtax levied on the normal rate. 2 * Ned, g 3
1953 — Standard deduction increased to 10% up to $1,000; 8 33388 238%g =% oS -
1957 — 5% Veteran’s Bonus surtax levied. e [ S C22Eg S
1959 — Rates increased %%. 2 =7 i =8g” 5 8
1961 — Gross income redefined as federal adjusted gross in- . g §
come  with modifications. Withholding of " income - AR 198 &
taxes imposed. S . 2888 3389 RES § o
s p Vi p AR SO A T -2 -1
1967 — Rent credit and senior citizen credit enacted. 2T oodda = 8% 2 2
1971 '~ Married taxpayers allowed. to file separately on com- L w88 g8
bined return. Credits for feedlot pollution control 2 § 2
equipment ‘and non-public school costs established. S5 v
Rates increased from 1.5% — 12% to 1.6% — 15%. p £83 8 %
Personal credits and senior citizen and rent credits 2 5 2888 838 ,gg E%§ o =
increased. g 2> 833 T ag2 238 § E
1973 — Increased rent credit and senijor citizen tax credit. 5 E e X éé‘é 8 ;o“.,
1974 — Low income credit and political contribution credits 5 S5 & 5
adopted. Dollar checkoff for Minnesota state elec- £ - § =
tions campaign fund instituted. o § sge 58,8 g E
1975 - - Additional personal credits for deaf or blind tax- g £2 a9 REes b
payers allowed.” Rent: credit replaced by income ad- £ @i <SERE T a
justed homestead credit. Low income credit levels 5 ' [ £ 3
_ increased. g 2988 rva OF2g37 g 8 4
1977 — Exemption for military pay repealed Minimum tax £ % $ ss289 TTreg Eﬁ"ﬁg -S4 g
on preference items imposed. Out of state income E = mgnn o RoggeE 82 @ 8
included in definition of income. Dependent care o S°E &7 E2 = 8
credit established. Maximum rate increased to 18%. q 883 59 ¢ E § § ?3
Personal credits increased to $30 each. Pension income § 2 So= REE 5 é i
exclusion limited to $7,200. Income adjusted home- st S87¢ 38 ¢ §
stead credit becomes Property Tax Refund. : Lh g § & £
1978 - 18% top rate rescinded. Personal credits increased to . 88 §2 .3 &
$40. Homemaker and National Guard credits allowed. g oo Wep X8RS 29
Pt ¥ s P ¥ E KRS st — A 3'0'6 o = =
Pension  income exclusion modified. Low income S s A8 mo— -3¢ 58928 § B
credit levels and political contribution credit in- 3 b - §§°§ §v§§ E35 E g
creased. —%% $88%88 ¥ .
1979 — Personal credits mcreased to be indexed after 1980. 55 § e 8§ é
Standard deduction increased to 10% up to $2,000 - PR
(to: be indexed after 1980). Low income credit levels g & o2 ;'5 é % =
increased. Income tax brackets indexed at 85% of ,§ § 59 vE.s z
increase in CPI. 17% top rate rescinded. Pension in- & 2 § £ -§ § w“ .g.g o)
come exclusion increased to $10,000. National Guard id 2 4 §& 2588 3
credit replaced by income exclusion of military pay. % § 2.8 3y LEme.® § S§Eg
‘Political contribution credit and property tax refund 3 SREY g%”g 5 5?5 53 558582
increased. Credits allowed for pollution control ex- & g""" = a8 g5=a 5 § * o ;.{

penditures and renewable energy source expenses.
1980 — Pension income exclusion increased to $11,000. Low
income credit levels increased. Checkoff for non-game
wildlife instituted, Deduction of $200 per person for
interest and dividends allowed. Low income credit
changed to low income alternative tax. Dependent
care credit increased to federal levels. ‘




CORPORATION INCOME TAX
(M.S. 290.02)

Tax Base: Minnesota taxable net income of the corporation.

Rate: 12% of net income. 40% of federal minimum preference
tax liability.

Major Exemptions:

@ Non-profit corporations
® Cooperative associations
®  Credit unions
'® National and state banks
® Mining companies subject to Occupation Tax
Computation:
Gross Profit
Dividend Income
Interest Income
GROSS INCOME Rents and Royalties
Net Gain or Loss (50% Capital
Gains)
Other Income
minus
Compensation of Officers
Salaries and Wages
Repairs
Bad Debts
J Rents
Taxes (Not Federal Income
BUSINESS EXPENSES Taxes)
Interest Expense :
Amortization, Depreciation,
and Depletion ‘
Advertising
equals Pension and Profit Sharing;
: Employee Benefit Programs
Other Deductions
X 8
TOTAL NET INCOME
Lesser of:
times Arithmetic average of prop-
erty, payroll, and sales
ratios for Minnesota,
, 3 or
APP%&%?SQJENT Weighted factor of 15% of
property and payroll ratios
- plus 70% of sales ratio.
(Separate  Accounting and
Single Factor Sales Appor-
equals

tionment may also be used.)

MINNESOTA
NET ‘IN*COME

minus

ContributiIOns (Iimit)ed to 15%
of taxable income).
CREDITS 85% Dividend Credit (higher

for certain corporate groups).
‘equals : :

TAXABLE INCOME

times Flat 12% tax rate.

Credits against tax include:

Pollution control credit
Gross premiums tax credit

: Energy credit
TAX RATE Exempt Agricultural FElec-
© tric Credit

Minimum tax on preference

éqL als items  (40% - of federal) is

added.
v
TAX LIABILITY
Revenue
Collections: : F.Y. 1978 $268,973,000
- F.Y. 1979 - $324,126,000
F.Y. 1980 $345,223,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Who Pays: Domestic and foreign corporations which do busi-
ness in Minnesota and have gross income exceeding $5,000.

Payment Dates: Quarterly payments due by 15th day of 3rd
month, 6th month, 9th month, and 12th month of the tax
year. S

History of Major Changes

1933 — Enacted with rates graduated from 1% to 5% and a
‘ specific credit against income of $1,000 established.

1937 — 7% flat rate adopted; 6% rate effective after 1938.
Property/payroll credit enacted.

1939 — Manufacturing firms given arithmetic/ weighted option.

1947 — Specific credit reduced to $500. $10 minimum tax
adopted.

1949 — 5% special surtax added; additional $5 fee imposed.
Total rate of 6.3%.

1953 — Non-manufacturing firms - allowed . apportionment
option.

1955 — 1% surtax on taxable income added; total rate of
7.3%. .

1957 — Property/payroll credit repealed. L
1959 — 7.5% tax rate adopted; 1.8% additional levy imposed.
Total rate of 9.3%.




Illinois

Iowa

Texas

Credits:

1961 -
1967 -~
1969 —
1971 —
1973 —

1977 -
1979 -

1980 —

California

Michigan

Wisconsin

10% surtax added; total rate of 10.23%.
1% rate added; total rate of 11.33%.
Pollution control credit enacted.

Rate increased to 12%. Federal tax deduction elimi-
nated.

Minimum tax increased to $100. Destination sales
basis adopted.

Minimum preference tax adopted.

Pollution control equipment credit reinstated retro-
active to 1977. Energy credit adopted.

$100 minimum tax and $500 specific credit repealed
(effective after 1980).

Comparison With Other States

Income/Franchise Tax Rates
9.6% of net income; minimum tax of $200.

"6.5% of net income. plus 1/10th of 1% on
capital and surplus.

6% first $25,000; 8% next $75,000; 10% of
net income over $100,000.

2.35% of adjusted tax base that includes busi-
ness income, compensation paid employees,

interest payments, and depreciation of tangible
assets. Local tax may be imposed.

MINNESOTA = 12% of net income.
New: York

10% of net income or 0.178% of capital or

3% of net income plus compensation paid to

all - officers and certain stockholders less
$15,000, or $250 whichever is greater. Addi-

tional tax on subsidiary capital of 0.9 mills per

dollar, Local tax on income may be imposed.

North Dakota 3% first $3,000; 4% next $5,000; 5% next

$7,000; 6% next $10,000; 8%2% of net income
over $25,000.

South Dakota  No tax.

No tax on income; 0.425% of capital stock,
surplus; and undivided profits.

Rates graduated from 2.3% to 7.9% on ne

income over $6,000. =

BANK EXCISE TAX
‘ (M.S. 290.361)

Tax Base: Bank taxable net income.

Rates: 12% of net income. 40% of federal minimum prefereﬂce
tax liability. ~

®  Contribution credit.
® Dividend Received credit.

Revenue

Coll@ctions: :

Disposition:  State General Fund

F.Y. 1978 $23,880,000
F.Y. 1979 $32,608,000
F.Y. 1980

$36,093,000

Administration of Tax

Who Pays Tax: National and state banks having gross income
exceeding $5,000.

Payment Dates: Quarterly payments due by 15th day of 3rd
month, 6th month, 9th month, and 12th month of the tax

year.

History of Major Changes

1941 — Enacted at a rate of 8% of net income.
1949 — 5% special surtax added; total rate of 8.4%.
1955. — 1% surtax on taxable income added; total rate of

1957 .~ Property/payroll credit repealed.

1959 — 9.5% tax rate adopted; 1.9% additional levy imposed.
Total rate of 11.4%.

1961 — 10% surtax added; total rate of 12.54%.

1967 — 1% added to base rate; total rate of 13.64%.

1971 - 13.64% single rate adopted. Federal tax: deduction
eliminated.

1973 — Rate reduced to 12%.

1980 — $100 minimum tax repealed. $500 specific' credit
repealed. .

Comparisons With Other States

State
California
Illinois
Iowa

Michigan

MINNESOTA

- New York

North Dakota

South Dakota
Texas

Wisconsin

Base and Rate
Franchise tax of 11.6%.

Value of shares subject to local property tax
rates.

- 5% of net income.

Taxed under single business tax. (See Cor-
poration Income Tax.) :

k12% on nét income.

12% on net income or alternative base if
greater tax results.

5% of net income. Additional 2% privilege tax

‘rate is imposed.

6% of net income. k

“Actual share value less ‘assessed value of real

estate is subject to local property tax rate.

Rates graduated from 2.3%. to 7.9% on net
income.



ESTATE TAX
(M.S. 291.01)

Tax Base: Federal gross estate less exemptions and deductions.

Rates:
Minnesota Taxable Estate Rate
i 0-—$ 100,000 7%
100,000 — 200,000 8
200,000 — - 300,000 9
300,000 - = 500,000 : 10
500,000 — 1,000,000 11
1,000,000 and Over 12
Computation:

FEDERAL GROSS ESTATE from federal return
mimis‘

NON-MINNESOTA
PROPERTY

equals k

MINNJSOTA
GROSS ESTATE

minus o
Contributions

Exempt Insurance
Serviceman’s MIA Compensa—
EXEMPTIONS tion
Veteran’s Burial or Social
Security Benefits
Pensions and Annuities

minus
: Funeral Expenses
Attorney Fees and Admlms-
; tration Expenses
DEDUCTIONS . Debts of the Decedent
Liens and Mortgages
: Taxes Due and Payable
minus Other Expenses
FEDERAL TAX -
DEDUCTION
minus
ESTATE DEDUCTION $200,000, except for non-
residents.
equals

’

- MINNESOTA

 TAXABLE ESTATE
applied to
‘Rates graduated from 7% to
TAX RATES . 12%.
minus
< : Prior Gift Tax Credit
C,REDITS Prior Taxed Property Credit
equals '
May not be less than State
ESTATE TAX PAYABLE Death Tax  Credit allowed
for federal purposes.
Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1978 $34,094,000%
F.Y. 1979 $40,828,000*
F.Y. 1980 $41,919,000*

*Reflects collections from inheritance and gift tax which was
repealed effective January, 1980.

Disposition: 90% to State General Fund
10% returned to counties

Administration

Who Pays: Personal representative submlts a return for the
estate. For 1980, return required if federal gross estate exceeds
$161,000. After 1980 filing requirement increases to $175,000.

Paymert Dates; Tax due within nine months after death. Under
certain kco‘nditions, installment payments may be elected.

History of Major Changes

1905 — Minnesota inheritance tax first adopted. Individual
successions to property taxed at rates from 1.5% on
inheritances less than $50,000 to 5% on mhentances

. over $100,000.

1911 — Exemptions of $10,000 for spouses to $100 for non-
relatives provided. Rates from 1% on inheritances less
than $15,000 to 20% on amounts over $100,000
adopted, depending on the relationship of the heir.

1937 — Gift tax enacted to prevent evasion of inheritance
tax. Inheritance taxes increased from a maximum of
20% to 60%, not greater than 35% of value of prop-
erty.

1959 ~— Rates changed and exemptions increased.

1976 — Homestead exemption increased to $45,000. Optional

: marital exemption of 50% of the gross estate to
$250,000 adopted. Marital exemption increased to
$60,000 and equalized between spouses. Exemption
for minor child increased to $30,000.

1979 — Inheritance and gift tax repealed; replaced by estate
tax with rates graduated from 7% to 12%.

11



Comparison With Other States

MINNESOTA - Rates graduated from 7% to 12% for taxable
amounts over $1 million.

New York Rates graduated from 2% to 21% for taxable
amount over $10.1 million.

North Dakota  Tax equals maximum credit for state death
taxes allowed against federal estate tax.

California, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan; South Dakota, Texas, and
Wisconsin levy inheritance taxes instead of estate taxes. Inheri-
tance tax is based upon the amount of property transferred to
each .beneficiaty and the relationship of the beneficiary to
decedent, while estate taxes are based on the value of the
estate being transferred.

12

STATE SALES AND EXCISE TAXES

SALES AND USE TAX
(M.S. 297A.02)

Tax Base: Sale and rental of tangible personal property at retail.
Rates: 4%

Credits: Credit allowed for sales tax paid on purchases made
out of state.

Major Exemptions: Food for consumption off premises, cloth-
ing, drugs and medications; cigarettes, gasoline, publications
issued at intervals of 3 months or less, motor vehicles, ma-
terials used or consumed in agricultural or industrial produc-
tion, textbooks, and home heating fuels ffom November
through April.

Revenue ;

Collections: F.Y. 1978 $538,475,000
F.Y. 1979 $615,854,000
F.Y. 1980 $657,167,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Who Pays: Purchasers or consumers of taxable goods and ser-
vices. ; ;

Who Remits: Holders of Minnesota Sales and Use Tax Permlts
and direct pay permits collect and remit the tax.

Due Dates.k Monthly returns. — 25th day of the month follow-
ing the sales month. Quarterly returns — 25th of the month
following the sales quarter. Annual returns — January 25th of
the year following the sales yeat.

History of Major Changes

1967~ Sales tax enacted at 3 percent rate.

1971 — Rate increased to 4 percent, except for recelpts of
coin operated vending machines.

1972 — Motor vehicles subject to the motor vehicle excise

tax exempted.
1978 -~ Residential heating fuel exempted during the months
of November-April.
Comparison With Other States
Local Option

Rate Sales Tax
California 4.75% : Yes*
Ilinois 4.00% Yes
Towa 3.00% No
Michigan 4.00% No
MINNESOTA 4.00% No
New York 4.00% Yes
North Dakota 3.00%** No
South Dakota 5.00%*** Yes
Texas 4.00% Yes
Wisconsin 4.00% HARE

13



*Additional  1%% state administered sales and use tax im-
posed in every county.
*%2% on farm machinery and irrigation equipment.
**%1% of rate desxgnated for railroad and imposed for one
year or until rajlroad is paid (effective May 1, 1980).
EE* Authorized but not imposed as of Fanuary 1, 1980

Of the comparison ‘states, only South Dakota does not provide
an exemption for food products. Prescription drugs are also
generally exempted in these states. Only Minnesota provides an
exemption for clothing.

MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE TAX
(M.S. 297B.02)

Tax Base: Selling price of any motor vehicle required to be
regxstered in anesota

Rate: 4% of purchase price.
Credits: Credit allowed for tax paid to other states.
Major Exemptions: Purchases by governmental uhits and nbﬁ-

profit organizations, transfers between husband and wife and
parent and child, and purchases for resale.

Revenue : !

Collections; F.Y. 1978 3 $84.,233,000
F.Y. 1979 $96,855,000
F.Y. 1980 $88,698,000

Disposition: . State General Fund

Administration

Who' Pays: Purchasers of motor vehicles required to be regis-
tered in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Tax is paid when the vehicle is first registered

to operate on state streets and highways. :

History of Major Changes : i

1971 — Enacted at a rate of 3%. 1971 special session in-
creased rate from 3% to 4%. ;

Comparison With ,Othér States

MINNESOTA . 4% of purchase price.

North Dakota 3% of purchase price.

South Dakota = No tax.

Other states tax motor vehicles under state and local sales and
use tax. In California, the rate is 6%. A 4% rate applies in
I]Jmo:s, Michigan, New York, Texas, and Wisconsin. Iowa’s
rate is 3%.

14

-MOTOR FUELS TAX
L (MLS. 296.02) ‘

Tax Base: Gallons of fuel used in highway - vehicles and air-
craft.

Rate: 11 cents per gallon.

Credits: Taxes paid on fuel used for non-highway ‘use may be
claimed as a credit on the taxpayer s income tax return. Avia-
tion fuel taxes are refundable on a graduated basis, depending
upon the number of gallons purchased.

Exemptions: Petroleum substitutes produced from waste prod-
ucts are exempt from taxation.

Revenue
Highway Fuels = ' Aviation Fuels

Collections: - F.Y. 1978 $203,521,000 $2,084,000
F.Y. 1979 $214,596,000 $1,908,000
F.Y. 1980 $202,789,000 - $2,106,000

Disposition: Highway Fuels — 99.25% to Highway Users Fund
and: 0.75% to. Department of Natural Resources. Aviation
Fuels — State Airports Fund.

Administration

Who Pays: Distributors of gasoline pay and remit the tax
Sellers of special fuels collect and remit tax.

Payment Dates: 23rd day of month following sale.

Hisfdry of Major Changes

1925 — Enacted at two cents a gallon.
1919 — Increased to three cents a gallon.
1937 — Temporary increase to four cents a gallon.

1941 — Four cent rate made permanent.

1949 — Increased to five cents a gallon.

1963 —° Increased to six cents a gallon.

1967  — Increased to seven cents a gallon.

1975 - Increased to nine cents a gallon. :
1980 - Increased to eleven cents a gallon; gasohol produced

~ in Minnesota is taxed at four cents per gallon less
than the regular gasoline excise tax.

Comparison With Other States

Rates Per Gallon

California Gasoline and highway fuels 7 cents, jet fuel
2 cents, LPG and LNG 6 cents, compressed
natural gas 7 cents per 100 cubic feet.

Illinois 7.5 cents.
Iowa Gasoline 10 cents; diesel fuel 11.5 cents.
Michigan Gasoline 11 cents; diesel fuel 9. cents; aircraft

3 cents (Interstate Commerce 1.5 cents).
MINNESOTA - 11 cents.
New York Gasoline 8 cents; dlesel fuel 10 cents.
North Dakota - Gasoline 8 cents; special fuels 8 cents except
: for heating, agricultural, industrial, or railroad
purposes; exempt special fuels 2% of sales price.
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South Dakota  Gasoline and diesel 12 cents; gasohol 8 cents; 1947 ' Increased rates of tax.
; LPG 10 cents; aircraft 4 cents. ) ; 1959 — 3.2% beer taxed at $1.60 per barrel. Strong beer
Texas Gasoline and other fuels 5 cents; diesel fuel ) taxed at $3.20 per barrel. Liquor surtax of 15% im-
6.5 cents . : : :
: . - : posed.
Wisconsin 9 cents. -? 1969 —  Additional tax on liquor from 4¢ to 75¢ per gallon
depending on alcoholic content.
1971 - Distilled spirits from $2.50-to $4.53 per gallon. 3. 2%
beer from $1.60 to $2 per barrel. Strong beer from
: $3.20 to' $4 per barrel. Wine taxes increased.
! i 1973 - Disti irj i .
ALCOHOLIC BEVERA GE TAX : ’ 7 : ;Etollfd spirits reduced from $4.53 to $4.39 per
(M.S. 34047) 1979 — Spatrkling wine reduced from $3.08 to $1.50 per

L .. . : gallon.
Tax Base: Distilled spirits, beer, malt beverages, wines, and : 1980 — Minnesota vintners wine taxed at $.17 per gallon.

premixed alcoholic beverages manufactured or received for sale
in Minnesota.

Rates: California Wine less than 14% $ .01 per gallon
Wines: gmg %gt:,iater than 14% g 8% per gagon
Minnesota thnexs Wine ard LICer o -U2 per gallon
(First 50,000 gallons) $ .17 per gallon Dparkling e ; gz'gg per gallon
Unfortified Wines .27 per gallon : b 3 4'0 0 an 1
Fortified Wines — 14% to 21% Beer $124 per barml
- Alcohol by Volume .79 per gallon Non-iquid Distilled $ '02 ps 4 art
' Fortified Wines — 21% to 24% P s 04 a
Alcohol by Volume 1.58 per gallon prits : -U% per 0z.
Fortified Wines — over 24% 1llinois Wine less than 14% $ .23 per gallon
Alcohol by Volume 3.08 per gallon Wine greater than 14% $ .60 per gallon
Sparkling Wines 1.50 per gallon Distilled Spirits $2.00 per gallon
Dlstﬂled Spirits 4.39 per gallon - Beer $ .07 per gallon:
Fermented Malt Beverages: L S ; :
3.2% or less Alcohol $2.00 per barrel of 31 gallons Towa Distilled Spirits and Wine 15%. of ‘price set
More than 3.2% Alcohol  4.00 per barrel of 31 gallons by liquor con-
: H : . trol commission
Credits: Minnesota brewers receive a credit of $2 per barrel on Beer $4.34 per barrel
the first 75,000 barrels produced each year for sale thhm Michigan Wine $ .50 per gallon
Minnesota. Wine Produced in Michigan - $ .04 per gallon
Distilled Spirits 8%-9.85% of
Exemptions: Sacramental wines and commemorative bottles retail price with
sold between collectors. alcoholic con-
: tent greater
Revenue ; than 22%
Collections: F.Y. 1978 $52,545,000 Beer $6.30 per barrel
‘ F.Y. 1979 $53,609,000 MINNESOTA See Rates
F.Y. 1980 $54,202,000 Above
Disposition: State General Fund New York Wine (Still) $ .026 per liter

Administration
Who Pays: Wholesalers, distributors, or manufacturers upon
acquisition for sale within Minnesota.

Payment Dates: 15th day of month following receipt or manu-
facture of taxable beverage.

IﬁStory of Major Chahges ‘

1934 — Enacted at rates of $1 per barrel of beer and $.60
per gallon of wine and liquor.

1937 - Liquot tax mcreased to $1 per gallon on liquor over
24%
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Comparison With Other States

Artificially Carbonated
Wine

Natural Sparkling Wine

Hard Cider

Distilled Spirits less than
24%

(8$.10 per gallon)

$ .07 per liter
($.26-2/3 per
gallon) :
$ .141 per hter
($.53-1/3 per

on,
$ .004 per liter
($.015 per
gallon)

$.211 per liter
($.80 per gallon)
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New York
(Cont.)

North Dakota

South Dakota

Texas

Wisconsin

Distilled Spirits greater
than 24%

Beer

Wine less than 17%:
Wine 17-24%

Sparkling Wine

Distilled: Spirits

Alcohol

Beer in Bulk

Beer in Bottles and Cans

Wine less than 14%
Wine 14-20%

Wine more than 20%
Sparkling Wine
Distilled Spirits

Beer 3.2%

Beer more than 3.2%

Wine less than 14%
Wine more than 14%
Sparkling Wine
Distilled Spirits

Beer

Malt Liquor

Wine less than 14%

Wine more than 14%
Distilled Spirits '
Beer

CIGARETTE TAX
(M.S. 297.02)

$ .859 per liter
($3.25 per
gallon)

$ .044 per gallon

$:.50 per gallon
$ .60 per gallon
$1.00 per gallon
$2.50 per gallon
$4.05 per gallon
$ .08 per gallon
$.16 per gallon

$ .30 per gallon
$ .95 per gallon
$1.40 per gallon
$1.40 per gallon
$3.05 per gallon
$4.00 per barrel
$8.30 per barrel

$ .17 per gallon
$ .34 per gallon
$ .43 per gallon
$2.00 per gallon
$5.00 per barrel
$ 165 per
gallon

$ .195 per
gallon

$ .39 per gallon
$2.60-per gallon
$2.00 per barrel

Tax Base: Cigarettes and little cigars sold in Minnesota.

Rate: 18 cents per pack of 20.

Credits: . Distributors  receive ‘a 2.5% discount on' the first
$500,000 of stamps purchased; 2% for the next $500,000 and
1.5% on additional purchases. The discount covers tax collec-

tion expenses.

Revenue

Collections:

Disposition:

F.Y. 1978
F.Y. 1979
F.Y. 1980

® 89% General Fund
9  5%% Natural Resources
®  5%% Natural Resources Acceleration Account
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$82,653,000
$83,415,000
$84,307,000

Administration
Who. Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of cigarettes.

Payment Dates: 18th day of the month following sale to a
retailer in Minnesota. ] :

History of Major Chaﬂges

1947  — Enacted at three cents a pack.
1949 — Increased to four cents a pack.
1959 — Increased to five and one-half cents a pack.

1961 — Increased to seven cents a pack.
1963 —: Increased to eight cents a pack:
1969  — Increased to thirteen cents a pack.

1971 — Increased to eighteen cents a pack.

Comparison With Other States (Rate Per Pack)

California: 10 cents
Ilinois 12 cents
Iowa 13 cents
Michigan 11 cents
MINNESOTA" ~ 18 cents
New York 15 cents

North Dakota 12 cents
South Dakota 14 cents

Texas 18.5 cents
Wisconsin 16 cents
TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX
(M.S. 297.32)

Tax Base: Cigars, smoking tobacco, chewing tobaccd, and
tobacco products other than cigarettes.

Rate: 20% of wholesale price.

Credits: Distributors allowed credit equal to 2%% of tax for
administrative expenses.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1978 $1,894,000
F.Y. 1979 $2,186,000
F.Y. 1980 $2,240,000

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Who Pays: Distributors or wholesalers of products received for
sale in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: 18th day of the month following receipt of
the product in state.
History of Major Changes

1955 — Enacted at rate of 15% of wholesale price.
1959  —: Rate increased to 20% of wholesale price.
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Comparison With Other States

Towa 10% of wholesale price.

MINNESOTA = 20% of wholesale price.

North Dakota - 11% of wholesale price.

Texas 25% of factory list; variable rate on cigars.‘ :
California, Illinois, Michigan, New York, South Dakota and
Wisconsin- do not impose separate taxes on tobacco products.

¢

MORTGAGE REGISTRY TAX
(M.S. 287.05) .

Tax Base: Prmmpal debt which is secured by any mortgage of -

real property in the state.

Rate: - $.15 per $100 of principal debt.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1978 $ 8,825,000
F.Y. 1979 $10,114,000
F.Y. 1980 $ 8,695,000

Disposition:

® 95% — State General Fund
® 5% — Counties’ General Funds

‘Administration S
Who Pays: The securer of any mortgage of real property.

Payment Dates: At or before the time of filing the mortgage
for record or registration.

History of Major Changes

1907 — Enacted at $.50 per $100 of principal debt.

1913 — Changed to $.15 per $100 where mortgage runs for
five years or less, and $.25 per $100 for mortgages
of more than five years.

1945 — Changed to $.15 per $100 on any mortgage.

Companson With Other States

MINNESOTA $.15 per $100 of principal debt.
New York $1.00 per $100 of principal debt.

California, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, North Dakota, South Dakota,
Texas, and Wisconsin have no similar tax.
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DEED TRANSFER TAX =
(M.S. 287.21)

Tax Base: Transfer of real estate by any deed, instrument or
writing.

Rates: $2.20 for consideration of $1,000 or less plus $1.10 for-
each portion of $500 in excess of $1,000.

Exemptions: Executory contracts for the sale of land, mort-
gages, wills, plats, leases, government instruments, cemetery
lot deeds, and deeds of distribution by personal representa-
tives.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1978 $10,520,000
: F.Y. 1979 $10,808,000
F.Y. 1980

$ 9,599,000
Disposition: State General Fund !

- Administration

Who Pays: Any person who grants, assigns, transfers or conveys
real estate.

Payment Dates: At the time of transfer. .

History of Major Changes

1961 — Enacted at $1.10 for first $1, OOO of cons1deratlon
and $.55 for each additional $500.

1967 — Increased to $2.20 for first $1,000 and $1.10 for
each additional $500. Earmarked proceeds for the
property tax relief fund.

1969 — - Distribution of proceeds changed to State General
Fund.

1973 ' — Included corporations in those subject to tax.

Comparison With Other States

California $.55 per $500 consideration after the - first
$100 at the city or county option. Equity
only subject to tax.

Illinois $.25 per $500 consideration.

Towa $.55 per $500 consideration after the first
$500.

Michigan $.55 per $500 consideration.

MINNESOTA - $2.20 for first $1,000 consideration plus $1.10
for each $500 additional consideration.

$.55 per $500 consideration ‘after the first
$100.

North Dakota No tax.

South Dakota  $.50 per $500 consideration.

Texas No tax.

Wisconsin $.10 per $100 consideration.

New York
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MOTOR VEHICLE RECYCLING TAX GROSS EARNINGS TAXES

(M.S. 168B.11) ] : (M.S..295)
Tax Base: Transfer of new or used vehicles weighing more than Tax Base: Gross receipts from operation of certain businesses.
1,000 Ibs. :
: : Rates:
Rates: . $1.00 per transfer. Boxing Exhibitions 5%
Express Companies . 5%
Exemptions: Freight Lines 1%
: . ¢ i . Rural Electric
® Transfers for purposes of resale. : : Cooperatives 10 cents per 100 members
Lod \{ehxcles purchased by government or nonprofit organiza- Sleeping Car
tions. . e Companies 6%
Taconite Railroads 5%
Revenue Telegraph 6% :
Collections: F.Y. 1978 $988,000 - Telephone (1) 4% from rural service
F.Y. 1979 $980,000 (2) 4% for localities with less than
, F.Y. 1980 $889,000 ) }Ig,ﬂfoo po%ulatgon
L : 1% from all other service
Disposition: ‘State General Fund (4) 30 cents per phone if com-
Administration g:x}:s: gross earnings are $1,000
Who Pays: Transferee of a new or used motor vehicle weighing
over 1,000 Ibs. ; Revenue e ;
Payment Dates: At time of first registration. E Collections: F.Y. 1978 -..-$67,043,000
: F.Y. 1979 $78,011,000
History of Major Changes ; F.Y. 1980 $67,738,000
1971 — Enacted. ‘ ‘ Disposition: - State General Fund
Comparison With Other States : ~ Administration
None of the comparison states levies a similar tax. Who Pays: Each of the various types of businesses subject to
: : . tax.
Payment Dates:
Telephone April 15
Rural Electric ;
Companies Maich 1
Boxing Exhibition Within 24 hours of event
All others September 1 and March 1 for prio:

6 months earnings

History of Major Changes :
Original Current Rates

Enactment Enacted

Boxing 1933,:10% 1953
Express 1897, 3% 1965

! Freight Lines 1896, 4% 1937

: Rural Electric

i Companies 1939, $.10/100 members 1939

| Sleeping Car 1897, 3% ! 1937
Taconite Railroad 1955, 5% 1955
Telegraph 1887,2% 1945

Telephone 1887, 2% 1937




Comparison With Other States*

Those comparison. states which impose gross earnings tax on
some form of telephone service or other utility service are:
Illinois, New York, North Dakota, South Dakota, Texas, and
Wisconsin.

Iowa and Michigan do not impose specific gross earnings taxes.

*The comparative information for the various states was too
lengthy to include herein. For more information, contact the
Research Office in the Minnesota Department of Revenue.k

INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAX -

“(M.S. 60A.15)

Tax Base: Gross premiums less return premiums on all business
received in Minnesota.

Rates:
2%  — Domestic and foreign companies’ premiums.
5% — Underwriting profit on ocean marine insurance.
3% —  Surplus line agents.
0.5% - Fire marshal tax on fire premiums.

2% — Surcharge on fire premiums for property located in
cities of the first class. :

Special Provisions: Gross premium taxes are allowed as a credit
against corporate income tax payable.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1978 - $53,607,000
F.Y. 1979 $58,164,000
F.Y: 1980 $62,297,00

Disposition: State General Fund

Administration

Who Pays Domestic and forexgn insurance compames doing
business in Minnesota.

Payment Dates: Quarterly payments due by the 15th day of
the 3rd month, 6th month, 9th month, and 12th month of the
tax year.

History of Major Changes !

1868 — 2% £ross premiums tax imposed on foreign insurance

- companies.
1872 = 2% gross premiums tax extended to domestic com-
panies.

1895 — Retaliatory tax provisions adopted.
1913 — - Fire marshal tax of 0.375% adopted.
1934 - 2% surcharge on fire premiums enacted.
1937 — Fire matshal tax increased to 0.5%.
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Comparison With Other States

State o Premiums Tax Rate
California ~ 2.35%. :
Illinois- 2% on forelgn companies.
Iowa : 2%.
Michigan 2% — 3% on foreign compames

MINNESOTA  (See rates above.)
New York 1.0% — 1.2%.
North Dakota  2%4%.
South Dakota = 0.5% - 2% on domestic companies. 1.25%
. annuity tax on foreign companies. 2%% pre-
mium tax on foreign companies. %% fire mar-

shal tax.
Texas ..1.925% to 3.3% depending on percentage of
: assets invested in state.
Wisconsin 2% on foreign and domestic companies. 2-3/8%

on foreign fire insurance. 0.5% on foreign
marine insurance. 2% or 3.5% of gross invest-
ment income on domestic life insurance.
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SEVERANCE AND TONNAGE TAXES
MINERAL TAXATION

Mineral taxation in Minnesota consists of Royalty, Occupation,
and Production taxes on certain types of minerals. These taxes
are described separately in the sections that follow. i

'ROYALTY TAXES
(M.S. 299) i

Tax Base: Royalties received in connection with the exploration
and mining of iron ore, taconite, semi-taconite, iron sulphides,
and copper-nickel ores.

Rates: ;
Resource Tax Rate
Iron Ore 155%
Taconite, Semi-taconite,
and Iron Sulphides 15.0%
Copper-Nickel 1% plus 1% of royalties paid on

silver, gold, platinum and other
precious metals.

Credits: The royalty tax on mined land is reduced by an
amount which makes the net effective tax rate equal-to the net
effective occupation tax rate.

Revenue

Collections:

Taconite, Semi-Taconite,

F.Y.  Iron Ore Tron Sulphides Copper-Nickel
1978  $945,000 $1,905,000 $ 3,000
1979  $882,000 $4,046,000 $21,000
1980  $924,000 $5,125,000 $35,000

Disposition: - State General Fund

Administration
Who Pays: The recipient of the royalty amount.
Payment Dates: - On or before July 15th.

History of Major Changes

1923 = 6% royalty tax imposed on iron ore.

1937 —  Rate increased to 10%.

1939 - Rate changed to 9%.

1941 — Rate increased to 10.5%.

1947 — Rate increased to 11%.

1955 -+ 15% surtax added.

1959 —  Additional 1% tax added.

1967 — Copper-nickel royalties taxed at 1%.

1971 — Royalty tax on taconite 15%; iron ore increased to
15.5%.
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Comparison With Other States

None of the comparison states impose separate taxes on mineral
royalties.

OCCUPATION TAXES
(M.S. 298)

Tax Base: Value of minerals mined or produced in the state as
reduced by certain statutory and non-statutory deductions and
credits.

Rates:
Resoutce Tax Rate
Iron Ore 15.5%
Taconite, Semi-taconite,
and Iron Sulphides 15.0%
Copper-Nickel Ores 1.0%
Exemptions:

Iron Ore — Statutory deductions include costs of development,
labor, supplies, administrative expenses, depreciation of mine
plant and equipment, royalty and ad valorem taxes on ore
mined. Non-statutory deductions include costs of loading ore
stockpiled during the year but not shipped, cost of benefica-
tion, transportation, marketing, and other miscellaneous costs.

Taconite, Semi-Taconite, and Iron Sulphide — Deductions are
the same as for iron ore.

Copper-Nickel — Deductions are allowed for processing costs.

Credits:

Iron Ore — Credits are allowed for labor, low grade ore, re-
search, experimentation and exploration.

Taconite, Semi-Taconite, and Iron Sulphide — Credits are the
same as for iron ore.

Copper-Nickel — Credits are allowed for processing the ore
within the state and for research, experimentation and explora-
tion. g

Revenue
Taconite, Semi-Taconite
F.Y. Iron Ore Iron Sulphides
1978 $3,946,000 $ 6,247,000
1979 $4,522,000 $25,604,000
1980 $2,702,000 $14,539,000

Disposition: Proceeds are deposited in the state general fund.
40% is earmarked for elementary and secondary schools, and
10% is used for support of the Universily of Minnesota. A con-
stant dollar amount (5% of the 1977 proceeds) is earmarked
for the Iron Ranges Resources and Rehabilitation Board
(IRRRB).
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Administration ~
Who Pays: Mining companies operating in this state.
Payment Dates: On or before June 15th.

History of Major Changes

1921 = 6% Occupation tax imposed on iron ore.
1937 - Rate increased to 10%, reduced to 8% for subsequent
years.

1941 — Labor credit enacted.

1947 = - Rate increased to 11%.
1955 — 15% surtax added.

1959 — Additional 1% tax imposed.

1971 — Occupation tax on taconite 15%; iron ore occupation
tax increased to 15.5%.
1977 — Occupation tax levied in lieu of income taxes on

mining companies.

Comparison With Other States

State Resource Rate
Michigan Natural Gas 5% of gross market
value.
Crude oil 6.6% of gross market
~ovalue.
Crude oil (from 4.0% of gross market
stripper wells) ~value. In addition,

production of natural
gas and oil is subject
to a fee of less than
1% of market value
annually to pay state

administrative

expenses.
MINNESOTA See Rates Above. :
North Dakota Crude Oil and 5.0% of market value.

Natural gas =
South Dakota Mineral Products 5% to 15% of net

profit from extracted

minerals.
Energy Minerals 4.5% of taxable value.
Texas Natural Gas 7.5% of market value.
i oil - 4.6% of market value.
Wisconsin Metalliferrous Graduated rates from
Minerals 6% to 20% on average

net proceeds for pre-
ceding 3 year period.
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PRODUCTION TAXES
(M.S. 298)

Tax Base: Extracted ’cohnage of taconite and iron sulphides,
semi-taconite, and copper-nickel ores.

Rates:

Taconite and Iron Sulphides — Base rate equals $1.25 per gross
ton ‘of ‘merchantable iron ore concentrate produced in 1977,
After 1977, the base rate increases with changes in the steel
mill products index. An additional tax of 1.6% is imposed for
each percent that the iron content of the product exceeds 62%.
The 1980 average base rate is $1.72 per gross ton.

Semi-Taconite — Sintered in Minnesota = $.05 per gross ton
plus 1/10th of $.01 for each 1% that the iron content exceeds
55%. Sintered outside Minnesota: — $.10 per gross ton plus
1/10th of $.01 per gross ton for each 0.5% that the iron con-
tent exceeds 55%.

Coppet-Nxckel — Base rate is $0. 025 pet gross ton plus 10% of
the base tax per ton for each 1/10th of 1% that the average
coppet-nickel content per ton exceeds 1%. This composite rate
is subject to increase proportional to changes in the current
year average monthly wholesale price index above the 1967
index.

Revenue i o :

Collections: + F.Y. 1978 $48,810,000
“F.Y. 1979 $69,222,000
F.Y. 1980 $88,484,000

Disposition: . Taconite Production tax proceeds are distributed
to the state general fund and to the cities, towns, school dis-
tricts and counties in Wthh taconite is mined and processed,;
as follows

° $.~025 per ton — Taconite cities and towns.

® $.123 per ton — Taconite municipal aid account.

®  $.06 per ton — Taconite schools.

® $.23 per ton — Those schools that qualify for the
taconite homestead credit in direct proportion to' their
levies.

® $.155 per ton — Taconite counties.

® $.04 per ton — Taconite counties’ road and bridge fund.

® $.2575 per ton — Taconite homestead credit:

® $.01 per ton — State general fund.

@ -$.03 per ton —: Iron Range Resources and Rehabilita-
tion Board.

°

$.002 per ton — Range Association of Municipalities
and Schools.

Amount distributed to counties, the taconite homestead credit
fund, and the IRRRB will increase with the steel price index.

Local governments receive an amount equal to aid received
from the taconite railroad gross earnings tax in 1977. The
IRRRB receives an ‘amount equal to the occupation tax aid
received in 1977 for 1978 and subsequent years.

Remaining Production Tax proceeds go to the Taconite En-
vironmental Protection Fund, the Northeast Economic Protec-
tion Fund, and the Department of Revenue for administrative
expenses.
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Proceeds of the production tax derived from semi-taconite are
distributed to_the state general fund and to the various taxing
districts in which semi-taconite is located as follows:

22% - City or town
50% — . School district
22% — County

6% — State

Administration
Who Pays: Mining companies pay production tax in lieu of
property taxes.
Payment Dates: 90% of estimated tax payable by February

15th for preceding production year. Balance payable by
April ISth

History of Major Changes

1881 — Tonnage tax on iron ore of $.01 per ton imposed.

1897 .— Tonnage tax on iron ore repealed and replaced by ad
valorem tax.

1941 — Taconite production tax of $.05 per ton lmposed

1959 — Production tax on semi-taconite enacted. : :

1969 — Taconite production tax increased to $.115 per ton.

1971 — Additional production tax of $.04 to $.14 per ton
imposed.

1975 = Taconite production tax increased by $.39 per ton.

1977 — Taconite production tax increased to $1.25 per ton
with tax indexed based on the price of steel.

Comparison With Other States

“State " Resource Rate
Célifdmia . Crude oil and  Per barrel charge or uniform
natural gas rate per thousand cubic feet

determined annually to
defray administrative costs.

North Dakota - Coal ~$.85 per ton plus $.01 per
ton for each 4 point in-
crease in wholesale price
index as adjusted twice pet

- year. L
Texas Sulphur -$1.03 per long ton.
Cement - $.275 per CWT.
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IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

- MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSE FEES TAX
(M.S. 168)

Tax Base: Motor vehicles using the public streets and highways.

Rates: Passenger Cars — $10 plus i percentage of base value
based on the age of the vehicle. Coinmercial Vehicles — $5 for
first 1,500 Ibs., up to $1,260 plus $36 per ton for excess over
81 000 1bs. Intermty Buses — and other buses are taxed on a
separate schedule.

Exemptions: Vehicles owned by governmental or educational
units, agricultural tractors and trailers, special mobile equip-
ment, vehicles used solely for carrying camp equipment or
attached machinery, fire apparatus, and vehicles not operated
on highways.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1978 $111,429,000
F.Y. 1979 $121,622,000
F.Y. 1980 ; $128,293,000

Disposition: Proceeds aie, paid into the state treasury and
credited to the Highway User Tax Distribution Fund.

" Administrition

Who Pays: Anyone who registers a motor vehicle in the st’ate,

Payment Dates: When first registered to use the public streets
and annually on a staggered monthly schedule.

History of Major Changes

1911 — First motor vehicle registration law enacted. Fee of
$1.50 per vehicle.

1921 — Rates established based on -value and weight of
vehicle.

1941 '~ Passenger cars taxed at 2.2% of value.

1949  — Vehicles reclassified and rate schedules revised.

1955 - —  Rates increased by 5%.

1965 — Rate schedule modified.

1971 — Tax set on passenger vehicles at $10 plus 1.25% of
base value. An annual $25 tax on school buses levied.

1973 = Monthly series of vehicle registrations established.
New truck rates established.

1976 - Minimums on trucks, tractors, and combinations
increased.

Comparison With Other States

State Passenger Cars Commercial Vehicles
California $11 registration fee $5 first 3,000 Ibs. up
plus license fee of 2%  to $413 for over
of market value. 15,000 1Ibs.
Illinois $18-$30 based on $24 first 3,000 lbs.
horsepower. up to $1,560 for
between 64,000 and
73,280 1bs.
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State

Iowa

Michigan

MINNESOTA

New York

North Dakota

South Dakota

Texas

Wisconsin
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Passenger Cars

1% of value plus
40¢/100 1bs.

$20-$74 based on
weight.

$10 plus percent of
base value based on
age of vehicle.

$12-$65 based on

weight.

$15-$220 based on
weight and age of
vehicle. :
$20-$180 based on
weight.

$12-$30 up to 6,000
1bs. plus $.55 per
each additional 100
1bs. :

$5-$18 based on
weight.

Commercial Vehicles

© $45 first 6,000 Ibs.

up to $1,510 on 36
tons with variable
increases thereafter.

a) Light trucks and
truck-housetrailer
combinations: $1.08
per 100 lbs. first
2,500 Ibs. up to
$3.38/100 1bs. for
over 15,000 lbs.

b) Heavy trucks and
tiuck or tractor-trailer
combinations: $243
first 24,000 1bs. up
to $1,594 for over
160,000 Ibs.

$5 first 1,500 1bs. up
to $1,260 plus $36
per ton for excess of
81,000 1bs.

$2.50 per 500 lbs.

on trucks and trailers,
$.70 per 100 Tbs. on
tractors.

$26 first 4,000 Ibs.
up to $1,996 for over
104,000 lbs.

$85 first 4,000 Ibs.
up to $250 plus $40
per ton for over
20,000 Ibs.

Motor Buses — 44¢-88¢
per each 100 Ibs.; and
99¢ per 100 Ibs. for
over 31,000 1bs. Trailer
and semi-trailers — 33¢-
66¢ per 100 Ibs, up'to

17,000 1bs. and 72¢

per 100 1bs. for over
17,000 1bs.

$24 first 4,500 Ibs,
up to $1,602 for up
t0:80,000 Ibs.

AIRFLIGHT PROPERTY TAX
(M.S. 270.072)

Tax Base: Flight property of air carriers engaging in air com-
merce.

Rates: Assessed value of ﬂight property times the avérage rate
of property taxes throughout the state.

Major Exemphons Alrfhght property of govemmental units or
the civil air patrol. Aircraft weighing less than 30,000 Ibs. that
are used on intermittent or irregularly timed flights.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1978 $3,759,000
F.Y. 1979 $3,420,000
F.Y. 1980 $4,293,000

Disposition: Proceeds are deposited in the state treasury and

: credlted to the Airports Fund.

Admlmstratlon

Who Pays: All air carriers engaging in air commerce in Minne-
sota under certificates issued by the Civil Aeronautics Board
and those carriers operating without a ‘certificate who elect to
be taxed under this tax rather than the 1% aircraft reglstranon
tax. :

Payment Dates: The tax is due and payable on January 1 of
each year following the levy of the tax. X

History of Major Changes

1945 - Enacted, assessed at 40% of value.

1953 — Changed to 33-1/3% valuation.

1971 — “Market Value” for “full and true value? substituted.

1976 - Exemption for aircraft Welghlng less than 30,000 Ibs.
included.

Comparison With Other States:

In general, most states tax air property at the average property
tax rate statewide.
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE
(M.S. 268.05)

Base: A wage base of $8,000 for each employee.

Rates: The standard rate for new employers in 1980 is 1 9%
Experience ratings will vary the rate actually paid.

Exemptions: Various categones of excluded employment exist,
including service performed by: a) a son, daughter or spouse;
b) independent contractors; c) members of a partnership; d)
elected public officials; and e) ordained ministers for a non-
profit organization or church.

Revenue :

Coliections: F.Y. 1978 $182,335,604
F.Y. 1979 $206,312,449
F.Y. 1980 $208,296,755

Disposition: Proceeds, are paid into the Minnesota Unemploy-

ment Compensation Fund and benefits are paid out of this
fund and charged to each employer’s account.

Adm‘inistration

Who Pays: Generally, any employer who has one or more indi-
viduals employed for 20 different weeks in either the current
or preceding calendar year, or who paid wages of $1,500 in
any quarter of either year. =

Payment Dates: Apzil 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31.

History of Major Changes

1936 —  Unemployment Compensation Law enacted.
1939 — - Standard rate set at 2.7%. :

1941 — Formula for computing experience ratios adopted
1971 — Methods of calculatmg contribution rates, experience
rates, and minimum rates changed. .

1976 ~ Method for setting contribution rates redetermmed

1979 - Amended to conform with federal law.

Comparison With Other States
State Standard Rate Basis

California 2.7% First $6,000
Ilinois 2.7 First $6,500
Towa 1.8 First $7,400
Michigan- 2.7 First $6,000
MINNESOTA 1.9 First $8,000
New York 3.7 First $6,000
North Dakota 4.8 First $7,600
South Dakota 2.7 First $6,000
Texas 2.7 First $6,000
Wisconsin 2.7 First $6,000
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WORKER’S COMPENSATION
(M.S. 176)

Base: Annual salaries of employees.

Rates: Vary with type of employment and each specific- em-
ployment class1flcat10n

Exemptions: Coverage does not apply to railroad workers, cei-
tain people employed in farming, persons whose work is casual
and -not in the usual course of the business of the employer,
and household workers who earn less than $500 cash in any
3 month period from a single private home or household.

Special Provisions: Qualifying firms are allowed to self insure.
Insurance rates are adjusted annually subject to the approval of
the Commissioner of Insurance, Department of Commerce.

Revenue ‘ :

Net Premijums: C.Y. 1977 . $259,764,800
C.Y. 1978 $353,107,441
C.Y. 1979 $423,752,449

stposmon Benef“ ts are paid out to qualifying persons by the
private insurance companies.

Administration ;

Who Pays: Most employers of one or more employses.

Payment Dates: Annually as an insurance premium.

History of Major Changes

1913 - First Workman’s Compensation Act enacted.

1919 — Special compensation fund created for payments of
permanent total disability resulting partly from pre-
vious disability.

1933 — State compensation revolving fund created.

1953 — 'Requirement that an “accuient” cause injury or
death deleted.

1967 — Department of Labor and Industry and the Industrial

Commission abolished; replaced with a new Depart-
ment of Labor and Industry and Workman’s Com-
pensation Commission.

Comparison With Other States

All ‘the comparison states require some form of Worker’s Com-

pensation. However, due to the various job .iassifications and
rates, a comparison by state cannot be made.
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PROPERTY TAXES

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX
(M.S. 272-279)

Tax Base: Taxable value of non-exempt land, buildings, and
personal ‘property. Taxable value is a varying percentage of
market value for each property classification as shown for taxes
payable in 1981,

Classification

Type of Property

1L Petsyonal Property
A.  Mobile Homes

1. Homesteads (Assessed at rate pro-
vided for applicable real property

Percentage

Classification
Type of Property Percentage
I.  Real Property :
A Unmined Iron Ore 50%
B. Low Recovery Iron Ore '30-4814%
C.  Blast Furnace Products 15%
D.' Agricultural Land (Non-Homestead) 19%
E. ' Seasonal; Recreational; Residential 21%
F. Agricultural Homesteads
1. First $50,000 of market value. 14%
2. First $33,000 of market value for
certain blind or disabled persons. 5%
3. Excess over $50,000 of market
value. 19%
. G. Non-Agricultural Homesteads
1. First $25,000 of market value. 16%
2. Second $25,000 of market value. 22%
3. First $33,000 of market value for
certain blind or disabled persons. 5%
4, Next $17,000 of market value for 22%
certain blind or disabled persons.
5. Excess over. $50, 000 of matket 28%
value.
H. Residential, Non-Homestead of Three
or Fewer Units" 28%
L. Apartments
1. Standard (four or more umts) 38%
2. Type I and IT (four or fewer
stories). i 33-1/3%
3. Type 1 and II (five and more
. stories). 25%
4. Title II (in cities or towns of under
10,000 population). 3%
5. Title I (other. and low income
housing). - 20%
J.  Timberland = 19%
K. Urban Vacant Land 40%
L. Public Utility
1. Land and buildings. 43%
2. Machinery. 33-1/3%
M. Commercial and Industrial 43%
N. Seasonal Recreational Commercial

(12% in certain cases if property in-

“cludes homestead of the owner).

21%

class). Varies
2. Non-homesteads. 28%
Leased Agricultural Real Estate on
Exempt Land 33:1/3%
-Structures on Leased Public Land in
Rural Areas. 33-1/3%

D.  Structures on Leased Public Lands in
Urban Areas or on- Railroad Right of
‘Way; Leased Non-Agricultural Real Es-
tate on Exempt Land; Billboards and
Advertising Signs. 40%
E. Tools, Implements and Machinery of
an Electric Generating, Transmission
or Distribution System or a Pipeline
System Transporting or Distributing
Water, Gas, or Petroleum Products
which are Fixtures. 33-1/3%

Exemptions: Cemeteries; public schools; public hospitals; col-
leges; universities-and seminaries; churches and church propesty;
most  institutions of public charity; public property used for
public purposes; natural cheese held for aging by original Minne-
sota manufacturer; farm tools, machinery, equipment and live-
stock; agricultural products; inventories and equipment of manu--
facturers, wholesalers, retailers, and contractors including tools
and machinery, manufactured articles, stocks of merchandise,
parts and supplies, furniture and furnishings; pollution control
equipment; agricultural wetlands used only for wildlife or water
consexvation; native prairie land; and solar, wind or agriculturally
derived gas systems used to provide heating, cooling, ot electric
power for a building or structure.

Special Provisions: Taxing authorities have numerous statutory
limitations on the amount of property taxes they may levy. In
addition, there are the overall levy limitation laws: governing
school districts and county or municipal governments.

Rates: Mill rates vary with taxing jurisdiction. Total mill rate
includes all levies for'all taxing jurisdictions within which the
property is located (e.g.; city, county, townshlp, school districts
and special taxing districts).

The 1979 (payable 1980) average statewide gross tax rate was
97.234 mills. Application ‘ of the ‘“Homestead Credit” and
“Agricultural Mill Rate Credit” results in an average statewide
net tax rate of 73.822 mills (a mill is $1 for each $1,000 of
taxable value).

Credits: Several forms of tax relief are authorized for property
owners. The state reimburses local governments for the loss of
revenue represented by the first four of these credits. These
include: ‘ ‘

1. Homestead Credit: Provides a direct reduction of tax for
owner-occupied homestead property equal to 58% of gross
tax up to a maximum of $650.




2.

w
B

Agricultural Mill Rate Credit: This direct credit is limited
to agricultural, seasonal recreational and timberland prop-
erty. Credit is equal to the sum of 17 mills times the
taxable value of the first 240 acrés of agricultural home-
stead property, and 10 mills times the taxable value of
the remaining qualifying property.

Taconite- Homestead Credit: This: direct credit is limited
to owner-occupied homestead property located within
“taconite tax relief areas.”” Credit is equal to either 66%
of gross tax up to a maximum of $430, or 57% of gross
tax up to a-maximum- of $375, depending on the specific
taconite tax relief area in which the property is located.

.“Reduced Assessment Reimbursement: Certain multi-unit

structures and certain single-family homesteadsare granted

tax relief in the form of a reduction in taxable value.
Reduction is limited to structures which provide housing
for low income or elderly families and homesteads of
certain blind or disabled persons. :

. Property Tax Refund: Occupants: of owner-occupied

homesteads and residential rental units receive property
tax relief based on the relationship of gross property tax
payable and total household income. For renters, gross
property tax payable is 23% of rent paid for occupancy
duting the year, exclusive of certain utility charges. This
relief is granted directly to the taxpayer by the state in

‘the form of a direct payment or a refundable mcome
tax credit. ,

.. Gross Property Tax Refund Amount = The total amount

of property tax in excess of a certain percentage of
household income, up to a first-step maximum amount:

plus, 50% of the remaining property tax (or property tax

equivalent) up to an overall maximum allowable refund
amount.

Homeowners subtract the Homestead Credit from ﬂheir
gross Property Tax Refund to determine the net refund
amount.

‘The percentage of income, first-step maximum refund
amount and-the overall maximum refund amount used
depend on household income and whether or not the
claimant is a senior citizen or disabled person as shown
in the following table.

. Wetlands Credit: Direct credit is equal to 0.75% of the
~average market value of an acre of tillable land in the

city or town where:the qualifying wetland is located
times the number of acres of wetlands owned by the
taxpayer. In order to receive the wetlands credit, the
owner must agree not to drain the wetland durmg the
year for which credit is received. :

.- Native Prairie Credit: Direct credit is equal to 1.5% of

the average market value of an acre of tillable land in
the city or town where the qualifying land is located
times the number of acres of native prairie land owned
by the taxpayer. In order to receive the credit the

_owner must agree to preserve the praitie in its natural

state during the year in which credit is received.
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APPLICABLE PERCENTAGES AND

MAXIMUM GROSS PROPERTY TAX REFUND AMOUNTS

Non-Senior

Non-Disabled Claimants

Senior Citizen or

Disabled Claimants
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Revenue
Collections (in millions):

Agri-
culfural Taconite
Gross: Home- - \jli Home- Property - Net
Year = Taxes  stead  Rate stead Tax Taxes
Payable Levied Credit Credit = Credit Refund Paid

1978 $1,538.7.$234.4 $352 $.9.5 $1952 $1,064.'4‘

1979 .1,628.3 - 2424 416 11.7 190.0 1,142.6
1980 .1,758.8 358.3 522 13.0 187.0 11,1483

Disposition: Revenue is. distributed by county auditors and
treasurers to the counties, municipalities, school districts and
other taxing authorities according to the taxable values and
total millage levied by each. Statewide, school districts account
for and receive approximately one-half of the total tax revenue.

Administration

Who' Pays: All property owners of property not specifically
exempt.

Payment Dates: First half of real estate tax is due by May 3lst
Second half of real estate tax is due by October 31st.

History of Major Changes

1860 — State Board of Equalization created to reduce in-
equities of assessment.
1913 =~ Formulation by legislature = of first property tax
classification system.
— Al taxable property was divided into four separate
classes, each assessed at a different percentage of full

value. :
1933 — Property classes increased from four to seven.
1934 — Constitutional amendment authorized limited exemp-

tion of household goods and farm machinery.
1937 '~ First $4,000 of homesteads exempted for state tax
purposes.

—Additional classes of property defined.

1945~ Property tax enacted for airflight property.

1959 — Lakeshore property not used for commercial pur-
poses reclassified.

1961 - Indian lands exempt from taxation.

1967 -~ Homestead credit enacted.

— . Senior citizen property tax credit enacted.

— State government property tax levy eliminated.

— .- Livestock and agricultural machinery exempted from
personal property tax.

— Manufacturers granted option to exempt either tools
and machinery - considered as petsonal property or
inventories.

—Adoption of county assessor system.

= Adoption of “Minnesota Agricultural Property Tax
Law” providing for assessment based on current use
rather than best use for agricultural property to fos-
ter preservation of agricultural lands.

— Portion of agricultural homestead considered as the
homestead for tax purposes: increased from first 40
acres to first 80 acres.

1969 Taconite homestead credit enacted.

|

1969 -

1971

1973

1974

1975

1976

1977

1979

Tax increment financing of renovatxon projects
authorized.

Separate assessment of Tltle 1I property.

“Minnesota Open Space Property Tax Law’ enacted
to: foster preservation of recreational open spaces in
urban areas.

Overall property tax levy limitation laws enacted for
school districts, counties and municipalities.

Mobile homes. taxed as personal property.

Fiscal disparities established.

Business inventories and tools and machinery con-
sidered as personal property made entirely exempt.
Separate classes for Type I and II apartments estab-
lished.

Senior cmzen property tax “freeze” credit enacted
Increase in market value for residential property
limited to 5% per year.

Manufacturing and business machinery considered as
real property is exempted.

Senior citizens property tax credit extended to dis-
abled and blind persons.

Homestead credit increased to-a larger percent of
gross taxes (45%) and a larger maximum  allowed
amount ($325).

Portion of agricultural homestead considered as the
homestead for tax purposes increased from first 80
acres to first 120 acres.

5% limit on increase in value for residential property
is replaced with general limits on valuation increases.
Property tax refund enacted. .
Flexible homestead base established. Allows portion
of homestead property assessed at a lower rate to
increase with inflation.

Agricultural mill rate differential increased.
Agricultural mill rate differential eliminated and re-
placed with an agricultural mill rate credit at a higher
rate.

Portion of agricultural homestead property considered
as the homestead for tax purposes increased from
first 120 acres to first 160 acres.

Classification ratios for homestead property reduced.
Allowable  relief under property tax refund is in-
creased and senior citizen property tax “freeze”
eliminated.

Eliminated ‘limited market value. Enacted two-stage
shift to estimated market value.

Homestead credit increased to. a larger percent of
gross taxes (50%) and a larger maximum: allowed
amount ($550).

Classification ratios for homestead and certain other
property reduced.

Portion of agricultural homestead property considered
as the homestead for tax purposes increased from
160 acres to 240 acres.

Agricultural mill rate credit increased.

Lowered assessment rate for multi-unit. structures
used exclusively to: provide housing for low income
persons.

Enacted a property tax credit for owners of property
crossed by high voltage electric transmission lines
(will be effective in 1982).




1979 — New credit enacted to foster preservation of wetlands.
— Replaced gross earnings tax on railroads with ad
valorem tax. ;
= "Allowable relief under property tax refund increased.
1980 —  Classification ratios lowered for homestead and cer-
tain other property.
—+ Reduced assessment relmbursement aid for local gov-
ernments enacted.

— Homestead credit increased to a larger percent of

gross  taxes (58%) -and. a larger maximum  credit
amount ($650).
— - Native prairie credit enacted.

Comparison With Other States

General rate comparisons cannot be made due to the complex
and differing property tax systems among states. For compari-
son  purposes, effective tax rates calculated by the Advisory
Commission on Intergovernmental Relations on homes with
F.H.A. insured mortgages in 1979 were used.

Effective Average

State ~ Property Tax Rate
California 0.94%
llinois : 148
Towa: 1.39
Michigan 245
MINNESOTA 1.04
New York 2.76
North Dakota 1.01
South Dakota 1.63
Texas , 1.60
Wisconsin 1.66

TREE GROWTH TAX
M.S. 270.36)

Tax ,Base: 5 acres or inore of forest lands, used exclusively for
the growing of continuous forest crops.

Rates: Lands growing commercial forest types are taxed at 30%
of the value of annual growth. Temporarily non-productive
forests are taxed at $.05 per acre or $.15 per acre for non-
compliance with the reforestation agreement. Permanently non-
productive types are taxed at $.05 per acre.

Special Provisions: The tree growth tax is paid in lieu of all
other property taxes and is an ownet’s option type tax.

Revenue
Collections: F.Y. 1978 $154,000
: F.Y. 1979 $228,000
F.Y. 1980 $227,000

Disposition: . County auditor distributes receipts in the same
manner as ad valorem taxes.
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Administration

Who Pays: Those who  file forksuch classification with the
county board.

Payment Dates: Annually as with all other ad valorem taxes.

History of Major Changes

1957 — Enacted.

1959 — Repealed section holding that a landowner may not
have more than 10,000 acres in one county under
this tax.

1967 — Added that ad valorem taxes could not be assessed if
an agreement had been in effect for at least 6 years.

AUXILIARY FOREST TAX
(M.S. 88.47)

Tax Base: Any 35 acres or more of land that is suitable for
forestation, or any wood lot contammg 5-40 acres that may
be made an auxﬂlary forest

Rates: $.10 per acre.

Special Provisions: This tax is an owner’s option and is in lieu
of all other property taxes. Marketable timber on such land is
taxed separately by a yield tax. No new auxiliary forest con-
tracts are allowed after June 30, 1974.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1978 $21,000
F.Y. 1979 $17,000
F.Y. 1980 $18,000

Disposition: Proceeds are credited to the funds of the taxing
districts affected in the same proportion as other taxes.

Administration

Who Pays: Those who filed with the county auditor before
June 30, 1974 to have such lands so taxed.

Payment Dates:  On or before May 31 of each year.

History of Major Changes

1927 — Forestation Amendment established tax on any tract
- of forestable land less than 160 acres and woodlots
between 20 and 40 acres. Rate of tax was 8¢ per
$1.00 of land’s assessed value. Yield tax was 10% of

the value of marketable timber.

1919 — Rate of tax changed to $.05 per acre of auxiliary
forest land.

1945 — 'Size of land plot changed to any 35 acres or more
and woodlots between 5 and 40 acres. Rate changed
to $.06 per acre.

1947 - Yield tax graduated between 40% and 10% depending
on year of harvest.

1957 — Rate changed to $.10 per acre.
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SEVERED MINERAL INTERESTS
(M.S. 273.13)

Tax Base: Mineral interests in real estate owned separately
from the interest in the surface of the real estate.

Rates: Annual rate of $.25 per acre with a minimum tax of $2
per parcel.

Exemptions: Mineral interests taxed under other laws relating
to ‘mineral taxation or those exempt from taxatlon due to con-
stitutional or statutory provisions.

Revenue

Collections: Counties are responsible for collections.

Disposition: 80% of the proceeds are distributed in the same
manner as property taxes. The remaining 20% is deposited in
the state general fund and credited to the reservation and non-
reservation residents’ loan accounts

Administration

Who Pays: Owners of mineral interests owned éeparately from
the affected real estate. :

Payment Dates: Annually as other real estate taxes.

History of Major Changes
1973 — Enacted.

LOCAL SALES AND EXCISE TAXES

'LOCAL SALES TAX

Minnesota has a statutory prohibition against the imposition of
any local sales or income tax without specific  legislative
authorization: There is, therefore, no local option sales: tax.
Local sales taxes specially authorized are described below.

Tax Base:
Duluth: Same as state sales tax
Bloomington
ggcgf;;? Sales of t;'ansient lodging
St. Paul
Minneapolis Admissions, amusements and transient lodg-
ing. :
Rates:
Duluth: 1% general; 2%  food and beverage; 3%
lodging
Bloomington
Minneapolis
Rochester 3%
St. Cloud
St. Paul

Exemptions: Duluth: Same as state sales- tax. All Others:
Selective excise taxes; see tax base above.

Special Provisions: Authority has been given to the Metropolitan
Sports Facilities Commission to tax lodging and liquor receipts
at a variable rate, currently 2 percent, in the City of Minneapolis.

Revenue

Collections: F.Y. 1980 (000’s)
Duluth $4,583
Bloomington 1,277
Minneapolis 2,326
Rochester 678
St. Cloud 48
St. Paul 331
Stadium Commission 3,193

Disposition: Local governments (costs of state collection are
subtracted for Minneapolis and Rochester).
Administration

Who Pays: Purchasers (or consumers) of taxable goods and ser-
vices.

Who Remits: Holders of city sales tax permits.
Due Dates: The 25th of the month following the sales month.
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History of Major Changes

1969
1970
1971

1973
1977
1979

1980

Minneapolis imposed a 3% tax on admissions, amuse-
ments, and transient lodging.

St. Paul, Duluth and Bloomington imposed a 3% tax
on transient lodging.

Rochester imposed a 3% tax on transient lodging.
Local governments: are prohibited from imposing or
increasing sales or income taxes.

Duluth is ‘authorized to impose a 1% “piggyback”
general sales tax. = 7«

Duluth is authorized to increase rate to 2% on food
and beverages.

St. Cloud is authorized to impose a 3% tax on tran-
sient lodging. :
Metropolitan Sports Commission lodging and liquor
tax authorized.

Duluth is exempted from prohibition against in-
creasing rates without legislative approval:

Ggaiii

GROSS EARNINGS TAXES
LOCAL GROSS EARNINGS TAX
(M.S. 295.37 and 451.07)

Tax Base:  Gross: earnings of trust companies and utilities
operating in certain cities and counties.

Rates:
Trust companies 6%
Utility companies

Minneapolis 3.00% White Bear Lake 1.5%

St. Paul 8.67 Winona 1.5

Coon Rapids 3.00 Albert Lea 5.0

South St. Paul 5.00 Crookston 4.0

St. Cloud 3.00 Waseca 2.0

West St. Paul 5.00 Duluth : 1.5
Revenue

Collections:  Local units collect tax,
Disposition: Local revenue funds.

Administration
Who Pays:  Utilities and trust companies.
Payment Dates:

® - Trust companies — March 1st.
®  Utility companies — established locally.
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- SEVERANCE TAXES

SAND AND GRAVEL OCCUPATION TAX
(M.S.:298.75)

Tax Base: Gravel removed from gravel pits or deposits.
Rates: Maximum of $.10 per cubic yard of gravel. '

Revenue

County F.Y. 1980
Becker $14,000
Clay 76,000
Kittson 20,000
Norman 7,000
Wilkin 5,000

Disposition: 1980 legislation provided for 60% distribution to
county road and bridge fund, 30% to town road and bndge
fund, and 10% for restoration of abandoned pits.

Administration

Who Pays: Those removing gravel from pits or ‘deposits in
counties where tax is authorized.

Payment Dates: ~Annually.

History of Major Changes

From 1961-1979, seven counties had received authority to im-
pose this tax through special legislation. The 1980 Legislature
gave all counties the option of imposing such tax at county
discretion.

SECTION TWO




STATE-LOCAL FISCAL RELATIONS

Minnesota utilizes what may be termed a “‘broad-based” revenue
system to help pay the costs of local government. Essentially,
this means that a large amount of state tax revenues are used
to finance local units.

In recent years, the state has taken on an ever greater respon-
sibility for financing various local functions. State aid payments
are made for both the general support of local governments and
for specific purposes, e.g., certain educational costs.

This section describes the major state-local aid programs in
Minnesota. It is intended only to provide a general description
of the state-local fiscal system, so miscellaneous aids and grants
to local governments are not included.

LOCAL AIDS

Local Government Aid — Enacted in 1971, this aid supports
general operations of local governmental units. Counties, cities,
and towns receive distributions quarterly based on a statutory
aid formula, :

Homestead Credit Aid — The amount of homestead credit is
subtracted from the tax statement, and the taxpayer pays only
the net amount. Then the state reimburses: school districts,
county, city and town governments, and special taxing districts
for the tax relief provided homestead property.

Taconite Homestead Credit Aid — Local taxing districts within
“taconite relief “areas” are reimbursed for tax credit given
homestead property.

Attached Machinery Aid and School District: Attached Ma-
chinery Aid — Reimbursements are made each year to school
districts and county, city and town governments for lost revenue
due to the exemption of ponderous machinery and eqmpment
from real property taxation.

Agricultural Aid to School Districts — Aid is paid to school
districts for mill rate credit provided to agricultural lands and
seasonal residential recreational property.

SHARED TAXES

Estate Tax Aid — County govemments‘receive 10%‘ of the net
estate  tax collections annually. 90% is placed in the state
general fund.

Mortgage Registry Tax Aid — Mortgage registry tax payments
are made at the county level, with 5% of such collections being
retained for county purposes. 95% is remitted  to the state
general fund.
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Taconite Production Tax Aid — Counties, cities, towns and
school - districts in" which taconite is mined and processed re-
ceive most of the proceeds of the taconite production: tax.
Remaining amounts are distributed to other sources such as the
IRRRB, the Environmental Protection Fund, and the state,

PUBLIC WELFARE AIDS

A combination of federal, state, and county funds are used to
finance public welfare payments. The two basic categories for
welfare aids are public assistance programs and general assistance
programs.

Public Assistaﬁce Programs

Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) — Though
federal, state, and county monies are used to finance this pro-
grams, payments are made at the. county level. Eligibility in-
volves low or no income status and lack of other assets.

Supplemental Secutity Income (SSI): — These funds are pro-
vided for aged, blind, or disabled persons who receive welfare
aid directly from the federal government.

Medical Assistance — Funds from this program are paid to doc-
tors, nursing homes, pharmacists; etc., for medical services pro-
v1ded to welfare recipients.

General Assistance Programs

These cash payments are made to low income persons who do
not qualify for AFDC or SSI. :

EDUCATION AIDS

The Department of Education administers four major aid pro-
grams for the state’s school districts. These are as follows:

Foundation Aid — Amounts payable for this general support aid
are based on the required expenditure per pupil, local tax
support, and amounts of other aids expected.

Transportation Aid - This aid is tied to local support and is
based on the number of pupils requiring transportation.

Special Education Aid — The state pays districts for employing
teachers in ‘special education and contributes a percentage of
the cost for supphes and equlpment

Vocational Aid — The state pays a percentage of specified costs
plus a fixed amount per student in average daily membership.

e

HIGHWAY AND MASS TRANSIT AID

nghway aid is financed frdm the gasoline excise tax and
motor vehicle license fees. It is distributed through the follow-
ing funds:

County State Aid Highway Fund — The formula for rewarding
these funds is based on vehicle registrations, hxghway mileage,
and need.

Municipal State Aid Street Fund — These funds are distributed

on the basis of need and population.

The level of funding for the various aid categories is indicated

as follows:
Local Aids
Local Government Aid $225,054,375 - (C.Y. 1979)
Homestead Credit Aid 246,058,476 . (C.Y. 1979)
Taconite Homestead Credit Aid 12,191,566 - (C.Y. 1979)
Attached Machinery Aid 11,440,233 (C.Y. 1979)
S.D. Attached Machinery Aid = 2,029,155 (C.Y. 1979)
Agricultural Aid to School -

Districts 41,634,224 (C.Y. 1979)

$538,408,029

Shared Taxes:

Inheritance Tax Aid $.3,783,889 (C.Y. 1979)
Mortgage Registry Tax Aid 532,105 (F.Y. 1979)
Taconite Production Tax Aid 67,421,457 (C.Y. 1979)

$ 71,737,451
Welfare Aids

AFDC --8$165,625,791  (C.Y. 1979)
SS1 37,644,553 (C.Y. 1979)
Medical Assistance 213,228,252 - (C.Y. 1979)
General Assistance 18,715,545 (C.Y. 1979)

Education Aids

Foundation Aid
Transportation Aid
Special Education Aid
Vocational Aid

Transportation Aid

County
Municipal

$435,214,141

$667,977,345
96,128,088
82,850,132

110,791,180
$957,746,745

$ 94,903,252
30,644,981

$125,548,233

(1979-1980)*

(1979-1980)*
(1979-1980)*

(1979-1980)*

(C.Y. 1979)
(C.Y. 1979)

*These amounts are estimates for the 1979-1980 school year,
but should approximate actual expenditures.
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A general comparison of fiscal year 1980 state tax c_ollections . STATE AND LOCAL TAX COLLECTIONS
and aid expenditures for calendar year 1979 or fiscal year - :

1980 is shown below. Property tax refund amounts were
included because they represent payments by the state to s
individuals for tax relief purposes.

NET STATE TAX COLLECTIONS

F.Y. 1980
% of
F.Y. 1979 F.Y. 1980 Total
(000’s) (000’s)

State Tax Collections

$3,181.6 Million : E Income Taxes
(F.Y. 1980) , . Individual $1,255,998 $1,271,810 39.97%
; - Corporation : 324,126 345,223 - 10.85
- Bank Excise 32,608 36,093 1.13 |
- Other Taxes ~ ~ ‘ Employer’s Excise? 4,297 -2984 o~ |
$425.0 Million : . Inheritance and Gift Taxes ‘\
. ' Inheritance 37,844 39,966 . 1.26 |
Local Aids . Gift 2,984 1953 0.06
Severance and $2,318.5 Million ~' ;
Gross Earnings (C Y. 1979 or E Y 1980) “ Sales and Excise Taxes :
$243.5 Million - Sales and Use 615,854 657,167 = 20.66
Highway Gasoline Transportation Aid Motor Vehicle Excise 96,855 88,698  2.79
$202.8 Million | b 81255 Million . | Highway Gasoline 214,596 202,789 - 6.37
- Property Tax Refund Aviation Gasoline 1,908 2,106  0.07
Corporation and $190.0 Million : Liquor 42,685 43,067 1.35
Bank Income : Malt Beverages 10,924 11,135 0.35
$381.3 Million Weltiie Atds Cigarette 83415 84,307  2.65
$435.2 Million . Tobacco Products 2,186 2,240 - 0.07
: - Mortgage Registration 10,114 8,695 0.27
) : Deed Transfer 10,808 9,599 0.30
Sales and Use Motor Vehicle Recycling 980 889  0.03
$657.2 Million e - ; ! :
: Local Aids and Gross Earnings Taxes = -
Shared Taxes . Telephone 48,116 53,568  1.68
$610.1 Million Telegraph 247 729 - 0.02
. Railroad 25,503 8,598 0.27
Taconite Railroad 3,267 3,634 0.1
Express 0 0 -
: . Freight Line 836 1,130 0.04
Individual Income ‘ ‘ Insurance Premiums 58,164 62,297  1.96
$1,271.8 Million : . State Fire Marshal 946 1,045 = 0.03
Education Aids . Fireman's Relief Surcharge 594 642 - 0.02
$957.7 Mitlion . | Rural Electric Cooperatives 37 38 b
| Boxing Exhibition 5 41 b

Severance and
Tonnage Taxes

Taconite Production 69,222 88,484 2.78
. L Taconite Occupation 25,604 14,539 046
Local Aids — $2,318.5 million . _ 7287 Ratio Iron Ore Occupation 4,522 2,702 0.09
i — $3,181.6 million Taconite Royalty 4,046 §,125  0.16
Net State Tax Collections — § fton Ot Royaliy 882 924 0.03
Other Ores Royalty 21 35 b
Taconite Tailings® 1,965 0 =
In Lieu of Property Taxes
Motor Vehicle Licenses 121,622 128,293 - 4,03
Airflight Property 3,420 4,293 0.14
Total® $3,117,201 $3,181,556 100.00%
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a) Employer’s excise tax and taconite tailings tax are no longer o ‘ E.Y. 1979 F.Y. 1980 '
in effect. Negative collection amount for employer’s excise 0 (000’s) (000’s)
tax is due to refunds. ‘ 2. After Credit ‘

b) Less than 0.01%. ! Regular Homestead Credit $242.340 $358,308
. . Li d Taconite Homestead Credit 11,749 13,006
¢) Does not constitute total Minnesota revenue. Licenses an Agricultural Credit 41,634 52187

permits have been left out along with miscellaneous collec-

tions from delinquent state property and forfeited property. F.Y. 1979 F.Y. 1980

(000’s) (000’s)
0 3. After Credit

LOCAL TAX COLLECTIONS . Regular Homestead Credit 3,054 4,515 (est)

Fiscal Years Ending June 30, 1979 and June 30, 1980 o Taconite Homestead Credit 399 442 (est.)
F.Y. 1980 s 4. Fiscal year 1979 collections are as of calendar year ending
F.Y. 1979  F.Y. 1980 % of - 12-31-78. Fiscal year 1980 collections are as of calendar

Amount  Amount Total , year ending 12-31-79,
(000’s) (000’s) .

Property Taxes! g : 5. Fiscal year 1979 collections are as of calendar year ending
Real Property2 $1,285,205 $1,287,178 87.60% 12-31-79. Fiscal ‘year 1980 collections are as of calendar
Personal Property 47,385 48,159 3.28 year ending 12-31-80.

Special Assessments 75,703 85,185  5.80 -
Mobile Home Property3 5,939 5,948est.0.40
Tree Growthd 228 227 0.01
Auxiliary Forestd 17 18 *
Rural Powerlines 9,984 12,372 - 0.84

Sales Tax ! :
Bloomington 1,106 1,277 0.09
Duluth = 1% 4,153 4,319 029
Duluth — 3% 256 264 . 0.02
Minneapalis 2,206 2,326 0.16
Rochester 630 678  0.05
St. Paul 300 331 0.02
Stadium Commission. 4,239 3,193 0.22

Gross Earnings Taxes?

Minneapolis 5,146 5,380 0.36
St. Paul 10,529 12,446 0.85

Sand and Gravel Taxe
Clay : 39 76 - 0.01

- Norman 13 1 *

Wilkin 5. 5 *
Kittson 25 20 *
Becker 18 14 *

Grand Total $1,453,126 $1,469,423 100.00%
*Less than 0.005%. -

Footnotes

1. Fiscal year 1979 property taxes were levied in calendar year
1978 and were payable in calendar year 1979. Fiscal year
1980 property taxes were levied in calendar year 1979 and
were payable in calendar year 1980. Taxes on mobile homes
are levied and payable in the same year.
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