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Minnesota laws have established several grant and loan programs to help beginning fanners get started,
existing fanners expand their operations, and innovative fanners try new and different approaches. Mostof
these programs are offered through the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) and its Rural Finance
Authority (RFA) division. This paper briefly summarizes several of the programs. At times these programs
may be closed to new applications for lack of available funding. .
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Coordinated by the RFA, this federal program allows a beginning fanner to apply
to a local lender for a real estate mortgage. The lender can then purchase a tax-free
bond for the loan amount. The tax-free nature of these bonds allows the lender to
reduce the interest rate paid by the fanner. Contact: RFA; 651-297-2175.
http://www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/aggiebond.html.

This state program offers affordable financing and technical support for beginning
fanners. The RFA carries 45 percent of the loan principal (a maximum $125,000
per loan), and a local lender carries the balance. The current interest rate is 5.5
percent. Contact: RFA; 651-296-4985. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/basic.html.

This program for beginning fanners includes financing provided by the seller, with
the RFA participating at up to 45 percent of the mortgage (maximum $125,000 per
loan), and a local lender carrying the balance. The current interest rate is 5.5
percent. Contact: RFA; 651-296-4985. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/seller.html.

This loan program is for fanners with reasonably good credit status but who are
having trouble with cash flow due to adverse events. The RFA will carry up to 45
percent of the loan principal (maximum $150,000 per loan), and a local lender will
retain the balance of the loan. The current interest rate is 7.0 percent. Contact: RFA;
651-296-4985. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/restructure2.html.

This program allows eligible fanners to finance capital improvements to their
fanning operation to improve efficiency, productivity, and income. It can be used
for land, buildings, and affixed equipment. The RFA will carry up to 45 percent of
the loan principal (maximum $125,000 per loan), and a local lender will retain the
balance. The current interest rate is 6.0 percent. Contact: RFA; 651-296-4985.
http://www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/improvement.html.

Another RFA loan program helps finance the construction of state-of-the-art
livestock and dairy facilities on existing fanns. Livestock cannot be purchased
with these loans, and loans must not be used to refinance existing debt. The RFA
will carry up to 45 percent of the loan principal (maximum $250,000 per loan), and
a local lender will retain the balance. The current interest rate is 7.0 percent.
Contact: RFA; 651-296-4985. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/expansion.html.

This program is aimed at encouraging dairy business planning and modernization
activities. MDA can make grants of up to $5,000 to cover 50 percent of the cost of
eligible projects. The balance must corne from sources other than the state. Contact
MDA; 651-215-3946. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/dairyfoodldbgrant.pdf.
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This program helps fanners purchase shares of stock in cooperatives, limited
liability companies, or limited liability partnerships that plan to operate a facility to
produce or process marketable products from agricultural crops. The fanner must
be a producer of the agricultural crop to be processed. The RFA will loan the
fanner up to 45 percent of the cost of stock shares (not to exceed $24,000 per loan)
at an interest rate of 4.0 percent. Contact: RFA; 651-296-4985.
http://www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/stockloan.html.

The MDA manages a program of loans to facilitate the adoption of alternative fann
management practices. Loans can be made for eligible capital purchases such as
rotational grazing systems, low-cost livestock housing, soil-conserving equipment,
and processing equipment. These loans can be up to $25,000 each at a fixed
interest rate of 6 percent. Contact: MDA; 651-282-2261. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/esap/esaploan.htm.

This MDA program began in 1989 and provides grants to fanners, nonprofit
groups, researchers, and educators to explore ways of enhancing the sustainability
of fanning systems. Grants can be as large as $25,000 each, and can extend over
three years. Contact: MDA; 651-296-1277. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/esap/default.htm#demo.

The MDA manages this program of grants to facilitate the fonnation and
development of value-added agricultural cooperatives. The maximum grant size is
$50,000 per cooperative, and the applicant must match at least 25 percent of the
project cost. Contact: MDA; 651-215-0368. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/ams/valueadded/default.htm.

The MDA provides grants to eligible applicants to partially defray the costs of
inspection and recordkeeping necessary to become "certified organic" producers.
Legislative funding for this program amounts to about $35,000 per year. Contact:
MDA; 651-297-8916. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/esap/greenbook2002/2002greenbook.pdf.

This multi-agency program supervised by MDA makes zero-interest loans to local
units of government. These funds are in tum provided as low-interest loans to
fanners and rural landowners to implement water pollution abatement projects.
Loans may not exceed $50,000 each, and the maximum interest rate is set at 3.0
percent. Contact: MDA; 651-215-1018. http://www.mda.state.mn.us/AgBMP/moreinfo.htmI.

This MDA loan program uses a $1,000,000 revolving fund to make loans to
fanners to support the transition to sustainable practices. Loans can be up to
$15,000 per fanner, and the interest rate is 6.0 percent. Contact: MDA; 651-296-1277.
http://www.mda.state.mn.us/esap/esaploan.htm.

This RFA program makes loans to full-time Minnesota fanners for the installation
of a wind energy system. The RFA will carry up to 45 percent of the loan
principal (maximum $500,000 per loan), and a local lender will service the
balance. The current interest rate is 6.0 percent on the first $125,000 and 7.0
percent on the next $375,000. Contact: MDA; 651-282-2261.
http://www.mda.state.mn.us/agfinance/energy.pdf.

For/more information: Contact legislative analyst Sam Rankin at 651-296-5047.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Ethanol Industry in Minnesota

Ethanol is an alcohol produced by the fennentation of starches. It can be used for beverages, industrial
solvents and vehicles, sanitizers and disinfectants, and fuel. Ethanol can be blended in small proportions
with petroleum gasoline as a fuel extender, and most unmodified engines can burn it. Advocates of the
ethanol program cite numerous benefits from the increased production and use of ethanol in Minnesota.
These include reduced air pollution from vehicles, less dependence on foreign oil, a market for some 122
million bushels ofMinnesota grain, economic development in rural areas ofthe state, and employment
opportunities both during plant construction and operation.

Due in large part to policy and financial support from the state and federal government, the production of
ethanol in Minnesota has increased dramatically in recent years-from less than one million gallons in
fiscal year 1987 to over 304 million gallons in fiscal 2002 (see figure 1). Starch from field com is the
principal feedstock for 13 ethanol plants in Minnesota.

Federal fuel tax
discount for
ethanol gasoline
blend

Blender's tax
credit

Producer
payments

Public education
and ethanol
promotion efforts

In 1978, Congress enacted a law to eliminate the $0.04 per gallon fuel excise tax on
blends of 10 percent ethanol and 90 percent gasoline. Because ethanol comprises
only 10 percent of the fuel blend, the effective subsidy to the 200-proof ethanol
component is $0.40 per gallon. The exemption for ethanol blends increased to $0.06
from 1987 to 1990, but since 1990 has remained at $0.054. In 1998, Congress
extended the federal fuel tax exemption until 2008, but the rate of the incentive
decreased to $0.053 in 2001, and is scheduled to decrease further to $0.052 in 2004,
and to $0.051 in 2005.

A 1980 Minnesota law reduced the state fuel tax on gasoline containing at least 10
p.ercent ethanol by $0.04 per gallon. The fuel tax credit (usually called the blender's
credit) was reduced over a period of years and finally phased out entirely in 1997.
The blender's tax credit reduced revenues deposited in the highway user trust fund.

In 1983, the fuel tax on gasoline purchased for use in government vehicles or for
school transportation was reduced by $0.08 per gallon. This credit also reduced
revenues for highway construction and maintenance, and was repealed in 1998.

In 1986, the legislature created the "ethanol development fund" as a way to pay
producers for ethanol produced. The original payment schedule was $0.15 per
gallon of ethanol. The authorized amount has changed several times but typically
has been $0.20 per gallon. Each plant is generally eligible for payments for ten
years from the time a plant, or a plant expansion, comes on line, but not more than
$3,000,000 per plant per year. The producer payment program is currently closed to
new applicants, and payments to all plants are scheduled to tenninate in 2010. The
payment rate from 2004 to 2010 will be $0.19 per gallon.

Each year from 1987 through 1998 the legislature appropriated funds (usually
$100,000 per year) to the Department ofAgriculture to educate the public about the
benefits of ethanol fuel blends.
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A 1993 law created the Ethanol Production Facility Loan Program to provide up to
$500,000 in direct loans to assist new ethanol production facilities during the
construction and production start-up phases. Seven of the plants currently operating
in the state made use of these loans.

A 1994 law authorized the Rural Finance Authority to make low interest loans to
farmers for up to 45 percent of the cost of shares of stock purchased in a value-added
agricultural product processing facility. Investors in seven ofMinnesota's ethanol
plants made use of these loans.

A number of communities have used tax increment financing (TIP) as an incentive
for the construction of ethanol plants. In the early 1990s, the legislature enacted
laws that made it easier to use TIP for ethanol projects.

The federal Environmental Protection Agency ordered the use of oxygenated
gasoline in eight Minnesota counties during winter months beginning in 1992. In
Minnesota the oxygenate of choice has been ethanol-rather than MTBE (methyl
tertiary butyl ether), ETBE (ethyl tertiary butyl ether), and TAME (tertiary amyl
methyl ether). The Minnesota Legislature linked several actions to the federal
mandate in an effort to further promote the consumption of ethanol.

A 1991 law established mandatory use of oxygenated gasoline in air quality
nonattainment counties after October 31, 1995. It also extended the mandate
statewide after October 31, 1997. Later amendments of the law moved the
oxygenate mandate up to 1992. In 1996, a further modification created exceptions
to the statewide oxygenate mandate for motor sports racing, airports, marinas,
motorcycles, off-road vehicles, small engines, and collector vehicles.

Direct costs to the state for the ethanol program derive primarily from the blender's
tax credit and producer payments (see figure 2).

Figure 1
Ethanol Production In Minnesota
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Figure 2
Direct Cost of Blender's Credit and Producer Payments
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Sam Rankin at 651-296-5047.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Horse Racing and Pari-Mutuel Betting

Pari-mutuel betting on horse racing is one of the forms of gambling permitted in Minnesota.

A briefhistory Pari-mutuel betting on horse racing was authorized by a constitutional
amendment approved by the voters in 1982. hnplementing legislation was
enacted in 1983 and Canterbury Downs opened near Shakopee as the state's first
pari-mutuel racetrack in 1985.

The track was an early success, but subsequent expansions of legal gambling to
include the state lottery and especially Indian casinos led to declines in
attendance and betting. The track was sold by its original investors to Ladbroke
Racing for much less than its original $80 million cost. Off-track betting was
seen as the track's only long-term hope, but a 1991 law to allow it was declared
unconstitutional by the Minnesota Supreme Court and a subsequent
constitutional amendment to overturn the decision was defeated by the voters.

Canterbury Downs "went dark" in 1992 when the Minnesota Racing
Commission refused to approve the 1993 simulcasting (betting on televised
races from other states) calendar because of Ladbroke's refusal to guarantee live
racing. The track stayed dark until 1995 when it was bought by local owners
with a background in the Minnesota breeding industry. Since then the track
(renamed Canterbury Park) has had slow but reasonably steady growth in
attendance and betting, and both its profitability and its attractiveness to horse
owners has been enhanced by the opening of the Canterbury card club in 2000.

Canterbury Park Pari-mutuel Handle
C. Y. 1995-2001 (in millions of dollars)
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allowed

The Minnesota Constitution allows the legislature to authorize "on-track pari­
mutuel betting on horse racing." Pari-mutuel betting on dog racing or other
kinds of racing is not allowed. As noted above, the courts have interpreted the
constitutional language to prohibit off-track betting parlors and telephone
account betting.



The racetracks

Card club

Taxes and
contributions

The pari-mutuel form of betting has bettors playing against each other, putting
money into wagering pools. Minnesota allows traditional win-place-show
betting, plus various "exotic" bets such as bets on multiple races in a day or
multiple entries in a race.

Each type of bet in each race goes into a separate betting pool. The racetrack
deducts a percentage called the "takeout" from each pool and distributes the
remaining money to winning ticket-holders. In Minnesota the takeout is 17
percent on win-place-show pools and 23 percent on all other pools.

Canterbury Park is still Minnesota's only track with thoroughbred racing. It also
conducts harness and quarterhorse racing. In recent years pari-mutuel betting on
harness racing has also been conducted at the Traverse County Fair in Wheaton.

Since 2000 Canterbury Park has operated a card club where "nonbanking" card
games, chiefly poker, have been played. Nonbanking games are games where
the players play only against each other instead of against the house. Bets are
limited to $30 on opening bets and $15 for raises.

From the racetrack's revenue from the card club, mainly derived from seat
charges and a "rake" on wagers, ten percent of the first $6 million and 14
percent on amounts above $6 million are set aside for purses for live races at the
track.. Ten percent of this set-aside goes to the Minnesota Breeders Fund (see
below). In 200 I the card club raised $1.8 million for Canterbury purses and
$200,000 for the Breeders Fund.

State law imposes a tax of 6 percent on the takeout from all betting pools in
excess of $12 million each year. Since the takeout at Canterbury Park has
exceeded this figure by only a small amount in recent years, revenue from this
tax has averaged less than $1 million annually since the track re-opened in 1995.

One percent of total pari-mutuel wagers (the pari-mutuel "handle") on live
racing and 5.5 percent of handle on full-card simulcast racing are set aside for
the Minnesota Breeders Fund, a fund established by law to promote the horse
industry in Minnesota. The money is used for purse supplements for Minnesota­
bred and Minnesota-foaled horses and for horse industry research and education.
Money in the Breeders Fund is allocated among breeds in proportion to each
breed's contributions to the fund. In 2001 total Breeders Fund revenue
including card club contributions was just over $1 million.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is the Do Not
Call list?

What calls will not
be covered by the
law?

How much do
telemarketers pay
for the list?

Minnesota's Do Not Call List

The Do Not Call list was established by the legislature during the 2002 session. It
is a list of residential telephone numbers submitted by consumers who do not want
to receive telemarketing calls.

Consumers can sign up for the list by contacting the Minnesota Department of
Commerce by telephone or on the department's web site. Anyone making or
attempting to make a telemarketing call covered by the law to a Minnesota
residential number is required to purchase an updated list once every three months,
and may not make unsolicited sales calls to the numbers appearing on the list.

The law has several exceptions. The most significant exceptions are:

• Calls made on behalf of nonprofit or political organizations;

• Calls made by businesses to customers with whom they have an existing
business relationship; and

• Calls that are not intended to complete a sale, but only to arrange a face-to­
face meeting where the sale will be completed.

The price of each new list will be $125 in 2003, $90 in 2004, and $75 in 2005 and
thereafter. Telemarketers must buy an updated list at least quarterly. Consumers
pay nothing to have their numbers added to the list. The list is funded entirely by
the cost to telemarketers of purchasing copies of the list.

What else is covered The bill also requires telemarketers to identify themselves to consumers at the
under the bill? beginning of call and prohibits them from disabling a consumer's use of Caller ID.

What will happen if
afederal Do Not
Call list is
established?

In that case, the Minnesota list will be provided to the federal agency administering
the federal list so that these subscribers can be added to the federal list. Once that
occurs, telemarketers who purchase the federal list do not need to purchase the
state list.



What are the
penalties for a
violation?

How does a
consumer sign up?

The law is enforced by the Minnesota Department of Commerce, which has the
authority to impose a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation by a
telemarketer. The law does not contain a private right of action that would allow a
consumer to collect money from the telemarketer for a violation.

Consumers can find additional information about signing up online on the
Department of Commerce's web site, www.commerce.state.mn.us. Consumers
can also sign up by calling the department at 1-800-921-4110.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes at 651-296-5059.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota's Predatory Offender Community Notification Law

What is community
notification?

Who is a predatory
offender?

What are the
various risk levels
and what do they
mean?

What type of
community
notification occurs
for the various risk
levels?

Minnesota's community notification law requires assignment of risk levels to
predatory offenders (i.e., sex offenders) who are required to register under
Minnesota's predatory offender registration law. Based upon the risk level
assigned to the offender, law enforcement must share certain infonnation and
may share other infonnation about the offender with certain individuals and
entities in the area where the offender lives, works, or attends school. This law·
aims to increase public safety by letting people know where these offenders are
in the community.

A predatory offender is an offender who is required to register under the
predatory offender registration law, except for individuals who are required to
register solely because of a juvenile delinquency detennination. A person is
treated as a predatory offender if the person has committed felony criminal
sexual conduct or certain other designated sex crimes, kidnapping, or false
imprisonment. These crimes are often referred to as predatory offenses. The
law recognizes as predatory offenders those individuals who have committed
these crimes under Minnesota law, federal law, or the law of other states. The
law also requires registration of certain individuals who have been civilly
committed as sexually dangerous persons or as mentally ill and dangerous,
provided the person was charged with a predatory offense.

There are three risk levels, as follows:

• Level I offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a low risk of
reoffense.

• Level II offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a moderate
risk of reoffense.

• Level III offenders have a risk assessment score that indicates a high risk of
reoffense.

The type of community notification that occurs depends on the risk level to
which an offender has been assigned. The depth and breadth of the disclosure
depends upon the level of danger posed by the offender, his or her pattern of
offending behavior, and the need of community members for infonnation to
enhance individual and community safety. Notification for the three levels is as
follows:

Level I Offenders. The law enforcement agency may maintain infonnation
about the offender within the agency and disclose it to other law enforcement



Are predatory
offenders wanted"
by the police?

Is it okay to take
steps to try to get a
predatory offender
to leave the
community?

How can I obtain
information about
level III offenders
living in my
community?

agencies. The law enforcement agency also may disclose the information to any
victims or witnesses to the offense committed by the offender. The agency must
disclose information to victims ofthe offense who have requested disclosure and
to adult members of the offender's immediate household.

Level II Offenders. The law enforcement agency may disclose the same
information it may disclose on Level I offenders and it also may disclose
information to agencies and groups the offender is likely to encounter. These
agencies and groups include the staff members of public and private educational
institutions, day care establishments, and establishments and organizations that
primarily serve individuals likely to be victimized by the offender. The agency
also may disclose information to individuals the agency believes are likely to be
victimized by the offender based on the offender's pattern of offending or victim
preference.

Level III Offenders. The law enforcement agency must disclose the
information to the persons and entities who mayreceive notice about Level I and
II offenders. In addition, the agency must disclose information to other
members of the community whom the offender is likely to encounter, unless the
agency determines that public safety would be compromised by the disclosure or
that a more limited disclosure is necessary to protect the identity of the victim.
When a Level III offender moves into a community, law enforcement typically
holds a community meeting to provide information about the offender.

Generally, no. Community notification is not part of the offender's punishment
for an offense. Most sex offenders residing in the community have served the
prison or jail time imposed on them and have been properly released to live in
the community. Although many of these offenders are still under some form of
correctional supervision (i.e., probation or supervised release), some are not.

No. The community notification law is a civil law aimed at furthering public
safety and is not considered punishment. The harassment of individuals subject
to community notification by community members could lead to a court
deciding that the law is punishment and unconstitutional in certain cases; ifthis
happened, Minnesota's ability to conduct community notification on predatory
offenders would be significantly reduced.

Information about Level III offenders is posted on the Department of
Corrections website at www.doc.state.rnn.us/leve13/leve13.asp. Your local law
enforcement agency also may be able to provide you with information.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Judie Zollar at 651-296-1554. Also see the House
Research publication Sex Offenders and Predatory Offenders: Minnesota Criminal and Civil Regulatory
Laws, October 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota's Probation Delivery and Funding System

What is probation?

What is supervised
release?

What is conditional
release?

How are probation
services provided
and how are they
funded?

Probation is a court-ordered sanction imposed upon an offender for a period of
supervision no greater than that set by statute. It is imposed as an alternative to
confinement or in conjunction with confinement or other sanctions. The purpose
of probation is to deter further criminal behavior, punish the offender, help provide
reparation to crime victims and their communities, and provide offenders with
opportunities for rehabilitation. The court, with input from probation officers,
establishes conditions the offender must obey while on probation. If those
conditions are violated, the court may revoke probation and confine the person in a
local or state correctional facility.

Supervised release is a period of mandatory community supervision following the
end of the term of imprisonment for offenders committed to the custody of the
Commissioner of Corrections for offenses occurring on or after May 1, 1980. For
offenders committed to the commissioner's custody on or after August 1, 1993, the
period of supervised release is one-third of the total executed sentence pronounced
by the court, minus any disciplinary time imposed on the offender in prison. The
Commissioner of Corrections establishes conditions, which the offender must obey
during supervised release. If those conditions are violated, the commissioner may
revoke the supervised release and return the offender to prison for a period of time
not to exceed the length of time left on the sentence.

Since May 1, 1980, Minnesota no longer has a parole system where a parole board
Teviews-eachparticularcaseto determine whether a particular offender should be
released from prison. Under Minnesota law, the person is subject to a set
imprisonment period, followed by supervised release.

The term "conditional release" is used in several places in Minnesota law and
means different things in different places. Most commonly, conditional release is a
period of community supervision imposed on sex offenders to ensure that the
offender is under supervision for at least a minimum amount of time. In other
contexts, the term "conditional release" is used to refer to all types of release,
including probation, supervised release, and pretrial release. And; in some
contexts, the term "conditional release" is used interchangeably with the term
"pretrial release."

Minnesota has three delivery systems for providing probation and supervised
release services: Community Corrections Act (CCA) counties, County Probation
Officer (CPO) counties, and Department of Corrections (DOC) counties (i.e.,
counties that contract with the DOC for these services).



CCA Counties. Thirty-one counties participate in the Minnesota Community
Corrections Act and provide probation and supervised release services to all of
their adult and juvenile offenders. Together, these counties supervise 74 percent of
the state's offenders. The DOC must approve a comprehensive CCA plan for
counties to operate as CCA counties, but once it does, counties have considerable
flexibility in deciding the types of services to provide. Counties participating in
the CCA may develop, implement, and operate community-based corrections
programs including preventive or diversionary correctional programs, conditional
release programs, community corrections centers, and facilities for the detention or
confinement and treatment of persons convicted of a crime or adjudicated
delinquent. Employees of community-based corrections programs report to the
chief executive officer or designee of the programs.

The funding for counties participating in the CCA varies by jurisdiction. Services
are paid for through a combination of state appropriations allocated according to a
predetermined formula and county and other funds. In fiscal year 2001, the state
contributed approximately 28 percent of funding in CCA counties and the county
and federal government contributed 72 percent.

CPO Counties. Twenty-nine counties operate under a county probation officer
model. In these counties, felony supervision is provided by the Department of
Corrections, but the county supervises juveniles and misdemeanants. These
counties supervise 13 percent of the state's offenders. In general, the county board
appoints probation officers in these counties, but the court may appoint officers in
some situations.

The state provides up to 50 percent of the funding for probation officer salary and
benefits for supervision of misdemeanants and juveniles. Additional services may
be purchased through the county board. The counties reimburse the state for 100
percent of the supervision costs in counties that contract for services with the
DOC.

. "DOC Counties." Fifty-six counties contract with the DOC for probation and
supervised release services for all felons within the counties; 27 counties contract
with the DOC for probation services for juveniles and misdemeanants. Thirteen
percent of the state's offenders are supervised in this manner.

In those counties where the DOC provides services directly, the entire amount is
funded by a direct state appropriation, without access to local funding. The DOC
receives 100 percent reimbursement for supervision costs when counties contract
with the DOC for services.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Judie Zollar at 651-296-1554.
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What is racial
profiling?

What is Minnesota
doing to study
racial profiling?

Minnesota's Racial Profiling Legislation

The Minnesota Legislature defined racial profiling as any action initiated by law
enforcement that relies upon the race, ethnicity, or national origin of an individual
rather than:

• the behavior of that individual; or
• information that leads law enforcement to a particular individual who has

been identified as being engaged in or having been engaged in criminal
activity.

This definition includes use of racial or ethnic stereotypes as factors in selecting
whom to stop and search. The definition of racial profiling specifically states that
racial profiling does not include law enforcement's use ofrace or ethnicity to
determine whether a person matches a specific description of a particular subject.

The 2001 Minnesota Legislature passed into law a voluntary statewide racial
profiling study. Law enforcement agencies throughout the state are encouraged to
participate through the use of incentives. The Commissioner of Public Safety is
required to oversee the study, which focuses on traffic stops. The study requires
collection of the following data for 12 months, the 2002 calendar year:

• the location of the stop;
• the date and time of the stop;
• the age, race/ethnicity, and gender of the driver;
• the traffic violation or reason for the stop;
• the disposition of a stop (arrest, citation, warning, or no action);
• whether a search was conducted of the driver, passengers, or vehicle;
• if a search was conducted, whether any contraband was discovered or

seized and the nature of the contraband;
• whether the officer knew the race/ethnicity of the driver before the stop;

and
• the law enforcement agency's code.

The Commissioners of Administration and Public Safety are required to retain a
sufficiently experienced and independent organization or individual to oversee data
collection, develop processes for analyzing the data, and analyze the data. This
expert must report to the legislature by December 1,2003, on its analysis of the
data and its findings.



Are there any law
enforcement
policies in place to
prevent racial
profiling?

What else is the
state doing to
prevent racial
profiling?

Yes. The 2001 legislation requires the Peace Officer Standards and Training
Board (POST) to develop a model antiracial profiling policy. The policy must
define racial profiling, identify the conduct that violates the law, and require
officers to identify their department and provide their name or badge number
during routine traffic stops. The 2001 law also requires state and local law
enforcement agencies to establish and enforce written antiracial profiling policies
that meet or exceed the requirements of the model policy. The POST board may
inspect state and local agency policies to ensure compliance.

Learning Objectives for Peace Officers. The legislation requires the POST
board to prepare learning objectives for training of peace officers (i.e., police
officers) focused on avoiding racial profiling. Peace officer educational programs
must include these learning objectives in their required curriculum. In addition,
the POST board must evaluate and monitor in-service training courses to ensure
they satisfy the learning objectives.

Training Materials for Supervisory Law Enforcement Officers. The POST
board is required to prepare training materials to provide supervisory law
enforcement officers with information on how to detect and respond to racial
profiling by peace officers. These materials must include information on federal
and state constitutional and statutory laws prohibiting discrimination by law
enforcement. The training materials must address both the agency's antiracial
profiling policy and procedural components aimed at eliminating racial profiling.

Regional Training Seminars. The law requires the POST board to conduct
regional training seminars throughout the state on racial profiling issues unique to
specific regions of the state. These seminars also must promote a community­
oriented response to the issue of racial profiling.

Licensure Requirements for New Officers. The 2001 law prohibits an individual
from taking a peace officer licensing exam on or after June 1, 2002, unless the
individual has received preservice training on avoiding racial profiling, and the
individual has completed a psychological evaluation demonstrating that the
individual is not likely to engage in racial profiling.

Minority Recruitment and Law Enforcement Diversity. The 2001 legislation
requires the chief of the state patrol to identify measures to recruit minorities and
increase their representation in the state patrol. Other changes to the law aim to
increase the diversity of law enforcement officers in the state. These changes
allow a person with a baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university
who has successfully completed a board-certified practical skills-oriented basic
training course to take the peace officer licensing examination. In addition, a
person who has five or more years of active duty military police service 'who has
been honorably discharged from the military is eligible to take the reciprocity
exam for police officer eligibility.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Judie Zollar at 651-296-1554.
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Overview of Criminal Sexual Conduct Crimes

What is "criminal
sexual conduct"?

Minnesota law classifies the crime of criminal sexual conduct into five
categories: first- through fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct, with first-degree
carrying the most severe penalties and fifth-degree the least. Minn. Stat.
§§ 609.342 to 609.3451. Generally speaking, the first-degree and third-degree
crimes apply to sexual conduct involving sexual penetration of the victim; the
second-, fourth-, and fifth-degree crimes apply to sexual conduct involving
sexual contact with the victim without sexual penetration.

Criminal sexual conduct in the first and second degree typically apply to
conduct involving personal injury to the victim; the use or threatened use of
force, violence, or a dangerous weapon; or victims who are extremely young.
Criminal sexual conduct in the third, fourth, and fifth degree typically address
less aggravated conduct and apply to other situations in which the victim either
did not consent to the sexual conduct, was relatively young, or was incapable of
voluntarily consenting to the sexual conduct due to a particular vulnerability or
due to the special relationship between the offender and the victim.

Penalties Applying to Criminal Sexual Conduct

.1",. Maximum penalty Presumptive Sentencing GUldeIlnes sentenee (rio .
I ..... ''''''' provided by statute· . criminalhistorY) ..

Sexual penetration; 30 years; $40,000 fine 86 months in prison for penetration; 48 months in prison
certain sexual for contact with victim under age 13. Statutory law

18!?n.Q[#ct I •.••• ··•••• ·•·• 'i II contact with victim presumes an executed sentence of 144 months for all
under 13 years old violations

.•..• Sexual contact 25 years; $35,000 fine 48 months in prison; 21· months stayed sentence for

Sexual contact 10 years; $20,000 fine 21 months stayed sentence; 12 months stayed sentence
for "statutory rape"*

...... Sexual contact; One year; $3,000 fine
certain lewd (gross misdemeanor).....

(:9tt(11Llct.·•••••••·••·ii •••••·•.••.•••••• conduct Certain repeat
:i ... ......<> violations punishable
1 Ji·i. by 5 years; $10,000 fine

Sentencing guidelines do not apply to gross misdemeanor
violations; felony violations are not ranked in sentencing
guidelines and sentencing is left to court's discretion

* As used in this chart, "statutory rape" means a criminal sexual conduct crime that has the following elements: (1) sexual
.conduct; (2) a victim of a certain age; and, for certain crimes, either (3) a familial relationship between the actor and the victim; or
i(4) use of a position of authority by the actor. The term "statutory rape" is not a statutory term.



What other
mandatory
sentencing
provisions apply?

What other laws are
predatory offenders
subject to?

Convicted predatory offenders also are subject to certain mandatory sentencing
laws that are designed to minimize their recidivism risk.

Minimum Conditional Release Term. If a court sentences a felony-level sex
offender to prison, the court must also sentence the offender to serve a minimum
period of "conditional release" after release from prison. The mandatory
conditional release periods are five years for first-time offenders and ten years
for repeat offenders.

Mandatory Predatory Offender Assessment and Treatment. The court must
order a predatory offender treatment assessment for any person convicted of
criminal sexual conduct (any degree), surreptitious intrusion, obscene phone
calls, or indecent exposure. The court may waive the assessment if the offender
is eligible for a presumptive prison sentence or has already been assessed. If the
assessment indicates the offender is in need of and amenable to treatment, the
court must order the offender to undergo treatment if the court places the
offender on probation.

There are a number oflaws to which predatory offenders are subject. The
purpose of these laws is to aid law enforcement in detection of crime and to
further public safety.

DNA Analysis. The court must order persons convicted of or adjudicated
delinquent for a sex offense to provide a biological sample for DNA analysis.
This requirement also applies to persons convicted of other violent crimes listed
in the law. If an individual was not ordered to provide this specimen at the time
of sentencing, the offender must provide the specimen before release.

Predatory Offender Registration. The Predatory Offender Registration (POR)
law is a system under which an individual convicted of predatory offenses (i.e.,
sex offense) is required to register with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension
(BCA) for a period of time, usually ten years. The law applies both to adults
and juveniles.

Community Notification. The Community Notification law requires
assignment of a risk level to predatory offenders (i.e., sex offenders) who are
required to register under the Predatory Offender Registration law. Based upon
the offender's risk level, law enforcement must share certain information and
may share other infonnation about the offender with certain individuals and
entities in the area where the offender lives, works, or attends school.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Judie Zollar at 651-296-1554. Also see the House
Research publication Sex Offenders and Predatory Offenders: Minnesota Criminal and Civil Regulatory
Laws, October 2002.
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What is the
predatory offender
registration law?

Who must register?

WhadnfOl'mation
must a predatory
offenderprovide
under the POR
law?

How does law
enforcement know
ifa person is
providing accurate
information?

Predatory Offender Registration

The Predatory Offender Registration (PaR) law is a system under which an
individual convicted of a predatory offense (i.e., sex offense) is required to
register with the Bureau of Criminal· Apprehension (BCA) for a period of time,
usually ten years. Minn. Stat. § 243.166. The law applies both to adults and
juveniles. The law's purposes include assisting law enforcement in keeping track
of predatory offenders and protecting public safety.

The POR law requires registration of individuals who have committed certain
crimes under Minnesota law, federal law, or the law of other states. The law
also requires registration of individuals who have been civilly committed as
sexually dangerous persons, sexual psychopathic personalities, or mentally ill
and dangerous, provided the person was charged with one of the offenses listed
below.

An offender must register under the law if charged with and convicted of one of
the following offenses or another offense arising out of the same set of
circumstances: murder while committing or attempting to commit criminal
sexual conduct in the first or second degree with force or violence; kidnapping;
criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, third, fourth, and fifth (felony only)
degree; felony indecent exposure; false imprisonment of a minor; soliciting a
minor to engage in prostitution or sexual conduct; using a minor in a sexual
performance; and possessing pictorial representations ofminors.

Anindividual who is requiredto register must provide the following information
to the person's corrections agent or to law enforcement:

• the address of the person's primary residence;
• the addresses of all of the person's secondary Minnesota residences,

including all residences used for residential or recreational purposes;
• the addresses of all Minnesota property owned, leased, or rented by the

person;
• the addresses of all locations where the person is employed;
• the addresses of all residences where the person resides while attending'

school; and
• the year, model, make, license plate number, and color of all motor vehicles

owned or regularly driven by the person.

The POR law aims to ensure information on offenders is current and accurate by
requiring offenders to notify their corrections agents or law enforcement
whenever any of the registration information they have provided changes. In
addition, the BCA sends out verification letters to offenders annually. The
offender must sign and return the form within ten days of receipt of the form,



Is there a penalty
for an offender's
failure to follow the
POR law?

For how long must
an offender
register?

Who is subject to
lifetime
registration?

stating the offender's current and last address. For offenders who are required to
register because they were committed as sexually dangerous persons or sexual
psychopathic personalities, the BCA must verify residence four times a year. In
addition to these requirements, many local law enforcement agencies send police
officers out to check on offenders in person to ensure they are living where they
say they are.

Yes. A person who knowingly violates any of the provisions of the registration
law or who intentionally provides false information to a corrections agent, law
enforcement authority, or the BCA is guilty of a five-year felony. The POR law
provides a mandatory prison sentence of one year and one day for a first offense
and not less than two years for a subsequent offense.

Except for those persons subject to lifetime registration, a person who is
required to register is subject to the law for ten years from the time he or she
initially registered in connection with the offense, or until the probation,
supervised release, or conditional release period expires, whichever occurs
later. For individuals who have been civilly committed, the ten-year
registration period does not include the period of commitment. In addition, a
new ten-year registration period applies to a person subsequently incarcerated
for a violation of supervised release, conditional release, or probation for the
offense for which he or she is required to register or for any new offense. These
individuals must continue to register until ten years have elapsed since they were
last released from incarceration, or until their probation, supervised release, or
conditional release expires, whichever occurs later.

Lifetime registration is required for three categories of individuals.

• Recidivists. This category includes a person convicted of or adjudicated
delinquent for any offense for which registration is required who has a prior
conviction or adjudication for an offense where registration was or would
have been required under the law.

• Individuals Who Commit Aggravated Offenses. This category includes a
person who commits a sexual act, including, but not limited to penetration,
with a victim of any age through the use of force or the threat of serious
violence and a person who commits a sexual act, including but not limited to
penetration, with a victim under the age of 13.

• Sexual Predators. This category includes a person who is required to
register following commitment as a sexual psychopathic personality or
sexually dangerous person.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Judie Zollar at 651-296-1554. Also see the House
Research publication Sex Offenders and Predatory Offenders: Minnesota Criminal and Civil Regulatory
Laws, October 2002.
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Prohibition Against Ex Post Facto Laws

What is an ex post facto law?

The state is expressly prohibited from enacting an ex
post facto law by article I, section 10 of the United
States Constitution and article I, section 11 of the
Minnesota Constitution.. An ex post facto law is one
that (1) applies to events occurring before its
enactment, and (2) disadvantages the person affected
by it. The purpose of this limitation is to ensure that
individuals have fair warning of legislative acts that
could operate to their disadvantage.

An ex post facto law is one that has the purpose or
effect of creating a new crime, increasing the
punishment for an existing crime, depriving a
defendant of a defense available at the time the act
was committed, or otherwise rendering an act
punishable in a different, more disadvantageous
manner than was true under the law at the time it was
committed.

• the sanction has historically been regarded
as a punishment,

• the sanction comes into play only on a
finding of scienter,

• the sanction's operation will promote the
traditional aims of punishment-retribution
and deterrence,

• the behavior to which the sanction applies is
already a crime,

• an alternative purpose to which the sanction
may rationally be connected is assignable
for it, and

• the sanction appears excessive in relation to
the alternative purpose assigned.

Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144, 168­
69 (1963). In the criminal context, "scienter" refers
to a person's state of mind or knowledge of
wrongdoing.

How do courts determine whether a law is
punitive?

A law is punitive if the legislature intended to punish
an offender for a past act and the law indeed
functions as punishment. In situations where the
legislature does not state whether a statute is intended
to be punitive or regulatory, the court considers a
number of factors. These factors are whether:

A law is not ex post facto if it merely changes trial
procedures or rules of evidence and operates in only
a limited and unsubstantial manner to the accused's
disadvantage. In addition, a law is not ex post facto
if it is a civil, regulatory law and is not sufficiently
punitive in purpose or effect to negate the civil label.

• the sanction involves an affirmative
disability or restraint,

What types of laws have been found to violate the
ex post facto clause?

The following cases are examples of laws found by
Minnesota courts to violate the ex post facto clause
or potentially raise ex post facto concerns:

• An 18-year-old may not be prosecuted in
adult court for a crime committed before the
effective date of a law eliminating juvenile
court jurisdiction over offenders between the
ages of 18 and 21.

• An offender's "criminal history score" under
the sentencing guidelines may not include a
felony point for a previous out-of-state crime
which, at the time it was committed, was
equivalent to a gross misdemeanor crime
under Minnesota law.



• An offender's sentence may not include
court-ordered restitution in addition to an
executed sentence because the law in effect at
the time of defendant's crime did not
authorize the imposition of both these
sanctions together.

• A statutory defense to a crime may not be
eliminated retroactively.

What types of laws have survived an ex post facto
challenge?

The following cases describe situations where the
court found no ex post facto violation.

• Previous DWI convictions may be used to
elevate a defendant's current DWI offense
from a misdemeanor to a gross misdemeanor
under a new law increasing penalties for
repeat offenders.

• Criminal statute of limitations may be
lengthened and applied to crimes committed
before the effective date of the change if
prosecution of that crime was not time-barred
as of the new law's effective date.

• A new law allowing the docketing of court­
ordered restitution orders as civil judgments
may be applied constitutionally to a defendant
who committed the crime before the new
law's effective date but who was sentenced
after the effective date.

• A new law eliminating the applicability of
the medical privilege to certain evidence in
child abuse cases is not ex post facto as
applied to proceedings concerning crimes
committed before the law's effective date.
The law merely affects the type of evidence
that is admissible; it neither creates a new
crime nor changes the standard of proof.

• Application of a new law providing state
procedures for imposing federal firearms
restrictions on convicted offenders does not
violate the ex post facto clause because (1)
the provision does not create a new crime or
impose a harsher punishment, and (2) the
defendant was on constructive notice before
the new law was enacted that he would be
subject to even harsher federal restrictions if
convicted for his ongoing criminal acts.

• A new law requiring a defendant to pay
extradition costs does not violate the ex post
facto clause because its purpose is to
reimburse the state for its expenses, not to
punish the defendant.

• Laws permitting the civil commitment of .
sexually dangerous persons and requiring
sex offenders to register their living address
with law enforcement authorities do not
violate the ex post facto clause because these
laws are civil, regulatory laws that are not
sufficiently punitive in purpose or effect so
as to negate their civil label.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Judie Zollar at 651-296-1554 for information on ex post
facto issues, including case law citations for the examples provided in this document.
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The Fourth Amendment: Search and Seizure Law

What is the Fourth Amendment?

The Fourth Amendment of the United States
Constitution protects individuals against
unreasonable searches and seizures by law
enforcement officers. The Fourth Amendment of the
United States Constitution provides:

The right ofpeople to be secure in
their persons, houses, papers, and
effects, against unreasonable searches
and seizures, shall not be violated,
and no Warrants shall issue, but upon
probable cause, supported by Oath or
affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched,
and the persons or things to be seized.

Article I, section 10, of the Minnesota Constitution is
nearly identical to the Fourth Amendment, but the
Minnesota Supreme Court has at times afforded
individuals greater protection against unlawful
searches and seizures under the Minnesota
Constitution than that available under the Federal
Constitution. Protection of the home is at the core of
the Fourth Amendment, but protection also applies to
persons, papers, and effects.

To what conduct does the Fourth Amendment
apply?

The Fourth Amendment applies only to certain
situations. In general, the question of whether the
Fourth Amendment applies turns on whether a person
has a reasonable expectation ofprivacy in a
particular situation. Whether a person has a
reasonable expectation of privacy turns on both a
subjective and objective analysis. First, the
individual must have a subjective intent to keep
something private. Second, and more importantly,

the expectation must be one that society is willing to
recognize as reasonable.

To analyze further whether the Fourth Amendment
applies, the analysis must address the place
searched, the person doing the search, the person
being searched, and the reason for the search.

What protection does the Fourth Amendment
provide?

Central to the Fourth Amendment is its charge that
police act reasonably when they engage in search or
seizure activities. In general, for a search or seizure
to be reasonable, it must be supported by a warrant
issued by a neutral and detached magistrate or judge
who has determined probable cause exists to support
a particular search or seizure. As defined by the
United States Supreme Court, "[p]robable cause
exists where 'the facts and circumstances within [the
police officer's] knowledge, and of which they had
reasonable trustworthy information, [are] sufficient
in themselves to warrant a man of reasonable
caution in the belief that' an offense has been or is
being committed." Brinegar v. United States, 338
U.S. 160 (1949).

In some cases, the Supreme Court has found
searches and seizures to be constitutional absent a
warrant, provided the conduct passes a
reasonableness test. Under this test, the Court
balances the government interest in investigating
crime against the extent of the intrusion into a
person's privacy. Because the sanctity of the home
is given significant Fourth Amendment protection,
the Court is more inclined to require a warrant for a
search of a home. When the Court is dealing with
encounters on the streets or in public places,
however, the Court often applies a reasonableness
test to assess whether a search or seizure is



the plain view/plain feel doctrine, which
allows the seizure of evidence when there
has been a prior valid intrusion into a
constitutionally protected area, an item is
spotted in plain view or is within "plain
feel," and there is probable cause to believe
the item is evidence.

•

In what situations will an articulable suspicion
support a search or seizure?

Limited searches and seizures based upon
articulable suspicion are really exceptions to the
warrant requirement. In order to exercise the
exception, law enforcement must have an articulable
suspicion that criminal activity is afoot. This
exception stems from the United States Supreme
Court case, Terry v. Ohio, and is referred to as the
Terry exception. Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968).
The exception authorizes a limited seizure or stop,
usually briefer than a full-blown arrest and at the
location where the stop occurred. The search
authorized under Terry is based on officer safety.
For the search to be justified, the officer must have
some articulable suspicion that the individual may
be armed, and the officer may conduct only a pat­
down of the person's clothing (i.e., a "frisk").

What is the remedy for violation ofa person's
Fourth Amendment rights?

A person who has been subjected to an unreasonable
search or seizure may challenge the action and seek
suppression of any evidence obtained as a result of
the unlawful action. With limited exceptions, the
evidence that may be suppressed includes both the
evidence directly discovered as well as any other
evidence police are led to as a result of obtaining
information unlawfully. A person whose Fourth
Amendment rights have been violated may also
bring a civil rights lawsuit under federal law for
damages and/or injunctive relief, provided the
person can satisfy certain requirements.

constitutional. This approach provides greater
investigational efficiency, but less Fourth
Amendment protection.

The United States Supreme Court has recognized
many clear exceptions to the warrant requirement; in
these cases, a search or seizure is deemed reasonable
and constitutional absent a warrant provided probable
cause and certain circumstances exist. In some
situations, a limited search or seizure is deemed
reasonable absent a warrant and with a level of
suspicion lower than probable cause, provided the
police have an articulable suspicion to believe
criminal activity is afoot.

What are the exceptions to the warrant
requirement?

Courts have recognized numerous exceptions to the
warrant requirement, including:

• exigent circumstances, or the need to engage
in a search or seizure immediately due to an
emergency situation where life and/or safety
is at risk;

• search incident to a lawful arrest to locate
and seize weapons and thereby protect the
arresting officer and prevent the destruction
of evidence;

• the automobile exception to seize and search
an automobile based upon the exigency
present due to the mobility of a vehicle before
a warrant can be obtained;

• the container exception to search a container
in an automobile based upon the same
exigency present with the automobile
exc.eption, but if the container is not in an
automobile, the police may seize (based on
exigency due to mobility of container), but
may not search, the container;

• consent when the police have a reasonable
assumption that the party granting consent
has lawful authority to do so and the consent
is voluntary; and

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Judie Zollar at 651-296-1554.
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The Minnesota Anti-Terrorism Act of 2002

What anti-terrorism
laws did the
legislature enact
during the 2002
legislative session?

What are the major
policy provisions in
the act?

During the 2002 legislative session, the Minnesota Legislature enacted the
Minnesota Anti-Terrorism Act of 2002. The act:

• creates a Homeland Security Advisory Council;
• permits counties to issue bonds for the purchase of public safety radio

equipment;
• increases the fee for 911 service in order to fund statutory obligations,

public safety access points (PSAPS), and an interconnected state radio
system;

• creates a governance structure for administering funds for the
interconnected state radio system;

• requires collection of DNA samples from certain felons;
• amends the murder in the first degree statute to include causing death

while furthering terrorism;
• amends the criminal damage to property statute by adding a specific

offense for damage to critical public service facilities;
• creates the new crimes of trespass on critical public service facilities,

weapons of mass destruction, and furthering terrorism; and
• appropriates money for anti-terrorism training and terrorism response-

related purposes.

Homeland Security Advisory Council. The act establishes the Homeland
Security Advisory Council to advise the Department of Public Safety on issues
relating to homeland security, to review and recommend changes to all terrorism
preparedness and anti-terrorism policies and procedures, and to ensure
coordination of and accountability for all state and federal anti-terrorism and
terrorism preparedness-related funding.

Public safety radio system planning committee. The act requires the
Commissioner ofPublic Safety to convene and chair a public safety radio system
planning committee. The committee must implement a project plan and establish a
statewide, shared trunked radio system..The committee must submit a status report
by November 15, 2002, and a project plan by January 15,2003." '.'

Murder in the first-degree. The act expands the murder in the first-degree crime
to include causing the death of a person while committing, attempting to commit,
or conspiring to commit a felony crime to further terrorism and the death occurs
under circumstances manifesting. an extreme indifference to human life.



New crimes. The act creates the crimes of:

~ causing damage to property of critical public service facilities,
utilities, and pipelines;

~ trespassing on property of critical public service facilities, utilities, and
pipelines;

~ real and simulated weapons of mass destruction; and

~ crimes committed in furtherance of terrorism.

What are the major
funding provisions
in the act?

What major issues
did the legislature
consider but
ultimately not
enact?

Did the legislature
enact any other
legislation related to
terrorism?

The act appropriates $13 million to the Commissioner of Public Safety. The major
funding provisions cover:

Equipment. Allocates $3,750,000 to purchase terrorism response-related
equipment. The allocation is for grants to local and state response units for the
purchase of personal protection equipment, chemical detection and measurement
equipment, and decontamination equipment. Grant applicants must provide a 25
percent match.

Training. Allocates $7,500,000 to terrorism response-related training.

Bomb disposal squads. Allocates $250,000 for the reimbursement of bomb
disposal units.

Hazardous materials emergency response teams. Allocates $240,000 for the
conversion of the Rochester, Moorhead, and Duluth chemical assessmentteams to
combination emergency response/chemical assessment teams.

Capitol security. Allocates $600,000 to fund increased security of the Capitol
Complex.

Minnesota Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board. Allocates
$400,000 to medical resource control centers.

As part of the anti-terrorism act debate, the legislature considered changes to the
laws regulating wiretaps, drivers licenses for foreign visitors, open meetings, and
the governor's emergency powers, but elected to leave the laws as they stand. The
legislature also debated the merits of, but did not act upon, background checks for
crop dusters, a biological agents registry, and registration of drivers of hazardous
materials

Yes. The legislature enacted the Minnesota Emergency Health Powe,rs Act. The
act specifies the powers and duties of the governor and the Commissioner of
Health during public health emergencies. See the House Research publication,
The Minnesota Emergency Health Powers Act, September 2002.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Jeffrey P. Diebel at 651-296-5041.
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Explanations for Economic Growth

Various theories have been advanced to explain the growth of state or regional income and employment.
These theories have been used to justify economic development-related state and local policies.

Export base and
traded industries

Local specialization
and a high-tech
economy

Global cities and the
changing role of
centralplaces

Some have suggested that exports are a key contributor to economic growth.
Goods and services sold outside the state (whether to another state or
internationally) bring in dollars that can be used to purchase other goods and
services. Traditionally, the agriculture, mining, and manufacturing sectors were
commonly recognized as export industries. Recently, several services-producing
industries are increasingly recognized as export capable. Also, international trade
economists suggest that increased trade, both exports and imports, may lead to
income growth.

Some suggest local specialization through large-scale employment or production
might result in faster economic growth. This specialization may be in a single
similar grouping of industries or in several industry clusters. Clustering may result
in faster economic growth for several reasons including:

• Increasing face-to-face communication by employees from nearby
businesses (e.g., exchanging information on innovative products)

• Fostering collaboration or increasing competition
• Attracting input suppliers and thereby lowering transportation costs

Discussions on local specialization often include high technology and
biotechnology industries. Silicon Valley and other regions that specialized in
highly skilled economic activities might have produced higher increases in
income. However, there is some evidence, at least for Minnesota, that a diverse
set of industries resulted in greater economic growth. This does not imply that
Minnesota regions would not benefit from more employment in high-skill, high
technology production. It does suggest that too much specialization may not result
in sustained economic growth.

Geographers have long discussed the interconnected roles oflarger and smaller
cities. Larger urban cities provide goods and services to smaller cities. Larger
cities cover a broader market area and can sell those rare, hard-to-find goods and
services. Smaller cities distribute more commonly consumed items.

Recent discussions suggest that the role, at least for the largest cities, may be
changing. There may have been an emergence in economic activity for world­
class cities. Cities like New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles that trade with one
another across the globe and provide goods and services over a larger market area.
Companies actively engaged in international trade locate in these cities because
they have access to a large number ofhighly skilled workers. To the extent that
these global cities are developing, there may be implications for smaller cities as
well. Trade ofa different type may be occurring in these smaller cities.



Skilled occupations
and career ladders

The rise ofthe
creative class

Colleges and
universities

Roads,
telecommunications,
and other
infrastructure

Amenities-Making
the area an
enjoyable place to
live

Some suggest that public policies shouldfocus on increasing the number ofhighly
skilled workers based on trends in the economy, including:

• The increased demand for skilled workers
• Growth in services-producing employment
• Growth in high-technology employment which cuts across goods and

servIces
• Large cities with large pools of skilled labor may have a prime economic

advantage
• Evidence that the proportion ofhighly educated workers within a region

results in a faster rate of economic growth.

Also, persons with higher educational attainment rates usually have higher
incomes. However, research is needed to identify cost-effective ways to increase
the skills ofworkers already in the labor force.

Some prominent economic development scholars have suggested that it 's not just
knowledge, but creativity that is neededfor economic growth. The creation of
innovative ways to manufacture a good, manage a team, or produce a new product
is what generates income and jobs. Some suggest that communities that foster
creative efforts in the arts and other endeavors will more likely adopt creative
innovations in business. This is a relatively new idea, which is beginning to be
researched by economic development experts.

Universities and colleges may serve as centers for research, private-sector
collaboration, and labor training. Research conducted within a university might
result in new production processes, or new products, which generate income and
jobs for the local economy. Some ofthis research might even be done in
collaboration with private sector businesses. Labor training might also increase
income by increasing the productivity ofworkers. There is evidence, although
somewhat contested, that the benefits ofresearch may first go to local areas.

Historically, many cities grew at the intersection oftransportation routes.
Minneapolis served as a useful intersection between railroad and barge traffic.
Duluth is the westernmost port of the Great Lakes. More recently, the interstate
highway system may have enhanced growth in some Minnesota cities. Today
some suggest that besides roads, access to telecommunications may enhance
economic growth. There is some evidence that roads can increase productivity,
but more research is needed for how telecommunications affects productivity.

Access to parks, restaurants, musical events, casinos, theatres, museums, and
festivals may make a difference. Some suggest that persons migrate because of the
amenities offered in the area. Also, such amenities may help bring tourists into the
region. As in other policies, the benefits of creating and maintaining these
amenities must be weighed against their costs.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Don Hirasuna at 651-296-8038.
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Rural and Urban Economic Growth in Minnesota

Minnesota's economy underwent many changes in the 1990s. Two important indicators of economic
growth are per capita incomes and poverty. This short subject summarizes county level changes in these
economIC measures.

Growth in per
capita income

Minnesota per capita real income increased from $20,551 in 1990 to $24,660 in
2000, a 20.0 percent increase. The five counties with the highest per capita
incomes in 2000 were: Hennepin ($30,603), Carver ($30,281), Washington
($29,922), Dakota ($28,710), and Scott ($28,083).

On average, per capita incomes in nonmetropolitan counties grew by a larger
percentage than in metropolitan counties (nonmetro 25.9 percent, Twin Cities 19.4
percent, other metro 23.1 percent). The five counties with the highest percentage
change in real per capita income are: Pope (up 49.7 percent to $20,231), Aitken
(up 43.1 percent to $18,973), Cass (up 42.3 percent to $18,272), Hubbard (up 41.5
percent to $19,257), and Clearwater (up 39.7 percent to $16,683).

In pure dollar amounts, the opposite is true. Metropolitan counties increased by
the largest amount (Twin Cities by $4,444, other metropolitan counties by $4,039,
and nonmetropolitan counties by $3,879). The five counties with the highest
increase in real per capita incomes were: Carver (up $7,264 to $30,281), Pope (up
$6,713 to $20,231), Scott (up $6,173 to $28,083), Cook (up $5,913 to $23,147),
and Aitken (up $5,718 to $18,973).

Per Capita Real Income in Year 2000
(2001 dollars)

Change in Per Capita Real Income
(1990 to 2000)

Percent Change in Per Capita Real Income
(1990 to 2000)



Changes in the rate
ofpoverty

In 2000, the percentage of individuals living below the poverty threshold was 7.9
percent. This is a 2.3 percentage point reduction from 1990. The counties with the
five highest rates ofpoverty were: Beltrami (6.8 percent), Mahnomen (16.5
percent), Clearwater (14.8 percent), Wadena (13.7 percent), and Cass (13.4
percent).

Nonmetropolitan counties experienced larger percentage point reductions in
poverty than metropolitan counties (nonmetropolitan, 3.9 percentage points; Twin
Cities, 1.4 percentage points; other metropolitan counties, 2.3 percentage points).
The counties with the five largest reductions in the percentage ofpersons living in
poverty were: Mahnomen (9.0 percentage points), Cass (7.8 percentage points),
Wadena (7.5 percentage points), Hubbard (7.4 percentage points), and Clearwater
(7.3 percentage points).

Percent ofIndividuals Living Below the
Poverty Threshold (2000)

Change in Percent of Persons Living
Below the Poverty Threshold (1990 to 2000)

Data comes from the 1990 and 2000 censuses. Incomes were updated to 2001 dollars using the consumer
price index for all urban consumers in the United States for the years 1999 and 1989. The census lists
incomes from the previous year. The Twin Cities is the seven-county definition of the metropolitan area.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Don Hirasuna at 651-296-8038.
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Access to Student Records

Public schools
collect a lot of
student information

Federal Family
Educational Rights
and Privacy Act
protects the privacy
ofstudents ,
education records

Parents must
consent to
disclosing students'
records

Parents may inspect
and review
students' records

Parents may ask a
school to correct
inaccurate records

Public schools collect a lot of infonnation about students. School records often
contain detailed infonnation about a student's health and physical condition,
aptitude scores, achievement and psychological tests, comments by school
counselors and teachers, notes on interviews with parents and students, reports by
social workers, delinquency reports, samples of students' work, and
autobiographies. Some records may indicate a student's race, religion, and
national origin or include completed questionnaires for research projects.

The Federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) generally
provides that education data in students' records are private, and parents largely
control access to the data. Parents' rights regarding their children's records often
transfer to the student at age 18 unless the student remains a dependent for tax
purposes. Schools must notify parents and students of their rights under the law.
FERPA allows schools to disclose education data without parents' consent under
some circumstances. It sets minimum data practices standards that states may
make more stringent if there is no conflict with federal law. FERPA applies to all
public and private schools that receive applicable federal education funds, and
schools that violate FERPA can lose their funds. Individuals cannot sue under the
act.

FERPA generally prohibits schools from disclosing education records or other
personally identifiable infonnation about a minor student without the parent's
written consent. An effective written consent requires the parent to state that the
student's education record may be disclosed, the purpose of disclosing the record,
and the person(s) to whom the disclosure may be made. A parent may consent to
release the education records of a minor student to anyone the parent indicates.

FERPA gives parents the right to inspect and review their students' education
records. School districts annually must publish and distribute or post the
procedures by which parents may access a student's records. Schools need not
provide copies ofmaterials in education records unless a parent cannot inspect the
records personally. Schools may charge a fee for providing copies of records.

FERPA allows parents to ask a school to correct education records they believe are
inaccurate or misleading. If the school refuses to change the records, parents have
the right to a fonnal hearing. If the school refuses to correct the records after the
hearing, a parent may place written comments about the contested infonnation in
the records.



Schools may
disclose directory
information to
anyone

There are several
differences between
federal and state
law

The Government
Data Practices Act
regulates data
practices in
Minnesota

Schools may
disclose records
without consent ifa
statutory exception
applies

FERPA allows schools to disclose education records without parents' consent to:

• school officials in the student's school district who have a legitimate
educational interest in the information

• another school to which a student is transferring
• parents when a student over 18 is still a dependent
• certain government officials in order to carry out lawful functions
• appropriate parties in connection with financial aid to a student
• organizations doing certain studies for the school
• accrediting organizations
• individuals who have obtained court orders
• persons who need to know in cases of health or safety emergencies
• juvenile justice system

Directory information such as a student's name, address, and telephone number is
public information that generally is not considered harmful or an invasion of
privacy if disclosed. Schools may disclose directory information to anyone
without a parent's consent. Schools decide what information to designate as
directory information. Schools must tell parents that they can refuse to let the
school designate information about their student as directory information. A
school may not charge for access to directory information but may charge for a
copy of the information.

FERPA sets only minimum data practices standards and allows states to enact
more stringent laws that do not conflict with FERPA. The Minnesota Government
Data Practices Act under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13, regulates government
practices involving data. Minnesota law adopts FERPA provisions and includes
some additional restrictions and requirements on the sharing of educational data.
Under the data practices law, "educational data" is "private data on individuals"
and is available only to its subject, the student. Schools cannot disclose education
records or other personally identifiable information unless a sufficiently mature
student or the student's parent gives written consent or a federal or state exception
applies.

The Minnesota Government Data Practices Act differs from FERPA in several
ways, by:

• requiring a school to give its students a warning, often called the Tennessen
warning, any time it collects private or confidential data about the student

• allowing a minor student to give informed consent to disclose educational
data in some circumstances

• allowing a minor student to request that a school deny the student's parents
access to educational data about the student

• releasing education records subject to a court order but not a subpoena
• prohibiting parents from inspecting teachers' desk notes but allowing

parents to inspect the desk notes of other school personnel

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House
Research publication Federal and State Laws Governing Access to Student Records, November 2000.
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What is adult basic
education?

How is ABE
funded?

What are some
potential legislative
issues?

Adult Basic Education

Adult basic education (ABE) is a day or evening program offered by a school
district or consortium of districts. ABE programs offer academic instruction
necessary to earn a high school diploma or equivalency certificate.

ABE is a program for people over 16 years of age who do not attend an
elementary or secondary school.

Total ABE enrollment was 82,778 in fiscal year 2002.

Tuition and fees may not be charged to a learner for ABE instruction, except for
a security deposit to ensure the return ofmaterials, supplies, and equipment.

ABE programs receive federal funds and state general funds. In fiscal year
2003, state general funds accounted for about 85% ($32.2 million) of ABE
funding. The state funds are distributed to programs by a formula based on
basic population aid, contact hours, enrollment of students with limited English
proficiency, and the number of adults age 20 or older with no diploma residing
in the district. State total ABE aid is limited to 8 percent growth per year and
individual program growth is limited to the greater of 17 percent or $20,000 per
year.

School districts, school district consortia, the Department of Corrections, and
private nonprofit organizations may receive ABE funding. In fiscal year 2002,
60 consortia and organizations received ABE funding.

During the 2002 legislative session, there was an attempt tOTeduce the total state
aid and individual program growth caps. Currently, the total state ABE aid
growth cap is set at 8 percent and the individual program growth cap is set at the
greater of 17 percent or $20,000.

There is an ABE Policy Task Force that is mandated to make recommendations
to the legislature by December 1, 2002. The recommendations will include:

• a mission statement for a statewide system of ABE programs;
• standard policies and procedures;
• an outcome-based funding system; and
• an appropriate weight for contact hours for nonschool district programs.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication 2000 Adult Learner Legislation, August 2000.
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Child Care Assistance

What is child care
assistance?

What are the
eligibility
requirements for
child care
assistance?

What is the average
·-annual subsidy a

family receives?

Arefamilies
. required to pay for
some child care
expenses?

How is child care
assistance funded?

Child care assistance programs subsidize the child care expenses of eligible low­
income families. Minnesota administers two child care assistance programs,
Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) child care assistance and Basic
Sliding Fee (BSF) child care assistance. MFIP child care subsidizes the child
care costs of families receiving cash assistance through MFIP and provides child
care assistance for eligible families for the first 12 months after the family leaves
MFIP cash assistance. BSF child care provides a child care subsidy to low­
income working families who are not receiving cash assistance from MFIP.

To be eligible for child care assistance, both parents (or one parent in single­
parent households) must participate in an authorized work, education, or training
activity, cooperate with child support enforcement, and meet income eligibility
guidelines. The maximum income limit to be eligible for child care assistance is
75 percent of state median income.

Children up to age 13 are eligible for child care assistance (up to age 15 for
disabled children).

County agencies or their contractors must determine eligibility within 30 days of
receiving a request for child care assistance. Direct reimbursement is the only
method of receiving child care assistance.

In fiscal year 2001, the average annual subsidy for a family receiving MFIP
child care assistance was $7,323 and the average annual subsidy for a family
receiving BSF child care assistance was $5,762.

The maximum reimbursement rate for child care assistance is capped at the 75th

percentile of the cost of similar care in each county, based on a survey of
providers. Accredited providers receive a 10 percent bonus above the maximum
rate established, up to the actual rate of care.

There is a family co-payment requirement based on family size and income.
The maximum family co-payment is about 20 percent of gross monthly income.
Families with incomes below 75 percent of the federal poverty level are exempt
from making co-payments.

The child care assistance programs receive funding from a variety of sources,
including: the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF), federal
Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) funds, the state general fund,
state special revenue fund, and county funds.



How many families
receive child care
assistance?

What are some
potential legislative
issues?

During fiscal year 2001, there were an average of 11,938 families receiving
MFIP child care assistance and 14,617 families receiving BSF child care
assistance per quarter.

Not all families who apply for child care assistance receive it. MFIP child care
is a forecasted, fully-funded program, while BSF child care receives a capped
allocation. As of June 30, 2002, there were 5,149 families on the waiting list for
BSF child care assistance.

During the 2001 legislative session, there were several proposals to consolidate
the child care assistance programs into one program to reduce administrative and
program complexity. However, none of these proposals were passed by the
legislature. There may be future attempts to consolidate the child care assistance
programs.

There have been several legislative attempts to lower the maximum income
eligibility level. Currently, maximum income eligibility is set at 75 percent of
state median income, which is approximately $44,450 for a family of three.

The BSF waiting list has grown substantially over the past 12 to 18 months. As
of June 30, 2002, there were more than 5,000 families waiting for child care
assistance. The legislature has increased BSF funding allocations in the past in
attempts to eliminate the waiting list; however, the need for a waiting list always
returns.

For more information: Contact legislative analystDanyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Child Care Assistance Comparison, December 2000.
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Child Care Assistance for Post-Secondary Students

Does the state
subsidize child care
costs for students in
higher education?

Who is eligible for
the HESO child
care assistance
grant?

Are all post­
secondary
institutions part of
the grant program?

What is the size of
the grant award?

The child care grant program is one of the financial aid programs funded by the
state and administered by the Higher Education Services Office (HESO). Its
purpose is to reduce the child care costs for higher education students. The
availability of child care assistance depends, in part, on the level of funding
provided by the legislature.

To be eligible for a child care grant, a student must:

~ be a resident Minnesota undergraduate enrolled at least half-time in a
nonsectarian program leading to an undergraduate degree, diploma, or
certificate at an eligible institution;

~ have one or more children age 12 or under who receive regular care from a
licensed or legal nonlicensed childcare provider;

~ have had less than five years of full-time post-secondary education;
~ meet the income guidelines that provide the maximum grant amount to

families with incomes at or below 130 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines adjusted for family size ($15,000 for a two-person family);

~ have demonstrated financial need; and
~ not receive tuition reciprocity or assistance through the Minnesota Family

Investment Program (MFIP).

No, for-profit institutions are not eligible to participate. State law limits the child
care grant program to Minnesota institutions that are:

~ public post-secondary colleges and universities;
~ private four-year colleges and universities; and
~ nonprofit, degree-granting vocational-technical institutions.

Schools must sign an agreement with HESO to be part of the program.

The maximum grant is set in statute at $2,600 per student for a nine-month grant.
A student may also receive a separate summer grant. The actual grant award
depends on the availability of appropriations, the student's income, number of
children, child care costs, and financial need.

The average child care grant in 2001-2002 was $1,956.



What are the trends
in funding and
participation for the
child care grant
program?

Appropriations over the last five years have been stable at about $4.7 million per
year. Student participation peaked in 2000-2001 when 2,736 students received
grants. The legislature has increased the maximum grant from $1,500 in 1994­
1995 to $2,600 beginning with the 2001-2002 school year.

The amount available for grants in 2002-2003 is significantly less than previous
years. Legislation passed in 2002 resulted in a transfer of $3.6 million of child
care appropriations to contribute to full funding of the state grant program.

Trends in Childcare Grant Program

Year
98-99
99-00
00-01
01-02**
02-03***

Maximum
Award
2,000
2,000
2,000
2,600
2,600

Appropriation*
4,710,000
4,710,000
4,710,000
4,743,000
4,743,000

Number of
Students

2,704
2,659
2,736
2,429

Average
Award

1,533
1,501
1,618
1,956

Are post-secondary
students eligible for
other types ofchild
care assistance?

* 98-99 to 00-01 appropriation excludes set aside for HESO administration.
** FY 02 expenditures exceeded appropriations because of carry forward

*** $3,610,000 ofFY 03 appropriation transferred to state grant program

Higher education students with children may be eligible for the Basic Sliding Fee
child care assistance (BSF) program administered by the Department of Children,
Families and Learning (CFL). Students who meet the income and other criteria are
eligible, on a space-available basis, in the county where they live.

Students are not required to work to receive BSF assistance but must be enrolled in
a course of study approved by the county. Students who need child care assistance
for both employment and school must work at least ten hours per week at a wage at
least equal to the minimum wage.

Many more families are eligible for BSF assistance than can be served with the
state and federal appropriations. Students tend to be a lower priority for assistance
than working families. Over 4,400 families were on the most recent waiting list
for BSF assistance. Most of them were in the counties of Hennepin, Ramsey,
Anoka, and Washington.

The two child care assistance programs have been funded through different
legislative committees. The committee with responsibility for higher education
appropriates money for the HESO grant program, but does not fund the BSF
program. BSF received a general fund appropriation of $48.5 million for fiscal
year 2003.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.
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Conditions of Continuing Employment for K-12 Teachers

"Continuing
contract rights" and
"tenure rights"
offer equivalent
procedural
protections

A newly licensed
probationary
teacher must
successfully
complete three
consecutive years of
continuous
employment

Teachers'
continuing
contracts remain in
effect unless a
specified
circumstance arises

Two sections of Minnesota Statutes govern conditions of continuing employment
for licensed K-12 teachers in Minnesota's public schools. Section 122AAO
contains general provisions for all teachers' continuing contract rights except those
teachers teaching in the three first-class city school districts of Minneapolis, St.
Paul, and Duluth. Section 122AAI contains similar provisions governing the
tenure rights ofteachers teaching in the three first-class city school districts. The
terms "continuing contract rights" and "tenure rights" mean that a school district
may not dismiss a teacher from a teaching position without first demonstrating the
cause for that dismissal. The two terms are equivalent in the procedural
protections they afford and are used interchangeably by educators, the courts, and
others.

Under state law, after a newly licensed probationary teacher successfully
completes three years of continuous employment, she or he becomes a continuing
contract teacher if employed by a nonfirst-class city school district, or a tenured
teacher if employed by a first-class city school district. During the probationary
period, a school district has considerable discretion in deciding whether or not to
renew the probationary teacher's employment contract. A school district must
notify a probationary teacher before July 1 that it will not renew the teacher's
contract. Once a teacher receives a continuing contract or tenure, the teacher
becomes entitled to a number of employment-related protections, including
bumping rights and just cause and due process guarantees.

The continuing contracts of teachers in nonfirst-class city school districts remain in
full force and effect unless:

• the school board and the teacher modify the contract
• the school board terminates the teacher before April 1 for inefficiency,

neglect of duty, conduct unbecoming a teacher, or other grounds making
the teacher unfit

• the school board places the teacher before June 1 on an unrequested leave
of absence

• the school board temporarily suspends the teacher and places the teacher on
a leave of absence for health reasons

• the school board immediately discharges the teacher for immoral conduct,
conduct unbecoming a teacher, failure to teach, gross inefficiency, willful
neglect of duty, or continuing physical or mental disability

• the teacher resigns before April lor, if a collective bargaining agreement is
not settled, the teacher resigns within 30 days of when an agreement is
ratified or July 15, whichever is first .



Tenured teachers in first-class city school districts may be discharged or demoted
for:

Tenured teachers
cannot be
discharged or
demoted except for
cause

•
•
•
•
•

immoral character, conduct unbecoming a teacher, or insubordination
failure to teach
inefficiency in teaching or in management of a school
affliction with a communicable disease
discontinuance of position or lack of pupils

School boards must
follow procedures
when terminating,
discharging, or
demoting a teacher

Teachers may be
placed on an
unrequested leave
ofabsence
according to a
negotiated or
statutory plan

A teacher facing termination or immediate discharge in a nonfirst-class city school
district can request a public or private hearing before the school board or an
arbitrator. The board and the teacher may have counsel, who can examine
witnesses and present arguments. A school board must base a decision to dismiss a
teacher upon substantial and competent evidence in the hearing record. The
teacher may appeal a board decision to the state courts.

The Minneapolis, St. Paul, and Duluth school boards can discharge or demote a
teacher only after a full public or private hearing before the board or an arbitrator,
at the teacher's election. The board may suspend a teacher against whom it has
filed charges. The board and the teacher may have counsel, who can examine
witnesses and present arguments, and both parties have the right to a written
record. A vote by a majority of school board members is needed to discharge or
demote a teacher. The teacher may appeal a board decision to the state courts.

An arbitrator who conducts a hearing must decide, based upon a preponderance of
the evidence, whether to terminate, discharge, or demote the teacher. The
arbitrator's decision is final and binding on the parties, and may not be appealed
except on technical grounds.

A school board may place a teacher on an unrequested leave of absence, without
payor fringe benefits, when the board discontinues the teacher's position, lacks
sufficient students, faces financial limitations, or merges classes as a result of
consolidating districts. If the school board and the teachers' exclusive bargaining
representative fail to negotiate an unrequested leave of absence plan, then statutory
terms control. A board must hold a public hearing on unrequested leaves before
July 1. A majority roll call vote of the full board is needed to place teachers on
leave. Teachers are placed on leave based on the inverse order of their
employment and on their areas of certification. Teachers' seniority applies to each
area in which the teacher is certified. Teachers must be recalled to their positions,
or other available positions, in the inverse order in which they were placed on
leave; most senior teachers are recalled first. This seniority-based system rewards
teachers with the longest service by giving them maximum employment security.
Statutory terms governing resignations, leaves, certification, seniority and part­
time experience, teachers' bumping rights, and districts' ability to realign positions
also affect staff reduction decisions.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What are early
childhood
education
programs?

What programs are
offered in
Minnesota?

Early Childhood Education Programs

Early childhood education programs provide education for the state's youngest
children. The goal of many of the programs is to ensure that families with
young children have the opportunity to participate in developmental programs
that promote the skills and behaviors necessary for children to succeed in school.
While these programs share certain characteristics, they differ on the specific
program purposes, delivery mechanisms, eligibility factors, and the level and
type of funding for the program.

The Department of Children, Families and Learning administers Minnesota's
early childhood education programs. The programs are supported by federal
funds, state appropriations, local funds, and user fees.

More than 200,000 children participate in early education and development
programs that serve children from before they are born until they are enrolled in
school. The following programs are the primary early childhood education
programs offered in Minnesota:

• Early Childhood Family Education (ECFE): School districts and
tribal schools operate classes to strengthen families with children from
birth to age five.

• Way to Grow: State matching grant program that promotes development
and school readiness in children ages three to six.

• School Readiness: School districts operate child development programs
to enable children ages three-and-one-halfto five, after developmental
screening, to enter school with the ski,lls and behaviors necessary for
success.

• First Grade Preparedness: State aid funds the program at qualifying
school sites to ensure children ages four to five have the skills necessary
to succeed in school. Eligibility is based on percent of free and reduced
lunch enrollment in four areas (Minneapolis, St. Paul, Twin Cities
suburbs, and Greater Minnesota). .

• Head Start: Federal program that provides early education andhealth
and social services for families in poverty. Families at or below the
federal poverty guidelines with children ages three to five are eligible to
participate.

• Even Start Family Literacy Program: Money from "federal share"
state grants funds programs that integrate early childhood education and
adult literacy or basic education classes.



What are some
potential legislative
issues?

• Interagency Early Intervention (Part C): Federally funded
comprehensive, coordinated interagency program to provide services to
eligible children with disabilities from birth to age two, and their
families.

During the 2002 legislative session, there was a proposal to eliminate state aid
for ECFE and increase the levy limit to offset the elimination of state aid. This
proposal may be discussed again in the future.

There have been past proposals to eliminate the Way to Grow program because
it is viewed by some as duplicative of ECFE. This may be discussed again in
the future.

Based on a Legislative Auditor's report, there was a proposal during the 2001
legislative session to change the way state funds are distributed to Head Start
grantees. This may also be discussed again in the future.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Early Childhood Development and Care Programs, June 2000.
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Education for Children with Disabilities

Federallaws
obligate Minnesota
to provide a free
appropriate public
education to
disabled children

Serving disabled
students can be
complex and costly

Special education
law guarantees due
process procedures
andprocedural
safeguards

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) provides federal funding
to states and local school districts for expenses incurred in providing federally
mandated special education and related'services to those disabled children covered
by the act. To be eligible to receive federal special education funding, Minnesota
and other states must provide a "free appropriate public education" (FAPE) in the
least restrictive environment (LRE) and guarantee related procedural safeguards
for all children with certain disabilities.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Section 504) is a broader, less
prescriptive federal civil rights statute that covers some disabled children not
served under IDEA. States and local school districts must serve eligible disabled
children regardless of the cost or severity ofthe disability, although IDEA requires
only that children benefit from an education, not that they receive the best possible
instruction. Minnesota has enacted statutes and rules to comply with the federal
law and in some cases goes beyond what the federal government requires for
serving children with disabilities.

State and federal laws and regulations, combined with court decisions interpreting
the laws, make serving disabled students complex and costly for Minnesota and
local school districts. Compounding the difficulty of ensuring that disabled
students receive FAPE is the federal government's failure to fulfill its commitment
to fund 40 percent of the costs of certain IDEA services. The federal government
currently contributes only 17 percent of such costs, and the state and school
districts must reallocate existing funds or allocate new funds in order to provide the
programs and services to which eligible disabled children are entitled.

Federal and state special education law guarantees due process procedures and
procedural safeguards, including parents' participation in the assessment and
educational placement of disabled children from birth until age 21. To receive
special education services, a child must be found

• eligible for special education services according to statewide eligibility
criteria

• in need of such services.

A lack of progress in reading or math or limited English proficiency is not a
disability. After a comprehensive evaluation, a team that includes the child's
parents, and trained school personnel will develop an individualized education plan
(IEP) that contains, among other things, annual educational goals for the child.
Under IDEA, it is important to have disabled children participate in the general
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must participate in
state and district­
wide assessments

Disabled children
must be educated in
the least restrictive
environment

School officials
can't cut off
educational services
to a disabled child
for disciplinary
reasons

School districts
mustprovide
disabled children
with related services

curriculum to the extent appropriate and to involve regular education teachers in
the IEP process. The child's IEP team may authorize certain Medical Assistance
services for the child.

Federal and state special education law requires school officials to include disabled
children in state and district-wide assessment programs, with appropriate
accommodations where needed. Accommodations may include variations in the
setting, timing, response, and scheduling that take into account a child's
disabilities. Title I of the 2001 Elementary and Secondary Education Act requires
states, school districts, and schools to assess all public school students for
accountability purposes. Title I also allows alternative assessments only for those
disabled students with the most significant cognitive disabilities who are unable to
participate in a regular assessment even with accommodations or modifications.
Under a current federal Title I proposal, no more than 0.5 percent of all students in
a state or school district should be assessed using an alternative assessment.

Disabled children must be educated in the least restrictive environment (LRE) to
the maximum extent appropriate. School districts bear the burden of showing that
a disabled child should not participate in the regular education program. Criteria
for determining whether the regular classroom is the LRE include the potential
benefits to the child, the potential disruption to the classroom, and the cost of aids
and services.

When a child with an IEP is suspended from school for more than ten days for
misbehavior that is unrelated to the child's disabilities, the district must continue to
provide the child with special education and related services. A district must begin
reviewing a child's IEP and the relationship between the child's disability and
behavior, and determine the appropriateness of the child's IEP before dismissing
the child. A district must review a child's IEP after five days of suspension at the
parents' request or within ten days if the child is cumulatively suspended for ten or
more days. A district may unilaterally place a disabled child in an alternative
setting for up to 45 days if the child brings firearms or illegal drugs into the school.

In certain circumstances, children who are in the regular education classroom and
have not been determined to need special education may still be covered by IDEA
procedural protections relating to suspensions and expulsions.

School districts must provide disabled children with related services, which
encompass supportive services that may be required to assist a disabled child to
benefit from special education. Services provided by a physician that are not
provided for diagnostic or evaluation purposes are subject to a medical services
exclusion, but services that can be provided by a nurse or qualified layperson are
not. For example, a district may be obligated to pay for a residential treatment
setting as a related service in order to ensure that an emotionally disturbed child
receives the educational benefit to which the child is entitled under IDEA.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House
Research publication Youth and the Law, January 2002.
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Financial Aid for Higher Education:
Minnesota State Grant Program

What is the state
grant program?

Who is eligible for a
state grant?

How much aid is
available through
the state grant?

Are part-time
students and
independent student
eligible?

Minnesota's state grant program provides financial aid to Minnesota
undergraduates to attend a public or private post-secondary institution located in
Minnesota. The Higher Education Services Office (HESO) administers the state
grant program along with other financial aid programs.

Students must apply for a state grant. An eligible student must be a Minnesota
resident who is a high school graduate or age 17 or older and able to meet the
admission requirements of an eligible post-secondary institution. The student must
have demonstrated financial need and must not be in default on student loans or in
arrears for child support.

Financial need is based on the student's ability to meet the cost of attending the
selected institution according to the standard for federal financial aid through the
Pell grant program.

State law specifies that the grant award must be based on a shared responsibility
for paying for the recognized cost of attending a post-secondary institution:

~ students are required to pay 46 percent of the cost;
~ the amount of any Pell grant is deducted from the cost;
~ the family's responsibility for the cost is determined through the federal

needs analysis with an additional state deduction for a family's net worth.

The cost of attendance is equal to the amount of tuition and fees up to the private
college cap set in law plus an allowance, also set in law, for living and
miscellaneous expenses. For this year, the maximum tuition and fees are $8,983
for four-year institutions and $6,913 for two-year institutions. The living
allowance is $5,405 per year.

The state grant is provided as the last contribution to the cost of attendance. The
average state grant for the 2000-2001 year was $1,744.

Part-time students are eligible for the state grant based on their actual tuition and
fees and a prorated amount for the living allowance. Independent students
(generally students who are not considered dependents for tax purposes) are
eligible for the state grant program. Independent students are responsible for a
larger portion of the cost of attending than dependent students.



How is the state
grant program
funded?

Are eligible students
entitled to a state
grant?

How do grants
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enrollment at state
post secondary
institutions?

The legislature appropriates money from the general fund to HESO for the state
grant program based on HESO's estimate of the amount needed for full funding.
State law allows HESO to carry a balance from the first year of the biennium to the
second year or to transfer to other financial aid programs. Any balance remaining
at the end of the biennium must cancel to the general fund. For several funding
cycles, the grant program canceled money to the general fund. This biennium, the
legislature appropriated and transferred additional money to cover projected
shortages in the state grant program.

The state grant program is not an entitlement under state law, which requires
HESO to award grants based on available funding. If the appropriations are
insufficient for full awards, HESO must reduce all awards by adding a surcharge to
the family responsibility and increasing the student's responsibility by a
percentage. Typically, grants have been fully funded.

The graph below shows participation in the state grant program in fiscal year 2001.
Minnesota had 257,607 undergraduate students in 2000-2001-29 percent received
a state grant. The percentage of students at private institutions who receive grants
is higher than at public institutions-68 percent of students at two-year private
career institutions received grants compared to 24 percent of students at two-year
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) institutions.

The amount of grant dollars going to students at private institutions is also higher
than the amount at public schools. Of the $116 million in grants in fiscal year
2001, 38 percent went to students at private four-year colleges compared to 29
percent at public four-year colleges.

Participation in State Grant Program

60% ~-----------------

40% -4--==---------------­

20% -,--"",,''''''';;

0% +--'~"""

MnSCU 2-Year MnSCU 4-Year UofM Private 2-Year Private 4-Year
Career

CI % of Total Undergraduate Enrollment EI % Enrollment with a Grant

III % of Total Grant Award Dollars

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.
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Governing Higher Education in Minnesota:
Public Post-Secondary Systems and Agencies

Minnesota's public
post-secondary
systems and
agencies

Governing the
Minnesota State
Colleges and
Universities

Minnesota has two public post-secondary systems:

• The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) system has
seven four-year universities and 27 two-year colleges located throughout
Minnesota. MnSCU institutions provide occupational, general,
baccalaureate, and graduate education. The MnSCU system office is in St.
Paul.

• The University of Minnesota is a major research institution with four
campuses providing undergraduate, graduate, and professional education.
The main campus and central administration are in the Twin Cities.

The Higher Education Services Office is a state agency responsible for post­
secondary financial aid and other assistance programs, data and information, and
registration and licensing of private post-secondary institutions.

Minnesota Law. Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) is
established in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 136F. In 1991, the legislature created
MnSCU through the merger of the state universities, the community colleges, and
the technical colleges. Minnesota Statutes:

• establish a IS-member board of trustees to govern MnSCU
• specify the board's powers to manage MnSCU, its assets, and institutions;
• designate the specific colleges and universities in the MnSCU system;
• require legislation to create any new MnSCU institution or location;
• authorize the colleges and universities to operate specific enterprises; and
• require the board to recognize statewide student associations.

Board of Trustees. Under state law, the 15 trustees are appointed by the governor
with the advice and consent of the Senate. At least one member of the board must
be a resident of each congressional district and three members must be a MnSCU
student or recent graduate. Trustees serve staggered six-year terms. Trustee
candidates are recruited and screened by Trustee Advisory Council established in
state law. The council makes its recommendations to the governor.

Minnesota Statutes give the board of trustees all the power necessary to govern
MnSCU, unless otherwise directed or prohibited in law. The board is responsible
for appointing a chancellor who has the power to perform duties delegated by the
board. Minnesota law can put conditions on the expenditures of state
appropriations for MnSCU.



Governing the
University of
Minnesota

Higher Education
Services Office

University Charter, Minnesota Constitution. The University of Minnesota was
established in 1851 by the territorial legislature. The charter establishes a 12­
member board of regents to govern the university. The Minnesota Constitution
incorporates the university charter in a section that gives the university all of the
"rights, immunities, franchises and endowments" previously conferred to it.

Board of Regents. The legislature elects the 12 regents as required by the
Minnesota Constitution. Regents serve staggered six-year terms. The governor
may appoint a regent to fill a vacancy, including a vacancy created by the failure of
the legislature to elect regents. A governor's appointment serves until the
legislature elects a replacement. Regent candidates are recruited and screened by a
Regent Advisory Council established in state law. The council makes its
recommendations to the legislature. The regents have the power to manage the
university and all four of its campuses. The charter gives the board the
responsibility to choose the head of the university.

Minnesota Law. Minnesota Statutes specify that one regent must be elected to
represent each congressional district and one at-large regent must be a student
when elected. The statutes also provide some specific authority for the regents,
including the power of eminent domain, the authority to accept federal money,
control of the permanent university fund, and authority to establish a nonresidential
branch in Rochester. State law prohibits the Board of Regents from allowing
expenditures for a purpose beyond the amount appropriated. State law also may
put conditions on the university appropriations, if the conditions don't violate the
university's constitutional autonomy.

Minnesota Law. Minnesota Statutes create the Higher Education Services Office
(HESO) and assign all responsibilities to the office. The statutes establish a nine­
member council, the position of director, and the qualifications for the director.

Higher Education Services Council. Under Minnesota Statutes, the nine council
members are appointed by the governor. One member must be a full-time student
at a Minnesota post-secondary institution. In making appointments, the governor
must consider the geographic, gender, and ethnic diversity and political affiliation
of the council. Under the statutes, the council is responsible for appointing the
director, establishing the director's salary within the limits set in law, prescribing
the director's duties, and making recommendations to the governor and the
legislature. The statutes do not give the council responsibility or power to manage
the office or carry out its statutory responsibilities.

Director of the Higher Education Services Office. The statutes give the director
the powers to perform the duties assigned by the council, including signing
contracts for the office. The statutes specify that the director must be qualified in
financial aid or higher education administration.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.
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Minnesota's High School Graduation Requirements

In 1992, the Minnesota Legislature stated its intent to establish "rigorous, results-oriented" high school
graduation requirements for the state's public school students. The legislature directed the then-existing
State Board of Education to adopt in rule two types of graduation requirements: basic skills tests that
required students to demonstrate minimum competency in basic subject areas; and a profile of learning that
contained high academic standards and required students to expand their knowledge and skills beyond the
state's basic skills requirements.

Basic skills tests
require students to
demonstrate
minimum
competencies in
reading, math, and
writing

The profile of
learning requires
students to expand
their knowledge and
skills among ten
learning areas

The rules for the basic skills tests in reading and math became effective for
students entering the ninth grade in the 1996-1997 school year and later. The rule
for the basic skills test in written composition became effective for students
entering the tenth grade in the 1997-1998 school year and later.

To ensure fairness and consistency in reading and math tests over time, the state
uses a scale scoring system to establish passing scores. Students must receive a
passing scale score of 600 on the reading and math basic skills tests and three
points out of a possible six points on the written composition basic skills test in
order to graduate from high school. Passing scores are based on statewide
standards requiring skills that most students should be able to master.

• The math test requires students to understand math through pre-algebra
• The reading test requires students to be able to read at a degree of difficulty

equal to popular adult nonfiction
• The written composition test requires students to respond to an adult reader

by writing a composition in response to a request for information

Students who fail to receive a passing score on a basic skills test may retake the
test with students who are taking the test for the first time or during the summer.
High school seniors may retake basic skills tests during the spring of their senior
year. Test waivers are available only for disabled students who are exempted as
part of their individualized education plan or Section 504 plan and students with
limited English proficiency who have been in the United States for less than one
year.

The profile of learning, which is also a requirement for high school graduation,
requires public school students to expand their knowledge and skill beyond the
minimum competencies reflected in the state's basic skills tests. The rules for the
profile of learning became effective for students entering the ninth grade in the
1998-1999 school year and later. The profile ofleaming contains 56 preparatory
content standards applicable to students in grades K-8 and 48 content standards
divided among 11 learning areas applicable to students in grades 9-12 (only
learning area 10, world languages, is optional for students; learning area 11,
technical and vocational education, currently has no content standards).



The 1999
Legislature
struggled to address
the tension between
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state mandates
under the profile of
learning

The 2000
Legislature
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The 1999 Legislature tried without success to reach a compromise on a number of
issues that profile of learning critics raised about the tension between local
autonomy and state mandates, the complexity of profile administration, the
substance of profile performance requirements, and the lack of staff development
opportunities. Issues raised included:

• a lack of local and school district control
• efforts by the federal government to impose federal Goals 2000 and

School-to-Work Programs on school districts
• school districts' need to use state-designed performance packages
• the complexity of a system in which students must pass basic skills tests

and complete 24 of 48 high standards organized into 10 learning areas in
order to graduate

• the difficulty of obtaining waivers for rigorous courses
• the additional paperwork and record keeping related to monitoring student

progress
• the absence of a state-supported common record keeping system
• the substance of state-developed performance packages
• the lack of staff development opportunities for teachers to learn how to

write performance packages and score them reliably.

On the last day of the session, the 2000 Legislature succeeded in reaching a
compromise on a number of profile oflearning issues. Among other changes, the
2000 Legislature allowed school sites within a school district and charter schools
to determine the preparatory and high school content standards that students must
complete, including the number of high school content standards needed for
graduation. This determination must be made by vote of the licensed teachers,
school administrators, and the governing board of the district or charter school.
Students at a school site must complete all state-required preparatory or high
school content standards if teachers, administrators, and governing board members
are unable to agree. The content standards that students must complete vary
between schools and districts throughout the state.

The 2000 Legislature also addressed teachers' need for staff development
opportunities for implementing the profile oflearning. Previously, the legislature
had added three days to the school calendar for student instruction. The 2000
Legislature allowed school boards to instead use these three days for improving
curriculum and instruction or for developing alternative student assessments. The
amended law directs the Commissioner of Children, Families and Learning to
maintain an interactive library for teachers.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House
Research publications Proposals to Amend the High school Graduation Rule, December 1992; Profile of
Learning and the High School Graduation Rule, September 1998; Profile ofLearning: Legislative Action in
1999 and 2000, November 2000.
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Minnesota Pupil Transportation

School boards are required to provide transportation to and from school, or to
provide board and lodging, for all students who live two miles or more from
schools. School boards are required to provide equal transportation for
nonpublic school students.

School districts may provide pupil transportation services by operating a district­
owned school bus fleet, contracting with a private vendor of transportation
services, or a combination of district operated and contracted services.

The 1995 Legislature made substantial changes to the pupil transportation
funding programs. Categorical funding programs were replaced with an across­
the-board increase in the general education allowance of $170 per pupil and the
remaining categorical transportation formulas were reduced in size and scope.
These legislative changes attempted to clarify the state mandate as well as
eliminate a series of formulas that were seen by some as creating disincentives
for cost efficiency in pupil transportation.

School districts must provide school bus safety training for public school
students in kindergarten through tenth grade. .Age-appropriate training must
take place both in the classroom and on a school bus.

All Type A, B, C, and D school buses used for the transportation of school
students are required to meet the requirements of the 1995 revised edition of the
National Standards for School Buses and School Bus Operations, adopted by the
Twelfth National Conference on School Transportation. In addition, Minnesota
requires school bus equipment standards beyond the standards adopted by the
Twelfth National Conference on School Transportation.

The Department ofPublic Safety has primary responsibility for school
transportation safety. The Minnesota State Patrol is required to annually inspect
every school bus to ensure that construction, design, equipment, and color
comply with the law. The Minnesota State Patrol is also authorized to conduct
random spot inspections of school buses.

There are five different classifications of school buses in Minnesota: Type A, B,
C, D, and III. Types A through Dare different sizes of yellow school buses.
Type III school buses are restricted to passenger cars, station wagons, vans, and
buses.

In order to become a driver of a Type A, B, C, or D school bus, an individual
must take both written and driving tests. In addition, the individual must have a
background check, drug testing, and submit to a physical exam every two years
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potential legislative
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(upon renewal of the school bus endorsement).

Individuals who drive Type III school buses can do so with a Class D license,
without any additional endorsements~ However, the local school board may
adopt additional requirements for Type III school bus drivers.

During the 2002 legislative session, the Commissioner of Children, Families,
and Learning submitted a legislatively mandated report to the legislature that
identified funding inequities in pupil transportation and made recommendations
for providing equitable transportation funding. This report may be discussed
during the budget process.

The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration is due to release a
report with the results of a research p~ogram that considered alternative methods
for potentially improving federal school bus passenger crash protection
requirements, including requiring seat belts on school buses. The results of this
report may require changes in state school bus safety standards to conform to
federal standards.

There have been several studies indicating that diesel fumes cause increased
health risks to children riding in school buses. Other issues related to this are
the placement of school bus loading and unloading areas in relation to school
building air intake valves and school bus loading and unloading areas configured
so that school buses are forced to line up end-to-end with the exhaust fumes
from one bus flowing into the next bus.

Officials with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) estimate that
nationwide, 8,300 premature deaths, 5,500 cases of chronic bronchitis, and
17,600 cases of acute bronchitis in children would be prevented annually by the
use of low-sulfur fuel technology. Recently, the EPA has required that almost
all heavy-duty trucks and buses switch to ultra-low-sulfur fuel beginning in June
2006. In addition to low-sulfur diesel fuel, other alternative fuels include natural
gas, liquefied petroleum gas, methanol, and ethanol.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research Publication Minnesota Pupil Transportation, November 2001.
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l\1innesota's Charter School Law
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A charter school is a public school, which is part of the state's system of public
education, and subject to the requirements of the state's high school graduation
rule. It must be nonsectarian and provide a comprehensive instructional program
for at least one grade or age group of students. A charter school's purpose is to
enhance students' learning opportunities, improve teaching opportunities and
methods, or improve school accountability measures. The instructional calendar
must meet or exceed the number of instructional days provided to other public
school students. A charter school may offer instruction throughout the school year
under the flexible learning year or learning year program.

A charter school is exempt from statutes and rules applicable to a school, a school
board, or a school district, except as provided in the charter school law.

Anyone of six entities may sponsor one or more charter schools: a school board,
an intermediate school board, certain charitable organizations, a private college, a
college or university that is part of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
(MnSCU) system, and the University of Minnesota. The Commissioner of
Children, Families and Learning (CFL) must approve a sponsor's authorization of
a charter school. A sponsor annually must monitor and evaluate the financial and
student performance of any charter school it authorizes. The CFL commissioner
must review these evaluations. The sponsor may charge a capped amount for the
evaluation. A sponsor may renew or not renew a charter school contract at the end
of the term and may unilaterally terminate a contract during the term for cause. A
sponsor is immune from civil and criminal liability for sponsoring a charter school
or approving charter school activities.

A seven-member advisory council brings charter school matters to the attention of
the CFL commissioner.

A sponsor and a charter school board of directors must enter into a signed written
contract that at least specifies the program purpose, student outcomes, admissions
requirements, management and administration structure, audit reqllirements, ,
compliance with applicable state and local requirements including the instructional
calendar and transportation agreements, liability and insurance, contract length up
to three years, and any applicable special education agreements. The board of
directors may sue and be sued.

Interested teachers and parents may form and operate a charter school or a school
board may convert a school to a charter school if 60 percent of the school's full­
time teachers petition the board. A charter school operator must incorporate as a
cooperative or a nonprofit corporation. An initial board of directors must adopt



Financing and
financial
management

Use offacilities

Causes and process
for closing a
charter school

articles and bylaws and hold an election for the board of directors, who are elected
by school staff and parents. Generally, teachers must be a majority of board
members. Board meetings are subject to the open meeting law. A charter school
may be located in any school district unless the local school board objects. A
charter school is eligible to receive state and federal start-up funds.

A charter school receives general education and transportation revenue, special
education and building lease aid, and other funds as though it were a school
district. A charter school may use total operating capital revenue, accept funds for
capital facilities needs, and apply for integration aid. It may not use state funds to
purchase land or buildings. A charter school in statutory operating debt must have
a plan to eliminate the debt. A charter school that notifies the CFL commissioner
by July I that it will transport students receives state transportation aid. A charter
school need not transport students between a nonresident student's home and the
border of the school district in which the charter school is located. A board of
directors may not levy taxes or issue bonds. Conflicts of interest are prohibited
and any board member who violates the prohibition is individually liable. A
charter school is subject to the same financial audits and audit procedures as a
school district. The CFL commissioner must provide board members with
financial management training.

A charter school may purchase land or buildings with nonstate funds and may lease
instructional space from an eligible school board, a public or private nonprofit
nonsectarian organization or other nonsectarian organization, or from a sectarian
organization in some cases. A charter school with insufficient total operating
capital revenue may receive state building lease aid to rent or lease a building or
land. To avoid any conflict of interest, a charter school may not enter into a lease
with a related party unless the lessor is a nonprofit corporation or a cooperative and
the lease cost is reasonable. The CFL commissioner may recover excess lease
payments when a charter school enters into a lease with a related party and later
closes.

When a sponsor terminates or does not renew a charter school contract after
notifying the board and conducting an informal hearing if requested, the charter
school must be dissolved unless the CFL commissioner allows a different eligible
sponsor to authorize the charter school. The CFL commissioner also may
terminate a charter school contract for financial mismanagement or violations of
law. Students enrolled in a charter school that is closed may enroll in the resident
district or apply to a nonresident district under the open enrollment program; open
enrollment application and notice deadlines do not apply in this case. Although
not specified in law, properly closing a charter school requires an accurate final
financial accounting, decisions about distributing school assets purchased with
public funds, final payment of employee compensation and other benefits, and
preparation of final tax returns and other forms.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House
Research publication Charter Schools, September 2001.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota's Regional Public Library System

What is the regional The regional public library systems are regional collaboratives of public
public library libraries. By state law, every county must be a member of a regional system.
system?

There are twelve regional public library systems in Minnesota: Arrowhead
Library System, East Central Regional Library, Great River Regional Library,
Kitchigami Regional Library, Lake Agassiz Regional Library, Metropolitan
Library Service Agency, Northwest Regional Library, Pioneerland Library
System, Plum Creek Library System, Southeastern Libraries Cooperating,
Traverse des Sioux Library System, and Viking Library System.

What services are
available through
the regional public
library system?

How are the
regional public
library systems
funded?

What are some
potential legislative
issues?

The Department of Children, Families and Learning (CFL) oversees the regional
public library system.

Some of the services available through the regional public library system
include:

• Use of a public library card at any public library and many academic
libraries in the state;

• Regional consulting services to local libraries for building projects,
administrative issues, and grant opportunities;

• The ability to borrow materials within a region and between regions
through Interlibrary Loan; and

• Regional library management of Internet connectivity for local
libraries.

The regional public library systems receive federal, state, and local tax funds.
State funds are allocated to library regions through a formula based on
population, area, equalized valuation of property, and a base grant for systems
support.

Some of the objectives of the state funding include:

• Providing incentives for cities and counties to work together in
regional public library systems;

• Maintaining and improving the infrastructure for reading and lifelong
learning; and

• Strengthening library materials and media collections.

The Regional Library Telecommunications Grant program expires on July 1,
2003. In February 2002, CFL submitted a report to the legislature
recommending a permanent method of funding telecommunications access as
part of the Basic Support Grants for public libraries.



Due to the budget cuts enacted in 2002, several positions were eliminated from
the CFL's Library Development and Services Division. The Institute for
Museum and Library Services (the federal agency that oversees libraries) has
expressed concerns about the situation in Minnesota. This has put Minnesota's
federal library funding in jeopardy.

Also due to the budget cuts enacted in 2002, CFL has closed the state library
collection and is in the process of trying to find another organization or
institution to whom the department can transfer the collection.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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School District Referendum Elections

School districts may supplement operating and capital revenue amounts by bringing requests directly to the
voters. This short subject answers some frequently asked questions regarding the referendum process.

For what maya
referendum be held
for?

When mayan
election be held?

How many elections
may be held in any
one calendar year?

A school district may hold a referendum for one of three purposes:

• General operating purposes: These types of referenda are commonly
called the excess levy, the override levy, or the operating referendum.

• Building needs: These referenda authorize the sale of bonds. The bond
proceeds are used to pay for school construction projects. The bond
referenda are commonly considered approval of building projects, though
technically the voter is approving the sale of bonds.

• Down payment program: A school district may hold an election that
authorizes the district to raise cash "up-front" for a building project that will
take place in the next several years.

An election for a general operating referendum may only be held on the first
Tuesday in November, unless the district is in statutory operating debt (has a
negative fund balance) or the district holds the election by mail ballot. In these
cases, an election may be held on a day that otherwise qualifies according to the
state's regular election laws. A district may hold only one election for an
operating referendum per year.

An election for the sale of bonds to finance a building project may be held at any
time that is allowed under the state's regular election laws.

A down payment levy may also be held at any time that is allowed under the
state's regular election laws.

Only one election may be held in a calendar year for an operating referendum.
An election to approve the sale of bonds may be held more than once in a year.

However, the same question authorizing the same amount of bonds must not be
submitted to the voters until 180 days have passed since the date the election
failed. If the election fails a second time, the same question for the same project
and the same amount of bonds may not be submitted within one year of the second
election.

There are no statutory limits on how many times during a calendar year a school
district may conduct a referendum for a down payment levy.



What is the
maximum length of
a referendum?

What are the caps
on the amount of
referendum that a
district may have?

An operating referendum is limited by statute to no more than ten years. An
election to approve the sale of bonds generally does not specify the term of the
bond. However, most school districts issue 20-year bonds for major building
projects. School bonds may be issued for up to 30 years. It is not uncommon for
school districts to refund bonds and refinance school building projects.

Operating referenda are capped at a per pupil amount. For fiscal year 2003 and
later, the cap is set at 18.2 percent of the formula allowance for that year. For
fiscal year 2003, this amounts to $837 per pupil (.182 x $4,601). A small group of
school districts are grandfathered in at higher amounts per pupil unit, and school
districts eligible for sparsity revenue are exempt from the referendum cap.

A school district's net debt limit caps the amount of building bonds that a district
can issue. Currently, the net debt limit limits a school district to net debt of not
more than 15 percent of the market value of all taxable property located in the
school district.

There is no cap on the amount of money a district may request under the down
payment levy program.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Tim Strom at 651-296-1886.
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School Indoor Air Quality

What is indoor air
quality?

What are the IAQ
responsibilities of
eFL and local
school boards?

Does the federal
government provide
anyIAQ
information or
assistance?

How are school
IAQprojects
funded?

Indoor air quality (IAQ) is the quality of air inside an enclosed space, such as a
building or a school bus. Air quality can be adversely affectedby several factors
including chemicals present in building materials, mold due to water damage, and
dirty air filters.

The Department of Children, Families and Learning (CFL) must provide each
school district with information concerning IAQ as part of the consultation
required for any school district building project for which the estimated cost
exceeds $250,000.

A school board proposing to construct a facility that requires an expenditure in
excess of $500,000 must submit information to CFL describing how IAQ issues
have been considered and certifying that the architects and engineers designing the
facility will have professional liability insurance.

Prior to occupying or reoccupying a school facility in which the heating,
ventilation, or air conditioning (BVAC) systems have been installed or retrofitted,
a school board or its designee must submit a document prepared by a system
inspector to the local building official or to CFL verifying that the facility's HVAC
system has been installed and operates according to design specifications and code.

If the document submitted by the school board to the local building official or CFL
does not demonstrate to that official's satisfaction that the BVAC system has been
installed correctly or that the system is not operating at a level to meet design
specifications, the official or CFL may allow up to one year of occupancy while
the BVAC system is improved to a level that is considered satisfactory by the
system inspector.

The Environmental Protection Agency provides free IAQ Tools for Schools kits to
schools. The kit is a flexible, comprehensive resource for school building health
and includes easy-to-follow checklists, videos, sample memos and policies, a
recommended management plan, and a unique IAQ problem-solving wheel.

School district IAQ projects are funded primarily through capital budgets and
health and safety revenue. Major capital projects are generally approved by the
local taxpayers; however, on a few occasions, the legislature has responded with
special legislation for a school district with IAQ problems.



What are some
potential legislative
issues?

There are two IAQ issues related to school buses that were discussed during the
2002 legislative session and may be discussed again. The first IAQ issue is
concern about the air quality on school buses due to several reports indicating that
diesel exhaust fumes are harmful to children's health. The second IAQ issue is
concern over the placement of school building air intake valves in relation to the
school bus loading and unloading area.

Another potential legislative issue is mandating in statute certain minimum
standards for air flow or prohibiting certain building or furnishing materials, since
these factors are known to affect IAQ.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058.
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Many states are looking at education vouchers and asking whether a market solution can improve the quality
of public education. In Zelman v. Simons-Harris (2002), the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the federal
Establishment Clause of the First Amendment permits education voucher plans to include religious schools.
This decision upholds the right of Cleveland parents to use publicly funded vouchers to send their children to
private religious schools and provides constitutional support for existing voucher programs in Wisconsin and
Florida. The school voucher debate now moves to state legislatures and state courts where many state
constitutions specifically prohibit using public funds to support or benefit religious schools or institutions.

The Court majority
characterized the
decision as a logical
outgrowth ofearlier
cases involving
individuals
choosing to use
public money to
indirectly support
private religious
schools

Dissenting justices
characterized the
decision as a major
devaluation ofthe
Establishment
Clause

The U.S. Supreme Court decided that Cleveland's voucher program, which
provides private and religious school tuition and tutorial aid to low-income
families residing in a failing school district, did not violate the Establishment
Clause prohibition against government support of religion because the program:

• was entirely neutral with respect to religion
• provided benefits directly to a wide spectrum of individuals defined only by

financial need and residency
• permitted individual parents to exercise genuine choice among public and

private, religious and secular school option.

The Court relied on three earlier Establishment Clause cases in reaching its
decision, including Mueller v. Allen (1983) in which the Court ruled permissible
Minnesota's tax deduction for parents paying school expenses where, as a practical
matter, primarily parents with children in religious school incurred those expenses
(then-Associate Justice Rehnquist authored the Court's opinion in Mueller).

The Court majority found that Cleveland's voucher program did not give any
preference to religious schools and, in fact, created a disincentive to attend
religious schools by providing, at most, half the aid provided for students attending
public charter and magnet schools. The majority did not attach constitutional
significance to the preponderance of religious schools participating in the program
because many American cities have relatively large numbers of religious schools.
The majority believed that the number of public and private educational choices
available to parents was sufficient to insulate the government from concerns about
violating the prohibition against government subsidizing or endorsing religion.

The Court's dissenting justices were troubled by the scale and kind of government
aid being shifted from public secular schools to private religious schools. The
dissent argued that the voucher program was a dramatic departure from prior
church-state decisions in which the Court declared that no public money could be
levied to support any religious activities or institutions. The dissent also was
troubled by upholding government aid that provides public money "to a core
function of the church: the teaching of religious truths to young children" since



School voucher
decision moves the
school voucher
debate to state
legislatures and
state courts

Minnesota's
constitution
prohibits using
public money to
support religious
schools

Debate asks if
school vouchers
expand educational
opportunities or
subsidize private
schools

Cleveland's voucher program does not require tuition money to be spent only on
the nonreligious aspects of a student's education. The dissent argued that eligible
students had no real choice because most of the participating schools were
religious schools, and the $2,250 tuition cap steered students toward religious
schools charging tuition below the cap. The dissent warned that the decision
would increase government regulation of religion and dilute religious freedom by
attaching strings to government funding.

The expansion of school choice programs, the public's interest in private schools
for safety and academic reasons, and a clarification of constitutional issues may
encourage state legislatures to explore school voucher plans that base students'
eligibility on family income and residency, similar to Cleveland and Milwaukee, or
.enrollment in failing schools, similar to Florida. Many state constitutions prohibit
using public funds to support or benefit religious schools or institutions. The
language of these state constitutional provisions varies widely and in many cases
appears more restrictive than the First Amendment Establishment Clause.

Minnesota's Constitution, article XIII, section 2, reads: "In no case shall any
public money or property be appropriated or used for the support of schools
wherein the distinctive doctrines, creeds or tenets of any...religious sect are
promulgated or taught." Although the prohibition appears more restrictive than
that of the federal Establishment Clause, voucher proponents may argue that
Minnesota's constitution prohibits support of religious schools but does not
prohibit aid to students attending a religious school. If a Minnesota court interprets
the state's constitutional prohibition restrictively, voucher proponents may have to
seek to amend the state constitution or challenge the prohibition under the federal
Free Exercise, Free Speech, and Equal Protection clauses.

School vouchers, as a school choice option, have raised issues about:

• whether to use public funds for religious schools
• what criteria private schools may apply when selecting students
• the degree to which private schools are publicly accountable for student

performance
• the extent of autonomy private schools enjoy in determining curriculum or

other pedagogical or financial matters.

Proponents argue that school vouchers give poor families educational opportunities
similar to those enjoyed by wealthier families and ensure, through market forces,
that parents have sufficient choices to provide their children with an education
consistent with their values and beliefs. Opponents argue that school vouchers
negatively impact the democratizing function of public schools by exacerbating
economic, ideological, and racial segregation across schools.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036. Also see the House
Research publication School Vouchers, September 2002.
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Title I of the Federal Elementary and
Secondary Education Act and Statewide Testing

Funding and
purpose

1994federal
requirements

Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act is the single largest source offederal
education funding; Minnesota received about $98 million in fiscal year 2002 and about $113
million in fiscal year 2003 in Title I funding. Title I funding is distributed based upon the
number of low-income families residing in a school district. The funding provides additional
educational programs and services to help children who are behind in school, including after­
school, weekend and summer school programs, teacher training, parent involvement
activities, specialists in reading, language arts and math, and tutors and aides.

When Congress reauthorized the Elementary and Secondary Education Act in 1994, it
required states to adopt or develop challenging curriculum content and performance
standards, align assessments with state content standards, and implement an accountability
system to measure school and district progress in improving student achievement. The
legislation, among other things, required states to

develop challenging reading and math standards

develop three levels of performance standards for all students (partially proficient,
proficient, advanced)

administer reading and math assessments in grade spans 3 through 5,6 through 9, and
10 through 12

use criterion-based assessments that judge students' performance against an objective
standard, instead ofusing norm-referenced tests that compare students' performance
to that of other students

use the same performance standards to assess students with disabilities and limited
English proficiency, but provide reasonable adaptations and accommodations to
ensure accurate and reliable information on what the students know and can do

report student assessment data by school district, school, gender, major ethnic and
racial groups, limited English proficiency status, migrant status, disability, and
economic disadvantage

define adequate yearly progress by using performance standards to establish a
benchmark for school improvement

require schools to show continuous progress toward achieving adequate yearly
progress

establish consequences for schools that fail to meet the standard for adequate yearly
progress



Compliance
waivers

2001 federal
requirements

In exchange for undertaking the added requirements, Congress gave states greater flexibility
in their use of Title I funds.

As of March 2002, Minnesota and 34 other states and instrumentalities had not fully
complied with 1994 Title I assessment requirements. To avoid jeopardizing Title I funding,
the federal education department granted Minnesota a three-year waiver, giving the state
until January 1,2004, to complete assessment requirements. As a condition of receiving the
waiver, the Department of Children, Families and Learning submitted to the federal
education department a plan and time line for addressing deficiencies in the state's
assessment system.

In 2001, Congress passed new legislation to again reauthorize the Elementary and Secondary
Education Act. The 2001 legislation augments the 1994 assessment and accountability
requirements by requiring states to increase testing requirements that must be implemented
through 2008 and establish progressively severe consequences for schools that fail to
improve test scores. Under the 2001 legislation, among other things, states must

develop content standards in science by the 2005-2006 school year that are applicable
to all students and align content and performance standards in science and administer
the science assessments by the 2007-2008 school year in grade spans 3 through 5,6
through 9, and 10 through 12

administer reading and math tests annually to all students in grades 3 through 8,
including at least 95 percent of students in specific population subgroups who may
meet separate annual performance targets, beginning in the 2005-2006 school year
(states need not administer these tests if Congress fails to appropriate specified
funding in anyone year)

require some students in grades 4 and 8 to take the National Assessment for
Educational Performance (NAEP) at federal expense

annually assess limited English proficiency students by the 2002-2003 school year
and test in English those students who have attended school in the United States for
three consecutive years unless an alternative local assessment is more reliable

make available annual information on student performance and teacher qualifications
by the 2002-2003 school year

show gains in academic achievement for all students and for specific population
groups and measure the gains against the state's definition of adequate yearly
progress, which must expect all students to perform at a proficient level within 12
years

define by year the actions a school district must take to improve failing schools,
including allowing students to attend other public schools, using Title I funds for
supplemental services from public or private providers, undertaking corrective
actions such as replacing school staff or implementing a new curriculum, and
restructuring the school as a charter school.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Lisa Larson at 651-296-8036.
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Tuition Reciprocity Program

What is post­
secondary
tuition
reciprocity?

Who is eligible
to participate?

What tuition
rates do
students pay?

This program lowers the amount of tuition a student pays to attend a public college or
university in participating states. Minnesota law authorizes the Higher Education
Services Office (HESO) to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states to provide
reduced tuition for nonresident students. Participating students pay less than the
nonresident tuition rate, but do not necessarily pay the in-state tuition rate.

Minnesota has tuition reciprocity agreements with North Dakota, South Dakota, and
Wisconsin covering all public post-secondary institutions. Minnesota has limited
agreements with Iowa (covering one institution in each state) and Manitoba (covering
all Minnesota institutions and five universities and one college in Manitoba).

Students who live in participating states and enroll in two-year, baccalaureate, graduate,
and professional programs in one of the other participating states are eligible for
reciprocity. Except for the medicine, veterinary medicine, and dentistry programs under
the Minnesota/Wisconsin agreement, all professional programs are included in the
program.-

Students first apply to a college or university in a reciprocity state and then apply for
reciprocity to the administering agency in their horne state-HESO for Minnesota

.students. Application for reciprocity can be made until the last day of the academic
term. The reciprocity program does not limit the number of participating students.
Reciprocity benefits automatically renew for subsequent academic terms.

Undergraduate, graduate, and professional tuition rates are set in the agreements for
participating institutions and programs. The agreements must be approved by post­
secondary governing boards-·in Minnesota, the Minnesota State Colleges and
Universities (MnSCU) board of trustees and the University of Minnesota Board of
Regents.

The most common tuition rate structures are:

in-state tuition at a comparable institution in the student's horne state
(Minnesota/Wisconsin agreement and Minnesota students enrolled in South
Dakota)

in-state tuition at the institution the student attends (North Dakota and South
Dakota students who attend in Minnesota)

an in-state tuition rate multiplied by a factor to adjust for tuition differences
(Wisconsin students attending the U ofM Twin Cities campus, Minnesota
students attending certain North Dakota institutions, and South Dakota students
attending Minnesota community colleges)



Total

North Dakota
South Dakota

Wisconsin

Does the
reciprocity
program cost
the state?

How many
students
participate in
the program?

What schools
do reciprocity
students
attend?

The state pays for the reciprocity program in two ways:

state aid payments to MnSCU and the University of Minnesota include
reciprocity students (nonresident, nonreciprocity students are excluded from
the aid calculation); and

general fund appropriations for payments to other states, if required, under the
formulas in the agreements.

The state appropriated $9 million for fiscal years 2002-2003 for reciprocity payments to
other states. In 2002, HESO estimated the state's obligation was about $3.2 million less
that the appropriation. The difference was transferred to the state grant program.

Students from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin account for most
of the participants in the reciprocity program.

Full Year Equivalent Reciprocity Students 2000-2001
From Minnesota Attending in Attending in Minnesotafrom
Undergraduate Graduate Undergraduate Graduate

5,514 286 4,810 303
1,453 63 1,862 258

11,658 742 7,821 585
18,625 1,091 14,493 1,146

The following map marks the location of campuses that undergraduate reciprocity
students attended in 2001-2002 in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and
Wisconsin.
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst Kathy Novak at 651-296-9253.
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University of Minnesota Constitutional Autonomy

The University of Minnesota has a special legal
status, known as constitutional autonomy, that is
of continuing interest to the legislature. Most
frequently, members ask whether a proposed bill
provision affecting the university would violate
constitutional autonomy. At times, the validity of
an existing law on the university is questioned.
This short subject is an introduction to
constitutional autonomy. It describes the relevant
territorial act and constitutional provision and lays
out four principles established by Minnesota cases
on the university's autonomy.

Definition

Constitutional autonomy is a legal principle that
makes a state university a separate department of
government, not merely an agency of the
executive or legislative branch. A university with
this status is subject to judicial review and to the
legislature's police and appropriations power.
However, its governing board has a significant
degree of independent control over many
university functions.

Statute and Constitution

The University of Minnesota was incorporated and
its powers were set out in an 1851 act of the
Territorial Assembly. (Territorial Laws 1851, ch.
28.) The act established a Board of Regents,
provided for the legislature to elect the board, and
gave the board general authority to govern the
university. Specific powers granted to the board
in the act include: the ability to appoint faculty,
set faculty salaries (with legislative approval),
grant degrees, determine tuition, and erect
buildings.

When Minnesota became a state in 1858, the
constitution carried into statehood the university's
legal status. This recognition of the university'S
original charter is known as constitutional
autonomy. ("All the rights, immunities, franchises
and endowments heretofore granted or conferred
upon the University of Minnesota are perpetuated
unto the university." Minn. Const., art. XIII, § 3).

Essential Case Law Principles

The Minnesota Supreme Court first decided a case
on constitutional autonomy in 1928. A handful of
cases decided since then have resulted in the
following four rules to use in evaluating
legislation that affects the university.

• The Board of Regents alone is
empowered to manage the university,
except as qualified below. Case law
prohibits either the legislative or executive
branch from participating in internal
management of the university. Cases
especially reject broad legislative or
executive branch control over university
finances. State ex reI. University of
Minnesota v. Chase, 175 Minn. 259, 220
N.W. 951 (1928).

• Judicial relief is available if the regents
abuse the management powers granted
by the state constitution. The Minnesota
Supreme Court has ruled that the judicial
branch is also prohibited from interfering
with internal university management.
However, parties such as students or
taxpayers may obtain relief from the courts
if the university fails to follow its own
rules or violates a valid law in such matters
as procedures for student expulsion.



Gleason v. University ofMinnesota, 104
Minn. 359, 116 N.W. 650 (1908).

• The legislature may place conditions on
university appropriations, if the
conditions do not violate university
autonomy. A condition is more likely to
be found valid if it applies equally to all
public agencies and the court finds that it
(1) promotes the general welfare, and (2)
makes very limited intrusions on the
regents' management duties. The
Minnesota Supreme Court has said it is
willing to review any conditional
appropriation to determine whether these
tests are met. Regents ofUniversity of
Minnesota v. Lord, 257 N.W.2d 796
(Minn. 1977).

• The university is subject to the state
constitution and is not above the
legislature's lawmaking power. As noted
above, cases limit the legislative and
executive branches' ability to manage
internal university affairs and to place
conditions on appropriations. Nonetheless,
the legislature still has the power to impose
on the university various general
regulatory requirements that apply to other
public agencies. The Minnesota Supreme
Court has said that one criterion for
evaluating the validity of such
requirements is whether the university has
accepted being covered by the statute in
question. See University ofMinnesota
Constitutional Autonomy, Minnesota
House Research Department at 12-14
(2000).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah K. McKnight 651-296-5056. Also see the House
Research Legal Analysis, University ofMinnesota Constitutional Autonomy, December 2000.
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What is the state
minimum wage?

What is the federal
minimum wage?

Are employees
covered by the state
law, the federal law,
or both?

What are the state
andfederal
exemptions

Ifan employee is
covered by both
state andfederal
law, which
prevails?

According to state law, the state minimum wage is $5.15 per hour for employers
who do at least $500,000 of business per year, and $4.90 per hour for employers
who do less than $500,000 of business per year. There is an exception for
employees under age 20 during their first 90 days of work, who can be paid $4.25
per hour.

The federal minimum wage is $5.15 per hour, with a provision for a "training
wage" of $4.25 per hour for employees under age 20 for their first 90 days of
work.

As a general matter, the federal law covers all employees of establishments that
have at least $500,000 in gross receipts per year. Further, any employee of an
establishment that does not meet the $500,000 minimum is covered if that
employee's individual work involves transactions that in some way touch interstate
commerce. The way these provisions are interpreted, most employees are covered
by the federal law.

The state law covers the great majority of employees in Minnesota unless they are
specifically exempt. Therefore, unless they fit into one ofthe specific exceptions,
most people who work in Minnesota are covered by both the state and federal law.

Many of the specific exemptions from minimum wage requirements are the same
in federal and state law. Some exemptions are broad, such as the one that applies to
executive, administrative, and professional employees, which appear in both state
and federal law, and some are narrow, such as the federal exemption of employees
who work at home making evergreen wreaths. There are regulations at the state
and federal levels that provide the boundaries of many of these categories.

Some of the important exemptions are for executive, professional, and managerial
employees who work on a salary basis, and certain skilled computer workers.

The short answer is that the higher wage prevails. If one law mandates a minimum
of $4.90 and one mandates a minimum of $5.15, for instance, the employer can
comply with both only by paying more than $5.15. Because the federal minimum
wage is currently $5.15 for employers of all sizes, the only employees who would
have the current state small-employer minimum wage of $4.90 as their lowest
permissible wage are those employees who work for small employers and are
covered by state law but not federal law.
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Minnesota does not allow a "tip credit," so tipped employees in Minnesota who are
subject to the state minimum wage provisions must be paid the regular state
minimum hourly wage by the employer, regardless of whether or not they also
receive tips. Further, the employer may not require employees to share tips with
the employer or with other employees, because the tips are the exclusive property
of the person who receives them.

This differs from federal law, which allows a partial tip credit as long as the
employer can prove that the employee actually receives enough tips to make up the
difference between the lower hourly wage the employer pays and the statutory
minimum wage. If a Minnesota employee is covered by state law, however, the
employer cannot take the tip credit against the state minimum wage. This means
that a tipped employee of a covered employer in Minnesota still must be paid a
direct wage of either $4.90 or $5.15 per hour (depending on employer size),
whether or not the employee also receives tips.

The most recent increases in the federal and state minimum wages were effective
in September of 1997, except that the increase in Minnesota's small employer wage
was effective January 1, 1998.

According to information published by the United States Department of Labor in
October 2002, seven states have no minimum wage laws, 11 states and the District
of Columbia have minimum wages higher than the federal minimum, 29 states
have minimum wages the same as the federal minimum (including Minnesota), and
three states have minimum wages lower than the federal minimum.

States have different approaches to setting and applying their minimum wage laws.
Some states automatically make certain adjustments to their state rates when the
federal rate changes. Many states also exclude from state coverage any
employment that is covered by the federal law so that there is no overlap. In
Washington and Alaska, the state minimum wage is automatically adjusted for
inflation.

Minimum wage laws are enforced in Minnesota by the Minnesota Department of
Labor and Industry and the United States Department of Labor.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes at 651-296-5059.
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Parenting Leave

Both the Minnesota Parenting Leave Law and the federal Family and Medical
Leave Act (FMLA) require certain employers to provide qualifying employees
with a minimum amount ofjob-protected leave when they have a newborn or
newly adopted child. The federal FMLA also provides leave in other situations,
such as the illness of a family member or the illness of the employee.

These laws do not necessarily provide additional leave to be added to all the leave
that the employer voluntarily provides. Instead, they require that a minimum
amount ofjob-protected leave (meaning leave after which an employee has the
right to his or her job back) be made available. For instance, if an employer
provides 12 weeks of paid parental leave for employees as a part of its normal
benefit package, that leave would qualify as the leave required by law, so the
employee could not take the 12 paid weeks and then claim another 12 weeks of
unpaid but job-protected "FMLA leave." In other words, these laws do not create
a grant of a block of special set-aside leave so much as they provide a minimum
amount of time an employee may be absent from work after a birth or adoption
without endangering the employee's job.

An employee is covered by the state law if: (1) the employee works for an
employer that has at least 21 employees at any site (whether or not it is the site
where the employee works); and (2) the employee has worked for the employer at
least half-time for the 12 consecutive months preceding the request for leave.

An employee is covered by FMLA if: (1) the employee works for a public
employer, or for a private employer that has at least 50 employees within 75 miles
of where the employee works; and (2) the employee has worked for the employer
for at least 12 months (not necessarily consecutively); and (3) the employee has
worked for the employer for at least 1,250 hours in the 12 consecutive months
preceding the request for leave.

If an employee is covered by both statutes, then the employer must comply with
both. The effect of this is that the employee receives the benefit guaranteed by the
more generous provision of state or federal law.

When an employee either has a newborn biological child or a newly adopted child,
federal law provides for a minimum of 12 weeks ofleave, and state law provides
for a minimum of six weeks of leave.
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Under state law, the employee can choose to start the leave at any time up to six
weeks after the child is adopted or born, except that if a newborn has to spend
more time in the hospital than the mother spends, then the leave can begin up to six
weeks after the child comes home from the hospital.

Under federal law, the employee can begin the leave up to 12 months after the
birth or adoption of the child.

Neither the federal nor the state law requires that the leave be paid. Under state
law, the employer can reduce the six weeks ofleave by any amount of paid
parental or disability leave, but not by sick leave, so that the total leave does not
exceed six weeks. Under the FMLA, either the employer or the employee can
decide to substitute any paid leave available to the employee for any part of the
unpaid leave. Therefore, either the employer or the employee can decide that the
employee will exhaust vacation or other paid leave as part of the 12 weeks.

Both state and federal law require that the employee be permitted to continue
existing health insurance through the employer during the leave period. State law
allows an employer to require the employee to pay the entire premium during his
or her leave, but the FMLA requires that the employer continue to pay whatever
portion of the premium it was paying prior to the leave. This difference in
provisions is one reason why it may be important to determine whether the
employee is covered by the state law, the federal law, or both. The FMLA further
provides that if the employee chooses not to return to work after the leave, the
employer can require the employee to pay back any insurance premiums the
employer paid during the leave.

Under both state and federal law, the employee is entitled to be returned to the
same position or a comparable position (in hours, duties, and pay) at the end of the
leave, unless the employee otherwise would have been laid off during the leave.
The FMLA has an exception to reinstatement for an employer's most highly paid
employees, if reinstatement would cause "grievous economic injury" to the
employer.

Minnesota law provides that an employee is entitled to 16 hours of unpaid leave
per year to attend school conferences and activities relating to the employee's child,
provided those activities cannot be scheduled outside of work time. This law also
covers foster parents.

Minnesota law also allows an employee to use the sick leave granted to him or her
by his or her employer to care for an ill child. Both of these are in addition to the
six weeks of leave provided for the birthor adoption of a child. Coverage by these
laws is the same as for the six-week leave discussed above, except that the school
activities leave is available without regard to the number of employees that the
employer has.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes at 651-296-5059.
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Prevailing wage is a system under which contractors and subcontractors working
on state construction projects are required to pay their employees no less than a
particular amount determined by the Department of Labor and Industry to be the
"prevailing wage" for that particular employee's job and for the location where the
work is being done. The system contains both a minimum hourly wage
requirement and requirements for overtime pay after a maximum of eight hours per
day or 40 hours a week. This differs from the regular state overtime requirements,
which require overtime only after 48 hours in a week and contain no daily
overtime provision.

Generally, the prevailing wage requirements apply to state "projects." A project is
defined as "erection, construction, remodeling, or repairing of a public building or
other public work financed in whole or part by state funds." Prevailing wage
provisions do not apply to a contract in which the total cost of the project is
expected to be under $2,500 and only one trade or occupation is required to
complete the project, or to a contract in which the total cost of the project is
expected to be under $25,000 and more than one trade or occupation is required to
complete it.

The Department of Labor and Industry is responsible for conducting surveys in
which it gathers information from contractors, labor organizations, and other
interested parties about what wages are being paid to employees who do particular
jobs in particular geographical areas. The department has established rules that
explain how it conducts the survey. When the information has been collected, the
department determines which single wage is being paid to the largest number of
employees, and that wage becomes the prevailing wage for that job in that place.
This number is not an average, but is instead the mode of all wages paid in the
area, which can be higher or lower than the average.

For example, if the department gathered information listing one employee making
$10.25 per hour, two employees making $10.30 per hour, two employees making
$10.50 per hour, three employees making $10.60, and four employees making
$16.00, the prevailing wage would be $16.00. Similarly, ifthere were four
employees making $10.00, three employees making $15.00, two employees
making $16.00, two employees making $16.50, and two employees making
$16.75, the prevailing wage would be $10.00.



Who enforces
Minnesota's
prevailing wage
laws?

These laws are enforced by the Department of Labor and Industry, except with
respect to highway construction, in which case enforcement is the responsibility of
the Department of Transportation.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes at 651-296-5059.
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The Dislocated Worker Program

The Dislocated Worker Program provides assistance to some individuals who are
displaced from their employment or source of support and require assistance in
returning to or entering the workforce.

Several kinds of workers are eligible for assistance under the program. They
include those who:

• are terminated from their employment, exhaust their unemployment
benefits, and are unlikely to return to their previous industry or occupation;

• are terminated as part of a plant closing or other large layoff;

• have been long-term unemployed and have limited opportunities for similar
reemployment in the area where they live;

• have been self-employed (including as farmers or ranchers) and are
unemployed (or, for farmers and ranchers, are earning substantially less
income) as a result of economic conditions or natural disasters; or

• are displaced homemakers, meaning they have spent a number of years
providing homemaking service while dependent on another person, and that
person is no longer providing support as a result of the other person's
disability or death, or because of a divorce. "Displaced homemaker" can
also include a person who previously was supported by public assistance
because of the presence of a dependent in the household who is no longer
present.

The program provides basic employment services such as job counseling, testing,
skills assessment, and placement assistance. It provides money for training,
including classroom training, on-the-job training, skills training, and basic
education. Finally, to a limited degree, it offers support services, including
temporary help with expenses such as rent, health insurance, transportation, and
similar costs that may need to be covered while a person is in training.



How is the money
distributed?

Where does the
money come from?

Funds are appropriated to the Job Skills Partnership Board, and are in turn given as
grants to workforce service areas (there are 18 such areas in Minnesota, established
by federal law) or other eligible organizations, which may include labor
organizations, business organizations, state or local government agencies, or
nonprofit agencies. These areas and organizations often in turn contract with
individual service providers to deliver services to individuals.

The Dislocated Worker Program is probably best known for its projects responding
to large layoffs, but the board is required to grant between 35 percent and 50
percent of its funds to assist individuals and those affected by smaller layoffs.

Employers pay a special tax along with their unemployment insurance taxes that
goes into a separate fund called the Workforce Development Fund. Currently, this
tax is 0.07 percent of taxable wages, and the taxable wage base is $21,000,
meaning that the maximum any employer pays into the Workforce Development
Fund is approximately $15 per employee per year.

Not all the money in the Workforce Development Fund goes to fund the Dislocated
Worker Program. The legislature appropriates some of the money in the fund to
support other employment and training programs. Whatever money remains after
these appropriations are made is available for the Dislocated Worker Program.

In addition to the state money, there are federal funds appropriated for the federal
Dislocated Worker Program, which is similar to the state program.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Linda Holmes at 651-296-5059.
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Air Quality Regulation in Minnesota

The federal Clean Air Act is the primary regulatory authority used by the
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) to protect the state's air quality.
In addition to the Clean Air Act, state law grants broad authority to the agency
to protect Minnesota's air. However, budgetary and other constraints keep the
MPCA from going much beyond its responsibilities under the Clean Air Act.

The federal Clean Air Act, first enacted in 1970, established a two-tiered
regulatory partnership, in which:

• the federal government, through the Environmental Protection Agency,
(EPA) develops standards for air quality; and

• each state plans how achieve those standards.

When the EPA approved Minnesota's State Implementation Plan (SIP), it
delegated its regulatory authority to administer the Clean Air Act in Minnesota
to the MPCA. Rather than a single plan that is reviewed on a regular basis, the
SIP is a constantly evolving collection of plans, targets, standards, permits, and
state regulations designed to meet state and federal air quality requirements.
Once approved, the SIP takes on the force and effect of federal law, in addition
to whatever separate authority it may have under state law.

There are a number of federal standards or programs that state air regulatory
programs should incorporate. The most important of these are:

• National Ambient Air Quality Standards
• National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
• New Source Performance Standards and
• New Source Review

Each will be discussed below.

The EPA has set standards for concentrations of seven principal pollutants (the
"criteria pollutants") in the outside air, called the National Ambient Air Quality
Standards (NAAQS).

The seven criteria pollutants are carbon monoxide (CO); lead; sulphur dioxide
(SOx) and nitrogen oxide (NOx) (often called "socks and knocks"); ozone (03);

particulate matter with diameters of 10 micrometers or less (PM 10); and
particulate matter with diameters of 2.5 micrometers or less (PM 2.5).
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New Source
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Regulation of
mobile sources

Those areas of the country that meet the standards for a given criteria pollutant
are said to be "in attainment" for that pollutant. All of Minnesota is currently in
attainment for all seven criteria pollutants, although the MPCA is concerned
about the growing concentrations of ozone in the metropolitan region. Once an
area is determined to be a "nonattainment" area, the regulatory controls of air
quality within that area become much more stringent, and the resulting costs of
compliance can be extremely expensive.

The 1990 amendments to the Clean Air Act listed 189 hazardous air pollutants
to be regulated by the EPA. The federal agency may add to this list, but to date
it has not done so.

To regulate hazardous air pollutants, EPA identifies categories of sources that
release these air toxics (e.g., gasoline service stations, coal-burning power
plants, chemical plants, etc.). The EPA then reviews the control technologies
available for each category and specifies an emission standard for that category
of sources, assuming the maximum reduction of air toxin emissions is consistent
with the technology available. (This is often referred to as MACT, for
"maximum achievable control technology.") Collectively, these standards are
known as the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants or
NESHAP.

The EPA has established standards limiting emissions from new or modified
facilities of approximately 70 industrial categories of emission sources. These
standards are known as the New Source Performance Standards (NSPS). A new
facility subject to these standards must demonstrate that it will comply with the
applicable Nsps and obtain a construction permit from the MPCA.

Under the New Source Review program (NSR), a facility must install modem
pollution control equipment when it is built (for new sources) or when it makes
certain major modifications (for existing sources). Facilities subject to NSR in
attainment areas must install "best available control technology" (BACT).
Facilities subject to NSR in nonattainment areas are subject to an even more
strict standard, and must install "lowest achievable emission rate" technology
(LAER).

The new source review requirements apply only to new and significantly
modified facilities. Facilities existing as of 1977 that have not made major
modifications need only install "reasonably available control technology"
(RACT). Some refer to these existing facilities as "grandfathered" facilities.
Many coal-fired power plants in existence or planned and under construction in
1977 fall under this category.

Only the EPA and California may adopt emissions standards for mobile sources
(cars, trucks, buses, etc.). California is authorized under the federal Clean Air
Act to adopt stricter standards, and any other state may elect to adopt and
enforce California's more stringent emissions standards.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mike Bull at 651-296-8961.
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As stated in Minnesota Statutes, section 103A.201, the state's water policy is designed to regulate the
conservation and use of water resources in a way that is in the best interest of the people and promotes public
health, safety, and welfare. Regulation of water policy involves drainage, which the state has been
attempting to manage since the late 19th century.

History of
drainage laws

Activityand
authority

Minnesota's first comprehensive drainage law was passed in 1887. It
established a petition process for landowners, monitoring by county
commissioners, and a system of viewers to survey, locate, and prepare a report
on a proposed drainage ditch. This 115-year-01d law established a process that
is similar to the approaches still used in state drainage law.

In 1955 the state established the Water Resources Board, which then authorized
the creation of geographic watershed districts. (The board later became part of
the present Board of Water and Soil Resources.) Watershed districts managed
the drainage systems within their boundaries. County boards were required to
evaluate the effects on the environment and natural resources when considering
a drainage project, and the number of petitioners required to initiate a project
was increased. The Commissioner of Natural Resources was required to
evaluate environmental and conservation impacts before a drainage project
could be established.

Drainage activity peaked in the 1950s. In the 1960s, public policy had shifted
toward wetland conservation, and people began to question whether drainage
was always in the public interest. Federal and state law evolved toward the
acquisition and protection of wetlands. Changes in state law increased the
consideration of environmental measures before a drainage proceeding
commenced and imposed stricter protection of wetlands. These changes were
manifested in the Wetland Conservation Act of 1991, which established a "no­
net-loss" policy for the state's remaining wetlands.

Up until the mid-1980s, Minnesota had about five million acres of drained land.
About 20 percent of the land was drained by tile pipes conveying excess water
from farm fields to collection ditches. The remaining 80 percent was drairied by
27,000 miles of constructed drainage ditches.

In the last two decades,drainage activity has tapered off. There are fewer
individual farmers and, subsequently, less interest in opening up new land to
drain. The growing realization of public benefits of wetland protection and
accompanying laws has slowed wetland drainage. Recent drainage activity has
occurred in the state's growing urbanization areas, including preparing for
streets, roads, airports, and residential and industrial development.



Issues in public
drainage

Counties have general authority for public drainage, although some drainage
systems are under the supervision of a watershed district. Counties and
watershed districts are more or less on their own in interpreting the drainage
law, and generally do so on a case-by-case basis. This has caused a growing
lack of uniformity and standardization of drainage procedures among counties
and watershed districts.

Issues and concerns about public drainage have emerged among various interest
groups during the last decade. Some groups are interested in specific changes to
the drainage laws; others want a wholesale change to "modernize" it. The state
Board of Water and Soil Resources sponsored a public drainage forum to
identify and discuss the issues. The major concerns that arose from that forum
are as follows.

• There is a need for more education on the very process-oriented drainage
law for all interested parties, but especially for public officials who are
able to change the law

• The buffer strips required to be placed along new drainage systems to
prevent erosion need to be maintained and inspected

• The abandonment of a public drainage is very hard to accomplish
• Repair of an existing drainage ditch sometimes is thought of as an

improvement
• Some drain tile systems are overwhelming the capacity of existing ditch

systems to handle the water flow
• The viewers' report in a drainage proceeding may be the single most

important document in the process; it lists viewers' facts and findings

Several ideas for improving the drainage system came out of the forum.

• Implement a cost/benefit analysis of drainage on a countywide basis
• Use best management practices on ditch systems
• Use new technology in drain tile systems
• Give incentives to landowners to abandon ditch systems that no longer

provide a public benefit
• Have engineers review the environmental criteria to assess the impact of

a drainage project that's initiated by a petition

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Helland at 651-296-5039. Also see the House
Research publication The Drainage Issue, January 1999.
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Nuclear Waste Transportation

Federal repository

The Yucca
Mountain site
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After more than 20 years and $4 billion spent on scientific study, the United States
Congress in July approved the Yucca ,Mountain, Nevada, site as the federal
repository for nuclear waste. President Bush had forwarded an approved United
States Department of Energy (DOE) environmental impact statement (EIS) on the
site to Congress, but the state ofNevada had objected, requiring congressional
approval.

Yucca Mountain is a remote Nevada location 100 miles from a large population
center, Las Vegas. It was picked because of this and also because of:

• its very dry climate (less than six inches of rain annually) and
• its extremely deep water table (close to 1,000 feet below the repository

site).

Nevada had earlier filed suit against the DOE claiming that the Yucca Mountain
EIS was inadequate and in violation of the National Environmental Policy Act and
the Nuclear Waste Policy Act. The state claimed that the EIS transportation
analysis of spent nuclear fuel and high-level radioactive waste was totally
inadequate. Nevada wants DOE to develop a draft national transportation plan for
waste shipment, with alternatives, and then a consistent state plan identifying
preferred shipping routes. Nevada also wants at least a six-month comment period,
with public hearings in all states and major cities along proposed shipping routes.
The suit failed in United States district court, but is now before the United States
Court ofAppeals.

The DOE is in the process of submitting the Yucca Mountain license application to
the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). Based on federal law, NRC then
conducts scientific review and public hearings before any construction may be able
to commence in 2005. The facility for underground storage will take three years to
fully construct. The DOE then requests NRC authorization to operate, which takes
at least another two years. At the earliest, Yucca Mountain may be able to accept
nuclear waste shipments by 2010.

If or when the nuclear waste repository at Yucca Mountain becomes operational, a
combination of transportation modes by train and truck will be used to move
radioactive materials from 77 sites located in 35 states (including waste from both
commercial and government facilities). The federal government prefers using rail
to ship waste 95 percent of the time. All spent nuclear fuel and high-level
radioactive waste shipped will be in solid form for transportation and disposal.
The waste materials will be transported to a repository in large certified container
casks: rail casks may weigh as much as 150 tons; truck casks can weigh 26 tons.



Routing

Alternative private
site

The estimated number of annual shipments is 175. United States Department of
Transportation (DOT) and NRC rules track the shipments by 24-hour satellite;
along with anned escorts; and there must be advance route approval and
notification to the states. Each state governor can provide preferred routes to the
DOT, and emergency response teams already have been trained in the states where
shipment will occur. The federal government says that in more than 30 years,
there has been no hannful release of radiation in more than 2,700 shipments of
nuclear waste. In Europe, particularly France and Britain, nuclear waste has been
shipped for more than 25 years through heavily populated areas without serious
incidents.

In addition to waiting for the Yucca Mountain site to open, Xce1 Energy in
Minnesota has helped fonn a consortium of eight nuclear utilities to find and fund
a private nuclear waste storage site. The site is proposed on the Utah reservation
of the Skull Valley Band of Goshute Indians. An EIS was issued by the NRC, and
the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board is holding hearings on the site's license
application. If approved, nuclear waste shipments could begin from various
locations, including Minnesota, to Utah sometime in 2005. Utah is objecting to the
licensing process. Preliminary plans to ship nuclear waste through Minnesota, to
either Nevada or Utah disposal sites, includes only waste from Xcel's Monticello
and Prairie Island facilities and a decommissioned nuclear facility in LaCrosse,
Wisconsin (see, www.state.nv.us/nucwaste)

See also federal web sites for the NRC (www.nrc.gov) and DOE Yucca Mountain
Project (www.ymp.gov).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Helland at 651-296-5039. Also see the House
Research publication Nuclear Waste Dry Cask Storage, December 2001.
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Solid Waste Management in Minnesota
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There are two state agencies that have significant responsibilities for managing
solid waste in Minnesota. The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) is
the state's equivalent of the federal Environmental Protection Agency; it
develops and enforces the state's waste management regulations. In addition,
the MPCA issues permits for solid waste management to waste haulers and solid
waste facility owners.

In contrast, the Minnesota Office of Environmental Assistance (OEA) is not a
regulator. Instead, the OEA provides technical and financial assistance and
environmental education to businesses, local governments, schools, community
groups, and individual citizens, with a specific focus on waste reduction and
recycling. The OEA is also responsible for approving county solid waste plans.

The state's solid waste management policy is specified in Minnesota Statutes,
section 115B.02, which says that the goal of solid waste management in the state
is to "protect the state's land, air, water, and other natural resources and the
public health by:"

• reducing the amount and toxicity of waste generated;
• recovering usable materials and energy from waste;
• reducing dependence on land disposal of waste;
• coordinating waste management among political subdivisions; and
• ensuring the orderly and deliberate development of waste

management facilities.

Solid waste consists of mixed municipal solid waste (what we commonly refer
to as "garbage"), construction debris, and other nonhazardous waste. Solid
waste is managed separately from hazardous waste.

Minnesota law describes a hierarchy for various solid waste management
practices. To the extent practicable, solid waste is to be managed as high on the
hierarchy as possible. The waste management practices listed in the statute, in
order of preference, are:

• waste reduction and reuse
• waste recycling
• composting of yard waste and food waste
• resource recovery through composting or incineration and
• land disposal



Planning

Collection

Where does the
waste go?

When this hierarchy was first enacted, policymakers believed that government
had the authority to direct waste to be managed in specific ways, and even at
specific facilities, to ensure that waste was managed at the appropriate level of
the hierarchy. However, judicial decisions in recent years have constrained
governments' ability to do so. Policymakers have responded by implementing
tools other than their regulatory "flow control" authority, such as contracts with
haulers and other financial incentives, to guide waste to be managed in
accordance with state policy. Many policymakers remain frustrated at the
increasing amount of waste that is managed low on the hierarchy (land disposal,
primarily) and by the difficulty in financing new waste-processing facilities.

Planning for the management of solid waste is primarily a county responsibility,
but the planning requirements vary according to whether the county is a
metropolitan county or a county in greater Minnesota. Regardless of where the
county is located, the county's proposed plan must be approved by the OEA; it
must include waste reduction and recycling provisions, as well as provisions to
minimize the amount of waste that is disposed of in landfills. Metropolitan
counties must develop county plans that are in accordance with the most recent
"metropolitan long-range policy plan" adopted by the Metropolitan Council, and
revised by the OEA.

Providing for the collection of solid waste is primarily a municipal
responsibility. Municipal governments have three main options with regard to
collection:

1. Municipal: the city collects garbage with city trucks and workers;
2. Organized: the city contracts with one or more waste haulers to collect

waste within the city; and
3. Open: the city allows licensed haulers to collect waste within the city.

The OEA estimates that approximately 80 percent of the cities within the
metropolitan area are "open" whereas cities in greater Minnesota are fairly
evenly split between municipal/organized collection and open collection.

The OEA estimates that the amount of solid waste generated in Minnesota has
increased 37 percent since 1992, notwithstanding a statutory goal to reduce the
amount of waste generated by 10 percent in that period. Of the approximately
5.6 million tons generated:

• approximately 47 percent is recycled;
• less than half a percent is composted;
• roughly 20 percent is incinerated in waste-to-energy facilities; and
• about 33 percent is disposed of in landfills. Ofthe amount landfilled,

658,000 tons went to landfills outside the state.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mike Bull at 651-296-8961. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Solid Waste History, January 2002 .

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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How much land
does the
government own?

Who manages the
land?

Easement
acquisition trend

State-Owned Land in Minnesota

There are about 51.2 million acres ofland and 2.6 million acres ofwater within
Minnesota. About 25 percent of the land is owned by governmental units. The
federal government owns about 7 percent of the land area, or 3.4 million acres,
while the state government owns about 17 percent of the land area, or 8.4 million
acres. Over 95 percent of the state-owned land was given to the state by the
federal government.

Almost all federal land in Minnesota is natural resource land, primarily forest
acreage in Chippewa and Superior national forests. Other federal lands are mainly
in national wildlife management areas, national parklands, and Indian reservation
lands.

The state Department ofNatural Resources (DNR) is responsible for the
management of over 90 percent of all state-owned land. At least 80 percent of
DNR land is forested lands, primarily in state forest units, with other land in
wildlife management areas, state parks, scientific and natural areas, fisheries
management areas, water access sites, and state trials and recreation areas.

Other state agencies that own and manage land are the Department of
Transportation, Military Affairs, Administration, Human Services, and the
University ofMinnesota and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities systems.

A recent trend for natural resource land protection has been to acquire protection
through conservation easements,·rather than only the purchase of direct fee title.
Conservation easements protect quality land for a certain period of time by
payments to landowners based upon a percentage of the assessed value of their
land. Both the Board ofWater and Soil Resources (BOWSR) and the DNR have
utilized easements recently; BOWSR having over 195,000 acres under easement
through the RIM and CREP programs; and DNR having about 20,000 acres under
easement for various purposes.

Information about the Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) program and Conservation
Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP) can be found on the BOWSR web site at
www.bwsr.state.mn.us/easements/index.html.

A 2002 law, chapter 393, section 36, was enacted requiring the Commissioner of
Administration to inventory most state-owned land and report to the 2003
Legislature on whether the land is:

1) Being used for a public purpose;
2) Expected to be used for a future public purpose; and
3) Not now or expected to be used for a public purpose.
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Helland at 651-296-5039.
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The 3/16 Bill

History

Amount and dollar
division

Council

Need

2002 funding

In the 2001 session, bills were introduced (H.F. 16711S.F. 1589) that proposed to
amend the Minnesota Constitution and dedicate 3/16 of 1 percent oftaxable sales
revenue for natural resources purposes. They became known as "the 3/16 bills."
Both bills started receiving serious consideration late in the 2002 session when
gubernatorial candidates at the time expressed support for the concept, but neither
became law.

If the 3/16 dedication was approved by the voters, it would amount to about $129
million in fiscal year 2006 (the dedication would have to be approved by voters
because it would amend the state constitution). It would last until 2026 and, as it
ended up last session, 51 percent of the money would go to a conservation heritage
enhancement fund, funding fish and wildlife habitat projects; 20 percent for state
parks and trails; 20 percent for metropolitan parks and trails; 7 percent for local
and regional park and trail grants and grant-in-aid trails; and 2 percent for the state,
Como, and Duluth zoos. Additionally, an amendment was added asking the voters
to approve a 3/16 dedication for public education.

The 51 percent expenditure slated for the conservation heritage enhancement fund
originally was to be decided by a new heritage enhancement council, made up of
four nonvoting legislators and 11 citizens representing hunting and fishing
interests. The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) objected to this feature,
along with some other groups, and it was removed late in the 2002 session.

Most wildlife and sportsmen groups in the state felt current state funding, primarily
through the Game and Fish Fund (license revenues), was not keeping up with
identified habitat needs. They claim that hunting, fishing, and wildlife activities in
Minnesota generate substantially more revenue for the state than the state invests
in wildlife programs. There is an estimated $3 billion annually spent in the state
on hunting, fishing, camping, and wildlife-watching activities.

Additionally, the current budget deficit resulted in the DNR's general fund budget
being cut by almost $13 million in fiscal years 2002-2003, and $2S.6 million in
fiscal years 2004-2005. In addition, almost $50 million in natural resources
projects for the DNR in the 2002 bonding law (Chapter 373) were vetoed by the
governor.



Other states

Next session

The proponents ofthe 3/16 bills modeled the legislation to some degree on laws
existing in Missouri and Arkansas. A 26-year-old permanent law exists in
Missouri that dedicates 1/8 of 1 percent of taxable salesrevenue for natural
resources activities. This amounted to $88 million in funds last year.
Additionally, a separate 1/10 of 1 percent sales tax dedication-which must be
renewed by a statewide public vote every six years-was enacted in 1984 to fund
state park and soil conservation needs. Because of these laws, Missouri is now
only behind California and Florida-much larger states in population and overall
state budgets-in total expenditures for conservation purposes.

Missouri has a four-person conservation commission to decide on the sales tax
dedication spending. The Missouri Legislature has little control over the
dedication budget. ~kansas also dedicates 1/8 of 1 percent oftaxable sales
revenue to natural resources purposes, but with smaller population and less
revenue than Missouri, it amounts to about $17 million annually.

In Minnesota for 2003, the conservation groups supporting the 3/16 bills­
primarily members of the Minnesota Outdoor Heritage Alliance-are seriously
looking at a one-half of 1 percent sales tax dedication. This would raise $350
million annually for all natural resources purposes, or almost $175 million more a
year than comes from the general fund now. The groups, if successful in getting
legislation passed and approval by the voters, would support discontinuing any
dollars coming from the general fund for natural resources.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Helland at 651-296-5039.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Statutory Solid Waste Taxes and Fees

Solid Waste
Management Tax

Metropolitan Solid
Waste Landfill Fee

Greater Minnesota
Landfill Clean-up
Fee

Minnesota Statutes, chapter 297H: State law imposes a sales tax on the solid
waste management services provided by a waste hauler to a customer. Solid
waste management services are defined as collection, transportation, processing,
and disposal services. Enacted in 1997 as a revenue-neutral replacement of two
other solid waste fees, the tax rates for the solid waste management tax are 9.75
percent on solid waste services to residential customers, and 17 percent on
services to commercial and industrial customers. In addition, the state imposes a
volume-based fee of 60 cents per loose cubic yard on the management of
construction and demolition debris. Each hauler remits the amounts collected to
the state. The revenue from the sales tax and the fee on debris is apportioned by
law as follows:

• 50 percent (or a minimum of$22 million) to the Solid Waste Fund for
landfill clean-up and Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA)
groundwater and solid waste activities; and

• 50 percent to the general fund. The legislature then appropriates some
portion of this amount to the Office of Environmental Assistance
(OEA) for solid waste activities and provides revenue for block grants
to counties for recycling programs.

Minnesota Statutes, section 473.843: State law imposes a fee on operators of
certain landfills in the metropolitan area (i.e., Burnsville and Pinebend). The
amount of the fee depends on whether the facility weighs the solid waste before
disposing of the waste. Facilities that weigh the waste pay a fee of $6.66 per ton.
Facilities that do not weigh the waste pay a fee of $2 per cubic yard. As enacted
in 1984, all facilities were charged a fee of 50 cents per cubic yard on solid waste
disposal. The revenue is apportioned by law as follows:

• 25 percent to the Metropolitan Landfill Contingency Action Trust
Fund for closure, post-closure care, and response actions at solid waste
facilities in the metropolitan area.

• 75 percent to the Metropolitan Landfill Abatement Fund to reduce "to
the greatest extent feasible and prudent the need for and practice of
land disposal" (landfill abatement) in metropolitan area.

Minnesota Statutes, section 115A.923: Enacted in 1989, this state law imposes
a fee of $2 per cubic yard on operators of certain landfills outside of the
metropolitan area. Revenues collected must be paid to the county, joint powers
board, sanitary district, or city in which the facility is located and used only for:

• programs to reduce reliance on landfills
• costs associated with landfill closure, post-closure, and clean-up or
• "purposes of mitigating and compensating for the local risks, costs and

other adverse effects" of having the landfill located in the jurisdiction.



County Solid Waste
Fee Authority

City or Town Solid
Waste Fee Authority

County Service
Charges

What are annual
estimated revenues of
these taxes adfees?

Minnesota Statutes, section 115A.919: State law authorizes counties in which
a landfill is located to impose a volume-based fee on landfill operators. The
revenue is required to be credited to the county's general fund and used only for:

• programs to reduce reliance on landfills
• costs associated with landfill closure, post-closure, and clean-up or
• "purposes of mitigating and compensating for the local risks, costs and

other adverse effects" of having the landfill located in the county.

As enacted in 1984, the fee was initially capped at 25 cents per cubic yard, but the
cap for most landfills was removed in 1988. The fee on landfills for construction
debris is capped at 50 cents per cubic yard. The statute was also amended in
1991 to allow a county to assess an additional fee per cubic yard on waste
generated in another county (not to exceed $7.50 per cubic yard).

Minnesota Statutes, section 115A.921: State law authorizes certain cities and
towns to impose a fee on landfills within the city or town. Initially the fee was
capped at 15 cents per cubic yard, increased to 35 cents in 1988, and to $1.00 in
1989. Twenty-five percent of the revenues must be used for landfill abatement or
"for mitigating and compensating for the local risks, costs and other adverse
effects" of having the landfill located in the city or town. The balance may be
used for any general fund purpose.

Minnesota Statutes, sections 400.08 and 473.811: State law authorizes
counties to impose by ordinance reasonable rates and charges for solid waste
management services provided by the county or under contract with the county.
These changes are imposed as a separate line item on property tax or other
government billing statements. As enacted in 1971, the authority was limited
only to counties outside the metropolitan area; it was expanded to metro counties
in 1986.

Tax/Fee Estimated Calendar Year 2001 Revenue
(millions)

Solid Waste Management Tax $54.8

Metro Solid Waste Landfill Fee 3.7

Greater Minnesota Landfill Clean-up 6.4
Fee

County Solid Waste Fee Authority 3.5

City/Town Solid Waste Fee Authority 3.5

County Service Charges 63.0

Note: Except for the state solid waste management tax, all of the fees and charges are imposed at
the local level. Although the total amount of fees and charges collected is to be reported annually
to the state auditor, many forms are not submitted and none are audited. Therefore, amounts
should only be considered estimates and used cautiously.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mike Bull at 651-296-8961 and Karen Baker at 651­
296-8959. Also see the House Research publication Minnesota Solid Waste History, January 2002.
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What is the "60-day
rule"?

Who does it apply
to?

What requests does
it apply to?

"60-Day Rule"
Time Deadline for Agency Action

In 1995, the legislature enacted Minnesota Statutes, section 15.99, commonly
referred to as "the 60-day rule." The 60-day rule requires governmental entities to
approve or deny a written request for certain actions within 60 days or the request
is approved.

More specifically, "failure of an agency to deny a request within 60 days is
approval of the request. If an agency denies the request, it must state in writing the
reasons for the denial at the time that it denies the request." Minn. Stat. § 15.99,
subd.2.

The law applies to:

• a department, agency, board, commission, or other group in the executive
branch of state government;

• a statutory or home rule charter city, county, town, or school district;
• any metropolitan agency or regional entity; and
• any other political subdivision of the state. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 1.

It applies to "a written request relating to zoning, septic systems, or expansion of
the metropolitan urban service area for a permit, license, or other governmental
approval of an action." Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 2.

It is not entirely clear what "relating to zoning" etc., means and what is included in
"other governmental action." However, only one case discusses "other
governmental action," and the decision in that matter is unpublished and not
precedential. The request was for approval of a septic system as a standard under
state agency rules. When the state agency denied the request, the company sued,
asserting that the 60-day rule applied and that because the agency had missed the
deadline, it was approved. In an unpublished opinion, the state court of appeals
determined that "other governmental action" did not apply to actions with a
statewide effect, and therefore the 60-day rule did not apply to the company's
application. In the matter ofSystem Designation ofMulti-Flo Wisconsin Aerobic
Treatment Units, CO-01-823, 2001 WL 1665410,2001 Lexis 1425 (Minn. App.,
Dec. 21, 2001).

In another case in district court, the question is whether a building permit
application is subject to section 15.99.



When does the time
begin to run?

Are extensions
allowed?

What constitutes
approval or denial
0/a request?

The 60 days begins to run when the agency receives a complete application. The
agency must notify an applicant within ten days of receiving any part of an
application ifthere is anything missing. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 3 (a). Ifmore
than one state agency in the executive branch must approve or deny the
application, the 60 days runs beginning when the first one receives the complete
application and it is up to that agency to make sure all other agencies get copies of
the application. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 3 (b).

An agency may extend the review period by up to 60 days if it provides the
applicant written notice of and reasons for the extension before the end of the
initial 60 days. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. (±). The notice of extension must be
made after the complete application is submitted and the initial 60 days has begun
to run. American Tower, L.P. v. City o/Grant, 636 N.W.2d 309, 313 (Minn.
2001). An agency does not have to have extenuating circumstances to extend the
review time; it is enough that the agency needs more time. Id. at 314.

The law also takes into account other proceedings or federal law requirements that
may delay the beginning of the 60-dayperiod. Minn. Stat. § 15.99, subd. 3 (d), (e).

A request can be approved by the agency in its customary manner or by failing to
deny the request in writing with reasons within the 60-day period.

To deny a request, an agency must affirmatively deny it and provide written
reasons for denial at the time of denial. For a local government with a governing
body that votes on such matters, failure of a motion to grant a request does not
constitute denial, as it would in other matters. Demolition Landfill, Inc. v. City of
Duluth, 609 N.W.2d 278,281-82 (Minn. App. 2000). This also means that a tie
vote on a motion to grant a request, which in other instances means the motion
fails, will mean a request is granted unless a vote to deny it can pass before the
deadline and written reasons for denial be provided at that time.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah A. Dyson at 651-296-8291.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
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Legislators and Dual Offices

Why can't
legislators hold two
offices?

What is an office?

Could a person
serve without pay?

Must a legislator
resign before
seeking another
office?

The Minnesota Constitution prohibits legislators from holding any other state or
federal office except postmaster or notary public.

Legislators are barred from holding another office so that they will not be able to
benefit personally from their elected position. Because of the constitutional
restriction, a legislator cannot use official influence to be appointed or elected to
another position; nor is he or she subject to being influenced in voting by the hope
of creating a new position which the legislator would then try to obtain.

"Office," by case law, includes all elected offices and those appointed positions
that have independent authority under law to determine public policy or to make a
final decision not subject to a supervisor's approval. Cases also indicate a conflict
may exist between two offices if:

• one office hires, supervises, evaluates, or sets the salary for the other; or
• occupying the two offices is likely to result in occasions where the

individual must harm or neglect one position in order to perform duties that
are part of the other position.

Serving in either position without pay does not eliminate the problem because
there is continuing potential for conflict between the duties of the two offices,
according to a ruling by the attorney general on the similar issue of compatibility
of offices. This reasoning might apply to cases involving legislators and a second
office.

An attorney general's opinion states that an individual may apply for ajob or run
for an office that is incompatible with a current position without resigning from the
current position. However, upon accepting a position or receiving a certificate of
election to an office considered incompatible with the first job or office, an
individual is deemed to have resigned from the first position. This reasoning might
apply to cases involving legislators and a second office.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah McKnight at 651-296-5056. Also see the
House Research publication Compatibility ofOffices, November 2001.
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Gift Ban Law and Rules for House Members

What does the gift
law prohibit?

Who are lobbyists
andprincipals?

What is the penalty
for a violation?

What is a gift?

Public officials must not request or accept a gift from a lobbyist or principal, and
lobbyists and principals must not give a gift to a public official or ask someone else
to do so. Legislators are public officials under this law. Family members are not
subject to the ban.

A "lobbyist" is an individual registered with the board to lobby Minnesota state
government. A "principal" is an entity that hires lobbyists and is registered with
the Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Registered lobbyists and
principals are listed on the board's website at www.cfboard.state.mn.us. If an
individual or entity is not listed on the website, a member may call the board at
651-296-5148 to see if the website is current. Members may rely on the
information provided by board staff on the issue of who is a lobbyist or principal.
Examples of people who are not lobbyists include members of the media, local
government officials, state employees, and representatives of foreign governments
touring the Capitol.

There is no criminal penalty or civil fine. The board, which administers the law,
takes the position that if possible, it will make a recipient return or pay for an
improper gift. This has happened once. The practical effect of violating the law is
that it would be embarrassing.

A gift is something received without giving equal or greater value in return. If the
House pays to send a member to a conference sponsored by a principal, the
conference is not a gift from the principal. The event was paid for. By express
terms or board advisory opinions "gift" includes:

•

•

•

•

a job offer made as a bribe

discounts, loans, privileges, or access made available to legislators but not
to the general public

paying off a debt for a legislator

honoraria

• . travel expenses or lodging for a meeting

The following are excluded from the gift ban by the statute or by board opinions:

• campaign contributions



What House rules
apply to gifts?

• infonnation or advice to assist in perfonning official duties

• plaques or mementos recognizing services in a field of specialty or
charitable cause

• trinkets or mementos of insignificant value (a coffee mug)

• food and drink when asked to speak or answer questions at a program
(eating lunch free when speaking at a legislative update program sponsored
by a principal; not eating lunch free when touring a business that hires
lobbyists). An advisory opinion lets a covered individual attend a party paid
for by a principal if the individual (1) reimburses the principal for his or her
fair share of the cost of the party; or (2) contributes to the party an item or
items that equal or exceed the individual's share of the cost of the party.

• a gift received because of membership in a group, a majority ofwhom are
not public officials, and everyone in the group gets a similar gift (a member
may accept a gift from his or her spouse's employer, which is a principal, if
the employer gives all spouses an annual gift, and a majority of those
spouses are not public officials)

• a gift from a lobbyist or principal who is a relative, unless the gift is given
on behalf of someone outside the family

• referral of legal matters between attorneys

• ajob offer in the nonnal course of career changes

House Rule 9.20 prohibits a member from accepting an honorarium (other than
expense reimbursement) for services perfonned for an individual or organization
with a direct interest in the business of the House, including but not limited to,
lobbyists and principals. The rule specifies that violations must be referred to the
Ethics committee. House Rule 9.21 prohibits members from accepting travel or
lodging from a business, union, lobbyist, association of lobbyists, or a foreign
government. Both rules are stricter than the statute in restricting what members
may accept.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah K. McKnight at 651-296-5056.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Special Legislation and Local Approval

The Minnesota Constitution prohibits "special legislation" with the exception of certain special legislation
relating to local governments.

Special legislation

Special legislation is legislation that applies to part of
a c1ass-a particular person, thing, or locale within a
given class-and, in general, is prohibited under the
state constitution. If a general law can be enacted,
the legislature may not enact a special law, except a
local law.

Whether a law is "special" is determined by the court
on a case-by-case basis, applying general principles.
In distinguishing permissible general legislation and
unconstitutional special legislation, courts have said:

• A law is general when it is uniform in its
operation even though it divides the subjects
of its operation into classes and applies
different rules to different classes;

• A law is special if it applies to particular
members of a class.

In order to determine if a classification is justified
and constitutional, courts have applied a three-part
rational-basis test. A classification is proper if:

• the classification applies to and embraces all
who are similarly situated;

• the distinctions are not manifestly arbitrary or
fanciful but are genuine and substantial so as
to provide a natural and reasonable basis
justifying the distinction; and

• there is an evident connection between the
distinctive needs peculiar to the class and the
remedy or regulations in the law.

Prohibited special legislation

The Minnesota Constitution lists certain subjects
that cannot be the subject of special legislation,
whether they are local law or not:

• authorizing the laying out, opening, altering,
vacating, or maintaining of roads, highways,
streets, or alleys;

• remitting fines, penalties, or forfeitures;
• changing the names of persons, places, lakes,

or flvers;
• authorizing the adoption or legitimation of

children;
• changing the law of descent or succession;
• conferring rights on minors;
• declaring any named person of age;
• giving effect to informal or invalid wills or

deeds, or affecting the estates of minors or
persons under disability;

• granting divorces;
• exempting property from taxation or

regulating the rate of interest on money;
• creating private corporations, or amending,

renewing, or extending the charters thereof;
granting to any private corporation,
association, or individual any special or
exclusive privilege, immunity, or franchise
whatever or authorizing public taxatio~ for a
private purpose.

The constitution also prohibits special laws in the
form of bills of attainder. A bill of attainder is
special legislation that inflicts punishment or a
penalty upon an individual.



Finally, the constitution requires taxes to be uniform
on the same class of objects.

Legislative appropriations are not special legislation.

Local approval

As an exception to the prohibition on special
legislation, the state constitution permits the
legislature to enact special laws relating to local
government units. A local law is effective only after
approval by the affected local government unit,
unless the general state law provides otherwise.

State statute requires approval by resolution adopted
by a majority vote of all members of the governing
body of the unit unless the particular special law
specifies another method of approval. The chief
clerical officer of a local government unit then files a
certificate of local approval with the Secretary of
State, including a copy of the resolution of approval
or, if submitted to the voters, the number of votes
cast for and against approval at the election.
Generally, the law is effective after the local
government files the required certificate with the
Secretary of State.

If a local government unit fails to file a certificate of
approval before the first day of the next regular
session of the legislature, i.e., before the first
Tuesday after the first Monday in January of odd­
numbered years, the law is deemed to be disapproved
by the local government unless otherwise provided in
the special law. This has caught a few local
governments that have then had to return to the
legislature for enactment of the same 'special
legislation.

Exceptions

The constitution permits the legislature to provide by
general law exception to the local approval
requirement. Currently, state statute provides three
instances in which local approval is not required:

(1) The law enables one or more local government
units to exercise authority not granted by
general law. That is, the law is permissive, not
mandatory.

(2) The law brings a local government unit within
the general law by repealing a special law, by
removing an exception to the applicability of a
general statutory provision, by extending the
applicability of a general statutory provision, or
by reclassifying local government units.

(3) The law applies to a single unit or a group of
units with a population of more than one million
people.

Under all other circumstances, local approval is
required. This includes legislation for a local
government that is coded in Minnesota Statutes.
Even if a law does not require local approval
because it fits one of the exceptions above, if the
specific legislation requires it, it is not effective until
approved. Finally, whether or not the legislation
expressly requires local approval, if the legislation is
local law and none of the general law exceptions
apply, the constitution requires local approval before
the law is effective.

"Application clause"

The constitution also requires that special legislation
for a local government name the local government
unit or the counties, if more than one unit, are
affected, whether or not local approval is required.

Usually the affected unit of government is named as
a substantive part of the law and the application is
apparent. With regard to the Metropolitan Council
and the metropolitan agencies, although the unit of
government is named in the substantive part of the
law, it has become standard practice to add an
"application clause," listing the counties included in
the jurisdiction of the agency, to bills relating to
metropolitan government. .

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah Dyson at 651-296-8291. Also see the House
Research publication Special Legislation, November 2000.
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State Bonding

One of the ways the state pays for projects is to borrow money by issuing bonds-which are promises to
repay the money borrowed at a specified time and interest rate. There are two main types of bonds: general
obligation (G.O.), backed by the full faith, credit, and taxing powers of the state, and revenue bonds, backed
by revenues other than a tax of statewide application. The state constitution limits the purposes for which
G.O. bonds may be issued and requires certain procedures.

All State G.O. Bonds

All state G.O. bonds have certain common
requirements. They must be for a public purpose,
specified in law, and mature in not more than 20
years.

Public purpose. Under the state constitution, all
expenditures of state funds, including bond proceeds,
must be for a public purpose. There is a public
purpose if the expenditure can reasonably be
'expected to achieve a legitimate public goal or
benefit, even if some benefit may result for nonpublic
interests. In determining whether the purpose is
"public," one must look at both historical and
contemporary standards. The legislature is given
great deference in determining a purpose to be
"public." Visina v. Freeman, 252 Minn. 177, 184, 89
N.W.2d 635, 643 (1958).

Specified in law. "Each law authorizing the issuance
of bonds shall distinctly specify the purposes thereof
and the maximum amount of the proceeds authorized
to be expended for each purpose." Minn. Const. art.
XI, § 7. This may be done by describing the project
in some detail or by reference to a governmental
program established in statute.

Mature in no more than 20 years. Minn. Const.
art. XI, § 7.

Bonds To Acquire and Better Public Land and
Buildings

,The principal purpose for which state G.O. bonds are
issued is to acquire and to better public land and

buildings and to make other public capital
improvements. Minn. Const. art. XI, § 5, para. (a).

Capital project. A capital project, in general, is for
the acquisition or improvement of fixed assets, such
as land or buildings. The fixed asset must be long­
lived; bond counsel has suggested that the useful life
be at least ten years. The improvements must be
substantial, extend the useful life or substantially
increase the value of the fixed asset and not be
predictable or recurring (as repairs would be). By
way of example, a study or planning are not capital
in nature, but design work for a capital project is.
An option to buy real property is an intangible asset
and not eligible for bonding. Reimbursement for
capital expenditures already made is not a capital
project, but payment of principal on the debt is.

Publicly owned. Bonds issued under the capital
improvements provision may only be for publicly
owned projects, whether state or local. "Publicly
owned" has been determined to include projects of
the Minnesota Historical Society, but not public
radio, TV, or Indian tribe projects, or private sewage
systems even if they will serve the public.

Three-fifths vote. A law to authorize the issuance
of state G.O. bonds for capital improvements must
be enacted with at least a three-fifths vote of the
House and the Senate. Minn. Const. art. XI, § 5,
para. (a). A law to repeal an authorization requires
only a simple majority vote.



Other Constitutionally Authorized Uses of G.O.
Bonds

Under other provisions of the state constitution, state
G.O. bond proceeds may also be used:

• to repel invasion or suppress insurrection;
• to borrow temporarily through certificates

of indebtedness;
• to refund outstanding bonds of the state or

its agencies;
• to establish and maintain highways subject

to constitutional limitations on highway
bonds;

• to promote forestation and prevent and
abate forest fires;

• to construct, improve, and operate airports
and other air navigation facilities;

• to develop the state's agricultural resources
by extending credit on real estate;

• to improve and rehabilitate public or
private railroad rights-of-way and other
rail facilities up to $200 million par value;
and
as otherwise authorized in this
constitution.

Minn. Canst. art. XI, § 5, paras. (b) to (j). Not all of
these purposes are capital in nature, and the
constitution does not require a three-fifths vote to
authorize issuance of bonds for these purposes.

Trunk highway bonds. Bonds issued for trunk
highways are G.O. bonds, but payable from the trunk
highway fund (with a statewide property tax as
backup). Trunk highway projects may not be paid
for with G.O. bonds that are payable in the first
instance from the general fund. Minn. Const. art.
XIV, § 11; art. XI, § 5, para. (e).

Revenue Bonds

The constitution neither specifically authorizes nor
prohibits issuance of revenue bonds. As with any
expenditure of public funds, revenue bond proceeds
must be used for a public purpose. A significant
limitation on the issuance of revenue bonds is
whether the revenue to repay the bonds is sufficient

to make the bonds marketable. Various state
agencies have authority to issue revenue bonds. For
example, the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency,
may issue mortgage revenue bonds, and the
Minnesota Public Facilities Authority may issue
revenue bonds to finance municipal wastewater
treatment and other public infrastructure projects.

Debt Management Guidelines

There is no constitutional or statutory limitation on
how much debt the state may incur (with the
exception of debt for railroads), but the Department
of Finance has guidelines intended to maintain the
state's good credit rating.

The general fund appropriation for debt
service should not exceed 3 percent of
general fund revenues.

G.O. debt of the state should not exceed 2.5
percent of total personal income.

Total amount of all G.O. debt, moral
obligation debt, state bond guarantees,
equipment capital leases, and real estate
leases should not exceed 5 percent of total
personal income.

Total revenue and G.O. debt of state
agencies, public corporations, and the
University of Minnesota should not exceed
3.5 percent of total personal income.

Role of Bond Counsel

While there is some guidance from the courts on the
constitutional requirements for and limitations on
state bonding, bond questions rarely reach the
courts. In order for bonds to be sold, attorneys for
the state-bond counsel-are asked to render an
unqualified legal opinion approving the issuance of
the bonds. Without a good opinion, no one will buy
the bonds. Thus, the primary guidance the
legislature has on what is "bondable" and how the
law must be written comes from bond counsel.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah Dyson at 651-296-8291.
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State Preemption of Local Law

State law governs what a local government may regulate. Local government only has authority granted
to it by state law. This grant of authority is either express or necessarily implied from another grant of
power. In some instances, state law expressly authorizes or even directs local regulation. In some
instances, state law expressly forbids local regulation. In many instances, local governments rely on
authority implied from a grant of power. For example, local governments adopt many ordinances under
their authority to protect the health, safety, and welfare of their citizens. When state law is silent on how
it relates to local regulation, local governments must determine if local regulation that is otherwise
within their scope of authority may conflict with or be preempted by state law. "Conflict" and
"preemption" are separate legal concepts and are looked at on a case-by-case basis.

Conflict

Preemption

A local ordinance conflicts with state law, and therefore is invalid, if:

• the ordinance and the statute contain express or implied terms that are
irreconcilable;

• the ordinance permits what the statute forbids; or
• the ordinance forbids what the statute expressly permits.

Courts have held that there is no conflict where the ordinance, though different, is
merely additional and complementary to or in aid and furtherance of the statute.
Hannan v. City ofMinneapolis, 623 N.W.2d 281,284 (Minn. App. 2001) (citing
Mangold Midwest Co. v. Village ofRichfield, 274 Minn. 347, 352, 143 N.W.2d 813,
816-17 (1966)).

Some statutes expressly preempt local regulation. For example, Minnesota Statutes,
section 471.633, states that it preempts local regulation of firearms, except regulations
relating to the discharge of a firearm. Another section expressly allows local zoning
of firearms shops.

If the state law is silent on preemption, then the question is whether the state law
preempts local regulation by "occupying the field." Local regulation will be
preempted when:

• the legislature has fully and completely covered the subject matter,
• the legislature has clearly indicated that the subject matter is solely of state

concern, or
• the subject matter itself is of such a nature that local regulation would have'

unreasonably adverse effects on the general populace.

Hannan v. City ofMinneapolis, 623 N.W.2d 281, 285 (Minn. App. 2001) (citing
Mangold Midwest Co. v. Village ofRichfield, 274 Minn. 347,357-360, 143
N.W.2d 813, 820-821 (1966)).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah Dyson at 651-296-8291.
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State-Local Relations

All local governmental units are creatures of the state and subject to the will of the state legislature, within
any constitutional restrictions.

"Local
Government"

Creatures ofthe
state

Powers ofa
municipal
corporation:
Dillon's Rule

Modification of
Dillon's Rule: home
rule charters

"Local government" is a general term for those governmental entities or political
subdivisions of the state that provide functions and services at the local level. In
Minnesota, the term usually refers to counties, towns (townships), and cities.
Single- or multi-purpose (special) districts are frequently included in the term
"political subdivision" but are less often defined as local governments.

The Constitution of the United States is silent on local government. Control of
local government is not one of the enumerated federal powers of the Constitution,
nor is it expressly prohibited to the states. It is, therefore, a residual power left to
the states and people by the Tenth Amendment. Furthermore, local units of
government do not have recourse to any provision of the federal constitution in
order to resist state legislative interference or control. Williams v. Mayor and City
Council ofBaltimore, 289 U.S. 36,40,53 B.Ct. 431, 432 (1933).

Under the Minnesota Constitution, "The legislature may provide by law for the
creation, organization, administration, consolidation, division and dissolution of
local government units and their functions, for the change of boundaries thereof,
for their elective and appointive officers including qualifications for office and for
the transfer of county seats. A county boundary may not be changed or county seat
transferred until approved in each county affected by a majority of the voters
voting on the question." Minn. Const. art. XII, § 3. Several chapters of Minnesota
Statutes are devoted to just these purposes.

Local governments have no inherent powers but have only such powers as are
expressly conferred by statute or are implied as necessary in aid of those powers
which are expressly conferred. Village ofBrooklyn Center v. Rippen, 255 Minn.
334,335-36,96 N.W.2d 585,587 (1959). This basic principle of what powers a
local government has follows the principle first stated in 1872 in a treatise on
municipal corporations, written by Iowa Supreme Court Judge John F. Dillon; it is
known as Dillon's Rule. The two major modifications the legislature has made to
the rule are the authority for cities to adopt home rule charters and the broad grant
of authority to legislate for the general welfare.

The legislature has granted cities the authority to adopt home rule charters; this
action is the first significant mechanism in diminishing the practical effect of
Dillon's Rule. A home rule charter, a local constitution, not only provides for the
particular governmental organization of a municipality but also provides for
substantive authority to be exercised by the governing body for the community. A



Modification of
Dillon's Rule:
general welfare

charter must be consistent with the state constitution, and state law can overrule a
charter provision.

The Minnesota Constitution authorizes any local government unit when authorized
by law to adopt a home rule charter for its government. Minn. Const. art. XII, § 4.
A charter must be approved by the voters of the local government unit as
prescribed by general law.

A city may adopt a home rule charter following the procedures in Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 410. Of the 854 cities in the state, 107 are home rule charter
cities and the others are known as statutory cities. There is no general law
enabling other local units of government to adopt home rule charters. A 1987
special law allowed Ramsey County to establish a commission to study the need or
desirability of a home rule charter for the county, and if necessary to prepare and
present a charter to the voters of the county. The voters approved a charter in
1990.

The statutory authority to legislate for the general welfare also mitigates the
severity of Dillon's Rule. It is a broad grant of authority for a local government to
exercise any power not enumerated specifically that contributes to the protection of
the health, morals, peace, and good order of the community, promotes its welfare
in trade, commerce, and manufacture, or aids in carrying out all appropriate objects
contemplated in the creation of a city.

All statutory cities in Minnesota have authority to legislate for the general welfare.
Minn. Stat. § 412.221, subd. 32. Home rule charter citiessimply include a general
welfare clause or "all powers clause" within the provisions of their charters.
Towns have the same authority in statute. Minn. Stat. §§ 365.10, subd. 17,368.01,
subd. 19.

Counties do not have "general welfare" authority, although Minnesota Statutes,
section 145A.05 is sometimes viewed as providing a relatively broad grant of
authority by authorizing ordinances protecting the public health.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah Dyson at 651-296-8291.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I st. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



Deborah A. Dyson

_H_O_U_S_E_R_E_S_EA_R_C_H__I Short Subjects
November 2002

Terms Used In Local Government Legislation

Minnesota statutes and laws use a number of terms to refer to local governmental units and from one law to
another they may not mean the same thing. This is a summary of commonly used terms and cautions
regarding their definitions.

Local government

Political subdivision

Public corporation

Municipal
corporation

City: statutory or
home rule charter;
classification

"Local government" usually refers to counties, towns, and cities. Single- or multi­
purpose (special) districts are frequently included in the term "political
subdivision" but are less often defined as local governments. Sometimes, absent a
definition, only the context of the law will indicate what entities are meant to be
included.

"Political subdivision" is probably the broadest term used to describe any public
body that is not state or federal government. However, a statute may define the
term to mean specific entities.

"Public corporation" is used in two broad senses. In the context of local
government, it means an entity created for the administration of public affairs, an
instrumentality of the state, including counties, cities, towns, and special purpose
entities. It also applies to quasi-governmental entities, created in law and often
exempt from some laws that apply to state agencies. See, e.g., Minnesota
Technology, Inc. Minn. Stat. § 1160.03, subd. 1.

In the narrowest sense, a municipal corporation is a city. However, the term can be
defined for the purposes of a law to include other governmental units.

There are two types of cities in Minnesota: statutory and home rule charter.
A statutory city is governed by statute and any special laws enacted for that city; a
horne rule charter city is governed by its charter, any special laws enacted for that
city. If the horne rule charter is silent on a matter that is addressed for statutory
cities by general law, and general law does not prohibit a city charter from
addressing the matter or expressly provide that a city charter prevails over general
law, then the city may apply the general law on the matter. Minn. Stat. § 410.33.

"In any law adopted after July 1, 1976, the word 'city' when used without further
description extending the application of the term to horne rule charter cities means
statutory cities only." Minn. Stat. § 410.015.

Classification: Cities are divided, for legislative purposes, into classes as follows:
• First class: over 100,000 inhabitants; once a city is defined to be of the first

class, it is not reclassified unless its population decreases by 25 percent
from the census figures which last qualified the city for inclusion in the
class;

• Second class: 20,001 to 100,000 inhabitants;



Municipality

County

Town, township,
urban town

Incorporated,
unincorporated

Interpretation of
statutes, definitions

Metropolitan area

• Third class: 10,001 to 20,000 inhabitants, and
• Fourth class: not more than 10,000 inhabitants.

Changes in classification take effect after the federal decennial census. Minn. Stat.
§ 410.01.

"Village" and "borough" are obsolete terms. All villages and boroughs in the state
became statutory cities in the early 1970s.

This term generally means a city but many statutes define it to include other
entities. For example, the uniform municipal contracting law defines
"municipality" to mean "a county, town, city, school district or other municipal
corporation or political subdivision of the state authorized by law to enter into
contracts." Minn. Stat. § 471.345, subd.1.

"County" rarely needs additional definition except to limit its application or to
define it as a shorthand reference to the county board or some other entity covered
by the law.

"Town" and "township" are used interchangeably in Minnesota law. As in other
states, Minnesota towns are based on the congressional township--generally 36
square miles. Organized towns are the primary local government unit for
unincorporated areas. Urban towns are those towns that have been granted some
of the same powers as statutory cities.

In the context of governmental units, "incorporated" means a city and
"unincorporated" means a town. See Minnesota Statutes, chapter 414, governing
municipal incorporations and boundary adjustments.

"When a county, town or city is mentioned, without any particular description, it
imports the particular county, town or city appropriate to the matter." Minn. Stat.
§ 645.44, subd. 3.

There are at least two definitions of "metropolitan area" used in state law. One
means the seven-county area of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott,
and Washington counties that is within the jurisdiction of the Metropolitan
Council. Minn. Stat. § 473.121, subd. 2.

The federal Office of Management and Budget (OMB) defines metropolitan areas
(MAs), including metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs), consolidated metropolitan
statistical areas (CMSAs), and primary metropolitan statistical areas (PMSAs).
The OMB defines the Minneapo1is-St. Paul MSA to include 11 Minnesota counties
(the seven named above and Chisago, Isanti, Sherburne, and Wright), and the
Wisconsin counties of Pierce and St. Croix. "Central cities" means Minneapolis
and St. Paul. OMB Bulletin No. 99-04.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Deborah A. Dyson at 651-296-8291.
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Are Former Welfare Recipients Filing State Income Tax Returns
A Look One Year After Leaving Welfare

This short subject lists the characteristics of former Aid to Families with Dependent Children and
Minnesota Family Investment Program parents who did not file Minnesota income tax returns. Included is
information on the characteristics of nonfilers and the characteristics of those who might be eligible for the
working family credit, but did not apply.

Families thatfile
Minnesota income
taxes

One year after leaving AFDC or MFIP:
• In 1997, 18,498 families left welfare, and one year later, 12,172 filed state

income tax returns
• The percentage of families filing increased to 65.8 percent in 1998 from

55.0 percent in 1993. .
The data includes family heads and spouses, regardless of whether the spouse ever
received AFDC orMFIP.

Percent of Parents That Filed State Income Taxes
One Year After Leaving AFDC or MFIP
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A few examplesfor
notfiling for taxes

The chart takes all parents that leave welfare and do not return by September 2001. The percentage
of filers are those that file an M-1 income tax form one year after leaving welfare.

Ofparents who left welfare in 1997, the lowest filing rate in 1998 included:
• 37.4 percent of those parents living in Hennepin and Ramsey County (780

parents); 59.8 percent ofthose parents in Moorhead and East Grand Forks
(79 parents); and 35.5 percent of those parents in the northwest
nonmetropolitan area (258 parents).

• 51.6 percent of African Americans, 59.7 percent of Hispanics, and 58.6
percent ofNative Americans;

• 48.6 percent of those parents who did not graduate high school.

Some reasons why parents may not file tax returns include:
• they moved away from Minnesota
• they had no taxable income (e.g., all of income was from child support,

income from a live-in partner, or income from other government programs)
• they had too little income to be required to file tax returns



Ofthose that
worked in
Minnesota how
many did notfile
state income taxes?

The following lists the characteristics of parents who left welfare and earned wages
in Minnesota the following year, but did not file income tax returns. It includes
information on only those parents formerly on AFDC or MFIP (not including wage
information for spousal parents or step-parents who never received AFDC or
MFIP). This section might be of interest to policymakers concerned about whether
former welfare recipients are filing for state tax benefits like the working family
credit.

The number of parents with wage income.
• At least 12,583 or 68.0 percent of all families leaving welfare in 1997 had

wage income in 1998.
• The percentage increased from 56.4 percent in 1993.

The number that filed. Of those 12,583 families with wage income in 1998:
• 14.6 percent (1,836 families) did not file Minnesota income tax returns.
• That percentage decreased from 16.6 percent (1,534 families) in 1993.

Percent of Parents with Wage Income One Year after Leaving AFDC or
MFIP that Did Not File Minnesota Income Tax Returns
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Of those parents who left welfare in 1997, the simple percentages of families with
wage income that did not file tax returns include:

• 16.9 percent of families that lived in Hennepin and Ramsey County, 26.9
percent of families that lived in Moorhead and East Grand Forks, and 19.5
percent of families that lived in the northwest nonrnetropolitan region

• 22.7 percent of African American family heads (409), 22.6 percent of
Hispanics (162), and 40.7 percent of Native Americans (237)

• 21.7 percent of family heads (633) who did not graduate high school
• 22.5 percent of family heads (657) with three or more children
• 18.5 percent of family heads (1,015) that were 35 or older

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Don Hirasuna at 651-296-8038.
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Basics of EGA and EA

Emergency General Assistance (EGA) and Emergency Assistance (EA) are programs that provide
income assistance in emergency situations.

Emergency General Assistance

Who is eligible?

What is an
"emergency
situation?"

An individual, childless couple, or family without resources immediately
available to resolve an emergency situation is eligible for EGA if:

• The person or family is not eligible for Minnesota Family Investment
Program (MFIP) or EA under MFIP;

• The person or family has not, without good cause, used more than 50
percent of available income and resources for purposes other than basic
needs during the 60 days before application;

• The person or family is without resources immediately available to
resolve the emergency; and

• The emergency did not arise because the person or family member has
been disqualified from the General Assistance (GA) program.

Persons or families in need who are not state residents may also receive
assistance to meet emergency needs. In the case of nonresidents, state law
provides that the 30-day residency requirement is not waived when a person
applies for EGA.

There is no limit on how many times an individual or family may receive EGA.

An emergency situation is a situation in which an individual or family is
without, or will lose within 30 days after application, a basic need item and
requires immediate financial assistance. "Basic needs" are limited to food,
clothing, shelter, utilities, and other items of which the loss or lack of poses a
direct, immediate threat to the physical health or safety of the applicant.

The assistance must be temporary and must not exceed 30 days following the
date of application. Assistance must be paid for needs that accrue before the 30­
day period when it is necessary to resolve emergencies arising or continuing
during the 30-day period.



How is EGA funded
and how are
benefits paid?

EGA is funded with state general fund dollars.

EGA grants are paid for with vouchers or in the fonn of a vendor payment
unless the county detennines that a cash grant will better meet the needs of the
emergency situation.

Emergency Assistance

Who is eligible for
EA?

What are
"emergency
needs?"

How is EA funded
and how are
benefits paid??

A family without resources immediately available to meet emergency needs is
eligible for EA if:

• A family member has resided in the state for at least 30 days;
• The family is without resources immediately available to resolve the

emergency;
• Assistance is necessary to avoid destitution or to provide emergency

shelter arrangements;
• The family's emergency situation did not arise because the family is

under sanction, a caregiver is disqualified, or the caregiver refused
without good cause to accept employment or training; and

• At least one child or pregnant woman meets the MFIP citizenship
requirements.

EA is available for one 30-day period in a consecutive 12-month period.

Under EA, emergency needs are limited to: rent, mortgage or contract for deed
arrearages, damage or utility deposits, certain moving expenses and home
repairs, utility costs, and special diets.

Assistance must be paid for needs that accrue before the 30-day period when it
is necessary to resolve emergencies arising or continuing during the 30-day
period of eligibility. When emergency needs continue, assistance may be issued
for up to 30 days beyond the initial 30-day period of eligibility, but only when
assistance is authorized during the initial period.

EA is also available to reimburse MFIP families each month for the costs of
"special diets." (The need for a special diet, such as a pregnancy and lactation
diet or low cholesterol diet, must be prescribed by a licensed physician.) There
is no limit on the number of times a family may receive payments for special
diets.

EA is funded with state general fund dollars and federal TANF funds.

Except for payments for special diets, most EA payments are issued through
vendor payments to effectively resolve the emergency.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, January 2002.
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Child Care Licensing

To protect the health, safety, and welfare of children in child care settings, state law specifies certain
requirements for the licensing of child care programs. Licensure of child care programs is governed by
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, and related rules.

Who must be
licensed?

State law prohibits an individual, corporation, or other organization from providing
child care services without a state license. Operating a child care program without a
license is a misdemeanor. In general, both child care centers and family child care
homes must be licensed, and specific licensing requirements apply to each type of
program.

State law also specifies certain exceptions to the general requirement that child care
providers must be licensed. Under these exceptions, the following types of child
care are considered to be legal nonlicensed child care, for which a provider does not
need a license:

services provided to children who are related to the child care provider;

services provided to children from a single related family who are not related to
the child care provider;

~ programs for children enrolled in kindergarten to the 12th grade and
prekindergarten special education in a school, or programs serving children in
combined special education and regular prekindergarten programs operated or
assisted by the Commissioner of Children, Families and Learning;

services provided for children without charge for ten or fewer days a year, or
for periods ofless than three hours a day while the child's parent is in the same
building as the child;

recreation programs for children that operate fewer than 40 days in a year;

child care programs operated by a school that provide child care to school-age
children, provided the program is approved by the district's school board;

Head Start nonresidential programs which operate for less than 31 days in a
year;

services provided to children for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any
12-month period; and

the religious instruction of school-age children, Sabbath or Sunday schools, or
congregate care of children by a church, congregation, or religious society
during the period the church, congregation, or religious society uses for its
regular worship.



What is the
purpose of
licensing?

What are the
roles ofstate
and local
governments in
the licensing
process?

Who should
individuals call
if they have
questions?

The state's licensing process is designed to ensure that licensed child care programs
meet certain health, safety, and supervision standards, child-to-staff ratios, and other
requirements.

The licensing process also includes a requirement that child care providers pass a
background study. If a background study reveals that an individual has committed
certain crimes, maltreated a child or vulnerable adult, or engaged in certain conduct,
the Commissioner of Human Services may disqualify the individual from direct
contact with children served in the licensed child care program.

In addition, all licensed child care providers are mandated reporters under the state's
Maltreatment of Minors Act. This means that a child care worker who knows or has
reason to believe that a child is being neglected or abused must report the abuse or
neglect to the local law enforcement, social services agency, or licensing agency.
For additional information about child abuse reporting requirements, see Overview
ofthe Maltreatment ofMinors Act, House Research Department, December 2001.

Both state and local government have a role in child care program licensing. The
Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS):

issues licenses to all child care programs;

conducts licensing inspections and investigates complaints and allegations of
licensing violations or child maltreatment in child care centers; and

conducts background studies of individuals who have direct contact with
children served by licensed child care centers.

The local county social services or human services agency:

~ performs specified licensing functions for family and group family child care
homes under authority delegated to the county by the Commissioner of
Human Services;

conducts licensing inspections and investigates complaints and allegations of
licensing violations or child maltreatment in family and group family child
care homes; and

conducts background studies of individuals who have direct contact with
children served by licensed family and group family child care homes.

Individuals who have questions about child care licensing should call the Licensing
Division at DHS at 651-296-3971, or their local county agency.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Peg Hicks at 651-296-8079.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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When is child
support ordered?

What does child
support include?

Who pays child
support, and who
-receives it?

How is the child
support amount
calculated?

What are the roles
offederal, state, and
local governments
and the judiciary in
setting child
support?

If a married couple with minor children are divorced or obtain a legal separation,
a court must order one or both parents to pay child support.

If a child's parents are not married, generally paternity must be established
before a court will order child support. Paternity can be established by court
order or by the parents voluntarily executing a document called the Recognition
ofParentage.

Child support includes, at a minimum, an amount intended to feed, clothe, and
shelter the child, medical support, and work- or education-related child care
costs. Child support also may include support arrears or reimbursement of
public assistance payments made on behalf of the child.

"Obligor" is the legal term for the parent who pays money to the other parent or
anyone else for the child's support. "Obligee" is the parent or other individual or
entity who receives meney-en-behalf ofa child. Usually the obligee is the
parent with whom the child lives, and the obligor is the other parent. But
sometimes parents have joint custody, each parent has custody of one or more of
the couple's children, or the child is not in either parent's custody.

Child support is calculated by determining an obligor's monthly net income.
Monthly net income is calculated by deducting the following from monthly
gross income: state and federal income taxes, Social Security, reasonable
pension contributions,_union_dues, dependent health insurance coverage or
actual medical expenses, and any child support or maintenance payments
currently being paid.

After the obligor's monthly net income is determined, the court must compare it
to the child support guidelines in statute. The guidelines indicate what
percentage ofmonthly net income the obligor should pay as support, given the
number of children involved. After determining the support amount under the
statutory guidelines, the court must consider several statutory criteria that allow
the court to depart from the guidelines amount. These criteria include the
parents' earnings, income, resources, and debts, the child's needs, the child's
living standard before the dissolution, which parent receives the dependent
income tax exemption, and whether the obligor receives public assistance.

Federal Government. Minnesota Statutes have long provided for child support
in cases where parents divorce or have never married. In 1975 the federal
government also became involved in this issue. Congress enacted laws aimed at
establishing uniformity across states· and setting minimum standards in state
child support enforcement systems. The goal was to reduce the demand for
public assistance by more effectively enforcing child support orders. The
federal government provides funding to states with child support systems that



meet certain federal requirements.

State Government. The legislature sets child support policy in Minnesota.
State policy is greatly influenced by the federal requirements that are
prerequisites to receiving federal welfare and child support funds. However, the
federal requirements are often general in nature, leaving the details up to the
legislature.

The Department of Human Services (DHS) is the primary executive branch
agency responsible for overseeing Minnesota's child support system. The
agency:

~ provides training and assistance to the counties;
operates Minnesota's centralized child support payment center;

~ runs the statewide computer systems and maintains statewide data on
child support;
manages and disburses federal and state child support funding; and

~ provides overall guidance for Minnesota's child support system.

Counties. Counties do a lot of the hands-on work in Minnesota's child support
system. Counties deal directly with the families involved. Child support
services are typically located within the county human services or social services
department. The caseworkers that work on child support cases are called child
support officers (CSOs). They work closely with the county attorney, who
provides legal advice and represents the county (not the child or parents) in child
support actions.

Judicial Branch. The judicial branch interprets and applies the child support
laws in individual cases.

How is support
enforced if
payments are not
made?

Where can you get
more information
about child
support?

The state has several mechanisms in place to enforce child support, including:
parent locator services; the work reporting system; income withholding;
occupational license sanction; driver's license suspension and motor vehicle title
liens; recreational license suspension; civil judgments, real property liens, and
liens against financial accounts; creditor's remedies; contempt of court; reports
to credit agencies; intercepting tax refunds; denying passports; seek employment
orders; and criminal charges.

For more detailed introductory information and answers to common
questions about Minnesota's laws on setting, modifying, paying,
enforcing, and terminating child support, see House Research
Department publication Minnesota's Child Support Laws: An Overview,
July 2002. This publication includes references to the applicable
provisions in Minnesota Statutes,.chapter 518, governing child support.

Anyone affected by a child support order can call his or her county child support
office or the automated DHS Child Support Help Line at 651-296-2542, or 1­
800-657-3954. In addition, the DHS child support enforcement website includes
various information about child support. See
http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/ECS/ChildSupport/Default.htm.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Peg Hicks at 651-296-8079.
The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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General Assistance

General Assistance (GA) is a state program that provides cash assistance to individuals or childless
couples who are not eligible for federally funded assistance programs, but who are unable to provide for
themselves.

Eligibility An applicant qualifies for GA if he or she meets the eligibility requirements and
has income and assets below the limits established by the state legislature and the
Department of Human Services (DHS).

In addition to having financial need, a GA applicant must also:

~ Be a resident of Minnesota
~ Be ineligible for aid from any cash assistance program that uses federal

funds (i.e., Minnesota Family Investment Program or Supplemental Security
Income)

~ Be a citizen of the United States
~ Be unable to work because the person:

1. Has a professionally certified illness, injury, or incapacity expected to
continue for more than 30 days and that prevents the person from
getting or keeping a job

2. Has been diagnosed as having mental retardation or mental illness
3. Is age 55 or older
4. Is needed in the home to care for a person whose age or medical

condition requires continuous care
5. Is placed in a licensed or certified facility for care or treatment under a

plan approved by the local human services agency
6. Resides in a shelter for battered women
7. Has an application pending for or is appealing a termination of Social

Security disability payments, so long as the person has a
professionally certified illness or disability

8. Is assessed as not employable
9. Is under age 18 in specified circumstances and with consent of the

local agency
10. Is eligible for displaced homemaker services and is enrolled as a full­

time student
11. Lives more than four hours round-trip traveling time from any

potential suitable employment
12. Is involved with protective or court-ordered services that prevent

working at least four hours per day



Benefits

13. Is over age 18 and whose primary language is not English and is
attending high school at least part time

14. Is learning disabled

GA is not provided to:

~ Fugitive felons and parole and probation violators; or
Persons who have fraudulently misrepresented residency to obtain
assistance in two or more states (GA is not provided for ten years).

GA recipients receive a monthly cash assistance payment, called a grant. The
amount of a recipient's grant is determined by subtracting the recipient's net
income from the applicable monthly GA assistance standard.

Monthly GA Standards for Single Persons and Childless Couples

Eligible Units

One adult

Emancipated minor

One adult, living with parent(s) who have no minor children

Minor not living with parent, stepparent, or legal custodian (with
social services plan approved)

Married couple with no children

One adult, living in a medical facility or in group residential housing

Monthly
Standard

$203

203

203

250

260

71

Funding and
Expenditures

Recipient Profile

Unlike the MFIP program, the GA program does not include an employment and
training component. GA recipients are not required to participate in any
employment and training services as a condition of receiving benefits.

The state pays for the costs ofGA benefits. In state fiscal year 2001 the state paid
out $15, 896,937 in benefits to GA recipients.

Most GA recipients are single persons. Childless couples may also be eligible for
GA. In state fiscal year 2001 the average monthly number of GA cases was 8,516.
(Most GA cases consist of one person. However, GA data is available from DHS
by cases only, not by the number of individual GA recipients.)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication Minnesota Family Assistance, January 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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General Assistance Medical Care

General Assistance Medical Care (GAMe) is a state-funded program that pays for certain health care
services for low-income Minnesota residents who are not eligible for other health care programs. Most
GAMC enrollees are low-income adults between the ages of,2l to 64 who do not have dependent
children. The program is administered locally by the counties, under the supervision of the Department
of Human Services (DHS), and is governed by Minnesota Statutes, section 256D.03.

Eligibility

Covered services

To be eligible for GAMC, an individual must:

• Receive General Assistance or meet the GAMC income and asset limits:
The GAMC net income limit, after excluding certain types of income, is
75 percent ofthe federal poverty guidelines. The GAMC asset limit is
$1,000 per household, after excluding the homestead, household goods, a
vehicle, and other assets excluded by the Medical Assistance (MA)
program.

• Not be eligible for MA.

• Be a Minnesota resident. GAMC has a 30-day durational residency
requirement.

• Meet other program eligibility requirements.

Individuals with incomes above the GAMC income limit can qualify for the
program through a spend-down. Under a spend-down, an individual must incur
medical bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by which
the individual's income exceeds the GAMC income limit.

The GAMC program provides coverage for a range of medical services,
including but not limited to: physician, hospital, rehabilitative, dental, medical
equipment and supplies, mental health, prescription drugs, and medical
transportation.

Services not covered include: home health care services, nursing home services,
therapy services provided by independently enrolled providers, pregnancy and
related services (GAMC enrollees who are pregnant qualify for coverage of
these services under MA and/or Emergency MA), and services in an
intermediate care facility for persons with mental retardation and related
conditions (ICF/MR).



Provider
reimbursement

Funding and
expenditures

Recipients

Application
procedure

The GAMC program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system
and a managed care system (referred to as prepaid GAMC). Under the fee-for­
service system, health care providers bill DHS and are reimbursed at rates
specified by state law. Under prepaid GAMC, prepaid health plans receive a
monthly capitation payment for each enrollee. The state does not set provider
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between the
health care providers and the prepaid health plan.

GAMC is completely state funded; there is no federal funding. During fiscal
year 2002, the state spent $178.6 million in payments to medical providers for
GAMC services.

During fiscal year 2002, an average of 30, 139 persons were eligible for GAMC
services each month. As of September 1, 2002,20,472 GAMC recipients in 69
counties were enrolled in prepaid GAMe.

Individuals interested in applying for GAMC should contact their county human
services agency.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research information brief General Assistance Medical Care, (forthcoming).

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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General Characteristics of the Welfare Population

This short subject lists selected characteristics of families on welfare (Aid to Families with Dependent
Children and Minnesota Family Investment Program). "Families" used here are households where both
the parents and the children are eligible for welfare.

Number offamilies
on welfare
decreased

Where they lived

From January 1992 to July 2001:
• The number of families with eligible parents and children decreased by 55

percent, from 72,218 to 33,652
• The Minnesota Department ofHuman Services reports that the average

monthly number of child-only cases in fiscal year 2001 was 8,200

The Number of Families on AFDC and MFIP
from January 1992 through July 2002
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As of July 2001:
• 52 percent of the families lived in Hennepin or Ramsey County
• 66 percent lived in the seven-county Twin Cities metropolitan area or other

standard Metropolitan Statistical Areas

Families with Both Parents and Children Eligible for MFIP
by County (July 2001)



Their educational
attainment

• As of July 2001, 40 percent of caretakers had not finished high school.

Educational Attainment of Caretaker (July 20Ot)

o Has Not Gr.aduated
HighSchool

o High School Graduate

EI Some Post·secondary

• College Graduate

Their racial
background

• As of July 2001, 45 percent of caretakers were white.

Race of Caretaker (July 2001)

• Asian American
lID African American

fIDHispanlc
[J American Indian

o White

Their family size

How long do
families stay on
welfare?

As of July 2001:
• 28 percent of families were or were eligible as a two-parent family
• 49 percent of the families had three or more children on AFDC or MFIP

First-Time Entrants to Welfare. For families entering after July 1997, which
was the earliest year parents could enter MFIP:
• 50 percent of caretakers stay for eight or more months
• 25 percent of caretakers return within 12 months after their first time on

welfare
(Family characteristics may vary over time.)

Total Time on Welfare. For families entering between July 1997 and
December 1997, and includes all families regardless ofwhether they are subject
to the 60-month time limit:
• 6.8 percent of caretakers have been on welfare for more than three years by

July 2001

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Don Hirasuna at 651-296-8038. Also see the House
Research publication Characteristics ofAFDCIMFIP Recipients, March 2000, for more information.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Human Services Programs:
Relationship Between Federal, State,

and Local Governments

Minnesota has a system of human services programs that provides health care, economic assistance, and
social services to eligible families. In general, the state's human services programs are state-administered
and county-run. This means that county human services agencies process applications, determine the
eligibility of applicants, and perform other administrative duties, under the supervision of the Minnesota
Department of Human Services (DHS). DHS also is responsible for sending out cash assistance payments to
program enrollees, and for reimbursing health care providers and managed care plans for services provided
to program enrollees. In the case of programs established in federal law, DHS is also responsible for overall
state compliance with applicable federal requirements.

This publication provides a brief discussion of the role of federal, state, and local governments in the
administration of the state's human services programs.

What is the federal
government's role
in the state's
human services
programs?

What is state
government's role
in administering
human services
programs?

Congress enacts laws that set broad standards and requirements for certain human
services programs. For example, federal law requires the Medical Assistance
(MA) program (Minnesota's version of the federal-state Medicaid program) to
cover certain population groups and certain health care services.

The federal government also appropriates money to the state for the administration
of certain human services programs. In order to qualify for federal funding,
Congress often requires the state to enact various kinds of legislation. For
example, the federal government contributes approximately 74 percent of the
state's total child support enforcement funding. To qualify for this federal funding,
the legislature has enacted certain requirements relating to child support
enforcement. Typically, these federal requirements are quite general in nature,
leaving the details up to the legislature.

The state legislature sets human services policy in Minnesota. In many cases, state
policy is greatly influenced by the federal law requirements that'are prerequisites
to receiving federal funding. Although state law must include certain federal
requirements, the state .legislature may enact provisions that go beyond the
minimum federal requirements. For example, the MA program covers population
groups and health care services that federal Medicaid law designates as optional
for states, rather than required.

DHS is the primary executive branch agency responsible for overseeing the state's
human services programs. DHS supervises human services program



What is the local
government's role
in administering
human services
programs?

administration, promulgates rules, and develops program manuals and bulletins
governing the administration of the programs. DHS also provides training and
technical support to counties and maintains centralized computer systems relating
to the programs.

Counties do much of the hands-on work in administering the state's human
services programs. For example, county staff accept applications and determine
eligibility for a wide range of income assistance and health care programs. County
staff also negotiate payment rates for certain residential facilities and health care
providers, subject to state maximums. County staff also work with parents to help
establish and enforce child support obligations.

For certain human services programs, counties also contribute to programs'
funding through local property tax revenue. For example, counties provide
approximately 13 percent of the state's total child support enforcement funding.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Randall Chun at 651-296-8639 or Peg Hicks at 651­
296-8079.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Medical Assistance

Medical Assistance (MA), the state's Medicaid program, is a jointly funded, federal-state program that
pays for health care services provided to low-income individuals. The program is administered locally
by counties, under the supervision of the state Department of Ruman Services (DRS). The program is
governed by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B, and by federal Medicaid law, which allows states
considerable flexibility in designing their Medicaid programs.

Eligibility To be eligible for MA, an individual must:

• Be a member of a group for which MA coverage is mandatory under
federal law, or a member of an optional group that the state has chosen to
cover. Covered groups include families, children, pregnant women, the
elderly, and persons with disabilities.

• Meet program income and asset limits. Different limits apply to
different categories of individuals. Certain types of income and specified
assets are excluded when determining eligibility. Income and asset
limits for selected groups are:

Net income limit, as % of federal
Eligibility group poverty guidelines (FPG) Asset Iimit*

Children < age 2 280 None

Children 2 through 18 170 None

Children 19 through 20 100 None

Pregnant women 275 None

Parents 100 $15,000 for one/$30,000
for two or more persons

Aged, blind, or disabled 100 $3,000 for one/$6,000 for
two/$200 each additional

* The homestead, household goods, a vehicle, a burial plot and certain assets for burial expenses,
and other specified items are not counted as assets.

Individuals with incomes over these limits can also qualify for MA
through a spend-down. Under a spend-down, an individual must incur
medical bills in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount by
which the individual's income exceeds the spend-down limit of 100
percent ofFPG for families and children and 75 percent ofFPG for
individuals who are aged, blind, or disabled.



Eligibility (cont.)

Covered services

Provider
reimbursement

Funding and
expenditures

Recipients

Application
procedure

• Be a U.S. citizen or a noncitizen who meets specified immigration
criteria.

• Be a resident of Minnesota.

• Meet other program eligibility requirements.

Minnesota provides all federally mandated services and most services
designated by the federal Medicaid program as optional. These services include,
but are not limited to: physician, hospital, therapy and rehabilitative, dental,
medical equipment and supplies, home health care, health clinic, mental health,
prescription drugs, medical transportation, nursing home, and intermediate care
facility for persons with mental retardation and related conditions (ICF/MR)
servIces.

The state has also received federal approval to provide services not normally
covered by Medicaid. These home and community-based "waivered services"
are intended to make it possible for individuals to remain in the community,
rather than reside in a hospital, nursing home, or ICF/MR.

The MA program reimburses providers under both a fee-for-service system and,
a managed care system (referred to as the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program
or PMAP). Under the fee-for-service system, health care providers bill DHS
and are reimbursed at rates specified by state law. Under PMAP, prepaid health
plans receive a monthly capitation payment for each enrollee. The state does not
set provider reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the product of
negotation between the health care providers and the prepaid health plan.

The federal share of MA costs is determined by a formula that is based on state
per capita income. In fiscal year 2002, the federal government paid 50 percent
of the cost of MA services, and the state was responsible for the remaining 50
percent. In fiscal year 2002, total state and federal MA expenditures for services
were $4.114 billion.

During fiscal year 2002, an average of 395,976 individuals were eligible for MA
services each month. As of September 1, 2002, 241,253 MA recipients in 69
counties received services under PMAP.

Individuals interested in applying for MA should contact their county human
services agency.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research information briefMedical Assistance, (forthcoming).
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MFIP Cases Reaching the 60-Month Time Limit

In 1996, the federal government refonned the welfare system with the Personal Responsibility and
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act. Included in the refonn are 60-month time limited benefits. The
first cases reached these limits this summer. This short subject summarizes data provided by the
Minnesota Department ofHuman Services about these cases.

The first to reach
the 60-month time
limit

Who they are

Where they live

In Minnesota, 1,554 cases reached the 60-month limit in August 2002.
• 558 were subsequently closed and ineligible for Minnesota Family

Investment Program (MFIP) in July 2002
• 907 were granted an extension
• 89 were suspended cases, child-only cases, or cases receiving only the

food portion ofMFIP

Families reaching the 60-month time limit are more likely to be:
• Nonwhite
• In larger families
• Older parents
• Less educated
• With children on Supplemental Security Income (S8I)

Most, 72.7 percent, of all closed cases through August 2002 lived in Hennepin
or Ramsey County.

MFIP Cases That Have Reached the 60-Month Time Limit
Through August 2002

Number of MAP cases
that have reached the
6O-month time limit,
through August 2002

D ~10

11-25

over 25

no cases
reaching lim~

stale total: 1,554
Hennepin county. 650
28 counties: 0



Cases at risk of
reaching the 60­
month time limit by
May 2003

There are 3,372 cases at risk ofreaching the 60-month time limit by May 2003
(data as ofAugust 2002).

• 81.1 percent live in five counties within the state: Hennepin, Ramsey,
St. Louis, Anoka, and Dakota

• 71.1 percent currently live in Hennepin or Ramsey County

Additional MFIP Cases at Risk of Reaching the 60-month time limit by May 2003

state total: 3,372
Hennepin county: 1,458
Lac-qui..parle and
Pope counties: 0

Number of MFIP cases
at risk of reaching 6O-month
time limit,
Sept. 2002 to May 2003,
as of August 2002

D 0-25

1m

26-100

over 100

no cases at nsk
of reaching limn

The data is from the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS). Parents at risk ofreaching
the 60-month time limit include all cases eligible since August 1997. These are the number of cases
that have used 51 or more months of their 60-month limit as of June 2002. This does not include any
families that migrate into the state in future months with prior Temporary Assistance to Needy Families
(TANF) months that will be counted toward the 60-month limit. The cases at risk of reaching the 60­
month time limit are likely greater than the number of families that will reach the limit. Some of these
families will leave welfare without using up all of their eligibility. Some parents may receive
extensions. Still other parents will move into or leave the state. Parents entering the state may reach
their welfare 60-month limit before March 2003. The numbers for August 2002 are estimates.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Don Hirasuna at 651-296-8038. Also see the House
Research publications Identifying Who Might Be Subject to the 60-Month Time Limit, November 1999;
TANF Background, January 2001; The 60-Month Time Limit on TANF Assistance, January 2002; Factors
Contributing to Longer Stays on Welfare: A Literature Review, March 2002. See also the Minnesota DRS
report Welfare and the 60-Month Time Limit in Minnesota, June 2002
(http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/newsroom/facts/Csguidelines.htm).
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Minnesota Family Investment Program
Time Limit Exemptions and Extensions

The federal welfare refonn law imposes a 60-month lifetime limit on the receipt of assistance funded by
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families. The state's welfare program, Minnesota Family Investment
Program (MFIP), includes the federal 60-month lifetime limit on assistance. MFIP has some time limit
exemptions and extensions, which are explained below.

MFIP time limit
exemptions

MFIP hardship
extension categories

People in the following categories do not have months of assistance received count
toward the 60-month time limit:

~ victims of domestic violence;

~ caregivers who are 60 years or older;

18- and 19-year-olds who are engaged in education activities; and

~ minor caregivers who are complying with living arrangement and education
plan requirements for minor caregivers. Minn. Stat. § 2561.42.

Under federal law, all states must disregard the following when calculating the 60­
month time limit:

~ months when a family receives assistance while living in Indian country (as
defined by federal law 18 U.S.C. § 1151) where at least 50 percent of the
adults are not employed;

~ months when a pregnant minor or minor parent receives assistance when he
or she is not the head of household or married to the head of household; and

~ months when the only assistance received is noncash assistance under the
Welfare-to-Work program. 45 C.F.R. § 264.1.

Families who reach the 60-month time limit on MFIP and who meet the following
criteria are eligible for an extension.

III or incapacitated. This category includes participants who:

are ill or incapacitated;

~ are needed in the home to care for a household member who is ill or
incapacitated; or

~ have a household member who meets certain disability or medical criteria.

Hard-to-employ. This category includes participants who:

are diagnosed as having mental retardation or mental illness, and that
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condition prevents the person from obtaining or retaining unsubsidized
employment;

are considered unemployable or are employable, but employability is
limited due to a low IQ;

~ have a learning disability; or

are victims of family violence and are participating in an alternative
employment plan.

Employed participants. This category includes:

(1) a one-parent family, if the parent is participating in work activities for at
least 30 hours per week, of which an average of at least 25 hours per week
are spent in employment;

(2) a two-parent family if the parents are participating in work activities for at
least 55 hours per week, of which an average of at least 45 hours per week
are spent in employment; or

(3) a family in which a participant is working fewer than the number of hours
required under (1) and (2) if the participant verifies that the number of hours
that the participant may work is limited due to an illness or disability.

To qualify for this extension, the parent in a one-parent family or both parents in a
two-parent family must have not been sanctioned for at least 10 out of the 12
months before reaching the 60-month time limit, including the 60th month. This
extension expires on June 30, 2004.

Accrued months. Some families are eligible for an extension equal to the number
of months that they met certain criteria during their first 60 months on MFIP:

If a participant was exempt from the employment and training requirements
during the first 60 months because the person was needed in the home to
care for a household member who meets specified medical or disability
criteria, the participant is eligible for an extension equal to the number of
months the participant was exempt for this reason.

If a participant was exempt from the state time limit during the first 60
months, but the months counted toward the federal 60-month limit, the
participant is eligible for an extension equal to the number of months the
participant was exempt from the state time limit.

In addition to MFIP extensions, there are a number of programs (e.g., Food
Stamps, MinnesotaCare) that may be available to MFIP families that reach the 60­
month limit. Eligibility requirements of each program vary.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Danyell Punelli at 651-296-5058. Also see the House
Research publication The 60-Month Time Limit on TANF Assistance, January 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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MinnesotaCare

MinnesotaCare is a state program that provides subsidized health care coverage to low- and moderate­
income families and individuals. The program is administered by the Department of Human Services;
counties have the option of processing applications and determining eligibility. The program is
governed by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256L.

Eligibility

Covered services

To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, an individual must:

• Have gross income that does not exceed 275 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines (FPG) for families and children ($49,776 for a
household of four), and 175 percent of FPG for single adults and
households without children ($15,516 for a household of one and
$20,904 for a household of two).

• Have assets that do not exceed $15,000 for a household of one and
$30,000 for a household of two or more, after certain exclusions. This
asset standard does not apply to pregnant women and children.

• Not have access to employer-subsidized health care coverage, and not
have had access to this coverage through the current employer for 18
months prior to application or renewal. This requirement does not apply
to children with incomes that do not exceed 150 percent ofFPG and
certain other children.

• Have no health care coverage at the time of application, and for four
months prior to application or renewal. Children with incomes that do
not exceed 150 percent ofFPG and certain other children considered to
be "underinsured" are exempt from this requirement.

• Be a resident of Minnesota. Pregnant women, families, and children
must meet the residency requirements of the Medical Assistance (MA)
program; adults without children must satisfy a 180-day residency,
requirement.

Pregnant women and children have access to a broader range of covered services
than adults who are not pregnant. Pregnant women and children receive
coverage for all health care services provided under MA. MA covers physician,
hospital, prescription drug, nursing home, and a wide range of other health care
and long-term care services.

Adults who are not pregnant are covered for most, but not all MA services.
Services not covered include personal care attendant, private duty nursing,
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nursing home, ICF/MR (intennediate care facility for persons with mental
retardation and related conditions) and special transportation services. Adults
who are not pregnant are also subject to certain benefit limitations that do not
apply to pregnant women or children.

Enrollees must pay premiums based on a sliding scale. Children with incomes
that do not exceed 150 percent ofFPG pay a reduced annual premium of$48.
Adult enrollees who are not pregnant are subject to coinsurance and copayments
for specified services.

All enrollees receive health care services through prepaid health plans. The
MinnesotaCare program pays prepaid health plans a monthly capitation payment
for each MinnesotaCare enrollee. MinnesotaCare does not set provider
reimbursement rates; these rates are instead the result of negotiation between
health care providers and the prepaid health plan.

In fiscal year 2002, the state paid $351 million for medical services provided to
MinnesotaCare enrollees. Fifty-five percent of this cost was paid for by the
state, 34 percent by the federal government, and 11 percent by enrollees through
premium payments.

State funding for MinnesotaCare and other health care access initiatives is
provided by a tax of 1.5 percent on the gross revenues of health care providers
(the tax rate will increase to 2 percent beginning January 1,2004). A 1 percent
tax on the premiums of nonprofit health plan companies will take effect January
1,2004.

The state receives federal funding at the MA match rate for health care services
provided to enrollees who are children, parents, or pregnant women. The state
receives federal funding at an enhanced match rate (under the State Children's
Health Insurance Program) for parents and relative caretakers with incomes
between 100 percent and 200 percent ofFPG.

As of September 2, 2002, 154,157 individuals were enrolled in the
MinnesotaCare program. Just under one-half of these enrollees were children.

MinnesotaCare applications can be obtained by calling 1-800-657-3672.
Applications are also available at county human services agencies.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639. Also see the House
Research infonnation briefMinnesotaCare, (forthcoming).

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota's Tobacco Settlement

What is
Minnesota's
tobacco
settlement?

How much are
the annual
payments, and
how are they
used?

In 1998 the state of Minnesota and Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota settled
their lawsuit against several tobacco companies and related organizations. According to
the settlement, the state receives payments from tobacco companies that began in 1998
and will continue into perpetuity. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota has a
separate settlement agreement. The settlement establishes three types of settlement
payments.

• Annual payments are deposited in the state's general fund and are used for the
general operation of state government.

• One-time payments are deposited in endowments and are used for tobacco use
prevention, other public health, and medical education activities, and for cash
flow.

• Court-administered payments are used to fund the activities of the Minnesota
Partnership for Action Against Tobacco (MPAAT).

The annual and one-time payments receive annual inflation adjustments and volume
adjustments (based on changes in the volume of tobacco products sold in the United
States, and changes in tobacco company profitability). The court-administered
payments do not receive inflation or volume adjustments. The settlement also restricts
tobacco companies and related organizations from engaging in certain marketing and
advertising activities, requires dissolution of the Council for Tobacco Research, ensures
public access to court documents and files, and requires disclosure of certain payments
to lobbyists.

On December 31, 1999, and each year thereafter into perpetuity, the tobacco companies
must make annual payments to the state. These annual payments are deposited in the
state's general fund and are used for the general operation of state government. There
are no restrictions on how these payments may be used. The following table specifies
the payment amounts received to date and projected payment amounts for future fiscal
years.

Fiscal Year 2000 2001 2002 2003 (proj) 2004 (proj) 2005 (proj)

Payment Amount $110.7 $124.4 $155.9 $151.5 $188.7 $190.8
million million million million million million

Source: Minnesota Department ofFinance

How much are
the one-time
payments, and
how are they
used?

Minnesota is scheduled to receive six one-time payments between September 1998 and
January 2003. These one-time payments are distributed to two endowment funds and
one account created by the legislature: the Tobacco Use Prevention and Local Public
Health Endowment, the Medical Education Endowment, and an Academic Health
Center Account within the Medical Education Endowment. Up to 5 percent of the fair



Year Created

market value of each fund or account is appropriated in statute each year for specific
purposes. The following table provides additional information on the endowments and
account.

1999
How Funded

Fair Market
Value of Fund
as of 8/31/02
How Money
Used

61 percent of 1998, 1999,2000, and
2001 one-time payments

$451 million

• Statewide youth tobacco prevention
grants
• Local youth tobacco prevention
grants
• Local public health promotion and
protection activities
• Minnesota Department of Health
administrative expenses
• Other MDH tobacco prevention and
control activities
• Tobacco-use monitoring systems
• Biennial evaluations of endowment­
funded pro'ects

39 percent of 1998, 1999,
2000, and 2001 one-time
payments
$289 million

• Instructional costs of
he~lth professional
programs at publicly
funded academic health
centers and affiliated
institutions
• Clinical training of
health professionals at
various medical facilities
• MDH administrative
expenses

100 percent of 2002
and 2003 one-time
pa ments
$203 million

• Instructional costs
of health
professional
programs at the
Academic Health
Center (AHC)
• Interdisciplinary
academic initiatives
at the AHC
• Leveraging federal
funds for medical
education activities

How much are
the court­
administered
payments, and
how are they
used?

Source affair market value data: Minnesota Department of Finance

In addition to the above uses, beginning July 1, 2003, the principal amounts in both
endowment funds may be used for cash flow purposes. The legislature authorized this
use in 2002.

In addition to funds paid directly to the state, some tobacco settlement funds are
deposited in one of two accounts-a cessation account or a national research account­
administered as ordered by the Ramsey County District Court. Between 1998 and 2007,
$202 million will be deposited into these accounts. These accounts are administered by
a private, nonprofit organization created by the court called the Minnesota Partnership
for Action Against Tobacco (MPAAT).

• Cessation account. $102 million due in December 1998 was deposited in a
cessation account, to be used to offer smoking cessation opportunities to
Minnesota smokers.

• National research account. $100 million-$l 0 million a year for ten years,
from June 1998 to June 2007-is to be deposited into a national research
account, to be used for research to eliminate tobacco use by children and for
program implementation, evaluation, and other tobacco control purposes. '

The legislature and the executive branch do not have any direct control over MPAAT's
funding or expenditures. The Ramsey County District Court oversees its activities.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Loehrke at 651-296-5043.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Prescription Drug Program

The Prescription Drug Program is a state program that provides prescription drug coverage for low­
income Minnesotans who are elderly or disabled. The program is administered locally by the counties,
under the supervision of the Department of Human Services (DHS). The program is governed by
Minnesota Statutes, section 256.955, and was first implemented in 1999.

Eligibility

Covered services

To be eligible for the Prescription Drug Program, an individual must:

• Be a Medicare enrollee who is either age 65 or over, or under age 65
with a disability.

• Not have prescription drug coverage through a private sector health
insurance plan or through a Medicare supplement plan, and not have had
this coverage in the four months prior to application;

• Be ineligible for Medical Assistance (MA) or General Assistance
Medical Care (GAMC) without a spenddown, and not be enrolled in
MinnesotaCare;

• Have an income that does not exceed 120 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines, after the income exclusions of the MA program and a $20
disregard per individual or couple are applied. Beginning July 1,2003,
the program income limit for persons age 65 and over will increase to
135 percent of the federal poverty guidelines;

• Have assets whose value does not exceed $10,000 for one individual and
$18,000 for a household of two or more, after the homestead, household
goods, a vehicle, and other specified assets are excluded;

• Have lived in Minnesota for at least 180 days.

The program income and asset limits result from the requirement that enrollees
be eligible as Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMBs) or Service Limited
Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMBs). QMBs are eligible for MA payment of
Medicare Part A and B premiums and cost-sharing, and SLMBs are eligible for
MA payment of Medicare Part B premiums.

Enrollees have coverage for most prescription drugs. The program covers
prescription drugs that are covered under MA, and for which the manufacturer
has agreed to pay a rebate to DHS. Enrollees can obtain these prescription drugs
at pharmacies that participate in state health care programs.
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Pharmacies are reimbursed for prescription drugs provided to program enrollees
at the MA reimbursement level, minus any deductible paid by an enrollee.

Enrollees must satisfy a $35 monthly deductible. The prescription drug program
is funded by the state. In fiscal year 2002, after accounting for prescription drug
rebates, the state paid $5.1 million for prescription drugs provided to program
enrollees.

In fiscal year 2002, average monthly enrollment in the program was 4,780. As
of June 1,2002, enrollment in the program was 4,636.

Individuals interested in applying for the Prescription Drug Program should
contact their county human services agency. More information about the
program can be obtained from the Senior LinkAge Line (1-800-333-2433).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Randall Chun at 651-296-8639.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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State Regulation of Health-Related Occupations

Who regulates health­
related occupations in
Minnesota?

How are health-related
occupations regulated?

At least 47 health-related occupations are regulated by the state. Health­
related occupations regulated by the state are overseen by either the
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) or by a health-related licensing
board. As of August 2002, there were 16 health-related licensing boards and
two divisions in MDH that oversee health-related occupations. Some
licensing boards regulate a single occupation, while others regulate a range
of related occupations.. For example, the Minnesota Board of Optometry
only regulates optometrists, while the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice
regulates acupuncturists, athletic trainers, osteopaths, physician assistants,
physicians, respiratory care practitioners, and traditional midwives. MDH
regulates various allied health professionals, such as alcohol and drug
counselors and audiologists; various environmental health professionals,
such as plumbers and lead workers; unlicensed mental health practitioners;
and unlicensed complementary and alternative health care providers.

Health-related occupations may be regulated in one of several ways. Where
necessary and appropriate, statute allows two or more of these methods of
regulation to be utilized at the same time. You cannot always rely on the
title a provider uses to determine how the provider is regulated. For
instance, a registered nurse is actually licensed, not registered. What follows
are some methods of occupational regulation.

• Licensure is the most stringent form of regulation. Under licensure, a'
person cannot practice in an occupation unless the person has satisfied
predetermined qualifications for practicing and has been recognized by
the state has having met those qualifications. Minn. Stat. § 214.001,
subd. 3, para. (d). This is also known as "scope of practice protection."
A person may demonstrate that the required qualifications have been
met by passing a licensing examination, graduating from an accredited
educational institution with a relevant degree, or working in the field
while under supervision. Example: dentists.

• With registration, only registered persons who have met predetermined
qualifications for practicing are allowed to use a designated title ("title
protection") and are listed on an official roster. Minn. Stat. § 214. 001,
subd. 3, para. (c). Under a registration system, it is possible for a person
to practice in an occupation without being registered, as long as the
person does not use any protected titles. Occupations that are licensed
generally also prohibit nonlicensed persons from using protected titles.
Example: audiologists.

• To obtain certification, a person must satisfy the qualification
requirements specified in statute or rule. It may be possible for a person
to practice in an occupation without being certified, but other laws may



How does the
legislature decide ifa
health-related
occupation should be
regulated?

What information must
the legislature receive
regarding legislative
proposals to regulate a
new occupation or
expand regulation of
an already-regulated
occupation?

allow only a certified professional to be on-site at a specific program,
perform certain functions, or supervise other personnel. Example: food
managers.

• Some occupations are not licensed, registered, or certified, but providers
are required to conform to a client bill ofrights and not engage in
prohibited conduct. A regulatory body has authority to investigate
complaints against these providers and take and enforce disciplinary
actions against providers for engaging in prohibited conduct or violating
the client bill of rights. The regulatory body may revoke or suspend the
provider's right to practice. Example: unlicensed mental health
practitioners.

• Criminal and civil penalties exist to punish or prevent illegal acts by
providers. Laws imposing criminal or civil penalties are enforced by
consumers or prosecutors.

No occupation may be regulated by the state unless its regulation is required
for the safety and well-being of Minnesotans. Minn. Stat. § 214.001, subd.
2. This standard applies to health-related occupations and nonhealth-related
occupations alike. When the legislature determines whether an occupation
should be regulated, it must consider the following factors:

1. whether the unregulated practice of the occupation may harm the
health, safety, and welfare of Minnesotans in a recognizable way;

2. whether practicing the occupation requires special skills or training,
and whether the public would benefit from being assured of the
person's ability to practice the occupation;

3. whether Minnesotans may be protected more effectively by means
other than occupational regulation; and

4. whether the overall cost-effectiveness and economic impact of
regulation would be positive for the state.

Ifa bill is introduced in the legislature to regulate a new occupation or to
expand regulation of an already-regulated occupation, supporters of the
proposal must submit to the legislature evidence supporting the new or
expanded regulation. Minn. Stat. § 214.002, subd. 1. The information
must be submitted in written form and must be provided to the chairs of the
House and Senate committees with jurisdiction over the occupation at issue.
The subjects that must be covered in the report are specified in statute.
Minn. Stat. § 214.002, subd. 2. Some of them include specifying the harm to
the public caused by the unregulated practice of the occupation or continued
practice at its current level of regulation; explaining why the proposed leyel
of regulation is being proposed; and discussing how the proposed regulation
would impact the supply of providers and the cost of the provider's services.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Elisabeth Loehrke at 651-296-5043.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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State-Operated Services

What are State­
Operated Services
(SOS)?

WhatareSOS
appropriated
services?

State-Operated Services (SOS) are a continuum of health care services
administered by the Department of Human Services (DHS) serving: people with
mental illness, developmental disabilities, chemical dependency, and traumatic
brain injury; psychopathic personalities; sexual psychopaths; sexually dangerous
persons; and elderly with severe behavioral problems. SOS provides services for
clients at a variety of campus-based and community-based sites. There are two
types of services provided by SOS: "appropriated services" and "enterprise
services."

SOS appropriated services provide specialized treatment and related supports for
persons with disabilities who cannot otherwise access needed health care services
in community settings. These services are provided in campus-based programs,
community facilities, and group homes, and through direct outreach services to
individuals.

SOS appropriated services provide:

~ Adult Mental Health Services. SOS provides inpatient psychiatric
services to persons with mental illness at the state's regional treatment
centers (RTCs) in Anoka, Brainerd, Fergus Falls, St. Peter, and Willmar. In
addition, the state has developed an array of community-based services
delivered in partnership with counties and community service providers.

~ Nursing Facility Services. SOS operates the Ah-Gwah-Ching Center in
Walker and the Woodhaven Senior Community Center on the Brainerd
RTC campus as nursing homes for elderly clients referred from other parts
of SOS. These facilities also accept referrals from community nursing
homes for clients who have severe and challenging behavior problems.

~ Forensic Services. SOS operates statewide forensic services in three major
program areas:

The Minnesota Extended Treatment Options (METO), located in
Cambridge, is a 48-bed specialized service for individuals with
developmental disabilities whose behaviors present a public safety risk.

The Minnesota Security Hospital (MSH), located on the St. Peter RTC
campus, is a 194-bed facility that provides multi-disciplinary forensic
treatment services for individuals who are under civil commitment as
mentally ill and dangerous. MSH also provides comprehensive court­
ordered forensic evaluations and operates a 50-bed forensic transition
program that provides a supervised residential setting and treatment to
permit an individual's safe return to the community.

The Minnesota Sex Offender Program (MSOP) includes the 150-bed
Minnesota Psychopathic Personality Treatment Center in Moose Lake; two



HowareSOS
appropriated
services funded?

WhatareSOS
enterprise
services?

HowareSOS
enterprise services
funded?

evaluation and transition units of25 beds each located on the St. Peter RTC
campus; and 18 special needs beds located on the St. Peter RTC campus for
individuals with limited intellectual functioning who require specialized
support and treatment approaches.

~ Community Support Services. SOS provides community support services
for individuals with developmental disabilities through 15 six-bed group
homes located in community settings; two community health clinics that
provide psychiatric and dental services to individuals who are unable to
obtain these services in the community; and various other support services.

To assure the availability of services for clients in need, SOS appropriated
services are funded prospectively through a general fund appropriation. DHS also
seeks reimbursement for these services from Medicare, Medical Assistance,
private insurance, clients' personal funds, and other revenue sources as available.

SOS enterprise services provide services to people with disabilities while
operating in the marketplace with other providers. These services are funded
solely through revenues collected from a variety of third-party payment sources.

Enterprise services provide:

~ Chemical dependency (CD) treatment. SOS CD programs provide
inpatient and outpatient treatment to persons with chemical dependency and
substance abuse problems. SOS operates these programs on the Anoka,
Brainerd, Fergus Falls,St. Peter, and Willmar RTC campuses and in
Carlton.

~ Residential services for individuals with developmental disabilities or
traumatic brain injuries (TBI). Residential services for individuals with
developmental disabilities or TBI typically are provided in licensed foster
care settings or in the person's own horne.

~ Day training and habilitation (DT&H) services for individuals with
developmental disabilities or TBI. DT&H programs provide vocational
support services to persons through a licensed work site or supported work
sites with job coaches.

~ Rehabilitation services for individuals with TBI. The Minnesota
Neurorehabilitation Hospital (MNH), located on the Brainerd RTC campus,
provides intensive hospital-level rehabilitative services to individuals with
acquired brain injuries who have challenging behaviors.

~ Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Services (CABHS). CABHS
provides an array of services ranging from in-horne crisis intervention to
hospital-level care on the Willmar and Brainerd RTC campuses.

SOS enterprise activities are funded solely through revenues collected from a
variety of third-party payment sources, including private health insurance,
Medical Assistance, counties, and other revenue sources available to clients.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Peg Hicks at 651-296-8079.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Alcoholic Beverage Taxes

Beverage Type Excise Tax per
2allon liter

Beer < 3.2% alcohol .08 NA
Beer> 3.2% alcohol .15 NA
Cider < 7% alcohol .15 NA
Wine < 14% alcohol .30 .08
Wine> 14% alcohol .95 .25
Sparkling wine 1.82 .48
Distilled spirits 5.03 1.33

Two special state
taxes apply to
alcoholic beverages:
excise taxes and a
higher retail sales
tax

Excise tax rates are
set as a dollar
amount per volume
ofthe beverage

Few exemptions
apply

Minnesota imposes two types of special taxes on alcoholic beverages:

• Special excise taxes are imposed on manufacturers or wholesalers of
these products. These taxes are a fixed dollar amount per unit (per barrel
or liter). The tax rates vary by beverage type. See the table below for
tax rates.

• A special higher sales tax rate of 9 percent (2.5 percentage points
higher than the regular rate) applies to their retail sales-whether made
on-sale (to be consumed in bars or restaurants) or off-sale (in liquor
stores or by other sellers). The tax is a percentage of the retail price.

Manufacturers of beer and wholesalers of distilled spirits and wines pay the
special excise taxes. (If the beer manufacturer doesn't pay, the wholesaler or
importer is liable for the tax.) The table shows the rates for the most common
beverage categories. Higher rate categories apply to wines with alcoholic
contents that exceed 21 percent and 24
percent, but little or no products of
these types are sold. In addition, a
special "bottle tax" of 1 cent per bottle
applies to each wine and liquor bottle
that is 200 milliliters or larger.

Because the excise taxes are fixed
dollar amounts, they don't vary with
the price of the product. Higher priced
products pay the same tax as lower price products. Moreover, revenues grow
only as more gallons ofthe taxed products are sold; they don't increase with
inflation (price increases). For revenues to keep pace with inflation, the
legislature must adjust the tax rates periodically. It has done this only
sporadically (most recently in 1987).

The law exempts the following from the excise tax:
• Sacramental wine
• Product sold to food processors and pharmaceutical companies
• The first 25,000 barrels of beer produced by a brewery with annual

production ofless than 100,000 barrels (A barrel is 31 gallons.)



Beverage Type FY2002 % of
Revenues Total

(000)
Beer<3.2% $493 0.4%
Beer> 3.2% 15,481 14.1%
Cider 30 0.0%
Wine < 14% 2,325 2.1%
Wine> 14% 273 0.2%
Sparkling Wine 718 0.7%
Distilled Spirits 42,914 39.0%
Excise tax total 62,234 56.6%
2.5% sales tax 47,705 43.4%
Total $109,940
Source: MN Department of Revenue

Excise Tax Rates (per gallon)
Borderinl!: States

Strong Beer Table Wine Liquor
IA $.19 $1.75 N.A.
MN .15 .30 $5.03
ND .16 .50 2.50
SD .27 .93 3.93
WI .06 .25 3.25
Source: Federation of Tax Administrators

Revenues go to the
general fund

Minnesota tax
compared with
other states

Tax relative to
alcohol content
varies

Tax is regressive

Revenues from both the excise taxes and
the additional 2.5 percentage point sales
tax go to the general fund. Fiscal year
2002 revenues from the excise taxes were
about $62 million and $48 million for the
special sales tax. Thus, the special sales
tax rate raised over 40 percent of alcohol
tax revenues. The table to the right shows
the collections by beverage type for the
excise tax and for the additional sales tax
on all alcoholic beverages. The excise tax
revenue from liquor reflects the higher
rates imposed on these products, rather
than their share of the market (measured by dollars spent). It is safe to conclude
that the sales tax imposes a much higher tax burden on wine and beer than the
excise tax does.

Minnesota's wine and beer excise taxes are average or below average compared
with most other states. Minnesota's
tax on distilled spirits (liquor) is
among the higher taxes for states
with excise taxes. A number of
states (including Iowa) have liquor
monopolies and a portion of the price
markup is a de facto tax; it is difficult
to compare the tax burden with these
states. The table compares
Minnesota's tax rates with its
bordering states. However, only North Dakota imposes an additional sales tax
(an additional 2 percentage points). Thus, the total Minnesota alcohol tax
burden is higher than suggested by simply comparing excise tax burdens.

The excise taxes are imposed on the volume of the beverage, not its alcoholic
content. (The federal tax on distilled spirits, by contrast, is imposed explicitly
on alcoholic content.) Since alcoholic content varies significantly within
beverage type, it is difficult to generalize about the tax on alcohol content. But
using averages for beverage types, it is apparent that alcohol in beer and wine is
lightly taxed compared with liquor. The excise tax per an ounce of alcohol in
liquor is about 9 cents, while it is between 2 and 3 cents for wine and beer.

The alcohol taxes are regressive; they constitute a higher share of income for
lower income families and individuals, on average. The Depa~ent.of
Revenue's Tax Incidence Study indicates they are less regressive than the
tobacco taxes, but are nevertheless more regressive than the general sales tax.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Apportionment of Corporate Franchise Tax

Apportionment is
constitutionally
required

All states use
formula
apportionment

Minnesota uses a
veighted three­

factor formula

Special formulas
apply to some
industries

No throwback rule
applies

A state can constitutionally tax only the income of a multistate corporation that is "fairly
apportioned" to the state. The reason for this requirement seems fairly obvious: if a
business operates in several states and each state could tax all of its income, the business
could easily be subject to double taxation. Aside from violating basic fairness, this
would discourage businesses from operating in multiple states; it would interfere with
interstate commerce.

A state can apportion income using separate accounting or formula apportionment.
Separate accounting traces income to the state where it was earned using standard
accounting methods. Formula apportionment uses a proxy or rough measure to
determine the in-state share of income (e.g., the percentage of the business's in-state
sales to its total sales). All states use some type of formula apportionment. Using
separate accounting would be expensive, difficult to do, and subject to manipulation.

Minnesota uses a weighted three-factor formula of sales (75 percent weight), property
(12.5 percent), and payroll (12.5 percent). The Minnesota percentage for each factor is
multiplied by the weight, and the three factors are added to determine the Minnesota
percentage of the corporation's total income. Expressing this as a formula:

MN percent = (0.75 * MnSales )+(0.125 * MnProperty J+(0.125 * MnPayroll J
TotalSales TotalProperty TotalPayroll

Sales are defined on a destination basis, that is, the location of the buyer generally
determines whether the sale is a Minnesota sale. The property factor is the value of real
and tangible personal property in Minnesota. Leased property is included; its value
equals the lease payments multiplied by eight. Payroll is the amount paid to employees.
The apportionment factors are also used to calculate the add-on minimum fee.

Special apportionment rules apply to some industries. Mail order companies that have
substantially all of their operations in Minnesota use a sales only formula. A separate
formula is provided for financial institutions; this formula includes deposits, and '
intangible property (e.g., receivables and loans), since these are important contributors
to the profits ofmany financial institutions.

The Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act (adopted by a group of states)
provides that sales that are made to buyers in a state in which the corporation cannot be
taxed and sales to federal government are "thrown-back." Under a throwback rule,
these sales are assigned to the seller's location. Minnesota has not adopted a throw­
back rule. This favors businesses making sales from Minnesota to the federal
government or to states where they can't be taxed, since it reduces their Minnesota tax.



Formula
apportionment
has important
economic effects

States have been
moving to sales
apportionment

Minnesota's apportionment fonnula does not affect the tax owed to another state, in any
case.

Public finance economists generally agree that apportionment fonnulas are a very
important feature of state corporate income (franchise) taxes. They essentially make the
tax the same as a tax directly on the factors: e.g., the tax on the portion of income
assigned using the sales factor is the same, in economic effect, as a sales tax. Weighing
sales more heavily, thus, shifts the tax toward being a tax on sales. Since sales are
assigned to the buyer's location, and there is no throw-back rule, export or non­
Minnesota sales are exempt. Thus, increasing the weight for sales creates an incentive
for companies to invest in Minnesota property or to hire more employees (or reduces the
tax's disincentive to do so) to sell products outside ofMinnesota. The property and
payroll factors, by contrast, would assign more income to Minnesota, increasing the tax,
because the investment increases Minnesota property and payroll.

After the U.S. Supreme Court ruled sales-only apportionment was valid, many states
have increased their reliance on the sales factor because of these incentive effects. Eight
states now rely exclusively on sales to apportion income for manufacturing businesses.
Most states weight sales more heavily. The map below shows fonnulas used by other
states. Minnesota business organizations have been urging the legislature to adopt
sales-only apportionment. Doing so would reduce taxes on businesses whose Minnesota
sales factor is lower than the average oftheir property and payroll factors. Conversely,
tax would increase for multistate businesses whose Minnesota sales factor is higher.
State revenues overall would drop, ifno other changes were made in the tax.

Apportionment of Corporate Income
Applicable to Manufacturers

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators

D No tax
ht>H Equal weights

Double weighted sales
Sales weight> 59% and 5. 75%
Sales weight> 75%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication Corporate Franchise Taxation, October 2002.
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Years of Tax Rate Increases
Cigarette Tobacco

Products
1971 $0.18 20%
1985 0.23 25%
1987 0.38 35%
1991 0.43 35%
1992 0.48 35%

Minnesota's
cigarette tax is
48 cents per
pack

The legislature
has increased
the cigarette tax
five times since
1971

Tax revenues
are about $182
million per year

The tax is
regressive

Neighboring
states have
comparable tax
rates

Cigarette and Tobacco Excise Taxes

Minnesota imposes an excise tax on the sale or possession of cigarettes of 48 cents per
pack of 20 cigarettes. This tax is a "per unit" tax; it is imposed on the number of
cigarettes sold, not as a percentage of the sale price. Because the tax is a per unit tax,
it does not increase as the price of cigarettes increase. Unless the legislature increases
the rate, inflation reduces the relative burden of the tax.

Tobacco products, such as cigars, pipe tobacco, snuff, and chewing tobacco, are
subject to a tobacco products tax equal to 35 percent of the wholesale price of the
product.

Over the last 30 years, the legislature has periodically
increased the rates of both the cigarette excise and
tobacco products taxes. The cigarette tax has been
increased five times since 1971 and the tobacco
products tax twice. The years in which the rates were
increased and the rates are shown in the table to the
right.

For fiscal years 2003-2005, the Finance Department estimates collections from the two
taxes will equal about $182 million per year. Revenues have fallen slightly as
smoking has declined. For example, about $189 million was collected from the two
taxes in fiscal year 2000. Revenues from the tobacco products tax are deposited in the
general fund. Revenues from 2 cents per pack of the cigarette tax go to the Minnesota
future resources fund, and the rest are deposited in the state general fund.

According to the Department of Revenue's 2001 Tax Incidence Study, the cigarette
and tobacco taxes are the most regressive of Minnesota's state and local taxes. The
burden of these taxes falls much more heavily on lower income households (as a share
of income) than any of the other categories of taxes analyzed in the study.

Because cigarettes can easily be transported from one state to another, particularly by
individuals who live near state borders, the tax rates in bordering states are important
to tax policy. States bordering Minnesota have roughly comparable cigarette exci~e
tax rates. Wisconsin has a higher rate (77 cents), while the other states all have
somewhat lower rates: North Dakota at 44 cents; Iowa at 36 cents; and South Dakota
at 33 cents. The rates for all states are shown on the map below. Minnesota's tax rate
of 48 cents is the median; one-half of the states have higher rates and one-half lower.



State Cigarette Tax Rates*
as of Novem ber 1, 2002

cents per pack

RI· 132

NJ -150

DE- 24

MD -100

DC - 65

18 44

33

12

64

69.5
20

70

58 21

Q,~

120 C>

.. '"

• These exclude some significant local taxes.

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators and other sources

Numerous states have recently increased their cigarette tax
rates to balance their budgets or to fund program initiatives.
Voters have approved some of these increases; Missouri
and Arizona both have ballot questions in the November
2002 election authorizing tax increases. The table to the
right shows the tax increases that have taken effect during
calendar year 2002, regardless of when they were enacted.

Settlements of the states' lawsuits against the tobacco
companies have also had the same economic effect as an
increase in the cigarette tax, since these settlement
payments are passed along to consumers (nationally)
through higher cigarette prices.

States Cigarette Tax Rate Increases
taking effect between 112002 and 1112002

cents per pack
Massachusetts 75 New York 39
New Jersey 70 Maryland 34
Pennsylvania 69 Rhode Island 32
Connecticut 61 Ohio 31
Oregon 60 Nebraska 30
Michigan 50 Hawaii 20
Vennont 49 Utah 18
Kansas 46 Louisiana 12
Illinois 40 Tennessee 7
Indiana 40
Source: FTA, NCSL, and State Tax Notes, complied by
House Fiscal Analvsis Deoartment

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.
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legal, and information services to the entire House.
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City Local Government Aid Program (LGA)

LGA provides
general purpose aid
to cities

At $586.8 million in
2003, city LGA is
the largest
noncategorical state
aid program

TheLGA
appropriation
increases annually
for inflation

The current LGA
formula has been in
place for eight years

LGA has two purposes-to provide property tax relief and to ensure that cities can
raise sufficient revenues to meet their needs (excluding schools). LGA is the
state's largest program of general-purpose aids to local governments. It was
created in 1971 as part of a major reform of the state/local finance system. It
replaced a variety of categorical aids and "shared tax" programs. Although the
original program made payments to all nonschoollocal governments, it is now paid
only to cities.

Distribution of LGA 1975-2003
LGA Payments (in millions)

Calendar Year Counties Cities Towns Special Districts
1975 $31.3 $93.0 $13.9 $0.6
1980 22.0 208.3 15.4 0
1985 14.5 264.9 9.4 0
1990 7.5 337.2 2.2 0
1995 0 336.1 3.2 0

2000 0 394.4 3.6 0
2001 0 411.0 3.8 0
2002 0 565.0 0 0
2003 (certified) 0 586.8 0 0

The city LGA appropriation increased substantially between 2001 and 2002 to
partially offset the loss of city homestead and agricultural credit aid (HACA)
payments that were eliminated as part of a property tax reform.

Unlike many state aid programs, the city LGA appropriation automatically
increases every year for inflation, measured by the implicit price deflator (IPD) for
state and local government purchases. The annual increase cannot be less than 2.5
percent or greater than 5.0 percent, regardless of the actual change in the IPD. For
aids payable in 2003, for example, the IPD was only 0.67 percent but the LGA
appropriation increased by 2.5 percent.

The current method for distributing city LGA was adopted in 1993: The factors
and coefficients used in the formula were based on an analysis by the League of
Minnesota Cities to identify appropriate measures of city "need."

Earlier formulas had used property tax levies as a proxy for "need." Those
formulas also contained a "rolling grandfather" provision. This meant that cities
were guaranteed to receive at least as much aid in the current year as they had
received in the previous year. This "rolling grandfather" led to some major
inequities in payments between cities over time.



LGA consists oftwo
parts-base aid and
formula aid

Base aid usually
does not grow and
is equal to a city's
aid in 1993

Formula aid is
based on city
"need" minus
"ability to pay"

A city's LGA
amount can
increase and
decrease over time

The amount of aid a city receives in any year under the current program consists of
two parts: an amount determined by the formula and a "base" amount (also known
as "grandfathered" aid). Any increases in the LOA appropriation are usually
distributed via the formula; the base aid generally does not increase.

The base aid is equal to the amount of aid each city received in 1993 in LOA and a
couple of other aid programs. Unlike the "rolling grandfather" in previous
formulas, the base amount does not increase for any city unless specifically
provided for in legislation. Over the years, adjustments have been made to base
amounts paid to individual cities to deal with special needs and circumstances that
are not accounted for in the formula. Examples include unusually high sewer
conversion costs, sudden and dramatic tax base loss, and overburdens in large
regional centers that provide services to the surrounding rural population.

When the current LOA formula was first enacted, base aid made up $320 million
of the $330 million total LOA appropriation. In 2003, base aid accounts for $360.4
million of the $586.8 million LOA appropriation.

Each city's formula aid is equal to a percentage of the difference between its
"need" and its "ability to pay." This difference is often referred to as "unmet
need." A city's "need" is based on four factors:

• population
• population decrease
• percent of its housing built before 1940, and
• percent of its tax base that is classified as commercial or industrial

A city's "ability to pay" is equal to the city's tax capacity multiplied by the average
city tax rate.

The amount of aid a city receives under the formula can vary over time depending
on changes in its need factors and its tax capacity. Because the appropriation is
capped at a specific amount each year, the amount of formula aid a city gets is also
dependent on its "unmet need" relative to the "unmet need" in other cities.

A city's LOA payment may not be less than its base aid amount. There are also
limits on aid increases in any year. The percent increase in LOA payments to the
cities of Minneapolis, 8t. Paul, and Duluth, may not exceed the percent increase in
the total LOA appropriation for that year. The LOA increase for any other city
may not exceed 10 percent of the city's property tax levy in the previous year.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434. Also see the House
Research publication, Restructuring ofState Aid to Minnesota Cities, October 1993 with December 1994
addendum.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Constitutional Restrictions on State Taxation
The Prohibition on Discriminating Against Interstate Commerce

• Be fairly apportioned to activities in the state
• Not discriminate against interstate commerce
• Be fairly related to services provided by the

state

Specific Principles and Examples. The Court has
invalidated many state taxes on the grounds they
discriminate against interstate commerce. Some
general principles from these cases include:

The most frequently litigated and arguably the most
important of these four rules is the prohibition on
discriminating against interstate commerce. It is a
longstanding rule, dating to the late 19th century.
The Court has described the rule as follows:

The Court has held that state tax provisions may not
favor local business firms, local products, or local
activities. However, some provisions favoring local
businesses may be valid, ifthey are properly
structured and designed.

"Facial" discrimination almost always will
invalidate a tax. If a tax explicitly ("on its
face") favors local businesses, local
transactions, or products, it will almost

•

[N]o State, consistent with the Commerce
Clause, may "impose a tax which
discriminates against interstate commerce ...
by providing a direct commercial advantage to
a local business." This antidiscrimination
principle "follows inexorably from the basic
purpose of the Clause" to prohibit the
multiplication ofpreferential trade areas
destructive of the free commerce anticipated
by the Constitution. Maryland v. Louisiana,
451 U.S. 725, 754 (1981) (citations omitted).

In Complete Auto Transit v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274
(1977), the Court set out a four-part test for testing
state taxes under the Commerce Clause. Under the
Complete Auto test, a state tax must:

Legislators often seek to favor Minnesota businesses
in setting state tax policy. They may propose
limiting tax preferences to Minnesota-based
businesses and activities or suggest imposing taxes
that fall exclusively or more heavily on out-of-state
businesses. Many of these proposals violate the
Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution
because they discriminate against interstate
commerce. This Short Subject describes the
constitutional prohibition on discriminating against
interstate commerce. This is a complicated legal
topic; in many cases the applicable rules are unclear.
An expert needs to carefully analyze the
constitutionality of any legislative proposal.

• Be applied to an activity that has substantial
nexus with the state

General Rule. The Commerce Clause grants
Congress the power "to regulate commerce * * *
among the several states * * *." U.S. Const. art. II, §

. 8. However, the United States Supreme Court has
long held that a negative implication of this grant of
power is that states may not adopt regulations or
taxes that place an "undue burden" on interstate
commerce, even if Congress has taken no action.
This is referred to as the "dormant or negative"
Commerce Clause doctrine. The Commerce Clause
is a principal reason for the federal constitution: l.e.,
to join the states in a national economy and to
prevent the fragmentation that resulted from
individual states imposing tariffs and laws favoring
local merchants.



always be held to discriminate against
interstate commerce. Forexample, the Court
held invalid:

• Exempting ethanol or alcoholic
beverages produced only within the
state, Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias, 468
U.S. 263 (1984); New Energy Co. v.
Limbach, 486 U.S. 269 (1988);

• Exempting dividends paid by in-state
corporations, Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner,
516 U.S. 325 (1996);

• Providing reduced tax rate for in-state
transactions, Boston Stock Exchange v.

.State Tax Commission, 429 U.S. 318
(1977).

• Limiting charitable contribution
deductions to in-state charities.
Chapman v. Commissioner ofRevenue,
-- N.W.2d -- (Minn. 2002).

• Discrimination is determined by economic
effect. It is not necessary that the state or the
legislature intend to discriminate, if the
provision has the economic effect of
discriminating. However, showingintent to
discriminate is relevant; a legislative intent to
discriminate is nearly conclusive of the tax's
unconstitutionality.

• The tax will be invalidated, even if
discrimination is minor or seemingly
inconsequential. The Court has rejected
arguments that the effect of the discrimination
is so minor or de minimus that it is not of
constitutional stature.

• Incentives to encourage local investment or
activity may be invalid. Tax incentives for
in-state activity (e.g., investment or
exporting) may be invalid, if the net effect is

to raise the underlying tax on out-of-state
businesses. For example, the Court struck
down an income tax credit to encourage
businesses to export through in-state
corporations. Westinghouse Electric v.
Tully, 466 U.S. 388 (1984). However,
incentives provided through the sales tax
(e.g., capital equipment exemptions) or
property tax (abatements or tax increment
financing) are likely valid, because the
underlying taxes apply only to in-state
property or transactions. Incentives may be

, validly provided through direct spending
programs (e.g., grants), unless they are
linked to a discriminatory tax or other
funding source. West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v.
Healy, 512 U.S. 186 (1994); Zenith/Kremer
Waste System, Inc. v. Western Lake Superior
Sanitary District, 472 N.W. 2d 300 (1997),
cert. denied 523 U.S. 1145 (1998).

Discriminatory Taxes May Be Valid as
Complementary Taxes. Otherwise discriminatory
taxes may be v'alid "complementary" taxes which
offset a specific tax that only a local business or
transaction bears. The classic case is the use tax,
which complements the sales tax. Sales taxes apply
to in-state purchases, but not to purchases made
outside the state, such as by phone, mail order, or
the Internet. To prevent disadvantaging local
merchants, however, the Court upheld a
"complementary" use tax, a tax on "using" a product
or service in the state. This tax, in effect, only
applies to items purchased from out-of-state
businesses. But the Court upheld it as a
complementary tax. Hennford v. Silas Mason Co.,
300 U.S. 577 (1937). It has construed this exception
very narrowly, refusing to uphold discriminatory
taxes where the argument was made that they offset
general local tax burdens.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.
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Constitutional Restrictions on Taxation of Nonresidents

The Privileges and Immunities Clause provides

The citizen of each State shall be entitled to all
of the Privileges and Immunities of Citizens of
the several States. U.S. Const. Art. IV § 2.

Federal constitutional rules generally require non­
residents to be taxed essentially on the same basis
as residents. Three constitutional provisions, the
Privileges and Immunities Clause, the Commerce
Clause, and the Equal Protection Clause, may
invalidate differential tax rules for nonresidents.

Since nonresidents can't vote and often are perceived
to be high-income investors, they provide a tempting
target for raising revenues or for curtailing the cost of
tax benefits. Legislators often wish to impose higher
taxes on nonresidents or to deny them special benefits
granted to residents, such as credits or deductions.
Tax issues relative to nonresidents often arise in the
following contexts:

Examples of laws held to violate the privileges and
immunities clause include:

• Denial to nonresidents of personal
exemptions and deductions under the
individual income tax. Travis v. Yale &
Towne Mfg. Co., 252 U.S. 60 (1920).
However, these deductions generally may be
limited or prorated to be proportionate to the
amount of in-state income.

• A "commuter income tax" applying only to
nonresidents working in the state. Austin v.
New Hampshire, 420 U.S. 656 (1975).

• A property tax credit that was limited to
farms owned by residents. Borden v. Selden,
146 N.W.2d 306 (Iowa 1966).

that are "fundamental," i.e., bear on "the vitality of
the Nation as a single entity." A fee or tax on
pursuing a trade or business is covered. Toomer v.
Witsell, 334 U.S. 385,395 (1948). Differential fees
on nonresidents for recreational hunting and fishing
are not. Baldwin v. Fish and Game Commission of
Montana, 436 U.S. 371 (1978). In general,
differential income or property tax rules are
covered, since they affect the right to "reside in" or
"to pursue trade, agriculture, [or] professional
pursuits." Corporations are not protected by the
clause, since they are not considered "citizens."

Individual income taxon income derived from
real property owned by nonresidents
Income tax on earnings ofnonresidents (e.g.,
professional athletes or entertainers)
Property tax on vacation homes owned by
nonresidents
Property tax on farms owned by nonresidents

•

•

•

•

The Privilege and Immunities Clause generally
prohibits a state from imposing higher tax rates or
taxes on nonresidents than it imposes on residents.
Although its language refers to "citizens," the
Supreme Court has held that provisions discriminating
against nonresidents also discriminate against citizens
of other states. The clause does not absolutely
prohibit discrimination against nonresidents; it
pennits states to provide different rules for
nonresidents if there is a "valid independent reason
for" the treatment. Also, it only applies to interests

The Equal Protection Clause. The Equal
Protection Clause of the federal constitution
prohibits states from denying "the equal protection
of the law." Courts use two standards to review
laws under the Equal Protection Clause:

• Strict scrutiny applies to "suspect
classifications" (such as race or religion) or
to denial of fundamental rights (such as the
right to vote).



• A rational basis test applies to all other
classifications. Since residency is not a
"suspect classification," tax laws that treat
nonresidents differentially from residents will
be subject to rational basis review. This
means that the differential treatment of
nonresidents must be rationally related to the
state's objective. In general, this gives the
legislature considerable flexibility. However,
a careful analysis of the Supreme Court
decisions suggest that it is not as deferential
toward residency classifications as to other
nonsuspect classifications, because of the
federalism concerns. The Court has explicitly
stated it is not doing so, but many legal
scholars find this is only way to explain the
results in some cases.

imposing undue burdens on or interfering with
interstate commerce. Provisions that impose higher
taxes on nonresidents who conduct business in the
state or own property in the state than on residents
in the same circumstances will likely be held to
unconstitutionally burden interstate commerce.
Such provisions will discourage nonresidents from
making investments or purchases, restricting or
burdening the flow of interstate commerce. Some
examples include:

• The Supreme Court has held unconstitutional
a Maine law denying a property tax
exemption to charitable institutions that
primarily serve nonresidents. Camp
Newfound Owatonna, Inc. v. Town of
Harrison, 520 U.S. 564 (1997).

The Court has invalidated laws that distinguish
between residents and nonresidents on equal
protection grounds. Corporations are also protected
by the clause, unlike the Privileges and Immunities
Clause. The Court has invalidated:

• An Alaska law that paid rebates to residents,
graduated based on how many years they had
lived in Alaska, Zobel v. Williams, 457 U.S. 55
(1982);

• An Alabama law that taxed out-of-state
insurance companies at a higher rate than in­
state companies, Metropolitan Life Insurance
Co. v. Ward, 470 U.S. 869 (1985); and

• A law denying a property tax exemption to an
out-of-state charity. WHIT, Inc. v. Borough of
Glassboro, 393 U.S. 117 (1968).

The Commerce Clause. Although it is a grant of
power to Congress, the Supreme Court has held that
the Commerce Clause also prohibits states from

• A number of cases have invalidated
imposition ofhigher taxes or license fees on
nonresident "drummers" or solicitors than on
residents.

Under any of the constitutional provisions,
states generally have more flexibility in
limiting benefits under direct spending
programs, as compared with tax preferences,
to residents. For example, the Court has upheld
lower tuition at state higher education
institutions for residents, paying bounties for
scrap cars, and access to products or services
provided by state-run businesses. In part, the
Court may be influenced by the fact that these
types of benefits are financed mainly by taxes
paid by residents and the state needs to restrict
access to nonresidents to maintain the economic
viability ofthe programs.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the'House
Research Short Subjects publications on the Commerce Clause and equal protection, September 2002.
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Corporate Franchise Tax

Corporate franchise
tax applies to "c"
corporations

Tax base is profits

Tax rate is 9.8
percent

Income is
apportioned to
Minnesota using a
weighted three­
factor formula of
property, payroll,·
and sales

The corporate franchise tax, also frequently referred to as the corporate income
tax, applies to "C" corporations (i.e., 'corporations and some partnerships) that
are taxable under subchapter "C" of the Internal Revenue Code. Entities exempt
from the tax include:

• "Pass-through entities" (e.g., partnerships, "S" corporations, and other
entities that do not pay entity level taxes); the owners of these entities
(shareholders or partners) only pay tax on their respective shares ofthe .
business entity's income. These entities are subject to the minimum fee
(see below).

• Insurance companies (Insurers pay a premium tax instead)
• Credit unions
• Charitable organizations and other entities exempt from the federal

income tax

The tax base is essentially the profits of C corporations. State law defines the
tax base by reference to the definition oftaxable income under the federal
corporate income tax. For example, federal depreciation rules are followed.
Minnesota deviates from the federal rules in some important ways. In particular,
it provides an exemption for some types of foreign source income and for
payments from foreign operating corporations. The Minnesota tax also taxes
some income exempt under federal law.

A flat tax rate of9.8 percent applies to Minnesota taxable income.

Many corporations operate in more than one state. Under the United States
Constitution, a state can legally tax only the income of a business that is "fairly
apportioned" to the activity in the state. All states do this using formula
apportionment (i.e., based on the in-state percentage of one or more factors).
Minnesota apportions a multi-state corporation's income using a weighted three­
factor formula of sales (75 percent weight), property (12.5 percent), andpayrbll
(12.5 percent). The Minnesota percentage for each factor is multiplied by the
weight and the three factors added to determine the Minnesota percentage of the
corporation's total income. For unitary businesses operating through several
corporations (e.g., parent-subsidiary), all of their income is combined. This is
referred to as the "combined reporting" method of apportionment. For more
information on apportionment, see the separate Short Subject, "Apportionment
of Corporate Franchise Tax."



Various tax credits
apply

Revenues go to the
generalfund

Revenues are elastic
but very volatile

A minimum tax
applies

The corporate franchise tax is reduced by various tax credits. These include
credits for:

• Research and development
• Tax paid to another state
• Enterprise zone activity

Revenues from the corporate franchise tax are deposited in the general fund.
The Department ofFiriance estimated (in February 2002) that corporate
franchise tax collections will be $625 million in fiscal year 2003, $690 million
in fiscal year 2004, and $704 million in fiscal year 2005. In fiscal year 2002, the
franchise tax provided a little less than 5 percent of state general fund revenues.

Revenues under the tax are elastic; they grow as the size of the economy grows.
But they are also are the most volatile of the major taxes imposed by the state.
When the economy slows down or goes into recession, corporate profits and the
franchise tax tend to drop quite precipitously. For example, in fiscal year 2001
(an expansion year) the state collected $729 million in corporate franchise tax.
In fiscal year 2002 (a year in which a mild recession occurred), corporate
franchise tax revenues dropped to $533 million or 26.9 percent. Revenues from
the tax dropped even more·during the deeper recessions of the early 1980s.

An alternative minimum tax or AMT applies under the franchise tax. This tax
closely follows the similar federal AMT. A corporation must compute its tax
under the AMT, using a broader tax base (e.g., less generous depreciation rules)
and lower tax rate (5.8 percent). Ifthe AMT results in a higher tax, the
corporation must pay this amount.

A minimum fee
applies to most
entities

All corporations (both S and C
corporations) and partnerships must
pay a minimum fee based on the sum
oftheir Minnesota property, payroll,
and sales. This fee is an "add-on" fee
that must be paid in addition to the tax
computed under the regular tax or
AMT. The schedule for the fee is
shown to the right.

Fee Schedule

Minnesota Property,
Payroll, and Sales Fee

Less than $500,000 0
$500,000 - $999,999 $100
$1,000,000 - $4,999,999 $300
$5,000,000 - $9,999,999 $1,000
$10,000,000 - $19,999,999 $2,000
$20,000,000 or more $5,000

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Department of
Revenue
administers three
county aid
programs

HA CA is the largest
ofthe three property
tax reliefprograms

CCJA is distributed
based on population
and crime rates

FPA is distributed
based on the
change in the share
ofincome
maintenance
caseloads

County Property Tax Relief Aids

In addition to a number of categorical aids, counties receive aid under three
property tax relief programs, administered by the Department ofRevenue.
Homestead and agricultural credit aid (HACA) is a general-purpose aid that may
fund spending for any purpose. Criminal justice aid (CCJA) and family
preservation aid (FPA), must be used specifically for the broadly defined purposes
ofcriminal justice and family preservation. (See the table on the back for a county
breakdown of each type of aid received in 2002.)

Counties are due to receive $204.8 million in HACA payments in 2002. HACA
amounts are not formula-driven per se; instead, each county's base HACA amount
was determined to compensate for state-mandated adjustments to the county's tax
base between 1990 and 2002. Each year, each county gets the same amount it
received in the previous year, plus a percentage increase based on the rate of
inflation and on the annual growth in the number ofhouseholds. In some years, a
county's HACA payment is permanently reduced in conjunction with the state
takeover of a service that had been provided by the county. For 2003 to 2005,
some counties are undergoing HACA reductions as the state takes over the
financing of certain court-related costs. For 2004, all counties will receive a
HACA reduction as the state takes over a portion of out-of-home placement costs.

Counties are due to receive $31.5 million in CCJA payments in 2002. One-half of
the appropriation is distributed based on each county's population. The other one­
half is distributed based on each county's proportion of the statewide total of"part
I crimes" committed in the previous year. "Part I crimes" include murder and non­
negligent manslaughter, robbery, aggravated assault, arson, forcible rape, burglary,
larceny-theft, and motor vehicle theft. The appropriation for this program
increases each year between 2.5 percent and 5.0 percent, depending on the rate of
inflation.

Counties are due to receive $23.4 million in FPA payments in 2002. The initial
allocation ofFPA in 1995 among counties was based on two factors-each
county's share of total children in out-of-home placement in the state in 1991 and
1992, and each county's share of income maintenance cases in the state in 1993.
Since 1995 each county's aid increases or decreases based on the change in its
relative share of income maintenance caseloads in the state. Like the CCJA
program, the appropriation for FPA increases each year between 2.5 percent and
5.0 percent, depending on the rate of inflation.

'For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434 or Steve Hinze at 651-296­
8956.



2002 County Property Tax Relief Aids
COUNTY HACA CCJA FPA COUNTY HACA CCJA FPA

Aitkin 1,651,143 93,442 66,959 Marshall 664,534 49,337 21,882

Anoka 13,395,872 1,959,376 1,051,208 Martin 690,167 112,268 73,474

Becker 1,034,647 144,160 193,943 Meeker 1,239,195 133,319 66,384

Beltrami ° 273,656 551,303 Mille Lacs 1,152,258 146,487 121,990

Benton 837,125 163,149 100,159 Morrison 1,700,737 171,451 80,860

Big Stone 760,342 27,728 22,708 Mower 1,745,046 249,495 134,298

Blue Earth 1,784,558 375,630 203,594 Murray 794,407 38,898 15,937

Brown 1,133,236 127,451 64,049 Nicollet 1,136,164 164,961 149,546

Carlton 1,570,825 152,602 155,827 Nobles 929,811 103,618 103,603

Carver 4,524,510 347,995 91,231 Norman 592,006 31,289 26,797

Cass 1,318,992 220,441 273,623 Olmsted 5,999,277 677,568 415,674

Chippewa 1,072,585 55,916 25,643 Otter Tail 2,799,216 289,943 225,662

Chisago 2,647,744 231,874 147,180 Pennington 577,868 78,766 36,032

Clay 1,282,418 273,310 271,033 Pine 1,275,371 167,845 143,986

Clearwater 205,111 43,335 62,650 Pipestone 710,011 50,322 35,683

Cook 1,040,472 31,183 10,531 Polk 1,495,069 176,622 180,443

Cottonwood 866,872 62,506 40,312 Pope 841,940 52,437 16,742

Crow Wing 2,108,165 390,106 219,974 Ramsey 13,629,527 4,082,377 3,490,793

Dakota 12,635,124 2,139,131 810,910 Red Lake 334,554 20,403 7,112

Dodge 1,229,127 73,695 33,248 Redwood 1,007,840 80,938 72,886

Douglas 1,971,149 194,992 73,427 Renville 964,147 87,566 58,124

Faribault 765,633 74,000 52,534 Rice 1,555,949 360,504 147,778

Fillmore 1,070,379 83,104 32,822 Rock 590,429 38,498 21,884

Freeborn 1,649,090 172,245 145,095 Roseau 584,600 82,863 27,797

Goodhue 1,042,561 271,096 132,796 St. Louis 10,436,044 1,248,733 1627,966

Grant 648,759 35,228 13,886 Scott 5,449,814 524,551 148,837

Hennepin 37,777,119 8,597,200 7,819,259 Sherburne 1,520,266 301,742 110,703

Houston 1,198,204 84,967 36,690 Sibley 1,052,202 53,913 37,366

Hubbard 886,792 127,462 118,279 Steams 4,545,685 865,504 380,006

Isanti 2,217,683 162,003 125,068 Steele 1,209,683 199,289 159,785

Itasca 1,975,326 190,705 202,370 Stevens 1,033,806 47,738 11,997

Jackson 828,159 51,630 20,176 Swift 945,710 51,472 26,028

Kanabec 1,255,025 85,833 52,254 Todd 1,612,083 128,305 81,437

Kandiyohi 2,492,915 242,194 222,155 Traverse 578,533 18,421 14,680

Kittson 382,464 21,926 12,922 Wabasha 1,019,601 106,564 50,788

Koochiching 26,501 86,960 80,487 Wadena 361,116 76,817 90,625

Lac Qui Parle 681,260 34,381 20,932 Waseca 1,334,146 93,347 90,106

Lake 1,180,635 51,684 28,054 Washington 8,545,815 1,164,524 469,380

Lake of the Woods 347,282 21,391 15,939 Watonwan 804,026 59,484 54,202

Le Sueur 1,800,107 102,250 62,825 Wilkin 935,141 37,856 31,048

Lincoln 653,383 21,320 12,508 Winona 1,791,130 284,953 100,069

Lyon 976,438 106,790 105,853 Wright 2,467,200 505,943 236,980

Mcleod 1,791,631 212,185 95,604 Yellow Medicine 1,076,156 45,395 22,720

Mahnomen 328,195 35,069 107,539

Total 204,773,838 31,515,627 23,405,649
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Federal Taxable Income, the starting point for calculating
Minnesota income tax

What is federal
taxable income
(FTI)?

Federal taxable income is the tax base used to calculate federal income tax
liability. It is also the starting point of the calculation of Minnesota taxable
income, which is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax liability.
Federal taxable income equals federal adjusted gross income after deductions and
exemptions.

Federal
adjusted
gross income
(FAG I)

Standard
or

Itemized
deductions

Personal
and
Dependent
exemptions

Federal
taxable
Income
(FTI)

What kinds of
income are included
in FTI?

What kinds of
income are
excludedfrom FTI?

What deductions
are allowedfrom
FTI?

How much is the
standard
deduction?

Federal adjusted gross income includes most kinds of income: Wages, salaries,
and tips; taxable interest; dividends; alimony received by the taxpayer; business
income or loss; capital gains or losses; other gains or losses; taxable IRA
distributions; taxable pension and annuity distributions (the taxable portion is
typically determined by whether or not the contributions to the pension or annuity
were included infederal adjusted gross income when they were made); income
from rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations and trusts; farm
income or loss; unemployment compensation; taxable Social Security benefits (the
amount taxable depends on the individual's income level; at most 85 percent of
benefits are included infederal adjusted gross income).

Federal adjusted gross income excludes: deductible IRA, SEP, and SIMPLE
contributions; nontaxable employee fringe benefits; student loan interest payments;
Medical Savings Account contributions; moving expenses; one-half of self­
employment tax; health insurance premiums (for self-employed taxpayers only);
penalty on early withdrawal of savings; and alimony paid by the taxpayer.

Taxpayers may claim either the standard deduction or itemized deductions. In tax
year 2000, the most recent year for which data is available, 59 percent of
Minnesotans claimed the standard deduction and 41 percent itemized.

In tax year 2003, the standard deduction equals
• $7,950 for married couples filing joint returns
• $3,975 for married couples filing separate returns
• $7,000 for head of household filers
• $4,750 for single filers



What itemized
deductions are
allowed?

What personal and
dependent
exemptions are
allowed?

Are there limits on
deductions and
exemptions?

Itemized deductions are allowed for:
• state and local property and income taxes
• mortgage and investment interest
• charitable contributions
• medical expenses in excess of 7.5 percent of income
• casualty and theft losses in excess of 10 percent of income
• job expenses and miscellaneous expenses (most only allowed in excess of 2

percent of income)

Taxpayers may claim one personal exemption each, and one dependent exemption
for each dependent claimed. For tax year 2003, the personal and dependent
exemptions are $3,050 each. A family of four qualifies for four exemptions,
totaling $12,200.

Itemized deductions are limited for taxpayers with incomes over a threshold.
Taxpayers subject to the limitation must subtract from total itemized deductions
the lesser of:

• 3 percent of income in excess of the threshold; or
• 80 percent of total itemized deductions, excluding deductions for medical

expenses, investment interest, casualty and theft losses, and gambling
losses to the extent offset by gambling gains.

Personal and dependent exemptions are phased out for taxpayers with incomes
over a threshold. Taxpayers subject to the phase-out lose 2 percent of their total
exemption amount for each $2,500 of income over the threshold.

Tax year 2003 Itemized deduction Exemption phase-out
limit bej;!;ins at bej;!;ins at

Married .ioint filers $139,200 $208,800
Married separate filers $69,600 $104,400
Sinj;!;le filers $139,200 $139,200
Head of household filers $139,200 $174,000

The income thresholds for the itemized deduction limit and the personal exemption
phase-out are adjusted annually for inflation.

The federal Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) of
2001 gradually phases out the limitation on itemized deductions and the phase-out
of personal and dependent exemptions from 2006 to 2010. However, the general
sunset ofEGTRRA provisions would reinstate the limitation of itemized
deductions and the phase-out of exemptions beginning in tax year 2011 ..

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651­
296-5057. Also see the House Research publication Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, October
2002.
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Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program

What is the
property tax
refund program?

Has the program
changed?

What are the
maximums?

What is the
average refund
and total amount
paid?

How are claims
filed?

The homeowner property tax refund program (sometimes called the "circuit
breaker" or the PTR) is a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to homeowners
whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes. If property tax exceeds a
threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a percentage of the tax over the
threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income increases, the:

• threshold percentage increases;
• portion of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases; and
• maximum refund decreases.

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types of
income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are over
age 65 or disabled.

The 2001 tax law expanded the homeowner's property tax refund program,
effective for refunds based on property taxes payable in 2002. The changes
lowered the threshold for determining eligibility and increased the maximum
refund allowed. The tax law also limited the amount of tax qualifying for the
refund for farmers to the tax attributable to the house, garage, and first acre of
property. (Previously the tax amount for farmers also included the tax on the first
$600,000 of land and farm buildings.)

For refund claims filed in 2003, based on payable 2003 taxes and 2002 household
income, the maximum refund is $1,530. Homeowners whose income exceeds
$81,000 are not eligible for a refund.

2001 Statewide Homeowner Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2001 (based on 2000 incomes and payable 2001 taxes)

Number of returns Total refund amount Average per return

Under 65 years old 125,144 $42.8 million $342

Senior/disabled 93,620 $32.0 million $342

Total: all
homeowners 218,764 $74.8 million $342

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department ofRevenue Schedule M­
IPR. Claims filed before August 15,2003, will be paid beginning in late
September 2003. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2003 is
August 15,2004; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund.
Forms are available on-line at www.state.mn.us/ebranch/mdor/Olforms.html.



How do refunds
vary depending
upon the filer's
income and
property tax?

The following table shows the refund amount for two example families with
different incomes-one family in the metro area and one in greater Minnesota.
Although the property tax refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum refund
amounts are the same statewide, the average residential homestead property tax in
the metro area is higher than in greater Minnesota. The metro area family has
payable 2003 property taxes of $2,032, the estimated average for the metro. The
greater Minnesota family has payable 2003 property taxes of$987, the estimated
average ~or greater Minnesota. Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple both under age 65, two dependents

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4

1 Market Value ofHome $173,000 $173,000 $100,000 $100,000

2 Gross Income 20,000 40,000 20,000 40,000

3 Deduction for
dependents 8,100 8,100 8,100 8,100

4 Household income
(2-3 =4) 11,900 31,900 11,900 31,900

5 Property tax 2,032 2,032 987 987

6 Statutory threshold
percentage 1.8% 2.7% 1.8% 2.7%

7 Threshold % x income
(4 x 6 = 7) 214 861 214 861

8 Property tax over
threshold (5 - 7 = 8) 1,818 1,171 773 126

9 Statutory copay
percentage 25% 40% 25% 40%

10 Taxpayercopay
amount (8 x 9 = 10) 454 468 193 50

11 Remaining tax over
threshold (8 -10 = 11) 1,363 702 580 75

12 Maximum refund
allowed 1,330 1,130 1,330 1,130

13 Net property tax refund $1,330 $ 702 $ 580 $ 75

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Nina Manzi at 651-296­
5204. -
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Levy Limits

Countvaids City aids
Homestead and agricultural Local government aid
credit aid (HACA) (LGA)
Taconite aid Taconite aid
County criminal justice aid
(CCJA)
Family preservation aid (FPA)

Chronolo!!v of Levv Limits
Taxes Limits Instigating Event
payable Apply?
years
1972-1993 Yes Enactment of 1971 property tax

refonn
1994-1997 No Enactment of Truth-in-Taxation

notices
1997-1998 Yes "Compression" of class rates
2000 No Allowed to expire
2001-02 Yes 2001propertytaxrefonn

Levy limits restrict
generalpurpose
property tax levies
ofcounties and
large cities

Levy limits are
intended to ensure
state aid reduce
property taxes

Levy limits expire
after 2003

State aids used to
calculate limits

Levy limits restrict the amount of property taxes cities and counties may levy for
general-purpose expenditures. They apply to counties and cities with populations
of2,500 or more. (Schools are subject to tax limits under a different law.)
Although the law limits the amount ofthe local levy, the local government's
general-purpose state aids (see below for a list of the aids) are used to calculate the
limit. When state aids increase, the maximum allowed levy decreases.
Conversely, if state aids decrease, the allowed levy increases.

State aids are included in calculating the limits because the legislature adopted the
limits to help ensure that cities and counties used increased state aid payments to
reduce property taxes and not for higher local spending. There has been an
ongoing legislative debate about whether, in the long term, levy limits actually
control local spending. Proponents of limits argue that they hold down local
spending and property taxes. Local government interests and other opponents of
limits, by contrast, claim they do little to limit property tax levies and may actually
increase them by encouraging cities and counties to levy up to the maximum
amount allowed. Under this view, the limits become a state-sponsored guideline
for what the levy should be.

Levy limits will expire
after property taxes
payable in 2003, unless
the legislature extends
them. The legislature
has generally imposed
levy limits as part of
property tax reforms, but
also has repealed or
allowed them to expire.
The table shows the
years limits were imposed. Levy limits initially applied to all cities and towns.
The legislature later exempted towns and cities with populations under 2,500.

As noted above, state
general-purpose aids are
used to calculate levy
limits. The table lists the
aids included in the levy
limit base.



Annual increases
for inflation and
local growth

Local governments
may levy "outside of
limits"for certain
purposes

Local governments
may go to voters for
authority to exceed
limits

Each year, a local government's levy limit base (levy plus aids) increases based on
the following three factors:

• the rate of inflation, as measured by the implicit price deflator (IPD) for
state and local government purchases;

• the annual percent increase in the number of households in the local
jurisdiction, as estimated by the state demographer or the metropolitan
council; and

• one-half of the annual percent increase in the market value in the
jurisdiction due to new commercial/industrial development.

Because of the low IPD for taxes payable in 2003 (.067 percent), the allowed
growth rate for most cities and counties for these taxes is between 1 and 3 percent.

The levy limits do not apply to "special levies." Special levies can be imposed for
whatever amount the city or county needs outside of levy limits for the following
purposes:

• long-term debt;
• state and federal required matching grants;
• preparation for and recovery from natural disasters;
• certain abatements;
• increases in public employee retirement association (PERA) rates after June

30,2001;
• required jail operation costs (this requires an adjustment to the limit base

the first year this special levy is used);
• operation of lake improvement districts (this requires an adjustment to the

limit base the first year this special levy is used);
• repayment of a state or federal loan related to highway or capital projects;
• redistricting costs incurred in 2002; and
• transition costs during the year the state assumes court administration costs

in that county.

A local government may not certify a levy higher than its total levy limit plus
authorized special levies unless the voters approve at a referendum. A vote to
exceed the limit may be for any amount and, if authorized, the tax is spread on tax
capacity. Unless approved by a referendum, the levy must be reduced to the
limited amount before property tax statements are mailed to taxpayers.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434. Statutes governing levy
limits are Minnesota Statutes sections 275.70-275.74.
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What is limited
market value?

What property does
LMVapply to?

Is it permanent?

Does the assessor
continue valuing
the property?

How does it work?

How does the
phase-out work?

Limited Market Value

Limited Market Value (LMV) is a limitation on the amount that a property's
market value may grow from one year to the next for purposes of property
taxation. It was enacted to help mitigate rising property taxes resulting from
rapidly inflating property values.

The following classes of property qualify for LMV:

• agricultural homestead and nonhomestead;
• residential homestead and nonhomestead;
• seasonal recreational residential property (i.e., cabins); and
• timberland (beginning with the 2001 assessment).

LMV provisions were in effect from 1973-1979; and then again for 1993 to the
present. The 2001 Legislature enacted a law to phase-out LMV over a six-year
time period-from assessment years 2002-2007. Beginning in assessment year
2007 (for taxes payable in 2008), all property will be valued at full market value
for property tax purposes.

The assessor continues to determine the property's fair market value. This value
is called the "estimated market value" (EMV). However, property that qualifies
for treatment under LMV may not be taxed at the full value of the property if its
growth exceeds the limits.

For qualifying property in assessment year 2002 (taxes payable in 2003); the
increase in market value shall not exceed the greater of:

• 10 percent ofthe LMV in the preceding assessment year; or
• 15 percent of the difference between the current year's EMV and the

previous year's LMV.

For each year, the maximum valuation increase is determined by calculating the
increase allowed under columns (1) and (2), and choosing whichever is higher.

(1) (2)
Percentage of Percentage of difference between previous

Assessment Year previous year's LMV year's LMV and current year's EMV

2002 10% 15%
2003 12 20
2004 15 25
2005 15 33
2006 15 50



Example
calculations

Assessment year 2003/payable year 2004.
The LMV of a home is $100,000 for assessment year 2002. For assessment year
2003, the assessor determines that the EMV on the home is $130,000. The
maximum market value increase for tax purposes is the greater of:

• 12 percent increase over the previous year, which is $12,000; or
• 20 percent of the $30,000 difference in value, which is $6,000.

* All values m bIlhons.

Assessment Year EMV* LMV* Excluded Value*
(1) (2) (1) - (2) = (3)

1994 $ 124.1 $ 123.5 $ 0.7
1995 132.0 131.0 1.0
1996 142.1 140.4 1.6
1997 152.1 150.0 2.0
1998 163.6 161.1 2.5
1999 176.6 173.3 3.4
2000 202.6 197.0 5.6
2001 226.4 215.8 10.6

..

Therefore, the home's LMV is $100,000 plus $12,000, or $112,000 for
assessment year 2003.

For assessment year 2001, over $10 billion ofmarket value was excluded from
the tax rolls due to LMV. The table shows the amounts for 1994-2001.

How much has
limited market
value grown?

Statewide Percentage of Tax Base Excluded
due to LMV (affected classes only)

5
4.5

4
.. 3.5
: 3-iii 2.5...
t 2
~ 1.5

1
0.5

o
1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002

Taxes Payable Year

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Steve Hinze at 651­
296-8956.
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Local Sales Taxes in Minnesota

What sales taxes
can local
governments
impose?

Who currently has
a general local sales
tax?

What can the
revenue be used
for?

What steps are
required to impose a
local sales tax?

All cities are allowed under statute to impose a local lodging tax ofup to 3
percent to fund tourism promotion in the community.

Local governments must get special legislation authorizing any other local sales
tax. In the past special legislation has allowed certain cities to impose a general
sales tax ofup to 1 percent, to impose a food and beverage tax, and to impose
additional lodging taxes to fund programs other than tourism promotion.

Eleven cities and one county now impose a general sales tax. With the exception
ofMinneapolis and St. Paul, all the local governments imposing a general local
sales tax are located in Greater Minnesota.

The cities ofHerrnantown, Mankato, Minneapolis, New VIm, Proctor,
Rochester, St. Paul, Two Harbors, and Winona impose a 0.5 percent general
sales tax.

The city ofDuluth and Cook County impose a 1 percent general sales tax.

In 2002, special legislation authorized a 0.5 percent tax in the cities of Sartell,
St. Cloud, St. Augusta, Sauk Rapids, St. Joseph, and Waite Park beginning
January 1, 2003, upon voter approval. It was approved in the first four cities
listed.

The special legislation authorizing the local sales tax usually states what may be
funded from the sales tax revenues. For most cities, the money must be used to
fund a specific capital project or list ofprojects. The city ofDuluth is the only
local government that may use its general sales tax revenue for general operating
purposes.

As stated earlier, special legislation authorizing a local sales tax is required prior
to imposition. For a general sales tax, a local government is required by law to
first pass a resolution explaining what the revenues will be used for and how
long the tax will be imposed before seeking special legislation. The law also
requires that a general tax be approved at a local referendum prior to imposition.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434. Also see the House Research
publication Local Sales Taxes in Minnesota, December 2000. Statutes pertaining to this area are Minnesota
Statutes, section 469.190 (lodging tax), and Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.99 (general sales tax).

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I S1. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota Sales Tax Rate

The general sales
tax rate is 6.5
percent

Minnesota first imposed a state sales tax August 1, 1967. At that time the rate was
3 percent. The state last increased the rate in 1991. Below is a table showing how
the rate has changed over time.

Period Rate
August 1, 1967 - October 31, 1971 3.0%
November 1, 1971 - June 30, 1981 4.0%
July 1, 1981-December 31,1982 5.0%
January 1, 1983 - June 30, 1991 6.0%
July 1, 1991-present 6.5%

The 1991 change was unique because the law authorized an "optional" county
sales tax rate of Y2 percent on top ofthe 6 percent state rate. However, if a county
chose to not impose the local tax, all local governments in the county lost their
state property tax aids. All counties imposed the tax. In 1994, this "optional" tax
was officially rolled into the state tax rate.

Of the 45 states and the District of Columbia that impose a sales tax, only four
other states have a tax rate as high or higher than Minnesota. The four states are:

Minnesota has one
ofthe highest sales
tax rates in the
country • Nevada

• Washington
6.5%
6.5%

• Mississippi
• Rhode Island

7.0%
7.0%

Minnesota's tax rate, as indicated on the map, is the highest in the region.
Although Minnesota has one ofthe highest tax rates, it also has one ofthe
narrower tax bases because it does not tax clothing or food for home consumption.
All the other states in the region impose sales taxes on clothing. South Dakota also
taxes food for home consumption.

Sales Tax Rates

5.0%

4.0%

\ 6.5%~
I 5.0% 1

5.5%

\

5.0%

r----------;.r'



Minnesota taxes
alcoholic beverages
and car rentals at a
higher rate

The special tax
rates on alcoholic
beverages and car
rentals are repealed
December 31, 2005

The general rate of 6.5 percent applies to most items subject to the sales tax under
the general sales tax and to motor vehicles under the motor vehicle sales tax.
However, Minnesota imposes a sales tax rate of9.0 percent on the sale ofliquor
and malt beverages. It also imposes two additional taxes on short-term motor
vehicle rentals. The combined sales tax rate on short-term motor vehicles is 16.2
percent but the rental companies retain the revenue from 3 percent to offset their
payments of motor vehicle registration taxes.

In 2001, the legislature adopted a repeal of the special sales tax rates on alcoholic
beverages and short-term motor vehicle rentals. The repeal is effective for sales
made after December 31, 2005. At that time, these items will only be subject to
the general sales tax rate of 6.5 percent.

This change was enacted to bring the state in compliance with requirements of the
national streamlined sales tax requirements. The Streamlined Sales Tax Project
(SSTP) is a voluntary attempt on the part ofthe states to simplify and standardize
sales tax systems between states. Under the project requirements, each state is
limited to one sales tax rate and must get to one rate by December 31, 2005.

The Department ofRevenue is required to study and report to the legislature at the
start of the 2003 session on alternatives for raising the revenues lost by the repeal
of these higher tax rates.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434. For information on the
Streamlined Sales Tax Project and its tax rate requirements see the House Research Short Subject The
Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP), October 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is Minnesota
taxable income
(MTI)?

Minnesota Taxable Income

Minnesota taxable income is the tax base used to calculate Minnesota income tax
liability. Minnesota taxable income equals federal taxable income after Minnesota
subtractions and additions.

Federal
Taxable
Income (FTI)

+
Minnesota
additions

Minnesota
subtractions =

Minnesota
taxable
Income
(MTI)

What are
Minnesota
additions to taxable
income?

What subtractions
does Minnesota
allow from taxable
income?

Minnesota requires the following additions to federal taxable income:

• State income tax deduction. Filers who claimed a federal itemized
deduction for state income taxes paid must add that amount back into
Minnesota taxable income. Taxpayers making this addition are always
allowed to claim at least the full standard deduction.

• Bond interest and mutual fund interest dividends paid by non-Minnesota
state and local governments. The federal government does not tax state and
local bond interest. Minnesota does not tax Minnesota state and local bond
interest, but does tax interest on bonds ofother states and their local
governments.

• Expenses relating to income not taxed by Minnesota. These are mainly
expenses deducted at the federal level and attributable to U.S. bond interest
income, which is excluded from Minnesota taxable income.

• Capital gain portion of a lump-sum distribution from a qualified retirement
plan

Minnesota allows the following subtractions from federal taxable income. The
estimated cost ofmost subtractions is taken from the Department ofRevenue's Tax
Expenditure Budgetfor 2002-2005. Revenue estimates made during the 2003
legislative session will differ from the Tax Expenditure Budget because they will
be based on a more recent economic forecast.

• State income tax refund (filers who claimed federal itemized deductions
only). The federal income tax allows a deduction for state income taxes.
Minnesota requires filers to add back the amount deducted, and allows a
subtraction for amounts refunded in order to avoid twice taxing the same
Income.



• Subtractions required by federal law
o U.S. bond interest
o Railroad retirement benefits

• On-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members. Federal law
prohibits state taxation ofD.S. bond interest, railroad retirement benefits,
and on-reservation earnings of enrolled tribal members

• K-12 dependent education expenses ($17.5 million in fiscal year 2003).
The deduction applies to school-related expenses, including tuition,
textbooks, academic tutoring and camps, and instructional materials and
supplies. The maximum deduction is $1,625 for each child in grades K-6,
and $2,500 for each child in grades 7-12.

• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500 ($4.4 million in
fiscal year 2003). Allowed only for filers who do not claim federal
itemized deductions-those who itemize have already deducted their
charitable contributions in computing federal taxable income.

• Minnesota elderly/disabled exclusion ($1.7 million in fiscal year 2003).
An exclusion of up to $12,000 is allowed for low-income elderly and
disabled filers with low amounts of Social Security and nontaxable
penSIOns.

• Foreign subnational income taxes. Taxpayers subject to a foreign
subnational income tax may subtract the amount of tax paid to the foreign
governmental unit, to the extent the taxpayer did not use the subnational
taxes to claim the federal foreign tax credit.

• Minnesota Youth Works benefits (minimal cost in fiscal year 2003).
This subtraction applies to Minnesota Youth Works post-service benefits,
such as tuition reimbursement or student loan payments. Minnesota Youth
Works is a community service program. The state discontinued funding for
post-service benefits in 2002, so this subtraction will become obsolete once
current post-service benefit recipients receive the full amount of benefits
for which they're eligible.

• Gain on sale of farm property for insolvent taxpayers ($100,000 in
fiscal year 2003). This subtraction is allowed for taxpayers who use the
proceeds ofthe sale of a farm to payoff a mortgage, contract for deed, or
lien on the property.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651­
296-5057. Also see the House Research publications Income Tax Terms: Deductions and Credits, October
2002; and Minnesota's Elderly Exclusion (web only) at www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/tx_inc.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota's Individual Income Tax

How much are
income tax
revenues?

What is the tax base
used to calculate
Minnesota's income
tax?

What are the
income tax rates
and brackets?

Minnesota's income tax revenues are projected to equal $5.8 billion in fiscal year
2002, approximately 44 percent of state tax collections and 29 percent of all state
revenues.

Minnesota's income tax applies to a base ofMinnesota taxable income (MTI). The
starting point for calculating MTI is federal taxable income (FTI), which is the
income measure used in determining federal income tax liability.

The calculation ofMTI requires taxpayers to add the following to federal taxable
mcome:

• bond interest from other states,
• the capital gains portion of lump sum distributions, and
• all or part of their state income tax deduction if they claimed itemized

deductions at the federal level.

Minnesota taxpayers are allowed several subtractions from federal taxable income:

• U.S. bond interest
• Railroad retirement benefits
• Income earned on a reservation by American Indians
• Certain K-12 education expenses of dependents
• 50 percent of charitable contributions in excess of $500, for taxpayers who

don't itemize
• An elderly/disabled exclusion for qualifying low-income taxpayers
• Youth Works program benefits
• Part of the gain on the sale of a farm for insolvent taxpayers

Minnesota income tax is a graduated tax, with three rates: 5.35 percent, 7.05
percent, and 7.85 percent. The rates are applied to income brackets that vary by
filing status.. Married couples filing joint returns are allowed the most generous
(widest) brackets, followed by head ofhousehold filers (single parents), and then
by unmarried single filers. The table shows the income tax brackets in effect for
each rate in tax year 2003 (brackets for married separate taxpayers are half the
width of the married joint brackets):

Married joint Single Head of Household
5.35% First $27,720 First $18,970 First $23,350
7.05% $27,721 to $110,150 $18,971 to $62,300 $23,351 to $93,820
7.85% All over $110,150 All over $62,300 All over $93,820



What income tax
credits does
Minnesota allow?

A married couple filing a joint return owes income tax equal to 5.35 percent of
their first $27,720 of taxable income, 7.05 percent of income between $27,721 and
$110,150, and 7.85 percent of taxable income over $110,150. The income tax
brackets are adjusted each year for inflation.

Minnesota allows taxpayers to claim several credits against tax liability. Credits
that may be used only to reduce liability, called nomefundable credits, include:

• Marriage credit ($60.5 million in fiscal year 2003)
• Long-tenn care insurance credit ($4.9 million in fiscal year 2003)
• Credit for taxes paid to other states ($87.9 million in fiscal year 2003)

In addition, Minnesota allows three refundable credits, which are paid as refunds to
taxpayers even if the credit amount is greater than their income tax liability:

• Dependent care credit ($12.6 million in fiscal year 2003)
• Working family (earned income) credit ($107.8 million in fiscal year 2003)
• K-12 education credit ($17.4 million in fiscal year 2003)

Credit amounts are from the Minnesota Department ofRevenue's Tax Expenditure
Budget, Fiscal Years 2002-2005.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Joel Michael at 651­
296-5057. Also see the House Research publications The Minnesota Income Tax Marriage Credit,
September 2002; The Minnesota and Federal Dependent Care Tax Credits, December 2001; The Federal
Earned Income Credit and the Minnesota Working Family Credit, January 2000; Income Tax Deductions
and Credits for Public and Nonpublic Education in Minnesota, November 2001; Income Tax Terms:
Deductions and Credits, October 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I 81. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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What is the
mortgage registry
and deed tax?

What are the rates?

How does it work?

Who is responsible
for paying the tax?

Mortgage and Deed Taxes

The mortgage registry tax (MRT) is a tax based upon the amount of a debt secured
by a mortgage of real property. The tax is imposed on the privilege of recording
the mortgage. The deed tax is a transfer tax; it is imposed on the value of real
property transferred. While these taxes are independent of each other, they are
often thought of as a pair since many property transactions involve both a
mortgage and a deed.

The MRT is calculated at the rate of 0.23 percent of total debt secured. The deed
tax is calculated at the rate of 0.33 percent of net consideration (i.e., the price paid
for the real property).

The following example helps illustrate how each of the taxes are determined for a
homebuyer.

Mortgage Registry Tax

John and Mary Anderson secure a loan on a home with a purchase price of$120,000. The
Andersons make a $20,000 down payment on the home. The principal debt on the home is
$100,000. How much mortgage registry tax do the Andersons owe?

Principal debt x 0.23% = MRT liability

$100,000 x 0.23% = $230

The Andersons owe $230 in MRT.

Deed Tax

John and Mary Anderson record the deed for their new home. The deed is valued at
$120,000. How much deed tax do the Andersons owe?

Value of the deed recorded x 0.33% = deed tax liability

$120,000 x 0.33% = $396

The Andersons owe $396 in deed tax.

In the case ofthe MRT, the mortgagor (borrower) is liable. In the case ofthe deed
tax, the buyer is liable. The lender collects the taxes and is responsible for
remitting them to the county treasurer.



Who collects the
money?

How much is
collected?

Where is it
collected?

Are there
exemptions from
the taxes?

County treasurers collect the tax. They remit 97 percent to the state, which is
deposited in the general fund. The county retains 3 percent for administrative
expenses.

In fiscal year 2001, the MRT and deed tax generated $159.2 million in state
revenue. As shown in the table below, collections have increased substantially in
recent years. The total amounts reflect only the state's 97 percent share.

Chan2e
Total Amount Percent

Fiscal Year (in millions) (in millions)
1996 $88.0 -- --
1997 94.8 $6.8 7.2%
1998 120.2 25.4 21.1
1999 152.7 35.5 23.3
2000 142.2 10.5 7.3
2001 159.2 17.0 10.6

About two-thirds ofthe statewide collections for MRT and deed tax come from the
seven-county metro area; the remaining one-third comes from the 80 nonmetro
counties. The 2000 statewide average MRT and deed tax per capita was $29, with
a metro county average per capita of $36, and a nonmetro county average per
capita of $21.

Yes, there are many statutory exemptions from each of the taxes. Minnesota
Statutes, section 287.04, contains a list of the exemptions from the MRT. The
primary ones are contracts for deed, certain agricultural mortgages, marriage
dissolution decrees, and certain low- and moderate-income housing mortgages.

Minnesota Statutes, section 287.22, contains a list of the exemptions from the deed
tax. Some ofthe most common are recording an amendment to the mortgage, a
plat, a will, a lease, a sheriffs certificate of sale in a foreclosure sale, and a decree
or deed involving a marriage dissolution.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959. Also see the House
Research publication Mortgage and Deed Taxes in Minnesota, April 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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The Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Transfer

After a ten-year hiatus, the legislature in 2001 again began dedicating revenues from the motor vehicle sales
tax (MVST) to transportation-related purposes. This time, however, the purposes were tax relief rather than
new transportation spending.

The MVST is the
state sales tax on
motor vehicles

How MVST
revenues are now
dedicated

The MVST is the 6.5 percent sales tax applied to the sale of new and used motor
vehicles. It is generally considered a separate tax from the general 6.5 percent
sales tax because of two distinct features:

• When a vehicle is sold in a private (nondealer) transaction, the tax is
collected not at the time of sale but at the time the vehicle is re-registered
in the new owner's name

• Where a sale is made by a dealer who accepts a trade-in, the tax is applied
not to the full selling price but the price less the trade-in

Most of MVST revenues are now dedicated to tax relief-replacing revenue from
auto license taxes and property taxes. The revenues are distributed as follows:

• 32 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund (HUTDF), the fund
dedicated exclusively to state and local highways, to replace revenue lost to
that fund when auto license taxes were capped beginning in 2001.

• 20.5 percent to the Metropolitan Council to replace revenue lost when the
council's property tax levy for transit operations was abolished by the
legislature.

• 1.25 percent to the Department of Transportation for greater Minnesota
transit assistance to replace revenue lost when the legislature prohibited
using property taxes to subsidize greater Minnesota transit operating costs.

• Beginning in fiscal year 2004,2 percent additional to be appropriated by
law for transit in the metropolitan area.

• The remainder-46.25 percent in fiscal year 2003, and 44.25 percent
thereafter-to the state general fund.

MVST Revenues
2002-2005 and Beyond

2002 2003 2004 2005
HUTDF 30.86% 32% 32% 32%
Metropolitan Transit Property Tax Replacement 0% 20.5% 20.5% 20.5%
Greater MN Property Tax Replacement 0% 1.25% 1.25% 1.25%
Metropolitan Transit Appropriation Account 0% 0% 2% 2%
General Fund 69.14% 46.25% 44.25% 44.25%



How MVST
revenues were
formerly dedicated

From 1981 through 1991, the legislature attempted to dedicate MVST revenues to
highways and transit, with the goal of supplementing rather than replacing existing
transportation revenues. In 1981, legislation was enacted to phase in this
dedication at the rate of 25 percent per biennium, beginning with 25 percent in
1984-85 and culminating in 100 percent in 1990-91 and beyond. The money was
to be allocated 75 percent to state and local highways and 25 percent to transit
assistance.

State budget problems throughout the 1980s prevented this schedule from ever
being fully implemented. The transfer was cancelled for fiscal year 1984, made at
the 25 percent rate in fiscal year 1985, and cancelled again for the 1986-87
biennium. It was revived again in fiscal year 1988 and eventually reached 35
percent.

A major budget crisis in the 1991 legislative session ended the transfer. The
legislature returned to the general fund $54 million in MVST receipts for fiscal
1991 that had already been transferred to the transportation funds and suspended
the transfer for the 1992-93 biennium while restoring it for fiscal 1994 and beyond
at the rate of 10.66 percent. Even this reduced transfer was unacceptable to Gov.
Arne Carlson, who vetoed it. All MVST revenues went to the general fund for
another decade.

MVST Revenue Allocation
1985-1991

1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991
HUTDF 18.75% 18.75%* 0% 3.75% 22.5% 22.5% 18.75 **

Trunk Highway Fund 0% 0% 0% 0% 0% 3.75% 3.75%**
In addition to THF share ofHUTDF

Transit Assistance Fund 6.25% 6.25%* 0% 1.25% 7.5% 8.75% 7.5%**

General Fund 75% 75% 100% 95% 70% 65% 70%

* Reduced to zero during 1986 legislative session, with money already transferred returned to general fund
** Reduced to zero during 1991 legislative session, with money already transferred returned to general fund

Total Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Revenues
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For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.
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Origination Clause:
Bills to Raise Revenues Must Originate in the House

The Minnesota Constitution requires that:

All bills for raising revenues shall originate in
the house of representatives, but the senate
may propose and concur with amendments as
on other bills. Minn. Const. art. IV § 18.

This provision, commonly referred to as the
Origination Clause, is identical to the language of a
parallel provision of the United States Constitution.
U.S. Const. art. I, § 7, cl. 1. This Short Subject
briefly discusses the types ofbills that the
Origination Clause requires to begin in the Minnesota
House ofRepresentatives.

Two Minnesota appellate court decisions have
applied the Origination Clause.

The Minnesota Supreme Court has twice rejected
challenges to acts (laws) based on the origination
clause. In these two cases, the court held that:

• A bill containing an appropriation was not a bill
to raise revenues, even though it may have
necessitated imposition of a tax to pay the
appropriation. Curryer v. Merrill, 25 Minn. 1
(1878).

• A bill imposing civil penalties to abate a
nuisance, was not a bill to raise revenues, even
though the law specified the penalties were to be
collected as taxes. State ex reI. Robertson v.
Wheeler, 155 N.W. 90 (1913).

In dicta, the Minnesota Supreme Court has also said
.that the clause applies to a bill "whose main purpose
is to raise money by taxation." Curryer v. Merrill, 25
Minn. 1, 8 (1878). The Minnesota Court ofAppeals

has also concluded that a regulatory bill that raises
more revenue than necessary to pay for the cost of
the regulation does not become a bill for raising
revenue that must originate in the House.
Investment Company Institute v. Hatch, 477 N.W.2d
747 (Minn. App. 1991) (statutory construction issue,
not a challenge to the constitutional validity of the
act).

Numerous cases have construed the federal
Origination Clause; Minnesota courts likely
would follow these cases.

Federal courts have generally read the Origination
Clause narrowly, upholding acts that raise some
government revenues but that originated as bills in
the Senate. In fact, no act of Congress has been
invalidated for a violation of the Origination Clause.
(The Supreme Court explicitly reserved the issue of
whether it would invalidate acts for violations of the
clause in US. v. Munoz-Flores, 495 U.S. 385,
(1991).) The remainder of this Short Subject
describes rules under the Origination Clause derived
from federal cases and some limited cases from
other states. In construing the state constitution,
Minnesota courts are not bound by these federal
court decisions applying the federal constitution.
However, the decisions are persuasive authority; the
Minnesota courts would likely follow them. Some
state courts have taken a narrower view oftheir
origination clauses. Cases from other states are
likely to have less persuasive power than federal
decisions.



The Origination Clause applies to bills whose
principal purpose is to raise "taxes."

As noted above, the Minnesota Supreme Court
expressed this principle in dicta. Curryer v. Merrill,
25 Minn. 1, 8 (1878). Various federal cases have
reached similar holdings in rejecting challenges to
congressional acts. The decisions have held that the
following are not bills to raise revenues:

• Bills that raise revenues (including
taxes) but that have another principal
purpose such as establishing a program,
Twin Cities National Bank ofNew
Brighton v. Nebeker, 167 U.S. 1986
(1897)

• Bills that impose user fees or raise
other nontax revenues, Us. v. Munoz­
Flores, 495 U.S. 385 (1991) (did not
matter that bill raised more than necessary
to fund the program and the excess went
to the general treasury).

The Senate may amend a tax bill that originates in
the House. The federal courts have pennitted this,
even when the Senate amendments converted a
House bill that reduced taxes into a bill that raised
taxes. Wardell v. Us., 757 F.2d 203 (8th Cir. 1985).

Courts in other states have addressed other
Origination Clause issues.

State courts are split on whether bills that
authorize borrowing (e.g., issuing bonds) are bills
to raise revenues. Compare Fent v. Oklahoma
Capitol Improvement Authority, 984 P.2d 200 (Okla.

1999) (not revenue raising bill) and Kervick v.
Bontempo, 150 A.2d 34 (N.J. 1959) (same) with
Morgan v. Murray, 328 P.2d 644 (Mont. 1958) (bill
to raise revenues). The federal courts clearly would
not consider bonding authorizations to be bills to
raise revenues. It seems likely that Minnesota
courts would follow this rule. However, the
legislative tradition in Minnesota is to originate state
bonding bills in the House. The state's bond
counsel likely will insist on it as a condition for
issuing a "clean" bond opinion until there is clear
Minnesota judicial authority that it is not necessary.

State courts have generally held that bills
authorizing local governments to impose taxes are
also not bills to raise revenues, on the theory that the
limitation applies only to state taxes. See Yancey &
Yancey Construction Co., Inc. v. DeKalb County
Commission, 361 So.2d 4 (Ala. 1978); Opinion of
the Justices, 233 A.2d 59 (Dela. 1967). Thus, a bill
that increases levy limits or grants a local
government authority to impose a local sales tax
would likely not need to originate in the House.
Again, the Minnesota legislative practice has been
to originate these bills in the House.

In conclusion, only bills that have a primary
purpose of raising state revenues from taxes
clearly need to originate in the House. Minnesota
practices have been more conservative, however,
and have traditionally provided for state bonding
bills, bills authorizing local taxes, and bills imposing
fees in excess ofprogram costs to originate in the
House ofRepresentatives. This technique avoids
the possibility of constitutional challenges to the
acts.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057.
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Property Tax 101: Basic Terms and Concepts

Estimated market
value

Taxable and limited
market value

Net tax capacity,
class rate

Levy, levy limit

Local tax rate

Total local tax rate

Market value-based
levy and tax rate

Gross tax, property
tax credits, net tax

Property tax
computation

The assessor detennines each property's estimated market value based on sales
of comparable properties, cost of construction minus depreciation, income
generated by the property (if applicable), and other relevant available infonnation.

Estimated market value and taxable market value are the same for most types
ofproperty. However, for residential homestead and nonhomestead property,
agricultural property, and seasonal recreational property, the property's taxable
market value may be restricted to its limited market value, which is a statutory
limitation on the amount that the property's value can increase over the previous
year's value.

A property's net tax capacity is detennined by multiplying the property's taxable
market value by the relevant class rate or rates. Class rates are set by statute, vary
by property type, and are unifonn statewide.

Each local taxing jurisdiction certifies a levy equal to the amount of revenue it
desires to raise through the property tax in the upcoming year. For many local
taxing jurisdictions, the levy may be constrained by state-imposed levy limits.

The local tax rate of a taxing jurisdiction is detennined by dividing the
jurisdiction's levy by the total net tax capacity of all properties within the
jurisdiction.

The total local tax rate for an individual property is the sum of the local tax rates
of all taxing jurisdictions allowed to levy taxes upon the property.

Certain voter-approved levies must be levied against market value rather than net
tax capacity. The market value-based tax rate is detennined by dividing the
jurisdiction's market value-based levy by the total taxable market value of all
properties within the jurisdiction (excluding the value ofproperty classified as
agricultural or seasonal-recreational, since those property types are exempt from
market value-based taxes).

Property tax credits reduce the gross tax that would otherwise be due upon a
property. The remaining amount after subtraction ofproperty tax credits is the net
tax. The homestead credit and the agricultural credit are the two most common
property tax credits and are based on fonnulas related to the market value ofthe
property. Other property tax credits include the taconite homestead credit, the
disparity reduction credit, and the power line credit.

On the back is an example illustrating how the property tax is computed for a
hypothetical residential homestead.



Computation of Property Tax for a Hypothetical Property

1. Detennine the property's taxable market value $120,000

2. Detennine the class rate based on property type Residential homestead: 1.0%

3. Multiply taxable market value by class rate to obtain the net tax
$120,000 X 1.0% = $1,200

capacity

4. Detennine the total local tax rate by summing the tax rates of all County 50%
jurisdictions authorized to levy property taxes upon the property City/town 35
(i.e., jurisdictions whose boundaries include the property) School district 25

Special districts -2
Total 115%

5. Multiply net tax capacity by total tax rate to detennine the net tax
$1,200 X 115% = $1,380

capacity-based portion of the gross tax

6. Detennine the total market value tax rate by summing the market County 0.0%
value tax rate for all taxing jurisdictions authorized to levy City/town 0.0
property taxes upon the property School district 0.1

Special districts 0.0
Total 0.1%

7. Multiply taxable market value by total market value tax rate to
$120,000 X 0.1 % = $120

detennine the market value-based portion of the gross tax

8. Add the net tax capacity-based gross tax to market value-based
$1,380 + $120 = $1,500

gross tax to obtain the total gross tax

9. Detennine the homestead credit amount for home of this value $264

10. Subtract the homestead credit from the gross tax to obtain the net $1,500 - $264 = $1,236
tax

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at 651­
296-8959.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Property Tax 101 - Property Tax Administration

Who does what?

Property tax
timeline

Appealprocess

Counties are responsible for property tax administration; the Department of
Revenue provides assistance and oversight. The list below shows each county
office's responsibilities for property tax administration. In some counties these
offices are merged and one or two offices may perform the functions.

Assessor
• values property;
• determines proper classification; and
• sends valuation notices to taxpayers.

Auditor
• determines each taxing jurisdiction's total tax capacity (i.e., its tax base);
• calculates proposed and final tax rates; and
• prepares Truth in Taxation notices (based on proposed levies).

Treasurer
• prepares and mails out property tax statements;
• collects property tax payments; and
• distributes property tax receipts to each taxing jurisdiction.

The process ofcalculating, imposing, and collecting Minnesota property taxes for a
year actually spans two full calendar years. As shown on the reverse side, the two­
year cycle begins with the January 2 statutory assessment date and extends all the
way through the next calendar year until the property taxes have been paid. For
example, for taxes payable in 2002, the cycle begins on January 2,2001, and
doesn't end until the final payment is made in OctoberlNovember 2002.

If a property owner disagrees with the assessor's valuation (shown on the valuation
notice), the taxpayer can seek relief directly from the assessor. This may resolve
the matter, so that no further action is necessary. If it does not, there are two
separate avenues of appeal:

1. A three-step appeal process, consisting of an appeal to:
• the local board ofreview; if not satisfied may appeal to,
• the county board of equalization; if not satisfied, may appeal to,
• the Minnesota tax court.

2. A single-step appeal to the Minnesota tax court. There are two divisions:
• The regular division, which can be used for any property. Proceedings are

formal (an attorney is recommended), and the decision may be appealed to
the Minnesota Supreme Court; or

• The small claims division, which can be used only for homesteads and
other property where the market value is under $300,000. Proceedings are
less formal, and decisions are final.
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Property Tax System Timeline

Assessment Year 2001
Taxes Payable 2002

Assessment date (2nd)

Valuation notices mailed

Local boards of review

County board of equalization

Certification of state aid amounts

Truth-in-taxation levy certifications (15th,
30th)

Truth-in-taxation notices mailed

Truth-in-taxation hearings; final levy
certifications (27th)

County auditors compute tax rates

Tax statements mailed

1st half tax payments due (15th)

1st half state aid payments made (20th)

2nd half tax payments due - except agricultural
(15th)

2nd half tax payments due - agricultural (15th)

2nd half state aid payments made (26th)

Assessment Year 2002
Taxes Payable 2003

Assessment date (2nd)

Valuation notices mailed

Local boards of review

County board of equalization

Certification of state aid amounts

Truth-in-taxation levy certifications
(15th, 30th)

Truth-in-taxation notices mailed

Truth-in-taxation hearings; final levy
certifications (27th)

County auditors compute tax rates

Tax statements mailed

1st half tax payments due (15th)

1st half state aid payments made
(20th)

2nd half tax payments due - except
agricultural (15th)

2nd half tax payments due ­
agricultural (15th)

2nd half state aid payments made
(26th)

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Steve Hinze at 651­
296-8956.
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Property Tax 101: Property Tax Variation by Property Type

What causes
property taxes to
vary by type of
property?

The primary cause of variation in property tax burdens is Minnesota's classified
property tax system. In a classified system, each class ofproperty is assigned one
or more class rates. The property's taxable market value is multiplied by the class
rate(s) to determine the property's tax base, technically called its net tax capacity.

Besides the class rates, variations in tax by type ofproperty also occur because the
state general tax and certain voter-approved taxes apply to some types ofproperty
but not to others. The table below shows class rates and the applicability of taxes
by type ofproperty.

Class Rate Schedule for taxes payable in 2003

Agricultural homestead:
House, garage & 1 acre - same as residential homestead
Agricultural land & buildings:

Up to $600,000
Over $600,000

.cultural nonhomestead

4a Market-rate apartments (4 or more units) 1.50 No Yes
4bb Residential nonhomestead single unit:

Up to $500,000 1.00 No Yes
Over $500,000 1.25 No Yes

4b Residential nonhomestead 2-3 unit and undeveloped land 1.25 No Yes
4c Seasonal recreational residential (noncommercial):

Up to $500,000 1.00 Yes No
Over $500,000 1.25 Yes No

4d Low-income a artments 1.00 No Yes



What other factors
cause property taxes
to vary by type of
property?

What is effective tax
rate?

Variations also occur because certain types ofproperty qualify for property tax
credits that reduce the amount of tax that would otherwise be due. The two largest
credit programs are the homestead credit and the agricultural credit, which apply to
all residential homesteads and all agricultural homesteads. Other credits apply to
property in some areas of the state but not to others.

Local variation also occurs because tax rates are determined separately for each
taxing jurisdiction in the state, based on each jurisdiction's levy and tax base.

Effective tax rate is a measure of tax burden useful in making property tax
comparisons. It is defined as net tax divided by market value (i.e., tax as a percent
ofmarket value). It allows comparison of tax burdens between properties of
different values, different types, and different locations.

Comparison of Property Taxes on Various Types of Property,
within the same taxing jurisdiction, each with a market value of $120,000

(Property taxes payable in 2003)

Class Net Tax Property Tax** Effective
Property Type Rate(s) Capacity

Gross Net
Tax Rate

Agricultural homestead* 0.55/1.0% $795 $984 $594 0.50%

Agricultural nonhomestead 1.0 1,200 1,440 1,440 1.20

Residential homestead 1.0 1,200 1,560 1,296 1.08

Seasonal recreational residential (i.e., cabin) 1.0 1,200 1,842 1,842 1.54

Residential nonhomestead (1 unit) 1.0 1,200 1,560 1,560 1.30

Residential nonhomestead (2-3 units) 1.25 1,500 1,920 1,920 1.60

Apartment 1.5 1,800 2,280 2,280 1.90

Commercial/Industrial 1.5 1,800 3,252 3,252 2.71

Commercial/Industrial @ $1,200,000*** 1.5/2.0 23,250 41,655 41,655 3.47

*

**

***

The agricultural homestead is assumed to consist of a house valued at $30,000 and agricultural land and
buildings valued at $90,000.
These examples assume a total local net tax capacity tax rate of 120 percent, a state tax rate of 54 percent, and
a total market value tax rate of 0.1 percent.
This property has a market value of $1 ,200,000 to show a more typical effective tax rate on a
commercial/industrial property.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at 651­
296-8959.
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legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Property Tax 101: Who Pays Property Taxes and
Who Receives Them

Where property
taxes come from

Total property taxes statewide were $4,586 million for calendar year 2002. The
total amount ofproperty value (excluding the value of exempt property) was
$313,144 million. The graphs below show the breakdown of the state's total
property tax base by market value and by taxes paid.

Statewide Shares of Market Value and Property Tax
by Property Type

(taxes payable 2002)

Residential Homestead

Residential
Nonhomestead

Apartment

Commercial/Industrial

Public Utility

Agricultural

Seasonal Recreational

Estimated Market Value

14.3%

13.2%

Total: $313,144 million

58.9%

Property Tax

6.0%

Total: $4,586 million

40.7%



Where property
taxes go

County 33.3%

The total property tax burden in Minnesota was $4,586 million for calendar year
2002. The pie chart below shows the distribution of the tax among the various
types of taxing jurisdictions.

Statewide Property Tax by Type of Government,*
Taxes Payable 2002

(Total: $4,586 million)

City 26.3%
(includes tax increment financing [TIF])

Town 2.7%

Special Taxing District 3.4%

*Amounts shown are after allocation of property tax credits.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at 651­
296-8959.
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Property Tax Abatements for Economic Development

What is economic
development
property tax
abatement?

For what purposes
may abatements be
used?

Which local
governments can
grant abatements?

How long does an
abatement apply?

Minnesota law authorizes political subdivisions to grant property tax abatements
for economic development, e.g., to encourage a business to locate or expand at a
location or to redevelop an area. Minn. Stat. §§ 469.1813-469.1815 (2002).
Abatements may be either permanent forgiveness or temporary deferral of
property tax. Abatements can serve similar purposes to tax increment financing
(TIF), a widely used development tool. The legislature enacted the abatement
law in 1997 to provide an alternative to TIF and to supplement it.

These economic development tax abatements should be distinguished from
property tax abatements that are granted by the county board primarily to correct
errors (e.g., because the assessor's market value is too high or the classification
is incorrect). Minn. Stat. § 375.192 (2002).

The law allows abatements to be used for a broad range ofprojects and
purposes, if the political subdivision finds that public benefits exceed the costs.
Permitted uses of abatements include:

• General economic development, such as increasing the tax base or the
number ofjobs in the area

• Construction ofpublic facilities or infrastructure (e.g., streets and roads),
but not for many government buildings (e.g., city halls or schools) or
social and recreational facilities

• Redevelopment ofblighted areas
• Providing access to services for residents (e.g., housing or retail would

be common examples)
• Deferring or phasing-ina large (over 50 percent) property tax increase

Counties, cities, towns, and school districts may grant abatements ofthe taxes
they impose. The governing body grants an abatement by resolution. For
towns, action at the town meeting is not required. Taxes imposed by special
taxing districts (e.g., watersheds or regional agencies) cannot be abated.
Similarly, the state general property tax (on commercial/industrial and seasonal­
recreational properties) cannot be abated. In the Twin Cities metrbpolitan area
and on the Iron Range, the fiscal disparities tax cannot be explicitly abated.
However, a political subdivision may increase its abatement amount to reflect
the amount of the tax imposed under fiscal disparities. The abatement does not
directly enter into the fiscal disparities calculations.

The political subdivision sets the length ofthe abatement. State law limits the
duration to 10 years. The maximum term is extended:

• To 15 years if only two of the three political subdivisions (city/town,
county, and school district) grant an abatement



How do the
mechanics of
abatement work?

May abatements be
used to pay bonds?

How do abatements
compare with TIF?

How widely has
abatement been
used?

• To 20 years ifthe abatement is provided to a "qualified business"
(defined as manufacturing, agricultural processing, mining, research and
development, warehousing, and high technology businesses)

The abatement resolution, approved by the political subdivision, specifies the
duration and the amount ofproperty taxes that will be abated. The political
subdivision has considerable flexibility in setting the terms of the abatement; for
example, it may set the abatement as a percentage of tax payable, a dollar
amount, tax attributable to a portion of the parcel's market value, or in other
ways. The local government adds the abatement to its property tax levy for the
year. (The abatement levy is not subject to levy limits.) The owner pays
property tax on a parcel and the political subdivision uses the payments as
provided by the abatement resolution. For example, the abatement may be used
to pay bonds or be given back to the property owner.

The abatement law authorizes the issuance ofbonds to be paid back with the
abatements. For example, bonds could be issued to construct public
improvements or to pay for a site for a business. As the property owner pays the
abated taxes, they are directed to payoff the bonds. These bonds can be general
obligation bonds or revenue bonds. The abatement bond provisions parallel
those in the TIF law: the abatement bonds are not subject to referendum
approval and are excluded from debt limits.

The legislature designed the abatement law to provide an alternative to and to
supplement TIF. The two programs can be used for similar purposes and both
rely upon property tax funding. Both programs have very similar bonding
powers. However, abatement and TIF differ in many important respects. Some
these differences include:

• TIF can be used for longer durations (up to 25 years in some cases)
than abatements (typically 10 years).

• TIF requires approval only by the municipality (usually the city) to
capture all local property taxes, while abatement requires each
city/town, county, and school to approve to capture its taxes.

• TIF use is subject to many more legal restrictions than abatement.
These include a blight test for redevelopment districts, but-for
findings, limits on what increments may be spent on, and so forth.
Abatement is more flexible.

The abatement law does not require reporting of abatements to the state.
Property tax data reported to the Department ofRevenue shows 127 abatements
of $3.3 million of taxes for property taxes payable in 2002. These amounts do
not include abatements by cities with populations under 2,500 and by school
districts. . '.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057 or Karen Baker at 651­
296-8959. Also see the House Research publication Tax Increment Financing, October 2002.
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What is the
renter's property
tax refund
program?

Renter's Property Tax Refund Program

The renter property tax refund program (sometimes called the "renters' credit") is
a state-paid refund that provides tax relief to renters whose rent and "implicit
property taxes" are high relative to their incomes. "Rent constituting property
taxes" is assumed to equal 19 percent of rent paid. If that rent constituting
property tax exceeds a threshold percentage of income, the refund equals a
percentage of the tax over the threshold, up to a maximum amount. As income
increases, the:

• threshold percentage increases;
• portion of tax over the threshold that the taxpayer must pay increases; and
• maximum refund decreases.

What are the
maximums?

What is the
average refund and
total amount paid?

How are claims
filed?

The program uses household income, a broad measure that includes most types
of income. Deductions are allowed for dependents and for claimants who are
over age 65 or disabled.

For refund claims filed in 2003, based on rent paid in 2002 and 2002 household
income, the maximum refund is $1,250. Renters whose income exceeds $44,000
are not eligible for refunds.

2001 Statewide Renter Property Tax Refunds
Filed in 2001 (based on 2000 incomes and payable 2000 taxes)

Number of returns Total amount Average per return

Under 65 years old 197,645 $83.2 million $421

Senior/disabled 74,609 $36.0 million $482

Total: all homeowners 272,254 $119.2 million $438

Refund claims are filed using Minnesota Department ofRevenue Schedule M­
IPR. Claims filed before August 15,2003, will be paid beginning in August
2003. The deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2003 is August
15,2004; taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. Forms
are available on-line at www.state.mn.us/ebranch/mdor/Olforms.html.

The table on the following page shows the refund amount for two example
families with different incomes-a married couple without dependents in the
metro area, and a married couple without dependents in greater Minnesota (a
single person living alone would qualify for the same refund amounts).



How do refunds
vary depending
upon the filer's
income and rent
constituting
property taxes?

Although the property tax refund threshold, copayment rates, and maximum
refund amounts are the same statewide, the average rent is higher in the metro
area than in greater Minnesota. The metro area family paid monthly rent in 2002
of $713, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom apartment in the metro area.
(19% of$713 x 12 = $1,626, which is their property tax.) The greater Minnesota
family paid monthly rent in 2002 of $346, the fair market rent for a one-bedroom
apartment in many greater Minnesota counties. (19% of $346 x 12 = $789,
which is their property tax.) Taxpayers who are over age 65, disabled, or have
dependents are allowed a subtraction from income in determining the refund.

Married couple both under age 65, no dependents

Metro area Greater Minnesota

Taxpayer #1 Taxpayer #2 Taxpayer #3 Taxpayer #4

1 Gross income $15,000 $30,000 $15,000 $30,000

2 Deduction for
dependents 0 0 0 0

3 Household income
(1- 2 = 3) 15,000 30,000 15,000 30,000

4 Rent constituting
property tax 1,626 1,626 789 789

5 Statutory threshold
percentage 1.5% 2.8% 1.5% 2.8%

6 Threshold % x
income (3 x 5 = 6) 225 840 225 840

7 Property tax over
threshold (4 - 6 = 7) 1,401 786 564 0

8 Copay percentage 20% 35% 20% 35%

9 Taxpayer copay
amount (7 x 8 = 9) 280 275 113 NA

10 Remaining tax over
threshold
(7 - 9 = 10) 1,121 511 451 NA

11 Maximum refund
allowed 1,250 760 1,250 760

12 Net property tax
refund $1,121 $511 $ 451 $ 0

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Nina Manzi at 651-296-5204 or Karen Baker at 651-296­
8959.
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Purpose ofRevenue
Recapture

Agencies permiUed
to use Revenue
Recapture

Debts subject to
recapture

Types ofrefunds
subject to recapture

Notice and other
procedures

Revenue Recapture Program

Revenue Recapture authorizes the Department of Revenue (DOR) to intercept or
offset part or all of a state tax refund or other payment to collect a debt that the
taxpayer owes to a government agency or other authorized creditor.

The following agencies may use the Revenue Recapture program:
• State agencies
• University ofMinnesota
• Minnesota district courts
• Counties
• Cities for public ambulance service and public library debts
• Governmentally owned hospitals and Regions Hospital
• Agencies responsible for child support enforcement
• Agencies that administer low-income housing programs

The debt (minimum amount of $25) must be owed to or collectable by one of the
qualifying governmental agencies. The debtor must be an individual; the law
does not apply to corporations. The creditor does not need to obtain a court
judgment or order to enforce the debt. Qualifying debts include:

• Unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties
• Contractual or statutory obligations
• Criminal fines
• Court-ordered restitution for a crime
• Child support obligations
• Overpayment ofpublic assistance
• Unpaid MinnesotaCare insurance premiums

Obligations oflow-income individuals (incomes between $8,800 and $16,630 in
2001, depending upon family size) to repay Medical Assistance cannot be
recaptured. Debts barred by the statute of limitations also cannot be recaptured.

Revenue Recapture applies to:
• Individual income tax refunds
• Property tax refunds
• Sales tax rebates
• Sustainable forest tax payments
• Lottery prizes

Under Revenue Recapture, a claimant (creditor) agency submits the claim (debt)
to DOR for offset. Within five days after doing so, it must notify the debtor­
taxpayer in writing ofthe debt(s) that will be subject to Revenue Recapture. The
taxpayer, then, has 45 days to request a contested case hearing under the
Administrative Procedures Act. The claimant agency conducts the hearing.



Revenue Recapture Amounts
CY1997-2002

Number of Amount of
Taxpayers Recapture

1997 110,746 $27,728,038
1998 136,726 37,255,523
1999 270,466 81,543,352
2000 280,766 62,907,645
2001 300,093 70,471,518
Excludes amounts offset on behalf of the
IRS to satisfy debts for taxes owed to the
federal government.
Source: DOR

Priorities among
types ofdebts

Administrative costs

Amount ofrefunds
recaptured and
types ofdebts
satisfied

When more than one debt is submitted, the debts are applied in the following
order of priority:

• DOR accounts receivable (e.g., unpaid taxes, interest, and penalties)
• Child support obligations
• Restitution obligations
• Other debts based on the order in which DOR received the claims

In order to use Revenue Recapture, the creditor (government agency) must pay a
fee of $1 0 per claim that is deducted from the amount recaptured. Ofthis $10,
$2.85 is set-aside in a dedicated, revolving fund to pay DOR's cost of operating
the program; the rest goes to the state's general fund.

The table to the right shows the
number of taxpayers subject to
Revenue Recapture and amount of
refunds offset by category for calendar
years 1997 to 2001. The number of
taxpayers increased significantly in
1999 to 2001 with the payment of
sales tax rebates. The rebates
generated tax refunds for many
individuals who normally do not
receive refunds. With the end of
rebates, calendar year 2002 Revenue
Recapture amounts will likely decline
significantly.

The graph shows the percentage ofRevenue Recapture amounts for calendar
years 1997 to 2001 by the four major types of debts for which the law sets
priorities.

Restitution
2%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057 or Nina Manzi at 651­
296-5204.
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Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program

What is the Senior
Citizens Property
Tax Deferral
Program?

How does it work?

Who qualifies?

The Senior Citizens Property Tax Deferral Program allows property taxpayers who
are 65 years or older, and whose total household income is $60,000 or less, to defer
a portion of their homestead property taxes until some later time. It allows senior
citizens whose property taxes are high relative to their incomes, but who wish to
stay in their homes, an option for paying their property taxes.

Regardless ofhow high the tax is on the homestead, the taxpayer initially pays
only 3 percent ofhis or her household income. The state pays any amount over 3
percent, which is the "deferred tax," to the county in which the home is located. A
lien attaches to the property. The deferred tax is a loan; interest is calculated at the
rate on unpaid state taxes (a floating rate), but cannot exceed 5 percent. Before the
owner can transfer the title of the property, the deferred tax plus interest must be
repaid.

For example, John and Mary Jones own a home; its total property tax is $1,400.
They have a total household income of $30,000. Under this program, they must
pay $900 in tax (3 percent of $30,000); the remaining $500 ($1,400 minus $900) is
deferred.

In order to qualify for the program, all of the following criteria must be met:

• Property must be owned and occupied as a homestead by a person 65
years of age or older (If married, both must be 65 years old);

• Total household income must be $60,000 or less for the calendar year
preceding the year of the initial application;

• Home must have been owned and occupied as the homestead of at least
one of the homeowners for at least 15 years before the initial application;

• There must be no state or federal tax liens or judgment liens on the
property;

• The total unpaid balances of debts secured by mortgages and other liens
on the property, including deferred tax and interest amounts under the
program, unpaid and delinquent special assessments and property taxes,
penalties and interest (but excluding the current year's property taxes), do
not exceed 75 percent of the assessor's estimated market value for the
current year.



Does the taxpayer
need to annually
reapply?

Can the taxpayer
still file for
refunds?

When does it
terminate?

How does this
program differ from
a reverse mortgage?

Where does a
taxpayer apply for
the program?

No, once a taxpayer is enrolled in the program, annual applications are not
required. However, if household income exceeds $60,000 in any calendar year, the
owner must notify the Department ofRevenue. No further property taxes may be
deferred until income falls below the $60,000 threshold. However, enrollment will
not be terminated from the program, and can remain until the owner's income falls
below the $60,000 threshold, at which point the owner must notify the state so the
deferral can begin again.

Yes, a taxpayer is still allowed to file for the property tax refund and any other
property rebates that the state may offer. However, no direct cash payments will
be made to the taxpayer. Rather, the amount ofthe refund will be applied to the
total amount of the deferred property tax on the taxpayer's home. The property tax
refund is calculated on the full tax amount.

The deferral terminates when anyone of the following events occurs:

• the property is sold;

• the qualifying homeowner dies;

• the homeowner notifies the Commissioner ofRevenue, in writing, of intent
to withdraw from the program; or

• the property no longer qualifies as a homestead.

A reverse mortgage loan is a loan arrangement with a lender, secured by a
mortgage (lien), where the homeowner receives a monthly payment from the
lender. The total dollar amount is established at the beginning of the arrangement.
The full amount, plus interest, is due when the home is sold. The lender charges
closing costs, which can be substantial.

The senior deferral program also constitutes a lien on the property, but the
homeowner does not need to guess "up-front" how many dollars are needed.
Rather any tax amount over 3 percent of income is automatically deferred.
Interest, not to exceed 5 percent, is charged on the deferred tax as it is
accumulated.

Applications are available in the county auditor's office or may be obtained from
the Department ofRevenue's web site at
www.taxes.state.mn.us/proptax/forms/programs.html.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Steve Hinze at 651­
296-8956.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is targeting?

Who qualifies?

How does targeting
work?

Targeting Property Tax Refund

The "additional property tax refund," generally referred to as "targeting," directs
property tax relief to homeowners who have large property tax increases from one
year to the next.

A homeowner qualifies if the property tax on the home has increased by more than
12 percent over the previous year's tax, and if the increase is over $100.

The homeowner must have owned and lived in the same home for both years. If
any improvements were made to the home, that portion ofthe tax increase
resulting from the improvements must be subtracted when determining the refund.

The refund equals 60 percent of the increase over the greater of (1) 12 percent or
(2) $100. The maximum refund is $1,000. The following example shows how the
refund is calculated.

Payable 2002 Property Tax
Payable 2003 Property Tax

Tax increase - 2003 compared to 2002
Taxpayer pays 1st 12% or $100 of increase (12% x 1,400)
Remaining increase eligible for relief ($600 - $168 = $432)

State pays 60% of excess over 12% increase up to a $1,000 maximum
(60% x $432 = 259)

Amount of2003 increase paid by taxpayer ($600 - $259)

$1,400
2,000

$600
168
432

$259

$341

Does targeting have
any other
restrictions?

The taxpayer's $600 increase (i.e., 42.9 percent) is reduced to an out-of-pocket
property tax increase of$341 (i.e., 24.4 percent) as a result of the $259 refund.

The taxpayer pays the full $2,000 amount ofthe 2003 property tax to the county,
the first half in May and the second half in October. The taxpayer applies to the
state for a targeting refund, which is paid in September 2003 at the same time the
regular homeowner property tax refund ("circuit breaker") is paid.

No, unlike the regular property tax refund, the targeting refund is not tied to the
taxpayer's household income. Under the regular homeowner property tax refund,
the taxpayer's household income may not exceed a specified maximum and the
amount ofhousehold income affects the amount ofthe refund.



Is targeting a new
program?

What are statewide
amounts?

However, the targeting refund does not use income as a factor, nor is there any
limitation on the taxpayer's household income. Therefore, many higher income
taxpayers who do not qualify for the regular property tax refund due to income
restrictions are eligible for the targeting refund.

No, the first targeting program was enacted in 1980. With the exception of a few
years in the 1980s, the program has been in effect for over 20 years, although
miscellaneous changes have been made to the program during that time.

The amounts paid out for the targeting program have been very low in recent years,
with total refunds equaling $1.7 million in 2001. The table below shows the
statewide amount, with a breakdown for the metro and the 80 nonmetro counties
for the past five years.

d ). thR f d 1997 2001 (d IIT ar~etIn2 e un s, - oars In ousan s
Filed 1997 Filed 1998 Filed 1999 Filed 2000 Filed 2001

Total Metro $1,549 $449 $663 $594 $804
Total Nonmetro $2,263 $974 $974 $725 $898
State $3,881 $1,424 $1,637 $1,320 $1,702

How are claims
filed?

Due to various property tax relief and reforms made by the state, homeowners'
taxes have not generally increased significantly in past years. In addition, some
taxpayers may not be aware of the targeting program, resulting in lower total
refunds statewide than would be the case if the program were more widely known.

Refund claims are filed using the Minnesota Department ofRevenue Schedule M­
1PR, the property tax refund form. There is a separate schedule on the back of the
M-1PR ("Schedule 1 - Special Refund") for the targeting program. The taxpayer
files for this refund after receiving their property tax statement in January. Claims
filed before August 15,2003, will be paid beginning in late September 2003. The
deadline for filing claims based on taxes payable in 2003 is August 14,2004;
taxpayers filing claims after that date will not receive a refund. Forms are
available on-line at www.state.mn.us/ebranch/mdor/01forms.html.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Karen Baker at 651-296-8959 or Nina Manzi at 651­
296-5204. Also see the House Research Short Subject Homeowner's Property Tax Refund Program,
October 2002.
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Taxation and Equal Protection

Both the United States and Minnesota Constitutions
prohibit the legislature and state government
generally from denying persons the equal protection
of the law. The 14th amendment of the United States
Constitution provides:

No state shall * * * deny to any person
within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws. Art. XIV, § 1.

The Minnesota Constitution contains both a general
equal protection clause and a clause requiring
uniformity of taxation. Minn. Const. art. I, § 2
(general); art. X, § 1 (uniformity clause).

Most tax laws are subject to "rational basis"
review under the Equal Protection Clause; to be
constitutional they must simply have a rational
relationship to a legitimate legislative purpose.

The Equal Protection Clause was initially adopted
primarily to limit or prohibit racial discrimination by
the states. The courts have also applied it to
proscribe other forms of invidious discrimination
(e.g., based on religion, ethnicity, etc.). However,
legislation often necessarily involves
"discrimination" in the broader sense that groups of
individuals or businesses are treated differently based
on particular characteristics (e.g., amounts of income,
type of business, uses of property, etc.) that in the
abstract are unobjectionable. The clause was not
intended to restrict legislation that imposed different
tax or regulatory rules, for example, on retailers than
on manufacturers. Thus, the U.S. Supreme Court has
developed a stricter standard of review for laws that
create "suspect classifications" or deprive someone
of a "fundamental right" as a compared with more
l"')enign legislative classifications. The lines between
the two categories (perhaps inevitably) blur at the

edges. At times the Court has explicitly talked
about a middle level of review.

• Strict scrutiny applies to "suspect
classifications" (such as race or religion) or
to denial of fundamental rights (such as the
right to vote). The classification is
constitutional only if there is a compelling
reason for using the classification. If strict
scrutiny applies, in most circumstances the
classification will be unconstitutional.

• A rational basis test applies to economic
regulation not involving suspect
classifications and, thus, to most of the
classifications involved in the tax laws. In
general, a classification has a rational basis
and is constitutional, if it reasonably related
to or has some rational relationship to the
objective the legislature sought to achieve.
The rational basis test gives the legislature
considerable flexibility in creating
classifications.

Very few tax statutes have been struck down under
the Equal Protection Clause. The U.S. Supreme
Court has generally given states wide latitude to
fashion tax classifications, perhaps more than in any
other area of law. See San Antonio Independent
School District v. Rodriquez, 411 U.S. 1,41 (1973),
where the Court noted: "[T]hat in taxation, ,even
more than in other fields, legislatures possess the
greatest freedom in classification."

Nevertheless, the U.S. Supreme Court has struck
down a number of state tax statutes on equal
protection grounds. Many (probably most) of these
statutes have involved laws that discriminated
against nonresidents or out-of-state businesses.



Some examples include:

• Imposing a higher state insurance premium
tax on out-of-state insurance companies,
Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Ward, 470
U.S. 869 (1985);

• Paying rebates to residents, graduated based
on how many years they had lived in-state,
Zobel v. Williams, 457 U.S. 55 (1982);

• Local assessment practice that raised tax
valuations to the amount of the sales price but
otherwise assessed properties at a fraction of
market value, Allegheny Pittsburgh Coal Co
v. County Commission of Webster County,
488 U.S. 336 (1989). Compare Nordlinger v.
Hahn, 505 U.S. 1 (1992) (statute that applied
a similar rule did not violate equal
protection).

The Minnesota Supreme Court has held that the
Uniformity Clause of the Minnesota Constitution
is no more restrictive than the Equal Protection
Clause.

Although the Minnesota Constitution contains a
specific clause that requires taxes to be "uniform
upon the same class of subject[,]" the Minnesota
courts have held repeatedly that this clause is no
more restrictive than the Equal Protection Clause.
Reed v. Bjornson, 253 N.W.2d 102,105 (upholding
the graduated individual income tax) appears to be
the first case to establish this rule. The meaning of
the Uniformity Clause remains a matter of state law
and, thus, a change in the interpretation of the Equal
Protection Clause by the U.S. Supreme Court should
not be thought to "automatically" change the
meaning of the Uniformity Clause. However, the
Minnesota courts have fairly consistently followed
federal interpretations of the Equal Protection Clause,
since Reed v. Bjornson.

The Minnesota Supreme Court has set out a
three-part test to determine if a tax classification
satisfies the Uniformity Clause. Miller Brewing
Co. v. State, 284 N.W.2d 353, 356 (1979). Under
this test, the classification must:

• Not be "manifestly arbitrary or fanciful but
must be genuine and substantial";

• Be "genuine or relevant to the purpose of the
law"; and

• The purpose of the statute must be one that
the state can legitimately attempt to achieve.

The Minnesota. courts have generally been very
deferential to legislative tax classifications. In fact,
the Minnesota Supreme Court has not struck down a
tax statute for violating the Uniformity Clause in the
last two decades. Some examples of laws upheld
include:

• The limited market value law that taxes
otherwise identical properties at different
rates based upon how rapidly their values are
increasing, Matter ofMcCannel, 301
N.W.2d 190 (Minn. 1980);

• Combined gross receipts gambling tax that
imposes a higher tax rate on organizations
with more total gross receipts from gambling
activities, Brainerd Area Civic Center v.
Commissioner ofRevenue, 499 N.W.2d 468
(Minn. 1993);

• Contamination tax imposing higher property
tax rates on polluted property, depending
upon whether the owner was a responsible
party and whether the owner had entered a
response plan, Westling v. County ofMille
Lacs, 518 N.W.2d 815 (Minn. 1998).

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication Constitutional Restrictions on Taxation ofNonresidents, September 2002.
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What is the fiscal
disparities
program?

What purposes do
fiscal disparities
serve?

How does thefiscal
disparities program
work?

The Fiscal Disparities Program:
Commercial-Industrial Tax Base Sharing

The fiscal disparities program is a system for the partial sharing of commercial­
industrial (C/I) property tax base among all jurisdictions within a geographic area.
In Minnesota, two programs are used: the primary one was created in 1971 and
operates in the seven counties of the Twin Cities metropolitan area; a smaller­
scaled version was created in 1995 and operates on the Iron Range in northern
Minnesota.

Three main objectives have been cited for commercial-industrial tax base sharing:

• Support for a regional approach to development. Tax-base sharing spreads
the fiscal benefit of business development spawned by regional facilities
such as shopping centers, airports, freeway interchanges, and sports
stadiums. It also may make communities more willing to accept low-tax­
yield regional facilities such as parks.

• Equalization in the distribution offiscal resources. Communities with low
tax bases must impose higher tax rates to deliver the same services as
communities with higher tax bases. These high tax rates make poor
communities less attractive places for businesses to locate or expand in,
exacerbating the problem. Sharing CII tax base can reduce this effect.

• Reduction in competition for commercial-industrial development.
Communities generally believe that some kinds of CII properties pay more
in taxes than it costs to provide services to them. This encourages
communities to compete for these properties by providing tax concessions
or extra services, which can weaken their fiscal condition. Tax base
sharing reduces the incentive for this competition.

Contributions to the areawide tax base. Each taxing jurisdiction contributes 40
percent of the growth in its CII tax base since the year of enactment to an abstract
entity called the "areawide tax base." The contribution value is not available for
taxation by the jurisdictions where the property is located.



How has the
metropolitan area
program grown?

How much do fiscal
disparities affect tax
burdens?

What about the
Iron Range
Program?

Distributions from the areawide tax base. Each municipality receives a share of
the areawide tax base through a formula based on its share of the area's population
and its relative property tax wealth (tax base per capita). The municipality is
allowed to tax this distribution value at the same rate as the tax rate paid by its
residents. All taxing jurisdictions whose boundaries encompass the municipality
are also allowed to tax the municipality's distribution value (i.e., counties, school
districts, and special taxing districts).

Calculating the property tax for each commercial-industrial property. The
property tax statement for each CII property has a local portion and an areawide
portion, based on the relative amount of the tax base that is contributed versus the
relative amount that is retained for the municipality where the property is located.

In the first year of implementation (1975), the areawide tax base included 6.7
percent of the total metro CII tax base, and 2.1 percent of the total metro tax base.
For 2002, the areawide tax base was 30.2 percent ofthe total metro CII base, and
10.1 percent of the total metro tax base.

A House Research study based on taxes payable in 2000 found that the average
homestead tax in St. Paul, which is one of the largest net beneficiaries of the
program, was 12.9 percent lower because of fiscal disparities. The study also
found that the average homestead tax in Eden Prairie, which is one of the largest
net contributors, was 4.8 percent higher. Homestead effects throughout the area
varied between these extremes.

For commercial-industrial properties, average taxes were 11.5 percent lower in St.
Paul due to fiscal disparities and 10.4 percent higher in Bloomington, another
suburban city that is a large net contributor. Commercial-industrial properties
elsewhere in the metro area fall in line between these extremes.

The study looked only at the direct effect of fiscal disparities, i.e., the redistribution
of tax base, and made no attempt to factor in alternative development patterns that
might have occurred without fiscal disparities.

Tax effects of the Iron Range fiscal disparities program are much smaller in
magnitude since the percentage of tax base being contributed is so low due to the
relative infancy of the program.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Steve Hinze at 651-296-8956 or Karen Baker at 651­
296-8959. Also see the House Research publication Minnesota's Fiscal Disparities Programs: Twin Cities
Area and Iron Range, February 2000.
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The Minnesota Estate Tax

Exemption Amount and Tax Rates

Tax rates. The tax rates range from
4.8% to 16%. The top rate applies to the
amount of the taxable estate over
$10,040,000.

Because transfers to surviving spouses
are exempt, a $1 million exemption
allows a married couple with a joint net
worth of less than $2 million to avoid the
tax

Exemption. The exemption amount is
$700,000 for individuals dying in 2002­
03, but is scheduled to increase to:
• $850,000 for 2004
• $950,000 for 2005
• $1,000,000 for 2006 and later

Minnesota imposes a tax on the estates of individuals who are residents of the
state when they die or who own real property in Minnesota on their deaths. The
tax is imposed under a graduated rate
schedule on the taxable estate. The
taxable estate is generally the fair
market value of the estate on the day
the decedent died, less deductions (e.g.,
transfers to a surviving spouse and
charitable bequests) and an exemption
amount. See the box to the right for the
exemption and rate amounts.

The rules under the estate tax are
determined largely by reference to the
rules under the similar federal estate
tax. For the 16 years ending December
31,2001, the Minnesota estate tax was
directly linked to the federal tax as a
"pick-up" or "soak-up" tax equal to the
credit allowed under federal estate tax
for state death taxes. As a pick-up tax,
the Minnesota tax imposed no
additional tax burden on estates. For
each dollar of state tax paid, federal tax was reduced by an equal amount.
However, Congress repealed this credit in 2001, so that it will be completely
eliminated for decedents dying after December 31, 2004. In 2001, the
legislature chose to continue imposing the estate tax under the rules in effect
before Congress repealed the credit. As a result, the tax now is a stand-alone
estate tax and imposes a real tax burden on estates and their heirs.

The Minnesota tax
evolved as a
creature ofthe
federal estate tax

The estate tax
equals a percentage
ofthe taxable estate

Few estates pay the
tax; it is a
progressive source
ofrevenue

Fewer than 2 percent of estates pay the estate tax. The small number of estates
paying tax results from the exemption amount and the fact that amounts left t~
surviving spouses are deductible. The decedents with taxable estates are, almost
by definition, some ofthe most affluent individuals in the state. Most evidence
also suggests that recipients ofbequests from taxable estates also have above
average income and assets. Thus, the tax is a "progressive" source of revenue; it
rises as a percentage of income as income rises.



Source: Department of Finance

Estate Tax Revenues
FY 1998-2002

(millions)
$48.9

61.6
58.1
54.2
68.2

1998
1999
2000
2001
2002

All revenues from the tax are deposited in the
general fund. The Department of Finance
(February 2002 forecast) estimates that the tax
raises about $65 million per fiscal year. See
the box to the right for the last jive years of
actual collections. These revenues constitute
about 0.5 percent of general fund revenues or
0.55 percent of state tax revenues. Revenues
from the tax are very volatile, since they
depend on the deaths of a few individuals. If
one very wealthy individual dies, collections
can soar. For example in July 2002, the Department of Revenue received a
check from one estate for tax of $55 million (compared with estimated revenues
for the whole year of $65 million and total collections of $54.2 million in 2001).
In other years, revenues may fall quite a bit below estimates.

The estate tax
provides a modest,
but volatile, source
ofgeneral fund
revenue

Phase-out of State Death Tax Credit
Under the Federal Estate Tax

75%

50%

25%

No credit

Percentage allowed

2002

2003

2004

2005-2010

Calendar Year

The repeal of the federal credit creates an incentive for affluent, elderly
Minnesotans to consider changing their domiciles to a state without an estate
tax. When Minnesota imposed only a pick-up tax, the federal treasury paid the
effective burden of the tax. As a result, Minnesota residents had no reason to
change their domiciles to another state to avoid the Minnesota tax. However, in
2001 Congress eliminated the credit.
See the table to the right for the phase­
out schedule. Repeal of the credit
makes the state tax a "real" tax that.
reduces the amount of money and other
property that can be left to heirs.
Affluent individuals may be willing to
change their domiciles to avoid paying
potentially multi-million state estate tax
liabilities. The fact that many of these
individuals have second homes in states
that will not have stand-alone estate
taxes increases their ease of doing so.
(Alabama, Florida, and Nevada, for example, are prohibited by their state
constitutions from imposing a state tax that exceeds the federal credit; Texas has
taken no action to impose an estate tax and seems unlikely to do so.) Ifthese
individuals change their domiciles, they would also avoid the state income tax,
since most of these states (Florida, Nevada, and Texas, again) do not have
individual income taxes.

Repeal ofthe
federal credit
creates an incentive
for high net worth
Minnesota residents
to move to another
state

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Joel Michael at 651-296-5057. Also see the House
Research publication The Minnesota Estate Tax after the 2001 Federal Tax Act, March 2002.
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Most tangible goods
and some services
are subject to the
tax

Minnesota excludes
food, clothing, and
certain other
"necessities"from
the sales tax

Minnesota excludes
a number of
business purchases
from the sales tax

The Minnesota Sales Tax Base

The sales tax is a tax on final retail sales. Items purchased for resale (i.e., goods
bought by a retailer from a wholesaler) are exempt. In Minnesota the rule of
thumb is that tangible personal property is taxable unless specifically exempted
and services are not taxable unless specifically included. Intangible personal
property, such as stocks and bonds, are not subject to the sales tax. Real property
(i.e., land and buildings) and improvements to real property, such as home
remodeling, are also exempt from the sales tax.

Minnesota excludes both food for home consumption and clothing from the sales
tax base. Of the 45 states and the District of Columbia that impose a sales tax, 25
exempt food for home consumption while one taxes food for home consumption at
a reduced rate. Only four other states exempt clothing:

• Massachusetts
• New Jersey
• Pennsylvania
• Rhode Island

The rationale often given for exempting food and clothes from the sales tax base is
that these items are basic necessities. Other items that are excluded from the sales
tax base for the same reason include home heating fuels, prescription drugs, certain
medical devices, and caskets and funeral urns.

The other major types of tangible goods exempted from the sales tax are business
purchases. Minnesota excludes from the tax many items used directly in the
production of taxable goods and services. It also excludes capital equipment used
in manufacturing, machinery used in farming, and mining equipment. The
rationale for these exemptions is that ifboth the inputs and outputs of a good are
taxed, the result is tax "pyramiding" or double taxation. Items purchased by a
business but not used directly in production of the good or service, such as office
equipment and supplies, are still taxable.

Although many inputs to taxable goods and services are exempt, businesses that
provide nontaxable services, intangible property, and improvements to realty pay
taxes on their purchases since they are considered the final user ofthose items. For
example, a printer may buy paper exempt as an input to its taxable output but a law
firm will pay sales tax on the paper. Although there is no sales tax on home
remodeling, the contractor will pay sales tax on all the materials it buys to use in
the project. A little over 40 percent of sales taxes are paid by businesses.



Minnesota taxes a
limited number of
services

A shift to a service­
based economy is
eroding the sales
tax base

A move to remote
sales is also eroding
the sales tax base

Minnesota only taxes services specifically listed under the definition of a taxable
sale in statute (Minn. Stat. § 297A.61, subd. 3). The major taxable services include:

• lodging
• admission to places of amusement and recreation

• parking
• laundry and drycleaning
• motor vehicle washing, rustproofing, and towing
• building cleaning services
• detective and security services
• pet grooming, care, and boarding
• lawn, garden, and tree care, maintenance, and removal
• massage (except for medically provided or necessary massage)

When Minnesota enacted the sales tax in 1967, services accounted for about 40
percent of all personal consumption expenditures. By 1999, services made up
almost 60 percent ofpersonal consumption expenditures. Also, a number of goods
(i.e., music, video, greeting cards), which are taxable in tangible form, can now be
delivered to consumers in a nontaxable, intangible (digital) form. As long as
Minnesota continues to exempt most services and intangible (digital) goods from
the sales tax, the base will grow at a much slower rate than the economy as a
whole.

Another force eroding the sales tax base is the increasing amount of remote sales
through catalogs and over the Internet. The state cannot require a business to
collect the sales tax unless the business has a physical presence in this state (the
legal term is "nexus"). Although a purchaser owes a complementary use tax if the
sales tax is not collected by the seller, it is hard for the state to collect the use tax.
Estimates of business compliance with the use tax range from 50 to 95 percent
depending on the industry, type of product purchased, and the size ofthe business.
Virtually no use tax is collected from private consumers.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434. Also see the House
Research handout A Presentation on Recent Policy Trends: Sales and Use Tax, December 2000, and The
Internet and Minnesota Sales Tax Collections, pending.
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The Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP)

What is SSTP?

Which states are
participating in the
project?

How are decisions
made in SSTP?

The Streamlined Sales Tax Project (SSTP) is a voluntary effort by a number of
states to "simplify and modernize the sales and use tax administration in states in
order to substantially reduce the burden of sales tax administration for all sellers
and all types of commerce." The project was organized in March 2000 under the
auspices ofthe Federation of Tax Administrators, the National Conference of State
Legislatures, and the Association of Governors.

Minnesota is one of 34 out of45 states that impose a sales and use tax that are
voting participants in the project. The District of Columbia is also a voting
participant. To be a voting participant, a state must either pass enabling legislation
or their governor must issue an executive order authorizing participation.

SSTP Participation

Participating States
States with No State Sales Tax
Nonparticipating States

SSTP is divided into two groups-a project group and the Implementing States
Group. The project group consists of staff from tax agencies in the participating
states that develop recommendations for coordination and simplification related to
sales tax definitions, tax administration, and use oftechnology for sales tax
collection. Nonparticipating states may attend project meetings and participate in
discussions as observer states, however they may not vote on recommendations.

The states that are voting participants in SSTP also make up the Implementing
States Group. This is the group that votes to accept, reject, or modify the
recommendations proposed by SSTP. Provisions accepted by this group make up
the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.



Why is Minnesota
participating in
SSTP?

What will a
streamlined sales
tax system include?

How has
Minnesota's sales
tax law changed
due to SSTP?

Minnesota is a member of SSTP because it hopes that sales tax simplification
among the states will ultimately allow the state to collect sales tax on sales by
remote sellers. The state cannot require sellers to collect our sales tax unless they
have a physical presence in the state (the legal term is nexus). The reason for this
prohibition is that the duty to collect the tax is considered an undue burden on
interstate commerce. The most recent Supreme Court case dealing with this issue
is Quill v North Dakota in 1992.

The inability to require remote sellers to collect sales tax is an important issue in
the age of Internet commerce. A recent study by the University ofTennessee
estimated that Minnesota lost $270 million in sales tax revenue in 2001 due to
remote sales over the Internet.

The long-term goal of the project is to simplify state sales tax systems enough so
that either (1) Congress will pass legislation to require remote sellers to collect
sales tax for states that have simplified their systems; or (2) the federal courts will
overturn the Quill decision and determine that the simplification is sufficient to
remove the undue burden on interstate commerce.

The streamlined sales tax system developed by SSTP includes the following
features:

• uniform definitions for common terms such as sales price, food, prepared
food, and clothing;

• rate simplification;
• uniform sales tax bases within each state at the state and local level;
• uniform sourcing rules (i.e., where a sales occurs);
• simplified administration for use and entity-based exemptions;
• uniform audit procedures and joint audits for multi-state businesses; and
• third-party collection systems and other new technology models for sales

tax collection.

The project plans on finalizing the agreement that detalls the requirements of the
simplified system by the end of2002, although development of uniform definitions
will be an ongoing process.

In 2001, the state adopted the authorizing legislation to participate in SSTP (the
Uniform Sales and Use Tax Administration Act). At the same time it adopted the
streamlined sales tax system agreement provisions that were developed at that
point. It is one of only four states to take that step (the others are North Carolina,
Wyoming, and South Dakota). In 2002, the legislature made additional changes to
reflect agreement additions and modifications adopted by the Implementing States
since January 2001.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Pat Dalton at 651-296-7434. For further information on
the streamlined sales tax project visit the project web site at www.geocities.com/streamlined2000/.
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legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Electric Utility Property Taxation

Types ofelectric
utilities in
Minnesota

Investor-owned
(10Us)

Rural electric
association (co-ops)

Municipal utilities
(Munis)

Independent power
producers (IPPs)

There are four types of electric utilities in Minnesota: each is briefly discussed
below. In general, all are subject to property taxation, with the exceptions of
municipal utilities (who often make in lieu payments), most property owned by
distribution co-ops, and the personal property of electric generation facilities.

Investor-owned (IOUs) are private, for-profit corporations whose rates are
regulated by the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (PUC). There are five
IOUs that serve Minnesota. They generate, transmit, and distribute their own
electricity to their retail customers.

Rural electric associations (co-ops) are nonprofit organizations whose rates are
overseen by a board composed of co-op members. The two basic types are:

• Distribution cooperatives provide distribution electric service to
Minnesota consumers. There are 45 distribution co-ops. The distribution
co-ops pay a fee of IO cents per customer in lieu of the property tax on their
distribution lines located outside of incorporated areas. Substations and
any property within incorporated areas are subject to property tax.

• Generation and transmission cooperatives generate and transmit
electricity to distribution co-ops. There are six generation and transmission
cooperatives that serve Minnesota distribution co-ops.

Municipal utilities (Munis) are public, nonprofit utilities overseen by local public
utilities commissions or city councils. As with co-ops, there are two kinds of
municipal utilities.

• Distribution Munis provide distribution electric services to retail
customers. There are 126 distribution Munis in Minnesota.

• Municipal power agencies (MPAs) provide distribution Murris with
generation and transmission services. There are six MPAs.

Both distribution Murris and MPAs are generally exempt from property tax, but an
MPA pays in lieu payments to each taxing authority within whose taxing
jurisdiction its property is situated.

Independent power producers (IPPs) are nonutility power producers that
generate electricity solely for sale at wholesale (e.g., NRG). IPPs are generally
private corporations.



New generation
facilities personal
property tax exempt

What is the market
value and taxes of
the utilities?

Wind production
tax

In addition to the real property (lands and buildings) owned by a utility, a utility's
attached machinery and other personal property is taxable (i.e., transformers,
turbines, etc.) in Minnesota. However, since 1994, the legislature has passed 16
laws exempting new electric generation facilities from personal property taxation.
All facilities built in Minnesota since that date have had their attached machinery
and other personal property exempted from property tax.

Statewide Utility Market Value and Property Taxes
by Type of Property

Taxes Payable in 2002
(all figures in millions)

Type of Property Market Market Value % Net Tax Net Tax %
Value of Total Amount of Total

Amount

Land and buildings $645 10.0% $24.2 10.9%

Electric generation 1,546 24.1 41.5 18.7
machinery

Other machinery 1,126 17.5 40.7 18.4

Transmission lines 1,372 21.4 52.1 23.6

Distribution lines 172 2.7 6.7 3.0

Pipelines 1,558 24.3 56.0 25.3

Total $6,419 100.0% $221.2 100.0%
House Research Department

The 2002 Legislature replaced the property tax on wind energy conversion systems
installed after January 1, 1991, with a tax on the production of electricity from
these facilities. Rates of tax are based on the size of the system.

• A large-scale system (nameplate capacity ofmore than 12 megawatts) will
pay 0.12 cents per kilowatt-hour.

• A medium-scale system (nameplate capacity between two and 12
megawatts) will pay 0.036 cents per kilowatt-hour.

• A small-scale system (nameplate capacity of two megawatts or less) will
pay 0.012 cents per kilowatt-hour.

• Conversion systems (nameplate capacity of 0.25 megawatts or less) and
small-scale systems owned by a political subdivision are exempt from tax.

The revenues are distributed to the local governments in the same manner as
property taxes. The new tax is effective beginning in 2004.

For more information: Contact legislative analysts Karen Baker, 651-296-8959 or Mike Bull at 651-296­
8961. Also see the House Research publication Primer on Minnesota's Property Taxation ofElectric
Utilities, October 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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2002-03 Transportation Appropriation Bill

The transportation appropriation bill for the 2002-03 biennium appropriated over $3.5 billion, with most of
the money going for highways.

The appropriations
bill

The appropriation bill for transportation agencies for the 2002-03 biennium
totaled $3.575 billion. This amount was later reduced by $4.1 million in the
2002 budget balancing bill.

The money was appropriated for the Department of Transportation (MnDOT),
the Metropolitan Council's transit functions, and transportation-related activities
ofthe Department of Public Safety (DPS).

Highways predominate in the transportation appropriation bill, accounting for
about 90 percent of the spending by mode. Dedicated funds account for over 94
percent of the total spending, and of these, almost all are dedicated highway
funds. General fund spending in the bill amounts to less than 6 percent.

MnDOT receives about 90 percent of the money in the bill, with DPS receiving
about 6 percent, and transit operated or assisted by the Metropolitan Council
receiving the remainder.

2002-03 Appropriation by Mode

Aeronautics
1.2%

Transportation Modes

Highway: State highway construction, maintenance,
administration, law enforcement; state aid for county and
city streets and highways

Transit: Operating assistance for metropolitan and
Greater Minnesota transit systems

Aeronautics: State aeronautics activities; aid for local
airports

Carriers: Motor carriers, railroads, waterways, pipelines



2002-03 Appropriation by Fund
($000)

Trunk Hwy jiiii.iiiiJiii.iiiiijiin
Special Rev
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Highway User
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Airports

General

2002-03 Appropriation by Agency

Transportation Funds

Trunk Hwy: The state trunk highway fund for
construction, maintenance, and administration of
the II,OOO-mile state trunk highway system

Special Rev: The special revenue fund for fees
that pay for state services

MSAS: The municipal state-aid street fund to aid
state-aid street construction and maintenance in
cities over 5,000 population

Highway User: The state highway user tax
distribution fund (appropriations directly from this
fund go to pay cost of collection for vehicle license
taxes)

CSAH: The county state-aid highway fund for
county state-aid highway construction and
maintenance

Airports: The state airports fund used to support
state aeronautics activities and aid local airport
construction and maintenance

General: The state's general fund

Transportation Agencies

$4,000,000

$3,000,000

0'
g $2,000,000
e

$1,000,000

$0

MnDOT: State trunk highway construction,
maintenance, and administration; aeronautics;
greater Minnesota transit assistance; motor carrier
services; ports, railroads, and waterways; state aid
to local roads

Public Safety: State patrol; driver licensing;
vehicle registration; traffic safety; pipeline safetx

MnDOT Public
Safety

Metro
Council

Metro Council: Metro Transit; Metro Mobility;
assistance to opt-out systems and other metro area
transit systems

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office proViding legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Needs
50%

What is it?

How are highways
included in the
system?

How is itfinanced?

How is the money
divided?

County State-Aid System

The county state-aid highway (CSAH) system is a network of about 30,000
miles of highways owned by the counties. All 87 counties participate in the
system. Counties receive money from the county state-aid highway fund for the
construction, improvement, and maintenance of these highways.

Counties propose highways to the Minnesota Department of Transportation
(MnDOT) for inclusion in the system. The department makes the final decision
based on criteria in state rules. The criteria focus mainly on traffic levels,
functional classification, and a highway's role in connecting communities or
markets. There are about 30,000 total miles on the county state-aid system,
comprising about two-thirds of all county highway miles.

The CSAH system is financed by the County State-Aid Highway Fund, which is
established by the Minnesota Constitution to provide money to counties for
county state-aid highways. Counties now receive about 28 percent of all
highway user tax (gas tax and vehicle license tax) revenue. Money in the fund
is used for construction, improvement, and maintenance of county state-aid
highways.

Money in the county state-aid fund is allocated to the counties by a formula
provided in statute: Equal

10%

Vehicles
10%

• 10 percent is divided equally among all counties.
• 10 percent is divided among all counties according to their total of

registered motor vehicles.
• 30 percent is divided among all counties based on their total lane-miles

of state-aid highway.
• 50 percent is divided among all counties based on their money needs.

This is defined as the total amount each county needs in order to bring all
their state-aid highways up to state standards.



County State-Aid (CSA) System: Geographic Breakdown

Total eSA Mileage 2001

Metro
7%

Greater
MN
93%

Average Daily Traffic on eSA Roads
2001

MetroCD47% .•.:: O,••t" MN
53%

,..,

Distribution of eSA Dollars
2001

Metro
18%

Greater
MN
82%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5054. Also see the House
Research publication Highway Funds: Where They Come From, Where They Go, September 2002. For
information on the state-aid system for cities see Municipal State-Aid System, September 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Greater Minnesota Transit Financing

Minnesota gives operating assistance to numerous transit systems outside the metropolitan area, including
systems as large as Duluth and as small as circulating vans in rural counties.

Greater
Minnesota
transit
assistance

The Department of Transportation (MnDOT), through its Office of Transit, provides operating
assistance to some 75 transit systems around the state. Systems are put into one of four
categories:

Category Examples
Urbanized Duluth, Rochester, St. Cloud regular route systems
Small urban Brainerd, Mankato, Winona, Faribault, Cloquet systems
Rural Counties, smaller towns, Indian tribes, social service

agencies
Elderly/disabled Special services primarily for elderly and disabled in

Duluth, Rochester, Moorhead, St. Cloud

Each local system pays a fixed local share of its total operating costs, and the remainder not
covered by federal assistance is paid by the state.

State Share Fixed Local Share
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State
assistance

Ridership
and state
assistance

State operating assistance to greater Minnesota transit totals about $17 million in each year of the
2002-03 biennium.

The high per-rider cost of rural systems means that they receive a higher percentage of state
assistance in proportion to their total ridership.

Greater MN Transit Ridership 2000 State Assistance 2000

Small
Urban
11%

Urban
67%

E/D
2%

Small Urban
11%

Urban
40%

E/D
7%

Rural
42%

Funding
sources

State assistance and local sources are the main sources of operating funds for greater
Minnesota transit systems. Federal funding is a relatively small part ofthe picture.
"Local sources" includes both farebox revenue and local tax revenue.

Greater MN Transit Funding Sources 2000

Federal
10%

State
45%

Local
45%

Beginning in fiscal year 2003, local property taxes can no longer be used to pay any part
of the local share, and will be replaced by state funds from a dedication of 1.25 percent -of
revenues from the motor vehicle sales tax.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office BUilding I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Highway Funds
Where They Come From, Where They Go

MOTOR FUEL TAX VEHICLE LICENSE TAXES
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Where the money
comes from

Where the money
goes

The Minnesota Constitution dedicates two types of highway user taxes
exclusively to highway purposes.

The first is the state tax on motor fuel, currently 20¢ per gallon on both
gasoline and diesel fuel. Tax revenue from nonhighway use of these fuels is not
dedicated to highways, and this revenue is refunded or placed in special funds
for motorboat safety, snowmobile trails, etc.

The other is state license taxes on motor vehicles. Taxes on cars, light pickup
trucks, and vans are based on value, while taxes on trucks and buses are based
on weight and age.

State law (not the constitution) dedicates 32 percent of the revenue from the
motor vehicle sales tax to the HUTDF, to replace revenue lost when auto
license taxes were capped beginning in 2001.

By constitutional requirement highway user tax revenue goes into the highway
user tax distribution fund. Of the money in the HUTDF, 95 percent is
allocated to these three funds:

• 62 percent to the trunk highway fund for the construction,
maintenance, and administration of the 11,200 mile state trunk
highway system.

• 29 percent to the county state-aid highway fund allocated among
all 87 counties for construction and maintenance of 30,000 miles of
county state-aid highways.

• 9 percent to the municipal state-aid street fund, limited by
constitutional provision to cites with populations over 5,000.

The remaining 5 percent is not divided according to a constitutional formula,
but is allocated by law to the county state-aid fund. From there it is further
allocated:

• 30.5 percent to a fund for construction and repair of town roads.

• 16 percent to a fund to replace and repair town bridges.

• 53.5 percent to a flexible highway account that can be used for trunk
highway projects or for former trunk highways that have been turned
back to city or county jurisdiction.

The constitution allows the legislature to revise the allocation n'o more than once
every six years. The last change was made effective in 1998, so it cannot be
revised until 2004.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5054. Also see the
transportation area of the House Research web site: www.house.mn/hrcllissinfo/trans.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Metropolitan Transit Financing

In the Twin Cities metropolitan area public transit is operated or assisted by the Metropolitan Council,
relying heavily on funding from the state.

The Metropolitan
Council is the
region's primary
transit agency

The state is the
largest funding
sourcefor
metropolitan transit

Transit services provided or assisted by the Metropolitan Council include:

Metro Transit. The Twin Cities' regional regular-route bus system. The
council took over operation of the system when the Metropolitan Transit
Commission was abolished in 1994.
Metro Mobility. The demand-activated system that provides door-to-door
transportation for eligible disabled persons.
"Opt-out" Systems. Systems operated by one or more suburban
communities to replace Metro Transit service.
Community-based Transit. Rural and small-urban systems that receive
operating assistance from the council.

For many years the operating costs of Metro Transit and its predecessor systems
came mainly from a combination of farebox revenue, state assistance, and a
property tax in the metropolitan transit taxing area. The property tax also was the
source for the council's assistance to community-based systems. The opt-out
communities retained most of the transit property taxes collected in their
jurisdictions and used these funds to subsidize their systems' operating costs.

This system was drastically changed by the 2001 Legislature, which abolished the
property tax for transit operations and replaced it with a dedicated 20.5 percent of
revenues from the state motor vehicle sales tax. This makes the state by far the
largest contributor to metropolitan transit operating funds. The dramatic changes
between 2000 and 2003 reflect the magnitude of the 2001 funding shift.

Metropolitan Transit Operations CY 2000 Metropolitan Transit Operations CY 2003

Federal
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Other revenue
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Metro Transit Ridership

Metro Transit is the
region's main
regular-route
system

Metro Transit has a fleet of some 950 buses, and in 2001 provided about 73 million
rides.
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Hiawatha LRT -- Funding sources

The council will
operate light rail
transit in the
Hiawatha corridor

The Metropolitan Council will operate light rail transit (LRT) in the Hiawatha
corridor between downtown Minneapolis and Bloomington when it begins
operations (now scheduled for April 2004). The LRT line is being built with a
combination of federal assistance, state bonding money, and contributions from
Hennepin County and the Metropolitan Airports Commission (for the segment at
MSP airport).
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The council has an
ambitious capital
plan for transit

Operating funds for the Hiawatha line have not yet been secured, but some of the
suggested sources in addition to farebox revenues have been state general fund
appropriations, a dedicated portion of motor vehicle sales tax revenue, and federal
congestion mitigation and air quality (CMAQ) funds.

Based on its 2020 transit master plan, the council has proposed a six-year capital
plan for 2002-2007 that contemplates spending almost $1.4 billion on transit
capital improvements, including new buses, bus garages and facilities, the
Hiawatha LRT line, and transitways (which could eventually be exclusive busways
or light rail or commuter rail corridors).

2002-07 Capital Plan -- Facilities 2002-07 Capital Plan •• Fund Sources

Transilways
15%

Bus system
53%

Other
1%

Regional bonds
23%

State
22%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research Short Subject Greater Minnesota Transit Financing, October 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm
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Minnesota Aeronautics Programs and Funding

Minnesota supports aviation and local airports with dedicated state taxes on aviation fuel, aircraft, and
air flight property.

,

I

Dedicated taxes Minnesota has three sources of aeronautics funding. All of these revenues are
deposited in the State Airports Fund.

~ Aviation fuel tax

A tax on fuel used in aircraft, with the rate declining from 5¢ to 1/2¢ per
gallon as the taxpayer consumes more fuel in a year.

~ Aircraft registration tax

A tax of 1 percent of an aircraft's taxable value, imposed on nonairline
aircraft based in Minnesota or used in the state for more than 60 days a
year. The taxable value is the aircraft's base price, reduced by 10 percent
in the second year of life and by 15 percent in the third and subsequent
years oflife, down to a minimum of 25 percent ofbase price. The
minimum tax is $50.

~ Airline flight property tax

A tax paid by commercial airlines in lieu of local property taxes on aircraft
and flight equipment. Airlines' tax capacity is multiplied by a tax rate that
is determined based on the state airports fund's revenue needs
(appropriations from the fund less revenue from the other two taxes).

Aviation Tax Revenue FY 2001
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State airports fund Revenue from aeronautics taxes is dedicated by law to the State Airports Fund.
Moneyinthefund is appropriated biennially to the Department of
Transportation (MnDOT) for regulation and development of aeronautics in
Minnesota.



Federal funds

Aeronautics
programs

In addition to appropriations from the state airports fund, MnDOT also receives
some $80 million per year in federal airport improvement program (AlP) funds
that it distributes as grants to local airports. This money comes from the federal
aviation trust fund, financed by aviation user charges such as a federal aviation
fuel tax and airline ticket taxes.

MnDOT administers programs for the publicly owned airports in the state that
are not operated by the Metropolitan Airports Commission.

The largest activity in the state aeronautics program is airport development
and assistance, which receives over 90 percent of the aeronautics budget. This
activity provides state and federal assistance to publicly owned airports in
greater Minnesota. It includes construction and maintenance grants as well as
operation of electronic navigation aids and automated weather systems.

The other main activity of the aeronautics program is aviation support, which
includes:

Operation of the aeronautics office
Administration of the aircraft registration program
Conducting pilot safety training
Inspection and licensing of public and private airports, heliports,
seaplane bases, and commercial aviation operations
Dissemination of weather information to pilots
Civil Air Patrol funding
Promotion of local scheduled air service

MnDOT also uses its aircraft to provide air transportation services to other
state agencies that reimburse the department for those costs.

Formore information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



John Williams

IShort Subjects
October 2002

Minnesota Highway Mileage

Minnesota has over 135,000 miles of streets and highways, one of the largest such totals in the
country. The table below shows highway mileage as of June 2002.

State trunk highways Interstate highways 914
Other trunk highways 11,019

Total state trunk highways 11,933
County highways County state-aid highways 30,385

Other county highways 15,016

Total county highways 45,401
City streets Municipal state-aid streets 2,818

Other city streets 15,775

Total city streets 18,593
Town roads Town roads 55,210
Other roads Roads in unorganized townships 1,234

State and u.S. forest roads 2,354
Indian reservations 382
Other 384

Total other roads 4,354

Minnesota Highway Mileage 2002
Other
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Town
40%

County
34%

City
14%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research Short Subjects Trunk Highway Fund, County State-Aid Highway Fund, and Municipal State-Aid
Street Fund.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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What is it?

Minnesota Highway User Taxes

Fuel Tax

Minnesota imposes a tax of 20 cents per gallon on both gasoline and "special
fuel." About 80 percent of the revenue comes from the tax on gasoline, with the
remainder coming primarily from diesel fuel and small amounts coming from
propane, LNG, and other highway fuels.

Minnesota Fu.el Tax.Rates OverTime
1949 .5¢
1963 .6¢
1967 . 7¢

1975
1980
1981

9¢
11¢
13¢

1983
1984
1988 .

16¢
17¢
20¢

What does it apply
to?

Where do revenues
comefrom?

What is it?

The tax applies only to motor fuel that is used in vehicles on the highways. Tax
paid on fuel that is used in nonhighway commercial operations, principally
farming, is refunded to the taxpayer. Tax paid on recreational use, such as in
motorboats, snowmobiles, ATVs, and off-road vehicles, goes into dedicated
funds for these activities.

Truckers who buy and use motor fuel in several states pay fuel tax to the states
in proportion to the miles they travel in those states.

The House Research Department's annual Major State Aids and Taxes report
shows the geographic breakdown of the revenue from each major state tax. The
most recent report, using figures for 1999, indicates that 48 percent of total fuel
tax revenue came from the metropolitan area and 52 percent from greater
Minnesota.

Vehicle License Tax

The state collects an annual license tax for all motor vehicles and trailers.

Automobiles are taxed at $10 annually plus 1.25 percent of base value, meaning
the manufacturer'sbase price (without options) for a particular make and model.
The tax is imposed on 100 percent of the base value in the first two years of life,
with this percent going down to 10 percent in the tenth year. Cars over ten years
old pay the minimum tax of$35. The auto license tax is capped at $189 in the
second year of life and $99 in the third and subsequent years.

Trucks are taxed on the basis of weight and age. The tax on trucks and truck­
tractors ranges from a minimum or $120 to $1,760 for a power unit hauling up
to 81,000 pounds, with a 25 percent reduction after eight years of life. Farm
trucks pay a reduced weight-based tax. Buses pay a tax of from $125 to $550



What does it apply
to?

Where do revenues
comefrom?

depending on weight, with depreciation beginning in the third year of life.
Motorcycles pay a flat tax of $1 0 annually.

All vehicles domiciled in Minnesota pay the tax for the privilege of using the
state's highways. The major exception is vehicles owned by government
agencies (including school buses owned by school districts).

The Major State Aids and Taxes report shows that in 1999 about 54 percent of
vehicle license tax revenue came from the metropolitan area and 46 percent
from greater Minnesota.

Highway User Tax Revenues 1992-2001
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The license tax figure includes money transferred from motor vehicle sales tax revenues to
replace revenue lost when the auto license tax "caps" were imposed beginning in 2001.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the
transportation area of the House Research web site: www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/trans.htm.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Minnesota Speed Limits

Minnesota law sets speed limits on state and local highways and streets, and provides for the
establishment of speed zones by the Department of Transportation (MnDOT).

Basic law

Statutory limits

Speed zones

Minnesota's basic law on highway speeds is found in Minnesota Statutes,
section 169.14, subdivision 1:

No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater
than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions. Every
driver is responsible for becoming and remaining aware ofthe
actual andpotential hazards then existing on the highway and
must use due care in operating a vehicle.

Minnesota law sets out the following speed limits:

Streets and highways in urban areas, 30 m.p.h.
Interstate highways outside urbanized areas of 50,000 or more, 70 m.p.h.
Interstate highways within urbanized areas of 50,000 or more, 65 m.p.h.

• Noninterstate freeways and expressways, 65 m.p.h.
Other highways outside urban districts, 55 m.p.h.
Streets inside urban districts, 30 m.p.h.
Town roads in rural residential districts, 30 m.p.h.

• Alleys, 10 m.p.h.

An "urban district" is any segment of street or highway that is built up with
structures less than 100 feet apart for a distance of a quarter-mile. A "rural
residential district" is a segment of a town road with structures less than 300 feet
apart for a distance of a quarter-mile.

Speed limits within cities are absolute, meaning that any speed in excess of them
is automatically illegal. Elsewhere spe~d limits are "prima facie limits,"
meaning that any speed in excess of th~m is prima facie evidence that the speed
was illegal. This means that there is a presumption that the excess speed is
illegal but the presumption may be rebutted by other evidence..

MnDOT has the authority to establish speed zones in which the speed limit is
higher or lower than the limits set in law. Speed zones are established after
MnDOT conducts an engineering and traffic investigation that includes a
segment's design, physical characteristics, traffic volume, accident history, and
actual speeds. Generally, MnDOT believes that a speed limit at or near the "85th

percentile speed" (the speed at or below which 85 percent of vehicles are
traveling) is most likely to be the safest maximum limit.



Local authority

Speed violations

Speed limits in speed zones are effective as soon as signs are erected. Like
statutory limits, they are absolute limits within a city and prima facie limits
outside cities.

The authority of a city, county, or town over speed limits, even on their own
streets and highways is limited. A local road authority may ask MnDOT to
conduct an engineering and traffic investigation on a segment of one of its local
roads, but the department makes the final determination on the speed limit on
that segment.

There are a few exceptions to this general rule:

On a residential roadway, defined as a segment up to a quarter-mile
that is functionally classified as local, a local resolution may reduce the
speed limit from 30 to 25 m.p.h.

In school zones, defined as a segment of street or highway that abuts
school grounds where children have access to the roadway or where a
school crossing is established, a local road authority may prescribe a
lower speed limit that is not less than 15 m.p.h., or more than 20 m.p.h.
below the surrounding limit. .

On a park road within a local park a local authority may prescribe a
lower speed limit that is not less than 15 m.p.h., or more than 20 m.p.h.
below the surrounding limit.

Both MnDOT and local road authorities can set speed limit within their own
highway work zones, to be effective while highway workers are on the job. A
work zone speed limit cannot be less than 20 m.p.h. or reduce the speed limit in
the work zone by more than 15 m.p.h. The maximum work zone speed limit is
55 m.p.h. on divided highways and 40 m.p.h. on other highways.

Under most circumstances, speeding is a petty misdemeanor punishable by a
maximum penalty of a $200 fine. However, if a speeding violation is committed
in such a manner as to endanger persons or property it can be charged as a
misdemeanor with maximum penalties of a $700 fine and 30 days
imprisonment.

Minnesota does not have a point system on driver's licenses, but a third petty
misdemeanor in a year can be charged as a misdemeanor, and a third
misdemeanor in a year can result in a driver's license revocation.

Under a law enacted in 1986 and called the "Dimler amendment" after its
author, former Rep. Chuck Dimler, a violation of a 55 m.p.h. speed limit by not
more than 10 m.p.h. is not recorded on a motorist's driving record.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.
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Municipal State-Aid Street System

What is it?

How are streets
included in the
system?

How is it financed?

How is the money
divided?

The municipal state-aid street (MSAS) system is a network of about 2,800 miles
of streets owned by cities with populations over 5,000. There are now 126 cities
that meet this qualification, plus one eity (Chisholm) which fell below 5,000 in
the 2000 census but which has been grandfathered into the system. These cities
receive money from the municipal state-aid street fund for the construction,
improvement, and maintenance of these streets.

Cities propose streets to the Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT)
for inclusion in the system. The department makes the final decision based on
criteria in state rules. The criteria focus mainly on traffic levels, functional
classification, and a street's role in connecting major points within the city.
Each city is limited to putting no more than 20 percent of its total street miles
onto the state-aid system.

The MSAS system is financed by the Municipal State-Aid Street Fund, a fund
established by the Minnesota Constitution to provide money to cities with
populations over 5,000 for their municipal state-aid streets. The fund receives a
constitutionally guaranteed 9 percent of 95 percent of the highway user tax
distribution fund. Money in the fund is used for construction, improvement, and
repair of municipal state-aid streets.

Money in the municipal state-aid fund is allocated to cities with populations
over 5,000 by a formula provided in statute:

Population
50%

Needs
50%

50 percent is divided among all cities with populations over 5,000, based on
their population.

50 percent is divided among all cities with populations over 5;000, based On
their money needs. This is the amount each city needs to bring all its
municipal state-aid streets up to state standards.



Municipal State-Aid Street System: Geographic Breakdown

Total MSAS Mileage 2001

Greater MN
36%

Total MSAS Mileage 2001

Greater MN
36%

Distribution of MSAS Dollars 2001

Greater MN
30%

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5045. Also see the House
Research publication Highway Funds: Where They Come From, Where They Go, September 2002. For
information on the state-aid system for counties see County State-Aid System, September 2002.
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Trunk Highway Fund

Where the Money Comes From - FY 2002

Motor Fuel Taxes
$609

Vehicle License
Taxes
$475M

Highway User Tax
Distribution Fund

Motor Vehicle Sales Tax
32% Dedication

$174M

Other Income
$49M

State Patrol
Fines
$6M

Federal Highway
Aid

$311M

Drivers License Fees
$25M

Transfers from
Flexible Account

$0

Bond Proceeds
$25M

Transportation Loan
Fund
$14M

Sources of revenue to the trunk highway fund include:

•

•
•
•

•
•

•
•

A constitutionally-prescribed share of highway user taxes (motor fuel taxes, vehicle license
taxes, and a portion of motor vehicle sales tax revenues to replace revenue lost when auto
license taxes were capped beginning in 2001)
Federal highway funds which nonnally pay 80 percent of the cost of federally aided projects
Driver license fees
Transfers from the flexible account that receives part of the 5 percent "set-aside" in the
highway user tax distribution fund
A portion of fines from tickets issued by the State Patrol
Other income such as investment earnings, advances from local government to accelerate
highway projects, and other miscellaneous income
Proceeds from sale of trunk highway bonds
Loans to MnDOT from the transportation revolving loan fund for trunk highway projects



"There the Money Goes - FY 2002
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Capital Projects

Debt Service

Contingency Reserve

Other State Agencies

Dept. of Public Safety

Administration - MnDOT

Highway Maintenance

Highway Construction

$0

$786
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Money in the trunk highway fund is constitutionally dedicated solely to trunk highway purposes, but the
money must be appropriated by the legislature.

Highway construction is the single biggest category of expenditure, including construction contracts,
contract administration, engineering, research, and purchase of right-of-way. Maintenance of the trunk
highway system is the next-highest category.

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) portion mainly goes to the State Patrol for law enforcement
on the trunk highway system. DPS also receives trunk highway funds to pay for the driver licensing
system.

Debt service includes repayment of trunk highway bonds and repayment of advances made by local
units of government to accelerate trunk highway projects.

Capital projects primarily means MnDOT buildings, covering everything from the central office in St.
Paul to district office buildings to maintenance buildings and storage sheds around the state. These are
paid by direct appropriations from the trunk highway fund rather than through the sale of bonds as with
other state buildings.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst John Williams at 651-296-5054. Also see the
transportation area of the House Research web site: www.house.mn/hrdlissinfo/trans.htm.
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Cable Regulation

Regulatory
framework

The federal role in
cable regulation

The local
government role in
cable regulation

In Minnesota, the provision of cable services is regulated primarily by:

• the federal government; and
• municipal governments.

The state currently has a very limited role in overseeing the provision of cable
servIces.

The federal government, through the Federal Communications Commission (FCC),
regulates:

• the rates for basic cable services
• customer service issues, including billing disputes, office hours, telephone

availability of personnel, installations, outages, and service calls
• "leakage" from cable systems (interference with other broadcast and

narrowcast media) and
• indecency and obscenity in cable programming.

The federal Telecommunications Act of 1996 precluded the FCC from regulating
the rates of cable services other than basic cable after March 1, 1999.

In Minnesota, municipalities are the "local franchising authority" for cable
services. This means the municipal government contracts with one or more cable
providers to provide cable services to residents and businesses within the
municipality. Many details of the cable franchise agreement are then enacted in a
local franchise ordinance and given the force and effect of local law.

In exchange for this granting of a franchise to serve the community, the cable
provider agrees to pay a franchise fee to the municipal government. This fee is the
result of negotiations between the municipality and the cable provider, and can
consist ofboth cash and in-kind payments.

In addition to the franchise fee, or sometimes as part of that fee, the cable provider
agrees to provide the municipality with a number of cable channels for local,
community programming. These channels are often referred to as "public access"
channels or "PEG access." PEG access stands for public, educational, and
governmental access.



The state role in
cable regulation

Current issues

Traditionally in Minnesota, the state role in cable regulation has been somewhat
limited. By statute, the state regulates:

• certain minimum aspects of a franchise agreement/ordinance, such as a
minimum number of PEG access channels that a cable company must
provide to municipalities of various sizes

• the conditions for access to buildings to install and repair cable
infrastructure and

• the use of public utility infrastructure for cable facilities

In recent years, there have been legislative initiatives to increase the role of the
state in cable regulation. These initiatives have been thus far unsuccessful, but
involve:

• making the state the "local franchising authority" for all cable franchises in
the state, while

• continuing to allow local municipalities to collect franchise fees, and to
use designated PEG access channels.

The Public Utilities Commission would oversee the provision of cable services,
and establishing and enforcing minimum service standards.

Controversy surrounding access to buildings for the provision of satellite television
has also been the focus of recent legislative attention, as has the use of cable wiring
and other infrastructure to provide satellite services. These issues have not yet
been resolved by the legislature.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mike Bull at 651-296-8961.
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Minnesota's Utility Regulatory Agencies

Three state agencies
are involved in
utility regulation

PUC: Agency
snapshot

There are three state agencies involved with the regulation of utility services
(electricity, natural gas, and telecommunications) in Minnesota. Those agencies
are:

• the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (PUC)
• the Telecommunications and Energy Divisions of the Minnesota

Department of Commerce (Commerce) and
• the Residential and Small Business Utility Division (RUD) of the Office of

the Minnesota Attorney General.

Description:
Independent regulatory agency with authority over telecommunication and
energy utilities

Budget:
$3.99 million for fiscal year 2002; $4.16 million for fiscal year 2003
(funded through utility assessments)

Personnel:
Five commissioners, 42 staff (21 analysts - 11 energy, 10
telecommunications)

Primary functions:
• Sets rates for those utility service providers that are comprehensively

regulated;

• Establishes service standards for utility service providers;

• Resolves consumer and provider complaints; and

• At the direction of the legislature, establishes utility policy for the state.

PUC commissioners:
Each PUC commissioner is appointed by the governor for a six-year te~
with the advice and consent of the state Senate, and is removable only for
cause.

Commissioner terms are staggered, so that only one commissioner is
scheduled to leave and be replaced at anyone time, which minimizes the
impact of the loss and replacement of commissioners on PUC decision
making. Minnesota law requires that the commission be geographically and
politically balanced.



Commerce: Agency
snapshot

RUD:Agency
snapshot

In addition to these structural safeguards, commissioners are also protected
procedurally from undue influence, through:

• restrictions on communications with parties appearing before the
commISSIOn

• judicial-type proceedings in most instances

• open meeting law requirements

• temporary bans on employment with regulated entities

Description:
One of two government entities with the statutory authority to intervene in
PUC proceedings; advocates for the general public interest

Budget for regulatory affairs:
Approximately $3.5 million per fiscal year; (funded through utility
assessments)

Personnel:
Two deputy commissioners (one for energy, one for telecommunications);
50 staff (32 analysts for commission advocacy - 22 energy, 10
telecommunication)

Primary functions:
Analysis, advocacy, and investigation

Description:
One of two government entities with the statutory authority to intervene in
PUC proceedings; advocates for residential and small business utility
consumers

Budget:
Approximately $750,000 per fiscal year (funded from appropriations from
the general fund)

Personnel:
One division manager; eight and one-half staff (three attorneys, one analyst,
one investigator, two consumer complaint mediators, and one-and-one-half
support staff)

Primary function:
Advocacy

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mike Bull at 651-296-8961. Also see the House
Research publication The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission and Related Agencies: Structure and
Function, September 2002.

The Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives is a nonpartisan office providing legislative,
legal, and information services to the entire House.

House Research Department I 600 State Office Building I St. Paul, MN 55155 I 651-296-6753 I www.house.mn/hrd/hrd.htm



1\1ike Bull

_H_O_U_S_E_R_E_S_EA_R_C_H__IShort Subjects
October 2002

Regulation of Energy Utilities in Minnesota

Regulated energy.
services

Regulatory
authority

Regulation of energy services is divided between wholesale services and retail
services. Retail energy services are services provided directly to customers who
use the energy (called retail or "end-use" customers). Retail energy services are
subject to state regulatory jurisdiction, either by the Minnesota Public Utilities
Commission (PUC), or some other authority designated by state law.

Wholesale energy services are activities that do not involve retail (or "end-use")
customers. Wholesale services are regulated at the federal level by the Federal
Energy Regulatory Commission. -Examples of wholesale energy services include:

• the buying and trading of electricity and natural gas between wholesale
generators and power marketers, and

• the transportation of electricity through high voltage transmission wires and
natural gas through interstate natural gas pipelines.

As a general rule, the PUC has the authority to:

• establish the rates that utilities subject to PUC jurisdiction charge to retail
customers in the state

• approve plans for new energy facilities, such as generation stations and
transmission lines

• establish industry-wide standards, practices, and policies and
• resolve customer and provider complaints for utilities under its

jurisdiction.

Not all energy utilities are subject to PUC jurisdiction. Investor-owned utilities
(described below) are subject to comprehensive regulation by the PUC. However,
regulation ofmunicipal and cooperative energy utilities by the PUC is statutorily
deemed unnecessary. The legislature has determined that these not-for-profit
utilities are "effectively regulated" by other entities. Municipal utilities are
regulated through oversight by the municipal government. Cooperative utilities are
regulated by boards made up of members of each cooperative. Municipal and
cooperative utilities can elect to be subject to comprehensive oversight by the
PUC, but only one utility has exercised that option (Dakota Electric Cooperative
Association).



Investor-owned
utilities

Rural electric
associations

Municipal utilities

Investor-owned (IODs) are private, for-profit corporations whose rates are
regulated by the PUC.

• The five electric IOUs that serve Minnesota are Allete (formerly
Minnesota Power), Alliant (formerly Interstate Power), Northwestern
Wisconsin Electric, Otter Tail Power, and Xcel Energy (formerly Northern
States Power). These five provide generation, transmission, and
distribution services to their customers.

• The six natural gas IOUs in Minnesota are Alliant, Great Plains Natural
Gas, Xcel, CenterPoint Energy Minnegasco, Aquila (formerly Utiliticorp ­
People's Natural Gas and Northern Municipal Utilities), and Western
Natural Gas. These utilities only distribute natural gas to end-use
customers, getting their natural gas through pipelines owned by other
entities that are regulated by the Federal Regulatory Energy Commission.

Rural electric associations (co-ops) are nonprofit organizations whose rates are
overseen by a board composed of co-op members. There are two types of co-ops:

• Distribution cooperatives provide distribution electric service to
Minnesota consumers. There are 45 distribution co-ops in Minnesota.

• Generation and transmission cooperatives (G&T's) generate and
transmit electricity to distribution co-ops. The six generation and
transmission cooperatives that serve Minnesota distribution co-ops are
Basin Electric, Dairyland Power, East River Electric, Great River Energy,
L&O Power, and Minnkota Power.

Municipal utilities (Munis) are public, nonprofit utilities overseen by local public
utilities commissions or city councils. There are two kinds of municipal utilities:

• Distribution Munis, like their co-operative counterpart, provide
distribution electric services to retail customers. In Minnesota, there are
126 electric distribution Munis and 31 natural gas distribution Munis.

• Municipal power agencies (MPAs) provide distribution Munis with
electric generation and transmission services. The six MPAs (also known as
''joint operating agencies") operating in Minnesota are Central Minnesota
MPA, Heartland Consumers Power District, Minnesota MPA, Missouri
River Energy Services, Northern MPA, and Southern Minnesota MPA.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mike Bull at 651-296-8961. Also see the House
Research publication The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission and Related Agencies: Structure and
Function, September 2002.
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Telecommunications Regulation in Minnesota

Regulatory
framework

Telecommunications services are divided between services that are subject to federal
regulation and services that are subject to state regulation.

• The provision of interstate and interLATA long-distance service is overseen
by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).

• The provision of local long distance service and local telephone service are
subject to the jurisdiction of the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission
(PUC).

Long distance:

• Interstate long distance calls are calls between states.
• InterLATA calls are calls between LATAs (LATAs are the areas within

states the federal court established to promote competition for long
distance services when it broke AT&T into Regional Bell Operating
Companies-RBOCs)

• Local long distance calls are long distance calls within a LATA.

Federal court decisions and the FCC determine the ability ofRBOCs to provide
long-distance service:

• RBOCs (like Qwest) cannot provide interstate long distance calls or
interLATA calls, unless the FCC determines that a RBOC has irreversibly
opened its local telephone service markets to competition.

• RBOCs are allowed to provide local long distance calls

The rates for long distance service are largely deregulated, both at the state and
federal level.

Local: The federal Telecommunications Act of 1996 required states to allow entities
other than incumbent local telephone companies to compete to provide local
telephone services to customers. Minnesota moved more quickly than the U.S.
Congress, adopting a similar statute in the 1995 legislative session.

Types ofproviders Minnesota categorizes those telecommunications providers subject to state jurisdiction
as either a "telecommunications carrier" or "telephone company." Each type of
provider is subject to vastly differing state regulation by the PUC.

Telephone companies A "telephone company" is a company that provided local telephone service as a
monopoly provider prior to August 1, 1995 (the date that local service was opened to
competition in Minnesota). Under federal law, telephone companies are referred to as
"incumbent local exchange carriers" (ILECs). There are two categories of telephone
companies under Minnesota law:

• Large telephone companies, which have 50,000 subscribers or more (there are
four in the state-Qwest, Sprint, Frontier, and GTE).



• Small telephone companies, which have less than 50,000 subscribers (there
are 94 small telephone companies in Minnesota).

The vast majority of small telephone companies fall into one of three sub­
categories:

Cooperative telephone associations (not-for-profit organizations)
Municipal telephone associations (publicly owned and operated) and
Independent telephone companies (small companies with less than
30,000 subscribers)

Large companies are subject to the most comprehensive oversight by the PUC, and
have their rates established by the PUC. Small companies are treated somewhat
differently under Minnesota law, and are generally not as comprehensively regulated
due to their size. The three types of small companies listed above are exempt from
having their rates established by the PUC, unless the PUC finds after an investigation
that the rates the small company is charging are not "fair and reasonable."

All telephone companies, large and small, may elect to be regulated under "alternative
form of regulation" (AFOR) plans. These plans provide for minimum levels of
consumer protection in exchange for allowing the telephone company more operating
flexibility. Three large companies and 62 small companies operate under AFORs.
The statute authorizing AFORs expires in 2006.

Telecommunications There are two categories of "telecommunications carriers."
carriers

State
telecommunications
goals

• Long distance providers who do not provide local service (there are
approximately 550 companies authorized to provide long distance services in
Minnesota); and

• Competitive local exchange carriers (CLECs) - providers oflocal telephone
service that compete with incumbent telephone companies (there are 55
CLECs operating in the state).

Telecommunications carriers are not subject to rate-regulations or earnings
investigations by the PUC, but are subject to other regulatory requirements.

Minnesota law specifies certain goals for the PUC to promote in overseeing the
telecommunications industry. These goals are:

• supporting universal service
• maintaining just and reasonable rates
• encouraging efficient deployment of infrastructure
• encouraging fair and reasonable competition
• maintaining or improving quality of service
• promoting customer choice
• maintaining consumer protections and
• encouraging voluntary resolution of issues between and among competing

providers.

For more information: Contact legislative analyst Mike Bull at 651-296-8961.
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